Read the two snails who went to the funeral of a dead leaf reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the two snails who went to the funeral of a dead leaf reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mission of a Lifetime: Lessons from the Men Who Went to the Moon []  2020-2-4 18:51

    amazing to relive what I saw.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mission of a Lifetime: Lessons from the Men Who Went to the Moon []  2020-2-4 18:51

    Well written with amazing photos!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mission of a Lifetime: Lessons from the Men Who Went to the Moon []  2020-2-4 18:51

    If you really wish to understand and you should, I mean really understand what it means to go into space, to leave Earth orbit, to circle the Moon, to stand on lunar soil you have one best choice read " The Mission of a Lifetime." It was and it is not just the mission of a lifetime for the Apollo astronauts but for all Americans and all humankind. The only difference between the Apollo astronauts and the rest of us is they went there. It is still our story all of us.What Basil Character has done for all of us is bring us as close as humanly possible to the experience of the Apollo astronauts. Mr. Character makes the reader one with them. No need to close your eyes and dream of going to the Moon. With your eyes wide begin reading "The Mission of a Lifetime" closing your eyes to dream of going to the Moon is a waste of your e only disappointment you will take away from this book and it is a amazing one the hunger for us to go back to the Moon and never leave it barren of human presence ever again. We should all thank Basil Character for what he has accomplished with this remarkable ode to the legendary Apollo astronauts. Read it and you will forever look up at the Moon in the night sky with a sense of awe that will never leave you. Yes it is awesome what one book can accomplish !

    0  


    Add your opinion on the two snails who went to the funeral of a dead leaf or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mission of a Lifetime: Lessons from the Men Who Went to the Moon []  2020-2-4 18:51

    A bit preachy sometimes, but overall, a beautiful amazing read, and as my headline says, not the usual Apollo astronaut bio. Not much on the actual missions (a few details, in particular Apollo 8). More on the psychological and emotional aspects for both the astronauts and their families than on the missions themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mission of a Lifetime: Lessons from the Men Who Went to the Moon []  2020-2-4 18:51

    I loved the book so much that I re-read it to write a blog about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mission of a Lifetime: Lessons from the Men Who Went to the Moon []  2020-2-4 18:51

    This is the very first book I read about the zone program in the U.S. I have not even watched the film Apollo 13. Given my lack of knowledge in this field and my desire to understand the psyche of the astronauts and to learn about the management lessons from it, I am very happy with the research the author had done. The author also told a lot of inspiring stories throughout the book. I would recommend it to anyone who is a first-timer like me in reading about this field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mission of a Lifetime: Lessons from the Men Who Went to the Moon []  2020-2-4 18:51

    Growing up, as the author accurately describes, as the elementary school student watching the TV wheeled into our classroom, I joined America in holding its breath. My dad was an RCA engineer who saw it from the inside. I knew I was going to like this book,and I did. It is beautifully written.I found myself absorbed in the insights, the private snippets. While they are giants, heroes, they are human beings. They were not always heroic, often all too human. They have insights no one else e author himself is sometimes all too human. He writes wonderfully. In the process of researching this book he obviously gained the trust and respect of his subjects. I couldn't support but wonder occasionally - was I reading the thoughts of these heroes, or of the author who dropped in a quote or to in that as it may. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, one of tons I've read about our zone program. It is a unbelievable story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mission of a Lifetime: Lessons from the Men Who Went to the Moon []  2020-2-4 18:51

    Amazing Book !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mission of a Lifetime: Lessons from the Men Who Went to the Moon []  2020-2-4 18:51

    I loved the private connection the astronauts had to each other and to zone and to the moon and the “orb” of earth. Very telling emotions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mission of a Lifetime: Lessons from the Men Who Went to the Moon []  2020-2-4 18:51

    Basil Character has written a superb book on America's amazing adventure in zone -- elegant, evocative, illuminating, and topical in a year we are observing the fiftieth anniversary of landing on the Moon. Understanding the importance of story-telling, Character seeks out 12 astronauts who went to the Moon and asks them what they saw and what they learned about the Moon, about Earth, about themselves. We may commonly see them as astronauts, even technocrats, given their training and experience, but here they appear at times as philosophers and humanists. They offer us lessons from their past in selflessness, courage, leadership, humility, ambition and excellence, among others, that speak to us today. Most powerfully, they have no time for flag-draped politicians they call "false patriots and self-serving [email protected]#$%!&" and they create a stirring appeal to save our planet from the threat of pollution and global warming. Character shimmers in casting the Earth as "a cosmic lighthouse", fifty times brighter than the Moon, which, by contrast, is dark, brooding and barren. Seeing both from zone gave these mariners of the heavens a special perspective. As one of them place it, "we went to discover the Moon, but discovered the Earth instead." This theme -- going into zone and finding home -- is especially inspiring, one of the a lot of discoveries awaiting us on Hero's unbelievable celestial journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Funeral: Dead Things Season Two: Episode One []  2020-8-9 18:53

    This series is so good. I love the story and the characters. This book will hold you hooked from the first page to the last.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Cat Abroad: The Further Adventures of Norton, the Cat Who Went to Paris, and His Human (Norton the Cat) []  2020-2-6 22:54

    I loved the casual and Witty humor the author used to tell the story. I have had cats all my life and now I have pumpkin the sweetest of all, he is 16 and so a lot of thingsabout Norton remind me of him, I can daughter in law told me of this delightful book, thank goodness. I have suggested it to our book club. It is nice to read something non political, violent or mentally disturbing, just a amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Cat Abroad: The Further Adventures of Norton, the Cat Who Went to Paris, and His Human (Norton the Cat) []  2020-2-6 22:54

    I'm still amazed with Norton. I have several catsof my own and none of them could do what Nortoncan. The small gourmet travels through France andItaly with the greatest aplomb receiving love fromall who meet him. I'm also jealous at the life thers gets to live. He's a lucky man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Cat Abroad: The Further Adventures of Norton, the Cat Who Went to Paris, and His Human (Norton the Cat) []  2020-2-6 22:54

    We loved this book and Peter Gethers' other books about Norton. In fact because of these books we have had two Scottish Folds join our family. Thank you Peter! Everybody who loves cats will love the adventures of Norton and Peter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Cat Abroad: The Further Adventures of Norton, the Cat Who Went to Paris, and His Human (Norton the Cat) []  2020-2-6 22:54

    When I found Peter Gethers had continued his Norton saga, I was overjoyed to explore that the witty writing had not diminished at all. Now with Norton (and Peter) heading overseas to France, the sweet Scottish Fold endears himself to all of the readers again, as Gethers makes his readers groan with comments about how nice Nice is. A definite must red!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Cat Abroad: The Further Adventures of Norton, the Cat Who Went to Paris, and His Human (Norton the Cat) []  2020-2-6 22:54

    This is the sequel to A Cat Who Went to Paris. Almost as funny as the first one. In fact, I'm reading the third book by this author about his unbelievable cat, Norton--The Cat Who Lives Forever--and it is as laugh-out-loud funny as the first two. And poignant, and adorable. I would have liked to meet Norton! I read the first two on a cruise and when I got home, I had to refrain from asking my cat why he couldn't do what Norton does and my cat is the best cat in the globe (until Norton)! Sorry, Willi (my Norwegian Forest cat with tuxedo coloring who doesn't obtain angry at me when I travel and jumps right back into my lap), you really are the best cat I've ever MET in the world!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Cat Abroad: The Further Adventures of Norton, the Cat Who Went to Paris, and His Human (Norton the Cat) []  2020-2-6 22:54

    Norton is a one-of-a-kind cat. If Mr. Gethers ever gets another cat I hope he will write about his fresh best friend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Cat Abroad: The Further Adventures of Norton, the Cat Who Went to Paris, and His Human (Norton the Cat) []  2020-2-6 22:54

    Love, love, LOVE Peter Gethers and his stories about his Scottish fold cat, Norbert! I gave my Mom "50 Shades of Gray" and this book for Christmas latest year. She had no comments about "50 Shades of Gray," but when I asked her how she liked THIS book, she became all bubbly and happy. There are several books about this cat, and I recommend that you begin with the first one, which I think is "The Cat Who Went to Paris." Peter Gethers hated cats, but this cat tamed him. The cat has some very unusual characteristics which set it apart from the rest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Cat Abroad: The Further Adventures of Norton, the Cat Who Went to Paris, and His Human (Norton the Cat) []  2020-2-6 22:54

    I read it once before but it is so funny I got it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Cat Abroad: The Further Adventures of Norton, the Cat Who Went to Paris, and His Human (Norton the Cat) []  2020-2-6 22:54

    Allow me say first off that I think Peter Gethers is a amazing writer. That's my opinion, and his first book about Norton, "The Cat Who Went to Paris", was great. It was funny and entertaining and I fell in love with Norton. This second book in the trilogy was very disappointing after the first one. Instead of being about Norton, it was mostly about Peter Gethers, his girlfriend Janis and his very pompous, overdone travelogue of Europe. Sure, Norton was in there, but not as much as he should have been. I found Gethers' constant French phrases throughout the book to be very annoying and totally self-serving. I'm assuming that this was Gethers' attempt to present his readers how sophisticated, worldly and necessary he had become, but to me it came across as pompous, overbearing and grating. I don't speak or read French as I'm sure a lot of other readers do not, so it was aggravating when he would present off by throwing out French (and sometimes Italian) phrases all over the put without even interpreting what they mean in English. That's just plain ignorant. Sometimes he did translate, but most times he didn't and there really was no reason for the constant French and Italian phrases other than to pump up his own ego. Other readers mentioned his matter-of-fact name-dropping as being annoying. Yeah, it was. It's okay to mention popular people you know, but Peter overdid it. He knows popular actors, writers and directors, but everyone he meets in France falls in love with him and Janis. Every restaurant owner bows down to them and Norton. Come on. I have to wonder how overdone some of his adulation really was on the part of the author. His jokes about Nice and the word "nice" were beautiful dumb as was the Ayatollah game. Sorry Peter, they just weren't funny. They were as juvenile as you can get.He talked about meal constantly. I'm surprised he doesn't weigh 300 lbs. He fed Norton some very fine cuisine which makes me wonder why Norton didn't obtain very fat; however, I haven't read the third book yet. Maybe he did. Most veterinarians would tell you that the amount of rich food, including a lot of sweets, that Norton ate while in Gethers' care is not healthy. My own beloved Calico cat died from diabetes in 2004 at the age of 13 and before she was diagnosed, I stupidly fed her ice cream and sweets as Gethers did with Norton. I fed her the finest cat meal but didn't realize the sweets would damage her. I don't even recall if Peter mentions taking Norton to a vet in either of these books. If he did, I don't l I know is that I do believe this second book in the trilogy was written by the author, for the author and about the author. Norton was secondary here and that's a shame. He's one hell of a cat, if all the stories are true. I didn't wish a tour of France. I just wanted to read about Norton. It would have been okay in Europe if he had written more about the cat and less about the bakeries and wine. Oh, I meant "patisserie" and "vin". How annoying. I'm really hoping the third and latest book will be on par with the first. I'm hoping Norton will be more prominent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Cat Abroad: The Further Adventures of Norton, the Cat Who Went to Paris, and His Human (Norton the Cat) []  2020-2-6 22:54

    I actually read the 3rd book, The Cat who'll live forever, 1st after my dad lent it to me. I loved it. It had me laughing & crying. So when I got my kindle, I bought A Cat Abroad ( book 1 wasn't available on Kindle @ that time). I really have fun Peter Gethers' writing style. I loved this book, not quite as much as The Cat Who'll live Forever, but since I seam to be reading this series in reverse, I suspect that the 3rd & latest book was the best. I just started the 1st book , The Cat that went to Paris, so, we'll see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Battle: Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the Boys Who Went to War []  2020-8-2 18:43

    A true disappointing book for me after looking forward to reading it. The topic of the book should have created for a amazing read, but the author really did not do the story justice. It focuses on the Rose Bowl of 1942 just weeks after the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbour, and this android game has still been the only Rose Bowl to be played outside Pasadena due to invasion scares in California. It follows the histories of both schools, Duke and Oregon State, their coaches and the history of the Rose Bowl, and the lives of a few players throughout their schooling and service in the military, but the book lacks focus and jumps around too much between the men and makes one just lose interest in the book. A huge miss for me and it is such a pity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Battle: Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the Boys Who Went to War []  2020-8-2 18:43

    "Fields of Battle" was very informative, both as to the small known (at least to me) info of the only Rose Bowl android game played away from Pasadena and as to the subsequent histories of the Duke and Oregon State squads and the 1942 Rose Bowl participants. I claim no technical expertise as a writer or critic, but I found "Field of Battle" very readable as well as interesting in topic matter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Battle: Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the Boys Who Went to War []  2020-8-2 18:43

    I absolutely love how the author thoroughly researched both the sports history and Globe Battle II history and wrap them both together. This book was definitely a nonstop read for me, but even as huge sports fan I never knew that a Rose Bowl android game was played anywhere else ... allow alone on the Duke University campus. And will football may have been one part of these young men’s lives are truly became the greatest generation when I went off the war in Globe Battle II. This book definitely relays all of that what a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Battle: Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the Boys Who Went to War []  2020-8-2 18:43

    I love this book because it talk about football and politics history of roses blow android game sorry for st of spelling on that yes steep history is dark like any method . This book present the problem soldiers have reentering in to see soicty. The author gave a story never really look into after year about esp N or hbo

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Battle: Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the Boys Who Went to War []  2020-8-2 18:43

    This a amazing book about the men who were a part of the 1942 Rose Bowl game. This game, as you know, was played just after Pearl Harbor. The android game had to be moved to Durham, NC as the west coast was in complete panic at the time for a feared Japanese invasion or bombings. This, to date, is the only time the Rose Bowl was played outside of Pasadena. But this book is much much more about the men who were a part of this android game than the android game itself. The book does begin out by giving the acc of the android game and how it came together for Durham. Also lays the ground work for all the key people who were in this game. Then after the android game nearly all of these men went off to war. Even both head coaches were participants. Then it tells what happens to each of the key people during the battle and what affects it had on them after the war. Some very gripping accounts of individuals and the horrors of battle that followed them all of their life. Also the story of a Japanese-American who played for Oregon State and his time in an internment camp during the battle created this book even more compelling. Just a terrific book that was hard to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Battle: Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the Boys Who Went to War []  2020-8-2 18:43

    I have been an Oregon State fan since birth and have always heard rumors of how we won the only Rose Bowl not played in Pasadena, so I was interested in a book written about it. The book is amazing about the backgrounds and histories of the players and coaches on both sides, but the true value of this book is how their lives intertwined during and after the war. Glad to have another example of the Greatest Generation before they are all gone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Battle: Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the Boys Who Went to War []  2020-8-2 18:43

    No need to write a narrative of the book, just read the previous, well done, review by "Book Reporter."This one of the best sports books I have ever read, but it is much more than a sports book, It is a sports/history book unlike any other I have read. The writer does a unbelievable job of detailing the happenings leading up to ne of which I ever learned in American History classes in HS or college. The beauty of this book is how the author intertwines the happening leading up to, during and after the battle and how it impacted the players and coaches from both Duke University and Oregon State; Two schools far apart geographically but brought together by football and war. The story of how these two schools ended up playing in the only Rose Bowl android game ever played in Durham NC is fascinating and that story alone is worth reading the book. The author did a remarkable job of researching this book, and the info create this a truly memorable reading experience. Once I started I could not place the book down! I highly recommend this book and would give it 10 Stars is I could.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Battle: Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the Boys Who Went to War []  2020-8-2 18:43

    This book has unique meaning to me as a graduate of Oregon State University (MS 1990). It is well done and a amazing mixture of sports history combined with American History. Tying in coaches and players into the android game of football and the android game of life. The author does a nice job of taking players and coaches off the football field and their hero shows up on the war field. Just outstanding. The problem of race was another element the author did not shy away from. It was a time of such patriotism and honor, but the blindfold of racism was evident in 1942. A Japanese student athlete for Oregon State not able to travel with his squad on the train or play in the android game is shocking, as is the notion of African Americans initially not allowed to attend the Rose Bowl game, although a few were allowed to attend at the latest moment in a segregated section. Times were various for sure and this books is a amazing time capsule for the reader. I really enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Battle: Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the Boys Who Went to War []  2020-8-2 18:43

    Very interesting to me as someone who enjoys these kinds of unique historical pieces. In my case, I'm also an Oregon State graduate and former student/athlete from the early sixties, so learning of the history of the football squad is enjoyable. Also, the book does a nice job of discussing other aspects of life in the US during the WW II years. The connections between the Duke and OSU players, including Tommy Prothro who later coached OSU, were an interesting aspect of the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Battle: Pearl Harbor, the Rose Bowl, and the Boys Who Went to War []  2020-8-2 18:43

    Well written narrative that brings an era back to life. I've spent a lot of a Saturday in Wallace Wade stadium watching Duke play so the 1942 Rose Bowl history is familiar. However, I learned much more of the story and the fascinating lives led by the participants. A amazing read and recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went to Paris (Norton the Cat) []  2020-11-8 19:1

    The book could be titled, “Travels with Norton,” the endearing Scottish Fold cat that accompanies his owner everywhere, whether padding a few steps behind as the narrator walks to the shop on Fire Island or curled up in a shoulder bag jetting across the thers, a self-described Jack-of-all-trades, writes prose that is lively, clear, organized, humorous, often touching. Norton, who steals our hearts and tickles our fancy dictates much of the author’s life. For example, the ubiquitous girlfriends–I counted eight–must share their bed with Norton if they wish to sleep with e issue with this book is that the narrator constantly upstages his feline friend. I grew tired of the hyperbole. Gethers has a penchant for name-dropping, not only people, notably his amazing pal Roman Polanski and Harrison Ford, but hotels, restaurants, clubs, even airplanes (The Concorde). His girl mates are drop-dead gorgeous and y, in spite of claiming his taste usually “ran to slightly trashy.” One conquest “was the most intelligent, most stimulating, and least boring person I’d met in a long time.” This shortly after working with Polanski and reen writers specialize in lean prose and focus. Moviegoers don’t wish to be distracted by minor characters. This book would have been better at 100 pages, an simple goal to attain by removing half the author’s amorous another reviewer, I regret that I also bought the two sequels when I ordered this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went to Paris (Norton the Cat) []  2020-11-8 19:1

    Purchased this as a gift. Love this book and have often bought it for cat lovers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Who Went Nowhere []  2020-5-15 18:28

    Once I started this book I had to [email protected]#$%!. I really liked the characters relationships and hope this author will continue their stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Who Went Nowhere []  2020-5-15 18:28

    This book starts with with a scared small girl running into the woods and encountering a frightening beast. She had totally disappeared after that time, and was presumed dead. Quick forward to the show and we encounter Ethan Archer, a has-been personal investigator who avenges women who have been mistreated and raped by men. He is hired as an investigator by Gwendoline Thomas, whose family business has been targeted by a blackmailer. This begins his journey to a cabin in Montana where members of the wealthy Woodrough family are murdered one by one. Woven in the book are several other plot lines, such as a sadistic serial killer, formerly known as the Cowboy, but now as Casanova. As the story progresses,Casanova and the Woodrough guild start to converge upon each other. This book is suspenseful and terrifying, and concludes in a very unexpected manner. I was hooked on the story and had problem putting it down. This book would create a amazing movie. I highly recommend it to all fans of suspense and mystery. I obtained this advance readers copy through Booksprout.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went to Paris (Norton the Cat) []  2020-11-8 19:1

    I love cats, as well as books about cats, and Norton is too adorable to be resisted. I have to say, though, that if all of Norton's escapades were true, then I think Peter Gethers is in the top 2 percent of irresponsible cat owners. It's obvious that he truly loved Norton, and in a lot of ways created Norton a high priority in his life, but he was forever putting his beloved feline in danger! I also read the second and third books in the series, so I don't remember if some of the happenings happened in this book or later ones, but all the books relate tales of Norton roaming through strange cities alone, being left unattended in airports, falling from high places, and the list goes on. I won't belabor the point, but I do wonder if it ever occurred to Mr. Gethers that Norton could have been mauled by a dog, run over by a car, attacked by another cat and exposed to feline leukemia, or even stolen? He was a popular cat, after all, and beautiful recognizable with those ears. Anyway, I loved Norton, but I would have liked to hear a lot more about him, and a lot less about the author and his celebrity pals. And please, if anyone reading this book thinks they might adopt the author's cat-care methods, I hope you'll reconsider.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went to Paris (Norton the Cat) []  2020-11-8 19:1

    This book was recommended by a flight attendant who had met the author on occasion. We were talking about cats, and when I mentioned that I had Scottish Folds, she told me I must read the book. She was right. It is a delightfully fun read.I think this book is for anyone who loves to travel and understands the love that cats bring into our lives. It's light and refreshing. It's a love story, not only about Norton, Mr. Gethers' cat, but also his wife, family, and tish Fold owners will definitely know why Norton is not a regular cat, and why he charms everyone he meets.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went to Paris (Norton the Cat) []  2020-11-8 19:1

    One of my all-time favorite books! (the book, not the edited audio edition I bought too). The first time I read it, I laughed out loud, and appreciated the fact that it was written by a man. The second time I read it, I chuckled; the tenth time i read it, it helped obtain me out of a poor mood. Of course, I read all three in the series but this one and the final book are in my top 50 books. It also created me interested in the Scottish Fold; however, I don't believe in buying any animal with so a lot of in shelters and so a lot of poor breeders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went to Paris (Norton the Cat) []  2020-11-8 19:1

    I just purchased this book a couple of weeks ago and I read it in one night. Mr. Gethers does a amazing job telling us about "his small guy". He is honest and interesting, and he is very funny. (I was laughing out loud while reading about Norton's first plane trip). Most importantly, he is a very faithful mate to Norton. Norton gives a lot in return. It is impossible not to fall in love with Norton while reading this book. So, I raced out to purchase the next two Norton books but only the third book was in stock. I am almost done with it, and I have to say it is just as amazing as this book, if not better. I highly recommend both books. Read them - You will not be sorry. I have the feeling the 2nd book in the series is another winner, and I will pick it up ASAP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Who Went Nowhere []  2020-5-15 18:28

    I found the violence in this book disturbing. I also thought there was too much going on. The first part was a combination of upsetting violence, boring stories and confusion. I wanted to know what happened to the girl, but she was beautiful much forgotten til the end. I almost quit reading. Then it got better. Reminded me of Agatha Christi. Finally they tied all the murders and storylines together and I just didn't think it worked. It just seemed too unbelievable and unreal. I also suspected the e book was ok but not great. I probably wouldn't recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Who Went Nowhere []  2020-5-15 18:28

    Started out good, then went into environmental facts about drilling oil, then into a ver of the android game Clue, After that I couldn't continue, Could Not finish is. Rarely do I Not finish a book, just couldn't obtain into this o e. Sorry I don't like to give low reviews, but had to in this case.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Who Went Nowhere []  2020-5-15 18:28

    This is the first work I've read by this author. The story description grabbed my attention and since I love a amazing mystery and suspense story, I thought I'd read and review it. Needless to say I was not disappointed. The story lived up to it's description and then some. The characters are well developed and the story line has plenty of suspense to hold you turning the pages. Once you begin reading, you'll search it hard to place it down until you [email protected]#$%!.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Who Went Nowhere []  2020-5-15 18:28

    This is one of the best books I have read in a very long time. Usually, I figure out what's going to happen early on but not this one. I absolutely did not see this end coming. Very well written and lots of twists. Would very highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went to Paris (Norton the Cat) []  2020-11-8 19:1

    Funny - I just reviewed a bunch of Proust, and now I'm on to Norton and Peter is is a lovely story. I first read it ages ago (when it was new, I think) on an airplane. Being a fresh cat companion, I was interested in other people's experiences, and I had a flight to obtain through. I had no idea I would fall in love with a furry feline the method I fell for me don't like Peter Gethers' name dropping. I found it slightly hilarious to imagine Norton doing all of those things I'll never obtain to do. I liked it for the humorous viewpoint of seeing this globe through a cat's eyes. I'd imagine Norton is not impressed by anyone's wealth or cently when speaking about the best animal stories with a friend, I suggested The Cat Who Went to Paris and was horrified to learn that my copy was missing. I immediately replaced it along with the two sequel volumes, and even on a second read, it's as charming as ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went to Paris (Norton the Cat) []  2020-11-8 19:1

    I loved this book! It was so fun. I love cats and this cat had quite an adventure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went to Paris (Norton the Cat) []  2020-11-8 19:1

    If you love cat's, and maybe if you don't usually love cat's, this is one unique relationship and one unbelievable kitty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Who Went Nowhere []  2020-5-15 18:28

    What did I like about this book? EVERYTHING! What did I dislike about this book? NOTHING! It was probably the best, most entertaining book I've ever read. With most books I've read lately I end up skimming over most of it just to obtain to the end. Not so with The Girl Who Went Nowhere. I found myself reading it very slowly because I didn't wish it to end. And speaking of end, I didn't see that coming, at all! I'm not sure when I pre-ordered it but it showed up on my Kindle Saturday morning and I'm so glad it did. I certainly hope there will be a sequel, or six. 😊 I will definitely recommend to others. Thank you Marc for a unbelievable book, and please hold em coming!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Who Went Nowhere []  2020-5-15 18:28

    The Girl Who Went Nowhere is probably the best I have ever read. I've read more books than the average person, I believe, as I have read avidly since I first learned to read and now I'm nearing 80 years of age. This book never once was lagging, or boring, or slow-moving, or repetitive. I could hardly place it down (and I don't often say that). The main characters were extremely interesting and simple to like. If you wish a amazing engrosing book to read, this is the one. To my knowledge this is the first book I have read by Marc Daniel but definitely will NOT be the last. What a mystery. The disturbing topic of this book was horrifying but created interesting by the magic of this author's writing. Jennifer's hero was actually mystifying. I was given a free copy for voluntarily writing a review. Sure glad I did. Thank you, Marc Daniel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went to Paris (Norton the Cat) []  2020-11-8 19:1

    I enjoyed this story about Norton, the Scottish Fold Cat. Although it may seem like the cat's behavior has been exaggerated, I doubt that it has been. The only explanation I can extend to those who haven't experienced anything like this is that certain exceptional cats seem to be telepathically linked with people. I was blessed with a cat like this at one time, and I am delighted to read about another of these unbelievable small beings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Who Went Nowhere []  2020-5-15 18:28

    Book had lots of twists and turns - took a bit to hold all the characters straight but about halfway through the book, it was hard to place down. I will say that the book was beautiful graphic, violence wise, so reader beware. Parts of it were tough to read because of that. The ending fell apart a little, and you have to suspend belief a bit - but I didn't figure it out until the author was ready for me to. Overall, amazing book and I would read this author again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Girl Who Went Nowhere []  2020-5-15 18:28

    I received this book in exchange for my honest review.I am so sad and disappointed that this book turned out to be such a disjointed story filled with depravity. The description of this book sounded so intriguing, but as soon as the prologue was over it jumped from one storyline to the next with no clear connection between the different stories until the e first few chapters were very hard for me to stomach due to the violent acts described, but I kept reading to figure out what happened to the girl. Disappointingly, you don't search out until the jumbled mess of an ending. The ending tied it all together, but it was so unrealistic and complicated that it was almost laughable.Overall I didn't connect with any of the characters, and felt that this book was more disturbing than enjoyable. I would not recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grave Matters: A Journey Through the Modern Funeral Industry to a Natural Way of Burial []  2020-10-24 18:24

    This book gives a range of options for taking care of a body after a person has died. It is roughly organized from least to most ecologically sound in terms of the methods. Each chapter is anchored by a poignant story of a family using the particular way being discussed. Each chapter ends with extra resources. I [email protected]#$%! had more practical info but maybe that's better placed in a separate volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grave Matters: A Journey Through the Modern Funeral Industry to a Natural Way of Burial []  2020-10-24 18:24

    fair ship time.... amazing read about the funeral industry and options available for people who don't wish to turn over their loved ones to complete strangers/funeral directors- who charge rediculous prices, for performing a deed families can do themselves and in doing so regain the diginity, healing, and ability to connect with their loved ones in a method which brings real closure and compassion..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grave Matters: A Journey Through the Modern Funeral Industry to a Natural Way of Burial []  2020-10-24 18:24

    Finally, someone has punched a big, wide hole in the distasteful practice of the American funeral. This book might surprise you on how it will change your perspective on death; either of a loved one or your own eventual one. Who in their right mind has wanted to consider a funeral in the framework of the century-long trend of embalming, gawking and metal boxing. But to consider it in the eco-friendly, natural ways that Harris discusses here is strangely much more acceptable. I feel amazingly better about the whole business now that I know no one in my immediate family or myself will have to be pumped with posion, laid out like a plastic dummy and placed in a $10,000 container that will never be seen again, or created to enhance the earth in any way. Weird as it may seem to those who may not have read this book, I will take much pleasure when I soon start building my own coffin. Not that I plan to use it for the next couple of decades, but it surely will give me a platform to talk about the hideous practice of the traditional but obscene American funeral. I plan to create my own coffin, but have yet decided to be buried or creamated in it. Mr. Harris, thank you. And to those kind souls who participated in a very necessary book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went into the Closet []  2020-12-18 22:18

    I loved these books-read years ago and gave them away-now I have re-purchased all and will hold them. You obtain to know and like-or dislike-the towns characters. They are like old friends. I never liked Polly though-she was a pain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went into the Closet []  2020-12-18 22:18

    This book was an perfect read. I highly recommend it. Enter the globe where a reporter inherited a lot of cash and acquired two Siamese cats. The one cat is a kleptomaniac, sort of. The other is really smart, maybe smarter than the reporter. They solve crimes in unusual ways.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went into the Closet []  2020-12-18 22:18

    I love "cozy" mysteries....yes, there is an ongoing romance but we are not subjected to the details. I'm more interested in the murder(s). It is nice that a lot of of the characters carry over from one book to another (or at least until they become a victim). I don't know if Ms. Braun's style of writing is for everyone but I have fun these books immensely. I cannot wait to obtain to the end but then I'm a small sad the murder has been solved, at least there are plenty more books in the series. There are some very amazing reviews already listed-much better than I can give.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went into the Closet []  2020-12-18 22:18

    Sorry. But the whole thing has gotten a small stale. Moving Q. up north and inheriting $bazzilions worked for a while, but now both the characters and plots have become rather strained.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grave Matters: A Journey Through the Modern Funeral Industry to a Natural Way of Burial []  2020-10-24 18:24

    I've read several books on this subject, and this is my favorite. Lots of info on each topic, but not a large book. So a lot of people don't know what really happens to a body after death, depending on what is chosen. Why wouldn't you wish to know these things when it applies to all of us? How can you even choose something knowing so small about it? And sometimes we are left to choose for others who didn't create their wishes known. Don't wait until that moment arrives and have to create a choice without knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grave Matters: A Journey Through the Modern Funeral Industry to a Natural Way of Burial []  2020-10-24 18:24

    This book has lovely stories about the options for a private burial. The examples were comforting about each option. There were also lots of suggestions about research for specifics to your own situation. Amazing book full of helpful info no matter why you are reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grave Matters: A Journey Through the Modern Funeral Industry to a Natural Way of Burial []  2020-10-24 18:24

    This book is my absolute favorite informational book that I've read in regards to various options on burial. It is so well written and full of fascinating information. I couldn't place it down. I recommend this book to everyone who is wanting to discover their various options in burial. It definitely changed my opinion on what I wish to happen to me once I am dead. This book is well worth the cash and time. Plus, it gave stories to go along with each chapter to walk you through begin to finish with each process which was fascinating. The author left no info out when it came to price (estimates), process, steps, environmental impact, and other info that one might not even think about when planning a funeral. I can't praise this book enough. I think everyone should have a copy of this book in their collection. It would create things so much easier for everyone in regards to planning and education of their death plans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grave Matters: A Journey Through the Modern Funeral Industry to a Natural Way of Burial []  2020-10-24 18:24

    This book, GRAVE MATTERS< has really enlighted my mind to what really occurs in time of "family needs". It was extremely helpful in opening my mind and helping me to create my final decisions concerning my future needs. I plan on being here for a long time, but my final "path" will be by method of THE GREEN FUNERAL, The "natural way" is certainly more logical for me! This book was eye opening to an industry that has overtaken the public's needs in time of family loss and sadness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grave Matters: A Journey Through the Modern Funeral Industry to a Natural Way of Burial []  2020-10-24 18:24

    I have been reading about death and the mortuary trade for the latest several months. Nothing seemed to really shock nor disturb me but the opening chapter of Grave Matters really stuck with me. Thought the info presented was very well laid out and without prejudice. I think after reading Mr. Harris' book you come away better educated and able to create an appropriate decision when the time comes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grave Matters: A Journey Through the Modern Funeral Industry to a Natural Way of Burial []  2020-10-24 18:24

    Perfect book. Much more here than info about green burials. Step-by-step info on how embalming and cremation are done, what happens to the casket & body after burial underground, and then fresh info on home funerals, wood boxes built by carpenters instead of having to use caskets, and finally backyard and natural burials. You won't search all this info in any other book! A issue I would have with green burials is any cemetery not allowing grave markers except for flat, natural rocks such as the Ramsey Green cemetery written about here. To taphophiles like me, gravestones and their art, not to mention the historical monuments they are, are necessary to remember the deceased.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grave Matters: A Journey Through the Modern Funeral Industry to a Natural Way of Burial []  2020-10-24 18:24

    I didn't give the book a five star because of the overall subject. No one really wants to go there. I became aware of this book when I visited the www service for the only "green burial site" in Ohio. That website recommended the book. The book is very informative. I've given copies to two of my friends; delivered one copy yesterday. The book is well written, subjects are backed by factual info and the like. If you aren't sure about how your body is to be disposed of when the time comes then this book is a very amazing read for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went into the Closet []  2020-12-18 22:18

    This is book #15 in "The Cat Who..." series by Lillian Jackson Braun. In this book Qwill and the cats move into a mansion in downtown. Qwill finds info about a fire that destroyed the entire zone in the past and makes up a one-man broadcast play about it and starts touring around Moose County doing performances. This book will really draw you into the fear and horrible sights that occurred during this not good fire. Koko is on the job to solve another mystery. This house has a lot of closets and Koko keeps disappearing into them and coming up with clues about the supposed suicide of the mansions owner, Euphonia Gage. A amazing fresh hero is introduced from Florida, Celia Robinson, who helps Qwill with info about Ms Gage's landlords. She's hilarious! One of Lillian Jackson Braun's best "Cat Who..." books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went into the Closet []  2020-12-18 22:18

    I have been reading this collection for years. It reads like a soap opera. I know the characters, the city and look forward to another installment at the end of each novel. Since the author is deceased, I figure that by he time I read the latest novel, so a lot of years have gone by from the first one, I will re read the collection again. This s why I'm thrilled I have them as Kindle Editions. This is light reading. Not for everyone. But if you have fun light whimsical story telling with detailed imagery if characters and setting you should have fun these books. The author did obtain a small bit repetitive in her latest few books, as she aged some. But it was still enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went into the Closet []  2020-12-18 22:18

    The Cat Who... books are lots of fun. The characters in the book are interesting. And, one of my mates once said, "I want I could meet Jim Qwilleran!"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went into the Closet []  2020-12-18 22:18

    Interesting story with some of the same characters and some fresh interesting ones. Koko still manages to support Qwil obtain answers to the mysteries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went into the Closet []  2020-12-18 22:18

    She did it again. Lillian Jackson Braun's Jim Qwilleran and his cats, Koko and Yum-yum are always a delight. If you like lots of quirkyv lovable characters and little city feel, you will have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cat Who Went into the Closet []  2020-12-18 22:18

    I think this was my favorite "The Cat Who.." so far. It is late autumn in Pickax. Qwill and the cats rent a downtown mansion from Mrs. Gage to be closer to civilization in case of blizzards. Qwill has just written a play about a fire long ago in Pickax and begins giving e city receives word that Mrs. Gage who had sold out and moved to Florida, had committed suicide. Qwill and Koko do not feel all is right with that ong the way, Qwill meets a young, beautiful, dog sled racer who had a huge part in this mystery. The story takes put over my three favorite holidays; Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas. You will love this edition of "The Cat Who..." series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Early Russians: The Funeral of a Rus’ Viking Chief []  2020-12-13 19:22

    This is a amazing text but a vastly inferior translation. I had originally read this in the appendix to Gwyn Jones', A History of the Vikings. This translation is not inconsistent with that, but much less specific and it certainly loses a bit of the meaning captured by the Gwyn Jones version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Dead Is No Excuse: The Official Southern Ladies Guide to Hosting the Perfect Funeral []  2020-4-3 18:49

    As the title suggests, the book is about proper Southern etiquette for funerals. It is hilarious in locations and, if you are a Southern woman, you'll be able to relate to a goodly portion of the book. Not being from the Delta, some of the (many) recipes weren't familiar, but the differences between Methodist funeral meal and Episcopalian funeral meal was beautiful funny. Thrown in for amazing measure are the well-stocked, death-ready pantry items, the do's and don't of funeral flowers and appropriate funeral music. Enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Dead Is No Excuse: The Official Southern Ladies Guide to Hosting the Perfect Funeral []  2020-4-3 18:49

    This book certainly gives insight into the traditional Southern send-off of those who were born to the traditions of the Southern funeral. A fun read even for those not good souls not native to our definitely Southern traditions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Dead Is No Excuse: The Official Southern Ladies Guide to Hosting the Perfect Funeral []  2020-4-3 18:49

    I loved this book. I live in a little city in Alabama and grew up in an even smaller town. My mother (and now my sister, since mother passed) was never without a new pound cake to be delivered to a funeral. May god have mercy on your soul if brought a shop baked or even worse a cake mix cake close to her. I think I know all of these people by a various name.I swear several of the stories were written about my now deceased mother in law, who had amazing disdain for people who could not afford the old section of the cemetery. If you love southern culture, you have to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Dead Is No Excuse: The Official Southern Ladies Guide to Hosting the Perfect Funeral []  2020-4-3 18:49

    Amazing recipes mixed in with true southern humor. I thoroughly enjoyed the colourful method the characters in the individual chapters were detailed. Found myself laughing out loud while I was reading. Just amazing old fashioned funny, especially if you are from the south, well, semi-south. That is what we call Virginia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Dead Is No Excuse: The Official Southern Ladies Guide to Hosting the Perfect Funeral []  2020-4-3 18:49

    Folks - can't add to a lot of of the reviews here, given this isn't a fresh release. But if you are here reading this...Consider this as a crash course in recipes that have been around long before we ever heard of Paula Dean. This is a recipe book written with Erma Bombeck wit, and and a true feel for the Southern Church Lady culture we've come to know and love. For as much laughing as I have done reading the narrative, each one of these recipes has been used more than a few times at parties and socials. The humor is timeless, and you'll never feel so poor at a funeral after reading a chapter from this and bringing the family of the deceased a recipe or two from this ven more of these away than Gideon had Bibles or Carter had liver . My favorites are the Beer-Cheese Pimiento, the Breakfast Casserole, and Homemade Vegetable Soup. You can follow the recipe, substitute the Campbell's soup mix with white sauces mixed with celery and mushrooms created from the juice of the veggies sauteed in butter and white wine, with cream folded in - for a Julia touch. If you're already dealing with death, no reason you can't add a dash of the perfectly divine!Highly recommend. Just place the butcher knife down before you read the funny parts!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Dead Is No Excuse: The Official Southern Ladies Guide to Hosting the Perfect Funeral []  2020-4-3 18:49

    This book deserves to be on a shelf with your other cookbooks. If you like old fashioned, simple to create and unbelievable to eat recipes, this book is for you. Along with recipes are unbelievable stories about funerals that take put in the Delta. I’m absolutely delighted with the book and will hold this one handy and certainly will create a lot if the recipes in it. But, nit a book fir those who disdain eating recipes that sometimes have a can of soup added to it. I have no objections. 😊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Dead Is No Excuse: The Official Southern Ladies Guide to Hosting the Perfect Funeral []  2020-4-3 18:49

    If you are from the South or just a wannabe, this is a delightful read. You will recognize a lot of of the characters though you may have never met the ones in the book personally. Tradition, custom, and social mores are all there, intermingled with some tasty recipes. After reading this, you will look forward to the funeral food, assuming you have the amazing taste to be Southern (or want you were).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Dead Is No Excuse: The Official Southern Ladies Guide to Hosting the Perfect Funeral []  2020-4-3 18:49

    This was our book to read for month of Oct for our book club and This was a “laugh out loud” book. Well written and the recipes are great. I am looking forward to trying at least 6 of the recipes so far I tried the fried chicken and it was just as amazing as when my Mother fried it years and years ago. I didn’t have a cast iron skillet but my massive duty stainless steel worked just fine. I then created the Lowery’s Fudge Cake...Yummy, which said that it was always served,each slice, wrapped in wax paper....I am going to take it to my book club this week...yes, wrapped each slice in wax paper. This is a amazing addition to any cookbook and the story is amazing and so true. Enjoy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Dead Is No Excuse: The Official Southern Ladies Guide to Hosting the Perfect Funeral []  2020-4-3 18:49

    These recipes are unbelievable (as well as inexpensive) and are appropriate for all kinds of occasions, not just wakes. The narrative provokes out-loud belly laughs. Also, between the lines this Mississippi author gives an in-depth cultural acc of funerals in the Deep South, which to this Catholic Vermonter was a strangely pleasantly look into another globe that isn't so various after all. Most of all, though, the recipes are wonderful. The pickled shrimp, the "Methodist lasagna," the homemade mayonnaise and the tomato aspic are all first-class dishes you could show to impress any guest. The vodka-Kahlua chocolate cake is fantastic, so watch it disappear.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Being Dead Is No Excuse: The Official Southern Ladies Guide to Hosting the Perfect Funeral []  2020-4-3 18:49

    The choices given for the review aren't at all appropriate for this type of book. I think they're meant for fiction (referring to "plot", "pace" or "mood". Instead, it's a compilation of Southern funeral vignettes, recipes, customs and routines. I found it funny without being irreverent, recipes are not at all difficult and simple to imagine either making or enjoying. I read it straight through, along with "Food to Die For" from Lynchburg VA, and loved them both. Amazing timing, too, since I had need of their guidance less than a week after I received d them both!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking Free: The extraordinary true story of a young man who fled war-torn Iraq, came to Australia as a refugee by boat, spent months in a detention centre ... and went on to become a pioneering surgeon. []  2020-1-29 1:12

    What a unbelievable man to be such a caring and wonderful surgeon pioneering such awesome procedures that allows people who have lost a leg to walk again. I am so impressed with him and I would like to deeply apologize to him for the disgraceful treatment received by him at the hands of the Australian Government Authorities in the Curtin detention camp, what a dreadful put and what a dreadful method to treat human beings. I am deeply ashamed by "our" cruelty to him and so a lot of amazes me that he still has the love inside him to wish to support Australians.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking Free: The extraordinary true story of a young man who fled war-torn Iraq, came to Australia as a refugee by boat, spent months in a detention centre ... and went on to become a pioneering surgeon. []  2020-1-29 1:12

    A most interesting story which should be needed reading at high schools. This young man certainly created a difference to amputees and is a worthycitizen of his fresh country. His upbringing and early life experiences stood him in amazing stead when faced with death and exptreme discomfort.His thirst for knowledge and a unique goal for his life are an inspiration.Well written. A rivetting read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking Free: The extraordinary true story of a young man who fled war-torn Iraq, came to Australia as a refugee by boat, spent months in a detention centre ... and went on to become a pioneering surgeon. []  2020-1-29 1:12

    Amazing book of an awesome life challenging story that reveals a not so commonly portrayed photo of life as it was in Iraq as well as shedding light on what history will no doubt present as a shameful chapter of our attitude and treatment towards our refugees.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking Free: The extraordinary true story of a young man who fled war-torn Iraq, came to Australia as a refugee by boat, spent months in a detention centre ... and went on to become a pioneering surgeon. []  2020-1-29 1:12

    This book helped me obtain behind the headlines of the tabloid media. It's the story of a cultured and privileged Iraqi man's flight from Saddam Hussein that ended in Australia via a leaky boat and people smugglers. Most interesting for me was the insider insights into Australia's detention centres; it's incredibly distressing to read that Munjed was better treated in an Australian prison than in the detention centre. This is a amazing read for anyone who wants to better understand what drives refugees and the impact of their choice of mode of arrival in Australia has on their future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking Free: The extraordinary true story of a young man who fled war-torn Iraq, came to Australia as a refugee by boat, spent months in a detention centre ... and went on to become a pioneering surgeon. []  2020-1-29 1:12

    Nothing to dislike except the shame and anger I felt at the treatment of these refugees in detention by my country

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking Free: The extraordinary true story of a young man who fled war-torn Iraq, came to Australia as a refugee by boat, spent months in a detention centre ... and went on to become a pioneering surgeon. []  2020-1-29 1:12

    Amazing story and learning opportunity to understand how other countries (Australia) have handled illegal immigrants. I look to reading the follow up book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking Free: The extraordinary true story of a young man who fled war-torn Iraq, came to Australia as a refugee by boat, spent months in a detention centre ... and went on to become a pioneering surgeon. []  2020-1-29 1:12

    A very thought provoking, if uncomfortable read. As an Australian it is not good to think how Munjed was treated, I'm glad he stayed in Australia anyway and is now a respected and valuable member of our society.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking Free: The extraordinary true story of a young man who fled war-torn Iraq, came to Australia as a refugee by boat, spent months in a detention centre ... and went on to become a pioneering surgeon. []  2020-1-29 1:12

    An extraordinary story of one man's shear determination to pursue his goals and manoeuvre barriers presented to him with amazing fortitude. A very inspiring and well written acc of prejudice which can consume mankind, when it can become so unnecessary and counter productive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking Free: The extraordinary true story of a young man who fled war-torn Iraq, came to Australia as a refugee by boat, spent months in a detention centre ... and went on to become a pioneering surgeon. []  2020-1-29 1:12

    In “Walking Free” Munjed Al Muderis describes his life from growing up in an influential affluent family to graduating as a doctor to falling foul of Saddam Hussein to escaping to Australia. His time in Australia was initially in the horrific Curtin Detention centre then later on release he has become a distinguished Orthopaedic e story raises a lot of problems about Australia’s harsh policy towards refugees arriving uninvited by boat. The critics of the policy will point to the very harsh conditions Munjed experienced in detention and the fact that he has become an outstanding addition to the Australian community. The supporters of the policy will point to Munjed’s own admission that he often felt very various from most of the other 150 refugees who shared the boat from Indonesia. A lot of of these refugees were uneducated rural people with powerful bonds to ancient religious customs. It is likely such people would search it difficult adjusting to life in a modern western country like Australia. Successful migration to Australia involves both the migrants (or refugees) and the existing inhabitants making njed’s experiences are interesting but unfortunately they are presented as a chronicle of happenings with small style or passion. This seems to occur because autobiography has been filtered through from the narrator Munjed to the writer Patrick Weaver. In the process the emotions, nuances and most importantly the voice gets lost amongst all the facts. A amazing book shows rather than tells the reader. In Waking Free we are just told. As the reader I was not given the opportunity to explore things for myself, to imagine places, atmosphere or emotions – instead I was directed, forcibly, through happening after event.Having said that there were a number of incidents in the book that did obtain my interest. The elaborate and excessive funeral and wedding ceremonies with the men given all the meal and the leftovers sent to the women in another room was one. I couldn’t really understand why the troops didn’t find a bit hard for Munjed so they allow him escape from the stralia, the ultimate destination, was not mentioned until Munjed was almost on the boat. Munjed’s trips to Europe and America were mentioned early in the book. Why did he choose that destination and what did he expect to find? The official from the Immigration department told him and the other refugees they were not welcome and the Australian people didn’t wish them. On the other hand the department would support them return to their country of origin. I should point out that this is a view shared by some but not all biographies also suffer a bit by the author, perhaps unconsciously, making him and his family seem marvelous beyond belief. I have even noticed this in books by more popular people. They rarely seem to believe they have done anything wrong and the family is anything but perfect.Walking Free is an wonderful story and Munjed Al Muderis is clearly a courageous man, but even this wasn’t enough to hold me hooked. Some people may very well love this memoir, but for those who need more than just facts to obtain them through a book, then I’d give this one a miss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Walking Free: The extraordinary true story of a young man who fled war-torn Iraq, came to Australia as a refugee by boat, spent months in a detention centre ... and went on to become a pioneering surgeon. []  2020-1-29 1:12

    Inspiring, educational, and reveals the dreadful method those in detention centres are r those who say we should not accept refugees, what do you say after reading the awesome story of this young man's life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The original lists of persons of quality; emigrants; religious exiles; political rebels; serving men sold for a term of years; apprentices; children stolen; maidens pressed; who went to America []  2020-1-15 23:7

    I was able to read about the early settlers and go through of names to search my ancestors. It is interesting to read some of the comments and sparked my imagination as to what life was I go through more lines of my family, I will be referring to this again and again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The original lists of persons of quality; emigrants; religious exiles; political rebels; serving men sold for a term of years; apprentices; children stolen; maidens pressed; who went to America []  2020-9-24 19:3

    I was able to read about the early settlers and go through of names to search my ancestors. It is interesting to read some of the comments and sparked my imagination as to what life was I go through more lines of my family, I will be referring to this again and again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The original lists of persons of quality; emigrants; religious exiles; political rebels; serving men sold for a term of years; apprentices; children stolen; maidens pressed; who went to America []  2020-12-10 18:21

    While researching my family, I came across a lot of references to this book. Unfortunately, I purchased this edition which was completely unusable. This edition is a riot of chaos: typos, lack of organization, subheadings imbedded in the text, random use of grammatical marks, no attempt at tabulation and apparent ignorance of the concept of proofreading. All of this makes the volume unreadable and, in a lot of cases, indecipherable. Avoid this edition and search a professionally published one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The original lists of persons of quality; emigrants; religious exiles; political rebels; serving men sold for a term of years; apprentices; children stolen; maidens pressed; who went to America []  2020-12-10 18:21

    Since this could not be in alphabetical order at all it is very difficult to read and time consuming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The original lists of persons of quality; emigrants; religious exiles; political rebels; serving men sold for a term of years; apprentices; children stolen; maidens pressed; who went to America []  2021-1-7 18:45

    There is an Index at the back of the book! The individuals named in this book come from all classes of people. You have no idea who you are going to search in this book. One chapter is called the Living and The Dead in Virginia. Very interesting book to own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The original lists of persons of quality; emigrants; religious exiles; political rebels; serving men sold for a term of years; apprentices; children stolen; maidens pressed; who went to America []  2021-1-7 18:45

    Since this could not be in alphabetical order at all it is very difficult to read and time consuming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The original lists of persons of quality; emigrants; religious exiles; political rebels; serving men sold for a term of years; apprentices; children stolen; maidens pressed; who went to America []  2020-1-15 23:7

    If you're looking for ancestors known to have arrived in America in the early 1600's...you just might search their name in these pages. ..and in some cases their hometowns are listed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The original lists of persons of quality; emigrants; religious exiles; political rebels; serving men sold for a term of years; apprentices; children stolen; maidens pressed; who went to America []  2020-1-15 23:7

    A treasure chest of info from the earliest periods in our countries history.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386