Read the village of waiting reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the village of waiting reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


    Add your opinion on the village of waiting or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of cialis [cialis safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website cialis 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    If you wish to read a heart-rending story that outlines the very differing lives of kids living in poverty, you'll have fun this book. It is well written and portrays a vivid and realistic picture of what life is like for kids who must scramble around for life's necessities. Have your Kleenex handy, though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    If you wish to cast moral judgement on George Packer, don't read this book. If you wish to read the best Peace Corps book ever written, at least about life in Africa, then pick up this book. I lived in Guinea in the mid-90s, while Packer was in Togo in the early 80s. Yet I felt like he was describing my own village, my own frustrations, my own thoughts and feelings (save the prostitute). This was the book that convinced me not to write a book about my own experience. He did it, only better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    I fully understood what George Packer went through as a PCV in Togo as I am a former Peace Corps Volunteer (PCV) as well! He wrote very well. It seemed Africa will continue to have the same issues so long as their leaders present no or very small interest to work for the betterment of their country and their people. But I like reading his experience in Togo as well as his accounts on travels to other countries. I like his writing style. As an outsider, he was very astute in his observation on the country and the people he associated with, including his students, colleagues, neighbors and mates he created in Togo.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    My son is currently in the Peace Corp near here. He thought this was a amazing representation of his experience and I enjoyed the book very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    This book was a very amazing read. The feelings the author struggles with resonate with me. I also very much appreciated that he did not sugar coat his experience. Few PC volunteers (or expats more generally) admit to these things, and it's amazing someone place them in (well-written, well thought out) words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    Before you read my review you should know that I was a PCV in the 70's en Cote d'Ivoirve and had a amazing experience. Also, during my time in West Africa I traveled to Togo which I found to be a true interesting place, thus my comments may seem a bit bias. I loved this book for all the wrong reasons. Not good George Packer did just about everything possible to assure that his Peace Corps experience would be a true "train wreck". I give him for even writing a book like this. I would recommend this book to anyone considering joining the Peace Corps as a tutorial for what not to do. I will not spoil the book for potential readers by picking apart his missteps. I am somewhat surprised that he was ever allowed to join up in the first place. As you read this book have some fun trying to figure out at what point Packer is going to 'pack it in' and under what circumstances. Sadly, from my own observations of other Peace Corps Volunteers, George's story is more common than one might think.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    I have been a fan of the writing of journalist George Packer, notably his reporting for The Fresh Yorker and his book of reporting on the Iraq War, The Assassin's Gate. When I heard that he wrote a Peace Corps memoir, The Village Of Waiting (1988), about his experiences in the West African country of Togo I was interested to read his perspective about it. Already his reporting and narrative story telling was strong. The reader learns a lot about the country, community, and the exasperation of Africa from the perspective of a white westerner. It was a strong experience in the per-internet days and it was a testament to his resolve that he lasted over a year-he did not complete his assignment, he failed to return for his latest six months after taking a trip to Europe. Similarly another Peace Corps inspired book from another writer I liked, Chasing The Sea by Tom Bissell in Uzbekistan, also was ultimately about a failed Peace Corps stint where he basically had a nervous breakdown and was inspired to go back and search closure in the country. This is a various book from that one, but in the Afterword by the author we learn about how the country and the people he met there continued to be a significant part of his life as he returned to report there and support the mates that he created there over time. These experiences were exasperating and soul crushing in the recounting of struggles and set backs these people encountered over the years. In that sense the latest part calls to mind Paul Theroux's exasperation with Africa in his latest foray into the country that defeats him and sends him home packing before he planned to go home in Latest Train To Zona Verde. There's also a Foreword by Philip Gourevitch, another reporter and writer about Africa that I respect. I found this to be a strong first person acc full of detailed descriptions of life in Africa in the early 80s from the point of view of an idealistic Peace Corps volunteer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    This book is incredible. It's at once funny and poignant. Its descriptions of Togo are spot on - Packer paints a vividly realistic portrait of his experiences in that country. He's also honest about himself and his reactions - he paints himself and his reactions to his surroundings in an unvarnished light. This touching acc of his experiences makes for very rewarding reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    George Packer recounts his experiences as a Peace Corps volunteer in Togo. The book explores Packer’s subjective architecture as he encounters the difficulties of living in a developing, authoritarian country. The oppressive climate of deluge and drought of sub Saharan Africa and the poverty and sickness afflicting its inhabitants conquer Packer despite his desire to help. It would be interesting to see Packer compare Togo to Ghana and describe how related cases produce marginally various outcomes. The human condition is problematic and Togo’s poverty brings these issues into sharp focus. Packer is talented in representing the humanity of the people with whom he lived and worked. Those who wish to understand the potential emotional challenges of doing development work would benefit from Packer’s reflections.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    Another amazing Peace Corps book that is well written and gives you a much better idea of the issues and challenges of third globe nations than any newspaper article ever will

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Noobtown []  2020-1-19 22:43

    SpoilersI was looking forward to this book since I found the first one entertaining and well-written I was sorely disappointed though whenever there is no true progression in the characters and the majority of his abilities became complete jokes. It completely lost me when the main hero became proficient in fart magic, this created it from a guy making not good decisions to eight-year-olds humor. This stupidity ruin the rest of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Noobtown []  2020-1-19 22:43

    This book starts slow but once you obtain to the first major quest it starts rolling just the method the first book did. Funny just sneaks up and bites you in the droll funnybone and you can't wait until it does again. The city (known as Noobtown despite Jim's efforts to rebrand it as Windfall) is going broke fast, particularly after Jim is reminded that people like to be for working, so it's up to our intrepid noob and his shoulder demon, Shart, to search a method to restock the treasury. It's hard for people to take you seriously when your name is equivalent to that of a dog named "Fifi" but Jim makes a valiant attempt to gain sponsorship from nearby towns and that's when it all starts obtain crazy. Badgers, and Goblins, and Pumas, Oh My!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Noobtown []  2020-1-19 22:43

    I'm enjoying the story of noobtown. The book is also quite long, so it's definitely worth the money. The MC is unique. He is in a put where he do not wish to be because of happenings out of his control. He is very naive. So if you love the super clever MC or the OP one that crushes everyone then you will hate Jim the mayor of noobtown. He does stupid mistakes at times and in between brilliant mistakes. And occasionally clever choices. If you take into acc that the world's android game system is very various from android games he's played back on earth, and the fact that the is very ridiculous at times, it's not that hard to understand. But it will annoy you at times. The globe is not considerate of what we not good earthlings would consider logical or factual. Something Jim's companions will remind him of, while saying how ridiculousness earth is in the , if you hate that, then this book is not for you. But I would highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Noobtown []  2020-1-19 22:43

    The second book of Jim's death, spawning as a Noob adventurer, assumption of the Mayor of Noobtown position, and attempts to rebuild Noobtown into self rhaps a bit slow in general growth and overall plot, but with plenty of action and humor.Jim is a "bit slow", slow to acclimate to his fresh environment and slow to adapt to changes as they occur. This provides plenty of humor along with Jim's continuous frustration. I would expect Jim to eventually grow and humor to develop in other ways - dim wit characters quickly grow l in all, a fun book and series, straightforward and refreshing. Questions like "Is Jim really dead", "Will he ever grow Noobtown", and "Will he ever leave his wife on Earth behind" will obtain answered, eventually...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Noobtown []  2020-1-19 22:43

    The story has changed from the first book, I found the first book amazing fun, with bits of crafting, city building and special leveling by the MC. Now there is too disrespect towards the MC from the townsfolk and his companions, no self respecting person would be such a doormat and the MC seems to have undergone an intelligence downgrade. There is no crafting, the development of the MC took a back seat and the townbuilding became a bit me bits in the story create no sense, at one point the MC rescues an enemy, for no decent reason, the foe was trying its best to slay him, then he saves it from drowning, why oh why?The first half of the book seemed aimless and pointless, but it did obtain amazing in the latest a bit disappointed in this story, but will the next installment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Noobtown []  2020-1-19 22:43

    ... ever gets out of his own way, he will be extremely risky to his enemies. I look forward to seeing the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Noobtown []  2020-1-19 22:43

    This book is great. Really simple to read and enjoyable main characters. Beautiful funny in locations and a surprise I didn't see coming. Have fun the bit of city building and the well thought out skill trees. A lot of authors in this genre use Virtual Reality to obtain the hero into a android game and you have to go back and forth. In this book the hero is transported to a true globe that's based on a android game so all the characters time is spent in the android game which I quite enjoyed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Noobtown []  2020-1-19 22:43

    I like the series and story in general, and the demon familiar and the method they treat each other but there a few times the main hero acts like his intelligence and wisdom would be around 6 in dnd terms.Why after fighting opponent spell casters and goblins at that, one he had a mission to slay specifically since the first book would he save one right after she tried to slay him. Even the most Lawfull amazing hero ever would not do that. Stupidest thing ever and just doesnt e other thing that bothers me was his idiotic conclusion with the female illusionist, I obtain that she was using illusions to pull at heart strings but knowing her class and speciality, and that someone used illusion magic due to a resist text no one would be that clueless.I feel like the mc needs to use his brain, not to mention read the manual or at least his different menus because a lot of mistakes seem to come from him not even trying to create an effort to learn the system. I would also love to see more classes 12 main statue classes are mentioned but he only has 4 classes with druid and cleric needing something special.Overall a amazing story, at some point I would like to see his stats for str etc included in the hero sheet again. I am also disappointed that it never seems all the starter quest he had for himself and crafting were completed. Or the quest for killing goblin bosses from book 1, I am beautiful sure a few died in the huge war at the end even if he was not the one to strike the blow, and we know of one by name that went down in the basement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Noobtown []  2020-1-19 22:43

    The author is a master at humor. I was caught a lot of times in public snickering.... It worse. The story is very entertaining as is the cast. The ragtag squad of Jim is slowly growing and certainty becoming more powerful. Jims uniqueness makes him an interesting force for the opponent to with but he will provably need it all to obtain to level 60. This has become one if my favorite series and hope for fresh books soon. My only gripe is the MC hanging on to his "marrage". He is dead, and though admirably loyal, he need to move on as others deserve his loyalty now. I'm sure the author has a plan though so I'll wait and see... Won't stop reading.. Jim Rules!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Noobtown []  2020-1-19 22:43

    Jim's adventures continue in book 2, as he adjusts to his fresh reality. There are some fresh and interesting challenges in this book. While some of the story is serious, challenging, calculating, etc., there are times when it is silly and at least one ridiculous point at which I laughed so hard I actually cried a little. I required that! :)Note: There is some swearing, it's not always prevalent, but comes up more frequently in the 'puma forest'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Village of Delta []  2020-1-19 21:15

    perfect book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witchcraft of Salem Village []  2020-1-25 14:19

    This book is clear and simple to follow, appropriate for all ages. It is subtly laced throughout with Jackson's wit and cynical humor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witchcraft of Salem Village []  2020-1-25 14:19

    Amazing fast read for primary info. Simple for kids to read and understand. Well written and didnt seem too subjective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witchcraft of Salem Village []  2020-1-25 14:19

    Excellent item to give as a bonus to a young reader to encourage him to discover his interest in history, while reading about an actual occurance that may be only mentioned in passing in their history school curriculum.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Village of Delta []  2020-1-19 21:15

    I have attended Delta Lake Bible Conference for a lot of years and had known that there once was a village in Delta Lake. When this book was brought to my attention, I had to it. Interesting history and pictures of once was a village.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Village of Delta []  2020-1-19 21:15

    A very interesting book for anyone who is interested in the history of the Lake Delta area, a lot of amazing images of the building of the dam and of all the buildings torn down in the old village of Delta, to create method for the dam. Very informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Village of Delta []  2020-1-19 21:15

    Everyone should obtain this book,it's amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Village of Delta []  2020-1-19 21:15

    I grew up in the 1950's and 60's on Delta Avenue, about 250 or so yards from the Lake. The "Long Hill Road" and the "Short Hill Road, both of which led to the once Village of Delta from Elmer Hill were within a short walking distance.I found the photo's fantastic. I want the buildings could have been matched to a detailed map of the village, so I could have visualized it as a whole.I personally have seen a lot of images of the construction of the dam, a lot of that were not included in the book. The only point I have to dispute with the author concerning the construction of the damn, was apparently the latest piece of the structure built was on the left portion, the western portion of the dam. This is where the Black River Canal originally went thru the structure as it was being built. Once the three locks on the eastern portion of the dam were completed, the barge canal was then diverted over the Mohawk River aquaduct to those locks. Then the latest "hole" in the dam, on the western side, was completed. I can only state this because I have seen at least two images and a postcard showing this. The author states that the eastern portion of the dam was the final piece place into place. I mention this only as a point for discussion. The book was excellant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witchcraft of Salem Village []  2020-1-25 14:19

    Nonfiction that reads like fiction from the one and only Shirley Jackson. Remember reading this in elementary school, before I knew who Jackson was-- delighted to search it again. Very readable as an adult, amazing for children of all ages who wish to obtain a handle on this grim chapter in American life

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witchcraft of Salem Village []  2020-1-25 14:19

    This is one of Shirley Jackson's lesser known books. Written for her son, I found it an simple read and full of info that surprised me. And I mean, written by Shirley Jackson the author of The Haunting and The Lottery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Village of Delta []  2020-1-19 21:15

    I have always been intrigued by the lost village of Delta and was satisfied to see a book had been published with photos included. After reading the book, I was disappointed to see that there were no images of the "during" process of flooding the lake, only pictures of the "before". I guess that's what I was most interested in.... how they disassembled the village during the process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witchcraft of Salem Village []  2020-1-25 14:19

    This is a amazing book about Salem Village and the power of witchcraft in their time a must read for all history lovers out there

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witchcraft of Salem Village []  2020-1-25 14:19

    I bought this book for a history class and wrote a paper on it, but it was surprisingly entertaining. It's a amazing short read packed full of historical information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witchcraft of Salem Village []  2020-1-25 14:19

    As described.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witchcraft of Salem Village []  2020-1-25 14:19

    I only knew of Salem 'witchcraft' in part. I wanted to search out more, because in my par, ish in Nigeria we had a basic school kid who disrupted her family with witchcraft phantasies. It seems to have been a 21st century repetition of the deception wrought in Salem.(Fr.) Bob Dundon, S.J, St. Joseph's Parish, Benin City

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witchcraft of Salem Village []  2020-1-25 14:19

    I liked the book a lot. There was a huge portion of info too. Overall it was another one of those books that are eh.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Village of Delta []  2020-1-19 21:15

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Waiting: On Fertility, Medicine, and Motherhood []  2020-2-6 21:41

    Not what I expected, not for people looking to commiserate in the infertility experience. More of a view of infertility in the US which anyone going through treatment is aptly aware. Maybe something for someone to read trying to better understand infertility, but not for those in the trenches.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Waiting: On Fertility, Medicine, and Motherhood []  2020-2-6 21:41

    Belle Boggs has written a profound and deeply moving book about infertility and parenthood. I found my own experiences (she wrote about her own) placed in a much larger context. One that explored modern reproduction in the United States and Assisted Reproductive Technology through stories of families, science, religion, politics, and above all patience and tenacity. Informative and deeply moving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for an Echo: The Madness of American Incarceration []  2020-7-26 19:14

    This was a great, well-researched book on the damaging effects of mass incarceration on our society. The author a history of how the US prison population got to be the biggest of any nation on the planet, as well as the cyclical effects of poverty, racism, and despair it causes. She also a tutorial to how we can reform the prison system to be more holistic and rehabilitative, rather than based on a model of punishment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Waiting: On Fertility, Medicine, and Motherhood []  2020-2-6 21:41

    A beautifully written and impeccably researched collection of essays on infertility with a focus on IVF. Boggs' voice is clear and compelling—this is a must-read for anyone struggling with infertility or undergoing assisted reproductive technology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Waiting: On Fertility, Medicine, and Motherhood []  2020-2-6 21:41

    Overall, I agree that Belle Boggs is a gifted writer. She does have a talent for the written word. This book created it very obvious to me that she has vast experience in the art of the short story, since "The Art of Waiting" read not as a book, but a collection of short stories cobbled together. This unfortunately created reading the book troublesome, as I would feel thrust from one storyline to another rather abruptly. The strength of the book was in the sections detailing her own experience with infertility, but those were watered down by cutting away into some other tangent. The overall impression felt disjointed.Speaking of Boggs' own experiences, I wanted her to go deeper. I was left wanting more. She titled the book "The Art of Waiting." I wanted to know more about her own art of waiting. I, too, have experienced infertility and I know the insane toll it takes on a woman physically, spiritually and emotionally. At one point in the book Boggs talks about how she doesn't even have to take a home pregnancy try because she monitors her cycles via her temperature so she knows when her period is about ready to arrive. But she leaves it at that. I wanted to know HOW that felt for her. I know how it feels for me, and I wanted to connect with the author on that emotional level. But I never got the sense of anything other than a superficial glossing over about the deeper problems infertility raises. Or, after all this waiting, she FINALLY gets her beloved baby, HOW did that feel? It was written rather how-hum. I wanted to feel the magic of it, and the book missed that tag for is book is touted as a memoir, but honestly, it read like a research paper. For some, that may be a perk. But for me, I wanted the curtains ripped off and the real heart of the matter to be shown. I didn't wish to read about gorillas and the first IVF mother. I wanted to know more about Boggs' journey. I wanted to connect with it. Instead, I felt like I had to hold searching the bottom of the page for e other stumbling block I have is Boggs' semi-idolization of IVF. She spends time early in the book saying how she feared it, but then just goes along later and it's no huge and boom! Pregnant first try. Well of course she's going to be a winner of the practice. She writes nothing of her own experience with the drugs despite quoting plenty of notice board stories about Lupron side effects earlier in the book. She touches on the problematic problems with any sort of ART (while also wrongly stating that every other form of ART is worthless except for IVF; this is not real in every circumstance), but she doesn't expand on those. She focuses a lot on the issues of surrogacy and other ART procedures in other parts of the world, but I would have liked to have read more about how a lot of clinics here in the USA often use IVF as a first choice in cases that do not need it. About how the focus of these clinics is a baby, not the well-being of said baby and mother. Ends justifies the means sort of thing. A lot of women are potentially harmed by this. In reality, ART is not the guaranteed saving grace/ace in the hole for everyone, every time. It frustrates me when it is portrayed like that. Women don't realize that they don't need to give 100% authority of themselves over to the doctors. Boggs touches on this when she notes how she stood by her ground and insisted only one embryo be transplanted despite the conventional wisdom to transplant three. I want she would have focused more on women being more empowered in their own fertility journey.Overall, I agree Boggs is a amazing writer and there were nuggets of goodness in this book, but I didn't have fun it as much as I had hoped. I would obtain rolling in one chapter, only to search myself in some unexpected left turn reading about insurance, when all I really wanted to hear was how on earth the author kept her hope alive after all these years. I didn't wish some candy-floss ver of IVF and praises for companies that let women to freeze their eggs at 22. I wanted to know how Boggs saw her years of waiting as art.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Waiting: On Fertility, Medicine, and Motherhood []  2020-2-6 21:41

    This was a amazing read. As a father who has never experienced the challenges of infertility, I found Boggs writing to be incredibly engaging. As a physician, I learned more about infertility than I was taught in medical school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Waiting: On Fertility, Medicine, and Motherhood []  2020-2-6 21:41

    This book has been a light in the darkness of infertility.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Waiting: On Fertility, Medicine, and Motherhood []  2020-2-6 21:41

    I really enjoyed this book. I liked that the author weaved her private story in amongst fact and other stories. It was informative yet had a lot of emotion and feeling. Would recommend if you're struggling with infertility, have a family or mate struggling with infertility, or just wish to be informed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Waiting: On Fertility, Medicine, and Motherhood []  2020-2-6 21:41

    A clear and thoughtful memoir about Belle Boggs' fertility journey that weaves in history, science, sociology, and psychology. This book will be a amazing read for those newly diagnosed and beginning their path to parenthood or to the initiated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Waiting: On Fertility, Medicine, and Motherhood []  2020-2-6 21:41

    I am a man and a father. I did not experience difficulty conceiving in the same method my partner did. I want I'd had this book back then so I might have had a better understanding of not only why we felt so alone, but also of the strange and sometimes arbitrary cultural assumptions that we had accepted and were acting out to the point of misery. So, for me, this is a book about a society, viewed through the lens of reproductive culture. The writing is sublime, she is a terrific short story writer, too. But the appeal, for me, is to witness a supple, incisive, and generous mind calmly examine a fundamental aspect of our culture, in all its social, psychological, scientific and economic exoressions, and ask: why? (The implied question in all this: Can we do better, can we be less cruel, can we be more light-hearted about life?)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Art of Waiting: On Fertility, Medicine, and Motherhood []  2020-2-6 21:41

    The book was delivered on time and was a much better quality than I expected with it being a used book. Content wise, We are still not all the method through but my wife can't stop talking about it and it's provided quite a bit of insight on what to expect and how to help her through the coming months.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    Holy smokes!!The Waiting Mortuary pulled me in and spat me out like never ipping from the opening chapter, I breezed through the pages with amazing gusto, devouring each word as an ever thickening story grew before my om the middle of the story onwards, I literally couldnt place it down. And my word....what a finish!!I particularly loved the final chapter. I was left with a tingling sensation coursing through me. So brilliant, and clinched a 5-star rating.Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    I’m a real crime and horror buff so it takes a lot to pull me in and more often than not when a book advertises itself as spine tingling it’s not, HOWEVER, this book had me hooked from the dnapping. Everyone’s worst fear. This book comes through with setting you on edge and making you paranoid from the moment you turn the first e various perspectives add a nice touch to the story and are done quite y wants to be a star tennis player but she’s not very good. Late night sessions on the tennis court turn into a nightmare in the blink of any eye. Kidnapped. Locked in some god forsaken hell hole.•Bash is a glutton for punishment. An alcoholic with an ulcer who just landed the weirdest job ever. Watching corpses in a low budget mortuary ran by a senile WWII vet to “make sure they’re dead”. He’s about to land himself in a fudged up situation that may cost him his freedom. •X the serial assassin with severe mommy problems and even worse private hygiene. He makes his victims “Fight or Die” but he’s severely underestimated Casey. ••This book is one hell of a rollercoaster. Quick paced. No bull.Overall this is a really amazing read..while my spine didn’t tingle I definitely check the locks on my door and rearmed my security system just Incase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    This book was not only wordy, boring, and highly depressing and sad. If you are struggling with depression it will obtain worse by reading this book. This book is So sad and becomes even sadder at the end. The most sad and depressing book I have ever read. I am an avid reader and love psychological thrillers. Please don't read if you have any sort of depression. It really is a dark, sad book. Nothing satisfied comes out of it. Not a glimpse of happiness but maybe for 1 second and then you realize the truth which is even sadder. This book is so toxic I threw it out. I would not wish any one to feel such sadness from a book. Even if a book is sad it should a glimpse of hope. The hero was also extremely unlikeable. Everyone was unlikeable in the book. I always have to finish books no matter how bad. This one takes the cake.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    OK, so I bought this based on the amazing reviews of others and for the most part I feel the same way. Amazing surprise at the end. I did feel it was a far-fetched conclusion but satisfied for the value of forgiveness. This is a amazing read but I found half method through that I would have liked it to move along a small faster. I was tired of the craziness but of course, when you read it, I am sure that is what it could really be like. I am glad I read it because I feel the disaster of this woman’s life could actually bring a person to the mental knees. It was hard to read in locations but of course that is the story too. Hope you like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    This is a amazing story full of suspense and chilling realization, especially with the latest chapter. I loved the fact that it is written from three points of view. I don’t come across that very often and the author does a amazing job with that. It’s very clear which hero has which chapter. Characters are well developed and the story pulls you in from the start. I will definitely recommend this book to lovers of horror and suspense!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    It didn't take long for The Waiting Mortuary to really pull me in. Told from alternating viewpoints, the pieces of the puzzle are slowly revealed. While you obtain a birds eye view of the very likable and relatable characters. (Heck, you even wind up feeling somewhat for the poor guy. Only somewhat though haha) While the answers to the mystery don't exactly blow you away, I can think of a few mystery loving teens I'll be recommending this to. As far as labels go, I'd call this teen and up YA since there are some disturbing themes. (Kidnapping, and partying, suicide. I think it's necessary to know what your teen is reading. There is no one size fits all. So its up to us to figure it out on a case by case basis at the very least.) I received a ARC of this book from Hidden Gems in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    This story! You can guess a million times through what the outcome will be, but I can promise you that you will not figure this one out until the heartbreaking, heartwarming end. I love Emily’s works and this one did not disappoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    I bought the Kindle ver of this book on the strength of the reviews on the Amazon website, as well as having read one of the author's earlier works. Unfortunately, I had worked out what I will call the critical factor in the book (not wanting to spoil it for future readers) by the end of chapter 2. Nevertheless, I ploughed on, although I found it all a bit tedious. In fairness, the author has a difficult task, as the narrator is suffering from Post Partum Depression, which is needed to be reflected in the writing, but it is annoying to be told the same facts about a particular hero each time they appear in the story. The end chapters confirmed my theory, albeit with one latest extra twist, but overall I found the book disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    I have to say that this is one of the BEST books I have ever read. The ending of the book was so unexpected that I sat with my mouth hung begin for 10 minutes. Very well written. I have never read any of Emily Bleeker books before, but I'm on the hunt for others. You will love, love, love this book. I couldn't place it down!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    That's what i said when I finished reading this book! I thought I had it all figured out. But this book was like Houdini. Amazing read! It had twist and turns but it never got so convoluted that I couldn't follow. I went through sad, mad, amazed, satisfied all at once in some chapters. I love when a book throws you off but you can still stay on track. Read it and you won't be disappointed. And I'm saying this at 5 am as I'm just finishing it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    I hadn’t read any kind of horror novel in a really long time, so The Waiting Mortuary was an interesting change of pace for me. It was super creepy, and the scenes, emotions, and characters’ viewpoints were well described. The sights, sounds, and smells lingered with me and probably will for a while. The story is told through alternating points of view of the characters, and I was wondering how the individual stories would come together. Creepy to search out who the kidnapper was and his motivations for doing so! I was intrigued until the latest page, especially as I wondered how Bash and Casey would obtain out of their individual plights – Casey’s especially. Excellent, really gripping read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    I couldn't even obtain through the first chapter. Not written well. Describes every thought, like the book is being narrated. Not for me

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    The Waiting Mortuary begins from the perspective of Casey, a strong-willed 17 year old girl. She's on her method to her vehicle at night when she is kidnapped. The next chapter is from the perspective of 17 year old, Bash. His family discusses the news of the kidnapping, and that this is the 3rd in a series of latest abductions of teenage girls. Although Bash doesn't know Casey well, he has seen her around at school. The story then progresses, switching perspectives each chapter, between Casey, Bash and "X," who is Casey's is book has some interesting takes on the genre and contains some twists and turns I didn't see coming, which is always a treat. As with any amazing horror book, the story was disturbing and "spine-tingling" (as promised in the subtitle). If you're a fan of horror, don't hesitate to give this book a try. You won't be sorry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    Thought I had this one all figured out. Until the end. Then again at the very end. Shocker! Loved this book. Any book that can hold me wanting to hurry and see what happens next and at the same time makes me not wanting it to end is a champion for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    A complex story with intertwined characters that test to overcome the worst that could happen in a persons life. That is the basis for this story, but as it unfolds you see people at the breaking point that claw their method back to a fresh life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    The Waiting Room is a very amazing book full of twists and turns. I kept trying to figure out what was going on from one moment to the next but for the most part I was unsuccessful. I got a few small, very little info right. I thoroughly enjoyed this book as it is well written and well researched. A lot of times when a writer with psychological subjects they obtain some facts wrong, this is not the case with The Waiting Room. Ms. Bleeker created sure to obtain expert support from doctors in the psychology e Waiting Room is about Veronica Shelton, aka Ronnie, and her find to search herself. She is an artist that illustrates children's books. The story starts with Veronica waking up to search her husband Nick and daughter Sophie gone. She then gets a phone call that there has been a not good accident. Quick forward six months and Veronica is in a fresh house and her mother is living with her to support her out with the baby. She starts to see a therapist to support her because she can't keep her daughter without having a panic attack. From here own the journey has several up and downs, and twists and t aside time to read this book because once you obtain involved in the story you aren't going to wish to place it down. At 268 pages it can be a fast read. This is a short review because I don't wish to give anything away. Just know if you like a book to mess with your head and really create you think this is a amazing read. I look forward to reading more from this author. At the time of this review the book is running at a of $1.99 or on Kindle Unlimited, so grab a copy while it's at a amazing price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    Very amazing book, came early.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    I got an ARC of this e book is told from three perspectives, which can be confusing when the book isn't written well. The characters in this book are distinguishable, but that may be due to their drastically various circumstances. It is obvious who is and is not the assassin for example. The three narrators are the killer, one of his victims, and a child that somehow gets involved in everything despite beautiful much just being an alcoholic.Of the main characters, I didn't care for Bash. He was lazy, he was beautiful flat, and his main thing in life was hating his parents being parents so he drank a lot. The assassin was interesting. He had an abusive background that created him sympathetic for a second, but not any longer than a second. His backstory got twisted true fast and went for no obvious reason at all. It felt tacked on to create him more deviant than what he already was. The victim is a girl who really wants to be on the tennis team, but just has never created it. She doesn't have any hero building outside of being envious of one girl in school and wanting to play tennis. Then she is the victim. The plot itself was wonderfully done. I was kept guessing until the very end how Bash ended up twisted up in the killing and kidnapping. It was created very clear that he was not the assassin within the first couple of chapters, so it wasn't the normal twists and turns that a book like this could take. The ending was beautiful poor though. The latest chapter just didn't need to exist. It felt forced and drastically changed how the story read. If you ignore the latest chapter, then this book was beautiful awesome. It was one that held my attention, was downright scary, and not overly gory despite the gore. It was well done. That latest chapter though, it was poor enough to take off a whole star. 

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    This book dragged on, I found myself skimming through it. Lots of mistakes (eg: one morning Sophie was referred to as 7 months old; later that day she was eight and a half months old). Story line is a small old. Just disappointing, definitely not as amazing as Wreckage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guests of the Sheik: An Ethnography of an Iraqi Village []  2020-2-2 1:7

    The young American wife settles in an Iraqui village as her husband does a research project. Her isolation and loneliness are ended when she gets to know her neighbors. At first they are disbelieving of her lack of skills in managing a house - she can't even embroider! She thinks her husband should support her! They set out to teach her and finally, to her amazing delight, she begins to meet their standards of housewifery. She gains insight into a life style utterly various from her own, but learns to respect the women and be their friend. She dons a burqua and attends a religious gathering with them, almost getting lost in the crowd. She leaves in tears to go back to America, ladden with bonuses from her friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guests of the Sheik: An Ethnography of an Iraqi Village []  2020-2-2 1:7

    Very interesting book that takes you back in time to another put to learn their culture. The first-hand acc is told in a compelling manner and I read it in a couple of days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guests of the Sheik: An Ethnography of an Iraqi Village []  2020-2-2 1:7

    One of the best ethnographies I've read. Fun, descriptive, and truly puts you into Elizabeth's journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guests of the Sheik: An Ethnography of an Iraqi Village []  2020-2-2 1:7

    This is my second copy of this book. The author writes about her and her husbands' experiences for two years in Iraq as a newly married Americans. In to support her husband with his doctorate, she agreed to live in purdah, wear the abayah, and record her experiences with the women. I believe she was faithful to relating her time there; her writing style is gentle and humorous, giving amazing insight to her relationships with the women she befriended there. I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guests of the Sheik: An Ethnography of an Iraqi Village []  2020-2-2 1:7

    This is a amazing look at 1950s, rural, female, Iraqi culture. It was fascinating to read about a time and culture so different. The author actually lived in a rural community in Iraq for years so she thoroughly learned about the village lifestyle, and expectations of women in different levels of social interactions--home, family, community. It's a story about her experience and is in no method "text-bookish," which created it an simple read. I also appreciate the author's respectful tone and willingness to learn with small negative judgment about cultural differences.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guests of the Sheik: An Ethnography of an Iraqi Village []  2020-2-2 1:7

    What a fabulous book about 1950's life in Iraq as a woman and what they faced and what their lives were like - a lot of were so satisfied in their sheltered existences as part of the Sheik's "family". Truly an eye opening narrative. Highly recommend. I wonder if much has changed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guests of the Sheik: An Ethnography of an Iraqi Village []  2020-2-2 1:7

    This was a book I was needed to read for class and I devoured it within a few days. It was so intriguing and gave a unbelievable insight into a culture I had small knowledge of. I have since re-read it and also shared it with family members to support give better understanding and context to this culture. I was left wanting to read more from this author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guests of the Sheik: An Ethnography of an Iraqi Village []  2020-2-2 1:7

    I had to read this book for a class, but actually found it quite interesting. Not a book I would read more than once, but still an insightful and interesting read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guests of the Sheik: An Ethnography of an Iraqi Village []  2020-2-2 1:7

    I read and loved it when it first came out. I bought this used copy recently. It continues to be a classic and a marvelous description of the life of a fresh bride whose anthropologist husband is starting research in an Iraqi village almost half a century ago. A keeper!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guests of the Sheik: An Ethnography of an Iraqi Village []  2020-2-2 1:7

    I bought this book for an Anthropology course, but it is one that I won't be at the end of the year. Fernea is an engaging writer and despite this being an assigned reading, I found myself reading ahead. Fernea spent nearly two year living with the women of the Iraqi village and she learned much about them and their lives in the time period. However, her ethnography is not a dry description of what she learned. Instead, she presents that info through a series of anecdotes that tell about their lives and her struggle to fit into their lifestyle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting []  2020-1-20 1:38

    Heard this song at the end of a TV present (Proof). I knew it had been around for a while, but I just had to hear the entire song for the first time. It is beautiful, rather haunting. I love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit Of The Moment: Live At The Village Vanguard []  2020-2-2 2:20

    Terrific playing by a unbelievable artist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting []  2020-1-20 1:38

    Very haunting. .heard this while watching transparent season 2

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting []  2020-1-20 1:38

    Amaazing song

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit Of The Moment: Live At The Village Vanguard []  2020-2-2 2:20

    I'm a huge fan of free-flowing, up-tempo jazz. Redman and his quartet certainly deliver with virtuoso performances all a drummer myself, this is a truly stellar outing for Brian Blade. He has a vast range of styles I'm just beginning to discover on his solo work, and he really shines here.Highly recommended...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit Of The Moment: Live At The Village Vanguard []  2020-2-2 2:20

    Amazing music!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit Of The Moment: Live At The Village Vanguard []  2020-2-2 2:20

    Perfect performance by a first rate quartet... Joshua is an accomplished player. I am very satisfied with this and recommend it highly! The product arrived ahead of schedule and in amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit Of The Moment: Live At The Village Vanguard []  2020-2-2 2:20

    Amazing music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit Of The Moment: Live At The Village Vanguard []  2020-2-2 2:20

    Joshua Redman quartet's exciting live in village vangurad! I usually listen to 50-60's bluenote, prestige recordings etc but I love this. Recommended also to 50's or 60's hard-bop listener.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit Of The Moment: Live At The Village Vanguard []  2020-2-2 2:20

    Redman delivers a ton of melody on this two-CD collection of tunes gathered over a five-night stand at the Village Vanguard in 1995. There's nearly two and a half hours of melody here, and most of it is well worth listening to, although there are times that Redman's relative youth is revealed and the sessions drag a ere's no question that on the uptemp stuff, Redman is in complete command. "Herbs and Roots," "Slapstick" and a fine rendition of Sonny Rollins' "St. Thomas" display his ability to burn through changes and to play all over the instrument without stumbling or losing his way. He's also very powerful when he takes on the Coltranesque "Lyric," which winds up the second CD. He captures the passionate spirituality of Trane's melody in this l of Redman's bandmates are major assets. Chris Thomas is solid on bass, Peter Martin is fleet on piano and capable of delivering lyricism and fire, and Brian Blades is quite simply one of the best young drummers out e largest complaint I have is that Redman hasn't quite found his voice on ballads and slower-tempo numbers yet, and that weakness is exposed on a couple of tunes on the CD, most notably "My One and Only Love." Here the saxophonist sounds uncertain of what he wants to do. He meanders around, seems to stray from the tune's lovely music and generally presents a far various musical voice than the one we heard on the cookers. For contrast, play Coltrane's version, which he recorded with Johnny Hartmann. The difference in command is startling.A private gripe (I'm sure a lot of won't agree) is the pointed inclusion of crowd noise. The crowds at the Vanguard were obviously large Redman fans and they applaud heartily -- and distractingly -- for almost everything he does. I guess I come from a various listening generation. Jazz fans used to spend more of their time listening and saved their applause for when the musicians had finished their statements. This sounds more like a rock at quibble aside, this is a amazing value and a useful document of Redman's continuing -- and very interesting -- development.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit Of The Moment: Live At The Village Vanguard []  2020-2-2 2:20

    Playing in a Fresh York Town club as honored in jazz circles as Yankee Stadium is in baseball (and where grand slam saxmen John Coltrane and Sonny Rollins gave some of their finest performances), fresh saxophone star Joshua Redman follows the tracks of jazz giants but gets a few base hits of his own.He's helped by a receptive audience (which he thanks in the liner notes by saying, "Through you, jazz lives.") and first-rate combo including outstanding solos from pianist Peter Martin and drummer Brian Blade (who strikes several musical conversations and gospel style call-and-response with Redman, even contributing the atmospheric piece, "Mt. Zion.") Redman borrows slightly, but beautifully, from the master's "My Favorite Things" in his own "Second Snow," a lengthy composition featuring his melodic soloing versus Martin's McCoy Tyner-ish piano man also dips into standards with mixed success; a straight, soulful rendition of "My One and Only Love," and a ver of "Just In Time," that misses some of Jule Styne's lyric swing while launching off into four sharp solos. (He also has the habit of extending notes at finales to annoyance.)Overall, "Spirit Of The Moment" recalls much of the traditional jazz known (and loved) before. But when most fresh jazz stars fall under the "smooth" banner (with critical barbs and high that entails), Redman's performances in this live setting present him and his combo to be growing jazz talents. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Future Is Waiting: A compilation of mind-blowing predictions about the future []  2020-1-16 0:31

    "May you live in Interesting Times" as the old Chinese proverb says. Well, yeah, do we ever and its going to obtain a whole lot more "interesting" very, very quickly. Martin Gallardo lays out short, understandable scenarios of the near and not so far off future with dozens of backup data/links on such diverse topics such as cryptocurrency, autonomous vehicles, Soft A.I., and host of other subjects. You could say, "The Future is Waiting (NOT)" This is a book like Neil deGrasse Tyson's "Astrophysics: for people in a hurry". You can pick it up and read any part of it (and in any order) and be completely engaged. My coffee got cold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Future Is Waiting: A compilation of mind-blowing predictions about the future []  2020-1-16 0:31

    Interesting insights of how the future might look like. There were some very unexpected findings, written in a catchy, simple to read format. The book describes each subject in a short section and provides a lot of references if someone wants to dig deeper in the subjects, which was very useful for me, as I got interested in a few subjects while reading Martin's book, and I could immediately learn more about them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lady in Waiting: My Extraordinary Life in the Shadow of the Crown []  2020-1-26 21:19

    I love real life non fiction storiesNever waste my time reading fictionThis was an awesome tell all storyI really enjoyed it. It was a true page turner told in a very humble method about very highly placed peopke

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lady in Waiting: My Extraordinary Life in the Shadow of the Crown []  2020-1-26 21:19

    An perfect memoir, not for the uneducaced tribe

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386