the silent girls (canaan crime novels)%27 Reviews & Opinions


Submit the silent girls (canaan crime novels)%27 review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Silent Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    It felt like the author was going for literary quality horror/mystery/suspense ... But I just didn't see it. There were a number of glaring formatting/grammatical errors as the beginning, the protagonist Rath is trying to butcher a deer he killed while hunting, but Rath has back problems and the deer sits in the barn for two weeks until it's frozen to the floor. And I swear the author is either trying to create Rath human to readers in a really bizarre method or he's going for some kind of weird allegory -- but he keeps coming back to this deer throughout the book as a mechanism to introduce the next "twist."It was just very strange, for lack of a better word.Rath also had a habit of breaking one complete sentence into several fragments like: “It’s Dad. Just. Being Dad.” Which was fine, except suddenly every hero in the book started talking this way.He's interviewing a witness who answers his question with: “Envy may be a sin. But. I’m only human."Soon other detectives are doing it: "Mandy might present any second. But. I don’t like it.”The "monster" and different suspects all do it as is might be the reason other reviewers have noted it felt like the author was talking the whole time instead of his characters -- because in fact there was no difference in the narrative and the dialogue with regard to syntax, cadence and etc. Essentially the characters sounded the same, lacked depth and substance, and it was very difficult to care about them.I know other reviewers have mentioned they felt put-off by the characters judging and ranting and railing versus the pro-life mindset -- and I agree it felt like the author's viewpoint rather than the characters -- but in fairness Rath also went off versus "liberals" for paroling violent criminals and allowing them to damage more innocent people. But obviously pro-life thinkers are not creatures any more than people who identify as liberal wish violent criminals on the road to do more harm. The narrative and characters were very judgmental and fast to label people and mindsets in negative ways -- but ironically the characters themselves were poorly drawn e plot ... It was ok, not horrible. At times it felt suspenseful, but I never reached the point where I had to hold reading to search out what was going to happen. In fact, it ends with a cliffhanger that's obviously meant to set up a sequel ... But I don't care enough about the characters to stick with them for a second book.I would have a hard time recommending this book to anyone when there are much better options for investing your time: 2/5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Silent Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    I have to begin by saying there IS a sequel, for all of those who say there should be one.I got this book for free and it ended at the 95% mark. The next book was the latest 5% and will cost $4.99. I'm not buying it because this should have clearing been noted as the first of a series. And who knows how a lot of books will be in the series? Will we be left hanging after "The names of Dead Girls", too?That being said, I don't usually like murder mysteries. But I gave this one a test and really found it exciting and interesting. I didn't search it that difficult to follow the characters. About 60% of the method through it got to the moral problems and painted a certain group in a poor light as always. Although in true life there are some fringe groups like this. The main hero on the opposite side of the problem created herself look like a creep the method a lot of of them do so I guess it was equal treatment of both sides of this issue. To a degree - which is irrelevant since it's just a created up story. :)Either way, I thought it all wrapped up beautiful nicely until the end. There was one thing Detective Rath would NOT have done near the end because even a commoner wouldn't be so stupid as to do this when they are suspicious of someone. But it had to be done to create it work. Then came the end. I thought, did what I think just happened really happen. I figured it did. But I wanted him to tell me if what I thought happened was correct. Well, in the next 5% which is the sample of the fresh book, you search out your suspicions are correct. But now you'll have to buy the next book to search out the rest of the story.I am satisfied enough with how the first book ended. But had I been told from the begin that this was a 1st book with another to come, I'd have been more likely to be willing to buy the second book. It's a matter of principle and being deceived by leaving out info when selecting this book. Actually, I never would have picked this book as a free book had I known it didn't "end". I never take a free 1st book in a series if I have other selection options.And that is why I only gave it 3 stars. It it had ended and been totally wrapped up, I'd have actually given it 5 stars. If you realize this and wish to buy the second book, too, consider the book a fun, interesting, 5 stars. I did search the characters amusing in different ways, like them or not. And reading this I realize that maybe I can learn to like murder mysteries. Just remember, we have no idea if book 2 is the end or if it will go on and on. I see no sign of a book 3 being published...yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Silent Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    Wow. An ending I did not see coming! But let's not obtain ahead of initial thoughts immediately after finishing this book in one word? eased I took a possibility on this after seeing it on an review blog (thanks My Bookish Ways). Even after seeing there was only one review on Amazon and we all know chances are the first few reviews are mates and family of the author. Well, I'm neither. Never heard of this guy, had no knowledge of the book prior to seeing the review.I loved how he ended the story! I freaking loved it! I loved how what seemed like a serial assassin running amuck amongst young teenage girls turned out to be much richer and more complex. I believe our hero, Rath said it something like this, people are evil and evil is everywhere. Even in rural Vermont. And then the author drives it ere were a couple of things that bit me while reading as "so stereotypical" of a mystery character - he can't obtain a break, even his body is falling apart and he's in constant pain so poor you wonder how he gets out of bed. Don't know that it was important in the book. Also don't know that the amount of drinking was necessary, yet another one that's done to death. Just once I'd like to see a amazing detective that's also a vegan and a marathon runner. Not that I am either, but then maybe its just not possible to see all the faults and lies in others when you are so focused on yourself. And our character does have a bonus for it. He can place the clues together, given enough time.I believe we will see this hero again and that this author will only obtain better with time. This one was more than amazing enough for me and I look forward to its sequel. I hope Rath has a long career as a detective.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on the silent girls (canaan crime novels)%27 or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch the silent girls (canaan crime novels)%27 video reviews and related movies:

    See Beverly Lowry: Harriet Tubman—Imaginging a Life on youtube.

     related image

    See Ninnu Kori Telugu Movie Songs | Unnattundi Gundey Song With Lyrics | Nani | Nivetha Thomas on youtube.

     related image

    See Winners Chapel Crossover Celebration Night December 31, 2016 Live STREAM on youtube.

     related image

    See Judovision on youtube.

     related image

    See Videos 6 on youtube.

     related image

    See Bill Cooper - Mystery Babylon Hours 1 - 5 #29 #30 #31 #32 #33 on youtube.

     related image

    See Age of Deceit (2) - Hive Mind Reptile Eyes Hypnotism Cults World Stage - Multi - Language on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Silent Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    Despised cliff-hanger. Interesting storyline that is simple to follow. Graphic at times. No drag-you-down drama. Plenty of twists. Believable characters with distinct personalities. Informative dialogue.'The only part of prison they resented was not being able to act on the animal urges that had place them inside to start.'No desire to re-read this story or follow the member this is my private opinion on cliff-hangers and does not reflect on the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Silent Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    The Silent Girls is a riveting dark psychological thriller that follows personal investigator Frank Rath's investigation into a string of mysterious disappearances of teenage girls during the dead of winter in the rural city of Canaan, Eric Rickstad weaves an intense tale of horror, mystery, and suspense, with intriguing twists and turns that easily captivates the reader's attention from the beginning to the story's dramatic conclusion. The story centers around personal investigator Frank Rath who is called upon to help the rural city of Canaan, Vermont's police department in the investigation of the mysterious disappearances of several teenage girls. The investigation hits home for Frank, as demons from his past come back to haunt him: when he was a police detective his sister and brother-in-law were murdered by a sadistic assassin known as "The Preacher," leaving his niece Rachel an orphan. Frank turned in his detective badge and became a personal investigator in order to raise Rachel as his daughter. Quick forward to the present, Rachel is in college and "The Preacher" is up for parole, leading Frank to have to deal with his darkest fears once again. Is there a connection between the disappearance of the teenage girls to "The Preacher?" Even in little friendly rural towns evil and danger lurk ...The Silent Girls is a gripping dark psychological thriller that kept me sitting on the edge of my seat guessing what would happen next as Frank is drawn into the investigation of the disappearances of the missing girls while dealing with his private demons. The author does a amazing job of slowly building a suspenseful and complex tale that has surprising and dramatic twists and turns; a fascinating cast of characters; and a rich description of the setting that easily transports the reader to the little rural Vermont city during the heart of the dark winter season, it's enough to send chills down your e Silent Girls is a riveting and gritty storyline that delves into Frank's painful past; the connection between the mystery of the missing girls; the dynamics of a radical cult; and the touchy social problem of abortion. This is a story that takes the reader on a fascinating thrill ride while keeping them engaged and turning the pages. If you are a fan of dark crime mysteries, suspense, and psychological thrillers, then The Silent Girls is a must read!Disclaimer: I received a copy of the book from the author / publisher in exchange for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Silent Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    I did have fun this book, I read through it in one week, and with my schedule right now, thats actually really good. I thought the characters were very well developed, and the main hero Rath, though completely flawed, was likeable and you root for him. The plot is dark, and there are very descriptive rape/murder examples, especially when Rath remembers or discusses' old cases. Think of an episode of Criminal Minds and thats beautiful much what this book was, as far as murder scenes go. The author makes the main character, at times, unlikeable with quotes like "... eleven thousand years before the world’s most famed carpenter supposedly rose again. Nowadays thats called Zombies. People worshiping a Zombie...” Yes I took offense to this and saw it as completely unnecessary. All he was doing was describing a house that sat on a field! Also there is an obviously pro choice stance in here, again, offensive how it was portrayed. tt has the totally cliche part where the villian stops his attack to take ten mins and fill Rath in on his childhood and how he got to where he is, all the previous murders which tied the latest chapter in with the first chapter, etc; all the happenings that the reader was still guessing on. When are authors going to stop using this as a method to bring closure to a story? Injuries were sustained that would have killed someone, yet the person got up and continued on his quest; not believable, the attack should have been less ghastly if the person was going to survive. The ending left me searching my kindle application looking for the latest chapter. I totally thought the latest of the book had not been downloaded. It wasnt a cliffhanger, or surprising end; the ending makes you think the latest chapter got left out. So if you take out the offensive stuff, which may not offend everyone, and the wonderful parts, it is a amazing plot and the author does a amazing job of making the scenes so true it does feel like you are there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Silent Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    I had never heard of Eric Rickstad, the author, and this book sat in my Kindle for a long time before I decided to read it. I had just finished reading a very long book and decided I required some fluff type of book. I assumed The Silent Girls was just another generic crime thriller. Wrong. The very first pages had me hooked and seriously creeped out. I flew through the rest of the book, every twist and turn. I'd think I had the ending figured out, but nope. And the ending is a serious twist and cliffhanger. The writing is also extremely good. Eric Rickstad has a natural rhythm and the characters have realistic dialogue. For coming in with low expectations, The Silent Girl's plot and writing seriously blew me out of the water. I really hope he decides to continue the story in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Silent Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    I have no idea how this book can be rated with 5 stars, by some. Perhaps there was some quality that I overlooked. Anyway...The storyline begins, as they always do, with a murder stage and hero development. This was done well. However, there were some characters that were left with shallow development, that play critical roles in the book. Rachel, the investigators daughter is one. She plays a pivotal role, that I will leave at that. Another character, that ends up not being pivotal, the female detective, is developed excessively! Other, necessary concepts were inadequately explained (or downright implausible) were, obviously, just inserted to make twists and turns. Either that or this was written only to set up a series that is forthcoming.Anyway,this is an okay story. Anyone writing a review that claims this was a mystery that warranted never putting down or that was thrilling in any way, should be investigated for a relation to the author or publisher, however.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Silent Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    I have mixed feelings about this book. I liked it in some ways and not in others. Overall I liked it more than not - certainly enough to [email protected]#$%!, and the suspense/mystery/plot line was a huge part of that. But the more I got into the book, the more annoying it became in several ways. For one, the method the writer breaks up sentences in virtually EVERY spoken conversation got very annoying. He would use a period after almost every "but." For example: "It is all her handwriting. But. We also know...." I mean, this was every character, every conversation. It got so obvious and annoying that I began looking for it (it's on almost every page) and it really began to interfere with the reading. Hated that. Also... SPOILER ALERT COMING! Toward the end of the book, there were method too a lot of wonderful "wrap-ups" to the mystery and improbably coincidences. So, really, the fact that Mandy's disappearance/death had nothing to do with the others...but she just HAPPENED to be roommates with the girl who was involved in the completely separate crime? REALLY? That crossed over the line and created me really dislike the book toward the e writing is slightly above average, at best. The mystery and plot was enough to hold me going, but let's just say I won't be reading any more Eric Rickstad books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Silent Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    I read lots of thrillers, suspense, and procedurals. Usually they engage me right from the begin and I'm done by the next day. Not this one. I picked it up and place it down over the course of a couple of weeks while forcing myself to [email protected]#$%!. Want I hadn't bothered. I didn't obtain anywhere near the hero development I wanted but did obtain excessive minutiae that did not advance the story and which I could have done without. Example: "She dabbed herself with toilet paper and tugged up her panties and jeans." And I rarely felt any tension or suspense. I won't go on because so a lot of reviewers have given this a positive review that it will be hard to explain just what a waste of time this book is. But I will say that the ending absolutely sucked and convinced me that buying Silent Girls was a large mistake.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Names of Dead Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    Eric Rickstad’s THE NAMES OF DEAD GIRLS was a haunting sequel to his hugely successful THE SILENT GIRLS. As a reader, it’s a delightful page-turner. As a writer, it’s a textbook along with everything he’s written. I’m going to test to avoid spoilers, but read with caution. There might be some light spoilers for THE SILENT GIRLS, which needs to be brought up in order to really properly talk about THE NAMES OF DEAD E SILENT GIRLS was a fiercely brutal novel revolving primarily around Rath’s PTSD and self-loathing. After the heart-pounding climax, Rickstad took the time to write an begin ending, a small ominous plot twist. Where a lot of writers would fail in this endeavor, this is possibly what took THE SILENT GIRLS to the next level—that tiny, unexpected moment where the reader’s only response is, “Holy @#$%!”Since that moment, I’ve aggressively read all of Rickstad’s novels as both a fan of his writing and as an emerging author who is moving towards the thriller/suspense genre.Rickstad created a very interesting decision with THE NAMES OF DEAD GIRLS to have the novel revolve around Rachel Rath about the same amount, if not more, than Frank Rath (although a lot of might assume this is his story instead of hers). The sequel explores the changes with power dynamic—a young woman who’s learning the truth about her past, one Rath sheltered her from in part to protect her but, more in actuality, to protect himself with some really classic examples of PTSD. But possibly more interesting than the shift in protagonist was the decision Rickstad did with his is is why I refer to this work as ter the heart-pounding conclusion of THE SILENT GIRLS, most readers would expect a super heart-pounding read from the beginning to the end. While in theory that sounds nice, if Rickstad were to create that decision (like a lot of writers would) the book wouldn’t have been successful. Instead, we’re brought quickly into the story to explore their assumptions are built from paranoia. The pace slows down a fraction then (it’s still a page-turner), which at first seems curious… until you obtain to part two and realize exactly *why* Rickstad created the pacing decision. It hits you in the chest. Hard. From that point, any reader would be hooked. The amount of restraint that Rickstad used is something that a lot of writers can’t do. Most would jump at the possibility to go running. But it’s because of this restraint that the novel is as strong as it is. The impact wouldn’t have been the same if the pace was even a fraction faster.Possibly the most impressive part might have been the ending. There were so a lot of ways that Rickstad could have taken this story, there were endings that we might guess would occur. Instead, we see a series of lies, of cover-ups, the method paranoia grows, letting down one’s guard at the wrong moment, making a fateful decision, breaking ethics and the law. The subtle ending possibly shows the reader Rath’s humanity and his since of justice. We recognize that he knew the conclusion for quite some time and danced around it before making a decision that was based on his needs. He recognizes this. He wars with himself—to punish or not to punish—then decides. This leaves the reader with an extremely satisfying ending as we’ve rooted for Rath for quite some time.I definitely recommend THE NAMES OF DEAD GIRLS (make sure to read THE SILENT GIRLS first as there are a lot of nods to that and the motivations will be clearer) and suggest any reader take the time to carefully read the Author’s Note that’s equally chilling and heartbreaking. Take time with this book--allow yourself to go for the ride and trust that process. Have fun is review came from an ARC.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Names of Dead Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    Eric Rickstad [email protected]#$%!&ing his stride with his Canaan crime novels. Amazing stories and amazing characters who reel you in and hold you engrossed. Each novel seems to be better than the last. I love them and look forward to the next installment!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Names of Dead Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    Scary, lots of possible protagonists, kept me up to the wee hours. Makes one wonder about the people you know, or do you know them at all?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Names of Dead Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    This was my second book by this offer. I could not place it down. It was a sequel to the first one. Enjoyed the characters and how the author moved from one person to the next. You wish to be figuring out who done it too! Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Names of Dead Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    From beginning to end it was great. Not at all what you expect at each corner. Perfect read. I enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Names of Dead Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    Lost sleep trying to read through one night. Amazing read. Believable characters.Rickstands best work

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Names of Dead Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    You'll sleep with the lights on! What a thrill ride! You never know what's coming with this fast-paced page-turner. Twisty plot, well-drawn characters. A winner!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Names of Dead Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    Started off with amazing expectations - but became a boring read as it got into the final chapters. Certainly NOT a page turner as stated.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Names of Dead Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    amazing. Duh. Love Eric Rickstad's work. Another best seller for sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Names of Dead Girls (Canaan Crime Novels) review [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    I have read Mr. Rickstad's earlier novels. and they were, for the most part, a decent method to pass the time, especially the stand alone.He is an author of average skills, nothing more, so the success of a particular attempt depends on the success of the is one just does not work. It's gory and repulsive. his main characters boring and predictable. They also both seem to have issues with odor. He wears a coat that smells of urine, she has a vehicle that stinks. The first one in this Canaan series was a decent read, the second one, less is one is just mundanely written, prurient torture 's time to be done with this particular group of characters and test another stand alone, or go back to your day job, Eric.Where these 4 and 5 star reviews come from, well ....?, that's a greater mystery than what's between the covers of this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    👊😉

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    A oldie, but goody.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    quick shipping, would buy again

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    Classic song and one of my favorite songs of all time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    I know I am a Woman, but I thoroughly ENJOY this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    You either like the song or you don't. Here are a bunch of words just because you have to type something here. Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    I'm still looking for the strip clubs mentioned in this song. Just kidding, amazing ole 80's hard rock.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    Had a true issue getting the melody files downloaded, but it sounded amazing after I finally got the tracks downloaded.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Girls, Girls, Girls review []  2020-1-9 19:34

    Just what I needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Las Vegas Girl: A Gripping, Suspenseful Crime Novel review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    Full disclosure – I was provided a copy of this book by the author, however, I have voluntarily chosen to write a review. All opinions are my s Vegas Girl is the newest crime novel by author Leslie Wolfe. Taking a break from her primarily Florida based police procedurals, this newest tale takes put in Sin City. Latest arrival Detective Laura Baxter is teamed up with veteran Detective Jack Holt to investigate the murder of a young woman at the posh Aquamarine hotel. With the victim identified as the sister of the Governor’s fiancé, the duo is under strict orders from the Deputy Chief to steer clear of the family. With both officers on probation for previous issues, they cannot afford to mess up, but they also cannot be expected to solve this case when both their DC and the Judge assigned appear to be stonewalling them. With a small ingenuity and some extracurricular detective work, the duo uncovers the info of a scandal years in the making that may very well shake the foundations of the Las Vegas Metro PD.With the Las Vegas strip being one of the most recognizable locations on Earth and having watched a lot of a CSI episode in the past, it was fairly simple for me to immerse myself in the story. Leslie’s newest protagonist, Detective Laura Baxter, is a British transplant with a tragic past and anger management issues. I totally love her drive to obtain the poor guy no matter what it takes. Detective Holt also isn’t squeaky clean and harbors a secret that could ruin his career at best and send him to jail at worst. The unlikely duo is a amazing pair and it was interesting to watch them test to feel each other out as first-time partners while trying to skirt the political landmines of their high-profile case. With as complex as these two characters are, each keeping secrets and buried traumas to themselves I am hoping that this is the first in a series of books involving the pair. There will always be crime in Las Vegas and I’m hoping Baxter and Holt will stick around to take the poor guys down.If you like books with a powerful female lead who is smart, flawed and just a small bit devious I would recommend Las Vegas Girl or any other title by Leslie Wolfe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Las Vegas Girl: A Gripping, Suspenseful Crime Novel review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    I have read a number of novels by Leslie Wolfe. They are all interesting stories -- all quick paced with a few enjoyable twists and turns along the way. This one is no various in that respect, but in Las Vegas Girl the main characters of Laura Baxter and Jack Holt are more developed and more relatable than characters in her previous books. Each has a flaw that he or she is struggling to overcome, yet each has an inner strength that each relies upon. The interplay between Baxter and Holt is terrific. Their hero development is most enjoyable. My favorite Leslie Wolfe novel yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Las Vegas Girl: A Gripping, Suspenseful Crime Novel review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    Outstanding characters that grab your attention and then your heart. An intricate storyline that carries you away and makes putting this book down a hard choice to make. Amazing guys and gals with a twist you don't see coming but soon you will be choosing your hero.I can't wait to read the series involving the Brit turned American. Her hot partner and their relationship is intense yet doesn't overshadow the story.I love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Las Vegas Girl: A Gripping, Suspenseful Crime Novel review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    I've loved all of Leslie Wolfe's books that I've read....about 6. I really like these fresh characters, Baxter and Holt. Hope we see them again in another book. Leslie writes dialogue that flows so naturally and the characters are always so well_developed. They alway are powerful but with flaws. Loved the book!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Las Vegas Girl: A Gripping, Suspenseful Crime Novel review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    Love this authors writing, she has me hooked! Dawn Girl was fabulous and this book is right up there with that one! Highly recommend Leslie Wolfe!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Las Vegas Girl: A Gripping, Suspenseful Crime Novel review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    Leslie Wolfe once again shows why she is at the top of the police drama game. Well developed amazing guys, nefarious scum bags all come to a thrilling end. Thrilling to the end and so well developed and written, wished it could have gone on for 100 more pages. Solid 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Las Vegas Girl: A Gripping, Suspenseful Crime Novel review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    First time I've read this author and "Las Vegas Girl" was excellent. Amazing story and well written with amazing supporting characters. Thought I had figured out who the culprit was, but I was totally wrong. Will definitely read more by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Las Vegas Girl: A Gripping, Suspenseful Crime Novel review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    Well done, just begs for more by the duo of Baxter and Holt. Hopefully, Ms Wolfe has plans for thing business-as-usual with this crime novel with lots of unexpected this one; you'll like it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Las Vegas Girl: A Gripping, Suspenseful Crime Novel review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    This is really a amazing detective mystery. solid plot, fast-paced,plenty of twists and turns. Loved the 2 detectives. Amazing characterization. I hope that the author writes more of these.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Las Vegas Girl: A Gripping, Suspenseful Crime Novel review [Book]  2018-2-7 18:0

    I chose a four star rating since it did hold me in suspense longer than most mysteries. I would have given 5 stars if a few loose ends had been tied up instead of being left hanging. The characters were well developed and likable, and the story was entertaining, if not actually what I call riveting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories: 3 True Crime Books Collection (True Crime Novels Anthology) review []  2019-12-20 18:40

    Florida author Jack Rosewood inherited his fascination for heinous crimes from his father, a journalist covering major grim crimes such as Ted Bundy. He is fascinated with serial assassins and crimes of all manner – solved and unsolved – their development psychologically, their preparation for their life of crime, and the info of how they created their bloody black marks on the world. The model/movie star handsome Rosewood lives in Jupiter, Florida with his wife and two children.Jack moves away from his intensive studies of serial assassins to discover strange crimes most of which are discoveries for the reader – even the Jack Rosewood reader! He calls this collection TRUE CRIME STORIES: TRUE CRIME ANTHOLOGY – this collection being the first three books of his collection. In each volume he shares twelve very shocking and strange crimes that have eluded the widespread press. His Introduction to this fresh avenue deserves quoting: ‘In the annals of criminal history, most cases are begin and shut. A crime takes place, the police investigate, an arrest is made, and the accused is either acquitted or convicted of said crime. Some criminal cases create for interesting prime time specials or cable network documentaries, but few invoke mysteries that persist for any length of time. But some crimes are so puzzling and perplexing that the mystery surrounding them takes on a life of its own. It is these mysterious crimes that often have the greatest impact on all involved. Crime in general has profound effects on the victims specifically and the greater society in general. Murders, in particular, leave behind gaping psychological wounds that often only start to heal when the perpetrator is caught and convicted for his/ her crimes. But what happens when the murderer is never identified? Or worse yet, what happens when the victim is never found, as if the person vanished into thin air? These are the type of crimes that tear at the social fabric of a community more than any other – crimes where a suspect is never identified, a body is never found, or a reason for the crime is never determined. The globe is full of a lot of mysteries and within the pages of this book you will be introduced to twelve of the most intriguing and awesome mysteries in modern criminal history. Some of the cases here involve multiple crimes where coincidences seem to link what are otherwise unrelated cases. Investigation of these cases reveals that sometimes although happenings may be creepy, they are in fact coincidences; while in other cases the jury is still out. A number of high-profile disappearances are also given consideration in the following pages. While a mysterious fog of uncertainty still hangs over one of these cases, perfect police work and modern science helped locate other missing individuals. Finally, this e-book considers a number of unsolved murder cases that were all but forgotten about and went “cold,” only to heat up and obtain resolved years, even decades, later through advances in science and fresh eyewitness testimony.’Each volume shares twelve stories – each growing more macabre than the preceding one. After delving into these fascinating cases with inordinate dexterity of thought and writing Jack closes by saying, ‘the globe is an awesome and mysterious put and as this book proves, sometimes crime plays a role in the mysteries of the world.’ Another highly recommended collection by the master crime journalist/investigator/historian – Jack Rosewood. Grady Harp, August 17

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories: 3 True Crime Books Collection (True Crime Novels Anthology) review []  2019-12-20 18:40

    This is yet another amazing read that’s really hard to place down. It's an insightful and graphically detailed acc of some of the most horrific serial killers. In fact, while reading yet another of Jack Rosewoods books I just had to hold turning the pages yet again. Not necessarily because it's all that enjoyable in any way, shape or form, to delve a small too deeply into the malefic minds of such murderous people, but because I sincerely believe that most people are fascinated in one method or another by serial killers. Perhaps it’s the human morbid fascination with death. I’m not exactly sure. However, maybe it just astounds the average person as to how depraved other individuals can be.Even if you are a seasoned campaigner of real crime, Real Crime Stories: 3 Real Crime Books Collection will surely raise more than a few hairs on the back of your neck. It was a first-class read and the author gave a perspective to these horrific crimes that was both fascinating and intriguing. This was one of the better real crime books that I have read recently.I would highly recommend this read to all fans of the true-crime genre. I’m also a huge fan of Jack Rosewood so it’s another 5 Stars from me. Well done again!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories: 3 True Crime Books Collection (True Crime Novels Anthology) review []  2019-12-20 18:40

    Kindle Unlimited but got it on a freebie day, don't normally do real crime or horror books, but have went through a amazing deal of his, the king of ick-gross as I think of his books. Not for the faint of heart nor the weak of stomachIt is no secret that real crime murder stories are not for the faint of heart. They can lead you to double-check your windows and doors at night, and question everything you thought or believed about human nature. Yet they are intriguing and fascinating at the same time. What is it that makes us various from those who take the lives of others? That is a question that a lot of ask themselves, and these real crime stories support to identify the way and psychology behind some of the most terrifying assassins in modern is set contains three real crime books, volumes 1-3, and each is filled with a dozens of real crime murder cases, including spree assassins and massacres, some of which are yet to be solved. You are taken through the background of the story, the murders, and the criminal investigations that took place. Some pages will be difficult to read, due to the emotion behind ue Crime Stories: 3 Real Crime Books Collection (True Crime Novels Anthology)True Crime Stories Volume 3: 12 Shocking Real Crime Murder Cases (True Crime Anthology)True Crime Stories Volume 2: 12 Shocking Real Crime Murder Cases (True Crime Anthology)True Crime Stories: 12 Shocking Real Crime Murder Cases (True Crime Anthology)The Huge Book of Serial Killers: 150 Serial Assassin Files of the World's Worst Murderers (An Encyclopedia of Serial Killers)The Serial Assassin Books: 15 Popular Serial Assassins Real Crime Stories That Shocked The Globe (The Serial Assassin Files)and a lot of a lot of others, check amazon writer's page

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories: 3 True Crime Books Collection (True Crime Novels Anthology) review []  2019-12-20 18:40

    This is one of the best serial assassin collections that I have read to date . He goes in depth with each story & explains the nature & crimes of each killer.He speaks of both solved & unsolved crimes that I wasn't aware of. This was an outstanding collection of real crimes that really does create you wish to always be aware of your surroundings because you truly have no method of knowing who may be deranged & decide you will be next in their list if victims . Thank you again , Mr Rosewood for a nail biting , can't ouyt the book down style of real crime writing you do !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories: 3 True Crime Books Collection (True Crime Novels Anthology) review []  2019-12-20 18:40

    I wish to preface this with the fact that I am not even completely through the book yet, but I found this insanely glaring error that really irks me with non-fiction (especially real crime) within the first 10 chapters: there is constant misspelling of names of different people involve in each of the cases, but worst of all the victims. For example, Chapter 10 is titled "The Strange Murder of Roy McCaleb"; throughout the whole chapter the author switches between calling him Ray and Roy. I obtain it's one letter, a vowel at that, but it is absolutely ridiculous that this wasn't edited...at all. (Also consider that a fast Google find confirms that his name is Roy). This happens other times, but the immensity of it in this chapter alone really did it for me. I think this lack of editing is extremely disrespectful to the victims and their ever, with that being said, the editing and writing throughout the first ten chapters is awful. I obtain that real crime is hard to create interesting, but the writing tries to create it sound like a narration to a TV unique about it. As a lover of real crime, I wish the info straight and cold when reading about the cases, I don't need them wrapped up in a silly bow. Now, given that I have only read the first ten chapters, you may be asking, if this is how I feel, why do I continue to read it: well, (1) I spent cash on it; and (2) most of the stories are interesting enough in their own right (not due to the writing) because they aren't the same 20 serial assassins rehashed over and over again (most of these cases, I've not heard of before). Plus, it is slightly amusing to me to write in the funny, sarcastic comments on the side of the book regarding the writing.I do not recommend this if you're looking for a good, respectful set of real crime cases to read. I do however recommend this if you wish to read about some cases you've likely never heard of (and peak your interest into getting better versions of the stories from Reddit) and if you have fun laughing at writing. (Hence the two star review).I hate leaving such a harsh review for a writer, because I know how hard it can be to write something, especially non-fiction, but the level of laziness and cheesiness in the writing paired with the inability to edit really makes for a disappointing end product.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories: 3 True Crime Books Collection (True Crime Novels Anthology) review []  2019-12-20 18:40

    Jack Rosewood's books are perfect reads, they give you info to the point you can picture the stage as if your are standing there in the middle of it all watching what he describes. I've come to adore Mr. Rosewood and his books. I look forward to the next ones coming out, and highly recommend them for others to read. A lot of my mates share the same crime interest that I have, and we discuss books on various crimes. I've brought Jack's books to the table several times and we've all enjoyed them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories: 3 True Crime Books Collection (True Crime Novels Anthology) review []  2019-12-20 18:40

    Three really amazing real crime books all rolled up in one amazing anthology? Yes, please! Jack Rosewood is a master Real Crime author and this collection holds more of the creepy, gory, savage and wonderful info of just some of the vicious crimes of assassins in this world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories: 3 True Crime Books Collection (True Crime Novels Anthology) review []  2019-12-20 18:40

    These stories are sad, and terrifying to think people think and act!! Innocent people Bering killed , some of these stories are horrifying, . but a amazing read I have read all 8 of his books, and worth every bit I paid for!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories: 3 True Crime Books Collection (True Crime Novels Anthology) review []  2019-12-20 18:40

    There are very few people who can write about real crime and not only give you the facts in a straightforward manner but also create you obtain up and check the locks on your doors and windows. Mr. Rosewood does both. These are not stories you can stop in the middle and pick up later. You have to finish to the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    True Crime Stories: 3 True Crime Books Collection (True Crime Novels Anthology) review []  2019-12-20 18:40

    Jack seamlessly (sans a few grammatical/typos errors) presents an concise view of sometimes complicated time lines. He presents the full picture of these happenings from both the murder and the survivors perspectives. He allows the sheer terror of each situation make it's own drama.Well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dancing Girls: An absolutely gripping crime thriller with nail-biting suspense (A Detective Jo Fournier Novel Book 1) review []  2020-1-15 22:21

    I chose this book due to the "absolutely gripping crime thriller" promotion. I found this to be misleading. I figured out the ending about half method through. The "game playing" was not something that was interesting to me. If you are interested in computer android games this may interest you, but I didn't search the storyline gripping or thrilling...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dancing Girls: An absolutely gripping crime thriller with nail-biting suspense (A Detective Jo Fournier Novel Book 1) review []  2020-1-15 22:21

    Read the reviews and bought the book...i'm halfway through and somewhat bored. Although I don't have it figured out(I don't think) I have a lot of theories and one will likley be true. HOWEVER, this is NOT a "cant place down gripping crime thriller". The main hero isn't fully evolved 1/2 method thru the book and the "secret" assassin is boring...though I do obtain a chuckle out of his on line personas...anyway, three stars in generous. I"m finishing only because I don't like leaving a book 1/2 done :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dancing Girls: An absolutely gripping crime thriller with nail-biting suspense (A Detective Jo Fournier Novel Book 1) review []  2020-1-15 22:21

    This first book in a police procedure series gives us just as much time spent on the assassins POV and finishes with twist you will not see coming.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dancing Girls: An absolutely gripping crime thriller with nail-biting suspense (A Detective Jo Fournier Novel Book 1) review []  2020-1-15 22:21

    Well I didn’t see that ending coming...I have to say I have never read a book quite like that. The book was good, I enjoyed the main character. The assassin was creepy, the concept interesting and sad. But man the curve ball that the author threw at the end...Let’s say that was the most special ending ever. I am now dying to begin the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dancing Girls: An absolutely gripping crime thriller with nail-biting suspense (A Detective Jo Fournier Novel Book 1) review []  2020-1-15 22:21

    I am not a large fan of blood and gore murder mysteries so I read this book with delight. It is not overly graphic but you obtain the idea because the words paint such a picture. It was gripping and simple to not place down. I loved it and look forward to next books. The plot twists were fascinating!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dancing Girls: An absolutely gripping crime thriller with nail-biting suspense (A Detective Jo Fournier Novel Book 1) review []  2020-1-15 22:21

    Loved this book. The characters were well developed and the surprises kept me wanting to read more. I look forward to the next installment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dancing Girls: An absolutely gripping crime thriller with nail-biting suspense (A Detective Jo Fournier Novel Book 1) review []  2020-1-15 22:21

    Loved the characters and the plot. It shows what our globe is coming too. I hold reading anxious until the next plot twist. Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dancing Girls: An absolutely gripping crime thriller with nail-biting suspense (A Detective Jo Fournier Novel Book 1) review []  2020-1-15 22:21

    I had fun the whole method through. Amazing story. Well written. Clever. Hard to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dancing Girls: An absolutely gripping crime thriller with nail-biting suspense (A Detective Jo Fournier Novel Book 1) review []  2020-1-15 22:21

    Our book club chose this one to read based on its online publicity. Huge mistake!! The book opens with an offensive death stage ( hold in mind that I’m a devoted reader of Patterson, Lisa Gardner, Linda Castillo, etc) ), then morphs into long tedious gaming scenes that will bore any reader who isn’t into gaming. The plot twist at the end pops into the story with small connection to the rest of the book, like it was an afterthought. The detective, Jo, was underdeveloped, although with a small effort by the author Jo might present promise in another mystery. We seriously can’t figure out why this tale got ANY amazing reviews- but it sure gave us lots to talk about!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Dancing Girls: An absolutely gripping crime thriller with nail-biting suspense (A Detective Jo Fournier Novel Book 1) review []  2020-1-15 22:21

    The Dancing Girls, by M. M. Chouinard, is a drag in some parts. The texting back and forth gets to be a small long. The point can be reached with less verbal, and written text between the serial assassin and his victims. With our assassin planning to murder his latest victim, it did not take long before I knew the female he was talking with is a serial assassin herself. Disappointed to say the least. Sexual portions are a bit over board for young readers. Ms. Chouinard will learn from experience, to write better. After all, it is her first publishing. Detectives leaving from their station to travel to other cities, and or states, does not happen very often. Mostly the FBI will do the travel investigations. Oh, yes, I know this is fiction. However, I am asked for my opinion, and I freely give it. Rated "R" for adults only. Language is not the problem. It is the description of sexual acts. DP. Castro Valley, CA.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #9: Only In Your Dreams: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-19 21:4

    Catty, wicked, frivolous and decadent, our beloved characters are back, new out of high school and entertaining themselves in all the ways we'd rena is trying her hand at becoming a film star, but isn't having as much luck wooing the male lead as she had hoped. Vanessa is on the set as well - "selling out" to Hollywood so she can pay her rent! Dan finds some extracurricular activities of his own, and Nate is found in the Hamptons, slumming it with some townie chick while he works on his Coach's house. What will our A-list ladies think of Nate's Target-dressing, fake-bag wearing, working class girl?Then Blair - she begins in London, shopping it up to console herself that her Lord whatshisname seems to have the hots for his cousin. Forgetting about the exchange rate, she gets in a bit more problem than she'd meant to, and when she arrives home to Fresh York is told very firmly to obtain a job to learn some monetary responsibility. Trust Blair to create the best of this and obtain the job every gal in Fresh York is recent addition is as amazing as the rest - perhaps even better, since the characters are all maturing a bit and having more interesting adventures out of high school. If you have liked the other books in this series (do read them in order!), you'll love this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #9: Only In Your Dreams: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-19 21:4

    I read all the books in this series and I couldn't ever place them down. Amazing books for young adults!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #9: Only In Your Dreams: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-19 21:4

    Too poor the TV present ruined the book series

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #9: Only In Your Dreams: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-19 21:4

    I love the present and I love the books. The TV present was my favorite and now that it is over I can re-live the Gossip Girl globe through the books! (Which actually have more than the present anyway)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #9: Only In Your Dreams: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-19 21:4

    I think book 9 is where somebody else took over. A chapter into it I place it down because it sounded forced, like they're trying to obtain the whole point across that it's Gossip Girl! I'll still [email protected]#$%! though and continue the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #9: Only In Your Dreams: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-19 21:4

    I really enjoyed the whole Gossip Girl series. A amazing series for teens, but it might be a bit outdated today, considering how they dressed!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #9: Only In Your Dreams: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-19 21:4

    It came without the poster...A totally various cover!Was very dissapointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #9: Only In Your Dreams: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-19 21:4

    This book was for my teenage daughter that loves to read, This was one of a lot of that I bought her in the series. gr8 read for teenage girls

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #9: Only In Your Dreams: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-19 21:4

    she love it.....

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #9: Only In Your Dreams: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-19 21:4

    Wife loves it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girl Before: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    You can definitely tell that a man wrote this book because it's told from the perspective of two young woman who have no personality at all. it was very disappointing to read about how easily and without question these woman fall for this weirdo guy just because he tells them he wants to "take them to bed". Not sure what woman that line works on these days, but I was definitely hoping for something a bit more than that. Whoever promoted this book thought did amazing because selling it as the next Gone Girl/Girl On the Train was the reason I bought it, but after reading it I found it to be a wannabe copy cat book who was trying so hard to be a Fifty Shades of Grey, Gone Girl, even a smidge of Twilight type story. It lacked creativity in my opinion and took me forever to finish. Usually I can read a book in a couple of days, but this one took me over two weeks to push my method through. It wasn't worth it either. Even if you wish to listen to the other amazing reviews about this book, I would definitely suggest getting it from the library or borrowing it from a mate so you don't have to fork over actual cash for this thing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girl Before: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    I have mix feelings about this book. I enjoyed the concept and mystery surrounding the house. What I didn't like was Delaney making the female characters dumb. What normal person (male or female) would've place up with the demands of the rental Q&A? Create this a library book, don't pay for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girl Before: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    As a VINE reviewer, you obtain used to “advanced praise” and publisher PR statements about how amazing this book is going to is book exceeds the hype, it might be better than they say it is.I was hooked and read it in two days about ten hours total reading thing is really what it seems to be, everyone has a hidden agenda and the characters might shift at any is seems to be a very straightforward story until the latest 40 ever, the author has given us the information, if we message e ending is very logical, given the story and the people. There is no, 100-year relationship or rabbit out of the hat aware this is a very adult story with some graphic d the book and looking forward to the movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girl Before: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    I loved this book. It was interesting throughout. The characters were well developed and interesting to say the least. It had the right amount of intrigue and it kept me guessing until the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girl Before: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    Once you begin yo follow the unconventional writing style the book takes off and you have to hang on. Compelling and convoluted drama of obsession and control. Can't wait for the movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girl Before: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    I don't normally like the "Now" and "Then" chapters and felt that it took a while to obtain going but then ....... Wow....... the latest few chapters pull you in and take you for a ride. Don't miss this one !!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girl Before: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    This book was hard to place down. A psychological thriller right to the end. It was the thoughts of two women - Jane and Emma. Very well written. I recommend this novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girl Before: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    Well developed characters and subplots. Loved the method it was all interwoven into this magnificent thriller. The author created even the most despicable characters relatable and likable. Bravo.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girl Before: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    It really kept you guessing I really enjoyed the story line between Emma and Jane I couldn't place the book down I readi in 2 days and I told all my mates about it that they have to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girl Before: A Novel review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    A very special style of writing combined with an interesting and unpredictable plot keeps you guessing. Perfect characters all so add intrigue in huge quantity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    I have mixed feelings about this book. I picked it up because of the hype (kudos to Cline's publishing team) and the first few pages were really impressive. I don't read a lot of literary items like this, and Cline's words were mesmerizing at first. Every sentence perfectly and poetically constructed. You could take any snippet from this book, post it anywhere, and it would be obvious how powerful a writer Cline is, without even knowing what the story was about.But then it became exhausting. Because while Cline is an incredibly gifted writer, she's not a amazing storyteller, and it got really tiring reading paragraph after paragraph of attractive prose that essentially says nothing. The pacing was soooooo sloooooow. It took pages to describe the smallest details. The story, in a nutshell, is about a girl who becomes part of a cult, and the cult commits heinous murders. The premise is fantastic. But in my opinion, it was told from the wrong point of view. What should have been a fabulous imaginative retelling of Manson fell flat, because the protagonist is only a bystander, and a part-time one at that. She doesn't live with the cult - she goes home most nights. She has no memorable relationships with anyone else in the group, other than the one girl she's infatuated with. But because her attraction is one-sided, the relationship never develops. And other than this one girl, the other characters are barely sketched out. They only exist in her peripheral vision, hazy snapshots at best, and this contains the Manson-like hero himself. The victims, we don't really know at all, so it's difficult to be horrified about what happens to them. Speaking of which, she's not involved at all in the planning of the murders, and she's even not there when the murders happen. All that build-up, and we don't even see the not good thing that's the climax of the e book is essentially one giant flashback, with a handful of present-day scenes telling us very small about the protagonist's life now (but I obtain why Cline choose to do it this method - if the story is told in flashback, she can tell it with added insight and hindsight, using lots of "little did she know's" to tip at what's to come - a cheap method to make tension, but I suppose it's better than no tension at all). In the end, though, it's so completely dissatisfying because we don't know what she's learned, or how she's grown. She tips at trying to support a young girl in the present-day, someone who reminds her of herself, but again, it never develops into is is a story that gets lost in its own words. I'm so disappointed. Amazing premise, amazing writing, weak story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    The book is overloaded with metaphors and similes. With every word on that page read like a French goose trying to soar over a stilled lake but hampered by the luminous tar that's iced on her wings from an earlier unnatural encounter. I was as determined as a fruit fly escaping from a cider trap to finish the book. However, my mind drove through each chapter like a commuter on a busy Broadway hitting every red light only to be distracted by beautiful and unassuming window shoppers. I have doubted a lot of decisions in my life, but I can tell you with the precision of a surgeons hand, I will not recommend this book.I am just saying, that's how the book reads. Blah!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    I was so excited to read this book, yet I wondered about all the hype. Would I be fooled again? I waited for it to become available at my local library, but was too anxious to wait any longer and ended up buying it locally. Did I waste my money? Hmmm…let’s decide.Evie Boyd is the fourteen year old only kid of divorced parents. Evie is basically a loner - aside from her one friend, overweight and annoying Connie. Evie spends her days drinking, smoking weed and masturbating. Evie also spends a amazing deal of time obsessing over her mother’s pathetic life. So what does a misunderstood, loner fourteen year old do in California in the summer of ’69? Why, she joins a cult of course. But not just any cult – THE CULT of all cults. Although Charles Manson and his Family are never specifically mentioned, readers can safely assume that’s exactly who takes in this small lost, pathetic and misunderstood rich e book starts off with Evie as a “middle-aged woman with varicose veins” (because all middle-aged women have them, right?) cowering in her rental when she hears a noise. Turns out it’s just the owner’s son coming to party with his girlfriend. The child recognizes Evie as “that girl from the cult” (how, we have no idea) and is instantly in awe of Evie. Thus prompts the trip down memory lane and hence the story of Evie and The Cult. Unfortunately, everything from there goes rapidly is book is so incredibly BORING it was literally painful to slog through it. The author is the queen of long-winded prose and similes. Similes are great…if they’re done well and done sparingly. However, the writing here is so overloaded with them that it completely mangles the story. I got a true sense that the author was trying darn hard to sound deeply profound, but she only succeeded in creating a rambling bowl of superfluous simile soup. It’s only 355 pages, but is so heavily padded with randomness that it seems MUCH longer. Ugh. I’m of the belief that easy writing is best. Why use ridiculous and wordy verbiage to describe even the most straightforward passages when easy words and phrases will suffice? This only results in slamming on the book brakes and disrupting the flow of the book. Let’s save the flowery writing for poetry, please. And not only was the bulk of the book ramblingly tedious – it was downright WEIRD. Talking about smelling her mother’s period in the bathroom? Seriously?A lot of the book didn’t even ring real to the time period. Did this mysterious debut author and her squad of Random House editors even research 1969? As an example, Suzanne and not good small rich girl Evie are on the street and need gas so they stop at a gas station to pump their own gas with a stolen credit card from someone’s mother. One, there were precious few self-service gas stations in 1969 and two, credit cards were rarely used back then…AND women couldn’t even obtain them. It’s true…look it up. There were no pump card swipers back then, so wouldn’t the attendant have noticed any of this? Apparently not, since “the family” was supposedly living off credit cards.I don’t normally blast a book like this, but I’m tired of all the book hype publishers push on unsuspecting readers. The premise of this book was amazing – the execution was GOD AWFUL. I obtain it, perfectly amazing girls being lured into a subservient lifestyle by a masterfully manipulative murderer. Starved for the attention they didn’t obtain at home only to search themselves in a worse environment than before. There is literally NOT ONE likable or even relatable hero in this whole mess. All hype and absolutely no substance.Disclaimer: eBook Review Gal was fooled by all the hype and actually wasted amazing cash for this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    I struggled with the rating for this novel; it's hard to "like" since its characters are themselves so unlikeable, even the protagonist, Evie. But it's better than merely "okay." Cline is a amazing writer who successfully creates an atmosphere of existential menace for her fictionalized "Manson family." Through them, she explores what it meant and means to be a "girl" in a man's world, a theme that also plays out in the show day as a 50ish Evie hosts the son and girlfriend of a former lover in whose house she is living. The heart of the book, though, is Evie's experience in 1969 and her near miss being part of the popular murders that drive the plot forward. Could she have participated or would she have turned away in horror? That's part of the question it's not clear she herself can even respond so a lot of years e "girls" of the title are a band of disaffected and aimless women in their late teens, mostly runaways from troubled homes, who fall in with a Manson-like charmer and live a communal life in squalor, doing dumpster dives for meal on a regular basis. The slow build-up to their murderous rampage is interesting; the violence that lurks just below the surface of their otherwise routine existence erupts almost without context. It's just the method they are. The phrase "the banality of evil" kept hitting me as I read, and the story sent me back to reading bits about the true Manson girls to test to understand something that's really not understandable.Where the book fell down for me was actually Evie, the main character. In 1969, she's 14, about to go away to boarding school and at loose ends during a summer when her mother is busy dating and finding herself after a divorce. Evie falls under the spell of the 19-year-old Suzanne in particular. Although the author seems to suggest there's a powerful sexual component here, that's not really developed (other than one time when they participate in a threesome with a popular male rocker). Nor is present-day Evie gay, so her fascination with Suzanne never felt true to me. And since that relationship is central to the story, the story itself came to feel a bit artificial and manufactured. Still, Cline's talent with language is clear and the look back to that era in history brought back all kinds of memories for this older e

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    Sure, the echoes to the Manson cult and the Tate/LaBianca murders provide the real-life inspiration for this gripping novel by Emma Cline. However, "The Girls" surprised me through the choices Cline created in telling this story. While the violent murders are an anchor, it is the exploration of the psychological and emotional turmoil within a 14 year old that sparked her unlikely choice to follow this cult.Evie Boyd, the narrator, reflects back on that seminal summer of 1969 when she was a 14 year old youth living in the Marin County city of Petaluma. The height of the Vietnam Battle and Summer of Love provide the contextual backdrop of the dislocation taking put nationally while Evie's life is unraveling due to the separation of her parents, problem with her best mate Connie and her own sexual development. The collision of these broad and private forces make conditions ripe for an impressionable young girl to be brought under the spell of those adept at manipulation. While at the park one day, Evie sees hippie girls scavenging for meal at the park and becomes particularly mesmerized by one in particular, Suzanne. A second more intimate encounter takes Evie from the comfortable yet fraying safety of her suburban life to the the threadbare outpost led by the cult leader ars later, as Evie unwinds at a mates cottage, she comes into contact with his late teenage son and his mid-teens girlfriend. This encounter stirs reflection on how ripe for manipulation she had been and through her encounter with this girls, who easily taken advantage of she still is. Sure, she was fortunate to not have been a participant in the murders, but was that just fortune and luck or would she have followed the rest of them in their violence if she hadn't been allow out of the vehicle on the side of the road."The Girls" is not a excellent novel and lost a bit of its power as it progressed, but it is a well-constructed debut from Emma Cline.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    This book is appropriately titled. The story's central character, 14-year-old Evie in 1969, could be any girl, anywhere at any time. She is petulant, impatient, precocious - hungry for her life to take a turn away from where she is at the time. Teenage angst 101. Evie wants drama and excitement. She wants thrills and danger. She gets it all.We also see adult Evie in reflection of her life and the improbable, special girlhood she is describing to the feels personal, as if she is talking to you as she recounts her infatuation with an older teenaged woman who was to become an internationally infamous murderer.Evie and the other girls in this book received the same messages as girls do now: It's HIS world. Follow along. Listen adoringly when he speaks. Fulfill his needs. Learn to be his helpmate. Acquiesce to are an approval seeker. Play the role and everything will be okay for you. Evie's rebellious spirit is alive today in a lot of young women who are powerful and career-oriented. They wish their own lives. Just as many, though, harbor that hunger for acceptance and approval, eager to please the cool girls and follow the boys' demands. Today millions of young women are mothers in or near poverty, missing male partnership and support. They are just playing the roles they believe society expects them to play.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    I enjoyed how the author developed this story. Although the reader eventually understands where the story is going, the method in which the ending will come about remains mysterious. In addition to the dark, Charles Manson-esque storyline, I enjoyed how the author created this into a story about growing up and rebelling. Her insight on growing apart from mates and finding oneself unable to relate to one's parents is so pertinent to each young teenage girl, whether they are growing up in the 1960's or the 2000's. Fabulous read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    Hmmmm...not quite sure if I liked this book or not. I was enthralled and read The Girls quickly. At times I was really drawn to it and then I was disgusted or rolling my eyes at the overwritten prose. The story which focuses on the summer of 1969 for 14 year old Evie Boyd is like a psychedelic trip. As she leaves her mundane life and begins to hang out with a cult like group which eventually commits an horrific act, Evie begins to see her life and the globe in a various light. The story is told through flashbacks from a middle-aged Evie and it jostles between show day and the summer of 1969. The story is interesting but the writing is too much, overdone to say the least. It's drippy with metaphors, similes and too a lot of literary devices. It may be a style admired by some but not by me. Though the hero development is actually beautiful well done, I am still not sure how I'm supposed to feel about any of them. I'm still on the fence as to whether I liked any of them or really cared what happen to them. Maybe that was the point. Still, the story is interesting and the author does a amazing job of slowly revealing the horrific happenings and what leads up to it. She gives you just enough to create you hold reading and slowly feeds the reader until the crime just happens. It's not climactic but it's not disappointing either, it just happens like most of the happenings in the book. Perhaps that is the intent, to create the reader experience life like Evie and the other girls where things just seem to happen to them. I would recommend it. It was interesting and a small thought provoking.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    I really enjoyed the storyline, the method it kept secrets from the reader about the other characters, offering enough to spark the imagination and outline a hero so the reader was familiar, but left wondering. The questioning of self and how easily one could be influenced by another, all for the attention of their affections. The neediness of all in our stories called life.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Girls: A Novel review [Book]  2018-1-12 18:0

    Could not support but think of how scary it must have been during the Manson murders while reading Emily Cline’s THE GIRLS. This lonely teenage girl is literally sucked in to a globe of others just like herself and you can feel the draw. What an intensely depicted novel of a time in a young girl’s life, both in her globe and in the world, when there is such upheaval. It is creepy, it is eerie, it is good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #6: You're the One That I Want: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-11 19:29

    As I always say I enjoyed the television present more but the books aren't horrible just kind of cheesy. Once I begin a series though I can't stop.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #6: You're the One That I Want: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-11 19:29

    I am addicted to these books. They constantly have you wondering what is going to happen next. Amazing books for young adults.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #6: You're the One That I Want: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-11 19:29

    I love the television series and the book series. It was my favorite present and I'm bummed it ended, now I can re-live the experience through the books! (which actually have more than the television episodes anyway!)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #6: You're the One That I Want: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-11 19:29

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #6: You're the One That I Want: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-11 19:29

    Amazing book series that my daughter loves to read. We have most of the series and she reads alot with these.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #6: You're the One That I Want: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-11 19:29

    the book is for my daughter an she enjoyed read about gossip girl

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #6: You're the One That I Want: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-11 19:29

    I love gossip girl! I can't wait to read and search out what's going to happen next to S and B.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #6: You're the One That I Want: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-11 19:29

    Amazing installment in the gossip girl series. A unbelievable edition to a amazing young adult storyline that helps you escape reality.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #6: You're the One That I Want: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-11 19:29

    Chuck and Blair aren't on the cover

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Gossip Girl #6: You're the One That I Want: A Gossip Girl Novel review []  2020-1-11 19:29

    Amazing book, for ages 12 and older. A story line that makes you really wish to read the next book!

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter