Read the tears of autumn heartbreaking and unputdownable world war ii historical fiction reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the tears of autumn heartbreaking and unputdownable world war ii historical fiction reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE TEARS OF AUTUMN heartbreaking and unputdownable World War II historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:16

    This book kept me on the edge of my chair! The battle references were so realistic and the tragedies of battle so sad. It created me feel like I was right there with them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE TEARS OF AUTUMN heartbreaking and unputdownable World War II historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:16

    Can one time opponents be reunited? The characters are well described and the plot is very well written. Any reader who is interested in this time in history will have a difficult time putting this novel down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE TEARS OF AUTUMN heartbreaking and unputdownable World War II historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:16

    The Tears of Autumn is by David Wiltshire. This novel is set before, during and after Globe Battle II on the Amalfi Coast of Italy and the airfields of England. It is the story of two couples who met prior to the battle and created arrangements to meet after the battle at the same hotel in Sorrento, Italy. One couple was from England and he was a pilot with the Royal Air Force. The other couple was from Germany and he was an officer in the German Navy. The couples met at the hotel in Sorrento and both were on their honeymoons. They became very amazing mates during their stay here and wanted very much to hold in touch. When they left, they created arrangements to meet again on October 1 at the hotel the following year, in 1943, and in 1948, whichever date worked out for them. Would they create that meeting or would the battle create it impossible?David Wiltshire writes an awesome novel with a story that definitely could have happened. His description of Sorrento and the Amalfi coast are impeccable. Through his words you can actually see the narrow winding streets that turn back and forth on themselves across the area. The houses and that look as though they are perpendicular to the sea and rise up to the heavens are exactly what you see if you go there. The water is such a attractive blue and even green hue, one that is indescribable. Then, his descriptions of the airfields and air wars that were part of the battle seem to be exactly what was there. It all combines with the realistic characters and plot to create an unbelievably true story.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the tears of autumn heartbreaking and unputdownable world war ii historical fiction or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE TEARS OF AUTUMN heartbreaking and unputdownable World War II historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:16

    Engaging plot with interesting characters keeps one turning the pages. Amazing for the holiday trip or some diversion from the show world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE TEARS OF AUTUMN heartbreaking and unputdownable World War II historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:16

    This was a amazing book set in troubling times. I was hoping for a various ending but enjoyed the book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE TEARS OF AUTUMN heartbreaking and unputdownable World War II historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:16

    WAR! Oh the devastation to so a lot of lives, how can we learn to avoid another? We must search another way!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE TEARS OF AUTUMN heartbreaking and unputdownable World War II historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:16

    Well, there were a lot of boring parts that I skimmed. The back and forth between WWII days to show was confusing at best. I was reading along, and BAM! It would change, and I was thinking, what is he talking about? The time periods should've been separated out by chapters.And its quite apparent this was written by a man with his fantasies coming alive for him on the page. And the part where Biff (All I can think of is Back To The Future.) takes Rosemary over his knee and spanks her? PULEEEEASE! Nope!I will say I was surprised about the ending, which was beautiful much the highlight of the book, if you wish to call it that. Maybe it was morbid on my part, but it did wrap things up kind of e coincidence with the u-boat...well, I just guffawed at that. I won't ruin it for the reader.I just found the author's ist/ overtones coming through loud and clear. I actually had to roll my eyes a few times. These excellent women and their y small bodies, excellent personalities, excellent hair, excellent wives. And then you have in a flat while bombs are falling all around. Come on! And you're so turned on, you rough it with your wife in a back alley versus a brick wall. Yep, a man definitely wrote this. Skip it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE TEARS OF AUTUMN heartbreaking and unputdownable World War II historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:16

    A special perspective is given to the reader as Biff relives his adult life and like a lot of of us is forced to grow up. But he finds that life is filled with love, laughter, pain, sacrifice and immeasurable joy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE TEARS OF AUTUMN heartbreaking and unputdownable World War II historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:16

    The stories of WWII & how u never knew the ppl you would run into & obtain to know that would belong in the opposite site. The friendships & losses so sad. I would recommend this book to all, amazing book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    THE TEARS OF AUTUMN heartbreaking and unputdownable World War II historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:16

    I feel the title is very fitting for this book. It’s a amazing book. A sad book. Every Autumn I’m sure the tears flowed from 1939 onward. Two couples meet on vacation in 1938 from two various countries that end up at battle with each other. The couples become close mates in a very short period of time. It was an interesting story line and I think it very likely could have happened that way. It was bittersweet. There are several scenes, within marriage, but they may be offensive to marellaPRCS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The German Midwife: the heartbreaking World War II historical fiction []  2020-5-6 18:25

    This book captures love, trust, suffering and pain. It tells of childbirth in poor conditions, both by the not good and the rich, with such accuracy that you can actually feel the contractions and the indescribable love a mother feels for a newborn. With fear and loathing toward the unjustly actions taken versus the innocents and collateral hurt humans that come during times of war, I strongly encourage you to begin your mind and heart and read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The German Midwife: the heartbreaking World War II historical fiction []  2020-5-6 18:25

    The largest problem with this book was BELIEVABILITY, I obtain historical fiction, has some license for drama, but give me a e main hero is a prisoner at the infamous Ravensbruck concentration camp, where she serves as a mid-wife. She's a political prisoner, have helped birth babies in the Jewish ghettos of the wonderful and implausible: she's plucked from the prison to serve as a mid-wife for EVA BRAUN!!!!!!!! And, whilst at the chalet, she falls in love with an SS G OMG OMG I'm not sure why I stuck with it.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The German Midwife: the heartbreaking World War II historical fiction []  2020-5-6 18:25

    This is actually one of the best books that I’ve ever read. Heartbreaking and shocking at times and in turn touching and heartfelt. I couldn’t place it down. I hated to read the latest page. To search a fresh book to read now may prove difficult. I cant say enough that you should read this book. It will stay with you for a long time. Amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The German Midwife: the heartbreaking World War II historical fiction []  2020-5-6 18:25

    Mixing fact and fiction into one of the best historical novels,I have ever read,Mandy creates a believable scenario where Hitler's mistress gives birth to his child. The German Midwife was a prisoner of war,residing in a concentration camp when she was handpicked to support with the pregnancy and delivery of Eva Braun's baby. Mandy does a unbelievable job making Eva a "likeable" hero when the globe only knows her as another evil sidekick of Hitler.. we see her as a soon to be mom doing her best for the child. The outcome at birth, was not what I expected, and grabbed me by surprise. All in all, characters and plot are totally believable and I am sad this book has come to conclusion. Hope to read more by this writer...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The German Midwife: the heartbreaking World War II historical fiction []  2020-5-6 18:25

    An actual amazing story. No formula-matic, same ole same ole this book. Fresh, totally fresh concept within an enjoyable ar Author: Well done you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The German Midwife: the heartbreaking World War II historical fiction []  2020-5-6 18:25

    A very interesting read, of what might have been. Could not place this book down! Looking forward to reading more from this author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The German Midwife: the heartbreaking World War II historical fiction []  2020-5-6 18:25

    I completed this book in about a week’s time which is slightly longer than my norm. It took but a few chapters to really grasp my attention but midway through on a bit. Nearing the end, it picked up again and the end (epilogue) really tied it altogether.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The German Midwife: the heartbreaking World War II historical fiction []  2020-5-6 18:25

    This book certainly kept me turning pages, because I could not guess at a plausible outcome for the characters, but it has a lot of issues that will distract a discerning reader. Are there really not editors left in the globe of publishing?1. Eleven times the word "ghost" is used as a verb to the point that a reader cannot support but be distracted by its overuse. I almost am sure that the word only recently has become a verb--certainly not in WWII or to a woman Anke's age when she told this story.2. In all of Nazi Germany, the Nazis would send to a concentration camp for a midwife?3. Are we to believe that a victim of a concentration camp could fall in love with someone wearing a Nazi uniform?Someone please rescue the globe of publishing before it is just too late!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The German Midwife: the heartbreaking World War II historical fiction []  2020-5-6 18:25

    This book is both attractive and horrifying at the same time. I picked it to read because my awesome small sister is a midwife. I will recommend it to her because the beauty overwhelms the horror. I loved it, and found it very difficult to place down. I will admit I shed some tears now and again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The German Midwife: the heartbreaking World War II historical fiction []  2020-5-6 18:25

    In a room somewhere in Germany a kid is born with the midwife helping. It might be in a hospital, a ghetto, a concentration camp or a castle. The only concern of the midwife is the health of the mother and the child. Thus life happens or not depending on the cirtances, in wartime or not. Very interesting book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-28 23:23

    There was nothing I disliked about this book. The heroism of these women is wonderful. It is a story that need to be told over and over so the younger generation will know what really happened during Globe Battle II.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-28 23:23

    This is one of the most poignant books I've ever read. It's hard to conceive that joy could evolve from the ruins of the holocaust which is described in amazing detail. But the strength of the characters, so vividly described, makes the joy palpable. It's a must-read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-28 23:23

    I love Globe Battle II Historical Fiction and this book did not disappoint. This is the story of Eva Adami, her best mate Sofie Weis, Helga and Vanda who are all imprisoned in Auschwitz trying to survive the horrors of the concentration camp during Globe Battle II. It is told in a then and now format with then detailing Eva being a 21-year-old artist falling in love and eventually marrying Michal Adami, a concert violinist. This is a heartbreaking story that is a true page turner. Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC of this unbelievable book in exchange for an honest review. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys WWII Historical Fiction as it will not disappoint you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-28 23:23

    Oh Lily, what a beautiful, heartbreaking story. You’ve surpassed yourself with The Kid Of Auschwitz. It had never crossed my mind that babies could be born in such horrific cirtances. This is an perfect book, written with such feeling. I could only imagine how not good it must have been. Readers, do yourself a favour & read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-28 23:23

    I have read a lot of stories about survivors of the holocaust and have always been shocked at the cruelty of one human to another. I found myself totally immersed in this book and felt like I could actually feel Ava's pain. In my opinion that is a superbly written book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-28 23:23

    So heartbreaking about the kids in the camps. The author did a amazing job writing about this subject. Did a amazing job researching. A must read. I read the WW2 books because I never wish to forget.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-28 23:23

    Read in one sitting. Completely mesmerizing and heartbreaking. Eva sofia helga and vandaAre left to die in Auschwitz but somehow 2Of them manage to survive. They are beatenStarbed and 1 is ly abused. It will keepYou up long into the night.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-28 23:23

    After recently visiting Auschwitz I felt compelled to read this riveting story of hope and survival. The writing brought the websites and sounds of Auschwitz/Birkenaue to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl from the Mountains: Absolutely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:14

    Magda’s tenderly told journey captivates from begin to finish. Her ability to remain loyal and form powerful fresh relationships despite the trials and tribulations in 1938 in a war-torn village makes for a quick and compelling read. Her strength, bravery, and above all, adaptability in the face of danger and loss makes this a must-read novel. Her story lingers. This is SO well written. Brava!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl from the Mountains: Absolutely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:14

    A lot of novels have been written about this period. This story is so well written that the reader will search it difficult to place down. Set in wartime Czechoslovakia, the characters are well described and the plot is very well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl from the Mountains: Absolutely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:14

    Grounded in scrupulous research, this extraordinary battle story transports the reader into Czechoslovakia in the first years of German occupation and throughout avoid spoilers, I’ll refrain from recounting the happenings unfolding in the story. However, I can’t support but mention that in the core of it is a young Czech woman, Magda, who commits a surprising act of revenge. Who would expect such courage and later self-sacrifice in the war versus the German oppressors from a naïve girl the reader meets in the first pages of this captivating story?I’m in awe of the author’s writing style. Each phrase and nuance add to the depth of the plot and characters. Conflict and tension await the reader on every is is an exceptional read you won’t be able to erase from your mind. Anyone who enjoys WWII historical fiction will love this book. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl from the Mountains: Absolutely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:14

    This is a lovely story about a young woman who finds herself involved in the resistance movement in Second Globe Battle Czechoslovakia. A spin off from the perfect Magda's Mark, this story goes deeper into what it means to war "evil" and the sacrifices you must create for the ones you love. As, Chrystyna Lucuk-Berger thrills with her deep knowledge of the Second Globe Battle era in the mountainous region of Central Europe and her believable characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl from the Mountains: Absolutely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:14

    This is an interesting read that makes you feel like you are there even though you are not. It is a descriptive read and well described people even if you don't like them . This is a recommended read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-28 23:23

    A lot of times stories about the Holocaust are so painful to read that you don’t wish to finish them, but not this one. Even with all the horrendous atrocities the characters face, their human spirit shines through and, in the end, you are grateful to have taken this journey with them. It’s hard to believe that human beings could treat other human beings this way, yet the story is based on the biographies of several survivors and it’s SO necessary that we remember. I highly recommend this book and all of Lily Graham’s novels. Her stories are compelling, well-written, and definitely worth your time. She is a terrific writer who can pull you in immediately and hold you interested until the very end every time. Such a talent! I always look forward to her books and eagerly await her next one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-28 23:23

    I am an avid reader & am intrigued by the books of Globe Battle II, and especially the horrible experiences of the Jews at the hands of Hitler & the Nazis...this was a amazing story from the viewpoint of the women sent to Auschwitz, depicting its horrors & what it took to survive...however, I will admit I do not like stories that flip the chapters from show to past while reading...it just doesn’t flow smoothly to me...I was so aggravated by this & the slow beginning pace that I almost stopped reading at 25%...but when I start a book, I do hate to not [email protected]#$%!, so I plodded forward & the latest half was written much better...I sincerely hope that the younger generation of today will read this story & actually think about what happened when a megalomaniac like Hitler rose to power, confiscated all weapons & targeted a certain group of people for extinction..unlike what some schools teach now, it happened & it could happen again. One can only hope & pray that history does not repeat itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl from the Mountains: Absolutely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:14

    This is a Globe Battle II story about a young girl, Magda, who lives on a farm with her parents and brothers. Born with a huge birth tag on her cheek, she’s been teased mercilessly her entire life, eroding her self confidence. During Globe Battle II, a German family takes over the farm. The sons are forced into the German Army, and Magda is suddenly homeless. Eventually she is hired as a nanny by a Jewish family, the Taubers, who continue to live in the zone under unique dispensation. When the Gestapo arrests them, Magda hides their fresh baby until the local resistance rescues him. Magda continues to work with the villa under the thumb of a German family and passing info to the resistance. After she makes a critical error, she escapes but has a price on her rystyna Lucyk-Berger gives the reader the story of a remarkable young woman. Magda has a unbelievable hero arc moving from a easy village maiden who lacks self-confidence; as her role in the resistance increases, she realizes her own strength and becomes brave and accomplished at her different positions within the resistance. Lucyk-Berger also provides an in-depth look of the roles women played during the battle and what they were able to accomplish. Related books I’ve read present the French resistance at work, but this book looks at the Czechoslovakian resistance, something I’ve never read about before. The horrors of war, neither glossed over nor sensationalized, have enough depth to let the reader to see them yet not be grossed out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl from the Mountains: Absolutely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:14

    Heart warming, love, sad, and mystery all together! Life during in Globe Battle 2! I will be reading more from this author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl from the Mountains: Absolutely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:14

    “The Girl from the Mountains” impressed me in more ways than one. From the choice of the protagonist to the meticulously researched setting and to the plotline itself, this story stands out amongst the others in the same genre. I absolutely loved Magda. She’s one of those strong, level-headed characters who never lose their cool even in the direst of cirtances, and indeed, as the story moved forward and her employers, the Taubers, found themselves in grave danger, Magda proved herself to be just the material of which heroes are made. From a easy maid to a fearless and selfless partisan - Magda is certainly a amazing collective photo of true female partisans and a unbelievable tribute to their brave actions. But besides Magda, there are plenty of other characters in the story that simply come alive with every fresh page turned. I can guarantee that you will love the Taubers just as much as Magda’s fellow partisans and will root for them till the end. Atmospheric, riveting, and incredibly inspiring, “The Girl from the Mountains” is a excellent choice for all fans of the genre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl from the Mountains: Absolutely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:14

    The Girl from the Mountains by Chrystyna Lucyk-Berger is a haunting reminder how things can progress from idyllic to horrific in the blink of an eye. First off, the first few chapters flowed slowly but methodically, setting the scene for Magda’s transformation of enjoying her serene family life with her parents and brothers to the captivating rush of the latest chapters and her full-on resistance versus the Nazis. One of the beauty’s of any story is to recognize the author’s desire to demonstrate contrast. Christina does this with skill. I liken this story to the film “A Hidden Life” contrasting love versus hatred, morality versus immorality, and innocence versus guilt. To place this into visual terms, this book is a visual fire, a flame sparked in the beginning, slowly burning in the initial chapters as more and more fuel is added until, finally, the story bursts into a bonfire. Magda never believes she is a warrior, a hero, but she is; a woman who is relatable to women today as well as real to the time period in which Chrystyna writes. My favourite lines from the book:“....where Swastika stamped flags snapped salutes to the wind.” (Great alliteration and visual)“Everything about love requires an act of courage. Absolutely everything. But loving yourself perhaps the most heroic act a person can perform.” (Great line!)“We all understand the difference between right and wrong. But what if wrong is the law?” (Hmmm, makes you think, huh? Especially in our modern day!)“I believe a soul can die a thousand times before the body does. That’s a amazing thing because it means you have the possibility to recover. So, today, right now, we must choose to live.” (I have lived this so a lot of times, after losing my children in death, so this profound statement will stay with me a long time.)“We are shaped by our cirtances, and marked by our choices.” (Simply put, yes!)I give this book five stars and highly recommend. Well done, Chrystyna!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl from the Mountains: Absolutely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2021-4-6 23:14

    Unbelievable story. Interesting from beginning to end. Well written. Translation of words, not in English, would have added to story for me. Have you written anything else?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fortunate Ones: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-24 23:25

    Thanks to Bookouture and Netgalley for giving me the opportunity to read this awesome book. From the first to the very latest page this story was a sheer joy to read. One of hope, despair, love and loss and history combined this book has it all. Thoroughly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Horizon: Heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-9-8 18:18

    I love all of Ella Carey's books. I read them so fast, I am sad when they are finished. This one was another amazing one. I love history, and Ella's research is spectacular. Can't wait for the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Horizon: Heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-9-8 18:18

    I have read all of her other books and found them intriguing and different. I was skeptical about downloading this book because I was not interested in the topic matter. However based on the other books I thought it would pique my interest. It did not! Slow moving and quite frankly boring through 3/4 of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Without a Name: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-11-25 20:40

    Throughout the novel, 'The Girl Without a Name' kept me rivetedly reading hoping for Ruby to overcome her cirtances. As a young girl, she was sent away to the Devon countryside to escape London's bombings. While living there, Ruby fell in love with the peaceful setting and people she encounteredWhen she was ripped away from her adopted home, her life fell into pieces. While those in charge should have helped her build a better future, Ruby felt like a missing puzzle piece attempting to snap into put but she wasn't the right fit.I love historical fiction and was soon captivated by the story. That being said, at the half method tag I became disillusioned with a protagonist's actions. I was so upset that it slightly soured the story. Thank you #NetGally for the early read in exchange for an honest review.Until the second section, I was looking forward to writing the review and sharing that I endorsed the book. Where I can understand the author's reasoning depicting dissociation and PTSD, I I was shocked by what transpired. Without giving anything away, taking love out of the equation, Ruby deserved better. While I was fuming about the chain of events, I encourage readers to finish the final chapters before making your decision. You'll just have to read #TheGirlWithoutaName to explore the truth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Without a Name: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-11-25 20:40

    Billie's father @#$% had a stroke and is in the hospital. Billie goes to visit and cannot communicate well but is able to say the word Ruby when Billie finds a black and white image of a woman she does not recognize. The story jumps back to 1940 and the Blitz where Rubie and Steve are in love. Steve gets sent abroad and Ruby dutifully waits. Steve returns, they go away and never return. Billie investigates how they connect to her father. A very god well written story if you like WW2 historical fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fortunate Ones: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-24 23:25

    The Fortunate Ones by Catherine Hokin is a Globe Battle II story set in Berlin in 1941. It is an extraordinary story that encompasses bravery, heartache, love and the power to hold going even when faced with adversity.Felix Thalberg is a Mischling. He is neither fully German nor fully Jewish. While still being able to keep a job as a printer’s apprentice, Felix is not really sure where he fits in under the Nazi regime. His father has been stripped of his lecturing position and forced to wear a yellow star and is fearful of leaving their home. Felix’s mother, an aryan, refuses to leave her husband and finds herself shunned in the community. While at a dance, Felix meets Hannah and falls in love, but soon after finds himself arrested by the regime and sent to Sachsenhausen, a concentration camp. While in the camp, Felix sees a glimpse of Hannah through a window pane, with an SS officer, Max Eichel, a sadistic medical officer and loyal to the regime, standing right behind her. While fearful of Hannah’s fate, she also gives him hope in a globe that has herine Hokin really emmerses you into life in a concentration camp and all of the atrocities done to other people the regime labeled as undesirables. She shows how Jews were dehumanized and treated like nothing more than cattle. People were stripped of their dignity, murdered, and tested on like lab rats. Names no longer mattered. You were nothing more than a number, you were no one. There was no humanity in a concentration camp. Just reading the text was so disheartening and gave me the chills. Not only is this a story of what it was like in a camp, but it also takes it a step further until after the battle had ended. I search it to be refreshing to see what happens after the war, which not a lot of authors tend to write about.What is most apparent is all of the research Hokin delved into while creating this story. Names and locations have historic merit and I found it quite refreshing to read. From Berlin to Argentina, Hokin takes us on a journey of the SS from concentration camps in Berlin in 1941 all the method up till the end of the battle when a lot of SS Nazi’s escaped to Bariloche, Argentina’s Lake District.Felix is such a powerful well written character. I could feel his pain and suffering, but I could also feel his strength even when he felt like giving up. The only thought holding him together was his love for Hannah. I know a lot of might not understand the symbolism of the romance in this story, or may feel it was short shafted among the bigger picture, but I feel it was a important plot point that kept Felix going and one that gave him the strength he required to survive through the atrocities thrown his way.Hannah is a well written hero as well and I could see how she felt trapped in a marriage she did not wish to be in while she carried around a love for a boy she briefly met. I found her to be very naive in the beginning, but yet I can understand why she wore rose colourful glasses. In the beginning of 1941, I don’t think she could have truly handled all that was going on at the time. Hannah does grow in hero and you can see how she changes for the better as time goes on.I would really like to mention the ending of this story, while I didn’t obtain the ending I wanted, I think it still ended perfectly and kept with the entire theme of the story. I think one really needs to encompass all that is going on to truly understand why the ending is the method it e Fortunate ones is a beautifully moving, gut-wrenching Globe Battle II story that will pull on your heartstrings. I highly recommend this book if you are a historical fiction fan. A definite five star read for me and I am really looking forward to more from Catherine Hokin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Horizon: Heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-9-8 18:18

    This is my honest review:)BEYOND THE HORIZON is inspired by a real story.Ella Carey takes you back to Sweetwater Texas where in 1943 there was a courageous group of civilian women pilots that were volunteering to try aircrafts after repair, ferried aircraft and train other other pilots. They were best known as WASP(Women Air-force Service Pilots). Ella Carey beautifully combines historical facts with a heartwarming love story among mates throughout those battle torn yond The Horizon shows us the bravery among women and the love and friendships that latest throughout ones lifetime.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Horizon: Heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-9-8 18:18

    This story was beautiful. I loved all the characters. I couldn’t place Ella’s recent novel down. Another captivating story. I’m excited to read her next one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Without a Name: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-11-25 20:40

    Very well done! Amazing story and the ending! Wow! Do Not skip ahead and read the best ending ever! I did NOT see that coming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Without a Name: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-11-25 20:40

    I love this author’s writing style; it’s well-researched, heartfelt, and she makes the stories come alive. Even though I knew I would like this book, it went method beyond my initial perceptions. The set-up of a current-day tragedy spurring the flashbacks and recollections that create up the bulk of the story was very effective. The story is told mainly in flashbacks, from 1939 all the method up to 1952. There are chapters set in 2004 (the current time) as well as some letters interspersed as well. But everything moves seamlessly through the shifting times and perspectives. The author also is very clever in how she refers to the characters. I won’t say more than that, because I don’t wish to ruin what I thought was an perfect (albeit small) twist, but it turns out that Stevie and Ruby had more in common than meets the eye. Another perfect story from Ms. Goldring. For a full review, please visit Fireflies and Free Kicks. Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for a digital ARC of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Without a Name: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-11-25 20:40

    Wow! I’m not really sure where to start here. This book has a small of everything—-history, mystery, romance, family, tragedy, all woven together by the enduring spirit of Ruby Morrison. Ruby was one of the kids impacted by Operation Pied Piper, a program designed to protect kids from the impending onslaught of German bombs to be dropped on London during the Second Globe War. You can tell the author did her research on this and other historical happenings in this novel. I read this book in two days! It seamlessly goes back and forth between two periods of time as they eventually interlock in a method that comes together beautifully! I don’t wish to obtain into the facts too much so as to give the story away but I will say that I was so drawn to Ruby‘s coming-of-age story through the Second Globe Battle in Britain and her first love and all the emotions and experiences that come with it. A amazing read for lovers of historical fiction! Thank you to Bookouture, Suzanne Goldring, and Netgalley for this ARC in exchange for an honest review!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Horizon: Heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-9-8 18:18

    A fair story of the original WASP program, but written with somewhat less than the emotion of a doentary. The main characters obviously touched the author, but she wasn’t able to bring it out to me. And the final denouement of rather thin lies that had carried on with small or no question for decades after the initial cause of grief and psychosis, created me wonder if the main 'heroine' had any guts or initiative at all, which would be odd for a woman who flew combat planes. Carey had amazing idea, but created it small more than a surface-level romance/drama. Too bad. I’ve seen doentaries of the WASP program, and they were more engaging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Horizon: Heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-9-8 18:18

    Enjoyed this book because it was well written, moved along smoothly and held my interest. The author did a amazing job combining the story of a Globe Battle 11 Wasp with a romantic drama. Would like to read more of her books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Without a Name: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-11-25 20:40

    “Is it ever too late to say you’re sorry”. Maybe yes and maybe no! But who is it for, the one who was damage or the person that caused the r those that have fun historical fiction, this story told in dual timelines, is based on true events. @#$% Stevens is found by his daughter Billie, after suffering a devastating stroke. Unable to speak, he is visibly distressed by old images and newspaper clippings, of a horrendous flood in 1950’s England. Billie sets out to determine the source of his distress, by tracing his story as a kid sent from London during the Blitz to wait out the war, in the peaceful is is a very sad story, beautifully written by Suzanne Goldring, recounting the difficulties and experiences of young children, living with strangers, away from their families, unbelievable writing and interesting is a story of tragedy, struggle, loss, sacrifices and the suffering of war. We follow the stories of Ruby and Stevie, the bond that they shared and the lives they lived during wartime and the years that thanks to #NetGalley, #BookouturePublishers #SuzanneGoldring for the ARC. I loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Without a Name: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-11-25 20:40

    Thank you to Netgalley for an ARC of this book in exchange for my review and honest opinionsThe Girl Without a Name is a beautiful, haunting tale of the past, show and future, weaved together in love. After Billie finds her father in a chair, suffering from a stroke, she finds a picture in his wallet that brings forth a mystery. Billie sets out, with the support of her father's memories to figure out who was in the picture and solve a decades old mystery.With the story weaving between show day and WWII's love journey of Stevie and Ruby, this was a story that held me captive until the latest page. The hero development was excellent and the story was able to time travel without being confusing to the reader, yet still had an element of surprise. This was my first time reading this author and I can't wait to see what else she puts out in the future!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Horizon: Heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-9-8 18:18

    "Beyond the Horizon" fascinated me from the beginning. I knew of the WASP, but had not read much about it. This story is beautifully written. Experiences, hardships, not good recognition of roles, and even the loss of life, line the pages. I was entranced from beginning to end. I loved the story and reading about the characters. I became part of them. Thank you Ella for the unbelievable research and for writing an exquisite story. I will always be one of your American fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Horizon: Heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-9-8 18:18

    So we'll written it takes you into the heart and mind of the brave women who.flew, for the love of flying. Making a difference, in an era when women had small respect and was thought to.have small brains. Could not out this wn.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Without a Name: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-11-25 20:40

    Ruby is sent to Barnstaple during the battle in order to hold her safe from the bombings in London. She is placed with Mrs. Honey along with an older girl, Joan. Joan's brother, Stevie, is at another farm and Ruby has a crush on Stevie. After her mom is killed by a bomb her Aunt Ida takes her back to London. Ruby is living above their pub. Aunt Ida sounds nasty and only cares for herself and what work Ruby can do to create her life easier. Ruby reconnects with Stevie and they fall in love but when Stevie comes back from his National Service he is a changed man and they break afternoon @#$% is watching the news and sees a flood in Boscastle and he remembers a flood from 1952 in Lynmouth. It upsets him so much and when his daughter, Billie, finds him he has had a stroke. When she takes his wallet from him she finds a hidden picture of a young girl and determines to search out who she is and why it upsets him so.I found the characters beautiful well developed. Ruby and Joan were lucky to be placed with Mrs. Honey and they thrived in her environment. Ruby was a gentle soul who was orphaned early but she never became bitter but continued to strive for a better life. Stevie was a tragic figure having been sent to that farmer who was brutal to the kids place with him and Stevie ran away and went back to London where he would go into bomb websites hoping to search coins left behind. He had a passion for life and always looking for an adventure. Billie was a small less defined. She was tenacious in trying to obtain to the root of what upset her father but her eating and weight was brought up a lot and I'm not sure during the battle was depicted well I thought with the bombed out buildings and then the restructuring. The life in Barnstaple seemed enviable even though the work was hard there was a rhythm to everything they ere is a bit of a mystery involved when Billie reads about an unidentified woman who died in the 1952 flood and there were a couple of surprises that I didn't see coming.I would recommend this book to ank you to Netgalley and Bookouture for allowing me the opportunity to read this story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Without a Name: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-11-25 20:40

    I didn't know what to expect but I really enjoyed this. The writing style was simple to read and I somehow felt the jumps in time from Ruby being a young girl to a young woman. That kind of timeline combined with a dual timeline of show day could create for a jarring experience, but it wasn't. I could hold up just fine with the back and forth timelines and they complimented each other well.I thought this was going to be a sweet story about two children that fell in love and parted ways due to the war. In one aspect, it was, but it was also a lot more than that. It dances between love and infatuation and makes you think about what love is and what it should be.I found myself getting increasingly mad as I read this because of Stevie's treatment of Ruby and as I got closer and closer to the end of the book, I was so freaking annoyed that he seemed to just obtain away with everything. Well, maybe not entirely since the book starts off with him having a stroke, but you know what I mean. I was so satisfied and relieved by the time I got to the end. That's not how I thought things were going to go and I thought it was such a peaceful ending that created me reflect more on love.Overall, a pleasant read that was surprisingly satisfying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fortunate Ones: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-24 23:25

    This book was extremely difficult to obtain through. As with any enthusiast for psychological dramas, there is always a benchmark for reasonable standards as to how much creative license an author can take when writing a story. The largest offenders tend to be outrageous and implausible plot devices.What makes this book so incredibly difficult to work through is that the atrocities committed versus other human beings that were cited in this story were not figments of a fictional writer's imagination. In this reading, there was always a level of detachment that was necessary, otherwise, it was nearly impossible to reconcile the fact that the barbarity of actual crimes committed versus mankind during WWII rivaled anything conjured up in a fictitious horror novel. Although, limited in my knowledge of historical dramas, this was the first novel that I have come across that addressed the medical experimentation that had been conducted by the Third ntained within a richly-detailed narrative was a story that spoke of prevalence of the human spirit, both resilient and beatific, bowed but never broken by the unfathomable horrors of war. Captivating. Sobering. Unflinching. Wishing for a conclusion to Felix and Inge's story. 5+ ank you to NetGalley, Bookouture, and Catherine Hokin for an ARC of 'The Fortunate Ones' in exchange for an honest and voluntary review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fortunate Ones: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-24 23:25

    A stunning look at the impossible losses suffered by the German people during WWII, this book includes points of view that one usually does not see beyond history books. I found the hero of Felix to be especially interesting because he personified several known groups (mixed blood, Jewish, had an exceptional talent, was relentless in trying to search justice, etc.) He was complex yet simple to understand. I also thought Inge was interesting because she represented the people who were “safe” but still felt like there was no escape. There was a lot to unpack in this book and the author did a unbelievable job with the story. I highly recommend it. For a full review, please visit my blog at Fireflies and Free Kicks. Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for a digital ARC of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fortunate Ones: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-24 23:25

    This story begins in Berlin in 1941 where Felix, a mischling and a printer's apprentice lives with his parents. Inge is wealthy and is about to enter into an arranged marriage to a wealthy, older physician. Shortly before the wedding, Inge's best friend, Liesl talks her into going to a dance for one latest possibility to have some fun. At the dance, Felix and Inge meet, dance and share a few kisses and they both fall madly in love with each other. They meet one more time before she marries and Felix and his father are deported to a work camp. The book toggles between Felix's struggles in the prison camp and his life after the liberation and Inge's life as a Nazi physician's wife. The story spans from 1941 to 1956 in Berlin. This was a very emotional and heartbreaking read at times and it was hard to place down. Thank you NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC of this unbelievable book in exchange for an honest review. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves WWII Historical Fiction books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Horizon: Heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-9-8 18:18

    Well researched story based on fact with characters and story lines to draw the reader into the history of the times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Horizon: Heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-9-8 18:18

    This story is well written to hold you reading to the end. It is a fun read with amazing historical value. I learned a amazing deal about women flyers during the war. It was interesting to search out how they got accepted as Military finally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Without a Name: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-11-25 20:40

    Two time lines for this family story 1940 amidst the battle and its aftermath and then llie is one of three kids all grown up, their mother has just passed away and their father is trying very hard to hold it together and move on. When he has a stroke, Billie takes over his care and finds a crumpled photograph. When shown this ie becomes distraught trying to tell her something which is incomprehensible to ying to go back sixty years is hard. Most of the people who associated with ie are either senile or dead. Billie is adamant that she must place the pieces together for the sake of her father and later for the sake of the dead girl is becomes a very circuitous exercise but Billie will not give e adage that somethings should be left undisturbed is very valid here but in this context it leads to a very interesting r Ruby it was heart breaking to see that her idol had feet of clay, for ie it was decades of guilt which became too much to bear. The whole gamut of emotions are played out here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Historical Atlas of World War II []  2020-12-5 20:16

    I agree with those who feel that this is a less-than-perfect atlas and also agree with those who prefer John Keegan's TIMES HISTORICAL ATLAS OF THE SECOND WORLD WAR. But the latter is out of print and getting a amazing copy at a reasonable price on the used book shop can sometimes be a challenge. Keegan's is an even larger (10 x 14 inches) book and the size causes it to break down. The Swanston is better bound and easily found in a cheap but brand fresh edition. It has long been the best bargain in WW II atlases. The Keegan is a tad better, but do you obtain more bang for the buck? I think it is going to depend on the individual, but I think most will say that getting a fresh copy of this for $10 will beat getting a beat up copy of Keegan for $25. Of course, you should check the Keegan to see what the current situation with used copies of it are, but more often than not, you will not search may decent copies. I gave my copy of Keegan away (I sometimes search myself in the grip of insane generosity) and haven't found a copy that I both had confidence was as amazing as my old copy and worth the added expense. Meanwhile I continue to obtain amazing use out of this, though I do want that my copy had those cool looking B-25s on the front (my uncle flew B-25Hs in WW II, which carried a shocking amount of low level destructive power - the design eliminated the co-pilot, place large amounts of armor around the pilot, and gave the pilot direct control of four forward-facing .50 caliber machine guns with 400 rounds each and a 75 MM canon with 21 rounds - they were used with amazing success in attacking bridges, roads, trains, and other targets). But I definitely recommend this. It will enhance the reading of almost any student of WW II.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Historical Atlas of World War II []  2020-12-5 20:16

    Graphics are incredible; terrain depicted in detail at such a huge scale, and the colours are superb. Everything is sharp as a sword and clearly defined. The awesome cartographic work alone more than justifies the little price of the book, but the narrative is decent too. When I read reviews carping about this atlas, I can only lay it to our getting spoiled by the plethora of so a lot of perfect atlases in the latest dozen years. 25 years ago a book like this would have seemed a miracle. I think it still is a bit miraculous.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Historical Atlas of World War II []  2020-12-5 20:16

    I was looking to search an Atlas on WW II to use as a companion while I was reading different histories of the period. Because of that I really wasn't interested in text summaries of the campaigns illustrated by the maps, as was done in this Atlas.I believe that the addition of the text and images in this book leads to reduction in the size and complexity of the maps in the book. Since it was after all the maps I was primarily interested in this was unfortunate. In addition, I found the maps of the ground campaigns to often be woefully lacking. A lot of of them showed the positions of troops at the begin of a campaign and then illustrated the progress of the campaign with a bunch of arrows zooming all over the map. I found it frustrating because it was difficult to know what the movement of the troops was during the course of the campaign. Finally, the accompanying text was not coordinated with, and did not explain the maps, as was done West Point Atlases.I did search some of the maps that were not covering the land campaigns , such as the section dedicated to the strategic bombing of Germany to be very interesting. The coverage of the land, sea, air campaign for the Normandy invasion was also quite well ever, for anyone interested in detailed maps of the major land campaigns of WW II, I would not recommend this Atlas. Instead I would direct to the West Point Atlases of WW II edited by Col. Vincent Esposito, which are split into two volumes covering the European and Pacific theatres.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Historical Atlas of World War II []  2020-12-5 20:16

    There are a lot of Atlas products for WWII and this is not the best. A better example is the one provided below. Atlas products are like a cottage industry with the people with the best resources often doing better that those with less. Keegan, J. (1989). The Times atlas of the Second Globe Battle (First ed.). Grand Rapids, PA, PA: Harper & Row.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Historical Atlas of World War II []  2020-12-5 20:16

    I have been reading WWII history for a couple years. I wanted a set of maps to see countries , cities and the general shape of military action. My memory for geography is not very good. I required a reference resource I could pick up as needed. This book/atlas has been great. Its maps depict different campaigns in more detail than I will ever be able to take in. Accompanying pictures are great. Each of the 70+ wars or campaigns depicted has it's own chapter and text. The print is a small smaller than I would like, but I can read it. And each chapter is two or three pages, so it is the kind of book I can pick up, begin anywhere and read for ten mins if that's all the time I have. This was a amazing purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Historical Atlas of World War II []  2020-12-5 20:16

    Comprehensive chronological visualization country by country of Globe Battle II. Land and sea wars described as well as very clear maps that provide detailed information. An perfect companion to books about WWII.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Historical Atlas of World War II []  2020-12-5 20:16

    Very nice paper and graphics and a amazing story line to accompany the maps. Two glaring omissions, though, are that there is no map of the Allies postwar divisions (into 4 zones); nor is there a map of how Europe's boundaries ended up after the Potsdam Agreement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Historical Atlas of World War II []  2020-12-5 20:16

    I have found this atlas to be a very useful reference in my readings. While there are a few 1/2 or 1/4 page size maps, the majority of them are full page and in a book of this size they present a amazing amount of detail of the opposing armies fronts, troop movements and so readings on WWII cover all theaters, and not having more than a primary knowledge of globe gepgraphy it was sometimes hard for me to visualize or understand some of these campaigns or wars - having no point of reference to the names of the towns, cities or areas involved. This atlas helps me understand in greater detail the vast scope of the battlegrounds and campaigns in the Pacific, CBI, China, et al - showing the offenses, counter-offensives and helping me grasp a bit of the startegies.I just finished reading David Glantz's perfect "When Titan Clashed" and this atlas proved itself as an invaluable reference tool. Glantz's book is very detailed and this atlas has very amazing coverage of the German thrust of Operation Barbarossa and the major wars around Leningrad, Kharkov, Kursk and Stalingrad. It was especially usefaul covering the 1943 Soviet Winter Offensive which stretched the width of Russia from the Baltic to the Black Seas. It had overview maps of the entire front plus maps detailing the individual fronts such as the Ukraine, the Caucasus' and northern Russia and around Leningrad and the Karelian Front.I have the hardcover edition and it was worth the few additional $$. It is a huge, massive sturdy book and the pages are printed on massive stock paper for durability. The maps are all full colourful and the various troops groups, armies, divisions and so on involved are labeled with clearly defined arrows showing their movements. It is laid out in chronological order. It begins with the European layout right after WWI and the first 20 or so pages are devoted to the politcal make-up and alliances, the Depression in Germany and the rise of facism and into the invasion of Poland. There are a couple of interesting chapters at the end detailing some statistics of the combatants, such as manpower and units mobilized, casualties and industrial amazing as this atlas is it does miss out in not including or naming some of the topograhic and geographic info that were critical to some of the wars and campaigns, particularly the cities and towns and the rivers that required to be crossed, or sometimes were the goals and end points of some of the offenses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Historical Atlas of World War II []  2020-12-5 20:16

    Highly detailed maps accompanied by text that is short enough to read in 15 mins per map makes this book a must have for WW2 buffs. It's hefty, coming in at 400 pages, and there are a lot of photographs as well. Definitely a favorite of mine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Historical Atlas of World War II []  2020-12-5 20:16

    When I'm reading books about WW2, I use this atlas as a crucial companion resource. I'm currently reading two books for the first time, "American Caesar", William Manchester's classic of Douglas MacArthur in the Pacific theatre and "When Titans Clashed", David Glantz's acc of how the Red Troops stopped Hitler. Without this atlas, I wouldn't be able to fully comprehend or appreciate the real breadth and scope of these crucial happenings in the Pacific and Eastern is oversize atlas, 13x10 in., has large color maps that chronologically spotlight major wars and campaigns, while charting detailed troop movements,etc. A brief narrative presents an overview and describes the significance of each campaign and battle. There are a few photos, maybe one every other page, but it's the maps and graphics that are outstanding. I never fully appreciated MacArthurs tactic in the Philippines until I studied these maps. How could he possibly defend a coastline the size of the United States? By referencing the maps and narrative in the atlas, I could better visualize the tactic and timeline behind happenings surrounding Operation Barbarossa, Stalingrad, Leningrad and truly appreciate the enormity of causalities suffered on the Eastern Front and how crucial the Eastern Front was to allied r military purists, this atlas lacks some rivers, towns and terrain, but for the average person wishing to better comprehend happenings during WW2, this is a unbelievable atlas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burning Island: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-27 22:44

    Did I love this book? NO Did I like this book? NO Could I place the book down? NO This is one of the most interesting books I've read in a long time. It definitely didn't follow a formula. A amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burning Island: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-27 22:44

    This story takes put on the island of Corfu during two various time periods. In June 1944, the Jews are being rounded up to be sent off to a "work camp." Issac and Perla Nikokiris have 3 daughters, Rebekka 13, Matilde 5 and Anna 3. They did not register the two younger girls so they create the decision to have a doctor mate take them to live with a childless couple, Georgiou and Agata, who live in the mountains in order to hold them safe. Isaac, Perla and Rebekka start their inhumane journey to the work camp and the small girls start a fresh life in the mountains. The second part of the book begins in June 2006 when Amber and James decide they are sick of the stress and long hours of their jobs and decide to quit in find of something more peaceful on the island of Corfu. The book alternates between the various time periods and various POVs. I especially liked the chapters that dealt with WWII aspect of this book. I did not care for the chapters that dealt with James and Amber in 2006 because I felt there was too much time spent on his recipes and cooking and Amber's decorating. Overall, it was a amazing read though. Thank you NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC of this very interesting book in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burning Island: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-27 22:44

    Thank you to Netgalley for an ARC possibility to read this fine book.I won't go into the premise as I feel a lot of other reviewers have done a fine job of synopsis. I will tell that you I did have fun the book. While it wasn't an intense page-turner, for me at least, it had some fine moments and was well told with perfect grammar and e author has done her research well regarding the Corfiot Jews during WWII and it's to her credit that she provided a sad and poignant epilogue paying her respects to them.Well done. Would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burning Island: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-27 22:44

    The truth told through fiction is sad reminder of man 's inhumanity to man. Ms. Folding tells a gripping t ale alternating between modern time and 1944. Her writing will be a reminder of what has happened in the past in hopes of preventing it in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burning Island: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-27 22:44

    I will be the only one I think that was not blown away by this book. But I was struggling with finishing this story as the characters and the story felt so disjointed due to the changes in time and locations from the 1940s to e story starts with Jews running from Nazis on Corfu and how they deal with that. Two sisters are being hidden, so they would not be taken and killed. They are taken care of by A woman which gives them the chance to ber moved to Corfu with her husband and wish to begin their fresh life and business there. But when some things will be brought back to the surface and not everyone will like it.I thought that those two parts would connect somehow in a more necessary way, but... Nothing like that. To me, if this story would only concentrate on sisters' stories during and after WWII it would be much better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burning Island: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-27 22:44

    Suzanne Goldring uses alternating perspectives to reveal the sad history of the Corfu Jewish community during WWII and what modern day life in Corfu, Greece is bekka and her parents are among the Jewish population sent to Auschwitz by the Germans. Rebekka has two younger sisters, Anna and Matilde. Due to their young ages, their names have not been recorded on the German's official lists. The parents of these innocent girls must create the most difficult decision they've ever been faced with.Tired of their busy lives in the cold and wet climate of London, James and Amber Young move to the island of Corfu. Amber befriends two women, Marian and Inge, who reveal to her the darkest secrets of Corfu's is is a gut wrenching tale of how the effects of WWII can still be felt. This book is a must read for fans of historical fiction!Many thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture Publishing for the ARC of Burning Island in exchange for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burning Island: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-27 22:44

    Burning Island is a story of 2 halves with various timelines weaving 2 stories, intrinsically linked. The setting is the attractive island of Corfu and Amber and James have relocated there after walking away from the drudge of life in London. The year is 2016 and they've had enough of cold winters and jobs that no longer inspire them or motivate them. Their dream to move away to warmer climes and begin a restaurant soon becomes reality when they are given the opportunity to work for James's mate in Corfu. However, the dream isn't all they thought it would turn out to be. Other people have a various agenda, forming a wedge between the couple. Their story is told from the various perspectives of Amber and e other story running alongside James's and Amber's is set in Corfu also but in 1944. Imagine being place in the position of giving away 2 of your 3 kids in order to save their lives. That's the decision that Jewish couple Perla and her husband Issac must make. The German troops have landed in Corfu. The island is caught up in battle and the soldiers only know about one of their children, not all 3. A couple on the island will risk everything, including their lives to protect the e story spans across the years when Amber hears about the bravery and the death that took put on Corfu all those years ago and Corfu will never be the same for her.I love a book with a dual timeline and I particularly love one with a dual timeline done well. Suzanne Goldring has excelled herself with this book. Like Amber, I am ashamed to say that I knew small of Corfu's history and its put in the second globe war. The harrowing experiences of the Jewish people living on Corfu are written sensitively but in a method that created me weep for them. The book is very much hero lead and while I found it difficult to connect with the modern characters, apart from Inge and Marian, the characters from 1944 totally blew me away and they are wonderfully written. There is true emotional investment for the reader. A amazing book. Would definitely recommend. Suzanne Goldring has now become a favourite author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burning Island: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-27 22:44

    both timelines in “Burning Island”. Author, Suzanne Goldring has penned an historical adventure that will hold you riveted for hours. This history of happenings in WW2 is not well known altho’ some of the final results are. Goldring brings the history to life with her well developed characters, thoughtful dialogue and pastoral e segues between 1944 and 2006-7 are seamless and well marked in the chapter headings. Current day chapters are also marked and alternated between the two main characters of that timeline. There’s 2-3 times as much material in the show and the historical is the halfway point in the story I saw clues to the melding of timelines. It wasn’t overt and the resolutions to the ending were satisfying without being typical. It’s amazing to read something unique; not the same old thing!There are a few f-bombs in the show dialogue that were completely unnecessary (2-3) with no other expletives at all, but aside from that, the violence and content are not problems beyond a PG level.An perfect sophomore offering by an author on my follow list📚

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burning Island: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-27 22:44

    This is the story of the modern day tragedy of James and Amber and also the tragedy of the Jewish of Corfu during WWII. The story of Matilda, and Anna two Jewish kids smuggled out to live with an older couple Georgiou and is the individual story's of the two time periods and how the intertwined with each other on the Greek island of Corfu in the Mediterranean sea. I had never heard of Corfu before reading this book. It sounds like a lovely put with a horrible the two young people James and Amber move from England to Corfu to build a fresh life, they could not know the heartbreak ahead of them. The built their dream restaurant , met fresh people and created friends. They didn't know that in a short time it would all go up in smoke. The breakdown of their marriage, the birth of their kid in the basement of a burning restaurant, and the loss of their enterprise and their ber was later to search out from her mates Inge and Marion about the horrible story of the Jewish people living in Corfu during WWII. How they locked them all in the fort in town, took them on long begin barges to the mainland of Greece, then transported them by cattle vehicle to Auschwitz. Most of them died on the trip and it is said the rest were sent to the gas ber later meets the two girls that survived with the older couple in the mountains above Corfu. She finds out that the old house where the remodeled and built their restaurant in the mountains was the same house where the girls hid from the German soldiers and were saved during the o tragic stories, both equally well told. I couldn't place the book down. The book will hold you reading until the end. It is exciting and tragic at the same time. It will hold you on the edge of your seat waiting to search out what happens is is one book you will not wish to miss. I recommend anks to Suzanne Goldring, Bookouture and NetGalley for allowing me to read and review an advance copy of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Burning Island: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-27 22:44

    Two stories, one historical and one contemporary, meshed beautifully together in one book intersecting in a tragically engaging way. The dueling time lines were flawlessly written by Suzanne Goldring as her story telling reveals snippets of intrigue slowly and honestly. While the first 20ish% started off a small slow to me the story really starts picking up as we obtain deeper into the truths of the two stories and how they are connected. I'd classify this as powerful woman's fiction. The heart of the story rests on the hope and pain of the female characters. I also loved how the setting of the story takes on a beating heart of it's own. Steeped in unthinkable tragedy in the past yet so alluring and seemingly magical in the present, Corfu becomes a hero in it's own right.Burning Island touches on a more obscure aspect of WWII that I never knew about making the fictitious story all the more interesting to learn and read. The depth of loss juxtaposed with love here was painful at some junctures of the story making it very emotional. To relive this time gives a reader a deeper compassion for what our fellow humans endured in the history of the globe and how the history still evokes and challenges us today. Goldring's story telling comes off as a bit mysterious when she leaves bread crumbs of more to come. Her chapters are mostly short and concise allowing readers to obtain just what they need while wanting more. She gives hope with the pain too which, to me, is the tag of a amazing story. This was a very illuminating, engaging read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child On Platform One: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-25 0:16

    I love listening to these 5 star audibles while also learning a bit of history. A lot of years ago I do remember seeing something about the orchestra in one of Hitler's camps. The conditions at the Terezin camp seemed to be a bit better than others and they also used it as propaganda. You have two story-lines weaving through this book. Prague 1939, where you have a young mother, Eva, who has a secret from her teen-age years and now she is the mother of Miriam. Eva knows the only method to hold her daughter safe is to send her away - even if it means never seeing her again. In London, we meet Pamela who volunteers to search locations for the Jewish kids who are place on the Kinder-transport Program. I won't weigh this review down with anymore other than to say it was an amazing read and very interesting and kept me engaged the whole time. If you are at all interested in WW2 history and wish to read a satisfying book, then you should test one this one. The author did an awesome job.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child On Platform One: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-25 0:16

    Although tragic in so a lot of ways, it was very amazing writing and I kept wanting to read until the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violin Maker's Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-5-7 18:0

    If you are an adult male who likes to read novels from the Globe Battle II era I cannot recommend this book to you. To me, this book is more suited to younger female readers. There was, to me, too much over the top emotional love-lorn drivel. I know this sounds harsh, but the continued emotional outbursts and miscues of the main hero certainly would have led to her discovery in any realistic sense.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violin Maker's Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-5-7 18:0

    I had read The Soldier’s Girl by the same author and loved it so I preordered this one and I’m thrilled to say that I absolutely loved it! I read it slowly because I didn’t wish to leave the precious characters in the story. I thank the author for her unbelievable work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child On Platform One: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-25 0:16

    I love Globe Battle II books and this one did not disappoint. I loved the method this author writes. So sad to read about the suffering the Jewish people went thru living in Nazi occupied territory. Very amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child On Platform One: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-25 0:16

    Books like this one are so necessary to read. It may be fiction but sadly the camps and and the horrific treatment of human beings, is very real. It’s a reminder of what people went through and how we should never allow history repeat mela and Eva have very various lives. What they do have in common, is the love for their children. Eva, to be able to send her kid to a strange country knowing no one, was incredibly brave. Pamela on the other hand, has just as much cause for concern when her son Will enlists with the RAF. My heart went out to both women.Whilst the story is set during battle time, we do obtain to see a certain part of camp life and the horrific treatment to Jewish people. The story though focuses more on what life is like outside it. For Miriam a young girl, living with strangers and adapting to life without her family. For Pamela, opening her home to a Jewish kid and wanting to do more in the battle effort.I loved how melody for Eva, helped with her time in the camps as well as for a lot of other prisoners. In such a dire environment, it gave them comfort and hope. Parts of the story do create for some uncomfortable reading due to the nature of the story but overall it gives hope and I loved seeing people coming together and the relationships and bonds that are e Kid On Platfrom One is an inspirational, harrowing and emotional read. My heart went out to the characters in this novel and I thought I had held my emotions quite well through out but the epilogue literally broke me. The impact of what the characters had been through, hit me full force at this moment whilst I refelected on all I had read. A strong and moving thanks to Anne Cater, Headline Books and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violin Maker's Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-5-7 18:0

    The Violin Maker’s Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking Globe Battle 2 historical fiction is written by Sharon Maas. This story takes put in Colmar, France to Paris, to Poitiers, to Frieberg, Germany, and back to Colmar, France during Globe Battle II. The zone is well described as the characters walk through the forests, up the mountains, and from city to city to be free. The book is compelling and you hold reading until you explore the end and then you want for sef Mayer was sure that changing the name of his business and the first names of his kids as ordered by the Germans that his family would be safe. He was Jewish although his wife was not. However, he had never practiced Judaism and believed no one except his closest mates knew he was Jewish. He continued to create violins and taught his eldest daughter to create them as well. Business, however, had not been amazing for violin makers as the battle began and continued. When he was denounced by someone, he was given a possibility to prove he was Aryan and given a month to obtain the paperwork in. So, he had a month to obtain his five daughters and himself and his wife out of Colmar. He turned to the resistance with the support of his mate Yves. Yves got him in touch with the Resistance and they persuaded him to send his daughter, Sarah (17), out first; followed by Therese (14) and Amelie (12) with Josef and his wife with Manon (7) and Sofie (5) being last. They couldn’t go together as it would create the group too large. While they were waiting, their mates hid his violins, his tools, and a lot of of the precious stuff from the house. Would they be able to obtain out in time?Sarah was the first to go although she resisted as long as she could. She was taken by van to a vineyard where she was hidden with Rebecca, the older woman who was to be her chaperone. She and Rebecca were led over the mountain on foot. They spent the night in a cabin in the mountains because Rebecca sprained or broke her ankle and could go no further. Victoire found them there to warn them that the Boche were somewhere on the mountain. Sarah and her tutorial Eric decided to go on while Victoire and Rebecca went back. The next day, Eric and Sarah ran across the Boche and were taken prisoner. The elder officer Kramer was going to rape Sarah and when Eric objected, he shot him in the leg. He was going to create Eric watch as he thought Eric and Sarah were lovers already. As he was attempting this, the younger soldier Rafe shot Kramer. He wasn’t going to allow Kramer rape her. Rafe set them free and told them he was deserting the German Army. He had planned on doing this as soon as he got the possibility and the possibility was here. Rafe helped Eric back to the cabin where Victoire and Rebecca were still waiting. Since Eric could not go on nor could he and Rebecca create it back down the mountain without help, Rafe decided he would escort Sarah to her next safe house despite her obvious hatred of Germans in general. Reluctantly she agreed and the two took off for Metz and on to Paris. What the adventures they would have! Would they both create it to the end of the war? Would Sarah’s family create it out?The battle makes strange bedfellows and even stranger mates and enemies. Who could they trust?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violin Maker's Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-5-7 18:0

    Sarah Mayer is the eldest of 5 daughters of luthier Josef and Leah Mayer, nonsecular Jews in France 1940. When the Germans invade France and begin deporting the Jews, Josef decides to send his family to a safer put via the underground and Sarah is the first to leave. This is the very well-written story of her flight to freedom and the different people she encounters, some trusting and others not so. I really enjoyed this book; however, I really disliked the hero of Sarah who came across as a spoiled brat and place other people in danger because she did not wish to follow the instructions given to her. Thank you NetGalley and Bookouture for the ARC of this page-turner in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child On Platform One: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-25 0:16

    This book centers on two things that (in my opinion) aren't written about enough in WWII Historical Fiction - the Terezin camp in what was then Czechoslovakia, and the Kindertransport Programs that took put in Europe during WWII. I think where the story was strongest (and unfortunately, the most sad) was in the part of the book that took put in Czechoslovakia. The conditions at the Terezin camp, and also the propaganda that it was used for, was absolutely astounding to ere were a lot of POVs in this one, and they were done in a style that isn't exactly my favorite - jumping from one to another mid chapter as well as every chapter, and not in any semblance of order. It was hard to hold up with some of what was event as fresh POVs were introduced from already established characters sometimes as far into the story as 60-70%. There were also a couple of things that seemed of dubious historic accuracy - a group of Hitler Youth in a Prague cemetery in 1930, hanging around and then being emboldened enough (again, in 1930, outside of Germany) to attack a young Jewish girl in public? It's not completely improbable, and maybe it's a one off or based on an actual experience, but it just struck me as odd to begin the story with something like that (and it becomes apparent later that the story HAD to begin like that to satisfy a number of plot points at the end of the book, which makes the history all the more dubious for me). I know authors take artistic license and change things around and so on and so forth, but for whatever reason that one jumped out at me.Ultimately, I would recommend this one to readers looking for some of the lesser told stories of WWII - the writing was good, and as the story moved on it became a lot more ank you to NetGalley and Headline Publishing for the gifted book and opportunity to read and review it prior to its publication date! This in no method affected my review, all opinions are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violin Maker's Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-5-7 18:0

    This is the first book I have not liked by this gifted author. It doesn't measure up to her previous works and I'm e is WWII story describes French and German resistance groups and methods, but I found much of it hard to believe in how casual these heroic people go about their work. I felt no urgency in their need to be as covert as possible. The laxness in security is rampant as written ra was a hero I found irritating and extremely juvenile at a time of amazing danger to herself and others especially given the fact she is the eldest of five kids and almost 18. Granted she has lived a sheltered life, but she comes off increasingly stupid after several shattering happenings in her life that would normally cause someone to mature is one was just not for me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violin Maker's Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-5-7 18:0

    What a unbelievable and absorbing story. Have read a lot of books on this genre and this one ranks high on my list. It was hard to place this book own. It is a pleasure to read as It flows easily with a straightforward timeline. The sroty has it all... a factual foundation, tragedy and triumph, joy and despair, love and resilience. The main character, Sarah, the violin maker's daughter, grows from a naive self-absorbed young girl to a mature selfless young woman in the pages of this book. She navigates through the lows and the highs of life while living first as a Jewish refugee hiding in plain website in occupied France and later in Germany itself. This is a realistic story.... neither totally macabre nor totally rosy, including the ending.WeFor anyone who enjoys WWII historical fiction, this book is an perfect choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child On Platform One: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-25 0:16

    This book was in incredible. The author took happenings she researched that actually happened in true life and wove a unbelievable story around them. The Kinder transports that smuggled out Jewish kids , the prison camp Terezin allowed the prisoners to play music, and the hijack of planes from Russian occupied location to save RAF piloted and their families. She has also pulled from the experiences of others for the time spent in the concentration is is a book that tells the story of so a lot of intertwined with each other in a method that is easily m, the diplomat's wife in London whose work on the Kinder transports was helpful in placing a lot of Jewish kids in English homes. Her son Will later joins the RAF and spends time in a POW camp in Germany. Pam takes one of the girls Miriam in from the kinder transport. Pam, Will, and Miriam are prominent characters in the story.Eva a Jewish girl in Prague Czechoslovakia studying music. She is attacked one night coming home from melody lessons by a German soldier in Hitler youth. She is later married to Josef and they have a daughter named Miriam which she later sends to England on the Kinder transport. Later in the story Joseph and Eva are sent to the concentration camp Terezin. They are further deported to Auschwitz. Eva and Joseph are prominent characters in the e story of a Jewish girl Hana who also plays a prominent part in the story, I won't say more about Hana except she was also at Terezin. Her story will be told in the e characters and happenings are sad, but they are realistically portrayed. The story is realistic and believable. Can you imagine the anguish of sending a young kid on a journey to another country not knowing when or if you would ever see her again? Can you feel the fears of the mother when she sees her only son off to war, or the feeling she has when she gets the news he is missing in action. How would you feel I'd you were the young child, miles and miles on a train with strangers, then boarding a large boat an d finally arriving in a country where no one spoke your language. Such are the horrible faces of is book is a must read. I highly recommend you plan on reading for a while, because once you star you will not wish to stop until the latest page is thanks to Gill Thompson, Headline Publishing, and NetGalley for allowing me to read an advance copy of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violin Maker's Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-5-7 18:0

    This novel is full of intrigue, escape, adventure and heartbreak galore. It is divided into 4 parts which was pertinent to the activities of the characters. I really liked the first couple of parts as they went into detail about the family of Sarah and the reason she had to leave. The Resistance and their assistance was also covered and the escape from the Nazis was quite the e third part, for me, got really 'bogged' down as it had a lot of detail about the family that hired Sarah. It seemed as though portions of that could have been edited to create it a small more smooth while reading. The latest part was outstanding, I thought. And, the epilogue tied up all of the loose ends that we had read about in the novel.I also felt that Sarah was a spoiled brat and definitely didn't act her age of 17. It must have been that she was quite spoiled at home being the eldest. Not sure about that but Ralf, her companion, certainly was upset with her, too. And, I was glad when Sarah finally parted with her boots...There is one 'trigger part' for any readers that may be interested. When I came across it, I skipped numerous pages to create sure I didn't have to read those details. References are created to that incident several times later in the novel but no specific info are given.Highly recommend this novel for inside glimpses of WW II in France and Germany. The Resistance at its finest!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violin Maker's Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-5-7 18:0

    “The Violin Maker’s Daughter” is a attractive story of resistance and survival. It drew me in from the very first page. The setting of Alsace and the violin maker’s , in particular, was atmospheric and so vivid, I felt instantly immersed into a family’s globe on the verge of collapse. Having lived virtually undetected among the Aryanized population, the Meyers could never fathom that one day they would have to create one of the most difficult decisions a family can create - to separate so that at least some of them have a possibility for survival.I couldn’t support but feel for Sarah - a young girl who has to grow up much too soon in a war-ravaged world. Ralf Sommer, a German deserter, also won me over right away: not everyone would risk not only their freedom but life itself in order to do the right thing, but for Ralf, his amazing conscience is above all and just for that he earned my utmost respect. Despite Sarah being a central protagonist, Ralf was a wonderfully complex character, and I thoroughly enjoyed following the evolution of their relationship.If you have fun well-researched stories of the French Resistance, you definitely need to read this book. It’s a story of brave men and women who sacrificed everything they had in the name of freedom, and such stories of ultimate self-sacrifice and heroism must never be forgotten. Highly recommended to all fans of the genre!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Child On Platform One: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction []  2020-1-25 0:16

    I so enjoyed this story. The author combined several WWII historical happenings and meshed them together wonderfully. I fell in love with Eva, Pamela, William, Miriam and Hana. I have read several books on the Kindertransport but this one gave a completely various aspect from the view of a volunteer helping and assisting with the delivery and finding foster families. I had also read on the camps allowing melody and entertainment, but again, this one gave a more in-depth version. This story covers so much ground and it held my interest all the method from begin to finish with so a lot of touching moments in between.I do have to say this was the first time I had read anything on the RAF pilots and how they had to escape before the borders were closed, I found that segment very enlightening. I loved so a lot of things about this book, I liked the method we switched between Pamela’s amazing deeds and her a lot of kindnesses, and Eva’s trials and tribulations. I thought the twists and turns and the method the happenings all played out was also done very well. I have The Oceans Between Us in my library and will certainly look forward to reading it soon. Well done Ms. Thompson, well done. I highly recommend.I was given the opportunity to keep this book from Headline through NetGalley. The opinions expressed in this review are completely my own. This one gets 5 stars.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386