Read the politics of law reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the politics of law reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trials of the State: Law and the Decline of Politics []  2020-6-11 20:3

    This brief book is a bleakly provocative discussion of politics and law. The author, a distinguished barrister and judge, questions whether judges and written constitutions are a solution to the essentially political issues modern western democracies are facing. The legitimacy of a government is paramount. If the populace do not accord the state legitimacy, it will cease to be a democracy, and no resort to a supreme constitution that preempts a parliament, nor delegating power to judges can save it

    0  


    Add your opinion on the politics of law or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rule by Law: The Politics of Courts in Authoritarian Regimes []  2020-7-2 20:17

    I recently took a comparative constitutional law class at my law school. Even though my school is one of the best for international law, I felt it really lacked depth when we discussed courts in illiberal countries like China. Frankly, this book was much more useful than that class.I purchased this book because I am currently doing research on judicial systems in Asia under authoritarian control. The articles provide both a theoretical framework for how courts operate in such environments and a selection of case studies from all over the world. The overarching theme is that authoritarian regimes in a lot of cases actually provide an illiberal form of rule of law for their courts, rather than simply treating them as a facade. I thought the chapters on Singapore (Silverstein), Chile (Hilbank), Egypt (Moustafa), and and Turkey (Shambayati) were particularly insightful and created me look at courts and judges in these regimes differently.On a private note, I want the book had included one more chapter looking at another judicial system in Asia. Given latest happenings latest year, a chapter on Pakistan would have been very interesting. I also think the book would have benefitted from a chapter exploring the patronage and corruption that authoritarian leaders in Southeast Asia used to influence judges, such as Suharto in Indonesia or Mahathir in Malaysia.Overall, this is a amazing book and I hope it encourages more research in this field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On The Rule of Law: History, Politics, Theory []  2020-6-23 19:36

    I am active in reading, but lazy in responding. This time, however, I have taken time to respond. This book is a seminal contribution to the global jurisprudence in the branch of Rule of Law. Miss it, at your own peril, if you are, especially, a lawyer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On The Rule of Law: History, Politics, Theory []  2020-6-23 19:36

    I found this book very informative. Tamanaha goes clearly though the various definitions for 'rule-of-law' and how they differ. The parts that I knew a small bit about seemed quite accurate. The book is short but strikingly comprehensive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On The Rule of Law: History, Politics, Theory []  2020-6-23 19:36

    Well-written. Historical review helps the readers understand the roots of our laws. Author an informed and balanced discussion of rule of law.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On The Rule of Law: History, Politics, Theory []  2020-6-23 19:36

    I use this text for both a law school and undergraduate ver of a law and public policy course. I couldn't be happier with my selection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rule by Law: The Politics of Courts in Authoritarian Regimes []  2020-7-2 20:17

    works great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rule by Law: The Politics of Courts in Authoritarian Regimes []  2020-7-2 20:17

    Timely service, and the book was exactly as described.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On The Rule of Law: History, Politics, Theory []  2020-6-23 19:36

    The rule of law is an necessary legal and political concept that has a long history, and it has been the expounded in a dozens of theoretical formulations. Moreover, the rule of law is an necessary legal and political concept around the globe e author provides a very amazing overview of the history of the rule of law concept, and does a very amazing job of describing different theories of the rule of law concept. The author's historical overview gives the reader necessary factual background and political and social context to better understand how the rule of law concept has developed, and been invoked and used throughout history. The author's description of different theories of the rule of law concept is very informative and helps the reader to understand significant differences in the meaning given to the rule of law concept by various thinkers, various cultures, and various types of government. Furthermore, by comparing and contrasting the various theories of the rule of law, the author provides the reader with interesting insights into the meaning and significance of the various theories of the rule of law e author's discussion about the politics associated with various rule of law theories is not as powerful as his historical survey of the rule of law concept, or his analysis about the competing theories about the rule of law concept. And, the author's discussion about the rule of law concept in international law has an uneven quality, marred by the author's tendency to criticize the United States and other Western countries for perceived failings in international law with small or no effort to criticize other countries for their role in such perceived spite the weaknesses noted in the preceding paragraph, I strongly recommend this book for: (1) anyone interested in learning about the rule of law concept; and (2) anyone knowledgeable about the rule of law concept who is interested in considering a various perspective on the concept.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On The Rule of Law: History, Politics, Theory []  2020-6-23 19:36

    We're hearing quite a bit these days about 'judicial activism', so it would be nice if we could be clear just what we mean by the 'rule of law'.Unfortunately, when we obtain down to specifics, the term means various things to various people. Probably no one anywhere seriously contends as a matter of principle that e.g. judges should render strictly subjective opinions. But in practice, one person's law is another person's bias. (And contrary to the rhetoric of the loudest voices in such debates, it's usually because there are two competing principles genuinely at issue, not because one side doesn't care about principles at all.)So it's a amazing idea to take a step back and ask, a bit more abstractly, exactly what we mean by the 'rule of law'. And that's where this slim but information-dense volume comes ian Tamanaha takes just about the only course it's possible to take in defining such a nebulous concept: the historical approach. By method of putting salt on the tail of the ideal of the rule of law, he traces the development of the concept from ancient Greece to the show day.If you think that sounds like a huge job for just 141 pages of text (plus notes and bibliography), you're right. In fact, one of the most impressive things about this deceptively little book is the amount of erudition Tamanaha manages to package economically into its pages. There's quite a lot buried between the lines here, and sweating this baby down to such a manageable length (while keeping it readable) must have taken some true r it _is_ eminently readable, and it does provide a thorough, if brief, tour of the development of the rule-of-law ideal in Western e tour begins, naturally enough, in ancient Greece and Rome, since the ideal at least has its roots in, most notably, the writings of Plato and Aristotle. However, as Tamanaha points out, these writings didn't directly embody the ideal and in any happening were largely lost to the West until medieval times; their importance for the rule of law was largely in their influence on later 's in the Middle Ages that things really obtain rolling, what with all the power struggles between the papacy and the different thrones, the development of German customary law, and the Magna Carta. Even here, as Tamanaha shows, the ideal hasn't come to full fruition; what happens at this scene is that we're bequeathed a difficult question about how the government -- the state, the monarch, the legislature, the sovereign -- can be bound by the law when it is itself apparently the source of that law.Tamanaha traces the ramifications of this question, and its developing answers, through the rise of the middle class, the Enlightenment, the growth of capitalism, and the modern era -- significantly and properly locating the rule-of-law ideal in the rise of political liberalism (in its broadest sense). Along the method we obtain short and incisive summaries of e.g. the works of Locke, Montesquieu, and Hamilton, Madison, and Jay, and a fine (and scrupulously fair) overview of the latest history and current state of the the end we wind up with a broad tripartite acc of the meaning of the rule of law. The three essential themes, Tamanaha contends, are the limitation of government itself by law, the 'formal' requirement that law be both impersonal and predictable, and the contrast between the 'rule of law' and the 'rule of man'. Having distinguished these themes, Tamanaha spends a chapter considering their app to international law, and then closes with a short rumination on whether the rule of law is really a 'universal human good'.Ultimately Tamanaha finds grounds for optimism in the fact that beautiful much everyone, no matter what their other disagreements, gives at least lip service to the rule-of-law ideal. This fact, though disconcertingly negative as to the prospects for agreement about precisely what the rule of law means in detail, is also evidence that societal attitudes broadly favoring the rule of law are deeply embedded and not likely to be dislodged by those narrower would be hard to search a more timely topic than Tamanaha's, and it would be hard to search a fairer or more readable discussion than his. If you're interested in current debates about the independence of the judiciary and the role of judges, don't miss this opportunity to stand back from those debates and look at the huge picture. Public discourse is better served by a small history than by a lot of rhetoric.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On The Rule of Law: History, Politics, Theory []  2020-6-23 19:36

    A amazing overview with fine references. Amazing starting book on the subject, leads to other writings from ancient Athens to nowadays.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rule by Law: The Politics of Courts in Authoritarian Regimes []  2020-7-2 20:17

    Amazing book, very expensive but also cutting edge on the politics of judicialization.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rule by Law: The Politics of Courts in Authoritarian Regimes []  2020-7-2 20:17

    I recently took a comparative constitutional law class at my law school. Even though my school is one of the best for international law, I felt it really lacked depth when we discussed courts in illiberal countries like China. Frankly, this book was much more useful than that class.I purchased this book because I am currently doing research on judicial systems in Asia under authoritarian control. The articles provide both a theoretical framework for how courts operate in such environments and a selection of case studies from all over the world. The overarching theme is that authoritarian regimes in a lot of cases actually provide an illiberal form of rule of law for their courts, rather than simply treating them as a facade. I thought the chapters on Singapore (Silverstein), Chile (Hilbank), Egypt (Moustafa), and and Turkey (Shambayati) were particularly insightful and created me look at courts and judges in these regimes differently.On a private note, I want the book had included one more chapter looking at another judicial system in Asia. Given latest happenings latest year, a chapter on Pakistan would have been very interesting. I also think the book would have benefitted from a chapter exploring the patronage and corruption that authoritarian leaders in Southeast Asia used to influence judges, such as Suharto in Indonesia or Mahathir in Malaysia.Overall, this is a amazing book and I hope it encourages more research in this field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Normal Life: Administrative Violence, Critical Trans Politics, and the Limits of Law []  2020-6-11 20:3

    Wonderful book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Normal Life: Administrative Violence, Critical Trans Politics, and the Limits of Law []  2020-6-11 20:3

    For school

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Normal Life: Administrative Violence, Critical Trans Politics, and the Limits of Law []  2020-6-11 20:3

    Must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Normal Life: Administrative Violence, Critical Trans Politics, and the Limits of Law []  2020-6-11 20:3

    Even though this book gets into some detail about legal reform and critical queer theory, it is extremely accessible. It is so necessary to understand the shortcomings of and social movements, especially in regards to trans liberation, and Spade does an wonderful job of laying it out. He takes a perspective which calls for structural reform rather than working within existing oppressive institutions at the individual level. You will not regret reading this!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Normal Life: Administrative Violence, Critical Trans Politics, and the Limits of Law []  2020-6-11 20:3

    More than perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Normal Life: Administrative Violence, Critical Trans Politics, and the Limits of Law []  2020-6-11 20:3

    Amazing Book! Would always recommend! I have bought several copies just to give away to friends. Accessible, profound, and relevant to anyone and everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Normal Life: Administrative Violence, Critical Trans Politics, and the Limits of Law []  2020-6-11 20:3

    This book was needed for a women's studies course that I took. It helped to facilitate a lot of amazing discussions in our class. I only gave it four stars because I felt that there were too a lot of locations where Spades writing was a bit too wordy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Normal Life: Administrative Violence, Critical Trans Politics, and the Limits of Law []  2020-6-11 20:3

    Amazing informative read. Amazing if you're interested in the topic. Bought this for a book report for one of my classes, but it would be amazing for a leisurely read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Normal Life: Administrative Violence, Critical Trans Politics, and the Limits of Law []  2020-6-11 20:3

    amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Normal Life: Administrative Violence, Critical Trans Politics, and the Limits of Law []  2020-6-11 20:3

    An offensive and false screed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Politics of Dancing []  2020-7-18 19:43

    I loved PVD before, but after getting this CD set, I feel I'm honestly obsessed with him. This is his BEST album, in my opinion. It IS very various from his usual stuff... I actually want he'd place out more albums like this one. Definitely worth the money!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Politics of Medicaid []  2020-5-1 18:28

    This is an perfect book for one wanting a clear, relatively short history of the Medicaid program and how it impacts the individual states as well as the federal government. My only complaint is that the author unnecessarily taints her narrative with an obvious bias versus huge business which she supports, in each section or chapter, largely with one or a few anecdotal examples or a governmental study of questionable utility. As a former healthcare executive with over twenty years experience, I know that a lot of of her generalizations about the nursing home, hospital, managed care and physician segments of the healthcare shop are either incorrect or don't tell the complete story, which would change her conclusions. This could have been rectified by learning more about the industries or, best of all, leaving the bias out altogether. In fact, the book would have rated a five star if the author would have left out the bashing, general statements altogether. For instance, she could have said that the nursing home industry spent "x" amount for lobbyists or that the hospital industry appears to earn profits even on Medicaid patients without saying, in effect, that our healthcare crisis is caused by a bunch of greedy huge businessmen which is, obviously, an over simplification. Just give us the facts and the readers can draw their own conclusions. This would create the book a pleasure to read in twenty-five years, rather than date it by its polemics.Once again, a book worth reading! I don't usually write reviews. However, it bothers me when a book this amazing is unnecessarily blemished by high-level rhetoric that distracts any reader with a high level of knowledge of the industry she discusses. I hope the author continues to discover the health care industry's history, but can write with a more objective viewpoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Politics of Dancing []  2020-7-18 19:43

    one of the best albums of all time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Politics of Dancing []  2020-7-18 19:43

    Perfect!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Politics of Dancing []  2020-7-18 19:43

    Everything ok.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Politics of Dancing []  2020-7-18 19:43

    one of the best dj in the world.. love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Politics of Dancing []  2020-7-18 19:43

    GREAT CD!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Politics of Dancing []  2020-7-18 19:43

    If you have a lot of miles to go before you sleep. I recommend this Double CD as listening expresso if your system's-on-hit!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Politics of Dancing []  2020-7-18 19:43

    This Cd is out of print and getting harder to find. I have purchased this product 3 times already because they hold dissapearing , i assume its because how amazing it is or they just know its rare and worth something to have a hard is is one of PVD's best series to date including POD2 which is also a nice search to add to your collection if you haven't heard them by now then you shouldn't be a fan.Just saying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Politics of Dancing []  2020-7-18 19:43

    EPIC!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Politics of Dancing []  2020-7-18 19:43

    Cool music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Balance: Law and Politics on the Roberts Court []  2020-2-6 20:4

    It is an simple reading for those non-attorney in to understand our judicial system. Prof. Tushnet explains thoroughly the Roberts Court in those cases that detour from the Warren Court or liberal view of some justices. I strongly recommend this book now more than ever since the recent cases decided on political parties contributions, speech, affirmative action, and TV Broadcasting (Aereo case).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Balance: Law and Politics on the Roberts Court []  2020-2-6 20:4

    A fresh book on the Supreme Court by Tag Tushnet is always something to look forward to reading. This volume is no exception. Tushnet, now at Harvard Law School after a lot of years at Georgetown, is one of the most perceptive and informative students of the Court now writing. He shares some necessary insights in this study. One of his most interesting findings is that the Roberts' Court going forward will involve intense tournament between the Chief and Justice Kagan for control of the Court. While as is to be expected Tushnet covers much of the same ground as Marcia Coyle in her latest perfect book, he does so in special ways and from various perspectives so that his book is no rst off is an perfect discussion of the Obamacare decision and what may have motivated Roberts' surprising vote to uphold. Tushnet suggests that Roberts had not created up his mind by the time he had to vote, rather than as a lot of argue he changed his vote for whatever reason. A lot of of us feel, however, his vote was an effort to avoid the Court receiving a heavy "blackeye" had a bristling conservative decision terminated the statute. But all of this is thoroughly examined by Tushnet, who finds the tax rationale "plausible." A chapter is next devoted to the importance of appointments. The Roberts Court really began to take shape with the appointments of Alito and Sotomayor. And it is one of the author's persistent themes that the hero of fresh appointments to the Court plays the major role in shaping its decisions. Given the problem of whether the Democrats will maintain control of the Senate after the 2014 midterms, this point is particularly significant.Tushnet argues that the initial two years of the Roberts Court reflected more harmony, fewer 5-4 decisions, and less frequent dissents and concurrences than with the Rehnquist Court. But then with the more moderate O'Connor retiring, replaced by Alito, the hero of the Court changed, and the role of Kennedy became more significant. The majority began to utilize procedural devices to put barriers to block certain types of cases, and more overruling of past decisions became evident. Interestingly, Tushnet argues that even in these earlier years, Roberts would sometimes vote liberal in to overcome divisions within the Court. Perhaps he was trying to implement his representations to the Senate Judiciary Committee during his confirmation hearings which seemed to suggest that he wanted a more moderate and balanced Court, more inclined to defer action, than had been the situation under Rehnquist. Given his Obamacare vote, this observation by Tushnet is quite interesting.Tushnet's chapter on the gun rights case is particularly effective, not only in explaining the legal problems in an understandable manner, but also because it is a little case study in how interest groups organize and push cases to the Court for resolving key issues. Here marks the emergence for the author of "originalism" as an interpretive approach, and he has some interesting observations to on this method. Discussing the contention that Roberts leads a "pro-business" Court, Tushnet examines a number of these alleged cases and concludes that this charge is reasonable accurate, but sometimes there are just legitimate differences in interpreting and applying Congressional statutes, some of which are designed to support business. His chapter on speech decisions demonstrates just how complicated this zone is.Speaking of complicated locations of the law developed by the Roberts Court, Tushnet's chapter on the Citizens United campaign finance decision is so well done I almost began to understand what all the shouting is about. But it is not an simple chapter to digest and perhaps there is a bit too much complexity and detail--but it is a noble effort nonetheless. In conclusion, Tushnet suggests that a "canny" Roberts is playing a careful android game to maximize his eventual control of the Court, given his relatively young age in comparison to Scalia, Thomas and especially Kennedy. But again, he raises the specter of Kagan as the spoiler to this pleasant vision for always, Professor Tushnet has done his research, as the volume's ample notes attest. He is more inclined to tackle legal problems than Coyle, but this is his bailiwick so does it well. A book that so stimulates thinking about the Court is to be commended; this is just such a book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Balance: Law and Politics on the Roberts Court []  2020-2-6 20:4

    A book on "law and politics" should be a lot more interesting than this muddled book. The author gets himself into problem right from the begin when he seems unable to a clear definition of "politics." How is the Supreme Court political? To respond this, he ends up moving all over the place. At first, he (and then quickly rejects) a comically narrow definition of politics: that the Justices consider how their decision will affect an election. Then he seems to adopt then-Senator Obama's definition that 5% of cases are "hard cases" because "the constitutional text will not be directly on point" (xi). But then Tushnet seems to amend this by describing the most necessary cases as "politically salient" (xvii). (A "politically salient" case, needless to say, isn't necessarily one where "the text" isn't exactly "on point.") Eventually, he seems to settle down to defining politics as "politics of principle, of competing visions about the best method to arrange our government."Unfortunately, the rest of the book doesn't even start to explain "competing visions" for one easy reason: he never discusses liberalism. Although he can state in the preface that liberals and conservatives have "differing constitutional visions," the book is entirely focused on conservatives. The discussion of the Affordable Care Act discusses entirely conservative ideas about "judicial deference"; he never states what liberals think about this. His discussions of cases involving redistricting (pp. 115-17), the Clean Water Act (pp. 117-20), and the exclusionary rule (pp. 121-23) cover only the opinions of the conservative Justices. Tushnet merely relays that the liberal justices "dissented." Even when liberals victory a case, as they did when considering the Military Commissions Act, Tushnet discusses how dissents by Scalia and Roberts contradict each other. Nothing at all is said about the majority opinion joined by 4 is seems like a rather strange omission. After all, the four liberal justices are all bloc-voting in these cases. Something held them together. What was the "principle" or "vision" they claimed fidelity to? Sometimes, when Tushnet contains a quote from a liberal Justice, it is merely a couple of sentences, without context, that reveals little. For example, he quotes Ginsburg in her dissent of a Title VII employment discrimination case to the result that a statute of limitations should be tolled because the plaintiff was "trying to succeed in a nontraditional environment,[and] is averse to making waves" (144). Is this the legal "principle" the liberal Justices pledge adherence to: SoL's should be tolled where someone is in a "nontraditional" environment and scared to "make waves"? I have no Chapter 8, when Tushnet discusses the conservative interpretive theory of the constitution, "originalism," he has several tart observations about it (conservatives "massage the evidence"; it's a "Rube Goldberg" theory). But he never explains what the competing liberal interpretive theory is. That's a heavy omission when you claim your book is about "competing visions" of the constitution.If we really are, as Tushnet suggests, one Justice away from having a liberal majority on the Court, shouldn't the reader be given some idea of what liberal Justices believe? Of course, the reader can test to deduce "principles" and "visions" from how they voted; but it's difficult. The four liberals, for example, bloc-voted in favor of Obamacare, so perhaps they are judicial minimalists, giving deference to democratically-passed legislation. But on the other hand, they bloc-voted to strike down portions of the MCA, and they bloc-voted to strike down a Congressional partial-birth abortion ban, both of which were democratically-passed. Are the bloc-voting liberals not worried about the Supreme Court being seen as a "narrowly partisan body" (37)?I agree with the other reviewer who laughs at Tushnet's hyping of Kagan as an "intellectual leader" on the Court. Of the cases he discusses, she authored only one opinion. But it's equally absurd for him to claim that Roberts is an intellectual leader when he clearly doesn't believe it. Throughout the book, Tushnet hints his hand; he has practically nothing amazing to say about Roberts. Roberts' writing and analysis is "clunky" (115); he responds "feebly" (43); his analysis has "no connection to the true globe of practical politics" (126); his rhetoric is the equivalent of saying "Because I say so" (126); he has " a more explosive John Roberts held under tight control by the more polished persona [he] has developed" (69); he suffers from "quotability-itis" (146). Amazing grief. The only time Roberts rises in Tushnet's esteem is when he votes to uphold the Affordable Care Act. Is this why liberals bloc-vote to uphold Democrat-passed legislation but bloc-vote to strike down Republican-passed legislation: so law professors won't speculate about what "explosive" persona they have hiding under their polished exteriors?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Balance: Law and Politics on the Roberts Court []  2020-2-6 20:4

    I haven't completed this obviously well-researched book yet, but I saw the author in an hour-long interview on C-SPAN's Book Notes. During the interview he said he said he thought the court needs someone besides an Ivy League-educated lawyer, which is what makes up the court now, and also indicated that the court needs religious diversity (it's Jewish and Catholic now). He said the ideal person would be [email protected]#$%! U.S. Senator Ted Cruz. I think that says a lot about the author's political leanings (which are beautiful apparent in the book, too). Well, at least he didn't suggest Ted Nugent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Balance: Law and Politics on the Roberts Court []  2020-2-6 20:4

    Tag Tushnet, a one time law clerk in the Supreme Court, is an outstanding Constitutional scholar who is able to convey fascinating insights about complicated problems in a manner that is engaging for lawyers AND non-lawyers. His writing is superb. It feels like he is in the room with the reader. Tushnet is able to connect the Roberts Supreme Court dots with depth. By the end of the book the reader has a sense of the private "chemistry" and trajectories of the Roberts Court.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Balance: Law and Politics on the Roberts Court []  2020-2-6 20:4

    A brilliant book by one of the finest constitutional scholars of our time. This book fairly dissects the nuances of the function of the Supreme Court under Chief Justice Roberts. It explains the meaning, context, and likely behind-the-scenes machinations of different of the Roberts Court's largest decisions. The analysis is even-handed and even defends some of the Court's more controversial decisions as reasonable. Moreover, the book explains the group dynamics on the (then) 5-4 divided court, with Justice Kennedy as a swing vote and with Justice Kagan and Chief Justice Roberts increasingly vying for ideological dominance. Written so that anyone can read it and have fun it, the book maintains a level of analysis that will engage even seasoned litigators or scholars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Balance: Law and Politics on the Roberts Court []  2020-2-6 20:4

    A bit dry but an interesting point of view. I enjoyed the different antidotes that the author used to show different points.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Balance: Law and Politics on the Roberts Court []  2020-2-6 20:4

    There are three amazing books about the Roberts Court. This is one of them. In this one, Tag Tushnet explores the interpersonal dynamics of the justices and provides an insightful analysis for the reader to evaluate how the Court might vote on problems in the future. Well worth reading. For more detail, see my review of all three books at

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Balance: Law and Politics on the Roberts Court []  2020-2-6 20:4

    This book provides a fascinating look into the workings of the Roberts Court over the past few years. Tushnet explores the legal arguments and political maneuverings behind cases involving problems such as Obamacare, gun rights, affirmative action, speech and campaign finance. He also provides insight into the judicial appointment process and describes how conservatives have managed to develop a legal theory that has come to dominate US constitutional jurisprudence. The book is written in clear and plain language, and is highly readable.Tushnet's central thesis is that the outcome of politically controversial cases cannot simply be attributed to the justices' politics. This is because it is sometimes unclear whether a particular outcome will benefit the Republicans or the Democrats. His argument is that some cases are better understood as having been decided on the judges' view of the legal merits, which is in turn shaped by their judicial philosophies. While these philosophies could be described as being "conservative" or "liberal" in nature, the app of these philosophies in particular cases sometimes produces results that deviate from the corresponding partisan agenda of the ever, it is not entirely clear why Tushnet thinks that the Supreme Court is or will be shaped by a war for intellectual dominance between Roberts and Kagan. He provides small help for this hypothesis - in most of the cases he cites, there is no evidence that Kagan played a leading role in pulling the votes or marshaling the arguments for the liberal camp. In fact, I would say that the book description is misleading in this regard because Tushnet does not discover this problem in much depth, so readers who pick up this book because they are interested in this particular problem will likely be ly, please ignore the absurd review by "Babs" who is not just guilty of giving a poor review to a book that he/she has not read simply because he/she disagrees with the author's politics, but also of getting the author's politics completely wrong. Having read the book, it is clear that Tushnet has liberal, not conservative, leanings. Furthermore, he is not uniformly liberal-leaning - for certain cases, such Citizens United, he seems to favour (what is usually thought to be) the conservative position. That said, I found him to be fairly even-handed in presenting the arguments for both sides of each issue, regardless of his own views.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    I very amazing learning book for those going into some kind of form of law. But it is just too expensive to a copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. S. Lewis on Politics and the Natural Law []  2020-7-28 19:2

    As a CS Lewis fan I was keen to read this book to support me create sense of politics and social problems of the day. Lewis believed in little government, and that no sin should be a crime unless it caused injury. His arguments versus theocracy are very timely, highlighting how theocracy can begin little and unnoticeable, and then go on to become the worst kind of tyranny because 'God' is invoked. We see this lived out in Islamic countries today. Lewis believes equating God’s will with their own politics is breaking the third commandment. He warned versus governments that engage in "soulcraft."Along the same lines, Lewis thought that teaching morals in the same method that biology is taught, is counterproductive. Further, he disagreed with state sponsored religious or morality programs in schools. He saw the same issue of a theocratic government attempting to control sinful behavior with laws, with the issue of the state attempting to indoctrinate children. He suggested Christian schools run by teachers who lived their faith, and evangelizing to neighbors and is book has been unbelievable in helping me sort the wheat from the chaff when it comes to politics and living out my faith.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    Purchased this book for a class and have learned a amazing about the judicial process. I considered myself educated in the subject with the support of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    Came exactly how it was described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    It has very useful information- Deliverd promptly as promised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. S. Lewis on Politics and the Natural Law []  2020-7-28 19:2

    A wonderfully readable acc of Lewis’ complex thought on natural law, reason, the effects of sin and the Fall, and his indirect means of re-introducing what he called the Tao - moral truth - into the war between amazing and evil, through fiction, his ultimate purpose being the promulgation of the Gospel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. S. Lewis on Politics and the Natural Law []  2020-7-28 19:2

    This brief book has seven chapters. It begins by debunking the misperception that Lewis was not political in Chapter One. In the second chapter, the authors summarize the pattern of the Christian worldview–– Creation, Fall, and Redemption––which is always show and often overt in Lewis’ writing. Chapter Three puts Lewis’ work in contact with some of the significant criticisms of natural law theory, particularly the critique of Karl the fourth chapter, Watson and Dyer focus on one of Lewis’ most necessary works for both ethics and political science, The Abolition of Man. In that chapter they outline some of the a lot of changes in culture that Lewis was responding to in that short volume. Chapter Five includes the most debatable proposition of the volume, where they argue that Lewis’ held to a form of Lockean Liberalism. There is evidence to help their case, though Lewis never cites Locke; the authors remain on safe ground by arguing that Lewis and Locke shared a lot of tenets in their political philosophy. In the sixth chapter, the authors discuss some of Lewis’ writing on political discourse and the put of Christianity in the political sphere. There is much to be learned from Lewis in this regard. The book concludes with Chapter Seven, the authors summarize their arguments and urge the reader to continue to engage contemporary problems through the work of C. S. times, given the amount of secondary literature on C. S. Lewis, one wonders whether there is much more to say about him. Whether academic studies of Lewis will run their course remains to be seen, but Dyer and Watson have demonstrated that there is still more to be gleaned from the voluminous work of C. S. Lewis. This book adds to the ongoing conversation about political theology, political science, and the work of C. S. Lewis.A significant danger with dual-authored volumes is uneven writing styles, which can create them difficult to read. This volume, however, has a consistent flow throughout and is a pleasure to read. C. S. Lewis on Politics and the Natural Law is a book that has potential to be a ready resource for years to is volume presents Lewis fairly and thoroughly and it makes it clear how Lewis can be helpful for Christians. One zone that deserves further exploration is how Lewis and natural law can be helpful in building a common understanding beyond the ranks of the TE: I received a gratis copy of this volume with no expectation of a positive review. This is an edited ver of a review posted at Ethics and Culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    The book is in worse condition than listed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Judicial Politics []  2020-7-28 19:1

    This explained everything in an extremely comprehensive manner. It was not the most painful thing I have ever read for a political science course.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Judicial Politics []  2020-7-28 19:1

    Very informative and simple to understand

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. S. Lewis on Politics and the Natural Law []  2020-7-28 19:2

    Wonderfully insightful writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    The book is simple to follow for my course which ends May 2014. It provided an overview of how to apply for law school, what to expect, what each future law student should expect and how lawyers are gatekeepers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    My husband required this for one of his college classes and he ordered instead of paying double at the book store. He also recieved it very quickly!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. S. Lewis on Politics and the Natural Law []  2020-7-28 19:2

    A fascinating look into the politics of one of the most influential writers of the 20th century,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Judicial Politics []  2020-7-28 19:1

    I had it as a Judicial Processes 400-level PoliSci textbook. The layout is clear and concise. It covers a lot of nuances of the legal field, such as the Wall Road Firm and other current trends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Judicial Politics []  2020-7-28 19:1

    This book is needed for my course. The material covered and the presentation created reading and comprehension of the topic relatively easy. A very uncomplicated book on legislative processes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    I required this book on short message and my college book shop wanted twice what I on here Very happy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Politics in the United States []  2020-1-28 21:38

    Lots of amazing material

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Judicial Process: Law, Courts, and Judicial Politics []  2020-7-28 19:1

    Amazing price, amazing quality item, quick shipping.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. S. Lewis on Politics and the Natural Law []  2020-7-28 19:2

    it was a gift. I heard no complaints so I guess it was just fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C. S. Lewis on Politics and the Natural Law []  2020-7-28 19:2

    A amazing read. C.S. Lewis has a lot to us in our current political climate. A very special viewpoint of one of the 20th century's most influential authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Almanac of American Politics []  2020-4-1 18:50

    Old (as of this writing) but useful for getting background info on states and congressional districts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Almanac of American Politics []  2020-4-1 18:50

    Maybe too much information for some.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Almanac of American Politics []  2020-4-1 18:50

    This remains the most essential reference work available for identifying political allegiances and results.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Almanac of American Politics []  2020-4-1 18:50

    I two copies every two years -- one for home and one for office. If you are at all serious in understanding what happens in Congress (or doesn't), you must understand who the Members of Congress and Senators are. This is THE tool you need to is volume is so comprehensive. It's sole failing is that it comes out late in the year. For 10 or more months you wonder who the heck is that freshman Member. But on the other hand, some of the Washington activities of the freshman are reported, and make a context that is far superior to the easy campaign e coverage of the basic wars and general election battles, if necessary, is a highly useful feature for helping to understand men and women for whom re-election is so important.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Distorting the Law: Politics, Media, and the Litigation Crisis (Chicago Series in Law and Society) []  2020-7-17 21:14

    This book should be a must read for judges and reporters. It shows how propaganda, rather than fact, controls our lives, beliefs and behavior. It exposes the myths of litigation promoted by the ignorant and those in the sociopathic pursuit of is a hard read for the unitiated and the writers assume that the reader has a primary understanding of law and sociology. It is essential reading for those who want to reflect on the ills of post-modern societal and governmental organization.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Almanac of American Politics []  2020-4-1 18:50

    Amazing reference for congressional district data. My son uses it for Election Maps Co on Twitter. He likes them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Almanac of American Politics []  2020-4-1 18:50

    Amazing Reference book especially for the upcoming elections.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Almanac of American Politics []  2020-4-1 18:50

    Much required compendium now that Congressional Quarterly no longer publishes its treatment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Almanac of American Politics []  2020-4-1 18:50

    As always, perfect go to source for American politics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cultural Politics of Emotion []  2020-2-1 22:46

    Wonderful book! It's an awesome read and it completely revolutionized my understanding and concepts on emotions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Distorting the Law: Politics, Media, and the Litigation Crisis (Chicago Series in Law and Society) []  2020-7-17 21:14

    It's good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Distorting the Law: Politics, Media, and the Litigation Crisis (Chicago Series in Law and Society) []  2020-7-17 21:14

    After having read Stephanie Mencimer's "Blocking the Courthouse Door" I became more interested in the arguments versus "tort reform." However, this book did small to enhance that defense of the authors, Haltom and McCann, they have presented a thorough discussion of the subject as it relates to politics, media and the litigation crisis, just as the subtitle says. There are chapters for pro-business tort reformers, plaintiffs and sociological scholars opposed to it, newspaper reporting and info selection, the story of "the McDonalds Hot Coffee Lady," tobacco litigation, and a final chapter, which I confess, I had no idea what they were talking about, mainly because I had lost interest. Their analyses are so in depth that they would probably even have John Stossel scratching his hypnotic trance was due to the academic presentation of information. In fact it was so dry, it almost gave me the Heaves. I object to this for the person who wants to learn AND be entertained. The objection is overruled for the reader who wishes to pursue serious academic study of the tort misinformation from various directions. For the latter, it is at least four stars. Either one will be better informed, and may God have mercy on your soul!For me, it was a solid three, only because I wanted to search the info n I sue Amazon for this?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Distorting the Law: Politics, Media, and the Litigation Crisis (Chicago Series in Law and Society) []  2020-7-17 21:14

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Distorting the Law: Politics, Media, and the Litigation Crisis (Chicago Series in Law and Society) []  2020-7-17 21:14

    It is a amazing subject if you do not know anything about tort. The book gives amazing examples and is very well researched. Though given the choice I would prefer to watch the documentary "Hot Coffee" it is not as in-depth but it dose cover the primary ideas. Over all it is a amazing read if you are interested in tort.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cultural Politics of Emotion []  2020-2-1 22:46

    One of the best books I've ever read. I hold referring to it and others to it over the years. Helped change/broaden my perspective on emotions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Almanac of American Politics []  2020-4-1 18:50

    This is a standard reference. But it is not a book to be read, but to search specific info in, and it's utility as a Kindle book is highly compromised because navigating it is so difficult.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Almanac of American Politics []  2020-4-1 18:50

    Simply the best summary of American Politics published. I have been a bi-annual devotee since 1980 and the writers and [email protected]#$%! their target every edition. Must read for all political junkees

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Law of success [Book]  2018-5-7 18:0

    One of the best, fully explained books of the old school of thinking for being successful in every avenue of your life. While it is written using the male ver of thinking from the 1920's-30's, the guidance still holds real today. If you aren't focused on what you want, if you aren't disciplined everyday to think on what you want, if you don't set goals for accomplishment, if you don't chart your coarse and hold track of what you are doing, you will never achieve any is book breaks it down for you, in steps, and focuses with examples to present what works and what doesn't.Hill knew and had private access to those who were the world's richest men of their day. He spent his life researching each of them and knew what their private habits were. He charts them in this book. He outlines what works. If you wish a quick, simple read, this is not the book for you. If, however, you are willing to take your time, plot your coarse and take full guidance from the Master himself, then use this as a tutorial and develop your own Mastermind Group and thrive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Law of success [Book]  2018-5-7 18:0

    If you liked "Think and Grow Rich", you will love this book. It is much more detailed as to exactly what to do to succeed in reaching your goals. It is the excellent tutorial for a Master Mind group. The introduction is all about what a Master Mind is and how it works. The 1st chapter explains the Master Mind in further detail and how to formulate your Definite Chief Aim. Every person who is serious about succeeding in life and reaching their potential should study this book time and time again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Law of Success []  2019-12-27 18:0

    The content is great, that isn't the issue. The issue is that whoever compiled and organized the actual book into Kindle/Kindle Application form didn't take the time to contain a table of contents nor chapter breaks. It all runs together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Law of Success []  2019-12-27 18:0

    Everything that had been written by Napolean Hill has been extremely helpful for me. Related to the principles from 'Think and Grow Rich,' there's a lot to learn. I truly believe that we attract what we wish through our thoughts and actions in life. If you wish to be successful, I highly recommend this as one of the first books going into your self-help journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Law of the Die []  2020-1-23 19:7

    This is Tom's 3rd book of the trilogy series that began with "In Pursuit of Weightlessness" then on to "The Essence of Lightness" and now with this publication "Law of the Die". They all with elements of private transformation and self-improvement. In this installment the author with the challenging aspect of life in its seemingly random nature of happenings in our lives. Is there a method to hedge our bet so to speak in these matters. Tom suggests there is by using the Law of the Die. Briefly this involves influencing luck thru the exercise of options carefully chosen in a particular direction or purpose and then selected to be exercised by the roll of the die. This is all explained in an entertaining story fashion with intriguing characters some of which continue on from the previous books. It is not important to have read the previous two books to understand the concept in the Law of the Die but I would highly recommend it. I have read all 3. Tom's books are challenging and create you think. That's a amazing thing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Law of Moses []  2020-1-15 23:32

    Welp. I was looking for a amazing tear jerker and this book has a ton of 5-star reviews. A lot of have mentioned how heartbreaking it is. This is clearly a case of it-must-be-just-me. I’m probably emotionally stunted or my tear ducts may be extremely clogged because I didn’t come close to shedding a tear. There are parts that are quite sad, but I felt detached from the story for the most part. I think the fact that I listened to the audio book may be to blame, but I’ll obtain to that in a ses @#$%ed me off through at least the first half of the book. He is such a complete toward Georgia, and all the while she’s like, “You just insulted me and repeatedly told me to leave you alone, but I know deep down you love me.” I have no patience for heroines who act like doormats, but I wound up admiring Georgia’s resilience and huge heart. I enjoyed the second half more than the e story seems really s-l-o-w. It’s possible my opinion of the book may be distorted by the disappointing quality of the audio book. Tavia Gilbert’s vocal performance is phenomenal. She tells the story in an extremely authentic and effective way, which makes JD Jackson’s narration even more lacking in comparison. It just falls flat, and he takes such long pauses between sentences that I kept checking to create sure my application hadn’t quit. I finally decided that it’s just his style. In the end, I looked forward to Georgia’s chapters and tolerated recommendation for potential readers is to read the book rather than listening to the audio.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Law of Moses []  2020-1-15 23:32

    My name is Kelly Foster. I'm not a huge name blogger. I'm not even a small name blogger. I'm just a girl in Colorado that loves to read, and only one of 600 and something reviews thus e first Amy Harmon book I read was Making Faces. It was amazing. The Law of Moses was promoted BIG TIME, so I followed the promos, read the synopsis.....repeatedly....the few authors I follow gave their reviews. This book has been sitting on my kindle since release day. I knew it was going to be an ugly cry book, but I wasn't sure how, so I waited. I was a coward. But.....in this craziness that is life.....If God in heaven needs to obtain a notice to you and you just will not listen, He will use your passion, your entertainment, whatever it takes to the point across. And. He. did. Through this is story is a romance, a mystery, super natural-ish....And Heavy...in an awesome way...without the F bomb and descriptive scenes. In the latest 5 years, I've read hundreds of books. I have never read a book like this. I realize I'm giving nothing away in regards to the story itself, but there are almost 700 other reviews to do that. I actually feel kind of lost and all over the put right now.Every now and then, an event, a movie, a news story, a BOOK, will quite literally change your life. This story changed me...So, for that, Amy Harmon, I humbly Thank You.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rule of Law []  2020-1-22 1:50

    As an adult law student, just wanna learn more from this book about what is rule of law, especially where I'm living is debating day and night about losing the spirit of rule of law in our legal system. I have to say the book is not particularly interesting, if you are not enthusiastic about law or studying law, the subject maybe too simple to attract you to begin reading it and eventually you might feel a small bit boring. However, few things mentioned by late Lord Bingham are very interesting, at least to me, about the history of rule of law and his perspectives about how to with it in the future. I would recommend to law student reading this book, especially who wants to focus on public law.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rule of Law []  2020-1-22 1:50

    The longest dictionary definition I have ever is is an interesting, authoritative definition of what the "rule of law" means, and what its meanings entail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rule of Law []  2020-1-22 1:50

    One of the most interesting books I've read (twice) and makes clear all the legal principles we're used to in the Western globe and why we should not stray from those gives an explanation as to why countries that have embraced the rule of law have flourished and individual freedom is so precious. It certainly makes you more aware when politicians and bureaucrats tinker with our ould be a school textbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rule of Law []  2020-1-22 1:50

    Necessary and simple lessons to learn about american legal system

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Law of Peoples []  2020-7-26 20:11

    Well, I required this book for my Theories of Justice college level course, this is the book I need, It was in mint condition, One small crease on the cover page but no matter, the content is and will be amazing, I suggest you read Rawl's original "Theory of Justice" , then "Political Liberalism" before indulging yourself in this book. There are a lot of references to the previous two books that I just mentioned. You will be lost otherwise.~nchez

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Law of success [Book]  2018-5-7 18:0

    I strongly feel that everyone should familiarize themselves with the teachings of Napoleon Hill. "The Law of Success" is the original lessons, from Napoleon Hill, for private development and success. His next best seller is "Think and Grow Rich".I found myself engaged in the material from the introduction. Sure the introduction is like going back to school and sitting in a couple of science classes. However, it breaks down the science of self and of thought to prepare you for the remaining lessons in the book. Anyone who reads the book, grasp a full understanding of its concepts and apply the lessons to their lives will achieve higher levels of success. I give "The Law of Success" five stars because it is 2nd to the Bible in my opinion. An absolute must read if you strive for a fulfilling life of success. I test my best to place God first in all things. Understanding that the God I serve is not a God of lack, but yet a God of abundance I feel that the lessons from "The Law of Success" is cohesive with the lessons from the Bible. Again a must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Law of success [Book]  2018-5-7 18:0

    I strongly believe that if you can obtain a solid group of people on the same page implementing the guidelines of this book you will be successful. I also believe some of the well known people of fame and power are familiar with this book and have used it. It's hard to search a group so singlehandedly could be difficult but not impossible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Law of Success []  2019-12-27 18:0

    If you wish to see my opinion on this book go to my blog: will post here what this book is all about:This book can place as a perfect reading material for those who are searching Self-help, Self-development and Self-improvements books to support them gain more confidence next part I will summarize what every chapter in this book talks about; but everything is much more in depth described in book. And I’ll add some amazing quotes (in my opinion) that I’ve came across in this first part you’ll learn about most outstanding weaknesses that stands between men and women, and those are:IntoleranceCupidityGreedJelaousySuspicionRevengeEgotismConceitThe tendency to reap where they have not shownHabit to spend more than they earn“No man has a possibility to have fun permanent success until he begins to look in the mirror for the true cause of all his mistakes.“In next chapter we will search 15 Laws of Success:A definite chief aimSelf-confidenceHabit of savingInitiative and LeadershipImaginationEnthusiasmSelf-controlThe habit of doing more than forPleasing personalityAccurate thinkingConcentrationCo-operationProfiting by failureTolerancePracticing the Golden Rule“Render more service than that for which you are and you will soon be for more than you render. The law of ‘Increasing Returns‘ takes care of this.“When it comes to Power (man power), that is organized knowledge, expressed through smart efforts. And we all have stubborn opponents that are constantly watching over us and wait for us to create a mistake. Our opponents are:IgnoranceIlliteracyPovertyOne necessary fact that author is teaching us that every man should have a woman with him that shares related personalities – That is a amazing method to make a “Master Mind” group, than working on working on co-operating with other successful like-minded people. Same rule applies to women also, they can’t succeed in life the man with her is not related to her.When it comes to educating ourselves, one necessary part author has written; It’s not about learning as much as we can, it’s about taking that knowledge and putting it into use.“If you cannot do amazing things yourself, remember that you may do little things in a amazing way.”We all have fears that we need to work on overcoming those fears; and those fears are:Fear of povertyFear of deathFear of ill-healthFear of the loos of loveFear of old ageFear of criticism“Until a man selects a definite purpose in life he dissipates his energies and spread his thoughts over so a lot of topics and in so a lot of various directions that they lead not to power, but to indecision and weakness.”Author has added in book a easy Self-confidence formula that we can use:Demand from yourself to be persistent, aggressive, and continuous action toward gure it out and visualize what kind of person you wish to be. And then focus on how to become one.Spend at least 10 mins a day thinking about Law of Success and thinking on developing yourself.Write in advance what you wish to be in next 5 years, and how you plan on achieve that.Fully realize that no wealth or position can long endure unless built upon truth and justice; There for everything you do need to be beneficial for everyone who is involved in your business and plans.“The only man who makes no mistakes is the man who never does anything. Do not be afraid of mistakes providing you do not create the same one twice.” – RooseveltWhen it comes getting into dept, there are two types of debt that are mentioned by author:There are debt incurred for luxuries which becomes a dead ere are debts incurred in the course of professional or business trading which represents service or merchandise that can be converted back into e first one it should be avoided at any cause, because we can obtain into serious problem by spending on things that we can afford, and become all e second on one may be indulged in, but clear judgement need to be used to avoid getting into debt more than we can afford. When we obtain into globe of debt which we cannot afford, then we are entering into globe of speculation, and most likely that we can loose everything rather than getting enrich.When it comes to Cash Saving Habit, there are two main reason to do that:If you obtain opportunity to invest your saving and earn more moneyYou never know what kind of emergency can come up, so you always need to have on side for that kind of situations“Those who don’t have Saving Habit can be sure that they’ve never going to become financially independent.”Three ways on how to become person of Initiative and Leadership:You must eliminate habit of procrastination; which means stop delaying your plansOnly method to obtain happiness is by giving it away, to othersYou must understand the meaning of term “Leadership”; because there are two explanation: the one is deadly and destructive, the other one is helpful and constructive.Qualities that every amazing leader have to possess are:Self-confidenceMoral ascendancySelf-sacrificePaternalismFairnessInitiativeDecisionDignityCourageSuccessful leaders also makes use of:Laws of imaginationSelf-controlPleasing personalityAccurate thinkingConcentrationToleranceWhen it comes to Imagination Habit; it’s very necessary because it pushes you forward into creating method to achieve success. Also, Imagination is the only thing that we can control entirely.Enthusiasm Habit is a state of where you are inspired to take action. It is most necessary factor entering into salesmanship. Enthusiasm is the vital force that can be harness and use with profit. It can also support you develop a dynamic personality.Why should we render more service than that which we are for? This would give us advantage over ours competitors in the long run. And as author has stated, this will eventually obtain out.Learning how to be a Pleasing Personality it’s very necessary in business; from smile, handshake and overall behaviour. When something everything needs to be focused on customer, every question asked and not to ere are hints on how we can form an Beautiful Personality:Form habit of interesting yourself in other peopleDevelop the ability to speak with force and convictionClothe yourself in a style that is becoming to your physical build and the work you’r engaged inDevelop a positive characterLearn how to shake hands properlyRemember that your only limitation is the one you set up in your own mindAccurate thinker with facts, regardless of they affect hi own interest, for he knows that ultimately this policy will bring him out on top, in full possession of the object of his definite chief aim in learn How to Think Accurately we must understand:That the mind can be controlled, guided and directed to creative, constructive at the mind can be directed to destructive ends, unless we manage to control it into constructive at the mind can be used to control every cell in our at all achievement of man is the results of his e majority of all thoughts conceived in the minds of men are not accurate, being more in the nature of “opinions” or “snap-judgement”Concentration is the act of focusing the mind upon a given desire until ways and means for its realization have been worked out and successfully place into operation. That means ability to hold our mind on one topic until we are thoroughly familiarized with it and master that ere are two forms of Co-operation:Co-operation between people who group themselves together or form alliances for the purpose of attaining a given end, under the principles known as the Law of the Masted -operation between conscious and the subconscious minds, which forms a reasonable hypothesis of a man ability to contact, communicate with a draw upon infinite ere are three motivating forces to which man respond:The motive of Self-preservationThe motive of Sexual contactThe motive of Financial and Social PowerWhen it comes to a Failure, in this case that doesn’t mean that we are complete failures in life; but we need to look at failure as a “temporary defeat“. For as long as we don’t give up in reaching our definite aim in life, we are just temporary olerance – there are two significant features about it:Intolerance is a form of ignorance which must be mastered before any form of enduring success may be attained. It causes wars, and you gain much opponents in olerance is the chief disintegrating force in the organized religions of the world, where it plays havoc with the greatest power into little sects and denominations which spend as much effort opposing each other as they do in destroying the evils of the e Golden Rule:“The Golden Rule means, substantially, to do unto others as you would want them to do unto you if your position where reversed.”If you wish to see my opinion on this book go to my blog:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Law of Success []  2019-12-27 18:0

    I am blown away how amazing this book published in 1925 the 16 laws are as valid today as they were yesterday right from having a master mind, a definite chief aim, self confidence, the habit of saving, initiative and leadership, imagination, enthusiasm, self control, the habit of doing more than for, pleasing personality, accurate thought, concentration, cooperation, failure, tolerance & the golden rule. This has and will change life’s for good

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386