Read the treatises of benventuto cellini on goldsmithing and sculpture reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the treatises of benventuto cellini on goldsmithing and sculpture reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini []  2020-6-15 18:48

    An intriguing look into an artist's life in Renaissance Italy. Benvenuto one of the artistic masters of the Renaissance era . he will tell you all about his successes and failures . His patrons are sometimes unreliable and he feels under appreciated. His rivals are envious, jealous and almost always insulting. He is often diven to extreme measures to defend his reputation and honor. It is a facinating story of the life of a facinating man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini []  2020-6-15 18:48

    This was a perfect as well as an entertaining autobiography. It shows the egos of these artists and how competitive they were.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini []  2020-6-15 18:48

    Very interesting book.I didn’t search it boring nor was written by a talented man, he’s proud of his work, and he says as much.His diary. His words.He Thanks G-D for his skills, I search that is day and age self worship is the norm. AKA narcissistic.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the treatises of benventuto cellini on goldsmithing and sculpture or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini []  2020-6-15 18:48

    A genuine view of the lifestyle of a renaissaince man, developing his craft within the political and patronage of Societies working and royality. Your only as amazing as your latest commission and trust no one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini []  2020-6-15 18:48

    Rarely do we have a book that describes the lives of people in the Middle Ages. Mostly, we read about royalty and aristocracy. What’s refreshing about Benvenuto Cellini’s autobiography is that we obtain to know about all kinds of people — his royal patrons, of course, but also peasants, artists and artisans, lawyers, soldiers and doctors. Cellini is full of himself, but he has a keen eye and a fine memory, and a healthy interest in socializing. The picture of the society we obtain through his eyes is full of betrayal, violence and venality — people constantly cheating one another and picking wars — but also a time of amazing innovation and artistic invention. We also learn the pitfalls of being an artist dependent on the whims of his patrons who don’t pay him, praises him to the skies one day and imprisons him the next. Reading this together with Vasari’s book makes for a fine dive into the Renaissance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini []  2020-6-15 18:48

    I first read this in an undergraduate humanities course. Cellini's exploits and narcissism seemed almost cartoonish, but his voice struck with me and I search myself reading this every year or two. Every time I confront his Life, I explore fresh delight and insight into renaissance Florence. I wore out my paperback edition and miss the images and illustrations of his work. Kindle should investigate supporting the construction of a fresh edition with images of his Perseus, the bust of Bandi, the salt cellar and other works with amazing provenance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini []  2020-6-15 18:48

    Not the least fascinating aspect of this amazing autobiography is how incredibly picaresque it is, and swashbuckling. Just one sword war after another, among other things. Even though it's fifty years earlier, this is recognizably the same Europe Don Quixote wanders through in Spain, and the same pre-modern globe that Moll Flanders and Tom Jones later inhabit. If you think things seem too wild to believe in early novels, just read Cellini's life and you'll see that that's just the method things used to be. Steven Pinsker shocked people recently with a book arguing that history has actually gotten LESS violent over the centuries--a claim people obsessed with the 20thC's Amazing War, WWII, and the Holocaust, just for starters, found rather hard to credit. But if you read Cellini, you'll explore that modern violence is nothing compared to the nonstop violence and constant battles of the pre-modern world. The brutality, follies, and near madness of human life seem to have been with us always. Anyway, a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini []  2020-6-15 18:48

    This book covers the eventful life of a passionate craftsman who lived through major happenings of the Renaissance. In Florence, Rome, and Paris, Cellini managed to gravitate to the most strong political and artistic personalities, but his relationships with them were always bumpy. Cellini had an artist's temperament and more - his passionate temper and sense of righteousness, combined with the unscrupulous nature of a lot of he encountered, caused constant friction and turmoil which create the book a nonstop and occasionally violent thriller. The book's one disappointment for those interested in history is the lack of extensive description of the locations where he worked and travelled. It's centered on Cellini, his relationships and activities, and his craft. He does however have a amazing description of the defense of Rome in 1527, in which he was firing artillery from the top of Castel St.-Angelo. George Bull rates five stars for a amazing translation which captures the spirit of the original, its passion, wit, sarcasm, bitterness and insight. Given the work was written with Florentine colloquialisms, this is an achievement. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini []  2020-6-15 18:48

    The cover shows the Cellini's salt seller, which we saw before it was stolen briefly from the museum in one of the best sculptors of the Renaissance, Cellini will describe how he cast the Perseus bronze statue in a blinding rainstorm and also how to escape from a popular prison.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini []  2020-6-15 18:48

    I had read this a lot of years ago and recommended it highly to my brother-in-law in Argentina during a latest visit. He had recently been to Italy and was overwhelmed with the art works he saw. What makes this book so compelling is that it is one of the very first autobiographies ever written, and by a person working as an artist contemporary to DaVinci, Michaelangelo, and so a lot of of the most popular artists of the period. It isn't the best written book in the world, and Cellini is not hesitant about singing his own praises, but it is so interesting to have a window on that very necessary period for art in history. Another very interesting book, written by a contemporary of the greats was written by a lesser artist of the period named Giorgio Vasari ,is called "Lives of the Most Perfect Painters, Sculptors and Architects".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galileo’s Logic of Discovery and Proof: The Background, Content, and Use of His Appropriated Treatises on Aristotle’s Posterior ytics (Boston Studies ... Philosophy and History of Science Book 137) []  2020-11-20 18:23

    I'd purchase this book if I could afford to dish out $379 on a paperback, which I can't do because I ain't rich and I need a fresh refrigerator. But if it's half as amazing as Wallace's book Causality and Scientific Explanation  Causality and Scientific Explanation, Vol. 1: Medieval and Early Classical Science  then it would certainly be cash well spent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government []  2020-1-22 22:23

    Add to your knowledge of the thinking about the formation of our government.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government []  2020-1-22 22:23

    John Locke has an eloquent method of explaining things that that we inhabitants of modern day western society seem to take for granted. You may read these books and think to yourself "How stupidly obvious! Why is he going to such amazing lengths to explain things which are so commonly known?" but soon you start to understand that, in the days of the enlightenment, a time of monarchies and auto-da-fés, putting forth such liberal ideas was truly ground breaking. This is a very necessary work which helped to shape western civilization as we know it today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government []  2020-1-22 22:23

    This book may be difficult to read for some students, but it is a amazing book for a study of government. I search that it is helpful to read it through more quickly or even to read out loud or have somebody else read it out loud if you are an auditory learner because the material flows better and makes more sense if you do not test to read through it too slowly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government []  2020-1-22 22:23

    Two Treatises of Government by John LockePublished Everyman Library... Best books ever written at lowest possible price that everyone should read.When Monarchs ruled the globe they wanted God's approval and used the likes of Sir Robert Filmer to twisted the Bible and justify o Treatises demolished the divine right of rulers. It is an exhaustive ysis that silences every possible argument by the e book shows we are designed by God to be free..... Topics: property rights, rights of women & children, the need for economic prosperity for society, need for separation of erica is free in part because of John Locke's courage. He was an inspiration for The Declaration of Independence, and other founding hn Locke shows the importance of not letting our freedom erode away bit by bit. Freedom is not free, it has to be safeguarded and ing this book to exercising your mind. He is brilliant. Everyone needs this knowledge to defend our God given freedom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government []  2020-1-22 22:23

    John Locke has innate and tremendous insight into how political systems work and how government functions when it's at its best and at its worst. His section entitled "Of Tyranny" says it all, and we are experiencing at lot of its beginnings right now in our country. A worthwhile read for anyone who appreciates a superb explanation and keen insight to the ways of government and the people ruled by them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government []  2020-1-22 22:23

    Today, as it is seems our form of government is beginning to frail us, it is useful to go back and examine what the Founders were trying to accomplish in the first place. The Founders were all amazingly well read, and one of the most necessary political theorists of the day was John Locke. These two treatises were basically the foundation on which we build our style of government. This is a short read, but as you read it you will start to understand how our country was "supposed" to run, and you will be able to see how we have jumped off the rails.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government []  2020-1-22 22:23

    If this were needed reading in public schools our government would be in much better shape, and the public itself would have a various view of how our government was is too poor that so a lot of political groups intentionally misquote this work to further a political agenda that runs counter to what the book actually proposes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government []  2020-1-22 22:23

    This is a tough read. 3 of the 4 of these I purchased did not obtain past the first few pages. I'm still struggling with it. Old English wording is fairly tough to understand. Once you take your time, there are some amazing concepts. This book screams for a re-write / translation version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government []  2020-1-22 22:23

    Must read for every conservative--then you'll realize you weren't as conservative as you thought....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government []  2020-1-22 22:23

    Amazing Book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Treatises on the Divine Images (St. Vladimir's Seminary Press Popular Patristics Series) []  2020-1-16 5:31

    It would be helpful to have paragraph numbers in this edition!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Treatises on the Divine Images (St. Vladimir's Seminary Press Popular Patristics Series) []  2020-1-16 5:31

    St. John of Damascus, Three Treatises on the Divine Images, translated by Andrew Louth (Crestwood: St. Vladimir's Seminary Press, 2003). Pp. 163. Paperback $17.00.If anyone is interested in Orthodox iconography, or the tradition of Christian painting, this book is a must read. Because this book is well translated and very accessible, I highly recommend simply reading this book - a basic source - rather than reading a secondary source where an author describes St. John of Damascus's theology of iconography. What makes this book an especially "must read" for those interested in iconography is the influence St. John had on the theology of Christian images. This book provides the foundation for all subsequent theology. In addition, St. John not only articulates the theology of images, but he articulates how iconography is central to all of Christian theology. His treatment is all-inclusive, and it goes much further than simply arguing that now that God has been seen in the person of Jesus Christ we can depict his image. Because iconography is so central to Christian theology and salvation, this book is a must read.I won't write out his full theology here, but I will give a brief introduction. He starts by taking a look at the Old Testament prohibition versus idols. St. John views this prohibition from two perspectives: 1) the nature of the commandment, and 2) the definition of veneration. He says that the nature of the commandment was to prevent the Israelites from falling into idolatry. He also argues that the commandment is more specifically versus depicting the nature/essence/substance of God, and to prevent humanity from worshiping creation instead of the Creator. Iconography, St. John points out, does neither of these: it's not a depiction of God's essence, nor does it lead one to worship creation. The second aspect, veneration, boils down to an articulation of definition. St. John argues that veneration has two meanings: one is worship, and the other is to pay honor to someone. While worship is due to God alone, honoring the person depicted in an icon is not worship, but it is paying honor, which ultimately glorifies is, at this point, that St. John is able to fully turn his attention to iconography. What changes the entire android game is the revelation of God in the person of Jesus Christ, that is God enfleshed, or Incarnate. St. John writes, "Therefore I am emboldened to depict the invisible God, not as invisible, but as he became visible for our sake, by participating in the flesh and blood. I do not depict the invisible divinity, but I depict God created visible in the flesh" (I.4).Even the Incarnation has several levels of understanding. In the first aspect of the argument, St. John argues that what was invisible is now visible. Here he does a lengthy ysis of the definitions of "image." He states that it is necessary to note that photos create manifest what was hidden or unseen. In this way, an photo holds two realities together: the seen/visible and unseen/invisible. With this in mind, St. John is able to say that icons of Christ both depict the Son of God as he was in the 1st century, as well as indicate his invisible presence among us this point, that St. John delves deeper into Incarnational theology. He reminds us that after God made the visible (earth, animals, seas, etc.) and invisible (heaven, angels, etc.) worlds, God made humanity to unite the two worlds (i.e., we were made in His photo to attain His likeness). Our task, in sum, was to create creation a sacrament. However, we failed in this task; but Christ, through his Incarnation, was able to succeed where we failed. This union means that humanity is now infused with divinity. Matter is recreated, and it is now glorified with God's presence. It is for this reason that we can venerate the John writes, "I do not venerate matter, I venerate the fashioner of matter, who became matter for my sake, and in matter created his abode, and through matter worked my salvation. `For the Word became flesh and dwelt among us.' It is clear to all that flesh is matter and is a creature. I reverence therefore matter and I keep in respect and venerate that through which my salvation has come about, I reverence it not as God, but as filed with divine energy and grace" (II.14). In this way, the use of icons in worship is a sacramental is also because of the Incarnation that we can glorify God through the saints; after all they able to participate in the life of God because of the divine/human union in Christ. So when we venerate the photo of the saints, we are, in actuality, glorifying God. St. John takes it further by writing, "The temple that Solomon built was dedicated with the blood of animals [Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement] and adorned with photos of animals, of lions and bulls and phoenixes and pomegranates. Now the Church is dedicated by the blood of Christ and his saints and adorned with an photo of Christ and his saints" (II.15).There's much more in this these awesome three treatises; however, it's really about the Incarnation, the Son of God taking on flesh, and the transfiguration of matter that takes put as a result, which allows for our deification. It's also about the meaning of photo and veneration, the dignity of matter, and the importance of the unwritten tradition handed down by the Church through the apostles and now articulated by St. John.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Treatises on the Divine Images (St. Vladimir's Seminary Press Popular Patristics Series) []  2020-1-16 5:31

    Very good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Treatises on the Divine Images (St. Vladimir's Seminary Press Popular Patristics Series) []  2020-1-16 5:31

    "John of Damascus helped to secure the future of art in the service of Christ. Without his brilliant defense, both profound and at times earthly, we might well have had no icons, murals, and mosaics in churches to elevate and enrich our spirits." L. Wickham, Cambridge DivinityIcons then & now:The Orthodox attitude toward icons developed out of the iconoclastic struggle of the eighth and ninth centuries. During the reformation, early church reformers were iconoclasts, they believed it impossible to portray the divinity of Christ, and thus found it heretical to portray only his humanity. The Eastern solution to the icons of Christ was to focus on the image, which God created visible in the flesh, emphasizing the divine nature of the humanly experienced Christ. This strictly adhered to a traditional portrayal by copying a likeness from one photo to another, revert to early 'iconic writings', rather than mere imagination or interpretation. The features of icons are related because they are portraits based on historical prototypes, unlike Western art, individual visualizations of figures available for unending imagination. These representations support Eastern Orthodox in worship, though inevitably flawed, by providing a blurred vision of spiritual truth.Icons, a Western View:"...the icon Fr. Barbour purchased wherein one sees the women 'Orthodoxy, and 'Hellas,' this is a coy and clever rhetorical strategy. ... It is also suggestive of that ubiquitous caricature of Orthodoxy we are all well aware of: the Orthodoxy that is nothing more than the idolatrous synthesis of faith and cultural identity." The Ochlophobist, Oct. 06The very various response of the West to an iconoclastic challenge led to a various Christ figure than that of the East, which emphasized his humanity. The Christ figure, Dostoevsky portrays, in Myshkin is very much a Western Christ, one who is undeniably human, vulnerable to suffering and death, not a deity in human form, who is offering us salvation. Dostoevsky has dislocated the iconography of Christ, East and West, to carry out what might be called an iconoclastic project of his own. In portraying the 'truly amazing man,' an even important task for an artist, he runs the risk of producing an authoritative discourse which answers those questions which must remain open, only dealt with through the experience of suffering. If he were to make the image, he would destroy its power. These problems were far ahead of John Damuscene when he wrote his apologies.Louth Translation & commentary:John of Damascus wrote 'Against Those Who Attack the Divine Images' in debating the iconoclastic Byzantine theologians of the 8th century, and the imperial powers violently rejecting icons veneration. He defended the tradition of using icons in liturgical and personal prayers, reminding the Church that their use is a safeguard to a central doctrine of orthodox Christian faith: the Incarnation of the Word. In Jesus Christ, God became man, and therefore, can be depicted in is fresh, complete translation, of John's three treatises on the divine photos more clearly display the problems at stake, both then and now. This translation by the eminent patristic scholar, in modern English, renders these central treatises accessible, to scholars and laymen alike. John's notice remains pertinent today, for those who still regard icons with hn of Damascus:Andrew Louth task was initiated by his study on John of Damascus, unlike JND Kelly on Golden Mouth, is a remarkable combination of theology and scholarship. He is capable to yze the different influences discernible in the numerous writings of John. Louth's scholarly methodology combines the historical ysis of literary association with the exposition of the thematic content of the texts, demonstrating an enviable mastery of the Greek patristic literature. This study sets John's theological work in the context of the process of defining, preserving, and defending the church doctrine. He explores John's achievement as a theologian of icons and as a liturgical poet. Louth depicts John as standing at the end of the creative era of patristic thought but addressing that thought to a fresh age of expanding Islam and Christian iconoclasm, in which his Arab monastic community, despite its remoteness from Byzantium, played a strategic role in articulating theological Andrew Louth:Professor of Patristic and Byzantine Studies, U. of Durham. He taught patristics in Oxford University, and Byzantine and Medieval history in the University of London. His research interests lie mostly in the history of theology of the Greek tradition, within the Byzantine Empire. His books include: Origins of the Christian Mystical Tradition: from Plato to Denys, Discerning the mystery: an essay on the nature of theology, books on Dionysius the p-Areopagite, Maximos the Confessor, John Damascene, and on the tradition of desert Christian spirituality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Treatises on the Divine Images (St. Vladimir's Seminary Press Popular Patristics Series) []  2020-1-16 5:31

    Quick delivery, book is fresh and clean.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Treatises on the Divine Images (St. Vladimir's Seminary Press Popular Patristics Series) []  2020-1-16 5:31

    None

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Treatises on the Divine Images (St. Vladimir's Seminary Press Popular Patristics Series) []  2020-1-16 5:31

    When Christians began destroying all sorts of religious photos in the 8th century, St. John of Damascus place pen to paper to defend their practice, and anyone who wishes to say that Christians who use photos in worship are idolators must first deal with this book. He makes three primary arguments. First, he points out they did not worship images, but revere them as a window or pointer towards a heavenly reality, much like how most Christians would treat the printed Word (the book itself is not sacred, the messages contained in it are). Secondly, the use of photos is not only not forbidden in the Old Testament, but is actually commanded (the Ark, for instance, or the bronze serpent). Thus, only "idols" are forbidden, not photos (actually, it is the word "eidol" in the Septuagint that St. John would have used). Third, when God became man, He effectively gave us an image, Himself. To deny that photos have a valid put in worship is to deny the Incarnation of Christ, and the Trinity is the very heart of Christianity. St. John the Damascene makes these arguments bluntly and succinctly. He believed that he was holding up the traditional view of Christianity, and he did this in Syria, then controlled by Islam which forbids the use of images. His defence created him unwelcome in the Empire and it placed him at odds with a core teaching of his rulers. Given that he thus risked his life to write these, Christians should give him a firm hearing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Treatises on the Divine Images (St. Vladimir's Seminary Press Popular Patristics Series) []  2020-1-16 5:31

    I enjoyed this for the very fact that I am not amazing at reacting to non believers questions about my faith and this book helped me so much I will read it a second time. It is very simple to follow as well and not a lot of of the books like this are. I think it is a very amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Treatises on the Divine Images (St. Vladimir's Seminary Press Popular Patristics Series) []  2020-1-16 5:31

    I ordered this book to support me write a paper on icons. It is very informative. It is the exact words of John of Damascus translated into English. The treaties tend to repeat each other because they were all written at various times. It defends the use of icons very well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Treatises on the Divine Images (St. Vladimir's Seminary Press Popular Patristics Series) []  2020-1-16 5:31

    When the Byzantine emperor Leo III and sided with the iconoclasts and ordered the destruction of photos he came into direct conflict with the traditions of the church. St. John of Damascus risked livelihood and life to publicly denounce the iconoclasts and Leo by name in these 3 treatises. The first treatise seems an immediate from-the-hip response, the second is provided to expound on some of the ideas that some readers/hearers might have misunderstood, the third is a more detailed and thorough response to iconoclasm and church authority in John takes on the iconoclasts from several directions. With respect to their use of scriptural prohibitions versus images, St. John responds with church tradition as the tutorial to interpreting scripture and challenges those who would "remove the ancient boundaries, set in put by our fathers" [Prov 22:28]. He reminds his listeners several times in these sermons that, "Not only has the ordinance of the Church been handed down in writings, but also in unwritten traditions." And ends the first sermon on that theme with, "Therefore I entreat the people of God, the holy nation, to cling to the traditions of the Church. " Referring to Ezek 20:25 in light of Matt 19:7-8 with Heb 1:1-3, St. John says, "And I say to you, that Moses, on acc of the hardness of heart of the sons of Israel, ordered them not to create images, for he knew their tendency to slip into idolatry. But now it is not so; we stand securely on the rock of faith enriched by the light of knowledge of God." The authority of the church to interpret scripture based on the sacred tradition is without doubt in John's eyes. It is a direct challenge to those in John's day (and ours) who would attempt to claim scripture alone guided by personal interpretation alone as the final authority on faith and morals.With respect to the authority of the emperor to arrogate the authority of the church, St. John responds forcefully on the basis of apostolic succession, "It was not to emperors that Christ gave the authority to bind and loose, but to apostles and to those who succeeded them as shepherds and teachers." Several times he refers to emperor Leo by name so there can be no doubt of his John is not shy to imply that the iconoclasm movement is, in essence, nothing more than a resurgence of the Manichee heresy that viewed matter as inherently evil. He challenges this heresy with "You abuse matter and call it worthless. So do the Manichees, but the divine Scripture proclaims that it is good. [Gen 1:31]" And when challenging the view that photos of matter could not be created or venerated he responds, "For just as the holy Fathers destroyed the sacred locations and temples of the demons and in their put raised up temples in the name of the saints, and we reverence them, so they destroyed the photos of the demons and instead of them place up photos of Christ and the Mother of God and the saints." And, St. John further asserts, "I do not venerate matter, I venerate the fashioner of matter, who became matter for my sake, and in matter created his abode, and through matter worked my salvation. I reverence therefore matter and I keep in respect and venerate that through which my salvation has come about, I reverence it not as God, but as filled with divine energy and grace." St. John also links photos with the veneration of saints and contends that removing an photo of a saint is the same as not venerating them, and, he contends concerning the saints, "It is just as poor not to offer the honor due to those who are worthy, as it is to offer inappropriate glory to the worthless."St. John's eloquence alone makes this an enjoyable and inspiring read. The relevance to the problems similar to photos which St. John touches upon (relics, hagiography, Mary, icons, statues, scripture and tradition) are still hindering our unity today and that makes this work all the more valuable to us. This is a must read for anyone interested in the development of Christian doctrines or church history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government and A Letter Concerning Toleration (with an Introduction by Henry Morley) []  2020-1-17 21:25

    Perfect book, of course, but it’s one of those pdf files printed cheaply at the facility in Louisville and bound as a y pages aren’t formatted properly or are at an angle. The book is stiff and a small hard to read because any pressure to flatten it will rip out pages.But, what do you expect for the price?Sure I have the books in electronic form, but I like the feel of a book in my hands. Plus, it’s easier to loan or give to someone.And hey... No two books are alike , so that’s cool lol 😂

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government and A Letter Concerning Toleration (with an Introduction by Henry Morley) []  2020-1-17 21:25

    Locke's contribution to political thought cannot be overstated.

    0  


  • -1

    Useful review?

    on Bing [nc judiciary case search]  2020-9-3 1:28
    [email protected]

    case net missouri litigant find judiciary case find maryland broward clerk case find md court case find discover more look at this www service pima county consolidated justice court case find will county circuit court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government and A Letter Concerning Toleration (with an Introduction by Henry Morley) []  2020-1-17 21:25

    early and as promised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government and A Letter Concerning Toleration (with an Introduction by Henry Morley) []  2020-1-17 21:25

    A small dry but good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government and A Letter Concerning Toleration (with an Introduction by Henry Morley) []  2020-1-17 21:25

    Revealed truths of the God-given rights of man over government.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Sculpture []  2020-1-18 21:57

    this book is an absolute must have for any young sculptor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Sculpture []  2020-1-18 21:57

    Amazing book. I'd recommend for purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Sculpture []  2020-1-18 21:57

    As a stone sculptor always in need of finding a clear method to describe my work, I found Herbert George's "The Elements of Sculpture" an perfect framework to work with. His combination of clear and concise definitions with perfect photographic examples, makes this book the excellent companion for someone wanting to understanding 3D art; from ancient times to the 21st century. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Sculpture []  2020-1-18 21:57

    Amazing book and in amazing condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Sculpture []  2020-1-18 21:57

    Brilliantly organized; sections such as Surface, Edge, Color, Texture, and Scale, and much more! Herbert George uses 7 to 10 artists' works to speak about each element. Every page has an photo illustrating a concept. Beautifully written, accessible yet thought provoking descriptions. Inserted are artists' quotes. As an object, this publication is gorgeous; massive pages, attractive images, amazing text layout. An essential book for art and art history students and enthusiasts of any age. This is truly an "essential viewer's tutorial to the visual language of sculpture. I highly recommend this primer for high school students, college student, and teachers of all levels. I love it, and you will too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Sculpture []  2020-1-18 21:57

    A ping list of key observable elements that the author deems necessary for the uninitiated (FYI, all the elements are mentioned on the book's cover). This book will not support you figure out the amazing from the amazing from the poor works. But gives you markers to support you understand it a small better. I did search it interesting though the author avoids going into any depth on any topic. Had I read this book in a bookstore I do not think I would have bought it as I went through the book in 25 minutes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Sculpture []  2020-1-18 21:57

    In this sturdy, high-quality book, Herbert George discusses the fourteen characteristics of sculpture which he considers pertinent to understand and appreciate sculpture. These contain for example: material, place, texture, colour, volume, space, movement, light and memory. Though this approach is enlightening, the fact that no less fourteen features are identified makes it impractical to apply on a regular basis for the casual amateur of e main interest of this book lies rather in the wide array of examples that are used to illustrate the fourteen elements. Thus, the reader is exposed in a single book to works ranging from Antiquity to the present, from Canova and Michelangelo to Cristo and Amish Kapoor. Though in almost all cases only a single image is provided for each sculpture, this is sufficient to adequately demonstrate the author’s point … and to delight the reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Elements of Sculpture []  2020-1-18 21:57

    Brilliant achievement. A amazing put to begin to have fun the art of sculpture. Clearly written and simple to follow. Well illustrated. Thoroughly recommended. A true treat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Treatises of Government and A Letter Concerning Toleration (with an Introduction by Henry Morley) []  2020-1-17 21:25

    Amazing quality paperback

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    andronix - linux on android without root []  2020-6-18 7:32
    [email protected]

    Looked promising, but the download button on their www service takes you to google play, so I took myself off to AnLinux.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stone Mirrors: The Sculpture and Silence of Edmonia Lewis []  2020-1-11 19:15

    A attractive book about a fascinating woman, lost and then remembered by history. Wonderfully told in verse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stone Mirrors: The Sculpture and Silence of Edmonia Lewis []  2020-1-11 19:15

    Just wonderful! Moving, touching in all the right places. Love the poetic writing style. Suits the story perfectly. Another amazing book by Jeannine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stone Mirrors: The Sculpture and Silence of Edmonia Lewis []  2020-1-11 19:15

    A compelling glimpse of the life of a black woman artist who came of age during the Civil War. Though much of the artist's history is lost, her spirit is imbued in her work and lives on. This novel in verse captures that spirit with frankness and beauty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stone Mirrors: The Sculpture and Silence of Edmonia Lewis []  2020-1-11 19:15

    This book was my first experience with this form of poetry. Once I got the hang of it, I began to have fun the book very much. I recommend it to anyone who likes poetry and who would like to learn about Edmonia Lewis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stone Mirrors: The Sculpture and Silence of Edmonia Lewis []  2020-1-11 19:15

    Edmonia Lewis was the first professional African-American sculptor. She lived and worked in the period right after the Civil War. This verse novel takes the small info known about Edmonia and fills in the gaps with what may have happened. Edmonia attended Oberlin College, one of the first colleges to accept women and people of color. Half Objibwe and half African-American, Edmonia struggles to search her put at Oberlin. When she is accused by other students of poisoning and theft she is forced to leave college despite being acquitted of all charges. The book follows Edmonia as she moves to Boston and eventually Italy, becoming a successful is is an exceptional verse novel. Each poem reads like a stand-alone poem and yet also fits into Edmonia’s complete story. Atkins uses rich and detailed language to convey the historical times right after the Civil Battle to the reader. She also works to share the true soul of Edmonia herself on the page, a girl who has given up the freedom of life with the Ojibwe to study art at a prestigious college only to have it all fall apart again and again. It is a lesson in resilience and the power of art that Edmonia continues to strive to become the artist she truly is despite all of the is book reads like a series of stunning pieces of art, strung together into a larger display. The use of language is so beautifully done, carefully crafted with skill and depth. Atkins uses the few info of Edmonia’s life to craft a true person of flesh, bone and dreams on the page. Throughout the book, care is taken that no one forget the historical times the book takes put during and their impact on Edmonia as a person of color.Timely and simply amazing, this verse novel is uplifting and deeply moving. Appropriate for ages 13-16.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stone Mirrors: The Sculpture and Silence of Edmonia Lewis []  2020-1-11 19:15

    I was truly captivated by STONE MIRRORS. Apparently, so were Kirkus and Booklist who both gave the book starred reviews. It's the strong and inspiring story of Edmonia Lewis—a woman of African-Haitian and Native American (Ojibwe) descent, who is presented with the opportunity to study at a newly interracial Oberlin College during the Civil Battle years. While there, she is accused of attempted murder, subjected to a violent attack, and later accused of theft and forced to leave one semester short of graduation. Incredibly, she goes on to eventually become an eminent sculptor living in Rome, though not without carrying the scars and ghosts of her past with of the things I love most about Jeannine Atkins's work is the respectful method she shines light on lesser known women in history. The records of Edmonia Lewis's life are scant at best, but Atkins ensures that they are not lost altogether. While keeping to the facts of true events, through rigorous research and empathic imagining, she pulls out info and emotion—filling in the gaps with an entirely credible rendering. What's more, there's something about the method Jeannine Atkins writes that grabs keep of more than just your imagination. Her work engages the reader not only in story, but like other sensuous art forms, her books remain memorable on a visceral level long after you place them down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of [ safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    god of pranks []  2021-1-17 19:25

    try

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the dentist []  2020-11-21 20:54
    [email protected]

    Thank you Moses. Thanks to the entire staff. Reminds me of my appointments. Explain in detail what's going on. Patient and kind. Office is very clean and inviting. Satisfied Thanksgiving. Please stay safe. Thank you. Janice L

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    click this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here click this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the canada pharmacy csmp [canadian pharcharmy online reviews fply]  2020-10-15 13:43
    [email protected]

    canadian pharmacy canada online pharmacy scam canadian pharmacies for pharmacy online pharmacies without prescription cvs pharmacy canada pharmacy canadian pharmacy - india pharmacy canadian pharmacy canadian pharcharmy in canadian pharmacies

    1  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    list of canada online pharmacies zjqw [ canadian pharmacy czdz]  2020-10-17 6:50
    [email protected]

    canadian pharmacies canadian overnight pharmacy canadian online pharmacy from canadian pharmacies brand online canada pharmacy canadian online pharmacy reviews pharmacy canadian-pharmacy-online scam online canadian pharmacies canada pharmacies online prescriptions

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to buy lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo purchase lasix from Portugal where to buy lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to buy lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the canadian pharmacy qlsr [canada rx pharmacy deoo]  2020-10-19 20:18
    [email protected]

    canada online pharmacy buy from us pharmacy generic pharmacy canada online pharmacies canadian rx pharmacy canadian pharmacies without prescriptions ed canadian pharmacy the canada pharmacy canadian pharmacy for everyday use brand online canada pharmacy canada online pharmacy canadian pharmacy online generic pharmacy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    price of tablets in india [ without seeing a doctor]  2020-12-4 10:13
    [email protected]

    osta 100mg discount online discount sales Cooff fes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    and pharmacy uiua [ vjet]  2020-10-16 3:45
    [email protected]

    - canadian pharmacy [url= in united states of america pharmacy[/url] canadian pharmacy com india pharmacy canadian pharcharmy [url= pharmacy - [/url] us pharmacy london pharmacy canada [url= pharmacies without prescription[/url] canadian online pharmacy for legitimate online pharmacies india

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    over the counter []  2020-10-25 17:54
    [email protected]

    medicine fresh zealand silvasta fresh ed tissue in the nose [url= [url= dysfunction injections[/url] [url= [url= booster way book[/url] [url= function returns as copper decreases[/url] [url= [url= medication over counter[/url] [url= [url= dysfunction icd 10[/url] [url=

    0  


  • -1

    Useful review?

    search and seizure case law [collin county case search]  2020-8-23 16:35
    [email protected]

    pacer case locator find agree with what google did to me fairfax county case find dc court case find my find the original source he has a amazing point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    google it now and you will be at best site for transaltion [Teacher]  2021-1-11 9:32
    [email protected]

    my opinion is to create it part of everyday practive to obtain leran from the bests.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Not-So-Still Life: A Century of California Painting and Sculpture []  2020-2-7 19:25

    I love this book; anyone who paints still life or likes still life should have this book in his/her library. The book presents an awesome dozens of approaches to still life represented in perfect color plates. Diebenkorn painted a knife in a glass of water -- who knew? Most of the greats have painted still life at one time or another (or included it as background); this book shows why, despite contemporary art's distaste for still life, it endures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easter Island's Silent Sentinels: The Sculpture and Architecture of Rapa Nui []  2020-1-19 22:9

    The collapse narrative is still the mainstream view on what happened to Rapa Nui, at least for the general public. It's based on the views of early European visitors, as well as early scientific work on the island that seemed to substantiate it. However, most archaeologists who have done fieldwork on Rapa Nui recently no longer help such a narrative. All the latest archaeological works have aimed to refute the collapse narrative so it's refreshing to read one that actually supports it... with some audio Cristino and Patricia Vargas were both students of the American archaeologist William Thomas Mulloy. They did overwhelming amounts of fieldwork in the 70s and 80s, crowned by the restoration of Ahu Tongariki, the largest ceremonial monument in Polynesia. So far, not much has been written by them. There are some difficult to search articles, most in Spanish, and a dry and technical book called "1000 años en Rapa Nui", also in Spanish. This book seems to finally provide some perspective of Cristino and Vargas' work for the Engilsh speaking e book is basically a summary of what both archaeologists found and interpreted during their heavy work on Rapa Nui. Kenneth Triester is key here, since he managed to create the book very friendly and simple to read. The key points are created very clear: They believe in a relatively early settlement of the island (800-1000 AD), in an island that was not as isolated as most would believe, in a fragile ecosistem that went down due to human intervention, in a society that collapsed due to overconsumption of resources and a period of intertribal battles and cannibalism that ensued. They also give their thoughts on the recovery of the islanders after said collapse and how Europeans arrived when the islanders were learning to cope with the more difficult cirtances they were ey do not avoid discussion: They are satisfied to engage with some of the anti-collapse arguments. Although in some parts the narrative doesn't seem fully round. The transition from the Moai "golden age" to the Bird Cult, or the transition from a centralized Ariki Mau based society towards the more tribal society of later periods is not clear in the book. It seems like they preferred to show their arguments prefering structure over process. This really helps to create it more readable in contrast to the exaggeratedly technical "1000 años en Rapa Nui" book, but at times it appears like the process is not so well e volume is beautiful, a table book with huge amounts of full color pictures. Maps and sketches are top notch, showing some reconstructions of dwellings by Triester and a huge section outlining the Ahu structures. This is one of the highlights of the general, it was an interesting read in a attractive package. For some reason it has not generated much fuzz in the anti-collapse train so far.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easter Island's Silent Sentinels: The Sculpture and Architecture of Rapa Nui []  2020-1-19 22:9

    We recently visited Rapa Nui and were lucky enough to be guided by Claudio Cristino one of the authors. The book is an up to date review of research on the mysteries of the island's architecture and sculptures. It seems to be even handed, including the work of other academic experts. It is readable and has a lot of huge and very amazing photographs and charts of necessary websites and findings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Capturing Nature: The Cement Sculpture of Dionicio Rodríguez (Rio Grande/Río Bravo: Borderlands Culture and Traditions) []  2020-6-18 19:44

    Perfect book on Rodriguez - a small recognized sculptor and environmental artist. Well researched with amazing pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Capturing Nature: The Cement Sculpture of Dionicio Rodríguez (Rio Grande/Río Bravo: Borderlands Culture and Traditions) []  2020-6-18 19:44

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easter Island's Silent Sentinels: The Sculpture and Architecture of Rapa Nui []  2020-1-19 22:9

    The title of this interesting book of photographs is somewhat misleading because, though the colossal moai that dot the landscape of Rapa Nui do appear to be standing guard over the island, the focus here is more on the stone dwellings of the early inhabitants. The photographs of the latter are artistically arranged and beautiful to the eye. The text is less satisfactory, not because it isn’t informative, but because it appears to unnecessarily avoid controversy. The few notes that are offered are of the “for more information, see. . . “ dozens but we are rarely told how problematic certain problems are. Easter Island archaeology is replete with unanswered questions, in fact, but the authors offer us small sense of that in this book. The short section on the Rongorongo tablets, for instance, implies that they represent an ancient system of writing essentially co-equal in value to that of other written languages of the past like ancient Hebrew and Linear A. But Thomas Barthel and others evidently think that the tablets are of much more latest origin and are largely mnemonic in character. Why not just admit to the uncertainty and offer suggestions for further reading that highlight the different debates? Everything here seems to point to a text that might have been more subtle and comprehensive, but which was forced by shortsighted editorial policy to take the form of summary description. Too bad. At least the photographs are good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Capturing Nature: The Cement Sculpture of Dionicio Rodríguez (Rio Grande/Río Bravo: Borderlands Culture and Traditions) []  2020-6-18 19:44

    Fascinating local history of someone I knew small about before this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Capturing Nature: The Cement Sculpture of Dionicio Rodríguez (Rio Grande/Río Bravo: Borderlands Culture and Traditions) []  2020-6-18 19:44

    Always a treat to be able to search a book on an obscure topic, maybe even a slightly older book, in amazing at's the case eat ank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easter Island's Silent Sentinels: The Sculpture and Architecture of Rapa Nui []  2020-1-19 22:9

    Although I haven't read this book yet; we had the pleasure of having Claudio Cristino as a tour tutorial yesterday on Easter Island. His lectures were backed up by 39 years of education and knowledge. I ordered three books for all of us to have fun after we return home. What a treat awaits us! It was an awesome day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Capturing Nature: The Cement Sculpture of Dionicio Rodríguez (Rio Grande/Río Bravo: Borderlands Culture and Traditions) []  2020-6-18 19:44

    As a kid I was fascinated by the faux bois concrete bus stops in San Antonio. Later I discovered even more of Mr. Rodriguez's works in San Antonio's Brackenridge Park. This book is a respectful--even a loving--tribute to him and his unbelievable creations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Capturing Nature: The Cement Sculpture of Dionicio Rodríguez (Rio Grande/Río Bravo: Borderlands Culture and Traditions) []  2020-6-18 19:44

    wonderful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Capturing Nature: The Cement Sculpture of Dionicio Rodríguez (Rio Grande/Río Bravo: Borderlands Culture and Traditions) []  2020-6-18 19:44

    A vey complete acc of the life and work of this craftsman whose work stands today scattered over the southwest. Perfect research and amazing photography--well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Capturing Nature: The Cement Sculpture of Dionicio Rodríguez (Rio Grande/Río Bravo: Borderlands Culture and Traditions) []  2020-6-18 19:44

    One word. Fabulous. Well... Here's another - fantastic! Especially if you're into faux bois. If you're not, you might obtain interested!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Capturing Nature: The Cement Sculpture of Dionicio Rodríguez (Rio Grande/Río Bravo: Borderlands Culture and Traditions) []  2020-6-18 19:44

    I bought this book after reading everything about Rodriguez I could search on the Internet. The book is very well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Capturing Nature: The Cement Sculpture of Dionicio Rodríguez (Rio Grande/Río Bravo: Borderlands Culture and Traditions) []  2020-6-18 19:44

    Having seen a lot of his work in San Antonio, I was delighted to have this book and add it to my library. Amazing pictures and history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Not-So-Still Life: A Century of California Painting and Sculpture []  2020-2-7 19:25

    Amazing book, delivered on time and in amazing condition. The contents of the book are well organized and beautifully illustrated... Nuff said

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Sculpture Welding: From Concept to Creation []  2019-12-26 18:42

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sculpture of Louise Nevelson: Constructing a Legend []  2020-7-22 19:20

    An perfect reference book for the sculpture of Louise Nevelson.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sculpture of Louise Nevelson: Constructing a Legend []  2020-7-22 19:20

    Nevelson's work, as I had seen it in books and other photos, never really impressed me. Then I saw a present of her work, for which this book is catalog - what a ze matters - I knew that intellectually, but standing in front of these imposing works creates a subjective experience that no image can capture. Walking around them changes perspective, too, giving a sense like one of those Zen gardens where no point of view presents all of the work's features. Then, at least in the "black" works, there's an odd paradox. If the works had been perfectly, 100% black and non-reflective, then there would have been nothing to see. Only the fact that they're not truly black exposes their e static museum display, even more than the book's photos, left me knowing that I had missed at least two aspects of these majestic works. First, their depth and structure only half-defines the shadows deep inside these works. The other half of the shadow's definition comes from the light - a constant in the museum gallery, freezing the shadows like insects in amber, whereas natural lighting would change throughout the day and allow the shifting shadows come to life. Second, some of the installations seemed incomplete. Oh, the pieces of Dawn's Wedding Chapel were all there and presented well, but I felt that there must have been some original placement of the pieces that would define the interior of the chapel - the pieces' placement in the display that I saw lacked the consistent logic that I expected of re than just a catalog of the Nevelson show, this book provides insight into her origins, life, and career. Almost as much as Salvador Dali, Nevelson might well have been Nevelson's greatest creation - once success allowed it, her extravagant clothes, mask-like makeup, and signature scarf on her head worked together to make a special persona. Beneath that, we still see the remarkable person and her groundbreaking work.-- wiredweird

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bertoldo di Giovanni: The Renaissance of Sculpture in Medici Florence []  2020-1-25 13:3

    This catalog of the exhibition at the Frick (which ends early January 2020) is itself a landmark of scholarship on the artist and offers perfect reproductions of the works in the exhibition. Essays from a range of scholars support to illuminate Bertoldo's works as well as the globe in which he worked, intimately linked with the Medici of Florence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Sculpture Welding: From Concept to Creation []  2019-12-26 18:42

    Purchased as a bonus for my husband, and it was well liked. The projects, and images are inspiring, and the info provided is arranged nicely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sculpture of Louise Nevelson: Constructing a Legend []  2020-7-22 19:20

    If you like Nevelson, you'll have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sculpture of Louise Nevelson: Constructing a Legend []  2020-7-22 19:20

    This review relates to the Yale University Press hardcover.An perfect production: cloth over hardback boards in dustjacket with a sewn binding. Huge format book, 238 pp on massive paper, almost 4 pounds, color and some b&w illustrations se: "Louise Nevelson: A Story in Sculpture," "Louise Nevelson's Self-Fashioning: The Author of Her Own Life," "Black, White, Gold: Monochrome and Meaning in the Art of Louise Nevelson, "Three Artists Reflect on Louise Nevelson: Chakaia Booker, Tag di Suvero, and Ursula von Rydingsvard," and "Louise Nevelson's Public Art."15 page chronology of her life, 5 page Bibliography, Notes, Index.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Sculpture Welding: From Concept to Creation []  2019-12-26 18:42

    I bought this for my husband. He loves it and is very inspired to takee his skill to a fresh level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Sculpture Welding: From Concept to Creation []  2019-12-26 18:42

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sculpture of Louise Nevelson: Constructing a Legend []  2020-7-22 19:20

    As a life-long Louise Nevelson fan this is an awesome review of her work. The images are really unbelievable to look through & represent her career very well. It's a amazing tribute to her and all that she accomplished. This book is really a treasure for any fan of her pieces.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sculpture of Louise Nevelson: Constructing a Legend []  2020-7-22 19:20

    This review relates to the Yale University Press hardcover.An perfect production: cloth over hardback boards in dustjacket with a sewn binding. Huge format book, 238 pp on massive paper, almost 4 pounds, color and some b&w illustrations se: "Louise Nevelson: A Story in Sculpture," "Louise Nevelson's Self-Fashioning: The Author of Her Own Life," "Black, White, Gold: Monochrome and Meaning in the Art of Louise Nevelson, "Three Artists Reflect on Louise Nevelson: Chakaia Booker, Tag di Suvero, and Ursula von Rydingsvard," and "Louise Nevelson's Public Art."15 page chronology of her life, 5 page Bibliography, Notes, Index.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Sculpture Welding: From Concept to Creation []  2019-12-26 18:42

    Another tech ed teacher showed me his copy, so I bought this immediately, knowing what I'd be getting. There are so a lot of projects in here with detailed step-by step instructions and accurate measurements... close-up images of the work as it proceeds. Whether you are working alone, or facilitating a welding class, obtain this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sculpture of Louise Nevelson: Constructing a Legend []  2020-7-22 19:20

    The review from "Publishers Weekly" is not just hype but rather an perfect summation of this gem. Though another reviewer wished for more close-ups of Nevelson's sculptures, I was happy with their number and really don't think more would have added much. I was also pleasantly surprised to search amazing coverage of Nevelson's etchings and metal sculptures. And it is always an added gift when the text is well-written and insightful. All in all, THE SCULPTURE OF LOUISE NEVELSON: CONSTRUCTING A LEGEND is a must-have book for those interested in both the person and her oevre. --B. Evans, 7/19/07

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sculpture of Louise Nevelson: Constructing a Legend []  2020-7-22 19:20

    Amazing book!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386