Read the sisters of the winter wood reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the sisters of the winter wood reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of the Winter Wood []  2021-4-6 23:37

    I couldn't place it down! It reads more like a young adult novel, but a very amazing one. I recommend reading the author's note at the back of the book first to establish the it a excellent book? No. So why am I giving it five stars? Because it provides a amazing escape and a totally original story with original, flawed characters and a special look at historical happenings I knew nothing about.I message another reader's comment about confusion with all of the Hebrew words, but there's a glossary in the back that I used for review and I feel the Jewish traditions added depth and richness to the sisters' story. The book feels more like Liba's story, not so much shared equally between the two sisters. Perhaps that's because Liba is older and feels responsible for her younger sister. I loved the magical elements and also the method the writer used true historical locations and happenings to increase the e author is very amazing at creating mental pictures with words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of the Winter Wood []  2021-4-6 23:37

    A haunting and lovely tale. This mixes magical realism and Jewish history. The true happenings in this story essentially laid the foundation of Jews leaving in droves. The fierce sisterly love woven with Slavic tales is amazing. I cannot wait to read more by this author. Yes it is a dark and pessimistic story. Yet there is light.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of the Winter Wood []  2021-4-6 23:37

    I devoured The Sisters of the Winter Wind in two days. I loved the method that Rena Rossner was able to weave together a compelling story and characters with so much history and mythology. Although chapters alternated between Liba and Laya, I felt Liba much more at the center of the story, maybe because I identified more with her practical nature. Although I had read a small bit about the book before I read it, Rossner frequently took the story in directions I didn't anticipate. Her descriptions, especially of the fruit, were unbelievable and enticing. Although there was a lot of sadness in the story, there was hopefulness too. I recommend reading the author's note at the end of the book, because it shares a lot of history from that area, but wait until you have finished the story. This was one of my favorite books of the year so far, and I hope that it won't be too long before Rossner releases another novel.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the sisters of the winter wood or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of the Winter Wood []  2021-4-6 23:37

    I ADORED The Sisters of the Winter Wood. It was like Fiddler on the Roof with magic, from the points of view of two fierce teen girls who are refreshingly relatable as they struggle to cope with their shocking fresh powers, first romantic relationships, family drama and the virulent anti-Semitism that threatens their lives.An uplifting tale about faith, family and community, sprinkled with humor and love, as comforting and delicious as the new chocolate babka the main characters' Mom likes to bake. I haven't loved a story this much in awhile. An instant classic in my book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of the Winter Wood []  2021-4-6 23:37

    I was lucky enough to read an early copy of this and was so happy with how the author wove together the lovely (and unusual) setting of Dubossary, the tale of the Goblin Market, and two sisters whose love for each other is tested in a lot of ways...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of the Winter Wood []  2021-4-6 23:37

    4.75 out of 5 ba and Laya are sisters who live with their Mami and Tati in the woods by a little city where Jews and non-Jews live in peace. One night, a stranger comes knocking at their cabin, setting motion happenings that will forever change the sisters, their family, and their fore their parents leave to see the Rebbe, who is on his deathbed, they reveal secrets to the sisters, but individually, and so as they war themselves and each other, as well as those around them, you can see the secrets tearing them apart and at the same time bringing them closer ba is already self-conscious when she finds out that she is a bear, so she feels that much more uncomfortable and huge in her skin. Laya is light, airy, and bright, so much various than her sister, and a swan. With their parents gone, the girls quickly begin forging their own paths, wildly divergent from what their parents would have wanted from them and dangerously apart from what their mother warned them about. Now, though, there are more strangers in the village - huge men who frighten Liba and singing, luring fruit-sellers who Laya feels she belongs with. The sisters struggle to stay close and connected while each becoming her own person in the world.I adore this book. The beginning was a small bumpy because when the mother is explaining who they are to the sisters, it felt like the author was not confident in her own voice. However that quickly passed, and I was engulfed in the story. An intense family saga full of attractive scenery, risky characters, history, mystery, and e hero building was flawless: you came to know Liba and Laya through alternating chapters/voices. There were secrets and challenges and loyalties and though for the most part the central focus is the sisters and their own private trials and tribulations, the whisper of the globe around them is evident. The transformation of their city from one where people of various cultures and religions live peacefully side-by-side to one where neighbors are suddenly talking out loud about each other in negative perspectives is cording to her Goodreads profile, the author's great-grandparents all immigrated to America to escape the war-time violence overseas, and this is her labor of love for them and the history and folklore surrounding her ancestors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of the Winter Wood []  2021-4-6 23:37

    I gave up on this after reading about a fifth of rst of all, the writing needs some work; it feels clunky, and the constant foreign words and translations distract from the flow of the story, rather than adding to condly, it feels like there's very small emotion in any of the characters. They don't react to happenings in relatable ways, so I just couldn't bring myself to care about them. Cheating wife? Oh well. Heavy life changing revelation? Oh, the protagonist says, my father can now search me "someone more worthy of me" to marry. ever, what really created me give up was the two teenage girl protagonists. They talk and think about boys and marriage, and not much else. (To be fair, they also occasionally think about escaping their current life... and the fresh boys they'll meet.) When their mother reveals some life-changing news to them, their thoughts are about how this changes the kind of boys they can h. No. There's more to life. I give up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of the Winter Wood []  2021-4-6 23:37

    Not adult-level writing. If I were 13, these awkward teen budding romances would be gripping but as adult it's formulaic. Not Naomi Novik, a very watered down comparison. The charming Jewish cultural references are about the only part of the writing I found refreshing. Otherwise it reads like a teenage fan fiction, throwing things at the reader with no subtlety or buildup and creating no backstory or lore to create it memorable. It's probably a fun read for preteens/young adults who can relate to blushing around boys and complaining about adulthood. It's a slow moving, moderately interesting,utterly uncompelling read for an adult. And it's utterly forgettable either way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of the Winter Wood []  2021-4-6 23:37

    Buckle up for a fable that delightfully straddles the line between fantasy and history! A compelling tale about two sisters, Liba and Laya, living in a globe of untamed wilderness, risky pogroms, and a surreal magic they do not yet understand. I particularly enjoyed Liba’s hero and her style, especially when she learns to embrace who she truly is as the narrative progresses through the trials and mysteries that surround her. Although there are numerous magical elements in this story, a lot of real, and oft times dark history provides the backdrop to this plot about two sisters gradually coming of age. If you have fun unbelievable elements sprinkled in with realistic drama, then The Sisters of the Winter Wood is for you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of the Winter Wood []  2021-4-6 23:37

    This is one of my favorite books, so far this year! If you like the writing of Naomi Novik or Katherine Arden, this is your fresh book! So very hard to place this one down and the audible ver was delicious! I felt so much compassion for the forever plight of this small family dealing with what was hiding in the woods and in plain sight. What a fabulous fairy tale..... or was it a fairy tale?I cannot wait for this author to release another book. She is definitely going on my Favorite Author list!Please give this wonderful book a try. I highly recommend it!JMHO //(*_*)\\

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Winter Sisters: A Novel []  2020-1-19 20:24

    I absolutely loved this attractive magical realism goes, this one's is on the there's-almost-no-magic end of the spectrum. It's a historical novel set in Victorian Georgia. A young doctor has come to city to treat a rabies infestation and teach the common folk about science, but what he learns about medicine, faith, and healing is far more than what he teaches e writing is absolutely beautiful. For me, it's right up there with "The Signature of All Things," by Elizabeth Gilbert, which is my litmus test--that's such a gorgeous book. Westover's book is written just as tenderly, just as carefully, and with turns of phrase appropriate to the era that offered verisimilitude and, not for nothing, sometimes a bit of laughter on my part.Tim is donating all the profits from this book to a children's hospital in Georgia. I didn't know that when I bought the book, but if that's your cause, this is an simple method to donate. I adored the book--it might even be a fresh favorite--and can't wait to pick up some of his other work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Winter Sisters: A Novel []  2020-1-19 20:24

    In this tale, Aubury Waycross, a learned doctor from Savannah, travels to the north Georgia countryside to conduct a promising rabies study in a city stalked by an infected panther. He quickly realizes that he has been hoodwinked into coming to a frontier city that has no true need of his historically accurate but otherwise unappealing medical bury discovers that he was asked to come because the pastor in city has it in for the local healers (the titular Winters sisters) whom he believes are witches. The mayor also thinks the presence of an official doctor will support his bid to create his city the fresh county seat.I generally enjoyed this story, which is mostly a historical tale with a amazing deal of magical realism thrown in, but it could have used some extra clarification on some points. Specifically, why does the pastor really hate the Winter sisters so much? Sure, he believes they are evil witches, but there’s never any clear reason as to why he thinks this prior to the incident with Ouida Bell. As a result, he comes across as a bit of a one-dimensional zealot.I also found Sarah’s generally poor attitude to be a bit trying at times and her ill-advised antics could have easily gotten them all burned at the stake as witches in an earlier time period. Due to past events, some of her actions created sense but others didn’@#$%!&?eemed like she would have stopped deliberately provoking the townspeople after what had happened to them e fact that Rebecca falls in love with Aubury also seemed a bit predictable but forgivable in terms of spite these minor flaws, this was generally a amazing book that I may read again in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Winter Sisters: A Novel []  2020-1-19 20:24

    Georgia author Tim Westover earned his degrees form Davidson College in North Carolina and the University of Georgia and after traveling the globe doing volunteer work and studying languages, he has returned to Georgia where he is employed by a medical software company in Lawrenceville. A touch of his nature is found in his biographical note – ‘I tell people that I don’t create up anything that I write. Generations before me have already found the best stories. I collect what I can from old folks, young folks, museums, signs, pamphlets, and old newspaper articles. And I tie them up with a small narrative to save as a lot of of the old stories as I can.’Tim’s passion for history, and especially for the history of Lawrenceville, is evident in his Prologue, set in the year 1811: ‘The fat orange moon, reflected in the silver bowl, seems so small. Effie, the youngest of three sisters, cups her hands to lift the moon out, but the water slips through her fingers. The ripples break the moon’s reflection into streaks of light. The sisters work on the bare granite of a clearing, a bald mountainside, under a sky rich with stars. People of a superstitious persuasion say the devil once trod on the balds. They say that’s why nothing will grow there and any remnants of trees look lightning blasted and scorched. But the balds have plenty f life. They’re slick with moss and lichens, and the tenacious stems of asafetida and yellow lady’s slipper and jack-in-the-pulpit have taken root…’ The scenery is well painted and the mood suggests the mystery that will is refreshing and invigorating to search an author with the immense talent that Tim Westover demonstrates in this superb novel – a book that successfully blends history, fantasy, medicine, and interpersonal relationships and differences. They story is memorable: ‘Dr. Waycross knows bleeding and blistering, the best scientific medicine of 1822. He arrives in the Georgia mountains to bring his modern methods to the superstitious masses. The local healers, the Winter sisters, claim to treat yellow fever, consumption, and the hell-roarin' trots just as well as he can. Some folks call the sisters herb women; some call them witches. Waycross calls them quacks. But when the threat of rabies—incurable and fatal—comes to town, Dr. Waycross and the Winter sisters must combine their science and superstition in a desperate find for a remedy. Can they search a miracle cure, or has the age of miracles passed?’Challenging and rewarding in every aspect of the author’s imagination, niche for Southern history, and impressive writing skills, this book is one that will rise to the top when the awards are announced for 2019 novels. Very highly recommended. Grady Harp, September 19

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Winter Sisters: A Novel []  2020-1-19 20:24

    The Winter Sisters: A Novel ISBN: 9780984974894 QW Publishers, Copyright and written by Tim e story opens with a prologue set in 1811 that introduces the three Winter Sisters – Rebecca, the oldest, Sarah and Effie the youngest. They are ‘healers’, taught by their now deceased mother, well known for their abilities by residents of the nearby city of Lawrenceville and the surrounding zone of Georgia. Raised in Hope Hollow in which the mother had settled long before the city existed, they had moved to town, largely because of Rebecca’s association with one of the town’s inhabitants and lived there for some time until driven out by a ‘fire breathing’ minister who had incited the townspeople to riot versus these ‘devil’s advocates and witches who produced their cures through potions and other demon-directed methods’. In the resulting action, the man with whom Rebecca similar was badly burned and even Effie, the youngest who did appear to have some manner of occult power, could or would not save him (causing something of a rift in her relationship with Rebecca). The sick, if still desperate enough, still followed them when they returned to Hope Hollow, but now were threatened on the journey by a rabid panther that roamed the forest. An animal that the minister insisted was the Devil’s own creation serving the desires of these witches. Because of the fresh difficulty encountered by the sick and infirm residents, the Mayor persuades Dr. Aubrey Waycross, an urban hospital trained physician to move there. The story gradually unfolds as Waycross arrives with his training of the day that still embraced Galen and Hippocrates. This consisted of using lancets, emetics, enemas and blistering agents, with bloodletting when called for, as well as other treatments obvious to the names of the agents employed. Thus, his practice vies with the herbal and holistic approach as developed to that time because he sees their results effective in a lot of instances. So, simultaneously he attempts to combine the two approaches as he also becomes enamored of Rebecca. During the development of the plot, the characters of each of the three sisters proceed along quite various lines that aid in its development and a number of supporting characters including a travelling medicine man, the minister, and several other city characters, also provide various aspects of the story.Discussion: The author has set forth a fascinating description of medicine as it existed, and was practiced, in rural (often to a degree urban as well) locations and populations of the era. As such, the tale is well worth reading. Unfortunately, a number of hiccups occur in recounting the tale. Most prominent, from this reader’s perspective, is difficulty attempting to define and empathize with the main characters. Waycross’ activities frequently appear quite thoughtless, even at times ridiculous; Rebecca appears to act in accord with her position in that put and time, but still is rather wraith-like in presenting a persona; Effie is even more of a wraith as she wanders about with her apparent occult power, and her ultimate close relationship with Thumb, a typical medicine man, seemingly unpredictable; Thumb, in turn offers his share of question marks; Sarah is a ‘loose cannon’ wandering around; Other, supporting characters also provide interesting, often amusing additions to the story. The ending, at least for this reader, was abrupt, somewhat inexplicable and mmary: A look at the practice of medicine in the 1800’s, perhaps particularly of interest at this time because of the surging interest among patients and even physicians in the holistic approach to treatment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Winter Sisters: A Novel []  2020-1-19 20:24

    'The Winter Sisters' is a novel by Tim Westover that effortlessly blurs the lines of historical, fiction, fantasy, and what felt like folklore--think Erik Larson (The Devil in the White City) meets Lev Grossman (The Magicians) meets the android game Oregon is story, while definitely a small witchy, is still quite an apt read for our time, considering it takes put in the 1800's. It deals with medicine and the continuing idea of science vs a more naturopathic approach to healing--a debate for ages.Overall, the book is well written, engaging, and the characters are relatable to a degree that you almost instantly become invested in them. You could almost see a film or a miniseries being played out in your head as you read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Winter Sisters: A Novel []  2020-1-19 20:24

    The Winter Sisters- a Novel by Tim Westover is an absorbing story weaved together by clear, refreshing writing, and short sentences which challenged this reader to begin them and search the pearls within. I was enthralled by the pace of the book (hypnotized maybe) and as I read along, I found myself wanting to continue reading.Early in the book I recognized it as a story about human relationships, one of people of various dispositions trying to come to terms with each other’s beliefs and behavior. The background is in a little farming village city (Lawrenceville) mired in gossip, lore and superstition; and a general public further very begin to manipulation. The main characters are the three Winter sisters (Rebecca; Sarah and Effie) -women loyal to their roots, with bonuses of healing and who had been accused of witchcraft and driven out of city to the forest. In contrast a (Hippocratic) Doctor of Medicine (Dr. Aubrey Waycross) has just arrived and was at first condescending but becomes deeply fascinated by healing works of the sisters. He also must come to terms with his own sense of medicine (disease treatment).There is the quack salesman selling tonics, and shows and who eventually drops his bombastic character; and the Pastor, preaching death and damnation on the Sisters and on the Doctor; and of course using his pulpit to preach to and energize the local population versus the sisters and the Doctor – the same crowd later drove him out. And there are different other individuals who are threads holding together the connections of the main characters. All were trying to come to terms with each will search words which you may not recognize, and these add to your knowledge if you are moved to further investigate. There is humor, a lot of from seeing the behavior of birds and animals reflected in or as responding to human behavior:” A pair of pigeons, startled from their lovemaking in a branch overhead, flapped away. Their stupid cooing I took for laughter at my expense.” And a British-like greeting with a bit of irritability: “If you’ll pardon me, sir,”[ I said, measuring my anger,] “I seem to have misplaced our acquaintance. You know me, but I do not know you.”The book is also educational. In expanded form or by use of ‘quotable quotes’ that author gives us points on which to ponder, e.g., on the political correctness of medicine; on religion; views on nightshades crops; on medicine and on the put of warnings in a doctor’s actions and medicine and sentence statements like: “a body is not cured by amazing intentions??’ ; “Every idea, if it lives long enough, is proven wrong.”Engaging; highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Winter Sisters: A Novel []  2020-1-19 20:24

    I really, really enjoyed this book. It was such a refreshing change of pace from what I've been reading lately and felt so relaxing to be swept up in such a fun world. This story is a mix of fantasy and folklore- already such a fun combo-with all sorts of southern charm thrown in. The characters aren't always relatable, but they're fairly well developed and surprising at times. Anyone who enjoys magic, historical fiction or just fantasy in general will search this book entertaining and worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Winter Sisters: A Novel []  2020-1-19 20:24

    Entertaining But FlawedIn 1822, a young doctor is summoned to a practically frontier town, under false pretenses, only to search himself competing with the Winter sisters, healing women who have been there for generations and who had recently been run out of city for being witches by the priest and an mad dressing common problems of the time, including medicine, witchcraft, and small-town living, The Winter Sister's should be praised for how well researched it is. The of accurate medical terminology for the time is superb, the imagery and language does a very nice job of evoking life a little city on the edge of civilization in the early 19th century. There are opportunities in the writing, however, that I think were missed.I found the story of the Winter sisters to be compelling. Rebecca, Sarah, and Effie have a bond in both sisterhood and in magic. There is tension from an happening that takes put before the happenings of the book, resulting in strain in all their relationships – particularly between Rebecca and Effie. But their story is captivating, and I wanted to spend more time with these characters.Unfortunately, that is not to be. Though the book is titled The Winter Sisters, the bulk of the story is about Dr. Aubrey Waycross, an arrogant young doctor who spends most of his time whining about being a town doctor in a back-woods town, or otherwise plotting how he can use the Winter sisters to increase his own status as a doctor. Because for some reason, even though the sisters were run out of town, all of the townspeople still trust and rely on their ere are two elements in the story that are repeated or referred to frequently enough that they should keep some meaning, even if symbolically: pigeons and a black panther. I spent much of my reading time trying to figure out how these are supposed to tie back into the story. As it turns out, the pigeons are set dressing. And the panther is left to dangle on the edge of the story, serving no other purpose then to spread fear through the town. As is stated regularly throughout the book, there’s “no way” a panther would be found in the mountains of Georgia, so I thought there would be some magical tie-in to the Winter sisters, or maybe even to the priest. But there isn’t, and I was left the end, I found the book to be entertaining enough. It captured my attention and I read it in about three days. Though not a fan of Dr. Waycross, I never found my irritation with him enough of a reason to stop reading the book to search out what happens to the Winter sisters. If you are willing to overlook the flaw, this is a decent foray into a cross between medical historical fiction and magic realism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Winter Sisters: A Novel []  2020-1-19 20:24

    Lush, evocative and captivating, The Winter Sisters is a mesmerizing gem of a book by Georgia writer Tim Westover. Set in Lawrenceville, Georgia primarily in 1822, the book might best be classified as a literary historical novel, but with more than a touch of mystery and magical realism, as well as a sweet, slow-to-develop love the heart of the story are, of course, the Winter sisters, three young women who are healers in the mountains of North Georgia. The local preacher considers them witches and drives them from city after he blames a fire at a mill on them. He hangs them in effigy and no one in the city cuts down the effigies. Yet the city folks continue to hike through risky terrain to seek healing at Hope Hollow, the sisters’ refuge some miles out of town.While the sisters continue healings at Hope Hollow, young Dr. Aubrey Waycross is lured to Lawrenceville by false tales. The doctor is shocked and dismayed by the primitive town, and the city people aren’t favorable impressed by him either. Aubrey dismisses the tales of a rabid panther because panthers don’t roam north Georgia. Yet the preacher insists the panther lurks menacingly about and is the witches’ evil familiar. Aubrey soon confronts the sisters, thinking them “granny women” but discovers they are young, attractive, and us begins the tale that spins several encounters with the panther, unexplained healings, some grim medical missteps on the doctor’s part, the increasing menace of the preacher’s rage versus the sisters, and the suspenseful war to save Ouida Bell, the town’s loveliest and sweetest young woman, from rabies. The doctor complicates things greatly by being an ether addict and by not always recognizing either love or genuine healing when faced with e story is haunted by the panther and the quest for healing for Ouida Bell, just as the increasing threat from the obsessed preacher raises tensions. Aubrey’s own journey from haughty and judgmental to a genuine, compassionate healer is a strong, compelling element of the plot. Much of the story’s magical realism centers on Effie, the youngest of the sisters. She describes herself as a “remnant, left from a time before understanding.”Tim Westover has a rare talent for putting the reader right into the story, his characters are complex and never stereotypical, and the globe he creates is both attractive and haunting. This is a fine example of Southern Literature at its most moving, enchanting, and compelling.I did keep a Kindle copy of this book as a gift, but the opinions are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Winter Sisters: A Novel []  2020-1-19 20:24

    The Winter Sisters by T. Westover is a uniquely various novel that develops a plot of modern science, represented by Dr. Waycross, versus the likes of three sisters who use "natural remedies" to meet the ailments of the residents of Lawrenceville, ever, there is "something" about the sisters as it appears that each have their own particular unique rouded also in mystery are the rumors that swirl around the Winter daughters. Some say that they are legitimate healers while some whisper that they are ded to the mix is a "snake oil" salesman who promotes a tonic as a cure all and fully embraced by the members of the e added twist is that the year is 1822 and the backdrop is the back hills of the Georgia Mountains.A melting pot of all sorts of well-meaning characters blended together by superstition and religion in this close knitted community.And so the use of modern medicine in the year 1822 and particularly the technique of blood letting is pitted versus the entrenched healing practices of the Winter is an ongoing war until finally a show danger of a deadly disease shrouding the local community, strangely enough, which provides the required course of unity to overcome the lurking e Winter Sisters by T. Westover is a nicely written novel with significant twists, turns and surprises that is almost guaranteed to entertain the e plot is well developed along with the different characters and their personalities being "fleshed" me, in addition to being a delightful read, it appears to be a story with the moral of not pre-judging or discounting the bonuses of addition, it is a story of overcoming challenges in one's life and the lives of others through unity rather than disharmony.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Moon []  2020-9-23 20:9

    I received this book for free for my reviewEnjoyable read. I like the subject, the secrets, and the characters of this book. Durra, a Moorish slave, is the main hero and she is well developed and I like her. She's intelligent and powerful and ends just a small bit on a cliffhanger making me thing there will be more

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Yam []  2021-3-5 19:41

    I have never read a book or known an author to so accurately explain the black women’s experience in America like Bell Hooks does in “Sisters of the Yam.” A lot of mates and associates raves about this book and with amazing reason. Bell Hooks talks about the collective ideaology that a lot of black women grow up with as kids and how it relates and shapes us as adults. She talks about our often times suppressed ity. She give insight into our need for healing. It is a amazing book. I would recommend this book for any and every black woman and those who hope to understand us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Yam []  2021-3-5 19:41

    bell hooks saved me while I was in grad school! Her scholarship was just what I needed: honest, fresh, pointed. She is still the most necessary woman scholar years later.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Yam []  2021-3-5 19:41

    I was really excited about receiving this book and a few others I bought until I saw that it seems as if someone sed something or dropped my book in my puddle of water bc there’s spots all over it and dirt marks on the cover. Hoping the sender can fix this problem by sending me a brand fresh CLEAN book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Moon []  2020-9-23 20:9

    I received a free copy of this book for an honest review. It was ok. I was really interested after reading the synopsis, but it just didn't grab my attention and i had to force myself to [email protected]#$%!. I will probably skip this author in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Yam []  2021-3-5 19:41

    Self support book geared to black women in particular but one a lot of others may search helpful as well. One of the few self support books I am aware of that talks about socio-political situations in relation to self help.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Yam []  2021-3-5 19:41

    bell hooks never disappoints. She is the among the most conscious and knowledgable black writer who speaks to the head, heart and soul of black women who struggle to make a globe filled with love, racial and gender equity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Moon []  2020-9-23 20:9

    I volunteered to leave a reciew after recieving a free copy of this book. I think its a amazing read. I hope it becomes a series and there are more books down this story line. Its a fresh twisted take on a classic tale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Yam []  2021-3-5 19:41

    This book is loaded with self-righteousness and self-importance. It's unbearable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Yam []  2021-3-5 19:41

    Reading this book is like walking back through the pain of our trauma-ridden lives with a deeply understanding guide. Healing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Moon []  2020-9-23 20:9

    4.25 stars--SISTERS OF THE MOON by Alexandrea Weis is a stand alone paranormal thriller focusing on the Sisters of St. Gertrude who live and work on the remote island of Die ld from third person perspective (Durra) SISTERS OF THE MOON follows three young women, Durra, Emily and Leida as they are left at the Sisters of St. Gertrude convent having been sold into slavery by family and owners but their arrival on Die Wachter Island comes with ghosts from the past as the three young women struggle to search a put to call home. As Emily searches for an escape, Durra searches the library for clues to the past. Tons of cats, eerie howls, and even stranger beasts prowl the island looking for prey but it is the beasts within the walls of the convent that will keep the respond to the questions Durra now considers her STERS OF THE MOON is a richly descriptive, paranormal thriller focusing on a secluded island thought to be haunted; an island of demons and beasts who have been at battle for centuries; and a war meant to take down the powers. Alexandrea Weis invites the reader into a tale of amazing vs evil, man vs woman, strong and the weak, secrets and lies. SISTERS OF THE MOON ends on a cliff hanger-you have been warned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Moon []  2020-9-23 20:9

    I received Sisters Of The Moon to read in exchange for an honest review. I really enjoyed this book very much and could not place it down. It follows the story of Durra, a slave that is sold to a convent, and it is told from her perspective. She is sold along with two other young women. The book is really all about what happens to them from that point on with a small back story for all of them. They have no idea what the secrets of the convent hold, but rather quickly begin to search out there is much more than meets the eye. The book is a fast and simple read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Yam []  2021-3-5 19:41

    An perfect book if you're looking to create connections between societal expectations, childhood, and life choices on the path towards healing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Moon []  2020-9-23 20:9

    OMG it was so good!!! I read it in one night. Horror, mystery, suspense all wrapped into one. I can't wait for the next book!!!! Another hit!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Yam []  2021-3-5 19:41

    Its hard to believe the level of severity that male supremacist domination plays in our lives as black women. I experience this in society and at home. I'm grateful for this book because it affirms that I am not crazy. This book gives me permission to truly own my experiences so I can heal from them. All of them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Yam []  2021-3-5 19:41

    Perfect book; very timely. 2nd purchase - highly recommended. Shipping and delivery was excellent. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of Glass Ferry [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    Sisters of Glass Ferry is the fourth book I have read by Kim Richardson. The book is so rich in southern and what I call country living. I don't know how she makes you feel you are living in that era. I am close to that age, but not quite, and I know Kim isn't. She is a unbelievable writer. The mystery and warmth of her writing create you just wish to see what else she has in store. Pick this book up, I guarantee you will enjoy. Thanks again Kim for writing such a amazing novel. Rick

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of Glass Ferry [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    MY REVIEW OF “THE SISTERS OF GLASS FERRY” by Kim Michele Richardson“The Sisters of Glass Ferry” by Kim Michele Richardson is an emotional and captivating novel. “The Sisters of Glass Ferry” is published by Kensington Publishing Corporation and will be out November 28,2017. The Genres for this story are Fiction, Historical Fiction, and Mystery. The timeline of the story is mostly 1952 through 1972, and though the ere are some parts of the story that are before 1952 to explain the history and the characters. The author depicts the setting in rural Kentucky in the city of Glass Ferry, which is known as “Bourbon e characters are describes as complex and complicated. The author describes a lot of secrets and lies that affect the little city and characters. In this little community everyone knows each other, and there is a lot of gossip.During the time of bourbon production there was corruption and some criminal activity. It was not unusual for kids to learn to shoot guns to protect themselves.Flannery and Patsy are twins, separated by 8 minutes. Patsy is the elder of the twins, and the girls are close, but there is jealousy. Patsy being the older twin is given the family pearl necklace. Patsy is invited to the Junior Prom, and Flannery has to take her shift at work. The sheriff”s two sons come to drive Patsy to the prom. One is her boyfriend, and the other is his older brother who drives the car. Unfortunately, Patsy and her boyfriend never come home.Every year on the twins’ birthday, Flannery’s Mom makes a unique birthday cake for Patsy hoping she will be coming home. After two decades of Patsy being gone, Flannery is still looking for is is a story of heartbreak, grief, revenge, retribution and redemption. What are the secrets and lies in this town? What happened the night of the Prom? This is a story of coming of age, pressure and jealousy. I like that the author describes the issues of bullying, alcohol abuse, emotional and physical abuse, and superstitions. I also appreciate how the author discusses the importance of family, love, hope and is is an intriguing and thought-provoking story, and I would recommend it highly.I look forward to reading more of Kim Michele Richardson’s novels. I received an Advanced Reading Edition for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Merry Sisters of Fate []  2020-2-2 19:44

    The melody is pure Irish dance music, but with a driving guitar backup and bass rather than a drum. The tunes are traditional, but the harmony is a bit more modern and the rhythms more syncopated than 50's style ceili bands. Some noteable tracks are Feabhra, which starts out with the Brenda Stubbert reel and moves into a mixed meter tune which sounds almost Balkan, and Aibreann, an air with a lush, attractive low-whistle duet. Meitheamh is my favorite, though, a driving traditional reel that features each soloist in turn. If you're a fan of traditional Irish instrumental music, pick this up - you'll be glad you did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Merry Sisters of Fate []  2020-2-2 19:44

    If you love those irish lilts with horns, pipes and fiddle, you will love these fellows! The melody is very moving - whether satisfied or melancholy! I heard them in person on Saint patty's Day and it was a true treat! I highly recommend them!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the East End []  2020-1-23 1:58

    I read this after finishing the awesome Call the Midwife series. This is a fictional acc based on the nuns featured in Jennifer Worth's series. The story is a small rambling and there is insufficient time spent on developing the midwifery aspect of the nuns or the struggles of a calling to a religious vocation. Still, the story was pleasant enough and is fun, fast read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Vast Black []  2020-2-2 7:47

    I’m not sure what I expected, but as a lapsed Catholic who spent some time in a convent, I found the descriptions of the relationships in this onboard convent to be quite realistic. The live ship concept was wonderfully portrayed. Perhaps the most interesting relationship was the one between the central earth government and the arm of the Vatican that governed the religious order on the live ship. The problem of government, power, and religion as explored in a crisis situation here emphasized the importance of the individual conscience, and created for extremely interesting reading even though the story was quite short. I would be very interested in following these concepts in a series of books. Definitely worth the very little amount of cash that was needed to buy this novella, highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Vast Black []  2020-2-2 7:47

    Wow! I had no idea this novella would be so good. The concept sounded intriguing, but I didn't anticipate brilliant world-building, masterful plotting, and a beautifully developed ensemble cast. What a unbelievable surprise! I'm definitely going to look for the next book from this author...though readers should be aware, Sisters of the Vast Black is not an simple light story. It deals with difficult themes and has some dark moments. But in the end, I was very glad I'd read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Vast Black []  2020-2-2 7:47

    Featuring a squad of catholic nuns who traverse the universe in a spaceship that is also an actual creature, bred and raised to be a ship, is already enough to set this novella apart. Rather fills her spaceship and her story with so a lot of complex and interesting people, and then throws them into the fire of political intrigue and high-stakes power maneuvering, as the Sisters must test to combat a plague and the rise of old Earth rivalries that threaten their lives and their freedom. An ambitious and uniquely imagined science fiction tale that delivers both suspense and an absolutely captivating future universe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Southern Cross []  2020-9-23 19:37

    Wow! Jean Grainger hit the jackpot when she and her family decided to spend a year in Australia. She always researches her books to the nth degree and she went well over that on this one. So a lot of things to remember I think sometimes I went on the trip with her. Did you know they have a nut there that you can use for a clothespin without any modifications? Just pick it up off the ground and place it back there when you are done. All those things and bits are interesting, but the true grabber in this story were the people. The Irish nuns, though out of put in Australia were so special within their own group they almost required no other characters, But the story would have just been a travelogue without the wise Aboriginal man who was more than just a laborer and had been on a long winding trail before coming to know the nuns and educating them on the not good segregation problems in the history of Australia and still today. And the mean mayor of the town was a true poor guy in a lot of ways. And then the people who were afraid of the Catholics, but were trying their best to support the kids who required to be away from their parents in order to attend their school. I grew to know the people, the flora and fauna, the jungles and the deserts of Queensland, all in the 24 hours it took me to read the book. Not much sleep but the book was too amazing to place down. I highly recommend this book for those who have a heart for doing amazing and loving kids and nature, but search it too long a trip to take from the other side of the world. I just can't fathom the thirty hour trip from my house, but I saw it all clearly through the eyes and writingng of my favorite author. Thank you, Jean, for another winner!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Southern Cross []  2020-9-23 19:37

    I received this book as a Mother's Day gift, as that was what I really wanted and could hardly wait for its official release! Once I knew this fabulous author was releasing a fresh book, I could hardly wait to obtain it! I have now read all (I think) of her books and be they heart-rending, funny, fascinating and or all of the above her characters are incredibly 3 dimensional and her lush descriptions of locations and things holds the reader rapt! I have always wanted to visit Australia and now I feel I have. Thank you, Jean! You never disappoint! Karla B

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of Glass Ferry [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    I love the secrets and how they intertwined in the story. I love her books. Smooth read and riveting!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of Glass Ferry [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    Amazing not great. Didn’t search it exciting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Merry Sisters of Fate []  2020-2-2 19:44

    Guitarist Donogh Hennessy is all over and under this album playing tight and in step with bassist Trevor Hutchinson. He tastefully is using effects and loops to make wonderful rhythmic energy here. Hennessy is no longer with the group and although a amazing player, Paul Meehan, is in the group now, it is not the same. It's like when John Doyle left Solas and was replaced by a string of amazing guitar players. Solas was never the same. I say this because listeners might think that the back up players are not as necessary as the music players in Irish music. While this may be more than real in an Irish session, I think the opposite is real in a performing super group. Hennessy puts this perfect collection of tunes method over the ere is nothing that is not five star on this recording and it lacks nothing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Merry Sisters of Fate []  2020-2-2 19:44

    Not as amazing as I hoped it would be...........but OK.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Vast Black []  2020-2-2 7:47

    I liked it! My first reaction to the premise was pure curiosity but I do recommend reading this book. The slug-ships were a marvel to me and I enjoyed all the wonders of them revealed in the story. Although the references to the previous galactic war(s) were a bit confusing, I found I wanted a prequel to fill in the history. Perhaps the author will oblige!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the East End []  2020-1-23 1:58

    I really enjoyed this read from begin to finished I loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Southern Cross []  2020-9-23 19:37

    If you have not read this book do yourself a favor and pick it up, you will be hooked by the end of the first paragraph. Mrs. Grainger has a method with words, she can take you locations you've never been and introduce you to people that will come to life on the pages...I loved my trip Down Under, I felt as though I was there; and, I fell in love with the characters. I would highly recommend this book, as well as all of Jean Grainger's books, she is a Brilliant Writer that knows how to tell a story eloquently. Thank You Jean, You have given me another bonus in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Southern Cross []  2020-9-23 19:37

    Jean Grainger has outdone herself with this book! Have you ever experienced culture shock? A group of nuns did in the early 1900’s as they left their cool, green, pastoral Ireland and set up housekeeping and a school in the wilds of Queensland, Australia! The animals, the insects, the foods, the traditions, the prejudices, the people - oh, especially the people, everything was various except their faith and their own traditions. What a glorious journey we take with them! Miss Grainger develops deep characters who will remain long after you close the pages and you will feel as if you have travelled across the sea yourself. Grab you favorite beverage and start you delightful adventure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of Glass Ferry [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    The Sisters of Glass Ferry is a beautifully written, haunting book about sisters, sins, and secrets. Kim Michele Richardson has such a special voice, putting the reader right into the middle of this story, its characters, and rural Kentucky. Spanning decades, this book tackles social problems such as rape and domestic abuse as it explores such intricate relationships as those between twins, mothers and daughters, brothers, and fathers and daughters. These relationships were the heart of the story to me, each relationship complicated, genuine, and oftentimes heart-breaking. The plot is riveting and emotional, unearthing long-hidden mysteries and crimes, some of them so shocking that I gasped!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of Glass Ferry [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    I was really disappointed in this book. Although it was well written, the author seemed determined to inflict on her characters every possible poor thing that could happen. I liked her characters, but honestly, it was depressing trying to obtain into a hero only to search in another chapter he/she had -take your pick- been murdered, been raped, been beaten, been sterilized versus their will, been burned to death, or committed murder. This list included five children, two of whom were newborns. We are talking about two rapes, four murders, two attempted murders that led to a fatal accident, and four people burned to death. I found the final secret to be sufficiently horrible that I honestly wished I had never read the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Merry Sisters of Fate []  2020-2-2 19:44

    This CD would be a amazing addition to anyone's Celtic collection. The first time I heard "January Snows/Laura Lynn Cunningham" I almost crashed my car. I replayed the track and almost crashed again. If you obtain the chance, see Lunasa live--the melody and the dancing audience will shake plaster from the ceiling. Plus, they sell other CDs of theirs at the live shows...an additional benefit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Merry Sisters of Fate []  2020-2-2 19:44

    Love the group and very satisfied to have it sent to my brother.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Merry Sisters of Fate []  2020-2-2 19:44

    If you love those irish lilts with horns, pipes and fiddle, you will love these fellows! The melody is very moving - whether satisfied or melancholy! I heard them in person on Saint patty's Day and it was a true treat! I highly recommend them!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Vast Black []  2020-2-2 7:47

    Sisters of the Vast Black is a unbelievable novella from the imaginative mind of a skillful writer. Within very few pages, Lina Rather lays down the fertile groundwork of a plausible universe that could be the bedrock for a lot of future novels. In this particular book, Rather develops story and characters that are real to life and full of suspense. I read the book quickly because I required to know the ending. Kudos to Rather for building that tension! Forgive me for the lack of spoilers but the less detail I share the better; spoilers are the bane of Amazon reviews.I plan to search the rest of Rather's work, I think all short stories at this scene of her writing career. And I plan to read everything she publishes in the future - she's that good! I don't wish this universe Rather made to be a life-sentence for her, but I hope she returns to it regularly. I really wish to know how the future works out for all involved-how far is the ECG willing to go?!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Vast Black []  2020-2-2 7:47

    Sisters of the Vast Black (Kindle Edition) by Lina RatherAn awesome amount of amazing writing in this novella!This is the first story I have read by this author, and it won't be the last. Lina Rather does a masterful job of weaving plot with subplots and developing characters in a very human t in a rather improbable future, the story works, and works well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the East End []  2020-1-23 1:58

    I am requesting a refund on this item due to the fact that the pages are misaligned. For Example, page 15 may end with a period and page 16 begins mid-sentence on another subject. This has happened several times already. Then, page 17 may quickly show, but not remain, and pass over to page 18 which becomes stationary, but is not similar to the previous pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the East End []  2020-1-23 1:58

    the book arrived after the suggested delivery date and, when i opened the package, the book looked like it had been totally water-logged and dried out. a section of the book had a deep brown stain (hopefully coffee or tea). the dried water hurt created it difficult to even begin the book. it went directly into the trash. I will never buy from awesomebooks again. should be awfulbooks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Southern Cross []  2020-9-23 19:37

    As with all of Jean Grainger’s books you are immediately drawn in by the characters; their interactions and dialogues are so real. Then the setting and the plot draw you in further until you can’t place it down. This book had a lot of intrigue and drama which was excellent for the outback of Australia. The plight of the indigenous people of Australia was so interesting and encouraged me to read further on this subject. I always love a amazing authors note at the end to learn about how the author came up with the idea and research that went into it; this one didn’t disappoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the East End []  2020-1-23 1:58

    The tv series "Call the Midwife" is based on the lives of the Sisters of St John the Divine. I was originally fascinated with the habits of these Anglican nuns because they seemed so unusual. After visiting their www service , I was even more interested so I ordered the book. It's a delightful story of a charming and dedicated woman and the order of nuns to whom she has devoted her life. It reflects the changes in society and religious life over the latest 50 years with honesty and amazing charm. The reader will be delighted regardless of his or her religion or lack thereof.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Southern Cross []  2020-9-23 19:37

    Sisters of the Southern Cross is by Jean Grainger. Once more, Jean has managed to write a unbelievable bool; but instead of it being set in Ireland, it is set in Australia. Jean and her family had traveled to Australia to discover the country for a year. Sounds like a unbelievable journey in itself. While they were there, they found a museum in an old convent in Cookstown, Far North Queensland, Australia. In this museum was the story of the nuns who set up a school here and built the convent in the early 1900’s. From their story came Jean’s story of these nuns. Why did they come here? What issues did they have? Why did the head of the school become such a issue to the townspeople?Sister Claire McAuliffe was the head of the school and she set out to make the school in the form she believed her Uncle, Bi William McAuliffe wanted it to be. First and foremost was no physical punishment. This immediately place her at loggerheads with Sister Gerard who was an elderly, sour, mean and cruel teacher. Second was to let the students to learn through fun. Sister Mary did this with her music, Sister Helen with her extreme love of books and stories, and Sister Theresa through her love of life itself and hurling. Finally, to make a school without discrimination in a land where discrimination is immersed. White men had come in and taken over land that had belonged to the tribes and then set out to “civilize the savages.” She went to bat immediately for anyone who was Christian, no matter what faith, to come to the school. Is she too idealistic, too eager for change?The book is well written and the characters are so realistic they could step off the page There are several storylines going on at the same time. However, each line is simple to follow. The book is so amazing that it cannot be place down. Arrange for enough time to read the whole book at once or plan to stay up reading! I pulled another overnight read! Hold the tissues handy for both satisfied and sad is another champion and one to be recommended,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Southern Cross []  2020-9-23 19:37

    Another fascinating story by Jean Grainger! A departure from the usual local, but the same warmth. Her characters are so well written you have no issue picturing them in your head. In fact, I am sure one of them lives up the street from me! Unfortunately, it’s not one of the nice characters. Her previous books create you feel like you are in Ireland. This one transports you to Australia. You will feel the heat and learn about the very various beauty of that unbelievable place. Sister Claire heads to Australia in response to her uncle’s letter. (He is the Archbi of Brisbane.) She is going to set up and lead a desperately required school. A wealthy benefactor, Mr. McGrath, has build a put and given it to the church, but he seems to think that he can run the show. He and his wife think the school should only be for the Irish Catholics; the Greeks, Italians, Russians can just continue to send their kids to far-off boarding school. And, don’t even think about enrolling the kids from non-catholic families! Well, Sister Claire truly upsets the apple cart. Not only does she enroll kids from non-catholic (but Christian) families, she even accepts a kid who is half aboriginal! She quotes, “Did not Jesus say suffer the small kids to come unto me, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven?” Sister Claire is a darling, on the side of the angels, but she begins to realize there are even deeper issues to confront. The aboriginal people are being pushed off the lands, the nearby mission run by the Seventh Day Adventists is overrun, and the teacher/missionary in charge is understandably hostile in light of how the aboriginal people have been treated. One of her sister nuns turns out to be hateful, spiteful, and entirely too fond of corporal punishment. Another may be just a little bit too kind and friendly with the half aboriginal man who was hired to look after the school grounds. On top of all that, she is beautiful sure there has been a murder, and it has been covered up. All classics essentially tell a ver of the amazing vs evil storyline. The truly awesome ones go even further and support you understand that while amazing wins in the end, the absolute triumph is being able to forgive, with God’s help, the one who brought evil to you. This is what Jean has given us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Southern Cross []  2020-9-23 19:37

    Jean Grainger is one of my favorite authors and I have read everything she has written. This book was quite various in that it takes put in Australia in the early 1900's when a group of Catholic nuns were sent from Ireland to Australia to establish a Catholic school for kids of the gold miners. They encountered disreputable characters, sweltering heat, kangaroos, wallabies, koalas and a lot of other monsters as well as aboriginal people who were being systematically pushed from their ancestral lands. The book was based on a real story that the author learned while visiting Australia; a fact that wasn't revealed until the end of the is was a fascinating book by a unbelievable story teller and though I was at first disappointed that it didn't take put in Ireland, I soon forgot my displeasure and settled down for a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Merry Sisters of Fate []  2020-2-2 19:44

    Delightfully melodic, with wonderfully interweaving melodies, including some of the freshest piping I've heard in a long, long time. Unlike a lot of lesser bands, they integrate thrumming acoustic guitar and bass into the traditional sound without diluting it--rather, they seem inspired by the mix and take everything to a higher level. If I was asked to pick one album that shows the "state of the art" in top-drawer Celtic music, this would be it--it dazzles and inspires. Invigorating and satisfying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Merry Sisters of Fate []  2020-2-2 19:44

    This group is at the top of the heap in Celtic melody circles…we listen to this album regularly and will continue to have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Vast Black []  2020-2-2 7:47

    This was a most entertaining novella combining things familiar to show day Earth (nuns, priests and religious cultures), but then adding in zone travel and a spaceship that is a living thing. When the story began to focus on how the ship was showing signs of wanting to mate, my brain went off into so a lot of tangents that it took me a bit to snap back into the story. Needless to say, author Lina Rather created the explanation r only being about 160 pages long there is a lot of plot packed into this story. Each of the nuns has a distinct personality which makes them fit into their individual parts of the crew. This spaceship and squad are traveling among zone settlements providing medical care as well as help for fresh colonists on some planets that aren't exactly located in a friendly environment. Politics start to press the sisters lives back into more of a mainstream course when a priest is assigned to Our Lady of Impossible Constellations (the name of the spaceship) and the sisters explore a deadly plague has manifest itself on a little community they recently visited. How will they follow their faith and their orders?Lina Rather has accomplished an impressive feat by taking an unusual set of characters and meshing them with a multi-strand plot. All in such a short story. I would gladly read more about the sisters and certainly hope she plans to write more adventures for this intrepid group of women.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Vast Black []  2020-2-2 7:47

    This was too short. Yes it was a novella but it continues this annoying practice of selling us very short books. At least with this one, I knew it would be short. Nuns in zone solve issues that might result the universe. good, small read. Maybe this is setting up a longer story to be spun out in small bites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of Glass Ferry [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    Must read. I loved this book, and found myself going back over sentences/passages just because some phrasing was beautiful. The plot was good, and kept adding things, just when I thought they would be wrapping up the book. Things were mentioned at certain points which I thought might be forgotten and leave me hanging, but the author wrapped up every one! I love the narrative with various time frames as well. Read this book....it's a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of Glass Ferry [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    From Kentucky’s finest Southern storyteller, Kim Michele Richardson returns following (2016) GodPretty in the Tobacco Field and (2015) Liar's Bench with her recent gripping mystery (her best yet), crime thriller: THE SISTERS OF GLASS FERRY –Rich in character, powerful family bonds, suspense, and dark deeply-buried family secrets with a Southern Gothic t in the southern riverside city of Glass Ferry, in the heart of Kentucky bourbon—a gripping complex multi-generational tale of three families and four generations. Told from two points of view (Flannery and Patsy), and dual om 1952 to 1972 and beyond, meet the Butler family. Mother Jean, father Honey Bee, and twin daughters: Flannery Bee and Patsy Jean. Their rival, The Henrys.Even though wise Beauregard “Honey Bee” (dad) has passed on, his legacy lives on through his daughters. A bourbon distiller, he created sure his family was taken care of and taught his daughters to be strong. Teaching them about guns, bullets, driving, and other things a man would teach his sons, and in particular, Flannery – the bourbon business, the river, chores in the barn, and his secrets (including his recipes) as he unburdens his soul to his thirteen- year- old daughter. His rules still called from the grave.Honey Bee had said, “Kentucky without its whiskey men, its stills, would be like Fresh York Town without business suits and buildings.”Flannery loved everything about whiskey. Loved that Honey Bee had taught her the secrets of its doings. " She loved the dark earth and the mystery of its scent that tucked itself into a strange sweet growing time." Her sister was more like their mom. Patsy had other mates besides her twin Flannery and Flannery felt betrayed and jealous. The mom referred to her husband's business as “the devil’s water.” However, Honey Bee thought his River Witch was respectable. After all, he was licensed and offered a real gentlemen’s ever, there was a payback. They had to hold the sheriff's pockets full of fees (taxes). Sinful bribery by the Henry brood, in more ways than one. Carried down to the next generation. Honey Bee always reminded his family the business had saved them throughout history, through the Depression and Prohibition. Only four licenses were handed out over the years in Kentucky and he was er, in the story, we explore there were also twin sons (Paxton and Preston) which died as babies. A huge mystery is unveiled near the conclusion regarding a third family and the connection to the Butlers from decades e story revolves around 1952 — the night of the prom. Patsy had a unique date with her boyfriend Danny Henry. Danny the younger son. There was also the oldest, Hollis (bad news-troublemaker), and the father Jack which is the Sherriff. The Henry’s looked down on the Butlers. Some thought being a twin was poor luck. A little city of half-truths, sadness, domestic abuse, rape, cover-ups, corruption, mental illness, and rumors. Spirits of the past. Unfinished tsy was the attractive and curvy sister; whereas, Flannery was the intelligent one and not so beautiful. Patsy was closer to her mom and Flannery her dad. They were eight mins apart. Patsy was protective of her younger sister. The girls did not always obtain along. Sibling rivalry. However, prom night. The night it all went wrong – will haunt Flannery the rest of her life. The argument. The night Danny and Patsy went missing. From her mom’s sadness to the guilt of her e 1950 Mercury, pearls, prom night, a gun, bullet, two various brothers, twin sisters, Hospital Curve, Ebenezer Street and the Kentucky River. The same river that had given Flannery so much would take yet another from her. The night Danny and Patsy went missing. They never created it to the prom. There was also the haunting day Patsy accepted a ride with Hollis three months earlier when Danny was flirting with , Patsy is gone and Jean still makes a cake each year for Patsy and Flannery on their birthday. However, this year, a vehicle was found in the muddy Kentucky River and the secrets of the past start to unravel. They had all hoped the two runaway lovers had been living a secret life; however, a o various twin sisters cannot seem to escape their tragedy and loss. Regrets. Secrets. One after another, trapped with no seemingly method out.“Reckoning Day was why Flannery stayed precisely eight mins ahead, looking over her shoulder for those lagging mins when the devil might test to collect."Flannery had the pearls. Her mom wants desperately to search the family pearls. Flannery would have to tell everything – both her secrets and Patsy’s. Flannery could only think of getting miles away from Glass Ferry. From her mom’s sadness, the rumors, and her guilt which only pushed her into yet another nightmare twenty years later she returns.What would Hollis do? A pact with the devil. The Henrys and their keep on this family, throughout generations. Precious moments lost. Brokenness and drowning misery. Is history repeating itself? Flannery has to do something to support clear her sister’s reputation and name. The powerful urge to avenge her sister. Will she have the courage, to tell the truth, or seek revenge? the background, there is also another intriguing mystery (icing on the cake). The long-dead midwife Joetta, alleged to have been a witch and a murderess. Does her spirit still haunt Ebenezer Road? However, the parents kept one huge secret which is yet to be unveiled. An old family matter. A secret box. A diary. Holding the key to the past. (A nice twist)!Will the spirits of the past, continue to hover over the lives of this family? How far will a sister go to protect her secrets and seek justice for those she loves.Riveting. Emotional. Compelling. Haunting. Beautifully written. A mix of psychological, domestic suspense, crime thriller, coming-of-age, mystery, historical, and Southern fiction. A tale of heartbreak, and the powerful bonds of family, balanced between destruction, regret, and redemption. The dark consequences that reverberate through the lives of three families, who will never be the same again. Love and ardson’s best yet! Once you begin reading, you will not be able to place this one down. These families will draw you into their web of secrets and lies across generations, keeping you turning into the r fans of David Joy, Wiley Cash, Joshilyn Jackson, and Ron Rash. If you have fun authentic Southern Gothic family mysteries, this one is for you. Ideal for book clubs (discussion tutorial included). My mom was a twin and come from a long line of family twins- always search them intriguing.Highly Recommend! Have read all her books and a large fan. Anxiously awaiting the next book. I enjoyed reading what’s next for the author: Add this one to your TBR list.“I am currently working on my next novel The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek, and have spent countless hours researching and exploring the Package Horse Library Project of 1935. It is a fascinating tale of tribute about the fearsome librarians who traveled on horseback and mule to provide books to the not good and isolated communities in Kentucky.”Read MoreA unique thank you to the author, Kensington, and Netgalley for an advanced digital and print copy. I have also pre-ordered the audiobook narrated by Marguerite Gavin.JDCMustReadBooks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of Glass Ferry [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    As expected, the book is so living as Kim Michele Richardson's former books. The plot ist really amazing and although I am living in germany and have never been in the US, I felt as if I were right at the scenes as an eyewitness. I can recommend this book without any doubt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters of Glass Ferry [Book]  2018-3-2 18:0

    Some books begin off in a method that makes you just know that this book will work out very well. And, this beginning of this book with Flannery visiting her mother on her birthday and it's the twentieth one since Flannery's sister Patsy went missing. And, still, her mother expects that she will present up. This is the year, this time will Patsy return. And, yes this is the year patsy comes home, it's also the year Flannery finally will learn what happened twenty years prior, when her sisters Patsy disappeared...I love reading books set in the American South and this one with two parallel storylines is a fabulous read. The book shifts effortlessly between the 70s and the 50s during the book and I found both storylines compelling. As Flannery learns about Patsy's fate in 1972 do we also obtain Patsy and Flannery's POV in 1952. It's a captivating and tragic story and I loved how part of me, despite beautiful much knowing the outcome hoped that Patsy would come home. The ending of the book also revealed a huge surprise that really took me by surprise. This is a book that is sad, but there are all lovely moments and I especially loved the latest part of the book because I hoped that Flannery would search some peace and joy in her e Sisters of Glass Ferry is a unbelievable book and I hope to obtain the possibility to read the authors other books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Vast Black []  2020-2-2 7:47

    I loved this book, very much. The protagonists are the dozen or so members of a little convent housed within a living starship, out in the boondocks of human civilization. Yonder is Earth, out that method is a plethora of teeny small settlements scraping by, relying a lot on luck and trade. There was a heavy civilization-wide apocalyptic battle a generation or two ago, and recovery is beautiful e sisters have some secrets. One's in love and struggling with whether to renounce her vows. Another has the inside scoop on aspects of the huge battle that darned few people know about. And like that. Further, it looks like some strong forces on Earth think the time is right to rebuild true imperial control by amazingly foul is is a book of wonders. Rather conveys both huge wonders, like the astonishing living ships, and little ones, including smoothly doing the routine work that sustains life in hostile locations and making homes in unlikely conditions. There are horrors here, with battle and conquest coming back into the lives of people who'd have hoped they'd stay history, but at its heart are love, devotion, and cooperation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Vast Black []  2020-2-2 7:47

    Oh, my gosh, this was such a amazing book. And so beautifully written. I was unexpectedly enthralled from the first page. Seriously. There is so much story contained in this novella; and it is so well place together, I felt the story was completely told. And the emotions that were evoked--yes, there were all the feels. I want for the author to have a long and fruitful writing career, and I can't wait to read the next story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the East End []  2020-1-23 1:58

    I enjoyed this book very much. Being raised catholic it reminds me of the stoic tough nuns I grew up with. No fuss or muss just hard work and devotion

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the East End []  2020-1-23 1:58

    Read it, you'll have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Merry Sisters of Fate []  2020-2-2 19:44

    Two summers ago, my wife and I rented a summer house in County Kerry, along the shore of the Iveragh peninsula. Of course, that meant that we had to eat a lot of meals and drink a lot of glasses of stout (my wife) and shots of Jameson's (me) in the local bars while we listened to local musicians and danced to them as ither of us were aficionados of Irish [email protected]#$%!&il then. Coming from California, I equated 'Irish' melody with the local "Celtic" groups at home that played a limpid Fresh Age/folk pap --short on substance and no muscle at all --Ireland via Windham Hill, if you were.A month in Ireland changed all that. In the pubs, we heard live, muscular melody --it was energizing and amazing fun. We began experimenting with contemporary Irish recorded melody --Christie Moore first, Hammy Hamilton, Con O'Drisceoll and Seamus Creigh, Mary Black (whom we heard live on our latest night in Ireland), and, my favorite, KILA.I left Ireland hooked on the music. Recently, I ordered three more albums by contemporary Irish groups: KILA: Lemonade and Buns --out of circulation, alas!; Lunasa: Otherworlds; and Sharon Shannon: Live in both Sharon Shannon's album and this one by Lunasa, I appreciate the verve that the musicians bring to the songs as well as the exceptionally high level of musical nasa is more adventurous and musically more diverse than Sharon Shannon, blending wood flute, guitar, bass or strings, and (occasionally) pipes. The best of the songs on this album--'Goodbye Miss Goodovich,' 'The Floating Crowbar'-- are exceptional melody and every chop on this fine album pleases the ear. Sharon Shannon and her colleagues are more traditional but equally virtuosic. They provide first-rate foot-tapping versions of traditional Irish music.If I were to differentiate among them, I would say that Lunasa and KILA are the groups I would most like to listen to on my iPod, and Sharon Shannon's is the group I'd hire if I were hosting a dance or nasa is outstanding music. It happy me both intellectually and viscerally. Why isn't most American pop melody as satisfying?David KeymerModesto CA

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Southern Cross []  2020-9-23 19:37

    Another unbelievable story from Jean. Set in Northern Australia but still with an Irish flavor - the convent is staffed with nuns from Ireland. This is, as is usual for this author, a historical novel. Of unique interest to me is the final “afterword” in which Jean describes the research she did about the true convent that existed in that part of Australia in the of Jean Grainger’s books, as I am, will have fun this book. Only Jean could derive an exciting story about a convent. There are all sorts of twists and turns - as you would expect. And if you are fresh to Jean’s books, you are in for a treat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sisters of the Southern Cross []  2020-9-23 19:37

    Just when I thought I had read the best of Jean Grainger's books, I discovered "Sisters of the Southern Cross" and read it right through!"Sister Claire McAuliffe has been called from Dungarvan, County Waterford, to do God’s work in Jumaaroo, Queensland. Along with four other sisters she is charged with setting up a Catholic school... But life there is far from the spectacular paradise it seems."Sister Claire risks life and limb multiple times to rid this zone of a unscrupulous wealthy man who had killed and robbed to obtain to a prominent put in this place. The story painted an idealistic picture of an zone that did practice white supremacy, and how the church, the Catholic sisters, and others attempted change.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughters of the Winter Queen: Four Remarkable Sisters, the Crown of Bohemia, and the Enduring Legacy of Mary, Queen of Scots []  2020-1-31 20:55

    This author writes history in such as method as to understand it and have fun it! This tale is about the women during the 30-years War, their trials, and successes. I was satisfied to read this non-fiction book that reads almost like a fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughters of the Winter Queen: Four Remarkable Sisters, the Crown of Bohemia, and the Enduring Legacy of Mary, Queen of Scots []  2020-1-31 20:55

    Loved this book as the true history of these splendid characters was revealed. The book spoke of battles and intrigue that thrilled this reader. The line down from Mary Queen of Scots lived remarkable if not turbulent lives. Nothing was simple and no one was to be believed. Subterfuge was the android game of the day. Beheadings were too familiar to the wealthy but no one expected a king to be beheaded. What a difficult time to live. This book in gory detail describes the time of the Winter Queen and her four lovely daughters. It's quite the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughters of the Winter Queen: Four Remarkable Sisters, the Crown of Bohemia, and the Enduring Legacy of Mary, Queen of Scots []  2020-1-31 20:55

    I ordered this book because the title intrigued me. Upon reading the book itself, it transpired that the topic matter was not just the lives of the four daughters of the Queen but also the Queen of Bohemia herself and her family (parents, husband, siblings) so in that sense the title is misleading. However, notwithstanding, the text is simple going and describes the different battles and intricacies that were part of German and English history at the time e.g. the Thirty Years' Battle and the English Civil Battle in a highly readable and down to earth way. I would have preferred the personalities of the 4 sisters to have been honed in more detail although as the book wore on their various characters and influences are brought out, especially with regards to the youngest daughter, Sophia, who had the most bearing on the eventual sovereignty of England. All in all a useful acc through which I learnt a amazing deal about a period of European and particularly English history and especially these 4 daughters of the Winter Queen who turned out to be veritable personalities in their own right and turned the vicissitudes they went through into a life experience all their own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughters of the Winter Queen: Four Remarkable Sisters, the Crown of Bohemia, and the Enduring Legacy of Mary, Queen of Scots []  2020-1-31 20:55

    Was a amazing book on the situation that lead to the current line on the British Throne today. The Winter Queen is a person who usually obtain a slight mention in books about her brother father or nephew. Nice to see that she can be seen better now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughters of the Winter Queen: Four Remarkable Sisters, the Crown of Bohemia, and the Enduring Legacy of Mary, Queen of Scots []  2020-1-31 20:55

    This historical novel really kept my interest to the end. I was familiar with bits and pieces of the history of Mary Queen of Scots, James Stuart, Charles the First and Charles II. This generational novel filled in all the missing people, locations and more. The story about the mother, daughters and family was written with actual historical letters and pictures interspersed within the chaptets. I felt it was written in an epic style. It's hard for me to compare authors as each one is special but having read all the James Michener books I love a story that involves generations of history. Thank you to the author for the best historical novel of my year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughters of the Winter Queen: Four Remarkable Sisters, the Crown of Bohemia, and the Enduring Legacy of Mary, Queen of Scots []  2020-1-31 20:55

    I was intrigued by John Guy's latest sentence in his book Mary, Queen of Scots upon which the film was based: "In choosing the phoenix as her latest emblem, she had written her own epitaph: 'In my end is my beginning'." That's why I read Nancy Goldstone's Daughter of the Winter Queen. This book is simple to read and to follow Mary's descendants even though Mary's granddaughter had 12 kids who along with their spouses often had the same names! The Stuart lineage chart in the front of the book was helpful. I was most impressed by the tenacity of these women to keep on to their status and maintain their influence during turbulent times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughters of the Winter Queen: Four Remarkable Sisters, the Crown of Bohemia, and the Enduring Legacy of Mary, Queen of Scots []  2020-1-31 20:55

    This is a fascinating book for anyone interested in British royal succession. For me it filled in a lot of the gaps in showing how the crown went from the Stuarts to the Hanovers. Some very interesting and strong woman played critical roles. Just by a matter of days it was almost Queen Sophia instead of her son George I.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughters of the Winter Queen: Four Remarkable Sisters, the Crown of Bohemia, and the Enduring Legacy of Mary, Queen of Scots []  2020-1-31 20:55

    My favorite thing about Nancy Goldstone is her writing — about as far from dry historical retelling as one can get. She takes facts and makes them human, more like story telling than recitation. This is large for a historical non fiction book. So a lot of seem like what you’d imagine a boring history professor’s lecture to sound like, and this diminishes the human experience. Nancy really gets into these people’s heads. They aren’t simply historical figures, or historical events, they’re human and engaging the , Nancy has a dry sort of wit, slightly sarcastic at times, that totally comes across in her writing. I can see that being off putting to some readers, but I love it. She doesn’t sugar coat her subjects’ failings or not good decisions, and everyone gets a fair is book follows important, but usually peripheral figures in this period. It covers the dynamics between Germany and England through all the religious turmoil, the English Civil War, Thirty Years War, through the medium of the Winter Queen and her daughters’ crazy lives. I was amazed at how small understanding I had of this period (for a self-proclaimed history buff, this was a small embarrassing!), but Nancy’s writing portrayed these happenings and nuances in a method that’s memorable and ere’s a large cast of characters in this book, with so a lot of various sociopolitical and religious differences at play, it can obtain confusing at times. There’s no escaping it for any writer covering this period though, and Nancy does a amazing job navigating it. I love that she covers these small written about women, giving them a voice amidst all their more popular male relations and acquaintances. Their lives are at times are frustrating for the reader, you search yourself wishing a various outcome for a lot of of them, but this isn’t fiction.I’m struggling to understand why this book (not to mention Nancy’s others, which I’ve read and will be reviewing), only have 4 stars each. She became one of my fav writers after reading Joanna I, one book and she had me. Maybe it’s that dry wit I mentioned earlier ... that can be a turn off for some. Anyways, this is a amazing writer, and I frequently recommend her to others. Now recommending her to you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughters of the Winter Queen: Four Remarkable Sisters, the Crown of Bohemia, and the Enduring Legacy of Mary, Queen of Scots []  2020-1-31 20:55

    Ever since I had the most extraordinary history teacher in my senior year of high school, I have loved reading the occasional history book. But like that teacher, the books I choose must be those that create the period come alive. They must be highly readable. Translation: Not dry and boring. This prodigiously researched book is one of those treasures that makes the deeds, misdeeds and shenanigans of kings, queens, princes, and princesses—now 400 years in the past—just pop off the page.What this book is: A history book, plain and simple. It is interesting reading—fascinating at times, albeit sluggish at others.What this book is not: A "thrilling family saga," as the publisher depicts it. Don't be misled by this description. It is not some sweeping historical romance novel. It's a history book!Written by Nancy Goldstone, the book examines the remarkable impact Mary, Queen of Scots—a woman who spent most of her adult life essentially imprisoned—had on the British crown and parts of Europe primarily through her genetics. And it's still real today. Prince William and Prince Harry, as well as their children, carry a bit of Mary in their genes!Elizabeth, the daughter of King James (yes, he is the one responsible for the King James Bible) and the granddaughter of Mary, Queen of Scots, married well beneath her royal rank to Frederick, the Elector Palatine of the Rhine. Even though it was an arranged marriage, the two were madly in love. They were king and queen of Bohemia for just a few months, and because their ill-fated reign fell during winter, she is forever known as the Winter Queen. She and her husband spent their lives fruitlessly trying to regain their throne. But they were fruitful when it came to children, having 12 before Frederick's untimely death at age 36. Decades after Frederick's death, Elizabeth was still meddling in affairs of state around Europe with wonderful success for someone who was essentially living in exile. And she trained her four daughters well. Between the five of them they had an astounding impact in the 17th century on everything from art and culture to politics and vice: Read the footnotes! Not only do they add much valuable and colourful background, but also might even create you laugh at times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughters of the Winter Queen: Four Remarkable Sisters, the Crown of Bohemia, and the Enduring Legacy of Mary, Queen of Scots []  2020-1-31 20:55

    Terrifically well written book that untangled the intricacies of the Stuart-Hanovarian dynasties and the impact of politics and religion on the descendants of Mary, Queen of Scots. Each of the women portrayed in this delightful book shows how much powerful women could persevere despite the constraints versus them. Much like the House of Windsor, the women are far more interesting than the men. Instead of the typically massive going portrayal of historical figures, Ms. Goldstone's book keeps the reader engaged and stimulated by the fascinating history of these families! The illustrations are attractive additions that add so much to the enjoyment of learning more about these ancestresses of our curent queen. I highly recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters []  2020-1-22 0:58

    I really enjoyed the writing in the book. I listened to the audio so the Irish accents were wonderful. The sisters were well-drawn characters but the book ended suddenly. I was left wanting more. That's when I investigated and found out that the Sisters is a prequel to another detective novel series by this author. So, I guess I need to read the rest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters []  2020-1-22 0:58

    Two sisters working on their careers Carrie and Aifric share an apartment. Carrie as a police woman an Aifric as a barrister. When Carrie looks over a file that Aifric has left on the table, the adventure starts. A very interesting story that leave you wanting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sisters []  2020-1-22 0:58

    If you've enjoyed the Cormac Reilly books by Dervla McTiernan, then this is a small treat that drops you into the globe of one of the characters, Carrie Ryan, when she was younger. She and her sister are both trying to create in their careers - she as a policewoman, and her sister as a barrister. When Carrie finds a legal file that Aifric, her sister has left in the flat that they share, she gets involved where really she shouldn'e complexities of the Irish legal system are highlighted, and the tense relationship between the two sisters is explored - ultimately foreshadowing the person that Carrie will become.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pleasures Of Winter []  2020-6-11 20:11

    I've been a fan of Jay & Molly for years. So I was thrilled when they released this compilation of live recordings of songs similar to the includes some fine tunes about Winter, Christmas and Hannukah. We also obtain to sample the a lot of styles of melody they play. Of course there is their signature fiddle music, along with some swing, a small bluegrass, a bit of klezmer, topped off with a dash of cajun.If you are looking for some wintertime melody that's not the standard Christmas alblum, this is one you may wish to consider.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pleasures Of Winter []  2020-6-11 20:11

    Am longtime fan of Jay and Molly...admit freely that the colourful cover was a factor!!...but no disappointment at all in the excellence of their kind of music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pleasures Of Winter []  2020-6-11 20:11

    Wonderful! Love the cover picture too. Unbroken thread is my favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Pleasures Of Winter []  2020-6-11 20:11

    attractive music

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386