Read the poppy war reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the poppy war reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy War: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    I don't like comparing books to other books because I feel like it makes it seem like the book isn't special, but sometimes it can be helpful to understand what a book is like. To me, The Poppy Battle feels like a amazing combination of Ender's Android game and Town of Stairs.An orphan, Rin lives in a globe of battle and gods, and she is determined to survive. It's awesome how, in one book, Kuang shows such a tremendous evolution of characters. The Rin we begin with is a truly various person than the Rin at the end of the book, but Kuang takes us through this so naturally that it all makes sense.A note: although Rin is a young girl, this is not a young adult book: the author herself says it was not written for a YA audience, and it should not be marketed as such. There are some brutal things that happen here, and readers of all ages should be aware.I believe this is the first of what will be a trilogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy War: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    I haven't read a book in a long, long time that I literally could not place down... The Poppy Battle is the first in years. I highly recommend it for its world-building—or, more aptly, world-revealing, since it's a geographically realistic fantasy based on Chinese history—its driven, staccato plot, its complex points created easy with extremely readable language (it's an adept author that makes the complex seem simple), and its believable characterization of wartime desperation.When I first began reading, I was surprised by what I interpreted as a 'YA tone'. I kept reading but prepared myself to be disappointed, since I rarely love YA (no criticism in particular of the genre, just tends to be not for me). My mistake; The Poppy Battle is extremely straight-forwardly written with an accessible vocabulary, but it is most assuredly not YA literature. This fact becomes increasingly clear as the novel, and the battle at its center, progresses into its fantasy-infused retelling of the Sino-Japanese conflict. The characters evolve away from their initial portrayals as the story arcs through its plot points, illustrating how battle and violence hurt the psyche.I will add that this is not a book for people who dislike reading about violence; the violence in The Poppy Battle is not "window dressing" to raise fictional stakes—it is lifted from China's history and is horribly realistic. The characters are not necessarily written in the friendly way, by which I mean, the reader is not necessarily meant to wish to be mates with any of them. They are fascinating, and indicative of the conflicts in the story, but suffice to say the protagonists are far from classic heroes. Just a friendly warning, we all have our preferences!I can't wish to read R.F. Kuang's next book. I'll be pre-ordering as soon as it's available!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy War: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    If you don't wish to miss out on one of 2018`s best releases, this right now. Rin and the rest of the characters are some of the most compelling characters I've ever seen. This book gives you children growing up, school environment, war, found family/band of misfits, the best tragic hero ever written, awesome globe building - this story will grab you along for the ride like a film and not allow up until it's over. And then you'll be left sitting there wondering what to do with the rest of your life. However, I would not recommend this book for anyone younger than high school. Fair warning. It's got battle in the title. Look up Japanese atrocities during WWII, but don't look at pictures.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the poppy war or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy War: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    This book takes the "poor child goes to the war/magic school" trope and then turns it on it's head. It is exceedingly honest in it's description of war. Chapter 21 is BRUTAL.* Kuang's worldbuilding seems very complete, and doesn't shy away from even some of the small details. At one point a hero has to with having a period. It seems like a throw away moment until you examine how it exemplifies the characters drive.What most interested me about this book is how it alludes to true globe situations and countries, while being unafraid to modify them to fit the story/further the e Empire is a China analog, the Federation is Japanese, and Speer is reminiscent of Taiwan. Kuang weaves in I Ching as a fortune telling device, and the Chinese Zodiac is represented as well. These things enhanced the story for me, and created for a richer only problem is that is very much the first book in a series, and some of the plot lines don't obtain a climax. One hero sorta disappears 3/4ths of the method through the book. You have some beautiful huge plot threads that don't obtain resolves as much as staged for book 2. That being said, I wish book 2. Soon, is book is highly recommended for fans of darker fantasy such as Joe Abercrombie or James Moore. Gimme more!*SPOILER it is created more so by the fact that the chapter seems to be based upon the Rape of Nanking END SPOILER

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy War: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    This novel created me feel quite raw at the end. It isn’t really a novel about a plucky girl getting through hardship through her efforts like I thought it was at the beginning. Instead, it’s about the real atrocity of war, and what you would sacrifice to conquer your rhaps because of my Korean heritage, this story cuts deep with the similarities of Asia and Japan during the 19th and 20th century. The nightmare of this story is that this is modeled after our history, and my ancestors were survivors of such conflicts. For all the talk of demons and the crazy god possessed, the real creatures of this story are all humans, and how they warp all those who survive them into creatures themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy War: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    I loved this book, though I'll be careful to whom I recommend it. It's a brilliant debut, telling the riveting story of Rin, a battle orphan who claws her method out of an abusive childhood to learn the arts of war, gradually coming to terms with the presence of the divinely mythical, and her relationship to it. Fantasy of the type that I greedily devour, especially when the people, the fatal geography, and the unescapable happenings are all transparently mapped to Chinese history of the latest two centuries. It warmed my biracial small heart to read a story that felt like an Ender's Android game for Chinese people instead of creepy comment-section e reason I won't blanket recommend this to everyone is that, well, it's based on Chinese military history of the latest two centuries. Which, if you haven't read about or studied, is - horrific, frankly.I'm not a fan of the Song of Ice and Fire books, as I think the physical and violence of the books is tedious, grotesque, and unnecessary. The violence of the Poppy Battle exceeds at times that of the GoT books, but instead of feeling like needless cruelty, it is rather the focal point of the book. Our hero's growing-up-magical story intersects the timeline of the real-world country her homeland is based on, complete with genocide, human experimentation, massive-scale assault, and other gruesome battle crimes. But it's not sensational. It's not something you grow numb to, and gloss over. It's real, and it's brutally wrong, and it drives Rin to create terrible, not good choices. And that's what the whole rest of the book is driving towards.I think this is an wonderful story, and one that resonates with me as a person of Chinese descent, and as an American living in 2018. It's smart, it's funny, it's oddly paced but still sucks you in, and has a rewarding plot. Just know before you obtain pulled in, that this book will create you suffer. It can't do anything else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy War: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    First the amazing parts:- Solid, enjoyable world-building, with the competing philosophies of shamanism, the push towards modernization and conformity, and the historical ebb and flow of power and subjugation being the standouts. I found myself oddly intrigued by the history of martial arts.- The military portions, while exceedingly brutal (do NOT mistake this for YA and give it to your kid -- hell, even if you're an adult be prepared for graphic violence, including sexual), were a lot of fun. There's a mix of practical warfare, including chemical weapons and incendiary devices, with magical items that was honestly beautiful engaging.- A common issue when you bring gods and magic into fantasy is "Why is there any conflict if the characters are this powerful?". That is not show here. The consequences of trying this are shown, and they are BANANAS. It's great.- If you like characters who are allowed to be horrible people, then you will not be disappointed here. I saw another review that said the heroine seemed insane by the end. This is a feature, not a bug. Between the very graphic battle crimes and what we learn of the human relationship to the gods it's awesome anyone is still remotely functional by the end.- You obtain to the end and it's like...wow. This can't end well. I consider this a plus.Weak points:- Did feel like the first book could have been condensed. The basic conflict didn't come into play until 40% of the method through, after which the military portion kicked in and carried it through to the end. (Oddly you could conceivably begin with Book 2, since it even included its own prologue.)- The style may be hit-or-miss for some. It lacks the stuffy tone of Tolkien-esque Epic Fantasy, which I appreciate, but occasionally veers into Quippy Territory. Depending on your preference this may be a pro or a con.- Very particular point: May read a small weird if you're a Japanese-American. This is influenced by true atrocities committed during the Sino-Japanese War, so if you're not willing to think about that ugly bit of history just skip it entirely, but oddly what bothered me more was that the Japanese proxy race were described in the same generalized terms of hive-minded fanatical hordes that were used to describe Japanese-Americans during Globe Battle II. There's a touch at the very end that indicates the culture isn't uniform evil, but we never seen anything to challenge their depiction as anything but sadistic monsters. There are also some textual reasons to show them as one-dimensional, and it may be challenged in the second book. Obviously this didn't hold me from enjoying the book, and it may not bother others at all, but if you do happen to have this background and just wanted to settle down and have fun some Asian-inspired SFF do not be l in all, a small bumpy but intriguing enough that I'll be checking out the sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy War: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    The reality is, no review I write can come close to capturing the sheer experience of reading The Poppy War. It is dark, brutal, and oftentimes, presents moments that will create your heart ache and your core hollow. If you are looking for a light-hearted beach read, this is not the book for you. However, if you wish a story that can give you a taste of the pain of warfare, and introduce you to characters that will haunt the depths of your mind for years to come, you need this book on your shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy War: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    Hands down, one of the best books I've read all year. Scratch that, one of the best books I've read in YEARS. The Poppy Battle is a gorgeous, relentless, utterly brutal book that examines some of the cruelest aspects of humanity while also retaining a lot of heart. I wouldn't call it a *hopeful* book but there seems to be this ever-present ray of light sustained by characters determined to create the globe more bearable. It should be noted that this is a BRUTAL book, and the author herself has listed the content warnings on her website. Chapter 21 is the hardest to obtain through, and I was prepared, so be ready for that.Anyways, back to what I SO THE MAGIC! THE M A G I C. It feels specific to each hero and deeply thought out and it has LIMITS and w/ the consequences of power and the stakes of the magic are f a n t a s t i c and hold you invested as a reader. This whole globe is e characters are incredible. Rin is basically a terrifying Azula, and her drive is one of my favorite elements about her. It's so refreshing to a have a young, female protagonist that gets to be super messy and complex. she feels very chaotic good- maybe chaotic neutral which I LOVE. is she the hero? an anti-hero? who knows i'd die for her the end.I honestly feel like in a few years, R.F. Kuang will be a powerhouse, household name. This is such an incredibly rendered book and you can tell it's just the beginning for her career. If this book doesn't at least obtain nominated for some of the huge SFF awards this year, my hope in humanity is basically dead. so there's DR; this book is great. the globe is great, the magic is great, the writing is gorgeous and sweeps you up, protecc Rin at all costs and obtain my son Nezha into therapybuy THE POPPY WAR you cowards do it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy War: A Novel [Book]  2018-7-18 18:0

    I finished the book several days ago and I'm still disturbed by it. Although the protagonist is a young woman, this is not a YA book. The first two thirds of the book lure you in and create you invested with the characters. Rin Fang is a battle orphan in the Nikan empire, whom the state has placed with an abusive family. Faced with the prospect of an unpleasant marriage, she becomes determined to take the civil service exam and earn a put in a service academy. She sets her sights on the most exclusive one because it's for those who earn a place. She studies obsessively, burning herself with candle wax to stay awake, and wins through. At the highly stratified academy, she's an outcast because she's a dark-skinned peasant with no connections, having only one friend. This part of the book covers her education and development as a student, and it's leavened with bright sparks of humor. The setting is derived from China in the first half of the 20th century, mostly, and a pantheon is described as well, the nature of religious belief and the gods are important.. There are enough changes to the setting that it isn't a direct copy. World-building is limited in the sense that it's already familiar, it's not extensively original. This is not a criticism; the author's skill is such that it all feels new and the characters are vivid; it's simple to obtain on Rin's side. The characters aren't idealized or almost excellent with a few little flaws; they're allowed to be well rounded with amazing and poor traits. There isn't much hero development, but that also makes sense since the students are being indoctrinated into a certain mindset and their concentration is on their e latest third of the book is... harrowing. If this is the first of three books, I'm not quite sure that I can take the remaining two. This third of the book focuses on the invasion by the Mugen Federation, the analog of Japan, related to Japan's predation before and during WWII. Three specific atrocities have been adapted for this story: the comfort women, Lab 731, and the rape of Nanjing. The book is dedicated to "Iris," who I take to be Iris Chang, the author of a history of the atrocities in Nanjing. I've read that book and after reading this book, I can say truthfully that for me the fictionalized acc is more disturbing because of the method the characters respond. The writing is so vivid and haunting that it's almost like you're there with Rin and her cohorts. You're with them as they come across the atrocities. It's not enough that the city's inhabitants were killed, it's the creativity displayed that will turn your stomach. The violence is show and brutal, but it's not gratuitous. And you see how soldiers answer to exposure to these sights. While these horrors are poor enough, it's the unraveling of our characters who are confronted with them and what they do that is heartbreaking. What happens to Rin is believable because it's a logical outcome from what she's experienced and endured and the power she can command.. Possible spoiler: Her revenge is catastrophic and you could draw a parallel with the atomic bombings too, just even more is is an extraordinary book, but at the same time I can't say that I'm glad I read it because the depiction of battle is so heavy-hitting and brutal. It is definitely worth the read, but be warned; this isn't a book you can finish and set aside, forgettable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) []  2019-12-28 18:39

    No second book allow down here, this book takes everything you think you know and turns it upside down. With so a lot of twists and turns, you'll be shaking your head in amazement. Awesome wars and politicking along with mad gods makes this one heck of a story. Oh yeah, characters are good, writing is too notch and the imagination that goes into this book was greatly appreciated by this reader. Most definitely a must read story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War []  2020-1-22 22:50

    If you like to live in your books --- feel the weather, the pains and the frustrations --- then you will love THE POPPY WIFE. What makes it so unique is its topic and point of view. In our history, the Amazing Battle was quick eclipsed by the next battle and ejected from our cultural memory, yet it stands as a major turning point with consequences the globe continues to with today. Caroline Scott takes all of that and wraps it in a story with a perspective that shifts from fighter to survivor to spouse, and does so with elegance. Pull up a chair, grab a drink and settle t after the Amazing War, but with constant journeys back into the war, we follow the lives of three brothers: Francis, Harry and Will. As the only surviving brother, Harry works as a grave photographer who struggles with survivor’s guilt that is complicated by his love for his late brother’s wife, Edie. When a image of his presumed dead brother arrives by mail, Harry and Edie start to question what is real. Is Francis still alive? Are the people Harry meets imagined, conjured up by his experiences? While they find for the truth from city to town, the reader is witness to the devastation that the battle has wrought --- both on the people and on the anwhile, Scott puts on a amazing display of literary finesse. Amidst the photos of mud, plaster and mental anguish, she treats readers to attractive poetry and prose that moves and inspires. We meet a lyrical, young Francis quoting Yeats as he woos Edie: “Fasten your hair with a golden pin, and bind up every wandering tress.”Imagery, biblical symbolism and even names add texture and depth to these characters. Follow St. Christopher and search him not only on a medal, but also on a map, in their minds and even in the strength it takes to carry his list of graves. The ever-present “plaster and dust” become a motif that evokes total destruction, while “that week” when Francis comes home on leave becomes the focal point of when everything went wrong. Reading this book too quickly is like drinking a amazing wine in a shot --- it still will be good, but you’ll miss a lot of the e research is impeccable. Scott’s description of the battle is pure history, yet she has spun the hard, cold horrors into private struggles to which the reader can relate. In one chapter, she notes that there is a woman pushing a man in a wheelchair: “She is pointing up at the architecture; he is staring at the blanket over his knees.” In that one line, she captures the disconnect, or rupture, that so a lot of feel after the war. The soldiers don’t know how to return to normalcy, and their loved ones can’t understand what they went through. They all seek the truth and possess parts of it, yet they struggle to place the pieces together. In two of my favorite passages, Harry experiences a nightmare and then Edie comes to idst the narrative, Scott often ends up in the minds of her characters and demonstrates just how elegantly she writes. Harry’s friend, Gabriel, must design a battle memorial that represents all things to all people --- a daunting task, indeed. Her description is a excellent metaphor of Harry’s private struggles. He imagines it is “like a shock wave stretching out from the cemetery with the gun emplacement at its center. It ripples out from that place, beyond the pages of his atlas, expressing itself in monoliths and mausoleums and menhirs, in arches and obelisks, in catafalques and cruciform --- and, in their multiplication, these things mean nothing and everything.”My only little disappointment with the book is the lack of a Table of Contents. While this might seem trivial, the history and the writing are so amazing that I often found myself going back to search something from earlier reading. Without a TOC, it became a chore.Having said that, I found the rest of my experience with Harry, Edie and mates to be quite enjoyable, and I look forward to seeing what Caroline Scott has in shop for readers ed by John Vena

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) []  2019-12-28 18:39

    This is a solid sequel to the first book. That being said, throughout this book, Rin is still struggling to obtain her act together. Through the first one, she was grappling with her sudden abilities and survival, and in this one she's struggling with her addiction, living up to a certain legacy, and still trying to obtain a grip on her powers, at least until about 3/4 of the method through, and that's when the potential that she's symbolized throughout the books - being an intelligent, trained solider of the most prestigious military academy in the Empire - begins to shine. She starts coming into her own. She starts acting like the commander of the Cike. She still has baggage, but it doesn't control her. She's taking advantage of her allies, and beginning to understand the power she wields. That's why it is sooooo disappointing that the ending plays out the method it does. The writing and the direction is not disappointing, just to create that clear, it's just that Rin wasn't quick enough to act before her opponents do. And it kind of broke my heart that a certain part of that played out, because I was totally rooting for that whole thing to go down. Another thing that was enjoyable was Daji. Rin's whole reason for currently living is to take out the Empress in honor of Altan, but Daji is cunning and she's been playing this android game for a long time. Just when you think she's out of cards, boom! she hits you will a falling mast. Anyway, if you liked the first Poppy Battle book, you will like The Dragon Republic, too. I can't wait to read the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) []  2019-12-28 18:39

    I don’t think this book is quite as amazing as the first one. That would have been a very high bar to reach. Still this was an perfect book! It seemed somewhat disjointed in beginning as Rin struggled with her opium addiction. I think that was appropriate. The book kept me up late turning pages at a rapid pace. Now that I’ve finished it I will be waiting impatiently for the next book in the series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War []  2020-1-22 22:50

    The Poppy Wife is predominantly set in the French countryside during 1921, as well as 1917, and is told from two various perspectives. Edie, a young British wife who after receiving a picture of her missing husband journeys to France to search him, dead or alive, and explore his fate wherever he may be, and Harry, the youngest of three brothers who endeavours to support his sister-in-law and others search some form of closure even while his own experiences and memories of battle still plague and haunt him day and e prose is poetic, expressive, and stunningly vivid. The characters are damaged, determined, and courageous. And the plot is a heartrending, utterly absorbing tale about life, love, loneliness, familial relationships, heartbreak, war, loss, grief, guilt, hope, loyalty, and survival.Overall, The Poppy Wife is a beautifully written, exceptionally atmospheric novel that transports you to another time and put and immerses you so thoroughly into the personalities, feelings, and lives of the characters you can’t support but be affected. It is without a doubt one of my favourite novels of the year that reminds us of the horrific consequences of battle and the thousands of nameless men who still remain scattered underneath a savage battlefield. It’s emotive, strong and as Kipling so iconically stated, “lest we forget.”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War []  2020-1-22 22:50

    The Poppy Wife was a decent read. A wife gets a picture of her husband, whom she believed died in WWI. She ventures to France to trace the picture and investigate what happened to her husband. Her brother-in-law makes the same journey. There are flashbacks to the battle and the brothers' story. The story dragged in the middle and my attention wandered. Thanks to Edelweiss and the publisher for the advance copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War []  2020-1-22 22:50

    A vivid portrait of the effects of battle and one woman's quest to learn the truth about her husband's fate. For four years, she has been suspended between belief and disbelief--is her husband dead or alive? He has been designated missing, believed dead. Now, four years later, she receives in the mail a picture of Francis--no date, no identifying notations, no explanation. Where and when was it taken? She must know the answers to move forward with her life. Sadness and loneliness fill the pages as we learn about Francis and his two brothers and the secrets that one of them harbors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War []  2020-1-22 22:50

    Bravo! Will and Harry followed their brother Francis when he joined up to war in WWI. Only Harry comes home to Edie, the woman who loved and married Francis as a girl and was chastely loved by Harry. Now it's 1921 and Edie's received a image of Fran which seems to have been taken recently. Harry, who hasn't recovered from the war, is working as a photographer of the graves and the locations British soldiers were latest seen alive. At Edie's behest, he sets out to search Fran's grave or Fran, as does Edie. The cover and the title are deceptive, although I understand the marketing strategy. This is very much Harry's story. It moves back and forth from pre=War to during the Battle to the post Battle search. He's carrying a large burden, as are a lot of of the men, such as the one making wreaths of barbed wire, he meets. The same is real of the women he meets along the way. Is Fran alive? No spoilers but there's a mystery here. Readers who have not seen it should seek out They Shall Not Grow Old as a companion piece (amazing film). This is an intense, thoughtful, and sensitive novel which looks directly at the aftereffects of WWI. It's beautifully written with characters who leap off the page and terrific descriptions. Thanks to edelweiss for the ARC. Highly recommend the unbelievable novel which will stick with you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War []  2020-1-22 22:50

    I was a First Read Champion of this book and I was excited to read it, since it was a topic I have not read too much about. Not sure if it was my frame of mind or why but I had a really hard time with this book, it took a long time for me to obtain into it and it just never grabbed me. Clearly I am in the minority here and I did like the storyline. My goal is to revisit the book later in the year to see if it was me or the book, I love to read and hate when I don't create a connection with a book that sounded like something I would enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) []  2019-12-28 18:39

    A brilliant, dark, heavy, sequel to one of my favorite books and debuts latest year. Ever since I finished The Poppy War, its sequel quick became one of my most anticipated books of this year. The Dragon Republic picks up a few months later after the happenings of TPW and our story goes from is story is very various from its predecessor. We have completely ditched the school and training format for an all out strategic and battle format and it absolutely worked. We kind of obtain to see Rin use the skills she has learned but also see her in a fresh role and dealing with the aftermath of TPW. I'm no expert with PTSD, but I do believe it was handled really well in this book. Everyone experienced it a small differently, everyone handled it differently. I am absolutely tangled up in these characters. Yes, there are those I should hate but they all drive the story when the time is needed. What I mean by that is, there are no unnecessary characters floating throughout this story. Everyone has a purpose, a motivation, and it is a refreshing sight to behold. I enjoyed also getting to see a small more in depth look at how the shamanic powers work and exploring that aspect of the series. I am really interested in seeing where this book goes for its final outing and am eager to see if after this book takes a fresh spot in my favorite series of all time because at this rate I have no doubt in my mind that is exactly what is going to is book is still very dark and hard hitting at times. Some of the scenes in this book are so graphic. So definitely be aware of that whenever you read this series. If you are one who gets unsettled easily then probably steer clear or go in with guards up knowing that this book with some massive hitting topics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) []  2019-12-28 18:39

    Ok read not nearly as amazing as the first book in this series. Alton, a hero who was killed in the Poppy Battles book, is mentioned so a lot of times in this story, u wonder why the author killed him off in the first place. In almost every chapter of this book the main character, Rin constantly obsesses over Alton, which becomes very annoying. Sadly this story reminds me of so a lot of books I’ve read where the amazing guys are easily manipulated by the opposition because of their own stupidity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War []  2020-1-22 22:50

    Another view of battle and its aftermath . The author dis a attractive job of following those trying to locate missing or dead victims of war. Never will I turn down a poppy given by a veteran. Thank you for your attractive story and reminder of how others fought and cried for our now enjoyed freedom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War []  2020-1-22 22:50

    Set in 1921, The Poppy Wife by Caroline Scott is a poignant novel that a heartbreaking glimpse of families searching for answers about their missing and deceased loved ones after Globe Battle I.Edie Blythe is shocked to keep a picture of her husband, Francis, four years after he is reported missing during his service in Globe Battle I. This raises a lot of questions including whether or not he is still, in fact, alive. Edie reaches out to her brother-in-law Harry who served with his brother during the war. Harry is certain his brother is dead, but, like Edie, there is a glimmer of hope Francis might have survived. Harry is already traveling throughout France taking images of soldiers’ graves for their grieving families. Using Francis’ photographs to tutorial him, Harry retraces his brother’s footsteps in hopes of finding out the truth.Written mostly from Harry’s perspective as he endeavors to search the graves of fallen soldiers, he is quite introspective as he flashes back to his wartime experiences. The pages are filled with long, descriptive passages of wars and military life. While the prose is quite descriptive, the story gets bogged down with the lengthy, overly detailed passages. In the present, Harry meets a lot of interesting people on his journey which provides readers with insight into how former soldiers and their families cope in the aftermath of veral chapters are written from Edie’s point of view as she wrestles with the chance that Francis is still alive. Her remembrances of her husband are tender yet a bit painful as she realizes how much battle and loss changed him. Edie sets out on her trip to test to learn the truth about Francis. After a shocking discovery, Edie returns home where she tries to place her grief and guilt behind spired by Caroline Scott’s family history, The Poppy Wife is a very bittersweet novel that highlights the uncertainty families endured when their loved one is declared missing. I highly recommend this educational novel to readers of historical fiction.I received a complimentary copy for review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) []  2019-12-28 18:39

    I liked the first book. I’m half method through this one and have been skimming — will skip to the end. This one drags on and on, with very small movement or hero development. The battle is vicious and everyone is engaged in killing or intimidating civilians. Rin loses her access to her power and we wait and wait...for something, ANYTHING to happen, other than repeated wars in which the vanquished are subjected to violence. All sides are vicious, including Rin. Skip it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) []  2019-12-28 18:39

    I remember liking the Poppy Battle quite a bit but this book is disappointing on a lot of levels. We follow the main hero through dialogue after dialogue of wasted peevish temper tantrums. Hard to have sympathy. The globe is stale and the plot relatively stagnant. Feels like a forced second book waiting for a third.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) []  2019-12-28 18:39

    Based on other reviews, I was waiting for the ending to wow me. It didn't. Maybe I've read too a lot of high fantasies that over-rely on plot twists because I saw the ending coming a mile away. The hero development was also extremely flat with no reader sympathy for the MC. Why do we care if she achieves her one goal? Like the first book, this one struggled with tone. The characters don't act, talk, or think like soldiers and increasing their ages in this book may have helped. What the author does do extremely well is world-building with historical influences. I'll read the third one, but I may not preorder it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) []  2019-12-28 18:39

    I’ve been looking forward to reviewing this book for months! This is certainly one of those sequels for which a reader waits impatiently as soon as news of its release comes out. I have been looking forward to reading the next book by R. F. Kuang since I rushed through the first Poppy Battle book.I still have fun the magic and Rin’s characterization. Her newly found heritage as a Speerly has definitely shaped her approach to the book’s events. In this book, she seems much more comfortable with her abilities and status as a shaman fighter in the Cike. There is a fair balance of political posturing and violent confrontations. The Dragon Republic takes the reader in a fresh direction as Rin and her “allies” work towards defeating the Empress and the Northern Warlords. The presence of the Hesperians certainly did not support matters, especially with their believed superiority over the Nikarans and their view of the Cike as damned souls to be l in all, this sequel was definitely worth the wait.I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War Book 2) []  2019-12-28 18:39

    This book is very various from anything I have read in a while. It avoid some of the huge cliches (although it dives in head first in others), the characters and storyline is also interesting. It is nice finally reading something that do not shy away from describing the gruesome reality of war. It includes some incredibly brutal scenes, so for the people always asking whether a given book include violence: Yes! This book also have a very interesting magic system, and there is definitely much to be discovered here in future books. There are some things I don't like in this book. For instance the psyche was supposed to be this elite group of highly skilled people. I don't really see any evidence for that in this book. Everyone just running around like headless chicken. It also annoy me how easily alliances shift in this book. You can have people on one side of the battle that after one conversation decides to switch sides, and this does not only happen once. Still, all in all I really enjoyed the book, give it four stars, and eagerly await the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War []  2020-1-22 22:50

    This debut novel focuses on three brothers, Will, Harry, and Francis, who went off to battle together to war the Germans in France. Both Will was killed and Francis was declared missing in action, and Harry is left with his memories of their childhood together, of their war, and of his brothers’ deaths. In 1921, when Francis’ wife, Edie, receives a photograph of him, she’s convinced he didn’t really die. There is no grave for him and how could someone be so cruel to send her a photograph if he were dead? She enlists the support of Harry to hunt for him in France. Harry is not as sure as Edie that Francis is alive, but he decides to support her since he’ll be in France photographing the grave websites of others’ loved t has set her novel three years after the first Globe Battle ended when life had not settled back into the remembered amazing times before the battle tore the globe apart. Families, whose sons were buried in France, wish a photograph of their sons’ graves perhaps to confirm that they are really gone. Scott tells the story of one family with care and understanding. This is a well-written novel with characters who, although grieving, still keep on to their hope that their loved one might still be is is not a page turner. Scott tells her story slowly while focusing on info that create the reader feel like they are seeing what Harry sees – the devastation, the pathos, and the returning memories of the horrors of war.If you like your historical novels quick paced, this isn’t the book for you. If you like your historical novels well-told and have fun descriptions of a time long past, you’ll certainly wish this book on your to-be-read thanks to William Morrow Publishing and Edelweiss for an e-Arc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War []  2020-1-22 22:50

    The Poppy Wife by Caroline Scott is the first book I have read by this author it definitely will not be the last. This book was very well written and the characters were well developed. This story pulled me right in and kept me interested until the end. It really is an emotional book that gets you thinking how people ever survived the end of the war. The book flows seamless between the various timelines. The descriptions are so vivid you can see and feel everything. I really enjoyed this book and am looking forward to reading another book by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Pig At The Beach [App]  2019-1-24 22:3

    Peppa pig Attractive android game recommend to

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Pig At The Beach [App]  2019-1-24 22:3

    Ilike it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Pig At The Beach [App]  2019-1-24 22:3

    Your android game should be zero does not move at all the vehicle stupid Developers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Pig At The Beach [App]  2019-1-24 22:3

    Peppa pig Very goooood

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Pig At The Beach [App]  2019-1-24 22:3

    Just adooore this android game soo funny

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Pig At The Beach [App]  2019-1-24 22:3

    Well the time is the issue and i obtain crashed everytime for no reason so i hate it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Pig At The Beach [App]  2019-1-24 22:3

    Amazing Amazing android game very easy and very fun I love it !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Pig At The Beach [App]  2019-1-24 22:3

    Star

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Pig At The Beach [App]  2019-1-24 22:3

    Best Android games Racing Best Android games Racing in the globe for peppa pig banana at the beach thanks you i wish android games for spiderman and batman

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Pig At The Beach [App]  2019-1-24 22:3

    Very awesome this the android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Mayberry, The Monday (Nova Kids) [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    Loved the book. Read it as an adult and still enjoyed the story. Amazing characters and a really fun concept. Will read the second book when it's released. A unbelievable read for all ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Mayberry, The Monday (Nova Kids) [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    Adorable concept -- adorable book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Mayberry, The Monday (Nova Kids) [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    Such a unbelievable book! I bought my friend's daughters this book and they just loved it. Highly recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Mayberry, The Monday (Nova Kids) [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    Highly recommend! My 11 year old, who does not like to read, flew through this book and immediately started to read it again. She said its funny and amazing for any age. I am patiently waiting for my turn to read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Mayberry, The Monday (Nova Kids) [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    Unbelievable book. Bought it for my daughter and had to read it myself. Love it!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Mayberry, The Monday (Nova Kids) [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    Unusual concept... having unique abilities based on the day of the week you were born. This book provides a magical experience for pre-teens to enjoy. The expectations were kept high so I was drawn forward to search out what would happen next. The appealing language was definitely geared toward the target audience (pre-teens) with just enough use of harder vocabulary to increase learning through context. The book offered lessons to be learned such as getting along with others, forgiveness, using each others strengths to achieve a common goal, and friendship, to name a few.I can see how this would create an perfect series. Bravo!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Mayberry, The Monday (Nova Kids) [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    My daughter received an advance digital copy of the book. She said it was one of the best books she's ever read. She loved the action, suspense and Poppy's dog Pickle:). She read it in 3 days and said she was sad that she finished it so quickly and had to wait for the sequel!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Mayberry, The Monday (Nova Kids) [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    Such a cute book. I look forward to the next one! I wish to obtain some for my classroom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Mayberry, The Monday (Nova Kids) [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    What a fun, unbelievable story! This is such a unbelievable middle grade, full of a amazing adventure and unbelievable characters. Each is so distinct and what a amazing adventure to have! Highly recommend for your kiddos starting to look into stories!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Mayberry, The Monday (Nova Kids) [Book]  2017-11-10 18:1

    Fabulous Book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy McVie Mysteries Books 1-3 (The Poppy McVie Box Set Series Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:38

    The first three books in Kimberli Bindschatl's series are the begin of a terrific adventure in reading about various animals, how they are endangered, the people who test to poach or abuse them and especially the spunky, animal-rescuing, ranger-cum-special agent Poppy Tropical Affair, Poppy is taken from her forest ranger position and goes to Costa Rica as the undercover wife of another agent who needs to explore and apprehend the leader of an exotic animal smuggling Operation Orca Rescue, Poppy and her partner are in Alaska to prevent a assassin whale poacher from stealing a baby orca from her Camp Grizzly, our agents are point as brother and sister at a bear hunting camp to catch the illegal poachers red each story the reader follows Poppy with all of her faults and all her compassion as she rescues her beloved animals and starts discovering her feelings for her partner. As the stories develop, the backgrounds of the animal species, their ways of life and their individual plights are brought vividly into the readers minds and makes them truly consider the ramifications of extinction and its impact on the Bindschatl is a globe traveler and seriously researches the animals and birds in their native lands in to paint the most accurate pictures for her readers and provide them with the most detailed depictions of what she--and they--would see if they visited these lands for rst rate entertainment!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy McVie Mysteries Books 1-3 (The Poppy McVie Box Set Series Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:38

    Poppie McVie's hero is riveting, smart and adventurous. The characater development is unbelievable and story lines are simple to follow but hold you on your toes. I couldn't wait to see what happens next. Highly recommend this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy McVie Mysteries Books 1-3 (The Poppy McVie Box Set Series Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:38

    Sucked

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy McVie Mysteries Books 1-3 (The Poppy McVie Box Set Series Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:38

    Exceedingly formulaic. Cute for an afternoon of brain candy reading but not much beyond that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy McVie Mysteries Books 1-3 (The Poppy McVie Box Set Series Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:38

    Too much about how the characters are feeling all the time. The story line is thin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy McVie Mysteries Books 1-3 (The Poppy McVie Box Set Series Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:38

    In a typical year, I read about 100 books. I am always looking for a fresh author to add to my list and I am fairly critical of plot, characters and dialogue. Kimberli Bindschatel hit the trifecta in Operation Tropical Affair! It held my attention from the first page. The main hero is passionate toward her cause. The plot had a lot of twists and surprises. The ending was not predictable.Operation Tropical Affair is an adventure novel with a dose of romance. The characters are interesting, colorful, and well developed. (Those are the parallels I would create to Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series—of which I have read every one.) Kimberli Bindschatel has her own unbelievable style.I highly recommend this novel and have ordered the next two. One warning. While I definitely enjoyed reading this novel, if you are an animal lover, parts of it will create you truly sad (or angry). Bindschatel educates while she entertains.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy McVie Mysteries Books 1-3 (The Poppy McVie Box Set Series Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:38

    This seemed to have a amazing premise but Poppy McVie is such a spoiled brat who was supposed to wish to work undercover but was so busy trying to prove she is "as good" as any man created it not too believable. She was reckless, selfish and childish and so not believable. No one would place someone like her into the field. She would be dismissed as she would be a detriment to any operation. Finally had enough of her so could not read any more. I give it two stars for the idea of the book but the heroine needs to be reworked. She reminds me of all that is wrong with young people today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy McVie Mysteries Books 1-3 (The Poppy McVie Box Set Series Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:38

    Enjoyed these so much that I ordered her 4th book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy McVie Mysteries Books 1-3 (The Poppy McVie Box Set Series Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:38

    All three books kept me on the edge of my seat!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy McVie Mysteries Books 1-3 (The Poppy McVie Box Set Series Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:38

    Poppy McVie is a amazing hero, a well-developed character. Fun stories on protecting animals from poaching. Quite a various set of mysteries, and most enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Clause in Christmas (A Poppy Creek Novel Book 1) []  2020-2-2 21:16

    I loved reading The Clause in Christmas. When I finished it I had the same warm feeling I obtain watching Hallmark Christmas movies. (Hallmark should consider this book for a future movie!) Cassie was a delight. It is no wonder she was so well received in Poppy Creek. Grandma's influence and guiding spirit is felt throughout the book. I hope to read more books set in this unbelievable city of Poppy Creek. I am putting this book in my to be reread frequently pile!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Clause in Christmas (A Poppy Creek Novel Book 1) []  2020-2-2 21:16

    If little towns, mates that feel like family, holiday shenanigans, and clean Hallmark-movie-like romances are your thing, then this is the book for you! The city of Poppy Creek is sweet and endearing and the writing makes you feel like it’s either a put you’ve already been or somewhere you need to go!The Clause in Christmas is the first book in the Poppy Creek series and a unbelievable introduction to all of our fresh book-friends!This story is centered around Cassie Hayward, a woman from San Francisco who is a bit lost in life. Due to some twists of fate, a handsome lawyer named Luke, and a clause in her grandmother’s will, she ends up in Poppy Creek living in the house of her deceased grandmother whom she’s never met. Will this be a possibility for her to finally search a put that feels like home??This book is definitely worth the read (and the calories from the hot cocoa you should be drinking while you read it)! ☺️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Clause in Christmas (A Poppy Creek Novel Book 1) []  2020-2-2 21:16

    I loved The Clause in Christmas! I loved the character's, the story line and the feel amazing theme that was woven throughout the book. I have never read Rachael Blooms books before but i will definitely be reading them all now! I really loved how things all pulled together at the end. What a unbelievable book to create you feel amazing and hopeful at any time of the year!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Macal Conducts Glière: Symphony No. 2, The Red Poppy []  2020-2-1 23:20

    Amazing stuff. The Symphony is one amazing huge juicy Russian wallow, full of huge tunes, and almost as much fun as the better known Third. The ballet melody is beautiful much a known quantity, rather obvious but tuneful. The performances are grand, and I doubt we'll obtain a better one of the symphony any time soon. Better yet if your system decodes Dolby Surround - those back channels do add a small additional dimension.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy and the Brass Band: With 16 musical instrument sounds! []  2020-7-2 19:18

    We own a bunch of sound books (that mimic actual instruments) because my 2y 9mo year old son loves music. I was super impressed by this book right away - really amazing quality. My small one keeps occupied listening and foot-tapping along with Poppy. We will more of the series for sure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Clause in Christmas (A Poppy Creek Novel Book 1) []  2020-2-2 21:16

    Five sweet stars for The Clause in Christmas, by Rachael Bloome.Rachael has place magic in this story, in the form of love, friendships, and family. There are so a lot of sweet and memorable moments, as well as life lessons passed down through generations. I loved watching Cassie and Luke fall in love, and eagerly looked forward to their first kiss, the anticipation of which was built up so sweetly by Rachael. Also, I love subplots, and Rachael has a unbelievable one here involving COFFEE and the most curmudgeonly resident of Poppy ssie inherits her grandmother’s cottage in Poppy Creek, but there’s a clause in the will that she needs to fulfill before she can take ownership. She needs to live in the cottage while she performs the activities in a Christmas calendar – a various one for each day in December leading up to ssie wants nothing to do with the little city of Poppy Creek or with Christmas, and once she takes ownership of the cottage, she plans on it. She never knew her grandmother, and her childhood and her Christmases were far from ideal.But when she meets the handsome city lawyer Luke, as well as some of the people of Poppy Creek who welcome her with warm hearts, Cassie’s own heart begins to soften. Luke is falling for her, and she is falling for him, but they both have their baggage they need to sort out. Will they see that they were meant to be together?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Clause in Christmas (A Poppy Creek Novel Book 1) []  2020-2-2 21:16

    This book was well written with a attractive Christmas theme. I love the story, there's some true life elements, but blends well. The main Hero Cassie, is full of life, fun, sweet & smart. Kindness and Hope are all throughout this book, well worth your time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Macal Conducts Glière: Symphony No. 2, The Red Poppy []  2020-2-1 23:20

    A virtually underplayed Russian orchestral gem by Gliere (1875-1956), who is also a virtually underplayed Russian composer. And difficult to imagine why. I mean, the man did compose more than "The Red Poppy Suite." Maybe not a full garden, but more than enough "flowers" to go around. Gliere's symphonies form the cornerstones of his output. Rather like some triad monument. And, until recently, the only truly "popular" work was No. 3 ("Il'ya Murometz").To these ears, his Symphony No. 2 in C Minor is the best of the three, the most attractive and lush, filled with what we would all recognize as "Russian soul." Far more inventive, melodic, and captivating than its successor, and with not an ounce of bombast, it is sweeping in its scope, running some forty-six minutes.And, yes, it is coupled with the perennial "Red Poppy Suite." ever, Delos has given us a very attractive CD here--- with a recording technique they tout as "virtual reality." Indeed. I agree. It is thrilling, exceptionally "present," warm, yet finely detailed and vivid. Macal conducts the Fresh Jersey Symphony Orchestra with gusto, and they answer in kind. A joy to hear.If the coupling suits you--- and I cast no aspersions toward the "Poppy Suite"... it's done very, very well--- then you have a true champion here.[Running time: 72:50]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy and the Brass Band: With 16 musical instrument sounds! []  2020-7-2 19:18

    We purchased the entire Poppy series for our daughter, who is showing an early enthusiasm for music, and she absolutely loves them. She is 18 months old now, but she has enjoyed them since we gave them to her several months ago. There isn't too much of a story to this one, but a masterful plot isn't really the point here. There are, however, lots of fun pictures of goofy animals playing instruments, which gives you plenty to talk about when reading the ere are two various types of sound-producing buttons: some play melody and others play short, silly sound effects. The sound is actually beautiful decent for a little speaker, and the musical selections are not annoying (unless, of course, your kid insists on reading the book multiple times in a row...).My only complaint is that the buttons can be difficult to push, especially for little fingers. The circuit board containing the buttons that trigger the sounds is contained within the back cover of the book. Activating the sounds requires pushing the buttons, which is especially difficult to do from the first few pages of the book because you have to transmit the pressure through 8-10 pages -- not simple for 18-month-old fingers! I suspect the only other option would be to have buttons contained in each page, which would obviously create the entire book much tom line: our daughter loves this book, and that's enough for me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy and the Brass Band: With 16 musical instrument sounds! []  2020-7-2 19:18

    I got this one and 'Poppy and the Orchestra' for my 3-year old son loves them dearly. He enjoys pushing all the sound buttons and he can sit by himself with this book for half an hour without looking for me. Just after a few times he now recognizes all instruments and he can name the instruments by just listening to the sound. This really is a fun book. It is very clever and well made, the story is short and cute.I would recommend it to everyone and it also makes a unbelievable bonus for kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy and the Brass Band: With 16 musical instrument sounds! []  2020-7-2 19:18

    My nephew loved it and it stole the present during the birthday show opening. One button is getting hard to push already, but he is only 3 so that could be a factor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Clause in Christmas (A Poppy Creek Novel Book 1) []  2020-2-2 21:16

    What a delightful and heartwarming story. Because Rachael Is a master at describing every small detail in each scene, it gave me such a clear picture in my mind, I felt like I was there! In fact, I wish to search Poppy Creek, rent a cottage, and spend the Christmas holidays there! It was exciting to see what would come next on the Christmas calendar. I love Rachael’s books, and this was no exception!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Macal Conducts Glière: Symphony No. 2, The Red Poppy []  2020-2-1 23:20

    Every now and then there comes a recording with that unique something, an elusive quality perhaps, which marks it as a recording for the ages. This recording of Gliere's second symphony by Zdenek Macal and the Fresh Jersey Symphony orchestra seems, to me at least, to be one of those inhold Gliere's most well-known and widely recorded piece is his ballet The Red Poppy (actually, to be more precise, the Russian Sailor's Dance from it). He also composed three symphonies, the latest of which was also widely performed for a time. While the first symphony is essentially a student work, both the 2nd and 3rd symphonies (premiering in 1908 and 1911, respectively) are mature works, melding his main influence of classical Russian themes with a small early impressionism (though he certainly does not tend towards the shorter works for which the impressionists generally favoured -- the complete recording by Harold Farberman of the 3rd symphony is about 100 mins in length!!).In the 2nd symphony, Gliere follows a more or less classical style, key themes with systematic development. The work has an impressively Russian feel; there is no mistaking the composer's nationality. From the tension and rhythmic drive established in the opening bars you are at once aware of that elusive quality, that presence of greatness, I mentioned above. The orchestra maintains its passion and focus throughout, responding to Macal's visionary reading with exemplary playing. The effect is an exhilarating listen. The fillers are, not unexpectedly, a selection of pieces from The Red Poppy mentioned above (and yes, including the Russian Sailor's Dance). Amazing though they may be, for me, they are secondary to this amazing performance of the 2nd symphony.Early in his career, while chief conductor of the Prague Symphony Orchestra, Macal won several conducting competitions, marking him as one to watch. He left Prague following the crushing of the Prague Spring uprising in 1968. Though he was to return in 2003 as the chief conductor of the Czech Philharmonic, in the interim he was to keep two decade-long positions as melody director, first with the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra and then the Fresh Jersey Symphony Orchestra with which he created this recording. As opposed to his successor in the Fresh Jersey post, Neeme Jarvi, Macal has not been a prolific visitor to the recording studio. Though he has created several other successful recordings -- perhaps most notably, a well-received recording of Smetana's Ma Vlast -- this recording is probably (in my opinion, it is by far) his best amazing sound -- a "Delos virtual reality recording" -- this disk is a amazing affirmation of both Macal's talent as a conductor and the quality of Gliere's 2nd symphony. To be honest, I feel I've hardly done this recording full justice; it really is fantastic. Most highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy and the Brass Band: With 16 musical instrument sounds! []  2020-7-2 19:18

    Awesome book. I discovered it physical bookstore and then bought more on Amazon as gifts. Our 2 yr old can press all the buttons herself and it has become her favorite book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Macal Conducts Glière: Symphony No. 2, The Red Poppy []  2020-2-1 23:20

    amazing purchase!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Clause in Christmas (A Poppy Creek Novel Book 1) []  2020-2-2 21:16

    Whow can I obtain to Poppy Creek? After I read this book, I wanted to move there! ❤️ It was like a Hallmark movie: heartworming, beautiful, cozy and at the same time, because of Donna's drinking issue and the sadness that it caused to Cassie, it makes you think and be grateful for everything you have and that sometimes, you take for granted.Oh and Frank... I loved the method that Cassie brought him into the community again!And Rachael will have to write a book about Jack and another one for Reed soon! The barbecue sauce man and the flower boy, deserve to be satisfied to!Can't wait to read The Truth in Tiramisu soon!Paula Santos

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Clause in Christmas (A Poppy Creek Novel Book 1) []  2020-2-2 21:16

    I read a lot. And a lot of what I read are romance novels, and a lot of THOSE are Christmas-themed. Which means that I have a beautiful huge pool to choose from when someone asks me for the best Christmas romance story I've ever read. But honestly? I think this one is it. With relatable characters, an original premise, an adorable little city blanketed in snow, and coffee, I really don't see any reason why a lover of sweet Christmas romances wouldn't devour this story in a day. Or less.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy and the Brass Band: With 16 musical instrument sounds! []  2020-7-2 19:18

    Our son has been thrilled with these books. the musical pieces are just long enough without being too long, and more importantly, they are SO PLEASANT to hear!!! these books are not your average children's book with audio, they are easy and accessible for anyone, but so sophisticated as well with very high quality audio and attractive musical pieces the entire family enjoys hearing. I cannot recommend these enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy and the Brass Band: With 16 musical instrument sounds! []  2020-7-2 19:18

    My daughters are OBSESSED with this book!! The melody is attractive and fun. We’ve read it at least 100 times and purchased all 4 in the series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Clause in Christmas (A Poppy Creek Novel Book 1) []  2020-2-2 21:16

    From the first sentence to the last, Poppy Creek takes readers on a delightful Christmas journey. Cassie and Luke are like a cozy sweater and a cup of hot, delicious coffee on a winter morning. If you love Hallmark, you'll love this charming story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Clause in Christmas (A Poppy Creek Novel Book 1) []  2020-2-2 21:16

    What a unbelievable little city romance set around Christmas. Everyone, I bet you will fall in love with Poppy Creek, after reading this awesome book. I loved all the characters I met in this book, especially Cassie and Luke. I won’t leave any spoilers, but I bet you’ll agree this is one of the best Christmas reads from this year. I can’t wait to read the next book in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Macal Conducts Glière: Symphony No. 2, The Red Poppy []  2020-2-1 23:20

    A lot of of us had been familiar with Gliere's third symphony and, of course, "The Red Poppy" ballet. These are lush, richly orchestrated, and very melodic works, filled with amazing feeling and is CD features a top-notch performance of the familiar suite from Gliere's ballet, best known for its "Russian Sailors' Dance." This melody is really delightful and very memorable. There are some similarities to the ballet melody of Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936), who was Gliere's contemporary and compatriot for a lot of years.While Glazunov eventually left the Soviet Union for Paris (where he died in 1936), Gliere remained in his homeland and remained famous with both the public and the Soviet government. It is known that Josef Stalin preferred romanticism, especially the piano melody of Chopin, as he told President Harry Truman. Although Gliere lived until 1956, he stayed away from the more modern trends of Prokofiev and Shostakovich, thus avoiding the public attacks such composers received from the Soviet government in iere's second symphony is rarely performed or recorded. Indeed, this was the first recording I ever heard of the work and I immediately liked it. The performance is outstanding and manages to capture the dramatic intensity of this epic e recordings benefit from superb technological advances, including Dolby surround sound, which give the works greater clarity and intensity. This is a very fine CD, performed by an orchestra that continues to build an imposing reputation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy and the Brass Band: With 16 musical instrument sounds! []  2020-7-2 19:18

    Pros:Some of the best musical clips I've heard for kid. Both the quality of the sound that comes from the book recordings and the song choices themselves are great. They chose various melody for each instrument and each clip was fairly e dozens of musical instruments was fantastic. They included: a fife, a trumpet, a trombone, a banjo, a sousaphone, a tuba, cymbals, drums, and more. We esepcially enjoyed that both the tuba and the sousaphone were ly illustrationsConsThere's not much story. I mean, my kid is here for the musical instruments not the plot but it was still disappointing there wasn't really a plot at all. Each page a various circus performer is playing an instrument. The text also doesn't explain the instruments at all, even basics like which are in the brass family or woodwind t all the instruments would be in a brass band. This is minor, but a bit confusing.If you kid is interested in knowing about musical instruments, I would suggest Meet the Orchestra (fabulous illustrations and prose with accessible but detailed explanations of instruments) , or Welcome to the Symphony (Also has sound buttons and explains both instrument families and primary musical concepts). BUT if your child has these and just wants more melody books, then this one is a fun one as the musical selection is really great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy and the Brass Band: With 16 musical instrument sounds! []  2020-7-2 19:18

    My toddler loves anything melody so he loves this book. For some reason I thought it was a board book but it is not, just regular pages that are fairly sturdy. It’s handled his roughness and crinkling, but my 9month old nieces pulling caused a page to rip. The pages have to be laid down just right, otherwise you’ll miss the button at the back of the book, sometimes he has a hard time pushing them because he moves the page slightly and doesn’t understand exactly where to push since the button isn’t on the actual page like other books we have. But he loves the sounds and tunes that it makes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy and the Brass Band: With 16 musical instrument sounds! []  2020-7-2 19:18

    These are the best books! My 18 month old loves them! The sound quality is amazing and the pictures are colourful and pretty. A unbelievable method for him to learn his instruments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Kart [App]  2019-10-28 13:32

    Reminds me of super mario kart Some might call it a RIP off I'll say inspired by. Either method it's better than the crappy job Nintendo did with Mario kart tour. One suggestion maybe add a to play add option

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Kart [App]  2019-10-28 13:32

    I really like the Mario Kart aesthetic, I really do, but the fact you NEED to for the next tracks is stupid. Hopefully you can obtain rid of the mark and create it fully for everybody. But for now, 2 Star rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Kart [App]  2019-10-28 13:32

    This android game is a rip off of Mario Kart! Awesome that nintendo did not took down this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Kart [App]  2019-10-28 13:32

    This a challenging android game that I have ever played!! This is fun!!👍👍👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Kart [App]  2019-10-28 13:32

    hate not 3 mins in and I deleted it and it's a rip off of Mario kart

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Kart [App]  2019-10-28 13:32

    Taking tu lung to duwnloud

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Kart [App]  2019-10-28 13:32

    Best mobile racing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Kart [App]  2019-10-28 13:32

    It is Stupendously awsome

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Kart [App]  2019-10-28 13:32

    it's worst android game ever

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Kart [App]  2019-10-28 13:32

    Too hard

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Kart [App]  2019-10-28 13:32

    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Kart [App]  2019-10-28 13:32

    It is just a Mario kart rip off! So obtain punished company!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Kart [App]  2019-10-28 13:32

    It ok for first 7 tracks them later we has to to play the all android games

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Kart [App]  2019-10-28 13:32

    Love it if poppy kart is your android game it is wonderful.😉

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Poppy Kart [App]  2019-10-28 13:32

    The control are amazing

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386