Read the waiting game reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the waiting game reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    This book was a very amazing read. The feelings the author struggles with resonate with me. I also very much appreciated that he did not sugar coat his experience. Few PC volunteers (or expats more generally) admit to these things, and it's amazing someone place them in (well-written, well thought out) words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    I bought the Kindle ver of this book on the strength of the reviews on the Amazon website, as well as having read one of the author's earlier works. Unfortunately, I had worked out what I will call the critical factor in the book (not wanting to spoil it for future readers) by the end of chapter 2. Nevertheless, I ploughed on, although I found it all a bit tedious. In fairness, the author has a difficult task, as the narrator is suffering from Post Partum Depression, which is needed to be reflected in the writing, but it is annoying to be told the same facts about a particular hero each time they appear in the story. The end chapters confirmed my theory, albeit with one latest extra twist, but overall I found the book disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    I have to say that this is one of the BEST books I have ever read. The ending of the book was so unexpected that I sat with my mouth hung begin for 10 minutes. Very well written. I have never read any of Emily Bleeker books before, but I'm on the hunt for others. You will love, love, love this book. I couldn't place it down!!!!!!

    0  


    Add your opinion on the waiting game or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    That's what i said when I finished reading this book! I thought I had it all figured out. But this book was like Houdini. Amazing read! It had twist and turns but it never got so convoluted that I couldn't follow. I went through sad, mad, amazed, satisfied all at once in some chapters. I love when a book throws you off but you can still stay on track. Read it and you won't be disappointed. And I'm saying this at 5 am as I'm just finishing it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    I hadn’t read any kind of horror novel in a really long time, so The Waiting Mortuary was an interesting change of pace for me. It was super creepy, and the scenes, emotions, and characters’ viewpoints were well described. The sights, sounds, and smells lingered with me and probably will for a while. The story is told through alternating points of view of the characters, and I was wondering how the individual stories would come together. Creepy to search out who the kidnapper was and his motivations for doing so! I was intrigued until the latest page, especially as I wondered how Bash and Casey would obtain out of their individual plights – Casey’s especially. Excellent, really gripping read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    I couldn't even obtain through the first chapter. Not written well. Describes every thought, like the book is being narrated. Not for me

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Biblioburro []  2020-9-23 18:55

    Amazing story about the love of reading a kid has. My third grade students enjoyed this book. Amazing lesson about the value of reading and books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Waiting []  2020-11-8 18:36

    Exactly as described. It’s a hard book to find. I know there is a fresh reprint coming in a few months but the price was perfect and I didn’t wish to wait.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Night []  2021-4-2 20:15

    All cds by Freddie Jones Band are excellent. What a amazing talented band.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Night []  2021-4-2 20:15

    Country-tinged Rock, I was drawn in by "In a Daydream", but didn't search anything else here for me. Competent at all of it - song-writing, lyrics, playing, singing - they just didn't connect with me, that's all, other than "In a Daydream", which is about as amazing as a song could ever be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    Holy smokes!!The Waiting Mortuary pulled me in and spat me out like never ipping from the opening chapter, I breezed through the pages with amazing gusto, devouring each word as an ever thickening story grew before my om the middle of the story onwards, I literally couldnt place it down. And my word....what a finish!!I particularly loved the final chapter. I was left with a tingling sensation coursing through me. So brilliant, and clinched a 5-star rating.Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    I’m a real crime and horror buff so it takes a lot to pull me in and more often than not when a book advertises itself as spine tingling it’s not, HOWEVER, this book had me hooked from the dnapping. Everyone’s worst fear. This book comes through with setting you on edge and making you paranoid from the moment you turn the first e various perspectives add a nice touch to the story and are done quite y wants to be a star tennis player but she’s not very good. Late night sessions on the tennis court turn into a nightmare in the blink of any eye. Kidnapped. Locked in some god forsaken hell hole.•Bash is a glutton for punishment. An alcoholic with an ulcer who just landed the weirdest job ever. Watching corpses in a low budget mortuary ran by a senile WWII vet to “make sure they’re dead”. He’s about to land himself in a fudged up situation that may cost him his freedom. •X the serial assassin with severe mommy problems and even worse private hygiene. He makes his victims “Fight or Die” but he’s severely underestimated Casey. ••This book is one hell of a rollercoaster. Quick paced. No bull.Overall this is a really amazing read..while my spine didn’t tingle I definitely check the locks on my door and rearmed my security system just Incase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    If you wish to read a heart-rending story that outlines the very differing lives of kids living in poverty, you'll have fun this book. It is well written and portrays a vivid and realistic picture of what life is like for kids who must scramble around for life's necessities. Have your Kleenex handy, though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    If you wish to cast moral judgement on George Packer, don't read this book. If you wish to read the best Peace Corps book ever written, at least about life in Africa, then pick up this book. I lived in Guinea in the mid-90s, while Packer was in Togo in the early 80s. Yet I felt like he was describing my own village, my own frustrations, my own thoughts and feelings (save the prostitute). This was the book that convinced me not to write a book about my own experience. He did it, only better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    This book was not only wordy, boring, and highly depressing and sad. If you are struggling with depression it will obtain worse by reading this book. This book is So sad and becomes even sadder at the end. The most sad and depressing book I have ever read. I am an avid reader and love psychological thrillers. Please don't read if you have any sort of depression. It really is a dark, sad book. Nothing satisfied comes out of it. Not a glimpse of happiness but maybe for 1 second and then you realize the truth which is even sadder. This book is so toxic I threw it out. I would not wish any one to feel such sadness from a book. Even if a book is sad it should offer a glimpse of hope. The hero was also extremely unlikeable. Everyone was unlikeable in the book. I always have to finish books no matter how bad. This one takes the cake.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    OK, so I bought this based on the amazing reviews of others and for the most part I feel the same way. Amazing surprise at the end. I did feel it was a far-fetched conclusion but satisfied for the value of forgiveness. This is a amazing read but I found half method through that I would have liked it to move along a small faster. I was tired of the craziness but of course, when you read it, I am sure that is what it could really be like. I am glad I read it because I feel the disaster of this woman’s life could actually bring a person to the mental knees. It was hard to read in locations but of course that is the story too. Hope you like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Biblioburro []  2020-9-23 18:55

    Amazing book about the Biblioburro's visit to a little city in Colombia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Waiting []  2020-11-8 18:36

    If you've ever seen a production of Shakespeare's "Richard III" and your largest complaint was that it didn't take enough liberties with history, then this could be the book for you. Actually, if you've recently seen "Richard III" and had any kind of opinion at all on it then unless you slept through the entire play this is definitely the book for you, because you're going to need all that knowledge of the Plantagenet dynasty new at the forefront of your brain if you're going to obtain everything out of this book that it wants you to r everyone who isn't a European Middle Ages scholar or a fan of the Battle of the Roses that didn't star Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner then I'm going to give you two hints that you should probably take under consideration before you dive into this. First, do some primary reading on at least the War of Bosworth field and the happenings that led up to it and second, use the "Who's who" that John Ford's publisher unhelpfully stuck at the very back of the book since it gives you both names and titles of the some of the principal nobility involved. And with the novel often going Russian on you and interchangeably referring to folks by name and title (i.e. Anthony Woodville or Rivers) as if the title were their name, being able to tell people apart may wind up being kind of clutch. At least it would have been for me had I known that existed, but I'm unfortunately not one of those people who turns to the back of the book first.If all those warnings haven't scared you off then you're actually going to be in for a beautiful good, if sometimes opaque, time. Taking put in the mid to late 1400s, Ford presents a globe with several key differences from ours. The first will strike people as beautiful obvious . . . the Byzantine Empire didn't die off in 1453 like it did in the true globe (although by point it was kind of a mercy killing anyway) and instead thrived, displacing both Christianity and Islam in the process while trying to expand over the rest of Europe. That changes a lot of political equations slightly but it still means that Europe in this period is a huge mess, which it probably was in true life around that time as well, even without having to worry about dealing with wacky Fresh Era e second huge difference is that magic is apparently a true thing, with sorcerers and wizards roaming around adding further chaos to all the intrigue, which would be poor enough before you begin mixing vampires into the equations. Both of which don't quite take center scene but are prominent enough that you're not going to mistake this for a strictly historical doent. Blood will s the dirt on battlefields, but it also will also create it into a cup as a nice of the hurdles that people are going to have with this book is that Ford doesn't explicitly spell out the ground rules for this fresh reality, basically writing a novel as if his made-up globe was the true globe and you're reading about the fictionalization of a historical event. He does spend the first portion of the book as a kind of oblique "bringing the band together" sort of scenario, as we're introduced to the four main characters one by one in an extended series of chapters. There's a Welsh wizard that once again reminds you that the Welsh language looks like your brain has been disconnected from what letters mean and doesn't sound at all like its spelled (at least if the Super Furry Animals albums I've listened to are anything to go by). You've also got a Italian lady doctor who's pals with the Medicis, a Byzantine mercenary who has to run when they begin pruning potential heirs off the family tree, and a German vampire who is doing beautiful amazing subsisting on anything but people but sometimes gets that look like he's not undressing you with his eyes so much as imagining you with a spigot. All of them wind up having their own reasons to not wish the Byzantines to take over everything so when cirtances throw them all together they sort of become a medieval "A-Team" trying to figure out what the plan is before it all comes together and gets them e plan isn't abundantly clear at first and even by the end of the book you may wonder what the heck just happened. Wizard Hywel tends to play his cards so close to his chest that only an X-ray machine can read them properly, which means the other characters and often the reader are taking things on faith that it's all part of the plan or just going about their business until they realize that's part of the plan too. With everyone bringing cartloads of baggage to the proceedings, small of it spelled out, you're often trying to piece the impact of happenings through inference as Ford leaves enough zone begin that you have to work to figure out what just happened and how huge a deal it is. If you're not amazing at reading between the lines then sometimes the book will take pity on you and have someone give an explanation but more often than not you're on your own and its not going to wait up for makes the book both confusing and immersive. It completely commits to the scenario, which created it compelling for me because I search elliptical intrigue fun, especially when it involves different personages attached to royalty all attempting to slay each other without making it seem so obvious, until they have no choice but to create it obvious and then the knives come out. Even when the plot twists were somewhat lost on me (or didn't dawn on me until a hundred pages later when another plot twist shed some light on the latest one) he does a amazing job of mixing actual historical murder methods with the creepiness of a globe where wizards and vampires actually exist. Far from a Magic: the Gathering android game come to life, magic in this globe is treated as fairly frightening, vaguely defined but coming at a high cost whenever it appears. There are moments when Hywel seems to want he were anything but a wizard and even if you can't figure out exactly how magic works in this world, it adds another layer to happenings that would be interesting without the supernatural once you begin understanding the shape of what's taking place.But until you do there's a lot to like. The four main characters create the best of being thrown together and despite all being outcasts of a sort they test to forge some connections in a messed up globe that only promises to obtain worse if the Byzantines have their way. Sometimes he plays things too much at arm's length, making both the stage and the motivations suspect (a murder early on is convoluted enough but then its impact on the doctor created me think I missed something) but as the book gets into the thick of it and back to England it becomes clear what kind of deadly android game is being the upper hand switches hands repeatedly and everyone's loyalties are not what they appear, the book becomes a put where the worst outcome isn't that everyone gets killed, its that they obtain to live in the globe that survives. Interweaving tilted versions of historical happenings (the fate of the Princes of the Turret is . . . its something) with warped variations of characters dead too long to complain about it (although if you're a fan of Archbi John Morton you won't be a fan of this book) it never comes across as a drunken historian's challenge of showing how everything can be improved with vampires but a life or death struggle for a method of life that isn't overly amazing but is better than the alternative. And while its lack of clarity in parts can leave you cold (if novels about the 1400s don't already leave you cold) that in its own method feels honest. At a time when your fate was barely your own and topic to the whims of people who won the birth lottery, all the globe you knew what was you could see and what you knew had to exist beyond sight, the moving parts of invisible engines whose influence you could feel pressing down no matter how much you tried to ignore them. These people all feel it and their only recourse is to push versus it to test to move it a precious inch without knowing if it'll grind them down anyway or if the inch will even matter. In this alternate globe history would swallow them and they still try, because anything else is intolerable. Strip away the bloodsucking and the hocus pocus and that's what comes through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Waiting []  2020-11-8 18:36

    The Dragon Waiting is a 'genre novel.' That classification allows some people to pretend it's not literature. To pretend it's not the well-crafted small masterpiece it is. Give this book and Ford's other 'genre novels' -- they're all DIFFERENT genres -- a try. They are unforgivably inexpensive compared to their is tale is my favorite some of the other reviews note, it is very well-written and yet you have to bring yourself into this work. Motives are not laid out for you as they would be in typical fantasy or alternative history. Your knowledge of the time period is never assumed. Nor is it taken into account. The author does not connect all the dots. . . he leaves you the reader to engage with r those of your who love history, this is a small like Umberto Eco's Name of the Rose or Foucault's Pendulum in this one aspect -- your own research or curiosity is rewarded if YOU take the additional step of reading more.Who is Richard Duke of Gloucester?What was the 'real' state of Byzantium like in the Medieval Globe that all of us accept as 'history'?Would a vampire really marry a mortal, like in your favorite 'tween potboiler of the 21st century? :-)The Dragon in Waiting is a Masque that masks the author's love of language, of libraries, of the wonderful, of the wondrous, and of the obscure. Spend the time with it. First, allow it draw you IN because it's a fine book on its own -- but, please, then allow it lead you OUT into your OWN exploration of alternate history and into realities that we barely understand even though they occurred just 600 years ago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Night []  2021-4-2 20:15

    Love this album! Brings me back to the days of college parties where I first heard them. Catchy hooks, amazing lyrics and beats you can stop playing in your head. It's a must for any FJB fan! Some of their best work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Night []  2021-4-2 20:15

    Amazing band from the 80's-90's.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    This is a amazing story full of suspense and chilling realization, especially with the latest chapter. I loved the fact that it is written from three points of view. I don’t come across that very often and the author does a amazing job with that. It’s very clear which hero has which chapter. Characters are well developed and the story pulls you in from the start. I will definitely recommend this book to lovers of horror and suspense!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    It didn't take long for The Waiting Mortuary to really pull me in. Told from alternating viewpoints, the pieces of the puzzle are slowly revealed. While you obtain a birds eye view of the very likable and relatable characters. (Heck, you even wind up feeling somewhat for the poor guy. Only somewhat though haha) While the answers to the mystery don't exactly blow you away, I can think of a few mystery loving teens I'll be recommending this to. As far as labels go, I'd call this teen and up YA since there are some disturbing themes. (Kidnapping, and partying, suicide. I think it's necessary to know what your teen is reading. There is no one size fits all. So its up to us to figure it out on a case by case basis at the very least.) I received a free ARC of this book from Hidden Gems in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    I fully understood what George Packer went through as a PCV in Togo as I am a former Peace Corps Volunteer (PCV) as well! He wrote very well. It seemed Africa will continue to have the same issues so long as their leaders present no or very small interest to work for the betterment of their country and their people. But I like reading his experience in Togo as well as his accounts on travels to other countries. I like his writing style. As an outsider, he was very astute in his observation on the country and the people he associated with, including his students, colleagues, neighbors and mates he created in Togo.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    My son is currently in the Peace Corp near here. He thought this was a amazing representation of his experience and I enjoyed the book very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    This story! You can guess a million times through what the outcome will be, but I can promise you that you will not figure this one out until the heartbreaking, heartwarming end. I love Emily’s works and this one did not disappoint.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Biblioburro []  2020-9-23 18:55

    This is a amazing addition to my family library - excellent for my 6 and 8 year olds. It's a great, real story with a amazing moral about the power of an individual to create a difference. Plus it has some amazing Colombian flare.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Biblioburro []  2020-9-23 18:55

    This book develops the story of the biblioburro more in depth than others, making it suitable to older readers (K to 3rd graders). Nice illustrations add visual appeal to the story of a man that values teaching how to read to underprivileged kids in remote rural areas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Waiting []  2020-11-8 18:36

    The novel is set in a slightly altered historical Middle Ages, with the addition of magic, vampires, and an expansionist Byzantine Empire, and with Christianity reduced to the status of a minor cult in a globe that recognizes all religions. There are several major wars and a amazing deal of well-crafted political intrigue, mostly pertaining to England's Battles of the Roses. The plot is interesting and paced well. The point-of-view characters are interesting and have enough depth to feel like true people - though I personally grew a small tired of everyone falling in love with the female doctor.. A very enjoyable read caveat: the author assumes reader familiarity with all major (and a lot of minor) political figures of the era. This doesn't hurt the plot, but some of the characters will be far less interesting to readers unfamiliar with the history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Waiting []  2020-11-8 18:36

    Hywel Peredur. Demetrios Dumas. Cynthia Ricci. Each has lost someone or something precious to the devious machinations of the Byzantine Empire; togeher they hope to halt its inexorable march to the ends of the Earth. But in this cleverly-created alternate history where Christianity is one of a lot of religions, Minerva is God of Science, and vampirism a pesky disease "like @#$%!ing sugar", nothing in history can be predicted as happenings twist to an unespected turn into the might-have-been.…

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Waiting []  2020-11-8 18:36

    Amazing quality for the money..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Waiting []  2020-11-8 18:36

    As a fan of historical fiction and fantasy I was looking forward to reading this book. Unfortunately, I was dissapointed. The storyline is choppy and the characters are poorly developed. It is often difficult to figure out who is talking and the hero motivation is questionable. In addition, the medicine is just plain wrong (ie. looking for a femoral pulse in a calf). If you wish a amazing historical fiction ver of the Battle of the Roses, I would suggest starting with The Sunne in Splendor by SK Penman. (although there is no magic) This falls very short of the tag in all cases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Night []  2021-4-2 20:15

    I purchased this CD as a bonus for my husband's 50 birthday. He LOVED his CD and has played it at least once or twice a day before leaving for work. He says the melody from this CD inspired him through some of the toughest times of his life and it still seems to energize him and create him happier as he faces the work day ahead at this more peaceful, stable time in his life! Amazing product. A lot of thanks for making it available to us!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Night []  2021-4-2 20:15

    If you love Freddy Jones this is one of the best, even if you don't, still one of the best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Night []  2021-4-2 20:15

    Amazing first release, all sorts of influences create this melody flow across all the tracks. Probably the best Freddy Jones effort from begin to finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    The Waiting Mortuary begins from the perspective of Casey, a strong-willed 17 year old girl. She's on her method to her vehicle at night when she is kidnapped. The next chapter is from the perspective of 17 year old, Bash. His family discusses the news of the kidnapping, and that this is the 3rd in a series of latest abductions of teenage girls. Although Bash doesn't know Casey well, he has seen her around at school. The story then progresses, switching perspectives each chapter, between Casey, Bash and "X," who is Casey's is book has some interesting takes on the genre and contains some twists and turns I didn't see coming, which is always a treat. As with any amazing horror book, the story was disturbing and "spine-tingling" (as promised in the subtitle). If you're a fan of horror, don't hesitate to give this book a try. You won't be sorry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    Thought I had this one all figured out. Until the end. Then again at the very end. Shocker! Loved this book. Any book that can hold me wanting to hurry and see what happens next and at the same time makes me not wanting it to end is a champion for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    A complex story with intertwined characters that test to overcome the worst that could happen in a persons life. That is the basis for this story, but as it unfolds you see people at the breaking point that claw their method back to a fresh life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    The Waiting Room is a very amazing book full of twists and turns. I kept trying to figure out what was going on from one moment to the next but for the most part I was unsuccessful. I got a few small, very little info right. I thoroughly enjoyed this book as it is well written and well researched. A lot of times when a writer deals with psychological subjects they obtain some facts wrong, this is not the case with The Waiting Room. Ms. Bleeker created sure to obtain expert support from doctors in the psychology e Waiting Room is about Veronica Shelton, aka Ronnie, and her find to search herself. She is an artist that illustrates children's books. The story starts with Veronica waking up to search her husband Nick and daughter Sophie gone. She then gets a phone call that there has been a not good accident. Quick forward six months and Veronica is in a fresh house and her mother is living with her to support her out with the baby. She starts to see a therapist to support her because she can't keep her daughter without having a panic attack. From here own the journey has several up and downs, and twists and t aside time to read this book because once you obtain involved in the story you aren't going to wish to place it down. At 268 pages it can be a fast read. This is a short review because I don't wish to give anything away. Just know if you like a book to mess with your head and really create you think this is a amazing read. I look forward to reading more from this author. At the time of this review the book is running at a price of $1.99 or free on Kindle Unlimited, so grab a copy while it's at a amazing price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    Before you read my review you should know that I was a PCV in the 70's en Cote d'Ivoirve and had a amazing experience. Also, during my time in West Africa I traveled to Togo which I found to be a true interesting place, thus my comments may seem a bit bias. I loved this book for all the wrong reasons. Not good George Packer did just about everything possible to assure that his Peace Corps experience would be a true "train wreck". I give him credit for even writing a book like this. I would recommend this book to anyone considering joining the Peace Corps as a tutorial for what not to do. I will not spoil the book for potential readers by picking apart his missteps. I am somewhat surprised that he was ever allowed to join up in the first place. As you read this book have some fun trying to figure out at what point Packer is going to 'pack it in' and under what cirtances. Sadly, from my own observations of other Peace Corps Volunteers, George's story is more common than one might think.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    I have been a fan of the writing of journalist George Packer, notably his reporting for The Fresh Yorker and his book of reporting on the Iraq War, The Assassin's Gate. When I heard that he wrote a Peace Corps memoir, The Village Of Waiting (1988), about his experiences in the West African country of Togo I was interested to read his perspective about it. Already his reporting and narrative story telling was strong. The reader learns a lot about the country, community, and the exasperation of Africa from the perspective of a white westerner. It was a strong experience in the per-internet days and it was a testament to his resolve that he lasted over a year-he did not complete his assignment, he failed to return for his latest six months after taking a trip to Europe. Similarly another Peace Corps inspired book from another writer I liked, Chasing The Sea by Tom Bissell in Uzbekistan, also was ultimately about a failed Peace Corps stint where he basically had a nervous breakdown and was inspired to go back and search closure in the country. This is a various book from that one, but in the Afterword by the author we learn about how the country and the people he met there continued to be a significant part of his life as he returned to report there and support the mates that he created there over time. These experiences were exasperating and soul crushing in the recounting of struggles and set backs these people encountered over the years. In that sense the latest part calls to mind Paul Theroux's exasperation with Africa in his latest foray into the country that defeats him and sends him home packing before he planned to go home in Latest Train To Zona Verde. There's also a Foreword by Philip Gourevitch, another reporter and writer about Africa that I respect. I found this to be a strong first person acc full of detailed descriptions of life in Africa in the early 80s from the point of view of an idealistic Peace Corps volunteer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    This book is incredible. It's at once funny and poignant. Its descriptions of Togo are spot on - Packer paints a vividly realistic portrait of his experiences in that country. He's also honest about himself and his reactions - he paints himself and his reactions to his surroundings in an unvarnished light. This touching acc of his experiences makes for very rewarding reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Biblioburro []  2020-9-23 18:55

    This is based on a real story from Columbia. But when you read the story, it fells very cross-national. I could easily believe the story was from Mexico or Honduras etc. A girl's teacher moves away and she has only one book. She longs to read more books, but there are no options in her remote area. One day a man brings books on burros and the traveling library enables her to read fresh stories. In the end, the kid is spurred to write her own stories to share with is would be a amazing introductory book into visiting a library, understanding other cultures, learning primary Spanish, and writing a ermixed throughout the story are some Spanish words (which are not translated to English). So the book would be highly appropriate for bilingual classes... but translation is required for non-Spanish speakers. There is no pronunciation explained either from how to say the alphabet or the Spanish words - so its up to the reader to create sure they are doing it right. A fast find on the internet brought up the pronunciation refreshers I needed.Overall its a amazing book with photos that are sure to engage students.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Biblioburro []  2020-9-23 18:55

    This story is amazing. There was a film created because its based on real events. Highly recommend! This will be a amazing addition to your home library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Biblioburro []  2020-9-23 18:55

    I purchased this thinking it was the bilingual ver and was very disappointed to search that it is just the English version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Waiting []  2020-11-8 18:36

    Imagine Europe in the 1480s, in a globe very much like our own but also with some huge differences. Christianity remains a minor Jewish heresy and Islam never happened. Most people still worship the formalized Roman gods, with those who wish emotion in their religion turning to the mysteries of Mithraism. Constantine XI, instead of dying on the ramparts of his falling capital in 1453, rules a Byzantine Empire that totally controls the eastern Mediterranean, North Africa and the southern half of France (the northern half belongs to the English Plantagenets, with a angry Capet "king" occupying a buffer state of a few miles around Paris), and Byzantium is working its method up the Italian peninsula nipping off the Italian Renaissance states one by one. Oh, and magic works and vampires exist - as the effect of a contagious blood disease, not as suave Eastern Europeans in black tie and is is the scene John Ford made for one of the greatest alternate history novels of the century (and I say this as an admirer of Harry Turtledove and other writers in this genre). Over a half century, his characters weave the threads of their own lives across the continent until they all come together in what seems a hopeless effort to hold England's amazing King Richard III from being toppled by the Byzantine-backed black magician Henry Tudor. This is a book that once I got well into it (and its one fault is that it does begin slowly), I was unable to place it down until I finished. Alternate history is harder to write than it looks, since once you change one thing in history, it changes others in a widening cascade. But Ford paid attention to these consequences, and as a effect produced an engrossing work of fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Night []  2021-4-2 20:15

    Love love love these guys.. thanks for introducing me to them 93 XRT!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    Very amazing book, came early.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Mortuary []  2020-1-11 19:32

    I got an ARC of this e book is told from three perspectives, which can be confusing when the book isn't written well. The characters in this book are distinguishable, but that may be due to their drastically various cirtances. It is obvious who is and is not the assassin for example. The three narrators are the killer, one of his victims, and a child that somehow gets involved in everything despite beautiful much just being an alcoholic.Of the main characters, I didn't care for Bash. He was lazy, he was beautiful flat, and his main thing in life was hating his parents being parents so he drank a lot. The assassin was interesting. He had an abusive background that created him sympathetic for a second, but not any longer than a second. His backstory got twisted true fast and went for no obvious reason at all. It felt tacked on to create him more deviant than what he already was. The victim is a girl who really wants to be on the tennis team, but just has never created it. She doesn't have any hero building outside of being envious of one girl in school and wanting to play tennis. Then she is the victim. The plot itself was wonderfully done. I was kept guessing until the very end how Bash ended up twisted up in the killing and kidnapping. It was created very clear that he was not the assassin within the first couple of chapters, so it wasn't the normal twists and turns that a book like this could take. The ending was beautiful poor though. The latest chapter just didn't need to exist. It felt forced and drastically changed how the story read. If you ignore the latest chapter, then this book was beautiful awesome. It was one that held my attention, was downright scary, and not overly gory despite the gore. It was well done. That latest chapter though, it was poor enough to take off a whole star. 

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room []  2020-1-21 20:40

    This book dragged on, I found myself skimming through it. Lots of mistakes (eg: one morning Sophie was referred to as 7 months old; later that day she was eight and a half months old). Story line is a small old. Just disappointing, definitely not as amazing as Wreckage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    George Packer recounts his experiences as a Peace Corps volunteer in Togo. The book explores Packer’s subjective architecture as he encounters the difficulties of living in a developing, authoritarian country. The oppressive climate of deluge and drought of sub Saharan Africa and the poverty and sickness afflicting its inhabitants conquer Packer despite his desire to help. It would be interesting to see Packer compare Togo to Ghana and describe how related cases produce marginally various outcomes. The human condition is problematic and Togo’s poverty brings these issues into sharp focus. Packer is talented in representing the humanity of the people with whom he lived and worked. Those who wish to understand the potential emotional challenges of doing development work would benefit from Packer’s reflections.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Village of Waiting []  2020-1-22 21:52

    Another amazing Peace Corps book that is well written and gives you a much better idea of the issues and challenges of third globe nations than any newspaper article ever will

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Biblioburro []  2020-9-23 18:55

    This is a realistic fiction story about a girl who loves to read, but lives in a remote village where her teacher moved away and books are few. Then, one day, the biblioburro arrives. I love reading this book to my class of 1st graders. It's a amazing read aloud book for inferring, including trying to figure out what a biblioburro is and why Luis' burros are named Alpha and Beto. I also liked that the author included info about the true Luis and the various types of traveling libraries that bring books to readers around the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Biblioburro []  2020-9-23 18:55

    It’s a amazing story about the love of reading and writing stories! Parents could read to a kid or an independent reader at a 2nd grade level could read it. This book helps encourage kids to generate their own stories. As an elementary school reading instructor this is a amazing book to inspire story-telling and learn about how other cultures search ways to share books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Biblioburro []  2020-9-23 18:55

    As described -- quick shipping -- thank you!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Waiting []  2020-11-8 18:36

    Complex historical fiction with a magical twist. Very intriguing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dragon Waiting []  2020-11-8 18:36

    This is an perfect fantsy novel from my early years. It is well written, with rich historical detail and cutting suspense. The book I recieved was of amazing quality, and first edition paperback. I would recommend this book to anyone with a taste for historical novels and fantasy. Fans of Parke Godwin, Morgan Llewellyn and more recently Jim Butcher should have fun this work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Night []  2021-4-2 20:15

    Amazing Album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting for the Night []  2021-4-2 20:15

    bought as a gift

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting []  2020-1-20 1:38

    Heard this song at the end of a TV present (Proof). I knew it had been around for a while, but I just had to hear the entire song for the first time. It is beautiful, rather haunting. I love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting []  2020-1-20 1:38

    Very haunting. .heard this while watching transparent season 2

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting []  2020-1-20 1:38

    Amaazing song

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Marquis She's Been Waiting For (The Marriage Game Book 9) []  2020-4-6 18:11

    Well developed characters and plot. Happenings moved smoothly. I especially enjoyed the women, smart, knowledgeable, and caring. Just enough . Of course I will follow this author. I appreciate learning about history this way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Marquis She's Been Waiting For (The Marriage Game Book 9) []  2020-4-6 18:11

    Loved this story. Loved that neither Alex or Dorie could see what everyone else could see. That create for one loyal romantic y loving compassionate couple.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Marquis She's Been Waiting For (The Marriage Game Book 9) []  2020-4-6 18:11

    This story is one just to settle back and have fun some unusual cirtances of daily Regency life. There is nothing to worry about as you read. Enjoyment is paramount. So lovely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Marquis She's Been Waiting For (The Marriage Game Book 9) []  2020-4-6 18:11

    I really enjoyed this is very various yet it comes alive and the characters are people you would like to be best mates with

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Marquis She's Been Waiting For (The Marriage Game Book 9) []  2020-4-6 18:11

    This is my second read by Mrs Ella Quinn, and she is one author who does not rush her is was a slow burn romance, the plot moved slowly giving time to Lady Dorcus Caltrop and the Marquis Of Exeter to obtain to know another, challenge the other and understand in time they were created for each first I did not understand Dorie’s character, I knew she felt damage to have engaged her hope to the wrong man. But did she knows why he didn’t gave suit to his courting? Their personalities were not matching. When one is looking for an obedient bride, a managing woman is surely not the right en why being weary of the fresh titled Marquis?He is newly titled and she does not know en she explained she was expecting a love match, and her managing self has settle on the idea she can choose with whom she will fall for.What a the silly notion she could decide on someone and fall in is not something to command and the men she has place on her list, only rise middle feelings for the best or e even got mad at herself when she senses she is more attracted to Alex than to all her potential ill she can’t scratch to yze her feelings and continue to push him away by trying to search the right woman for him and awaken fresh sentiments not always kind to her re, Alex was attracted to Dorie for the wrong reason at first. But soon he comes to see her for more than the managing woman who could rule his household and not answering his lead, she intrigued him and became a fixture for his brain. How slowly he began to fall for her not even knowing was entertaining to see all these prim and proper protagonists interacting and finding themselves trapped in the android game they thought leading. Misreading the other and misjudging the situations.Hopefully they are surrounded by very meddling side characters who see straight to their heart and in their own method protected them versus their own e end of the story added a bit of action to the couple’s life until they are properly settled.A 4.5 stars read.I was provided through Netgalley an advance copy by the publisher Kensington Books. I purchased my own copy. This is my real and unbiased opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Marquis She's Been Waiting For (The Marriage Game Book 9) []  2020-4-6 18:11

    I have enjoyed reading all of the stories in this series and look forward to the next one. I admit I was surprised how society in this era was so fast to condemn innocent relatives of someone who stepped outside the boundries of accepted behavior.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Marquis She's Been Waiting For (The Marriage Game Book 9) []  2020-4-6 18:11

    I liked that Alex and Dorie were introduced to the story separately, then when they met there was instant chemistry. I enjoyed the story very much. The supporting characters were interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Marquis She's Been Waiting For (The Marriage Game Book 9) []  2020-4-6 18:11

    Alexander Endicott, Lord Exter, returns from his Grand Tour to search his home in London in an uproar. His two youngest sisters have been abandoned by their mother who ran off with the newest steward. Only with the support of Lady Dorie has there been some stability in his sisters lives and in his holdings. Alex is immediately infatuated with Dorie and decides she will be his wife. Only Dorie has her own thoughts on marriage. She will only marry for love. Alex is a Marquis trying to figure out how to create a lady fall in love with him, even when he doesn't know what love is. Funny laugh out loud. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Marquis She's Been Waiting For (The Marriage Game Book 9) []  2020-4-6 18:11

    But that's ok. The heroine is a powerful woman who knows what she's doing. It's a amazing thing she and Exeter fell in love. Otherwise she'd have no use for him. I liked this story because Dorie wasn't a useless bit of fluff to be carried away by some lord. Definitely not thinly disguised . If you're looking for a bodice ripper, this is not it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Marquis She's Been Waiting For (The Marriage Game Book 9) []  2020-4-6 18:11

    Very informative! This book has so a lot of of the day to day regular life of the time that it created everything so interesting! Of course with Ella Quinn's stories the characters are always unbelievable and real! Amazing author, amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room (Southside collection) []  2020-1-21 20:59

    I did not know that Chicago has one of the biggest jails in the country. It covers the location of 72 football fields! The treatment that families of prisoners obtain is horrible, and the prisoners are treated even worse. They are just allow loose and have to fend for themselves when released. Not even given enough cash to obtain them back to their homes. The criminal justice system is a joke. Reform is desperately needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room (Southside collection) []  2020-1-21 20:59

    I knew of injustices. I knew of bias. When these stories are brought to life, I understand, but don't understand. Why? Why are these things still going on? The stories in this series present us the true Chicago problems, and folks there don't need more injustice, they need help.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room (Southside collection) []  2020-1-21 20:59

    This short book has to be one of the most eye-opening pieces of literature I’ve ever laid eyes on!The details, the corruption, the INJUSTICE! I feel so sorry for the people who have to deal with these corrupt police and their corrupt ank God for journalists and offers like this lady who believes in justice! Thank God for the people who have amazing hearts will not let this to go on without speaking up!⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room (Southside collection) []  2020-1-21 20:59

    Overall a amazing read however I’m not even an avid reader and found it to be beautiful short. I finished it in a couple hours. Amazing info and makes me interested to read more on the topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room (Southside collection) []  2020-1-21 20:59

    Other reviews provide synopses, so I'll refrain from that and simply say that I found the piece riveting. As another reviewer notes, the writing is certainly adversarial at times, but I would suggest that, given what's going on in Cook County (and across the US), it's something of a moral imperative to be adversarial here. It's amazing to see amazon supporting work like this and the others in the series--it's all incredibly important. I'll definitely be checking out the author's full length book on Cook County criminal justice.I would also note that, if you don't have amazon prime, you can save the two dollars and read this for free on the Marshall Project's website (the foundation with whom amazon worked to produce this series).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room (Southside collection) []  2020-1-21 20:59

    This is a amazing read. I've been to this jail to pick up people. Her description is spot on. I knew people who used to go to that Popeyes chicken to wait for family. Would highly recommend this story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room (Southside collection) []  2020-1-21 20:59

    This short book provides a masterly description of what it feels like to be released from the confines of the massively disorienting, oppressive Cook County jail. But as Van Cleve's ethnography clearly shows, the experience falls far short of freedom. This is a fast read--perfect for a commute or a class assignment. Will definitely inspire lots of amazing discussion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room (Southside collection) []  2020-1-21 20:59

    There are secrets and cruelties that leave a scar inside a person's soul for a lifetime. They are not exclusive to the accused, their alleged victims, or their families. There are locations where Legal is neither moral nor just. The "release" process at Cook County Jail brands any body, any heart touched by it, with such a scar. This narrative leaves one's gut with the feeling of having swallowed a corkscrew.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room (Southside collection) []  2020-1-21 20:59

    This strong short story captures the slow-motion drag of Chicago's legal system, where justice is swift but redemption is granted at a glacial pace. Gonzalez Van Cleve masterfully weaves the heartbreaking stories of those caught in legal-system limbo and the grim statistics that challenge them at every turn. My heart broke several times thinking of the futility that faces each of the people that are highlighted. The author uses a deft pen to humanize the people that she meets, men who are too often cast as faceless perpetrators of color. They are worth knowing and their stories are worth e story is available for free with an Amazon Prime subscription, but it is well worth the $1.99 for those who aren't Prime members. It's a fast read, but one that has lasting impact. This is the type of storytelling that calls for change with the same impact of a protestor's bullhorn.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Waiting Room (Southside collection) []  2020-1-21 20:59

    I was waiting for more? I know that the criminal justice system is flawed. However, I also know that not all police officers are bad, nor are all the jails filled with innocent victims. Very short, biased, and disappointing. I'm asking: So? Well? And? Then, what? I feel like a point was about to be made, a sceptic - potentially convinced. Then, it was over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting Game (Vegas Aces Book 4) []  2021-4-2 18:0

    Waiting Android game (Vegas Aces #4) by Lisa Suzanne is part four of a contemporary sports romance series and ends with a cliffhanger. It's told entirely from the first person perspective of the female main character, Ellie is book picks up where the previous one ended with Luke and Ellie's Hawaii wedding and Michelle interrupting the ceremony to test to stop them. Despite a lot of objections, Ellie and Luke obtain married and search another put to honeymoon, away from Luke's toxic family. Things finally turn the corner in their relationship, and although they have a one-year contractual marriage agreement, Luke finally opens up and admits his real feelings for Ellie. But they don't obtain to spend much time together before Luke needs to go to training camp and preseason android games begin. During this time, Ellie begins to settle in and obtain to know some of the other pro football wives. But Luke and Ellie aren't in the clear yet. His pregnant ex, Michelle, is still around to wreak havoc along with his trouble-making brother, Jack. What else could possibly go wrong?I loved the fourth installment in Ellie and Luke's story! It was amazing to have Luke and Ellie finally on the same page about their feelings and ramping up their chemistry again. This tropey series is so much fun! Full of endless twists and drama! I'm addicted, and can't wait to search out what happens next in the final installment!*** I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC. ***

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting Game (Vegas Aces Book 4) []  2021-4-2 18:0

    Michelle Cranks Up The Pressure As The Newlyweds Test To Settle In. The Book Ends With A Tearful Twist As Everything Changes For The Couple. The Story Concludes In The Next Book!The Vegas Aces series includes:1. Home Game2. Long Game3. Fair Game4. Waiting Game5. End GameVegas Aces is a series of fast reads that revolves around Luke Dalton, wide receiver for the Las Vegas-based Aces football team, and his best mate and fellow teammate’s small sister, Ellie is is book four of the series, Waiting Game. Book one of the series, Home Game, sets up the series and ends with an unexpected angsty twist. Long Game, book two, gets serious as Luke and Ellie start to live and work together. In book three, Fair Game, Luke’s dysfunctional family is introduced leading up to the couple’s nuptials as they move forward with their fake marriage. Each book is sure to have the reader ready to grab the next book of the OM HOME GAME, BOOK ONE:Josh Nolan loved playing for his hometown squad – the Chicago Bears – but he doesn’t regret getting traded to the Las Vegas Aces one year ago. His fresh teammates are already like brothers. With his fiancée Nicki at his side, life couldn’t be is just days before Josh and Nicki’s early summer wedding as the story opens.Ellie Marie Nolan, twenty-five, always finds herself in trouble. She doesn’t always think first. She suffers from foot in the mouth syndrome and is prone to accidents. Her brother Josh laughs when she tells him all about her slipups. He happens to be a pro-football player – and engaged to be married to Ellie’s best mate since sophomore year of high school. Ellie couldn’t be happier for the pair, though she might be a small jealous. Her most latest attempt at a boyfriend failed – and she lost her job as well, a job in public relations that she loved. So when Josh suggests that there is nothing preventing her from following him and Nicki to Las Vegas, she gives it serious consideration. And when he works out temporary living arrangements for her, she can hardly refuse giving it a go. She can always move back if it doesn’t work out. So instead of planning to fly back after Josh and Nicki’s wedding this weekend, she packs up her apartment and hopes to create Vegas her fresh ke Dalton, thirty-one, lives for football. He started out his professional career playing for the Aces and fully intends to stay in Las Vegas until his retirement from the sport. But fresh recruits join the league each year, competing for a limited number of spots. He sees the writing on the wall, even if he chooses to ignore it. He is disciplined and professional in all he does, hoping to delay the inevitable. What really weighs him down, however, is the women from is past. He and Savannah divorced just over four years ago, but the sports reporter still tries to squeeze him for all she can. And Michele was a mistake that he hopes not to repeat. That ended a few months ago. He never should have had her move in after just a year of dating. He has learned from experience, though, and vows never to marry again.When Luke and Ellie meet as strangers on the eve of Josh and Nicki’s rehearsal dinner, neither is looking for a relationship. But when they later cross paths again, their easy tryst turns out to be incredibly complicated. Ellie may be an begin book, but Luke is a small more complex. Ellie gets conflicting ideas about the quiet-spoken bachelor, and she cannot quite create up her mind about him. Forced together by cirtances, though, she begins to obtain a glimpse into the true man. This story ends with a surprising twist that leads into the second book of the series.I rate this book 4.5 OM LONG GAME, BOOK TWO:As book two opens, it is still Tuesday morning and Luke feels the reality of the situation weighing on him, but Ellie keeps a cool head, thinking like a PR professional. Michelle is vile and clearly makes Luke miserable. Unlike Luke, Ellie smells a rat. The thought of Michelle manipulating her method into Luke’s life crushes him, but Ellie explains that he can be a amazing father without giving into Michelle’s ploys. Ellie has lingering questions about Luke’s acceptance of the claims – there is so much about him that she still doesn’t know – but she focuses on the task at hand instead of badgering the very personal bachelor. The couple agrees to continue with their fake engagement in order to partially shield Luke from Michelle’s machinations. They even start to toy with the idea of turning their fake engagement into a fake marriage despite Luke’s vow to never marry again. In desperation, Luke challenges Ellie to prove her worth in her PR efforts as his reputation stands to take a beating.Ellie’s relationship with Luke is beyond complicated as they continue to obtain to know one another in this book. Luke provides her a put to live as well as a job, and they need to portray a couple in love as they start to be seen in public. There are mixed signals and confusing feelings galore on both sides, but it is Luke that holds the pair back. He continues to tell her that he is no Prince Charming when everything she learns about him indicates otherwise. Ellie slowly gets pulled into his life and his past. Each person she meets gives her a fresh piece of the puzzle to the enigmatic Luke Dalton. Debbie, Luke’s cook. Michelle, his ex-girlfriend. His ex-wife Savannah. Ace’s owner Calvin Bennett. And finally Luke’s family – his small sister Kaylee, his older brother Jack, and his parents – Tim and Carol Dalton. But the deeper Ellie gets, the more questions she ke and Ellie’s story continues with surprising revelations as the pair settles in and tries to stick to business despite their intense chemistry. Ellie takes on the task of saving Luke’s career and reputation, but she is often in her head with romantic thoughts of Luke. It does sometimes obtain a small repetitive, but on the other hand Luke’s behavior is confusing. Their one night stand turned friendship is complicated by mixed signals. This book is a small more serious as Luke’s history begins to come to light. He is absolutely adorable with his Lucky Charm habit and quiet but thoughtful ways. Still, he is honest in saying there is more to the story, which foretells of more roadblocks on the method to any potential satisfied ending for the couple. The tension builds when Ellie finally meets Luke’s family, and the book ends with another angsty twist that leads to the third book in the series.I rate this book 4.5 OM FAIR GAME, BOOK THREE:As book three opens, it is still the evening of Luke’s family’s arrival in Hawaii, and Ellie finds herself knocking on Jack’s door. It is shocking and confusing to read, much like Ellie herself feels. She has a lot to say to Jack, but her own confounded state and poor timing prevent her from getting the answers and reassurances she seeks. This does nothing to rectify things between her and Luke, and all the progress created between the pair is erased upon his family’s arrival. Every time they gather there is drama. Sometimes it brings the couple closer, and sometimes it sets them further apart.Jack, however, is consistent in trying to rile up his younger brother Luke. They are both magnetic and strong personalities, but Jack’s loud and arrogant ways overpower Luke’s more laid back and chill persona when the two are together. While Ellie first finds it difficult to resist Jack’s evil charm, she does start to obtain a little glimpse of the underlying issue between the brothers. Yet while she has fallen hard and quick for Luke, her love remains unrequited. Luke struggles when in the presence of his family, and isn’t in a terribly amazing state of mind. Nevertheless there are moments that hold hope alive that the couple might actually search their satisfied ending.Ellie struggles with her feelings at times, but she remains convinced that Luke might be her Prince Charming. Although Luke really pulls inside of himself in the few days his family is there, he does a few remarkably Prince Charming-like things that start to redeem his thoughtless inattention to Ellie. Like in book two, Ellie is once again in her head a lot. She is confused, but it does start to drag. Hopefully the next two books in the series will have more action vs inner dialogue. Nevertheless, this is just one piece of a story that that is steeped in suspense as each installment comes to a dramatic cliffhanger. Just as happenings start to take a positive turn for the couple, the book ends with yet another twist.I rate this book four THIS BOOK:As book three closed, Kaylee had overheard Luke and Ellie, and she had discovered their planned marriage was fake. But in the aftermath Luke had learned that Ellie loved him. He planned a personal ceremony for just the two of them – without his family and their drama – in their room the morning of the planned wedding. Josh and Nicki had joined the wedding party, and later that day Luke surprised Ellie by letting her parents in on their secret and inviting them to join in the formal ceremony. It was all lovely until Michelle showed up to break up the book four opens, Michelle insists the wedding cannot take place, but when she learns she is really too late she loses steam. Rather than her leaving, though, Jack invites her to stay for the celebration as his date. Needless to say that it is never dull, nor pleasant, when the Dalton family gets together. But all that only brings Luke and Ellie closer together as Luke confesses that he loves her, too. All seems magical, but the true globe awaits them. It is complicated to say the least. The couple’s honeymoon phase comes to an end all too a football wife, Ellie is introduced to a fresh world, where wives are often left to their own devices as their husbands work tirelessly and travel for part of the year. She begins to settle into her fresh role while continuing to be supportive of Luke. Unlike most wives, though, she has to deal with her husband’s baby’s mother, who happens to work for the team. She realizes that if she and Luke do work out in the long run, that Michelle and the baby will become a part of her life, too. Still, she has questions. She doesn’t trust Michelle. And Luke is rather pathetic when it comes to standing up to Michelle since she announced she is carrying his child. His career means everything to him, and upsetting Calvin, Michelle’s father and the owner of the Aces, will only damage his chances of getting his contract renewed. But that comes at a very huge price. Ellie faces the very true chance that with Michelle as a permanent fixture in their lives, their relationship is doomed. A fearless manipulator, Michelle works hard to fracture the newlywed’s ings really spiral out of control after training camp begins. Luke is gone most of the time, and Ellie is a bit lost. They both feel the pressure of being apart, and each focuses on their career. Jack makes a few appearances in the story, and he never fails to stir up trouble. And Michelle eagerly leans on him in the hopes of getting Luke’s attention. Savannah is in the background, but the secret that she knows about the Dalton brothers still lingers as a huge question mark. It is something neither brother wants revealed to the public, but neither can control it. As Michelle manipulates, Ellie struggles to maintain her composure at times, though overall she really does place up with a lot. Too much, really. In fact, she is sometimes a small hard to believe. But she finally does begin to recognize the error of her ke gets a small frustrating here, and his priorities are questionable. His reasoning fails to take into consideration the fact that he is married, and one wonders if he might just be better off marrying Michelle instead. Still, his mind is on his work so he deserves a small slack. The story gets crazy, but there is one unbelievable moment when Luke seems to come alive. The couple struggles with the uncertainty of the Michelle situation and questions of paternity, but small do they know what the future holds for them. The book ends with a tearful twist as everything changes for Luke and Ellie. Their story concludes in the next is installment of Luke and Ellie’s story picks up the pace. This book is about transitioning from the honeymoon phase of their relationship into everyday life. It evokes a wide range of emotions. Luke and Ellie are finally together, and though their future is still in the air, they are giving their relationship a go. At this point they have had the possibility to obtain to know one another as friends, roommates, and employer/employee. Hence they have something true and solid to build upon. But most fresh couples aren’t faced with so a lot of taxing complications, and Luke and Ellie are truly tested. The divide between Luke and Jack, as well as between Luke and his parents, remains only been partially explained. More is yet to be told.Hold on tight for a few huge surprises! Luke and Ellie’s story continues as training camp begins. Michelle cranks up the pressure as the newlyweds test to settle in. Their story has a few more crazy surprises before settling in for the final installment, in which things obtain serious. It is nicely written. The plot is somewhat complex. It is written in first person from Ellie’s POV. I rate this book 4.5 stars.I received an advance copy of this book and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting Game (Vegas Aces Book 4) []  2021-4-2 18:0

    This review is for the 4th in the 5 book Vegas Aces series and is not a standalone. This series needs to be read in e heat is definitely ON as Hot Luke and y Ellie burn up the pages of Waiting Game, book 4 in the addictive sports romance series- Vegas Aces.  Ellie and Luke have carved out a path forward but its seems the obstacles are getting harder and more complicated to work around. So a lot of pieces to this puzzle, with dozens of unanswered questions for me to wish the info of!  Lisa Suzanne, you are such a tease...killing me here but I know I'm NOT the only one!!!As the story picks up again, there is a BIG surprise waiting for those smirky haters that wish to take a wrecking ball to Luke and Ellie's plans...wait til you see the end result!  Talk about priceless paybacks, what a excellent flip off!!  I cheered for their victory and said 'Yesssssss, take that, you blankity blankin' blanks!!!  Their blissful adventure keeps getting better and sweeter as the y times are flowing in Luke and Ellie's steamy whirlwind relationship. Swoonworthy and delicious they were and worth the wait to see those reluctant hearts finally beating as one. Back to their fresh reality and Ellie has her work chop out for her between running Luke's PR and learning the ropes of what it means to be a football wife in the Vegas Aces world.  Meanwhile, Luke batters his body in camp and focuses on proving his worth to hold his top spot on the team.  Friends, family, ememies and liars are all part of this crazy hamster wheel while Ellie and Luke have to figure out who is with them and who is hell bent on ruining their happily ever after. Sometimes it's hard to tell! Tissues are recommended for this unimaginable cliffie and one thing is certain- Luke and Ellie's future is turned upside down and has become a waiting android game in every sense of the word!!  Will their marriage take a hit or survive the fallout?? This book is definitely the best of the series so far and I'm dying for what I hope will be the thrilling conclusion of of Luke and Ellie's hard won love story. The latest book, End Android game needs to be mine...right NOW, that is if my heart can take the final ride with this crazy pair in this rollercoaster of a series!!I was provided with an early copy of this book and this is my unbiased review of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting Game (Vegas Aces Book 4) []  2021-4-2 18:0

    The next couple of weeks as I wait for the final book in this seem to be stupid long right about now 😭 This one was so good, I was seriously on the edge of my seat with my stomach clenched as I was reading, debating if I should skip to the end and search out how it’d end this episode because I couldn’t take it anymore!! I love Luke and Ellie so hard, I can’t wait for book 5!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting Game (Vegas Aces Book 4) []  2021-4-2 18:0

    Waiting Android game is the fourth installment of Lisa Suzanne's Vegas Aces series. The story continues to be told from the POV of the heroine, Ellie, and CAN NOT be read out of order with the other books of the series. There is still one more book to come, so despite all my protests when the book has no more pages, Waiting Android game WILL end in a cliffhanger.Waiting Android game is the excellent title for this installment of the Vegas Aces series. I feel like it's been such a waiting android game up until this point but we obtain some of the missing pieces into who Luke Dalton is as a person and what he is feeling. The story picks up in the middle of Luke and Ellie's wedding when Michelle shows up to test and stop it- only she can't because they already got married earlier that morning. But it's after the wedding that my heart swooned. Luke, despite all his protesting, is living up to Ellie's nickname of Prince Charming. He finally professes his feelings for Ellie and makes it known to her and her family that he is in love with her and that they are for true going to test to create it work. Not only that but the intense chemistry that was found between Luke and Ellie in the first book, Home Game, is finally back! And it is good! I love how Luke is starting to begin up more to Ellie about his past and really allow down his guard some while also showing her how much he appreciates her. He is still hiding something between him and his brother Jack, and it has to be something big. I hate that he didn't s everything to Ellie at this point but I have to hold reminding myself that there is only one more book coming so everything will hopefully be explained soon! The largest hurdle in this book is dealing with Michelle and all the baby drama. There are still some questions about the baby's paternity, while I'm hoping Luke isn't the daddy, I like how the chance of Jack was thrown in the ring too. Since the results haven't arrived by the end of Waiting Game, we still have to wait to see how that will all play out. By the end of Waiting Game, I am thrilled to have some of the series come together but now I'm still waiting- is Michelle's baby Luke's? What are the Dalton brothers hiding? Is there a possibility of reconciliation between the brothers? Will Luke revert back into the stoic, safe guarded ver of himself because he thinks his career is over? Is there really going to be a baby Dalton, no matter the results of Michelle's test?! I absolutely can't wait to have everything come together in the final installment of the Vegas Aces series, appropriately titled, End Game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting Game (Vegas Aces Book 4) []  2021-4-2 18:0

    Gahhh this book! 5 stars!This was my favorite book in the series thus far. I LOVED it. I thought I had an idea of what was going to happen going into the book but hoo boy was I wrong and surprised. Pleasantly surprised, I might add!I wish to create this as spoiler-free as possible, so here goes. Luke finally takes the blindfold off of his eyes and realizes he has something amazing in his life and needs to keep onto it, but his past mistakes hold getting in his method and he's too scared of losing his job to man-up and deal with them. Enter Ellie who will woman-up for the both of them and address things head on, and protect her husband. I feel like it was fate for these two to meet but then fate is a fickle mistress and she keeps sticking issue after issue in their way. They're going to endure though, I have faith! You can see glimpses of the Luke that Ellie deserves in this one--the company, the tearing of the paperwork, etc. C'mon Luke! Allow love win!Michelle needs to go. We all know that she's being less than honest and Jack is probably involved and I'm glad Luke finally stepped in and created it clear what he needs from Michelle. I can't wait until she's no longer part of their lives and I'm holding out hope that she won't be tied to them for the next 18 years. I mean, I'm hoping Jack is stuck with her for that long because those two deserve each other.I did see the twist with Luke at the end coming. I think it was alluded to enough that I had a feeling that was going to happen. I'm really concerned that this is going to push Ellie and Luke back a billion steps, but with one book left, I have faith Lisa is going to wrap this up perfectly and allow us see a HEA!Eagerly anticipating the next book. I can't wait! I really hope you go for a ride in this series. It's definitely hard having a large cliffhanger at the end of each book, but it leaves you wanting and it's so satisfying when you obtain your hands on the next one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting Game (Vegas Aces Book 4) []  2021-4-2 18:0

    Waiting Android game is book 4 in the Vegas Aces series. As I’ve said in all my prior reviews, you have to read these in order as it’s following the progression of Ellie and Luke’s relationship, and jumping in at this point would be pointless. That said, this was the weakest of the books for ybe it’s because we’re four books into this relationship, but this is the point in most books where there’s a slight lull before the ending climax. And it showed. I felt that there wasn’t as much meat to the story as in the prior books. Don’t obtain me wrong, I still enjoyed it. But I wasn’t turning the pages quite as frantically as I had with the previous ke was absent for a large chunk of the book with Ellie navigating her fresh role as football wife without him. Plus, there’s a small wrench in their happiness that’s been escalating since book one. And then another bombshell moment as the book ends… and Ellie feels Luke starting to slip away once is series is going to wrap with End Android game and what I will assume is a happily-ever-after for Ellie and Luke. I can’t wait for that final installment of this series to be released to see how Ms. Suzanne pulls this all together. This wasn’t my favorite in the series, but a few of the storylines advanced, so it was necessary. I do recommend the book if you’re already invested in the series. And if not, go begin with Home Game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting Game (Vegas Aces Book 4) []  2021-4-2 18:0

    This series gets better with each fresh book. Waiting Android game continues the story if Luke and Ellie. Waiting Android game holds up to its name. Not only the fact that we have to wait for the fifth and final book, End Game, there are major life changing happenings that have surfaced throughput the series that are coming full circle. Ellie continues to be the supporting wife. Learning as she travels the journey of her life, she never fails in being the supportive partner Luke needs. Luke has met his match with her because she will push him but she also knows when to back off. Luke continues to struggle with his emotions. His life seems to be spiraling in a multitude of directions. He knows his time in the NFL care slowly coming to an end. As he settles in with a life with Ellie, he is beginning to realize he wants more out of life. Supporting characters also play their roles in shaping the method both Luke and Ellie handle their life together. Family, friends, teammate, and opponents do their part in fitting into their lives. This story keeps getting more tense. Mixed with emotional ups and downs, some snarky sarcasm, and an undeniable attraction, Waiting Android game continues got pull you in. The building anticipation cause a need for more. More want, more desire, and more drama. Yes, the drama between Luke, his family, and others makes for a compelling must read. Be advised, this story is addictive. I received an advance copy of Waiting Android game in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are mine and we’re not influenced by the other or her promotional team.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting Game (Vegas Aces Book 4) []  2021-4-2 18:0

    From the first page, you'll be taken into the book. Ellie and Luke have finally gotten on the same page about their feelings and it seems that nothing is going to come between them. When their honeymoon is over and they return back home everything seems great. Ellie puts everything into motion for Luke's charity happening before he begins training camp. All of the attendants are amazed by the method Ellie planned the charity. After Luke heads off to training camp Ellie is at home and can't search anything to do. Later that day Luke calls Ellie and tells her some of his teammates would love for her to be their publicist. Ellie says yes and can't believe that Luke's teammates like her work. A few days later the wife of another player takes Ellie to meet the staff to the team. On their method out Michelle goes up to them and tells Ellie why she didn't stop by her office. Ellie doesn't understand why she should've stopped by Michelle's office until Michelle says Luke is letting her move into Ellie and Luke's home. Ellie can't believe what she's hearing and knows something is up. That night Luke calls and Ellie tells him what exactly happened for Michelle to tell Ellie what she said. Luke says that he didn't mean to give Michelle the green light he just said he would talk to Ellie about it. When Luke promises to talk to Michelle they hang up. Once Ellie thinks about it she comes to the conclusion that they should allow Michelle move in so they can hold an eye on her. The day Michelle moves in Ellie can't believe it's actually happening. As the days tick by Ellie begins to regret her decision to allow Michelle move in; especially when Michelle begins to come between her and Luke. The day Luke comes home Ellie can't be happier. The weeks go on and Luke isn't at home as much as Ellie would like due to his practice. For the first season game, the Aces are playing the Broncos. Before the game, Jack arrives at Ellie and Luke's home and Ellie doesn't respond the door Michelle does. Ellie hides in the hallway to eavesdrop on the conversation and she can't believe what she hears. Is Ellie going to confront Michelle with what she overheard? How are Ellie and Luke going to create a relationship between them work with Michelle in their home? I received a free copy of this book from the author and reviewed it voluntarily.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waiting Game (Vegas Aces Book 4) []  2021-4-2 18:0

    “Waiting Game” is the fourth book in the “Vegas Aces” amazingly addictive series with by Lisa Suzanne. Oh how the plot has thickened with all the secrets, lies and half truths. Oh not good Luke and Ellie as soon as they begin to figure things out and things should fall into put there are even more twists and turns leaving you spinning and reeling for the next and final book in the series “End Game” the emotional turmoil heats up like never before. Friendships form, plots thicken, rivalries continue, real colors are starting to show. Love that seems to have started to develop so far will be push to the breaking point. Just how much can love withstand?! Can they and will they create it to a HEA.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disney World Queue Line Scavenger Hunt: The Game You Play While Waiting In Line (Scavenger Guides Book 4) []  2020-12-20 20:59

    amazing for travelers during the busy travel season to hold kids occupied while waiting in the long linesgreat method to learn more about the parks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disney World Queue Line Scavenger Hunt: The Game You Play While Waiting In Line (Scavenger Guides Book 4) []  2020-12-20 20:59

    This book is great! I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was smaller than I expected so it is very simple to fit in a standard jean pocket eliminating the need to wear cargo pants every day. It has things of all levels of difficulty in it for our family of varying ages. Amazing item.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disney World Queue Line Scavenger Hunt: The Game You Play While Waiting In Line (Scavenger Guides Book 4) []  2020-12-20 20:59

    Even if you are not a Disney Freak like I am, you will search this fascinating. So a lot of info that you never knew. While we were in lines at the Parks doing the Scavenger Hunts; people next to us were joining in and asking about the book. Really enjoyed it - will take it with us when we return. It's adds to the magic of Disney.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disney World Queue Line Scavenger Hunt: The Game You Play While Waiting In Line (Scavenger Guides Book 4) []  2020-12-20 20:59

    General premise is nice, but this book simply didn't deliver. We were standing in the queue line for rides looking for the stuff with amazing enthusiasm only to search out when finally gave up and read the 'answer key' that the stuff were actually behind us - we'd passed them long before we entered the queue line. Peter Pan's ride was a amazing example of this. Three of the four hunt stuff were outside the attraction line: "mounted on the wall on the right side of the queue," "on both sides of the stroller parking entrance," "...where the fastpass line meets the standby line." Perhaps we were just lucky to enter the line before it trailed outside, but once inside the queue looking for such stuff was just plain frustrating for my 6 & 9 year olds. I began reading the answers to the clues before we entered an attraction, which took much of the fun out of it for me... and eventually, didn't bother getting the book out at all - the children didn't miss it. Very dissappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disney World Queue Line Scavenger Hunt: The Game You Play While Waiting In Line (Scavenger Guides Book 4) []  2020-12-20 20:59

    Unfortunately, this product is seriously of out of date. That's my fault for not paying attention to the published date. However, I hope others realize it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disney World Queue Line Scavenger Hunt: The Game You Play While Waiting In Line (Scavenger Guides Book 4) []  2020-12-20 20:59

    GREAT Book == recommend highly for interested DISNEY JUNKIES...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Disney World Queue Line Scavenger Hunt: The Game You Play While Waiting In Line (Scavenger Guides Book 4) []  2020-12-20 20:59

    I was surprised that it's a pocket size book rather than a full book - can't remember what it showed when I ordered it. The little size is amazing to take to Walt Disney World, but not much to it

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386