the science of cmike0367.wixsite.com/mikesleggings Reviews & Opinions


Submit the science of cmike0367.wixsite.com/mikesleggings review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    The tone of this book is revealed early when the author describes his childhood fascination with what he considers science and science fiction. He wants a drink to give him superpowers, and his mate convinces him that he has everyone (yes, including me) has believe foolish things at times without thinking them through, what's significant is this is the author's starting point. I would have expected tales of building crystal radios and reading classic science fiction, sending up rockets, learning chemistry, observing nature; and of using observation and theory to come to deeper understanding of speculative stead, this book discusses almost all famous comic book and zone opera stories, rarely anything without pictures; the kind of thing that a lot of people call "science fiction." I happen to like comic books and well-made zone operas, but I never confuse them with serious science e issue with trying to explain the science behind, say, Spiderman or Guardians of the Galaxy, is there is no consistent fictional phenomena to explain. The writers of these entertainments created items up as they go along for the convenience of the plot, not within a coherent or even possible spite this problem, a competent scientist could extract some entertaining lessons from comic books and comic book movies. However, this author is not a scientists. He bases his explanations on famous science writing only a level or two above the comic book. Those explanations are often entertaining, if seldom enlightening, but the summaries in this book are stilted and boring.If you are looking for interesting science or speculation inspired by true science fiction, look elsewhere. If you wish your comic books explained to you by someone who reads Gizmodo but lacks its flair, be my guest.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    Interestingly shelved by me as literary, nonfiction and sf, at the same time, this book looks at the history, progress and show of science fiction, affecting science in our civilisations. And perhaps at its future. We can't be sure. Things om ancients who looked at the moon and created up stories, to 2001 A Zone Odyssey, and different stops in between, we obtain a lot of namechecks and some revisiting of tales. They are somewhat jumbled, though, apparently random titles of books and movies on a particular topic, not necessarily in date order. I am also a bit peeved that every four or five page chapter has one or two pages of quotes at the start. A lot of of these quotes are from Stanley Kubrick or Joss mention that I saw of Arthur C Clarke's inventing telecommunication satellites in geosychronous orbits. For that the book loses a the chapter headed Jacking In, about The Matrix or Ready Player One immersion in an alternate reality, we begin with several quotes from Ready Player One (in which the character does not jack in). No quote from Neuromancer, which invented the term, and no description of what is physically involved in that book; it was namechecked in an earlier section on cyberpunk. This leads me to suspect that the author hasn't read Neuromancer. Nor Snow ofreaders, please correct the spelling of the woefully underused Ursula K Le Guin. Apart from herself and Mary Shelley, I just plain didn't see a lot of women authors. Anne [email protected]#$%!&y had genetically modified the native fire lizards of Pern into fire-breathing dragons to aid human partners as telepathic fighters; no mention. Nor is she in the section on cyborgs and bionics; The Ship Who Sang gave a person born with severe disability the possibility to live in control of a spacecraft, published in short stories 1961 - 1969 and as a book in 1969. While we are not there yet, zone travel gave us telemetrics, and the late Prof Stephen Hawking controlled far more from his wheelchair than people did in 1969. JK Rowling gets a glance with one quote about long life and her magic flying e author has assembled a lot of material on different SF and philosophical subjects including alternate reality, time travel, the world's end, zone travel. He sounds enthusiastic and leans more on philosophy than action. No Warlords of Mars, more about The Battle of the Worlds reflecting the barbarity of colonisation. SF fans will be interested; but then, they'll have read the books and seen the films. So I am not sure at whom this work is aimed. Maybe at a fresh generation turning away from the internet for a moment to explore how we got to e book is crying out for an index, and there may be one in the final version. Lacking this in my ARC, I was unable to count easily how a lot of women's names featured. I counted the quotes instead: 40 chapters, each prefaced by three to five quotes from anyone from HG Wells to Carl Sagan to Tim Goodman to Robert Oppenheimer to Kiera Knightley. Five women were quoted.I downloaded an e-ARC from Net Galley. This is an unbiased review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    This book grew on me. The reason I didn’t like it at first has to do with how the title sells the book in the wrong direction. When one sees the title “The Science of Science Fiction” one expects a book like those by Michio Kaku (e.g. “Physics of the Future” or “Physics of the Impossible” – or perhaps like Kakalios’s “The Physics of Superheroes.” In other words, one is expecting a book that teaches one about science through examples of science fiction, i.e. using science fiction to create science interesting and relatable. If you are expecting that kind of book, I suspect you’ll be e book doesn’t go into any depth on scientific issues. Instead of a book about the nexus of science and science fiction, one gets a book about the nexus of the history of science fiction, the history of science, trends in scientific progress, and trends in science fiction. (The confusing title is a small bit justified, therefore, given the broad location of the books “niche,” but it could lead to confusion.) If you are interested in questions such as which came first the fictional atomic bomb or the true one, you’ll be reading the right book. If you are interested in whether or not quantum entanglement can be used for an ansible (faster than light communication) or how quick Superman has to jump to orbit the planet, you’ll search this book a e book is divided into four parts and has a lot of brief chapters in each. Most of these chapters take as their lead a latest work of science fiction (usually a movie) though the book is at its strongest when it’s teaching the reader about the history of science fiction and how that history was influenced by – and influenced – true globe e first part is about space. It considers such questions as whether we will see alien visitor or invaders, the likelihood of parallel universes, and when we can expect to colonize other e second part is entitled “time” and it considers the a lot of ways time has been explored through science fiction. The time machine is considered from several dimensions and through films such as the “Terminator” series and “Looper.” However, other time-related plot devices are also given scrutiny, such as e third part is about machines and the interaction between man and machine. What can we expect from the rise of artificial intelligence (AI) and robots? The reader learns about the earliest use of the term robot and how historical science fiction compares to the realities coming to e fourth, and final, part is entitled “Monster” and it investigates the realm of biology. Can creatures or supermen be made through super-serums or genetic modification? What are the limits of the human body and mind? These are the type of questions that are ere are no graphics, notes, or back matter in this book. However, I did read a review copy, so your results may vary.If you are interested in the history of science fiction and how science fiction relates to scientific progress and the result of science on culture, then I recommend this book. As I said, if you’re wanting to learn about science through the lens of examples from science fiction, then this is probably not the book for you. As I said, the book is at its strongest when it explores the history of science fiction.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on the science of cmike0367.wixsite.com/mikesleggings or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch the science of cmike0367.wixsite.com/mikesleggings video reviews and related movies:


    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    Tag Brake’s “The Science of Science Fiction” is a book chockful of thoughts and ideas. A lot of of the author’s chapter titles are in the form of questions, to which he responds with ideas based upon books and movies.While the discussions are interesting, this book feels more like the begin of a journey rather than a series of destinations. Just as each thought teetered on the edge of deep thinking, the chapter would end and I would be pulled onward, willing or not, into a various network of t that there is anything wrong with this. Mr. Brake approaches the topic from an smart viewpoint, and backs up his points with references to the aforementioned books and movies. I liked the splitting of this book into four parts: Space, Time, Machine, and Monster. This worked well in separating four major subjects and then breaking down each into manageable bites. I also enjoyed the multiple quotes that introduced each chapter, similar thoughts that opened the doors to a fresh tom line: This is an inventive book, filled with rational and at times humorous thinking. Recommended to sci-fi fans and to those who simply have a curiosity about the subject. The short chapters, while limiting deeper analysis, let the book’s pacing to flow easily (in other words, if one chapter isn’t your cup of tea, don’t worry, it will end soon). Satisfying, illuminating, and fun. Four thanks to NetGalley and Skyhorse Publishing for an advance complimentary ebook copy of this title.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    Thank you NetGalley and Skyhorse Publishing for this ARC."The Science of Science Fiction is the story of how science fiction shaped our world. No longer a subculture, science fiction has moved into the mainstream with the advent of the info age it helped is book will begin your eyes to the method science fiction helped us dream of things to come, forced us to discover the nature and limits of our own reality, and aided us in building the future we now inhabit."I think this is mostly why I felt a bit allow down by the content. From the description I thought this would be about the progression of science through the influence of science fiction. It does have some of that in there, but a huge portion felt disorganized and off topic.I expected he would be bringing his professional training as a science professor and his passion for science fiction into a unbelievable mashup love story of how the two mediums connect and influence each ybe my own expectations hindered me in that respect.I think it was too vast a subject and may have been better served in a segmented series of smaller books by ere were a lot of interesting tidbits to be had in this book and I would still recommend it, I would just be advising them beforehand what the actual content is so they have the right mindset going fact:Sections of 2001: A Zone Odyssey were used in training NASA astronauts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    There are a lot of perfect books on the science of science fiction (and fantasy) such as “The Physics of the Buffyverse” by Jennifer Ouellette and “The Physics of Superheroes” by James Kakalios, which explain the science behind the stories. This book is different, in that it looks at how science and science fiction have influenced each other and how the science fiction of the past is the science of today. Tag Brake place together an interesting collection of stories about science, science fiction, and culture that was fun to read. There was even considerable history of SF. I recommend it for anyone who likes to read science fiction.Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book via Netgalley for review purposes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    Amazing book! A must read if taking a high school computer science class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    I've scoured countless digital textbooks about comp sci over the years, and I'm thrilled to search Computer Science Principles available now through Amazon. This textbook is an perfect resource for AP and non-AP students alike. The writing and photos create difficult to grasp concepts simple for high school aged students, and there's enough depth to challenge even the largest nerds. I didn't know hexadecimal could be so fascinating! Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    My main issue with the book is not that the content itself is poor or inaccurate, but instead that there are grammatical errors everywhere, and the author doesn't seem to understand how to structure a sentence properly. The number of positive reviews here leads me to believe that either younger readers (for whom the book is intended) somehow glossed over the errors, or that this book was self-published and the author has enlisted mates and family to inflate review scores. A fast Google find for yellow dart publishing returns nothing, and the provided publisher address is for a residential home, so I'm inclined to believe my latter suspicion is true. There is a reason that well-written textbooks from reputable publishers cost more than $10, and this particular book does nothing to break that mold. Furthermore, I'm saddened by the thought that the author is most likely a teacher somewhere, who requires his students buy his own book as reference material for his class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    I spent $40 per hour for tutoring since it was a fresh course and there were no resources out there.But guess what all that cash spent on tutoring went in vain and I bought this book a night before AP Exam and I got e price is surprisingly low $3 but it saved me like a savior.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    This is book is amazing if you are considering a bachelors in comouter science or need a refresher. dont allow this be your latest stop. The author covers necessary concepts at a high level hence the title of the book. Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    Amazing primary computer book. I highly recommend it for anyone learning about how computers work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    Amazing writing for students to obtain into Computer science principles without as much technical overhead. Nice method to ease them in to some interesting concepts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    This book is an extremely helpful book if you are taking the Computer Science Principles class in high school. I definitely would obtain this book if you wish to learn about Computer Science.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    T͎͇͖̪̤̅͊̐̇͌̎̇̚͟͡ĥ͈̬͇͆̎ͪ͊͠ͅḭ̡̣͚͚̥͖̓̽͒̃͋̄͡͝͠ş̵ͩ̀̀̀͘ ̸͔͇̭̝ͧ҉̵̞̼͈̤͇̕i̔s̡̬͍͂ͭ̅͝ͅ ͖̹̘̬̥ͪ̒ą̛̱͉̭̙̹̌̍̊̾̀͠ ̯̠҉̺ͦ̔ͣ͆ͤģ̨̛͍͎̯̈́̏̂҉r̵̷̭͙͕͗ͩ̍̿e̡̩̝̠͂̊͐͆͡҉̯͑a̛̖͖͍͕ͦ̑ͣť͉̃ͅ͏̰ ̰͑ͫ͗ͮ̄̓b̵̸̢̝̗̬̎̑͛̾̒͠͠o͐͛ok̶͕̥̺̣͆̈́̓ ̷̡ͫ͐̀a͐n͙̅͑̉͑dͯ͐҉̶̳͍̘͈̅҉̸̹̤͔ͬ̂͌̌ͫ ̨̧̭̗̅ͮ͟͠Į̵̨̧͙͙͉͚͐͊̍̽͋̏̕ ͖͈̣̭̱̩̯̙̇ͭ̓͑́ͦạ́͗͆m̻̹̻̥̙̰̩͂͛̑҉̝͟ ͉͔̪̤͎͐͗ͣ̔͘ͅ҉̧͔g̵̷̷̡͕̤̣̜̟͚͛̓ͮ̓̄̓ͧ̕͜͜l̸̢͍͔͔͕͈ͬͪ̓ͧ̄̐͐̀͛̚̚a̰̪͍ͣ̐̀̀̕͝d̨̜͓ͥ͆̊ͮ̿͂͊͏̠̃͌͋҉ ̖͖̮̤͚̎ͮ̂ͤ̅̓͐͢͟t̢͓̣͈̖͛ͩ̈́̀̓̐ͫ̐͞͠h̡̗̖ͯ̊ą̴̫͓͕͈͎͛̿ͥͨͧ̄͐̄͌̚͡͡t̀̍͏̢̡̫̪̫͋ͪ̐͡ ̗̱̺͐ͩ̋͝i̵̢̘̤͕̠̙͔̙ͪͩ͑ͧ̈́ͧ̄ͪ͠t͔͍̗͎̻͆͒̿͐ͮͫ̂̑͋̾͘ ̴̨̣̼̹̣̝̠̀̍̑ͨͬ͡t͏̷̵͍̹ͩ͌̄̔̀̀̇͂̑͢͢͡͞͏̌ḁ̡̹̫̙̻ͬͯͦ́͒̾̌͗̇͡͞ͅu̞̓̿̌͟g̦̤̥̼̋͋̄̅̎͆̕͠͏h̯̤͎̭̑̑̾̏ͦ̈́͒ț̽҉̖͓͈̩̪̩̪͚͎̼̠̬͛̀ͣ̀͜ ̥̯͑̑̆ͦ̔̉͞ṃ̵͕̙̺ͤͩ̆͒ê̻͘ a̼̫̖̻̖̯̤ͣ̎̽́ͥ̈͋́l̫͚̘̗͉̦ͩ̋̔̽̊̐̕l̵̟̲̝̰͉͉ͦ̄͛̑͗̑̈́ ̶̨̺̭̻̮̗̗͔ͩ̔ͥͣ̄̈͊̕̕͞͝Į̹͕̤̮͙͙̪̙͆ͩ͛ͦ͒͂͐ ͍̘̟̻ne̘̟͈̫ͣ͐̓ͬ́̉é̷̮̟̖͘͟d̸̶͖̤̐̊͞ ̰̠̑ͥ͘t̶̛͚ͫ̊͏̐̒ợ̸̩̐̌́̇̋ͤ ̵̡̝̩̹̰͕͐̈́͋͌͊͒̌̅ͮ̓k̛͎͉̜̠̖͌͊͊̄̃̌̅̎ͯ͢͠ͅn̵̛̝̟͎̲̭̣̼͆̌̑̽̾͘ơ̡̢̱͔̖͎̩̹̣̬̠̽̌̎́ͨ̂͜͜w̴͕̃͑̌͜.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles review [Book]  2017-10-18 18:1

    If your wanting to be a programmer this is a excellent put to start! It's got dozens of information on everything you need to know about programming for beginners I learned a lot!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace D. Wattles Trilogy: The Science of Getting Rich, The Science of Being Well and The Science of Being Great review []  2019-12-27 18:0

    This book is EVERYTHING IT SAYS IT IS... I have been listening almost everyday as it suggests and after 3 weeks there are parts that just now have transformed my perspectives and I obtain what it is doing and where I am going with it...I will report again as I start to create the money that I know now is definitely forming and will come through the ideas I am now learning how to implement. It is amazing. Totally about renewing your mind (sets) forgiveness, Everyday gratitude, eliminating ALL negative bits that poison our everyday outlook, instead you focus on your goals and stay in a CREATION mode instead of being geared up as ''competitive''.You align with creativity...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace D. Wattles Trilogy: The Science of Getting Rich, The Science of Being Well and The Science of Being Great review []  2019-12-27 18:0

    "By thought, the thing you wish is brought to you; by action you receive." ~ pg. 39If you wish to know the philosophy behind The Secret then you might have fun reading "The Science of Wallace D. Wattles." He is much more practical and indicates that you should change your thinking but also change your actions. Action is definitely needed to achieve health and wealth. If you are interested in becoming a amazing person then the final chapters of this book indicate a method to achieve such a first Wallace D. Wattles keeps talking about how you have to "act and think in a certain way" in order to achieve wealth. He spends very small time actually explaining how to act in this method but does explain that you should have a sense of gratitude. Basically his notice is "how you think is what you become." This applies to health, wealth and becoming great.What amazing is cash if you are not also healthy? The second section of this book explains how we all have a healing power within ourselves that can be activated by belief. Wallace D. Wattles believed that it was not the medicine that created you well but the faith you had in the remedy that produced the cure.While this book has a lot of amazing ideas about positive thinking there are a few things I didn't agree with. One was the author's idea about not eating breakfast. Instead he says to wait until you feel hungry. Not eating breakfast goes versus current wisdom on the matter. In fact most dieticians say breakfast is the most necessary food of the e second idea I found almost wonderful was Wallace D. Wattles idea that there is nothing wrong with the world, that everything is as it should be. I also think it is very naïve to say that there is no evil in the world. While Wallace D. Wattles believed in God, he also seems to have believed in evolution. So basically those are some of the things I disagreed with."There are altogether too a lot of people who are trying to create something of themselves by reading books without thinking; all such will fail. You are not mentally developed by what you read, but by what you think about what you read." ~ pg. 142I personally don't know how you would even start to read without thinking but the quote sounds good. I can only recommend this book to anyone who is willing to place the ideas in this book to the test. A lot of of the ideas seem very Fresh Age for the time in which they were written and if you have read "The Secret" this book will intrigue you. The only true issue with this book is that it required some editing. If you can overlook that aspect you can still have fun this book.~The Rebecca Review

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace D. Wattles Trilogy: The Science of Getting Rich, The Science of Being Well and The Science of Being Great review []  2019-12-27 18:0

    Any person in business understands that it’s 20% technical and 80% mental. Feed the mental side with this must have.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace D. Wattles Trilogy: The Science of Getting Rich, The Science of Being Well and The Science of Being Great review []  2019-12-27 18:0

    This is an awesome book by Wallace Wattles, and was the very book which inspired Rhonda Byrne's journey which culminated in her staging the brilliant project phenomenon "The Secret". I highly recommend Wallace Wattles's compendium of three-books-in-one like this one I'm reviewing. It is ageless, and was written 97 years ago, and as relevant info today as it was then. It is ONLY for those who are really serious about changing their financial e Secret of Rhonda Byrne or The Law of Attraction in the BibleThe Secret [UNABRIDGED CD] (Audiobook)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace D. Wattles Trilogy: The Science of Getting Rich, The Science of Being Well and The Science of Being Great review []  2019-12-27 18:0

    The absolute best tip you could ever obtain from an author on how to obtain rich, be well, and be great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace D. Wattles Trilogy: The Science of Getting Rich, The Science of Being Well and The Science of Being Great review []  2019-12-27 18:0

    I've heard so a lot of contemporary books that ape the concepts place forward here, but if you wish one of the original "self-help" books, this is it. Mr. Wattles information does sound a bit dated, but this predates "The Secret" or any other books of that genre, and I like it. Not only does this book cover three major subjects, but it does it in a simple, effective way. Obtain this, obtain enlightened; it's not a "secret" at all:)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace D. Wattles Trilogy: The Science of Getting Rich, The Science of Being Well and The Science of Being Great review []  2019-12-27 18:0

    This book is amazing for helping you direct your thinking on what's most necessary in life and eliminate the unnecessary.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace D. Wattles Trilogy: The Science of Getting Rich, The Science of Being Well and The Science of Being Great review []  2019-12-27 18:0

    Amazing option to printing off line much easier to read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace D. Wattles Trilogy: The Science of Getting Rich, The Science of Being Well and The Science of Being Great review []  2019-12-27 18:0

    This book is a must for anyone wanting to improve their lives. I'm a chronic underliner who underlines every thought I feel is important. I've underlined the entire book. The book was written almost 100 years ago, but the sage wisdom is just appropriate now. I am reading the book for the second time and will hold reading it until I ingrain the concepts. Kaye Loraine

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wallace D. Wattles Trilogy: The Science of Getting Rich, The Science of Being Well and The Science of Being Great review []  2019-12-27 18:0

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles, 2nd Edition review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    As an educator, I appreciate the method this resource is logical, straightforward, and simple to understand. My students taking AP Computer Science will search this resource a helpful supplement to the AP Computer Science course, and even those not enrolled in the course will search it useful as a tutorial for understanding. Moreover, this book celebrates the unlimited creativity that can be imagined and achieved in this field rather than emphasizing formulaic rigidity, which will inspire all students of the study, regardless of age!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles, 2nd Edition review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    This book helped me understand some of the most complex computer science concepts. My incompetent computer science teacher created me question why I even signed up for a computer science course but after reading this book I stopped failing computer science. My parents no longer hate me and I am thriving in AP computer science principles. I actually feel prepared for the exam now, as I didn’t before because my computer science teacher is literally insane and doesn’t teach us. this book is a lifesaver!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles, 2nd Edition review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    Hare breaks down the idea of coding in a method that if not easily understood, makes it understandable for even the most complicated reader. I am not a 'techie' or into coding as a hobby, but I am interested enough to wish to have a knowledge of how things work. I feel that this book will be a amazing reference in the future for my purposes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles, 2nd Edition review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    Amazing book! Computer Science Principles makes for an perfect textbook for both AP and regular high school computer science classes. It takes complex concepts and explains them in an easily understood and creative way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles, 2nd Edition review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    This was a huge support as I recently acquired dreamweaver, and was also unfamiliar with applying bootstrap when developing a webpage. Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles, 2nd Edition review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    I thought I was going to fail my ap comp sci exam but this book proved a helpful latest min cram

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles, 2nd Edition review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    This book is a must have if you are taking or teaching computer science! I would definitely recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles, 2nd Edition review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    As a student, this book is a amazing resource when preparing for the AP principals exam. Kevin Hare explains the complex code in a method that can be interpreted by any student. I highly recommend this book for any student preparing for the AP principles exam.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles, 2nd Edition review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    This book is a amazing method to prepare for the AP exam. It simplified very complex topic matter and was simple to follow. Would definitely recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Computer Science Principles: The Foundational Concepts of Computer Science - For AP® Computer Science Principles, 2nd Edition review [Book]  2018-5-7 18:1

    I’m a student and this was really helpful to prepare thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Simple Science for Homeschooling High School: Because Teaching Science isn't Rocket Science! (Coffee Break Books Book 33) review []  2019-12-23 19:34

    All of Lee's books are so helpful for the homeschooling parent and this one on science is no exception. She gives practical tip for planning science for your high schooler. What helped me most was being reminded that I just need to facilitate science and not be the "know all." We purchased curriculum and prioritize it in our home school week. We have followed her tip and have been the better for it. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Simple Science for Homeschooling High School: Because Teaching Science isn't Rocket Science! (Coffee Break Books Book 33) review []  2019-12-23 19:34

    Amazing item, quick shipping!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Simple Science for Homeschooling High School: Because Teaching Science isn't Rocket Science! (Coffee Break Books Book 33) review []  2019-12-23 19:34

    Lee Binz has written another amazing e-book with valuable info for homeschoolers. While I think that most of us can glean some wise advice, this would especially be a amazing resource for newer homeschoolers looking at high school.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Simple Science for Homeschooling High School: Because Teaching Science isn't Rocket Science! (Coffee Break Books Book 33) review []  2019-12-23 19:34

    Amazing information! After reading this I feel confident I can provide the materials required for my kids to be successful in high school science... without me even teaching it!!! I now know what is required, where to obtain it, and how to do those labs at home even though science is NOT my strength. Whoot, whoot Lee! Amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Simple Science for Homeschooling High School: Because Teaching Science isn't Rocket Science! (Coffee Break Books Book 33) review []  2019-12-23 19:34

    Clear and concise information. Just what I was looking for! Lee Binz is always able to obtain her info across in a easy manner so that I feel I am capable of homeschooling the upper grades.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Simple Science for Homeschooling High School: Because Teaching Science isn't Rocket Science! (Coffee Break Books Book 33) review []  2019-12-23 19:34

    If you already feel confident and have a plan, you do not need this book. If you are freaked out about teaching high school science, especially providing LABS, Lee Binz will calm you down and give you the options and info you need to know to proceed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Simple Science for Homeschooling High School: Because Teaching Science isn't Rocket Science! (Coffee Break Books Book 33) review []  2019-12-23 19:34

    Lee,Thank you so much for this book. I found it helpful in so a lot of ways. You gave me amazing ideas on alternative science courses. Explaining the various tests and the reasons for taking them was very insightful. I was not aware that you need pre-calculus for physics. That is a amazing bit of info to know before we obtain there. All of your coffee break books have been helpful in one method or another. Hold writing them!Jayne

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Simple Science for Homeschooling High School: Because Teaching Science isn't Rocket Science! (Coffee Break Books Book 33) review []  2019-12-23 19:34

    Lee goes into amazing detail concerning options for Science curriculums. It's amazing to know that she has been through this and is sharing her knowledge and experience. A recommended read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Simple Science for Homeschooling High School: Because Teaching Science isn't Rocket Science! (Coffee Break Books Book 33) review []  2019-12-23 19:34

    This book is a amazing overview of what is required for high school science for the home educated student. The lists of resources are especially valuable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Simple Science for Homeschooling High School: Because Teaching Science isn't Rocket Science! (Coffee Break Books Book 33) review []  2019-12-23 19:34

    Amazing ideas for science courses for those who don't wish to go to traditional route. Thanks Lee!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Third Grade Book: I Love Science: Science for Kids 3rd Grade Books (Children's Science & Nature Books) review []  2020-1-16 1:22

    This book is a disjointed collection of images, with text "tidbits" about the different themes. Well yes, I suppose all of them could be classified as "science"... But it's more the feeling of "random science trivia" than "learning" anything. The reading level and appropriate grade level of the info presented also seem varied and r the listing of the planets in the solar system, the pictures are a strange "trading card" looking drawing, that doesn't do anything useful to represent the planet, its put in the solar system, or any if its special factors. (See my screen capture for a representative page spread). For the animal sections, illustrations were "cartoon-ish" and not realistic, reducing their educational value considerably. It was also distracting that they are of widely varying e "size" of the book is also filled out with "note taking" pages, with titles like, "Write down and draw other sea animals you know". Exactly how the kid is supposed to write them down on a Kindle screen I don't know, and it doesn't create an poor lot more sense in the print version, which still doesn't seem to be a consumable "workbook".So, the book is maybe interesting enough to look through and browse the facts presented (some interesting), but it's not a "read" at all. For free, you can easily grab the Kindle edition (like I did), to have a look and have fun casually. But I definitely can't see a reason to spend your hard-earned money for the print version. It's not even in the same league as a real educational resource.I am obligated to add the disclaimer that "I received this product free in exchange for agreeing to provide a review" which is beautiful silly, given that it is already free for everyone... Obviously, that has not compelled me to write a falsely positive review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Third Grade Book: I Love Science: Science for Kids 3rd Grade Books (Children's Science & Nature Books) review []  2020-1-16 1:22

    This was a really interesting book for our family, and especially for me. We read this book together, with my 10 year old doing the reading (which impresses me every time). I don't remember learning all the science bits that were included in this book in my childhood. The illustrations were interesting, though in this book, the facts were more impacting. The book format really highlights the photos and gives ample time for talking about the pictures. One spread has an photo with a couple of sentences, then the next is simply an image. This repeats throughout the book and gives a amazing format for reading is book gives enough info to build a foundation, without being too in-depth or overwhelming. For us, it was random, for others, it would work well. I also think this book would work well for a classroom, because there is a lot of opportunity for talking about the pictures, or even completing a written or drawing assignment. Personally, as a homeschooler, I love books like this one that give valuable info in a fast and simple to digest format.Overall: Neat information, as fast or slow as you create it. We enjoyed it, and I think that most young kids would be interested in reading this with their e Kindle ver of this book was provided to me for free, with the expectation that I review it honestly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Third Grade Book: I Love Science: Science for Kids 3rd Grade Books (Children's Science & Nature Books) review []  2020-1-16 1:22

    I was really excited to obtain the kindle ver of this book for my son. He is in second grade, but reading at a third grade level. Plus, he is extremely interested in science. When the book was sent to my kindle, and I was able to read it myself, I was a small disappointed. Maybe it's partially that I might not have really understood what I was getting. The picture on the front of the book shows planets and animals, but I guess I assumed there would be more science content than that. There are far more aspects of science that could have been incorporated. Perhaps the author has other books for other locations of science that I'm not aware of. Also, I felt that the book was more suited for younger than 3rd grade. This book covers barely the basics for the subjects. At the third grade level (even at 2nd grade level), children are reading little chapter books, so they are capable of reading and comprehending a bit more than this book contains. Anyway, I guess I should also give a review from my son's perspective. When my son read the book, he said he liked it. He is really into the planets and he loves animals, so there was content that he really did enjoy. I do think that even he felt that it wasn't challenging enough of a read for him, though he did not say so. All in all, the book is okay and a cute read. It covers some of the basics on the planets and various species of animals. The illustrations are beautiful cute, too. But,at the grade level that it is advertised for, I do think it falls a bit short for what I was expecting. However, for younger readers (maybe nursery school to early 2nd grade), I think this book would be absolutely excellent and age appropriate. I am giving this book 4 stars because I feel that it's actually a decent early learning book, but it would be better targeted for children younger than 3rd grade.**Disclaimer**...I received this kindle e-book for free in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Third Grade Book: I Love Science: Science for Kids 3rd Grade Books (Children's Science & Nature Books) review []  2020-1-16 1:22

    In this book kids will learn about several topics in one put including: the solar system, sea animals, desert animals and forest animals. They will learn a lot of primary facts about each subject. The book is also beautifully illustrated along with the topics and facts through out the me of the things you will learn in this book:--> What planet was named after the Roman god of war?--> What is the name of the tallest mountain in the solar system?--> Which planet has the shortest day of all the planets?--> What was the first planet discovered by a telescope?--> Which planet is known as the dwarf planet?--> Which sea animal looks like a knight in a chess game?--> Which desert animal is known by its elongated limbless body?--> Which forest animal looks like a small, bushy tailed dog?--> Which forest animal rolls itself into a ball to protect itself?--> Which forest animal lives in trees and eats nuts?And there is much more to learn in this fun children's e book also provides kids pages to be creative and draw and write with the small worksheets that are included inside this book. I highly recommend this book for children. This would be a amazing educational addition to add to any child's library. I was blessed to purchase this book at a discounted price. I am not affiliated with this company in any way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Third Grade Book: I Love Science: Science for Kids 3rd Grade Books (Children's Science & Nature Books) review []  2020-1-16 1:22

    This book isn't poor for kids, but it seems a small confused on what story it's trying to communicate and what age group it's aiming e book is only 27 pages, which is divided evenly between the solar system and a few types of animals. It provides a few blank locations for freehand drawing, and takes opportunities here and there to ask generic questions ("How a lot of desert animals do you know?") Problematically, it alternates between extremely primary language and facts ("Earth: It is where we live!") and complicated language that isn't explained ("terrestrial planet", "cratered planet", etc). There are a few grammatical errors sprinkled in, and the animal pictures are cartoons that would appeal to a kindergardener. Showing the book to a preschooler actually worked out well for this reason, but I don't imagine an older child in 3rd grade would search the depictions very appealing.Overall, since it's currently free, I think it's a fine choice of book to bring in a small dozens for parents looking to sit down with their children and talk about the planets and animals, but I wouldn't expect too much interest in reading the book a second time.I received this product for free or at a discount in exchange for a review. This product is already free, so that's kind of a funny thing to have to say.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Third Grade Book: I Love Science: Science for Kids 3rd Grade Books (Children's Science & Nature Books) review []  2020-1-16 1:22

    This is a cute book for teaching kids some introductory zone science and biology. I liked the pictures and look forward to reading it to my young nephew. For students around the third grade, I can see how this would be a helpful after-school book, as it has exercises. The zone science section was my favorite, as each planet has one picture page, and one info page (including Pluto, which is included with a note mentioning that is no longer a major planet since 2006). Info such as order of planets from the sun, moons and special features (Saturn's rings) are indicated. The animals sections (Sea animals, Desert animals and Forest animals) have cute pictures, but there are too a lot of monsters on each picture page to present which animal is which in the various ecosystems. I would certainly read this section with the student, as the info about each animal is interesting, but I would use this as a learning exercise to point out which one is which or find the web for more pictures. For example, I don't know where the Elephant Seals are pictured, but the seahorse is not pictured near its text, and other animals, such as the vulture and the hyena are left out of the text descriptions. Overall a cute book, and I would certainly read it with my nephew or future kids. I received this kindle book for free.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Third Grade Book: I Love Science: Science for Kids 3rd Grade Books (Children's Science & Nature Books) review []  2020-1-16 1:22

    This book, in my opinion is more a collection of facts about various things, than it is actual science. It goes over the planets, various animals of the sea, desert, and woodland. It was informatory, but again, I wouldn't consider it a science book. Maybe a book of facts would be more accurate. Most of the things in this book, my 3rd grader learned in 2nd or even 1st grade. There are a couple pages AFTER each section where children can "write down" other animals that live in those areas, or even "write down" the order of the planets closest to the sun, but how are they supposed to do that on a kindle? The purpose of a kindle book is to NOT have the paper book, so that's kind of redundant, I thought. I wouldn't print this out just for my children to be able to write down and respond the question. My 3rd grader, who is 9, almost 10, as well as my 2nd grader, 7, almost 8, both seemed beautiful bored with the book & when asked if they liked it, their answer was, "Well, it didn't teach me anything I didn't know..." I received this book in exchange for my honest opinion. This does NOT change my review one bit.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Third Grade Book: I Love Science: Science for Kids 3rd Grade Books (Children's Science & Nature Books) review []  2020-1-16 1:22

    I got this book for my daughter, she is currently in the third grade and has been having a bit of a hard time in her science class. I figured I could have her read this book and see if it sparked some interest on her part and thankfully it did. She is very huge on having visual pictures and drawings in the books she reads and this one definitely provides a lot of illustrations to go with each page of information. This book gives info about all of the planets and provides interesting facts on each. I was honestly learning fun facts that I don't recall learning back when I was in school. I love that this book provides review sections in which I can try my daughter to see what she learned, she loves recalling the info she read during the reviews and I like to know that she is actually grasping the info that she is reading. This book also provides a thorough section of various types of animals and allows for the reader to think of other animals that would go in each category. My daughter really enjoyed reading this book! I was given the opportunity to purchase this product at a discounted price in exchange for me trying out and evaluating the product and providing an honest and unbiased review of the product. Each product that I purchase is personally tested by either myself or someone in my household. I have not been influenced in any way, shape, or form to provide a certain rating for this product, and I have not nor do I keep any bonus cards or any sort of payment for my reviews. All thoughts expressed in my review are my own and most importantly are honest and unbiased, I rely heavily on the honest reviews of other shoppers when purchasing anything online and take my reviews very seriously. I hope you search this review to be helpful :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Third Grade Book: I Love Science: Science for Kids 3rd Grade Books (Children's Science & Nature Books) review []  2020-1-16 1:22

    I Love Science is a really cute book for little kids who are interested in Science. I decided to check out this small gem because I have a first grader who is a small more advanced than most of her peers and she absolutely loves to learn. She was able to learn about the various planets in her solar system and the order that they come in as well as various types of animals from various environments. She thoroughly enjoyed every min of this small book. At the end of each section there is a short activity that allows them to interact and display what they've learned. It took about an hour for us to obtain through including activity time so this will create an perfect activity or lesson plan for any child. I recommend I Love Science for any parent who wants to hold their child's interest peaked. I also highly recommend it for teachers to use in their classrooms if they're looking for a small additional something to add to their curriculum. I Love Science pushes your kid to use memorization and imagination as well as improve their attention to detail. I was lucky enough to keep this book for free but I would have been more than satisfied with my purchase if I had paid for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Third Grade Book: I Love Science: Science for Kids 3rd Grade Books (Children's Science & Nature Books) review []  2020-1-16 1:22

    This book is AMAZING for any kid who is interested in the universe or science in general. My son is home from school today because he's a small sick, so I just brought this to him to read... He loves learning about the planets and animals. He is having no issue reading the words, and the pictures in it are provoking him to ask questions.He is going to obtain a lot of use out of this ebook! I highly HIGHLY recommend this to anyone who has a kid in school that shows any interest in science. This will obtain them learning, and asking questions!The worksheets and activities in the book are perfect! He enjoys doing it all!I cannot thank you enough for giving me the opportunity to have my son read this book for free. It is always unbelievable to see him satisfied when he reads.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Tomorrowland: Our Journey from Science Fiction to Science Fact review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Basically a bathroom reader of interesting science, I'd like this book more if it seemed a bit less credible and "this is gonna blow your mind" contrarian about some things. Some of this items -- environmentalists changing their minds about nuclear energy, for example -- isn't exactly obscure or mindblowing once you understand the reasons; the chapter on steroids, on the other hand, seems credulous and poorly written and is likely to give a lot of people the idea that OTC steroid use is just fine. The article on mind-uploading and the singularity borders on gee-whiz gibberish. Kotler strikes me as the embodiment of everything scientists hate about science journalism -- 90% correct, 10% completely off the rails, and it's hard to tell where one ends and the other begins.I normally like books like this. I thought I'd love this one. But as a longtime skeptic, this one leaves me lukewarm at best. If you must read it, double-check everything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Tomorrowland: Our Journey from Science Fiction to Science Fact review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    I had to skip some of the chapters because the subjects were less interesting to me, but this book is definitely worth reading for the chapter on hormone interventions alone...though I also liked (and cried after) the chapter on psychedelics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Tomorrowland: Our Journey from Science Fiction to Science Fact review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Amazed at the fresh info I learned. For instance a lot of slaves on the smaller plantations were fed better and had better living conditions than some people up north had. And so a lot of various facts about all kinds of things!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Tomorrowland: Our Journey from Science Fiction to Science Fact review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    A clear view of what to expect of the future and how we are getting there. Worth reading and commenting with friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Tomorrowland: Our Journey from Science Fiction to Science Fact review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    This is a book for the curious, non-scientist reader. It discusses some of the most phenomenal advances in science and medicine and their social and private implications - all in clear and easy language.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Tomorrowland: Our Journey from Science Fiction to Science Fact review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    I'm Interesting take on modern technology. Concentrates on medical developments, and is a bit too gee-whiz. Also takes some views not well accepted in the medical community.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Tomorrowland: Our Journey from Science Fiction to Science Fact review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    This book illuminates the interesting science that is mostly unreported in media and the wide gap between progress and policy. This is a paradigm shift in words. From bionics to drugs to not-to-distant future inventions to genetics, Kotler brings out the disconnects and the wonder that progressive science holds.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Tomorrowland: Our Journey from Science Fiction to Science Fact review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    Fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Tomorrowland: Our Journey from Science Fiction to Science Fact review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    The best quote in the book is "the future is coming so fast, you can't obtain out of the way." A well written very readable book that will both educate and scare you just a bit. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Tomorrowland: Our Journey from Science Fiction to Science Fact review [Book]  2017-10-16 18:1

    The book is a collection of inspiring articles: informative, well written, thought provoking. The articles I've liked the most are, the biology of spirituality, the possibilities of nuclear energy and hacking the President's DNA.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Science Wallpapers 4K PRO Science Backgrounds review [App]  2018-7-12 13:9

    Working as a tech QA I can see you are in an infant stage, but you really do have some cool abstract scientific photos. Very creative. And I like how the zone origin of each image is provided. I think you should make a description of what subdivision of science the images were derived so the user can understand what they are seeing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Science Wallpapers 4K PRO Science Backgrounds review [App]  2018-7-12 13:9

    Amazing science pictures

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Science Wallpapers 4K PRO Science Backgrounds review [App]  2018-7-12 13:9

    "110718..p'dv..thank's..."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    QUIZTHRONE: Best science free quiz,science trivia. review [App]  2019-5-30 21:25

    That was tough or i forgot everything 🙄 Really interesting app, Also could you add more topics to it. I would suggest history or something about zone , knowledge about stars, black hole, worm whole, cosmos, nebula etc

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    QUIZTHRONE: Best science free quiz,science trivia. review [App]  2019-5-30 21:25

    The best trivia game, loved the aesthetics, design, questions are realy interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    QUIZTHRONE: Best science free quiz,science trivia. review [App]  2019-5-30 21:25

    Very useful game. Its amazing for learners. The amazing thing is there are no adds in it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    QUIZTHRONE: Best science free quiz,science trivia. review [App]  2019-5-30 21:25

    Peaceful and delicate. It does what it says.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    QUIZTHRONE: Best science free quiz,science trivia. review [App]  2019-5-30 21:25

    Best quiz application in playstore. Very helpful for papers and quiz.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    QUIZTHRONE: Best science free quiz,science trivia. review [App]  2019-5-30 21:25

    One of the best quiz application for science students

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    QUIZTHRONE: Best science free quiz,science trivia. review [App]  2019-5-30 21:25

    very useful for learning. nice interface

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    QUIZTHRONE: Best science free quiz,science trivia. review [App]  2019-5-30 21:25

    nice one app.. beautiful useful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    QUIZTHRONE: Best science free quiz,science trivia. review [App]  2019-5-30 21:25

    QUIZTHRONE: Best science free quiz. This quiz android game is all about chemistry quiz, Biology quiz, and physics quiz. So don’t waste your time and download this free quiz android game and have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    QUIZTHRONE: Best science free quiz,science trivia. review [App]  2019-5-30 21:25

    😍

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Science Spirit | Get Science & Tech News | FREE review [App]  2019-8-29 21:19

    Cool

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Feast of Science: Intriguing Morsels from the Science of Everyday Life review []  2020-1-5 18:28

    Lots of interesting nutritional facts all based on science.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A Feast of Science: Intriguing Morsels from the Science of Everyday Life review []  2020-1-5 18:28

    In this enticingly absorbing book, Dr. Schwarcz presents about a hundred bite-sized essays explaining in anecdotal style how science works. He attempts to separate the gibberish touted by advertisers and celebrities profiting from their product sales and explain the basics of how things actually function. Among the diverse topics, there is an article extolling the genius of Tesla, another on the Polio vaccine and how the oral form inspired the song “A Spoonful of Sugar” in the Mary Poppins movie. In the essay on the power of the mind, it’s shown how the body can answer to a belief. When from force of circumstance, on the battlefield a painfully wounded soldier has his pain relieved after being informed that the saline shot actually injected was morphine. Delve into stories about phosphides, arsenic, ether, butyric acid, caproic acid (also known as goat stench), use iodine to try apple ripeness. and so a lot of other chemicals that are part of everyday life. The very appealing stories describe the fallibility of many, the discoveries of others, the possibility observations and accidents that led to fresh and useful discoveries. This author has the canny knack to explain the language of science to a public resistant to technical jargon and makes the magic of chemistry accessible to the lay reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AP Computer Science A (Barron's Ap Computer Science a) review []  2020-1-9 18:44

    This book has been a amazing support in my quest to obtain 5 on the AP test. It has a amazing skeleton of all the subjects that will be on the try and makes sure to cover some small info that can be the difference between a 4 and a 5. These books are amazing for any AP class and I recommend any AP uses this resource for the burden of that class will be greatly alleviated.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AP Computer Science A (Barron's Ap Computer Science a) review []  2020-1-9 18:44

    Very well written book, really gets you to UNDERSTAND the concepts. I only was able to study from it for like a week, sadly. I ended up getting a 4 on the AP exam somehow anyway, maybe if I had used this book I would've gotten a 5.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AP Computer Science A (Barron's Ap Computer Science a) review []  2020-1-9 18:44

    Recommended study tutorial for AP Computer Science - user friendly, larger book than other tutorials but helped my son obtain a "5"...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AP Computer Science A (Barron's Ap Computer Science a) review []  2020-1-9 18:44

    Definitely recommended. I'm totally a fan of Barron's books, but this textbook in particularly was very helpful when I was preparing for the AP exam, and it allowed me to obtain a 5 on the try without too much trouble

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AP Computer Science A (Barron's Ap Computer Science a) review []  2020-1-9 18:44

    The gold standard for preparing for the APCS exam. Very comprehensive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AP Computer Science A (Barron's Ap Computer Science a) review []  2020-1-9 18:44

    Lightning quick shipping, just as described!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AP Computer Science A (Barron's Ap Computer Science a) review []  2020-1-9 18:44

    I was beautiful amazing with java but this book did support me organize my pre-existing knowledge to be prepared enough to obtain a 5.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AP Computer Science A (Barron's Ap Computer Science a) review []  2020-1-9 18:44

    Read the book a week or so before the test. Didn’t take the high school class. Got a 4.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AP Computer Science A (Barron's Ap Computer Science a) review []  2020-1-9 18:44

    I bought this AP prep book for one of my children, as recommended by the teacher of his AP Computer Science class. He is a amazing student and excelled in the class, so I wasn't particularly worried about the AP test.He nearly broke into tears in frustration after taking the first try in this book and missing nearly half of the questions. When he compared it to the score he received on the mock try he took in class, he noticed a heavy discrepancy in the difficulty level of the questions. His teacher informed him that the Barron's AP series was meant to over-prepare students for the AP test, using harder and more rigorous questions. My kid decided to ignore the tests in the book, only using the study sections which he said were somewhat helpful for reviewing.We are still waiting to keep his AP try scores, but he said that he did not face any major difficulties while taking the test.Ultimately, this review book had some useful study information, but it may be best to avoid the mock tests unless you really feel the need to over-prepare yourself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AP Computer Science A (Barron's Ap Computer Science a) review []  2020-1-9 18:44

    This book was useful for studying in my college intermediate java course. It has amazing practice questions and explains concepts well

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science Behind Track and Field (Science of the Summer Olympics) review []  2020-1-16 9:33

    This book is ok for children's book. Which I believe it is written for!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science Behind Track and Field (Science of the Summer Olympics) review []  2020-1-16 9:33

    The book was okay. Didn’t really address the science behind running.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Data Science from Scratch: Practical Guide with Python (Data Sciences) review [Book]  2018-4-1 18:1

    This is a nicely written book for beginners who wish to learn about data science. When I say beginners I mean a intelligent high school upperclassman. The writing is not mathematically challenging and the examples are simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Data Science from Scratch: Practical Guide with Python (Data Sciences) review [Book]  2018-4-1 18:1

    The book has unbelievable overview to learn Python programming. If you read the whole book, you will be benefited in a lot of ways. Hope you will be able to understand everything easily.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Data Science from Scratch: Practical Guide with Python (Data Sciences) review [Book]  2018-4-1 18:1

    From the beginning to the end this book about learning data science has given the best knowledge and shared with us. I found the simple steps learning so helpful. Learning data science is a challenging task but these book has created the learning enjoyable and easy, I loved learning evaluation it has given.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Data Science from Scratch: Practical Guide with Python (Data Sciences) review [Book]  2018-4-1 18:1

    Data science is a broad field, very strong for decision making . This book provides both the theoretical explanation and practical knowledge of the science.. Recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Data Science from Scratch: Practical Guide with Python (Data Sciences) review [Book]  2018-4-1 18:1

    The book is an amazing refresher for primary statistics. I particularly like the method that the book outlines the connections between data science and statistics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Data Science from Scratch: Practical Guide with Python (Data Sciences) review [Book]  2018-4-1 18:1

    This book giving practical tutorial for data science. Amazing informative book. Learning content provided. Appreciating stuff. Providing proven process.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter