Read the prestige reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the prestige reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


    Add your opinion on the prestige or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prestige [Blu-ray] []  2020-2-2 12:46

    Amazing film for incorporating parts of history that had been done by inventors like Tesla and a reference to Houdini yet it didn't copy any prior documentaries that's cause of creative liberty in writing and the dialogue is interesting. For my opinion would be better if that movie had some more humor I think that the animosity got too huge between the magicians and the tricks used were too common for the spying like underneath the scene trap door was really spacious so one certain section wouldn't have actually been required for the present just by manipulating the ball or the top hat trajectory when they got tossed is simpler. It had a amazing ending I won't say too much more just fun yet not like comparing vehicles if a person was to present another their model brand and then that person bought a better company name that's common tournament this in the film was more cruel

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prestige [Blu-ray] []  2020-2-2 12:46

    I have been on a large Christian Bale kick lately, and shockingly, I hadn't seen The Prestige until latest night. I'm not sure what took me so long to see this, as it was a definite champion for me. The whole synopsis of this film was intriguing, from the magic and illusions themselves, down to the performers competing with each other for fame and fortune.I can't say much in this review without giving too much away, but throughout the film you are left guessing what is happening. Hugh Jackman's hero is a magician scared to "get his hands dirty", while Christian Bale's hero seems fearless if it means he'll victory the tournament and be the top magician in England. One is after revenge, both are after fame, and together they wish to torment the other until it is decided who is the h Jackman and Bale deliver powerful performances with solid acting. I could have done without Scarlett Johanson, as I'm not a huge fan of hers. There were a few slow parts to the movie, but nothing that created me lose interest or result my attention span. Even in those parts, it's necessary to attention to details. I know if I went back and watched this film again (And I probably will) that I'll catch lots of subtle tips that I missed the first time until the very end - you'll be shocked at how this one ends. I really want I could say more in this review, but trust me when I say that you'll like this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prestige [Blu-ray] []  2020-2-2 12:46

    There are three parts to this film that you will think you understand as it progresses. The beginning. The middle. And The end.Even as you think you're understanding each part you'll suddenly begin questioning your understand of all three parts. And you'll be entertained by the confusion! (I know this makes no sense. Watch the film and it will.)I'm not going to go into details. I'm not going to spoil anything. But I will tell you that the entire film is wonderfully entertaining. And it will hold you thinking the entire time, trying to figure out what's going on. It's very confusing, but not in a "poorly told story" way. It's confusing on purpose, just like a magic present it. The entire movie about two magicians and their magic shows is one misdirection after another. Just like an actual magic present e whole thing is so well 's extremely well acted. It's a amazing story. The set design and costuming is incredibly well done. All of this makes it a very immersive experience.I don't know how this film slipped largely under the radar because its really , how often do you obtain to see Alfred support Wolverine war versus Batman?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prestige [Blu-ray] []  2020-2-2 12:46

    Terrific movie. Like a magic trick, you can’t reveal how it’s done, in this case because reading any spoilers would ruin the film for the next viewer. However, all the components of the film are well done. There is amazing tension between the two leading men which is vital because this is essentially a revenge archetype narrative. There were some fun elements, such as bringing in Nicolai Tesla and showers of discharging electricity. Photography is lovely and the colour tones throughout are consistent and evocative of the period. Recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prestige [Blu-ray] []  2020-2-2 12:46

    This is quite an entertaining and we'll produced movie. The plot is clever and intriguing and the performances by the cast are excellent in every detail. The movie takes put when most people actually believed that magicians were possessed of actual supernatural power. If you have fun dark and mystical atmosphere and thought provoking plot twists then you'll be quite entertained. The melody and cinematography are a treat to the senses and due to their own merit are worth the time to view this film. I thoroughly enjoyed the film and think you will too. Grab some popcorn, sit back and prepare to disappear into the globe of illusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prestige [Blu-ray] []  2020-2-2 12:46

    The Prestige: 9 out of 10: Two magicians (Hugh Jackman and Christian Bale) develop a deadly rivalry that threatens them me days I don’t obtain critics. This is a unbelievable movie with a wonderfully twisty story, wonderful acting, and perfect period detail. Yet it sits at a 75% on Rotten Tomatoes. One of Christopher Nolan's worse as director. The bloated Dark Knight Rises sits at an 87%It is a bit of a head-scratcher. It did come out during particularly amazing run of movies in the theater ( Scorsese’s The Departed, Eastwood’s Flags of our Fathers) and it wasn’t the only costume drama attacked that weekend (Sofia Coppola's Marie Antoinette was savaged by critics) Some people didn’t like the end but I think it is more than a bit brilliant. One caveat is that I did like the movie more on repeat viewings after a small time had passed. I can see how the initial reaction might be slightly ill, The Prestige has easily recovered and sits comfortably in the IMDB top 250 a couple of locations from The Departed. (Time has not been as kind to Flags of our Fathers which is all but forgotten…. However, Marie Antoinette has also picked up some fans over the years and is bordering on a cult classic.)I am not talking about The Prestige simply because I don’t wish to spoil it. It is that amazing and should be seen with new eyes. Okay, one more tip it has the second best David Bowie casting ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prestige [Blu-ray] []  2020-2-2 12:46

    Product shipped in fresh condition as advertised. No hassle. The film itself is excellent. The themes of dedication, sacrifice, and struggle to search meaning in life weigh massive in this film. It definitely is a film where one must attention to the plot. Walking to the kitchen, going to the bathroom, or attending to a cellphone without pausing the film isn't recommended. A very interesting movie, The ending completes the plot nicely and explains the meaning behind the characters motivations and actions accurately. Better yet, it leaves the viewer with the job of answering whether or not the actions carried out by the characters, and more-so, the intentions behind such actions, are worth the cost. With all that said, the pace of the film never drags. It is an adventure that filled with wonder, joy, pain, revenge, and accomplishment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prestige [Blu-ray] []  2020-2-2 12:46

    In the movie, The Prestige, directed by Christopher Nolan, the audience is introduced to two rival illusionists, Alfred Borden (Christian Bale) and Robert Angier (Hugh Jackman), each fighting to be the best in the business with the best performed and planned out illusions. The film follows both men in their quest to becoming a brand name spoken by a lot of while also sabotaging each other when given the opportunity. Both men are obsessed with being on top no matter the cost, ignoring the danger signs and consequences that come with living the life they do, ending to each man's own demise. Both illusionists are first seen working together as part of a squad of illusionists, the rivalry only truly starting after the loss a loved one of Angier, Julia McCullough (Piper Perabo). Throughout the rest of the movie, the conflict between Borden and Angier continues and is brilliantly portrayed by Bale and Jackman, each man bringing life and depth to their characters. The characters Angier and Borden share related qualities such as obsessiveness and dedication when it comes to illusions, possibly the root of their dislike for each other, neither willing to face the flaws mirrored in the other. These qualities lead each man to destroy their relationships with those around them such as Borden’s wife, Sarah Borden (Rebecca Hall), the men’s shared love interest. Olivia Wenscombe (Scarlett Johansson), and finally Angier’s amazing mate Henry Cutter (Michael Caine). The story is told in a series of flashbacks, loopholes, and plot twists that can leave the viewer thoroughly confused if they were to not attention and miss any crucial details. This structure stays real to Nolan’s style of leaving the viewer’s interest piqued as well as always questioning what’s right in front of them, keeping them invested long after the film is over. The flashbacks give insight into both men’s point of view as they grow in skill and in obsession over defeating the other. This layers the scenes, creating a story within a story effect, related to the themes found in another of Nolan’s movies, Inception. The shots taken and lighting used to show the story only further add to the tones of mystery and intrigue that travels along with all Nolan directed films. The scenes are darker, with dull tones and drowned out colors to better represent dramatic storyline and emotional hurt that follows both men. The scenes present just enough to hold the viewer wanting and looking for more clues to support figure out the secrets being kept by the characters, to better understand them even. Every piece of the puzzle creates a simply tasteful and complex story between two men plagued by an obsession to be the greatest, blinding each to the other necessary things in life. Overall, The Prestige is definitely a must watch film for those that are ready to question everything and be taken along for the ride that is the lives both Borden and Angier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prestige [Blu-ray] []  2020-2-2 12:46

    Every time I watch this movie, I wish to see it again. I'm not giving away the ending, but your mind will be, blown away to the other side of the city! "How did he do that, what did he do to create that possible?" I've always been a fan of Christian Bale and Michael Caine, and they give an amazing performance in this movie. If you've never seen this, you have to, have to watch it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Prestige [Blu-ray] []  2020-2-2 12:46

    Foreword: this review will NOT reveal anything about the plot in this movie and will only serve to objectively review the quality of the movie and not serve as a repeat of the description of this movie. This is an actual review, not a e Prestige is yet another brilliant masterpiece directed by Christopher Nolan. Do not be place off by the fact that it's a magician movie. This is high caliber entertainment with mega stars like Hugh Jackman, Christian Bale, Michael Caine, and Scarlett ION/PACEThis is definitely a Nolan film. The direction and pace of the film is best in the business. There is never a point in the film where it lulls or feels dull. Each stage follows in a method that is logical and perfectly serves to deliver the action and plot NEMATOGRAPHYThe cinematography in "The Prestige" is extraordinarily good. Every shot serves as a excellent frame for capturing the emotions of the actors and their interactions with one another. Often times I forgot that I wasn't actually in the room with the magicians, experiencing the wonders for TINGThe onscreen chemistry between the characters makes every interaction feel real. Christian Bale fits his hero extraordinarily well - a very determined magician willing to sacrifice aspects of his life to stake his claim in the globe of magic. Hugh Jackman assumes the antagonistic, competitive magician which he pulls off well. The tension and rivalry between these two hero come across as genuine as can be. Michael Caine, per usual, acts as the "helper" hero who assists one of the main characters in whatever goal they are trying to achieve (see: Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy). Scarlett Johansson in my opinion is less memorable than the aforementioned characters, but her performance is as expected. David Bowie's quirky role was just brilliant. He was cast nearly perfectly for the role he plays.WRITINGThis is the real magic of the movie. The story telling in "The Prestige" is far and above any magician film that you have ever watched. The different plot devices used are never arbitrary or uninteresting. There is a continual presence of intrigue and anticipation for the unveiling of magic tricks that are seemingly impossible to conceive how they work. The foreshadowing and dichotomy built between the two main characters played by Hugh Jackman and Christian Bale is nothing short of greatness.EDITINGScene transitions flow naturally and any elements of CGI in the film that may or may not exist are simply untraceable. As a "triple A" film title, I expect nothing less in "The Prestige"!COSTUME DESIGNAll costumes in "The Prestige" look period correct and appropriate for a movie that takes put in the 19th century. The beauty of the costume design in "The Prestige" is that everything feels so natural. The dress in the movie is more like outfits than costumes, they seem that T DESIGNAll the same sentiments in the costume section apply here as SICAL SCORE/SOUNDTRACKMusic in the film always lends to set the mood of each scene. Often times its ominous or awe-inspiring. One of the drawbacks of Nolan's movies is there is not so much a musical score as it is just background noise.Overall, "The Prestige" is an absolute must watch. This is Christopher Nolan et. al at their best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige []  2020-1-17 2:18

    The quality of ALL the CD’s that I have purchased and received is EXCELLENT. The AutoRip is a amazing tool which allows me to listen to the CD selections before making the purchase. I am well informed of the status of all my and the delivery time is very impressive. I choose a 5 begin rating because it is well deserved. There is nothing to dislike and the songs selections are very impressive. I would highly recommend this product to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige []  2020-1-17 2:18

    At first I wish to thank for your excellent is album will be released in Germany in about 1 month, therefore i ordered it in the e of this CD in Germany will be 16.99, which is about 24 US I'ver ordered it here for 9.99 + 7 Dollar express shipping and today I keep it in my ippment was 5 days faster than amazon told me ry amazing album and an ever better transaction from Amazon. Thank you very much!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige []  2020-1-17 2:18

    its ok, but not that great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige []  2020-1-17 2:18

    Primero que nada, me sorprendi cuando me entere que el disco tenia 17 temas (+ 2 extras si comprado en itunes o Walmart), comparado con la mayoria de los discos que salen de cualquier genero ultimamente, es raro que un disco incluya mas de 12 temas. La calidad de la letra y la musica es tremenda; Daddy Yankee escribiendo y los de la Nazza derrotando la competencia con su tremenda produccion. Hay algunos temas que la verdad no me gustaron mucho, pero entiendo la necesidad de tener que evolucionar con el genero. Los buenos temas del disco + los temas de Yankee en los varios mixtapes hechos por los De la Nazza + las colaboraciones que ha hecho Yankee con otros artistas este 2012 como con Farruko, J Alvarez, Arcangel, Gotay, y Jory han hecho este 2012 el año de Daddy Yankee y El Cartel!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige []  2020-1-17 2:18

    Awesome. His best work yet. Every single song is so good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige []  2020-1-17 2:18

    shipped quickly, I love his music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige []  2020-1-17 2:18

    Perfect, Shipped safely, and fast.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige []  2020-1-17 2:18

    Amazing buy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige []  2020-1-17 2:18

    My favorite CD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige []  2020-1-17 2:18

    Love the beat. Driving melody or racing? Eighther method it makes me move.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gifted School: The pursuit of prestige, no matter the cost... []  2020-1-27 23:40

    It was tough going, but I read it all. I would suggest you read the sample first to see if you wish to commit to reading the book.I didn't like the characters. Couldn't identify with any of them, and couldn't suspend disbelief enough to care what happened to any of them.(The prejudice versus gifted children and their parents is real, so I was hoping for a credible depiction of it, but this wasn't it. Crystal Academy with its size and elaborate admissions scheme is not something that would happen. That's just one issue with the book.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gifted School: The pursuit of prestige, no matter the cost... []  2020-1-27 23:40

    n barely obtain through this book. The hero development is horrible. The book jumps around without giving the reader and depth of the topics. So sorry I purchased this book. I read a lot ... This is an exception to my reading experiences.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gifted School: The pursuit of prestige, no matter the cost... []  2020-1-27 23:40

    I found this novel really, really compelling. So much so that I read it in 2 days. Amazing characterization, a gripping theme, a fast-paced narrative, well-managed plot, and lots of delicious humor -- and some nice @#$%!iness. A very amazing expose of middle class parents' anxious competitiveness and children's anxiety about their identities -- and, to some extent, about their parents. The novel completely rips apart the idea of "giftedness" and of schools for gifted kids -- it's really amazing on the politics of these, and how they prey on parental anxieties. The novel gets the kids' idiom really well, but so also that of the parents. The relations between the wives and husbands were very well observed. I was beautiful convinced by all the women, as well as by all the men. With Beck, the novel gets into some Tom Wolfe territory, but with humor, not tragedy. Maybe the Beck-Sonja relationship was a bit cliched, but I found the concatenation of happenings that unfurled towards the end very deft and convincing. I particularly enjoyed Tessa's vlogs. The Peruvian family subplot was very amazing too. I know Boulder (the model for the fictional Crystal) and the sense of put in the novel was very well done, without being exaggerated. All in all, this was one of the most gripping books I've read for a while.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gifted School: The pursuit of prestige, no matter the cost... []  2020-1-27 23:40

    I'm beginning my review by saying that I've seen a couple of mentions of Bruce Holsinger's fresh novel "The Gifted School" in articles about the college-entry scheme that has snared several Hollywood biggies and other rich parents who wanted to grease their kids' acceptance into college. This book is NOT about that, it's about younger children in the Denver zone who are competing for entry into a public magnet school for "gifted" children. There is a slight case of greasing but that seems to be coincidental to the current day scandal. I haven't seen these comparisons created by either the author or the publisher, so they seem not to be blamed. But, please don't and read this book thinking it's a tell-all - it isn'ever, “The Gifted School” is not a particularly amazing book. Based in a Boulder-like suburb of Denver, "Crystal, Colorado" seems to have a lot of of the same hippy liberal parents who live in Boulder. Holsinger write about four main families; the wives (or ex-wives) are close mates and definitely rule the roost in terms of family dynamics. They all have kids they're trying to obtain into the fresh "Crystal Academy" - a magnet public school for K-12 graders. These kids are helicopter-parented and become mere names-in-a-book with very small individual identities. Some are perfect athletes, others excel at school, and one is also a chess-wizz. The sister of the chess-wizz is a sneaky small 16 year old who is rebelling versus her widowed mother and society at large. She operates a Vlog and becomes an embarrassment to every one in the plot. There's also a boy from a not good background who is competing for entrance to the academy.Holsinger's characters are not very deep and the plot-points are simple to see coming. I read to the end of the book because I was mildly interested to see if there were any surprises; there weren't. I am somewhat disappointed the book is not better because Holsinger's two previous books were quite well-written. I have a feeling this book will become famous with book clubs because the problems raised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gifted School: The pursuit of prestige, no matter the cost... []  2020-1-27 23:40

    I don't often inhale 400+ page novels in under 30 hours these days, but this just-mean-enough story of parents, children, friendship, and all the ways we pretend we aren't trying to hack the pitiless gods of the (supposed) meritocracy was glorious fun. It's especially on point for people navigating the crossover between their own ambitions and the first twinges of sending children out into the world. (It's about admissions for a public magnet school, but it also shadows the outsized role of college admissions in American culture.) From the soccer pitch and school begin house to the ski slope and the bar, the story is gripping, poignant, and very funny. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gifted School: The pursuit of prestige, no matter the cost... []  2020-1-27 23:40

    Parents will stop at nothing to enroll their children in a fresh school for exceptional learners when they wish to believe their children are gifted and a fresh magnet school opens. THE GIFTED SCHOOL follows four friends, their families, and their housekeeper. Not long after a fresh public magnet school for gifted learners announces an admissions test, we watch friendships crack, competitions flare up, and search lies exposed. Wealthy and privileged, the parents' choices are a continual study in is book is eerily timely (recent college admissions scandal, anyone?) and full of sharp observations. Whether it be the portrayal of a privileged group of mates who meet up weekly for a four-mile run, a spot-on depiction of a girl and her video blog, or the the dynamics between a man, his ex-wife, his fresh wife, and his children, Holsinger crafts a realistic story of dysfunctional parents in pursuit of the best-of-the-best for their is book will come as no surprise to educators and should be placed in the hands of anyone who is unaware of the role race, class, education and wealth plays in our lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gifted School: The pursuit of prestige, no matter the cost... []  2020-1-27 23:40

    This book is hard to review because I liked it at some points and then found it really boring at other times. Some characters stole the present while others could place me to sleep. Some moments got so amazing and then it would just slip away and go into mundane reading , this happened over and over for me .I think the author had a amazing scandalous story to tell but got bogged down with the "gifted school program " and it's pages and pages of rule descriptions and the emails home to the parents. Method too much boring emails that just weakened the read.I wouldn't say not read it because , Beck , Tessa Xander all the children stole the present but sadly Sonja and Azra were such under used characters in my opinion and that was a large misstep for the author .I would have loved to hear a conversation about Beck between Azra and Sonja. The rest of them, sorry Rose and Lauren ,Samantha and spouses you were just boring and that's why this book doesn't have more stars for me .The author missed so a lot of opportunities to create every hero as flawed and as interesting as Beck ,Tessa and Xander to name a e ending could have definitely used a Epilogue that was a large mistake by the author as well, the method it just ended was again boring for me personally. I only just liked this book , would I highly recommend it? no but it wasn't poor either because when the book focused on the interesting characters it was amazing reading. Test it, you might really like it. I just thought it was decent but not wow ! A lot of missed opportunities in my opinion the author should have gone full out scandalous because that would have been so fun and actually more heartfelt. I want the author could have given more attention to the other characters because when he really focused on Beck and the children it was amazing items .So to sum it up I was half entertained and half bored with the book .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gifted School: The pursuit of prestige, no matter the cost... []  2020-1-27 23:40

    Ugh! I quit (pg 63). It’s the characters that have defeated me: so many, two with the same names plus twins. And none described fully enough that they stick in the mind -It would be a courtesy to readers when/if the novel is reprinted if a a diagram naming the characters and outlining their relationships were included.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gifted School: The pursuit of prestige, no matter the cost... []  2020-1-27 23:40

    I wanted to like this book, but there were some bothersome errors that were hard for me to overlook. First, I understand Crystal is a fictitious city. However, when you attempt to describe the Front Range, create sure you at least list the correct counties (Beulah county is Pueblo, not the Front Range). Second, the author lost me when he talked about children playing outdoor soccer...early mornings....in Jan/February in Colorado. Also there was mention of a lavish garden party at a home on the Front Range...in March... Does the author even know it snows in Colorado? Not one mention of it in all the descriptions of horseback riding and soccer and all the other activities these children are competitively pursuing. Really, a more realistic story would have had two children playing hockey...that would be much more plausible in a Denver suburb to start with. Why does this bother me so much? It shows laziness on the part of the writer and editor. A small research goes a long way!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Gifted School: The pursuit of prestige, no matter the cost... []  2020-1-27 23:40

    So, about eight am yesterday I started reading. I devoured the whole book in less than eighteen hours. The story described parenting in a painfully true ur stars for a fine long reading binge. I’ll save five stars for Tom Sawyer or Huckleberry Finn..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Greek U.: Fraternities, Sororities, and the Pursuit of Pleasure, Power, and Prestige []  2020-1-30 18:52

    Having joined a fraternity in the 1980s and still living in the city where I graduated from college, I thought this book was going to be an interesting though Desantis did his homework and cites a amazing of supporting research, his final product does nothing more than underscore all the negative public perceptions about the Greek system ... that it IS as shallow as the majority of the "outsider" population perceives, with very, very few I surprised with the findings? Yes and no. Yes, I am surprised that the Greek system I embraced twenty years ago has become so superficial and by today's standards, unnecessary. But, no, I am not surprised that today's students exhibit such easy and selfish behavior, combined with a total lack of awareness to the globe around them (regardless of the global reach of the internet) ... it is symbolic of the me-first attitude today's youth culture. There is small shock value in Desantis' work, but maybe it's because living in a college city has de-sensitized me to college students' in general or more likely, I've outgrown the idiotic behavior I exhibited myself so long ago.I think the book would have been a better read had he used actual fraternities and schools (maybe a legal liability decision?). The "Greek U", "John from Alpha fraternity", "Susie from Theta sorority" was too generic an approach to the topic matter ... it was actually a turn-off for me for authenticity reasons; it reads like fiction. The comments/responses/behaviors weren't exclusively Greek-related ... any group of students could have provided the same material covered in this book. In other words, what differentiates the men from "Alpha fraternity" from a group of guys living on the same floor in a dorm or a group of varsity is book had potential, but I found it disappointing in that it echoes all the same lame Greek stereotypes. It might have been better to look at how Greek organizations have grown/changed throughout the years to allow the reader know that today's generation of Greeks are not symbolic of all Greeks, but more or less a snapshot of today's youth culture. Desantis' work appears to be no more that a conglomeration of Newsweek/Time/Rolling Stone articles on binge-drinking, eating disorders and date rape ... I really expected a lot more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Greek U.: Fraternities, Sororities, and the Pursuit of Pleasure, Power, and Prestige []  2020-1-30 18:52

    DeSantis has done an outstanding job of carefully researching a lot of aspects of Greek culture and presenting the short- and long-term consequences of Greek socialization on young men and women. This book is extremely accessible to lay readers while still providing an extraordinarily insightful set of analyses that are of tremendous use to academic researchers in a lot of disciplines. I would highly recommend this book to parents of university students (especially entering freshmen), young people considering pledging fraternties and sororities, university educators, administrators, and campus health professionals, as well as anyone curious about the phenomenon of Greek culture on college campuses. Because a lot of academic researchers have not been a part of the Greek system and have no first-hand experience, this book can provide valuable insight into a population of considerable interest and provide a jumping-off point for further research. Frankly, it's such an interesting book that I was lending out my copy so often that I ended up buying a second copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Greek U.: Fraternities, Sororities, and the Pursuit of Pleasure, Power, and Prestige []  2020-1-30 18:52

    Fascinating book that presents a disturbing view of the culture of sororities and fraternities. It is especially insightful and believable because the author was in and still identifies with a fraternity, and is involved with them as a faculty member. His bias is to be pro-greek life, but his clearly described observations (and analysis) highight serious problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Greek U.: Fraternities, Sororities, and the Pursuit of Pleasure, Power, and Prestige []  2020-1-30 18:52

    Dr. Desantis paints an eloquent and well-researched picture of the current Greek culture at a huge American university. His methodology produces rich description and illustrates all sides of Greek life--from the positive to the negative to the intriguing. The book does a amazing job of contrasting the ways in which fraternities and sororities differ, and Dr. Desantis--as a Greek himself--has a special perspective on Greek doubt that any parent of a student who is currently Greek or considering pledging would search this an interesting read, as would any academic or administrator looking to better understand his or her student body. Current Greek students may search the bluntness of the descriptions to be unarming, as much of what is described often goes unspoken, especially to those who are not Greek. However, Dr. Desantis' book is cutting edge and honest--and all readers would search it worth the buy. "Inside Greek U" reads well and quickly and leaves all readers with a broader understanding of how gender and youth interact in the special environment that is Greek life. (and PS: I loved it!)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Greek U.: Fraternities, Sororities, and the Pursuit of Pleasure, Power, and Prestige []  2020-1-30 18:52

    I believe Dr. DeSantis has given us a behind the scenes look at Greek life not shown in the films at a major University. It is a fascinating read and is certain to drop jaws and arch eyebrows. I believe however (as a former Greek myself at an elite fraternity, elite is a term used by DeSantis, not my ego) I feel that in some spots DeSantis only uses extreme ego driven characters as his try subjects, plus the positves are downplayed for the negatives. Other than that it is solid, perfect book. I highly recomend it for anybody who has walked by a Greek house on campus and wondered "What goes on in there?".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Greek U.: Fraternities, Sororities, and the Pursuit of Pleasure, Power, and Prestige []  2020-1-30 18:52

    Alan DeSantis takes us into a globe few outside the College Greek system obtain to visit. Reads somewhat like a brother recounting their loved but embarrassing younger sybling's misconduct. Extremely well-researched and written with wit, brutal honesty and keen insight. DeSantis examines, warts and all, the Greek System, takes it to task on it's a lot of shortcomings, examines it's often overlooked virtues and a glimmmer of hope of what it could, and should, aspire to be. I enjoyed being the fly on the wall for every page of this interesting journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Greek U.: Fraternities, Sororities, and the Pursuit of Pleasure, Power, and Prestige []  2020-1-30 18:52

    A very honest and objective review and analysis of the Greek system at a huge university. It reminded me why I chose NOT to join a fraternity when I was a student, but confirms the a lot of life-long bonds that are established among brothers and sisters that I observe even today. DeSantis used his long-time associations with the Greek system to gain access to info and to members, and was clever enough to conduct interviews in a manner that would maximize openness and honesty. Nevertheless, there were times I want he had dug a deeper, using private follow-up interviews to not only unravel roles/stereotypes, but the rationale and private history the led students to certain decision and viewpoints. For example, how and why do individuals decide to go Greek, and how are those individuals various from those that reject the Greek system. Most differentiation is created after matriculation based on grades. Also, DeSantis does not often distinguish between trends that are specific to Greek organizations, and trends on college campuses themselves regarding drugs, sex, and drinking. As a result, it sometimes implies that certain activities occur among Greeks, but not the student population at large. For example, 75-80% (or more...."you'd be surprised at the true numbers")of girls in sororities may have sex, but is that any various among non-Greeks? And if a group of girls agrees that that's true, but no one admits to trying it, wouldn't you probe that a small more in private interviews to validate the group comments??? All-in-all though, this is the best analysis I have read of the status of the Greek system in American colleges. It's explicit but honest. I have a high school junior who is now in the process of selecting potential colleges, and she has expressed an interest in learning about sororities (and college life in general). I gave her the book to give her a realistic picture of college life and what she might encounter. I would recommend this book to parents (former Greeks and non-Greeks) and to their sons and daughters who are about to take the plunge!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Greek U.: Fraternities, Sororities, and the Pursuit of Pleasure, Power, and Prestige []  2020-1-30 18:52

    Greek Life, not like the a high school student, I read this book along with interviewing current and past Greek life participants to fulfill my ethnography requirement. From the info I have gathered with my interviews, "Inside Greek U" accurately depicts how fraternities/sororities go about their business, however, some things are a bit outdated from modern e book does a very nice summary of the history of the groups by saying "The first of these social organizations appeared on the campus of the College of William and Mary ... in 1776". The history of the Greek life helps to present how much it has changed from "honors societies" to "Beer kegs, toga parties, and goldfish eating". The hazing and other introductions into the brotherhood and sisterhood are a bit outdated and various than the current methods, however, the principle of them remains the same.If you are curious on what happens inside of a "house", this is the book for you. However, the specifics are just that, and they shouldn't be relied on if you are choosing to read this book to decide if you are going to participate in the Greek college life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Greek U.: Fraternities, Sororities, and the Pursuit of Pleasure, Power, and Prestige []  2020-1-30 18:52

    omg, I totally forgot that I have read this book 9 years ago. So I actually read it again from the beginning to the end. This time, I have two things to talk about.1. He should have tried to talk to those so-called struggling greeks. In this book, he hardly ever mentioned anything about their lives.2. He also should have talked to those non-caucASIAN greeks, and ask them why they didn't wish to join the "traditional" greeks at the first place. Then we probably will read more stories about how those fraternities and sororites are racist versus them. So they had no choice to join those asian, black, hispanic fraternities and sororities, etc.3. He also should have talked to homosexual greeks, asked them how they feel when they can't bring same-sex dates to the parties, can't talk about their encounters with the same members openly, etc. Then we will know that those caucasian fraternities and sororities are not only racist versus non-whties, but also very homophobic.4. He can also talk about how much dues every fraternities and sororities are paying. That could be something really interesting to cause the author himself is a member of them, therefore, he can't really expose those poor things.----The following was on August 4, 2010.I was hoping to read something that I don't know about fraternities, but I didn't search a lot of things that are brand thing that stuck in my mind is when he told the story of some foreign non-white students tried to rush fraternities, they visited one fraternity when the author was also there. Because those students were not white, so those racist white fraternity members basically just ignored them. The author knew that it is a fact that those non-white students would also obtain the same treatment at other fraternities, so he didn't encourage them to visit other fraternities on campus.I just don't think that it is right. A lot of fraternities are racist versus non-white students. If only white students visit those fraternities, then they will always be white racists only. The author should encourage all kinds of students to visit those white fraternities, at least, those fraternities have to face the fact there are non-white students who also go to the same campus.Just like they can only accept straight acting people into the system, those white greeks can also only accept blacks who think, talk like white. Now these days, those "elite" Greeks cannot openly declare that they don't like non-whites, they still openly discriminate versus homosexuals, especially feminine male students and macho female students.And the author seems to think that it is ok that those "elite" fraternities are mostly white only. Because those members tend to be white and rich, therefore, they are called "elite"? Well, I don't think so. Those white students are rich because their white parents are rich. Their parents are rich, because they obtain preferential treatment when it comes to jobs and salaries. There are a lot of smart non-white citizens, they can't obtain rich because they are racially discriminated. Because of that, their kids are also not rich, so those kids can not join the "elite" fraternities and sororities.And because they can't join those white only "elite" fraternities and sororities, therefore, they won't be able to meet potential friends for marriage in that system. Therefore, this racist system continues rtunately, as white students become less, a lot of fraternities and sororities have no choice but to accept a lot of non-white students. After all, the Greek headquarters are business, they are here to create first. Sooner or later, those so-called white only elite fraternities and sororities will be history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Greek U.: Fraternities, Sororities, and the Pursuit of Pleasure, Power, and Prestige []  2020-1-30 18:52

    I found this book to be very interesting. I am a greek advisor for several chapters and although I do not think the "problems" and problems brought up in this book are really specific to Greeks - it helped me understand, I feel more what the "younger" generation of college students is going through - more specifically my younger sister that is a freshman in college at a huge school with a huge Greek community - and trying to figure out where she belongs on campus. She is 11 years younger than myself and I always struggled to figure out where she was coming from and why she does things and acts the method she does. I think this book does a amazing job to support bridge more of a generation gap and I feel would be amazing - as some other reviewers said, for College advisors, parents etc. to obtain a better idea of what it is like not just in the Greek community - but on a college campus in general these days. There were a lot of locations in this book, specifically the body photo of men and women and degredation, where I found myself understaning what and where my small sister comes from when she's at the gym for 3 hours a day, acting in my mind inappropriately provacative etc. Amazing read - but I think better fits for the entire college population than just the Greeks. I also appreciate the fact that the author does not reveal secrets of the organizations - outright :) - something that I feel being a Greek - should be reserved for those of us that are Greek :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Stopped working at the end

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Totally digging this app. I took a picture of the exterior of my home and it is totally helping me decide what works and what most definitely does NOT work. Plenty of brand names to pic, as well as color schemes to choose from. The paint and erase tool support you highlight the locations you do or do not wish included in the color change. Only downside... why is this not available for PC'S???!!! :uncontrollable sobbing:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Would be amazing if it didn't hold crashing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Awesome!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    This is a amazing application that enables you to not multiple quarts of paint to search out which color looks best on your wall. Excellent!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Used this to create a decision on our bathroom. Super easy and it "edged" around the pictures that are on the wall.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    What a amazing app. The developers who created this must be amazing & very smart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic Paint Color [App]  2020-4-17 21:10

    This is the best application to use to figure out what color you wish to use in your house. The fact that you can the paint right from the application is awesome as well. The paint showed up to my house 2 days after I ordered it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic Paint Color [App]  2020-4-17 21:10

    Doesn't begin at all

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    This app could be great, however it freezes method too much, at times does not load at all and it does not refresh in a timely manner. The vehicle service itself is awesome. Unfortunately, this application leaves alot to be desired in a climate where technology and apps are major components in business.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    Trash app.....you can only obtain a cab in the bronx amd their rates are method too high...uninstalled it true quick

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    Very amazing , quick response.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    Drivers give you their own instead of what the application shows you. They are rude, disrespectful, over charge and drive while texting on their phones

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    When I use it. It is accurate and efficient.. One of the best apps and the drivers are always very professional

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    I've been using this application for almost a year now and I constantly have the same issue with drivers just picking up people with out asking if it's actually the person that orders the taxi. Extremely frustrating . Thinking about just using my Uber acc from now on. 😤

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    The best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    Amazing service

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Very limited. You can't see or do accent walls because you cannot select the zone you wish to paint. There is no taping off locations or an eraser to correct areas. If it had those two features, then this application would have been great. But as it stand - not wish I need.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    keeps closing the program "unexpectedly fast working"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Cool but needs color find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    love this app. no need for swatches! this changes everything. use this application to color your wall, choose your paint and it online. love the color wheel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    This application is a home decorators best friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Deleting. Too a lot of crashes in just 5 mins of downloading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Really amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic Paint Color [App]  2020-4-17 21:10

    This is amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic Paint Color [App]  2020-4-17 21:10

    Poor application 👎

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    Freezes alot and takes forever to load. Does not give for each trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    First time using this application and the latest time I'll ever use. Overpriced, vehicle was dirty and smiled really bad. I'll stick to my uber

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    There application displays a but when u obtain in the can the cab driver says a higher amount total robbery

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    This fresh updated application does not reflect the real time of your driver. Atleast a 4min lag. You think your cab is 5mins away when the vehicle is outside. Bring back the old app! This is not uber!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    This application wants a lot of access to your cell phone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    Best idea ever I live this application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    This is the best app for taxi. Sometimes the people talk about the drivers pick up other people, happen sometimes went the cab arrive at destination someone wiring for cab however the driver ask if called prestige the people say yes because they are late and wish to leve .. other time you take more than 5 mins to obtain out and the drivers living and do picked to obtain out from that call and take other call thanks... be paciente we are the best...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    The application seems like it would be okay for easy rooms where you wish tosee a color on your wall. I am looking to see how two various colors will look on my deck railing, and it doesn't seem this application does that. Side note: it is humorous to accidentally paint all the trees in the backyard. It is nice to see that the dev responds to reviews.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Keeps closing! Will not stay open!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    This application completely eliminates the hassle of numerous trips to the paint shop for useless paint swatches and expensive sample paints! It's very slick and simple to use... A MUST HAVE to truly see how your fresh paint color will look in your own space!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Amazing app....Easy to use...Made my painting project a breeze.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Able to visualize paints in my own spaces, adjusts for lighting, shadows, furniture, etc. Color selection is created simple to test various colors with the wheel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic Paint Color [App]  2020-4-17 21:10

    Bahut hee Ghatiya hai application not working

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    This could be better than Uber & Lyft if passengers have option to with card & making stop or round obtain vehicles quicker if you place your pick up & destination address correctly versus calling despatcher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    Amazing service friendly drivers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    Very happy with the application and service. Came in handy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    Never use prestige! After my boyfriend left his phone in a cab, the driver picked up and said he would return it in 20 mins, then proceeded to turn off the phone so we couldn't contact him. The base wouldnt give us info about him so we could file a police report. They were all rude and disrespectful while I was trying to contact the driver. I had to go to their base with the police at 5am in to obtain the info on the driver and the phone back. His name is Miguel Lucas, Vehicle 2337.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Car Service [App]  2020-4-26 13:35

    This used to be a amazing application before the recent update. Now it's asking for permission to access your media files, contacts, camera...etc. Thats too invasive for me I'd rather call the base!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Community Credit Union [App]  2019-11-7 13:12

    I can not log into my acc at all now. Modernize blocked me out. When I went online technical difficulties....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige Community Credit Union [App]  2019-11-7 13:12

    Works amazing for me! Love that bill is included.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    It does what it says, I don't understand why so much negative feedback. Thumbs up for me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Keeps closing the application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Amazing method to see paint colors without actually painting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Best paint application out there. Also, with Amazon delivering the paint to your door you don't have to with people at the store.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    This application is simple to use, fun and also very helpful. I love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic - See Paint [App]  2018-1-9 13:9

    Does a not good job of covering the walls and it doesn't understand wall borders. It appears to only see color and it pleases you selection on all locations that appear to be be the same color. Works OK if your room already has two distinct colors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic Paint Color [App]  2020-4-17 21:10

    It didn't even begin the app, just sat there frozen!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic Paint Color [App]  2020-4-17 21:10

    It only shows the front page...and just sits there doing Nothing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prestige ColorPic Paint Color [App]  2020-4-17 21:10

    Nice Nice 👌👍

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386