Read the stockings were hung reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the stockings were hung reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    BURY MY HEART AT WRIGLEY FIELD: THE HISTORY OF THE CHICAGO CUBS - WHEN THE CUBS WERE THE WHITE STOCKINGS []  2020-1-19 20:36

    This is a wonderfully detailed history about the earliest days of the Chicago Cubs. It dates back to the very beginnings of baseball as a child's android game in ancient lands up through the 19th Century. It follows the history of baseball in Chicago through e author brings to life all the people who created that history. He created me feel like a "krank" sitting in the bleachers on a sunny afternoon in Chicago rooting for the hometown White Stockings. If you're a Cub fan (my sympathies) or just a baseball fan or a lover of history, this book is for you. It was for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl in Black Stockings [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Wanton Murder! The Girl in Black Stockings is directed by Howard W. Koch and written by Richard Landau and Peter Godfrey. It stars Lex Barker, Anne Bancroft, Mamie Van Doren, Ron Randell, John Dehner and Marie Windsor. Melody is by Les Baxter and cinematography by William Margulies. When a party girl is found murdered at a Utah hotel, everyone is under suspicion. Miserable predatory creatures! One of the definitions of the low budget drive-in movie, The Girl in Black Stockings is an odd and fascinating picture. In core essence it's a standard murder mystery piece, a sort of minor Ten Small Indians only with kooky overtones. She'd obtain on that dance floor and fry eggs! The characterisations, performed by a wide scope cast list, are firmly in the realm of the off kilter or suspiciously suspect! While some of the scripted dialogue is priceless and pungent with noirish tones. Plus there is lots of smoking going on to emphasise the noirish fever. I'm gonna have to raise taxes to build a morgue! The acting is all over the place, mind, with Tarzan leading the method doing some smell the fart acting, while others are overwrought in delivery of script. Yet the up and down acting fits into the grand scheme of Utah weirdo style, further accentuated by the swirly Gothic musical score. Nutty and fruity, corny yet crisp, it's a fun experience. Plus there's Van Doren, who had to have had the widest mouth of all circa the 1950s. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Were the Days []  2020-1-28 1:33

    I love this! the melody is pleasant and relaxing, everyone always sings along. Perfect!

    0  


    Add your opinion on the stockings were hung or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Were the Days []  2020-1-28 1:34

    Each and every song reminds me of my childhood!!Thank You Yakov!!! JOB WELL DONE!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Were the Days []  2020-1-28 1:33

    the best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Were the Days []  2020-1-28 1:33

    amazing mix

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Were the Days []  2020-1-28 1:33

    nice CD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Were the Days []  2020-1-28 1:34

    This CD is absolutely incredible. I love, love, love it! Can't obtain enough of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Were the Days []  2020-1-28 1:33

    Wow!!!!Yaakov shwekey You are a real artist, the most unbelievable creation

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Were the Days []  2020-1-28 1:34

    Amazing Album! Bringing back all the oldies!Hope you have a concert out in LA one of these days.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Games were Coming []  2020-2-4 14:43

    Michael Anthony portrays the island life he knows so well with consummate ease, and draws the reader into the excitement of his characters' lives. Even now I can envision the climactic race, and feel the heat of the Caribbean sun-- Anthony's imagery remains vivid and powerful long after you've turned the latest page. One does not have to be a cyclist or even a sports enthusiast to obtain into this story, because it transcends those boundaries. This is a unbelievable book for teens, and for the young at heart -- it's a amazing method to reminisce.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Were the Days []  2020-1-28 1:33

    Yaakov I love the song choices!! I see we have very related tastes in Jewish music. I especially love the Journeys medley, what a phenomenal choice of songs, and gorgeous gorgeous performance. Cried my head off during the song about the kids replacing the safer Torah.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Were the Days []  2020-1-28 1:34

    This compilation is well worth the for the quantity and quality of the melody and the smooth powerful sound of Shwekey's voice. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? []  2020-1-18 20:16

    I bought this book to support students research for a black history month project. It has a lot of amazing info for intermediate readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? []  2020-1-18 20:16

    Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones []  2020-1-1 18:33

    While only the second month into the year, I can say with certainty that Georgia Hunter’s debut novel WE WERE THE LUCKY ONES is my favorite book of the year. Definitely one of the books that I will [email protected]#$%!& is not only a poignant story, written so eloquently and with such heart, but the fact that it is based on the real story of her family makes it that much more special. The book is about a family of Polish Jews who were separated during Globe Battle II and what became of them. At a lot of times, this is a difficult book to read, as it should be, given the subject. But because it is so hard to read, all the more reason to do so.I don’t remember the latest time that I was so moved by words on a page, characters with such determination, and the evil that lay before them. To read page after page about the destruction of the war, the harsh reality of their living conditions, the brutality of the Nazi regime, and what the Jews were literally stripped of. It is a lesson in humanity, in history, and in how Poland was desecrated. As a third-generation immigrant, like Hunter, my grandparents came from Poland, and while they were in America before the war, nothing has impacted my heart more than reading this book. Surely my grandparents left behind mates and family and felt related heartache as the Kurcs did with their beloved ere are many lessons to be learned from reading this book other than how people cope with amazing sadness. It is about resilience, the strength of the human spirit, family, and love. Hunter is a writer to watch. Hunter's ancestors would be so proud of what she has done with this book. She has not only written a remarkable piece of literature but the effort that she place forth to gather her family’s history seems to have been no little feat, as you will learn. As a Jew and a human, I feel it was an honor to read WE WERE THE LUCKY ONES, to learn about every member of her family. I feel like I know each of them. They were the lucky ones and so are we to be given this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones []  2020-1-1 18:33

    I absolutely loved this book. I have read a lot of stories detailing the horrors Jews faced throughout Europe before, during, and after Globe Battle II....and expected this story to be similar. It was different...I connected with it far more that other stories of the same genre. Perhaps knowing it was based on the author's family created it all the more moving. It is a book that I finished a few weeks ago, but cannot stop talking about to mates and family. It is a story that has stayed with me. I highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones []  2020-1-1 18:33

    This book is so close to being great, but misses the uncing around from hero to hero for each chapter makes for a cumbersome read. Keeping track of characters that were left several chapters ago, to be reunited with them later and having to recall via the family tree provided where they fit in is rather time consuming. It takes a few rounds to hold them straight and often times felt like the characters were being abandoned. The story is awesome in that a family survives. This is one book that if done right will create a better movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? []  2020-1-18 20:16

    Perfect book. My 8 year old is learning about the Tuskegee airmen and he understands the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? []  2020-1-18 20:16

    Tell that story! Really amazing for children to understand!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? []  2020-1-18 20:16

    Satisfied to have this book. It came in amazing shape, no rips, tears and on time. Excellent for teaching my young boys about their history and heritage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? []  2020-1-18 20:16

    Amazing book for a fifth grader

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones []  2020-1-1 18:33

    400+ pages read in just 3 days.... yes it is that good. Such perseverance to survive versus insurmountable odds .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? []  2020-1-18 20:16

    I had no idea this awesome flight squad even existed in WWII. What an awesome history lesson, and a amazing reminder to persevere. Amazing examples of being a real American. Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? []  2020-1-18 20:16

    I want I had known their story, back in the early seventies, when I aspired to be a pilot myself. It would have turbocharged my academic focus, even the more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones []  2020-1-1 18:33

    Maybe I wasn’t paying enough attention up front, but when I embarked upon this book I was expecting to read a story that would have fallen into the genre of “historical fiction,” i.e. a fictional acc of a fictional family told versus the backdrop of the all-too-real canvas of Globe Battle II. What I got instead was the astounding, near unbelievable, TRUE acc of a Polish-Jewish family’s miraculous survival during this darkest time in human history. It is not until the epilogue/“Author’s Note” that we learn that the author’s Grandfather was in fact one of the main characters in her remarkable e author acknowledges that her family elders, quite understandably so, were not eager to discuss the horrors of their past. Given the sparsity of info that were handed down to her, I imagine that a amazing amount of this epic tale can be chalked up to poetic license, so to speak, and that the writing of this tome entailed a amazing of “fleshing out” of a very skeletal handed-down (and oftentimes not first-hand) account. Nevertheless, the essence of this tale is true, and nothing short of miraculous, awe-inspiring and, indeed, e protagonists here are Sol and Nechuma Kurc, their five young-adult kids and their respective spouses. The story unfolds all over the far-flung corners of the world during and after the Second Globe War: Poland, France, Siberia, Palestine, Argentina and, lastly, the United States. (Keeping track of the a lot of main characters may have been a bit unwieldy, but the author handily provides a family tree at the book’s beginning, which I found myself consulting time after time.)The aspects of this story that moved me most deeply were:First, one cannot read this book without being struck by the perseverance and determination of the family members to provide for one another and simply to survive at the most elemental level during times of starvation, extreme weather, persecution and all the other privations of war-torn Europe. To say that We Were the Lucky Ones is a testament to the human spirit is to state the cond, the love this family held for one another and the cohesiveness of the family unit – especially when all else was lost – was something that really touched me. There is a not-so-very subtle notice here about what matters most in life. The instances of self-sacrifice (Halina for her parents and Mila for her daughter, to name just a couple) are particularly ird, the family, having immigrated to the Unites States immediately post-war, created the utmost of their lives here, all going on to become successful in their chosen spheres. It strikes me that, as clichéd as it may sound, America is truly the land of opportunity for those who are willing to create it happen. As an American whose own Grandparents came here from Europe, I have to say that the author’s choice to bring this out brought a lump to my throat.I don’t know if it’s even possible to describe a Holocaust story as having a satisfied ending, but if it is at all possible – considering the devastating losses to the globe and to humanity at huge - this family’s story had one. In fact, the book lightly touches upon the concept of survivor’s guilt: Toward the end of the book one of the characters muses about how none of them should have survived, and yet (against the odds) all of them did. They were the lucky ones….A word about the unspeakably brave souls who harbored the hunted: people like Halina’s boss who was willing to vouch for her (on more than one occasion), or like the peasant family who hid Sol and Nachuma behind a false wall in their home, or the Mother Superior who ran an orphanage and who was willing to accept the falsehood that small Felicia was “Aryan” in to spare her life. To paraphrase a sentiment of Anne Frank’s: despite everything, there truly are amazing people in this world. In a globe gone mad, these courageous individuals are real e sanctity of life and the belief that life is something worth fighting for are not fresh concepts to Holocaust literature. This book ranks right up there with the best in the lessons it has to l in all, edge-of-your-seat story-telling, with an extremely poignant ending. Definitely recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones []  2020-1-1 18:33

    I would normally avoid a book written about this dark period of history. But I absolutely loved We Were The Lucky Ones. Beautifully written and quick paced. Each chapter is filled with hope and the awesome strength of spirit of each character. I finished it latest night and I found myself thinking about the Kurc family several times today. Terrific read!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones []  2020-1-1 18:33

    I want I had better enjoyed reading this. It does necessary work in showing the varieties of experiences suffered by Holocaust survivors, and I liked the structural device of following the battle chronologically, yet skipping among the stories of all the characters, and what each was doing during a certain time. However, 3 things really bothered me. First, the characters are all improbably idealized, probably because the author is writing about her own family. Yes, these characters did a lot of brave and even heroic things, but no one ever got angry, no one ever had a poor mood, no o ne argued over doing the dishes, everyone loved one another every second. It's real that twice female characers suffered debilitating depressions, but each time she had a baby, and that fixed it. Second, all the characters long for home, family, and life before the Nazis arrived, which is probably very true, and understandable. But in the novel, this means that almost every chapter has some hero yearning once again for a Passover dinner, and those reperated scenes of nostalgia got tedious. Third, I found the writing rather flat. There's nothing sparkly about the prose style. So, which the book tells an necessary story and kept me reading until the end (although I skipped the Passover dinner scenes after a while), I don't think it's as well done as most other commentators do. Hard to criticize a heartfelt novel about Holocaust survivors, but as a novel, it has glaring (to me) weaknesses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones []  2020-1-1 18:33

    I've already posted my review on Goodreads, but I'll post it on Amazon rst off, thank you Penguin-Viking for allowing me to read this attractive ARC. I've been given this ARC for my honest e following review is my mere opinion. I will begin with the dislikes, move on to the likes, and my own private thoughts.What did I dislike about this novel?Absolutely NOTHING.What did I like about this novel?1. The characters. Even though I know it's based on a real story, I enjoyed the characters.2. It created me cry, laugh, and cry a ton.3. Finding out more about what the Jewish community really went through in to survive.4. Well-written. Hats off to Mrs. Hunter. I'm an instant fan.5. The careful research that went into making this a novel.6. The patience Mrs. Hunter must have had. Not a lot of writers wish to talk about their family's history. It takes so much time to research and fact-check. Kudos to Mrs. Hunter.7. The ending and the acknowledgement. For the first time, I feel completely happy and that's hard to for my private thoughts.What are you waiting for? Go this book already! It will create you laugh, cry, cry some more and it will hold you on the edge of your seat. I won't give anything away. You have to be willing to have a box of tissues nearby. It also makes me thing of my ancestors. What they went through to create it this far. Would I ever write about my family's history? No. I don't have the patience. We cannot deny the painful part of our prior history. We need to learn from it and do better as each generation passes. I cried, I honestly did. It created my stomach churn and drop. But this is a book about sacrifice and love. I know as a mother, I would do anything to save my children. But this family is simply remarkable. Yeah, maybe some parts were dramatized but Mrs. Hunter took me there. I could imagine the horrors her family went through. If this book doesn't create you feel something, I don't know what else to tell you. I plan on buying this book on hardcover and it will remain a treasure for the rest of my life. What we need is a whole lot more love in this globe and a lot less hate. Thank you, Mrs. Hunter. Bless you and your attractive family. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for sharing your story. I'm sure it was painful for her to write this. I could only imagine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones []  2020-1-1 18:33

    What a amazing book. Everyone should read this book, especially all of the WHINERS we have in our society these days. When you have a poor day, pick up this book and count your blessings. This isn't a light or simple book to read -- and I knew it would not be. What an awesome story. I've done some of my own family research and know how difficult it can be. Georgia Hunter did MAJOR research and then wove the stories of her grandfather, his five children, their four spouses, plus extended family members in to an very moving novel. I'll never forget this book. It created me cry harder than I've cried in a while over a book. My suggestions for a second edition would be:1) Expand the family tree -- there are a lot of people in this book! The family tree in the front was very helpful but I had to create lots of notes to hold track of all of the people. It was worth it.2) After kilometers, place the miles in parenthesis: 500 kilometers (310 miles). I know, I know, we Americans were supposed to convert to Metric a amazing 40+ years ago. It is shameful. I was able to Google it but a conversion would be a nice enhancement3) Translate more Polish and Yiddish words for ding the historical happenings between chapters was very helpful, with amazing autiful, heart-wrenching, awe-inspiring and awesome experience.We are the Lucky Ones for Georgia Hunter getting inspired to research and write about her family history.Oct 2019: I just re-read this book and it is even better the second time around. What a story!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones []  2020-1-1 18:33

    The daughter of survivors, I have been hearing Holocaust stories since the time I could parents’ stories, also set in Poland (Tarnopol & Oswiecim), are remarkably related to the happenings depicted in Georgia Hunter’s, We Were The Lucky Ones. The difference, however, is in this particular family’s fortune to survive… intact!A brilliant narrative and haunting retrospective, We Were The Lucky Ones transported me to a put and time, connecting me with the stories that not only permeated my childhood, but which also shaped my existence. Devouring each word, I held my breath, I cried and I rejoiced with the Kurc Family, thanking the author not only for this glimpse into her family’s history, but also for a glimpse into mine. Pictured Above: The Rosenfelds (my mom on left), Tarnopol, Pre-Ghetto.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? []  2020-1-18 20:16

    African American History is something not taught much in school, so I love these books as a learning tool. No matter the age of your kid (even ones older than the target age) they can learn from these books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? []  2020-1-18 20:16

    Amazing book. My grandson really enjoyed it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Queens of the Ice: They were fast, they were fierce, they were teenage girls (Lorimer Recordbooks) []  2020-1-17 23:50

    This is a amazing book for today's girls to see how girls in the past fought to play sports. My granddaughter read it in three days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Salt of the Sea []  2020-1-22 20:35

    WE WERE THE SALT OF THE SEA by Roxanne Bouchard is unlike any other crime fiction novel that I have ever read before. Like the sound of the sea lapping onto the shore, the attractive narrative of this story while often harsh and raw, lulled me into this complicated story of identity and herine Day has no purpose in her life anymore so she decides to travel to the Gaspé Peninsula to meet the woman who gave birth to her all those years ago. Searching for something, Catherine tries to obtain the lay of the land or the sea in this case, and soon finds the gentle rhythm of this fishing community soothing in its own strange way. But when a body is found tangled up in the nets, it will force Catherine to take charge of her life, as the body is that of her mother, Marie Garant. As Catherine begins to piece together a picture of her mother, will it support her to figure out her own identity? And if her mother was such an expert sailor as proclaimed by those who knew her, how did she end up dead?​When a newcomer, DS Joaquin Morales, finds himself in charge of this investigation, it appears to be a easy accidental drowning to him, and with his own marriage falling to pieces, the latest thing he needs is a complicated murder case. But as the magic of the sea and the legendary Garant charm weave a spell around him, Morales will search himself eager to do whatever it takes to uncover the truth, and possibly hold Catherine in Gaspé for as long as possible ...Beautifully lyrical, I had never really understood the concept of literary crime fiction until I read WE WERE THE SALT OF THE SEA by Roxanne Bouchard. If you wish a gritty, action-packed crime novel then this is probably not for is novel is harsh, raw, exposed, melodious, and almost poetic in its heartbreak and it captivated me from beginning to end.WE WERE THE SALT OF THE SEA by Roxanne Bouchard is a superb novel that will take your breath away as it is both easy and complex at the same time - a unbelievable novel.*I voluntarily reviewed this book from the tour organiser

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Salt of the Sea []  2020-1-22 20:35

    Loved this read, well woven and interesting

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Salt of the Sea []  2020-1-22 20:35

    This is a magical and ethereal, haunting novel which beautifully captures the essence and landscape of the Gaspé Peninsula The setting is the story and the story is the setting.Written by an author who knows the zone she writes about well, she paints an ethereal picture of special shades with colours and the essence of the e main story of a woman going to search out about her mother becomes entangled in the nets of a mystery. It opens up the secrets and lies of a very traditional fishing community which when the nets are opened, the sea claims everything for its own. The mystery and murder story play out versus a powerful background with powerful local characters at the ere is so much I wish to say about this novel, rave about it and scream how much I recommend it, but that will spoil your discovery of it. Each chapter section is entitled with an ode to the sea - Traps and nets, Dredgers and Trawlers and with stories of a boat called The Alberto in 1974, this is all encompassing. It’s an immersive read.I do just wish to say how perfect and flawless the translation was as well . David Warriner has injected another level of mystery and overriding spookiness to the ’s a novel to savour, to sink into, to let the words to flow over you and immerse you fully.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Salt of the Sea []  2020-1-22 20:35

    If the crime thriller genre was a song, it would be We Were the Salt of the herine Day, alone in the world, a atom looking for the meaning of her life, her past, her present, and her future. Catherine or the siren whose voice raises the dead. And by this I don’t just mean corpses!Her trip takes her to a holiday postcard with sand all over it. Enigmatic sand with a quiet life, secrets drowned into the sea or the alcohol. A beautiful, mesmerizing setting filled with the kind of characters which could create you hate or love a place. On the surface, lessons are to be taught and listened to, but when you scrap, you explore the put and its people are just like everyone else. Human beings with feelings – love, hate, regrets, amazing intentions. It all comes and goes in waves. “The sea is like a woman. When you choose to love her, you know you’re giving her your body and soul.”We Were the Salt of the Sea is no ordinary crime thriller. I would not even place the book into this category! It is its own genre. It tells a story you think you might have heard before but the words are different, the gentle melody of the sea greets you in this village of Gaspé, where nothing happens. Why should anything happen? Fishermen fish, fish obtain caught, the sun warms the skin. Like Catherine, I wonder a lot about life, and was able to relate to her musing and doubts. With nothing to hope for, to keep on to, to look forward to, what do you do? What is life if not a very long airport waiting area? Is love something your genes recognize? Is it natural or do you have to learn about it? What keeps anyone going? Away from the hustle and bustle of the huge town life, this story reminds us of our herine’s arrival and the village’s reaction was quiet and beautiful, strange and scary, reassuring and hopeful. I could have stayed longer, looking at the sea, meeting those people, learning that there is another method to see and feel time passing. But the peaceful trip doesn’t latest too long. The next track on the playlist is Bloody Red.When a body is discovered, the tide comes in, and with it a policeman. Test and create your method in a little village full of heavy fishermen who hold their mouth shut and their beer cold! Not good Joachim Moralès had method too much on his plate even before his arrival! Another stranger, but his was not very welcome, to say the least! In his fifties, away from his wife and kids, far from Montréal, it seemed the globe was versus him. I believe it is still the case! The parallel between him and young Catherine, their various motives around the same person: Marie Garant, gave the story a slow dancing tune. A forbidden and magnificent dance for more than what life heart reached out to Cyrille and Jérémy, my fists clenched when some characters got in the way, I was both intrigued and irked at the Guess Who android game and the tiny-tiiiiny tips we were given, I wanted to shake people until they spat out the truth, just like when you know someone is holding something up that would change everything. Whenever I felt I was on the right track, I was thrown into another quicksand and had to war to obtain back on my feet while the water was threatening to swallow the truth, and the inhabitants of the village were the excellent witness and actors of the hide and seek android game to the rhythm of the waves. “Do we ever really know our own mothers, detective? Our parents, our children… our wife? Do we even know ourselves?”Overall, We Were the Salt of the Sea is a superb crime piece hidden in a story about the meaning of life and love. A page-turner which leaves salt on your fingers and sand between your toes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Salt of the Sea []  2020-1-22 20:35

    ‘You go to sea because you’re a drifter among others and you only feel at home in the silence of the wind.’Although the reader never meets Marie Garant in life, her vibrant presence pervades the book because of the impact she had on so a lot of of the inhabitants of the Gaspé. Even in death, she is the invisible force which drives e author does a brilliant job of conveying the tight-knit, almost claustrophobic atmosphere of the little fishing community. It’s a put where everyone knows everyone else, their everyday routines, their histories…their secrets. Although there are powerful bonds of friendship and family, the most strong common bond is that of the sea. It’s the villagers’ livelihood, their meal source, their recreation, their awareness of time even – not just the change of seasons but the rhythm of passing of time. ‘He waited for two waves to go by, time enough for the sea to hold washing gently over the shore, erasing the memories in the sand.’ The sea is their constant companion and frequently, as it turns out, their implacable opponent robbing the community of a lot of souls over the years.‘They’re always harping on about people being the salt of the earth….Well, doesn’t that create us mariners the salt of the sea?’The sea is used as a metaphor for life, for emotional experience, for the find for fulfilment. ‘She’s the wave that drags you away from shore and then carries you home. A whirlpool of indecisiveness, hypnotising, holding you captive. Until the day she chooses you. I suppose that’s what passion is…a groundswell that sweeps you up and carries you further out than you thought, then washes you up on the hard sand like an old fool.’There is unbelievable descriptive writing about the sea and the translator, David Warriner, has done a superb job of retaining the lyrical quality of Roxanne Bouchard’s writing. Some of the characters have distinctive modes of speech (“Christ in a chalice”) and, at times, I found the dialogue didn’t flow quite as naturally as the rest of the writing. However, I loved some of the imaginative descriptions such as this one as Catherine sits on the wharf watching the fishing boats tied up there. ‘They were dozing there empty, gently rocking to the rhythm of the waves, snoring versus the wharf. They barely raised an eyelid when I arrived. They didn’t care. Sighing, they slipped back into slumber, like fat, lazy cats sinking into the amazing blue cushion of water.’ Isn’t that simply brilliant?Tasked with investigating the death of Marie Garant, Sergeant Morales, newly transferred from the city, encounters a wall of silence. He begins to question his relationship with his absent wife, finding himself drawn to Catherine, another outsider who is on her own quest for answers. Faced with prevarication and obfuscation, Morales starts to wonder whether he still has what it takes to unravel the mystery of Marie Garant’s life and death.I really enjoyed We Were the Salt of the Sea, not just for the intriguing mystery at the heart of the book but for the wonderful, imaginative writing. I would love to see other books by Roxanne Bouchard translated into English.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Salt of the Sea []  2020-1-22 20:35

    Catherine was born on a sailboat in the village of Mont-Louis on the St Lawrence River. Her mother, who had been away sailing the globe solo for months, had gone into labour 10 days early – before she could reach her intended destination of Montréal. When she had recovered from the birth, she carried on to Montréal where she left Catherine in the care of two friends, architects who couldn’t have kids of their own. She returned to sea. This all happened in forward to 2007. Catherine receives a letter, leaves behind her life in Montréal and heads for the Gaspé Peninsula at the mouth of the St Lawrence, to the fishing village of Caplan where her mother, Marie Garant, had come from. She is determined to track her down and search out about her history. Soon after her arrival, though, her mother’s drowned body is brought to shore – she had disappeared from her sailboat (after another long period away), and been caught in fishermen’s nets, when only hours from Caplan. Detective Joaquin Moralès (a Mexican who moved to Canada when he got married) investigates.We Were the Salt of the Sea is, though, anything but a conventional whodunit. Every man in the village seems to have been in love with Marie, and awaiting her return. The plot exposes the rivalry and feuds that exist in a little community. Who is similar to whom? And why do they behave as they do? Everyone seems to have suffered through the drowning of a relative at some stage… They are absolutely fascinating and well-drawn characters, from the fisherman, to the priest, to the restaurant owner, to the e key hero is, though, the sea itself. In all its moods it dominates the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Salt of the Sea []  2020-1-22 20:35

    This is a attractive tale about search, loneliness and herine Day decides to travel to a remote fishing village to search her birth mother at the same time a human body appears on the sea... This is just the beginning of this story, were the plot is not just centred on the investigation but all the villagers of the town, showing us how they live and making us part of their routine ing this book had been more an experience than simply a story, because the prose makes you enter to the story like one hero more, with humour and murder, this small village becomes your own, smelling the sea and listening to the fishermen stories it's just part of the e story is told between Catherine, the detective of the case, and all the villagers secrets which have to be discovered if they wish to know the truth. It's not a sweet tale, because if there's murder, there will be sadness and vengeance, but love and friendship is is a must read, I felt in love with all the characters, their unique language and their own secrets that created this book a ravenous read and one of the best books of this 2018 so y for a fishing day?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Salt of the Sea []  2020-1-22 20:35

    It's not often I pick up a book because of its cover and title without even reading the premise. But this was one of those times, and I did not regret my decision. Anyone who has been to the sea knows the pull of its magic, and Bouchard's Quebec does not disappoint. The interweaving of a lyrical maritime prose through the narrative is sublime. The protagonist, Catherine, is searching for info about her birth parents on the Gaspé Peninsula. But as she arrives, the body of the former is discovered tangled in a fisherman's nets. Catherine's journey is tentative, confusing, and certainly sometimes sad. The intervention of DS Morales to investigate the death doesn't create Catherine's find for her own history easy. I loved each of the characters in the village. Each one stayed with me long after I finished the latest page. A attractive read, and hats off to Warriner - his translation is a skilful tapestry of words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Salt of the Sea []  2020-1-22 20:35

    After a lot of years of unanswered questions Catherine decides to test and poke a stick right into what she perceives to be a hornets nest. Instead she is confronted with a confusing contradiction of welcoming warmth and gnarly e city has a Ryan’s Daughter attitude about it. The outsider who asks too a lot of questions and threatens any insider becomes the enemy. Catherine is in the unenviable position of being disliked for her genetic connection to Marie, and yet at the same time liked for her lack of relationship to her t everyone understands the need for connection or closure in an adopted child, in this case given away for safekeeping child. You can love the people who raise you unconditionally, and yet still have a burning desire to search a biological connection to the person who gave you away. Catherine is torn between wanting to finally meet her biological mother and avoiding an encounter between the two of e true question she has is which man managed to impregnate her mother. Who is her father? Simultaneously this story is also her path towards acceptance and freedom. Sometimes the past doesn’t leave enough info or clues, and the so-called witnesses may never part with their necessary uchard gives the reader much more than just a story about a find for answers and the closure for a woman without familial ties. Bouchard hands us the sea on a silver platter. You can taste the salt, feel the waves, and are almost convinced to set sail on the begin seas yourself. In contrast to that scenario the author presents the dangers of the sea. Looking out upon the calm surface bobbing softly along as the sun sets and sinks on the horizon, the mind is tricked into believing the Fata Morgana of pure innocence. So a lot of set sail on the premise of sanctity and peace, only to be taken hostage by the wild uncontrollable nature of the if that wasn’t enough incentive to read this book then perhaps the subtle crime story the author has woven into the delicate fabric of this combination of literary, crime and maritime uchard’s writing is as smooth as caramel sauce being poured into a bowl of melted chocolate. Fortunately Warriner’s translation reproduces this warm comfortable flow beautifully. Barring the excessive use of ‘Christ in a chalice and Hee’ this is a stunning lyrical read, and I expect to be seeing Bouchard’s name on award lists.*I received a copy courtesy of the publisher.*

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Salt of the Sea []  2020-1-22 20:35

    I thought that this was a attractive book with a superb writing style that draws you in.I was completely immersed in the story and I honestly felt as though I was living and with the characters as I read the story - I was completely addicted to it and it was a complete joy to read - I loved the pace, the plot and the characters - everything worked for you can probably tell from the above, I loved it - no hesitation in giving the story 5 stars and it will be up there with my favourite reads at the end of the year!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    This was a very various method of writing. Once I got used to the small snippets of each hero it was interesting to figure out where it was going next. They all tied in and similar to each very well. It could be a story of any little city in America and all the secrets they harbor that many, somebody or nobody knows about. They seem to always come out though, sometimes long after the parties involved are dead. Whether discovered letters or someone dying or someone old just reminiscing.I grew up in a little city and lived in a lot of of them. I fact now that I live in a put where hardly anybody knows anybody it is beautiful boring compared to little city life. I guess you could say the catalyst in all this is small boy nearly drowning. My brother did drown and I can relate to the reaction of the towns people of the little town. At least I guess it is a little city or community in the book. The girl on the milk carton: It was interesting to explore where she was the whole time and nobody even suspected - sound familiar I want there had been a lot more on that part of the story. I wonder how a lot of even remember the milk cartons with kids on them. Never realized until I read this how long they have been gone, replaced by plastic jugs. I mentioned them to a lady (I was recommending the book to her) in her 30s and she had no idea what I was talking about. Even the story about the woman's reaction to and solution to the issue she discovered at the fertility clinic tied in very well with little city life. I'll bet she's not the first to use that method.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? (Who Was?) []  2020-1-16 7:28

    I had no idea this awesome flight squad even existed in WWII. What an awesome history lesson, and a amazing reminder to persevere. Amazing examples of being a real American. Loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? (Who Was?) []  2020-1-16 7:28

    I want I had known their story, back in the early seventies, when I aspired to be a pilot myself. It would have turbocharged my academic focus, even the more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Beatles? (Who Was--?) []  2020-1-16 8:59

    I got a couple of copies for grandchildren. My grand daughter read it in one sitting. She is an advanced (of course) 8 year old reader. I saw the Beatles in 1964, and my grandchildren know the music, so I wish them to know more about their history. I also ordered several other books in this line (Einstein, Jane Goodall) and they are a amazing method to obtain children interested in people and history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Beatles? (Who Was--?) []  2020-1-16 8:59

    Brother was satisfied with the book. He had planned on buying it; but hadn't yet, so it was a nice surprise for him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Night You Were Born []  2020-1-16 9:24

    I've always loved "On the Night You Were Born" as a baby gift, and the board book edition seemed perfect. But I was deeply disappointed -- and angry, too -- when I received it, to learn that this edition is missing the first page and several of the latest pages. To some extent, some pages have been incorporated into the shortened text. But there is nothing in the Amazon description to indicate that this is an abridged edition -- and why abridge such a short (and ultimately charming) book? I felt cheated, and returned it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Night You Were Born []  2020-1-16 9:24

    Bought this book for my (at the time) 6 month old. We tried for 7 years to obtain pregnant and then was blessed with our small girl after successful fertility treatments. This book is so attractive and so meant for her. Only drawback is that the timing is weird on some of the pages. I really have fun the books that ryhme and hold amazing time and this one has a tendency to obtain a small funky in parts. Totally able to overlook though because of how easy and attractive it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If The Dentist Were An Animal []  2020-1-23 1:54

    My daughter loved Animal Isle and was excited to read this book ! I plan to read this book to her class soon! We love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If The Dentist Were An Animal []  2020-1-23 1:54

    My niece loves the book and loves that there are activities at the end of the book for her. This is going to be my go to bonus for all my nieces/nephews and my friend’s kids. Must buy!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Were the Twin Towers? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 1:56

    My son saw this book in the shop and was very curious about the Twin Towers, so I bought it online for him for Christmas. He was intrigued by the story of 9/11 (he is 10 years old.) The images are really nice - some illustrations and some true photos. It is a beautiful simple read for children his age. A lot of history crammed into one small book. I would recommend to any kid interested in learning about 9/11 and the Twin Towers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Were the Twin Towers? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 1:56

    My son is in third grade and read this book and loved it. He learned so much and was able to tell me all about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones: A Novel []  2020-1-28 23:31

    I absolutely loved this book. I have read a lot of stories detailing the horrors Jews faced throughout Europe before, during, and after Globe Battle II....and expected this story to be similar. It was different...I connected with it far more that other stories of the same genre. Perhaps knowing it was based on the author's family created it all the more moving. It is a book that I finished a few weeks ago, but cannot stop talking about to mates and family. It is a story that has stayed with me. I highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones: A Novel []  2020-1-28 23:31

    This book is so close to being great, but misses the uncing around from hero to hero for each chapter makes for a cumbersome read. Keeping track of characters that were left several chapters ago, to be reunited with them later and having to recall via the family tree provided where they fit in is rather time consuming. It takes a few rounds to hold them straight and often times felt like the characters were being abandoned. The story is awesome in that a family survives. This is one book that if done right will create a better movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were The Three Stooges? (Who Was?) []  2020-1-25 13:53

    I wish to point out that sometimes I'm sorry I got the Kindle ver because pictures and formatting don't usually display very well on my Paperwhite. However, the pictures in this book were fine on the Paperwhite. They are just drawings, but they're amazing drawings and were very clear. This book only takes about an hour to read but it's well worth it. Very amazing overview of the stooges and very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Wright Brothers? (Who Was?) []  2020-2-7 19:51

    Amazing book, we like it alot!Recommend the adult read the first few pages because a young kid might need a preface regarding skipping class without parent knowing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Beatles? (Who Was?) []  2020-2-7 20:4

    I got a couple of copies for grandchildren. My grand daughter read it in one sitting. She is an advanced (of course) 8 year old reader. I saw the Beatles in 1964, and my grandchildren know the music, so I wish them to know more about their history. I also ordered several other books in this line (Einstein, Jane Goodall) and they are a amazing method to obtain children interested in people and history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Beatles? (Who Was?) []  2020-2-7 20:4

    As usual these books are great. My children learn a lot reading those while me and I know other parents read them too. In this particular case, I learnt a lot about The Beatles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    After a miserable experience with July's Kindle First selection, I was tempted to pass August by. But the title of this book caught my attention, and it was as far removed from historical fiction--or in the latest case, hysterical fiction--as I could lks, this small book was a treasure, a journey sometimes pleasant, sometimes perilous, but always gripping, through a bucolic and almost too-good-to-be-true fictitious suburban enclave just outside the very true metropolis of Charlotte, NC. I can attest to the landscape's atmosphere conjured in deft, often lyrical prose by the author--I've been there and seen that back in the day, and it's true enough. Without trying, I believe you can actually smell the chlorine, hot asphalt, chop grass, and hear the sounds of children at the pool, amplified by the concrete surround and the humid, breathless sides the setting, which in the author's hands is a hero on its own, we see this little globe through the shifting viewpoints of kids and adults. Normally I'm not a fan of a multiplicity of such viewpoints from so a lot of characters, but this time it worked for me. I found the important distinction between the adult women, Jencey, Zell, and Bryte, and the adult men, Lance and Everett, for example; they each had a voice, and each had secrets that colourful those voices. Above all is Cailey, who sees more that summer than she wants to see and hears things she shouldn’t, and tries to understand. She speaks honestly, as a child, and not a miniature adult. That is difficult to portray with skill, I think.I thought at first that the problem of “secrets” might mean this story would have something of the ominous thriller about it, but no. Not all secrets are scary, and not all lies are harmful. Yet there is enough here in the memories of the characters and in their intertwined lives during this particular early summer to hold the reader engaged. Don’t expect these short chapters that build towards a satisfying but in some ways unexpected conclusion to barrel along like a runaway train, leaving you exhausted in its wake. Instead the chapters and their resident characters will tug you gently at first, and then more insistently, until you obtain where you’re going. I think you will truly have fun the trip.And Cailey… well, she is quite special.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    Rating 4.5/5.0The story starts at the beginning of the summer in a little neighborhood. Everybody is getting ready to go to the neighborhood's pool. This summer something happens there that interconnects various families' stories and issues in an interesting way. The nice thing about what the author did is that she gave us the various families' stories from the various characters perspectives. Loved how the characters felt detailed and deep except for the names which take a while to hold recognizing who is who as there are multiple main characters in this book. Then I have noticed that the only hero that the author wrote in first person was Cailey. Maybe that was the main hero because lots of events/secrets unfold because of e incident in the pool has happened in true life in the author's neighborhood as she mentioned it in the book and she used it very nicely to connect all the various stories. There is everything here, romance, kindness, evilness, betrayal, suspense and so a lot of other things. There is a bit of everything here but everything is added appropriately. Nothing feels over the my opinion this book is highly recommended because it is not just stories but also some necessary life lessons that anybody could benefit from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    This book was written from the perspective of various characters, so each chapter was a character. Some of the names were odd, so that took some getting used to as far as sorting them in my mind, but once I got it, it was fine. The story centers around an incident that happened at the neighborhood pool in the summer and how that brought the characters into each other's lives in ways they never thought. The more I got into the book, the more intrigued I became with the story and was really wanting to know where it was going to lead. There were some plot twists that I appreciated and I liked how one of the hero advantage points was from a preteen girl. The author did a amazing job at fleshing out the characters and you really did feel for and care for each and every one of them. It was the excellent length to obtain the story told in a fast manner without feeling rushed and there weren't any plot holes that I could see. It was a very enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? (Who Was?) []  2020-1-16 7:28

    I bought this book to support students research for a black history month project. It has a lot of amazing info for intermediate readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? (Who Was?) []  2020-1-16 7:28

    Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Beatles? (Who Was--?) []  2020-1-16 8:59

    My son loves the Beatles and loved learning more about them. I read aloud to him in first grade bc it was a small lengthy and a bit hard for him. But second graders and up could handle this book easily.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Night You Were Born []  2020-1-16 9:24

    While I was pregnant my husband and I had a tradition going in which he would read a book every Tues/Thurs to my belly since he was across the country for work, so that the baby would become familiar with his voice. So when our baby was born 6 weeks early and had to spend some time in the NICU my husband created sure to read to him (in person of course) on the night after he was born and this was the book I had chosen for that moment and I have absolutely no regrets doing so! It was truly a unique moment watching my husband read this to our baby in the NICU.Ultimately this was a very unbelievable book. So very sweet and memorable in telling a story to your kid of how very unique and loved he or she is. The artwork in this book flows beautifully throughout. I will most likely a hard copy of this book rather than just having it just on my kindle. Its truly a book we will hold with us for years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones: A Novel []  2020-1-28 23:31

    I've already posted my review on Goodreads, but I'll post it on Amazon rst off, thank you Penguin-Viking for allowing me to read this attractive ARC. I've been given this ARC for my honest e following review is my mere opinion. I will begin with the dislikes, move on to the likes, and my own private thoughts.What did I dislike about this novel?Absolutely NOTHING.What did I like about this novel?1. The characters. Even though I know it's based on a real story, I enjoyed the characters.2. It created me cry, laugh, and cry a ton.3. Finding out more about what the Jewish community really went through in to survive.4. Well-written. Hats off to Mrs. Hunter. I'm an instant fan.5. The careful research that went into making this a novel.6. The patience Mrs. Hunter must have had. Not a lot of writers wish to talk about their family's history. It takes so much time to research and fact-check. Kudos to Mrs. Hunter.7. The ending and the acknowledgement. For the first time, I feel completely happy and that's hard to for my private thoughts.What are you waiting for? Go this book already! It will create you laugh, cry, cry some more and it will hold you on the edge of your seat. I won't give anything away. You have to be willing to have a box of tissues nearby. It also makes me thing of my ancestors. What they went through to create it this far. Would I ever write about my family's history? No. I don't have the patience. We cannot deny the painful part of our prior history. We need to learn from it and do better as each generation passes. I cried, I honestly did. It created my stomach churn and drop. But this is a book about sacrifice and love. I know as a mother, I would do anything to save my children. But this family is simply remarkable. Yeah, maybe some parts were dramatized but Mrs. Hunter took me there. I could imagine the horrors her family went through. If this book doesn't create you feel something, I don't know what else to tell you. I plan on buying this book on hardcover and it will remain a treasure for the rest of my life. What we need is a whole lot more love in this globe and a lot less hate. Thank you, Mrs. Hunter. Bless you and your attractive family. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for sharing your story. I'm sure it was painful for her to write this. I could only imagine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones: A Novel []  2020-1-28 23:31

    The daughter of survivors, I have been hearing Holocaust stories since the time I could parents’ stories, also set in Poland (Tarnopol & Oswiecim), are remarkably related to the happenings depicted in Georgia Hunter’s, We Were The Lucky Ones. The difference, however, is in this particular family’s fortune to survive… intact!A brilliant narrative and haunting retrospective, We Were The Lucky Ones transported me to a put and time, connecting me with the stories that not only permeated my childhood, but which also shaped my existence. Devouring each word, I held my breath, I cried and I rejoiced with the Kurc Family, thanking the author not only for this glimpse into her family’s history, but also for a glimpse into mine. Pictured Above: The Rosenfelds (my mom on left), Tarnopol, Pre-Ghetto.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Were the Twin Towers? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 1:56

    This whole series of books is just wonderful. Pick a subject that your kid is or might be inteterested in and these books draw them right in. My son has been reading them since second grade (end of third now) and he still anxiously awaits them as I new. They are by far his favorite series and in my opinion so much better than the other silly/gross/obnoxious series out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Were the Twin Towers? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 1:56

    my children all love the who/what was series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If The Dentist Were An Animal []  2020-1-23 1:54

    My children absolutley love this book! It is so fun, and my children laugh out loud. I love that it rhymes so it is fun to read. Perfect for children that have any fears, talks about how the dentist cares about keeping you healthy. My daughter was very excited about the activities and chart in the back!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were The Three Stooges? (Who Was?) []  2020-1-25 13:53

    My son loves these books. Glad we found them at such a amazing price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Beatles? (Who Was?) []  2020-2-7 20:4

    I bought this book for my 7 year old daughter. She loves the Beatles music, and knows only what I choose to tell her about their private lives. She does not need to be told about the battle in Vietnam, protesters, or the death of Martin Luther King. She does not need to be told of the Beatles drug use. She does not need to know that John Lennon was murdered. I will teach her of these things when the time is right for it. I had hoped that this book wasabout how four easy young men from Liverpool became one of the greatest musical acts of our age. An inspiration for my young musician daughter. Sorry to say it falls short of that goal. Not recommended for kids!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Beatles? (Who Was?) []  2020-2-7 20:4

    I bought these for my third grade classroom. They are amazing for the biography genre and then to use for report writing. The three years I've used them so far the children LOVED them. Simple for their reading levels, informative, and people they have heard of in their lives. They would read their own and then read other that they had heard of. Could have left these books out 1/2 year and they would have still been reading them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Wright Brothers? (Who Was?) []  2020-2-7 19:51

    I bought this for our 5th grader for a book report. It I think is for younger readers. I am sending it back as the cover was creased. The book is for about 3-4th graders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Wright Brothers? (Who Was?) []  2020-2-7 19:51

    Amazing books for children who wish to learn about historical people/events.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Wright Brothers? (Who Was?) []  2020-2-7 19:51

    The series of Who Was/Were is amazing for children with a desire to know more about history. We've given at least 23 of the series to our 8 yr. old grandson. He devours them and then follows up with more questions. What a blessing for young minds...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    I picked this book as my August Kindle First read. Without giving anything away, I will test to review the e story is told through multiple POV chapters of characters living in a close-knit suburban city - some of whom have never left and others who have had to return after years of being away. The chapters are short, slowly building up the story from different perspectives, and effectively ease the reader into the underlying mystery of the city and leave you wanting to hold reading the book to search out exactly what is going on. The characters are 3-dimensional, and their chapters noticeably differ in tone and writing style. I have been disappointed with some of the Kindle First books I've selected in the past because the writing was too bland and predictable, and amazing writing is very necessary to me. This book was well-written, pleasant, and a nice fast read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    According to the description, this is a book about secrets. There ARE secrets in the middle-class enclave of Sycamore Glen, NC. Old ones and newer ones; necessary and trivial. Some are deep, dark secrets and some are the kind of secrets that people think they've kept under wraps until something happens that makes them realize that everyone knew all along. The smooth surface of social intercourse must be maintained and sometimes pretending not to message what's right in front of your nose is the only thing to do.But it seems to me that on a deeper level it's a book about loss. The losses that all of us sustain as we go through life and must with as best we can. There are inevitable losses that creep up so quietly we don't see them coming and couldn't do anything about it if we did. Sometimes (ironically) our losses are a effect of getting what we hoped and worked for. Bryte has longed to be a mother, but her achievement of that status brings an end to the freedom and satisfactions of her career. Zell and her husband have worked and sacrificed for years to raise their kids and create them independent adults. Now they can have fun their well-earned "Golden Years" but Zell has a sense of emptiness and would give anything to go back to the chaos of a young family. Be careful what you want ere are the unspeakable losses that we know CAN happen. The end of a marriage. The death of a spouse or child. A severe, life-changing illness. We create bargains with God and do all the right things. I will eat a healthy diet, exercise, a vehicle with a amazing safety rating, and never, ever allow my kids out of my sight. All worthwhile precautions, but then a shocking accident at the community pool reminds everyone that even the most stringent precautions don't always stave off tragedy.And there are losses that take us completely off guard. Police. Lawyers. Embarrassed mates and neighbors. The sense that "things like this don't happen to people like us." Two women in Sycamore Glen have men in prison. One has a family and powerful help system. One doesn't. Is loss easier if you've never known anything else or harder if you had a lot to lose?What struck me forcibly was the lack of complacency. These women know that they lead enviable lives. They cling to what they have and test to deserve it. They are "good people." They look after each others' children and walk the elderly neighbors' dogs. In a time of crisis, they even reach out to the neighborhood undesirables - the renters in the run-down house they call "the eyesore." It's awkward, but they do it. God love 'is is very much a "woman's book" although one of the main characters is a man whose wife deserted him and their children. Typically, he gets much more sympathy and support than would be extended to a woman in the same situation. All woman believe that men are really the weak, helpless ones and men take full advantage of that 's also a very Southern book. The younger women sometimes lapse into "you guys" but they also say "a gracious plenty" and pepper their conversations with the polite Southern woman's disclaimer, "if you ask me." The nights are hot and the days are hotter and comfort meal is a tomato sandwich on squishy white bread with lots of mayonnaise. Even the author's name is a tip-off. I grew up with Marybeths and Mary Lous and Mary Sues and Mary Carolines, but never a plain Mary. Southerners are amazing for embellishment. If you can't create something better, at least you can beautiful it up. Sometimes it's a bit self-conscious in a "we're-Southern-aren't-we-cute way" but mostly it rings true.I enjoyed this book. Some of the people and the situations are cliches, but cliches and stereotypes exist because there's some truth in them. While we all feel unique, there are only so a lot of human possibilities. The teen queen whose adult life disappoints her. The shy wallflower who blossoms into a beauty but lacks confidence. The old people who envy the young ones' full lives and the young people who envy the old folk's freedom and financial security. The men and women who fall in love and don't live happily ever after. The misfits who create us uneasy and fearful. The losers who irritate us by making the same mistakes over and over. These are real, recognizable is isn't a excellent book. Sometimes the author makes her points a small too carefully. Ideally, the characters should tell the story and the reader should interpret it. Still, the author made a cast of characters and created me wish to finish the book and search out what happens to them. Isn't that what fiction is all about?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Things We Wish Were True [Book]  2018-1-25 18:0

    The Things We Want Were Real is the ideal novel to end your summer. Packed with intriguing characters of all ages, each keeping his or her own secret, I flew through this fast-paced fresh release. Stretching from Memorial Day to Labor Day, the plot centers around a neighborhood pool in the Sycamore Glen subdivision of Matthews, North Carolina. As old mates are reunited and fresh friendships are formed, enough drama transpires in these 290 pages to hold you reading well into the night. The story unfolds one layer at a time as Whalen reveals her complicated plot with all its twists and turns. She leaves no strings a dangling. And you know how much I like my plots wrapped up tight with a beautiful ribbon on top. Sycamore Glen could be any neighborhood in any little city across America. And the characters could be your neighbors and your friends. Whalen left me wanting more from this cast. What say, Ms. Whalen? Should we be on the lookout for a sequel?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones: A Novel []  2020-1-28 23:31

    Maybe I wasn’t paying enough attention up front, but when I embarked upon this book I was expecting to read a story that would have fallen into the genre of “historical fiction,” i.e. a fictional acc of a fictional family told versus the backdrop of the all-too-real canvas of Globe Battle II. What I got instead was the astounding, near unbelievable, TRUE acc of a Polish-Jewish family’s miraculous survival during this darkest time in human history. It is not until the epilogue/“Author’s Note” that we learn that the author’s Grandfather was in fact one of the main characters in her remarkable e author acknowledges that her family elders, quite understandably so, were not eager to discuss the horrors of their past. Given the sparsity of info that were handed down to her, I imagine that a amazing amount of this epic tale can be chalked up to poetic license, so to speak, and that the writing of this tome entailed a amazing of “fleshing out” of a very skeletal handed-down (and oftentimes not first-hand) account. Nevertheless, the essence of this tale is true, and nothing short of miraculous, awe-inspiring and, indeed, e protagonists here are Sol and Nechuma Kurc, their five young-adult kids and their respective spouses. The story unfolds all over the far-flung corners of the world during and after the Second Globe War: Poland, France, Siberia, Palestine, Argentina and, lastly, the United States. (Keeping track of the a lot of main characters may have been a bit unwieldy, but the author handily provides a family tree at the book’s beginning, which I found myself consulting time after time.)The aspects of this story that moved me most deeply were:First, one cannot read this book without being struck by the perseverance and determination of the family members to provide for one another and simply to survive at the most elemental level during times of starvation, extreme weather, persecution and all the other privations of war-torn Europe. To say that We Were the Lucky Ones is a testament to the human spirit is to state the cond, the love this family held for one another and the cohesiveness of the family unit – especially when all else was lost – was something that really touched me. There is a not-so-very subtle notice here about what matters most in life. The instances of self-sacrifice (Halina for her parents and Mila for her daughter, to name just a couple) are particularly ird, the family, having immigrated to the Unites States immediately post-war, created the utmost of their lives here, all going on to become successful in their chosen spheres. It strikes me that, as clichéd as it may sound, America is truly the land of opportunity for those who are willing to create it happen. As an American whose own Grandparents came here from Europe, I have to say that the author’s choice to bring this out brought a lump to my throat.I don’t know if it’s even possible to describe a Holocaust story as having a satisfied ending, but if it is at all possible – considering the devastating losses to the globe and to humanity at huge - this family’s story had one. In fact, the book lightly touches upon the concept of survivor’s guilt: Toward the end of the book one of the characters muses about how none of them should have survived, and yet (against the odds) all of them did. They were the lucky ones….A word about the unspeakably brave souls who harbored the hunted: people like Halina’s boss who was willing to vouch for her (on more than one occasion), or like the peasant family who hid Sol and Nachuma behind a false wall in their home, or the Mother Superior who ran an orphanage and who was willing to accept the falsehood that small Felicia was “Aryan” in to spare her life. To paraphrase a sentiment of Anne Frank’s: despite everything, there truly are amazing people in this world. In a globe gone mad, these courageous individuals are real e sanctity of life and the belief that life is something worth fighting for are not fresh concepts to Holocaust literature. This book ranks right up there with the best in the lessons it has to l in all, edge-of-your-seat story-telling, with an extremely poignant ending. Definitely recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We Were the Lucky Ones: A Novel []  2020-1-28 23:31

    400+ pages read in just 3 days.... yes it is that good. Such perseverance to survive versus insurmountable odds .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Wright Brothers? (Who Was?) []  2020-2-7 19:51

    As I have stated before I love this line of books. I use them in tutoring sessions for children who need support in reading. They are very high interest and are amazing for learning vocabulary, since a lot of words are defined within the context of the sentences. Lots of interesting facts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Wright Brothers? (Who Was?) []  2020-2-7 19:51

    I purchased this book for my son who was behind in school with his reading. The book cover with what looks like bobble heads got his attention. He is in the 3rd grade and finds this reading easier for him to understand while learning about our history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Beatles? (Who Was?) []  2020-2-7 20:4

    My son read this book and is now quizzing our family on Beatles facts and playing Beatles songs nonstop on the Alexa. His favorite song is Maxwell’s Silver Hammer and I’m wondering if I should be concerned since I’m his teacher. This book caused the Beatles to become my 8 year old’s favorite band.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Beatles? (Who Was?) []  2020-2-7 20:4

    My son loves the Beatles and loved learning more about them. I read aloud to him in first grade bc it was a small lengthy and a bit hard for him. But second graders and up could handle this book easily.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Were the Roaring Twenties? (What Was?) []  2020-2-12 21:44

    LOVE THESE BOOKS, I OWN ALMOST EVERY ONE THAT'S BEEN PRINTED AND I ALWAYS PRE-ORDER THEM WHEN I CAN.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Were the Roaring Twenties? (What Was?) []  2020-2-12 21:44

    My son loves this series. He has yet to read one

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Were the Twin Towers? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 1:56

    I think this book should be read by 8+ because some times in it has scary elements in the book. I also it is a very amazing book I think other people would loveit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Were the Twin Towers? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 1:56

    I read this out-loud with my 8 and 10 year-old children. It is very thorough and well-written with interesting facts both for someone who lived through the happenings of 9/11 and as "history" for my kids. The book starts from the beginning with the conception and building of the Twin Turrets and only the latest few chapters cover 9/11 and its aftermath. This may seem to trivialize it, but actually knowing the complete history of the buildings reinforced their importance and the significance of the attacks. The author handles 9/11 sensitively but the topic matter is still intense (I cried while reading it) so I'm glad I was there to respond the questions it raised for my kids. I am thankful there are books like these available-this one really brought history to life for my children and was an awesome tool to support us remember on the anniversary of this tragedy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were The Three Stooges? (Who Was?) []  2020-1-25 13:53

    Another bio that does not disappoint. The series is a unbelievable method for children to learn about a dozens of people - my family really loves the whole series. Of course Dad loves the fact the children now wish to watch the show.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? (Who Was?) []  2020-1-16 7:28

    African American History is something not taught much in school, so I love these books as a learning tool. No matter the age of your kid (even ones older than the target age) they can learn from these books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Tuskegee Airmen? (Who Was?) []  2020-1-16 7:28

    Amazing book. My grandson really enjoyed it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Beatles? (Who Was--?) []  2020-1-16 8:59

    This series is amazing to introduce children to historic and culturally significant personages. Excellent especially for a Beatles-obsessed third grader! It actually created him interested in reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Were the Beatles? (Who Was--?) []  2020-1-16 8:59

    I bought these for my third grade classroom. They are amazing for the biography genre and then to use for report writing. The three years I've used them so far the children LOVED them. Simple for their reading levels, informative, and people they have heard of in their lives. They would read their own and then read other that they had heard of. Could have left these books out 1/2 year and they would have still been reading them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Night You Were Born []  2020-1-16 9:24

    Sentimental notice of love and that your kid is unique and valued. My 2 year old son loves the illustrations (which are beautiful) and looking at the babies and animals, naming the bear, birds, frogs, bugs, ducks, etc. It is short but not too short, and has a nice story time rhythm for those months when your kid is very little and too young to know any better than to snuggle in your arms and listen to the story in its entirety. I do believe this book grows with your kid in that the images are of interest for older toddlers. You hope that they notice sinks in with them because it is a amazing one of how everyone celebrated on the night they were born, and that they will be celebrated for who they are forever. Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Night You Were Born []  2020-1-16 9:24

    I have bought this book as a part of every baby bonus I have given for the past few years. The day the baby is born, I write their full name, time and put of birth on the inside of it. My mate also stamped her son's foot on the inside of ere is something unique about this book that portrays the method that people feel about their kids entering the world. As an aunt and Godmother, I obtain this overwhelming feeling so it must be 1,000 times stronger for 's a unbelievable book for expecting parents, but also for parents who's kids are grown and entering various stages of life (college, marriage or child-raising of their own).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If The Dentist Were An Animal []  2020-1-23 1:54

    Absolutely adorable book! My children love it and always wish to flip back the pages to look at the cute illustrations longer. I love it because it is educational as well and teaches them to brush and floss everyday. The activities at the back are a fun bonus! I created copies so all my children could do them and I didn’t have to write in the book!!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386