Read the true meaning of holidays reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the true meaning of holidays reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The True Meaning of the Gospel [App]  2020-7-12 13:10

    Can we have the English ver

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The True Meaning of the Gospel [App]  2020-7-12 13:10

    مَنْ هُوَ ٱلْكَذَّابُ، إِلَّا ٱلَّذِي يُنْكِرُ أَنَّ يَسُوعَ هُوَ ٱلْمَسِيحُ ؟ هَذَا هُوَ ضِدُّ ٱلْمَسِيحِ، ٱلَّذِي يُنْكِرُ ٱلْآبَ وَٱلِٱبْنَ. كُلُّ مَنْ يُنْكِرُ ٱلِٱبْنَ لَيْسَ لَهُ ٱلْآبُ أَيْضًا ، وَمَنْ يَعْتَرِفُ بِٱلِٱبْنِ فَلَهُ ٱلْآبُ أَيْضًا . يُوحَنَّا ٱلْأُولَى 2:22 هذا الكتاب تدليس وكذب

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The True Meaning of the Gospel [App]  2020-7-12 13:10

    Awesome app.... One of the best translations of the Injeel

    0  


    Add your opinion on the true meaning of holidays or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The True Meaning of the Gospel [App]  2020-7-12 13:10

    الترجمة تستخدم ألفاظ تنكر لاهوت المسيح هي نسخة اريوسية مئة في المئة سوف أعرض الآية السليمة وبعدها الآية الفاسدة :- 1- «فَقَالَ لَهَا الْمَلاَكُ:«لاَ تَخَافِي يَا مَرْيَمُ، لأَنَّكِ قَدْ وَجَدْتِ نِعْمَةً عِنْدَ اللهِ. 31 وَهَا أَنْتِ سَتَحْبَلِينَ وَتَلِدِينَ ابْنًا وَتُسَمِّينَهُ يَسُوعَ. 32 هذَا يَكُونُ عَظِيمًا، وَابْنَ الْعَلِيِّ يُدْعَى فَلِذلِكَ أَيْضًا الْقُدُّوسُ الْمَوْلُودُ مِنْكِ يُدْعَى ابْنَ اللهِ.» (لوقا1) . ⁦⁩ الآية الفاسدة:- [ لا تخافي يا مريم ، فإن الله تعالى قد رَضِيَ عنكِ ،

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The True Meaning of the Gospel [App]  2020-7-12 13:10

    كلام فارغ

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The True Meaning of the Gospel [App]  2020-7-12 13:10

    👎👎👎👎👎👎

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The True Meaning of the Gospel [App]  2020-7-12 13:10

    هذه الترجمه محرفه، و لا صحه لها من الاساس

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The True Meaning of the Gospel [App]  2020-7-12 13:10

    Fake translation

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Meaning: The true route to happiness []  2021-4-6 21:33

    The book illustrates the psychological research about the importance of living a life filled with meaning in an elegant narrative filled with thought-provoking stories. It is a joy to read and it will create you ponder about your aning is one of the 5 ingredients of flourishing according to Seligman's PERMA theory of well-being (Positive emotions, Engagement, positive Relationships, Meaning, and Achievement; see the book "Flourishing"). Yet this dimension has been largely neglected in books inspired by positive psychology — until now. In this book Emily Esfahani Smith does a amazing job in illustrating what researchers have found regarding the importance of finding meaning in one's life, and why that other reviewers noted, the author identifies 4 main ars that lead to the sense of living a meaningful live. They are the following: a sense of belonging; a sense of purpose; a coherent and positive life narrative; and a sense of self-transcendence.What makes this book stand out is the elegance with which the author is able to condense the science in an unobtrusive framework that informs and organizes the narrative - but that does not obtain in the method of the amazing storytelling which makes the book so inspiring. The reader will be introduced to stories and characters that will allow him or her ponder about their own pursuit of o chapters in particular stood out for me: "the meaning crisis', because the struggles of Will Durant, Camus and Tolstoy that the author highlights have universal appeal and got me thinking about my own life and my own mentors; and "cultures of meaning", because it opens up a social dimension to what I always thought of mostly as an individual pursuit. As Emily Esfahani Smith points out, if we fail to provide positive answers to the need for belonging, purpose, storytelling and self-transcendence, then people might gravitate towards destructive solutions (e.g., ISIS) that paradoxically fill those human needs.If you are looking for a book that is solidly built on science and yet reads almost like fiction, this is : and for the psych geeks out there, no worries, the "Notes" section is beautiful thick!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Meaning: The true route to happiness []  2021-4-6 21:33

    I picked up this book after reading some amazing endorsements from Susan Cain and Adam Grant. I was very intrigued by the subtitle, Finding Fulfillment in a Globe Obsessed with Happiness. I work in higher education and there seems to be this ever show tension with success especially within the liberal arts. Clearly, we wish our graduates to search well-paying jobs and increase their standard of living, but more importantly, we wish our graduates to explore meaning and to make a better world.Emily Esfahani Smith breaks it all down in this book, answering the necessary questions of meaning: Why is meaning important? What are the elements of meaning? And how do we make meaning together?I found this book very interesting. I loved the authors breakdown of meaning: belonging, purpose, storytelling, and transcendence. However, I found it difficult to obtain into the flow of the book. It is like the book was missing that piece of thread that tied everything together. Each chapter felt very detached from the other, but I cannot tell you why this ain, this is a amazing book. I enjoyed it, the notice is unbelievable and needed. I would definitely recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Meaning: The true route to happiness []  2021-4-6 21:33

    This book is just ok. A lot of singular stories that helped people search their particular meaning in life. Zero tip on how to do that unless you are visited by some horrific event, such as paralyzation, or cancer, or a death in family, etc. nothing for us regular joes who are struggling. A lot of studies presented that say same thing over and over....find meaning in your life! Thought it would be more helpful. I guess ill go obtain hit by a bus and then ill search my meaning....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Meaning: The true route to happiness []  2021-4-6 21:33

    I was inspired to read this book after watching the author's TED Talk. In a globe flooded with self-help books promising to deliver the recipe for happiness, this is refreshing and nourishing. I've long felt happiness is a fleeting thing, to be experienced in brief moments. Living a meaningful life rather than striving to the point of exhaustion for a satisfied life makes much more sense to me. Smith's private narrative as well as the stories of others shared in her book create for a comforting, satisfying read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Meaning: The true route to happiness []  2021-4-6 21:33

    I found Emily and her teachings through Matt Bodnar and his "Science of Success" podcast. This book takes the notice of 'finding meaning' to an incredibly interesting place.I am efforting to interview Emily to promote this notice on my radio talk show. Those who know me know that I typically land the talented givers, so stay ank you Emily, nice work. Your influence by Dr Seligman shines ace,t

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Meaning: The true route to happiness []  2021-4-6 21:33

    What is the meaning of life? Why I am I here? These are questions that have taunted mankind since the beginning of time. THE POWER OF MEANING provides a straightforward and inspiring answer, based on extensive research and ysis. Simply put, the meaning of life is to search meaning in life. And it’s actually easier to search than we are often led to believe.“The find for meaning is not a solitary philosophical quest, as it’s often depicted,” writes the author. “… and meaning is not something we make within ourselves and for ourselves. Rather, meaning largely lies in others. If we wish to search meaning in our own lives, we have to start by reaching out.”There is so much to this book, it’s hard to boil it down in a review. (I found myself rereading and marking lines on page after page, and I handwrote six pages of notes upon completing it.) By summarizing tons of psychological studies, presenting scores of anecdotes and stories about true people, and sharing a lot of of her own thoughts and insights on the differences between happiness and meaning, Smith ultimately brings the reader to the simplest of longing, purpose, storytelling and transcendence: these are the four ars of meaning, and they are accessible to everyone, regardless of religious beliefs, cultural backgrounds or economic status. As someone who has created a living as a professional writer and author, I was particularly struck by the storytelling section. Though it was not surprising to me that story plays a critical role in finding fulfillment in life, it was fascinating to learn the a lot of reasons why (both for the storytellers themselves, as well as for listeners or imbibers of those stories). The author turned to several novels to support illustrate her points – from MIDDLEMARCH and THE LITTLE PRINCE to LIFE OF PI and THE DEATH OF IVAN ILYCH – as well as numerous memoirs.I especially liked this point: “We are all the authors of our own stories and can choose to change the method we are telling them. One of the greatest contributions of psychology and psychotherapy research is the idea that we can edit, revise and interpret the stories we tell about our lives even as we are constrained by the facts.” And how we perceive our lives and stories is directly similar to whether we ultimately search fulfillment in e sections on belonging, purpose and transcendence are equally fascinating. They are packed with examples of how seeking and finding fulfillment leads to better physical and mental health, helps us overcome traumatic events, and tutorials us to lasting contentment rather than fleeting happiness.I highly recommend this book to all who wish to expand how they view the globe and the people with whom they share it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Meaning: The true route to happiness []  2021-4-6 21:33

    John Stuart Mill's words provide a excellent summary of the notice of this book (p 16), "Those only are satisfied who have their minds fixed on some object other than their own happiness; on the happiness of others, on the improvement of mankind, even on some art or pursuit, followed not as a means, but as itself an ideal end."In the introduction, the author shares her experiences with Sufism, her "parents ran a Sufi meeting house," then proceeds with the chapter that was the most fascinating to me as the parent of an introverted, deep thinking senior in high school, The Meaning Crisis, chock full of philosophical ideas and a discussion of suicide. One of the most disturbing facts in the book (and one I used in an article entitled Let's Unstigmatize Thoughts of Suicide) that comes from the CDC (p 22), "Each year, forty thousand Americans take their lives, and worldwide, that number is closer to a million." I'd imagined that the higher rate of suicide in developed than undeveloped countries had something to do with Maslow's Hierarchy, but Ms. Smith suggests the chance that (p 23), "it is particularly distressing to be unhappy in a country where so a lot of others are happy."She follows this with four chapters corresponding to the ars that help her message:Belonging (p 49), "We all need to feel that we belong..."Purpose (p 90), "a purpose-driven person is ultimately concerned...with making the globe a better place."Storytelling (p 104), "our storytelling impulse emerges from a deep-seated need all humans share: the need to create sense of the world."Transcendence (p 133), "first, our sense of self washes away along with all, its petty concerns and desires. We then feel deeply connected to other people and everything else that exists in the world."At that point in the book, I expect the conclusion or epilogue, but it's not to be. She contains a chapter entitled Growth, in which she puts forth (p 162), "The idea that we can grow to lead deeper and more meaningful lives through adversity." It supports Nietsche's contention (p 162), " “What does not slay me makes me stronger," with examples in help of it about persons who have gained strength from dealing with difficult cirtances, and a second extra chapter, Cultures of Meaning (p 192), "All across the country...people are using the ars as a means to transform the institution in which we live and work, creating communities that value and build connections, celebrate purpose, provide opportunities for storytelling and leave zone for mystery," which I think should have been the conclusion. Instead, Ms. Smith concludes with a discussion of death (p 217), "Contemplating death can actually support us, if we have the proper mindset, to lead more meaningful lives and to be at peace when our final moment on earth arrives," using research on those contemplating physician-assisted suicide to help the of the book: perfect research, anecdotes, interviews and other info in help of the idea that living a life in service of others, "Crafting a Life That Matters," helps bring meaning to humans and leads to happiness. Most chapters and arguments are very strong, like Chapters 1-5 and 7 (which seems like it should have been the Conclusion), the others, less so. Even though the story starts powerful and finishes less so, it is definitely worth the read to remind us all that our society's materialistic, social media-heavy, happiness-seeking culture is the wrong path to happiness. On related subjects: 10% Happier by Dan Harris, Coming Home by en Bettinger and Natasha Swerdloff, and Listening is an Act of Love by Dave Isay.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Meaning: The true route to happiness []  2021-4-6 21:33

    It is the conundrum that has haunted us from the beginning of time: What is the meaning of life? To Emily—her writing and personality seem to invite familiarity—it all turns on the four ars of meaning: belonging, purpose, storytelling, and transcendence.Emily gave a TED talk in April, 2017, entitled, “There is more to life than being happy,” and if you haven’t watched it, I highly recommend it. It is insightful, concise, engaging, and delivered with humility and authenticity. My first thought upon watching it was that we should all have a cup of coffee with this ople will be naturally inclined to compare the book and the talk, and a lot of reviewers have. That’s certainly understandable, in part due to the high quality of the talk, but perhaps a bit unfair. It is far easier to explain a concept that is already positively perceived, like belonging and purpose, in summary than in detail. Since we ultimately wish to believe, the explanations can seem less inspiring than the summary e author tells her story through stories. And some have noted that the stories sometimes seem disconnected or less than fully relevant. And they are, in a lot of cases, not run-of-the-mill. A Compline religious service, or a Sufi meetinghouse, for example, are not things most of us will ever experience. This sense of irrelevance, however, is more due to the story of the book rather than the stories themselves. The meaning of life is an ambitious subject to take on.Different parts of the book will resonate more or less with various readers. The sections on storytelling resonated with me. I’ve always been struck by the observation that amazing storytellers not only create amazing authors; they seem to be more grounded than the rest of us. One might conclude that this is a function of the skills of storytelling, but I think that’s too easy an explanation, and Emily has reinforced my thinking.We all have a narrative. If we can’t tell it without jumping around like beads of water on a hot skillet, it probably has less to do with our ability to tell stories than the perspective we bring to the story. Every narrative is compelling when perceived in the right way, although far from all are e concept that I struggle with most is belonging. It suggests a need to externalize that I search uncomfortable. For starters, I do believe there are a huge and growing number of us who will never externalize, whether we seek to or not, yet each of us has a amazing deal to offer. Are we destined to live lives without meaning?Secondly, I believe my life does have meaning, despite the fact that I belong to no group even remotely related to the Society for Creative Anachronism, the group of medieval enthusiasts and re-creationists this is the topic of one of her is lack of interest in joining any club I attribute, in the utmost positive way, to my Chinese wife. We live our lives isolated from the globe but far from alone. We have each other in the most primary sense. To say we share a soul seems demeaning and cliché. We share more than that. Were someone to search us months are our passing alone in our townhouse, there would be no need for sorrow. We would have died very content. Probably not in each other’s arms; perhaps not even satisfied in the sense that word is commonly used; but each with belonging in our be sure, Emily does create it clear that group-belonging is just one form of belonging. In fact, she ends with this: “Love, of course, is at the center of the meaningful life.” And, “That’s the power of meaning. It’s not some amazing revelation. It’s pausing to say hi to a newspaper vendor and reaching out to someone at work who seems down.”Emily is a philosopher, psychologist, scientist, and a person who was taught a highly spiritual perspective from an early age. That may mean that her language and perspective seem a small scattered to anyone who is strongly associated with only one or two of these perspectives.I think, however, that this diversity in thought and perspective makes her uniquely qualified to write this book. Anyone who has ever tried to thoughtfully meditate in the Buddhist tradition (I have not, but I have spent a lot of time over the latest six decades contemplating the void, as I refer to it.) will know that is not r some of us, in the same way, this book may not be simple either. I do believe, however, that it is well worth the effort. There is, after all, no bigger and necessary question you will face as you go through your day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Meaning: The true route to happiness []  2021-4-6 21:33

    I really wanted to love this book, but I can only muster up a like. I was hoping for a modern modernize to Viktor Frankl’s “Man’s Find for Meaning”, indeed, the author Emily Esfahan Smith, cites Frankl’s work. She even uses the book as a part of her examination of the power of reading this book, I gathered that this was meant to be one of the a lot of books that came out which ape’s Malcom Gladwell’s mode of storytelling: examining a topic closely through econometric to tell a story. A lot of books have resulted from using Gladwell’s way and a lot of successful books have resulted, even though the success of the storytelling has been uneven. Not everyone can be Malcolm Gladwell. This is yet another one that is disappointing.Emily Esfahan Smith is a very talented writer; I have read her work in The Atlantic. She has a voice that captured my attention. So it is that I was greatly disappointed in her treatment of meaning e first made four main ars that underlie the idea of meaning, these ars, according to her, makes the idea of meaning powerful: Belonging, Purpose, Storytelling, and Transcendence. Those comprise of chapters 2-5 of the book. Chapter 1: The Meaning Crisis, where she convinces us that the subject is necessary was well written and makes a very powerful case. It created her case and drew me in. I was dubious about the value of Belonging and Storytelling as being central to her argument, but she created a amazing case for belonging, but not so much for storytelling, but I knew that would be a difficult one to justify because it was a weak ar to begin with.I was very surprised and disappointed with the purpose chapter, I felt that would be a central theme to the entire book and I felt that the cases cited and the generally the tone and attack that she took with the chapter was tepid at best. In general, the chapters on purpose, storytelling, and transcendence felt rushed and not very well thought e transcendence chapter, I felt, would be a very necessary chapter. I thought that her own private background in the Sufi tradition would lead her to expanding and shedding light on transcendence throughout a lot of non-Christian spiritual practices, yet, she chose to focus on Christian transcendence as cases and examples. I believe that in order for her to create her point about the universality of the power of meaning, she required to make an ethos of universality and demonstrate that the topic of which she is expounding on is indeed, itself universal. I believe she succeeded in a very limited manner. I wouldn’t say she failed, just did not succeed in as huge a manner as I would have expected.I thought the cases she explored in help of her are not well written, they sounded kind of forced. Even though her emphasis is on storytelling, she failed at storytelling. The attraction of this kind of case study journalism is to give heft to the argument with legitimate scholarly econometrics but then also engage the reader by linking the cold sterile numbers with human passion and emotional response. She failed in that e next two chapters: Growth and the Culture of Meaning were disparate in terms of effectiveness. Growth chapter, while not as weak as the weaker chaters in the book was still unsettling in its lack of passion. She used the ideas from Frankl, the ideas on grit and resilience from Angela Duckworth, and the growth mindset from Carole Dweck to add intellectual depth to the growth chapter, but did not specifically talk about Duckworth and Dwecks idea, it seems that she assumed that everyone are already well versed in their works. I was and was able to glean a bit of what she was referring to in advance of her citation of both Duckworth and Dweck, but it is too poor that she did not give the readers a bit more info before making her final latest two chapters, the Culture of Meaning and the conclusion were the strongest chapters, outside of The Meaning Crisis chapter. The Culture of Meaning chapter was seemingly Smith at her most free and maximum engagement. She created her points in a very lucid manner, her storytelling was excellent, perhaps because the story about her brush with Story Corp was a better story and her own private engagement in the process lit a fuse in her. That led naturally to her conclusion, which was stronger than the rest of the book.I think this was a missed opportunity to create a point about meaning, purpose, transcendence, and what it all means to us in our society today, and how this all could support tutorial us through the miasma which is our cultural maze. If I were dismissive and cruel, I would call it a Cliff’s Notes updating of Frankl with a lot of economic studies cited, that was my first reaction. But after much thought and re-reading, I felt that this was a amazing test at revisiting the same landscape, and a valiant effort at using all the modern day psychology and econometric studies to take an updated look at meaning, a rather ambitious undertaking. I think she fell short, which is not an altogether unexpected result, but a disappointing one nevertheless.I think a better plan of attack and more motivated storytelling could have created the difference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Power of Meaning: The true route to happiness []  2021-4-6 21:33

    A book about exactly what the title says: finding meaning in today’s world. Being an immigrant myself, I could relate to so much of Emily’s vision of the globe and what drove her to study this topic. Glad she did, so I don’t have to figure it out on my own, just read instead. (I’ve found living in US that there’s powerful cultural roots from puritan pilgrims, an emphasis on materialism and having “stuff” is a measure of success. Trying to fit in here and trying to feel happy/fulfilled/content is at odds with that undercurrent in every day. It was very interesting to learn that these aren’t “US” problems or culture, it’s rather a more global/human state.) There’s a lot of history, research and studies balanced by Emily’s interview stories, so you don’t obtain too bogged up in science and at the same time she provides an illustrative true globe example of the same science.I’ve also read Happier by Tal Ben-Shahar and these two books have a lot of positive psychology alignment. Happier has a lot more how to implement in your life, whereas Power is the why explained and it goes to a deeper layer I didn’t obtain in Tal’s book.A private note: since I am an atheist and have struggled a bit with loosing sight of “happiness” a few times, it wasn’t until I read Emily’s Power that i understood the role faith plays in our lives. Especially helped me understand how to fill those parts without faith.I’ve recommended this book to a mate whose teenage cousin is struggling with suicide and depression because it gives perspective to someone without those experiences/feelings as to why someone may have them.I’ve bought a copy of this book for another mate who started reading my copy. (I’m not amazing at lending out books, I’d rather bonus a copy especially since it’s such a amazing book!)100% recommend this book to anyone for both obvious reasons and because the subjects provide a fresh dimension to our culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Birds []  2020-1-16 17:19

    I'm always attracted to bird books, although very nice and beautiful book, bird information is not really in much depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Cricket []  2020-7-17 19:23

    I am brand fresh to the android game of cricket. I just started learning about it this year. This book gave me a much better understanding of its history, traditions, and importance. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The meaning of relativity []  2020-8-16 18:43

    I'm sure the book is amazing, but I can't verify that for myself, because the equations are all garbled. Here's an example:/^Ko^^a..*(3)x^==a^ +or A;tr; = ^^^aAr^.... (3a)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The meaning of relativity []  2020-8-16 18:43

    The 5 stars are for Einstein and certainly not for the translator (who had a true issue in writing proper English sentences...).Some of the paragraphs may give headaches to an unprepared reader : e.g. p. 99-101, about the behaviour of clocks and rods... containing highly convoluted, confused and to some extent ungrammatical sentences...More to the point, those four Einstein's lectures are simply illuminating and may certainly serve as an introduction to his original papers, but only after a amazing preparation via other books ( see a proposed route in my comments on Einstein's, Lorentz's, Weyl's and Minkowski's original works in "The Principle of Relativity" )

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Flowers []  2021-1-10 20:42

    Sixty-three meager, badly researched pages? What a rip-off!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Birds []  2020-1-16 17:19

    I am a birder wannabe. I wanted to read on a long flight. Found the title intriguing. Loaded on my Kindle , it seemed appropriate to learn about birds on a machine created possible by birds. This book created learning fun. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The meaning of relativity []  2020-8-16 18:43

    Other books that Einstein wrote or co-wrote that address relativity are  The Principle of Relativity , Sidelights on Relativity , Relativity: The Unique and the General Theory , and  The Evolution of Physics . This book is based on Einstein's May 1921 Stafford Small Lectures of Princeton University. [NOTE: Page numbers below are based on the 170-page paperback 5th edition.]He begins the book by noting, "The theory of relativity is intimately connected with the theory of zone and time. I shall therefore start with a brief investigation of the origin of our ideas of zone and time... How are you customary ideas of zone and time similar to the hero of our experiences? The experiences of an individual appear to us arranged in a series of events; in this series the single happenings which we remember appear to be ordered according to the criterion of 'earlier' and 'later,' which cannot be yzed further. There exists, therefore, for the individual, an I-time, or subjective time. This in itself is not measurable. I can, indeed, associate numbers with the events... but the nature of this association may be quite arbitrary." (Pg. 1)He states, "In order to measure time, we have supposed a clock... But we cannot fix the time, by means of this clock, of an happening whose distance from the clock is not negligible; for there are no 'instantaneous signals' that we can use in order to compare the time of the happening with that of the clock. In order to complete the definition of time we may employ the principle of the constancy of the velocity of light in a vacuum... The theory of relativity is often criticized ... in that it founds the concept of time upon the law of the propagation of light. The situation, however, is somewhat as follows. In order to give physical significance to the concept of time, processes of some kind are needed which enable relations to be established between various places. It is immaterial what kind of processes one chooses for such a definition of time. It is advantageous, however... to choose only those processes concerning which we know something certain. This holds for the propagation of light [in vacuum] in a higher degree than for any other process..." (Pg. 27-29)He adds, "The Newtonian mechanics... spoke of points of space, as of instants of time, as if they were absolute realities... The conception of something event was always that of a four-dimensional continuum; but the recognition of this was obscured by the absolute hero of the pre-relativity time. Upon giving up the hypothesis of the absolute hero of time, particularly that of simultaneity, the four-dimensionality of the time-space concept was immediately recognized. It is neither the point in space, not the instant in time, at which something happens... but only the happening itself. There is no absolute... relation in space, and no absolute relation in time between two events, but there is an absolute ... relation in zone and time... there is no objective rational division of the four-dimensional continuum into a three-dimensional zone and a one-dimensional time continuum..." (Pg. 30-31)He repeats his popular E = mc2 equation, and observes, "Mass and energy are therefore essentially alike; they are only various expressions for the same thing. The mass of a body is not a constant; it varies with changes in its energy." (Pg. 46-47)He points out, "We therefore arrive at the result: the gravitational field influences and even determines the metrical laws of the space-time continuum. If the laws of configuration of ideal rigid bodies are to be expressed geometrically, then in the presence of a gravitational field the geometry is not Euclidean." (Pg. 60-61) Later, he adds, "But however we may choose a system of co-ordinates, the laws of configuration of rigid rods do not agree with those of Euclidian geometry; in other words, we cannot choose any system of co-ordinates so that the co-ordinate differences... shall always satisfy the relation... In this sense zone is not Euclidian, but 'curved.'" (Pg. 91-92)He says, "whether portions of the universe, however huge them may be, are quasi-Euclidian, is a wholly various question... If a certain portion of surface if practically plane, it does not at all follow that the whole surface has the form of a plane; the surface might just as well be a sphere of sufficiently huge radius. The question as to whether the universe as a whole is non-Euclidian was much discussed from the geometrical point of view before the development of the theory of relativity." (Pg. 98-99) He explains, "The mathematical knowledge that has created it possible to establish the general theory of relativity we owe to the geometrical investigations of Gauss and Riemann." (Pg. 140-141)Definitely not a book for "light summer reading," this is still a clear (if often technical) explanation of Relativity, from its creator. It will be "must reading" for anyone seriously studying Relativity theory.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The meaning of relativity []  2020-8-16 18:43

    Other books that Einstein wrote or co-wrote that address relativity are  The Principle of Relativity , Sidelights on Relativity , Relativity: The Unique and the General Theory , and  The Evolution of Physics . This book is based on Einstein's May 1921 Stafford Small Lectures of Princeton University. [NOTE: Page numbers below are based on the 170-page paperback 5th edition.]He begins the book by noting, "The theory of relativity is intimately connected with the theory of zone and time. I shall therefore start with a brief investigation of the origin of our ideas of zone and time... How are you customary ideas of zone and time similar to the hero of our experiences? The experiences of an individual appear to us arranged in a series of events; in this series the single happenings which we remember appear to be ordered according to the criterion of 'earlier' and 'later,' which cannot be yzed further. There exists, therefore, for the individual, an I-time, or subjective time. This in itself is not measurable. I can, indeed, associate numbers with the events... but the nature of this association may be quite arbitrary." (Pg. 1)He states, "In order to measure time, we have supposed a clock... But we cannot fix the time, by means of this clock, of an happening whose distance from the clock is not negligible; for there are no 'instantaneous signals' that we can use in order to compare the time of the happening with that of the clock. In order to complete the definition of time we may employ the principle of the constancy of the velocity of light in a vacuum... The theory of relativity is often criticized ... in that it founds the concept of time upon the law of the propagation of light. The situation, however, is somewhat as follows. In order to give physical significance to the concept of time, processes of some kind are needed which enable relations to be established between various places. It is immaterial what kind of processes one chooses for such a definition of time. It is advantageous, however... to choose only those processes concerning which we know something certain. This holds for the propagation of light [in vacuum] in a higher degree than for any other process..." (Pg. 27-29)He adds, "The Newtonian mechanics... spoke of points of space, as of instants of time, as if they were absolute realities... The conception of something event was always that of a four-dimensional continuum; but the recognition of this was obscured by the absolute hero of the pre-relativity time. Upon giving up the hypothesis of the absolute hero of time, particularly that of simultaneity, the four-dimensionality of the time-space concept was immediately recognized. It is neither the point in space, not the instant in time, at which something happens... but only the happening itself. There is no absolute... relation in space, and no absolute relation in time between two events, but there is an absolute ... relation in zone and time... there is no objective rational division of the four-dimensional continuum into a three-dimensional zone and a one-dimensional time continuum..." (Pg. 30-31)He repeats his popular E = mc2 equation, and observes, "Mass and energy are therefore essentially alike; they are only various expressions for the same thing. The mass of a body is not a constant; it varies with changes in its energy." (Pg. 46-47)He points out, "We therefore arrive at the result: the gravitational field influences and even determines the metrical laws of the space-time continuum. If the laws of configuration of ideal rigid bodies are to be expressed geometrically, then in the presence of a gravitational field the geometry is not Euclidean." (Pg. 60-61) Later, he adds, "But however we may choose a system of co-ordinates, the laws of configuration of rigid rods do not agree with those of Euclidian geometry; in other words, we cannot choose any system of co-ordinates so that the co-ordinate differences... shall always satisfy the relation... In this sense zone is not Euclidian, but 'curved.'" (Pg. 91-92)He says, "whether portions of the universe, however huge them may be, are quasi-Euclidian, is a wholly various question... If a certain portion of surface if practically plane, it does not at all follow that the whole surface has the form of a plane; the surface might just as well be a sphere of sufficiently huge radius. The question as to whether the universe as a whole is non-Euclidian was much discussed from the geometrical point of view before the development of the theory of relativity." (Pg. 98-99) He explains, "The mathematical knowledge that has created it possible to establish the general theory of relativity we owe to the geometrical investigations of Gauss and Riemann." (Pg. 140-141)Definitely not a book for "light summer reading," this is still a clear (if often technical) explanation of Relativity, from its creator. It will be "must reading" for anyone seriously studying Relativity theory.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The meaning of relativity []  2020-8-16 18:43

    We are in 1922, Einstein is explaining relativity for experts. He assumes that you know classical physics and don't bother explaining notations for Newton’s laws and Maxwell’s equations (this book is short). Here goes some impressions from a layperson. He deliberately challenges the idea of zone and time being slowly developed over centuries as fixed references to any event. You can't be more rebel than that. And goes about laying down his theory (this lecture happened more than 10 years after his paper so he also shares developments/experiments from other scientists). There are plenty of equations in this book, a lot of with partial derivatives in a four-dimensions universe replacing Newton’s relations. Reality is a bit more complicated after Einstein but nowadays relativity is addressed in high school books (another day I skimmed a Physics book for teenagers in Germany).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Cricket []  2020-7-17 19:23

    It encapsulates everything that cricket can be and should be, a method of life. It gives much meal for thought on the future direction of the android game as finance plays an ever increasing role.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Flowers []  2021-1-10 20:42

    I love this book.. I deliver meals on meals.. and read to one women that loves to learn about flowers and meanings.. she cannot see very well.. but soaks up the knowledge.. I too love as I used to raise herbs and forgot meaning of many

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Flowers []  2021-1-10 20:42

    I was hoping for more realistic pictures of flowers in a garden. Perhaps more current info about each flower such as where they like to grow best etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Cricket []  2020-7-17 19:23

    Loved this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The meaning of relativity []  2020-8-16 18:43

    Other books that Einstein wrote or co-wrote that address relativity are  The Principle of Relativity , Sidelights on Relativity , Relativity: The Unique and the General Theory , and  The Evolution of Physics . This book is based on Einstein's May 1921 Stafford Small Lectures of Princeton University. [NOTE: Page numbers below are based on the 170-page paperback 5th edition.]He begins the book by noting, "The theory of relativity is intimately connected with the theory of zone and time. I shall therefore start with a brief investigation of the origin of our ideas of zone and time... How are you customary ideas of zone and time similar to the hero of our experiences? The experiences of an individual appear to us arranged in a series of events; in this series the single happenings which we remember appear to be ordered according to the criterion of 'earlier' and 'later,' which cannot be yzed further. There exists, therefore, for the individual, an I-time, or subjective time. This in itself is not measurable. I can, indeed, associate numbers with the events... but the nature of this association may be quite arbitrary." (Pg. 1)He states, "In order to measure time, we have supposed a clock... But we cannot fix the time, by means of this clock, of an happening whose distance from the clock is not negligible; for there are no 'instantaneous signals' that we can use in order to compare the time of the happening with that of the clock. In order to complete the definition of time we may employ the principle of the constancy of the velocity of light in a vacuum... The theory of relativity is often criticized ... in that it founds the concept of time upon the law of the propagation of light. The situation, however, is somewhat as follows. In order to give physical significance to the concept of time, processes of some kind are needed which enable relations to be established between various places. It is immaterial what kind of processes one chooses for such a definition of time. It is advantageous, however... to choose only those processes concerning which we know something certain. This holds for the propagation of light [in vacuum] in a higher degree than for any other process..." (Pg. 27-29)He adds, "The Newtonian mechanics... spoke of points of space, as of instants of time, as if they were absolute realities... The conception of something event was always that of a four-dimensional continuum; but the recognition of this was obscured by the absolute hero of the pre-relativity time. Upon giving up the hypothesis of the absolute hero of time, particularly that of simultaneity, the four-dimensionality of the time-space concept was immediately recognized. It is neither the point in space, not the instant in time, at which something happens... but only the happening itself. There is no absolute... relation in space, and no absolute relation in time between two events, but there is an absolute ... relation in zone and time... there is no objective rational division of the four-dimensional continuum into a three-dimensional zone and a one-dimensional time continuum..." (Pg. 30-31)He repeats his popular E = mc2 equation, and observes, "Mass and energy are therefore essentially alike; they are only various expressions for the same thing. The mass of a body is not a constant; it varies with changes in its energy." (Pg. 46-47)He points out, "We therefore arrive at the result: the gravitational field influences and even determines the metrical laws of the space-time continuum. If the laws of configuration of ideal rigid bodies are to be expressed geometrically, then in the presence of a gravitational field the geometry is not Euclidean." (Pg. 60-61) Later, he adds, "But however we may choose a system of co-ordinates, the laws of configuration of rigid rods do not agree with those of Euclidian geometry; in other words, we cannot choose any system of co-ordinates so that the co-ordinate differences... shall always satisfy the relation... In this sense zone is not Euclidian, but 'curved.'" (Pg. 91-92)He says, "whether portions of the universe, however huge them may be, are quasi-Euclidian, is a wholly various question... If a certain portion of surface if practically plane, it does not at all follow that the whole surface has the form of a plane; the surface might just as well be a sphere of sufficiently huge radius. The question as to whether the universe as a whole is non-Euclidian was much discussed from the geometrical point of view before the development of the theory of relativity." (Pg. 98-99) He explains, "The mathematical knowledge that has created it possible to establish the general theory of relativity we owe to the geometrical investigations of Gauss and Riemann." (Pg. 140-141)Definitely not a book for "light summer reading," this is still a clear (if often technical) explanation of Relativity, from its creator. It will be "must reading" for anyone seriously studying Relativity theory.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Flowers []  2021-1-10 20:42

    I [email protected]#$%! had more substance. It only has about 50 flowers, and it doesn't go into the meaning of the color or in which instance one may give them to another person of variable importance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Flowers []  2021-1-10 20:42

    The book was beautiful, but I was looking for something that contained more flowers and more info about their meanings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Flowers []  2021-1-10 20:42

    I love the book, I purchased for a bonus for my granddaughter who is getting married next summer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Birds []  2020-1-16 17:19

    Wow. What a charming book. Barnes covers the mechanics of flight and feathers, myth- and symbol-making, human language and birdsongs, migration, extinction and conservation, evolution and more. I learned quite a bit about birds and have been talked into buying a nice pair of binoculars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Birds []  2020-1-16 17:19

    I love the format and factoids sprinkled throughout the book. A nice read for those spare eat to share with my bird loving grandson too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Cricket []  2020-7-17 19:23

    Amazing read!!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The meaning of relativity []  2020-8-16 18:43

    Like quantum theory everyone agrees on the mathematical equations of relativity, however there is wide disagreement on what it means physically especially among philosophers of science. Therefore, it is necessary to read Einstein's actual words on his own theory. The discovery of dark matter has raised some questions on whether Einstein's original theory is complete. Does it need some fresh like torsion field for example in addition to the curvature field. Then, there is the problem of quantum corrections. However, Reading Einstein himself is the best method to understand the physical meeting of the theories especially if you are an engineer or an experimental physicist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Flowers []  2021-1-10 20:42

    Had writing on the cover!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Flowers []  2021-1-10 20:42

    This book is really nice. It is visually appealing as well as full of some interesting info about the meanings behind certain flowers based on cultures or points in history. I found this really interesting and think it would create a amazing bonus for someone who loves flowers, history or gardening!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Birds []  2020-1-16 17:19

    Simon Barnes was the much-loved sports writer and editor of Times, London. He was also an avid bird-watcher. It is therefore not surprising that this will prove to be a much-loved book on birds. ‘Flight has immense meaning for us humans because we can’t do it’ he begins. From the mechanics of bird flight, he continues into interesting aspects such as the speed acquired by – and needed of – peregrine falcons. We learn too that feathers have nothing to do with flying. SB tells us that the bird and its environment are inseparable in that woodpeckers are found where there is wood that they like to peck; and eagles are found in the mountains. ‘Birds sum up a location’, yet because they have wings and are highly mobile, they are where they are by choice. Of the 10,000 species of birds, the chicken has a unique put in SB’s heart; he tells us quite a bit of it, including its lifespan: ‘A chicken can live for five to ten years; industrial chickens live for six weeks from egg to table’. He writes about the symbolism of birds from the time of the Romans and the significance of the dove which ‘were religious birds long before Christianity’, linked with Aphrodite, Ishtar, and Astarte. SB also dives into the great, well, once great, debate about evolution vs creation, referring to Darwin’s own admission that he scarcely had fossil evidence to back his theory of transition. Then two years after his death, the missing piece of fossil – that of the Archaeopteryx was found. ‘It was’, he writes, ‘as if God had decided to land a hand. As if God had decided to bestow his blessing on Darwin and all his works. As if God was pointing out the path to atheism’. He concludes with a discussion over the question whether the birds of Britain are half destroyed or half saved. In this latest lovely part of serious reflections on vanishing wild and birdlife, SB talks about the rhinoceros hornbill, the white-tailed eagle, the barn owl, the marsh harrier, and several other endangered birds as well as birds brought back from the brink of extinction. ‘Birds need people’ he writes – ‘But here’s another fact. People need birds’.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Birds []  2020-1-16 17:19

    Like it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Cricket []  2020-7-17 19:23

    A hauntingly attractive exploration of the game. Smart, erudite and deeply emotional, part memoir, part psychoysis and part history. Some of the best sports writing, not just Cricket writing...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The meaning of relativity []  2020-8-16 18:43

    Book was received but the binding is horrible. I was going to give the book to my son but the pages were falling out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Flowers []  2021-1-10 20:42

    Not very helpful. Very few photos of the flowers themselves which seems like an necessary addition to a book talking about flowers and their meaning. Very disappointing, but too cheap a purchase to consider returning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Flowers []  2021-1-10 20:42

    A unbelievable small book, now you can give flowers that mean something .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Happens for a Reason: Finding the True Meaning of the Events in Our Lives []  2020-2-4 1:51

    I really like Mira's premise that there are ten reasons that every traumatic "I don't obtain it- why me?" happening happens. One that I started to skip over, thinking that it did not apply to me, drew me in. It reminded me that this was the huge why of a certain string of happenings and that I still have some work to do in this area. This book is very "readable" and I think that anyone who is looking for reasons will search them in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Happens for a Reason: Finding the True Meaning of the Events in Our Lives []  2020-2-4 1:51

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I had some things happen in my life that were unpleasant and unexpected, but this book really helped me to see the blessing in disguise in each of those situations. Each chapter was full of amazing tip and I was able to reflect on what was said in my journal. There are also rhetorical questions in each chapter that I used as journaling prompts to support me work through some things that happened. I truly believe everything happens for a reason, but this book not only solidified that belief but also helped me think "outside" the box, and gave me insight. Amazing book, especially if something negative happens and you're struggling with how to deal with it. I even gave it as a Christmas bonus for a few people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Happens for a Reason: Finding the True Meaning of the Events in Our Lives []  2020-2-4 1:51

    Amazing book- amazing and inspirational read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Happens for a Reason: Finding the True Meaning of the Events in Our Lives []  2020-2-4 1:51

    At the outset, if you are agnostic or atheist, there are a lot of God references. If you are a believer, you may disagree with her ver of ere is a reason you ought never to say to someone who has endured a loss that "everything happens for a reason." Often it doesn't, at least not for any reason similar to the victim. It is not amazing to personalize every poor happening in our lives, and this is exactly what the author would lead the reader to positing that all misfortunes are brought to us by some "cosmic kindergarten" to teach us one of only 10 possible lessons, we are being told a simplified and twisted story. Not to say that we cannot ultimately make meaning out of our losses, which is what the author intends to say. But with courage, hope, the will not to give in to the bad, and with some guidance, there are a lot of possible lessons we can obtain from a loss, there is no limit of stly, the book completely omits discussing the all-important grieving phase essential to process and deal successfully with loss.I very much wanted to like the book, and I certainly think the author means well, but after reading it I cannot enthusiastically recommend it.I found these books helpful:Transcending Loss, PrendNecessary Losses, ViorstWhen Poor Things Happen to Amazing People, Kushner

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Happens for a Reason: Finding the True Meaning of the Events in Our Lives []  2020-2-4 1:51

    Amazing read, with amazing perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Happens for a Reason: Finding the True Meaning of the Events in Our Lives []  2020-2-4 1:51

    Amazing book at a amazing price!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Happens for a Reason: Finding the True Meaning of the Events in Our Lives []  2020-2-4 1:51

    One of the most useless books I’ve ever read! I ordered it by mistake and plowed through half of it just to punish myself, but eventually I could take no more. Boring, trite, and without an ounce of useful so, the premise, as explained is total BS. I work on a suicide and crisis line and if I applied the “principles” of this book to the calls I take, people would hang up on me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Happens for a Reason: Finding the True Meaning of the Events in Our Lives []  2020-2-4 1:51

    loves the book, bought it for her birthday.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Happens for a Reason: Finding the True Meaning of the Events in Our Lives []  2020-2-4 1:51

    I found this to be one of the most useless books I’ve ever attempted to read. It’s a collection of moments from the lives of clients she has served. I felt as if I was reading in circles and getting nowhere. I looked for the app to life, but the more I read, the more frustrated I became. I couldn’t follow where Kirshenbaum was headed. I really did test to search this readable by returning to the book to persevere through each sentence. I can’t recommend and won’t pass it on to a friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything Happens for a Reason: Finding the True Meaning of the Events in Our Lives []  2020-2-4 1:51

    love this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Spiritual Meaning of Freedom []  2020-8-4 19:3

    It was NOt "a book"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Human Existence []  2020-8-26 18:53

    This highly readable text takes on perhaps the most necessary problem for all humankind from vantage point of an smart and remarkably informed mind. The emphasis on biological evolution as the origin of all life including human is solid and convincing. Continuing from his previous writings on consilience, the author proposes a stimulating and productive view of the complementarity of science and the humanities - a refreshing view from a scientist. The criticism of religion in this book is sure to incur opposition but should instead prompt introspection and renewed self-criticism from the religious. Perhaps the aspect of religion that gets relatively small treatment in this book is its role in helping humans cope with the fear of death. The author exemplifies clear-eyed strength of hero and intellectual honesty in his ysis and conclusion about the false basis of all religions, but it would be interesting and perhaps productive to take the same approach to a more in-depth ysis of the origin and function of religion in shielding believers from facing their mortality and in celebrating altruistic, compassionate behavior. Until the majority of the human race finds a method to cope with the fear of death without the crutch of religion, it seems doubtful that the grip of religion and its myths will ever be released. Where else does the courage come from to face the truth of mortal human existence?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Mariah Carey []  2020-9-29 18:0

    I knew Mariah was a brilliant writer. But this is truly special. An awesome journey of an awesome woman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Human Existence []  2020-8-26 18:53

    The title of this book is intriguing but it doesn't live up to it. He doesn't actually talk much about the meaning of human existence. I imagine the title was chosen for marketing reasons. A short, dry read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Human Existence []  2020-8-26 18:53

    The author never really got to the point as to the “meaning of human existence.” He hinted at it, meandered around various topics trying to weave meaning out of our existence unfortunately it failed without substance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Mariah Carey []  2020-9-29 18:0

    THIS BOOK IS THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!! That’s why I bought 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Human Existence []  2020-8-26 18:53

    It has met my expectations. I ordered this book because of several reviews that I read, and a doentary on PBS of Mr. Wilson. I have enjoyed reading it, the only drawback is that I have had to hold a dictionary by my side which really slowed me down, otherwise I would have given it 5 stars. Never the less, an perfect read which backs up much of my thinking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Human Existence []  2020-8-26 18:53

    This is an necessary book written by some one who has thought holistically about human evolution, our brains, science and sociability. He concludes I believe that the religions of the world, a manifestation of our vestigial tribal nature renders us dysfunctional and incapable of adapting to globalization. I'm not so sure. Our nature to band together in tribes, defend and or slay other tribes might just be a natural process for limiting human over populations, the equivalent of periodic fire in grasslands studded with fire resistant oak trees, a so called fire maintained sub-climax. Religion might just be the fire, rather than a "parasite on culture" as he claims.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Mariah Carey []  2020-9-29 18:0

    I ordered the book but I started the audible and I totally recommend it. Pure. Honest. Vulnerable and real.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Mariah Carey []  2020-9-29 18:0

    Long live Mariah Carey!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stop Being Mean to Yourself: A Story About Finding The True Meaning of Self-Love []  2020-2-1 5:15

    This book really captures you. Read it in two sittings and will do it again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stop Being Mean to Yourself: A Story About Finding The True Meaning of Self-Love []  2020-2-1 5:15

    It is often difficult to internalize the concepts discovered by others in their find for enlightenment. Although there were (often creepy) parallels between her experiences in North Africa and my own, as well as similarities in the lessons we have learned, I often found it hard to resonate with Ms Beattie as she told her story. I do appreciate her ogy of spiritual growth to that of a computer game...we just hold going to higher though I will probably never re-read this book, I will hold it in my office for my clients to borrow. Perhaps it will strike a chord with someone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cræft: An Inquiry into the Origins and True Meaning of Traditional Crafts []  2019-12-22 18:34

    I wasn’t expecting detailed instructions on how to weave a bee skep or build a rock wall (as some reviewers apparently were) so I really enjoyed this book. It’s more about how there are various ways of thinking about work (muscle power versus steam and later oil) and how you can do your own work with economy and enjoyment once you have the skills. The chapter about hedges alone is worth the price of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Human Existence []  2020-8-26 18:53

    A very thoughtful speculation on "the meaning of human existence", which the author sees in primarily evolutionary terms. His position is that we Homo Sapiens, who currently dominate the earthly biosphere, are the effect of billions of years of natural selection, not the mythical creation of supernatural powers. Wilson holds no truck with religious explanations, and sees most religions as formerly useful forms of tribalism held over from earlier stages of human evolution. Those attached to "faith based" religion of any dozens will inevitably reject this whole argument. But for those who,like me, cannot accept religious explanations of mankind, it is a strong and persuasive argument.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Human Existence []  2020-8-26 18:53

    E. O. Wilson gives an unblinking look at where the “accidental” species of humans is headed by taking a look at where we came from and how we got here. Selfish and altruistic, the human animal in all its complexity is at a crossroads. Personally, I don’t search the future, as Wilson outlines it, very hopeful or positive. I do search it sadly convincing. We’re alone. No God. Not even aliens to support us out. A thought-provoking work that I’ll meditate on for a time to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Mariah Carey []  2020-9-29 18:0

    I love her! I’ve been a fan since vision of love! I can’t place this book down, it’s so good!! She really had a rough begin in life but really created something of herself. I’m so glad she wrote a book about her life so we can really obtain to know her on more of an intimate level! I highly recommend her book! Love you Mariah!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Mariah Carey []  2020-9-29 18:0

    Really enjoying hearing the early life of such a star. She’s vulnerable, she’s honest, she’s funny.. a must read. Or listen on audible as well! She sings in that version:)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cræft: An Inquiry into the Origins and True Meaning of Traditional Crafts []  2019-12-22 18:34

    A light-hearted, cheery narrator who skips from thought to thought, Langlands clearly loves his subject, or subjects, and knows them well. I did read on for awhile, did learn a few interesting things. But less than a third of the method into this book, I found myself skimming. Though the book is presented as being about craft, it is as much as anything about very old British ways of making things. Yes, making and craft are inextricable in their way. But after awhile, I thought, maybe when I'm building a stone wall I'll come back to this. But for now I'll go back to my David Pye book, and other books. Bottom line, this book I would recommend borrowing from the library. It ran out of steam fast.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stop Being Mean to Yourself: A Story About Finding The True Meaning of Self-Love []  2020-2-1 5:15

    I love the method Music uses her travels to weave the story of her journey. I always feel as though I’m with her, and I always come away, wiser, and stronger.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stop Being Mean to Yourself: A Story About Finding The True Meaning of Self-Love []  2020-2-1 5:15

    This book is various than a lot of of Melodie's titles. Rather than doling out wisdom in neat everyday parcels, she shares insight in the form of story. A lot of cultures use storytelling as a means of sharing their experience, strength, and hope. Her tales of airport customs experiences where she must relate what happened back at the different locations she visited are a excellent backdrop for her messages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stop Being Mean to Yourself: A Story About Finding The True Meaning of Self-Love []  2020-2-1 5:15

    Amazing book, negative self talk doesn’t support you at all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cræft: An Inquiry Into the Origins and True Meaning of Traditional Crafts [Book]  2018-1-13 18:1

    "Cræft" is a mix of the author's experiences and thoughts about different traditional skills that were once vital to our survival. The author is an experimental archaeologist who was involved in BBC shows like Victorian Farm, Edwardian Farm, and Warime Farm. He told stories about his experiences while trying a craft or using the products of traditional crafts. He also contemplated the costs of modern ways of doing things and some advantages of using traditional methods. For some crafts, he described the labor that went into gathering the raw materials and how the craft is done. He provided enough detail that I could understand the primary principles of how it's done, but it's not a how-to guide. It's more an attempt to obtain readers to fully appreciate traditional e author periodically delved into the origins of different words, and he started off with cræft and how it's meaning has changed over time. Then he talked about the tools and considerations that go into haymaking, evolutionary flint tool development, different ways we still use sticks (like in shepherd's crooks), making wicker hives and beekeeping using these hives, building drystone walls and maintaining hedgerows, taking flax and wool from harvesting/shearing to making yarn and weaving, and making wattle hurdles.He examined the different local materials that were used in thatching and how they were used to thatch a roof. He talked about how leather was tanned and the a lot of ways leather has been used (like shoes and harness). He talked about his visit to a traditional farming spot in Iceland and about how British farms used to be very diversified. He talked about dew ponds and how livestock ponds were traditionally constructed, the a lot of ways that pottery and baskets were used in the past, how baskets are made, and his adventures in lime burning. He also talked about digging, both as an archaeologist and in clearing land for a e one thing I found lacking was pictures. Except for one set of sketches showing some tools, there were no pictures of the locations or objects he talked about nor pictures of people doing the craft. I think I would have been able to follow his explanations better if there had been some pictures. Overall, though, it was an interesting book about the author's involvement with traditional crafts.I received a free review copy of this book from the publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cræft: An Inquiry into the Origins and True Meaning of Traditional Crafts []  2019-12-22 18:34

    The author uses a lot of words about crafts and craft-making that are unfamiliar to me. Some he explains; a lot of he doesn't. Of those he didn't explain, most I didn't need to know their meaning. That's because he writes about an idea—making in general, and craft-making specifically, are important, perhaps critical, for modern people to know about, and to e knowledge, skill, and wisdom developed over hundreds or thousands of years about creating a drywall, a thatched roof, a beehive, using and creating leather for a lot of needs, baskets, ploughing and growing food, and all using local and natural materials, has been lost in a lot of cultures, or of which few craftsmen Langlands' book asks us to recognize the knowledge, skills, and wisdom that went into creating and sustaining human life. How we adapted to our surroundings and "Cræft" to understand our past better, and to learn that we are capable of so much more than what some say about how we can and should live. We've given up a amazing deal of ourselves and consciously or unconsciously created choices. We can decide to be and to live differently, or to at least recognize that there is another method to be in the world, and living even a small bit that method may be a bonus we give ourselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cræft: An Inquiry into the Origins and True Meaning of Traditional Crafts []  2019-12-22 18:34

    A unbelievable book, illuminating the essential thought processes and actions of a dozens of crafts, from hay making to wood working, and showing how they invigorate and enhance the experience of self within a social context. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stop Being Mean to Yourself: A Story About Finding The True Meaning of Self-Love []  2020-2-1 5:15

    I went into reading this book how not to be mean to myself I thought it reached my expectations I was amazed by the depths of my heart in the light of my soul

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stop Being Mean to Yourself: A Story About Finding The True Meaning of Self-Love []  2020-2-1 5:15

    Not what I expected but a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Human Existence []  2020-8-26 18:53

    This book should have been titled "The Condition of Human Existence." There is nothing here about meaning, or how it might be created. This is just a biologist reminding everyone again that evolution by natural selection is scientifically factual, and creation myths and folktales are not. Here and there, he flits back and forth between insisting that the sciences and the humanities need each other, but then extolling the sciences as superior. Well, e sciences are undoubtedly superior for describing and classifying the phenomena that we experience, including ourselves. But recognizing the evolutionary bases of the human condition says nothing about the meaning of our existence—it only clears away the authority of mythological accounts that are rooted in supernatural revelation. (And his discussion of those accounts, while appropriately dismissive, is still irritatingly simplistic.) Remaining begin is the question of whether, given the condition of the human species as a product of natural selection, anything resembling meaning or purpose is possible, and, if so, how we might explore or make it. Wilson has nothing to say on that question, and fails even to acknowledge that it might be asked.He does suggest an interesting idea, which is that "individual selection favors what we call sin and group selection favors virtue" (p. 179), but it's not clear how that ought to affect the question of meaning. Undoubtedly, we humans experience a troubling conflict between our individuality and our need for social support, but that is a condition of our existence, not its meaning.If you are looking for another restatement that, yes, evolution by natural selection really does have more explanatory power than supernaturalist creation myths for establishing the conditions of human existence, then this is a decent small book. But it offers nothing further, particularly if you are excited by the title and the prospect of tackling the issue of meaning. And for those who are not already persuaded of our evolutionary nature, I doubt this book will shift your view; he's preaching to the choir.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Human Existence []  2020-8-26 18:53

    I highly recommend this book for people who're really interested in learning where we came from and why we are here. Raised in a religious family in the south, as was Dr. Wilson, I was taught the creation story and all of the other dogma of our religion. Only in the past fifteen years have I really started looking at the "big picture" and understanding what humankind has done to our planet. Wilson notes that he was surprised that hardly anyone is talking about the crucial "big picture" when it comes to how we humans are rapidly destroying the fragile ecosystem that sustains us. This info should be taught in all our schools, but that won't happen anytime soon. That's because at least half of Americans do not believe that humans evolved, and that percentage is going in the wrong direction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Human Existence []  2020-8-26 18:53

    This book is great. It connects humanities with biology and even dares to predict what future E.T.'s coming to Earth would be like. Although I do not agree with his religious views, I found this book enchanting and worthwhile.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Mariah Carey []  2020-9-29 18:0

    I’ve already bought 2 copies. I’ve always loved Mariah and this book has created me love her so much more. I’d highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cræft: An Inquiry into the Origins and True Meaning of Traditional Crafts []  2019-12-22 18:34

    "Cræft" is a mix of the author's experiences and thoughts about different traditional skills that were once vital to our survival. The author is an experimental archaeologist who was involved in BBC shows like Victorian Farm, Edwardian Farm, and Warime Farm. He told stories about his experiences while trying a craft or using the products of traditional crafts. He also contemplated the costs of modern ways of doing things and some advantages of using traditional methods. For some crafts, he described the labor that went into gathering the raw materials and how the craft is done. He provided enough detail that I could understand the primary principles of how it's done, but it's not a how-to guide. It's more an attempt to obtain readers to fully appreciate traditional e author periodically delved into the origins of different words, and he started off with cræft and how it's meaning has changed over time. Then he talked about the tools and considerations that go into haymaking, evolutionary flint tool development, different ways we still use sticks (like in shepherd's crooks), making wicker hives and beekeeping using these hives, building drystone walls and maintaining hedgerows, taking flax and wool from harvesting/shearing to making yarn and weaving, and making wattle hurdles.He examined the different local materials that were used in thatching and how they were used to thatch a roof. He talked about how leather was tanned and the a lot of ways leather has been used (like shoes and harness). He talked about his visit to a traditional farming spot in Iceland and about how British farms used to be very diversified. He talked about dew ponds and how livestock ponds were traditionally constructed, the a lot of ways that pottery and baskets were used in the past, how baskets are made, and his adventures in lime burning. He also talked about digging, both as an archaeologist and in clearing land for a e one thing I found lacking was pictures. Except for one set of sketches showing some tools, there were no pictures of the locations or objects he talked about nor pictures of people doing the craft. I think I would have been able to follow his explanations better if there had been some pictures. Overall, though, it was an interesting book about the author's involvement with traditional crafts.I received a free review copy of this book from the publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cræft: An Inquiry into the Origins and True Meaning of Traditional Crafts []  2019-12-22 18:34

    This was such an enjoyable book. I loved the method he really dove into learning the roots of human technology and innovation. Very fluid writing, especially since he describing very obscure, technical concepts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stop Being Mean to Yourself: A Story About Finding The True Meaning of Self-Love []  2020-2-1 5:15

    Love anything this unbelievable lady writes. Have really gotten into her books the latest few years and then she has changed my life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stop Being Mean to Yourself: A Story About Finding The True Meaning of Self-Love []  2020-2-1 5:15

    Total waste of money. If you wish to read about someone galavanting around the world and her experiences then this could be for you. Offers zero practical ways or guidance on how to actually stop being mean and self critical to yourself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stop Being Mean to Yourself: A Story About Finding The True Meaning of Self-Love []  2020-2-1 5:15

    I love the story of her travels and how it relates to trusting herself and self-esteem, BUT this book is full of dozens and dozens of typos! Why? There is no reason other than that no one proofreads these anymore. After having known the audiobook for 20 years, to go back and actually read it, to search all of these typos was very distracting and it actually takes away from how amazing the story is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cræft: An Inquiry into the Origins and True Meaning of Traditional Crafts []  2019-12-22 18:34

    The book tells you what its going to tell you, tells you what it told you but it never actually tells you. It reminds me of a textbook I once read in college about the history and philosophy of science. The latter was given to me by a mate who'd barely passed one of those watered down survey courses that political science majors take because they don't have the math background to take a true science course. That was the year I was taking some beautiful difficult undergraduate science courses and I recall bewilderment that the mate could actually obtain college credit for reading is book is very amazing at attaching words to the experience of watching someone do something crafty, the experience of working with a well tuned tool, et cetera, but not actually the process of creating using and developing the tools. It talks about the psychology of wall making, the psychology of sheep who wish to knock down walls and the experience but not the detail of the process of choosing stones, laying them, fitting them and building the wall. Same for weaving and other crafts. There is interesting history, interesting subjective experience, some theoretical background, but not anything about the actual nuts and bolts of doing it!I would compare and contrast this to a book about the processes of crafts such as Forgotten Household Crafts or any of the Foxfire series of books. (Foxfire was written using a technique where school teachers sent their students into the community to write about specific people doing specific crafts.) In such books is history, philosophy, subjectivity...but there is discussion of the actual tools and processes.I do appreciate the author's education and would probably like talking to him, listening to his lectures. But one must realize that in anthropology as in the other sciences, being able to spin a amazing yarn is not the method one advances knowledge. This is a amazing yarn but not a amazing inquiry into the origins and real nature of crafts. By method of contrast with a lesser known book in which an expert explores the real nature of a craft I'd suggest The art of flint knapping. Also, for a well considered anthropological perspective on a specific craft one could look at Hot Pursuit: Integrating Anthropology in Find of Ancient Glass-blowers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cræft: An Inquiry into the Origins and True Meaning of Traditional Crafts []  2019-12-22 18:34

    A very engaging book by a maven of English and Northern European field archaeology. His theme concerns the a lot of crafts and techniques that have underlain the progress of our modern civilization. fabric weaving, husbandry of farms and fields, selection and treatment of raw materials (flax, wool, leather, wood) and their processing into crucially useful products - fabric, harness, fencing, to specify a few. His writing shows amazing respect for nature, history, and the hard work of our ancestors, and serves as a useful introduction to managing life's needs in the pre-industrial era. My only cavil with this work is the absence of illustrations, and the difficulty of following his words of description and explanation.On the whole, this book is much better on WHY things were done than it is on HOW. To complete the picture, I would refer the reader to several of the a lot of Eric Sloane books illustrating early American farm life and work. They are, perhaps, less engaging, but they certainly show the theme in a better-illustrated and hence a more digestible manner, and they are currently available here on Amazon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cræft: An Inquiry into the Origins and True Meaning of Traditional Crafts []  2019-12-22 18:34

    Having worked at Colonial Williamsburg in my younger days, I've always had a weakness for lost crafts and skills. This book kept me enthralled through a lot of various skills. He writes wonderfully and hopefully someone out there will take up his knowledge and learn to Pleach their own hedges and create the globe a more attractive place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cræft: An Inquiry into the Origins and True Meaning of Traditional Crafts []  2019-12-22 18:34

    A charming read that combines the author’s private experience (for instance cutting a field of grass with a scythe) and exhaustive anthropological knowledge (how wooden hay rakes were, at one time, grown). An perfect read that would have benefitted from illustrations (!) and an index.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Our Tears: The True Story of the Lawson Family Murders of Christmas Day 1929 [Book]  2018-3-22 18:1

    This real murder story really deeply got to me. In my mind I kind of thought of farm life families so close hard working and above all very religious and never thought anything like incest would have happened back in those was a very well written and detailed written real story. I would highly recommend it to those interested in history and real tragedy of long ago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Our Tears: The True Story of the Lawson Family Murders of Christmas Day 1929 [Book]  2018-3-22 18:1

    The book flowed along nicely. Life during that time period was rough and was pictured nicely in the story. It included the lives of the entire family. From begin to finish. Several quotes from family mates and neighbors created the book even more authentic and believable. The murders and the reason for the murders was Shocking and Sad. I certainly won't be forgetting this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Our Tears: The True Story of the Lawson Family Murders of Christmas Day 1929 [Book]  2018-3-22 18:1

    Very sad story. To think a father could slay his whole family on Christmas Day. But then againThey didn't really celebrate the holiday.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meaning of Our Tears: The True Story of the Lawson Family Murders of Christmas Day 1929 [Book]  2018-3-22 18:1

    I have this in the collectible hard cover, but also wanted the ebook version. This story is so very interesting that I could read this book over and over. The author did a fabulous job with her research. It is written in a special way, especially because of using the quotes from people who knew the victims and the murderer. If you really like a real crime story, this is your book. This isn't your typical book, however, the author has written it more like a quality piece of literature. At times it reads more like a novel. I highly recommend it!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386