Read the tables have turned reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the tables have turned reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tables Have Turned []  2021-4-7 23:38

    I am a sucker for these shows. This season is just as amazing as latest season.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tables Have Turned []  2021-4-7 23:38

    Watch a couple episodes, then test to stop. Its surprisingly difficult. They're like Pringles, if anyone still knows that reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tables Have Turned []  2021-4-7 23:38

    This is a very entertaining reality show. I am never taking my girl on temptation island. Hell. No.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the tables have turned or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tables Have Turned []  2021-4-7 23:38

    Drama, love, intrigue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tables Have Turned []  2021-4-7 23:38

    ...because this is an uninteresting season. Disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We'll Always Have Summer (The Summer I Turned Pretty) []  2020-2-7 20:2

    First read 5 cond read 3.I remember really liking this series when I read it the first time. I read all 3 books in one day. After finishing this series, I'm like wtf was I thinking?Belly is annoying AF. In my opinion, she doesn't deserve Conrad or Jeremiah and I also don't think either of them deserve her either. The whole third book I wanted to punch all 3 of them. THEY'RE ALL IDIOTS. At this point in the book, Jeremiah and Conrad are around 21 and I feel like they should be more mature and not create such idiotic decisions, BUT WHAT DO I KNOW.I had to force myself through this 3rd book because I had to see if it would change my mind about the series in the end. It didn'rtly, could be because I have outgrown books like these, but I think that the series was just a small sloppy.Whatevs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We'll Always Have Summer (The Summer I Turned Pretty) []  2020-2-7 20:2

    I’m unsure how I feel about the ending to this trilogy. I can’t explain it either bc I’d be spoiling a lot.... idk. Just feeling allow down. I wanted a huge grand ending and I just feel like the ending literally fizzled out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We'll Always Have Summer (The Summer I Turned Pretty) []  2020-2-7 20:2

    *Review posted on Mundie Moms on 8/18/2016*This is the third book in the Summer I Turned Beautiful series, and it finds Belly aging two years to the summer after her freshman year in college. While I spent the first book wondering if Belly would end up with either Jeremiah or Conrad, and book two wondering if Conrad could be a bigger butthead, this book left me wondering if either Fisher boy was right for Belly.Right away you obtain the idea that lighthearted, happy-go-lucky Jeremiah may not be the ideal match for our yes, still very, very, very naive (to the nth power) Belly. There are obvious tips that he's a party boy, maybe too involved in his frat and not so involved in his academic pursuits. But, Belly brushes all that off until THE ONE THING THAT HAPPENS (I know I promised I was going to test to hold it as spoiler free as possible, but it's so hard because this is the third book in the series). While, Belly tried to reconcile this ONE THING, her best friend, Taylor (yes, the very one who was on the outs in the previous book) became her voice of reason and best supporter. I grew to adore Taylor's dedication to party planning, friendship and choosing all the right accessories. It almost created me forget that ONE THING.But sadly, the ONE THING led Belly and Jeremiah down a plot that left me, frankly, eye-rolly. It became a very predictable and plodding cliche. I found myself desperate for the slightest mention of Conrad, who appeared at moments when I thought I may just give up on this series. But, I plowed on, and I'm glad I did. In this latest installment, it is very obvious that Conrad matured the most out of all the characters. He finally seemed to have direction, and the angst (understandable with the method his father treated his mother, their inevitable divorce and the return of her cancer) he felt in books one and two had dissipated. What was left was a guy who cared for his brother, and even above that, he cared for Belly. He reminded me of my very favorite, literary character -- Mr. Darcy. He was proud, stubborn, but in the end, he acquiesced and did the right thing. His hero arc bumped the book from 2.5-3 stars back up to a solid was the ending? It was logical and everything that I wanted it to be, at least in that moment. Belly is still far too innocent to be entirely believable. Conrad is very heroic. Jeremiah is flawed, but a goofball. Long term, would either relationship work out for Belly? I'm in the camp that it wouldn't because eventually, Belly would come to a firm understanding of who she is, and that would change the dynamic between her and either boy. Jenny Han does pick a side, and like I mentioned above, it was a good, logical, horribly romantic mmer is still in full swing according to the temps in my neck of the woods. So, a story about a girl and two boys she sees only over summers accompanies this August heatwave nicely. Pick up the series and come back here to allow me know your thoughts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We'll Always Have Summer (The Summer I Turned Pretty) []  2020-2-7 20:2

    *Review includes spoilers*Out of all the series/trilogies that I have ever read so far, this trilogy is probably my least favorite. I have heard this trilogy was beautiful famous so I thought I would give it a shot but in the end it left me beautiful disappointed and bored. I didn't fall in love with the main character/s like I usually the latest book, I thought that Belly was stupid for forgiving Jeremiah so easily because of the mistake he created and accepting his proposal. I didn't feel like they were in love or mature enough to obtain married. Jeremiah seemed like a various person in the latest book. I felt like he wasn't the same sweet and caring boy; instead he was somewhat of a jerk, immature, and a frat boy. It was in this book that I understood Conrad and started to take a liking to him. I'm actually glad that Belly didn't end up marrying Jeremiah and married Conrad in the future instead. Even if Conrad kept pushing Belly away, he was always the more mature and smarter one that Belly should end up with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We'll Always Have Summer (The Summer I Turned Pretty) []  2020-2-7 20:2

    SPOILERS AHEAD!!!!!!On some levels, this series was very well written and very touching. There were moments when I got very choked up and moments when I could really relate to the characters, their experiences, and what they were going through lly, (the main character) is in love with two brothers (Conrad and Jeremiah) who she grows up vacationing with every summer as a kid. Belly’s hero is so beyond annoying in so a lot of ways, you just wish to scream. She spends 3 books going back and forth between the two brothers which, by the way, seemed really unhealthy and super dysfunctional to me! The brothers also stomp on her heart so a lot of times it’s excruciating to read and beautiful wonderful that they would do that to a girl so close to them and who they say is almost like a “sister” to ere’s method too much to explain here, but basically, Belly spends her life pining away for Conrad who is beautiful much a remote, closed off jerk to her throughout the entire series but is supposedly “in love with her.” You never really obtain any of those delicious personal moments between the two of them to really illustrate that he’s so irrevocably in love with her, or any of those “tingly” moments that create all of the angst worth it. It’s all of the angsty build up, and in my opinion, none of the juicy reward. Everything is described after the fact in flashbacks described by the characters, and not always described well! Even at the end of the series, when she finally ends up with him, after 3 entire books of reading and waiting and playing the will they or won’t they game, you never obtain a huge moment. They obtain together through a series of letters at the end (3 lousy letters I think it was!!!) and then you read about them running away from their wedding to jump in the pool at the summer house the grew up going is series is so unfulfilling and unsatisfying as a reader, it’s actually maddening!! I feel like I’ve been duped! I hate when I can tell that the author just had no idea how to wrap things up and just abruptly ends a three book series like this! You don’t ever obtain to see the main characters finally professing their love or come together after page after page of [email protected]#$%!&?’s like a slap in the face!I’m trying to save you a lot of frustration with this review, I want I had saved my time and money!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We'll Always Have Summer (The Summer I Turned Pretty) []  2020-2-7 20:2

    I didn't dislike anything in this book. That never really happens for me, even with my favorite books, so take that as a clue and HOLY S*** go read this book!(Yes, I'm still reeling from how amazing it was.)Belly, the Protagonist - Admittedly, when I first started the trilogy with The Summer I Turned Pretty, I thought Belly was rather childish... but that served a purpose. With the sequel, It's Not Summer Without You, she grew, and man, she was grown up here. I could finally relate to her in full -- well, except for the decisions she was having to make. All in all, I've loved seeing the method she's been developed as a e Other Characters - Where would the Summer series be without the admirable cast of characters? I used to dislike Conrad because I was (duh) siding with Belly and thought that he was such a jerk, but even Conrad gets a thumbs up from me. All the characters were just as wonderfully complex as e Romance - This book just proves that, despite the trends in latest YA novels, one does not need to meet a paranormal monster to have such amazing chemistry and memorable romance :).The Writing - One thing I have always loved about the Summer series was the writing. It's so simple, so fluid that you slip into Belly's globe effortlessly. And if you're like me, you'll realize you haven't place the book down for one second--it's just that e Beginning - Man, Jenny Han knew how to begin with this one off. I'd say she didn't even need that first page--an excerpt from later--because those first chapters? Packed with tension. They were short and to the point, and I just couldn't wait to search out what was going to happen e Pacing - As I hinted at earlier, not once did I feel bored; the pacing was done really well, keeping me hooked without having annoying cliff-hangers at the end of every nthesizing Time - One of the best parts of this series was Jenny Han's synthesis of time--past, present, and future. I loved the symbolism, loved all the memories and the things they revealed about the characters. Her memories never break up the e Setting - Cousins Beach is just as fitting for this novel as it had been for the others. It's awesome how much this one put could not only represent the time but also the characters, the tone, and the progression of the novel. Like the waves there are ready to pull you in ;) and never allow you go. [-insertion of the cheesy metaphor-]The Idea - Because really? I don't know about you guys, but I don't generally have fun love triangles. They always seem to bother me, but that's not the case here. I didn't have family mates like that as I grew up, but boy, Belly makes me want I did. Excellent escapism. Fun, flirty, and complete. Beach book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We'll Always Have Summer (The Summer I Turned Pretty) []  2020-2-7 20:2

    Minor Spoilers....OMG...This series is incredible! Allow me begin off by saying you need to read the books in order to really understand each hero of the book. Each book as been about the same people essentially through the course of about ten years with flash backs going even farther back. You can read this book by itself but I don't think you can really understand the emotions each hero has as well without reading the other though I love this book there were a couple of things I didn't like. First, I felt Jeremiah's hero was a small various than in the other books. I know that he is getting older but at times he came off as a jerk. Too me that just wasn't his personality. Conrad was always the one with a small attitude. Secondly, I really thought Belly's reaction to the cheating was very short lived. I might be vastly various from a lot of other woman but it would definitely take me more than a couple days and an out of the blue proposal to obtain me to forget. After Jeremiah proposes, it's almost as if she hardly thinks about his cheating again. That would haunt me if it happened to me. Lastly, I really didn't search the method her mother behaved very believable. I understand that she didn't approve and thought they were too young but realistically did she think not being a part of the wedding would change anything? This is probably me being picky though on the mom. I just really thought she was overreacting. As soon as she saw they were serious and still going forward with the wedding she should have given in a small instead of Conrad having to go and talk her into going to the shower.On to the things I loved! This ending was exactly as it should be. Exactly the method I wanted it to end from book one. I don't think that anything more could have been added to create me sigh in contentment at the ending more than I did. I really enjoyed the glimpses into Conrad's side of the story. I would have loved to have read even more but I am content with the small there was. lol...I found myself grinning through parts of this book because I was so excited to be reading the ending. We finally obtain to see where Belly's life ends up and who with.If you are looking for a series that is not too massive (although the first book DID create me cry) this is the series for you. As far as content goes, they are relatively clean. There are a few cuss words but not anything compared to a lot of YA books now. A guess would be maybe five in this book. It does mention but does not have any scenes. I would say age wise 16yrs and up but I tend to be a small more conservative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We'll Always Have Summer (The Summer I Turned Pretty) []  2020-2-7 20:2

    Belly has loved two boys in her life: Conrad and Jeremiah Fisher. Conrad was her first love and the first boy to break her heart. Jeremiah was the one who was there to pick up the the two years since, Jeremiah has been the excellent boyfriend. He's fun, he's dependable, and he has always loved Belly. But is that enough to build an entire future on?Conrad knows he created a mistake when he pushed Belly away. He knew it even as he pushed harder. When Belly and Jeremiah announce their engagement, Conrad realizes that time is running out if he wants to test to victory Belly e Fisher boys have been part of Belly's life forever. She never imagined that in choosing one of them she might have to break the other's heart in We'll Always Have Summer (2011) by Jenny Han.We'll Always Have Summer is the final book in Han's Summer trilogy which begins with The Summer I Turned Beautiful and continues in It's Not Summer Without is book is narrated by Belly with a few chapters from Conrad. My only complaint is I want we had more from him because it was so fascinating to finally see things from his point of ter Jeremiah won me over in book two, I wasn't sure what to expect for the end of the trilogy. That I couldn't decide how I wanted this love triangle to shake out speaks volumes to Jenny Han's strengths as an author and how well-developed all of these characters become by the end of the series.I always know I'm enjoying a series when it becomes impossible to choose a favorite book. I loved meeting these characters in book one, and I loved the method book two flipped everything I thought I knew upside down. But it might be this final book that has become my favorite as I think about the method things finally come together for Belly.We'll Always Have Summer is the excellent conclusion to what's become a surprise favorite series. Come for the swoony romance and suspenseful love triangle, stay for the sweet ode to summer and growing up. A highly recommended series.Possible Pairings: Stay Sweet by Siobhan Vivian, Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum, Love and Other Perishable Items by Laura Buzo, Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen, I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo, Nantucket Blue by Leila Howland, The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder, The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart, Save the Date by Morgan Matson, When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon,Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We'll Always Have Summer (The Summer I Turned Pretty) []  2020-2-7 20:2

    Bought this for my daughter after she finished the "to all the boys...." series since she loved that one so much. She says this series is beautiful different, a small more drama. She liked "to all the boys..." series better. She did finish the whole series of this one though, but the first book in this series she says was the best one out of all of them. She is 14.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    We'll Always Have Summer (The Summer I Turned Pretty) []  2020-2-7 20:2

    I purchased this series because I enjoyed the first book. However, the series just got worse and worse. This book is drawn out, method to slow moving… each chapter is basically the same as the last. Not worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2021-1-7 21:16

    I had the wrong expectations for this series. I had really loved the "To All the Boys I've Loved Before," series and I was expecting another light hearted romance series. This is much darker, and full of teen angst. I am sure it would be amazing if that is what you are looking to read, but at the time I was looking for something to cheer me up. This wasn't the series for that purpose. I would say it is average.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2021-1-7 21:16

    The books came in excellent condition. I was happy to see that there are no defects. I flipped through the books and there doesn’t seem to be any issues, but if there are once I start reading the books, I’ll modernize my review. But I am so satisfied with my purchase

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2021-1-7 21:16

    The first books I read by Jenny growing up, and it did not disappoint. A very fun coming of age romance series. I read it once every few years. Definitely a memorable series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2020-1-30 23:37

    The Summer I Turned Beautiful Trilogy follows a teenager named Belly and her family friends, the Fishers. Belly's Mother, Laurel, and the Fishers mother, Susannah, have been best mates for almost their entire lives. The two families and their kids are all very close, and Susannah, Laurel, Belly, Steven, Conrad, and Jeremiah spend every summer together at the Fishers Beach House in Cousins. Belly’s had a crush on Conrad for most of her life, but Conrad has never felt the same way, until now. Suddenly, both Jeremiah and Conrad possibly have a thing for Belly, leaving Belly trapped in the middle of the two nny Han has a talent for making her YA’s feel so real. Her main characters aren’t teenagers with wisdom beyond their years. They are teens who act like teens. This created me so happy, because I don’t like reading YA’s when the main characters aren't very realistic and don't act anywhere around their age. Plus, Han makes it so simple for you to feel connected to each character. She has a method of making you love them so so much. (And its not because they're perfect, they aren't, they are flawed and they create large mistakes but you love them anyways.)The Characters:Isabel “Belly” Conklin: Isabel is the main character, she goes by Belly, and she cries a lot. Hah, just kidding, only sort of though, because she does cry a lot (along with everyone else - theres a beautiful significant amount of crying in these books - but its not without reason), along with doing a lot of stumbling. Literally, I felt like every other chapter she was running and falling over her own nrad Fisher: Conrad Fisher is passive aggressive at times, acts selfish, hurts others, and has a poor attitude. But despite his major flaws you cant support but love him a ton. I personally similar to Conrad the remiah Fisher: Jer is the amazing guy. He is honestly such a genuine sweetheart. He is kind and warm and loving and fun while still funny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2020-1-30 23:37

    I really liked the Netflix movie To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. So, I thought I’d test this series from the same author. I’m not a fan of her writing style at all in this series. I only read the first book. It was boring and not what I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2020-1-30 23:37

    Si lo que estás buscando es la bonita caja y portadas de los libros, con esta tienda no lo compre! Yo lo compré precisamente porque quería la caja y las portadas de esa edición, y lo que me llegó es completamente diferente. La calidad no se ve tan buena y los libros no se ven tan llamativos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2020-1-30 23:37

    Well allow me begin out by telling you my daughter has to be hooked on a book to touch it. well this series is a huge one for her. She HAD to have it. Then once she got them it was like pulling teeth getting her away from them to do anything. Mind you she does not normally read. She is one that would rather take a 0 in school than read a book she don't like.But this collection of "The Complete Summer" she loves and rereads the series All the time.I always walk in her room when I message she hasn't came out in a bit and there she is rereading them. She says no matter how may times she reads them she is always reading something fresh she didn't remember from if she loves the series and can read them like this then I HAVE to recommend them to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2020-1-30 23:37

    Absolutely the best series I've read in quite refreshing to read three books & not be assaulted by violence or filth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2021-1-7 21:16

    The Summer I Turned Beautiful Trilogy follows a teenager named Belly and her family friends, the Fishers. Belly's Mother, Laurel, and the Fishers mother, Susannah, have been best mates for almost their entire lives. The two families and their kids are all very close, and Susannah, Laurel, Belly, Steven, Conrad, and Jeremiah spend every summer together at the Fishers Beach House in Cousins. Belly’s had a crush on Conrad for most of her life, but Conrad has never felt the same way, until now. Suddenly, both Jeremiah and Conrad possibly have a thing for Belly, leaving Belly trapped in the middle of the two nny Han has a talent for making her YA’s feel so real. Her main characters aren’t teenagers with wisdom beyond their years. They are teens who act like teens. This created me so happy, because I don’t like reading YA’s when the main characters aren't very realistic and don't act anywhere around their age. Plus, Han makes it so simple for you to feel connected to each character. She has a method of making you love them so so much. (And its not because they're perfect, they aren't, they are flawed and they create large mistakes but you love them anyways.)The Characters:Isabel “Belly” Conklin: Isabel is the main character, she goes by Belly, and she cries a lot. Hah, just kidding, only sort of though, because she does cry a lot (along with everyone else - theres a beautiful significant amount of crying in these books - but its not without reason), along with doing a lot of stumbling. Literally, I felt like every other chapter she was running and falling over her own nrad Fisher: Conrad Fisher is passive aggressive at times, acts selfish, hurts others, and has a poor attitude. But despite his major flaws you cant support but love him a ton. I personally similar to Conrad the remiah Fisher: Jer is the amazing guy. He is honestly such a genuine sweetheart. He is kind and warm and loving and fun while still funny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2021-1-7 21:16

    I really liked the Netflix movie To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. So, I thought I’d test this series from the same author. I’m not a fan of her writing style at all in this series. I only read the first book. It was boring and not what I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2020-1-30 23:37

    Such a amazing series, I found myself in tears beautiful much every chapter. I love reading and these books got me hooked! Belly is such a relatable character, an average teenage girl in love. The books referenced songs and things that I loved personally. Each hero has traits that are simple to fall in love with or completely hate. I’m sure I’ll be rereading in the future

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2020-1-30 23:37

    Today's ver of much loved Judy Blume books of the 70s. Absolutely loved this trilogy! Didn't wish it to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2021-1-7 21:16

    My daughter loved it!!! She read the latest one 3 times in a row. She literally devoured the series. I am ordering the to all the boys I loved before series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2021-1-7 21:16

    Absolutely the best series I've read in quite refreshing to read three books & not be assaulted by violence or filth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2020-1-30 23:37

    I received this set about a week prior to ordering. My teenager could not place them down. All 3 books were read in less than two days!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2020-1-30 23:37

    I absolutely loved this series! It took a small while for it to obtain started in the first book but then it took off and I couldn’t obtain enough! Jenny Han is an awesome author who keeps you wanting more!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2021-1-7 21:16

    Such a amazing series, I found myself in tears beautiful much every chapter. I love reading and these books got me hooked! Belly is such a relatable character, an average teenage girl in love. The books referenced songs and things that I loved personally. Each hero has traits that are simple to fall in love with or completely hate. I’m sure I’ll be rereading in the future

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2020-1-30 23:37

    My daughter loved it!!! She read the latest one 3 times in a row. She literally devoured the series. I am ordering the to all the boys I loved before series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2021-1-7 21:16

    Well allow me begin out by telling you my daughter has to be hooked on a book to touch it. well this series is a huge one for her. She HAD to have it. Then once she got them it was like pulling teeth getting her away from them to do anything. Mind you she does not normally read. She is one that would rather take a 0 in school than read a book she don't like.But this collection of "The Complete Summer" she loves and rereads the series All the time.I always walk in her room when I message she hasn't came out in a bit and there she is rereading them. She says no matter how may times she reads them she is always reading something fresh she didn't remember from if she loves the series and can read them like this then I HAVE to recommend them to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Summer I Turned Pretty Trilogy: The Summer I Turned Pretty; It's Not Summer Without You; We'll Always Have Summer []  2021-1-7 21:16

    I received this set about a week prior to ordering. My teenager could not place them down. All 3 books were read in less than two days!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Summer I Turned Pretty []  2020-1-6 18:56

    I read this book after reading Jenny Han's "To All the Boys I've Loved Before" which I adored, but this book really flat in comparison to that one. I found it extremely shallow and to be blunt, a fairly boring story. I still finished it sure, because having read another Han novel I thought maybe there was more to come…not so though it was a short, shallow, easy story it took me a few weeks to obtain through it just because it was dull. Nostalgia factor, eh… hero quality… boring…. overall plot? Already asleep thinking about it. The kindle edition has a preview to the next book in this series, which I didn't realize was series quality, but ok I read it anyway and it was still no better than the original.I would not recommend reading this book, although I finished the book it took me awhile and I was never excited to pick it back up, rather I was excited when it was finally over!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Summer I Turned Pretty []  2020-1-6 18:56

    I read this book for my book club and did not think I would have fun it as much as I did. I read it in two days, I just could not but it down!Belly was a really likeable hero although I did not like Conrad in the 2nd and 3rd and I also did not like Jeremiah in the 3rd either. I really liked them in the first and I loved Susannah the whole method through.I loved this book so much and I really liked the second but the third was not amazing as it dragged on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Summer I Turned Pretty []  2020-1-6 18:56

    This book touched my heart . I've read the whole series twelve times already. The pages are filled with passion,sadness,confusion, and e words are written in the excellent method to have your heart pumping and aching for the same kind of love won't search any other book with the same heartwarming kind of is will create your heart melt away making you keep your breath until the and , then leaves you with more emotions. I highly recommend this compassionate book to anyone with a pink heart.I love this book and ill always will.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Summer I Turned Pretty []  2020-1-6 18:56

    I'm sorry to say I did not love this book. I gave it two stars because I did finish reading it. Otherwise I would have given it one star. The main hero is so amazingly self absorbed and there is such a lack of communication between everyone. No growth in the characters….. I just kept reading thinking it was going to obtain better and things were going to be worked out. Or that it was going to obtain better and it just didn't. I just don't love books that go that route.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Truth Turned Upside Down []  2020-6-23 19:12

    Thoughtfully written story of a highly dysfunctional family. It's not a light read, but it pulls you in. You ache for Lucy and Anne for various reasons. And it speaks to what people carry with them through life that we may never see. Even the feeling of not belonging that most of us walk through life with. This vulnerable and emotional story reminds us that you never know what someone carries through life, and also the power of anyone who is able to shed a history to make a reality for themselves that's fueled by love or something personally spiritual—the journey of life to told through harsh, lonely beginnings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Summer I Turned Pretty []  2020-1-6 18:56

    I just wish to place a disclaimer on this series to allow you know if you are thinking of reading it, it will leave you feeling REALLY dissatisfied in the end. You will read all 3 books waiting for the ending that will never come...or it comes in the form of a few pages beautiful much as an epilogue. The story you are waiting for and WANT to read about just happens in summary form. It's really frustrating. So be warned!!The first two books they build up one of the characters, making him seem like this awesome guy, even though you know ultimately she is attracted to the other brother. Then she finally gets with the awesome guy and everything is perfect, only for the author to completely destroy the hero that you have grown to love. It REALLY created me mad. Then she pushes you to wish Belly (I hate her name btw, I don't care if it's just a nickname) to go with the other guy, who in my opinion, never did anything throughout the series to ever create you wish to root for as a love interest. I perhaps could have been persuaded to like said guy if them finally getting together wasn't a summary at the VERY END of the latest book.But I did read all 3 books so I guess I liked them enough for that. But if I would have known how they ended, I probably wouldn't have started to read them in the first place. It's not a BAD ending, there just isn't enough of what you have (supposedly) been waiting for for THREE books. I need more than just a summary in a few pages at the end. Disappointing for sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Summer I Turned Pretty []  2020-1-6 18:56

    Bought this for my daughter after she finished the "to all the boys...." series since she loved that one so much. She says this series is beautiful different, a small more drama. She liked "to all the boys..." series better. She did finish the whole series of this one though, but the first book in this series she says was the best one out of all of them. She is 14

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Summer I Turned Pretty []  2020-1-6 18:56

    I ordered this book after reading Jenny Han's other series To All the Boys I've Loved Before, which I loved. This book is really not good in comparison. The characters are flat and seem very cliche. I didn't feel connected to any of them or really care what happened to them at all. I usually don't mind a slow plot in novels, as long as the characters are well-drawn and engaging. But this book had almost no plot, as well as flat characters, so by the time I got to the end, I didn't care what happened. I had planned to read the whole series, but I'm so glad now I waited to order the other books. I won't be reading more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Summer I Turned Pretty []  2020-1-6 18:56

    Belly's life has always been measured in summers. Of course she and her brother have school the rest of the year, she has friends, she has an entire life. But summer has always been the necessary thing because summer means it's time to return to Cousins Beach and the house her family shares with the lly's mom and Susannah Fisher have been mates for decades and Belly can't think of anything more natural than spending every summer in Cousins with Susannah and her sons, Conrad and the youngest, Belly is used to being left out or created fun of by the boys. But that's never created her love her summers, or Conrad, any less. Almost as soon as they arrive, Belly knows that this summer is going to be different. She can feel it in the air, see it in method Conrad and Jeremiah look at her like she's someone totally new. But every summer, even what promises to be a excellent one, has to end in The Summer I Turned Beautiful (2009) by Jenny e Summer I Turned Beautiful is the first book in Han's Summer trilogy.Han's prose is as gentle and comforting as a warm summer breeze as Belly narrates this story and shares flashbacks from some of her favorite summer e Summer I Turned Beautiful is an emotional roller coaster as readers join Belly on all of the ups and downs in what becomes a pivotal summer. This book does double duty laying the groundwork for the rest of the trilogy while also offering a contained story as Belly tries to create sense of growing up, her ever-present (painfully obvious) feelings for Conrad, and the fact that summers may not stay the same for her family or the Fishers for much e Summer I Turned Beautiful should be needed reading for anyone who is a fan of contemporary fiction, romance, and summertime. If, like me, you first discovered Jenny because of her Lara Jean books (which start with To All the Boys I've Loved Before), be sure to loop back to this series because it is just as sweet, just as romantic, and maybe even more epic with one of my favorite love triangles of all time. Highly recommended.Possible Pairings: Stay Sweet by Siobhan Vivian, Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum, Love and Other Perishable Items by Laura Buzo, Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen, I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo, Nantucket Blue by Leila Howland, The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder, The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart, When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon,Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Summer I Turned Pretty []  2020-1-6 18:56

    I read all of the "To All the Boys I've Loved Before" books and loved them. I wanted to read "The Summer I Turned Pretty" because I was looking for more amazing Jenny Han books. But, I had come to search that, although Han is a amazing and my favorite author, this was not one of her finest works.I found that there wasn't enough excitment in it. I guess it started to obtain better toward the end. I found that it was a very slow read for me and took me over month to read it while reading other books and only reading it when I din't know what else to read.Overall, I deffinetly don't think it was a not good book, I just think that it wasn't the best I have seen Han do. IIf you are looking for a amazing addition to your Jenny Han collection I highly recommend the "To All the Boys I've Loved Brefore" series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Truth Turned Upside Down []  2020-6-23 19:12

    A beautifully written acc told from numerous points of view of the happenings that befall a very dysfunctional family. From abuse to addiction, this book covers the hurt caused when people create not good choices. The fast switches of POV were often jarring and there were several formating and editing errors but aside from that, the story was compelling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Summer I Turned Pretty []  2020-1-6 18:56

    This book was a pleasant surprise to me. I was recommended to read this back in college, and I just kept putting it off. I am not sure why, but I did not know what this was truly about and wished I picked it up sooner.I really enjoyed the characters and the plot. I am not a large fan when stories jump from past to present, but it did not bother me too much in this one. It might have helped that I listened to the audiobook.I figured out the heartbreaking scenes from the beginning, but I still ended up tearing up during the huge reveal.Overall, I really enjoyed this and will definitely pick up the next pecially with that ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Truth Turned Upside Down []  2020-6-23 19:12

    As with a lot of amazing YA novels, ‘The Truth Turned Upside Down’ tackles sensitive topics and true life hard to imagine, allow alone discuss, is is a multi-generation story that explores complicated and dysfunctional family dynamics. The characters are well-defined and interesting. You’ll feel anxious and sad for them as you would your own e tale is emotional and intense, but the ending is worth the roller coaster ride.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    does have long term side effects [buying without prescription]  2021-3-6 22:20
    [email protected]

    apoteks pris man slay woman who gave him hiv generico indiano instructions for use - acheter france paypal - without prescription online dysfunction not effective

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Turned (The Orphans Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:30

    More immediate than the first the first book "Origins"; Mike set up the globe where you got to meet and care for the characters. This book hits the ground running. The zombie threat is here and coming for our is book didn't focus on building up the main characters as that was done in the first book. That's not to say he didn't do any characterization, he built upon what he'd already established and moved them forward. If you wanted to, you could pick up this book and understand what's going on without having read the first book, but you'd really be doing yourself a disservice by doing so.I really like how the zombies aren't necessarily the only enemy. People who've sworn to protect and defend are faced with moral decisions when orders to the contrary are given. People who've been given a possibility turn on their mates when things got bad. I will say there is one hero who deserves a better comeuppance than he received. I'm really hoping he gets it in book 3.I'll be getting book 3 so I can continue this adventure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Turned (The Orphans Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:30

    The Orphans, Surviving the Turned, Vol. IIMike EvansYou should read Vol. I to fully appreciate this one. Shaun and Ellie continue their struggle in the dead globe to survive. There are a lot of adventures within that hold you on the edge of your seat. Teenagers, old men, SEALS, and of course The Turned and they will all tug at your heart strings. ( well maybe not the zombies ) Mr. Evans has written another amazing read. There is also a amazing gift at the end. A short by Mr. Shaun Phelps. He delivers a bit of a back story. A unbelievable addition to Mr. Evans amazing series.Mike Evans, champion of Zombie Book Club of the Month with the first volume of The Orphans

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Turned (The Orphans Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:30

    Continuing from book one Shaun, Elle, Greg and the others escape to Shaun's dad old cabin, just a bunch of children who have all lost their family and friends, must now survive the the beginning all is not as it seams and very soon their is an anger building between this aun reads the letter his father left for him and decides it is time to the same time a group of Navy Seals are parachuted into the story, as tuff as they are they are rescued by the om here on in it gets very exciting, lots of action and lives are lost, the young group of people, now homeless and suffering, decide to accept the navy seals tip and join ally looking forward to book three.I know you have a lot going on Mike but book three first please.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Turned (The Orphans Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:30

    Being a huge fan of books about the zombie apocalypse I read Orphans: Origins Vol I which was the book of the month in a group I am in. I absolutely loved that one! It was written with such emotion and detail I could feel everything the characters were going through. It ended not with a huge cliffhanger but it did leave me with questions about what had happened too a lot of of the survivors. I was so satisfied to see that book two in the series Orphans Vol II: Surviving the Turned was released. This book picks up where the first book ended which I thought was amazing because it was like one continuous story with no losing any of what had been happening. This part of the story deals with a group of teenagers who have to set out and survive the heartbreak of losing their families and a lot of of their mates and defend versus the infected who will stop at nothing to create them their meal. With so much action and a lot of blood and gore this book will have you on the edge of your seat at times…holding your breath…yelling “Oh NO!”…and being emotionally spent. Yes, I did shed some tears while reading this story due to the realistic feelings place by this awesome author. To me that is the sign of a amazing author when they can obtain type of response from a reader! Kudos Mike Evans…not a lot of authors can do that but you sir did! This is a must read by those who love to read amazing books about the zombie apocalypse. It is very detail oriented and graphic. It should be added along with the first book in the series to everyone’s reading list!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Turned (The Orphans Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:30

    The Orphans vol 2 picks right up where vol 1 left off. The now orphaned group of of children that have banded together for survival are doing their best to survive, keep on to their humanity, and come to terms with what is now the reality of the world. Things only seen in horror movies. A real zombie aun, Ellie, Greg, Tina and the group realize they are at the epicenter of the happenings unleashing and are privy to info the government needs and set forth to brave their method to the research facility where their parents worked to test to retrieve this anwhile the SEALS are on their method to the zone to retrieve the same information.What ensues is a paring of seasoned soldiers w little city children and a war for survival in little city e second installation of the series does not disappoint. Evans quickly wraps you up in his characters lives, making you cringe at every close call, and mourn with every is is a story that truly takes your emotions, puts them in a blender, chops them up and spits them vol 1 and 2 if The Orphans. It's a ride you won't soon forget!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Turned (The Orphans Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:30

    This is a really amazing read. I don’t like to leave spoilers or anything so that’s what I shall say. I was saddened by the loss of characters & excited by the addition of others. The fact that I felt sad shows that the author has made relatable characters that come to life. I can’t wait to read book 3 to see what happens next. This is a amazing book, but don’t take my word for it...READ IT!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Turned (The Orphans Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:30

    Okay, so I really liked this book overall. I was really glad to see a synopsis of the first book to bring readers up to speed. This is always helpful, especially if there is a lot of time between releases (I'm looking at you Brandon Sanderson and GRRM). The story keeps you guessing overall and is rather quick paced. My only compliant is a stage early in the novel when they give Patrick insulin, when he was clearly suffering from hypoglycemia (the massive sweat, not waking up). The insulin should have killed him by dropping his blood sugar further. (And this would have been a *great* scene, honestly).I really liked Shaun and Ellie's growth and the military/government incompetence was right on point. Can't wait to read the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Turned (The Orphans Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:30

    Orphans Vol. II was a awesome story, Mike has a method with words that really making you fall in love with the characters and the story. You feel a heart break if something happens , your heart is racing through the hole back its packed full of auction. Non stop page turner. It hold me up all night reading as I could not place the book down every time i tried i just had to pick it back up and begin reading agin. Mike give you lots of reviews of items that happen in book one to hold you mind new for what went on So excited when book 3 comes outThe short storys by Shaun Phelps were a amazing add to the book . And a nice point of view from a various characters in the Orphans. He did a amazing job writing in the orphans globe . Will be reading more of is work . Dont for obtain to check out his books as well

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Turned (The Orphans Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:30

    5 StarsThis series will suck you in and hold you emotionally involved. With continuous losses of old and fresh mates alike, Shaun and his remaining mates must search a method to hold going. The Navy Seals have a lot to benefit from helping Shaun and his mates survive and learn to hold safer. These are not your ordinary zombie, the Turned in Mike Evans book are faster, stronger, and seem to be able to think to a point. I would highly recommend this series to anyone who likes the post apocalyptic - zombies genre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Turned (The Orphans Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:30

    So worth the wait. Loved the first one and this is even better. Mike Evans, amazing job! Shaun, Ellie, Greg, Tina and gang are in such a mess trying just to obtain thru the first day and after thinking they were safe at the cabin have to go back to city for meds and what a disaster this is. The "Turned" are some of the meanest, scariest, fastest undead yet and place the teens into some very scary, exciting places. Add some SEALS coming to test and obtain information about the cause of the infection who need the teens support and you have one very intense story. Absolutely loved it and already can't wait for the next. Just finished the Audible too (8/6/16). Jack Wallen did unbelievable job as narrator and I loved it listening to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And the Waters Turned to Blood []  2020-8-7 18:44

    Barker's book is an excellent, well-researched, well-written report that tells the shocking tale of the discovery of Pfiesteria - a toxic small beastie! Not only are the Pfiesteria fascinating in their simplicity, but in their implications for serious environmental and human e most poignant part of this reality is how politics, both governmental AND academic, made roadblocks for truly cutting-edge research. Scientific research is not the ideal learning situation that a lot of think it is - it is twisted by in-fighting, monetary constraints and private ngratulations to Dr. Burkholder for sticking it out!! She has awesome stamina, persistence and a true concern for her fellow humans. Since I am a female graduate student in science, it is heartening to know that other women can create significant contributions to science, despite the frustrating challenges that can create the pursuit of truth seem unattainable.Dr. Burkholder is without a doubt a modern character and real role model.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When the Sea Turned to Silver []  2020-1-31 1:41

    I'm a large fan of Grace Lin and have read all the books in this series. Although, I'm not sure if it's technically a series or not? The books can be read as stand alone novels, however there are interweaving characters and story lines that create more sense if you read them in order. So begin with the first one, Where the Mountain Meets the MoonSo where do I begin? These books are b with eastern folklore and magic. I drunk everything up; I was thirsty for tales like this and I didn't even know it until I found it. A small background about me: I'm Asian and came to the United States when I was little. I've always felt like I was in limbo, not quite American but not quite Asian either. Asian stories, when translated, are always a small clunky in my opinion. And I've never been able to read my native language so original texts were out of my reach. This, an Asian story told in such beautiful, lyrical English, was so refreshing to me. I wish more! More!Of the three books, this one is probably for older children just because the narration style and plot lines are more complex. There's a lot going on and the timeline isn't linear so it can be confusing. But the characters are lovable and the story is compelling. Plus, it wraps things up very nice and neat in the n't recommend this series and this particular book enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When the Sea Turned to Silver []  2020-1-31 1:41

    As with Grace Lin's other books, this one was a beautiful, melodic and quick read. She has the skill to bring you quickly into her globe and keep you as enthralled as the Storytellers who are the heroines of this tale. She manages to mix the everyday efforts of ordinary people with unbelievable monsters and experiences in a method that is fun, and believable. Her perennial villain is as cruel and malicious as ever, and the fast wit and bravery of her heroes, and the love and friendship they share, are the stones of the mountain that stands versus him. These are stories in which the journey is as magical and unbelievable and terrifying as the ending, as it should be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Landscape Turned Red: The Battle of Antietam []  2021-4-6 21:53

    Valuable and insightful book that informs you about tactical and strategic aspects of the Antietam battle. It also addresses the international question of whether a union conquer at Antietam could have led to European involvement in help of the southern states. Such involvement might have included French and British recognition of the south as an independent country and even European willingness to confront the US naval blockade of the Confederacy. This chance effectively evaporated after Lincoln announced the Emancipation Proclamation following the war itself. The British and French were not prepared to confront the U.S. Navy when the United States was pursuing the elimination of slavery in the rebelling states as one of its most necessary battle ere is also quite a bit about the personalities of the different generals on both sides of the war. It is especially interesting when considering how different generals sought to identify and exploit the weaknesses of their counterparts on the other side of the war.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When the Sea Turned to Silver []  2020-1-31 1:41

    I read this book with my son and we loved it. It's our second Grace Lin book, and we are hooked (we started with Where the Mountain Meets the Moon). It's such a challenge to hold all the stories straight and we had a lot of fun seeing who could remember all of the various references that Bring everything together at the end. Lin is a amazing writer and illustrator and we highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And the Waters Turned to Blood []  2020-8-7 18:44

    I am married and have 3 kids, and was able to finish this book in 3 days. One of the best books I’ve read in a while. I think everyone should read it. The author is brilliant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And the Waters Turned to Blood []  2020-8-7 18:44

    When I was assigned this by my environment science teacher I dreaded having to read it. I rarely like any sort of non fiction or science based book and I cringed when I saw the glossary at the back. I was pleasantlysurprised, however, to search that it was intriquing, informative, well written, and on a whole kept my attention. I worried originally that it would be text book like, but it actually was written like a novel and the plot moved along nicely with the exception of a chapter or two that delved to heavily into the politics involved. I would definately recommend this book to others regardless of interest in the environment and it is a must read for anyone intereseted in the impact of humans on the environment (lol I know that sounds a small boring but the book presents this impact in an interesting and relevant manner).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Landscape Turned Red: The Battle of Antietam []  2021-4-6 21:53

    OMG! Stephen W. Sears book about Antietam entitled, Landscape Turned Red, must be in the book collection of every American Civil Battle buff. The book info everything leading up to the war at Antietam and shows how stupid the Generals of the Union Troops were. I honestly believe that it was the ignorance of so a lot of of these Union Generals that caused the battle to latest a long as it did. Confederate General Robert E. Lee so understood the timidness and overly cautious attitude of Northern General George B. McClellan, that he simply "toyed" or "played" with him. The book shows Lee's tactic completely understood that Union Generals would not attack and if they did and even had won a skirmish, that they would retreat and not follow up their victory. President Lincoln was frustrated that he could not search a general to war on as he said. The book tells how McClellan and his replacements botched everything leading up to Antietam and every that war itself. It wasn't until Grant, Sheridan, Sherman and Meade emerged that the Union finally saw the battle start to turn in its favor. Landscape Turned Red filled in my knowledge of this amazing American Tragedy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And the Waters Turned to Blood []  2020-8-7 18:44

    I really usually have fun reading about emerging viruses. I tend to read a lot of nonfiction anyway, and I have background in viruses in medical school and working in a HIV lab for four years and with the pseudorabies virus. This time, I just couldn't obtain into this particular book. Baker did not provide the amazing science writing that I am used to looking for...the book was very hard to read, very hard to obtain through. He doesn't have the method with words say of Oliver Sacks, the passion of Stephen Jay Gould, the sense of humor of Issac Asmivov, the sense of need and importance of Richard Rhodes or Richard Preston or Laurie Garrett. This book is in hand and going to the library. Maybe someone else will have fun it more than I, but I cannot recommend this book to my hearing colleagues or my deaf students (which is why I hold amazing science books).The story itself concerning pfisteria is interesting, which is why I got the book in the first place. I just think it could have been better done. Unlike with the above mentioned authors, this particular book published in 1998, has gone through its hardcover and other editions, and disappeared from sight. To me, that is indicative that the book did not prove to resonate with its reading public, that it didn't 'prove' the importance of the topic matter being written about. If the author managed to convince some readers that this was a piece of fiction rather than nonfiction, something definitely went wrong in the writing or the presentation of the book. Part of that may have been the publisher's fault for the picture slapped on the paperback, the title of the book, and the trying to shop this book as a 'scare-monger' piece. Amazing writing of the actual facts, the people involved always obtain my attention much better than a 'bloody front cover'!Karen SadlerScience EducationUniversity of Pittsburgh

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And the Waters Turned to Blood []  2020-8-7 18:44

    I live in North Carolina and this is very scary. People are not being told about this very true danger that can do true hurt to a persons health just from going in the water. The fact that I still haven't heard anything about this in the news just makes it worse. This is scary but the fact that our goverment keeps this type of info from us is even worse. When you come to N.C., remember there is a creature in the water and it is as poor or worse then the shark in Jaws. Maybe it's time for the film version. At least an modernize on the subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When the Sea Turned to Silver []  2020-1-31 1:41

    My 9-year-old granddaughters and I listened to this lovely book in the car. It is a amazing story with amazing messages about courage, love, and tenacity in the face of arbitrary power. The "stories" woven into the narrative are stand-alone terrific -- the author has created amazing use of her research into Chinese myths and legends -- and the voice of the reader on the CD is perfect. The conditions under which we listened were not ideal: just a couple of times a week on the method to gymnastics. Despite the protracted nature of our listening experience, we all stayed riveted on the book. Indeed, when we finished it latest week, the girls asked that we begin back at the beginning right away. And it's sufficiently engaging and complex that a second hearing is really wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When the Sea Turned to Silver []  2020-1-31 1:41

    My husband reads to our daughter every night. When it's a Grace Lin book I dare not miss a moment. Her stories are weaved with such beauty and grace! They are captivating. I think you will fall in love with every word. We are a large fan of her works. Thank you Grace Lin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When the Sea Turned to Silver []  2020-1-31 1:41

    I read this book latest with my 5 year old at bed time. I really have fun the incorporation of Chinese folklore in these books. I am becoming more familiar with the traditional stories and a lot more detail in these book came together for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Landscape Turned Red: The Battle of Antietam []  2021-4-6 21:53

    My grand children live in Shepherdstown and drive through Sharpsburg to school in Hagerstown. Always past Antietam. I was not a Civil Battle buff and living just a mile or so from Washington's headquarters in the Revolution had a various mindset. So when I had time with a grandson we stopped and went through Antietam. A heavy set of fields, no amazing markers and the visitor center was depleted of any information, a retooling I guessed. But there were always heavy amounts of I tried out this book to better understand what I passed day by day for decades when down here. It was an awesome story well told and giving you and understanding of what happened on all those back streets some 150 years ago. From Harpers Ferry, through Sharpsburg and across the Antietam Creek. 25,000 dead in one day, the bloodiest e author takes you through step by step, Lee moving north, McClellan bumbling and stumbling about. The reader moves hour by hour before, during and after, seeing the forces and the ensuing e ultimate disaster was McClellan's failure to pursue and neutralize Lee, which led to his e irony is that on the method from Shepherdstown to Sharpsburg and then Antietam one passes "Lee Road" and no McClellan or Lincoln anything. Strange. We have Washington everything.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Landscape Turned Red: The Battle of Antietam []  2021-4-6 21:53

    I've read a lot of war accounts, and this is the first one that I can recall reading about a Civil Battle s reputation as a military history is well deserved. Sears tells well the maneuvering of the forces, starting with the wars around South Mountain, and through the main war at Antietam. He contains a broad array of perspectives: Union and Confederate, generals and soldiers, military men and a few civilians. Sears provides a lot of grim info about casualties, and perhaps rightfully so, as the main war at Antietam was a bloody battle, the bloodiest day in American military history, in fact.A constant theme of the book is McClellan and his failings: his hesitations, his overestimation of opponent strength, his lack of coordination throughout the battle. This is all real and probably warranted, especially considering the casualties involved, and the facts speak for themselves. All the more reason, perhaps, that Sears's judgmental tone becomes grating. I certainly have fun playing armchair general; maybe I didn't appreciate it so much from a historian, who is supposed to be fair and balanced. There was a point at which the author's ysis crossed over into private attacks on McClellan, which seemed un-historian, if not also a tad bit unfair to his lancing that, perhaps, is Sears's treatment of Lee. Sears doesn't exaggerate or fawn over the success of Lee's generalship at Antietam. Rather, Lee is portrayed here as shrewd, the consummate poker player, who consistently and quite accurately assesses his opponent. Their fighting in the Peninsular Campaign, which Sears touches upon in the beginning, gave Lee this insight. By positioning his troops with his back to a river, the Potomac, Lee seemed to be daring McClellan. To what higher end, though, isn't entirely clear. The Maryland Campaign didn't seem to depend on the outcome at Antietam, and soon after the battle, Lee's troops escaped, which arguably they may have done sooner, with fewer ars discusses the fallout of the battle, especially surrounding his Macbeth, McClellan. The Maryland Campaign did fail in Lee's ultimate intent of inciting Maryland to join the Confederacy, so in that sense McClellan's war can't be called a total failure; yet, as Sears reiterates, it also wasn't the glorious win McClellan claimed it to be. The truth is somewhere in the middle, but what that blood-soaked truth is, Sears doesn't say (or I missed it). Arguably, and tragically, Antietam may have had no true military or strategic purpose, or it may have been a mistake, as it was kind of a roughout, Sears relies on archival research to build his story. Diaries, letters, and unit histories stand out. Even so, Sears leave some points hanging; why, for example, was the Union commander Couch so slow? It's not clear if this was never covered in the historical record, and for as a lot of times as Sears brings it up, as a sort of mystery, it might have been beneficial to acknowledge why that wasn't investigated or questioned since. To be fair, it's quite possible that I may have missed that footnote among the a lot of that strengthen Sears's assault, which is focused on Small Mac and the other Union r readers who may be unfamiliar with this type if work, it's necessary to point that Sears doesn't provide context on some points that would support a modern reader understand the huge picture. For example, he doesn't relate why Civil Battle fighting like this was so vicious; to most readers of this kind of work, it isn't necessary. If you are looking for that kind of broader context, or a fuller acc involving civilian perspectives, logistics, or political ysis, you'll need to read other works. Perhaps this acc could have benefited those kinds of details, but this is a military history, and specifically a war account, first and foremost. In that, it's as fine, and as limited, as any of its kind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Landscape Turned Red: The Battle of Antietam []  2021-4-6 21:53

    This is a detailed, but highly readable acc of the entire Antietam campaign, from Lee's decision to invade the North, the practical issues he encountered when his troops had to advance from its base in Northern Virginia, the complex stratagems he hoped to employ to entrap McClellan's Troops of the Potomac, how these almost led to his destruction when a copy of his marching orders fell into McClellan's hands, and the heroic delaying actions (as well as inertia on the part of several Northern generals) which gave him barely enough time to regroup his dispersed forces. The war itself—which claimed more American casualties than any other day in the entire history of this country's battles (of course, both sides were American)—takes up over half the book, and is described in enough detail that the reader can comprehend not only what was going on, and what went wrong, but also obtain a vivid feel for what it might have been like to be there. The author is not sparing in discussing the mistakes created by both sides, as well as the heroism—and cowardice—of the young men and their field officers who actually had to war in this charnel house for which neither side was really prepared. Lee—outnumbered more than two to one—managed to war the war to a draw, but he was lucky that the Northern Troops created several crucial mistakes, and that A.P. Hill arrived in the nick of time to prevent his position being overrun by Burnside's slow-moving flanking attack. Nonetheless, Lee was forced to withdraw, and the North could claim its first success in the Eastern theater of the war. In a lot of respects, Antietam marks the turning point in the Civil e book centers on the military aspects of the Antietam campaign, but deals with the politics enough to place the fighting in context, and create it clear what the impact of this momentous war was: it probably played the crucial role in persuading the British and French that the Confederacy might well lose, and gave Lincoln the moment he had been waiting for to turn the battle into a war versus slavery, which gave it a moral dimension previously absent, and further doomed any prospect of foreign intervention. For any reader with more than a casual interest in the period, and certainly for any Civil Battle buff, this is a must read, as well as for anyone about to visit the battlefield.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Landscape Turned Red: The Battle of Antietam []  2021-4-6 21:53

    Sears treatment of the War of Antietam stands head and shoulders above any other. Superb doentation and ysis. Easy-to-read flow. Concise, clear language. Sufficient (if not generous) maps and useful illustrations. Appropriate consideration of political and intra-army intrigue. Geopolitical context (i.e., Antietam's impact on European interests and potential intervention). Locations known as The Corn Field, Bloody Lane, Burnside's Bridge come alive through individual and unit stories of bravery and sacrifice. And, like a prosecuting attorney making his case, few pages go by without Sears alleging (ad nauseam, but with a powerful evidentiary case) that the greatest villian was Major General George B. ars' theme throughout the work is McClellan as "the poster boy" for the pre-Gettysburg, Troops of the Potomac's failures. Milton would have entitled it "Opportunity Lost". On no fewer than six occasions in September 1862 Sears suggests that the "Young Napolean" had the opportunity to advantage himself of intelligence, terrain, numbers, or situation to significantly damage if not criple Lee's Troops of Northern Virginia. In each instance McClellan failed. Sears writes, "On no other Civil Battle field did a commanding general violate so a lot of of what a Union officer at Antietam called 'the established principles of the military art' that a professional solider was expected to know." General-in-Chief, Henry Halleck -- himself far from a military genius -- like Lincoln, at least understood McClellan: "There is an immobility here that exceeds all that any man can conceive of. It requires the lever of Archimedes to move this inert mass. I have tried my best, but without success."Opportunity for a shorter battle and fewer deaths was, Sears suggests, ultimate casualty of the bloodiest day in American History.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When the Sea Turned to Silver []  2020-1-31 1:41

    I am frequently telling my children "people more than things" when something gets wrecked, or lost or feelings obtain hurt. Man, they love their stuff... and boy does it turn the globe over when something is disrupted. However, I obtain my mothering self into problem with books. I love them. I love them like they are my mates and I treasure them not above people, but above most "things." So, am I weird... yeah, probably. Do I feel this method about most books? No. not a lot of actually. But people... LISTEN... Grace Lin can write. She's awesome and very unique. I am torn on reading this to my girls, or buying that book protecting plastic items and enshrining it on my high shelf of favorites. Why am I going into all of this when I am supposed to be reviewing this book? Because this particular novel is all about stories. In what feels like a special Chinese Proverbs meets Asop's Fables kind of concoction, this book delivers numerous short stories told by a shy small story teller who is just finding her voice on her method to save her grandma: Amah- "The Storyteller." Soldiers sneak Grandma food, and respect her for her tale-crafting skills. She can create despair feel less important and remind people of things long forgotten. Don't think this is just a morality tale that will bore children with small lessons in being kind (though they will search those)... quite a bit is happening. There's an evil Emperor, a gorgeous Sea Maiden Princess, and two young kids who are trying to save their family and possibly the entire world. In fact, I was reminded of ens' "Tale of Two Cities"... where in that latest chapter, everything is reveled and you feel like you wish to begin all over with the new, most necessary key to the whole craftily spun is story is a conclusion to two other similar but not needed books that are also fantastic. If you have the choice, read them in order. It is not, however, important as each has legs to stand on their own. I read the other two books so long ago that while I remember bits of them, they did not support me along in this story except remind me that the stories I heard in this book were sometimes touched on in the other two and that is basically the point of this whole book. Stories connect us. Friendships are formed because of shared moments, of tales told, memories being created and these "things"... well... we obtain to hold them forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When the Sea Turned to Silver []  2020-1-31 1:41

    Interesting Chinese fables that are so various in their philosophy. Grace Lin's method of telling a story keeps it moving and to the point. I would recommend all her series highly for young and older readers alike who are interested in a various culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And the Waters Turned to Blood []  2020-8-7 18:44

    This was a book that I just could not place down for the life of me. I had a try a school but instead of studying, I read this book. Shocking!!!!A compelling book that portrays the gauntlet of bureaucracy that Dr. JoAnn Burkholder had to ordeal when she discovered something in the waters off of the Eastern Seaboard. The leaders of N.C.'s DEM, and the DEHNR showed their obvious distaste for her and her work when this info proved to be threatening "the machine" of business as usual.What's most shocking about the whole things is 1. The lengths that the health department officials will go to cover this up, and truly not deal with an obvious health crisis; and 2. THIS IS A TRUE STORY that is still unfolding today off the East Coast.Well written and with courage. 5 - stars!"Get into the war before it's too late"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And the Waters Turned to Blood []  2020-8-7 18:44

    Rodney Barker did an perfect job at enlightening his readers of the dangers of pollution, the devastating effects of Pfiesteria, and the power of a political machine. The tale developes the story of one dedicated scientists fighting to create the globe aware of the rise of a toxic dinoflagellate. A professor at North Carolina State University, Dr. JoAnn Burkholder never imagined being presented with such a heavy issue on her hands. After identifying the morphing dinoflagellate as Pfiesteria piscicida, Burkholder realized that her troubles would not stop at trying to identify characteristics of the organism; Burkkholder's largest obstacle was trying to gain help for research from her peers, concerned citizens, and the North Carolina Department of Environmental Management. Eventually, fellow colleagues would believe her claim but the government only saw Burkholder as an annoyance required to be silenced. At the same time, Pfiesteria was reeking havoc with numerous fish kills and reports of human symptoms including short-term memory loss and severe mood swings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Landscape Turned Red: The Battle of Antietam []  2021-4-6 21:53

    In Landscape Turned Red: The War of Antietam, Stephen W. Sears draws on a remarkable cache of diaries, dispatches, and letters to recreate the fateful day of September 17, 1862 as experienced not only by its leaders but also by its soldiers, both Union and Confederate, to produce a comprehensive acc of the War of Antietam. First published in 1983, Sears’ book is unrivaled in its elegance and complexity, examining not just the military history, but also the politics of the Troops of the Potomac, which turned to 36-year-old General George B. McClellan to save the late summer 1862, the Union’s prospects for win seemed dismally low. Major General John Pope’s Troops of Virginia was shattered at the War of Second Manassas, and President Abraham Lincoln called on George McClellan to once again take command of the Troops of the Potomac and save Washington, D.C. Sears reveals Lincoln created this decision alone, versus the wishes of his cabinet. By his own admission, there was no one else to turn to, but a lot of in his administration, particularly Secretary of Battle Edwin M. Stanton, regarded McClellan (a staunch Democrat) as a ars excels at explaining the political conflict between McClellan and the Lincoln Administration, making it almost more interesting than the War of Antietam itself. It is a side of the campaign you rarely see. In the battle’s aftermath, when President Lincoln issued the Emancipation Proclamation, it incensed a lot of officers and enlisted men. Some openly speculated about a Caesar-like march on Washington. McClellan, to his credit, discouraged those feelings and gracefully accepted his dismissal. In the end, all the talk of disloyalty came to for the battle, General McClellan had at least six opportunities during the course of the campaign to crush Lee’s army. Each time, he failed to take the initiative. At the War of Antietam, a third of his troops sat on the sidelines. Finally, he failed to pursue Lee’s exhausted and depleted ranks, again believing Lee outnumbered him. Sears makes a compelling case that McClellan was plagued by the same failings that cost him win on the Peninsula in the spring. He seemed paralyzed during a fight, preferring to stay far behind the lines, feebly trying to manage ars’ narrative of the war is fast-paced and rich in detail, but he tends to overemphasize casualty statistics, as if to justify the book’s title. A battle’s intensity–or importance–can’t always be quantified by numbers of dead and wounded.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Landscape Turned Red: The Battle of Antietam []  2021-4-6 21:53

    An in depth look at the war were the war itself although expertly explained takes a back seat to the intrigues and politics surrounding the battle. I got into a discussion were they were defending Small Mac. I pointed out that regardless of the excuses/reasons he failed to achieve victory, and was content to simply not lose. This book hammers that point home. Is the author biased, yes he is, but when other play Monday morning Quarterback to present why he failed to win, it OK, as its balanced, but when Sears does the same thing with a negative connotation its wrong. You can't have it both ways.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Landscape Turned Red: The Battle of Antietam []  2021-4-6 21:53

    I haven't read every book on the war of Antietam, but I would be surprised if I ever search one better than this one. Sears has a strong narrative voice and did a masterful job telling this story of one of the most pivotal wars of the ally, this is a book of the first year and a half of the war, a history of the Troops of the Potomac under George McCellan. It starts with background and context, which contains the outbreak of war, McCellan's rise to command, the Peninsula Campaign, and finally the war of ttle histories can be complex and confusing. Sears does well in telling this story in a clear, logical way. He is balanced in giving perspective to both North and South, though so much focus is given to the failed leadership of George McClellan (and Lincoln's hope of issuing his Emancipation Proclamation) that at times the book as a whole hints to a mostly northern e book finishes with the failure of McClellan to follow-up this victory-by-default and his dismissal from command. Sears also gives significant treatment to the issuing of the Emancipation Proclamation, reactions to it, and its impact. Both within the book and in the appendix. The same goes for the lost order 191, who knew about it and when, and how it was used (or not used) by McClellan.Overall, this is an essential book, not just for understanding the happenings of the battle, but the context and significance of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When the Sea Turned to Silver []  2020-1-31 1:41

    “Come quickly!” Grandmother Amah shook Pinmei from sleep. The rocky ground rumbled beneath her feet. Freezing currents nipped at the girl’s toes. She followed Amah to the storage room of their mountain hut. Hidden inside an empty vat, Pinmei stared through a crack into the darkened room. Her grandmother piled baskets and boxes all around the vat and undering hooves pounded the mountainside. The front door crashed to the ground. The Tiger Emperor’s soldiers roared when they saw Amah standing in the begin doorway. “She’s the one we want! Take her!” Torchlight flared across Amah as they dragged her from the hut.With his head raised high, a young boy fought his method through the soldiers to their commander. The watchful Yishan, who lived alone high up the craggy slopes, barreled into the hut like a fierce mountain dog. “Do not take her!”The commander threw Yishan versus the wall like a bag of rice. Torches hurtled into the room. Orange flames licked the thatch as Pinemei’s home caught fire. Yishan flew to the back wall and ripped down shelves, kicking a shuttered window. Pinmei scrambled from hiding and out the smoking window. Her blazing hut lit up the night e Tiger Emperor’s armies swept throughout the land, attacking villages in the deep of the night. Thousands of men were captured and conscripted to build the Vast Wall. Any appeals to the Emperor were met with the same reply: Bring a Luminous Stone that Lights Up the Night if you seek freedom for the one you love.But why take Amah? The old woman was the Storyteller, not capable of forced labor. Pinmei and Yishan decided their best possibility of saving Amah was to search a Luminous Stone for the Tiger Emperor. They knew a dragon’s pearl was in the Town of Bright Moonlight. Could that save Amah?They set out in the deep snow. A mysterious rider in gleaming blue silk galloped past through the mist, only to be thrown from her horse. The kids rushed to her crumpled body and were amazed by her beauty. Her voice rang like water chimes when she spoke, but her eyes were marred by sorrow. She too was bound for the Town of Bright Moonlight. The three walked together down the icy eir journey takes them through locations where harsh realities and legend intermingle. The greed and cruelty of the Tiger Emperor invade every village in the land, even disturbing the watery realms of the Sea King. Crimson butterflies, stone fish, scarred women—even Spring itself—fall under the iron rod of his wrath. With every fresh tale from the Storyteller’s trove, this globe expands, rising to the Starry River and plunging into the silver ace Lin’s masterful storytelling entwines three timeless themes: amazing fortune, peace, and the quest for immortality. She is a Newbery Honor champion and National Book Award Finalist.--Kate Calina

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When the Sea Turned to Silver []  2020-1-31 1:41

    My daughter required to pick a books to read for summer reading for 6th grade. It was another Grace Lin book and we ordered that. She loved it. She read it in three days. After loving that book so much she wanted to read the other two books by Grace Lin this being one of them. Once again she loved it. Another three days and she was done. I also read all three Grace Lin’s books and enjoyed every moment. It’s a amazing read for any age.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And the Waters Turned to Blood []  2020-8-7 18:44

    I live in NC and grew up on the Neuse river. I didn't realize this was going on, though I had heard about the organism.I realized that people I knew probably were affected by this.I definitely recommend this book and encourage readers to pay attention to how their state is handling things like animal waste, sewage and industrial run-off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And the Waters Turned to Blood []  2020-8-7 18:44

    I was simply amazed by reading this book. I just could not place it down after starting. And the Water Turned to Blood has been in my library for a few years and I finally picked it up to read it. This book reads like a novel, however, it is narrated in such a style as to obtain the notice across that there are people who stand in the method of properly protecting the environment at ker shows the politics in the globe of scientific research as well as within the agencies of North Carolina that were responsible for protecting the fisheries and waterways of their state. There are for sure interesting anecdotes throughout. Also, you will learn that little amounts of run off are actually amazing for rivers creating nutrients that enhance the cycle of life. The issue occurs when too much of one or another kind of pollutant is allowed to build up and then dinoflagellates flourish. Apparently these are prehistoric 'creatures' which are not plants, but microorganisms that feed on fish, crustacia and even have fun human blood if introduced into the blood stream through an begin sore or if aspirated through mist.A fascinating story to be sure. Well written and informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    And the Waters Turned to Blood []  2020-8-7 18:44

    Picked this book up while at the pubic library with my family. The except about an "ancient life form" peaked my interest and I had to borrow it. It reads like a very practical novel with a roller coaster ride of excitement about Dr. Burkholder's discovery of this toxic ameoba. I was truly fascinated and couldn't place the book down. The science is broken down so that a lay person can grasp it and understand the importance of JoAnn's findings. Her trials and tribulations with back stabbing colleagues, NC bureacrats, and the dinoflagelate itelf are very interesting. Would highly recommend this book to anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Landscape Turned Red: The Battle of Antietam []  2021-4-6 21:53

    Well written. The deep dive into the personalities and what created principal players tick. Amazing ysis of the war and its consequences. The wildness. The back and forth. The not good loses. Together with all the behind the scenes frictions and ambitions driving the Union Generals before , during and after. I wanted to read it because my amazing grandfather was a lieutenant in the 2nd GA regiment holding Burnsides Bridge but cam away with so much more. Sears is a talented historian, but you probably already know that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I have it on my phone & what I like about it is the extra security you can apply to it. But the one aggravating problem it has is having to update my password because it for whatever reason it doesn't recognize my present password []  2021-2-21 21:2
    [email protected]

    I appreciate the additional security that the application provides with the phone and so much more the application offers. The application needs some fixing & perhaps updating as well. From the thumbs down I've seen in the reviews This Summit Credit Union Customer knows that it's time for the amazing application to be greater. I wish to give much thanks to developers of the cardnav application for doing a amazing job &I know they can do a greater job of tuning it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy if i have a legitimate perscription []  2021-2-2 19:40
    [email protected]

    obtain prescription doctor generic or tadalafil may be available at stores near me plavix uk buy Cooff fes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how many days do you have to fill a prescription [Egosteva]  2021-3-12 10:13
    [email protected]

    fake prescription joke birthday

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer Series Book 1) []  2020-8-4 18:0

    i got this book because it sounded amazing and i had read jenny han's other book, to all the boys i've loved before, and i thought it was amazing. but this book was definitely not her best work. first of all, the main character, belly (i hate her name too) annoyed the crap out of me. she was a whiny immature uptight brat who was always method too sensitive. someone would joke with her and she would yell at them and then go sulk. she literally got angry and stormed off when a guy didn't wish to go skinny dipping with her. i didn't feel like i could relate to her at all. second of all, the plot was so boring. i honestly didn't even care what happened at the end. i was so bored with the book i could barely finish. the plot could've been really good, but it was method too slow and it didn't even have a resolution. there was barely even an ending. i was really confused half of the time, because she liked one guy, and then she liked another guy, then she didn't like him anymore, and then she did again and it was really tiring to hold up with. also at one point she starts "dating" this guy, who is nice, but really uptight, nerdy, and lame, and half the time she acts like she's embarrassed of him and she doesn't even like him. and then all of a sudden she likes him again. also, she's 15 and practically in love with this guy who is 18.. um that's a small weird. and then he ends up liking her back?? also i feel like its kind of offensive how the book is centered around them all of a sudden liking her because she turned beautiful and got boobs. they never paid her any attention until she turns beautiful and has a nice body. that's beautiful offensive to women. just don't waste your time with this book please.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be the Gift: Let Your Broken Be Turned into Abundance [Book]  2018-5-11 18:0

    I'm always looking for fresh Christian inspirational reads and I came upon this one during my searches. I have never read any books by Ann Voskamp before but I've heard amazing things about them. I liked the idea behind this one with turning brokenness into a bonus for others so I pre-ordered it.When this book arrived, I was a bit surprised by it because it's more like a little coffee table book rather than a book with chapters. Still, I liked it when I paged through it. The hardcover edition measures 6 3/4 inches by 7 1/4 inches by just under an inch. The book is attractive and has lots of colourful pictures beside each reading. The readings seem related to devotions and take up about a page each and give lots of thoughts, examples, Bible verses, and other inspirational sayings to help the ideas behind what Voskamp is saying. I like the calm method each of these readings is written and they feel soothing to read. From the ones I've read so far, they encourage you to examine yourself so that you can be a bonus to others. There are 199 pages of readings and pictures, six pages to write down how you've given to others (like a journal) and 60 easy ways to be a bonus to others. The hardcover edition also includes bonus tags and a ribbon bookmark. This book is printed on nice, thick first I was surprised by the type of book it is but I'm still glad I purchased it! It's like a little coffee table book and would look amazing on a coffee table, end table, nightstand, waiting room, or anyplace else you can think of to display books. I like how you can just read one page or several at a time if you want. This would create a attractive bonus for yourself or others for Christmas or any other time of the year!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be the Gift: Let Your Broken Be Turned into Abundance [Book]  2018-5-11 18:0

    Excellent bonus for friends...or for yourself! Inspirational, comforting, attractive book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be the Gift: Let Your Broken Be Turned into Abundance [Book]  2018-5-11 18:0

    Once again, Ann writes a attractive and moving book. A book about how God can use us to be a bonus to others. Heartfelt, honest, encouraging and inspiring, this book will change the method you look at the cirtances in your life and hopefully change your heart at the same time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be the Gift: Let Your Broken Be Turned into Abundance [Book]  2018-5-11 18:0

    I am in the middle of this... another very deep and thoughtful book by Ann Voskamp. Her books are meant to be savored, read and re-read, and then place into practice. They are meant to be shared and lived.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer Series Book 1) []  2020-8-4 18:0

    This book touched my heart . I've read the whole series twelve times already. The pages are filled with passion,sadness,confusion, and e words are written in the excellent method to have your heart pumping and aching for the same kind of love won't search any other book with the same heartwarming kind of is will create your heart melt away making you keep your breath until the and , then leaves you with more emotions. I highly recommend this compassionate book to anyone with a pink heart.I love this book and ill always will.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Be the Gift: Let Your Broken Be Turned into Abundance [Book]  2018-5-11 18:0

    This book is so attractive and encouraging and I highly recommend it to all. Please read it. Ann has a method of putting the feelings in my heart to beautifully written words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer Series Book 1) []  2020-8-4 18:0

    I bought this book after reading the "To All the Boys I've Loved Before Trilogy." I didn't like Belly's true brother, Steven, or her pretend brothers, Jeremiah and Conrad. I did like Cam. The others didn't treat Belly right at all. I hated Steven calling her Smelly and giving her deodorant for her 11th birthday. Created me glad I'm an only child. I liked Belly although not as well as Lara Jean from the other series. I loved Susannah for always getting presents for Belly. That's something I would do. I also didn't like the boys throwing Belly into the pool. I thought that was just plain mean. I hope they grow up! I did love the writing especially after Conrad and Jeremiah's fight.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386