Read the sacrifice box reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the sacrifice box reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice Box []  2020-1-14 19:31

    When you tout Gremlins, Breakfast Club, Stranger Things, and Stephen King they all have some things in common. They were well known in the 80s and they were based in the United States. Being a kid of the 80s and from a city in Indiana where Stranger Things would have been based on I can tell you I didn't know any children named Sep or Lamb. There certainly wasn't a city across the water that had windmills in the 80's or called their mother "mum". That would be because this book is not based in the US. The first publication was in Amazing Britian. If you are down with the story and lingo being based in the UK thats perfectly fine. For me when I was already hyped for what was advertised it just quickly turned me off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice Box []  2020-1-14 19:31

    What are the rules of the War Club?You do not talk about War DO NOT talk about War Club!If someone yells "stop!", goes limp, or taps out, the war is urth rule: only two guys to a might be asking why I'm bringing up War Club in a review of Sacrifice Box but lets be honest. Is there ever not a amazing time to bring up War Club? And did it ever go well to break the rules of War Club? Right. Plus, like War club, this box has a set of version come to the box version begin it after version take back your l seems straightforward, right? When is anything straight forward for twelve-year-olds I ask you. Taking a lot of the best parts of Stephen King, Stewart starts off Stand by Me and goes straight to It in Final Jeopardy, without the thirty-year time skip (well, not for Mack, Hadley, Lamb, Arkle, and Sept). In the summer of 1982 five mates who spend a summer bonding place five sacrifices in a box, create a pact on the rules and leave. Four years later? This where our faithful heroes stand.Each is dealing with their own individual traumas: having lost family members, self-esteem, being bullied as the nerd, for preference. These things have torn them apart rather than having brought them together. Here would be where my only criticism lies. There is so much going on at once that it is really only Sept that we every truly obtain to know in depth. While I wish to praise Stewart for going with an omniscient point of view (which is rare these days in young adult novels), I do wonder if going hero by hero point of view in stead might have given each hero more depth and more connection to the anwhile, while our group of mates have been torn apart, the otherworldly box holding the long-forgotten summer of memories and sacrifices has begun to unearth itself and unleash and a horror all its own that will either further rip them to shreds (literally? You'll have to read the book) or bring them together. The box holds yet another secret from long ago from a group of children who once held and broke the same ritual during Globe Battle II in the 1940s. Let's just say that piece of history isn't done writing its tale, either. Stewart uniquely takes all this and mixes intensity and creepiness with the kind of humor cartoons like the Animaniacs, Bugs Bunny and Rug Rats won Emmys year after year (and we all watched). You know the kind… you knew as a child it was funny, but you weren't sure why? And you definitely didn't understand until 20 years later what you mom and dad found so hilarious? For instance, there is a scent that I dare a teacher, parent or student to not laugh at: "You mean my story?" said Arkle. "I mean your story, yes" What was wrong with it? I used everything on your list." Arkle fumbled with the papers o his desk and produced a crumpled sheet that was stained with food. "Setting, characterization, dialogue, theme, plot," he read. "I did all that, like. In order." Mrs. Woodbank took off her glasses and pinched the bridge of her nose. "Those are the tools of a writer's craft," she said. You're not meant to do them one at a time."Ok. Maybe it is me as an ELA specialist for fifteen years and having known, observed or had these conversations but that caused me to spit water all over my not good unsuspecting cat when I read it. That wasn't the only time, either. Completely relatable and completely on point to multiple ly, I rarely obtain to talk about motif very often but the cover of this book world-wide is quite various than the ver I have. You can see it on Goodreads, or Google. That along with some tips throughout the book brought me back to a duology near and dear to my hear from the past couple of years. I am not going to you the whole connection out right. Instead I'm going to leave you without a parting quote.During the Six of Crows/Crooked by Leigh Bardugo Crows Duology Kaz Brekker, head of the Dregs is asked why he decided on the Crows for the head of his walking cane. He could've picked anything. He could've started a whole fresh moniker, symbol. Kaz simply responded with the following- something I've come to ask around about and it seems to be embedded beautiful deeply in folklore, myths and wife's tales…."Crows remember human faces. They remember the people who feed them, who are kind to them. And the people who wrong them too. They don't forget. They tell each other who to look after and who to watch out for."- Kaz BrekkerLet's just say the crows and maybe other forces in this novel are no various than the ones Kaz Brekker has in mind, nor the ones he often models himself after.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice Box []  2020-1-14 19:31

    I *loved* this book. Stewart assembles a amazing group of characters, amazing structure and keeps you on the edge of your seat. The dialogue is outstanding and the scares are legit frightening.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the sacrifice box or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice Box []  2020-1-14 19:31

    My oh my! Just a amazing old-fashioned horror story. The Stephen King/Stranger Things comparison is a fair assessment in my opinion (which surprised me). It is scary, quick paced, but with some human lessons in the end. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice Box []  2020-1-14 19:31

    There is gruesome baddies galore is this novel, but there is also heart. The themes of this book are beautiful. I loved the characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice Box []  2020-1-14 19:31

    I really enjoyed this book! The 80's references were amazing and really appealed to me as they brought back some amazing memories. Definitely on trend at the moment as the 80's seem to be influencing a lot of books and TV series recently. I felt the friendship can defeat all angle worked really well and again was reminiscent of such classics as The Goonies/Stranger Things/Stand by l the characters were well rounded, September and Hadley were my favourites but as a whole the group worked well together.A thoroughly enjoyable read that I raced through; featuring a demonic teddy bear, different zombie monsters and assassin crabs - what more could you wish from a YA horror!? I will definitely be buying a copy for my teenage daughter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice Box []  2020-1-14 19:31

    Really loved this book! Amazing spooky read that also has a nostalgic 80s-90s feel to it, so it was a victory victory for me:)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice Box []  2020-1-14 19:31

    Title: The Sacrifice BoxAuthor: Martin StewartAge Group: Teen/Young AdultGenre: HorrorSeries: StandaloneStar Rating: 4 out of 5 StarsI borrowed this book from my local library and reviewed it.Unfortunately, I got about fifty pages into Markswoman and it just wasn’t working for me, so I picked up The Sacrifice Box instead. Autumn means Halloween and fall in full swing, and so, I love to read horror and spooky mysteries to really obtain me in the right mood for my favorite holiday. I’ve heard amazing things about British author Martin; I’ve been curious about his writing ever since I saw his debut novel, Riverkeep. So when I saw this sitting on the fresh shelf at my library, the stark, scary cover drew me in, and when I realized that it was due back on the third, I pushed it up to the top of my stack. I was looking for a spooky, creepy horror novel, and I wasn’t disappointed. But to call this a mere horror novel would be a disservice to the story, because ultimately, it was a novel of friendship, love, betrayal, and courage. I’m still not sure how to describe this book, even after finishing it latest week. The best thing that I can think of is if the gory, tense horror of Stephen King and Joe Hill, and the offhand, hilarious humor and time period of Stranger Things had a baby. It was delightfully weird, surprisingly funny, dark and spooky, and beautifully written. It was not perfect, but it came really close to it! One of the best books I’ve read this year!The Sacrifice Box tells the story of a group of friends: Sep, Hadley, Lamb, Arkle, and Mack. Brought together by a summer of friendship, they decide to place some unique objects in an old stone box that they search in the woods. Quick forward to years later, and the childhood pals have long since grown apart. Sep longs to escape the stifling island on which he lives and strike out on his own, Hadley is often alone and quiet, more interested in melody and her own thoughts than in true life; Lamb and Mack are proud jocks, more athletically skilled but just as lonely as before, in their superficial circle of friends, and Arkle is adrift without his old friends, more content to trudge through school and cause trouble, mostly of the pyrokinetic sort. But when the box opens again and all of the children start to see birds gathering, things dying mysteriously, and certain objects start to resurface, they realize that the box took more than they could’ve ever imagined, and that the fate of the island rests on their shoulders…The Sacrifice Box was such a surprising, shockingly funny horror novel with a bleeding red heart at its center; I was absolutely blown away. Stewart’s prose was hypnotic and beautiful, even when it got creepy or gory. There were definitely times that I wanted to place the book down and walk away for a while; the imagery was so powerful and compelling that it followed me into my dreams. But test as I might, I just couldn’t place it down! For every frightening, spooky detail, it was broken up by utter hilarity; as a result, the pacing was fantastic! I was laughing and shivering and pulling my hair out constantly throughout. I also enjoyed the method Stewart told the story of the box, the method that the children found it, but it was so much more than that! I don’t wish to say too much; I don’t wish to give it all away. But The Sacrifice Box was the best book to kick off autumn and to obtain in the spooky mood for Halloween! One of the best horror books I’ve ever read! It wasn’t perfect; at times, the pacing between the characters and the shifts in point of view were confusing. But nonetheless, I really enjoyed it! Absolutely amazing, and I can’t wait to check out Riverkeep! The bottom line: Terrifying, hilarious, and beautiful, I loved The Sacrifice Box! One of my favorite horror novels that I’ve read recently! Next on deck: Toil and Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft by Jessica Spotswood!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice Box []  2020-1-14 19:31

    [NOTE: I received a copy of this book through Netgalley.]The blurb for this book immediately reminded me of some of the horror books I’d read in the early 90s—mostly Stephen King paperbacks my mother gave me, so this ‘80s + horror + kids’ combination is one I’ve known in quite a while, even though I haven’t read such books in at least a decade or more. I suppose watching Stranger Things also place me back in the mood for those, and so here I was, getting into ‘The Sacrifice far as horror stories go, a lot of the usual ingredients are here. Strange happenings. Children who search they have to gather to stop something evil from event (and they can’t tell their parents, because they’d just sound crazy). School life with its teachers, sports kids, and bullies and picking on a couple of the main characters, but all things considered, those pale compared to the true threat. A mysterious item with mysterious rules to follow, rules that get, of course, broken—madness ensues. Dead animals coming back to life to attack people. Noises at night. A little city on an isolated island. The Halley comet looming over it all, like a poor l in all, I liked the setting itself, although at times it ‘tried a small too hard’, so to speak. However, where the book lacked a lot was the characters. The main point of view is Sep’s, interspersed with chapters viewed through the eyes of a couple of minor characters, like Mario, the vet doubling as chippy owner, in whose restaurant Sep works; or Thom and Aileen, two older people who also opened the box and created sacrifices back in 1941 when the battle was raging (the story’s set in the UK, by the way—it’s not always very clear, as the atmosphere feels very ‘US-like’). The issue is that, as far as the other four children are concerned, I didn’t obtain more than superficial impressions about them. For instance, Lamb is the hockey player, lives on a farm with her father, and lost her mother when she was a kid, yet apart from that and from her anger at whoever broke the rules of the box, I never really ‘saw’ her, who she was, how she really felt, her fears, and so on; and in such a horror-driven story, with such a concept of a box into which a band of kids placed stuff loaded with both amazing and poor emotions, childhood fears, hopes and feelings would’ve been a important element to play on for all the characters, not just one.I also didn’t see the point to the bully. At first, I expected him to play more of a part—perhaps the kind of hero who ends up completely crazy, starts muttering about having to ‘kill the evil’, grabs a rifle, becomes an impediment to the kids’ efforts to restore the (it’s a bit cliché, but it’d have its put in such a plot). And then… It just petered out. In the same way, I would've appreciated more of a conclusion regarding the happenings and the box itself: the epilogue doesn't shed light on all the things that should've followed (how did the parents react, what about all the dead people, how were happenings explained officially, etc.). Here, too, some plot ends were left nclusion: A quick read, and rather entertaining in a superficial way; but the novel kept feeling like an attempt to surf on the “Stranger Things” wave, and didn't live up to the kind of books/stories it tried to be an homage to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice Box []  2020-1-14 19:31

    I was asked to be part of this blog tour and I’m not gonna lie I really didn’t know what to expect from this book. This novel was quite a ride and I loved it. The sacrifice box is a supernatural thriller set in the 80s. You never really understand what island they are located on as it is never created clear in the r mc is sep. sep and his mates Arkle, Lamb, Hadley and Mack found a box years ago and created a a sacrifice to it, to always be mates and love each other. Well now someone has broken the rules and things are going crazy. The rules are to never come back to the box alone, never come back after dark and to never take back your sacrifice. Each other their sacrifices has come back to them, basically haunting them and trying to slay them. The five of them must figure out what has gone wrong and how to fix e first half of this book is super slow as you are learning about each hero and their life. How they went from being mates to drifting apart. The second half picks up very quickly and so much happens in such a short time frame. You have every form of apocalyptic monster coming at them, zombies, wicked dolls, crows that follow them around and method more. There is a bit of descriptiveness as some of the animals are described as being inside out and their flesh splitting apart, so caution on the gore if it’s not your thing,The one thing the whole book surrounded on was friendship and love. The five had had such a amazing bond that summer and had so much love for each other. But over the years they had fallen apart drifting to there own mate circles. The book showed how friendship can impact your life and present you love. Sep had drifted off from his mates and was lonely. All he had was his academic career going for him and nothing is definitelygives off vibes of Stranger Things, just a bit stranger. You have your group of misfits and the 80s references are hilarious. It is a bit more darker than stranger things, but it was still a fun read.Overall this was a amazing read. Sacrifice box had method more to the story than I expected and I loved how everything tied together and gave the excellent ending. Definitely a book to read around Halloween.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl []  2020-1-14 19:35

    If you are a fan of the series this book will not disappoint. It is somewhat predictable, but still interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl []  2020-1-14 19:35

    Not as interesting as the 1st two books. This one seemed to drag on and on. It became boring to me. The other two books I read within 24 hours because they were quick paced and interesting. This... I forced myself to finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl []  2020-1-14 19:35

    My daughter loves it, as far as I know she has all the books within the series. If not I'll be back (TERMINATOR VOICE).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl []  2020-1-14 19:35

    I enjoyed the book so much that I couldn’t place it down!! I cannot wait for the next one! I have so a lot of questions.... I don’t believe she lost her powers after she had so much experience with the other realm. So, I will be waiting for the next story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl []  2020-1-14 19:35

    My Granddaughter said it was a very amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl []  2020-1-14 19:35

    This final installment picks up right where the previous book left off, continuing with a quick pace that will leave readers unable to place it down...Sixteen-year-old Sunshine, recently having discovered she is a luiseach (a not quite human "guardian angel" of sorts), has now found out something horrific. A group of demons are fighting to take control of the world, to turn the souls of recently deceased humans into dark spirits. It's up to Sunshine, a unique and unusually strong luiseach, to war their leader and hold the globe from possible destruction.But how can she possibly do something so huge, especially when she's just learning what it means to be a luiseach?McKenzie skillfully blends the story of an intriguing supernatural globe with that of the typical high school teen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl []  2020-1-14 19:35

    Amazing teen series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl []  2020-1-14 19:35

    I tore through the latest book in the Haunting of Sunshine Girl series. This was a terrific ending to the trilogy. It had everything I could have wanted and more--ghosts, demons, prophesies, sacrifice, love, twists and turns, developing relationships between Sunshine and her bio parents, a deepening of Sunshine and Nolan's relationship. A school dance and of course a super huge baddie that threatens Sunshine and everyone and everything she loves. Seriously, this book rocked.I kept saying one more chapter for an hour. ;) Unbelievable work, Ms. McKenzie!I loved every min with Sunshine and I'm sad to say goodbye to her!Oh and the ending--it was epically satisfying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl []  2020-1-14 19:35

    Awesome book! READ THIS SERIES IT IS SO GOOD! I WAS HOOKED AND IM OBSESSED!!! I STAN!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl []  2020-1-14 19:35

    Me and my daughter love this book and the other 2 as well. Didn't take my daughter long to read all 3 books just because the story obtain so intense sometimes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice The Knight (Checkmate Series Book 6) []  2019-12-19 18:50

    Emilia kills me with her stories! She makes me laugh, cry, and have to tell my husband to turn down his YouTube videos because I can't hear the characters talking! Her "Roller"coaster of emotions keeps me wanting to read more. Her stories are intertwined, and her characters help each other. She writes about powerful women, difficult subjects, and the hot guys who wish to save K is about loss, trust, misunderstanding, and ultimate sacrifice. The best ending since Jimmy...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Midnight Sacrifice (The Midnight Series Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:40

    An exciting romantic/suspense by author Melinda Leigh. Combined with mystery, and a shocking conclusion, this is one thriller you don't wish to miss out on. It's a must-read!..............After escaping a near death experience just four months earlier, bed and breakfast owner Mandy Brown still continued to have nightmares over the incident. Since that time, she also knew if it hadn't been for a handsome stranger, she would be as amazing as dead by a ruthless serial killer. What created matters worse, the assassin escaped and was never caught, but even more frightening, was her link to the assassin himself and a deep hidden secret that she couldn't let others to know. Even more disturbing was the notes, and their sinister meaning and threats, and with that knowledge alone, Mandy would have to remain silent until the assassin resurfaced, and when he did, she would create certain to place a means to an end if it was the latest thing she ever did. Battle veteran Daniel "Danny" Sullivan, still couldn't rest as he headed back to Huntsville Maine. How could he? It was only four months ago, when his sister Jane was kidnapped by the serial assassin and barely lived to tell about it. Not only that, he couldn't stop thinking about the gorgeous innkeeper Mandy Brown and that God poor night that he saved her life and her friend. Danny also couldn't forget how attractive she was and that spontaneous connection they both shared, and with that in mind, he wanted to see her again and he only hoped that she felt the same way. But what happened next only perplexed him more, when Mandy refused to cooperate by putting up walls between them. Why? What was she hiding? What was this attractive woman so afraid of? Mandy didn't know what to expect next, but seeing Danny Sullivan again wasn't one of them. The man was too gorgeous for his own amazing and his raw [email protected]#$%!& her like a lightning bolt. Could he tell what he does to me? She hadn't a clue, all she did knew for certain was that she would have to hold her distance from Danny, because if she didn't, he could explore her secret, and by that, it could place her family in harms way, and she would rather die first then to see that happen. When more people disappear, Danny is certain that the assassin is there and if he ever required to search closure and solve this case, he was going to need Mandy's support and he wouldn't give up until he had it. As Mandy tried to avoid Danny, the assassin continued to stalk her, but even so, it didn't stop her from fantasizing about Danny, a man she could never have. But as their attraction intensifies, it fuels right into a love affair while the assassin is lurking nearby and Mandy's life is placed right in his crosshairs as the murderer plans his vengeance step-by-step to create Mandy his next victim......I loved this book....thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Midnight Sacrifice (The Midnight Series Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:40

    I would recommend this book to those starting out as book lovers. This would pull them in for life. 4 stars were earned. Ms. Leigh had me from the begin to the ending. I like the method she played us with the assistant. I guessed it to be 2 others and not the one that surfaced as the assassins helper. I knew Denny would obtain the girl; the poor boy always win. My heart was hurting for the one that lost all and gave so much. That was really love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Midnight Sacrifice (The Midnight Series Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:40

    I usually read at least 2 maybe 3 books at once, reading some from each every time I am able to obtain my down time in, which keeps me from getting bored with any one storyline, which I search too often when trying to obtain into just one novel at a time....but Melinda Leigh and her writing reeled me in from the beginning of 'Midnight Sacrifice', and needless to say, I have 2 other books I started PRIOR to this book and they haven't been re-opened since I read the first page of Ms. Leigh's masterpiece of a thriller, she had me hooked from the obtain go. Never bored but the exact opposite with this book, 'Midnight Sacrifice' had 150 % of my attention from cover to cover, loved it in it's entirety! That is rare for me & to say I am thrilled to explore this gem of a writer in my favorite genre of thriller/suspense would be quite an understatement! I am wasting no time in buying and reading everything she has available on Amazon for my Kindle that I can dive right into, and somehow, I know I won't be disappointed. Thank you for such amazing talent that is displayed throughout every page of you novel, & exceeding my expectations for what a real thriller means to me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Midnight Sacrifice (The Midnight Series Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:40

    oh my god, u just got through the first book and now there all the same characters again. Nathan is doing yet the same thing again. Same sacrifices, same spiel. Dropped this book after 25% reading ... soooo boring after the first one. As I bought all four of them, I will go to the third ... after this I usually would have dropped the series. Come on Melinda, this is so boring, u can do better then this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Midnight Sacrifice (The Midnight Series Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:40

    Literally, I was glued to this page turner from beginning to end. There was never a dull or even mediocre lull in the action. A tightly woven, sinister plot, believable, brave characters, a reasonably believable romance, and a big, poor murderer with a special twist will have the reader guessing, reading into the night , and pulling the covers tighter.Danny as the character has his very human flaws and difficult experiences, but also has heaps of integrity, understanding, and intestinal fortitude.. Jed, as a stalwart, courageous mate is a hero who begs for his own story and satisfied ending. The heroine, Mandy, is certainly not the rah-rah superwoman of a lot of novels, but a pretty, tired, overwhelmed heroine with secrets and issues of her own, like most people. The list of supporting actors and actresses here are mostly interesting, fragile, and hold the reader saying, "No , it's him" ...no.... "It's her !" Right up to the end, you'll still be wondering.I must add that this book seemed reasonably well-researched too. Intriguing Celtic history and facts were liberally sprinkled through-out, and even the day to day life of an inn keeper created for interesting reading, as did the medical information. I now have a fresh author to add to my favorites list, and you must read this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice The Knight (Checkmate Series Book 6) []  2019-12-19 18:50

    Disclaimer—if you haven’t read Checkmates 1-5 there will be heavy spoilers in this book based on the storyline. I highly recommend you begin at the beginning. This IS a stand-alone and can be read by itself, but it’s so much better if you read the others , on to the “good stuff”!Another awesome book by Emilia Finn! I’ve loved Eric since Pawns in the Bishops Android game and I knew there was more to his story. Katrina was every bit the poor a** single mom I knew she would be, and she keeps Eric on his toes (which I love). We obtain to see why Mac is going to be one of my favorite next Gens, he’s loyal, smart, and has a confidence that rivals the Rollers. He’ll be a force to be reckoned with in the future for some lucky girl’s heart.I laughed, I cried, I wanted to shout at times...and it wouldn’t be an Emilia book without some hot, steamy, filthy scenes. These Checkmate men (and the Rollers!) know how to treat their women...in bed AND out of it. They all set the bar beautiful high for real-life expectations and I want they were real!“I don’t need a knight in shining armor. I don’t need a character to come in and create me wonder about more.”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice The Knight (Checkmate Series Book 6) []  2019-12-19 18:50

    Eric will own your heart... After all he’s been through he still able to be so protective and loving and for him to search his second possibility at happily ever after was the best part of the story. Katrina is tough as nails but you can’t support but love her to pieces and Mac was a hidden surprise in this one. I can’t wait till he gets his own story because that child has a heart of a lion. Number six in the check Meet series did not disappoint and I cannot wait for number seven and number eight. Am after all he’s been through he still able to be so protective and loving and for him to search his second possibility at happily ever after was the best part of the story. Katrina is tough as nails but you can’t support but love her to pieces and Mac was a hidden surprise in this one. I can’t wait till he gets his own story because that child has a heart of a lion. #6 in the checkmate series did not disappoint and I cannot wait for #7 and #8. Emilia Finn is hands-down my most favorite author ever. “ you created a word out of Jericho ?” ❤️❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice The Knight (Checkmate Series Book 6) []  2019-12-19 18:50

    I've always zoomed through to obtain to the end. It wasn't until I found you that I found myself slowing down and really taking it all in. Every single time I read one of your books I fall more and more in love with EVERY. RSON. You out so much behind everyone you can't support but become invested in where they go in life. Real talent. You truly break my heart every time and I can't not come back for more. This one was no different. Truly a amazing book. I cannot wait for the next. Now I head back to the beginning because there is a lot of time between now and Christmas. This is what family feels like. Not just the books but the crew. I can't wait to meet you in March!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice The Knight (Checkmate Series Book 6) []  2019-12-19 18:50

    I love love love this book! I have read every one of Emilia Finns books and have loved them all but this one is amazing. I am an avid reader and have read so a lot of series books that with each one they just loose a small until they just are stale and lifeless. That is not real of these books or any of Emilias books, they obtain better with each one and anything but stale! This book is an emotional rollercoaster of love, laughter, anguish and tears. Once again she leaves me breathless and in love with every character. Definitely recommend this and all of Emilia Finn books

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Midnight Sacrifice (The Midnight Series Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:40

    -SPOILER ALERT!-This is the second novel in the "Midnight" series and like the first; the author delivers a well-written story that is full of suspense, mystery, and intrigue with a small romance mixed in. Danny and Mandy, the couple at the heart of this novel are two individuals who are very likeable. However, as a couple who are supposed to be attracted to each other, I didn't feel any intense heat or passion between them. With respect to hero development, I thought it lacking for Mandy, and more importantly her best friend, Jed. As much as I enjoyed this book there were a few aspects of the novel that didn't really create sense to me. How could Danny not understand why Mandy kept the truth from not just him, but from everyone else? Her mother and brother's lives were threatened; not to mention the total shame and embarrassment she would have felt and had to live with if anyone found out she had a relationship with the serial killer. I honestly couldn't blame her. Also, considering that in the first book, "Midnight Exposure" hikers went missing, why would the Captain and Detective (of Huntsville, Maine) both think that the father and son had simply drowned? The serial assassin was never caught; hikers were kidnapped, and one was found murdered. Both fishing poles belonging to the missing father and son were nowhere near the lake. Also, if everyone knew Nathan was such an expert outdoorsman, why would they not think he survived? With respect to the missing father and son, I want a small more was dedicated to them, especially concerning the brothers of the missing man as it would have given the situation a more intense and dire feeling of the matter. In the end, still a amazing story that a lot of readers of this genre will enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice The Knight (Checkmate Series Book 6) []  2019-12-19 18:50

    Oh my holy crap on a cracker. This book was sooooo much more than I could have ever imagined. I’m currently sitting here & cant decide what’s moving faster, my heart or my lungs. Or maybe it’s the tears streaming down my face.I fell in love with Eric a long time ago when he showed his fierce loyalty in the previous Checkmate books. But to learn so much more about him...I have no words. Katrina’s intense mama bear status has been endearing since she was introduced. She’s attractive and so strong. And Mac, we all knew he was going to be something unique from the beginning. His love for his mother ❤️❤️❤️.Emilia, I know some are harder than others, but you have knocked it out of the park again. This, right here, is why I love you so much. Well, other than the fact that you’re an awesome human being, but your writing skills.....gah!I can’t wait for #7 & #8 & now you’ve got me primed and ready for some Next Gen action 🥰🥰

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice The Knight (Checkmate Series Book 6) []  2019-12-19 18:50

    I don't know how Emilia does it. Every book is various which is hard to search in this genre of book now a days. They draw you in a hold you on your toes. I laughed, I cried, then I cried because of how hard I was laughing. I seriously hate that I have to wait for the next book. They are amazing! I would reccomend these books to anyone who wants to obtain sucked into the fictional globe Emilia has made of warriors and cops and dancers and ex federal agents! Seriously amazing! There are not enough words in the dictionary to properly explain my love of these books. So I will leave it at that! Thank you Emilia for yet another in a long line of awesome pieces of literature!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice The Knight (Checkmate Series Book 6) []  2019-12-19 18:50

    Katrina has amazing reason to hate men, Eric has amazing reason to avoid relationships. Can their stars search each other? Emilia really knows how to tear your heart to shreds before she patches it back up. And finally we obtain more Mac! Can't wait for NextGen!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Midnight Sacrifice (The Midnight Series Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:40

    Huntsville, Maine has picture excellent views but it also harbors evil. Deep in the forest a Celtic Druid plans human sacrifices in hopes of gaining the favor of the gods to rid his family of a ur months ago terror reigned in the small Maine town. While one of the men who were responsible is dead another escaped but not before trying to take Mandy Brown with him. But Danny Sullivan saved her and her best mate Danny has come back to city to test and search the assassin so his sister can finally feel safe. Mandy wants nothing to do with him and his cause as she has been getting threatening pictures reminding her to hold her mouth closed if she doesn't wish any hurt to come to her fragile mother and mentally challenged dy had no idea she was sleeping with a killer. Her father's abandonment when she was a kid has left her with problems of needing to feel that human connection with another person and blinded her to a killer's real identity. She feels extreme shame over this and tries to hold her secret even though it means not only lying to her best mate Jed but also lying to Danny whom she has become attracted to but knows nothing can become of it.Danny is the youngest of the Sullivan's. He was also the most messed up of them when he was growing up and feels a powerful sense of protecting his family. He still suffers from PTSD and has extreme nerve hurt in one arm that at times messes with his self photo but deep down he is a honorable man who wants to do right by his sister and doesn't understand Mandy's push and pull e secondary characters were just as engaging as the main. Jed was a man with such a amazing heart and loved Mandy so much even though she didn't love him the same way. Mandy's brother Bill was such a sweet man/boy you couldn't support but fall in love with e author once again takes us into cultural druidism Celtic history. Even though it's used for a poor purpose in the book you can't support but be a small fascinated by it.Will Danny be able to hold Mandy from becoming the part of the madman's tool in a ritual?On a side note I have to say that the thoughts of Danny throughout the book were downright hilarious.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Midnight Sacrifice (The Midnight Series Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:40

    Author Melinda Leigh's got a couple of loosely similar series going, and this one has the distinction of harboring some of her darker written moments. Danny's a tall, dark and handsome veteran with some recently dealt with demons. Mandy's got issues of her own that continue to haunt her and cause huge problem through the telling of "Midnight Sacrifice." Danny rescued her from either certain death or at least risky kidnapping. A year passes. He returns to her little city in Maine to with the man who messed with his sister. This is the same guy who nearly killed Mandy's best friend. Both characters are damaged. Leigh drills down into their development while spinning out a decent mystery. Danny tries to track down the assassin before he unleashes Wicker Man on a bunch of unsuspecting tourists. The pace is fast and the writing crisp. Leigh's info of the region created me wish to visit, and her romance between Danny and Mandy is worth the wait. If they can survive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Midnight Sacrifice (The Midnight Series Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:40

    I was lucky enough to have Melinda Leigh send me an advance copy of this book.Midnight Sacrifice picks up just four months after Midnight Exposure ended. Jayne's brother, Danny, returns to the little city in Maine where she was nearly murdered. He knows that his sister will never stop looking over her shoulder unless murderer Nathan is found.Danny has been battling some of his own demons after returning from his latest tour of duty in the Middle dy runs the local inn. She takes care of her ill mother and her mentally challenged brother. But Mandy has a secret, and someone is blackmailing her to hold it.I really enjoyed all of the intrigue going on in this book. There is a murderer on the loose, people disappearing, and Celtic relics stolen from a e attraction between Danny and Mandy is palpable from their first meeting. Both characters are sympathetic and likeable, as is Mandy's brother Bill. Jed is a bit on the shallow side as far as hero development, but that doesn't take away from the story.I am hoping that the next book focuses on the relationship between Danny's brother, Conor, and Louisa, who was head of the aforementioned museum. It would also be amazing to see what happens next to Evan, Nathan's son.I really have fun Melinda Leigh's books and look forward to the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Midnight Sacrifice (The Midnight Series Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:40

    What a amazing sequel to Midnight Exposure. Midnight Sacrifice was everything I wanted. Lots of suspense, mystery, romance and action. This was action packed and so hard to place down. Loved it. I definitely wasn't disappointed, well worth is story begins about 4 months after Midnight Exposure and a psychotic assassin is still out there planning his next dy was one of his victims but was saved in time by Danny. Danny comes back to test and hunt down the killer.He needs Mandy's support but she repeatedly avoids any conversation or anything to do with the killer. What is she hiding?This sequel had so a lot of secrets from the beginning; you didn't really know what was truth and what was not. It had me guessing through out the book. There were so a lot of twists and turns; this kept me interested from beginning to end. This was such a amazing romantic suspense novel. I am definitely going to check out other novels by Melinda Leigh.A fast note though, even though Midnight Sacrifice can be read as a stand-alone, I recommend reading the first one, Midnight Exposure. It will definitely give you the background for the story and the characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice The Knight (Checkmate Series Book 6) []  2019-12-19 18:50

    What can I say about Sacrifice the Knight? First off, it is the continuation of the brainchild series of Emilia Finn. This is the next book in a series that began in Roller City with the likes of Bobby, Aiden, Jimmy, Jon, and Jack (If you have not read those, I highly recommend starting there)- then you will absolutely LOVE the Checkmate series that this book falls into. This story tells of Katrina, single mom to Mac (you will fall in love with this guy- teen son to Katrina) and Eric. This is an epic love story with tears and laughter all throughout. Emilia does not disappoint with this book. this is like, book #22. Once you begin you will not be able to stop then you will wait (not patiently) for the next book in the series. Emilia rocks the HEA stories- she might create you wait for it but it gets there

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice The Knight (Checkmate Series Book 6) []  2019-12-19 18:50

    It never ceases to amaze me how ALL of the characters fit together so nicely. Eric and Katrina’s story is just one more tale in the Checkmate Series that will tug at all your emotions. I cried, had no tissue, and used my shirt with no shame! I’ve recommended Emilia to almost everyone I know! She has the best heart

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice: The Weight of Magic, Episode 7 []  2020-7-24 19:5

    The sacrifice by Lana rst stop—Lynchburg.We have a long street trip ahead of us, and there are three things on our to-do list:1. Place together the map.2. Improve the sword.3. Slay is isn't an simple task. Is it dangerous? It is, but I don't care anymore. There's nothing left to lose. Or is there?A brilliant read. I loved the story and some of the characters. I love this series. Action packed. Can't wait for the next book. 5*. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice: The Weight of Magic, Episode 7 []  2020-7-24 19:5

    This was book 7 which was absolute [email protected]#$%. I could obtain the feel of impending danger right from the obtain go. And I was right. The was out to obtain them. And Nicky and Nate had to rush to prepare for the ere were travel and action. There were dreams and reality. There were punches and Lana Melyan didn't keep back this time. Nicky as the protagonist grew up. She was bold and dignified, she took precise, knowledgeable risks. Confidence grew in her and even after a shocker and loss, she rose powerful ready to war the villains. I loved her spells, they always brought the storm with it. This book had the excellent vibe of action and e book was a precursor to the finale, and nothing could stop me and Nicky to obtain there and save the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice of the Sorcerer (The Hexecutioner Book 2) []  2020-6-25 18:24

    Quick becoming my favorite author

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice: The Weight of Magic, Episode 7 []  2020-7-24 19:5

    Seventh book and we are reaching the finale. Things are picking up for Nicki and her mates and not in the method she would have re secrets are revealed that could destroy them and try Nicki and Nate’s relationship. They pull their strength together with Connie, Logan, Sam and Brian and together carry on the quest of finally destroying Kenneth and his dark legacy.Fab instalment with an unexpected twist which just makes the story even more exciting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice: The Weight of Magic, Episode 7 []  2020-7-24 19:5

    Love the story line and the characters..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bedford Boys: One American Town's Ultimate D-day Sacrifice []  2020-1-16 7:8

    Riveting acc of the young men from one little city in Virginia who gave the ultimate sacrifice in WWII. It was awesome to learn the back story not only of the young men, but also the women who loved them and watched them go off to war. I am familiar with this group as I live in Virginia but have yet to see the Memorial in Bedford. Like so a lot of who fought in WWII, these were normal young men, trying to create a living in the newly post Depression Era. What they endured is awesome and to have lost so a lot of of them in one war adds a depth that a lot of communities will never know. If you enjoyed Saving Personal Ryan, then this is a book you will definitely not wish to miss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bedford Boys: One American Town's Ultimate D-day Sacrifice []  2020-1-16 7:8

    Two of my uncles stormed the beach at Normandy. One was a medic and the other in infantry. They spoke of the Bedford boys and I always wondered what they went through and what happened during that day. This book gave a glimpse of their sacrifice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice Support Group: A Dramatic Comedy for Lent []  2020-1-17 22:31

    Having used one of Linda's other books, I was ready to see what this drama offered; particulary for this season of Lent. The play enables one to think about sacrifice in a various way. Not the traditional "give something up," process. Rather, sacrifice with a caring and trusting heart. This drama could be wisely used as sermon before Lent begins. I see its contribution, as a resource, in an adult bible study group. The play has much value, beyond the Lenten season, as one considers how necessary help groups are to Christian growth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Wars: Legacy of the Force #5: Sacrifice []  2020-6-23 18:59

    Everything I've read so far by Karen Travis is golden. Oya, not only does she understand the Mandalorian culture; she develops the solos and skywalkers family situation in depth rather than superficially. I hate to stop reading her work, but one does have to obtain up in the morning and go to work to for luxuries like electricity and more books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Strong: Stories of Sacrifice from Inside the NHL []  2020-7-4 18:54

    This engrossing, entertaining, well written book, defines the android game and its players better than anything else I have read. You don't hear or read about these accounts via the news media and it gave me a greater appreciation for a android game I already love. A amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Strong: Stories of Sacrifice from Inside the NHL []  2020-7-4 18:54

    Bonus for my son who loves reading about hockey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice Support Group: A Dramatic Comedy for Lent []  2020-1-17 22:31

    A delightful read, “The Sacrifice Help Group” had me chuckling even as it probed and challenged my own understanding of vertheless, it’s drama. The characters were made to come to life so we can have fun the experience together and then go on to search joy in living out what true sacrifice involves. As amazing as it on the page, it's destined for greater impact on stage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bedford Boys: One American Town's Ultimate D-day Sacrifice []  2020-1-16 7:8

    As a fan of Alex Kershaw, I knew his books were poignant & well-written, but I was a bit hesitant before I bought this one because I've read a lot of books on D-Day/WW II. However, I'm very glad I bought this one because reading 'The Bedford Boys' is so visceral, emotional and compelling that I finished it in one sitting. The author's extensive research and interviews with their contemporaries in Bedford, along with his admiration and compassion for these men, their famiilies & friends, makes their individual lives, personalities and tremendous sacrifices come palpably alive. In my opinion, this book is on par with other WWII (and other war) classics like 'Band of Brothers', 'The Amazing War', etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bedford Boys: One American Town's Ultimate D-day Sacrifice []  2020-1-16 7:8

    "The Bedford Boys" is the story of the men from little city Virginia who, as part of the first-wave of the Normandy invasion, spilled their blood on "Bloody Omaha".This book info the lives, loves and end of a lot of men who served in the 29th Infantry Division. The division, created up of National Guard troops from Maryland and Virginia was chosen to assault Omaha beach alongside the veteran 1st Infantry e story begins with the prewar, Depression era that impacted the lives of every American, but hit rural locations like Bedford especially hard. This lack of economic opportunity led a lot of of these men to join the National Guard. It also meant that the men of this close-knit, rural zone would serve together when battle is makes for perfect unit cohesion but also risks wiping out the manhood of an entire region when war takes its toll. The book continues with their training, shipment to England in preparation for invasion of the continent and, finally, their role and heavy losses in the amphibious e author very much focuses on the human element in this book. Interviews with surviving veterans, wives and relatives as well as letters from those who perished form he core of this book. It is the story of men and women rather than battles. It delves into their stay in Amazing Britain and their relations with the English e story itself culminates in the inevitable telegrams. The young woman employed by Western Union tells about how, prior to this, she would obtain a "We regret to inform you..." telegram once a week or once every couple days. In the aftermath of the beach assault, they came...and came...and came. She thought the not good notices would never end. The author does an perfect job of relating the enormity of the heartbreaking losses sustained on one day in that little Virginia only criticism is that the author does not give an evaluation of the military landings themselves that consigned so a lot of men to "the glorious dead". The fact of the matter is that these men died as a direct effect of their own commanders' planning. Despite all the experience gained at the cost of much blood in the Pacific, our military deliberately chose to land our units directly into the teeth of the German defenses. Men whose landing craft were steered off course or taken there by the powerful current largely landed intact with few losses. Those that were landed where they were supposed to were ill and all, as a purely "human interest" type of story, the author has produced a amazing acc of the lives of these "Bedford Boys". May their sacrifice always be remembered. Four stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Wars: Legacy of the Force #5: Sacrifice []  2020-6-23 18:59

    I read this book with amazing sadness, as I had known the outcome from other sources. This book is the turning point of the series. The pieces of the puzzle start to fit, and Mara gains understanding about what she has to do. Luke, Ben, and Jacen will never be the e book is well written, though I wasn't as moved as I was in "Bloodlines." Boba Fett's story is second to the main plot, but he makes a discovery that is completely unexpected; and his life will change, also.Had I not been forewarned, I think I would have been very upset, but I've had a lot of time to prepare. If it had to happen, there was no one better to do it. Well done, Karen Traviss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Strong: Stories of Sacrifice from Inside the NHL []  2020-7-4 18:54

    A amazing book! My wife bought it for me and I couldn't place it down. If you're a hockey fan or know one, obtain this book for them. Well written with lots of amazing stories about the physical sacrifices hockey players create to play the game, life in the NHL and hockey in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Strong: Stories of Sacrifice from Inside the NHL []  2020-7-4 18:54

    I didn't pick this book out for the hockey. I was drawn to the book as a competitor with some degree of relatable toughness that is described so well in this book. Hockey Powerful is a serious page turner that will create you laugh, appreciate, and... snarl.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Strong: Stories of Sacrifice from Inside the NHL []  2020-7-4 18:54

    Ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Wars: Legacy of the Force #5: Sacrifice []  2020-6-23 18:59

    The Legacy of the Force series (9 books) is becoming method to related to The Fresh Jedi Order series (19 books). In both series there is too much time devoted to the thought making processes of the different characters. All decisions are analyzed to the nth degree. The books in these two series could have benefited from significant Legacy of the Force we have known most of the method so far that Jacen Solo was going to end up embracing the Dark Side. The readers know it and the major characters know it, but apparently nothing can be done about it except to discuss how serious the issue is. Sacrifice by Karen Traviss is the fifth book in the series, and finally Jacen at the end refers to his fresh Sith name of Darth Caedus. Maybe some action will be taken in the remaining books.We also know that Jacen has to sacrifice a loved one, i.e., a main character, in to become a real Sith. He agonizes greatly over who it will be, so I really don’t understand why the publishers gave us a very powerful tip with the hero featured on the Traviss is a very experienced author. She certainly can write a amazing book, building action and tension as she goes. It is just the constant interludes of internal discussion and weighing possibilities that drive me crazy. The book could have moved along and been much more fun to read. I also search that I grow tired of the Star Battles habit of going to completely various locations of the story each time the chapter changes. There are no rules that say you can’t stick with the same plotline for several ba Fett is back with a major role in Sacrifice. We spend a fair amount of time with the Mandalorians. It was amazing to see him again. Some of his story is separate from the main plot, and some of it ties in. We do obtain to meet some fresh people who are associated with him. The book has a number of necessary characters – the Solo family, the Skywalkers with son Ben being very important, Lumiya, and Alema Rar. One fresh hero is actually a Sith spaceship that Ben stumbles onto on Ziost. It is very close to being a sentient being and is fondly known simply as Ship.Time to move on to Inferno, the sixth book in Legacy of the Force.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Wars: Legacy of the Force #5: Sacrifice []  2020-6-23 18:59

    I can’t even do this review, for fear of having an internal anxiety attack of comical proportions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Wars: Legacy of the Force #5: Sacrifice []  2020-6-23 18:59

    All the Karen Traviss books are 5 star!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bedford Boys: One American Town's Ultimate D-day Sacrifice []  2020-1-16 7:8

    Fortunately, Mr Kershaw undertook to write this book while there were still a lot of basic sources alive to interview. There are a lot of books that detail the horrors of battle in general and D-Day in particular. This book does that as well, but it is a rarity in that it is a non-fiction that also recounts the drama that unfolded at home in such a method that you feel it. Be warned, it will break your heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bedford Boys: One American Town's Ultimate D-day Sacrifice []  2020-1-16 7:8

    Dramatic story of those from Bedford who were sent to Europe to war the Germans and start the push back that would lead to the conquer of the Germans and their allies who were fighting under Adolph Hitler's direction. The book described those men's entry into adulthood to a battle a loved my method from the country they protected by helping another country conquer the opponent that threatened all of Europe and would likely to have continued to spread their philosophy throughout the world. It also included stories of those families Stateside who suffered the concert and fear associated with having a love one off fighting in a battle thousands of miles away. The pain went with the family and mates of those soldiers forever and was presented very well by the Author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Strong: Stories of Sacrifice from Inside the NHL []  2020-7-4 18:54

    Whether you are a life long hockey fan or a newbie, this book info the sacrifice and hard work that professional hockey players endure. Spanning decades, Todd documents , via basic and secondary sources , a narrative that encompasses the determination of what it means to create the NHL and stay in it. This is a series of stories that parallels human nature In that regardless of background, ethnicity or DNA we adapt to the environment presented to us in to survive. Plus - Knuckles Nilan is the Bee's balls!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Strong: Stories of Sacrifice from Inside the NHL []  2020-7-4 18:54

    A book for hockey fans and non-hockey fans alike! The author is a amazing story teller. You feel like you're there with him during the a lot of interviews. The stories behind the dedicated athletes really create you look at the sport of hockey differently. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bedford Boys: One American Town's Ultimate D-day Sacrifice []  2020-1-16 7:8

    Not only have I read this book twice, but I have purchased additional copies and mailed them to friends. The story of the Bedford Boys needs to be told. Not enough people know about them. I have read a lot of books on the subject of WW2. However, this is the best one at linking the events, the soldiers and their families together. You really obtain a feel for what everyone involved went through. In June, I am going to Normandy for the 74th anniversary of D-Day. I rented a house in the small city of Vierville mur sur, which is the city the Bedford Boys were tasked with capturing. I have also been to Bedford Virginia where the Bedford Boys grew up together. If you ever pass through Virginia, stop and visit the National D-Day memorial in Bedford. It was built there in part to honor of the Bedford Boys and their families. You wont regret the visit. Also, it is a attractive small town, and the people are very gracious to the a lot of visitors they get.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bedford Boys: One American Town's Ultimate D-day Sacrifice []  2020-1-16 7:8

    This is a amazing story of a group of men from Bedford, Virginia that created the ultimate sacrifice for their country. The men from Bedford, Virginia joined the local national guard with no intention of going to Europe or anywhere else to war a war. They only joined to earn a small additional during the depression era. They eventually became hero's as they were part of the first wave to hit the Normandy beaches on June 6,1944. This book follows them from the time they joined the service, when they were crossed over into the army,trained to go to Europe,then all of the training and waiting for D-day in Europe. Then that lead to D-Day and what happened to them all that day. Nineteen from Bedford were killed that day. Three more died in the ensuing days. That was by far the most loss per capita of any city in America. The aftermath and how the families of these men dealt with this loss is also told in a very sympathetic way. This is just a very well told story that will hold you interested and engaged all the method through the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice Support Group: A Dramatic Comedy for Lent []  2020-1-17 22:31

    A clever wit the author of "The Sacrifice Help Group" has and she uses it to make a play, off Broadway material, to teach as well as delight. Can you imagine a group of adults discussing what actions they will take to satisfy their Lenten Obligations, giving up certain temptations, ommiting certain pleasures, committing certain hardships. It't at once humorous and serious and delights me. I look forward to more from Linda Bonney Olin. I'd give the piece four stars as an enjoyable read, five as an instrument for serious work. FJD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Wars: Legacy of the Force #5: Sacrifice []  2020-6-23 18:59

    I've heard some people say that books by Karen Travis aren't very good, or that they should even be avoided outright. However after reading Sacrifice, I don't think those people could be more wrong. I've thoroughly enjoyed the Legacy of the Force series so far and, for me, this one tops all of the previous entries. The individual stories and characters are continued and developed very well, and some of the latest happenings in the book really threw me for an emotional loop (which is something that doesn't often happen for me). I look forward to finishing the series, and I'll definItely be checking out other books by Traviss afterwards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Wars: Legacy of the Force #5: Sacrifice []  2020-6-23 18:59

    Karen Traviss does a amazing job with her Clone Battle novels, and in this book continues her perfect writing on the Mandolorian characters and events. Her treatment of the Skywalkers and Solo family is however so thin that it really detracts from the book. Luke especially comes across as stiff and unremarkable as a character, the Solo parents are nearly nonexistent, and the Solo kids may as well be. For such a watershed novel (think about the title) she really should not have been the pick in my opinion for a book containing characters outside the Clones, Nulls, and Fetts - her zone of amazing expressive writing and expertise, sadly not extended to the other "core" or "traditional" Star Battles characters of this series. I own all her other books and almost all of them rate "5 stars" from me - for example, "Triple Zero" is among her best.I was so disappointed overall with the book that I checked to ensure the remaining books announced to date were authored by Troy Denning and/or Aaron Alston. This book will always to me represent a gap in the series where the Mandolorian storyline continued well, but the rest of the story took a break.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Wars: Legacy of the Force #5: Sacrifice []  2020-6-23 18:59

    I'm an avid reader of all genres, not just Sci-Fi. Over the years, I've read all the SW books, well, maybe I've missed a few Darth Maul stories.... Some writers I like more than others, I won't name names. Everyone has a various style of writing that they enjoy. But Sacrifice could appeal to almost anyone. It's more than just a amazing Sci-Fi or Star Battles story. It's a amazing book. The feelings I experienced reading it reminded me of how I felt when I saw "New Hope" for the first time all those years ago. The title says it all. What a amazing story. I just want I could say more... don't wish to spill the beans for those who haven't seen it yet. Even if you've given up on Star Battles books, you should this book and all the books in this series. This is the very best of Karen Traviss, Legacy of the Force and Star Wars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Strong: Stories of Sacrifice from Inside the NHL []  2020-7-4 18:54

    If you wish a book about players beating up each other, this is it. However if you wish to read about the android game of hockey and its players I recommend a lot of of the biographies out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice Support Group: A Dramatic Comedy for Lent []  2020-1-17 22:31

    I love this book! The characters are funny without being cardboard chop outs, and the lesson is played out within the story, rather than shoved in one's face. I think the play would be very adaptable, say to a teen youth group, as well as for an adult of all, the formatting looks attractive on my Kindle and I'm actually able to read it easily without the cut-off pages or odd formatting I've found in some e-books.If more churches used short dramas like this one, with positive, realistic characters and messages rather than didactic sermons or angsty, emotional guilt-mongering, I think we might see a fresh impact on communities. Love this play, and love this author! Can't wait to see more from her!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bedford Boys: One American Town's Ultimate D-day Sacrifice []  2020-1-16 7:8

    I purchased this book when it was first published. I am native of Bedford, Virginia. I am part of the infamous "Mud Alley Gang", the neighborhood where a lot of of those "Bedford Boys" written about were raised and some families still live there. We have an annual dinner for members of the old neighborhood. It is held the Friday before Thanksgiving each year, and latest year we had a discussion about those old days and Alex Kershaw's book. I think it is the most definitive story of our situation. It rates an perfect 5 stars for those of us who lived this story. I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Kershaw latest year when he was the Speaker for the Memorial Day Ceremonies at the National D- Day Memorial there in Bedford. I had Mr. Kershaw to autograph my copy and I hope to have it signed by all who attend our dinner this year. I have purchased several others over the years to give to my kids and grandchildren, as this story should never be forgotten. ... I will again in a couple weeks urge others who have not yet read the book to please do so. It is indeed "our story" too. .Respectfully SubmittedDale Wilson, Sr.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bedford Boys: One American Town's Ultimate D-day Sacrifice []  2020-1-16 7:8

    Interesting read on how the young men of a little community entered Globe Battle II. It heralded their sacrifices, It chronicled private stories of the those young men of this county. All across the United States the military age men of this country answered the call. {Many women also}. This is not to say that all went willingly or accepted the military stance of the US at this time. I think it is necessary for individuals to read a lot of type of historical history and learn about how this country has defended itself for centuries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Wars: Legacy of the Force #5: Sacrifice []  2020-6-23 18:59

    Well, I just finished this today, and in all honesty, I really don't know what to say about this one... without spoiling the plot. Although, given what happens here, I'm really starting to like the idea of Jacen being on Fett'@#$%! list. And I WON'T even mention that major loss, except to say I can't believe that this particular hero would go out in such a fashion as that. I did feel this one got a bit mired in the politics, or perhaps, I should say is that political coup. Overall, to say that I have some mixed feelings on this book at this point, would be an understatement. On the other things the overall endgame is starting to take shape.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Wars: Legacy of the Force #5: Sacrifice []  2020-6-23 18:59

    amazing book, amazing story... too poor Disney killed the EU now this story is pointless. Really liked a lot of the characters and it really felt like Star Wars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Strong: Stories of Sacrifice from Inside the NHL []  2020-7-4 18:54

    Todd Smith brings the hockey knowledge of a second-generation lifer (maybe his grandfather was even hockey strong; I wouldn’t be surprised), a amazing ear for quotes from the array of NHL studs he interviewed, and a sick, wonderful trunk of stories about mashed faces, busted eye-sockets, bone fractures, and steam shovel fists! He’s got it all: unbelievable writing, blast-quick slapshot anecdotes, dozens of action, and more than enough hockey knowledge to teach even the most die hard, 4AM rink time skater a thing or seven about the android game he or she one for yourself and one for each your favorite hockey fans. They’ll be sure to give you an amazing Xmas bonus come December in return!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Strong: Stories of Sacrifice from Inside the NHL []  2020-7-4 18:54

    I bought this for a bonus for a hockey fan, so I don't know about the writing. The book was bound up side down. Since I required it right away I won't be returning it, as my grandson will read it anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice (Serpentine) []  2020-6-11 19:19

    One of the best fantasy novels I have read in awhile. Greatly ramps up the pace and the amount of Magical going ons from the first book, with fresh villains and major happenings happening. A amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice (Serpentine) []  2020-6-11 19:19

    It's hard to come up with much more to say than that, but as delighted as I was to explore that Serpentine (the first book) existed, I was even happier to learn about the existence of this second book in the series after devouring the first in a morning. It wound up in a various put than expected, the juggling of three perspectives was handled well, and the depiction of the book's setting was great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice (Serpentine) []  2020-6-11 19:19

    Wow! What did I just read? No, really - I’m so glad I read the second book in this series, sequel to Serpentine. I was drawn in from begin to finish. The characters, now all more fully-developed, were truly fascinating. I’m excited to see where this author takes us next!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice (Serpentine) []  2020-6-11 19:19

    I loved it! Could not place it down. I have read all of Cindy Pon's novels, and they do not disappoint! I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice (Serpentine) []  2020-6-11 19:19

    Cindy Pon delivers a richer and grander sequel. I literally couldn't out this book down until it was finished. A must Read people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice (Serpentine) []  2020-6-11 19:19

    I think I enjoyed this more than Serpentine. Everyone grows more here, and we see much more of the magic system and the world.Blossom is a delight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice (Serpentine) []  2020-6-11 19:19

    This book is absolutely delightful and a rare entry that adds above and beyond the first novel. If you're on the fence about buying the second novel, go ahead and do it. You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice (Serpentine) []  2020-6-11 19:19

    This was a amazing book and I loved how it ended. I would consider it a worthy successor to Serpentine and I hope that the rest of Pon's books will be this great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice (Serpentine) []  2020-6-11 19:19

    Awesome sequel that surprised me at a lot of turns. I loved that it included more hero points of view! I adored so a lot of of the characters in the first book, so to see them obtain their own chapters was awesome in this unbelievable second book. I've heard it's just a duology, but I really think there could be a third. I hope they give Cindy Pon a possibility to write more in this globe because I think there's so much more story to tell!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacrifice (Serpentine) []  2020-6-11 19:19

    What an wonderful journey! I miss the characters already and I'm hoping with all my heart there will be a third instalment. This story was so well written, with breathtaking imagery and edge-of-your-seat suspense, I could not place it down. The autor has left me missing a globe i feel so connected to, even though I've never been. Perfect read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Home of the Unknown Soldier: How Coming Back Became the Other Ultimate Sacrifice []  2020-4-24 18:24

    What a special and inspirational book! This is the author's honest and raw acc of dealing with very difficult changes in her husband after he returned from the gulf war. Ms. Armijo evoked emotion in me, and my heart was breaking for both her and her husband. But small did I know, with powerful faith and love, they would come through the ordeal with a stronger marriage, and are happier than ever! Read the book to search out how. I highly recommend "Home of the Unknown Soldier" to all couples. There are some necessary lessons to learn.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl (The Haunting of Sunshine Girl Series Book 3) []  2020-6-29 19:9

    I tore through the latest book in the Haunting of Sunshine Girl series. This was a terrific ending to the trilogy. It had everything I could have wanted and more--ghosts, demons, prophesies, sacrifice, love, twists and turns, developing relationships between Sunshine and her bio parents, a deepening of Sunshine and Nolan's relationship. A school dance and of course a super huge baddie that threatens Sunshine and everyone and everything she loves. Seriously, this book rocked.I kept saying one more chapter for an hour. ;) Unbelievable work, Ms. McKenzie!I loved every min with Sunshine and I'm sad to say goodbye to her!Oh and the ending--it was epically satisfying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl (The Haunting of Sunshine Girl Series Book 3) []  2020-6-29 19:9

    Not as interesting as the 1st two books. This one seemed to drag on and on. It became boring to me. The other two books I read within 24 hours because they were quick paced and interesting. This... I forced myself to finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl (The Haunting of Sunshine Girl Series Book 3) []  2020-6-29 19:9

    Me and my daughter love this book and the other 2 as well. Didn't take my daughter long to read all 3 books just because the story obtain so intense sometimes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl (The Haunting of Sunshine Girl Series Book 3) []  2020-6-29 19:9

    Amazing teen series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Winter Sacrifice: Rise of the Dark Fae, Book 1 (Veiled World) []  2020-6-24 18:52

    The female lead in this book is stupidly abusive. It is beautiful poor considering she is supposed to be a heroine. The author tries to create the kidnapping and torture of her “ future mate” ok because she is scared. Domestic violence isn’t a amazing look for anyone who is supposed to be a hero, man or woman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Winter Sacrifice: Rise of the Dark Fae, Book 1 (Veiled World) []  2020-6-24 18:52

    Over all -- I thought this book was entertaining and I liked it enough to [email protected]#$%!. Although I finished it -- I did have a few issues with this book. First, I found the main hero Brynn to be very abrasive and because of that she annoyed me greatly. Secondly, she went back and forth between complaining about things and apologizing for things that were out of her control or not really her fault. Thirdly -- Yes, she really wasn't in a amazing put and yes she had a specific goal in mind -- something that she required to fix. She was just such a negative hero most of the time and characters like that annoy me. Finally, most of the males in this book were stereotypical alpha douchebag males and the prince had small to no personality.With that being said I did have fun parts of this. I really liked Brynn and Nina's friendship in the beginning of the book. The fact that they were so various and got along as well as they did was refreshing. I liked the method the author described and set up scenes. Also, the overall plot was interesting and I enjoyed the twist near the end. I enjoyed the latest 15-20% of the book much more than I did the first 80-85%. I am looking forward to reading the next book to see what happens next. I am hoping for more hero development because I felt like that was a small lacking in this first overall -- not an awesome read but not a not good read either. Slightly better than okay in my books but intelligent enough and entertaining enough to see what happens next!I received a ARC copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Snow Queen: The Complete Saga: Books 1-3: Heart of Ice, Sacrifice, Snowflakes []  2020-7-17 19:17

    I've been waiting for a complete omnibus of the Snow Queen's story to be released so that I could consume it all at once. I knew tidbits of her story because she's mentioned with some frequency in K.M. Shea's other two series Timeless Fairy Tales and The Fairy Tale Enchantress, which are set in the same universe but several centuries later, but since it looks like elements of her story are going to have major bearing on where the latter series is going I figured I'd better obtain caught t much of the original fairy tale remains. This Snow Queen's plot is almost entirely original, and seems to have been influenced more by the film Frozen than the Hans Christian Anderson tale (though Shea draws several side characters from the original: Gerta, Kai, the Robber Maiden, and the reindeer, so she hasn't ignored it entirely). Princess Rakel is a prisoner, kept on an isolated mountain for the crime of possessing magic, which in this time period is feared and hated throughout the continent. Rakel has more magic than anyone has ever seen or heard of, so she could escape easily in theory, but her gentle nature means that the latest thing she wants to do is damage anyone. She would rather use her ice magic for attractive and practical things. So she remains in exile until her country is invaded by an troops of magic users, and she has to choose: does she side with the people who have despised her all her life, or the people who murder innocents with impunity?Rakel's choices, small though she is aware of it, will impact the entire continent for centuries to come and create her and those around her into me of my favorite things in this omnibus did come from the short story anthology in the end, which mostly consists of scenes Shea was forced to chop for length and flow. In to fully appreciate them you do have to have read Rakel's entire story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Snow Queen: The Complete Saga: Books 1-3: Heart of Ice, Sacrifice, Snowflakes []  2020-7-17 19:17

    This book is a unbelievable read and a marvelous take on an old story! I especially loved Rakel's hero and how her past is so clearly a part of her. It created her hero so special and various than the usual "one of a kind girl who saves the day" that we obtain in a lot of books now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Home of the Unknown Soldier: How Coming Back Became the Other Ultimate Sacrifice []  2020-4-24 18:24

    I love how my husband has read it six times and each time he learns a small more compassion for all the characters in his story who were all just doing the best they could with what they understood at the time about life, purpose, and love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Winter Sacrifice: Rise of the Dark Fae, Book 1 (Veiled World) []  2020-6-24 18:52

    These two are so poor to each other. He's calling her a "bit+*" within 10 minute or so of meeting her, then she's refusing to listen and knocks him over the head with an iron skillet, despite him just saving her.. It doesn't obtain better quickly, either. There's no conversation, no rationality at all; they're both constantly calling each other names or insulting each other for the next few chapters. They sound more like really badly behaved brother and sister than mates. Sure, she might not know they're mates, but he definitely seemed to when he first met her.. And this is how he treats her? Verbally abusing her? Not that she's any better, so hateful so much of the time it's hard to read. I tried, I really did. I almost stopped reading the first time he called her a name, but I liked the beginning w/ Nina so I pushed through until 40%. It didn't even obtain remotely better..even after they war together versus a hunter. I just couldn't take it anymore after that. As a survivor of domestic abuse, it's infuriating reading a book or watching a film that makes light of abuse, even when it's in an indirect, unintentional kind of way.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386