Read the science of lpe88.life reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the science of lpe88.life reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life: The Science of Biology []  2020-1-22 1:15

    It didn't meet my expectations because the cover of the book is wearing off. I have to tape the sides of the cover with duct tape to prevent it from tearing off. Although the interior is decent with no writing and highlighting, the quality of the hard bound is not the best as opposed to what buyers said on the their reviews!

    0  


    Add your opinion on the science of lpe88.life or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life: The Science of Biology []  2020-1-22 1:15

    The pictures and the diagrams are really nice in this textbook. The layout is also nice and simple to follow. There is a ton of info so pair it with the study tutorial and you'll be able to do great! I got the loose leaf ver so it was easier for me to carry a few chapters around at a time rather than the whole thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life: The Science of Biology []  2020-1-22 1:15

    This textbook has taught me so much! But it is super massive and has a amazing amount of mistakes in it, hopefully your professors point them out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life: The Science of Biology []  2020-1-22 1:15

    A small more used than I thought it was gonna be, but it’s a book I required for college for a super low price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life: The Science of Biology []  2020-1-22 1:15

    It is SO thick and heavy. Probably should have bought the loose-leaf version, if there is one. It's a science book, it's going to be huge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life: The Science of Biology []  2020-1-22 1:15

    Not satisfied I had to it for class, but it is a amazing book..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life: The Science of Biology []  2020-1-22 1:15

    Simple to read for school and comprehensive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life: The Science of Biology []  2020-1-22 1:15

    I know it is a rental, but the binding does not look like it will latest the whole school semester. Not sure if daughter already commented, but wanted to document book condition when received.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life: The Science of Biology []  2020-1-22 1:15

    As far as the sale, price, delivery, and condition of book, it was excellent. I would from this vendor far as the book, I can't give it a score low enough. The book is loose leaf and the pages are thin and cheap. The writing is dense and poorly written. This is not a book for students learning biology as an undergraduate student at college. The concepts are poorly organized and the explanations are completely confusing. The only redeeming quality is the illustrations. If you are taking a class that uses this book, heed my warning. Don't take the class or consider a various school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life: The Science of Biology []  2020-1-22 1:15

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Feast of Science: Intriguing Morsels from the Science of Everyday Life []  2020-1-5 18:28

    In this enticingly absorbing book, Dr. Schwarcz presents about a hundred bite-sized essays explaining in anecdotal style how science works. He attempts to separate the gibberish touted by advertisers and celebrities profiting from their product and explain the basics of how things actually function. Among the diverse topics, there is an article extolling the genius of Tesla, another on the Polio vaccine and how the oral form inspired the song “A Spoonful of Sugar” in the Mary Poppins movie. In the essay on the power of the mind, it’s shown how the body can answer to a belief. When from force of circumstance, on the battlefield a painfully wounded soldier has his pain relieved after being informed that the saline shot actually injected was morphine. Delve into stories about phosphides, arsenic, ether, butyric acid, caproic acid (also known as goat stench), use iodine to try apple ripeness. and so a lot of other chemicals that are part of everyday life. The very appealing stories describe the fallibility of many, the discoveries of others, the possibility observations and accidents that led to fresh and useful discoveries. This author has the canny knack to explain the language of science to a public resistant to technical jargon and makes the magic of chemistry accessible to the lay reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Feast of Science: Intriguing Morsels from the Science of Everyday Life []  2020-1-5 18:28

    Lots of interesting nutritional facts all based on science.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius: The Life and Science of Richard Feynman [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    Mr. Gleick's 1992 biography of Richard Feynman is an informative and enlightening journey through not just the life of the subject, but through the exciting globe of physics from the early 20th century through the 1980's. While the first 100 pages were a tough read, the remainder was a reward; Feynman's brilliance and brutal honesty are on full display. Mr. Gleick does a nice job also of providing ample background on Feynman's colleagues/competitors/mentors, etc. and provides beautiful clear explanations of the concepts brought to life by Feynman & Co. As a biography, this work is first-rate and highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without God: Science, Belief, Morality, and the Meaning of Life []  2019-12-20 18:37

    I discovered this book right when I was really struggling with my faith. I had a traumatizing experience and any doubts I had seemed to be amplified. Broom does a amazing job at facing these doubts, some that he has themselves, and provides logical reasoning that helps the mind create sense of all the huge questions. He is thorough and cites lots of atheist and theist scholars and does side by side comparisons.I was a small skeptical about the book, because it focuses on the philosophical arguments the most, where I have always been more historical. But this had an simple to follow flow to it. it is not an endless circle. he will say "here are 3, 4, or whatever sides to an argument, and here is why I feel this one makes more sense"another thing I like about it is that his thoughts and reasoning are geared more towards people going through an internal struggle. this helped me restore my faith internally. so a lot of other apologetic books out there speak about how to argue with an athiest and how to answer to non believers. I am not looking to argue with anyone, I am looking to settle some doubts I have and this book has done it better than any others in latest memory.I never heard of this author before, but he seems honest and genuine. he doesn't regurgitate reasons to believe, but looks at it from all angles, including athiest views. he also shares private experiences at times when required to support create a connection. he is very relatable and I will follow him for more if he ever makes another book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without God: Science, Belief, Morality, and the Meaning of Life []  2019-12-20 18:37

    In the beginning of this book it was a small difficult to understand, but I got my dictionary and I learned so much that I never thought about before!! I am very thankful for this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Microcosm: E. coli and the New Science of Life []  2020-1-29 2:2

    To me and I'm sure to most others E. coli was a deadly pathogen that one heard about periodically. It's what can happen when meal is improperly cooked or prepared. But as this book brilliantly demonstrates that is only a very little part of a much larger and infinitely more interesting tale.I heard of this book when the author was interviewed on the Skeptic's Tutorial to the Universe podcast. The book went immediately on to my Kindle want list. My interests are more in the physical sciences rather than the biological sciences but I always thought I had an adequate grounding in the latter. Be that as it may the book demonstrated how completely out of touch I had become with current biological iefly, the book provides an exhaustive look at the relationship between man and E. coli. Not only does the the latter form colonies in the intestines of all humans it has played a central role as a research tool in man's understanding of evolution, genetics, molecular biology, genetic engineering, and more. Author Zimmer lays it all out in fascinating detail.I did have a few problems. The illustrations provided were helpful but more were needed. Some of the descriptions of different experiments had to be read multiple times before they became clear and the conclusions drawn from them created sense. A glossary would have been welcome although the Kindle's dictionary created up for the thing that does distract is the constant anthropomorphizing. E. coli, their components, genes, enzymes, proteins, etc are constantly referred to in such a method that makes one think they are sentient beings. The author might have spent some more time explaining what is really going e Kindle edition is first rate; everything works exactly as it should. There is a notes section that references the text by sentence instead of numbered superscripts. These aren't linked on the Kindle; it would have been awkward perhaps if they were. As it stands, while this unusual arrangement might have worked for the print edition, for the Kindle it's inadequate. There is also an exhaustive bibliography.I'm not sure if this book can be fully appreciated by the average man on the street. It seems to assume a solid grasp of at least high school biology so it might not be accessible to everyone. But highly recommended otherwise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Microcosm: E. coli and the New Science of Life []  2020-1-29 2:2

    Over the past few years I have been led to read a lot of interesting tomes on Earth and how we got to this point where understanding the actual topic can be broken down and explained in a method that a degree in any discipline is not important to appreciate the work performed by people like Carl Zimmer and his ilk to present why Earth and it's inhabitants are why and how it is/is book, like Oxygen, was very good, and let's or makes me look around with a more appreciative eye. Obtain it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    For over 30 years now, employing the only formal education I have (NY police criminal. investigator), I've worked to uncover the respond to one easy question. This book certainly a "clue" for which I've been searching!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    I really enjoyed this book for several reasons, not the least of which is the positive slant on human emotion instead of the constant barrage of negative and cynical info we are exposed to every day. It is not light reading, however. It is a book that conveys scientific research into how evolution plays such a huge part in human emotions, even down to facial expressions. It is a fascinating layman's look into the globe of social psychology and the study of prosocial human emotion. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    Amazing condition book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius: The Life and Science of Richard Feynman [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    I felt that this rendition of the life of Richard Feynman had too much about the science of Richard Feynman and too small about the life he lived. I am more interested in the person who happened to be a physicist than the physicist who happened to be a person.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius: The Life and Science of Richard Feynman [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    Feynman's contribution to the sciences cannot be overstated and this book is a fitting tribute which I enjoyed immensely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius: The Life and Science of Richard Feynman [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    Perfect book. Entertaining while telling the story of one of the amazing minds of this period, and a man whose work will have an impact well into the future. Fills in a few gaps that Feynman did not address in his own books written about his life and work. I found it very enjoyable, very enlightening reading. Fascinating man, fascinating mind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Microcosm: E. coli and the New Science of Life []  2020-1-29 2:2

    This is without doubt a unbelievable book. It is unbelievable because it uses li as a concrete, real, almost tangible example to illustrate how evoultion actually works. You will be convinced and able to learn how it is possible for individually unrelated proteins, which separately perform very easy functions, can cooperate together to produce complicated sturctures and perform awe inpsiring functions. Once you have mastered the argument, you can work out yourself how a complex structure like the human eye can develop through evolution. Personally (I am a medical doctor by trade) I learn something about li that can support my work - now I know the true reason why antibiotic can be harmful in treating diarrhoea. Thoroughly enjoyable!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Microcosm: E. coli and the New Science of Life []  2020-1-29 2:2

    I had no idea E. Coli was such a fascinating creature. I normally am a lazy reader, preferring amazing fiction to non-fiction, but this book kept me engaged for the whole time. Since E. Coli illustrates the basics of life, I have a much better understanding of life in all its complexities. The latest chapter was very informative about the progress of geneticists and their work.I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Microcosm: E. coli and the New Science of Life []  2020-1-29 2:2

    First, Carl Zimmer is an perfect writer. He seems to have done his homework thoroughly. The book is rich and rewarding, and much appreciated.I will create two suggestions. One, a glossary would be very helpful. The lay reader (his intended audience) is not very familiar with the arcane biological types that are continuously bantered about. A glossary would not be difficult to produce, or too lengthy to add. I'm really curious as to why a glossary was not added because it seems such an obvious thing to o, along the same lines, a chart or diagram to display major kinds of microcosms, maybe a sort of tree branching. It would allow a lay reader visualize the various branches of bacteria, viruses, e-coli and variations (perhaps evolutionary branching, and a time scale - that would be wonderful), etc.I write this review after having read about 90% of the book, but continue to be frustrated by the above two vertheless, a very worthwhile book. I highly recommend it, especially if Mr. Zimmer and his publisher would create the two additions on the next printing.Microcosm: E. coli and the Fresh Science of Life

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    I dunno why it was recommended, I'm just kinda having fun with reviews

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    Dacher Keltner has presented the best evidence that I have seen that altruism is one of our deepest instincts. Keltner has analyzed thousands of photos of split-second expressions on human faces, and demonstrates that the expressions associated with empathy occur faster than would be possible with conscious thought. I believe that this is something very necessary that everyone should know about human nature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cured: The Life-Changing Science of Spontaneous Healing []  2020-2-9 19:22

    Everything else ended up being pushed aside the rest of the day because I didn't wish to place the book down. I was both captivated and moved by what I read. The research is compelling; why do some people survive versus all odds? What do they do differently? What role does a person's internal belief system play in their ability to heal? Anyone that is facing a health challenge (or would like to avoid one) could benefit from understanding how they can empower themselves when it comes to their health.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without God: Science, Belief, Morality, and the Meaning of Life []  2019-12-20 18:37

    Perfect and challenging read!Zachary does a amazing job of unboxing deep philosophical problems surrounding Atheism, Agnosticism, Humanism, Theism, was refreshing to see this done from a logical perspective rather than an emotional diatribe.#kitten

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without God: Science, Belief, Morality, and the Meaning of Life []  2019-12-20 18:37

    This is a book of philosophy. I felt as though I learned a amazing about both atheistic and theistic philosophy, and whilst the author was honest about his perspective, I felt as though he was particularly honest about presenting the strengths and weaknesses of each system of thought, rather than relying on the help of "preaching to his own audience". This is a book that caused me to think a amazing deal, and I appreciate the care and consideration given to the presentation of such necessary subjects. I very much look forward to reading any of Mr. Broom's other work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius: The Life and Science of Richard Feynman [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    Amazing book written by James Gleick, interesting to know that he never actually met Richard Feynman, but he provides a detailed acc of Feynman's life. He starts at Far Rockaway and goes through the end at Cal Tech with everything in between, including the fascinating time at Los Alamos. Gleick info all his research and first hand accounts of Feynman's life through his close mates and family. Really enjoyed the read, looking forward to reading all Gleick's books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius: The Life and Science of Richard Feynman [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    A beautifully written book, funny at times, that examines all of Feynman: how much struggle, ambition, hard work and courage it takes to be a genius, his a lot of non-scientific facets, and enough of the physics to leave you feeling up to date on high energy physics!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without God: Science, Belief, Morality, and the Meaning of Life []  2019-12-20 18:37

    Zach Broom did a superb job of opening up the true globe of the skeptic. By guiding the reader through this field of thinking he is able to show the pros and cons clearly. As you progress he gently brings to light the real answers to the difficulty that every skeptic faces. What is the real meaning of life?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without God: Science, Belief, Morality, and the Meaning of Life []  2019-12-20 18:37

    A amazing read! Perfect excersize of thought, logic, and belief. I highly recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Microcosm: E. coli and the New Science of Life []  2020-1-29 2:2

    I'm not a biologist, but biology is one of my interests. Trying to understand easy lifeforms gives me a possibility to actually understand. E. coli is well studied and is the touch stone of this book. The author covers a lot of other similar ideas, one was the theory that life began as RNA and that DNA evolved through interactions with viruses. Much of the DNA code has been translated by the study of E. coli. E. coli was the first Genetically Modified Organism. There are a lot of things covered by this book that all people should have some understanding of.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cured: The Life-Changing Science of Spontaneous Healing []  2020-2-9 19:22

    We all wish to be as healthy as we can be. But what are the real secrets to health and wellbeing? And why do some people heal while others do not?Dr. Jeff Rediger is on the faculty at Harvard Medical School and thank goodness he challenged his long held skepticism to look at whether spontaneous remissions are really spontaneous after all. He expected to search remission causes that could be explained by already-existing medical information. What he found instead changed his entire thinking and it's why I wish everyone to read this e most dramatic change in your health comes from healing your identity. Healing your identity means eliminating the false beliefs about yourself: it means having respect and compassion for yourself, for your life, and for your Dr. Rediger discovered, if you don’t know how to say no, your body will eventually say no for you!#1 Fresh To-Do after reading CURED: Say YES to Saying NO!Another large lesson from this book for me is to remind us to say no to what does not serve our best interests, whether it is a belief, a habit, or a relationship. One of my dearest mates is in the hospital fighting for her life right now from necrotizing fasciitis. I watched her obtain more and more run down over the latest year, and then stepping on a piece of glass led to her having three limbs amputated : (I believe she will pull through and can't wait to bonus her this book.We ALL need to read it though. I am biased, but I do love this book and intend to share it with all my family and mates who are grappling with illness or just trying to maintain their health in a culture that can create it incredibly hard to be well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    It helps that I'm just nuts about this topic but Dacher covers so much of what makes us good. The science that supports it and how we can capitalize on it to create our life better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius: The Life and Science of Richard Feynman [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    Unbelievable story of one of the most brilliant minds of the 20th century. However, the amount of the knowledge of physics a reader requires to understand the full story is overwhelming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Microcosm: E. coli and the New Science of Life []  2020-1-29 2:2

    This book is a fascinating story about how we have learned about how genetics and cells work within our own bodies by studying one of the simplest forms of life, a bacteria called E, Coli. This bacteria is show in all of us and by studying it, we are learning about ourselves. As other reviewers have said, this could be a very boring and dry acc of science, but it is far from it. It gives the history of mankind's study of the bacteria, what we have learned from it, and how we have applied that knowledge to other fields of is is the kind of science book that should come out every 5 to 10 years to support hold the lay person up to date on what is going in the fields of scientific discovery, particularly the life sciences, to see what we are discovering and how it applies to us as persons. This is the type of book which explains the field so the common person can understand without having to have a college degree in life sciences.I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading about science and is curious about how all the microorganisms that are contained in our bodies work. Also the discussion about how scientists determined how genes affect certain traits and how this was determined is amazing for those interested in genetics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Microcosm: E. coli and the New Science of Life []  2020-1-29 2:2

    Must read for anyone wanting an introduction to the process of scientific discovery and the wonderful power of bacterial genetics. This should be accessible for readers with a high school biology background and higher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without God: Science, Belief, Morality, and the Meaning of Life []  2019-12-20 18:37

    I really wanted to like this book but it place me to sleep. I can't relate to the writers style. It just didn't hold my attention. Reads like a technical manual.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    Uplifting and full of amazing information. Mr. Keltner walks his talk and is making the globe a better put one smile at a time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius: The Life and Science of Richard Feynman [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    I found,the first half good,but the rest long winded,though I did finish reading it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius: The Life and Science of Richard Feynman [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    Feynman was a student of John Wheeler, as was I (but at a much lower level -- freshman physics!). Perfect book. I enjoyed the private material as well as his notable accomplishments in physics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Genius: The Life and Science of Richard Feynman [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    If you are interested in the evolution of physics from one of its giants, this is a amazing read. At times the reading is laborious but none the less interesting. It helps to assimilate the book if you've had the experience of struggling with physics as a student growing up during the post atomic era and the Cold Battle with the Soviet Union. None the less, the author does a amazing job of presenting a historical picture of physics using Feynman as the bridge that spanned from the original scientists and their theories to the practical scientists and their bomb. Finally, the author managed to trace the history of Nobel physics winners from the 1920's through the 1960's giving fleeting sketches of their human side.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without God: Science, Belief, Morality, and the Meaning of Life []  2019-12-20 18:37

    If you're interested in a thought-provoking look into debunking some of the most common arguments versus the existence of God, do yourself a favor and give this book a roughout the book, the author carefully cites and explains several historical and modern atheist viewpoints, then dissects them to prove that they too, just like religion, are seeded in faith. You may search yourself initially agreeing with some of these positions (as they seem fairly logical at their core), but as Zachary breaks them down, you'll soon realize that they suffer from some of the very same criticisms their authors use versus religion and God. By the end of the book, you'll realize that a lot of of these arguments boil down to the same debate on both sides: both require faith, so which seems more likely?The book is a fast read, and the author does a amazing job presenting both sides of the argument while referencing credible sources on each side. As you read through it, it'll challenge you to rethink your worldview regardless of where you stood before you picked it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without God: Science, Belief, Morality, and the Meaning of Life []  2019-12-20 18:37

    Full disclosure: Like Broom, I consider myself a thoughtful theist, firmly grounded in an evangelical Christian globe view. So it's not surprising that I might give this book a positive review. Having said that, this is is the first book I've reviewed on Amazon, and wanted to add my little voice to his by method of a recommendation to read this book. To the Christian or theist struggling to understand the perspective of an atheist, Bloom explains well and with fairness some foundational assumptions which underlie atheism. He outlines a lot of of their key critiques of theistic thought. To the atheist, he does the same in reverse. And most significantly, he does so without rancor, ugly name-calling, or belittling beliefs or perspectives various from his own. He shows honest respect for those who might disagree, even as he clearly embraces some arguments as is is not an in-depth treatise on these topics. It's a clear and concise survey of a rich body of theological, apologetic, philosophical, and atheistic thought. Each of his chapters are multi-volume books in their own right, with a rich tradition of theistic and secular authors wrestling with the subjects he discusses. It's clear that he has read and digested much of this literary library, and not just from authors who keep beliefs that match his own. He quotes and references authors extensively but not in a highfalutin and inaccessible way. His discussion is logical and clear.Even though this book is primarily a bringing together of ideas, I think that Broom's voice adds something meaningful and fresh to the conversation. If you've read or been exposed to a amazing bit of that library like I have, you may search this book to be a unbelievable synthesis of thought. I found it helpful to me in this way. If you haven't read much atheists and theologians, or are trying to sort out your own understanding, I would recommend this book as one of the very best aids I've encountered. Very nicely done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Without God: Science, Belief, Morality, and the Meaning of Life []  2019-12-20 18:37

    This book will challenge you and strengthen your faith! Unbelievable read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cured: The Life-Changing Science of Spontaneous Healing []  2020-2-9 19:22

    I loved this book and highly recommend it to anyone who is ill or who just wants to improve their quality of health. Dr. Rediger's style of writing connects us all through his compassion and knowledge of the body, mind and heart. The stories of each individual was truly uplifting. My hope is that the medical profession will take note of this book and start to incorporate the 'science of healing' into their practice. What a plus this would be for us all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Microcosm: E. coli and the New Science of Life []  2020-1-29 2:2

    Carl Zimmer is a terrific writer. I picked this book up because I have fun his blog and online articles so much. Although I majored in Biology as an undergrad, I have to admit I was never terribly fired up about anything that was smaller than I could see with the naked eye. Too poor this book wasn't around back then, or I might have gone on to grad work in microbiology, genetics, or cell biology!Along with a most facinating study of E. coli, Zimmer takes us from the micro to the macro, explaining how E. coli fits into the grander scheme of life among the animals it inhabits (including us), and into evolution. So this is probably not a amazing book for ID folks -- but I have to say that, unless you are truly firm in your ID beliefs this book might very well convince you of the veracity of evolution.Overall, I highly recommend this book. It flows really well, it's logical, it's easy enough for a science novice to understand, yet Zimmer never talks down to the reader in a method that might offend those of us who have some science background. It will give you fresh or renewed respect for E. coli and its kin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Microcosm: E. coli and the New Science of Life []  2020-1-29 2:2

    The first few chapters of this book include a lot of history that I already know. Specifically, the long-time-coming agreement on DNA as a molecule of ter that point however, the book picks up with wonderful speed. It tells you things that you've never heard of at an alarming rate. There is simply so much about all organisms that I had no idea about. Chapters 7 and 8 were particularly e book is not simply about li. While it does focus on the prokaryote, it actually draws parallels, doles out anecdotes, or presents basic evidence on much larger organisms. To call it a book of simply E. coli would be misleading, as it draws a lot of conclusions on life as a whole (and in some parts, its origins).The book is phenomenal, and not too technical for the average Joe. To place it simply, just obtain it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    This book contains a breadth of examples from a lot of cultures, art, and literature from the time of the Greeks to the modern period on the meaning of facial expressions and the effects of neuropeptides on the emotions that makes it simple and engaging to read. The focus is on the jen ratio (the balance of amazing and poor in one's life). The notes are invaluable for further reading on the smile, embarrassment, laughter, touch, and love among animals and humans, showing the common threads that link all of us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    This book brings up a lot of interesting reasons to why we should be amazing and that it is natural for us to be. It is a nice, simple read, and very warm hearted. I voted 4 stars because after reading the book, it did not convince me that we were "born to be good", but rather "born good". There is no mention throughout the book of reasons why people would not be good. I happened to take the book in a more literal sense, but it still holds true. There are a lot of situations in people's lives that does not permit them to choose the most righteous path. Perhaps those of us fortunate to be born in a first globe country or to a amazing family has the ability and the means to be good. But those of us born elsewhere, not in the greatest of situations simply can't do that to is is a nice book and is very optimistic about the world. However it does not come it from everyone's perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    Keltner has done a masterful job of showing us how socialization really works. We are not entirely a blank slate and not entirely not one. We have a hard-wired capacity to learn language, beautiful much everyone knows this by now, but we also have a hard-wired capacity to make community solidarity, and culture. We are far more inclined to attach and bond than to war -- within our little community, at least. Keltner nails down exactly how this manifests bio-chemically. How the rational part of our brain develops, and can only develop, through social interaction, how it produces chemical rewards when we obtain it right, and how incredibly adaptive to our environment this makes us. He tips at, but does not quite discover the idea that when one community dominates and exploits another (where "others" are concerned, the drive to bond competes about equally with the drive to out-survive -- another theme Kelter tips at and might have explored in more depth), the dominators may quite cleverly institute policies that disrupt community connectivity among the dominated. For example, Puritans proscriptions versus hugging, kissing, dancing and singing surely enhanced the ability of controlling elites to manage somewhat demoralized masses. But the book including this kind of speculation, and a lot of others implied by latest discoveries in attachment and brain plasticity research remains to be written. Maybe Kelter will do it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Cheese []  2020-5-27 18:20

    Amazing book. Shipped correctly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Cheese []  2020-5-27 18:20

    Super helpful and very detailed. Would recommend to any aspiring meal scientist! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Interstellar []  2020-1-27 20:34

    Very readable without mastering the intricate math that goes with this kind of science. A very amazing story, too, about how this all came to happen and how and where the movie makers had to compromise the science for the sake of story telling and when they hewed to the science more closely. And you learn quite a bit of science in the course of the book. You obtain a beautiful solid modernize on the status of relativism in the early 21st century. Thorne is an obvious and unapologetic Einstein fan, so you obtain an enthusiastic argument for his undeniable brilliance as the guy who unlocked all of this, assuming Thorne and others are intelligent enough to figure it out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Self []  2020-1-24 20:15

    The authors remove all fluff and exclusively rely on the scientific way along with detailed peer reviewed research (which also relies on scientific method) to bring the facts as they stand. If fresh knowledge (light) which is always coming, uncovers or disrupts current facts then so be it. This is refreshing as the Light (knowledge) needs no one to vouch for it as it exposes the underlying truth that it reveals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Self []  2020-1-24 20:15

    Informative, for all who seek the truth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Mom []  2020-1-16 17:57

    Oh how I want this book had been written when I first became a parent!! As a PhD scientist myself, I looked through the scientific literature for answers to so a lot of questions. The Science of Mom does so much of this research for fresh parents and does it in a very thorough, honest, straight-forward, non-judgemental way. The author does an perfect job presenting the current scientific data and discussing limitations of the studies as well as helpful conclusions. It's so refreshing since most parenting books seem to have some sort of agenda or bias that they are promoting with their book. Science of Mom's agenda is informing parents about what the current scientific research is on sleep issues, SIDS, first foods, and much more. The book is extremely well researched and well referenced so parents know why the author has reached the conclusions she has. However, throughout the book the author recommends that you do what is best for your family and to speak with your health professionals. Despite all the science behind the book, the Science of Mom is simple to read and interesting. I've bought several copies already for mates who are fresh parents or parents-to-be. I'm so glad this fabulous book was written and look forward to more such works from the author to support condense the science behind the art of parenting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Science []  2020-2-2 22:19

    I'm beginning to wonder if this really is the latest release from these guys. Either way, it's 2 cd's full of rap, punk, hits, funk, rare tracks, and anything else they could have thrown on. As large as it is, and all over the put musically, I wonder if it's too much. I mean it's great, but I think the casual fan might have enjoyed one disc full of the hits they would expect: "Fight For Your Right To Party", "Pass The Mic", "Sabotage", "Intergalactic", and so on. Or I think one disc of "hits", and one disc of extras would have created more sense. But overall, this is a amazing pack for casual, or hardcore fans. (Update: they since released the 15 track Solid Gold Hits).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Science []  2020-2-2 22:19

    There was some songs I have not heard before from the Beastie Boys on this me of the songs on here you can only obtain it on vinyl and not CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Paintings []  2020-5-16 18:16

    I am a chemist and am starting a fresh course called "The chemistry of Art" in the fall for the liberal arts students. I found the book to be an perfect reference and starting point for what I wish to teach in the course. My background is in analytical chemistry and forensics and I already have huge number of students interested in taking the course when it starts next fall.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Science []  2020-2-2 22:19

    I came to the Beastie Boys party quite late. I was aware of them when they were a regular 'ol punk band back in the 80's. They'd undoubtedly have slipped into the same obscurity that so a lot of hardcore bands did. Instead, they did their Jewish NYC rap thing in their own style, particularly using classic rock riffs and a mutual fascination with 70's style music. This 2 x cd does an perfect job of blending all 3 of their musical styles (a bit of the old punk which I think is very refreshing on these discs, their classic hits and some of their funky 70's style music. Who knew that one wouldn't live long enough to look like an old man. May he rest in peace and be with God forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Science []  2020-2-2 22:19

    These are my boys! Miss Adam, always will! Was in a small film they created at the Bill Graham Civic in San Francisco, I will always love, follow, respect what these three white boys did to the Rap Globe back in the 80's!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Self []  2020-1-24 20:15

    I am reading this book for the second time as we speak and I have advised it to all of my mates at some point of time. It is one of my favorite books i my total collection. I want I had this when I was in like Jr. High. I think I would have loved science and math more if I saw presented in this simple format. Well done Supreme.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Self []  2020-1-24 20:15

    This is a book that really makes you think outside of the religious norms you have about life, creation, and the universe, The authors here do a amazing job of providing references for their info and you can easily verify most claims in the book, i want the authors would have went more into the Origins of religion in this book but I guess thats for another edition. Overall a amazing book to create you think, but its not dogmatic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Interstellar []  2020-1-27 20:34

    The imagery in Christopher Nolan's film Interstellar is breathtaking in IMAX. One of the most memorable scenes is of the heavy black hole named Gargantua. In this stage we view something that mankind will not see in reality in the foreseeable future. In Kit Thorne's book the reader learns that in making the film Nolan stayed as close to known science and scientific speculation as possible. This science can be difficult, but Thorne writes well and provides a number of diagrams that illustrate the points he is making. Prof. Thorne worked on the film from it's early beginnings in 2005, when Christopher Nolan's brother Jonathan worked on the early screen play. At one time Steven Spielberg was slated to direct the movie. We can be glad that he dropped out, because he would not have created the breathtaking film that Nolan did. Thorne covers the science from the beginning of the film to the end, where Cooper falls through the black hole into the tesseract structure. As Thorne warns at the begin of the book, some sections can be massive going. If you don't know what an happening horizon is, the book may be especially difficult.What makes black holes so difficult is that their physics is far outside any normal r example, at the end of the movie, Cooper, in one of the landing craft, falls into the black hole. In a heavy black hole the tidal forces (the difference in gravity between your toes and the top of your head) are little so he can survive the trip across the happening orne mentions several times in the book that as an object approaches the happening horizon, time, relative to the rest of the universe, slows toward infinity. To the outside observer, an object becomes trapped at the happening horizon (although it cannot be seen). What is hard to understand is that the object, in its own frame of reference, does cross the happening orne does not succeed in fully explaining exactly what is event in this strange region that is outside of our universe. For example, looking out of the hole, in the direction he is falling, does Cooper see all of time come to an end? How quick is he traveling? If he orbits just below the happening horizon, is he traveling near the speed of light? Why, exactly, is it so necessary that Cooper intersect the out falling singularity? Simply stating that this is "historical light" is not an obvious explanation.I suspect that the issue is that a lot of of the answers to these questions exist in mathematical equations, which are Thorne's old friends, since he has spent a lifetime with ese complexities create the book both fascinating and difficult at the same time. Einstein once said that ideas should be as easy as possible, but no simpler. Thorne is dealing with complex material and has done a amazing job of trying to live up to Einstein's dictum.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Interstellar []  2020-1-27 20:34

    The best thing about this movie, as far as I'm concerned, is that it was designed from the beginning to treat some of the most interesting effects of general relativity in an accurate manner, and to create these counterintuitive effects central to a compelling human story. That story may be unrealistic in a lot of ways, as most interesting stories are, but everything that occurs in the film is consistent with the laws of physics as far as we know them (the material at the end delves into very speculative issues, but it does so in ways that are inspired by serious work in quantum gravity).The fact that the main features of the film are scientifically realistic could come as quite a surprise to a lot of viewers, and this book gives them the opportunity to take the next steps toward understanding this surprising and incredibly attractive science.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Mom []  2020-1-16 17:57

    “Studies present that breastfeeding for at least three months leads to-”“Show me the science.”In her fresh book Science of Mom, inspired by her blog of the same title, Alice Green Callahan gives us an expert look at a dozens of common parenting questions – the ones we all obtain a small tense about, like breastfeeding, infant sleep, and vaccinations. Callahan has a PhD in nutrition, and is well-versed in the ways of research. In each chapter of her book, Callahan provides an in-depth, nuanced exploration of the subject at hand. She tells us what research is out there, who did the research, how they did it, and precisely what they found.What she doesn’t do is polished, packaged takeaways. If you wish to know what the research says about breastfeeding vs. formula, for example, be prepared to read through a detailed discussion: the history of breastmilk substitutes, an explanation of the nutritional makeup of modern formula, and the numerous research challenges of how to compare breastfeeding and bottle-feeding. Only then does Callahan explain both what the scientific community can tell us about the differences, and what it can’t.(Here and elsewhere throughout this review, I was tempted to give you a juicy quotation from the book. Ultimately, I decided it would be an injustice to Callahan for me to do so! The whole point is that a sentence or two just can’t give you the info you need. Reading the whole book is worth it.)I had a private interest in reading Callahan’s book, because I’ve followed her blog for several years. What she wrote on her blog about infant sleep was a large support to me as we overcame sleep difficulties with my oldest child, and I was happy to see she had even more to say about it in the book. Other subjects were newer to me, and some of the info has actually caused me to consider changes in the method I parent. Having read Science of Mom, I’m now planning to talk to my OB about delayed cord clamping; and Callahan’s explanation of children’s nutritional needs is making me reconsider our mostly-vegetarian diet, at least for the ahan is disciplined about only giving recommendations when the science is absolutely clear. She takes pains to present how much flexibility and variation there can be in parenting issues; rather than dictating exactly how to parent effectively, what science can do is disabuse us of the notion that there’s only one right way. Callahan tells us what the research says, and leaves us to create our own decisions. When the scientific consensus really is clear, she explains why, as thoroughly as zone she discusses where the research is clear is vaccines. The short answer: they’re safe. But Callahan doesn’t stop there. She contains five various appendices addressing common concerns about vaccines, introducing us to terms such as “antigen load” to clarify what questions we really ought to be asking. I was blown away by the breadth and depth of this particular discussion.I also deeply appreciated Callahan’s take on attachment parenting. She takes a look at different practices famous among attachment parents, such as bedsharing and long-term breastfeeding, and while she doesn’t condemn them, she often finds the scientific help for these practices to be less than robust. But it’s clear that in her heart, she desires “attachment” with her kids as much as the next mom. For Callahan, the keyword that the research points to is responsiveness. In breastfeeding, in helping a baby sleep, in feeding a toddler, Callahan info how an attentive response to a baby’s behavior has been shown to be an effective and relationship-bolstering strategy. I found her theme of responsiveness to be a new and enlightening ly, in addition to the abundance of research she presents to us, Callahan empowers us to analyze further info ourselves; her first chapter contains a “crash course” in research methodology and explains the differences between systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials, and observational studies. She points to some trustworthy sources that we can look to the next time we see a headline proclaiming “Scientists Explore That Breastfeeding Does X Y and Z.”I’d highly recommend this book to any mom expecting her first kid … or her fourth. I’m still thinking through a lot of what I read in the book, and I plan to re-read parts of it before the fresh baby comes along. Callahan’s position, outside the “attachment” camp, outside the “Babywise” camp, is truly fresh ground, and I would encourage moms from any camp to give it a look.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Mom []  2020-1-16 17:57

    I never take the time to review the books I love but I am taking the time to review this book - that should say a lot right off the bat. As a fresh mother everyone has tip and everyone recommends a book. It is nearly impossible to sift through all these opinions and figure out what is best. Alice has done that for you in this book. Her review of the scientific literature doesn't provide ALL the answers, but it does provide the most up-to-date info we have on how to create a lot of of the necessary decisions fresh parents face in the first year. Unlike most parenting books, this one is also a pleasure to read from cover to cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Mom []  2020-1-16 17:57

    Amazing information. Loved reading this and instead of just hearing, "you need to do this, or that." This book clearly explains the "Why?" question and goes over both sides of topics. Also shows reference and where the info is coming from. Would definitely suggest this for any parent, helps a lot when it came down to making some very necessary decisions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Paintings []  2020-5-16 18:16

    I can't say that the class this book was for was very interesting or simple to understand. But at least I had this book to create this a bit easier by explaining things for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Cheese []  2020-5-27 18:20

    Really enjoyed this journey into cheese, anyone with any interest in the topic will search that the information, and the method it is presented, will greatly enhance their knowledge of CHEESE!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Self []  2020-1-24 20:15

    Supreme understanding never disappoints with the powerful content in this book and others alike. This is no exclusion for a must have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Self []  2020-1-24 20:15

    Perfect read, the author writes as if he is talking to you so it’s definitely not a dry book. Very informative

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Interstellar []  2020-1-27 20:34

    Christopher Nolan's 2014 movie Interstellar was eagerly awaited by science fiction enthusiasts who, having been sorely disappointed so a lot of times by films that crossed the line into fantasy by making up entirely implausible things to move the plot along, hoped that this effort would live up to its promise of getting the science (mostly) right and employing scientifically plausible speculation where our show knowledge is e author of the show book is one of the most eminent physicists working in the field of general relativity (Einstein's theory of gravitation) and a pioneer in exploring the exotic powerful field regime of the theory, including black holes, wormholes, and gravitational radiation, for which he won the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2017. Prof. Thorne was involved in the project which became Interstellar from its inception, and worked closely with the screenwriters, director, and visual effects squad to obtain the science right. Some of the scenes in the movie, such as the visual appearance of orbiting a rotating black hole, have never been rendered accurately before, and are based upon original work by Thorne in computing light paths through spacetime in its vicinity subsequently published as professional , the author recounts the often bumpy story of the movie's genesis and progress over the years from his own, Hollywood-outsider, perspective, how the development of the story presented him, as technical advisor (he is credited as an executive producer), with issue after issue in finding a physically plausible solution, sometimes requiring him to do fresh physics. Then, Thorne provides a famous acc of the exotic physics on which the story is based, including gravitational time dilation, black holes, wormholes, and speculative additional dimensions and “brane” scenarios stemming from string theory. Then he “interprets” the happenings and visual photos in the film, explaining (where possible) how they could be produced by known, plausible, or speculative physics. Of course, this isn't always possible—in some cases the needs of story-telling or the requirement not to completely baffle a non-specialist with bewilderingly complicated and obscure photos had to take priority over scientific authenticity, and when this is the case Thorne is forthright in admitting ctions are labelled with icons identifying them as “truth”: generally accepted by those working in the field and often with experimental evidence, “educated guess”: a plausible inference from accepted physics, but without experimental evidence and assuming existing laws of physics remain valid in circumstances under which we've never tested them, and “speculation”: wild and wooly items (for example quantum gravity or the interior structure of a black hole) which violates no known law of physics, but for which we have no complete and consistent theory and no evidence is is a clearly written and gorgeously illustrated book which, for those who enjoyed the film but weren't entirely clear whence some of the stunning photos they saw came, will explain the science behind them. The cover of the book has a “SPOILER ALERT” warning potential readers that the ending and major plot info are given away in the text. I will refrain from discussing them here so as not to create this a spoiler in itself. I read the book before seeing the movie, and when I did I enjoyed it more for having read the book, since I knew what to look for in some of the visuals and was less likely to dismiss some of the apparently outrageous occurrences by knowing that there is a physically plausible (albeit extremely speculative and improbable) explanation for ere are a few typographical errors and one factual howler: Io is not “Saturn's closest moon”, and Cassini was captured in Saturn orbit by a propulsion burn, not a gravitational slingshot (this does not affect the film in any way: it's in background material).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Interstellar []  2020-1-27 20:34

    This is Kip Thorne's explanation of the science used in the movie "Interstellar", which uses some beautiful controversial theories. He bends some rules, breaks a few, but mostly sets this up as a plausible story if far enough in our future to let for some of the technology to be developed. He also clearly states when items is - at this time - fantasy. If paired with the novelization of the film's script by Greg Keyes it is very engrossing. If you watch the film, read the novelization next so that you fully understand what is supposed to be event on screen, then read this. Then watch the film again. It will be a true journey for you. Fascinating items and highly recommended!Here is a link to the novelization, available on Amazon:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Interstellar []  2020-1-27 20:34

    I am really impressed with the book, and equally so on how much science was inserted into the film Interstellar. This book is written in an entertaining style, and the explanations are excellent! There is more to this book than simply explaining the movie's intent. Kip goes into amazing detail on the sciences that are brought up. I really enjoyed and learned a lot from the book, and I have fun the film even more knowing all the scientific thought and equations that went into it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Mom []  2020-1-16 17:57

    Definitely hold this in mind for a shower gift. It covers some hot subjects that parents will have to decide on during the first year of their baby's life. Everything from when to chop the umbilical cord to vaccines to the change in what and when we feed babies in the U.S. is well researched and conclusions are drawn through evidence based science. It is written for educated parents that are trying to wade through a tremendous amount of info in to create decisions for their newborn. The conclusions that the author reaches are sound and totally in line with the standard of care pediatricians provide today. I really did like it. The kindle edition has the advantage of having links to resources cited- this one is beautiful impressive - quite the opposite of the pseudo-quackery offered by the likes of Dr Sears, Oz etc. ‬

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Science []  2020-2-2 22:19

    Beautiful much has every favorite Beastie Boys song you know and love. I [email protected]#$%! would have had Funky Boss but I picked that up separately. A amazing collection that has hit songs from most of their albums. Definitely worth the if you are a Beastie fan or fan of funk/hip hop in general. A lot of their melody has them playing true instruments (versus the digital recreation of everything in our modern era) which is something I love and value. I think this gives a special feel to their sound that no one has touched since. Amazing stuff!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Science []  2020-2-2 22:19

    I thought I had already written a review of this, but everything was in tact and the CDs played just fine. They were a bit scuffed up but that did not result playability. Cover art and inserts were in decent condition. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Science []  2020-2-2 22:19

    pure classic Beasties..not a poor song on the compilation..turn it up LOUD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Paintings []  2020-5-16 18:16

    This book is a unbelievable reference book for artists to have in their library! There are a lot of technical formulas and equations, but it does support artists to understand the Old Masters works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Cheese []  2020-5-27 18:20

    I own a Cheese Distributorship and loved this book. I graduated in Biology but do agree with the author that this book can easily be read by the general public. It is filled with unbelievable information. I highly recommend buying this if you are very inquisitive regarding cheese.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Cheese []  2020-5-27 18:20

    interesting addition to my cheesemaking library ands a depth of science to the considerable art of cheesemaking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Cheese []  2020-5-27 18:20

    Amazing for Beginners like me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Mom []  2020-1-16 17:57

    To all the expecting and fresh parents: if you wish a amazing resource for parenting based on the available scientific evidence, please read this book. It covers breastfeeding, sleep, vaccines, and solid foods. It is so, so e author is a intelligent science consumer. She reads actual academic research (that is, she doesn't rely on famous news articles) and knows when the evidence is clear and when it isn't (not all studies keep equal weight). She is an perfect research summarizer, which is more uncommon than you might think.And just as impressive, she is a generous and compassionate tip giver. When amazing evidence exists, she is clear about her recommendation; when it doesn't, she doesn't test to shame or boss you, which is a rare quality in parenting books. She is also astutely aware that research findings work at the population level and may not apply to your family or your child, and she often recommends finding out what works for just your family.Looking at scientific findings to search out how to parent is tricky for a lot of reasons, but I think this book does an wonderful job with a tender touch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Mom []  2020-1-16 17:57

    I really enjoyed this book. I have an engineering degree, and so I liked the evidence-based style of this book. The book only covers a few topics, but it with them in amazing detail. Some sections that I enjoyed including introducing solid foods (how and when) as well as the section on what happens right after birth (eye ointment, vitamin K shot, cord clamping, etc.). There was also some history behind some of these practices, which I thought was really interesting, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Self []  2020-1-24 20:15

    First of all, congratulations this is perfect work. May this book reach our history classes. Do not think this book is all "black" this is empowering, detailed and covers history for all of us to understand and connect with. The book is so detailed, so well written and so much info packed in one that is worth more than it is priced. I ask the publisher of this book, to please create this book a bigger size so that the reader has zone to take notes, highlight etc and that it is printed a better quality. This is a book to have in your library. BRAVO on this work!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Self []  2020-1-24 20:15

    I love these kind of books. It took years to place all of this info together. And, they're not done. This is a amazing read for the intellect. There's not a dull page in the book. It talked about the evolution of sex, why we don't all look alike, the meaning of life, what is life, the conscious universe, the science of death, the mind vs. the brain, mathematics of the universe, living mathematics, universal laws, a lot of a lot of things you've always wondered about. It's not a quick read, a lot of the material will create you stop and think, that's how we grow. I loved this book. Thank You Supreme Understanding and C'BS ALIFE ALLAH for your efforts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Self []  2020-1-24 20:15

    As a newborn.. I am on a knowledge binge to become wise and understand my put in this universe. This book has opened my mind beyond expectation. I am in the process of reading Knowledge of Self a Collection of Wisdom on the Science of Everything in Life as well as my 120's. This is only the beginning.. Peace. #1+1=3

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Interstellar []  2020-1-27 20:34

    Kip Thorne's Science of Interstellar, answers just about all of the questions that one could possibly have after seeing the wonderful movie. From the "simple" law of gravity, to the insanely complex ideas of zone time warping, the tesseract, and gravitational anomalies, Kip takes his wonderful knowledge of the universes and translates it into language that we can understand. The Science of Interstellar is as fascinating as it is e only complaint that I have is that Thorne does not dedicate a specific chapter or section to explain the complex timeline which occurs throughout Interstellar. There is a chapter on the climax of the film where I believed that section would be, however, there was nothing on the crazy timeline of happenings which would have been quite helpful in the understanding of this wonderful movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Interstellar []  2020-1-27 20:34

    I was intrigued with the science of this film when it came out. Every time I watched it I was a blue to pick up more and more scientific concepts. Reading this book exponentially multiplied my understanding. I love that Kip was the scientific consultant for this film and that he worked so hard to create sure the science was as genuine and real as he could advise. When the science is based on truth, it brings validation to the movie. I love his small pictures and drawings which helped to conceptualize what he's teaching. He moves through concepts slowly so your understanding is added upon all the method through the book. Watching the film again after reading this book created the film method more believable and understandable. Yes, I understand that this story is fictional and this is Hollywood. But the only true thing that held my attention in this very long film was trying to believe and understand the science. Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Science []  2020-2-2 22:19

    Catching up on my collection. I give all the Beastie albums five stars. Who would have thought after the release of Licensed To Ill that they would unleash barrage of stylish hip-hop. The Beastie Boys have created their tag on melody history and will forever remain untouchable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sounds of Science []  2020-2-2 22:19

    Love this band

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Science of Marijuana []  2020-1-21 20:22

    Not written very well for me to follow. I couldn’t obtain the rhythm of the flow.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386