Read the ponds of kalambayi reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the ponds of kalambayi reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi []  2020-1-18 0:4

    Beautiful amazing book, artived on time and amazing price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi []  2020-1-18 0:4

    I have had this book on my shelf for a long time and finally read it. It is a well-written, emotionally honest and fascinating acc of the author's experience as Peace Corps volunteer in Central Africa (then Zaire) in the mid-80's. My main quibble (and only one other review I read mentions this) is the complete lack of description of women in the book. Occasionally it will be mentioned that someone's wife brings out the stewed chicken, or that the author's "employee" (who really becomes his closest friend) that does his cooking and laundry is teased in the village for doing "women's work" when fetching water. Compounding this lack of attention to women is the occasional mention of meeting up with other Peace Corps volunteers on trips to the local huge city, and some of these volunteers were...women! They had the same position as the author, training villagers in digging, stocking, and maintaining fish ponds. The hurdles they faced must have been far, far higher than the author's. I was left wondering what tactics those women used in training THEIR fish farmers. Though their job was the same, I'm sure their experience was very different, and I want the author had spent at least a sentence or two on the subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi []  2020-1-18 0:4

    Amazing read created me laugh out loud at times. I am missionary serving in CAMEROON he paints a amazing picture of his experiences.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the ponds of kalambayi or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi []  2020-1-18 0:4

    I read up on Peace Corps before joining, and this is one of the books that somehow missed being read until now, after my service. To be honest, a lot of works about Peace Corps are only glimpses into a murky whole. When a fresh volunteer hits the ground and faces the reality of their fresh world, there's some major adjustment that they have to go through internally. Of the books I've read, Tidwell's book and Sarah Erdman's Nine Hills to Nambonkaha: Two Years in the Heart of an African Village are the best at sharing that reality. Things like the stress and fear of failure, the recalibration of social behavior, the watchfulness of society and of oneself, the redefinition of family and physical closeness, the internal barometer we develop, the method the globe grows after contortions and stretches, and the need we have of others to be our mirrors... The method you can't escape from the weather and from the earth, and how that changes your ways. So a lot of things, both joys and frustrations. Very honest work.Tidwell does more than simply share this in a travelogue (and I say this enjoying travelogues); he's written a well-constructed and attractive book. His language is attractive and his emotions bared. He was an incredibly competent and sincere volunteer, and one leaves admiring his relationships, his honesty, fortitude and depth of perception and don't need to be remotely interested in joining Peace Corps to have fun this book. It's strong and fascinating, and very human.(If you are thinking of joining, although this book is about an African experience, the adjustment we have to go through is universal, so read up and don't wait as I did! Also for a current sense of what serving is like, read up on blogs by PC volunteers and yahoogroups, etc. And amazing luck and safe travels.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi []  2020-1-18 0:4

    My impression of Peace Corps memoirs, before reading this book, was not good. This seems to be recognized as one of the better ones, and as an engaging, perceptive memoir with a powerful writing style, it certainly exceeded my expectations.Tidwell spent two years as a Peace Corps volunteer in the 1980s, living in a remote region of what was then Zaire (now the Democratic Republic of the Congo), where he taught fish farming to villagers. It begins with a chapter on his fairly bizarre training, but other than that it's all about living and working in Kalambayi rather than about the life of Mike Tidwell (though he is probably an interesting person outside of this experience. Fun fact: this is the same Mike Tidwell who, years later, founded CCAN). Kalambayi, of course, turns out to be an extremely difficult put to work. The people are desperately poor; not good nutrition, not good health, not good education, and a cultural hostility to family planning, not to mention government corruption, all contribute to and effect from this vicious e author is observant and insightful, and his two years' immersion provide fascinating material, but what really makes this book work is his respect for the people he encounters. He finds aspects of the culture frustrating, but comes to understand why that society works the method it does, neither condemning it as backward nor romanticizing the simpler lifestyle. He sees the men he works with as individuals rather than stereotypes, without preconceived notions of Africans getting in the way. He's also honest about his own weaknesses and avoids making too much of himself.Tidwell does reveal a blind spot; he does not, apparently, interact with any women while in Kalambayi (other than one mentally ill beggar who [email protected]#$%!& him into feeding her), nor give any reason why that would be so, especially in a society where virtually everything happens outdoors. It seems odd, to say the least, that an otherwise keen observer of people and locations could move from 1980's America to a traditional society barely out of the Stone Age, and have nothing to say about gender roles.Other than the potential for cliché portrayals or pat answers to the world's issues - neither of which is show here - my initial skepticism about Peace Corps memoirs derived mostly from the fact that not everyone with interesting experiences can write. Fortunately, Tidwell can: the writing flows naturally, the transitions are smooth and the pacing appropriate; Tidwell keeps the focus on the interesting aspects of his experience, the people he meets and the globe they inhabit. I found it compelling reading and read the book fairly quickly.I would recommend this memoir as a powerful example of travel writing: it paints a vivid picture of Kalambayi and its people, as well as the challenges of working in international development. And it gave me fresh respect for anyone who volunteers to join the Peace Corps; it is clearly grueling, soul-draining work, so kudos to Tidwell and everyone else who decides to take that on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi []  2020-1-18 0:4

    Mike Tidwell's memoir of his two years of Peace Corp work teaching villagers to build fish ponds is about so much more than that. He writes so honestly about what he learned from working closely with his African neighbors and how he came to understand their generosity from an African perspective as opposed to his American perspective. He has so a lot of adventures with the men the Kalambayi region that each chapter taught me something new. Mike shares his doubts about himself and those he works with. He confesses his errors and shares his times of despondency. But all in all I think he feels the method that I do...living in Africa as an American is the best education because you are forever changed...your globe of thought is so much larger. I wanted the story to go on and on because every evening I looked forward to being with Mike's globe in Zaire.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi []  2020-1-18 0:4

    Tidwell does a attractive job describing his two-year experience developing fish ponds in Zaire. Very well written; he pulls no punches on his early misunderstandings of the local culture. This would be amazing training material for Peace Corps Volunteers anywhere in the world.But hilarious it is not. Who writes those blurbs, anyway?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi []  2020-1-18 0:4

    Mike Tidwell's "The Ponds of Kalambayi: An African Sojourn" is an interesting acc of his trials and tribulations living in Zaire. He starts out a wide eyed foreigner ready to solve poverty and then comes to realize ugly truths. His war with constant sickness, native's mistrust, and universal poverty/death is t even when surrounded by a sense of fatalism he moves on and tries to support the lives of the poorest. His ponds do not promise prosperity but they do promise sustenance.Tidwell may not be Superman but he is a character in my book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi []  2020-1-18 0:4

    There are not a lot of books about the Peace Corps experience in central Africa, but despite the lack of tournament "The Ponds of Kalambayi" by Mike Tidwell is an outstanding book, much deserving more attention. A lot of Westerners feel the need to write a book after traveling or living in Africa, some actually do, but few write a amazing book; here is the exception: this is a very amazing book. In the mid-1980s Tidwell worked as a Peace Corps volunteer in the very center of Africa, rural then-Zaire (later Congo or "Congo-Kinshasa"). This published acc of his experience is thoughtful and honest and his prose writing and story-telling skills are excellent. He shares valuable insights into the everyday lives, culture, and history of the villagers whom he taught fish farming and lived and worked with for two years. As expected, Tidwell documents the joys, sorrows, and travails of aquaculture, but that is only part of this book. He also writes about his faithful household employee; drinking; sickness and recovery, or death; hunting; poverty; marriage, family life, and children; cotton farming; diamond mining; and a hundred other things. Equally engaging and necessary is his description of the effects his experience had on him, physically, mentally, and emotionally. This book is an perfect choice for anyone with an interest in the Peace Corps, Africa, or Tilapia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi []  2020-1-18 0:4

    This is an awesome book about Africa. For one who has never been there it shows the other half, the half that you don't hear in the news, the part that we all know exists but never hear of it. Love, life, death, courage, tradition. It is a two year long journey dealing with adaptation to a various culture, teaching how to raise fish in the middle of Africa.I got this book as a bonus from my sister and have thanked her for it, because didn't just provide with a time for entertainment but it taught me a lot about another culture, taught me about respect for others is heartbreaking, but beautifull.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of cialis [cialis safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website cialis 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-1-21 22:42

    Amazing book about helping in practical ways.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-1-21 22:42

    Unbelievable read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-1-21 22:42

    It's a very amazing book. It doesn't obtain boring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-1-21 22:42

    Mike Tidwell's book is one of the best Peace Corps memoirs that I have read. It is clear that he is a truly exceptional person with an internal toughness and drive that one can only admire. I worked in West Africa myself as an agricultural volunteer. I want that I could claim to have been half a successful as he was. His writing is excellent. You will feel as though you are there with him as he goes through the a lot of challenges of working in the most rural zone that central Africa has to offer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-1-21 22:42

    It is a touching piece that, despite the distance in time since the happenings discussed is still relevant in its lessons and emotions. It does a amazing job of illustrating the lives and behaviors in rural impoverished locations that the vast majority of western readers simply cannot conceive. It's alternately sad and comic, but always poignant and educational.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-1-21 22:42

    All good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-1-21 22:42

    I have it on amazing authority from a former Peace Corps volunteer that this book gives a reasonable picture of a Peace Corps experience in a third globe country. It was well written, also. This was a amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-1-21 22:42

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys social justice topics. I normally don't like memoirs, but this is an exception for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-1-21 22:42

    A superb, entertaining, educational, book written by somebody who "gets it." Tidwell sets out with the best of intentions to improve the quality of life in backwater Congo but is thwarted time and again by cultural issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-1-21 22:42

    It kept you going

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-7-21 20:5

    A superb, entertaining, educational, book written by somebody who "gets it." Tidwell sets out with the best of intentions to improve the quality of life in backwater Congo but is thwarted time and again by cultural issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-7-21 20:5

    Unbelievable read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-7-21 20:5

    I have it on amazing authority from a former Peace Corps volunteer that this book gives a reasonable picture of a Peace Corps experience in a third globe country. It was well written, also. This was a amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-7-21 20:5

    It's a very amazing book. It doesn't obtain boring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-7-21 20:5

    It is a touching piece that, despite the distance in time since the happenings discussed is still relevant in its lessons and emotions. It does a amazing job of illustrating the lives and behaviors in rural impoverished locations that the vast majority of western readers simply cannot conceive. It's alternately sad and comic, but always poignant and educational.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-7-21 20:5

    All good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-7-21 20:5

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys social justice topics. I normally don't like memoirs, but this is an exception for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-7-21 20:5

    Mike Tidwell's book is one of the best Peace Corps memoirs that I have read. It is clear that he is a truly exceptional person with an internal toughness and drive that one can only admire. I worked in West Africa myself as an agricultural volunteer. I want that I could claim to have been half a successful as he was. His writing is excellent. You will feel as though you are there with him as he goes through the a lot of challenges of working in the most rural zone that central Africa has to offer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-7-21 20:5

    Amazing book about helping in practical ways.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ponds of Kalambayi: A Peace Corps Memoir []  2020-7-21 20:5

    It kept you going

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Biology of Lakes and Ponds (Biology of Habitats Series) []  2020-4-1 19:7

    The book provides a amazing overview and in-depth discussion of the biotic system of lakes and ponds. It also is an simple read and very understandable for undergraduate text. I love that it comes in paperback for simple handling out in the field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Biology of Lakes and Ponds (Biology of Habitats Series) []  2020-4-1 19:6

    Ordered my book on monday, required it wednesday and it was there!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pond Book: A Complete Guide to Site Planning, Design and Management of Small Lakes and Ponds []  2020-1-16 5:33

    I've learned a lot about ponds, and the vegetation that grow in them, and how to control it. A must have if you have a pond that you wish to hold vegetation free.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pond Book: A Complete Guide to Site Planning, Design and Management of Small Lakes and Ponds []  2020-1-16 5:33

    It is okay not as much information as I would have liked

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pond Book: A Complete Guide to Site Planning, Design and Management of Small Lakes and Ponds []  2020-1-16 5:33

    Amazing book for someone who has a larger pond, not just a water feature. I've already utilized some of the recommendations in the contents.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pond Book: A Complete Guide to Site Planning, Design and Management of Small Lakes and Ponds []  2020-1-16 5:33

    Was a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pond Book: A Complete Guide to Site Planning, Design and Management of Small Lakes and Ponds []  2020-1-16 5:33

    Complete. Lots of pictures. Answers almost all questions. Looked more for survivalist type of installation, but explains all parts of building and maintenance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pond Book: A Complete Guide to Site Planning, Design and Management of Small Lakes and Ponds []  2020-1-16 5:33

    I've bought 4 various 'farm pond' type books over the past two years to support in getting a 1/4 pond we had made dug, and lately filled with water. Also have stocked it with fish and it is doing well so far. Like the different diagnostic / information sections on various types of pond plants and fish. This is the most informative/best all around of the 4 books I bought.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pond Book: A Complete Guide to Site Planning, Design and Management of Small Lakes and Ponds []  2020-1-16 5:33

    Very helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pond Book: A Complete Guide to Site Planning, Design and Management of Small Lakes and Ponds []  2020-1-16 5:33

    Total excellence begin to finish

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pond Book: A Complete Guide to Site Planning, Design and Management of Small Lakes and Ponds []  2020-1-16 5:33

    ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pond Book: A Complete Guide to Site Planning, Design and Management of Small Lakes and Ponds []  2020-1-16 5:33

    as described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet Water Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island: AMC's Canoe And Kayak Guide To 100 Of The Best Ponds, Lakes, And Easy Rivers (AMC Quiet Water Series) []  2020-7-1 18:54

    Perfect tutorial to kayak launches in Rhode Island with detailed explanations of what to expect from the trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet Water Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island: AMC's Canoe And Kayak Guide To 100 Of The Best Ponds, Lakes, And Easy Rivers (AMC Quiet Water Series) []  2020-7-1 18:54

    DefinI tell has some amazing spotsto visit in here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet Water Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island: AMC's Canoe And Kayak Guide To 100 Of The Best Ponds, Lakes, And Easy Rivers (AMC Quiet Water Series) []  2020-7-1 18:54

    The book was great!! Lots of info lots of pictures and maps. My husband and I love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet Water Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island: AMC's Canoe And Kayak Guide To 100 Of The Best Ponds, Lakes, And Easy Rivers (AMC Quiet Water Series) []  2020-7-1 18:54

    Found a lot of nearby locations to kayak. Created going for a short paddle much easier

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet Water Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island: AMC's Canoe And Kayak Guide To 100 Of The Best Ponds, Lakes, And Easy Rivers (AMC Quiet Water Series) []  2020-7-1 18:54

    I have a library full of adventure tutorial books and the Quiet Water series is top of my list for discovering fresh locations to explore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet Water Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island: AMC's Canoe And Kayak Guide To 100 Of The Best Ponds, Lakes, And Easy Rivers (AMC Quiet Water Series) []  2020-7-1 18:54

    This fresh edition has added extra paddling areas, updated info on all locations creating a better paddling tutorial for local waters. It is a must for paddlers who wish to obtain out and about without wasting time. It is more inclusive of kayaks, that I as a canoeist search inclusive to us as "paddlers" with mutual interest. It can surprise one with what is available to paddle locally and gets you out more, which is a must for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet Water Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island: AMC's Canoe And Kayak Guide To 100 Of The Best Ponds, Lakes, And Easy Rivers (AMC Quiet Water Series) []  2020-7-1 18:54

    Helpful in finding fresh locations to explore

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet Water Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island: AMC's Canoe And Kayak Guide To 100 Of The Best Ponds, Lakes, And Easy Rivers (AMC Quiet Water Series) []  2020-7-1 18:54

    This is a amazing book. We have kayaked for a lot of years and refer too it frequently. I just bought this one for my son.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet Water Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island: AMC's Canoe And Kayak Guide To 100 Of The Best Ponds, Lakes, And Easy Rivers (AMC Quiet Water Series) []  2020-7-1 18:54

    Very amazing tutorial and info for kayakers who are looking for fresh lakes or slow moving rivers, along with maps, descriptions and estimated time of trips. We live in CT, and were planning a trip to historical zone in MA . We planned our trip in the Concord area, which has some nice Kayaking areas, from the Sudbury River, near North Bridge, as well as Walden Pond. There are also some lakes in our own CT, that we were unfamiliar with, which we plan to visit, (with our kayaks, of course)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet Water Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island: AMC's Canoe And Kayak Guide To 100 Of The Best Ponds, Lakes, And Easy Rivers (AMC Quiet Water Series) []  2020-7-1 18:54

    Like the descriptions in the book for the different rivers, ponds, etc. Very helpful. Glad I bought it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pond Building 101-Types & Benefits of Ponds to How they are Built []  2020-5-22 18:14

    Makes for an interesting read, but it did have a little bit of useful info in this little book. I'm glad I didn't have to for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earth Ponds: The Country Pond Maker's Guide to Building, Maintenance, and Restoration (Third Edition) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    This book didn't obtain into the construction like I thought it was going to. Half the book spent talkingabout ponds he's seen or heard about. On building it was very vague....dig a hole in clay and see ifit holds water....duh

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earth Ponds: The Country Pond Maker's Guide to Building, Maintenance, and Restoration (Third Edition) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Not what I was looking for

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maryland Trout Fishing: The Stocked and Wild Rivers, Streams, Lakes and Ponds (Catchguide Series) []  2020-8-28 19:30

    This book is very complete and describes all the trout fishing areas in Maryland. However, there was no info about the fishing itself. I wonder if the author really fished in these areas or just got most of his info from a map or DNR information. The book is worth having as a reference for finding locations,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earth Ponds: The Country Pond Maker's Guide to Building, Maintenance, and Restoration (Third Edition) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Interesting book, perhaps a small light when it comes to actual pond making details. It is a worthwhile to use as reference for future projects.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earth Ponds: The Country Pond Maker's Guide to Building, Maintenance, and Restoration (Third Edition) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Nice book with amazing info as a INTRODUCTION to pond building. But not enough detailed info on digging etc. Suggests checking it out at library. We need to extra books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earth Ponds: The Country Pond Maker's Guide to Building, Maintenance, and Restoration (Third Edition) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Wasn't what I thought it was about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maryland Trout Fishing: The Stocked and Wild Rivers, Streams, Lakes and Ponds (Catchguide Series) []  2020-8-28 19:30

    Full of amazing information

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maryland Trout Fishing: The Stocked and Wild Rivers, Streams, Lakes and Ponds (Catchguide Series) []  2020-8-28 19:30

    I love these books. Details, details, info about where to fish and what to expect. I leave a copy in my truck and use it frequently. There is no better resource for how, where and what in fishing MD and VA waters. And if you haven't seen Steve's www service you need to- High recommend. This book is worth every penny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maryland Trout Fishing: The Stocked and Wild Rivers, Streams, Lakes and Ponds (Catchguide Series) []  2020-8-28 19:30

    A unbelievable tutorial to fishing MD waters. No a how to for fishing, but a amazing where to go to obtain fish. The author provides a lot of spots that I have overlooked as I fished my home waters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earth Ponds: The Country Pond Maker's Guide to Building, Maintenance, and Restoration (Third Edition) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maryland Trout Fishing: The Stocked and Wild Rivers, Streams, Lakes and Ponds (Catchguide Series) []  2020-8-28 19:30

    Very satisfied when I opened up the book and found that it is perfect tutorial with honest on what to expect. I thumbed through the pages and it saves one time on getting down to fishing. As much as I like looking for fresh spots not being from MD. It's nice to know how to obtain there. Amazing directions. I have fished my entire life and Steve disclaimer is a reminder that this is a risky sport. I recently split my hand begin from falling on a rock that was not sharp just the impact opened up my hand that could have used 5 stitches. But I kept fishing. But after reading Steve's disclaimer I here him say it in my mind to hold me aware. The thought of getting my foot stuck between 2 rocks and being trapped is a reality. Breaking a leg is not a maybe. The terrine has changed so has the times, We fisherman are in spots where we need to be aware of who else is in the woods.With all that said no I'm not paranoid. I lean on the possibility of things side but now aware. My first stream that i went to was precisely what was said fall in love with it as soon as you enter it. I fished it 8/5/15 amazing no one around.i caught a trophy brownie. I could not support to think that Steve leaves out what to expect as not to [email protected]#$%! out. The same day I spotted 2 more nice wild brownies. I love to fish and not when it's stocked not a challenge. In Steve's booked he will tell you I when the creek stream ect is worth going to. And the time of year. Read between the lines. Hello!Thank you Steve for your efforts yup like Steve my dad got me hooked. My dad is 92 and is proud of me for fishing still and said I did the right thing buying Steve's book that my mates is experience talking!!! Thanks again Steve. And thanks dad aka Zump my dad's nick name. Obtain this book and have fun be careful like Zump ALWAYS SAYS AND ENJOY respect this special sport. Please do not litter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earth Ponds: The Country Pond Maker's Guide to Building, Maintenance, and Restoration (Third Edition) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    This was a bonus to my son who needs to build a pond and the previous edition was highly looks amazing but needs some colourful pictures to obtain 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maryland Trout Fishing: The Stocked and Wild Rivers, Streams, Lakes and Ponds (Catchguide Series) []  2020-8-28 19:30

    Amazing on directions and access but short on other necessary things like hatches and whether trout holdover and populations of wild trout.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earth Ponds: The Country Pond Maker's Guide to Building, Maintenance, and Restoration (Third Edition) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Disappointing! For me at least as I was looking for more support with an imperfectly place in pond. Much better if you're putting in a fresh pond from scratch. It is a classic, after all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maryland Trout Fishing: The Stocked and Wild Rivers, Streams, Lakes and Ponds (Catchguide Series) []  2020-8-28 19:30

    You will not search a better resource on where to search trout angling opportunities in MD. Moore has exha All ustively researched and personally visited (and fished!) each body of water described, providing hints on access, parking, GPS coordinates, and other helpful information. My copy is well thumbed and rode in my vehicle most of the year; I found his descriptions accurate and look forward to fishing fresh areas next year.I also use Moore's books on the Potomac, and the Rapidan and Rappahanock rivers in VA, which are also perfect tutorials to amazing local water.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maryland Trout Fishing: The Stocked and Wild Rivers, Streams, Lakes and Ponds (Catchguide Series) []  2020-8-28 19:30

    I borrowed this book from the library, its a amazing book if you plan too visit that state or live in it, i highly recommend it to all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Permaculture Earthworks Handbook: How to Design and Build Swales, Dams, Ponds, and other Water Harvesting Systems []  2020-1-22 0:19

    Awesome resource! This handy tutorial gives everything you need to know about primary hydrology and how to plan your permaculture earthworks projects.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bio-Integrated Farm: A Revolutionary Permaculture-Based System Using Greenhouses, Ponds, Compost Piles, Aquaponics, Chickens, and More []  2020-2-7 20:19

    I have over 30 years experience on farms, but this book took me to school! It describes how to use nature to work for you or hold you from working versus nature. Perfect info and a pleasant read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bio-Integrated Farm: A Revolutionary Permaculture-Based System Using Greenhouses, Ponds, Compost Piles, Aquaponics, Chickens, and More []  2020-2-7 20:19

    Just what I was looking for. My favorite permaculture book. This was the most comprehensive of any I have seen, but each seem to add to the other.I want I had this info years ago. I don't know how you could go wrong with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bio-Integrated Farm: A Revolutionary Permaculture-Based System Using Greenhouses, Ponds, Compost Piles, Aquaponics, Chickens, and More []  2020-2-7 20:19

    This is an interesting book. It is packed full of clever ideas, but you better love plastic. It's everywhere. Also, you better love plumbing, pumps, and digging trenches. It spends much of its efforts giving the reader some real-world examples and advice. It clearly doesn't expect the reader to implement all or even most of the ideas, but I am confident that there are a few things just about anybody could apply to their situation, weather you are a suburbanite, urbanite, or a rural dweller.I was surprised by the extensiveness of instruction in chicken and pond fish rearing. I think this book would be a decent chicken primer, though not as thorough as Harvey Ussery's book. But one must realize that most of the tip and the schemes in this book are all very website specific. For example, his chicken coop wouldn't be nearly huge enough in most of this country where weather gets cold enough a few or more weeks per year that chickens must be protected in a shelter. Also, I was surprised that he feels that bleach washing eggs is a given. From my perspective washing eggs is required because of a defect in the management, usually putting too a lot of chickens in too little of a coop or too few of roost boxes or not changing the bedding frequently e book is very upbeat, enthusiastic, and friendly while not condescending, arrogant and self-congratualtory. When there is insufficient information, the reader is at least pointed in the right direction via a reference, but usually there is enough info to actually accomplish a lot of of the projects in the book. Like all Chelsea Green books it is well produced, has an index, and is generally attractive.Why not five stars? Because, like a lot of books of its kind, it is mis-titled in my opinion. The projects in this book are so capital intensive (basically all the plastic, plumbing, structures, and ground work) that it demands very intensive, high profit growing to break even. The intensity is far greater that what most Americans would expect on a "farm." And I am not so sure the vast quantities of plastic (liners, barrels, pipe, etc.) and frequent reliance on pumps and engines are really all that bio-integrated. I honestly believe that a more extensive (the opposite of intensive), but equally thoughtful, agriculture is more bio-friendly if you wish to place it that way. Getting animals to feed themselves, meal to grow itself, and agricultural systems to operate with minimal material or energetic inputs (rather management or decision making inputs) is more bio-integrated in my opinion. It might take a bit more land, however.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bio-Integrated Farm: A Revolutionary Permaculture-Based System Using Greenhouses, Ponds, Compost Piles, Aquaponics, Chickens, and More []  2020-2-7 20:19

    For those like me wanting to begin a permaculture farm, this book is one of the best out. Very informative well written and can give the novice like me all the information required to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bio-Integrated Farm: A Revolutionary Permaculture-Based System Using Greenhouses, Ponds, Compost Piles, Aquaponics, Chickens, and More []  2020-2-7 20:19

    This book is very informative. It was purchased for a college class but we will hold it forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Permaculture Earthworks Handbook: How to Design and Build Swales, Dams, Ponds, and other Water Harvesting Systems []  2020-1-22 0:19

    This is a amazing source of deep education about water hydrology, capture, swale development and all things earthworks, written in a method a lay person can grasp and implement. I had been seeking this info for sometime, and the book exceeded my hopes. It really is the blueprint for our land development. I highly recommend it. Kudos to the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bio-Integrated Farm: A Revolutionary Permaculture-Based System Using Greenhouses, Ponds, Compost Piles, Aquaponics, Chickens, and More []  2020-2-7 20:19

    This is the most fascinating book I have. The density of info is the highest I can imagine. I bought this book to study systems theory, and systems of systems. I've only read a few dozen pages skipping around but it is exactly what I've been looking for, a real-world system documented. This appears to be a textbook written by Clemson University SC. It includes years of experience of their Agriculture department with acres of greenhouses, ponds, and gardens. Expect it to take several months to read it and perhaps a year to re-read it and turn it into your own knowledge and experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bio-Integrated Farm: A Revolutionary Permaculture-Based System Using Greenhouses, Ponds, Compost Piles, Aquaponics, Chickens, and More []  2020-2-7 20:19

    This is a amazing book. I read a review about in on the Temperate Climate Permaculture site. I was impressed with the site, so I checked out the book. The author has lived and worked in Santa Cruz, CA, the southeast coast of the US, and the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. He has incorporated a lot of design innovations such as water catchment land features to support catch runoff, inside the greenhouse ponds, seed begin trays that float on the pond so you do not have to water them, and harvesting minnows for chicken feed. It will expand your mind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Permaculture Earthworks Handbook: How to Design and Build Swales, Dams, Ponds, and other Water Harvesting Systems []  2020-1-22 0:19

    Do NOT this book if you are a lay person. The language in which it is written is utterly incomprehensible if you are not an expert in constructing dams and earthworks. I'm a beautiful educated person and was seeking guidance in building some swales and berms in my backyard. This book is not geared towards offering helpful info for anyone who is not in the construction industry. Lots of information on massive earthmoving equipment and constructing earthworks in third globe countries. If you are an Permaculture amateur (or even an expert), it is like trying to decipher a law text book. AND dry as a bone to read. No charm at all. Ugh!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Permaculture Earthworks Handbook: How to Design and Build Swales, Dams, Ponds, and other Water Harvesting Systems []  2020-1-22 0:19

    Perfect book on permaculture earthworks construction. Thank you Mr. Barnes. Most books on permaculture limit the info that's presented in this book. Gives you a real sense of what it takes to implement physical aspects of permaculture design. Book provides supporting www service with useful calculators to help in sitework planning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Permaculture Earthworks Handbook: How to Design and Build Swales, Dams, Ponds, and other Water Harvesting Systems []  2020-1-22 0:19

    Terrific resource book. However, it did take 5 weeks to obtain to me, which was disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Permaculture Earthworks Handbook: How to Design and Build Swales, Dams, Ponds, and other Water Harvesting Systems []  2020-1-22 0:19

    Book came in amazing condition. Exactly what I needed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Permaculture Earthworks Handbook: How to Design and Build Swales, Dams, Ponds, and other Water Harvesting Systems []  2020-1-22 0:19

    I own a few acres of land that receives copious amounts of rains. Yet, in the summers, ground water runs dry in spite of the fact that the put sits close to a lake. I was tempted to begin building earthworks to capture rainwater, but I thought that I would educate myself about the topic before trying anything.I was hesitant to this book after reading one of the reviews, but I am so glad that I did. I first read the kindle ver and I just ordered the paperback ver as the book includes some perfect illustrations.When I started reading the book I noticed that the first couple of chapters gave some general background and history that I thought I would skip. However, when I started reading those I realized how necessary those chapters were in setting the context. The author then went on to cover the fundamentals of water movement and hydrology. In my opinion these are really necessary to understand before starting to design swales or other earthworks. The subsequent chapters then become more specific on design, planning and execution. I found myself re-reading some of the chapters to create sure that I had not missed anything important. If you are going to build swales, ponds, dams or other earthworks or hire someone who will build those for you, the knowledge contained in this book is essential to know. Short of attending a permaculture earthworks workshop, this is the best knowledge you will obtain sitting on your couch!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Permaculture Earthworks Handbook: How to Design and Build Swales, Dams, Ponds, and other Water Harvesting Systems []  2020-1-22 0:19

    Very simple read, easy to follow ideas and techniques and I’m stupid

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bio-Integrated Farm: A Revolutionary Permaculture-Based System Using Greenhouses, Ponds, Compost Piles, Aquaponics, Chickens, and More []  2020-2-7 20:19

    Perfect book, perfect format, perfect pics. I'd have to read it a second and third time just to absorb it all, and read it a fourth and fifth time to figure out if he missed anything. What an EXCELLENT reference - especially for when you think you've done everything and run out of ideas on what else you could do to squeeze more productivity out of your Bio-Integrated Farm. Really well thought out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Permaculture Earthworks Handbook: How to Design and Build Swales, Dams, Ponds, and other Water Harvesting Systems []  2020-1-22 0:19

    well, it is the opposite of what i want. I WANT to figure out how to channel surface water AWAY from my property. This book tells you how to attract water to your property--as in making a pond, or irrigating a garden/farm with rain runoff. Not quite what i expected. I wanted to learn how to create drainage swales to take water away, but they present you how to create swales to capture water and allow it soak in. Just fyi.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bio-Integrated Farm: A Revolutionary Permaculture-Based System Using Greenhouses, Ponds, Compost Piles, Aquaponics, Chickens, and More []  2020-2-7 20:19

    Some useful information, but nothing overly enlightening. But it is still worth the for me, since I am wanting to gain as much knowledge and various viewpoints as possible

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bio-Integrated Farm: A Revolutionary Permaculture-Based System Using Greenhouses, Ponds, Compost Piles, Aquaponics, Chickens, and More []  2020-2-7 20:19

    Amazing book, with dozens of ideas and suggestions. Definitely a lot of info, but explained in an simple to follow manner. If you're looking to begin a homestead I would suggest picking it up to have on hand and to support plan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disneyland Hotel: Waterfalls & Koi Ponds []  2020-7-23 19:59

    This is what I remembered most about the Disneyland hotel in the 80’s along with the video arcade! Thanks for publishing !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disneyland Hotel: Waterfalls & Koi Ponds []  2020-7-23 19:59

    Having been born and raised in Southern California in the early sixties. We spent a lot of unbelievable days at Disneyland and the Disneyland Hotel. Bearing this in mind,Period material such as this is super gratifying to me. A welcome window into an almost innocent seeming, certainly unrecoverable SoCal of yore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Disneyland Hotel: Waterfalls & Koi Ponds []  2020-7-23 19:59

    Loved this book. Brought back a sense of nostalgia about the once unbelievable hotel. A must read by all means!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet Water New Hampshire and Vermont: AMC’s Canoe And Kayak Guide To The Best Ponds, Lakes, And Easy Rivers (AMC Quiet Water Series) []  2020-1-4 21:3

    It's just fast snapshots of locations to paddle. No detailed descriptions. I like to know the size, length, and time to paddle, but what I also wanted this book to provide was info about locations to take breaks, camp, swim, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quiet Water New Hampshire and Vermont: AMC’s Canoe And Kayak Guide To The Best Ponds, Lakes, And Easy Rivers (AMC Quiet Water Series) []  2020-1-4 21:3

    This book has unbelievable reviews of many, a lot of spots to kayak and canoe in VT and NH. The directions to the different spots are usually right on. The locations are sorted by which part of the state they're in. We've found this book very helpful when we wish to search a spot for a fast paddle, or an all day adventure.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386