Read the premarital counseling handbook reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the premarital counseling handbook reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Handbook of Counseling Supervision []  2020-8-17 18:23

    I have enjoyed reading this book for my spet course. The material seems to come alive now that I am actually working in my profession!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Handbook of Counseling Supervision []  2020-8-17 18:23

    Amazing service. Book arrived on time and everything was exactly as posted. Thank you so much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Handbook of Counseling Supervision []  2020-8-17 18:23

    Needed book for a course. Content is valuable but writing is dry. “No frills” textbook.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the premarital counseling handbook or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Handbook of Counseling Supervision []  2020-8-17 18:23

    Amazing information. Not the most exciting presentation

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Handbook of Counseling Supervision []  2020-8-17 18:23

    Needed for a course I took on clinical supervision. I enjoyed the course, the book was clear and simple to follow, definitely written for practitioners.I ordered the eBook to save money. In hindsight, because it is a amazing teaching tool, I probably should have ordered the hardcopy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Handbook of Counseling Supervision []  2020-8-17 18:23

    Informative! It was beneficial in gaining the knowledge that I required to complete my ACS credential.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Handbook of Counseling Supervision []  2020-8-17 18:23

    An simple and pleasant read on Kindle. Useful to have all of the reminders of primary supervisory practice in one place. Needed text for ACS, with some amazing practice pieces and case studies

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Handbook of Counseling Supervision []  2020-8-17 18:23

    Like most reviewers, I bought this for my ACS class. This supervision book is primary and dry. For those who have not provided clinical supervision before, this could be a helpful book. It goes over primary theories and doesn’t go into too much depth. This book skims the surface of clinical supervision. For those who are not needed to read this book and are looking to learn about supervision, I might recommend another book like Fundamentals of Clinical Supervision because it is more descriptive and goes into better depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Handbook of Counseling Supervision []  2020-8-17 18:23

    For a textbook this is not a dry, boring read. It's on point, well stated and simple to follow. The tables and extra appendices are also well thought out and helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The New Handbook of Counseling Supervision []  2020-8-17 18:23

    Its a amazing reference book first clinicians working on supervision license.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner – Grief Counseling Handbook on Treatment of Grief, Loss and Bereavement, Book and Free eBook []  2021-1-8 19:41

    Just as described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner – Grief Counseling Handbook on Treatment of Grief, Loss and Bereavement, Book and Free eBook []  2021-1-8 19:41

    Bought this as needed for an online course. Definitely one of the best books on grief counseling. It clearly takes the reader step by step through the tasks of mourning and the principles involved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner – Grief Counseling Handbook on Treatment of Grief, Loss and Bereavement, Book and Free eBook []  2021-1-8 19:41

    Comprehensive and insightful. Any hospice or bereavement therapist should be using this book. It provides a framework for understanding the grieving process and helping others work through it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner – Grief Counseling Handbook on Treatment of Grief, Loss and Bereavement, Book and Free eBook []  2021-1-8 19:41

    Provides a amazing definition for the various types of grief and techniques to support those who are grieving

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner – Grief Counseling Handbook on Treatment of Grief, Loss and Bereavement, Book and Free eBook []  2021-1-8 19:41

    This is a amazing book for grad school social work students. However, I suggest you review your book immediately because the copy I recieved is improperly printed. Chapter one is at the end of the book, which makes it difficult for me to read!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner – Grief Counseling Handbook on Treatment of Grief, Loss and Bereavement, Book and Free eBook []  2021-1-8 19:41

    Wondering book helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner – Grief Counseling Handbook on Treatment of Grief, Loss and Bereavement, Book and Free eBook []  2021-1-8 19:41

    It has everything you need to know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner – Grief Counseling Handbook on Treatment of Grief, Loss and Bereavement, Book and Free eBook []  2021-1-8 19:41

    Perfect book to read as I’m studying to be a grief counselor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner – Grief Counseling Handbook on Treatment of Grief, Loss and Bereavement, Book and Free eBook []  2021-1-8 19:41

    I found this book very beneficial. It contained a lot of useful ideas that i could use in my pastoral ministry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner – Grief Counseling Handbook on Treatment of Grief, Loss and Bereavement, Book and Free eBook []  2021-1-8 19:41

    I would highly recommend this book for anyone interested in the well researched and consice.An perfect resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-5-15 18:42

    Bought this as needed for an online course. Definitely one of the best books on grief counseling. It clearly takes the reader step by step through the tasks of mourning and the principles involved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-10-9 18:14

    Bought this as needed for an online course. Definitely one of the best books on grief counseling. It clearly takes the reader step by step through the tasks of mourning and the principles involved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-5-15 18:42

    I found this book very beneficial. It contained a lot of useful ideas that i could use in my pastoral ministry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-5-15 18:42

    Provides a amazing definition for the various types of grief and techniques to support those who are grieving

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-10-9 18:14

    Comprehensive and insightful. Any hospice or bereavement therapist should be using this book. It provides a framework for understanding the grieving process and helping others work through it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-10-9 18:14

    Wondering book helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-10-9 18:14

    I found this book very beneficial. It contained a lot of useful ideas that i could use in my pastoral ministry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-10-9 18:14

    I would highly recommend this book for anyone interested in the well researched and consice.An perfect resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-5-15 18:42

    Wondering book helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-5-15 18:42

    It has everything you need to know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-5-15 18:42

    I would highly recommend this book for anyone interested in the well researched and consice.An perfect resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-10-9 18:14

    This is a amazing book for grad school social work students. However, I suggest you review your book immediately because the copy I recieved is improperly printed. Chapter one is at the end of the book, which makes it difficult for me to read!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-10-9 18:14

    Provides a amazing definition for the various types of grief and techniques to support those who are grieving

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-10-9 18:14

    It has everything you need to know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-5-15 18:42

    This is a amazing book for grad school social work students. However, I suggest you review your book immediately because the copy I recieved is improperly printed. Chapter one is at the end of the book, which makes it difficult for me to read!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-5-15 18:42

    Comprehensive and insightful. Any hospice or bereavement therapist should be using this book. It provides a framework for understanding the grieving process and helping others work through it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy, Fifth Edition: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-5-15 18:42

    Just as described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-10-9 18:14

    Just as described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner []  2020-10-9 18:14

    I am a fresh bereavement counselor, and I search this book to be very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Counseling (HSE 125 Counseling) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    This will be a permanent piece of my office because I simply don't think I will ever be rid of it. It is beautifully place together for anyone fresh (like myself) who's just coming into counseling, but it would also serve as a unbelievable reminder for anyone who's been in the field for a length of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Counseling (HSE 125 Counseling) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    Critical book to introduce you to the skills required to be a successful counselor in any setting (clinical, school, community, etc...). Well written, simple to read, very practical

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Counseling (HSE 125 Counseling) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    Such a amazing book! I was recommended it by my professor of my counseling skills class and I'm glad I bought it. It is smaller than I thought, but don't allow that fool you; it is full of helpful info for a fresh counselor. I can see this being a amazing reference in my future career.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Counseling (HSE 125 Counseling) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    The book is NOT important - all the info is obvious and repetitiveIf you are not getting this as a recommended reading DO NOT buy itShipping was amazing and I rented with no issues

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Counseling (HSE 125 Counseling) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Counseling (HSE 125 Counseling) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    While I was needed to read this book, I found it rather useful and informative. It's certainly applicable in the counseling field, which, coming from me, is a large compliment since I have no desire to become a counselor. I also feel this text is useful in regular life, at least where listening skills are concerned. This book is a fast read and not overly technical. I'd definitely recommend this book to those interested in helping professions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Counseling (HSE 125 Counseling) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Counseling (HSE 125 Counseling) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    I had to buy this book for a grad course in clinical interviewing. It is composed of a lot of mini-chapters that give you some primary ideas about what to do and what to avoid. The skills are primary and this is very handy to have around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Counseling (HSE 125 Counseling) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    This book would be amazing for someone just beginning coursework for counseling. However, I'm beautiful far into my studies so this book was too primary for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Counseling (HSE 125 Counseling) []  2019-12-24 19:59

    Amazing book for use in counselor, therapist grad school education.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling Individuals Through the Lifespan (Counseling and Professional Identity) []  2019-12-18 20:17

    Has small to do with counseling, and the print is crazy small!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Substance Use Counseling: Theory and Practice (The Merrill Counseling Series) []  2020-1-20 18:29

    This is a very condensed, informative and easy-to-digest text. I rented it, but highly recommend anyone working in SUD buy the book because of all the amazing references for further reading. I've found myself going back to it to re-read passages several times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Substance Use Counseling: Theory and Practice (The Merrill Counseling Series) []  2020-1-20 18:29

    The book came exactly as described. Unbelievable will order more in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical, Legal, and Professional Issues in Counseling (The Merrill Counseling) []  2020-11-10 18:58

    Amazing shape. Took a while to be delivered but worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical, Legal, and Professional Issues in Counseling (The Merrill Counseling) []  2020-11-10 18:58

    The Chapters are ridiculously long to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling Individuals Through the Lifespan (Counseling and Professional Identity) []  2019-12-18 20:17

    Enjoyed the book and the description was correct when buying a used book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling Individuals Through the Lifespan (Counseling and Professional Identity) []  2019-12-18 20:17

    Amazing condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Substance Use Counseling: Theory and Practice (The Merrill Counseling Series) []  2020-1-20 18:29

    Very informative for various models. Learned so much about addiction and how to treat

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Substance Use Counseling: Theory and Practice (The Merrill Counseling Series) []  2020-1-20 18:29

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical, Legal, and Professional Issues in Counseling (The Merrill Counseling) []  2020-11-10 18:58

    Quick shipping! Thank you!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical, Legal, and Professional Issues in Counseling (The Merrill Counseling) []  2020-11-10 18:58

    Required for class! Got here quickly with Prime! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling Individuals Through the Lifespan (Counseling and Professional Identity) []  2019-12-18 20:17

    This text arrived in amazing condition. I just finished reading the latest chapter and believe it was sufficient info for my class. I was disappointed to search several typos and grammatical errors in almost every chapter. This text desperately needs to be more carefully edited. I do not recommend the current edition for graduate courses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling Individuals Through the Lifespan (Counseling and Professional Identity) []  2019-12-18 20:17

    This was a textbook but I liked the articles the method it was organized. I like that I was able to buy this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical, Legal, and Professional Issues in Counseling (The Merrill Counseling) []  2020-11-10 18:58

    Engaging and easy-to-grasp. This belongs on every counselor's bookshelf!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Substance Use Counseling: Theory and Practice (The Merrill Counseling Series) []  2020-1-20 18:29

    School... amazing quality

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Substance Use Counseling: Theory and Practice (The Merrill Counseling Series) []  2020-1-20 18:29

    Simple to read and amazing at breaking and explaining materials.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Substance Use Counseling: Theory and Practice (The Merrill Counseling Series) []  2020-1-20 18:29

    Used for a counseling class. Comprehensive and thorough. Simple reading and understandable. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Substance Use Counseling: Theory and Practice (The Merrill Counseling Series) []  2020-1-20 18:29

    Textbook is very informative and helpful for my class. Shipment was sooner than expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling Individuals Through the Lifespan (Counseling and Professional Identity) []  2019-12-18 20:17

    I required it for Graduate school, love the E-book format and able to read it on all my various devices and share with my team. The book is a amazing reference to theories and interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling Individuals Through the Lifespan (Counseling and Professional Identity) []  2019-12-18 20:17

    I bought this book for Graduate school. I have to buy two copies, one online and one actual paperback....Here is why:1 . The paperback book has the smallest print in the globe and was so hard to read, .... I was going crazy, maybe I'm not in my 20, but I do not have glasses, my roommate agreed that it was indeed little print.Ok so I bought the online version...2. The online ver is fine to read, but can't see any on the image tables!! Can't zoom and its like looking at a very little picture that is unreadable, another reviewer said the same , I use the online ver to read the print, then the actual book to see the blown up chats and n't just one obtain it right so I do not have to buy two. :(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling Individuals Through the Lifespan (Counseling and Professional Identity) []  2019-12-18 20:17

    I had to use this textbook for my graduate level lifespan development class. The text was very simple to follow through and gave very interesting examples. I would definitely recommend this text for others who are interested in learning about counseling individuals at different points in the lifespan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling Individuals Through the Lifespan (Counseling and Professional Identity) []  2019-12-18 20:17

    Very disappointed with this textbook which was needed for graduate class in human development--typos and grammatical errors, content is simplistic and culturally limited, no nuanced discussion of developmental problems and relevance to counseling, had to use other resources

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling Individuals Through the Lifespan (Counseling and Professional Identity) []  2019-12-18 20:17

    Absolutely SHOOK by the not good editing-grammatical and spelling errors in every chapter. The content was decent but I wasn't able to obtain past the a lot of obvious mistakes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Substance Use Counseling: Theory and Practice (The Merrill Counseling Series) []  2020-1-20 18:29

    Books are a Rip off in general, at least Amazon let’s you rent them reasonably.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Substance Use Counseling: Theory and Practice (The Merrill Counseling Series) []  2020-1-20 18:29

    Buen libro llego en perfectas condiciones

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical, Legal, and Professional Issues in Counseling (The Merrill Counseling) []  2020-11-10 18:58

    Exact book that I required for my class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ethical, Legal, and Professional Issues in Counseling (The Merrill Counseling) []  2020-11-10 18:58

    Shipped quick and fresh as stated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling the Culturally Diverse: Theory and Practice []  2020-1-16 21:38

    This is the first time a professor requests explicitly the fresh edition for a class and it actually makes sense.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning the Language of Addiction Counseling []  2020-1-22 19:42

    Amazing product and amazing service! Book is expensive but sold at cost and that's greatly appreciated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning the Language of Addiction Counseling []  2020-1-22 19:42

    This book discusses addiction counseling and has a lot of examples of wide dozens of clients (a true strength). In terms of counseling theory, the book tends to use a reality-based pragmatic approach rather than an extensive investigation and extended discussion of specific counseling theories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning the Language of Addiction Counseling []  2020-1-22 19:42

    Amazing book for addiction education.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Counseling: Voices from the Field []  2020-8-10 18:24

    This is the second book I have read by Kottler. After a couple of years in a counseling MA program, you begin to differentiate between poorly written texts and those that are helpful. Kottler is an engaging writer (no little feat for a textbook) and the "voices from the field" are found throughout the book. For a neophyte counselor, it's reassuring to hear from others in the field whose contributions reflect your own concerns. I took one star away because of the order of chapter topics, which I think could have been organized in a method that flowed better, but I would definitely recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Counseling: Voices from the Field []  2020-8-10 18:24

    I was needed to purchase the book for graduate school and was disappointed at first when I saw it was a textbook. However, the book is so interesting I just sat down and read it even before I started class. The author provides so much info about counseling and the private stories from counselors in the field is a unbelievable feature. All of the info in the book is exactly what you wish to know as a fresh counselor. This is a textbook that I will definitely hold and recommend to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Biblical Counseling Guide for Women []  2020-12-3 20:24

    The Biblical Counseling Tutorial for Women is a must-have resource for anyone interested in biblical counseling, whether formal or informal. This comprehensive work covers each of its seventeen subjects clearly, in non-technical language that is easily understood. Each chapter is a treasury of Scripture, wisdom, exhortation, insight and solid recommendations for dealing with the counseling problems presented.While the book is titled “The Biblical Counseling Tutorial for Women,” the principles and suggestions contained within its pages can be used by men and women alike. John and Janie Road have done what few others have done in a single volume—they have comprehensively addressed a wide range of counseling problems with clarity, compassion, understanding and solid biblical lay biblical counselors, The Biblical Counseling Tutorial for Women has become an invaluable and frequently-consulted resource which has helped us in our counseling ministry. What is particularly helpful is the authors’ perfect treatment of current day problems using vivid true life-based examples which demonstrate how God’s Spirit, using his Word, changes lives for the glory of God. Also, the life-application questions at the end of each chapter are thought-provoking, practical and relevant.Whether you are a follower of Christ who simply desires to grow in your knowledge of helping others to be better image-bearers of God, or a seasoned counselor with years of experience in the arena of intensive discipleship, The Biblical Counseling Tutorial for Women is a must-have resource. It will not only enrich you, but will support you greatly in your ministry of helping others to become more like Jesus arlie and Cindy BC Certified Counselors

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Biblical Counseling Guide for Women []  2020-12-3 20:24

    A young lady came into my office and wanted counseling about an eating disorder. I didn't have any experience in this area. This book was a amazing launching pad for me to gain some knowledge in this area. It gave me a fast method to connect with this woman and has helped me to walk with her as she faces the challenge and healing of dealing with a long-term ank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning the Language of Addiction Counseling []  2020-1-22 19:42

    Very informative and I appreciated the compassionate perspective of the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning the Language of Addiction Counseling []  2020-1-22 19:42

    love this book, very useful for study and future use in the field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling the Culturally Diverse: Theory and Practice []  2020-1-16 21:38

    Do not buy the Kindle Ver as it contains no page number but rather zone numbers that in no way, shape, or form match the print pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling the Culturally Diverse: Theory and Practice []  2020-1-16 21:38

    Thought provoking

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling the Culturally Diverse: Theory and Practice []  2020-1-16 21:38

    On time, amazing quality

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Counseling: Voices from the Field []  2020-8-10 18:24

    This is one of the best textbooks I've had the pleasure to use, and believe me, I've used a lot. It is clear and well-written, and in reading it you understand not just the info it presents but also why that info is important. Each chapter includes a lot of anonymous comments called "Voices from the Field," written by practicing mental health counselors. These "voices" give a sometimes gritty but always authentic perspective that grounds and comforts the student. Here is one example: Of all the theories I've used--and believe me, I've used a bunch--REBT is the one I found most useful in my own life. I don't even practice it that much anymore with my clients, but I still use it every day inside my own head. So often, I obtain down on myself because I feel like i'm failing my clients or not doing as amazing a job as I should. Then I hear Ellis's voice in my head, confronting me about my "shoulds" and absolute judgments. It really does work miracles. Why don't I use it anymore with my clients? I don't know. I guess I just got bored with it after a while. It's not that it stopped working; really, it's strong stuff. It's just that I got tired disputing the same old irrational beliefs over and over. I moved on to something fresh and more dynamic. But I still use it sometimes with clients who really seem like amazing candidates for a more confrontational, thinking approach.When I read this acc I could almost feel the counselor's weariness and self-doubt. Kottler should be commended for making a powerful effort to portray the realities that students will face when they enter the "real world."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Counseling: Voices from the Field []  2020-8-10 18:24

    On can not say enough how simple of a read this book is. I have never had a text book be so real. I feel like I can truly connect with this book and the author is very knowledgeable about fresh counselors. Very amazing insight on what to except and basically a walk though step by step in how to shape your self into a counselor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Counseling: Voices from the Field []  2020-8-10 18:24

    Very readable, fun, insightful. My favorite feature is the "voices from the field", where you can read what true counselors have to say. It's helped me create decisions about graduate school and specializations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Counseling: Voices from the Field []  2020-8-10 18:24

    Very happy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Biblical Counseling Guide for Women []  2020-12-3 20:24

    This book addresses a lot of things that will support pastors with their wives and co-counselors deal with problems that women struggle with. This needs to be on every pastor's shelf as it sufficiently addresses biblical solutions to every listed problem. What helped me the most was the chapter on schizophrenia, as it seemed like an problem that may be impossible to address biblically. And yet, this book even gives hope in God's Word! The latest page of that chapter said the counselee completely overcame her schizophrenia! What a testimony to the sufficiency of Scripture that continues to be more strong than any secular counseling!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Counseling the Culturally Diverse: Theory and Practice []  2020-1-16 21:38

    The good: the print is nice and huge and the colors used are very vibrant (bold titles, chapter titles). Amazing e bad: I don’t like the paper it was printed on, it smudges easily and don’t have anything remotely oily in your hands. Also, no chapter number at top of page so if you’re jumping chapters, you have to memorize the title you wish (only thing on top right) or find for the main page of each chapter. Large time-waster

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning the Language of Addiction Counseling []  2020-1-22 19:42

    I passed my class!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    School Counseling in the 21st Century []  2020-8-19 18:23

    It's a textbook for school, so it's been helpful in my introduction to school counseling course.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Counseling: Voices from the Field []  2020-8-10 18:24

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Biblical Counseling Guide for Women []  2020-12-3 20:24

    As a pastor in training and one desiring to be fully equipped to shepherd the flock of God for His glory I am so grateful for this perfect resource. As a man, I confess that there is much that I do not understand about women and this book was incredibly helpful as I seek to better counsel and care for the needs of others. What a blessing to have a book so neatly organized and so effectively written so as to give insight and support as I think through different problems that women face and need counseling for. The scenario-based chapters created the book an simple read and the discussion questions at the end of each chapter created this an effective tool for counseling. The consistent methodology that centered around a biblical approach to issues of the heart was very helpful and I found the chapters on things like Anorexia, OCD, Panic Attacks, and PTSD to be very helpful as they are problems rarely discussed from a biblical perspective. I am sure that I will come back to this resource time and time again as I counsel. Thank you Dr. and Mrs. Road for your very helpful book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Biblical Counseling Guide for Women []  2020-12-3 20:24

    This will be a amazing support in my counseling ministry.... Have already place it to work.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386