Read the road home reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the road home reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


    Add your opinion on the road home or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home []  2020-2-2 22:38

    Can any Creedence Clearwater Revival fan doubt that CCR is the prototypical American rock group of the sixties or that the work of John Fogerty is the heart and soul of the group? The Long Street Home takes some of the best of CCR and mixes in a few of the later Fogerty songs that best fit the CCR style.I wonder about the sequence which has the upbeat Centerfield following the dark Poor Moon Rising. Fortunate Son, one CCR political statement, might have been a better choice to follow Poor Moon. As an aside, it is amusing to see the TV jeans commercial with the audio taken from Fortunate Son.Even if you have all the CCR and Fogerty albums, this combination of CCR and Fogerty is worth getting. This album puts it all together to create a coherent whole.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home []  2020-2-2 22:38

    Just the melody I was hoping for. Still sounds as amazing as when we first heard and brings back amazing memories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home []  2020-2-2 22:38

    Its nice to have some quality audio from John. Amazing selection of CCR and solo music. Sound is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home []  2020-5-6 18:0

    Lena Rose and her family’s story is truly unbelievable. The method the siblings are separated sad. When Lena Rose goes to stay with her uncle and Mimi she is comforted by this unbelievable couple. When Lena meets Arden she tries not to obtain close to him. The characters in this book are all very unique people. You will feel God working throughout this whole book. I would give this book a higher rating than a five star review if I could.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home []  2020-5-6 18:0

    I bought this for my mother in-law. She was in the hospital and requested an amish book. At first we didn't know what she meant, so I started looking and found out. She loved this book. I waited to review until she read it. She loves the how goo hearted the amish are, and how their "trouble making" are things that a lot of us wouldn't think twice before doing. She said this is exactly the type of book she wanted. I asked her what she would rate this out of all the amish books she's read, and she said this is a amazing author and she'd rate it a 5 star, so that's what I is was not a brand fresh was a Used- Very did look brand fresh though, aside from a small crease on the back bottom cover. Still had the retail and everything. (I took if off before taking picture for gifting). No writing anywhere. Was in amazing shape! Would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home []  2020-5-6 18:0

    Beverly Lewis is an awesome author who takes her true life experiences and writes stories, drawing her readers into the plots and storylines, feeling as if they know the characters and yet, wish to know more. Having lived in Lancaster myself for 4 years and now camping there every Spring and Fall, it’s interesting to read her stories and see the locations she writes about. I’m always anxiously awaiting her next title

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home []  2020-5-6 18:0

    I love Beverly Lewis books and I think this one would be unbelievable as well but my issue is different-the print is so light that it makes reading it with my 76 year old eyes a challenge. I didn't see anywhere to report this so am inserting it here. I compared it with other books I have (I read constantly) and the print is much lighter than any of my others. How to fix this??

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home []  2020-2-2 22:38

    It’s Fogerty at his best. What else can you ask for!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home []  2020-2-2 22:38

    Fabulous melody from the leader of creedence

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home []  2020-5-6 18:0

    Anyone else feel like Beverly Lewis is running out of ideas? I kept waiting for the plot to lead somewhere, but instead it just meandered around chapter after chapter. Lewis has written really poignant books dealing with grief but this was not one of them. A snooze, for sure and for certain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home []  2020-5-6 18:0

    Beverly Lewis this was a very heart warming story about a family who had such a horrible tragedy that tore them apart but prayers and their love for God brought them full circle. Such a heart warming story you certainly have a unbelievable bonus with your writing I think I have read every book you have written and I have never been disappointed Can't wait for the one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home []  2020-2-2 22:38

    If you wish to go back in time remembering; cruising, high school, dating, and the things you did in the 60's/70's - this CD! We love listening to it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home []  2020-2-2 22:38

    It has so a lot of songs on it and I really have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home []  2020-2-2 22:38

    Amazing songs

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home []  2020-5-6 18:0

    I have always been a large Beverly Lewis fan and have continued to for her expensive (especially the kindle prices) books. This book was like it was written by a beginning writer. It’s the first book of hers that I actually skipped entire pages because it was so boring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home []  2020-5-6 18:0

    I miss the unbelievable plots and storytelling of Lewis’ original books. This book was mostly a description of life in an Amish community, but a charming read. It had some romance which saved the story. She has written so a lot of unbelievable stories in the past and was truly the original and best Amish storyteller for years. Perhaps test something new—tell some stories of modern Amish communities and the problems involved in our show ybe follow those who leave the Amish community, attend school, become a part of a shunned community of specialists who must with their past as they face the future of a fresh life outside the community.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home []  2020-5-6 18:0

    Love Beverly Lewis books. This one is a small slower and sad than Ebb Tide but overall is a amazing read. No one writes Amish fiction like Beverly Lewis. She is the queen of Amish Fiction. Would highly recommend not just this one but all of her books if you wish an authentic and accurate acc of the Amish!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home []  2020-2-2 22:38

    DAMN! What a amazing rocking set of songs from John Fogerty Solo and with CCR.Every track is a gem. I really enjoyed the "LIVE" songs that feature Billy Burnette. This guy Billy was in Fleetwood Mac for a short while and that guy can sing and play. He's the excellent singer/guitarist to play with John Fogerty. I hope that Billy and John sing some duets in the future and write some songs together. The Burnette family are rich in Rock 'N' Roll history. In fact the cd is playing so I can obtain into a amazing workout. Adios friends and you some John Fogerty and Billy Burnette. What a combo and in each players solo outing on CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home []  2020-2-2 22:38

    Arrived on time. This was a Christmas bonus and my mate loved it !!! Thanks :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home []  2020-5-6 18:0

    This author won me to Amish reading with The Shunning and I have never stopped! Although I have fun other authors, she is a favorite and this story proved her writing is still super. I enjoyed this story very much and am so sure others will, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Home (The Survivalist Book 12) []  2020-1-18 19:8

    I love this series, every time I begin reading I can't stop!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Van Life: Your Home on the Road []  2020-5-18 19:12

    Liked several stories and how the book is well organized, I want the pictures were properly set for reading books. In general, this is a amazing introduction to Van life for someone that’s seriously considering it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Landing: The Long Road Home []  2020-7-8 19:1

    I’ve followed Liz’s blog and life journey since 2012 and was delighted to obtain a review copy of “Crash Landing.” I believe that being a long-term follower helped me understand and appreciate the compound journeys in its journey is religious identity. Liz’s maternal and paternal grandparents arrived in Canada as religious refugees from Russia, and their Mennonite identity was the core of her upbringing. A lot of readers will resonate with her heartfelt struggle to simultaneously hold family members close while distancing their fundamentalist beliefs.Another journey—bound up with the religious one—was embracing the person she truly is, even though that meant leaving behind a career, marriage, and globe view that no longer served her. She writes, “It took decades before I had the courage to do anything about it and step into my power. I never wanted to damage anyone’s feelings, and I didn’t wish to obtain damage myself, so the easiest thing was to acquiesce. And so, my spirit went to sleep for thirty years.”Yet another journey was tracing by motorcycle what she calls the “Ancestor Trail” of her family in Canada. She felt that her ancestors’ fears had imprinted on her DNA even though she’d had nothing to fear in her lifetime. The only method to exorcise that imprint was by taking a spiritual quest and connecting as best she could with her ancestors’ experiences and the wisdom of the lands that had hosted e motorcycle plays an essential role in all of Liz’s journeys, sometimes crashing and forcing her to face things she’d tried to ignore, sometimes bringing people into her life, and at other times, helping her spirit to soar.“Crash Landing” ends on notes of acceptance and reconciliation as she takes her ninety-one-year-old father to the western plains where his father was buried in an unmarked grave in an abandoned cemetery she’d found on the Ancestor Trail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Landing: The Long Road Home []  2020-7-8 19:1

    Liz Jansen weaves together a compelling memoir incorporating colourful threads of ancestral research, spiritual guides, and motorcycle traveling that illustrate her journey of self-evolution. The idea that one’s upbringing, influenced by generations, may place us on streets we have not intended, and how to make one’s own will existence in its stead, is the key takeaway for me. Join Liz as she shares her struggles, successes and lessons in developing a trusting, joyful and purposeful life, and frees her spirit (and perhaps yours) along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home: News From Lake Wobegon []  2020-7-2 20:12

    If you like the Lake Woebegone stories then you will like this compilation. Only problem with it was there was one track that apparently didn't obtain copied to the CD correctly. But I think there is like 36 stories on this set so having one that I couldn't listen to completely was not that huge of an issue. I'm sure I could have tried returning and gotten a replacement but didn't test that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home: News From Lake Wobegon []  2020-7-2 20:12

    Exactly what i was looking for and was on time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Van Life: Your Home on the Road []  2020-5-18 19:12

    An enjoyable book to leaf through with attractive pictures and sections on lots of various sorts of van conversions. I'm not quite ready to abandon my 3-star hotel comfort on the road...but it's lovely to sip coffee in the sun on our veranda and dream.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Van Life: Your Home on the Road []  2020-5-18 19:12

    The recipient loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home: News From Lake Wobegon []  2020-7-2 20:12

    A amazing edition to my collection. Keillor and Lake Wobegon stories are not only entertaining but full of down home common sense that a lot of of us can identify.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home: News From Lake Wobegon []  2020-7-2 20:12

    Love to listen to these folksy stories while I exercise after 2 hip surgeries.... It helps create the time pass quickly and I am fully entertained doing something I consider a drudge. Thumbs up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home: News From Lake Wobegon []  2020-7-2 20:12

    Whats to say, you can't go wrong with Garrison Keillor. I loaded it up to a USB drive and carry it in the vehicle on trips. Makes the miles go by pleasantly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Home (The Survivalist Book 12) []  2020-1-18 19:8

    I purchased the latest book yesterday and didn't place it down until I finished it tonight (except to sleep latest night). Thank you for giving us this series and bringing these characters to life for each of us. I feel like I know them personally and enjoyed how this talented author wrapped up each persons story, yet am saddened that the series has ended. This author is the only writer (and I have read hundreds of books the latest few years) that was able to pull me in and literally not allow go. His style of writing is the very best I have ever read. Each hero in the series are strong, committed, loyal, and often times funny. Love Tanner and Samantha's banter, comraderies, journey and Mason and Bowies journey. I truly hope he continues to write and I hope to read a fresh series by him some day soon. Thank you Arthur T Bradley again for taking me and your readers into the survivalist series and giving us what I feel is the very best story I have ever read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Landing: The Long Road Home []  2020-7-8 19:1

    I liked the experience of reading a memoir about a woman who has followed a totally various path on her life than I have!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Landing: The Long Road Home []  2020-7-8 19:1

    “CRASH LANDING The Long Street Home” is a very enjoyable read. The text fits comfortably into several various genres. As an adventure rider, I was delighted to read Liz Jansen’s description of her meandering ride across the windswept Canadian prairies. On the other hand, as a person constantly in find of more info about my roots, I found myself empathizing with the frustrations and celebrations of her search. Jensen’s story makes me wish to hop on my bike and create a related quest. If you are searching for your roots, or for a reason to take a street trip, “CRASH LANDING The Long Road” will provide the inspiration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Home (The Survivalist Book 12) []  2020-1-18 19:8

    I was very excited to read this book but at the same time I am very saddened to know the series has ended. I have been enjoying this series and the characters for a lot of years now and I almost feel as I have met them in true life and just had to say a final goodbye. I recommend all 12 books to anyone who gives it a possibility regardless of the genre you have fun because you will search a small bit of everything in these books from comedy to action to sci-fi to survival techniques and knowledge. Thank you Mr. Bradley for the years of enjoyment I have received.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Home (The Survivalist Book 12) []  2020-1-18 19:8

    This book was great. I have loved the entire series. I know all amazing things must end but dang I don't wish it to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home: News From Lake Wobegon []  2020-7-2 20:12

    I'm a longtime Keillor fan and he holds the top spot when it comes to the most carefully crafted stories ever written. "The Street Home" is another collection of his experiences transferred onto the small city of Woebegone with the fresh twist: He is now 75 years old and his subjects more with retrospective assessments of birth, life, and death so the general feel of his delivery is not as lighthearted or optimistic. He still has his wonderful, mellow voice, and the recordings now pick up his breathing AND a small whistle that puts me in mind of dentures that perhaps need to be refitted. the first few cuts I listened to, I was feeling disappointed because he just sounded more like an old man, rambling about whatever was drifting thru his head at the time, but then he got back to his more recognizable style of actual story-telling. There was a clear beginning, middle and end, to each one, and I'm happy to report, the END always carried the huge payoff of a classic wrap to the originally introduced topic. He is still Number one in my book, and I will continue to whatever he puts out on CD. I still go back to his absolute GOLD albums that include the stories like "Bruno, the Fishing Dog", "My Aunt Ellie", "The TRUCK STOP"...well, you know if you are a fan exactly what I'm talking about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home: News From Lake Wobegon []  2020-7-2 20:12

    A far as I'm concerned, Garrison is America's most beloved and talented storyteller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Landing: The Long Road Home []  2020-7-8 19:1

    It's a journey of self-discovery for Liz Jansen. It happens on and off a motorcycle. And you’re on the ride and the discovery with z digs into her past and finds how her history is changing her future. She rides Western Canada – along the path her immigrant grandparents took - walking the fields her family tamed and is is a trip she planned for years. And it changed her life before she ever pulled out of her driveway. She sold her car, furniture, place everything in storage. Then, right after she started, a serious motorcycle accident threatened to end her dream and kept her off the street for nearly two years. For her recovery, she had to go back to her hometown, search an apartment that could accommodate her wheelchair and learn one of her most difficult and unexpected lessons – how to ask for support from friends.Heading out again on the begin street as a solo woman rider enlivens the senses and lets the imagination soar. She sees what is and tries to envision what was. Riding through farm country, she sees combines and expensive farm machinery in the fields. Her grandfather had only a mule and a plow. And she smiles to herself as she wonders what he would say to her if he could see her on a motorcycle, alone, riding the ground that he worked for and e finds the old homestead, with the support from some of the neighbors she met in the area. She even finds the cemetery where her grandfather was buried, she he left behind a a young wife and a two-year old son - Liz's father.Our journey in life is a series of stops and starts. It is focusing on looking ahead while pausing to look back for memories, for lessons and for perspective. This is Liz’ journey. She invites you to go on the ride of her lifetime. And you don’t even need a helmet or a leather jacket.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Landing: The Long Road Home []  2020-7-8 19:1

    As a newer motorcyclist (4 years going on 5), "Crash Landing" adds more info to my "files". It's a refreshing look at how life throws "twisties" at you and how to overcome them and not allow them stop you on your journey. I highly recommend reading this even if you are not a motorcycle rider. You can always learn something fresh and reading any of Liz' books and "Crash Landing" in particular you'll definitely learn that giving up is not an option!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Van Life: Your Home on the Road []  2020-5-18 19:12

    Pros: Amazing Artwork/Pictures. It is a heartfelt piece and I am glad that I bought it. Cons: Not enough info that is really useful and practical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Van Life: Your Home on the Road []  2020-5-18 19:12

    The book was obviously used. Dirty smudges on cover and inside. Disappointing as it was meant to be a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Van Life: Your Home on the Road []  2020-5-18 19:12

    Bought for my friend, he loves it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Home (The Survivalist Book 12) []  2020-1-18 19:8

    Mason Raines is the kind of person we all hope we would be when push comes to shove. Page turner and exciting from from to back. We will miss him and Bowie!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Home (The Survivalist Book 12) []  2020-1-18 19:8

    This has been one of the most enjoyed survivalist series i have read. . :) I'm also satisfied he ended it when/how he did. a++

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Van Life: Your Home on the Road []  2020-5-18 19:12

    I have been following him online and watching the movement for a few years with much admiration. There is a wealth of knowledge out there and a lot of various people with websites and social media to follow. When you use the medium of a book I have a much higher expectation of depth in the content. Foster is an awesome photographer and has been knee deep in van life for a long time. I bought the book with hopes of learning so much more about the people and the families that have chosen this lifestyle but the book didn’t scratch the surface any more than the blogs that are already out there. I may be wrong but I have this suspicion that people have a deep and interesting life story that brought them to this point and I hope that at some point a book comes out that narrows down on just a half dozen of the van lifers and really tells their story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Van Life: Your Home on the Road []  2020-5-18 19:12

    I’m so envious of this life! The pictures were beautiful; they not only featured the vans themselves but also the people who own them. Definitely recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home: News From Lake Wobegon []  2020-7-2 20:12

    Love this CD. Every story is a rst Paul Harvey dies. Then vehicle talk goes. Then Letterman retires. Now Garrison leaves PHC.What is a guy supposed to do?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Landing: The Long Road Home []  2020-7-8 19:1

    Liz clearly has a deep love for motorcycles, long solitary trips and connecting deeply with her inner soul. Crash Landing is well-written memoir taking us, her beloved bike, and her ancestors on a journey to explore more about herself and her heritage. She was brought up in a strict Mennonite tradition, by kids of Russian immigrants. She traces her grandparent's stories too, and some of the hardships they went through in Russia, and trying to create a fresh life for themselves on the Canadian z moved away from her fundamentalist religious upbringing to a deeper connection and appreciation of all humanity, of the earth and of nature. Yet this book is an appreciation of her rich heritage and a reconciliation and healing of some of the traumas of her earlier life. There's plenty of motorcycling, including a life-changing crash, and there's plenty of true genuine heart-felt life. I loved the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Landing: The Long Road Home []  2020-7-8 19:1

    As a avid motorcyclist myself I enjoyed reading Liz’s book about her travels and find for her ancestral heritage. She a lot of insight about herself in find for understanding about where she comes from and how ones values come down your family tree. I enjoyed reading about her determination into seeking her roots and piecing the clues as they unfolded. It’s a well thought out novel and it’s well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Home (The Survivalist Book 12) []  2020-1-18 19:8

    Very interesting and fun series. Held my attention with each book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Van Life: Your Home on the Road []  2020-5-18 19:12

    A fun, eye-catching book that makes you wish to set out on a grand adventure and satisfy your inner road-dog. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Van Life: Your Home on the Road []  2020-5-18 19:12

    This was just what I was looking for! My 10 year old nephew had been doing a lot of research on camper vans. He loves these stories & images of van types & conversions. I read some of it too & enjoyed the upbeat tone & the amazing photography.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Landing: The Long Road Home []  2020-7-8 19:1

    I enjoyed this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crash Landing: The Long Road Home []  2020-7-8 19:1

    "Crash Landing the Long Street Home” is a beautifully written, simple to read memoir of a woman who seeks understanding through travelling to the same locations her Mennonite grandparents lived after fleeing the Bolshevik Revolution in Russia. She takes their lessons of hardship and misadventure to tutorial her on her own path towards her genuine self. Self-reflective and adventurous, this is well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home: News From Lake Wobegon []  2020-7-2 20:12

    As always, Garrison Keillor shows why he is a master storyteller. Be aware of one thing, however--in my set, disc 1 is labelled "Disc 3", and vice-versa. It may be limited to just one pressing. But once you figure that out, it doesn't detract in the least from the stories. UPDATE: When I contacted Highbridge Audio directly about the mislabeled discs, they quickly and cheerfully offered to replace them. A class act!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road Home: News From Lake Wobegon []  2020-7-2 20:12

    We have fun listening to these stories again and again when traveling in car...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road from Home: The Story of an Armenian Girl []  2020-1-8 19:13

    I read everything I can about the genocide since it is my heritage. Her attitude and hope was so refreshing, knowing how easily giving up must have been. It was also a small various in that her family seemed to be spared some of the truly horrific and unimaginable events. Not to minimize what they endured, but grateful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road from Home: The Story of an Armenian Girl []  2020-1-8 19:13

    I liked this very much. After finishing it I passed it on to my 15 year old granddaughter to educate her. I believe that most people are totally unaware of the atrocities that the Armenian people suffered in those days and how their historic lands were stolen from them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road from Home: The Story of an Armenian Girl []  2020-1-8 19:13

    This is a very compelling book...I highly recommend it....a part of history that I don't think a lot of Americans ever have read about....how the Armenians were persecuted, terribly, by the dly, the Turks will still not admit to their part in this slaughter. The Armenians were Christians.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road from Home: The Story of an Armenian Girl []  2020-1-8 19:13

    David Kherdian's story of his mother's escape from the Armenian Genocide a fine introduction of the tragic era to younger readers. Thankfully, much of the harsh reality of the times is omitted to remain sensitive to young readers' minds. The author did a amazing job portraying the characters, without betraying a bias that he's writing about his mother. However, the book climaxes with his parents' marriage-- no doubt a high point to the author-- but the reader is left expecting another notable weakness of the book is revealed in Veron's statement: "my nation and my religion were the forces that sustained me" (p. 212). The book clearly portrays Veron's love for Armenia, but her relationship with God is hardly mentioned at all throughout her journey-- hardly a sustaining force. Although the adult reader will have to sidestep the average writing, a few dull spots, and some inconsistencies, the book succeeds as a good, general introduction to the genocide for young readers-- as well as a tribute to Veron's courageous life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road from Home: The Story of an Armenian Girl []  2020-1-8 19:13

    This is one of the best first-hand accounts about the Genocide that I've read. FINALLY, a book was written about it for younger people. Once I begin teaching, this will definitely be on my list of needed erdian started off a bit slow--I wasn't sure I'd obtain through it. But once I hit page 20, I couldn't place it down! It was captivating, touching. I just wanted Veron to be okay--to be able to understand what was going on. For her to survive. Only two books have ever managed to bring tears to my eyes, and this was one of them.Even though I'm not Armenian, I've read countless books about both Armenia and the Genocide. This definitely is one of the best. It's simple to understand (though the fact that it happened is still so difficult for me to comprehend).If you're an Armenian parent (or grandparent!) struggling to tell your teen about it, this book will support greatly. I highly recommend it. Kherdian should be given high praises for having the courage to pen this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road from Home: The Story of an Armenian Girl []  2020-1-8 19:13

    Too few of us know about the Armenian genocide. I haven't read this book yet, but my granddaughter did and she felt it was an perfect book. Like the books about life during WW II and the holocaust, this is a true eye-opener and should be read more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road from Home: The Story of an Armenian Girl []  2020-1-8 19:13

    This was the first "true story" type of book that I ever read at age 12. At age 32, I still love this book and was thrilled to search a collectible (signed) copy available to buy. It obviously created a lasting impression on me. In school, I can recall being created to read "The Diary of Anne Frank". That book, also, touched me deeply, however I would like to see THIS book added to a needed reading list for students, as it clearly and emotionally illustrates battle through the eyes of a young girl as no book I have ever read has done. It leaves a lasting impression on kids and adults alike. I am sharing my copy with both of my kids and hope that it illicits the same response in them as it did in me causing them to be much more AWARE of what goes on in the globe around them. I highly recommend this book to everyone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road from Home: The Story of an Armenian Girl []  2020-1-8 19:13

    The Street from Home is a very amazing book about the Armenian Genocide. It provides a moving perspective on the poor happenings that were perpetrated versus the Armenians. The Life of Veron Dumehjian is one that is filled with grief and this feeling is conveyed throughout the book as it relates the experiences that she had to endure while living in Turkey. Although it is not a direct acc by Veron, it is written by her son, David Kherdian, who does a amazing job relating her story. It explains in full detail the horrible conditions of the camps the Armenians were forced onto and shows the heavy result the genocide had on the Armenian people. This book attempts to present just one of the a lot of lives that were devastated by the genocide. Kherdian successfully accomplishes this goal by describing the aftermath of the genocide and his mothers very low status within Turkey. The main notice that is conveyed throughout the piece is that a lot of social groups condensed into a little zone can lead to conflict. Kherdian shows time and time again examples of how the various cultures struggled to peacefully coexist in the same country leading one group to oppress the though Kherdian successfully shows these points, his ending of the book is one major downfall of his work. As the book ends, Veron makes plans to move to America to live with her soon to be husband. However, the book cuts itself short before she gets the opportunity to move to the U.S. and raise her family. It the goes on to briefly explain her life after the genocide in a short paragraph. Although it is not important to fully detail her life within the U.S., Kherdian still should have included a larger zone in the book to describing his mothers life within the U.S. and how she was treated once arriving there. Amid this shortcoming, Kherdian still manages to create this book a must read for anyone who wants to learn about the effects of the Armenian Genocide on a person who survived. This book remains as one of the best ways to learn about the atrocities that were committed during the Armenian Genocide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road from Home: The Story of an Armenian Girl []  2020-1-8 19:13

    I read this book several years ago after meeting an Armenian grandmother whose relatives lived and died it the war. Amazing amazing book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road from Home: The Story of an Armenian Girl []  2020-1-8 19:13

    Written from a private perspective, this was a very sad book, and needed reading in our house (husband is Armenian). Armenian genocide should be needed element of any globe history class, especially given that it was the inspiration for the Holocaust

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Viggo Mortensen and Smit-McPhee deliver amazing performances but it doesn't really hook you up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    Have not yet read more than the introduction and a bit of the first chapter - the writing gives this old writer chills of envy as I want I strung words together as well as she - and I've been at it longer than she has! For those who _enjoy_ reading about battle - don't miss this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road to Home: My Life and Times []  2019-12-23 19:41

    This is an engaging story of a brilliant student becoming a highly accomplished and humane adult. RAScott

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road to Home: My Life and Times []  2019-12-23 19:41

    Attractive story, beautifully written.. read in one breadth...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road to Home: My Life and Times []  2019-12-23 19:41

    Education, road intelligent (partially due to his road mates of youth), networking ability, social skills, socializing selectively among the most influential, are contributors to this author's achievements in life thus would be worth while for Mr. Gregorian to use his skills and experiences in helping today's independent Armenia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finding the Road Home (Hearts of Oklahoma Book 1) []  2020-6-25 18:40

    This is a amazing story with a lot of twists and turns that keeps you reading. The characters were likable and interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finding the Road Home (Hearts of Oklahoma Book 1) []  2020-6-25 18:40

    Daisy Anderson arrives in city with her five orphaned nieces and nephews to start her fresh job with the police department. Her heart-throb boss, Chief Mitch Rainbolt, is ready to her protection and help, but this is not what this self-sufficient woman wants.With the story’s theme of facing the challenges encountered along the street of life, it’s encouraging to see how Mitch and Daisy embrace their trials with faith and learn to accept support from others. A amazing hope filled book accented with endearing kids and humorous pages.And the romance! I melted at the sweet dance scene, followed by a tender first kiss. Daisy and Mitch have obstacles to face on the method to their happily-ever-after, but it’s such fun to watch their love grow. And the charming epilogue is the excellent ending!I was definitely anticipating author Tina Radcliffe’s newest series, Hearts of Oklahoma. In each of her books, she brings little towns to life. You feel wrapped in the warmth of a cozy community as you turn the pages. I fell in love with the city of Rebel with its lovable citizens, cute and nearby guest ranch. Did I mention there’s a bakery? Yep, my kind of story! I can’t wait for more books featuring Rebel, Oklahoma!Favorite quote: “Sometimes you just have to step up to the plate and trust the amazing Lord will teach you how to bat.”*I was given a copy of this book with no requirement to write a review. I’m satisfied to my honest opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finding the Road Home (Hearts of Oklahoma Book 1) []  2020-6-25 18:40

    Police Chief Mitch Rainbolt, micromanaging God. Why am I not surprised?Sometimes you read a book that just sparks joy in your heart and makes you feel good. Finding The Street Home did that for me. I read it in less than a day and now I'm sad it's over. I can't wait for the next one. Tina Radcliffe brings us the first book in her fresh series, 'Hearts of Oklahoma'. And it's a super amazing chell Rainbolt is police chief of Rebel, OK, a little city full of extraordinarily sweet folks. Mitch raised his brothers and sisters and feels like he has to be the responsible person all the time. He hires a fresh deputy, Daisy Anderson, and then funds are going to be cut, so he'll have to unhire her. Daisy has just taken on her five nieces and nephews after her sister and brother in law's tragic deaths and now has them to support, plus her grandmother and a mortgage on a farm house. Can Mitch and Daisy and the rest of the little department come up with some creative ways to obtain more funding from the county? And just maybe, maybe, they can search a fresh life together?I loved every single min of this book. I have never been disappointed in any of Tina Radcliffe's books, but this one just created my heart smile. Full of precious characters, even the secondary ones, and little city charm, this book is sure to be read again! And it's one for my keeper shelf, too! Highly recommended.*My thanks to the publisher and author for a copy of this book. The opinion expressed in this review is entirely my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    A strong story, beautifully written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    Touching story that ties up a bunch of stories I had read about over the years. Simple to read, follow and sure to create a impact.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road to Home: My Life and Times []  2019-12-23 19:41

    I recognized the author's name due mainly to his role as head of the Fresh York Public Library. But glancing through the book, my interest was piqued and I genuinely enjoyed the author's vivid descriptions of his life as a member of the Armenian Christian minority in rustic parts of Iran. Later, I found myself captivated by his college years in glamorous Beirut, quite the contrast from the provincial Persian childhood. Then off to America and it is here where I have to take off a star because I grew tired and bored of plodding through tales of dreary academic politics. Fortunately we move onto the Fresh York Public Library. More interesting material. Perhaps it is my unfortunate familiarity with dreary academic politics, but I found it tiresome. But a very powerful four to four and half star effort from a very interesting gentleman and a scholar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finding the Road Home (Hearts of Oklahoma Book 1) []  2020-6-25 18:40

    Finding the Street Home by Tina Radcliffe takes put in Rebel, Oklahoma, one of my fresh favorite little towns. Daisy Anderson has just moved to city to work as a police officer and is taking care of 5 of her orphaned nieces and nephews. Mitch Rainbolt is the head police officer who hired Daisy and has grown up in Rebel. Together they work through their pasts, navigate life and look towards a future together.I am in love with Rebel, Oklahoma. I realize it is pretend, but I really wish to visit! Tina Radcliffe does an awesome job drawing you into life in Rebel. (I am totally serious about visiting) Her characters are lively and fun to obtain to know. Daisy is warm, caring, and has a huge heart. Mitch is everything a cowboy should be and has those rugged amazing looks you fall in love nding the Street Home is charming and simply fun to read. I enjoyed meeting the secondary characters and look forward to getting to know them in the rest of the series. This is a delightful read and I highly recommend Finding the Street Home.I was given this book by the publisher and not needed to write a positive review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    A amazing story of courage, love and sacrifice. These soldiers are the best our country can offer. They are all of us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    Ms Raditz has long been recognized as a very competent journalist. With this book she has earned the reputation of being a spell-binding author!She keeps your off the edge of your seat as she paints the picture of the HELL that the units are experiencing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road to Home: My Life and Times []  2019-12-23 19:41

    Although Dr. Gregorian was a not good Armenian boy from Tabriz, Iran, he had a rich cultural heritage. Influential hometown people, who were captivated by his charm and intellectual brilliance, helped him, not only just to survive, but to obtain a amazing education, leading him, by method of Beirut, to the U.S. and Stanford University where, after graduating in only 2-1/2 years (while also learning English), he earned his PhD in humanities and history. His teaching career began at San Francisco State University, where, 41 years ago, I had the privilege of being one of his students in modern European history. This was during the years of the student uprising that occurred during 1966 to 1968 at S.F. State. Since Dr. Gregorian is a historian, this memoir is created all the more richer by historical commentary that Dr. Gregorian provides vis-à-vis autobiographical events. His teaching career moves from S.F. State (where he took a year off to go to Afghanistan to study and write a classic book on Afghanistan) to the University of Texas at Austin, then to the University of Pennsylvania where he became Provost. His story makes the trials, tribulations and infighting that go on in universities actually interesting. When Dr. Gregorian took over the presidency of the Fresh York Public Library in 1981, it was suffering from extreme neglect due to Fresh York's financial crises in the late 1970's when NYC was on the edge of bankruptcy. Besides his talent for creative administration, his private virtues attract the rich and popular (i.e., Brooke Astor, Barbara Walters) to support him achieve his financial objectives for restoring the library. He turned the Fresh York Public Library from a dissipated, physically crumbling institution back to a vibrant educational center in Fresh York City. If you live in Fresh York City, you might have noticed the regeneration of Bryant Park; he was also mostly responsible for that. Following nine years as President of Brown University, Dr. Gregorian became President of the Carneige Corporation, where he is today. For American autobiographies, I can't recommend this book highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road to Home: My Life and Times []  2019-12-23 19:41

    Vartan Gregorian has written a thoroughly fascinating book about his remarkable life and accomplishments. In this day and age a amazing of attention is to the "common man", as it well should be. But we tend to overlook the fact that it is the uncommon man that leads the method to advances in our culture. Vartan Gregorian is an compelling example of the remarkable talent nature only rarely incorporates into a human body, enabling startling results to be achieved. From an unremarkable -- indeed, unpromising -- beginning, the kid Vartan depended not on his family but on his grandmother and interested strangers to encourage his budding talents. His Armenian ancestors had fled to Iran from persecution and death in Turkey. His mother died when he was a young boy and his father and his stepmother were not close to him. But through a dozens of fortuitous interventions he found his method from Iran to Stanford, where he earned his first academic degree. At Stanford he married a remarkable woman who evidently shared his ability to adjust to fresh and challenging conditions. She had her first baby in Iran as Gregorian traveled in Afghanistan on a research grant. Then Gregorian began a dizzying ascent of academic activity that took him first to San Francisco State College, then to the University of Texas, and ultimately to the University of Pennsylvania where he became provost. His descriptions of academic politics -- the confoundedly complex interactions of presidents, deans, chancellors, and trustees -- are as fascinating as they are gut-twisting. It was Gregorian's next move that place him on the public radar. He reluctantly became the head of Fresh York City's Public Library. It was a decaying empire, having reached its peak in earlier decades but now floundering with insufficient scholastic vision and financial support. Gregorian proved to be just the man with the unusual abilities to turn things gloriously around. His vast scholarly knowledge, his enthusiasm and energy, his sense of humor, and his charisma brought in tens of millions of dollars from wealthy donors who were grateful that they had a cause to believe in, as well as a man in whom they could place their trust to use their in a constructive way. Gregorian's accomplishments continued unabated as he then moved into the presidency of Brown University, ultimately becoming the head of the Carnegie Foundation. Here is a man of energy ("I was born energetic"), of vision, of knowledge, of acumen, of character, of superlative accomplishment. Here is a man to admire, to be inspired by. Here is the uncommon man who boosts culture upward.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finding the Road Home (Hearts of Oklahoma Book 1) []  2020-6-25 18:40

    Two independent, tough-as-nails, rising to the top of expectations to care for family, kind of people search each other. One is the boss, the other is the new-hire, so both are off-limits. But like pieces of a puzzle, they explore they need each other to heal. This lovely, sweet story is full of faith, love of family and friends, and the from-the-gut will to create life better for the people they care for. Woven through is humor, angst, self-reflection, and amazing dialogue.Radcliffe has the knack for attractive descriptions that place the reader smack in the middle of the story. She weaves a love story from instant attraction, to common sense that this shouldn’t work, to the discovery of each other’s secrets and vulnerabilities, to the realization that love and being together is the only answer.I didn’t wish to place this book down. I can’t wait for the next book in the Hearts of Oklahoma series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finding the Road Home (Hearts of Oklahoma Book 1) []  2020-6-25 18:40

    FINDING THE ROAD HOME by Tina Radcliffe is the first book in the Hearts of Oklahoma Book series. It’s the story of Daisy Anderson and Mitch Rainbolt.Daisy Anderson became an instant parent of five children, ranging in ages from a 10 months old baby to a set of 8 year old twins, after the sudden death of her sister and brother-in-law. It’s a job she takes seriously and is determine to lovingly cepting a fresh job to become the newest deputy for Rebel Police Department, Daisy is hoping for a new begin away from memories – for both her and the kids. She moves her family, which contains her Gran, to Oklahoma. She bought a house sight unseen because of the price, but upon arrival finds it in amazing disrepair. Hoping some elbow grease and a small luck will help, she dives right in.Police Chief Mitch Rainbolt is in desperate need of more help, but he didn’t expect his newly hired deputy to be a woman with so a lot of responsibilities – like five children and a dilapidated old house. Although he automatically feels a connection to Daisy, he’s his dues with raising his siblings. The latest thing he needs is a ready created ely on the job, Daisy’s job is in jeopardy due to lack of funding. Both Mitch and Daisy are determined to search a method to hold her job viable. Daisy’s determined to remain in Rebel where they’ve been created to feel like family and the children have adjusted so well. Mitch is determined to not laying Daisy, but he’s also determined to hold their relationship a professional one.Will Daisy be able to hold the home she has come to love? Or will repairs and the loss of a job hold her from having a home – sweet – home for her and the kids? Will Daisy’s a lot of talents come in the play in keeping her job? How can she be having feelings for her Mitch? He’s her boss and that just won’t do! Dare she dream about the bakery she’s always dreamed about?Can five small kids worm their method into Mitch’s closed off heart? He doesn’t feel that he did that well of a job the first time round in raising his siblings. After all, if he had been a better parent, his brother would still be alive won’t he? When shutting them out of his life proves nearly impossible, dare he think of life with them in it?Tina Radcliffe did an amazing job of making both Daisy and Mitch believable and lovable characters in FINDING THE ROAD HOME. Your heart feels for both of them for both their past and show situation. She makes you wish them to search a method for a romance to work and weaves a story that will have you laughing, hoping, getting mad, smiling, shaking your head, praying with Daisy and dreaming right along with them for a happily ever after. Definitely recommend FINDING THE ROAD HOME to anyone that loves a amazing romance with twist and turns and a story of hope and faith. Waiting with bated breath for the other books in this series and learning more about the Rainbolt clan!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    Great!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    A well-written, gripping telling of the hell our soldiers (and their families) experienced. I read it it two sittings!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road to Home: My Life and Times []  2019-12-23 19:41

    As astonishingly attractive book -- full of adventure, inspiration and funny moments. Vartan Gregorian is a character for our time - a man who has allow his curiosity and care for others lead him to some of the highest positions in American institutions. Highly recommend to anyone who would like to create a career of SERVICE: combining politics, teaching others, and stewardship.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finding the Road Home (Hearts of Oklahoma Book 1) []  2020-6-25 18:40

    Being a fan of Author Tina Radcliffe, I was looking forward to reading her latest release, FINDING THE ROAD HOME. I knew it would be good, but I truly LOVED this story!! Set in fictional Rebel, Oklahoma, the sweet story features Mitch and Daisy, each carrying heartaches and burdens. Daisy is raising her late sister's young children, ranging in age from elementary school-age to a baby. All of the secondary characters in this story added so much, and the entire city seemed to "come alive" as I read. A satisfying, sweet ending completed this story, making me look forward to more visits to Rebel, Oklahoma. Highly recommended and FIVE STARS!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finding the Road Home (Hearts of Oklahoma Book 1) []  2020-6-25 18:40

    Daisy Anderson is one powerful woman. Right from the begin we see that she takes on the globe with five kids who have lost their parents, a fresh job in a fresh town, and a home to restore. I worried for her mental sanity and her physical strength right off the bat. Plus, she’s a tough policewoman who is afraid of mice. I can identify with the afraid of mice thing!Poor Mitch Rainbolt starts out with the deer in the headlights persona. He wants to support the fresh neighbor, wants to maintain authority and respect with his fresh officer, and wonders how Daisy will survive with everything she’s taken on. He immediately becomes protective. And Mitch is convinced were there ever any attraction between him and his fresh officer, he was too old for her anyway. The guy’s already a hero.Daisy’s life seems to be taking off on its own bumpy roller coaster when we search out that she has a dream that has nothing to do with the life she currently lives. It just makes me wish to hug her.But then Daisy finds out her job is in problem and her globe threatens to crumble. She does her best not to allow it and what follows is a fun and creative adventure as Daisy and Mitch test to overcome their problems.I won’t tell you if Daisy loses her job and I won’t say if she gets the guy, but I will tell you by the end of this story you will have an unusual craving for , Tina Radcliffe writes sweet stories with characters that tug at your heartstrings. She always delivers a happily ever after ending that leaves you feeling upbeat and positive. I love the Oklahoma setting with cowboys and horses. And I like reading about community working together. Finding the Street Home is a unbelievable story I’m sure you’ll of all Finding the Street Home is the begin of a fresh series named Hearts of Oklahoma, so I know there will be more terrific stories to come!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    It was an perfect book. I would recommend it to anybody that wants to see what it can be like in Iraq. We sure do not need to go back there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    I Love this Book Martha Raddatz has a champion

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Long Road Home: A Story of War and Family [Book]  2017-11-6 18:0

    This book is an intense comprehensive view of an Troops unit in Iraq as the insurgency started and how it affected the men and their families. A amazing read and one that should be read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road to Home: My Life and Times []  2019-12-23 19:41

    I recommend this book to everyone who has dout that his or her background is going to stop him or her from advancing in life. A amazing real story of anyone can succeed and obtain into high ranks in America a land of opportunity

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road to Home: My Life and Times []  2019-12-23 19:41

    I first learned of Vartan Gregorian when he became provost of the University of Pennsylvania while I was attending grad school there. He was a colourful figure who seemed to be as much at odds with the university as the contentious students during the turbulent late 70's. Later, he went on to head the Fresh York Public Library and then Brown University. He seemed to have a magical method to become influential and well-liked. After reading this book, I liked him a lot and wished I'd had a possibility to know him while I was at Penn. Gregorian is a man of letters and amazing egorian's story of his life is as charming as his public persona. From the opening lines about his life in Tabriz, Iran as a member of the Armenian minority community there, to his wise grandmother who raised him, his life is exciting and fraught with tragedy and pitfalls. His mother dies in childbirth and his father essentially abandons the family. Somehow, Vartan manages to search an education despite amazing difficulties and he is sponsored finally to go to the Armenian University in Beirut. From there, his career as a professor and man of letters takes off and he soars, always helped by mates of influence who provide that wind under his wings. And he's grateful. He moves some thirty times (not thirty jobs, as he points out) and goes from Stanford to Texas to Penn, to Fresh York and locations in between. All along he meets luminaries like Jackie Kennedy Onassis, the Queen of England, makes mates with former BU president John Silber and yet seems to stay folksy and unaffected by all the e book is highly readable and a fine memoir--whether you've heard of Gregorian or not, this is a unbelievable tale about a man who overcame ridiculously poor odds to become one of America's most influential public figures in education. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Road to Home: My Life and Times []  2019-12-23 19:41

    Vartan Gregorian's autobiographic tract, "A Street to Home," tells an extraordinary story. It is the quintessential American Success Story. Here is an Armenian immigrant who comes from a village in Northern Iran, with his high school education completed in Jemaran, the Armenian School of considerable note in Beirut, who earns a BA and a PhD from Stanford (in history, specialty: Afghanistan), teaches at San Francisco State and UT, Austin, ends up being Dean, Provost and almost the President of U. Penn., rescues and forges the renaissance of the Fresh York Town public library system from imminent disaster by taking over as president for eight years, becomes the president of Brown University for the next nine years and along the way, turns down the Chancellorship of UC Berkeley, the Presidency of Columbia Univ., Univ. of Miami, Univ. of Michigan, Univ. of Rochester and a lot of others, before becoming president of the Carnegie at pinnacle of academic positions of leadership, the presidency of a university, is not a possibility given to very a lot of people. That privilege of being the visionary leader of an institution of higher learning (as well as its chief fund raiser) is reserved to the best of the best and Vartan Gregorian has been one of the most sought after candidates for that post over the latest twenty years being on almost everyone's short list! To say that he went from humble beginnings to the very top of the intellectual and academic life in America is to considerably understate the miracles that have paved the method of this deserving and gifted man's life journey. The perilous street that has lead him to the zenith of what America has to a scholar is depicted with amazing humility and panache in the pages of "The Street to Home," a Simon and Schuster 2003 publication. Everyone interested in how fate outstrips logic and predictability ought to read this book. Here is the chronicle of how the brilliance of a child is first noted and appreciated enough somehow (by a French consular Attache' who happens to be Armenian) and then rewarded and protected by a long chain of benefactors and mates in the middle East (mostly Armenians) and in America (Armenians and a lot of more non Armenians) both, catapulting a strange boy in amazing need for love and acceptance to shine as an intellectual and scholar, to defeat the toughest of tasks as an administrator, mediator, moderator, visionary, fund raiser, diplomat, keeper of the faith, lighter of the torch of knowledge and learning in Philadelphia, in Fresh York City, in Providence, Rhode Island and in Fresh York Town again where, since 1997, he has been the president of the Carnegie Corporation which is a philanthropic organization of amazing weight and import in the cultural life of America and indeed the world. There are a lot of immigrant stories that create America's spinning roulette wheel of success seem impossible to believe. Here is another such spectacular tale told by the master communicator himself, the staunch believer in education, the power of books, the beauty of scholarship and a man who has found his niche in high society and academe in America versus impossible agine a young boy in Tabriz, Iran, born in 1934 to Armenian parents in this Northern Province of Persia known as Azerbaijan. His mother, Shoushig, dies when he is six and a half years old. Together with his small sister Ojik, he is raised by their maternal grandmother, Voski Mirzaian. Her's is the strongest and most lasting influence on this not good boy's life. She is mother and father and grandmother to them since their father is never around, working elsewhere, such as near oil fields, to create ends meet, and is never a warm father anyway, even when he is around. In fact, he is a strange, cold, distant, remarried man who never encourages small Vartanig, never teaches him anything (even though he gives personal English lessons to others), never gives him any sort of tip or love of any sort! These circumstances alone ought to be enough to scar a man for life and create it hard for him to have sufficient self-confidence to create it in this cruel world. Add to that the changing of hands of their province between Persia and Soviet Russia, the Second Globe War, depravity, being part of a Christian Minority in an overwhelmingly Muslim town and country, poverty, lack of food, clothing, proper shelter, constant peril and it is a miracle indeed that this boy grew up to amount to anything at all. The info of these harrowing times are depicted with amazing care and meticulous detail in the first fifth of the book, The Street to Home. Here we have the familiar positive influence of the Armenian Church, becoming an acolyte and developing a very warm relationship with the steady, ancient tradition of the liturgy and faith that is the hallmark of the Armenian Apostolic tradition. The solace Vartanig derives from these experiences acts as a counterweight to the lack of love and nourishment at home under his father's roof with his younger wife who cares very small for him or his sister. Vartan has his grandmother who teaches him wisdom, myth, faith, morality, history and traditional Armenian tall tails all brewed in one living magic cauldron. Stars and winds and ghosts and other mythological figures intermingle and fire up this precocious boy's imagination as a steady nightly diet administered by his grandmother and her tender loving care. It is remarkable how much of this he reproduces more than fifty years later in the pages of his autobiography. His is a genuine and profound love for his grandmother. Plus, he is far too smart not to absorb all he can learn from her about life and this globe naturally. Vartan grows and observes the changing globe around him. Soviet communists come and go, muslem extremism is always suspected to be a palpable threat to the Armenians and to all Christian boys and girls in particular. Pedophiliacs must be avoided and are rumored to be all around. Road wars with Muslim boys are routine. Vartan reaches his teen years, attending school with worn out shoes, without to books but able to read everything written in Armenian he can obtain his hands on at the library of the Armenian church and community center. He then starts to write for the Armenian newspaper "Alik" as well about everyday affairs and even deliver eulogies at the funeral of necessary Armenian citizens of Tabriz. From these surroundings, he is somehow able to extricate himself at the age of fifteen at the bold suggestion of the French Vice-consul, Edgar Maloyan, who instructs him he go to Beirut and attend high school at Jemaran. The first turning point or plot point of this story is his grandmother authorizing his departure knowing that it is best for him and his future to leave their village and embrace the larger world. The crown jewel of Armenian schools in Beirut in the fifties with an emphasis on French (and Arabic) instruction and a thorough Armenian education including classical Armenian and Armenian history and culture beyond a normal high school degree was Nshan Palanjian Jemaran. But such a school was simply unreachable for a not good boy from Tabriz whose father would not be of any support and who spoke no Arabic or French to start with! But he did manage to go to Beirut on his own with just $50 to his name, search people to sponsor him, to take him under their wings, nurture him, search for him, donate food, arrange create shift dwelling at some sort of "Hotel Luxe" until boarding school facilities were inaugurated a few years hence, and even teach him French on the side so that he could catch up and graduate a few years behind schedule but brilliantly. This unlikely passage to Beirut and an institution of higher learning, makes Vartan think of the words of Graham Greene who once said and he quotes: " There is always one moment in childhood when the door opens and lets the future in." That was Vartan's is at Jemaran that his knack for being noticed, appreciated, aided and nurtured takes root in earnest. In Beirut, in the early and middle nineteen fifties, around the intellectual community of Jemaran, a lot of notable Armenians take on his cause. Chief among them is Simon Vratsian, the principal of the school. Vartan becomes one of the unofficial secretaries of this honorable Armenian intellectual who was the latest prime minister of the first Armenian Republic before Armenia fell into the clutches of the Soviet empire in 1920. Vartan reads and learns all he can obtain his hands on at Jemaran. In addition, he writes a lot of of Vratsian's letters since Simon is almost blind by then. Vartan, through this experience, if nothing else, becomes groomed for academic administration since he is exposed to it at a very early age and in all its multiple facets of fund raising and community affairs and public relations and vision and rigor and all other aspects of pedagogy. Vartan, in need of a father figure, in need of people to believe in him and encourage him, finds a lot of in Beirut and in Jemaran, all of which is delicately and precisely depicted in The Street to Home. He completes the entire venerable "Hayakidagan" (Armenology) course, reads voraciously, learns about life in the quick and wild city which Beirut was in the 1950s and graduates with honors ready to be shipped out to the West coast where he is accepted in Stanford. Le Petit Paris, as Beirut is referred to, makes a man out of him and a man hungry for e next fifth of the book is about his spectacular career at Stanford both as an undergraduate and graduate student. Again, his brilliance and remarkable attributes are detected by professors who become his champions for life! He is helped by these historians and scholars throughout his academic journey. They see a future for him he cannot even imagine and take it upon themselves to walk him through the steps to achieve greatness! Vartan is appreciated and guided by giants in his field who pave the method for him and are always rewarded by how well he does, given these opportunities. Instead of being supported by Jemaran throughout his stay at Stanford, he receives University help at the end of two years, finishes his BA that quickly and starts his graduate program right then and there. He has a rich life at Stanford, which molds him further as a man and as a scholar. He meets his future wife there and marries her in such spectacular fashion that I do not wish to spoil it by paraphrasing the story here. You will have to read pages 132-135 to see for yourself. Clare Russell learns Armenian and becomes his friend for life from that time on. Theirs is a satisfied marriage and one where the journey is shared and burdens distributed and hardships met with equal courage and valor on both their parts.And its not that Vartan does not place Clare in harm's way! For starters, he receives a substantial travel and research grant to spend time in London, Paris, Beirut, Kabul and Karachi. His aim is to gather the raw data for his thesis on Afghanistan's transition to becoming a modern state. He takes Clare along for this trip but she is already pregnant so by the time they arrive in Beirut, she gives birth and stays there while Vartan goes to Iran, Afghanistan and Pakistan and back on his own. This remarkable woman now has to fend for herself in a hotel room (where the giant cockroaches are described in vivid detail in the book) with a newborn son! She does so with the support of all the same cast of characters associated with Jemaran and the thriving Armenian community in Beirut when Vartan was there alone 6 years earlier. History repeats itself, Vartan avails himself of the generosity and friendship of old acquaintances and his research makes very amazing ck to California they come and a job as a history instructor at San Francisco State University. Why? Because there are no jobs that can be arranged at AUB or Jemaran in Beirut! Vartan would have loved staying in Beirut. He tries and his meteoric rise to the top of US academic circles is because there are no suitable teaching jobs for him in Beirut! Lucky for us, one could say. Vartan faces the middle to late sixties in San Francisco. A less than ideal choice given the turmoil at the local Universities then, the hippy movement, the sit ins, the Black Panthers, the anti-war movement... It is a mess and a fresh assistant professor has to face it all in a hot seat that was SF State. Not as poor as Berkeley, as the book explains, but is no surprise then that the newly minted PhD who is barely able to create ends meet with an academic salary at a state school (living with a wife and son) and teaching part time here and there including Stanford and other colleges, welcomes the possibility to go to the university of Texas, after a short stint at UCLA and teach at a research university with a graduate program and be a historian. His book "The Emergence of Modern Afghanistan: Politics of Reform and Modernization, 1880-1946" was just then accepted for publication by Stanford University press. In the meantime, He visits Beirut again and Armenia and hopes to write a book on the modern history of that country. Instead, he gets involved in University politics down in Austin. He is asked to support the dean and that work eventually lands him in the middle of political infighting within factions of the faculty and the administration. The Street to Home describes this in amazing detail in chapter 10. Vartan Gregorian, learns to be an active player in University politics at UT. He then takes an endowed chair in Armenian studies at U Penn. and escapes the firings and turmoil that leave no friendly faces down in Texas. He also joins the history department of this prestigious ivy league school and embarks on the quick track career to high level university administration. He first becomes the founding dean of the college of arts and sciences at the age of thirty five! This is followed by heroic efforts at organizing the university for the bicentennial of our nation in 1976, a major fund raising campaign, and the attainment of the top academic post of Provost. Dr. Gregorian learns what its like to with the board of Trustees of a university and all the internal politics and machinations that would create the chatter at the Turret of Babel sound like a Gregorian Chant. He perseveres, helps solve a lot of of U Penn's issues and sets a very amazing course for the university. Alas, there is opposition to his ascension to the post of President. In the meantime, he agonizes over the of being Berkeley's Chancellor, a lifelong dream of his and ultimate goal throughout his early academic career. He decides to stay at Penn because he is told he should finish what he started. He is told that he is a shoe in for the presidency. He should just wait and assume the helm. Alas, he is blocked at the end and a lot of of the fat cats who are trustees of the university who do not like him are, allow us say, blue bloods, who do not believe he would have the "social graces" (or the looks, perhaps) for such a job... Hmm... racism? You bet! Discrimination versus a darker skinned, curly haired, short Armenian man whose brilliance and dedication and virtues they could not see? Surely! Philadelphia is well depicted in this book as being full of "Mayflower" syndrome suffering WASPs. Not good Vartan falls victim to their ingrate state.But, the star of this story ascends far beyond a stuffy old school's board room antics and lands as the savior of the Fresh York Town Public Library system. This eighty nine distinct branch or property system which was at the verge of collapse and irreversible decay is resurrected under the able leadership of Dr. Gregorian for eight long years of fourteen hour days and double lunches and double dinners and fund raising and consciousness raising activities and innovations and vision setting leadership. At the completion of that renovation campaign he finally accepts the presidency of an Ivy League School, Brown University, in Providence Rhode Island. His nine years there reorient that school towards a far more successful path and improve its minority and gender distribution and hiring practices and a lot of other modern innovations that take Brown to a far higher ground of success than it was in 1989 when Dr. Gregorian took over its e recent chapter in the career of this tireless and remarkable man dedicated to academia, scholarship, libraries, books, teaching and a life of the mind is to head up the Carnegie Corporation, which is a charitable organization of the first caliber dedicated to the betterment of the globe through the dissemination of knowledge. Dr. Gregorian is a satisfied man from all appearances. He is a tireless advocate for causes he believes in with a passion. His enthusiasm is contagious. He sets courses for action and follows through with them till the end. He is a no nonsense achiever who has aided a lot of a worthwhile cause with absolute dedication and imperturbable resolve. He has never rested on his laurels nor has he taken the simple method could imagine that being an Armenian and an immigrant gave Dr. Gregorian the advantage over more traditional local talent. He sure had something to prove and he was hungry throughout the journey. He appreciated all that was done for him and he took none of it for granted. He wanted to create his life mean something. He knew of the Armenian genocide and the displacement of his people. He knew that an Armenian owes his being alive to divine fate and that squandering his life away and the opportunities so a lot of had sacrificed so much to create possible for him would be cruelly wasted if it were not his task to create them all proud. As this book shows, one can not praise this dedicated administrator enough for all the potential he has unleashed in Fresh York, Philadelphia and Rhode Island by untiring dedication and a principled approach to the betterment of this land of freedom he has adopted as his only criticism of the book is that it leaves so much out! There is so much more one would have liked to hear him describe and discuss. For instance, and this is just the hint of the iceberg, how did he perceive the differences between the Armenians he met in Beirut from the Iranian Armenians he knew back in Tabriz and Teheran? How about the Armenian communities in the SF bay zone and Philadelphia, NY and Providence? Any differences and similarities there, he would care to dissect for us? What happened to his book on Armenia? Are there notes left of that work? His research and plans? Is that water under the bridge now? Did he ever produce any graduate students of his own in Texas or U Penn? What are his PhD students up to, if he has had any? That is, what is his intellectual legacy as a scholar? And another thing, what does he think of Afghanistan today? The book makes reference to 9-11 and to unrelated speeches he has given in 2002. How about Afghanistan? He was, after all, a globe expert in this arena at one point not so long ago. Similarly, what efforts has he created on behalf of the Armenian cause or for and independent Armenia since 1991? What are his views on how Armenia's intellectual capital can be preserved or augmented? What can we do and what course of action would he suggest given his vast experience at administering universities and charitable organizations? It would support a lot if he would write publicly and allow everyone know what he sees as a best coarse of action. Dr. Gregorian is an asset of immeasurable proportions to a community that can only be awed and proud to call him one of their own. In short, read The Street to Home. Its notice to all Armenians and Americans seems to be, you can search a home (after all) if you hold your eyes wide begin in this land of vast opportunity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finding the Road Home (Hearts of Oklahoma Book 1) []  2020-6-25 18:40

    Finding the Street Home simply created me smile! It is everything a sweet romance should be. Heart-warming. Funny. Sweet. Add just a pinch of conflict and there you have it!I loved Mitch! This cowboy-police chief had sacrificed himself to raise his five younger siblings when their mom died and he was only twenty-one. Though he created plenty of mistakes, his heart was in the right place. He was, unbeknownst to himself, the town's most eligible bachelor and had no plans on changing that status. Until, of course, Daisy entered his life.Daisy was the tomboy twin who had never thought about more domestic activities. Her sister was a natural mother. Yet when her sister died, leaving her five children, Daisy couldn't support but step up to care for them. (Sound familiar?)Both Mitch and Daisy had loving hearts and yet they were each so stubborn! Mitch was a bit of a control freak - Daisy even accused him of trying to micromanage God! He required to learn that he couldn't wrap everyone he loved in bubble wrap to protect them. He had to trust God to be e folks in the city of Rebel were precious! I loved the method they embraced Daisy and her family, ready to support and to y things created me laugh throughout the story. The clever business name - Beep Jeep Tours - for one. The trip, where Mitch taught the oldest nephew and niece to fish and the conversations they had. So cute and so funny!And the swooniest part had to be when Mitch asked Daisy to dance. Awww!I've come to realize that Tina Radcliffe is so amazing at writing witty repartee. Her dialog is sooo amazing and very natural.If you have fun sweet romance with a Christian flavor, you are sure to be blessed by this lovely story!I was given a copy of this book. I was not needed to give a favorable review nor was any received for this review. All comments and opinions are my own.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    honhill steering wheel lock stainless steel anti theft security system for truck suv auto van reviews milenco 0482 classic steering wheel lock reviews buyers products 10 foot heavy duty vernier adjustable locking control cable reviews keylessoption keyless entry remote control car key fob replacement for kobutah2t reviews ctcauto 12v car alarm horn siren with pa speaker 5 tone sound warning alarm horn for train car truck reviews findauto 12v electronic car siren 7 tone sound alarm horn loud warning horn for car truck boat rv reviews car alarm system with remote start easy setup keyless entry lcd all in one reviews banvie speaking motorcycle alarm system with voicing out warning and remote engine start stop reviews mp essentials stick on battery wireless red led flashing light car fake dummy alarm reviews remote key fob case shell cover compatible with cadillac dts cts sts xts ats srx escalade c7 corvette 4 5 6 buttons reviews ezzy auto a pair silicone rubber key fob case key covers key jacket skin protector fit for acura mdx rdx rlx ilx tlx reviews ezzy auto rose 4 buttons silicone rubber key fob case key cover key jacket skin protector fit for escape explorer reviews allway gear for a8l d4 mechanism screen 4h0857273 reviews ppb1 parapunch bass eq reviews hertz h8 dsp digital interface processor reviews bulova 98a245 reviews parking aid with 4 sensors and digital display reviews howard stern fist sirius xm satellite radio lapel pin tie tack reviews amzparts rcd330 carplay mib car radio fit for golf 5 6 jetta mk5 mk6 tiguan cc polo passat 6rd 035 187b reviews compatible with mercury grand marquis 2003 2010 double din stereo harness radio install dash kit reviews

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386