the slave across the street Reviews & Opinions


Submit the slave across the street review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Across 110th Street: Original MGM Motion Picture Soundtrack review []  2020-1-18 22:52

    Soulful, funky and downright spiritually fulfilling, Bobby Womack and JJ Johnson bring it hard on this blaxpoitation soundtrack. This remaster jumps out of the speaker at you, along with some amazing dialog from the film.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Across 110th Street: Original MGM Motion Picture Soundtrack review []  2020-1-18 22:52

    This originial cd is very nice.. I almost forgot how the film industry did things in the 70's

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Across 110th Street: Original MGM Motion Picture Soundtrack review []  2020-1-18 22:52

    I love this disc, its amazing to place on and it gets you going. You begin to fall in love the first time you hear it, then the second time you hear it you realize you're in love. Buy this you won't be disappointed.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on the slave across the street or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch the slave across the street video reviews and related movies:

    See The Sex-Slave Across the Street - CBN.com on youtube.

     related image

    See The Slave Across the Street Book Review Audio by Brooke Brown on youtube.

     related image

    See PeggySue Wells - The Slave Across the Street | The Meeting House on Faith Radio - CPE 2019 on youtube.

     related image

    See Life Aboard a Slave Ship | History on youtube.

     related image

    See TEDxColumbus 2011 - Theresa Flores - Find a Voice with Soap on youtube.

     related image

    See The Girl Next Door on youtube.

     related image

    See Sex Slaves in the Suburbs on youtube.

     related image

    See Mapping Virginia's Slave Dwellings: Preserving Black History with Street View on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Across 110th Street: Original MGM Motion Picture Soundtrack review []  2020-1-18 22:52

    If you have any questions about what an wonderful CD this is, go rent the movie, which is equally amazing. A movie that walks the fine line between "gritty urban drama" and '70s blaxploitation, the story of amazing cop/bad cop, racial tensions, and people trying to create do features Anthony Quinn and Yaphet Koto, and everyone's fave, Anthony Fargas - - like Shaft and Superfly, the melody resonates throught he movie and is part of the vital backdrop. It ranges from funky to soulful, with Womack's gritty voice telling some amazing stories. The highlight tune of the film is IF YOU DON'T WANT MY LOVE. - - Bobby Womack is an wonderful singer/songwriter with a gritty and strong voice who's songs sometimes mix a bit of folk, into sweet soul and funk. Though no one is comparable to Womack (he's an institution in his own right) I think some comparison's can be created to Terrence Callier... The soundtrack features some funk as well - - for an example a slick instrumental featuring a very funky Clavinet at the forefront (aptly titled Harlem Clavinet.) Another song I really dug is Quicksand, which really let's Bobby's incredibly soulful voice chop loose. - - This soundtrack is an wonderful listen with or without the movie, but its interesting to watch the film after hearing the soundtrack, because a lot of the songs on this album you kind of hear in passing, on the radio and here and there, and they almost pass you buy till you obtain the album, then you realize the massive items that's in this film. Though J.J. Johnson is in on the game, this is Bobby Womack at his best. Obtain Womack's greatest hits album to hear his brilliant navigation from Otis Reading influenced R & B to funky Sly and The Family stone tinged disco. Bobby's a top pick for me ! ! !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Across 110th Street: Original MGM Motion Picture Soundtrack review []  2020-1-18 22:52

    originally released in 1972, this soundtrack compiles six tracks performed by bobby womack and peace, and five instrumentals by j.j. johnson and his orchestra. the melody contained within is dead-on early 70s funk and soul. as you may expect, there are a lot of quality tunes on this cd, although quite a few are repeated in various forms and a few more are simply your unoriginal standard [funky] soundtrack tracks. even if that bothers you though, tunes like the top notch "harlem clavinette" should hold you from being disappointed. there are plenty of short funky pieces that are just as original and experimental as they are accessible. plus, bobby womack is in top form and belts it out on all of his soulful selections.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Across 110th Street: Original MGM Motion Picture Soundtrack review []  2020-1-18 22:52

    I borrowed this record from a mate of mine just for plain curiosity. Then the curiosity turned into enthusiasm as I heard Bobby Womack's voice. I already knew the first track, "Across 110th Street" from the "Jackie Brown" soundtrack, but I wasn't aware that Womack was such a talented musician. Then, my enthusiasm turned into admiration when listening the wonderfully played "Quicksand", surely the best song on this soundtrack. But J. J. Johnson's score also manages to capture the gritty realism of the roads and its surroundings, and the incidental dialogue that we hold hearing through the entire record helps us establish the link between Womack's words and the context of the film. Strongly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Across 110th Street: Original MGM Motion Picture Soundtrack review []  2020-1-18 22:52

    J.J Johnsons score, and Bobby womacks vocal delivery create this a top funk soundtrack to own. Most def in the same league as Mayfields Superfly. Wonderfully strong instrumentals sit comfortably next to the vocal tracks. The chase stage and laments are all in order. But it is the conceptual feel that holds this beauty together. J.J's full orchestral arrangements are funky and sophisticated, hot and cool as hell. I especially dig the title track and "If you dont wish my love", and "quicksand". Both tracks are strangely depressing and deeply spect the funk, Baby.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Across 110th Street: Original MGM Motion Picture Soundtrack review []  2020-1-18 22:52

    Yo this is an outta sight soundtrack Bobby Womack & J.J. Johnson are amazing musical is soundtrack has a amazing impact on the film Starring Anthony Quinn, Yaphet Kotto, & Anthony Francesiosa. The Best Track On There Is Harlem Love Theme because J.J. Johnson did a amazing unbelievable job with this track and Bobby Womack did a amazing job with the other tracks such as If You Don't Wish My Love,Quicksand,Hang On In There, Do It Right and Of Course Across 110th Street.I Think That People should obtain this soundtrack because Bobby Womack & J.J. Johnson will obtain you right the floor and begin groovin' and moving.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Across 110th Street: Original MGM Motion Picture Soundtrack review []  2020-1-18 22:52

    This Disc Captures The Movie very Well.Hearing Bobby WOmack Singing the title SOng Alone Still is a Strong thing to the Ear Drums.J.J Johnson&Band are ey capture A Amazing Feel as e Music&Film have held up really well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave review []  2020-1-11 20:27

    If you like Reggae melody you will like Lucky Dube's music. He was a powerful force in getting rid of apartheid in South Africa. He lived in exile for a lot of years writing and recording melody as he played shows all around the world with a notice of hope and courage. This is the album that brought him to the attention of the globe and it remains one of his strongest. You will definitely hear the influence of the Wailers - Peter Tosh in particular. Amazing album!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave review []  2020-1-11 20:27

    amazing cd love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave review []  2020-1-11 20:27

    slow &..easy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave review []  2020-1-11 20:27

    Just love his messages... I listen constantly, so glad I found him. not much more to say, just love is messages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave review []  2020-1-11 20:27

    Amazing product, i would recommand this melody to a other family member and friend. it met my expection. the price is resonable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave review []  2020-1-11 20:27

    The method he fought for his country with such attractive music, you have to admire him. As I said before. I love the guy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave review []  2020-1-11 20:27

    Originally released in 1989, "Slave" was Lucky Dube's all-time greatest and most accomplished album. At a time when Dancehall Reggae had virtually eradicated traditional Roots Reggae this classic album (which was wildly successful) proved that you could still create conscious-themed Roots Reggae melody and that it could be commercially successful. "Let Jah Be Praised", "The Hand That Giveth", "Back To My Roots", "Think About The Children" and the title track all boast very powerful Bob Marley and Peter Tosh influences and are extremely compelling. Nearly 30 years after its release, "Slave" sounds just as fresh, vital and as impressive as it did when first issued in 1989.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave review []  2020-1-11 20:27

    This is a unbelievable album, highly recommended for fans of amazing music. Easily one of the greatest reggae albums of all time, up there with Bob Marley Legend and Peter Tosh Legalize it. Probably better than those two actually. Please purchase this NOW!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave review []  2020-1-11 20:27

    You won't be able to stop listening to this CD by Lucky Dube----it's his best ever, and one of the best all time!!!! It never sounds old or tired, but is new and uplifting. Going Back to my Roots and Slave are particularly powerful. You will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave review []  2020-1-11 20:27

    If you don't obtain this, you don't know what you're missing. This is real melody for the soul and if you wish to know what it's liket to have a light one here's your chance. You know what if I hold giving the hints on the best Albums, when I wish to restock there'll be none for me

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chinese Street Food: Small Bites, Classic Recipes, and Harrowing Tales Across the Middle Kingdom review []  2019-12-26 18:0

    How is it possible that I have never stumbled across so engaging, so interesting, so adventurous a cookbook as “Chinese Road Foods.”Don’t obtain me wrong. Although it is my favorite, it is not perfect. Minor, very minor, formatting problems are evident, wherein an instruction or an ingredient fails to remain on the same page as all others, unless one adjusts font size frequently.Another point that would be helpful would be to contain nutritional info with each item. Afflicted with Type 2 Diabetes, and suffering from being about three feet too short for my weight, I have learned to pay strict attention to what I consume as I continue to shed my old self…Other than those two points, read on to learn what I loved about this entry into the culinary world.BLUSH FACTOR: No worries VENTURE: Yeah, aside from Anthony Bourdain, this is that rare cookbook that quenches that desire for adventure.POV: First UL: Yes. As much soul as it is possible for a cookbook to E WRITING FLOW:ExcerptI’m posting a VERY short excerpt in this review, because I wish to present the globe how GREAT cookbooks can be written that go beyond simply listing ingredients, but that entice us to learn…This is NOT the most interesting piece. I am posting it, but there are so a lot of interesting tidbits sprinkled throughout “Chinese Road Food” that I wanted to display a ‘typical’ story. I’m also posting screen shots of this recipe so you can see why I LOVE this cookbook.‘…There are a number of ways that the Chinese refer to what we’ve come to know as the huntun, or “wonton,” which is close to the Cantonese pronunciation. Even though written Chinese is common between Mandarin and Cantonese speakers, in this case, they surprisingly use various characters for the same food. In Mandarin, huntun can mean “chaos,” and in Cantonese, wonton means “swallowing clouds,” which we search to be more fun. Where most of this book is based upon Mandarin names for road food, this is an exception that’s impossible to pass see, wonton is one of the most poetic names for a Chinese dish we’ve ever encountered, and as a bonus, it’s a double entendre! Cloud-like pillows of pasta, swallowing a little bit of ground meat filling? Or, is the diner swallowing these clouds as they have fun a delicately delicious bowl? In reality, wontons in the US often are actually tangjiao, or dumplings in soup under a more recognizable name. They typically have meatball-volumed filling inside a thick skin. In China, huntun are a study in minimalism. Very thin pasta sheets, with a little bit of meat filling, such that when they are cooked, they float gently atop the clear soup, like, well, clouds. Swallow uthworth, Howie. Chinese Road Food: Little Bites, Classic Recipes, and Harrowing Tales Across the Middle Kingdom (Kindle Areas 481-490). Skyhorse Publishing. Kindle TOM LINEMy favorite cookbook. In part, because the foods are among my favorite. Mostly, though, it is because the stories behind the foods are so engagingly ve stars out of five. I’d rate it 10 if I could.I am striving to produce reviews that support you search books that you want, or avoid books that you want to avoid. With your help, my improvement will support you and me improve book reviews on Amazon. Together, you and I can build a amazing customer review process that helps everybody. Will you join me? It is people such as you who have helped me improve over the years. I'm still learning, and I have a amazing deal yet to learn. With your help, I'll improve every request: Be respectful and courteous in your comments and emails to me. I will do likewise with ank you so much for indicating if this review helped you, or for your comment.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chinese Street Food: Small Bites, Classic Recipes, and Harrowing Tales Across the Middle Kingdom review []  2019-12-26 18:0

    The three things I have fun most about these cook books from Howie Southworth and Greg Matza:1) The stories and comments about the recipes are wonderfully entertaining. i.e. Mantou (Steamed "Barbarian Head" Buns) - It was so fun to learn about the history of how this delicious bun got its name. This book in particular is unbelievable because I search Chinese meal delicious and the culture wonderful.2) The recipes are relatively simple to make. Clear directions.3) The images are attractive and create me wish to cook and eat and share.I've bough three cookbooks from these fine cooks/writers and I am happy with all three. I've even bought a couple more to give out as gifts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chinese Street Food: Small Bites, Classic Recipes, and Harrowing Tales Across the Middle Kingdom review []  2019-12-26 18:0

    I lived in China for several years and travel back 4-5 times a year, so I’m well versed in a Chinese road food. I’m particularly enamored by the meal of North-central China (Xi’an, what’s up?!), and this book really brings these meal to life with vibrant images and lively and entertaining stories about each dish. What’s more, the recipes are actually doable and not intimidating. I cannot wait to test out some of my favorite dishes at home! One note - be ready to be super hungry looking at these photos, they are quite enticing. Congratulations to the authors for successfully pulling off a hard to accomplish feat - capturing the diversity and complexity of Chinese road food.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chinese Street Food: Small Bites, Classic Recipes, and Harrowing Tales Across the Middle Kingdom review []  2019-12-26 18:0

    I just returned from a trip to China, and saw this cookbook pop up in kindle deals and just had to buy it. (Can Amazon read my mind?) Anyways, I haven't cooked anything yet but from reading through the recipes it seems I can search any of this at my local grocery shop and I plan on cooking up a storm this weekend. The pictures are amazing and I can just smell the meal coming off the page! Thanks for putting together such a fun cookbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chinese Street Food: Small Bites, Classic Recipes, and Harrowing Tales Across the Middle Kingdom review []  2019-12-26 18:0

    This is a magnificent romp of culinary nostalgia for one who once roamed the roads of China’s cities and sampled a lot of delicacies that were both affordable and promptly created to order. The authors know China and its road meal culture well, and along with the authentic recipes share a lot of enlivening historical and cultural facts about the “small bites” or dishes in America you won’t have the opportunity to test most of these foods without cooking on your own, so it’s a very special cookbook to share with friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chinese Street Food: Small Bites, Classic Recipes, and Harrowing Tales Across the Middle Kingdom review []  2019-12-26 18:0

    For any fan of you tubes Meal Ranger (China) series. This book has most all of the recipes of the locations he visits. you won't be disappointed. It's Real, Authentic recipes presented in a method westerners can accomplish the special tastes of the various regions of china. The recipes are "street food" so most of them are very uncomlicated & Do-able. What this book is not is dishes off your local carry-out put menu. If that's what you want-look elsewhere. As for me-I plan to cook my method through this awesome book. Mala fans-this is it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chinese Street Food: Small Bites, Classic Recipes, and Harrowing Tales Across the Middle Kingdom review []  2019-12-26 18:0

    Based on an Internet review, I recently bought the hard-cover edition of this book as a Christmas show for a mate here. Didn't read it through, because I wanted the book pristine, but I did glance enough of it to think it worthwhile. Then the Kindle edition went on sale for $1.00. Got it and like it a lot. It's a mix of travelogue and cookbook, with enough huge pictures to create it worthy of a coffee table.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chinese Street Food: Small Bites, Classic Recipes, and Harrowing Tales Across the Middle Kingdom review []  2019-12-26 18:0

    "Chinese Road Food" is a guidebook to Chinese quick meal and a travelogue. The cookbook is thoroughly cross referenced and indexed. Some of the ingredients may be difficult to search ,but the author suggests substitutes. The techniques do require practice. If you have fun cooking the effort is worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chinese Street Food: Small Bites, Classic Recipes, and Harrowing Tales Across the Middle Kingdom review []  2019-12-26 18:0

    I collect recipe books and this is one of my favourites by far. I lived in China for three years and, being a large fan of the country’s road food, I can say that this book truly delivers and is as authentic as it could ever be. The recipes are well described and simple to follow, and each chapter starts with a very interesting introduction and pictures that take readers on a trip to stalls and hutongs in Beijing to meal roads all over China.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Chinese Street Food: Small Bites, Classic Recipes, and Harrowing Tales Across the Middle Kingdom review []  2019-12-26 18:0

    I bought this book because I love Chinese road food. The authors have done a amazing job of cultivating a unbelievable list of recipes and even providing some background and context for the food. Reading the book is like taking a culinary tour through different parts of China. The recipes are also well-written and simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Across America: A Foodie's Guide to Food Trucks, Street Food and the Best Dish in Each State review []  2020-1-22 21:47

    I was expecting a lot more info - a true guidebook to the best meal carts across the country. Instead, only 20 were featured. Huge type and lots of pictures filled up the rest of the book. I returned it to

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Across America: A Foodie's Guide to Food Trucks, Street Food and the Best Dish in Each State review []  2020-1-22 21:47

    I returned this book. Thought I was getting a book that reviewed chosen restaurants across America. In only one chapter did it speak about each state, and then it only spoke of what foods are known or famous in certain states. Nothing about actual meal in actual restaurants. Huge disappointment. I’m being generous giving it one star!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Across America: A Foodie's Guide to Food Trucks, Street Food and the Best Dish in Each State review []  2020-1-22 21:47

    Not what my son and I expected! We love to travel and seek out all the amazing locations to eat and this book was just not it! We watched Rachel Ray and were so excited about ordering and it was just an OK read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Across America: A Foodie's Guide to Food Trucks, Street Food and the Best Dish in Each State review []  2020-1-22 21:47

    Thought this book would list multiple restaurants in each town that the author would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Across America: A Foodie's Guide to Food Trucks, Street Food and the Best Dish in Each State review []  2020-1-22 21:47

    more like someone wrote his thoughts about his private likings. And not that organized either

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Across America: A Foodie's Guide to Food Trucks, Street Food and the Best Dish in Each State review []  2020-1-22 21:47

    I thought this book was going to give suggestions of amazing locations to eat in each state. It did not. The book is not simple to read;boring and has no helpful info at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Across America: A Foodie's Guide to Food Trucks, Street Food and the Best Dish in Each State review []  2020-1-22 21:47

    Very disappointed in this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Across America: A Foodie's Guide to Food Trucks, Street Food and the Best Dish in Each State review []  2020-1-22 21:47

    Amazing and insightful book. My wife and I watched Daym regularly on YouTube and followed him over to his fresh channel. He is extremely entertaining and the book is a amazing read. I would highly recommend this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Across America: A Foodie's Guide to Food Trucks, Street Food and the Best Dish in Each State review []  2020-1-22 21:47

    Meal options are a lot of in the United States. With the advent of the internet and the popularity of video and online reviews, a lot of people have found a fresh avenue to express their opinions and reach a wide audience. Author and foodie Daymon Patterson is definitely a man who loves to eat and share his findings and in Eating Across America, he shares with the reader some of his favorite foods, meal trucks, meal carts, and meal dishes found across this amazing land known as the United States of America.I travel quite a bit and I love to eat so I felt amazing about reading Eating Across America. It seemed like a book that would be chock full of eating insight with tip on where to go and what to order. But this book ultimately comes up short for several reasons. For one, there aren’t as a lot of recommendations as I had hoped for. The book devotes time and zone to, for example, telling us what meal carts and meal trucks are all about, but provides only a few recommendations on specific ones to seek out.Another problem I have with this book is that it doesn’t have any consistent direction. The writing, much like the section on taking a foodie street trip, zig zags in all sorts of directions. And the writing will have a lot of people gritting their teeth as they read, as it is loaded with grammatical errors, run on sentences, incomplete sentences, and the thing I did like about this book was the images. They are not glossy style images, but the meal pics are still amazing and they support give you an idea about the foods and why they are as amazing as the book claims. There are lots of pictures, too, so less time is spent reading than you might expect. Add to that the larger than average print size and you can breeze through this book in a reasonably short time.I love to eat and I spend a amazing amount of time on the road. I like books that support tutorial the reader in the direction of amazing meal around the United States, but this book misses the mark. The lack of a lot of recommendations and weak writing skill makes this a book to avoid.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Eating Across America: A Foodie's Guide to Food Trucks, Street Food and the Best Dish in Each State review []  2020-1-22 21:47

    I wonder what "Eating Across America" means. To me this book is a complete waste. There is next to nothing similar to eating any place. "Across America" has a list of 20 restaurants "Across America". Wow! Lots o research there. A real disappointment. Don't waste your time or money. Useless!.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave (The Slave Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:38

    ***** 4.5 Cranky Stars *****Hannah is a worker in a post-apocalyptic globe where there is no sun, no moon and only gray. In terms of hierarchy, workers are one step above the outcasts, but far below the ers police from every corner, wall and angle. Militant and armed, Watchers will enforce with brutal results - ones that Hannah and everybody else is only too aware.When revolution happens, Hannah is unprepared. So too are the workers who have been conditioned to be invisible and accept their fate. They were banned from looking at their own dom is in their grasp or at least the chance of it, but it's dependent on overcoming trauma and working with people who they feared the is was an interesting read. I finished it in one sitting. Frances has a method of moving the pace along and hold you turning pages.With a cast of intriguing characters, history and mystery that unfolds adding depth to the story, Slave is a solid begin to what should be an exciting ere are a couple of things I'd like to raise for consideration. Frances does an perfect job of exploring trauma and how people who have been traumatized act and/or behave. This is not one of those stories where the lead hero suddenly overcomes their past and turns into the leader of the revolution.Rather, Hannah exhibits behavior that, at times, can be frustrating. Given her background, however, I thought this was more realistic to someone who has been conditioned to be a rsonally, I believe Frances' lost some opportunities in the action department. Tension mounted and then saying that, I think the up close and private scenes of confinement and terror were very good.Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave (The Slave Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:38

    This book includes an wonderful amount of inner dialogue ,and the amount of times she cried were a bit to much, is like she never became stronger and didn't had anything in particular that created her stand out, that's why is hard to believe why Money would like her as much as he did . I was debating whether to obtain the second book but after I read some of the reviews and how the book is more of the same (lots of crying ,weak female protagonist and not resolving anything ) I will skip the second and third book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave (The Slave Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:38

    This is the first time I’ve read a dystopian novel where the character isn’t constantly brave and keeping it together. Hannah is a wreck—a natural, completely believable, sincere wreck. The myriad raw emotions and fast-flowing inner monologues present the author’s keen insights as to what truly motivates actions in times of crisis. Her evolution to strength is credible and rase after phrase where I just grunt with amazement at how perfectly she has captured an image, a moment, an emotion. There were a little handful of overused words/phrases, but it wasn’t distracting enough to counteract the beauty of the rest of the language.I definitely wish to read book 2 and search out what happens next.I actually purchased the Audible ver of this and ... WOW! The narrator rocks! She really captured all the emotions and voices beautifully.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave (The Slave Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:38

    I loved this story. And that the people do not realize they are slaves adds an interesting element. I love that it addresses how a person can be so beat down that they know no other method and getting them to wake up and even just see the possibilities, allow alone to act beyond their trauma it's a near impossibility. Fear can rule, but not forever. Editing had minimal errors, nothing that detracts from the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave (The Slave Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:38

    This story pulls you in right from the beginning. It starts a small slower than some of the books I've read but it's engrossing and lays a powerful foundation for the characters and plot line. So, please don't allow this slower beginning deter you or you'll be missing out on an amazing, well-written book!There's a amazing mix of "heart", substance, action, heart-wrenching scenes and budding love and friendship along with a few unexpected twists and turns that hold you turning page after page and rooting for the e world-building is great, the characters are well-rounded and likable and it's a amazing plot in a story that's well-paced (I'm also an indie author and I know EXACTLY how difficult it is to obtain this mix right AND working. Kudos to you, Laura Frances, for pulling it off! *claps*).As a reader, I urge you to take a possibility on this author because this really is one of those stories that intrigues from the beginning and makes you wish to hold reading to the very end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave (The Slave Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:38

    Any of us can sit before a keyboard and string a few words together to construct a somewhat coherent sentence. Some of us can actually take a series of sentences and cement them together into a meaningful paragraph or even, heaven forbid, a complete page of thoughts and expressions! Few of us, however, using first person singular, can formulate the outline of a main character’s soul with near poetic perfection. Such is the ability of a real author. This writer is such a ease hold writing for the globe needs to feel your words. to have our hearts caressed, and have fresh worlds awakening in us...............

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave (The Slave Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:38

    4.5I enjoyed this dystopian ya fantasy of a girl who has lived as a slave all her life, suddenly being set free. The strict horrible system she has lived under is well-described - no one is allowed to talk in public or even look at the Watchers who monitor them (with guns).When Hannah is rescued by renegade Watchers, she struggles to adjust to her fresh reality. There is a lot of depth to Hannah - she finds her fresh situation hard and she struggles versus all the fear programmed into her throughout her childhood. She’s not excellent and makes mistakes and struggles with unforgiveness but is also has a bravery fueled by nversely the young men in this are all heroic, amazing people despite their past mistakes. A number of young men fall over themselves trying to support Hannah and protect her and care for her. I’m not entirely sure why this is so but anyhow.Overall a amazing beginning to a series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave (The Slave Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:38

    Really enjoyed this one. I'm a word picture junkie, and Frances provided fresh and original fare for me to chew on. The dynamics within this narrow, gray, valley setting are absolutely brilliant. Fell in love with the characters and the story. And the prose? There were sections I read again and again. Unbelievable debut novel. (And superb editing!)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave (The Slave Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:38

    This story was e author did a unbelievable job of really bringing Hannah's anxiety to life that I had to remind myself to breathe a few times. It was extremely engaging and though there were some foreshadows to a few upcoming plot twists, I found myself still surprised and saddened as Hannah as was. What a transformation she experiences as the book progresses!I totally loved the Watchers, especially Cash. I felt I even grew as a reader in trusting them like Hannah! I'm very curious to see how things unfold because that ending was absolutely perfect. I LOVED it so much and bought out all the feels.Looking forward to diving into book two!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Slave (The Slave Series Book 1) review []  2020-1-11 19:38

    I really enjoyed this book, and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys action & adventure, urban fantasy, or (especially) dystopian fiction. The author builds a well-thought-out globe and draws readers in right away. We are dragged along on the roller coaster of the main character's emotional journey as she struggles for her life and to recover from the trauma she has grown up with. Meanwhile, the action keeps escalating until almost the end, when everything is finally revealed and the latest of the questions are answered. I suggest not starting this book right before bed, or it may end up being a late night! I'm eager for the rest of the series now, but if you don't like cliffhanger endings, don't worry. You will be able to stop after this one, though you probably won't wish to!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This is not a live view. To me a live view is whenever you can go there and it's live right there at that moment so these are just the same as going few weeks ago nothing's moved nothing's changed so this is not a live view

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This application is so bad. Full of ads really don't waste your time on this junk

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Tried to search my house and was told road view not available, had to download Android device Auto

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This is not a live view the picture is over a year and a half old.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Won't even work won't even work won't even work

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Wont present true time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    It's horrible

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Fake

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Just downloaded, already saying live map is not available and some words are not even spelled right...not sure how I feel about it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    The application told I was over 680 miles when I was only about 5 miles from a destination. Not accurate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    My zone seems accurate. This is beautiful simple to use for me. All you have to do is turn the zone settings on.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Bait and switch... it isn't a live map...it is a platform for downloading other nav apps

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Confusing. Couldnt view what i was looking for

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Shocking.....just adware.....do not download

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Confusing... all adds

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Wrong addresses...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Not a live app!!! Photos are old.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    I wouldn't bother...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Sucks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Baf

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Completely useless. Searched Paris, France just to try it out....took me someplace, not sure where!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Same as another application with a related name. How do you change to miles - no settings.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This is useless it's not live

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This is not live and just of google maps lol

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    It was live maps in 2008 when google drove by.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    needs more settings

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Useless

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Too a lot of ads. Deleted!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Ots ok..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    1 star is more

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    Worst application ever I looked at my address and it didn't have my fresh car it had my old 1 from 7 years ago do not download this application worst ever

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street View Map & Street Map Navigation review [App]  2019-3-25 13:33

    This is not a LIVE road view. It's 224am and you guys are showing me a pic of the road during daylight.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Down and Across review []  2020-1-14 19:32

    I'm a mother of two who loves YA books and this one is as amazing as it gets. Moms--great book to buy for your children and to read for yourself too. I passed it on to my daughter and she is gobbling it up. I love the themes hear and think it's a fun and uplifting story. I'm definitely going to be looking for what this debut author has to say next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Down and Across review []  2020-1-14 19:32

    Usually I don't read these types of booksI'm more of a Sci-Fi, Fantasy and comic book person. I hadto read this for English class, so I got it for my iPad. I got it for about 10 bucks, which is a amazing e Kindle application is very simple to use, and has both visually and performatively amazing interface. I usually obtain my books in paper, becausw I like to keep them while reading, and I'm a bir of a collector. But, I decided to test this one digitally. Books that I don't need a physical copy of, such as school books like this one, I've decided to buy on Amazon. It's amazing and cheap!This book was surprisingly good. Interesting characters, as well as storyline. The book has me wanting to expand my reading material with other types than comic books and items like that.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Down and Across review []  2020-1-14 19:32

    When Scott's grandfather has a heart attack in Iran, his parents obtain him set up for a month a home. He has cash and an internship. But as soon as his parents leave, Scott runs away to Eashington, DC, where he tries to learn about being a gritty person. He makes some unbelievable mates in DC and learns a amazing deal about himself in the process.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Down and Across review []  2020-1-14 19:32

    Quirky, engaging and ridiculously relatable (even though I’m not a young adult!), Down and Across was one of my favorite reads of the latest 12 t Ferdowsi’s (mis)adventures and constant self-questioning painted a hero I won’t soon forget...think 50% Holden Caulfield, 50% you-as-an-awkward-teenager...and his friendship with the ephemeral Fiora formed a special literary duo that deserve a sequel all to their e novel broaches a lot of tough questions about individuality, family, and race in a subtle and consumable fashion...no simple feat for a YA title.Expect to laugh a lot, likely cry, and ask yourself A LOT of productive questions about your own path...couldn’t recommend more highly!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Down and Across review []  2020-1-14 19:32

    I have a full review on my blog (linked in profile), but this book is on all my favorite list. It's in my Top 5 of all time favorite reads. Honest, genuine, hilarious, and meaningful without being tragic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Down and Across review []  2020-1-14 19:32

    Like a John Green novel but a small less snotty and more fun. :) Reminded me of Paper Towns ish

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Down and Across review []  2020-1-14 19:32

    A really enjoyed reading characters you can relate to! They felt like people you could meet and wanted to be mates with. an simple and worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Down and Across review []  2020-1-14 19:32

    A vector into a brilliant guy's mind wrapped in a 21st century Grapes of Wrath. The potential to be a defining book for the millennial mindset.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Down and Across review []  2020-1-14 19:32

    Such an awesome book. Highly recommend to anyone who loves YA. You won't regret it, satisfied I created this purchase out of the blue

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Down and Across review []  2020-1-14 19:32

    I hate it. It's basically just a bunch of words too huge for ANYONE to understand. I don't even like cross word puzzles, which is all this book is about.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Street Cultivation: Street Cultivation, Book 1 review []  2020-1-22 22:17

    One challenge with most cultivation stories is that the timescales break credulity. While the main hero sits in a cave for hundreds or thousands of years, nothing happens in the globe around him, leaving the same pseudo-medieval cultures in reet Cultivation blends the cultivation action in the modern globe in a method that is wholly satisfying. There's still a divide between the haves and the have-nots, but the haves are more likely to take advantage of their cultivation to gain wealth and temporal power than to go out and slaughter thousands. Our protagonist is definitely a have-not, and his struggles to create something more of himself rely upon hard work and perseverance more than "cheats" and heaven-defying luck. Buy this book and read it; you won't regret it.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter