the tail of emily windsnap Reviews & Opinions


Submit the tail of emily windsnap review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    My daughter loved this book we got a whole set! She needs to read at least 20 minutes a day but she spends more time reading this and less time on electronics now. She would tell me what she read so far over breakfast before she goes to school.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    I bought the entire set of the Emily Windsnap books for my 10 year old niece as a birthday gift. She loves mermaids and loved the books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    i love these books I've red all of them 5 or 6 times and im not making that up im nine years old and i love these books i just finished the tail of emily windsnap and the sirens secret for the 6th time literary im not lying i want i could go back in time and read them for the first time again and experience the magic for the first time over and over again you should definitely buy all of these book because you will love them as much as i do!!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on the tail of emily windsnap or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch the tail of emily windsnap video reviews and related movies:

    See Liz Kessler - 2009 National Book Festival on youtube.

     related image

    See 75. The Tail of Emily Windsnap- Book Review: 100 books in 2018 영어원서리뷰 on youtube.

     related image

    See The Tail of Emily Windsnap Book Trailer on youtube.

     related image

    See The Tail of Emily Windsnap by Liz Kessler on youtube.

     related image

    See Kooky Kidbrary Review of The Tail of Emily Windsnap on youtube.

     related image

    See Sarah - The Tail of Emily Windsnap on youtube.

     related image

    See The Tail of Emily Windsnap - [Non/Disney Crossover] on youtube.

     related image

    See Emily Windsnap || S1 Ep1 || on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    I am going to tell you about the setting of The Tail of Emily Windsnap. The setting took put on a ship called King of the Sea and I think that is an interesting name for a ship. Most of the setting is either on the ship or in the ocean and the author described the setting very well. I could almost imagine myself in the setting of this story. The setting of The Tail of Emily Windsnap is very creative and amazing. I can tell you a lot about the plot of this story. A girl named Emily finds out she is half mermaid at the beginning of the story when she swims for the first time and I think that it would be amazing to search out you were half mermaid. I found it very interesting when Emily met a mermaid named Shannon and learned about her dad at mermaid school. She goes through a amazing and crazy adventure to search her dad who is a mermaid also. I loved the plot of The Tail of Emily Windsnap. I am going to tell you the conflict and resolution of The Tail of Emily Windsnap. I thought it was surprising when Emily found out her dad was a mermaid, and was in prison and that was a problem. She is half mermaid and mermaid prison is very far away, so she would have to swim underwater, which I think would be crazy because she would not be able to swim that long and far. So Emily, her mom, and Mr. Beeston went into the ocean on a ship, so Emily could jump out of the ship when they were far enough, and go through a difficult adventure to save her dad. Emily went through a crazy adventure just to save her dad.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    It was a cute story but kind of lazy when it came to creativity. I read it to see if my granddaughter (who loves mermaids) would like the book . Its ok, but as I said, but not great. The author tried to create the mermaid globe too much like our dry labd existence, and it was hokey. Ex: they ate seaweed sandwiches (on what, soggy bread?); everyone speaks English and attends regular schools and goes to the library? Really? Very disappointed in creative detail. But hey...maybe children expect that kind of stuff. I think its lazy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    This book is awesome! :) I recommend everyone who thinks mermaids are beautiful cool or to anyone looking for a child friendly amazing book. I thought this book would be kind of boring and kind of for small children but I got it anyway to see how it was and I was wrong! I'm 11 years old and I enjoyed it! I haven't gotten any other Emily Windsnap books but I'm going to soon. This is book is PERFECT for huge and small. If your reading reviews to see if this book is good, you should stop right here and obtain the first book but don't spend your cash on anything until you finish the book because I'm REALLY regretting spending all my cash before seeing if I liked it. GET THE BOOK. ITS AWESOME!! xoxoxoxo

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    My 11-year-old daughter loved this book and read it in 1 day! Now we are waiting for the first set, it is coming next week and she keeps asking me daily when it will obtain here. loved the first book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    I bought this as a birthday show for my 9 year old granddaughter. She absolutely loved it and wants the rest of the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    I loved this book so much!!!!! I thought Emily was so brave because everything she did, she took a lot of risks. If you love to swim and act like your a mermaid underwater, then you are going to love this book!!!!! ;)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Tail of Emily Windsnap review [Book]  2018-3-19 18:1

    I love the Emily Windsnap series. I bought for my granddaughter to read aloud on our cross country street trip this summer, and ended up finishing on my own! She's only 7 but a amazing reader. Content and vocabulary was geared more towards 4th or 5th grade, but she loved them. Who doesn't love a amazing mermaid adventure?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea review []  2019-12-21 18:45

    I thought the Emily Windsnap series would fit the bill to hold my girls excited about reading, especially considering it’s perfect star rating. As a classical homeschooling family we aim for what’s called “the true, amazing & beautiful” in literature. This series does not meet those standards. Just a few chapters into the first book and Emily had already repeatedly lied to her mother and mate (and gotten away with it); she sneaks out of the house to go swimming alone. The use of words like: idiot, shut up, and using God’s name in vein is where my daughter decided, on her own, the book wasn’t amazing for her. As she described it the book created her “feel bad”. 2 Stars for a amazing premise, just [email protected]#$%! wasn’t delivered with sub-par messaging.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea review []  2019-12-21 18:45

    I bought this set for my daughter who just turned 7 years old. She absolutely loves reading and I knew it would be something she would have fun reading. Every night we read several chapters together and I am so proud of her, these books are great!! They really hold her entertained and wanting to actually hold reading. I knew that it could be a challenge, because some vocabulary was method past her level, but it’s been amazing because she has learned a lot of fresh words! All in all, absolutely love this set!Oh and my son(3 years old) loves hearing in on us reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea review []  2019-12-21 18:45

    I HAD to purchase this set for a few of the girls in my 5th grade class. They have devoured this series. These books are amazing for upper elementary students.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea review []  2019-12-21 18:45

    My daughter is 8 and in 3rd grade. After reading book 1 she is obsessed with Emily Windsnap. We just bought book 6 and 7 for her to read. I was scared it would be too hard for her to read but it is perfect. It has tought her fresh vocabulary and has kept her very interested. The book will have a hard word with a comma then the definition which I love. I bought her a Judy Moody book and she read it in 2 days so I bought this hoping it would latest her longer. It has! Each book lasted her about 2 to 3 weeks. By lasting longer it has changed her more and has saved me cash which is a plus. I also wish to add that I (29) started reading them with her to encourage her and I think they are super cute. Its something we can talk about together and I can obtain a feel of what she learned. It takes me about 2 or 3 days to read one if I dedicate a few hours a day.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea review []  2019-12-21 18:45

    My 8 year old daughter loves these books!!! Such amazing stories and we love the 6 package so she already has the next one in line every time she’s done with a book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea review []  2019-12-21 18:45

    My 7 year old daughter (will be 8 in a couple weeks) LOVED the first book but was a bit scared by the second so we are going to keep off until she's a bit older.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea review []  2019-12-21 18:45

    Mermaids are all the rage right now. Anything that will obtain kid's attention and obtain them reading is great. Purchased for an 11 year old, but could probably span ages 8 thru 13.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea review []  2019-12-21 18:45

    We bought these to read to our 5 year old daughter. She really enjoys the story. The story is more complex then other chapter books we have read to her (Junie B. Jones and Magic Tree House), so there were times where she seemed a bit bored. Our 11 year old asked to borrow them from her sister and she enjoyed them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea review []  2019-12-21 18:45

    A mate brought my Granddaughter the first book and she wanted the next one. When we realize it was apart of a series it became a must have. It come in a lovely box and my granddaughter could not stop reading. If your kid loves mermaids 🧜🏾‍♀️ this is a must buy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap: Six Swishy Tails of Land and Sea review []  2019-12-21 18:45

    Amazing books for pre-teen readers. An addictive series that absolutely captivates the imagination! I read them as a young reader and read the first book of the series again before purchasing them for a family member that I thought would love the underwater escape. Still love the story as an adult!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret review []  2020-1-16 8:37

    My 9 year old daughter loved this book. She is very much into mermaid items and this book helped satisfy her longing for mermaids. Amazing read for 3-5 grade.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret review []  2020-1-16 8:37

    My daughter and I loved listening to this on vehicle rides to school. Sometimes she would beg me to sit in the driveway until we got to a stopping point. It's not too intense for an empathetic 8-year-old, and I really enjoyed it (so much, that I listened ahead without her knowing)!My only complaint is that Finty Williams changed some of the voices from that latest few Emily Windsnap books. Millie and Emily's dad did not sound the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret review []  2020-1-16 8:37

    Love it I'm a fan of the mermaid mystery type books so I absolutely loved this book in fact it is 11:55 pm five tillTomorrow!! Got sucked into it! Amazing buy you won't regret itBut anyway just my opinion. AKA definitely READ!!!!! Take itFrom a friendly ten year old! Bye bye!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret review []  2020-1-16 8:37

    Awesome series - my 7 year old daughter loves these!! Highly recommend :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret review []  2020-1-16 8:37

    My daughter loves these books

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret review []  2020-1-16 8:37

    Our granddaughter enjoyed the book immensely.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret review []  2020-1-16 8:37

    My daughter loves this series

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret review []  2020-1-16 8:37

    daughter loves reading her books

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret review []  2020-1-16 8:37

    I bought the entire set of the Emily Windsnap books for my 10 year old niece as a birthday gift. She loves mermaids and loved the books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret review []  2020-1-16 8:37

    a must read for any fan of the original Emily Windsnap trilogy. This book managed to wrap up the loose ends I felt that was left up in the original three books like her mothers feelings of mermaid school versus human school, The family duty to Neptune to bring humans and Mer folk closer together and Emily on and off again mate ship with Mandy from her old city Bridgeport. in this book Emily's best friend's family and school is in danger due to Bridgeport's development plans. Neptune has ordered Emily and others back to Bridgeport to do what they can to avoid evacuation plans and bring the two worlds closer together. A happening created a small easier with Emily and her fresh half mer boy mate has the power to over turn Neptune's curses when together. Emily's plans to search the missing sirens results in her best mate being trapped with the singing mermaids in a curse cave and Mandy and all of Bridgeport remembering every mermaid sighting that happened over the years. Especially the war with the Kraken in book 2. One of the most best surprises in the book was Liz wrapping up the series loose end of Emily having never met her grandparents because of Neptune's spell to test to separate Emily parents before she was born.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AmyHomie Mermaid Tail Blanket, Mermaid Blanket Adult Mermaid Tail Blanket, Crotchet Kids Mermaid Tail Blanket for Girls (Blue, Kids) review []  2020-1-20 2:9

    I got these for my girls and they are so sweet! My daughters saw some mermaid tails at Justice that they liked but they were $39 each! So once again I went to Amazon to support out and I love these more!! Classic looking and well created for $10! I washed and dried mine and there was no noticeable shrinkage. Only one of mine had the chemical smell but since I washed them I didn't care. Also they came with a excellent bonus bag. And if they obtain ruined after lots of wear I won't mind because of the price, I'll just order more. I will be getting these as bonuses AND am trying to decide if I need one for myself😆. Also, got the child size and it was excellent for my 9, 7, and 4 year old....with room to grow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AmyHomie Mermaid Tail Blanket, Mermaid Blanket Adult Mermaid Tail Blanket, Crotchet Kids Mermaid Tail Blanket for Girls (Blue, Kids) review []  2020-1-20 2:9

    I got this as a bonus for my niece's 7th birthday. It arrived quickly (even with the free shipping option), in shrink wrapped packaging, with a nice small bonus bag. It's very soft and cozy, and held up just fine when I washed it on the gentle cycle. It did smell a @#$%!&emical-y, but after a wash and lying flat to dry it's new as a daisy. I got the children size. I'm about 5'6, 140lb and I slipped right into it, as you can see. So it will be nice and roomy for my niece, with plenty of room to grow. All in all, a amazing purchase :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AmyHomie Mermaid Tail Blanket, Mermaid Blanket Adult Mermaid Tail Blanket, Crotchet Kids Mermaid Tail Blanket for Girls (Blue, Kids) review []  2020-1-20 2:9

    Very very sweet for the price and cozy! Our 9 year old daughter loved it! Created very well and comes packaged super cute with mermaid bonus bag!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AmyHomie Mermaid Tail Blanket, Mermaid Blanket Adult Mermaid Tail Blanket, Crotchet Kids Mermaid Tail Blanket for Girls (Blue, Kids) review []  2020-1-20 2:9

    Order for my 9 year old sister and she loves its, huge opening in the back and a hole at the tail but it’s not huge enough to place both feet in if you wanna walk around . but she likes it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AmyHomie Mermaid Tail Blanket, Mermaid Blanket Adult Mermaid Tail Blanket, Crotchet Kids Mermaid Tail Blanket for Girls (Blue, Kids) review []  2020-1-20 2:9

     Hermosa,me encanto, el tejido es muy bonito,elegante y delicado.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AmyHomie Mermaid Tail Blanket, Mermaid Blanket Adult Mermaid Tail Blanket, Crotchet Kids Mermaid Tail Blanket for Girls (Blue, Kids) review []  2020-1-20 2:9

    It's beautiful! My granddaughter loved it💜

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AmyHomie Mermaid Tail Blanket, Mermaid Blanket Adult Mermaid Tail Blanket, Crotchet Kids Mermaid Tail Blanket for Girls (Blue, Kids) review []  2020-1-20 2:9

    Beautifully created and keeps me very warm, very satisfied with my purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AmyHomie Mermaid Tail Blanket, Mermaid Blanket Adult Mermaid Tail Blanket, Crotchet Kids Mermaid Tail Blanket for Girls (Blue, Kids) review []  2020-1-20 2:9

    Amazing quality and it is amazing for a 6 year old. Fits her a small bit huge but she's petite. I liked the color and it didn't smell or anything like that. The material is soft and sturdy. I haven't seen any fuzzies after using it. Definitely recommend it, Amazing purchase!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AmyHomie Mermaid Tail Blanket, Mermaid Blanket Adult Mermaid Tail Blanket, Crotchet Kids Mermaid Tail Blanket for Girls (Blue, Kids) review []  2020-1-20 2:9

    Love the quality of this blanket, but my 8-yr-old daughter is 4'-7" and it was a bit too little for her. I returned it without any issue and bought the adult size.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    AmyHomie Mermaid Tail Blanket, Mermaid Blanket Adult Mermaid Tail Blanket, Crotchet Kids Mermaid Tail Blanket for Girls (Blue, Kids) review []  2020-1-20 2:9

    I read most of the reviews before I created my purchase for my daughters who are 10 and 7. I was super disappointed when I received them in a vacuum packed bags without the “gift bag” everyone talked about and even more disappointed when I opened them and realized they were TINY! My girls would not be able to fit in it if they were half of their current size. I am 5’5”, 125 pounds and attempted to place it in and it didn’t even go to my thighs and the slit in the back exposed my whole backside which is not good if you actually wish their bodies covered... I’m not sure that I even received the correct item. SUPER DISAPPOINTED!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) review []  2020-1-21 20:34

    Loved the history in both stories... a huge fan of this series... BUT so disappointed in the decline of morality so easily accepted, situational ethics excuses all around and forcing women’s right’s at every turn... and the mind picture left with at the end... really...plus unrealistic in its optimism going forward ... not my favorite and fear direction of the series going forward ... so bummed ... read most of the others at least twice...love the blending of accurate history and amazing mystery... read in 2 days...not what I hoped for ... Colin with a teenage daughter... created me sad... other parts and attitudes too...so may be my latest one...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) review []  2020-1-21 20:34

    Tasha Alexander's historical mysteries take put early in the 20th century. In this entry, Lady Emily and her husband Colin are visiting Pompeii and Herculaneum where they become entangled in murder and chaos. The book also contains a novel within a novel that tells the story of a (freed) slave, a young woman poet and her e strengths of this book contain the settings and the characters with whom I wanted to spend time. The author has done significant research and her description of the excavations of Pompeii and Herculaneum are filled with atmosphere, historical terms, and objects. Similarly, the globe of the poet, Kassandra, comes vividly to life with its taverns, meal stalls and homes both ostentatious and simple.I enjoyed the relationship of Emily with her husband, Colin, and close friend, a lord. Kassandra, Lepida (her former owner), Lepida's husband and Melas, a painter are all well drawn. Also, readers of the series will be interested to obtain to know Kat, but no spoilers here. I found the murder mystery itself to be less compelling and felt that the story could have been edited just a netheless, if you are curious about archaeology and have fun historical mysteries, you might wish to pick up this recent in the series. I also recommend this author's earlier title, A Death in St. y thanks to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for this title in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) review []  2020-1-21 20:34

    3.5 stars rounded up to 4As with a lot of of the stories in this long-running series, you obtain two stories for the price of one. The main story takes put in 1902 Pompei at an archaeological dig and the accompanying story revolves around a newly freed slave girl in AD 79 Pompei. For my part, I sort of liked the accompanying story better than the main story – mostly because you knew, as you read, what was going to happen to the characters. You wanted them to escape, but really knew they wouldn’t, so it was dy Emily and her best friend, Ivy, hadn’t been able to spend much time together because – well – life got in the way. Ivy has six kids who hold her busy and Lady Emily and her husband, Colin have kids and travel a amazing deal – mostly because of Colin’s work for the crown. Ivy, Emily, and Colin have decided to create a trek to the digs at Pompei. Colin didn’t wish to go, but Ivy’s husband persuaded him to accompany the most upon arrival, they discovered a dead body – encased in plaster in order to look like the other victims of Vesuvius. Colin and Lady Emily immediately take on the investigation to solve the murder because the local authorities would just allow it go. They have lots of suspects with all of the archaeologists on the dig – a lot of of whom are hiding secrets. Almost as soon as the investigation begins, the warnings start. The warnings are obscure and something that Lady Emily would recognize, but most others wouldn’t. Those warnings were meant to place them off the investigation but only created Lady Emily and squad more determined to search the killer. Tensions only increase when a second death occurs. Was it a murder or an accident? The investigation continues and a lot of secrets are revealed, a lot of suspects investigated and finally, the assassin revealed in a most dramatic so, right at the beginning, we obtain a fresh and previously unknown addition to the Hargreaves family. Colin’s way of dealing with this fresh addition caused me to lose respect for him. There was no excuse for his allowing this fresh addition to treat Lady Emily as she did.I have never had a amazing liking for Lady Emily – I’ve tried and just can’t obtain there. In my opinion, Lady Ivy would have created a much better heroine. Jeremy, Duke of Bainbridge, is also seeming a small caricaturish to me. Seems to me it is time he begins to grow up. One thing that sort of bothered me was that there was absolutely no mention of Lady Emily’s and Colin’s kids – given the circumstances, you’d think they’d be discussed at some e descriptions of the locations and people in both stories created you feel as if you were right there in the scene. The mystery was a amazing one and the accompanying story was a lovely, but sad, tale.I voluntarily read and reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) review []  2020-1-21 20:34

    The past casts a lot of a shadow in the lee of Vesuvius. Colin is confronted by his past and Emily's confidence is frayed as murder spreads it's wings on a dig at Pompei.Emily's mate Ivy asked Emily to accompany her to Pompeii. Ivy's husband, concerned about the two women traveling alone, with a clever sleight of hand, was able to inveigle King Edward VII to release Colin from his protection duties in order to join a reconstructed dining room at the Pompei dig, archaeologists have formed plaster casts of a group of the long perished inhabitants giving tourists a window into the terrors of those moments. When Ivy comments on the unusualness of one of the group of ancient figures having sideburns, it's but a moment before Colin pokes at the plaster with his penknife to explore that the body displayed is very much latest .Alternating with the mystery Emily becomes involved in, we follow the path of a young Greek woman who along with her father is a slave to a wealthy family living in Pompeii prior to the eruption of Mt Vesuvius. She is a close mate to the daughter of the house and a itially I felt the plot was lack luster. It seemed just so so. I was also annoyed by what I saw as a storyline interruption, switching from 1902 to A.D. 79. Later, as Emily battled through what was a major upheaval to hers and Colin's lives, I became very much involved in their plight and the poet's tale. As the two stories wove together, I was once again was struck by Alexander's ability to give us a solid murder mystery with something a small different.I did not see the ending coming. A amazing thing!I was also much struck by the epigraph Alexander opened the story with. So fitting when taken in context! Yet what does it say about attitudes to life?"Of the a lot of misfortunes that have occurred in this world, no others have given posterity such joy. —Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, writing about Pompeii."A St. Martin's Press ARC via NetGalley(Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) review []  2020-1-21 20:34

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius by Tasha Alexander is another in the series of Victorian mysteries and takes place, mostly, in 1902. Emily's mate Ivy Brandon, the mother of six wants to visit Pompeii but her husband will not let it without someone to accompany her so she turns to her friend, Lady Emily Hargreaves. As it turns out that would be an adventure Lady Emily would like to take, and her husband, Colin Hargreaves, a man in the employ of the British government to deal with problems, is available to join them. We join them in Pompeii and start a two-pronged story, which jumps between that of a young woman in ancient Pompeii and the solving of two murders in the current day. Victorian expectations are still fully in force, even in Italy, so there are a amazing a lot of behavioral expectations in place, for both men and women. This rarely stops Lady Emily, but she tries to remain e two stories are unrelated but meet toward the end of the book. Alexander has woven a disparate group of personalities into an interesting tome full of intrigue and danger, several murders, several more attempted. Lies are told to skirt expectations, but others rose to the occasion to create lies unnecessary. Emily and Colin's relationship is place to the try by the arrival of Colin's previously unknown daughter, who I expect to obtain to know better in coming novels. One of Alexander's strengths is hero development and nowhere does she display it better than in this book. The characters are inconsistent, just like true people, and ever fail to surprise and the reader gets to know them. It is exciting. Another perk is all the history, well researched and often haunting. This is a terrific book. Lady Emily followers will not be disappointed and it will certainly garner fresh readers, as well. I recommend it.I received a free ARC of In the Shadow of Vesuvius from Netgalley in exchange for a fair review. All opinions and interpretations contained herein are solely my own. #netgalley #intheshadowofvesuvius

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) review []  2020-1-21 20:34

    Yet another unbelievable addition to the Lady Emily mystery series! This book deftly balances two narratives of Pompeii in alternating chapters - one of a 79 AD slave poetess and the other from 1902 AD of Lady Emily.Our plucky protagonist, Lady Emily Hargreaves, has headed off to Pompeii accompanying her dearest mate Ivy Brandon as Ivy participates on an archaeological dig at the Pompeii ruins. Emily's husband, Colin, takes a break from English Court security and travels along with the ladies to guard versus treachery. All seems rather [email protected]#$%!&il they message a plaster body casting related to those from the 1860s of archaeologist, Giuseppe Fiorelli. This particular casting presents itself on the excavation grounds but it has strange features in comparison to folks of Pompeii's final days. Sure enough, a recently murdered man is found in the casting. Who was this man? Who on the excavation squad knew him and who had it in for him? In light of the local police not wanting to lock horns with the strong Camorra crime syndicate, they beautiful much ignore the death, leaving Sir Colin and Lady Emily to do their own clandestine sleuthing. All is not as it seems and a sudden knock on the door presents a whole fresh juicy twist to the success of the sleuthing duo.I'll be honest, I had a bit of a struggle keeping tabs on all the different characters throughout the book. Frankly, a chart of characters would be a lovely addition as there are no fewer than 28 characters named within these pages. Only a little handful of these people appears in prior installments of this series. Regardless, the book is a fascinating read about the final days of Pompeii in 79 AD and of the early 20th century excavations of the ancient city. The amount of historic research which author Tasha Alexander puts into this book is Herculean and provides a unbelievable glimpse into the lives of folks from both time periods. It is especially noteworthy how well she portrays the lives of women of these periods and the ways in which they navigate around men and societal norms of their day. The writing is perfect and the mise en scène superbly crafted. If historical fiction mystery with a minor touch of romance appeals to you, then this is certainly a book you too would enjoy.I am grateful to author Tasha Alexander and St. Martin's Publishing Group for having provided a free uncorrected digital galley of this book. Their generosity, however, did not influence this review - the words of which are mine alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) review []  2020-1-21 20:34

    This is the first Tasha Alexander book I've read and I was blown away by the attention to historical detail. The descriptions of Pompeii: the archaeological dig as well as the original city, were awesome and it was simple to imagine yourself right there on the town streets. I love reading everything I can on Pompeii and Herculaneum so this was a amazing read for that (and I loved the bibliography at the end- a few I had already read but the rest are absolutely going on my TBR pile). The sense of put remained powerful throughout the book and was its major strength for me.If I had read the earlier books in the series (this is number 14) I might have had more of a connection with the characters, but I had problem really connecting to them. For the most part they seemed rather flat for me. I also didn't feel any emotional connection to the mystery. A man shows up dead, the local police won't do anything so Emily and her husband decide to look into it. I prefer mysteries where, if there's an amateur sleuth, they are trying to solve the crime because it affects them or someone close to them personally. The chapters alternate between Lady Emily's "present day" and the story of Kassandra, a slave in Pompeii in the months leading up to the eruption. I was of two minds about the secondary story as well. I loved the extra chances to see into the daily life of the people and the city, and I liked that the hero wasn't a highly born noble but a slave who earns her freedom. Like Emily, Kassandra is a woman trying to live by her own rules in a man's world, which I liked. On the other hand, until the very end it was hard to tell exactly why we were seeing this particular story. I thought it was clever how they dovetailed in the end (I won't give it away, but it worked nicely).The research and attention to detail for "In the Shadow of Vesuvius" were amazing, broken up only by a (to me) mediocre mystery plot line and characters I couldn't overly have fun spending time with.I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) review []  2020-1-21 20:34

    "None of us is safe from exposure after death."I selected this mystery solely on the fact that it mentioned the words, "Vesuvius" and "Pompeii". I have not read any of the other books in the series and was a bit nervous coming in at this stage. I have long been fascinated with the story of the eruption and the discovery and excavation of the town as well as having a dream about actually visiting there one day. I absolutely loved all the info and it was obvious that Tasha Alexander did a lot of research so that she could describe it all so clearly to her readers. I also found it interested to read the alternating chapters as they jump between 79 AD and 1902, giving us a fictional acc of a former slave and poetess from that time period. I'm giving the archeological component and the cultural elements a resounding 4 e actual mystery that drives the plot and fills in the pages around the depiction of the ruins, however, was fairly banal. I didn't grow to care much about the main characters who seemed to think they were quite superior and were very judgmental. Of course suspending disbelief of Emily's investigating talents and her aristocratic lifestyle was a stretch. The introduction of a fresh member of the family at this late scene in the series must have come as a surprise to long-time fans! The interaction between all of the characters seemed quite contrived and the whole murder mystery case part was not very interesting. Without the setting, it would have been even more lame -- and I can't believe the police weren't involved leaving the crime to be solved by outsiders? As an American, I had to cringe at some of the less than flattering characteristics attributed to those characters. Really?Anyway, that aspect of the book left me bored and I didn't care about it at all and would rate that 2 stars. I suspect it's hard coming up with new material for the 14th installment in a ank you to NetGalley and Minotaur Books for this e-book ARC to read and review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) review []  2020-1-21 20:34

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius is the 14th book in Tasha Alexander's Lady Emily Mystery series. It's the first book I've read by this author. A small late to the party, aren't I? Amazingly, book 14 stood alone perfectly; I didn't feel the least bit dy Emily Hargreaves and her best mate Ivy, escorted by Emily's husband Colin, are in Pompeii in 1902, visiting archaeological sites. While observing the plaster casts created of the victims of the eruption of Mount Vesuvius which occurred in 79 AD, Ivy realizes that one of the casts had sideburns. Sideburns? That wasn't right! When Colin pricks at the plaster with his pocket knife, he finds that there is a new body under the plaster. Emily and Colin start to investigate the murder. In the midst of the chaos, a attractive young woman appears, who apparently is Colin's daughter...one he didn't know he had. Juxtaposed with this story was one about a young freed Greek slave in Pompeii in the months leading up to the devastation from Mount first I was a bit annoyed with the story going back and forth between 1902 and 79 AD. However, as things progressed, I became totally immersed in both storylines. The one about Kassandra, a young poet, was especially enthralling. I became very attached to her, and it broke my heart just knowing the horror that was coming for her and Pompeii. I also enjoyed Emily's story; it was such a amazing mystery, one I just could not figure out! Every time I thought I solved it, I was proven wrong. The only thing that really irritated me was the method Colin's daughter Kat treated Emily. With the connection Emily and Colin so I obviously had, I was surprised he allow Kat obtain away with her behavior. Besides that, it was an awesome story, one that was apparently meticulously researched. I'm eager for Emily's next adventure.II received an ARC of this book courtesy of the publisher and NetGalley. I received no compensation for my review, and all thoughts and opinions expressed are entirely my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In the Shadow of Vesuvius: A Lady Emily Mystery (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 14) review []  2020-1-21 20:34

    Tasha Alexander brilliantly navigates between the globe of Lady Emily (1902) as she and her husband and mates visit the ruins of Pompeii, and the globe of a slave girl in that same town in 79 AD, the year it would be destroyed by Vesuvius.Emily and company tour the ruins, and view the horrors of the long dead encased in plaster to present the agony of their latest moments. But closer examination shows that one is not like the others, and they realize that there is a new body hidden among the ancient. When the murdered man is revealed to have been an American journalist, Lady Emily and squad must sift through all of the possible villains to bring justice to the e surprise appearance of a young woman claiming to be her husband's daughter adds another level of intrigue, as Colin swears he was never told of her existence. The situation is not created any better by the young woman's begin hostility toward Emily, a state of which Colin appears totally unaware.Juxtaposing the mysteries in 1902, we alternatively travel back in time to the weeks before Vesuvius destroyed the bustling town of Pompeii. Kassandra is a young Greek slave, born in the Roman town and considering herself Roman in all but ancestry. When her father is able to buy their freedom, he takes her from a life lived next to wealth and luxury to a more middle class home. But she remains mates with her former mistress, and develops a forbidden relationship with the woman's husband. Kassandra is a gifted poet, and the husband talks her into secret meetings to read her poetry to him. He promises that he will show her to all the globe as the author of the poetry that is taking Pompeii by each woman navigates the mores of her era, Tasha Alexander presents a picture that would indicate that a woman's status has changed small over the centuries. Both Lady Emily and Kassandra chafe at the restrictions placed on them by their gender, but only one will be unable to maneuver around them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumitronics Red Surface Mount Tail Light - RV Stop, Turn, Tail, Backup Light (White) review []  2020-1-11 19:56

    I replaced both tail lights on my 1995 Komfort travel trailer. This model replaced the driver's side and I ordered the other model without plate tabs for the passenger side. The old ones were original and in poor ere are no instructions, but once I figured out the wiring, these were very simple to install. I'm not an electrician, but this is what I figured out:Red Wire - Backup LightGreen Wire - Tail LightBlack Wire - Stop/Turn LightWhite Wire - GroundOn my trailer the backup wire was blue. My driver's side stop/turn was red and the passenger's side was black. I'm sure this is various for every vehicle, but this might support someone out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumitronics Red Surface Mount Tail Light - RV Stop, Turn, Tail, Backup Light (White) review []  2020-1-11 19:56

    Excellent fit for an older 95 Coleman Chesapeake popup camper. The lamp housing connections are better designed than the older model. The quality of the Lens cover amazing quality and can be removed by pushing in on plastic tabs. Comes with bulbs..at $9.99 each you cant beat the price. The only improvement is to add LED replacement bulbs #1156 and 1157

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumitronics Red Surface Mount Tail Light - RV Stop, Turn, Tail, Backup Light (White) review []  2020-1-11 19:56

    OEM like product. I used butyl tape and some amazing splice connectors.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumitronics Red Surface Mount Tail Light - RV Stop, Turn, Tail, Backup Light (White) review []  2020-1-11 19:56

    Works, no issue. When pressing on the plastic tab on the side to remove the red light cover, Be sure to keep onto the red cover, otherwise it'll pop off and fall. Mine fell from ~3.5 feet onto concrete. After the first fall it was fine, but after the second fall, the red plastic cracked in the corner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumitronics Red Surface Mount Tail Light - RV Stop, Turn, Tail, Backup Light (White) review []  2020-1-11 19:56

    None of the wires on this thing matched the wiring on my trailer, but eventually I figured it out. Works great, and method brighter than the old ones I replaced on my 1984 trailer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumitronics Red Surface Mount Tail Light - RV Stop, Turn, Tail, Backup Light (White) review []  2020-1-11 19:56

    Replaced the taillights on our Jayco camper. They fit perfectly, even the mounting holes lined up! Simple to install. Looks nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumitronics Red Surface Mount Tail Light - RV Stop, Turn, Tail, Backup Light (White) review []  2020-1-11 19:56

    Works, no issue. When pressing on the plastic tab on the side to remove the red light cover, Be sure to keep onto the red cover, otherwise it'll pop off and fall. Mine fell from ~3.5 feet onto concrete. After the first fall it was fine, but after the second fall, the red plastic cracked in the corner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumitronics Red Surface Mount Tail Light - RV Stop, Turn, Tail, Backup Light (White) review []  2020-1-11 19:56

    This replacement taillight/plate holder unit fit our 2003 Winnebago Vista motorhome perfectly. The old plate holder part had broken. There are several wires to reconnect but all went together just fine and works.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumitronics Red Surface Mount Tail Light - RV Stop, Turn, Tail, Backup Light (White) review []  2020-1-11 19:56

    Replacement for driver side lens I lost on a trip with my 2003 Class C. Simple to wire.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lumitronics Red Surface Mount Tail Light - RV Stop, Turn, Tail, Backup Light (White) review []  2020-1-11 19:56

    We bought a used pop-up that head tail light problems. I ordered these they were simple to install. But the electrical harness on our older camper was place it this method weird. But my husband was able to figure out which wire goes to watch. They work great

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    JeCar Jeep Tail Light cover Black Rear Euro Tail Light Guard Protector for 2007-2017 Jeep Wrangler JK & Unlimited review []  2020-1-22 23:24

     These tail light covers were the excellent choice for my 13 jku. Not only do they look amazing the quality is amazing as well. Easy installation also comes with instructions. Quick shipping. Over all very pleased.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    JeCar Jeep Tail Light cover Black Rear Euro Tail Light Guard Protector for 2007-2017 Jeep Wrangler JK & Unlimited review []  2020-1-22 23:24

     Very nice and massive duty. I feel these would actually protect the lights whereas some I have seen are more cosmetic. Simple to install. Quick shipping. Very happy with product.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    JeCar Jeep Tail Light cover Black Rear Euro Tail Light Guard Protector for 2007-2017 Jeep Wrangler JK & Unlimited review []  2020-1-22 23:24

    Nice quality. Very Sturdy. I have a 2014 jk sport unlimited. This product is a small wide. And has about 1/2 inch on the sides of lights. Not a snug fit. But still looks okay.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    JeCar Jeep Tail Light cover Black Rear Euro Tail Light Guard Protector for 2007-2017 Jeep Wrangler JK & Unlimited review []  2020-1-22 23:24

    Item arrived quick more than expected. Fits perfectly simple to install all you need is screwdriver to install it. Sturdy and highly recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    JeCar Jeep Tail Light cover Black Rear Euro Tail Light Guard Protector for 2007-2017 Jeep Wrangler JK & Unlimited review []  2020-1-22 23:24

    Love these jeep tail light coversGreat quality and look

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    JeCar Jeep Tail Light cover Black Rear Euro Tail Light Guard Protector for 2007-2017 Jeep Wrangler JK & Unlimited review []  2020-1-22 23:24

    Nice covers, solid. Came with all required hardware. I like the look. They don't wobble or bend. They would take a hit or 2 and keep up just fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    JeCar Jeep Tail Light cover Black Rear Euro Tail Light Guard Protector for 2007-2017 Jeep Wrangler JK & Unlimited review []  2020-1-22 23:24

    Quick shipping and really massive duty, I place my flags behind them. I love the product want they had same one for my YJ

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    JeCar Jeep Tail Light cover Black Rear Euro Tail Light Guard Protector for 2007-2017 Jeep Wrangler JK & Unlimited review []  2020-1-22 23:24

    These installed simple enough to my Jeep, but the screws were a small unclear on where they go. It seems that there are two various widths for various sides of the cage so I had to figure out where which one goes, but the directions didn’t meantion this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    JeCar Jeep Tail Light cover Black Rear Euro Tail Light Guard Protector for 2007-2017 Jeep Wrangler JK & Unlimited review []  2020-1-22 23:24

    Very impressed. Created of metal. Very sturdy. Simple to install.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    JeCar Jeep Tail Light cover Black Rear Euro Tail Light Guard Protector for 2007-2017 Jeep Wrangler JK & Unlimited review []  2020-1-22 23:24

    Mounted simple and it was a amazing project to do with my daughter.

    0  


  • -1

    Is this review useful?

    Red Tails review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    I have to say that I was a wee bit disappointed in this movie. I felt it was surprisingly mediocre and very “Hollywood”. The amazing parts are the flight scenes and the unique effects. They are enjoyable to watch and reasonably well done. However, that is beautiful much what makes up this film in terms of enjoyment. I would say that a lot of it is not very realistic. The German anti-aircraft guns seems to be next to useless most of the time for instance. Also, there is the stage where a single P51, armed with nothing but machine guns, takes out an armed German warship in two fast runs. That felt quite unrealistic. A lot of the movie also felt too much like some Hollywood drama. Some of the pilots behave like morons and in true life they would have been shot down rather quickly. The alcohol issues and the romance seems to have been thrown in just to appeal to the American soap-opera viewers. The entire film is very shallow and if it was not for the budget and unique effects it could very well have been a TV-movie. Most of this film I was yawning in my seat and waking up only when the flight action started so that I could watch the unique effects.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dungeon Tails review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Amazing roguelike with some real-time aspects to combat. Amazing item management. Don't be fooled. This is a tough yet fun game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dungeon Tails review [App]  2017-10-13 22:34

    Fun android game so far, but hoping it gets more challenging. Really sweet art style though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dungeon Tails review [App]  2017-10-20 3:0

    Amazing roguelike with some real-time aspects to combat. Amazing item management. Don't be fooled. This is a tough yet fun game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dungeon Tails review [App]  2017-10-20 3:0

    Fun android game so far, but hoping it gets more challenging. Really sweet art style though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Tail Skins review [App]  2019-2-17 21:20

    this application sucks it didn't give me the skin dont buy this application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-10 21:25

    really fun game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-10 21:38

    really fun game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-11 13:26

    really fun game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-11 13:26

    ninja

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-11 13:43

    really fun game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-11 13:43

    ninja

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-11 21:25

    It's a fun littke android game to play. You can obtain addicted to playing none stop! The cubes are adorable as well as the small tails that follow along. You'll play for hours on end whether it's single play or squad play.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-11 21:25

    really fun game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-11 21:25

    ninja

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-11 21:37

    It's a fun littke android game to play. You can obtain addicted to playing none stop! The cubes are adorable as well as the small tails that follow along. You'll play for hours on end whether it's single play or squad play.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-11 21:37

    really fun game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-11 21:37

    ninja

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-12 13:27

    It's a fun littke android game to play. You can obtain addicted to playing none stop! The cubes are adorable as well as the small tails that follow along. You'll play for hours on end whether it's single play or squad play.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-12 13:27

    ninja

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-12 13:27

    really fun game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-12 21:25

    It's a fun littke android game to play. You can obtain addicted to playing none stop! The cubes are adorable as well as the small tails that follow along. You'll play for hours on end whether it's single play or squad play.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-12 21:25

    ninja

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-12 21:25

    it's such an awesome android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-12 21:25

    really fun game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-13 13:28

    It's a fun littke android game to play. You can obtain addicted to playing none stop! The cubes are adorable as well as the small tails that follow along. You'll play for hours on end whether it's single play or squad play.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-13 13:28

    ninja

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-13 13:28

    it's such an awesome android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-13 13:28

    really fun game.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    : Keep the tail review [App]  2019-3-13 13:46

    It's a fun littke android game to play. You can obtain addicted to playing none stop! The cubes are adorable as well as the small tails that follow along. You'll play for hours on end whether it's single play or squad play.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter