the poppy war Reviews & Opinions


Submit the poppy war review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Poppy War: A Novel review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    First the amazing parts:- Solid, enjoyable world-building, with the competing philosophies of shamanism, the push towards modernization and conformity, and the historical ebb and flow of power and subjugation being the standouts. I found myself oddly intrigued by the history of martial arts.- The military portions, while exceedingly brutal (do NOT mistake this for YA and give it to your kid -- hell, even if you're an adult be prepared for graphic violence, including sexual), were a lot of fun. There's a mix of practical warfare, including chemical weapons and incendiary devices, with magical items that was honestly beautiful engaging.- A common issue when you bring gods and magic into fantasy is "Why is there any conflict if the characters are this powerful?". That is not show here. The consequences of trying this are shown, and they are BANANAS. It's great.- If you like characters who are allowed to be horrible people, then you will not be disappointed here. I saw another review that said the heroine seemed insane by the end. This is a feature, not a bug. Between the very graphic battle crimes and what we learn of the human relationship to the gods it's awesome anyone is still remotely functional by the end.- You obtain to the end and it's like...wow. This can't end well. I consider this a plus.Weak points:- Did feel like the first book could have been condensed. The basic conflict didn't come into play until 40% of the method through, after which the military portion kicked in and carried it through to the end. (Oddly you could conceivably begin with Book 2, since it even included its own prologue.)- The style may be hit-or-miss for some. It lacks the stuffy tone of Tolkien-esque Epic Fantasy, which I appreciate, but occasionally veers into Quippy Territory. Depending on your preference this may be a pro or a con.- Very particular point: May read a small weird if you're a Japanese-American. This is influenced by true atrocities committed during the Sino-Japanese War, so if you're not willing to think about that ugly bit of history just skip it entirely, but oddly what bothered me more was that the Japanese proxy race were described in the same generalized terms of hive-minded fanatical hordes that were used to describe Japanese-Americans during Globe Battle II. There's a touch at the very end that indicates the culture isn't uniform evil, but we never seen anything to challenge their depiction as anything but sadistic monsters. There are also some textual reasons to show them as one-dimensional, and it may be challenged in the second book. Obviously this didn't hold me from enjoying the book, and it may not bother others at all, but if you do happen to have this background and just wanted to settle down and have fun some Asian-inspired SFF do not be l in all, a small bumpy but intriguing enough that I'll be checking out the sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Poppy War: A Novel review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    The reality is, no review I write can come close to capturing the sheer experience of reading The Poppy War. It is dark, brutal, and oftentimes, presents moments that will create your heart ache and your core hollow. If you are looking for a light-hearted beach read, this is not the book for you. However, if you wish a story that can give you a taste of the pain of warfare, and introduce you to characters that will haunt the depths of your mind for years to come, you need this book on your shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Poppy War: A Novel review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    I finished the book several days ago and I'm still disturbed by it. Although the protagonist is a young woman, this is not a YA book. The first two thirds of the book lure you in and create you invested with the characters. Rin Fang is a battle orphan in the Nikan empire, whom the state has placed with an abusive family. Faced with the prospect of an unpleasant marriage, she becomes determined to take the civil service exam and earn a put in a service academy. She sets her sights on the most exclusive one because it's free for those who earn a place. She studies obsessively, burning herself with candle wax to stay awake, and wins through. At the highly stratified academy, she's an outcast because she's a dark-skinned peasant with no connections, having only one friend. This part of the book covers her education and development as a student, and it's leavened with bright sparks of humor. The setting is derived from China in the first half of the 20th century, mostly, and a pantheon is described as well, the nature of religious belief and the gods are important.. There are enough changes to the setting that it isn't a direct copy. World-building is limited in the sense that it's already familiar, it's not extensively original. This is not a criticism; the author's skill is such that it all feels new and the characters are vivid; it's simple to obtain on Rin's side. The characters aren't idealized or almost excellent with a few little flaws; they're allowed to be well rounded with amazing and poor traits. There isn't much hero development, but that also makes sense since the students are being indoctrinated into a certain mindset and their concentration is on their e latest third of the book is... harrowing. If this is the first of three books, I'm not quite sure that I can take the remaining two. This third of the book focuses on the invasion by the Mugen Federation, the analog of Japan, related to Japan's predation before and during WWII. Three specific atrocities have been adapted for this story: the comfort women, Lab 731, and the rape of Nanjing. The book is dedicated to "Iris," who I take to be Iris Chang, the author of a history of the atrocities in Nanjing. I've read that book and after reading this book, I can say truthfully that for me the fictionalized acc is more disturbing because of the method the characters respond. The writing is so vivid and haunting that it's almost like you're there with Rin and her cohorts. You're with them as they come across the atrocities. It's not enough that the city's inhabitants were killed, it's the creativity displayed that will turn your stomach. The violence is show and brutal, but it's not gratuitous. And you see how soldiers answer to exposure to these sights. While these horrors are poor enough, it's the unraveling of our characters who are confronted with them and what they do that is heartbreaking. What happens to Rin is believable because it's a logical outcome from what she's experienced and endured and the power she can command.. Possible spoiler: Her revenge is catastrophic and you could draw a parallel with the atomic bombings too, just even more is is an extraordinary book, but at the same time I can't say that I'm glad I read it because the depiction of battle is so heavy-hitting and brutal. It is definitely worth the read, but be warned; this isn't a book you can finish and set aside, forgettable.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on the poppy war or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch the poppy war video reviews and related movies:

    See The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang Audiobook Part 1 on youtube.

     related image

    See The Poppy War by R.F Kuang 📖 | BOOK REVIEW on youtube.

     related image

    See THE POPPY WAR BOOK REVIEW | R.F. KUANG on youtube.

     related image

    See Poppy War Trailer on youtube.

     related image

    See Rin & Nezha | He loved her and feared her [The Poppy War] on youtube.

     related image

    See SPILLING THE TEA || The Poppy War RANT REVIEW || ivymuse on youtube.

     related image

    See SFF180 🐉 ‘The Poppy War’ by R.F. Kuang ★★½ on youtube.

     related image

    See Young Chinese writer launches historical fiction "The Poppy War" at New York BookCon on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Poppy War: A Novel review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    If you don't wish to miss out on one of 2018`s best releases, buy this right now. Rin and the rest of the characters are some of the most compelling characters I've ever seen. This book gives you children growing up, school environment, war, found family/band of misfits, the best tragic hero ever written, awesome globe building - this story will grab you along for the ride like a film and not allow up until it's over. And then you'll be left sitting there wondering what to do with the rest of your life. However, I would not recommend this book for anyone younger than high school. Fair warning. It's got battle in the title. Look up Japanese atrocities during WWII, but don't look at pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Poppy War: A Novel review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    This novel created me feel quite raw at the end. It isn’t really a novel about a plucky girl getting through hardship through her efforts like I thought it was at the beginning. Instead, it’s about the real atrocity of war, and what you would sacrifice to conquer your rhaps because of my Korean heritage, this story cuts deep with the similarities of Asia and Japan during the 19th and 20th century. The nightmare of this story is that this is modeled after our history, and my ancestors were survivors of such conflicts. For all the talk of demons and the crazy god possessed, the real creatures of this story are all humans, and how they warp all those who survive them into creatures themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Poppy War: A Novel review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    I don't like comparing books to other books because I feel like it makes it seem like the book isn't special, but sometimes it can be helpful to understand what a book is like. To me, The Poppy Battle feels like a amazing combination of Ender's Android game and Town of Stairs.An orphan, Rin lives in a globe of battle and gods, and she is determined to survive. It's awesome how, in one book, Kuang shows such a tremendous evolution of characters. The Rin we begin with is a truly various person than the Rin at the end of the book, but Kuang takes us through this so naturally that it all makes sense.A note: although Rin is a young girl, this is not a young adult book: the author herself says it was not written for a YA audience, and it should not be marketed as such. There are some brutal things that happen here, and readers of all ages should be aware.I believe this is the first of what will be a trilogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Poppy War: A Novel review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    Hands down, one of the best books I've read all year. Scratch that, one of the best books I've read in YEARS. The Poppy Battle is a gorgeous, relentless, utterly brutal book that examines some of the cruelest aspects of humanity while also retaining a lot of heart. I wouldn't call it a *hopeful* book but there seems to be this ever-present ray of light sustained by characters determined to create the globe more bearable. It should be noted that this is a BRUTAL book, and the author herself has listed the content warnings on her website. Chapter 21 is the hardest to obtain through, and I was prepared, so be ready for that.Anyways, back to what I SO THE MAGIC! THE M A G I C. It feels specific to each hero and deeply thought out and it has LIMITS and deals w/ the consequences of power and the stakes of the magic are f a n t a s t i c and hold you invested as a reader. This whole globe is e characters are incredible. Rin is basically a terrifying Azula, and her drive is one of my favorite elements about her. It's so refreshing to a have a young, female protagonist that gets to be super messy and complex. she feels very chaotic good- maybe chaotic neutral which I LOVE. is she the hero? an anti-hero? who knows i'd die for her the end.I honestly feel like in a few years, R.F. Kuang will be a powerhouse, household name. This is such an incredibly rendered book and you can tell it's just the beginning for her career. If this book doesn't at least obtain nominated for some of the huge SFF awards this year, my hope in humanity is basically dead. so there's DR; this book is great. the globe is great, the magic is great, the writing is gorgeous and sweeps you up, protecc Rin at all costs and obtain my son Nezha into therapybuy THE POPPY WAR you cowards do it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Poppy War: A Novel review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    I haven't read a book in a long, long time that I literally could not place down... The Poppy Battle is the first in years. I highly recommend it for its world-building—or, more aptly, world-revealing, since it's a geographically realistic fantasy based on Chinese history—its driven, staccato plot, its complex points created easy with extremely readable language (it's an adept author that makes the complex seem simple), and its believable characterization of wartime desperation.When I first began reading, I was surprised by what I interpreted as a 'YA tone'. I kept reading but prepared myself to be disappointed, since I rarely love YA (no criticism in particular of the genre, just tends to be not for me). My mistake; The Poppy Battle is extremely straight-forwardly written with an accessible vocabulary, but it is most assuredly not YA literature. This fact becomes increasingly clear as the novel, and the battle at its center, progresses into its fantasy-infused retelling of the Sino-Japanese conflict. The characters evolve away from their initial portrayals as the story arcs through its plot points, illustrating how battle and violence hurt the psyche.I will add that this is not a book for people who dislike reading about violence; the violence in The Poppy Battle is not "window dressing" to raise fictional stakes—it is lifted from China's history and is horribly realistic. The characters are not necessarily written in the friendly way, by which I mean, the reader is not necessarily meant to wish to be mates with any of them. They are fascinating, and indicative of the conflicts in the story, but suffice to say the protagonists are far from classic heroes. Just a friendly warning, we all have our preferences!I can't wish to read R.F. Kuang's next book. I'll be pre-ordering as soon as it's available!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Poppy War: A Novel review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    I loved this book, though I'll be careful to whom I recommend it. It's a brilliant debut, telling the riveting story of Rin, a battle orphan who claws her method out of an abusive childhood to learn the arts of war, gradually coming to terms with the presence of the divinely mythical, and her relationship to it. Fantasy of the type that I greedily devour, especially when the people, the fatal geography, and the unescapable happenings are all transparently mapped to Chinese history of the latest two centuries. It warmed my biracial small heart to read a story that felt like an Ender's Android game for Chinese people instead of creepy comment-section e reason I won't blanket recommend this to everyone is that, well, it's based on Chinese military history of the latest two centuries. Which, if you haven't read about or studied, is - horrific, frankly.I'm not a fan of the Song of Ice and Fire books, as I think the physical and sexual violence of the books is tedious, grotesque, and unnecessary. The violence of the Poppy Battle exceeds at times that of the GoT books, but instead of feeling like needless cruelty, it is rather the focal point of the book. Our hero's growing-up-magical story intersects the timeline of the real-world country her homeland is based on, complete with genocide, human experimentation, massive-scale sexual assault, and other gruesome battle crimes. But it's not sensational. It's not something you grow numb to, and gloss over. It's real, and it's brutally wrong, and it drives Rin to create terrible, not good choices. And that's what the whole rest of the book is driving towards.I think this is an wonderful story, and one that resonates with me as a person of Chinese descent, and as an American living in 2018. It's smart, it's funny, it's oddly paced but still sucks you in, and has a rewarding plot. Just know before you obtain pulled in, that this book will create you suffer. It can't do anything else.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Poppy War: A Novel review [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    This book takes the "poor child goes to the war/magic school" trope and then turns it on it's head. It is exceedingly honest in it's description of war. Chapter 21 is BRUTAL.* Kuang's worldbuilding seems very complete, and doesn't shy away from even some of the small details. At one point a hero has to deal with having a period. It seems like a throw away moment until you examine how it exemplifies the characters drive.What most interested me about this book is how it alludes to true globe situations and countries, while being unafraid to modify them to fit the story/further the e Empire is a China analog, the Federation is Japanese, and Speer is reminiscent of Taiwan. Kuang weaves in I Ching as a fortune telling device, and the Chinese Zodiac is represented as well. These things enhanced the story for me, and created for a richer only problem is that is very much the first book in a series, and some of the plot lines don't obtain a climax. One hero sorta disappears 3/4ths of the method through the book. You have some beautiful huge plot threads that don't obtain resolves as much as staged for book 2. That being said, I wish book 2. Soon, is book is highly recommended for fans of darker fantasy such as Joe Abercrombie or James Moore. Gimme more!*SPOILER it is created more so by the fact that the chapter seems to be based upon the Rape of Nanking END SPOILER

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This is an absolutely essential and awesome adaptation of George Lucas' rough draft screenplay, showing an necessary evolutionary scene to a classic work. It shows just how much was in Lucas' head from the start, and Rinzler's adept handling gives it a compelling life all its own. Mayhew's art is wonderful. This is a must-have for any fan of Star Wars, Comics, Sci-Fi/Fantasy or Movie as a result. A fan of all of them? Even better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Based on a rough draft of Star Battles you see elements from the original and prequel trilogies showing that Lucas had characters and scenes from the very beginning. This ver also shows the very stilted dialogue that Lucas is also know this ver Han Solo is a green ewie isn't connected to Solo, and has to be taught to fly.Darth Vader isn't a e Sith is named Valorum.And in this ver Chewie gets his medal at the end. Yeah!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    I'm not the largest Star Battles fan, but I search this book interesting, because it shows how huge George Luca's ideas were. He had to chop and edit his ideas so that they could fit within the limits of budget, unique effects technology, and time. I'm still in the process of reading this comic. Very good. I highly recommend this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Book is definitely worth the $20 or so dollars. JUST BE WARNED: if you are going to buy it from a third party source, just create sure you are getting all of the issues. I bought this book from a third party source and they only sent me problems #1 and #2 as separate paper back copies, not all e largest draw to this graphic novel is the awesome artwork. It's probably the most stunning out of any comic book I've read. As for the story, it's not as amazing as the original films (better than the prequels for sure), but it's still worth a read. The cool factor of having read an adaptation of George Lucas's original draft is to amazing to pass e characters are beautiful underdeveloped and the dialogue is beautiful cheesy, but honestly it never really bothered me. If the book was a bit longer to create up for the fast pacing and hero development it would be a true solid graphic novel.I would also recommend to hardback edition, since it has really nice binding and comes with a "making of" section. This graphic novel is amazing for even mild Star Battles fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This is the 'what could have been' entry in the Star Battles universe. Yes, it's not as fully formed as the movies; Hence, it's an early draft. Though that seems to be one of the major arguments versus this graphic novel, the artwork is attractive and if you are a real fan even if you don't like it you can at least appreciate what it means as a stepping stone to what was to become. My partner has been a Star Battles fan (make that MAJOR Star Battles fan) since he was a small boy and the films first hit the huge screen and he was able to have fun this thoroughly. Take it for what it is, comes recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    A must have for any Star Battles Fan! This really illustrates how a filmmakers vision changes over time. Here familiar characters look completely different. If you like Star Battles then you’ll love The Star Wars!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    This graphic novel is something that I never knew existed for a while and it honestly surprised me. The art is beautiful damn amazing and the story, while very simple, is fascinating to me. This is probably what could have been had the current one not been made. While it ends on the promise of another story, I doubt we will obtain it. Still, I enjoyed this graphic novel and I highly recommend it to any long time Star Battles fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    As some other people have said, it's an interesting look into the development process George Lucas went through, but the story is bloated, full of plot holes and some characters, in particular Darth Vader, don't do much of anything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Star Wars (Star Wars: The Star Wars) review [Book]  2017-12-15 18:1

    Interesting interpretation of the first draft of the script.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Napoleonic Wars: A Captivating Guide to the Napoleonic Wars and War of 1812 review []  2020-1-9 18:41

    NAPOLEONIC WARS - see separate review for The Battle of 1812While there IS lots of information, the presentation is a chore to read. This one is a disappointing contribution from Captivating History as it's screaming out for an Editor. It's peppered with odd expressions, duplications, odd grammar and punctuation; combined with some aspects in min detail, while other significant happenings are glossed over; and so on and e book is titled: 'The Napoleonic Wars' but the actual topic 'Beginning of the Napoleonic Wars' is not addressed until Chapter 5. It's preceded by lots of 'setting-up' apter 2 summarises the situation , but in a rather haphazard fashion which is awkward to follow - like the glossing over of the executions of French ere's comments like: "…. Napoleon's brilliant execution of his ingenious strategies and tactics that baffled his opponents…" but no actual explanation of the ere's also no explanation of the process whereby Napoleon actually became 'emperor'.The first 'abdication' and exile to Elba ( and escape) just happens, and the same applies with the second exile to Saint Helena (no 'escape', of course!)!**** for content, but lost a * due to EP UP THE GREAT SERIES!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Napoleonic Wars: A Captivating Guide to the Napoleonic Wars and War of 1812 review []  2020-1-9 18:41

    As always a solid overview of the Napoleonic Wars, and this bundle contains The Battle of 1812, both worth reading. I liked the inclusion of the pre Napoleonic Era French Revolution, and Napoleon's part in it, especially as his spring board to Emperor. This usually gets small coverage in history classes. Worth the tome, check it out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Napoleonic Wars: A Captivating Guide to the Napoleonic Wars and War of 1812 review []  2020-1-9 18:41

    Napoleonic battles briefly covers the French Revolution, Directorate and the rise of Napoleon. It explains the dynamics of France controlling mainland Europe while England bottled Napoleon up with their navy. The names of a lot of admirals and generals and Marshalls tell how Napoleon was both empowered and finally defeated.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Napoleonic Wars: A Captivating Guide to the Napoleonic Wars and War of 1812 review []  2020-1-9 18:41

    I found this book bundle filled with amazing information. While these two books are informative on their own, they are even better together because they each fill in info that the other book might not have gone into as much detail about. I highly recommend this book bundle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Napoleonic Wars: A Captivating Guide to the Napoleonic Wars and War of 1812 review []  2020-1-9 18:41

    A very detailed overview of this time period in European history . Naturally, your given a lot more info than a textbook would give you. So much I didn’t know but , now I do is covered in this study .Another superb job by Captivating History!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Napoleonic Wars: A Captivating Guide to the Napoleonic Wars and War of 1812 review []  2020-1-9 18:41

    Very informative books on the Napoleonic Battles and Battle of 1812. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Napoleonic Wars: A Captivating Guide to the Napoleonic Wars and War of 1812 review []  2020-1-9 18:41

    A very informative view on the history of Napoleon and his life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) review []  2019-12-28 18:39

    Based on other reviews, I was waiting for the ending to wow me. It didn't. Maybe I've read too a lot of high fantasies that over-rely on plot twists because I saw the ending coming a mile away. The hero development was also extremely flat with no reader sympathy for the MC. Why do we care if she achieves her one goal? Like the first book, this one struggled with tone. The characters don't act, talk, or think like soldiers and increasing their ages in this book may have helped. What the author does do extremely well is world-building with historical influences. I'll read the third one, but I may not preorder it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) review []  2019-12-28 18:39

    This is a solid sequel to the first book. That being said, throughout this book, Rin is still struggling to obtain her act together. Through the first one, she was grappling with her sudden abilities and survival, and in this one she's struggling with her addiction, living up to a certain legacy, and still trying to obtain a grip on her powers, at least until about 3/4 of the method through, and that's when the potential that she's symbolized throughout the books - being an intelligent, trained solider of the most prestigious military academy in the Empire - begins to shine. She starts coming into her own. She starts acting like the commander of the Cike. She still has baggage, but it doesn't control her. She's taking advantage of her allies, and beginning to understand the power she wields. That's why it is sooooo disappointing that the ending plays out the method it does. The writing and the direction is not disappointing, just to create that clear, it's just that Rin wasn't quick enough to act before her opponents do. And it kind of broke my heart that a certain part of that played out, because I was totally rooting for that whole thing to go down. Another thing that was enjoyable was Daji. Rin's whole reason for currently living is to take out the Empress in honor of Altan, but Daji is cunning and she's been playing this android game for a long time. Just when you think she's out of cards, boom! she hits you will a falling mast. Anyway, if you liked the first Poppy Battle book, you will like The Dragon Republic, too. I can't wait to read the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) review []  2019-12-28 18:39

    A brilliant, dark, heavy, sequel to one of my favorite books and debuts latest year. Ever since I finished The Poppy War, its sequel quick became one of my most anticipated books of this year. The Dragon Republic picks up a few months later after the happenings of TPW and our story goes from is story is very various from its predecessor. We have completely ditched the school and training format for an all out strategic and battle format and it absolutely worked. We kind of obtain to see Rin use the skills she has learned but also see her in a fresh role and dealing with the aftermath of TPW. I'm no expert with PTSD, but I do believe it was handled really well in this book. Everyone experienced it a small differently, everyone handled it differently. I am absolutely tangled up in these characters. Yes, there are those I should hate but they all drive the story when the time is needed. What I mean by that is, there are no unnecessary characters floating throughout this story. Everyone has a purpose, a motivation, and it is a refreshing sight to behold. I enjoyed also getting to see a small more in depth look at how the shamanic powers work and exploring that aspect of the series. I am really interested in seeing where this book goes for its final outing and am eager to see if after this book takes a fresh spot in my favorite series of all time because at this rate I have no doubt in my mind that is exactly what is going to is book is still very dark and hard hitting at times. Some of the scenes in this book are so graphic. So definitely be aware of that whenever you read this series. If you are one who gets unsettled easily then probably steer clear or go in with guards up knowing that this book deals with some massive hitting topics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) review []  2019-12-28 18:39

    I’ve been looking forward to reviewing this book for months! This is certainly one of those sequels for which a reader waits impatiently as soon as news of its release comes out. I have been looking forward to reading the next book by R. F. Kuang since I rushed through the first Poppy Battle book.I still have fun the magic and Rin’s characterization. Her newly found heritage as a Speerly has definitely shaped her approach to the book’s events. In this book, she seems much more comfortable with her abilities and status as a shaman fighter in the Cike. There is a fair balance of political posturing and violent confrontations. The Dragon Republic takes the reader in a fresh direction as Rin and her “allies” work towards defeating the Empress and the Northern Warlords. The presence of the Hesperians certainly did not support matters, especially with their believed superiority over the Nikarans and their view of the Cike as damned souls to be l in all, this sequel was definitely worth the wait.I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) review []  2019-12-28 18:39

    I liked the first book. I’m half method through this one and have been skimming — will skip to the end. This one drags on and on, with very small movement or hero development. The battle is vicious and everyone is engaged in killing or intimidating civilians. Rin loses her access to her power and we wait and wait...for something, ANYTHING to happen, other than repeated wars in which the vanquished are subjected to violence. All sides are vicious, including Rin. Skip it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) review []  2019-12-28 18:39

    No second book allow down here, this book takes everything you think you know and turns it upside down. With so a lot of twists and turns, you'll be shaking your head in amazement. Awesome wars and politicking along with mad gods makes this one heck of a story. Oh yeah, characters are good, writing is too notch and the imagination that goes into this book was greatly appreciated by this reader. Most definitely a must read story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) review []  2019-12-28 18:39

    Ok read not nearly as amazing as the first book in this series. Alton, a hero who was killed in the Poppy Battles book, is mentioned so a lot of times in this story, u wonder why the author killed him off in the first place. In almost every chapter of this book the main character, Rin constantly obsesses over Alton, which becomes very annoying. Sadly this story reminds me of so a lot of books I’ve read where the amazing guys are easily manipulated by the opposition because of their own stupidity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) review []  2019-12-28 18:39

    I don’t think this book is quite as amazing as the first one. That would have been a very high bar to reach. Still this was an perfect book! It seemed somewhat disjointed in beginning as Rin struggled with her opium addiction. I think that was appropriate. The book kept me up late turning pages at a rapid pace. Now that I’ve finished it I will be waiting impatiently for the next book in the series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) review []  2019-12-28 18:39

    This book is very various from anything I have read in a while. It avoid some of the huge cliches (although it dives in head first in others), the characters and storyline is also interesting. It is nice finally reading something that do not shy away from describing the gruesome reality of war. It includes some incredibly brutal scenes, so for the people always asking whether a given book include violence: Yes! This book also have a very interesting magic system, and there is definitely much to be discovered here in future books. There are some things I don't like in this book. For instance the psyche was supposed to be this elite group of highly skilled people. I don't really see any evidence for that in this book. Everyone just running around like headless chicken. It also annoy me how easily alliances shift in this book. You can have people on one side of the battle that after one conversation decides to switch sides, and this does not only happen once. Still, all in all I really enjoyed the book, give it four stars, and eagerly await the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) review []  2019-12-28 18:39

    I remember liking the Poppy Battle quite a bit but this book is disappointing on a lot of levels. We follow the main hero through dialogue after dialogue of wasted peevish temper tantrums. Hard to have sympathy. The globe is stale and the plot relatively stagnant. Feels like a forced second book waiting for a third.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    Well, I had read a lot of books on Globe Battle II and I can say that this book includes the whole moments of that time. Globe Battle II had created a amazing impact in this world. It is very interesting to know about the history of Globe Battle II and how it happened. Sixty million military and bloodiest troops conflict had amazing role in destroying our globe and a lot of of them were victims will obtain to know about a lot of facts about Hitler and how he ruled over the country. There were some pictures of the battle which was very necessary and helped me to imagine all the moments of that time. If you really wish to know about Globe Battle II then this book will be best for you. You will also know about other hidden roles but had created amazing impact in Globe Battle e author had done a amazing work by including pictures with exact date and time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    A amazing book. If you love history then this is a book for is book walks you through its beginning from the invasion of Japanese in 1931 to 1939 when Germany and Soviet Union signed non-aggression pact which kicked-off the battle and to the years of power, attacks, battles, and fall, defeat, death to is is such an informative book about Globe Battle 2. It's awesome to note that some of the info mentioned here were not mentioned in our History class! Very detailed, very insightful, plus with the classic images too! Perfect book to grab

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    This is not only for History majors. History should not be taken for granted. It will always take a huge part of what is now. The Globe Battle II had left over 50 M military and civilian casualties. Considered as one of the darkest part of the past century, I gave time to know major happenings that lead to this is book walks you through its beginning from the invasion of Japanese in 1931 to 1939 when Germany and Soviet Union signed non-aggression pact which kicked-off the battle and to the years of power, attacks, battles, and fall, defeat, death to surrender.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    The book is an perfect resource for people who wish to refresh their memory and add to their knowledge about WWII, as well as for people who are just starting to learn about the the largest conflict of human history. For example, I personally thought that I knew a lot about it, but found out that the USA had a bill banning arms trade with Europe. It can be used a reference outlining chronologically the unfolding of happenings that defined the course of the war.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    I am fond of reading history books. Who have not heard or read about Globe Battle II? It was indeed the largest, costliest and bloodiest armed conflict in history. This book provides a well-written happenings of Globe Battle II. It has really told and narrated the happenings in short yet exciting happenings or storyline. It is very informational, concise and interesting. When you read this book, you will realize the futility, foolishness and horrors of war.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    Awesome read here! After reading this book, you will understand everything you need to know about Globe Battle II to pass any history try you will see in college or high school. It is packed with pictures from the battle and covers all key happenings that makes it simple to jump back into history. I search it hard to just have a large list of random dates from a historical period and test to remember everything. By focusing on 50 parts of the war, memorizing this info was a snap!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    I think this is a very nice series, I love it and I know a mate who would love it even more. Getting a book that include so much happening in the time of the Globe Battle II. It is a true knowledge I have gained today. I enjoyed the different stories from back in those days and I appreciate how the author was able to go back in time and capture the moments along with the economy and all of that. It was nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    It's always interesting to know what had happened in the past. Knowing our history is a amazing knowledge. This book is a excellent tool to take us back and have a glimpse of the necessary happenings of Globe Battle II. The book also included some pictures with their own specific explanation about the event. This book is well-researched and provided us a better understanding of what has transpired during those time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    Studying a known historical happening by looking at James Weber's choice of what 50 happenings led to and or impacted that happening is an simple method to look at history. If nothing else it puts happenings in chronological order and is an opportunity to again look at happenings as they happen and consider what if any impact the happening had/has on other events.A fast study that in my experience is worth while, suggests the relationship that happenings have on each other and why/how a single happening has impacts on more that one future event.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    World War 2: World War II in 50 Events: From the Very Beginning to the Fall of the Axis Powers (War Books, World War 2 Books, War History) (History in 50 Events Series Book 4) review []  2020-1-17 20:34

    This book is especially helpful for students. After reading this book, you will understand everything you need to know about Globe Battle II to pass any history try you will see in college or high school. It is packed with pictures from the battle and covers all key happenings that makes it simple to jump back into history. I search it hard to just have a large list of random dates from a historical period and test to remember everything. By focusing on 50 parts of the war, memorizing this info was a snap!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    It was nice to see some of the things that Yoda did between the Clone Battles and the first time he is seen in Episode 5.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Amazing collection, hold the Marvel stories coming.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Not as amazing as the previous entries but amazing story none the less.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    So I finished this one the other day after reading the negative reviews. And while I will say it isn't a poor comic, I will say it wasn't entirely important either.Spoilers ahead:The book picks up at the end of The Latest Flight of the Harbinger with C-3PO in the hands of the Empire. R2 takes off to rescue him and Luke continues to read Ben Kenobi's journal. The rest of the story deals with Yoda feeling a call from the Force that leads him to a strange Lord of the Flies like e story isn't terrible, but it doesn't really do anything either. It doesn't advance the current story closer towards Empire Strikes Back (which is probably why they did it so they can hold the comics going) and the only purpose that I can search for the Yoda story is to present that Jedi must be humble in their abilities. But we already saw that out of Yoda in his three part series at the end of The Clone e artwork is really amazing though. So there's that.If you wish to read an ok side story, go for it. Or if you're like me and collect a lot of the expanded canon then still go for it. But if you wish to just hold going in the show story and not read Yoda, wait for The Screaming Citadel. All you miss here is Scar Squadron is planning to use 3PO as bait for our heroes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    This is a tough review for me to write. On the one hand, the book looks great. Perfect art. And, how often do you read a story about Yoda? I give Marvel large props for attempting something different. This isn't a story about the Rebels vs. the Empire. It's something e issue is that I felt like a fresh Pink Floyd album, where you feel like there's a notice there, but you're not quite sure what that notice is saying. All the time reading this story, I kept thinking to myself that the end of this--this interesting story--is going to come together and blow my mind. But, it didn't quite do that. And, if it is there on the page, I sure didn't obtain "it" on my first pass through the the end, I judge a book by how much I wish to go pick it up again once I lay it down. With this book, I wasn't as intrigued as I should have been. I really just wanted to obtain it read and done. It's a laudable effort on Marvel's part to attempt such a story, but for me, it just didn't e story does tie in a bit with the original trilogy, but my guess is that you could skip this collection and not miss much in the on-going Marvel series.I will note though that this collection also contains the second Star Battles Annual. You obtain the Yoda story plus the Annual. And, that's the bright side, as the story in this second Annual is quite good. It's a easy story, contained in the one issue. But, it's a story I found compelling, and it features a fresh character, Pash, that I hope we see again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    A huge cup of "meh".I am a large fan of SW, and I have enjoyed what Marvel has done with the franchise since they reacquired the license, but I gotta say, this was their first misstep, in my opinion. Its not that it was bad; it was just kind of pointless. It was an unnecessary delay of the main storyline that we could have done without. And while Yoda is a favorite, IF this story had to be told, it could have been done in half the time. Not a poor trade, just pointless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    r my money, this is the weakest story yet–not just from Aaron's "Star Wars" run, but in all of Marvel's Star Battles output since acquiring the license in 2014. I'm usually a huge fan of both Aaron's writing and Salvador Larroca's style, so the thought of the two of them pairing up for an arc–let alone an arc focused specifically on freaking YODA–really had me jazzed. Color me surprised and disappointed that neither writer nor artist seemed to operating at their full potential here.I could go on and on about all of the things that didn't work here, whether it be the plot itself–which proves definitively that there is such thing as a Star Battles story that is TOO out there–Larroca's linework, which seemed oddly unfinished here, or even just the method the arc sits rather uncomfortably alongside the broader Star Battles lore (no spoilers, but if you've read, you know of what I speak). In fairness, there were moments here and there that worked, particularly early on, when it felt like Aaron had a better grasp of the type of tale he wanted to spin. But the longer this arc dragged on, the more eager I was for it to wrap up. And now, mercifully, it Battles Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret Battle (Star Battles (2015-))

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    The fresh Marvel SW comics have, for the most part been great. The Vader books are, for me, the top tier but the SW run has been beautiful amazing as well. Unfortunately there is only so much storyline to fill between Ep IV and V and it feels like we've filled that gap sufficiently. Now we have filler such as this 's not poor but there is nothing memorable about it either other than the artwork which is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I was intrigued when I learned Marvel was departing from the main story arc for this one like they have with the Obi-Wan stories (which have been beautiful great). This story, however, was not. It felt like Yoda was plunked into the second half of Angry Max: Beyond Thunderdome in a rather pointless and frankly, kind of dumb, story. The only enjoyable moment, for me, takes put on the latest page of the latest issue. Even then it was a bit of a forced reach back to the Star Battles we know and love. You're really not missing much if you skip this volume. After volume four, I really feel like there's nothing more that needs to be told in this period of Star Battles history.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Vol. 5: Yoda's Secret War (Star Wars (2015-)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Up until now, Jason Aaron hasn't place a foot wrong in the Star Battles line. The plotting, characterization, and just the general feel of his run have been great, a true pleasure to read. Unfortunately with volume 5, things go off the rails. Focusing on an untold tale from Yoda's history, this story is a complete side-step with no true impact or bearing on the larger story. For the first time I found myself pushing impatiently through the pages in an attempt to obtain to the end, which is resolved in a less than fulfilling way. You also obtain an unrelated Princess Leia story at the end which is mediocre at best. Here's hoping that things return to normal with the next volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    This book collects a lot of of the early problems from Dark Horse's "Empire" comics from the mid 2000'e art varies between issues, but I found most of it to be beautiful good. The writing was also consistently amazing throughout, though admittedly not a lot of of the stories really broke any fresh ground on the Star Battles front. Most of them were your fairly standard action stories with a bit of internal politics mixed in. This has come to be expected from a post-prequels Star Battles story, so while it was a really fun read, very small surprised at said, there were a couple of stories which really stood out to me and bumped this up to a higher grade. "What Price Loyalty?", a story about a aging clone trooper serving in the Empire was a particular gem. Seeing the inner workings of a dictatorship from the perspective of a person literally programed to be loyal to the regime was quite interesting, especially when his previously held beliefs about the Empire are challenged by not only the rebels, but by his own commanding officer. The following story, one about Darth Vader right ofter the destruction of the Death Star, is a lot less talkative, but gives us a more introspective look at Vader as he is forced to survive in the harsh l in all, your fairly standard Star Battles fare, but with a few standout pieces here and there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    As you might expect 'At Battle with the Empire' collects several stories set during the original trilogy from both the Imperial and Rebel point of view. The stories are set just before and after the happenings of the first Star Battles movie and are all e opening story 'Betrayal' is the true standout. Weeks before the Death Star goes online a group of Imperial officers attempt a coup to replace Vader and the Emperor. It's densely written, with memorable characters and exciting battles.'Princess...Warrior' tells the story of Princess Leia's missions of mercy and how she learned the price of war.'The Short, Satisfied Life of Roons Sewell' tells the story of a Rebel general. Based in part on Citizen Kane (Roons Sewell is an anagram for Orson Wells) it quickly paints a memorable picture of the title character.'What Sin Loyalty' is the story of cloned and programmed Stormtrooper trying to protect his commander.'The Savage Heart' is a ruthless Darth Vader story.'A Small Piece of Home' is a bit dull but has some nice scenes for Princess Leia.'Target Vader' has Vader taking on the underworld.'Alone Together' shows some early developments in Han Solo and Princess Leia's relationship.'Idiot's Array' has an early try of Han's loyalty to the Rebellion and more underworld ly 'The Price of Power' introduces a race of sentient Raptors and a complex war between the Rebels and Empire for their is book has 400 pages of amazing to amazing stories set during my favorite era of Star Wars, I recommend picking this up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    As a long time Star battles expanded universe fan, I had greatly enjoyed the Empire Series when it had been around, though alas I hadn't been able to secure every issue. However, Dark Horse's brilliant Omnibus compilations is the god-send for us die hard fans who can't search every obscure copy. And being a deployed soldier, I appreciate being able to read as much as possible. I can't wait for Vol. 2. A amazing read and will definitely be in my collection of Star Battles Omnibus'.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    I'm a star battles fan, so I'm biased. I got this one since one of the comics included has a reference to Sabacc and I was trying to read about that game. I read through all the stories though (including the one about my card game) and never lost interest.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    All though this time table is my least favorite of the universe, this still is an awesome story. The art work is amazing and the story line is very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    Some stories within are excellent, some are fun, others mundane. The art is uniformly good. You'll never know unless you read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    Just plain old fun. Fills in the gaps between the movies. Amazing shortie with Vader after Yavin . Will buy the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    A amazing compilation of Marvel Star Battles comics focusing in huge part on Vader as he casts the shadow of the Sith across the Galaxy. Will take you some time to blaze through them but it's a blend of colourful side stories that help my favorite zone opera.*** It was called to my attention that this was originally published by Dark Horse Comics. However all the branding on the pages as well as the Amazon description now list it as Marvel. ****

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    I bought this knowing very small outside the films and Clone battles animated series. This book is a amazing buy and contains several of the Dark horse graphic comics, i accidentally purchased those too only to search the same stories in this book. I highly recommend for any Star Battles fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Star Wars Omnibus: At War With The Empire Vol. 1 (Star Wars: The Rebellion) review [Book]  2019-11-25 18:0

    Amazing reading room reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Amazing android game but needs some adjustments, you should only lose garrison units if attacked, if you don't place them in garrison they shouldn't be wiped out. Kind of rediculous, espically with how long it takes to heal/make them. Plus it asks you if you wish to place them there automatically, well why have the option if they die anyhow. Just a suggestion. Enable globe hopping, some servers will be in problem because there is no balance.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    I liked the android game to begin with and did spend cash to stay comparative. After a while they merged my server with others that are expanetially stronger so I went from rank 13 to 190. I asked them to move me to another server to rectify this imbalance and they just hold telling me that it was a carefully considered/balanced which it clearly wasnt. I had another problem where the android game glitched and resulted in me losing all my troops. They just told me there was no glitch, too bad. How disappointing!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Wow! I downloaded this due to curiosity from the negative reviews and the oddity of the positive reviews. My assumptions were not disappointed! I think this is a mash up of every android game mechanic from every mobile android game I've ever played. All at once. Right from the start. I checked out the developers website. Beautiful light on details! As far as "Play To Win" Clones written to money in (and money out!) of the mobile application gaming wave go... this android game delivers. Next!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    This android game is very amazing and is interesting as well as entertaining. However, I have been trying FOREVER to obtain my acc linked to google play so that I'm able to play on other devices but it's almost impossible for some reason. Amazing luck getting your save data on another phone and forget about playing with mates as it is impossible once one player has been on long enough. You will not obtain the same server.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    This android game is not for fresh comers. 😡If you're new, you're thrown to the dog's in the session for endless defeats and pirating. If you'd like to be robbed every 5 mins after days of struggling to gather resources, this android game is for you! 🙄 If you have fun playing android games for hours/days only to witness your grind rewarded to someone else, this android game is for you! 🤥Download today for a multitude of complimentary attacks by one or more of the abundantly higher level players. ☠️

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    This is a resource managment game, its incredibly fun to play for like the first day. After that people pay to win. The packs jump from $4.99 U.S. to $10, $20, then $100 and you can no longer buy cheaper packs once you've baught them it forces you to buy $100 resource packs. During happenings people spend thousands!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    I love the game, and the concept. the grind for new, better thing keeps it interesting, and it's quite a fun android game to play. however, it is kind of pay to win. gold is hard to come by without spending money, and if you don't have shields, you're zeroed out and nulled. please create gold easier to get, or have power balances. thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Been playing for a small while now, I have spent a couple hundred dollars on this game. I think the developers are greedy. They entice you with a amazing game, And you spend a small money. Then before long, You are spending hundreds of dollars. This is by far the most greedy company ever. Save yourself. Dont download. I'm already to deep into this to stop now, but please save yourself the financial burden of downloading this game. This must be that Trade Battle China is pulling on the US.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Very simple to play game. Amazing overall. Still needs work. Can earn gold everyday, nice touch. I'm not much of a gamer but this one is alot of fun. Don't have to be online all the time. Shield's are great, obtain into a clan as soon as you can. They support alot with growth and knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Clunky UI. Not good mini android games (time and space), flashing adds in every corner of the screen. Buy buy buy! They hold saying. It's quite an interesting game. Nothing special. Especially since it's created to frustrate you with its PvP system.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Looks amazing but android game play sucks. Unless you have a lot of cash to buy a amazing power base or you have fun frustration don't play this game. No point in playing when being farmed over and over by same person can not even obtain the resources to rebuild or improve. Edit. If I could give this a negative rating I e android game is TOTALLY unplayable because the other players.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Android game is amazing except that people who are twice your level always target you and you have no method to defend yourself. You can't call for backup and in order to obtain shields you have to pay. Just another pay to victory android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Was fun, but now it's just garbage. There's no power balance, and if you only been playing for a month, than it dosnt matter. You stay shielded or obtain zeroed out every other day. Unless you spend tones of money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Server Merge killed the android game After the server merge, the larger players would literally feed on the little players to the point you had no rss or units and no possibility to grow. The developers literally allowed a various server to die, thus killing the enjoyment for myself and a lot of others. They will have to force another server merge from all the people quitting the android game from this decision, and unfortunately I can't foresee this android game staying alive if it continues. Don't waste your time, or $$

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    It is such perfect game!!! I wish to play it all the time! It is such a amazing time pass and it has a interesting storyline! It is interesting in multi-player too. Also it is my favourite android game in my phone! So I recommend everyone to play this and give it 5 stars. It is the best!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    It was going fine until the devs decided to merge my server with 2 other servers that had significantly more experienced people on it than anyone on my server. The highest on mine was lvl 15 at best. Suddenly after the merge we are seeing lvl 21s how is this fair to the people on my server? Most of us are lvl 12s and we have no method to protect ourselves. Id rate it lower but until this point i honestly had no issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Love this game. We spend hour on the game. Just the spending makes it hard to grow. Pls makers lets down on the spending. Coz a R1500 package is method to much for a south african girl. Hold up the amazing work .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Android game looks beautiful, and very competitive android game play... But it's a lot of pay to victory transactions. Android game is very expensive to advance.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    If you plan on playing with mates don't. Unless you begin playing at the same time. You wont end up on the same server. And the server swap mechanics are useless. Also the in android game tech help isnt helpful, feed you unhelpful information and give the go around. I love this game, i don't love the dev team.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Well at begin the android game is fun. Guide does a decent job of teaching you how to obtain resources and such. There's a learning curve to commanders and units stuff. At this point I'm fed up with the game. They advertise theres 100% increases to building speed if your "x" level, but it's not really there. And recently they merged my server for the 2nd time. The server we merged with had guilds stronger than our strongest clan by the millions. Also, the "packs" are incredibly overpriced. Greedy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Really cool and really fun at first until your Shields expire. You basically obtain to a point where your attacked every single day without remorse and because of that you're unable to build or continue without spending actual money. Most things happen between 4am and 5am so amazing luck getting any reasonable e android game creature blast you with notifications all day long but then fails to allow you know when you're getting hit. Players are rude and will hit you 10-15 times and take everything you ha

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    But i think the clan battles approach that you guys have might be not amazing for a long run for this game...but the experience i have is on the android game ....mehh its okay

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    I wouldn't bother with this game. Have been for months unable to connect via mobile network and going back and forth with support. They did something which worked for a few days than nothing again and now they come back with sorry it is Googles fault. Been attacked lost everything multiple times and the only thing help can say is sorry nothing more that they can do. So unless you plan on spending A LOT of cash I wouldn't bother with this game. I showed them cheating and they help it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Grind and pay to obtain anywhere in the game. If your not in the best clan on your server you struggle. Usually one dominate clan per server that other guilds can't beat since higher level players gang up. High amount of android game mechanics to figure out And again if you don't spend hours on android game and pay for play you won't obtain anywhere except pummeled by higher level players.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    What can you say.. Pay to win, obtain hammered by higher levels all the time. Only protection is to buy a bubble for so a lot of hours with gold which you cant earn enough of in game, so you'd have to buy with true money. Do yourself a favour and dont bother starting with this android game unless you wish to spend loads of cash on it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Not a poor game, to much pay to play. Can't place on keep when on holidays, work etc. To hard to meet android game targets when evevnts are event

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Its just another time-gate make batter android game in which you collect resources and make batter things. Combat is boring and automatic. The only amazing thing about this android game is that it has nice 2D gfx for characters. Nothing special... I want they would create combat more interesting in these types of games.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    My experience has been very f****** s***I log in and they send me that to my old server that I left back when they didn't have an interstellar jumpand I had to begin all over back at level one and then I log in and they send me that and now I'm the one that has to suffer the loss has the cash that they screwed me out of

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Player power lvl problem. Takes to long to lvl up and it seems on the server im on... 25 players bully the 300+ rest of us... takes the fun out of it, unless you like playing hide and seek, or losing all your fighters... but its just a android game right? The clan I'm in and mates i created are the reason I stay playing...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Well as far as the android game itself is concerned Wow! Customer service is a cruel joke. A exercise in frustration at best. A damn shame cause I liked this game. If you are having time getting you packages honored or problems especially one involving cash contact Google right away otherwise you'll just obtain the run around. Amazing luck!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    Too a lot of high level attacking all through the day on any smaller players.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    This is the most expensive android game in the shop . And the Chinese players obtain a huge huge discount . you have to pay in order to play is huge $$$$ 100,000 & more the developer prices is for rich people lol but the android game is fun for rich people $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ an a player who have a Billion power lol like he really paid for the ark and just quit the android game aka cheaters

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ark of War - The War of Universe review [App]  2020-1-2 13:27

    This android game has amazing graphics and android game play UNTIL you obtain to level 6 then the paying players will attack you non stop wiping out any resource and material gains you've made. Unless you're willing to pay your hard earned money domt bother with this game. Another in a long line of money cows.....

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter