Read the pilot wife life reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the pilot wife life reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pilot Wife Life [App]  2019-3-2 13:20

    A lovely curator for all things similar to TPWL community.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pilot Wife Life [App]  2019-3-2 13:20

    such a unbelievable place. positive, supportive, and something we all need today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Airline Pilot: A Day in the Life []  2019-12-24 20:15

    Just finished reading your perfect book, thank you, Captain Corriveau. As someone who flew over 100 times a year out of Dorval for a long time (long enough that I never was able to call CYUL Trudeau after it was re-named), and often to Vancouver, the particular return trip covered had added appeal.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the pilot wife life or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Airline Pilot: A Day in the Life []  2019-12-24 20:15

    Amazing and light hearted insight into airline flying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Airline Pilot: A Day in the Life []  2019-12-24 20:15

    Who knew all this items was event on the flight deck? If you've ever wondered what kind of drama the pilots are experiencing during turbulenc, inclement weather, delays and holding patterns, you will have fun this book. Enough technology to be intriguing but not overwhelming—a handy glossary of aeronautical terms is provided. I came away with renewed confidence and admiration for the men and women who transport us safely through the stratosphere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wife for Life: The Power to Succeed in Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    My wife and I are reading and discussing this book together. This is my third marriage and her second marriage. We have been married for 6 1/2 years and are both 79 years old. We have celebrated our marriage each month and this is our 76th monthiversary. These monthly celebrations and a continuing determination to always talk through our challenges and opportunities have enabled us to build a loving partnership that is better than I could ever have imagined to be though Wife for Life is intended to be a woman's book, we are finding that it is a man and woman's book. Nearly every facet of the ideas in the book have implications both for the husband and the wife, if you read, think and talk openly and r example, the crazy ladies are really the crazy men and ladies. The descriptions are in a lot of cases, just as applicable to men as they are to women.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for both men and women, if you desire to build a marriage relationship that will bring success, pleasure, peace and happiness to you and each of e younger you are the better the possibility that you will chose and build a really amazing marriage for life, the first e older you are the more you will understand that it with truth and facts that you can use in building a grand marriage relationship, no matter which one you are in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wife for Life: The Power to Succeed in Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    I am always interested in relationship mentoring books. I have a huge collection on our shelves. My husband and I have attended a lot of marriage seminars, thinking that we were experts, but being humbled at all we had to learn. The latest one we attended spoke of a concept called unconditional respect. If I expected unconditional love from my husband, that is what he required in return. I have no idea what unconditional respect looks like. I had never seen that in my upbringing. I had the possibility to hear Ramona speak at a Mom's Conference and heard her talk about her book and her course called Wife for Life. It seemed to be all about life app of unconditional respect. So I enrolled in the course and read the book. Both were exactly what they promised! I am just finishing the book and I already plan to read it again because there is so much necessary info that I need to create a part of my life. I have also realized that far from being an expert, I am a novice. I am so grateful for women such as Ramona who are willing to share their lives including failures and triumphs to let others to learn how to have a successful marriage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wife for Life: The Power to Succeed in Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    WHY IS THIS NOT REQUIRED READING FOR WOMEN?! OH MY GOODNESS!! I can't even start to describe how this book has transformed my life, but I will try! After a divorce that was statistically right where most of us land (woman initiates, 7 year average, man isn't giving her what she needs) and into a second marriage, I was finding a lot of of the SAME problems popping up with my husband... of course the "jerk" said then maybe it was something I was doing, but of course I dismissed it- HE was the one being obtuse! We went to counseling for a while (because it's BOTH of our faults, right?!), and while we learned some stuff, I didn't feel he was really applying a lot of of the principles or able to obtain it and use it. After a large blowup and me feeling like once again, I was shutting down my feelings for him because of the damage (hello AGAIN, Dream Breaker Road), I decided I required to figure this marriage thing out. I read the book and holy smokes, I realized how much I really WAS at fault, not that I was doing things wrong, but because I had no idea what I or he was doing (i.e. he doesn't care, doesn't listen, doesn't wish to be around, he felt he couldn't do anything right, etc.), and I never realized how much POWER I have to change the trajectory of our marriage until I read this book and immediately started putting my role into play- what a difference it made!I have bought and gifted this book literally a dozen times to women close to me, and [email protected]#$%! was a needed curriculum, as there would be a ton less damage and heartache if so. If you obtain a chance, check out the author on YouTube or search some webinars that she is speaking in. Personally, I highly recommend checking out our Crazy Ladies (Chapter 9)- those resounded the most with me as I found so a lot of of my behaviors that were meant to obtain him to change his responses to have the OPPOSITE result of what I was going for, and a lot of things I simply didn't realize I was doing that pushed him away! Like anything worth doing, this is not a fast fix but is about continuous improvement; I know what to look for, but sometimes don't see it or can't stop myself from going ahead with words or actions that don't positively affect our relationship, so then I obtain to apologize, and test to do better the next time, perhaps catching myself as I am doing it, and as I am continually aware, eventually BEFORE I do it!My husband and I are both extremely stubborn, independent people, and neither of us "need" each other; I was always a tomboy and pride myself on my ability to do everything myself, but I now have a clear vision of how much more we are capable of achieving together, and I don't feel like my forever is hinging on our disagreements any more. Just by changing the method I interact with him, HE has started naturally responding to fulfill my needs without me even asking, and when I do need to ask, he is HAPPY to do it and doesn't feel that I am not satisfied with him. We still have a long method to go, and I am continuing my progress with Wife For Life University (like personal coaching for women, but with the help and feedback of a whole host of women in all stages of relationships, including face-to-face with the master Ramona herself!). No longer am I sitting back in a group of women griping about all the wrongs of our husbands, but instead can positive perspectives because I now see much of where HE is coming from. We all mean well, but they use an analogy of various operating systems for men and women- both obtain the same things done on the forefront, but behind the scenes, the systems are completely different. For example, the men are "relaxing" while the women are slaving away, because biologically, he NEEDS downtime to recharge himself; he doesn't see all of the things we do because he is wired differently to answer to various stimuli; and how he puts us on the back-burner for work, because he feels he has to provide for us, as we are the most necessary thing to him. When those things clash, we now have tools to address our needs with him, rather than being upset or damage by his biological actions. And for us, the women, we have so much power to take our own happiness into our own hands without that being dependent on him! We need our OWN pleasures and ways to recharge ourselves, but it looks and feels much various than his. These are just some of the concepts, and the book provides the tools to let a perspective shift, understanding, patience, respect, love, and so a lot of more parts of the puzzle. Before, I had this attractive picture on the puzzle box, but when I poured out the contents, I couldn't search pieces, pieces were upside down so I couldn't see what they were, some parts got damaged because I tried to force them to fit, and my picture kind of sucked and took forever to create progress on, so I gave up on the first puzzle, only to test again the same method with the next puzzle, thinking it must be the puzzle. This book has allowed me to figure out why I wish to even test another puzzle, understand the puzzle take time to place that picture together, and then step by step place together the border of my puzzle so I am now able to more efficiently place the rest of the pieces in. I still have to search the right piece for the right place, but all the pieces are there, I know better than to force them but can gently test until I search the right fit (although sometimes I still obtain a small ram-jammy because I obtain impatient!), but my puzzle is coming together much better now! (Fyi, I'm not much into puzzles either, but like the analogy!)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wife for Life: The Power to Succeed in Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    All I can say is I want I knew of this when I first started dating my husband!! I really could have used this info a lot of years ago. Ramona is an awesome woman and I feel like she is a genius! She puts things in words that are so simple for me to understand but it actually shows a husband's perspective. It was mind blowing to me the method she said things because it brought things to light I never thought of before. I wish to obtain this for anyone else I know that is getting married. If you go to her www service there is a workbook PDF you can obtain to use with it if you enter your amazon information. If you wish to work on your marriage and build it to a GRAND MARRIAGE - GET THIS BOOK!Also, she just released a podcast called Wife Savers!! Check it out if you wish to build on this unbelievable information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wife for Life: The Power to Succeed in Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    In a globe where the beauty of marriage and women's and men's roles have been confused, disrespected and misunderstood, this book comes as a breath of new air, a voice of truth, and trusted tutorial in not only saving marriages, but helping them to flourish and accomplish what men and women have always been meant to accomplish together. I have always known that marriage is necessary and worth fighting for, but I kept finding myself in the same ruts of frustration and resentment, and I struggled to search my method out. Reading this book, and also participating in Ramona's Wife for Life University (it's companion class that goes along with the book- with online support, live classes, and a forum), has been life saving to me and my family. Reading this book has helped me in so a lot of ways. I'll list a few of the most strong lessons I've learned.1. I have learned that I'm not alone in some of the challenges that can happen in a marriage relationship2. I have learned what I have been doing to contribute to those challenges, I've learned to own my choices and take responsibility for my own life and happiness3. I have learned that when I do take responsibility for my life and war for my marriage and family, a whole fresh globe opens up, and the possibilities of what my husband and I can do together is so much greater than anything we could do aloneI love this book. I love this author. What a noble cause- to be saving marriages and families. I am honored to be a part of this cause and I invite you to be a part of it as well

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wife for Life: The Power to Succeed in Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    Wife for Life is hands down THE ultimate tutorial on how to succeed and thrive in your marriage! This book changed my life and my marriage! I have read a lot of of the amazing marriage books out there and have even been to counseling with my spouse, but there is something about Ramona's book that completely shifted my perspective and the method I view my spouse. The principles in the book built such a deep foundation of understanding for my husband that it melted the resentment I'd held towards him for so long and allowed me to forgive and allow go of past misunderstandings. The book gives you so a lot of tools and ideas on how to build a better relationship with your husband and better communicate with him, and they are not hard to do! This book has not only changed my marriage (as my husband will attest to!), but has changed ME and allowed me to see what I was doing to perpetuate issues in my marriage. Wife for Life has truly empowered me as a wife and taught me to see that I have more power than I thought possible to make the marriage of my dreams! With that being said, I have read the book several times (this is a must!) and I have taken Wife for Life University, which I highly recommend as a companion to this book! Some of the principles in the book were so fresh and foreign to me that I didn't quite piece everything together until I had taken the 10 week course. I highly recommend it--Wife for Life University is life changing and will change your marriage!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wife for Life: The Power to Succeed in Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    I love to research. If there is a book about something I'm interested in, I've read it. I've read all (ok, not all, but you obtain it) the pregnancy books, the parenting books, and of course, the marriage self support books. I knew the lingo, the concepts, the methods and still I wasn't finding what I required to feel like I was successful in my marriage. I felt continually like I was missing something. It turns out, I was. I ran across Wife for Life on Fb and watched a webinar by the author. I was intrigued. I bought the ebook on Amazon and my whole globe changed- is book changed my thinking. It helped me realize that I had never learned true principles pertaining to being a amazing wife. I am certainly a intelligent woman who loves her husband, but this book gave me the tools to bring my marriage and mine and my husband's happiness to a whole fresh level. We really are partners now and are growing into each other's confidents and soul mates. These things just don't happen- we have to mold and shape and care for our relationships to turn them into something magical.While this book quotes a lot of authors from a lot of relationship books I have already read, Ramona makes them all come together and allows the reader to see the huge picture- the forest through the trees! I can't wait to discover more, to practice being a more awesome spouse, and to live a grand life with my unbelievable husband.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wife for Life: The Power to Succeed in Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    It is real that a change in perspective can be life-changing. This is what Wife for Life has done for me. We were on the street of alienation (a street I later learned in the book as the Dream Breaker road), and frankly I was feeling tired and was ok on being on this path. But something clicked inside me and realized that after 17 years of marriage that I don't wish to be on this road; I need support getting out! Where's the exit?!!Wife for Life was my respond which I found through the Power of Moms conference and finally pushed into signing-up by attending another webinar by Michael Hyatt on goal setting which told me that my goal had to be huge and transformative. And I wish to transform my marriage. Wife for Life was so helpful in providing me with a shift in perspective and mindset. Without yet learning the tactical techniques in the book, this easy mindset shift lifted the heavy, resentful, always ready for a war cloud that hung over my husband and I. When I learned the actual techniques, then our interactions really started to change for the better. There are some concepts of which I was very skeptical and questioned how it could actually help. But it is that perspective change that allowed me to have an begin mind and that with intent and purpose and practice, things will change slowly for the better. Participating in the Wife for Life University was an even more awesome experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wife for Life: The Power to Succeed in Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    My husband and I share this Amazon acc so this is written from the perspective of the WIFE not the HUSBAND. I was seeking for something to support me improve my marriage and the divide that I had felt increasing over 25 yrs of marriage in our communication. Someone mentioned watching Ramona Zabriske's webinar and how much they learned from it and it got me intrigued. I watched it as well and learned things I had never considered with regards to how I chose to communicate my appreciation and disappointments. So I signed up for Wife for Life and purchased the book and thus began our gradual transformation. I've just completed the 12 week Wife for Life course and also read this book, both of which have helped me so much in my relationships in both my kids and my husband. The progress has been slow and gradual and I have been impatient and failed a lot of times. But I know we are headed in the right direction and I see so a lot of fresh possibilities in our life that I felt completely STUCK in before. Thank you Ramona!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wife for Life: The Power to Succeed in Marriage []  2020-1-19 22:26

    "Wife for Life: The Power to Succeed in Marriage" has a warm and inviting tone that introduces the reader to strong and effective tools through both story and analogy. I loved how accessible the principles were and how vulnerable Ramona, the author, was in sharing private experiences while also teaching concepts based on significant amounts of research.I've also greatly appreciated taking the course, Wife for Life University, which is based on the book. The class took what was already inspirational to a whole fresh level by providing an online setting for women to discuss principles and private app in a safe environment. There's a sense of community and help that never turns to male bashing, but allows students to focus on what can be achieved by the wife/woman herself. The concrete direction and conversations felt empowering and encouraging! I felt I knew how to move forward because of this is book had a profound impact on my marriage, my parenting and my relationship with male loved-ones and friends. I never realized it could be so life-shaping and I STRONGLY recommend it to ANYONE, but especially to women!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rancher Takes a Wife: A True Account of Life on the Last Great Cattle Frontier []  2020-1-19 23:19

    All three of Rich Hobson's books are excellent.I only say that because I know that country ever it is one of those series written by the author in first person dialogue that really brings home the impression of what the zone was like in 1934 till-his death in e zone has certainly changed but I knew it from 1957 when I spent a lot of time exploring and following my geological y nights spent out and none of Rich's words exaggerate the situation when sleeping under a spruce tree in a blinding rain storm or snow s and later primitive ATV's were our mode of transport.Wonderful books by a man I just missed meeting.But his and Pan Phillips names are legend in the them ,you'll have fun and likely read and reread

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rancher Takes a Wife: A True Account of Life on the Last Great Cattle Frontier []  2020-1-19 23:19

    All three of Hobson's books were amazing reads. Couldn't place them down! If you're in the shop for "what the heck were they thinking" adventure into the 1930s and 40s BC wilderness (without yourself dealing with -60 temps, wolves, floods and salty characters) Hobson's "trilogy" definitely gives you just that. Written more than 50 years ago makes them even better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eliza Hamilton: The Extraordinary Life and Times of the Wife of Alexander Hamilton []  2020-2-4 3:44

    I search a lot of biographies about historical figures informative but text book like. This book reads like a romantic, yet tragic novel. The authors story telling will not only hold your interest but leave you feeling emotions as you turn the pages as if you were witnessing history along with the characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eliza Hamilton: The Extraordinary Life and Times of the Wife of Alexander Hamilton []  2020-2-4 3:44

    I recommend reading this book. The author the reader an simple reading of insights to consider in context of the revolutionary time in which Eliza lived. The book goes into her hero as a person, circumstances she faced and how she handled them in her struggle to survive with her family to the age of 98. Examples would be insights on her involvement with the Native American tribes, the establishment of the orphanage, Graham-Windham, in Brooklyn, and how Alexander's sons inherited his hero in adulthood, such as his powerful will and his skill to create an argument.Tilar J. Mazzeo also references for her material in the “Notes” section of the book, however, they do not compare to Ron Chernow's extensive references in "Hamilton" and his other books. Since Eliza Hamilton was not interested in being a “public person”, she destroyed a lot of of the personal correspondence between herself and Alexander (and rightly so), therefore the author takes creative liberties by inferring on a scarcity of historical facts. The reader would have to be aware of this when reading this is a productive read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eliza Hamilton: The Extraordinary Life and Times of the Wife of Alexander Hamilton []  2020-2-4 3:44

    Reading this was an absolute waste of time & I do not understand how the term "biography" can be attached to this. Biographical fiction? Yes. But this is not a e method the author wrote this was incredibly frustrating, starting with the first sentence on the first page: "Eliza blushed. It was a attractive letter." After reading the first page, I actually checked to create sure this was a biography and not another fictional acc of her life. The rest of the book continued this way, with the author filling in holes with her own ideas of what Eliza would have said or done in a situation, based on what small we know of her. There aren't a lot of basic source documents authored by Eliza, so most of what the author relies on are other peoples REACTIONS to her letters & actions. Yes, you can create inferences from that, but the fact is that since we don't have letters or diaries from Eliza for the bulk of her life, most of what is written here is sappy e theory about the Maria Reynolds scandal was also a bit over the top. The author believes the idea that there was no actual affair, and that the Reynolds Pamphlet was just a cover up for Hamilton's shady financial dealings, and that Eliza went along with the deceit to protect the male members of her family from debtors prison. Is that theory true? Maybe. But in making this theory look better, she deliberately left out info that should be shared in an attempt to give validation to her theory.But my largest problem with this book is the amount of time that her post Hamilton life receives: 53 pages. She lived without him for almost 50 years. This section of her life deserves more than a pathetic 50 so. WHY WOULD A BIOGRAPHY OF ELIZA HAMILTON HAVE A WOMAN WHO ISN'T ELIZA ON THE COVER? That is absolutely insane. Apparently there was an problem in obtaining the rights to use the painting the author wanted to use, so she settled for this women. Why? Why not use a various type of cover art? Something abstract or typographic. But how is it even remotely okay to use a image of someone unrelated to the topic on the cover of a "biography".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rancher Takes a Wife: A True Account of Life on the Last Great Cattle Frontier []  2020-1-19 23:19

    Within one week I read all three of Hobson's books, starting with Grass Beyond the Mountains and ending with The Rancher Takes a Wife. Again a fascinating tale of pioneering development in the far north of British Columbia but with the difference that Hobson's wife writes one chapter, adding her perspective on ranch life and isolation. I highly recommend this whole series for the insight it gives into the challenges faced by these cattlemen, for the adventure of a fascinating tale, and for the inspiration provided by the history of amazing men and women giving their best in the worst of circumstances.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rancher Takes a Wife: A True Account of Life on the Last Great Cattle Frontier []  2020-1-19 23:19

    amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eliza Hamilton: The Extraordinary Life and Times of the Wife of Alexander Hamilton []  2020-2-4 3:44

    There’s a typo on the family tree within the first few pages of the book! (Angelica’s birth year). I’m returning this book because I can’t obtain very far past this typo & continue reading without being critical. And where are the author’s citations? Disappointing after reading Chernow’s masterpiece on Alexander.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eliza Hamilton: The Extraordinary Life and Times of the Wife of Alexander Hamilton []  2020-2-4 3:44

    I learned a lot about the Hamiltons, both Alexander and Eliza. After seeing the musical, it was interesting to see how the two formats differed. I’m not a nonfiction reader, and some parts dragged. I can’t support wondering, if Hamilton really did mishandle Treasury funds, why is he so highly regarded today?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eliza Hamilton: The Extraordinary Life and Times of the Wife of Alexander Hamilton []  2020-2-4 3:44

    Written as if it is a biography, the latest portion of the book, from the publication of the Reynold's Pamphlet on is based on the author's supposition, a "what if", that can neither be proven or disproven. It does a amazing injustice to Elizabeth Schuyler Hamilton, her husband, and her family. Very disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rancher Takes a Wife: A True Account of Life on the Last Great Cattle Frontier []  2020-1-19 23:19

    I fell in love with Richmond P. Hobson's first book "Grass Beyond the Mountains," when I was very young...was thrilled to search the sequels, "Nothing Too Amazing For a Cowboy," and "The Rancher Takes a Wife." This is a fine, tight copy and I'm thrilled to start reading. Mr Hobson spins a amazing tale...he makes you feel as if you were right there with him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rancher Takes a Wife: A True Account of Life on the Last Great Cattle Frontier []  2020-1-19 23:19

    Hard book to place down. Read all of the books in to obtain the full result of what these guys (and gals) went through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rancher Takes a Wife: A True Account of Life on the Last Great Cattle Frontier []  2020-1-19 23:19

    Once started, I couldn't place it e imagery in the tales of frozen bodies makes my skin crawl.Having earned my pilot licenses in Winnipeg in minus 40 degree weather, I can't imagine being out in anything so, the grizzly encounters are beautifully told.With just enough detail that you have to think of a little thing called luck.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rancher Takes a Wife: A True Account of Life on the Last Great Cattle Frontier []  2020-1-19 23:19

    I hope I didn't spoil it by saying that it has a satisfied ending! All three of these books were unbelievable to read. Even more so because I and my mother before me, have spent a amazing bit of our lives traveling to this very zone of British Columbia. Some of the relatives of the people in the stories are still there and all have stories of their own. What a magical land!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eliza Hamilton: The Extraordinary Life and Times of the Wife of Alexander Hamilton []  2020-2-4 3:44

    I really want I could have given this book more stars. It is well written, but this really shouldn't be called a biography. There are a lot of hole in this book, but instead of the author saying that they don't know, they fill in the holes with untrue stories from the Hamilton Musical, unproven anecdotal stories, or their own psychological analysis from their point of view.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eliza Hamilton: The Extraordinary Life and Times of the Wife of Alexander Hamilton []  2020-2-4 3:44

    Spellbinding book about our early American history. Eliza and Alexander Hamilton love story and Eliza's life explained through letters and careful research. I loved reading this book from page one to its last. Transported to a various time and age. Marvelous.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rancher Takes a Wife: A True Account of Life on the Last Great Cattle Frontier []  2020-1-19 23:19

    All three of Rich’s work describing what it was like to build a million+-acre cattle ranch in the wilds of British Columbia not only provides in vivid detail the stamina of both men and their animals, but also the magnificence of the the wilderness and its wild creatures. He dedicated “Grass Beyond the Mountains” to his horses. I was impressed enough to pull a Casita camp trailer from Texas to the Chilcotin, across the Canadian Rockies, to visit as a lot of of his ‘camp’ areas as possible. Unbelievable! Best to read the books in of publication.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rancher Takes a Wife: A True Account of Life on the Last Great Cattle Frontier []  2020-1-19 23:19

    Would love to tell you how this was. I bought it and my uncle asked to borrow it while he was at my house. Then he took it home to finish and I haven’t seen it since. He said it was amazing enough to steal though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eliza Hamilton: The Extraordinary Life and Times of the Wife of Alexander Hamilton []  2020-2-4 3:44

    This fresh book about Elizabeth Schuyler Hamilton is a not good substitute for serious biography and is much more historical fiction. As someone who has studied the Schuylers for twenty years, I started spotting mistakes while not very far into the book. The author misses necessary happenings going on at the time, and mashes together other happenings during the American Revolution. This is better than some of the other historical fiction about Eliza, but is hardly serious biography. How about some footnotes and documentation?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eliza Hamilton: The Extraordinary Life and Times of the Wife of Alexander Hamilton []  2020-2-4 3:44

    Really gives a full picture of this extraordinary woman. Offers a fresh take on the Reynolds affair. Well supported and very interesting. Certainly the opposite from Chernow’s view. Hamilton was a complex genius. Eliza was his match.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Company We Keep: A Husband-and-Wife True-Life Spy Story [Book]  2018-2-2 18:0

    Perfect work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Company We Keep: A Husband-and-Wife True-Life Spy Story [Book]  2018-2-2 18:0

    A very interesting read, but overly complicated by the cutting back and forth between authors. The most engaging aspect is the adoption story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Know Your Wife?: A Quiz about the Woman in Your Life []  2020-2-7 20:29

    We loved filling out these books! Although some of the questions were a small outdated (questions about radios and favorite newspaper sections), it created for some amazing date nights - we split it up into 20 questions each night, answering 5 questions at a time and then going over the answers. We learned a lot of fun things about each other and lead us to some cool conversations! Bonus, they were cheap! We plan to throw these in to wedding bonuses as a fun addition in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Know Your Wife?: A Quiz about the Woman in Your Life []  2020-2-7 20:29

    Love it!! I also ordered the how well you know your husband one! Me and my spouse learned alot of fresh things about each other... Some things we couldn't believe we ddnt know.... We also rewared the one that won which was me by 2 points 😂😂

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Company We Keep: A Husband-and-Wife True-Life Spy Story [Book]  2018-2-2 18:0

    Wow! What a live they had.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Company We Keep: A Husband-and-Wife True-Life Spy Story [Book]  2018-2-2 18:0

    Then you will have fun any of Bob Baer's books.A refreshing and honest look at todays post cold war/911 intelligence is was quite special in giving both he and his wifes view of things.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Know Your Wife?: A Quiz about the Woman in Your Life []  2020-2-7 20:29

    We bought this as well as the Do You Know Your Husband? quiz book. We really enjoyed doing this together. There are various questions between the two books, so it's worth getting both. The only thing I didn't like is it seemed this book seemed to have a number of questions for the husband to respond about his wife's intelligence such as - does your wife know who the Secretary of State is? I found that a bit demeaning as there weren't those kind of questions in the husband book...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Know Your Wife?: A Quiz about the Woman in Your Life []  2020-2-7 20:29

    Awful! Questions are lame and from another era when women's work was in the kitchen. Not even funny!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Know Your Wife?: A Quiz about the Woman in Your Life []  2020-2-7 20:29

    I bought this and the husband ver for my fiancée and I while we were in the earlier stages of dating, and these were super fun! Very simple method of strengthening what you know about each other and also simple to create a date/activity out of them. All interesting and thought provoking questions. Highly recommend, couldn't search any online quizzes that compare.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Company We Keep: A Husband-and-Wife True-Life Spy Story [Book]  2018-2-2 18:0

    Loved this book. A true insider look at our courageous CIA.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Know Your Wife?: A Quiz about the Woman in Your Life []  2020-2-7 20:29

    If you and your spouse would like to try or quiz one another on how much they know this is the book for you. My husband and I are slightly competitive towards one another in a fun way. I have fun winning and proving I am right lol. What I have discovered so far is that he seems to more attention to me than I thought. He answers these questions easily and is typically right. I tend to struggle a small more with the answers. It is fun! I recommend you obtain both quizzes together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woodcutter's Wife [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    I read this book, enjoyed it and recommend it to anybody who wants to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woodcutter's Wife [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    quick interesting read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wife Arrangement [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    Dee Smith and Jasper Quint are from two various social ranks. Jasper has been groomed to head the family business and as a committed bachelor he has no issue attracting women. Dee’s a strong, independent woman, who has to work hard to attain her goals in life, and isn’t about to be swayed by a smooth operator like Jasper. When family pressures force Jasper to seek Dee’s help, their chemistry together is off the charts!This is a delightfully engaging romance. The storyline is quick paced and appealing. The characters are well written, strong, and interesting. There are plenty of snarky comments, lots of fun, sexy romance, some heartache, and just enough HOT passion to hold you wanting more. The narrative flows effortlessly, changing POV’s between the H & h. Once you start, you will search it hard to place down. I highly recommend this as a very enjoyable read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Kitchen God's Wife [Book]  2018-6-16 18:0

    Slow but good. I have always enjoyed reading about the Chinese culture and the human element. For me this just moved too slowly. Not a book that I couldn't place down. However, the story is one of relationships between women which I enjoy. A mother tells her grown daughter about her past life in China and reveals a secret that she has kept hidden from her until an Aunt threatens to reveal if the mother doesn't. Will it destroy the relationship?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Wife []  2019-12-16 18:0

    This book was so amazing I read it in two sittings. Very intricate layers of plot, the writing so beautiful. Best book of 2019 so far for me (and I read one book a week!). Definitely recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Wife []  2019-12-16 18:0

    This book kept me guessing for a while. I liked the characters, which is what kept me reading. The curse words really were not necessary, and destracted from the story. Otherwise, the story was really good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Other Wife []  2019-12-16 18:0

    I was drawn into the sinister twists and had to force myself to place it down. The characters kept surprising me with their flaws that pushed them deeper into the sticky webs of deceit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penmaker's Wife []  2019-12-21 18:31

    I have read a lot of of his books and really liked them, but was really disappointed with this one. Graphics sex, liaison, language all resulted in my less than favorable review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penmaker's Wife []  2019-12-21 18:31

    I thoroughly enjoyed the Jefferson Tayte series but this book just did not measure up. Hero development was lacking for me and the ending was a huge allow down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Penmaker's Wife []  2019-12-21 18:31

    This book, by one of my favorite authors, is not to be missed. I read it from begin to finish in one night.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Crane Wife [Vinyl] []  2020-1-17 0:8

    In 1971, The Kinks had scored a surprise hit with "Lola" and signed a multi-record with RCA. Instead of giving us another pop-gem sure-fire single, they gave us "Muswell Hillbillies", a pub-crawl record steeped in beer and populism, subtly rewarding but lacking the assassin single. The Decemberists, after showing promise as a potential radio-friendly pop-rock band on their third full-length "Picaresque", have signed the huge with Capitol/EMI. So what do they deliver? Probably not what the huge label expected, but a solid record ere is nothing on this record that screams out for radio play, or even a cameo appearance in a Dell commercial. Nothing here has the potential mass-appeal of "Sixteen Military Wives" off their latest album, a song which but for the political content could have been easily marketed into the Top 40. The closest The Decemberists ever obtain to matching that sound is with "O Valencia!", a cheery upbeat pop song akin to "July, July" off their debut, "Castaways and Cutouts".Nonetheless, Capitol/EMI should still be happy with their purchase. "The Crane Wife" brings folk-rock back to that corporate family for the first time since Fairport Convention published under the EMI label. Perhaps this album should inspire a few folks to dust off their old LPs of "Liege and Lief", because Fairport appears to be a major influence on the record. Moments of the 12-minute song cycle entitled "The Island" sound very much in that vein, though the complex arrangement also elicits thoughts of Jethro Tull's proggish folk-rock masterpiece "Thick as a Brick".Other tracks of interest include: "Yankee Bayonet", which features a fresh female vocalist lending her talents; "Shankhill Butchers", the album's obligatory trad-folk style track, the title referring to an historical group of anti-Catholic bigots who committed a string of shocking murders in the 1970's; and the closing strum-along track "Sons and Daughters"."The Crane Wife" reaches neither the beauty of "Castaways and Cutouts", nor the pop brilliance of "Picaresque". It does, however, present noticable improvement in both the complexity of arrangements and the musicianship of its players. A few years down the road, this will likely be viewed as a transitional record, and I'm excited to think about where the band might go in this direction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Crane Wife [Vinyl] []  2020-1-17 0:8

    I really love a few of the songs. I am enjoying the rest of the album, as well. It has been in the vehicle CD player for a while now :DThe Office really hooked me with their playing of Sons and Daughters near the end of the series. I also liked the song Architect which I first heard on HIMYM.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Optician’s Wife []  2020-1-15 22:15

    If you like psychological thrillers and stories about serial killers, you will love this. The timeline jumps around a bit, but for the most part it starts in the middle - then proceeds to fill in the blanks of the beginning of the story, and gives you an awesome end. I love it when authors do this because it keeps me guessing the entire time. Finished this book with a large smile on my face and just said "wow".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Optician’s Wife []  2020-1-15 22:15

    Very depressing. I read it as someone in our Opticians group mentioned it. As someone mentioned no one had any redeeming qualities. Feel sorry for anyone who has this view of life. Certainly there is negative in the world, but it is tempered by a lot of amazing as well. None of that was shared. I gave it 2 stars only because the actual writing wasn't bad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Forgotten Wife []  2020-1-15 22:15

    The end was very surprising. It was a amazing book that I enjoyed reading with my two days off. Todd got what he deserved. I hated that he wasn’t seeing his wrong in the marriage. There was some confusion where it was talking about Grant at the end but it was saying Grave. But over all a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Forgotten Wife []  2020-1-15 22:15

    THIS BOOK WAS SO GOOD. I WAS HOOKED FROM PAGE ONE UNTIL THE LAST PAGE. I IMMEDIATELY LOVED RYLEE ALL THE WAY TO THE LAST PAGE BEFORE THE LAST PAGE. THAT LAST PAGE HAD ME FEELING SOME KIND OF WAY… REAL MIXED FEELINGS. ONE THING ABOUT RYLEE IS SHE STAYED TRUE TO CHARACTER UNTIL THE END BUT REALLY EVERYONE STAYED TRUE. THE ENDING WAS AN ENDING INDEED. THAT DAY IN THE KITCHEN RYLEE WAS SO COLD UNTIL SHE HAD TODD BEGGING HER NOT TO LEAVE HIM WHEN IT WAS HER WHO MESSED UP. OCTAVIA WAS A REAL TRIP. SHE WAS DEFINITELY OUT OF ORDER.. TODD WAS LIKABLE BUT HE WAS WEAK. HE COULD NOT HANDLE OCTAVIA AND HER ADVANCES. THAT ROMAN WAS A TRIP. ALSO THERE WERE ERRORS IN THIS BOOK. ONE WAS ROMAN’S NAME WAS SPELLED DIFFERENT THROUGHOUT THE BOOK. I HAVE TO END MY REVIEW HERE BECAUSE I DON’T WANT TO SAY TOO MUCH. ALL I CAN SAY IS YES YES YES I SUGGEST THIS BOOK.🆘🆘🆘🆘🆘ONE MAJOR FLAW IN THIS BOOK THAT DROVE ME ABSOLUTELY CRAZY WAS THE AUTHOR USING THE WORD (YEA) INSTEAD OF YEAH. BECAUSE SHE DID USE YEAH SOME THAT LEADS ME TO BELIEVE THAT EVERY TIME SHE USED YEA IT WAS AN ERROR AND IF THAT IS THE CASE THERE WERE A WHOLE LOT OF ERRORS AND IF THAT WASN'T THE CASE THAT WAS JUST HORRIBLE🆘🆘🆘🆘🆘RYLEE- A WOMAN ON A MISSIONTODD- A MAN WHO NEEDS TO PRAY FOR STRENGTH OR ANYTHING JUST PRAY.OCTAVIA- A WOMAN WHO NEEDS TO KNOW SHE IS INVINCIBLE.RAMON\ROMAN- A MAN WHO IS A THREAT TO VER- 5TITLE- 10STORY-10MORAL: THE TRUTH WILL SET YOU FREE OR KILL YOU IN THE PROCESS. LITERALLYSIGNED: BE WATCHFUL OF EVERYBODY…ESPECIALLY THOSE THAT IS CLOSE TOO YOU…..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Forgotten Wife []  2020-1-15 22:15

    Mrs. Johnson is a terrific author. This was my first time reading her works; however, it won't be my last. The story line held my interest; for the most part it was beautiful clean. PTL! WOW! Near the end there were more hooks & crooks, twists & turns than I ever expected! Then just when I thought I knew who did it; I didn't!!! Well done Mrs Johnson; very well done!!! WOW!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Forgotten Wife []  2020-1-15 22:15

    I love mysteries and Ms Johnson did a amazing job of weaving a tale of lies, backstabbing, murder and intrigued. I was glued to this book and couldn't place it down. I never would have guessed the twist at the end. It's too poor the characters never grasped the power of God's dominion that sister Rae tried to convey. Amazing story!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wife Between Us []  2020-1-31 1:47

    This is an escapist novel, with a mysterious tone which largely fails to captivate. The characters lacked depth, & a hinted nefarious act fails to materialize. The plot was repetitive, & the characters were stereotyped. If a reader wants a novel to,pass time, this might do,the trick, but it lacked "staying power," & the surprise ending seemed trite & motionless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wife Between Us []  2020-1-31 1:47

    I didn’t like the book at all. I kept waiting for something interesting to happen but it never did. A waste of money!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wife Between Us []  2020-1-31 1:47

    The writing by the authors was very good, excellent, in fact. Unfortunately, that is the only positive thing I can say about this e book starts off very slow. The chapters alternate between what appears to be Richard's ex-wife and his fresh bride to be. One chapter is in the first person and the next in the third person. The first seven chapters are just back and forth and very small is happening. No plot and no hero development. This portion of the book was difficult to en the authors used a gimmick to fool the reader. It turns out at about the half-way point in the book that both women are the same person. Instead of one being the future bride to be, it is the dumped wife before she married Richard, not Richard's future wife. The authors even used various names so as to confuse the reader. When the charade is revealed, the reader feels lied to and e end is really no twist or surprise as some reviewers claim. I saw it coming miles away. Why else have the subplot of the affair with her professor years ago? What other purpose would that part of the story serve?I also disliked that the narrator was unreliable. At times she was upset her husband dumped her for a younger woman. And then later on, she claimed she orchestrated his falling in love with his secretary so that he would divorce her. OK, which is it? She seemed bi-polar to me.Overall, I was disappointed with the story. It was too predictable and as a reader, I felt cheated by the device the authors used to trick the reader. I would have preferred the authors told the story directly. It could have been much better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guilty Wife []  2020-1-31 22:2

    I am an avid reader of mysteries especially when a murder is involved. Part of the joy of reading mysteries at the hands of a skilled writer is to follow along with clues and characters and become deeply involved in the story. After spending time reading this book, I felt betrayed. I was involved with the main hero for a time but soon realized that she wasn’t someone the author wanted me to root for. The main hero acted in all unheroic ways from very early in the story and even though I kept wanting her to be my hero, she never was. But still I continued to read hoping for a recovery. When I got to the end, I was outraged. I felt the author threw this chapter in because she didn’t do a amazing job of weaving clues throughout the story and was stuck at the end for a [email protected]#$%!& seemed more necessary for the author to seem clever by ‘tricking’ the readers with a surprise than it was for her to craft the story successfully from the beginning, leaving solid but misleading clues so we would be genuinely surprised. If you are an aficionado of mysteries like me, save yourself from being fooled. This is not a well crafted mystery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guilty Wife []  2020-1-31 22:2

    I stuck with this to the end but had a feeling I wasn't going to like the ending &I didn't! It wasn't just the ending, the whole book was boring I kept waiting for someone to obtain intelligent but no one ever did. A waste of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Guilty Wife []  2020-1-31 22:2

    This book was terrible. The story was just ridiculous at so a lot of points in the book. I created myself [email protected]#$%!, just to see what this not good ending was going to be that I heard about in previous reviews...but the ending matched the rest of the book. Just not a believable plot and you wanna punch the main hero in the face the whole time for the choices she makes. Not to mention the hero isn't very likeable anyhow...she has the affair, yet she's so hateful to the loyal husband? Just do yourself a favor and skip this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wife: A Novel []  2020-1-27 22:29

    The Wife is yet another Wolitzer winner. Written more than 10 years ago, it is still very timely.An older man, a writer and professor, becomes fascinated with one of his students at Smith College, and after seeing how well she writes, and that he is attracted to her, never mind that he is married and a fresh father. Well, let’s leave it there. The book spans their relationship. Narrated by the wife herself. It is filled with subtle humor as well as heated subjects such as women being suppressed by men, forfeiting careers, and men using as power.Wolitzer’s natural ability to make characters who occupy the page allows you to absorb everything about them. You can’t support it. They are alive. You might dislike them, disagree with them, or wish to urge them to take a step back, but you are invested in their path.If you’re a fan of Ms. Wolitzer’s writing and have not read this book, pick it up. Before you see the movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wife: A Novel []  2020-1-27 22:29

    Any woman over fifty who has been in a long marriage (you define long; for me, it’s anything over twenty years) will recognize the shudder-inducing repulsion that Joan Castleman expresses for her husband in the opening paragraphs of Meg Wolitzer’s The Wife. No matter how much you love the man (or woman) you have committed to, there are things that he or she does that threaten to drive you off the cliff. (How much noise he makes when he chews an English muffin? How he waits to wash his hands until dinner is on the table and getting cold?)For Joan, it’s so a lot of things that I couldn’t imagine how she has managed to stay with Joe Castleman all these years (nearly five decades). For some women, there’s no choice: having given up their careers (and allow their skills obsolesce) to raise a family, perhaps, they have no other financial options. For some, the children are still at home, and they’re committed to seeing them through their adolescence before returning to work. But Joan has no such excuses. Which is perhaps the most troubling issue with the plot of this short novel. But more on that in a an is on her method to Helsinki, Finland, with Joe, who is going to accept a literary just a small short of a Nobel, when she decides their marriage is over. As soon as they obtain through the ceremonies and celebrations, she’s going to tell him she’s leaving him. The novel then flashes back (in a lengthy tell-don’t-show fashion that would never be accepted by an agent or a publishing house from a writer with less fame than Wolitzer) to their early years together – how she met him when he was her professor, how he left his first wife, where they lived in Fresh York, the parties they attended, Joe’s first books, the birth of their children. And then, interspersed with the action (or not) in Helsinki, we hear of their middle years together: his growing fame, the children’s estrangement, and Joe’s frequent affairs. At the end, she dumps a lot of narrative summaries that, if they had been explored as scenes earlier in the novel, would have given us a much richer picture of Joan and may already know how it ends (it was created into a 2018 film starring Glenn Close, who was nominated for an Oscar for her role), but I’ll not spoil it here for those who don’t. Suffice it to say, a lot of readers will have already guessed at the huge secret Joan and Joe share, and most probably hope to God that she decides to reveal it after she leaves the man. She deserves to allow the globe know.Wolitzer’s prose is polished as ever, and I found myself rushing through this thin volume over a weekend, hoping for some kind of redemptive detail about Joe that would explain why Joan is still with him or some payback for Joan’s long suffering. But despite the fabulous sentences and occasional (although not as abundant as some critics have claimed) wit, I found the plot unsatisfying and characters poorly explored. The deus ex machina and the decision Joan makes at the end are cop-outs—a dodge that saved Wolitzer from exploring a much more obvious, complicated, and riskier ending that would repaid Joan for staying with this overgrown man-child and happy the readers’ need for a complete story.I recommend the book for people who are as tired of their spouses as Joan is (misery loves company), but not for readers who have fun a compelling narrative arc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Crane Wife []  2020-2-12 21:41

    I think adults may appreciate this one more than the kids will. I've attempted to read it to my younger sisters (ages 4 and 6) and they're just not into it. It's a beautifully illustrated book with an interesting and tragic story, and you might wish to save it for those a small older.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Crane Wife []  2020-2-12 21:41

    Beautiful photos

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Time Traveler's Wife []  2020-3-31 19:50

    I came into this book expecting a lot from reviews I'd heard, but despite being a generally not very critical person, I genuinely really disliked it. While it's rhetorically very lovely, the romance doesn't come through to me at all (due to a lot of things; the blandness of Clare's character, the dislikeability of Henry's, the "predetermined" nature of each of their meetings, and the gross pedophilia-ness of it all). Additionally, it just feels very messy, with several inconsistencies that were never cleared up, and even a few typos I picked out, which just really present off the not good editing that went into this. And that doesn't even start to go into the oversexualization of Clare (which, unfortunately, takes up almost every page off this too-long-for-its-mediocre-plot book) and the racist caricatures of the (very few) characters of color. But I think I've probably gotten my opinion across without picking out the details. Overall, very disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Time Traveler's Wife []  2020-3-31 19:50

    I am a sucker for stories about time travel. This is a classic in that genre. Henry, the hero, is afflicted with something called "Chrono Displacement Disorder," which is mumbo-jumbo for the fact that he has no control over randomly jumping back and forth in his own timeline. Claire, the heroine, is a normal, unaffected person.I recommend this book to anyone who has the following characteristics: (1) Slightly nerdy, and enjoys stories having to do with time travel, and (2) Enjoys books with a powerful female hero and (3) Enjoys fantasies with a hunky male character.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dark Wife []  2020-1-19 20:58

    this book was horrendous. i had to skip some of the most not good parts but i finished method to describe this book is lack is book is the epitome of boring. what originally drew me to the book was the origin story with a twist (a heroine) because i love Greek ever the heroine was so boring, naive, and weak i could hardly think of her as a heroine. her lover (Hades) was almost too good. she had no faults and it was extremely unbelievable. i’m not saying she had to be mean but she treated Persephone like a weakling the entire book. (although what else was she supposed to do since Persephone acted like one)there were two plots and both ended beautiful lamely. i am utterly shocked by how much they created me hate Persephone and her so if you are looking for a stage with remotely any info this is not the book for you. its very broad and can be applied to almost anything (sexual). they should have just not included at all. their entire love and romance seemed forced, stretched and e main villain was defeated method to easily. not to mention the method the book was told there was something large that the heroine would do that would change the world. but it seemed like Hades did all the massive rprisingly it’s not the worst book i’ve read this past week but its up there.i cant believe i spent $7.99 on this not good book. :/

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dark Wife []  2020-1-19 20:58

    The Dark Wife tells a story most of us know. The story of Hades and Persephone, and how she ended up in the underworld, married to the god of the dead. But in this book, Persephone (our narrator), tells us that the story we know is wrong. Starting with the fact that Hades is female. She is the sister of Zeus and Poseidon, and because she prefers women, they use the term "lord" of the underworld. Subsequently, Persephone is not raped and kidnapped. She is not forced into a marriage. But, instead, this book tells a attractive love e novel takes put mostly in the underworld. It's not a put I thought I'd wish to visit... until I got to know it. Obviously this story tells a very various one than what we've learned from Greek mythology, and it works. I love mythology, and I don't always love when it's messed with too much. But The Dark Wife was fantastic. I loved Persephone and Hades, and the story was of the largest complaints I've heard for self published books is the amount of spelling and grammatical errors. I don't recall one such error in this entire novel. Another method this self-published book stands out is the cover. Out of all the self-pubbed books I've seen, this one has the prettiest cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Zookeeper's Wife []  2020-1-20 22:40

    I only got through about 60% of this because I had forgotten it was one I had to rent, rather than just watching on Prime, and my rental expired before I finished watching (in other words, I thought I had all the time in the globe to [email protected]#$%!.)Obviously, I can't review the film as a whole. That being said, the performances were quite amazing and the tension level was kept relatively high in that it really captured what must have been the level of stress and uncertainty even for non-Jews at the time (of course, it was 100x worse for the Jewish people, but it was still more than poor enough for the everyone else who wasn't a real believer in the Nazi mission. I suspect I willl rent it again to finish watching...it was definitely keeping my interest enough that I'd like to see the end, even if it means paying ever, HOWEVER, I do have one complaint, not necessarily about the movie itself, but about the method it is being promoted. It really needs to come with a strong, and unmissable, warning that the film includes a lot of scenes of animals suffering, in pain, in fear, and dying, sometimes as a effect of the deliberate, intentional acts of the Nazis. (SLIGHT SPOILER: Just to clarify, the initial bombings killed out a lot of of the animals, but hitting the zoo was, as I understand it, not an intentional act, not that that fact lessened the animals' suffering any).Now, to those who say that my true concern should be the suffering of the humans, and in particular to those who say my true concern should the suffering of the Jewish people, I can only say the following: You have a point, and I absolutely hear what you are saying. But it is unusual these days to see such overt and protracted violence versus animals, and so a lot of animals, portrayed as vividly as it is in this film. A lot of filmakers, understandably so, present at most only an indirect and very brief shot of an animal in pain. For those of us that are wired with a particular sensitivity to the welfare of animals, even that can be heartwrenching. While I knew this movie would contain the death of animals, I had NO warning that it would be as poor as it r better or worse (and I think most of us would say worse), violence versus humans has become the norm in films, and it doesn't surprise us. In general terms, we expect it. But even though the overriding plot was about the decimation and murder of the Jewish people, the part of the movie I got through concentrated on the slaughter of animals. Given that, I really do believe that this movie merits an extra, and overt, warning, for the benefit of those of us that are particularly sensitive to animal suffering.I can't in amazing conscience give this movie less than four stars, however, because what I am really criticizing is the lack of warning about violence versus animals that should have been shown before the movie started, and, as I said earlier on, this movie certainly worked well for me on every other level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Zookeeper's Wife []  2020-1-20 22:40

    My husband and I both loved this movie. We plan to watch it again. What a amazing look at an poor time in history. Such a various story than most about the holocaust. By the way, we wish to adopt the baby camel who loved running around the zoo. He is so adorable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Reluctant RV Wife []  2020-1-26 23:2

    Are you thinking of buying an RV, or just nearing retirement age? Either way, this book is a must-have! The author walks us through their process of becoming RVers, from the very beginning with her husband's dream, as well as takes us along for the ride on their trips that are packed with lots of insider information. I was hooked from the very beginning. This author's writing style is Real; she is so begin and transparent with her thoughts that I felt not only like I was going along with them on their trips, but with this reluctant RV wife through her life transformation journey. I can't wait for her next book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Reluctant RV Wife []  2020-1-26 23:2

    A amazing book about starting the RV lifestyle. Very funny and informative. All RVers (snd those who wish ti be) should read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Billionaire's Secret Wife []  2020-2-4 6:59

    This is book 3 about the dysfunctional Pryce family. I’ve enjoyed the first three books and how the kids was able to overcome their their crazy parents and e Secret Wife had several heart wrenching twists that had me tearing up a few times. It’s so hard on children growing up watching their parents destroy their family. Vanessa’s story had an interesting twist that that took a very powerful hero like Justin to support her through it and gave her the satisfied ending she deserved. I very much enjoyed reading this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Billionaire's Secret Wife []  2020-2-4 6:59

    This story has everything you could wish in a romantic tale. Pulls at your heartstrings when you read of Vanessa’s coming of emotional age, although the background is a small sketchy and needs to be filled in. Our character Justin is what sheer romance is created of but, and there is always a but ,would have liked his background to be more defined hence the 4 Stars. I am recommending this to all and sundry EXCEPT for those who have an aversion to steamy as it is found in this story too! Although this book is a stand alone I am going to read the books preceding it and those following!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Runaway Pastor's Wife []  2020-2-5 1:41

    I really did not know what to expect with this book. I do have fun Christian literature, but I tend to go with inspirational romances. This is not a romance although it does have powerful romantic elements and a attractive and incredibly powerful love between Annie and David.While Annie is deeply in love with her husband David, she is worn down by the hypocrisy of his parishioners. They ridicule her husband's decisions, they give her kids a hard time and demand all of his time. She just has to obtain away to e leaves without telling her family and flies to Colorado to stay at her college friend's cabin in the woods. There she tries to obtain in touch with her feelings. She finds she is actually mad at God for allowing the issues in her life to owed in with a badly sprained ankle, she is surprised when an injured man shows up at her door. She's even more surprised when she discovers it's her college boyfriend, Michael Dean, a man who broke her heart.What could God have planned for her? As she nurses Michael, she will she search the answers she is seeking and end up even more confused?At first, I was not sure about this book. It seemed to jump around a bit, bringing in quite a few characters with a lot of points of view, but I was intrigued and continued to read. As the story unfolds the a lot of characters mesh together and the story pulled me further into the book.Annie faces questions that I believe a lot of Christians have asked. I know I have. I found her find for answers compelling. She only wants to search her closeness with God. A closeness she feels she has lost. I enjoyed her journey toward the truth. I wept a few tears along the way.Michael is a very confused man and has allowed his life to go in a direction where he has been so driven to succeed, he has forgotten what is truly necessary in life. I enjoyed his realization that he had created a amazing a lot of mistakes in his life and needs to change his ways.David has allowed his church to so totally control him, he has neglected the very people he loves most. When Annie leaves it’s a large wake-up call for him. He is determined to change his ways and prove he is the same man Annie fell in love with and the same husband and father. He goes to amazing lengths to prove this to her and his children.I thoroughly enjoyed this spiritual journey for not only Annie ​but David and Michael. If you like Christian-based fiction, then you will love this book. It touched my heart and enriched my faith as well. Ms. Moody is a gifted story teller and I will definitely look for other books by her. Satisfied reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Runaway Pastor's Wife []  2020-2-5 1:41

    I got this book for after seeing it on the Kindle Buffet list. I did not know the author but I did have some expectation about the book being amazing due to the number of reviews. The book held my attention and I had to know how it would end. Annie MacGregor is the wife of David MacGregor, pastor of Tall Pines Church in Pinellas County, Florida. Annie runs away because she is on the verge of an emotional breakdown and the story then unfolds from several perspectives. I understood Annie's need to run away to search herself and hear God's voice. There were times when her departure seemed extreme and selfish but at the same time it also seemed reasonable. I also understood how and why being a daughter, wife, mother, first lady of the church is a consummate method to lose yourself. I liked that you not only knew what was event with Annie in Colorado but all the happenings that were leading to the reunion with Michael; and also the perspective of how her family was faring in her absence. Once I started reading I stole every min I could to finish the book. The book was well written and strong in a lot of ways. For instance, it was amazing illustration of the fact that God never leaves us or forsakes us; it just sometimes seems like He is silent because we are so bogged down in our woes and distractions. There is also a clear illustration of the power of the Spirit working (even in adverse circumstances) for the amazing of those who love the Lord. I would recommend to others, but especially women who feel that they do more than the lion's share of keeping their families going.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Restaurant Critic's Wife []  2020-2-5 0:24

    This is another of those books that somehow, page by page, manage to string you along, hold you reading, waiting for something significant to happen, even though you have other things that need your attention. But nothing happens, and soon you've finished the book, wondering, "is that all?"To further frustrate this reader, the book is chock full of irritations. The names of the kids, for example: Who, in this day and age, names a small girl Hazel? Or a boy Henry? Or Russel? Or Pamela? Those names are from the amazing grandparents' and grandparents' generations, respectively. Maybe one could accept the rare anachronism as in true life children. But every single child? Another irritation: Sam is a selfish jerk who cares small for the feelings of others - especially those of his wife. And the wife, Lila, is a wimp who makes token resistance, but ultimately caves every time she tries to stand up for herself. And the small girl, Hazel, is a spoiled, indulged brat who throws a tantrum each and every time she thinks she doesn't like something - which is almost constantly. I found myself thinking the child required a amazing paddling instead of the ongoing appeasement on the part of her mother.I could go on, but you obtain the gist. Don't bother.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Restaurant Critic's Wife []  2020-2-5 0:24

    The Restaurant Critic's Wife is a lot of fun, especially if you like test fresh restaurants and read reviews either by customers or meal reviewers! The chapters start with a review and then the story continues. The reviewer is Sam Soto, his pregnant wife Lila and three year old daughter Hazel. They dine out often (it's his job) and Lila suffers thru the meals as he tunes her and any quests completely out and wants to hold his identity a secret, even in their fresh neighborhood. Even though Lila is lonely and without friends, he doesn't wish her to talk with the neighbors.. It's silly and yet, could it be that serious? That is why I enjoyed the story, because it gave me a fresh perspective on that profession and there is so much talk about meal and preparation that my husband and I ventured out to a few fresh neighborhood gems in Nashville!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Impaler's Wife []  2020-2-6 20:39

    Having Romanian ancestry I've had a lifetime of fascination with the Dracula legend, I look for novels that have the historical route of the story. Although I enjoyed this novel I found it a small to much in the Romance genre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Impaler's Wife []  2020-2-6 20:39

    The Impaler's Wife is a fascinating look at the life of Dracula. There was so much of his history that I didn't know. I felt at moments that I was in past, spying on the Hungarian court. Bardot's research really shines through. It is not simple to create a brutal assassin a love interest, but I was intrigued by Ilona's story as well as Vlad's mysterious past. I feel like a part of history I've always wondered about has been filled in. I'm looking forward to reading more of Bardot's books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woodcutter's Wife [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Really amazing read, had it all, sad, funny, very real to life. Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Kitchen God's Wife [Book]  2018-6-16 18:0

    The story is just a view of Chinese culture, but it is not written well. Amazing for teenage level reading , but not even close to being a worthwhile literary escapade. If you have fun a fast superficial read, this is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wife Arrangement [Book]  2018-7-15 18:0

    I loved this story by Penny. I read an ARC and I fell in love with it so I purchased it for my library. As always, I'm leaving my voluntary and honest e Wife Arrangement grabbed my attention, created me laugh, created me mad, and created me fan myself with Dee and Jasper's sizzling chemistry. And, if you've read Penny Wylder's stories before, then you know you're in for some amazing intimate e blurb describes the plot well. It was quite surprising and gratifying that when Dee and Jasper meet sparks fly. Snarky banter, fun, and romance quickly follow as they go meet his family. The fake feelings become true and you wonder how it's all going to go down when Dee finds out why Jasper initially picked her. Will she search out? And if she does, how is she going to take it since their feelings have become real?Get this book, you won't regret it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Billionaire's Secret Wife []  2020-2-4 6:59

    Absolutely loved this book! I have had a lot of book boyfriend's/husband's, but Justin take the cake. He is thoughtful, caring, protective, and gentle. From Nadia's other books I always thought he would be a carefree goofball, but that couldn't be further from the truth. He has this almost risky side that comes out when someone he loves is being treated badly. It refers to Justin being more vengeful than Barron, but didn't really obtain to see that. Well besides from the stage with Salazar. I was annoyed with Vanessa's hero for most of the book, but could see where she was coming from. Growing up in a toxic home could create anyone react that way. I do want that she would have come around sooner though. One question I do have is whether or not Peggy was who she said she was. They discussed it but did not specifically say if she was or not. Overall my favorite book of the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Billionaire's Secret Wife []  2020-2-4 6:59

    I so loved reading this book! I think it's sad how a poor relationship between parents, in the same household or not, can affect the kids to a degree that had behavior follows them to adulthood. That is clear in the behaviour shown in each of the Adult children in this series, especially the only girl! I loved the storyline in this book and I know others will have fun it also! I book that I will recommend to others!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Restaurant Critic's Wife []  2020-2-5 0:24

    Set in Philadelphia, PA, my hometown as well as my current residence, I loved references to my city's landmarks and I am very familiar with a lot of of the neighborhood locations listed in the book. Laughed out loud in some instances; fortunately, I was at home and not on public transportation!. Loved reading the experiences of a young family moving into a fresh town , establishing themselves in a neighborhood where the neighbors become more of surrogate family than strangers. I thought the author captured the joy of living with a partner you love, the adventure of learning about a fresh zone and establishing yourself there, and the give and take needed in any relationship (friendship, family life). The author, who in true life IS married to a restaurant critic, notes that the scenes in the book are fictional; cannot support but wonder. I thoroughly enjoyed the book; I more for it than the currently listed and thought it was a bargin. I don't know whether or not I will re-read it, but sure enjoyed it while I was reading it and I look forward to reading more from this author, even if the setting is not Philadelphia, PA!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Restaurant Critic's Wife []  2020-2-5 0:24

    I really wouldn't recommend this book. I disliked all the characters and the writing was mediocre. The story was so boring! The whole premise is that this restaurant critic wants his identity to be kept a secret so he won't allow his wife create any mates or work. The whole time I just kept thinking no one cares that much about who you are! I have literally never read a restaurant review and wouldn't base my decision to go to a restaurant on someone's review anyway. It's one of those jobs that will be extinct soon. Hard pass on this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Restaurant Critic's Wife []  2020-2-5 0:24

    I see most reviewers disliked Sam, the restaurant critic, due to his paranoia that he will be recognized in restaurants. Yes, he is insensitive to his wife's need for friends, and later on, her want to work again. I found the story interesting but not wildly so. I fail to understand how Lila, the wife, could be so active shortly after her caesarian. Also, she does not seem all that interested in her brand fresh son. She breastfeeds, and this fact is often mentioned because a baby can be demanding in situations awkward for the breastfeeding mom. I did not search the book "funny" in any way. In fact, nothing much happens except not good Lila's issues with her paranoid husband. However, allow me mention that in one of her (amusing) books Ruth Reichl (former editor of the late lamented Gourmet magazine) also told of the extreme lengths she went to to disguise herself when she was a restaurant critic. It IS a true issue for a serious critic! But of course Sam goes method too far, and sometimes his disguises were in no method funny -- just unbelievable. I had some problem with the ending -- the book held small in the method of exciting developments, so I waited for some interesting or shocking development at the end. It sort of fizzles towards a satisfied ending, and Sam's sudden about-face regarding Lila's predicaments did not convince. A nice light read, but nothing great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Runaway Pastor's Wife []  2020-2-5 1:41

    I finished this book with a dozens of mixed emotions. One of them included the powerful desire to throw it across the room, but it was on a Kindle so I couldn't. First, I'm not saying anything versus the primary plot. Sure, I can see why a pastor's wife would obtain fed up and wish some "time off." That's not wonderful at all. My hat goes off to pastors and their wives, just as it goes to my rabbi and his wife (we're Messianics). Anyone who thinks they have a one-day-a-week job is a moron. Every pastor I've known, every rabbi I've known, is so busy he's like a dog chasing his own tail and never catching is one has a lot going for it. (I won't even be nitpicky and gripe about how the title sounds like she's the wife of a runaway pastor, no I won't.) Seriously, there are a few laughs, a few sentimental moments, and as others have pointed out, it proves that a book does not need foul language or to tell a decent story. On the other hand, it never truly engaged me. I purchased it almost two months ago and just finished it today. Why? Because I kept rolling my eyes and putting it down. There were several eye-rolling moments--some of the "bad guys," whether the true poor guys (you know, the killer-Snidely Whiplash kind) or just the really truly obnoxious poor guys who need a punch in the snout, are just a tad too stereotypical. The really obnoxious poor guy reminds me of the wicked witch out of the Wizard of Oz--the "I'll obtain you and your small dog too!" type. The other--"I've chased you all the method through the book but now I'm gonna just stand here and allow the other guy talk his head off so we can reveal how this was set up for the audience" type. Oh, and don't forget the shrill, publicity-seeking mother-in-law. If there's a sequel to this book, I imagine she will be hosting a Maury Povich-type present where everyone beats on each other with folding chairs. I've seen a lot of evil mothers-in-law, but this one takes the proverbial cake.I won't deny there were some amazing moments. It came about too easily, but Michael's conversion stage was well-done enough that it brought a tear to these jaded eyes. A couple of the flashbacks were memorable. But...Then there's the out-and-out stupid stuff. In the "discussion questions" at the end of the book, there's "Do you think David gave in too easily when he found where Max was going and what he was up to?" Why does that even rate a discussion? It reeked of "convenient plot point" here. David is wimpy all through the book, with the exception of the one well-delivered punch he delivers to the obnoxious poor guy. But even that seems to be just an excuse for a semi-comic John Wayne saloon ly, there's the pseudo-resolution. I say "pseudo" because that's all it was. Christine is back--and Max and Michael are right there. Holy cow, doesn't that rate a stage of its own? But nothing at all is said. The poor guys were found under a mound of snow. Okay, fine, but what about the envelope full of evidence? There were other people implicated in that, right? Oh, and what about faithful Caroline, Megan and PJ? Not worth hearing about--Caroline is doubtless minding the other kids, who aren't worth mention either since they had almost no part in the book anyway, and PJ is now car-less, but we don't care because the stars are happy, and Megan...? Meh. What about Amelia? She was a minor character, but in a lot of ways she was more sympathetic than the protagonist. It seems like the author didn't consider any of these minor characters worthy of their own resolution; she chose to end the book in Colorado, but for no reason I can think of except she was tired of writing and didn't wish to do it anymore.And last--but most. "We're taking a sabbatical!" Well, that's great, BUT--1. What happens to the church? David left it in the middle of a civil battle which has not ended. Not only that, but the people at the church were left wondering if maybe there's some truth to what Obnoxious Poor Guy said, since apparently David and family won't be going back.2. What about obnoxious poor guy? The method it ends...HE WINS, he and his power-grabbing cronies.3. What happens when the honeymoon--oops, sabbatical--is over? Do they come back to the same church?4. Whatever church they go to, unless David figures out his priorities and learns better time management, won't the same issue just happen again?None of these problems (which are beautiful important, to my method of thinking) are resolved...but everyone's sitting around the fireplace, chuckling. It's like an old Star Trek episode--no matter how a lot of red-shirts got eaten or how a lot of guest stars went angry or got killed, Spock's always going to tilt his eyebrow and everyone's going to laugh. To me, this is not a resolution. And if I could've done it without busting my Kindle, I would have chucked the book across the room. "Remove from Device" doesn't have that same feeling of satisfaction, but very small about this book ended on a satisfying note, anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Runaway Pastor's Wife []  2020-2-5 1:41

    And I really mean that. My mother could have been, and I think must have been Annie Franklin for all intent and purpose. I was born into a pastor's family and my dad was a problem shooter pastor. I watched the hurt toxic people did to my parent's marriage and to our family. For those who criticize Annie for leaving, I say to them, "You have no idea of what you speak." And this author caught the complexities of her situation nicely. My mom never took off, but I know of periods of time where she locked herself in her room for days, unable to with the intrusive negativity that overwhelmed our loves. This is definitely a faith based novel and slanted very intentionally toward church-going Christians. But the lessons are there for anyone who has been damage by a group of people in a club or association. I wrote my doctoral dissertation on related situations in pastoring so found the story compelling for that reason as well. The story's resolution was unexpected in a lot of ways but believable. Very amazing book.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386