Read the tail of emily windsnap reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the tail of emily windsnap reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    I bought the entire set of the Emily Windsnap books for my 10 year old niece as a birthday gift. She loves mermaids and loved the books.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the tail of emily windsnap or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    My 11-year-old daughter loved this book and read it in 1 day! Now we are waiting for the first set, it is coming next week and she keeps asking me daily when it will obtain here. loved the first book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    My daughter loved this book we got a whole set! She needs to read at least 20 minutes a day but she spends more time reading this and less time on electronics now. She would tell me what she read so far over breakfast before she goes to school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    i love these books I've red all of them 5 or 6 times and im not making that up im nine years old and i love these books i just finished the tail of emily windsnap and the sirens secret for the 6th time literary im not lying i want i could go back in time and read them for the first time again and experience the magic for the first time over and over again you should definitely all of these book because you will love them as much as i do!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    I bought this as a birthday show for my 9 year old granddaughter. She absolutely loved it and wants the rest of the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    It was a cute story but kind of lazy when it came to creativity. I read it to see if my granddaughter (who loves mermaids) would like the book . Its ok, but as I said, but not great. The author tried to create the mermaid globe too much like our dry labd existence, and it was hokey. Ex: they ate seaweed sandwiches (on what, soggy bread?); everyone speaks English and attends regular schools and goes to the library? Really? Very disappointed in creative detail. But hey...maybe children expect that kind of stuff. I think its lazy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    I love the Emily Windsnap series. I bought for my granddaughter to read aloud on our cross country street trip this summer, and ended up finishing on my own! She's only 7 but a amazing reader. Content and vocabulary was geared more towards 4th or 5th grade, but she loved them. Who doesn't love a amazing mermaid adventure?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    I am going to tell you about the setting of The Tail of Emily Windsnap. The setting took put on a ship called King of the Sea and I think that is an interesting name for a ship. Most of the setting is either on the ship or in the ocean and the author described the setting very well. I could almost imagine myself in the setting of this story. The setting of The Tail of Emily Windsnap is very creative and amazing. I can tell you a lot about the plot of this story. A girl named Emily finds out she is half mermaid at the beginning of the story when she swims for the first time and I think that it would be amazing to search out you were half mermaid. I found it very interesting when Emily met a mermaid named Shannon and learned about her dad at mermaid school. She goes through a amazing and crazy adventure to search her dad who is a mermaid also. I loved the plot of The Tail of Emily Windsnap. I am going to tell you the conflict and resolution of The Tail of Emily Windsnap. I thought it was surprising when Emily found out her dad was a mermaid, and was in prison and that was a problem. She is half mermaid and mermaid prison is very far away, so she would have to swim underwater, which I think would be crazy because she would not be able to swim that long and far. So Emily, her mom, and Mr. Beeston went into the ocean on a ship, so Emily could jump out of the ship when they were far enough, and go through a difficult adventure to save her dad. Emily went through a crazy adventure just to save her dad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    I loved this book so much!!!!! I thought Emily was so brave because everything she did, she took a lot of risks. If you love to swim and act like your a mermaid underwater, then you are going to love this book!!!!! ;)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    This book is awesome! :) I recommend everyone who thinks mermaids are beautiful cool or to anyone looking for a child friendly amazing book. I thought this book would be kind of boring and kind of for small children but I got it anyway to see how it was and I was wrong! I'm 11 years old and I enjoyed it! I haven't gotten any other Emily Windsnap books but I'm going to soon. This is book is PERFECT for huge and small. If your reading reviews to see if this book is good, you should stop right here and obtain the first book but don't spend your on anything until you finish the book because I'm REALLY regretting spending all my before seeing if I liked it. GET THE BOOK. ITS AWESOME!! xoxoxoxo

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island []  2020-7-2 19:27

    Purchased this for my daughter. She’s 13, but did not have fun reading until she began this series. I’m inclined to say this book would be more age appropriate for a 10 year old, but I’m just satisfied my daughter’s reading something leisurely!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island []  2020-7-2 19:27

    My nine year-old loves this series. Couldn’t place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island []  2020-7-2 19:27

    Plowed through the entire series in the first month of quarantine! SO CUTE! My advanced 2nd grade reader thinks the reading level is perfect, but realistically I’d say it’s an ideal 3rd to 4th grade read for mermaid lovers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island []  2020-7-2 19:27

    …it's just as "swishy" (Emily's method of saying "great") as the first six stories. You could obtain by just reading this one but I'd obtain the series. More for a 12 year old (and more "girly" than a lot of boys would like) this book has a lot of detail and interesting concepts that will appeal to adult readers who wouldn't otherwise touch a girl's book.I've read several Liz Kessler books, wouldn't mind reading more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island []  2020-7-2 19:27

    I bought the Kindle ver of this series 18 months ago to read to my then six-year-old daughter! She will be eight soon and we are just finishing the very latest book in the series! We have enjoyed these books so much! We are sad they are coming to an end :-( we are very satisfied that we found the latest book in hardcopy only at the bookstore :-)Highly recommended! Extremely adventurous! Fun until the very latest page!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island []  2020-7-2 19:27

    Really good! Anyway so in this book Millie suggests they go on a healing trip to some unbelievable island. Before that Shona makes Emily promise NO ADVENTURE. Then they go on this boat ride to see the Falls of the forgotten island and Em sees eyes behind the fall and to go behind the falls is impossible. Then they go again except Em and Shona (who comes tagging along by the boat) actually go behind the fall and hear voices. Then like on their HUNDRETH visit (exaggeration, I want not) they obtain to meet the peeps behind the falls and hear this prophecy with a giant that saves them all. Em tells Aaron and Shona but Shona gets angry and they end up in a en Em and Aaron meet this guy named Jeras the father of Aurora, Neptune's dead wife. Aaron gets all worked up at that part. They hear the TRUE story and then search out Jeras, wife used to have prophecy powers before dying. And then they search out he could be huge and strong if he shook Neptune's hand. So, a main part of the prophecy was that there would be an earthquake. So during the earthquake Shona leads Neptune to Jeras, which was part of the prophecy.( BTW, Em and Shona also create up at this part and be besties again.) And they realized, A GIANT IS BIG AND POWERFUL!!! JERAS SHAKE HIS HAND NOW BEFORE WE ALL DIE!!!!!! And they shake hands. Then Jeras lies by his wifes grave and peacefully dies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island []  2020-7-2 19:27

    My 12 year old 7th grader to be is in love with this series. She reads a book in one day. Definitely recommend it to any parent that has a girly girl in their household.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island []  2020-7-2 19:27

    i absolutely loved it! amazing for ten year old girls like me, that also like mermaids! i think that liz kessler is a amazeing artist and writer. i have read some of her other books and highly recomend them. i loved how there was just the right amount of drama as well! small romance, little bit of action, mystery as well! highly recommended book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island []  2020-7-2 19:27

    My daughter doesn’t like to read much but this series has sucked her in and she rereads them! Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island []  2020-7-2 19:27

    My teenaged niece loves this series & eagerly read this book when she received it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret []  2020-1-16 8:37

    Love it I'm a fan of the mermaid mystery type books so I absolutely loved this book in fact it is 11:55 pm five tillTomorrow!! Got sucked into it! Amazing you won't regret itBut anyway just my opinion. AKA definitely READ!!!!! Take itFrom a friendly ten year old! Bye bye!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret []  2020-1-16 8:37

    I bought the entire set of the Emily Windsnap books for my 10 year old niece as a birthday gift. She loves mermaids and loved the books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince []  2020-1-27 0:13

    My 8 year old daughter loves this book series! She reads every day and these are her favorite books to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince []  2020-1-27 0:13

    My daughter(7 yr old) and I read this series together at bedtime and it is wonderful. It is filled with magical adventures with lessons on friendship, family and trusting yourself. We love Emily Windsnap and are impatiently waiting for the next one to be written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince []  2020-1-27 0:13

    8 year old loves this series

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret []  2020-1-16 8:37

    Awesome series - my 7 year old daughter loves these!! Highly recommend :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince []  2020-1-27 0:13

    My 2nd grade daughter is in love with this book series! She owns 7 in the American ver so I decided to test this ver for her to give her exposure to various phrases and the method words are spelt so that it helps broaden her vocabulary as well as reading comprehension. This is her favorite book so far.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince []  2020-1-27 0:13

    Purchased for bonus for granddaughter. She was very excited when she opened the bonus and loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret []  2020-1-16 8:37

    Our granddaughter enjoyed the book immensely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret []  2020-1-16 8:37

    daughter loves reading her books

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret []  2020-1-16 8:37

    My daughter loves these books

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince []  2020-1-27 0:13

    What a truly awesome premise for books. Really terrific and innovative! But I am so disappointed that the Windsnap series in Book #3 is heading directions inappropriate for my girls 8-12 to read. Kessler introduces an exclusive boyfriend relationship with the boy she rescued. He is allowed on family vacations when Emily is only 12-13 years old...hand holding, snuggling on the sofa alone, Aaron wishing to be alone with her without the parents or relatives with "only one thing on his mind" says Emily at the Falls. Now in Pirate Prince we have an opened-shirt seducer just out of high school in his appearance, overtly flirting with Emily's mother right in front of Emily's eyes at their cruise ship dinner table. She watches her giggling Momma dance with him as if under a spell and Emily feels upset. My gut began to twist. What is going on? Kessler has opened the door for children about boundaries at 12 years old and seduction for adults. Trusting parents, us being none-the-wiser, I ask, "Where does it go from here?" Now I explore on her www service that Liz Kessler is going to be introducing a fresh series with a 17 year old female hero questioning her orientation and identity which I'm sure the young Windsnap readers will wish to discover if they follow the Kessler books with the endorsement of my pocketbook. This locations an 8-14 year old reader accessing content like this. Sex makes the adult globe go 'round in overdoses. And I'm sure the book authors will use this to their advantage and become the parents to our kids for us, teaching them the values they want to see. Can't we just allow children be kids? Parents, be sure you read what your children are reading. Your evaluation of the book should not be a attractive cover. I learned that I will not judge the acceptability of a series based on my reading of only the first 2 books which were fantastic. Instead, every book in a series will obtain my attention. And now that I know, my girls will need another series to follow now that I know where Liz Kessler is headed. We have discussed the content so far together, but you see, it came out through their own mouths, "Why would she write about this if it isn't okay?" Why, indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince []  2020-1-27 0:13

    My daughter is 9 and she is at the scene where she wants to read any books on mermaids and/or unicorns. She told me about this book which usually a tip for me to obtain it for her. So I bought it for her and the rest of the series. She's a quick learner. She finished reading this book in 2 days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince []  2020-1-27 0:13

    My daughter loves this series and hopes it never ends!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince []  2020-1-27 0:13

    My daughter loves this series

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince []  2020-1-27 0:13

    ……and worth reading, especially for a 8-12 year old girl. Not quite realistic enough for an adult but I think will appeal to a lot of girls and even some z Kessler is a amazing children book writer, nothing to fear here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret []  2020-1-16 8:37

    My 9 year old daughter loved this book. She is very much into mermaid items and this book helped satisfy her longing for mermaids. Amazing read for 3-5 grade.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret []  2020-1-16 8:37

    My daughter and I loved listening to this on vehicle rides to school. Sometimes she would beg me to sit in the driveway until we got to a stopping point. It's not too intense for an empathetic 8-year-old, and I really enjoyed it (so much, that I listened ahead without her knowing)!My only complaint is that Finty Williams changed some of the voices from that latest few Emily Windsnap books. Millie and Emily's dad did not sound the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret []  2020-1-16 8:37

    My daughter loves this series

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret []  2020-1-16 8:37

    a must read for any fan of the original Emily Windsnap trilogy. This book managed to wrap up the loose ends I felt that was left up in the original three books like her mothers feelings of mermaid school versus human school, The family duty to Neptune to bring humans and Mer folk closer together and Emily on and off again mate ship with Mandy from her old city Bridgeport. in this book Emily's best friend's family and school is in danger due to Bridgeport's development plans. Neptune has ordered Emily and others back to Bridgeport to do what they can to avoid evacuation plans and bring the two worlds closer together. A happening created a small easier with Emily and her fresh half mer boy mate has the power to over turn Neptune's curses when together. Emily's plans to search the missing sirens results in her best mate being trapped with the singing mermaids in a curse cave and Mandy and all of Bridgeport remembering every mermaid sighting that happened over the years. Especially the war with the Kraken in book 2. One of the most best surprises in the book was Liz wrapping up the series loose end of Emily having never met her grandparents because of Neptune's spell to test to separate Emily parents before she was born.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea []  2019-12-21 18:45

    My 8 year old daughter loves these books!!! Such amazing stories and we love the 6 package so she already has the next one in line every time she’s done with a book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea []  2019-12-21 18:45

    My daughter is 8 and in 3rd grade. After reading book 1 she is obsessed with Emily Windsnap. We just bought book 6 and 7 for her to read. I was scared it would be too hard for her to read but it is perfect. It has tought her fresh vocabulary and has kept her very interested. The book will have a hard word with a comma then the definition which I love. I bought her a Judy Moody book and she read it in 2 days so I bought this hoping it would latest her longer. It has! Each book lasted her about 2 to 3 weeks. By lasting longer it has changed her more and has saved me which is a plus. I also wish to add that I (29) started reading them with her to encourage her and I think they are super cute. Its something we can talk about together and I can obtain a feel of what she learned. It takes me about 2 or 3 days to read one if I dedicate a few hours a day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea []  2019-12-21 18:45

    Amazing books for pre-teen readers. An addictive series that absolutely captivates the imagination! I read them as a young reader and read the first book of the series again before purchasing them for a family member that I thought would love the underwater escape. Still love the story as an adult!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea []  2019-12-21 18:45

    I bought this set for my daughter who just turned 7 years old. She absolutely loves reading and I knew it would be something she would have fun reading. Every night we read several chapters together and I am so proud of her, these books are great!! They really hold her entertained and wanting to actually hold reading. I knew that it could be a challenge, because some vocabulary was method past her level, but it’s been amazing because she has learned a lot of fresh words! All in all, absolutely love this set!Oh and my son(3 years old) loves hearing in on us reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea []  2019-12-21 18:45

    We bought these to read to our 5 year old daughter. She really enjoys the story. The story is more complex then other chapter books we have read to her (Junie B. Jones and Magic Tree House), so there were times where she seemed a bit bored. Our 11 year old asked to borrow them from her sister and she enjoyed them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea []  2019-12-21 18:45

    I HAD to this set for a few of the girls in my 5th grade class. They have devoured this series. These books are amazing for upper elementary students.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea []  2019-12-21 18:45

    A mate brought my Granddaughter the first book and she wanted the next one. When we realize it was apart of a series it became a must have. It come in a lovely box and my granddaughter could not stop reading. If your kid loves mermaids 🧜🏾‍♀️ this is a must buy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea []  2019-12-21 18:45

    I thought the Emily Windsnap series would fit the bill to hold my girls excited about reading, especially considering it’s perfect star rating. As a classical homeschooling family we aim for what’s called “the true, amazing & beautiful” in literature. This series does not meet those standards. Just a few chapters into the first book and Emily had already repeatedly lied to her mother and mate (and gotten away with it); she sneaks out of the house to go swimming alone. The use of words like: idiot, shut up, and using God’s name in vein is where my daughter decided, on her own, the book wasn’t amazing for her. As she described it the book created her “feel bad”. 2 Stars for a amazing premise, just [email protected]#$%! wasn’t delivered with sub-par messaging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea []  2019-12-21 18:45

    My 7 year old daughter (will be 8 in a couple weeks) LOVED the first book but was a bit scared by the second so we are going to keep off until she's a bit older.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea []  2019-12-21 18:45

    Mermaids are all the rage right now. Anything that will obtain kid's attention and obtain them reading is great. Purchased for an 11 year old, but could probably span ages 8 thru 13.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Exorcism of Emily Rose [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    During the for his events, a lawyer tries to support her client, a priest, seek the truth about what happened to the young woman who died under his care while performing an exorcism to cure her of a demonic possession and eventually lets the truth about it be known. This wasn't anywhere as poor as it could've been. The movie is really split into two halves here with this one being basically helped greatly by its really amazing possession and shock scenes. The opening stage that sets her up to becoming possessed is one of it's best sequences, as the long hallway and the unearthly voices floating around give it an unearthly feel while the first stage in the classroom where she sees a demonic face appearing in the window through a cloud of mist and turns around to see a student's face turn into a distorted demon's face giving off an unearthly roar makes it quite shocking. Running out into the rain and seeing more demonic faces give off the same unearthly roar is a bit clichéd, but it still helps to the mood while the finale in the church giving this a quite creepy conclusion. The various manners of how she’s become afflicted are quite memorable moments with the frenzied bug-eating, speaking in tongues or just contorting her body into such impossible positions that it really becomes obvious something is wrong with her, and the long, suspenseful and chilling exorcism is the film's point, coming off with any number of creepy ideas and scenes in such a drawn-out style is one of the best scenes in the film. Otherwise, beyond the shocks and the exorcism, there isn't much else to like about it. Therefore, everything else in it doesn't really work which is only relegated to the courtroom war drama. It's marketed as being a supernatural possession film, and the best moments come from those scenes, but the fact that the majority of the movie is a courtroom war with the supernatural elements coming in the form of flashbacks is a true misstep and is likely to confuse those coming in expecting the other kind of film. It's not that they're boring or anything, it's just that it's out of nowhere that it becomes that way, and it can be a disappointment. The fact that these are slow and really long don't support matters, extending this out far longer than it should. This could've easily been an hour and a half, or maybe a small longer, but the two hours running time forces it to hold the courtroom antics going for no reason other than to extend the running time. A few extraneous scenes could've been snipped as well, including the introductory scenes at the bar that repeat info we already know and also hold the running time going, and most of the time simply elicit a feeling of wanting to move along and obtain to the amazing scenes. These really hurt the film. Rated PG-13: Language, Mild Violence and intense demonic and spiritual themes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson []  2020-1-27 22:51

    This could hardly be called a "book". It's a image copied papers, with a flimsy paper/cardboardish cover. It should for a dollar. Really poor quality. And the poems in little print. They have a lot of nerve this as a book. I could have printed out poems off the internet. It seems thats what the publisher did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson []  2020-1-27 22:51

    Just take your time and read them all, a few at a time, don't rush or push or quit, learning as best you can the landscape of thought and reflection natural to her time in Western Massachusetts that generated her inner meditations and the method these were grounded in the life everyone about her lived, the two lives she lived, the natural one in which she was embedded and the inner one her own questioning, assessing, exploring, sometimes doubting world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson []  2020-1-27 22:51

    I love Amazon, but reviews and descriptions of very various versions and editions obtain all jumbled together. The Amazon Review I am looking at for a Kindle edition published by the Heraklion Press claims that this a complete ver "uncorrupted by editorial revision," the Thomas Johnson edition of 1955. But the Look Inside does not present that edition, and it seems vanishingly unlikely that any Kindle edition of the Johnson or Franklin editions will ever be available for less than ten though she wrote so long ago, Dickinson's work was originally heavily edited by mates and relations. So far as I can tell, those are the only versions that are in the public domain, the only versions you are likely to see for a buck or two on Kindle. The truly accurate ver first published in 1955 by the Harvard University Press is still under copyright. Only the copyrighted versions are "uncorrupted by editorial revision," and the differences are not minor. At the time I write this, no Harvard University Press ver seems to be offered for Kindle, and if it ever is, it will almost certainly cost a lot more than a few ese old public domain editions do present the poems the method they were seen for a long time. They're better than nothing. But if you wish to see Dickinson's poems as they were actually written, you currently need to look up one of the post-1955 editions edited by Johnson or Franklin printed on paper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson []  2020-1-27 22:51

    I lost my old edition of Emily Dickinson's complete poems a few months back so i bought this edition hoping it would be a suitable replacement. I was greatly disappointed. I would NOT recommend the Pantianos Classics Edition. First off, on the spine of the book, the title is "The Complete Poems Of Emily Dickenson". They couldn't even spell her name right so there's your first warning. But whats most irritating is how utterly far away from being a COMPLETE volume of her poems this is. Its probably more along the lines of 1/4 of her total work, leaving a lot of of her finest pieces out of this edition for whatever reason. Usually when I a book I'll look into it a small bit, you know, read reviews and have a look inside. I'll look to see what the dimensions, size and weight of the book are as well as how a lot of pages it contains. I'll admit I may have rushed through the and just saw "complete" and "Dickinson" and I threw it in my cart and checked out. Learned my lesson good. It created me so mad and just allow down that I purchased a various volume, I had to have her words. But the Back Bay Books ver of her COMPLETE poems is much much better. It's the true and it is easily 10 times as thick as this edition and what's necessary about that? Its because it actually does include her COMPLETE POEMS.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson []  2020-1-27 22:51

    The Kindle edition (which I bought from the Kindle link on this page) is the *Higginson* edition with 59 poems--even though the title says "Complete".Based on other reviews, I'm assuming the paperback edition is the more recommended *Johnson* edition and probably has all 1775 poems.I'm assuming the recommendations are reliable, because I haven't read Dickinson since high school (40 years ago) and If I'm going to read her now, I wish to begin with the *real* thing. A Kindle ver would be ideal, though. Since they're so short, I can read one anywhere, any time, and then think it over as I go on my way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson []  2020-1-27 22:51

    Emily Dickinson was a slightly deranged Dada poet of the late 20th Century trapped in the body of a 19th century spinster matron. No one would wish to read through more than few pages at a single session, but having her whole life in front of you allows you to pick out the amazing stuff. After a while, her limited style and range can obtain frustrating, but the her work is astonishing in little doses, which is how she wrote it. If you believe in reincarnation it's amusing to think of a brilliant male poet forced to live an entire lifetime as Emily Dickinson as some kind of expiation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson []  2020-1-27 22:51

    This is some sort of pirated copy. Despite the title saying, Emily Dickinson Complete Poems, she wrote 1800 poems, this has 115. No publication information. It is a very skinny paperback with a red-orange cover and has Waterhouse's, Lady of Shallot on the cover. Avoid it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson []  2020-1-27 22:51

    Most of Dickinson's collections include poems that are not in her intended form. That's because an editor changed the poems prior to publishing them not long after Dickinson's ever, this collection edited by Thomas H. Johnson has Dickinson's original syntax and words. The difference can be nsider poem 1544. Here is the modified version:Who has not found the heaven below Will fail of it above.God's residence is next to mine, His furniture is is the intended version:Who has not found the Heaven -- below --Will fail of it above --For Angels rent the House next ours,Wherever we remove --To me, there is no comparison. If you agree, obtain the Thomas Johnson version. But be cautious--it looks like only the hardback is the intended i.e., Thomas Johnson, version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson []  2020-1-27 22:51

    This is not a true book - or at least the one I received wasn't, My copy did not have an acknowledgment of who the editor was - Johnson supposedly? Nor did it have an index. Or a list of contents. Which I guess doesn't matter because it did not even have page numbers. There is no title page, or publisher info - in lieu of that there is only three telling lines on the latest page: "printed in the USA on March 11 2015." This is not a book, it's a print-off, and a lousy one at that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson []  2020-1-27 22:51

    I've been reading Emily Dickinson all of my life, off and on. I decided at age 60, to read her Complete Poems & discovered a much various persona emerged when I read the lesser known poems along side the immortal ones. Reading only her most majestic poems gave her an almost untouchable aura. She was damn near excellent when read selectively, but in reading her less stellar efforts, a more human poet emerged & a more engaging one at that. Rating poets with stars is as silly as giving chocolate hearts to tin men, but how could I give any less than five to this angelic woman. The odd thing is, that this more human poet with frailties that the Complete Poems showed me, seems even more divine now. As for her poetics, she knew how to play slightly off key when she wanted to & it makes her work, the work of an original. Her erotic poems, though few, (Wild Nights!) are best in class. Thanks you Emily Dickinson, for your letter to the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) []  2020-1-21 20:34

    The past casts a lot of a shadow in the lee of Vesuvius. Colin is confronted by his past and Emily's confidence is frayed as murder spreads it's wings on a dig at Pompei.Emily's mate Ivy asked Emily to accompany her to Pompeii. Ivy's husband, concerned about the two women traveling alone, with a clever sleight of hand, was able to inveigle King Edward VII to release Colin from his protection duties in to join a reconstructed dining room at the Pompei dig, archaeologists have formed plaster casts of a group of the long perished inhabitants giving tourists a window into the terrors of those moments. When Ivy comments on the unusualness of one of the group of ancient figures having sideburns, it's but a moment before Colin pokes at the plaster with his penknife to explore that the body displayed is very much latest .Alternating with the mystery Emily becomes involved in, we follow the path of a young Greek woman who along with her father is a slave to a wealthy family living in Pompeii prior to the eruption of Mt Vesuvius. She is a close mate to the daughter of the house and a itially I felt the plot was lack luster. It seemed just so so. I was also annoyed by what I saw as a storyline interruption, switching from 1902 to A.D. 79. Later, as Emily battled through what was a major upheaval to hers and Colin's lives, I became very much involved in their plight and the poet's tale. As the two stories wove together, I was once again was struck by Alexander's ability to give us a solid murder mystery with something a small different.I did not see the ending coming. A amazing thing!I was also much struck by the epigraph Alexander opened the story with. So fitting when taken in context! Yet what does it say about attitudes to life?"Of the a lot of misfortunes that have occurred in this world, no others have given posterity such joy. —Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, writing about Pompeii."A St. Martin's Press ARC via NetGalley(Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) []  2020-1-21 20:34

    Tasha Alexander brilliantly navigates between the globe of Lady Emily (1902) as she and her husband and mates visit the ruins of Pompeii, and the globe of a slave girl in that same town in 79 AD, the year it would be destroyed by Vesuvius.Emily and company tour the ruins, and view the horrors of the long dead encased in plaster to present the agony of their latest moments. But closer examination shows that one is not like the others, and they realize that there is a new body hidden among the ancient. When the murdered man is revealed to have been an American journalist, Lady Emily and squad must sift through all of the possible villains to bring justice to the e surprise appearance of a young woman claiming to be her husband's daughter adds another level of intrigue, as Colin swears he was never told of her existence. The situation is not created any better by the young woman's begin hostility toward Emily, a state of which Colin appears totally unaware.Juxtaposing the mysteries in 1902, we alternatively travel back in time to the weeks before Vesuvius destroyed the bustling town of Pompeii. Kassandra is a young Greek slave, born in the Roman town and considering herself Roman in all but ancestry. When her father is able to their freedom, he takes her from a life lived next to wealth and luxury to a more middle class home. But she remains mates with her former mistress, and develops a forbidden relationship with the woman's husband. Kassandra is a gifted poet, and the husband talks her into secret meetings to read her poetry to him. He promises that he will show her to all the globe as the author of the poetry that is taking Pompeii by each woman navigates the mores of her era, Tasha Alexander presents a picture that would indicate that a woman's status has changed small over the centuries. Both Lady Emily and Kassandra chafe at the restrictions placed on them by their gender, but only one will be unable to maneuver around them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) []  2020-1-21 20:34

    Loved the history in both stories... a huge fan of this series... BUT so disappointed in the decline of morality so easily accepted, situational ethics excuses all around and forcing women’s right’s at every turn... and the mind picture left with at the end... really...plus unrealistic in its optimism going forward ... not my favorite and fear direction of the series going forward ... so bummed ... read most of the others at least twice...love the blending of accurate history and amazing mystery... read in 2 days...not what I hoped for ... Colin with a teenage daughter... created me sad... other parts and attitudes too...so may be my latest one...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) []  2020-1-21 20:34

    This is the first Tasha Alexander book I've read and I was blown away by the attention to historical detail. The descriptions of Pompeii: the archaeological dig as well as the original city, were awesome and it was simple to imagine yourself right there on the town streets. I love reading everything I can on Pompeii and Herculaneum so this was a amazing read for that (and I loved the bibliography at the end- a few I had already read but the rest are absolutely going on my TBR pile). The sense of put remained powerful throughout the book and was its major strength for me.If I had read the earlier books in the series (this is number 14) I might have had more of a connection with the characters, but I had problem really connecting to them. For the most part they seemed rather flat for me. I also didn't feel any emotional connection to the mystery. A man shows up dead, the local police won't do anything so Emily and her husband decide to look into it. I prefer mysteries where, if there's an amateur sleuth, they are trying to solve the crime because it affects them or someone close to them personally. The chapters alternate between Lady Emily's "present day" and the story of Kassandra, a slave in Pompeii in the months leading up to the eruption. I was of two minds about the secondary story as well. I loved the extra chances to see into the daily life of the people and the city, and I liked that the hero wasn't a highly born noble but a slave who earns her freedom. Like Emily, Kassandra is a woman trying to live by her own rules in a man's world, which I liked. On the other hand, until the very end it was hard to tell exactly why we were seeing this particular story. I thought it was clever how they dovetailed in the end (I won't give it away, but it worked nicely).The research and attention to detail for "In the Shadow of Vesuvius" were amazing, broken up only by a (to me) mediocre mystery plot line and characters I couldn't overly have fun spending time with.I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) []  2020-1-21 20:34

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius by Tasha Alexander is another in the series of Victorian mysteries and takes place, mostly, in 1902. Emily's mate Ivy Brandon, the mother of six wants to visit Pompeii but her husband will not let it without someone to accompany her so she turns to her friend, Lady Emily Hargreaves. As it turns out that would be an adventure Lady Emily would like to take, and her husband, Colin Hargreaves, a man in the employ of the British government to with problems, is available to join them. We join them in Pompeii and start a two-pronged story, which jumps between that of a young woman in ancient Pompeii and the solving of two murders in the current day. Victorian expectations are still fully in force, even in Italy, so there are a amazing a lot of behavioral expectations in place, for both men and women. This rarely stops Lady Emily, but she tries to remain e two stories are unrelated but meet toward the end of the book. Alexander has woven a disparate group of personalities into an interesting tome full of intrigue and danger, several murders, several more attempted. Lies are told to skirt expectations, but others rose to the occasion to create lies unnecessary. Emily and Colin's relationship is place to the try by the arrival of Colin's previously unknown daughter, who I expect to obtain to know better in coming novels. One of Alexander's strengths is hero development and nowhere does she display it better than in this book. The characters are inconsistent, just like true people, and ever fail to surprise and the reader gets to know them. It is exciting. Another perk is all the history, well researched and often haunting. This is a terrific book. Lady Emily followers will not be disappointed and it will certainly garner fresh readers, as well. I recommend it.I received a ARC of In the Shadow of Vesuvius from Netgalley in exchange for a fair review. All opinions and interpretations contained herein are solely my own. #netgalley #intheshadowofvesuvius

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) []  2020-1-21 20:34

    Yet another unbelievable addition to the Lady Emily mystery series! This book deftly balances two narratives of Pompeii in alternating chapters - one of a 79 AD slave poetess and the other from 1902 AD of Lady Emily.Our plucky protagonist, Lady Emily Hargreaves, has headed off to Pompeii accompanying her dearest mate Ivy Brandon as Ivy participates on an archaeological dig at the Pompeii ruins. Emily's husband, Colin, takes a break from English Court security and travels along with the ladies to guard versus treachery. All seems rather [email protected]#$%!&il they message a plaster body casting related to those from the 1860s of archaeologist, Giuseppe Fiorelli. This particular casting presents itself on the excavation grounds but it has strange features in comparison to folks of Pompeii's final days. Sure enough, a recently murdered man is found in the casting. Who was this man? Who on the excavation squad knew him and who had it in for him? In light of the local police not wanting to lock horns with the strong Camorra crime syndicate, they beautiful much ignore the death, leaving Sir Colin and Lady Emily to do their own clandestine sleuthing. All is not as it seems and a sudden knock on the door presents a whole fresh juicy twist to the success of the sleuthing duo.I'll be honest, I had a bit of a struggle keeping tabs on all the different characters throughout the book. Frankly, a chart of characters would be a lovely addition as there are no fewer than 28 characters named within these pages. Only a little handful of these people appears in prior installments of this series. Regardless, the book is a fascinating read about the final days of Pompeii in 79 AD and of the early 20th century excavations of the ancient city. The amount of historic research which author Tasha Alexander puts into this book is Herculean and provides a unbelievable glimpse into the lives of folks from both time periods. It is especially noteworthy how well she portrays the lives of women of these periods and the ways in which they navigate around men and societal norms of their day. The writing is perfect and the mise en scène superbly crafted. If historical fiction mystery with a minor touch of romance appeals to you, then this is certainly a book you too would enjoy.I am grateful to author Tasha Alexander and St. Martin's Publishing Group for having provided a uncorrected digital galley of this book. Their generosity, however, did not influence this review - the words of which are mine alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) []  2020-1-21 20:34

    3.5 stars rounded up to 4As with a lot of of the stories in this long-running series, you obtain two stories for the of one. The main story takes put in 1902 Pompei at an archaeological dig and the accompanying story revolves around a newly freed slave girl in AD 79 Pompei. For my part, I sort of liked the accompanying story better than the main story – mostly because you knew, as you read, what was going to happen to the characters. You wanted them to escape, but really knew they wouldn’t, so it was dy Emily and her best friend, Ivy, hadn’t been able to spend much time together because – well – life got in the way. Ivy has six kids who hold her busy and Lady Emily and her husband, Colin have kids and travel a amazing – mostly because of Colin’s work for the crown. Ivy, Emily, and Colin have decided to create a trek to the digs at Pompei. Colin didn’t wish to go, but Ivy’s husband persuaded him to accompany the most upon arrival, they discovered a dead body – encased in plaster in to look like the other victims of Vesuvius. Colin and Lady Emily immediately take on the investigation to solve the murder because the local authorities would just allow it go. They have lots of suspects with all of the archaeologists on the dig – a lot of of whom are hiding secrets. Almost as soon as the investigation begins, the warnings start. The warnings are obscure and something that Lady Emily would recognize, but most others wouldn’t. Those warnings were meant to place them off the investigation but only created Lady Emily and squad more determined to search the killer. Tensions only increase when a second death occurs. Was it a murder or an accident? The investigation continues and a lot of secrets are revealed, a lot of suspects investigated and finally, the assassin revealed in a most dramatic so, right at the beginning, we obtain a fresh and previously unknown addition to the Hargreaves family. Colin’s way of dealing with this fresh addition caused me to lose respect for him. There was no excuse for his allowing this fresh addition to treat Lady Emily as she did.I have never had a amazing liking for Lady Emily – I’ve tried and just can’t obtain there. In my opinion, Lady Ivy would have created a much better heroine. Jeremy, Duke of Bainbridge, is also seeming a small caricaturish to me. Seems to me it is time he begins to grow up. One thing that sort of bothered me was that there was absolutely no mention of Lady Emily’s and Colin’s kids – given the circumstances, you’d think they’d be discussed at some e descriptions of the locations and people in both stories created you feel as if you were right there in the scene. The mystery was a amazing one and the accompanying story was a lovely, but sad, tale.I voluntarily read and reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) []  2020-1-21 20:34

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius is the 14th book in Tasha Alexander's Lady Emily Mystery series. It's the first book I've read by this author. A small late to the party, aren't I? Amazingly, book 14 stood alone perfectly; I didn't feel the least bit dy Emily Hargreaves and her best mate Ivy, escorted by Emily's husband Colin, are in Pompeii in 1902, visiting archaeological sites. While observing the plaster casts created of the victims of the eruption of Mount Vesuvius which occurred in 79 AD, Ivy realizes that one of the casts had sideburns. Sideburns? That wasn't right! When Colin at the plaster with his pocket knife, he finds that there is a new body under the plaster. Emily and Colin start to investigate the murder. In the midst of the chaos, a attractive young woman appears, who apparently is Colin's daughter...one he didn't know he had. Juxtaposed with this story was one about a young freed Greek slave in Pompeii in the months leading up to the devastation from Mount first I was a bit annoyed with the story going back and forth between 1902 and 79 AD. However, as things progressed, I became totally immersed in both storylines. The one about Kassandra, a young poet, was especially enthralling. I became very attached to her, and it broke my heart just knowing the horror that was coming for her and Pompeii. I also enjoyed Emily's story; it was such a amazing mystery, one I just could not figure out! Every time I thought I solved it, I was proven wrong. The only thing that really irritated me was the method Colin's daughter Kat treated Emily. With the connection Emily and Colin so I obviously had, I was surprised he allow Kat obtain away with her behavior. Besides that, it was an awesome story, one that was apparently meticulously researched. I'm eager for Emily's next adventure.II received an ARC of this book courtesy of the publisher and NetGalley. I received no compensation for my review, and all thoughts and opinions expressed are entirely my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) []  2020-1-21 20:34

    Tasha Alexander's historical mysteries take put early in the 20th century. In this entry, Lady Emily and her husband Colin are visiting Pompeii and Herculaneum where they become entangled in murder and chaos. The book also contains a novel within a novel that tells the story of a (freed) slave, a young woman poet and her e strengths of this book contain the settings and the characters with whom I wanted to spend time. The author has done significant research and her description of the excavations of Pompeii and Herculaneum are filled with atmosphere, historical terms, and objects. Similarly, the globe of the poet, Kassandra, comes vividly to life with its taverns, meal stalls and homes both ostentatious and simple.I enjoyed the relationship of Emily with her husband, Colin, and close friend, a lord. Kassandra, Lepida (her former owner), Lepida's husband and Melas, a painter are all well drawn. Also, readers of the series will be interested to obtain to know Kat, but no spoilers here. I found the murder mystery itself to be less compelling and felt that the story could have been edited just a netheless, if you are curious about archaeology and have fun historical mysteries, you might wish to pick up this recent in the series. I also recommend this author's earlier title, A Death in St. y thanks to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for this title in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) []  2020-1-21 20:34

    "None of us is safe from exposure after death."I selected this mystery solely on the fact that it mentioned the words, "Vesuvius" and "Pompeii". I have not read any of the other books in the series and was a bit nervous coming in at this stage. I have long been fascinated with the story of the eruption and the discovery and excavation of the town as well as having a dream about actually visiting there one day. I absolutely loved all the info and it was obvious that Tasha Alexander did a lot of research so that she could describe it all so clearly to her readers. I also found it interested to read the alternating chapters as they jump between 79 AD and 1902, giving us a fictional acc of a former slave and poetess from that time period. I'm giving the archeological component and the cultural elements a resounding 4 e actual mystery that drives the plot and fills in the pages around the depiction of the ruins, however, was fairly banal. I didn't grow to care much about the main characters who seemed to think they were quite superior and were very judgmental. Of course suspending disbelief of Emily's investigating talents and her aristocratic lifestyle was a stretch. The introduction of a fresh member of the family at this late scene in the series must have come as a surprise to long-time fans! The interaction between all of the characters seemed quite contrived and the whole murder mystery case part was not very interesting. Without the setting, it would have been even more lame -- and I can't believe the police weren't involved leaving the crime to be solved by outsiders? As an American, I had to cringe at some of the less than flattering characteristics attributed to those characters. Really?Anyway, that aspect of the book left me bored and I didn't care about it at all and would rate that 2 stars. I suspect it's hard coming up with new material for the 14th installment in a ank you to NetGalley and Minotaur Books for this e-book ARC to read and review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily of New Moon []  2020-1-11 19:29

    This review is based on a hardcover edition of this novel which I believe to be unabridged. I came to the book due to the latest Canadian Tv Series, and though I've enjoyed that series very much, I search the book is altogether quite various from the series. It held my interest from the first page, and I was deeply moved by the entire achievement. Small Emily in this novel is a writer, a kid with the heart and soul of a poet/prose writer who is immensely sensitive to the beauty around her on Prince Edward Island where she is growing up. Her closest friends, Teddy and Ilse, are also highly creative; and the soul of the novel has to do with the passion and courage of Emily in a globe where vulnerable creative personalities meet with general bias as well as specific obstacles to their development every day. For me, the strongest and most arresting passages in the book have to do with nature as Emily sees it and moves through it.... trees, woodlands, coastal areas, gardens both natural and created, and the neverending panorama of changing skies. It is worth noting that Emily sees as much beauty in winter around her as she sees in spring or summer; and when she feels deeply, her joy is mingled with pain. Her soul opens when she is given opportunities to write down her thoughts; and the act of writing is therapeutic for her; and over the course of the novel she grows in insight and strength. ----- ------- There is much more to be said about this book. It is part of group of novels of the period that dealt with appealing orphans placed in homes where they had to victory over the unsympathetic guardians who burdened with their care. And much can be said about the metaphor of the orphan, and why these books attained such popularity. ---- Another key aspect of the novel is that it takes the mind and soul of a kid completely seriously, and does not shrink from powerful condemnations of those who are rude and abusive to children. It is not written per se for children; but it is written by some one for whom the kid is a full human being. ----------- I do wish to discover those aspects of the book (and others) as I continue to read Lucy Maud Montgomery but the basic value of this novel for me is that Emily is a writer; and I think there is much here to comfort, encourage and inspire writers of all ages. The novel rings true. The novel is not just for children. The novel transcends time. I recommend this to anyone interested in the dilemma or the adventure of the creative child, the kid who is a dreamer, the kid who sees miracles in the physical globe all around her, the kid whose soul longs to write or paint or create art in any form. This is lovely novel, and it is a powerful one and reading it was a rare pleasure. ------ One latest note. When I finished it I thought at once of "Martin Eden" by Jack London. That is a book about an adult, and a much darker book. It is wholly various book, and it provides a deeply disturbing ending that a lot of might search disappointing. But "Martin Eden" also about a writer, about the anguishing struggles of a sensitive soul who longs to be surrounded by beauty and to create beauty. ----- I recommend both books very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily of New Moon []  2020-1-11 19:29

    This is a charming, classic, coming of age book. This ebook version, however, includes a lot of pages that were not edited or proofread, and have glaring spelling errors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily of New Moon []  2020-1-11 19:29

    I will always be a fan of Lucy Montgomery. This book has the Anne of Green Gables flavor you should expect, though a small more dark and contemplative in ways. Adults in the story are an especially cold embodiment of the mysteries and traditions of being grown up. Emily, the main character, is the lost small fairy girl that still lives in my own soul. Four stars because there are missed opportunities in the story for describing the happenings that unfold, which feel like footnotes, but Lucy's style is to keep you in the mind of the heroine and not necessarily in the reality around her. There are also some cultural norms for the time which feel uncomfortable to read in context of today's society but that happens in older books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily of New Moon []  2020-1-11 19:29

    This is NOT another Anne of Green Gables. Small orphaned Emily does not end up in a loving home, with people who love her all around. But she does end up in a home she can love, and people who care about her. Her thoughts and dreams are not very well developed, as she was very close to the father who died and has a hard time living without him. But finding that writing to him is one kind of salvation, she copes. I'm anxious to read the next story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily of New Moon []  2020-1-11 19:29

    Lucy Maud Montgomery also wrote the Anne of Green gables series, which, even as an adult, I search to be perfect reading. I wasn't sure when I ordered this first book, if it would be as good, but I enjoyed it so much, I ordered the other books in the series and hated that there weren't more. At a time in our history where the globe is full of violence and instability, Montgomery's stories are a wonderful, life-affirming escape. I told one of my daughters that reading the "Emily" series before bed was almost like going to sleep with a mother's lullaby in my head.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily of New Moon []  2020-1-11 19:29

    It's definitely a classic and well written . But somehow it just misses the must read status of say Anne of Green Gables or Rebecca of Sunnybrook farm. Hold in mind this is from the male perspective . I place it in the same field but above The Story Girl and Golden Road. It has a nice period feel with an engaging orphan hero as well as an interesting collection of supporting characters . While it takes put on P.E.I it does have a various feel to it. It's worth rounding out you're reading it just may not be a title you'll revist like LM Montgomery's other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily of New Moon []  2020-1-11 19:29

    Amazing read! Emily of fresh moon is the first in the 3 book series by L.M. Montgomery, who was the famous writer of the anne of green gables series! My daughter loved that series and was very excited when she saw this one. She read through all 3 very speedily and was sorry to leave Emily, ilse, Perry and teddy at the end of each book. The characters are very simple to obtain attached to! I would recommend all 3 of the books as a amazing read for each!There is mild swearing in each of the books, but only when one of the characters Is upset. Sweet book series!Would recommend for ages 11 and up!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily of New Moon []  2020-1-11 19:29

    I have always loved Anne of Green Gables and when I found the Emily books as an adult I was so excited to begin reading them. This book was charming, wonderful, and an overall amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily of New Moon []  2020-1-11 19:29

    This is one of my favorite L.M. Montgomery books. The heroine has a amazing mixture of traits, the side characters and setting are beautifully rendered, and I like the inclusion of supernatural elements. Although this book is a small darker than Anne of Green Gables, I feel it also has more depth. Personally, I think Emily deserves to be considered a classic heroine as much as the more widely-known talkative red-head.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emily of New Moon []  2020-1-11 19:29

    I was a bit disappointed with this book. I so love the Anne of Green Gables books and expected the same experience. However this one was a small dry and hard to really obtain into or obtain close to the characters. I have the next 2 in the series on my iPad but don't plan on diving into either for awhile.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    EMILY: The Cookbook []  2019-12-25 18:0

    I have been to EMILY in Brooklyn so I knew what I was in for. We create pizza weekly and I've been testing some of these recipes. The ones I have created have sticking power into our repertoire because they are simply wonderful. I have to admit up front that I have not tried the dough listed in the book. I know, how can I deviate? Well, Andris Lagsdin of Baking Steel has my heart with his 72 hour pizza dough. I'm sure I will eventually test the dough recipe in the book, but that's my current standby that consistently e recipes I have created from the book contain the green tomatillo sauce, the Emily, the Colonie, and the Emzies. I'm quite certain I will just hold making these again and again, because my Brooklyn loving heart just can't search pizza like that in California. We've had these weekly for over a month and I'm not even close of tiring of them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    EMILY: The Cookbook []  2019-12-25 18:0

    Amazing book from a amazing restaurant. The recipes are well written and simple for cooks of all levels to pull off, especially at home. Have created a lot of of the recipes in the book so far and all have turned out great. Must have in my collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    EMILY: The Cookbook []  2019-12-25 18:0

    One of the best cookbooks I’ve ever used. The pizza doughs alone are worth warranting 5 stars, not just because the recipes work, but they are extremely well written. Everything is explained and the attention to detail is fantastic, like the fact that a convection oven with proper time and temperature is mentioned for the Detroit dough. Love the info on the proper equipment for making pizza, because as I’ve found out after attempting homemade pizza for 20 plus years, the equipment makes the largest difference. Awesome, amazing pizza, as close to professional quality as I’ll ever get.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    EMILY: The Cookbook []  2019-12-25 18:0

    Okay, this is my first review and likely my last. The NYtimes was right, this cookbook is one of the best of the fall. But that doesn't do this book justice. I have maybe 800 cookbooks and I would rate this near the top of my collection. I came out of the closet since there were only 4 reviews and I was flabbergasted. Now there's 5. It's the true deal. Enough said.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    EMILY: The Cookbook []  2019-12-25 18:0

    Awesome food. Ate there with my daughter. Pizza was delicious.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    EMILY: The Cookbook []  2019-12-25 18:0

    Want there were more images of the recipes but still OUTSTANDING! If you wish to learn inside recipes for artisan pizza and burgers, then you need this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    EMILY: The Cookbook []  2019-12-25 18:0

    After visiting NYC and eating at the restaurant, I had to this and test it at home. The recipes take some work, so it is not necessarily for a super casual chef, but soooo with it. Quality book with amazing photos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    EMILY: The Cookbook []  2019-12-25 18:0

    amazing cookBook! the recipes are simple to follow. what i like to do is test a fresh recipe- main dish and dessert or appetizer on date night.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    EMILY: The Cookbook []  2019-12-25 18:0

    Love this cookbook!! The wings are awesome and especially the emmy burger it was worth the time to make, and I have yet to test her pizzas but they look delicious!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    EMILY: The Cookbook []  2019-12-25 18:0

    So satisfied to learn how to create the recipes from my favorite ied the pizza and it was a huge hit - time consuming but worth up to tackle is the burger!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tail of Woah: A Reverse Harem Academy Tail: The Fox and the Hounds, Book 1 []  2020-1-29 20:21

    If you like books with a quirky, snarky, sassy female main character, then give this book a try. I stayed up late reading and giggling through some sections till the early hours - note to self, begin these books earlier in the eveninh. RH with MM elements .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tail of Woah: A Reverse Harem Academy Tail: The Fox and the Hounds, Book 1 []  2020-1-29 20:21

    Do you hate laughing till you can't breathe?Do you hate clever puns and witty plays on words?Do you hate getting in problem with the hubs for staying up ALL NIGHT reading (and waking him up several times from laughing to hard)?If you hate those things don't this book.I laughed myself sick! The FMC is so full of snark and sarcasm. I wish to be her when I grow up 😂 Her personality in this book fits perfectly how I imagine a problem making kitsune to be. I legit think I did that actually swooning sigh after reading this. You know what I'm talking about, you read an awesome story and heave a huge ol' satisfying sigh at the end? And the sexy times are HOT AS HELLO!I LOVE paranormal stories, especially RH. A lot of stories can begin sounding the same after awhile. This one is SO unique! I wasn't expecting the level of mythological lore contained in this book, it was a unbelievable surprise and intelligently written.Jacquelyn Faye is cranking these books out like a magical rainbow wrecking ball in the best possible way. She came outta freaking nowhere with these AMAZEBALL stories and I'm SO freaking satisfied I downloaded her other books. She's incredibly witty and spins tales in a method that I feel like I'm not reading, I can see it all in my mind like a movie. #FangirlingBonus: This book is also educational, you will be exposed to the language of the Ermagerdian people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tail of Woah: A Reverse Harem Academy Tail: The Fox and the Hounds, Book 1 []  2020-1-29 20:21

    Kaede is a unbelievable character! Sassy, clever, vulnerable (at moments), and a true sweetheart. The men are hot af and I am so ready for more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tail of Woah: A Reverse Harem Academy Tail: The Fox and the Hounds, Book 1 []  2020-1-29 20:21

    I loved how the author mixed Japanese Kitsune, werewolves, and Norse mythology into one book. Lots of fun to read with some quirky twists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tail of Woah: A Reverse Harem Academy Tail: The Fox and the Hounds, Book 1 []  2020-1-29 20:21

    This was a random pick for me. I have a ton of unread books on my shelf, and am always adding more. But the blurb for A Tail of Woah snagged my attention and I started reading the book immediately. I am so damn glad I did!The main character, Kaede, is an absolute crazy hot mess, with the attention span of a cocaine-addled squirrel, the thought process of a teenaged nympho with multiple personality disorder, and absolutely no brain-to-mouth filter to support the people around her obtain the slightest bit of a handle on her... She's freakin awesome! Kaede might very well be my favorite book hero ing this story really makes me wish to meet the author. If Jacquelyn Faye place any of herself into Kaede, conversation with her would be so much fun!This book was terrific, on every front. I don't have a single negative thing to say about it. The inclusion of so a lot of various supernatural aspects, while using Norse mythology as an all-encompassing guideline was brilliantly maneuvered. The author definitely did her at said, as much as I enjoyed the story itself, the main character, and the interaction of the supporting characters with her, is what gave the book its wow factor, without blurring the story itself, which is a feat in itself given Kaede's very large, very loud, personality. Well done, Miss Faye.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tail of Woah: A Reverse Harem Academy Tail: The Fox and the Hounds, Book 1 []  2020-1-29 20:21

    Fun read. I liked this. It was an simple ready with a small bit a hotness. A couple of laugh out loud moments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Tail of Woah: A Reverse Harem Academy Tail: The Fox and the Hounds, Book 1 []  2020-1-29 20:21

    this book created me laugh with how sassy the story teller is. she is someone i could be mates with because she has no filter & would always tell it like it is. would be very fun to hang with & watch create a total fool of herself at parties.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386