Read the woman and the witch reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the woman and the witch reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman Most Wild: Three Keys to Liberating the Witch Within []  2019-12-31 18:44

    I have had the pleasure and challenge of reconnecting with my inner “Wild Woman” through direct teachings from the author’s 200 hour and 500 hour yoga teacher trainings. Both were completely and utterly life changing and soul-awakening – understatement of the century – because they were centered around her bone-deep belief that women can (and should! For the greater amazing of all!) reconnect with the power of their divine feminine energy. Reading “Woman Most Wild” feels like Danielle is sitting with me in circle once again, sharing her deep wisdom that has come from her own soul experience, a lifelong love of writing/reading/learning and her private sadhana that embodies everything contained in this e meditations, rituals and other tools offer the ability for the reader to peel off layers of “self” that consciously or subconsciously may be suffocating our wildness – our inner child, our light, our deepest creativity and truths. This book is a easy yet profound tutorial for any human who wants to obtain back in touch with their soul – by waking back up to the cycles of nature, the power of easy ritual, and the trust in her intuition and wisdom.Whether you are drawn to the word “witch” as a powerful, yet rejected archetype, or you feel squeamish about the term completely – this book is still for you. You may not know me, but I promise you this anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman Most Wild: Three Keys to Liberating the Witch Within []  2019-12-31 18:44

    I loved this book, some items I just skipped over (some of the rituals) not because I don’t plan on doing them, just because I feel like I didn’t need to do them yet, and I’ll save them for when I do. This book is elegantly written. The words spoke to my soul and I honestly feel like it helped me accept myself for who I am. I have always had a hard time accepting myself and this book really affirmed that I should just allow go and be me, for myself, and allow go of these stupid ideals that I’ve held on to for so long.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman Most Wild: Three Keys to Liberating the Witch Within []  2019-12-31 18:44

    This is such an inviting book - throughout the book, Danielle speaks as though she is talking directly to the reader, inviting them to be with her as a witch, a sister, a loved one. It is a book of validation, instruction, and power for the feminine. I have read this slowly as I allow the words sink in, and as I admire her writing style.I plan to buy this as a bonus for several other women in my tribe. Obtain it as a bonus for yourself!

    0  


    Add your opinion on the woman and the witch or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman Most Wild: Three Keys to Liberating the Witch Within []  2019-12-31 18:44

    This book is so brilliantly written that it will remain next to me for a long time to come. Dulsky seemed to be speaking directly to my soul as she delves into every aspect of our deep rooted feminine power and through ritual, meditation, yoga and so much more brings it all bubbling to the conscious surface.I resonated with something on every page and thought to myself "here is someone who truly gets what it means to be a woman and walk in this world."I was fortunate to keep an advanced copy and so began to read WOMAN MOST WILD in January, literally and personally, the darkest time of the year. The book was such a comfort and inspiration and filled with so much witchy magick that it actually pulled me out of the dark places.Every single page was filled with story or lesson or ritual to delve deeply into the divine feminine witchy parts that had long been buried inside. I celebrate myself and my soul because of Dulsky's eloquent writing. She is clearly an old and brilliant soul with so a lot of divine gifts....I feel so filled with gratitude that she shared them and celebrates along with ank you Danielle

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman Most Wild: Three Keys to Liberating the Witch Within []  2019-12-31 18:44

    I love how the author spoke from the heart and with a gentle tone. It reads as if she's speaking to a the reader as a sister or close friend. I feel that every woman should read this. If you are pondering purchasing, do not hesitate. It is a amazing read and I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman Most Wild: Three Keys to Liberating the Witch Within []  2019-12-31 18:44

    If you need an excuse to linger, Danielle Dulsky's fresh book, Woman Most Wild, gives you all of them. This sensual and steamy entrancement draws you ever deeper into the sacred (and sometimes secret) hallows of your authentic self. This is not a passage to take with haste! Stay a while. Drink in this rich concoction of ancestral remembering and fem-fatale awakening, with a pinch of lusty abandon for delicious measure. Danielle has prepared a soul-stirring potion indeed! She is your sweetest confidant and she is whispering you back to your own wild life one incantation at a time. As soon as you take that first taste, you're off on a free-wheeling romp in the lush forests of your very vitality, but you won't wish to [email protected]#$%!.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman Most Wild: Three Keys to Liberating the Witch Within []  2019-12-31 18:44

    Although I don't identify as a Witch myself I identified deep down in my soul with Danielle's words, imagery and writings. Reading this book I felt as if Danielle channeled my grandmother and all my ancestors before her and they are telling me to reconnect with the Earth and all of her wisdom. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to reclaim her (or his) wild self and obtain back to their roots. I will be giving this a second read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman Most Wild: Three Keys to Liberating the Witch Within []  2019-12-31 18:44

    Danielle Dulsky has chosen, in this life, to be an unhindered prophet for the return of the divine feminine and the reclamation of our witchy blood and bones. She has provided us this flowing vessel of Woman Most Wild, burning with the purest, loving, non-judgemental, and all accepting forms of wildness and spirituality. Woman Most Wild inspires an elemental path forward in this quest. I wish to memorize this book. I wish to fill some sacred zone of daily with these words that linger on my eyes, my lips and forever in my soul.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman Most Wild: Three Keys to Liberating the Witch Within []  2019-12-31 18:44

    Wild Women, here's one of the most latest and passionate books for guidance and enlivenment! Those of us who have walked the Wiccan path for a lot of years will search Danielle's work to be delightful and refreshing, a fresh voice that reminds us of the joy and the comfort of being a woman who lives close to the natural world, both internally and externally. For younger witches, this is your fresh handbook; a how-to that will bring you clarity and help as you start your journey to the center of your own soul. Dulsky's writing is poetic and beautiful, a delight to read and a spark that sets fires burning in your spirit. She reminds us of what is most necessary in being a woman, how to remain real to yourself and still be alive and active in the world. And even if you aren't "witchy" you will have fun the beauty and wisdom of this book. Woman Most Wild is inspirational and instructive, a book you will wish to refer to over and over, and a juicy read that you'll wish to dive into when your life seems dry and uncertain. Every wild woman should read this book, and if you don't consider yourself "wild" you should most definitely read this book...it's written just for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman Most Wild: Three Keys to Liberating the Witch Within []  2019-12-31 18:44

    I love her writing style and cadence. Very loving without being fru-fru. Feel very empowered by this book, which is a tough thing to do. Also very practical. Dozens of information. So much that I had to stop reading before getting halfway through the book to allow the wisdom marinate. It's not that it's fresh information, but rather that she presents it in a wholly special and attractive way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch and the Christmas... [App]  2019-12-20 21:55

    My 2and half yr old has been playing this for months and is still completely engaged. Also my 7 yr old can play it on the hard level and also just loves all of them. The witch, peepo,pirates,victor, all of them. Not really worth getting the free ver tho. It drove my children nuts only getting the first bit of the game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch and the Succubus []  2021-2-28 18:45

    Jen and Melida (Mel) were so cute together as mates that fall madly in love. They were so funny and unbelievable together. I really hope Jen and Mel obtain another book that focuses on their life together as a sweet and y couple that's so in love with each other.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch and the Succubus []  2021-2-28 18:45

    Part romantic comedy, part fantasy adventure, a insecure witch and a half human half succubus fall in love after a spoiled rich boy tries to have one of them drink a love potion only for the two girls to meet each other. When Jen(the witch) discovers that love potions don't work on Melida (the succubi), she goes on a very Beauty and the Beast type of fairy tale, but without the whole stockholm syndrome thing. Instead it's replaced with a more light-hearted love story that would be right at home with any yuri anime/manga. Has a lot whimsical charm, fun adventure, comedic moments, erotic scenes nothing too r rated but enough to create it exciting to see their easy crush feelings bloom into real love. The story even explores the complex feelings Jen and Melida have towards each other. And a lot people know it's hard to begin up to someone and confess to them. With the fear of rejection looming over you and anxiety fills ever fiber of your body. Love can be very scary, but it's very much worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch and the Succubus []  2021-2-28 18:45

    An adorable love story! As with the authors other two books (My Eyes 1 and 2) I couldn’t stop reading once I started. The falling in love plot was really good, but the story ended to quickly and I wish more! Please, write more!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch and the Succubus []  2021-2-28 18:45

    I love this! Totally wholesome and I love the writing style 💖💖 can't wait for more tbh.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch and the Succubus []  2021-2-28 18:45

    Lillyanna Fuchsia did a unbelievable job with this book of hers. Love the lite heartedness and how the two characters fell in love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch and the Succubus []  2021-2-28 18:45

    Was super cute. The earlier interactions were just super adoreable and wholesome. And the relationship developed nicely. Thought both the characters were super cute.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch and the Christmas... [App]  2019-12-20 21:55

    My twins love it they play with it all the time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch and the Succubus []  2021-2-28 18:45

    Supernatural elements? gic School? Check.Disaster ? Double check.I'm only taking a star off because it required another editing pass. Aside from that it's a fun fast read!Strongly recommend if you can ignore the occasional typo!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch and the Succubus []  2021-2-28 18:45

    Not my usual read. I thought to give it a test and it’s beautiful fun and interesting. Very various from my usual go to author and books. Cute romance short story between a witch and a succubus.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch and the Christmas... [App]  2019-12-20 21:55

    My 4 year old daughter loves this android game and begged me to do a review so everyone would know how amazing it is!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch and the Succubus []  2021-2-28 18:45

    looking forward to more

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch and the Succubus []  2021-2-28 18:45

    Until later in the book there is not much content and what is there is fairly understated. I enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-22 1:41

    I required this book latest minute! It arrived quickly, the paperback ver was simple to read and it's held up really well overall. There are attractive illustrations inside too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-22 1:41

    C S Lewis' The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe is a classic fantasy tale for children. Sent off to the country, four kids discover the old manor house and explore a wardrobe that takes them to another land where they have an adventure as they war an evil witch determined to maintain a winter-like totalitarian regime. With the support of a lion who offers aid, the four fulfill a prophecy and free a lot of of the local citizens who have been turned to statues by the witch. Along the way, they learn valuable lessons about life and themselves.Lewis contains all the traditional elements common in these types of tales with just enough action to hold the plot moving. Each of the kids has a special role to play. Finally, Lewis tips at the old man of the house being familiar with the wardrobe and indirectly promotes their involvement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea []  2020-6-18 19:8

    This is a tale of stories and star crossed love that would create Shakespeare weep, two souls seeking each other and fulfilling destiny never more full of tribulation and love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea []  2020-6-18 19:8

    (Disclaimer: I received this book from Netgalley. This has not impacted my review which is unbiased and honest.)I am obsessed with pirate books. And all things mermaid. So when a book is called, The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea you know immediately I am going to pick it up. There's this absolutely unbelievable balance between hero growth and action as both Evelyn and Florian have to figure out who they wish to be. Evelyn's mother keeps telling her that she's basically worth nothing and so seeing her grow as a hero was so satisfying. At the same time, I was immediately drawn to Florian and her pirate lifestyle, but also to her careful observation of what moral costs she is willing to overlook and must create to survive. I wanna add that they're both queer - Florian is gender fluid and black and Evelyn is queer Japanese while The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea features some very tender hero growth - as they have to re-evaluate their life choices and fix their mistakes - it also has dozens of action. There is exploration of colonialism and imperialism as Florian and Evelyn's story feed into a larger plot. We are immersed in a globe of pirates, oaths, and witches. Yes, there are witches and mermaids! And not the mermaids who just brush their hair (although hair care is important) but the ones with some sharp teeth! I love me some mermaids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-22 1:41

    This is an 8.5x11 (magazine size) paperback copy of an abridged ver of the C.S. Lewis classic – NOT the original. “Independently Published”. The cover art appears to have been printed from a low resolution digital image, and the giant page margins are a waste of space. I was hoping this would be a amazing primer for my 7YO, but was sadly disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-22 1:41

    Review 4.4 starsThis was still as enjoyable as when I read the book as a kid some decades ago. and then, I read it again, a few times or more. The magic never goes when I return to Narnia and I will always encourage other children to escape there, and to relish the magical use of words and is book never gets old. It’s the first Narnia book that I encountered – and the first written then published, although chronologically the second.I always felt that talking animals would be awesome and C. S Lewis makes them believable and special characters. For me, the kids were always of less interest than the monsters of Narnia – starting with Tumnus the Faun. Although in her defence, Lucy is always the most endearing child. Everyone has things that create them contrast with the others, creating a memorable cast including ever, while giving human characteristics to a faun seems credible, it’s harder to accept animals described in related terms. For Narnia, that works, but as an adult, I can sense it’s not being real to their true nature. But don’t allow that spoil the weaving of the is is a classic fantasy for children, and disbelief is wonderfully suspended from the moment that Lucy Pevensie finds her method through the wardrobe and begins an enchanting adventure. In Narnia, we have a globe where the unexpected is possible and magic is at the heart of the creation. For the older reader, this globe poses a few questions. Perhaps that is why C.S Lewis felt compelled, after five books, to eventually write about the world’s origins in The Magician’s Nephew – my favourite Narnia book and chronologically Book s, there are aspects that are dated like attitudes to girls/women fighting, and there are the Christian undertones, but I can forget these as the whole creation transports me.                                                                                                                                                                   There is clever use of language, of humorous phrases, of adjectives to evoke emotions – both in the dialogue, and in the descriptive passages that abound, bringing Narnia alive in the imagination.“…And you are riding not on a street nor in a park nor even on the downs, but right across Narnia, in spring, down solemn avenues of beech and across sunny glades of oak, through wild orchards of snow-white cherry trees, past roaring waterfalls and mossy rocks and echoing caverns, up windy slopes alight with gorse bushes, and across the shoulders of heathery mountains and along giddy ridges and down, down, down again into wild valleys and out into acres of blue flowers.”I’m sure that Pauline Baynes’ illustrations were in the first copy that I read, and they helped make the vibrant photos in my head of Narnia, but the words on the page were what transported me there. The most abiding photo seems to be that lamp post and whenever I see a true or replica Victorian one in real-life, I drift back to that fir-fringed clearing in Narnia.Time to introduce my amazing grandkids to this spellbinding globe and this can be another book to encourage their ory – four starsSetting/World-building – five starsAuthenticity – three starsCharacters – four starsStructure – five starsReadability – five starsEditing – five stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-22 1:41

    It is without question that the Narnia series has had significant influence on the lives of countless people. I was in high school before reading most of these books, and I finished the entire series in about 5 or 6 days. I am 57 now and if only allowed to own one boxful of books, most of those in this series would be in it. Filled with adventure, courage, generosity, trust and perseverance, I cannot imagine how huge a void there would be in today's literary globe had this series had not been written. The books are FAR better than the movies!Despite being #2 in chronological order, 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' was the one that Lewis wrote first and IMHO the series 'flows' more imaginatively if read in this order: 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 1, 7.A must-have for every library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea []  2020-6-18 19:8

    If you love magic and fantasy and surprise you will love this adventure love story. Really hoping that there's going to be more books in the series! Sign me up right now!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea []  2020-6-18 19:8

    Whoa, did TMtW&tS ever support me escape the globe we’re in right now. I loved it so much and I can’t stop thinking about it. I’ve already told eleven mates in the two days since finishing it that they must read this book. And when my eight-year-old daughter asked me what I was doing while I was writing this review, I said “I’m writing about a book that I can’t wait for you to be old enough to read.” I am seriously stoked for her and her small sister to read about these [email protected]#$%!& some much as I’m sad it’s over, I’m excited too because the epilogue tips at a sequel. I will be ready and waiting, probably having reread this one a few times, because I so wish to go back to this so, even though I received an ARC, I loved this book so much that I paid for my own copy on release day. It's THAT good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-22 1:41

    It can be a risk to re-read books that you loved as a kid or a teen. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe is one of the books that I read countless times as I was growing up. The globe of Narnia never got old or boring. Happily, I enjoyed this as much 40+ years later!Published in 1950, this was the then first book of the Narnia series. A prequel was published later. I read other books in the Narnia series, but this was always my favorite. People will tell you that this is a story about Christianity, a retelling of stories from the Bible, or an allegory. As a kid I thought this was a unbelievable fairy tale. As an adult, I was able to see the moral or Christian parallels but I chose to ignore them and read this as a fairy er, Susan, Edmund and Lucy live in London but they are sent to the countryside during WWII to escape the blitz. They are housed with an elderly and wise professor and his strict and intimidating housekeeper in an old mansion. While playing hide and seek on a rainy day, Lucy hides in wardrobe. Behind the fur coats is the land of Narnia. Narnia is ruled by the White Witch and she has created the land "always winter but never Christmas." Narnia is divided into amazing animals and poor animals who serve the Witch. Lucy is helped by a "good" faun, who protects her from the Witch. The presence of a human in Narnia is threatening to the Witch and all the animals have been told to alert her immediately. Lucy safely returns home and her siblings do not believe her story. Edmund and Lucy then search Narnia together but he meets the White Witch and is place under her spell. On returning home, he lies to the two older siblings and claims Narnia does not exist. Eventually, all four siblings end up in Narnia, though with Edmund sneaking off to see the Witch. With the support of Mr. & Mrs. Beaver, Peter, Susan, and Lucy go to meet Aslan the Lion and together they war to save Narnia. Each kid is given a unique task and a magical tool. Aslan makes large sacrifices to save Edmund. The amazing and poor animals of the forest do war and being a fairy tale, there is a satisfied is book really sparked my imagination when I was a child. I just love the idea of a secret wardrobe that leads to another world. I still do! The book is dedicated to Mr. Lewis' goddaughter Lucy. It reads as if your kindly godfather was telling you a unbelievable story. I love the small asides by the narrator. As a child, I did not realize that the story took put during WWII or that a lot of kids were removed from London for their safety. Otherwise, the story is as I remembered and I believe the illustrations are the same. This is a classic for a reason. If you missed it in childhood, read it yourself or share it with a unique young person. It was lovely to visit Narnia again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-22 1:41

    A attractive copy of a unbelievable book with illustrations that will fuel the imaginations of another generation. CS Lewis was wise, gentle, and spoke to the hearts of boys and girls in ways that affirm their bravery and inquisitiveness. His amazing humor brings truths down to a level that can be understood by children, but also reveals nuances and facets to those with more years of experience. Buy this celebration of the original with confidence in the quality, but also, of course, in the content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea []  2020-6-18 19:8

    (Edit - looks like they deleted their review I'm referencing) It @#$%es me off to see 1 star reviews from people that couldn't be bothered to finish the book. They read 40% and complain about the lack of mermaids, when mermaids have a large role in the ending of the book. Basically all their petty complaints would have been explained or resolved if they had actually read the book. Even if they hadn't, you shouldn't be rating a product at all if you can't be bothered to fully evaluate it. All the other raving 5 star reviews go to present what an irresponsible reviewer they are. /rantThis was a amazing book with a amazing cast of characters and amazing globe building. I love the writing style, and the editing was superb; didn't message a single spelling or gramatical error. This was an awesome fantasy lesfic.I had preordered this book a while back and kinda forgot about it (I buy/preorder a LOT of books). When I saw it had appeared in my library this morning I read it in one sitting. Coincidentally, I had just finished another mermaid lesfic the day before, The Fate of Stars by SD Simpe, also highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea []  2020-6-18 19:8

    Imaginative, hard-bitten and full-hearted. I want this book had existed when I was still figuring myself out. There's adventure here, romance, hard-headed survivors and quick-witted courtiers. There's a various kind of mermaid in this book than you've ever seen anywhere. There's a rich kid/poor child quest for understanding. There's self-sacrifice and self-preservation. There's gender questionining and budding ity and the coolest pirates I've seen in ages. It's fast-paced and compassionate, it's true feelings told in a fairy tale. If you know a child whose heart is tender and maybe a small rainbow tinged, this is the book they need this summer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea []  2020-6-18 19:8

    2.5 starsall i can really say is that it was a fast read. i want i would have liked it more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea []  2020-6-18 19:8

    I LOVED this book. And I'm so glad because it was one of my most anticipated titles coming out this has a gorgeous cover, and luckily the inside is just as gorgeous.We have two MCs: Florian/Flora - a black, genderfluid pirate and Evelyn - a fantasy-equivalent-of-Japanese queer (?) noblewoman. Their relationship is sweet if a small instalove-y at first, and changes both of them. And that ending! I won't spoil it, but it was unexpected and e twist on mermaids and witches was fascinating and something I've never seen before, and I adore e plot was seemingly easy but grew in complexity as the characters' layers and secrets and unexpected connections were revealed. I love how we got to see sections of the story through other eyes than our dual-POV MCs - it allowed the twists to be revealed even when the MCs were not present. Also, I really loved the interludes from the Sea's POV. They were lovely and haunting and anks to netgalley and the puplisher for granting me an e-arc to review

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch [App]  2019-2-1 21:18

    having a amazing time one of the best android games ive played

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-22 1:41

    Perhaps I missed out on an integral part of childhood, but I did not have a lot of fairy tales or books of magical tales in my life as a young boy. Lewis has an uncanny ability to create this readable as an adult and readable to a child. The reflections towards true life (one does not lock himself in a wardrobe!) and the magical life of Narnia (...because that is how beavers behave) are incredibly simple to relate to one another - it's as if you are there, understanding the ways of Narnia, though you've never been (and sadly, never will be).Notable are the Christian reflections of this tale, of what it's like to go down a path of sin with Edmund as he makes his method through the cold to the witch's castle, having fellowship amongst themselves at the dinner table, and Aslan's ultimate sacrifice, while being a being of immense power, allowed himself to be muzzled, beaten, and killed by the hands of the witch. A Christian myself, I look forward to re-reading the tale to grasp upon Lewis's deeper yet easy stories of the life of kids and beings if Narnia. That being said, if you are not Christian, the story does not really reference Christianity much at all, save calling the male kids "Sons of Adam" and the female kids "Daughters of Eve".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea []  2020-6-18 19:8

    Beautifully haunting! Too a lot of of us don’t present our real face to the globe around us. No matter who you are, war trough to be your authentic self. This is an epic action story of love, life, and self-discovery. This is one of the very best debut novels I have ever read!At a very young age Flora and her brother were left to fend for themselves. They struggled just to stay alive. Then they were taken aboard the pirate ship Dove. Their lives were no easier, especially for a small girl, but at least they stayed warm and fed.Flora place much of herself away becoming Florian, committing brutal acts, just to be accepted. One of the passengers set to be sold into slavery starts Flora on a street to self-discovery that may see her lose everything to regain herself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-22 1:41

    Cheapo edition. Pauline Baynes' unbelievable illustrations are very poorly rendered. The original book had a lot of color plates - none of them is included here. And the lithography is terrible: a lot of words are so light on the page they can barely be read. Go to alibris and obtain a copy of the 1950 hardcover edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-22 1:41

    I’ve heard about Narnia forever, so when it was offered on bookbub, of course, I jumped at the chance. Ooh, was I surprised—and not in a amazing way! There seems to be no depth to the plot and the characters are nothing but cardboard cutouts. I feel that fairy tales offer more along those lines. The plot ran along like a train on a mission, but one had no time to take a breath and wonder where the author was going with this story. What was the theme of this book, anyway? And the method he cluttered the story with so a lot of various species: plant, animal, paranormal, and otherwise. I’m still shaking my head.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea []  2020-6-18 19:8

    What a amazing read. I'm always on the lookout for the best next read and did I search a gem! This is not a little book and couldn't place it down. Do I really need to accomplish anything today? Nope! Just going to my nest and reading. Sigh. What a amazing day. Don't pass this one up!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-16 21:54

    Amazing book. All the Narnian Chronicles worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-16 21:54

    The pictures are NOT in color. There is another edition that looks a lot like this that I checked out of the library and has all color pictures by the original illustrator of the book. She did them later and these color illustrations create reading the book with a younger kid more enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-16 21:54

    Story is unbelievable and the book is amazing for reading to kids. Both my children love the illustrations and it's really simple to read with the huge text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-16 21:54

    Received the wrong version. It isn't the one pictured when you create the purchase. This is so aggravating!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-16 21:54

    I started reading these to my 4 year old at bedtime and I love the format as it let's her obtain close and look at the pages. I believe the pictures are the same as the normal formatted books so don't expect a lot of additional illustrations but my daughter has not minded the lack of pictures and has really engaged in the story. I've only been able to search "The Lion, With and the Wardrobe", "Prince Caspian", and "The Voyage of the Dawn Treader" in this format.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-16 21:54

    I've reread this book a lot of times. I loved it when I was young, and I read it to all my kids when I was older. It's a magical story and well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-16 21:54

    My favorite books are the Chronicles of Narnia and this is probably my favorite of the series. I prefer the traditional order of the books and bought this edition to introduce my daughter, who is just learning to read, to the series. She loved it. The larger print and hard cover created it easier for us to read together. I couldn't be more thrilled. Now I just have to search the rest of the series in the same format.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-16 21:54

    Required this for a class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-16 21:54

    I received this book and it was a various cover than the one pictured. It was the right story and the one I received was in excellent condition. However, I was a small bummed because I was trying to complete my set of the Chronicles of Narnia and this one didn’t match. But I contacted their customer service department and they were extremely helpful! They were very fast to apologize for the error and to support resolve the issue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe []  2020-1-16 21:54

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woman []  2020-1-22 0:45

    The final entry into Jack Ketchum's Dead River trilogy, The Woman, was published recently. Since the film ver emerged at the same time, and since both movie and book credit Lucky McKee as the co-writer, I assume both were produced together. I wouldn't call the novel a "tie-in" book, but they seem to work simultaneously. So related are book and film that they can be considered one the opening chapter of The Woman, we explore "The Woman" of the latest novel miraculously survived a knife strike. Given the description of her dispatch in Offspring, this is a small hard to believe, but it's not the first time a creature has lived again to terrorize another me of the chapters are told from her point of view, but a leader of a feral cannibal guild which has survived by avoiding civilization has a limited frame of reference. You'd have more insight into a black panther as it regards it's prey from the other side of a cage.We're also introduced to a family named Cleek: Christopher, the lawyer dad; Belle, the stay-at-home mom; Peggy, the troubled teenager; Brian, the even more troubled teenager; and Darlin', the innocent preschooler. They all live on a huge isolated farm in Maine, the stage of the latest two novels. There is something poor wrong with this family from the very intro. This is also the second time Ketchum has used a sbag lawyer in the series. Draw your own e opening scenes are apple pie until Mr. Cleek, out hunting alone, spies the woman bathing in a stream. He decides to take her prisoner and turns his old root cellar into a prison. He doesn't even tell the family why he needs the cellar cleaned, they just do it out of duty and eek's hunting alone adds a sense of foreboding to the novel. Why would any sane person hunt by themselves with a risky rifle who didn't have to? Didn't the state of Maine issued warnings about wondering around in the woods after happenings in the first two novels? And what the hell has lawyer Creek been hunting besides deer? We never do search short order, he manages to capture the feral woman and chain her up in the cellar. He simply informs the assembled family unit that they are going to "civilize" her. Right. After a mishap when he gets too close, Cleek shows the family how to shove meal in her general direction.And the woman glares at her captors waiting for her first e authors mess with the reader's sympathizes by turning the woman into an object of pity. You can't support feeling sorry for her when she's getting hosed down by Cleek and company. On the other hand, you have to remember she's risky and will slay anyone in her path. There's a telling moment when the woman manages to say the word "please", trying to obtain her captors to quit hurting her. However, we are reminded, she learned the word from her a lot of anwhile, Peggy's math teacher has noted a change in her student. She's wearing baggy clothes and avoiding the other kids. Could she be pregnant? If so, by who? Should she contact the parents? This is one of the weakest developments in the novel, given that teachers are needed by law to report any suspicion of abuse. The teacher's actions contribute to the final tragedy at the conclusion of the in the other novels of this trilogy, the true carnage is saved for the final few chapters. You never are able to decide who's worse, the captors or the e film ver follows the book line-for-line. Pollyanna McIntosh returns as the feral woman she played so excellently in the the movie ver of The Offspring. Because her demise wasn't so conclusive in the latest film, it's believable that she survived. It's best to read the book before seeing the film as the book is able to tell you what's going on internally with the characters. You better understand why the teacher does what she does to intervene with Peggy, the oldest daughter. The book's finale makes more sense as well because they never subtitle the woman's language in the only complaint with the novel is that it brings out crucial info about the Cleek family toward the end. There's some hints, but nothing is created clear until the latest violent scenes. Again, the book does a better job of handing out the info than the movie, but it's still a small too late to advance the plot. And the film has an annoying indie rock ill an perfect horror novel with a superb film adaptation. Don't experience either if you have a repulsion to watching the gore fly.[...]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woman []  2020-1-22 0:45

    Are you a Jack Ketchum fan? Have you seen the movie Offspring or The Woman? If so, you might like the novel The Woman. A Ketchum fan can catch 'im there. Whether you read the prose or see the film, the plot, images, and reading/viewing experience are very nearly the same. However, the book varies in six necessary ways from McKee's film. I liked both the movie and the e book is a various literary adventure in six ways. One, Genevieve Raton has more of a o, the Cow hero has an entire novella (forty-two pages) re-introducing him after Offspring. The Cow does not appear in Lucky McKee's The ree, the movie is more gruesome in two scenes (e.g. Brian torturing The Woman with handtools), and the book is superlatively more gruesome in one (Jack Ketchum, I salute you. You shocked, creeped, and freaked me out, man).Four, Ketchum's text translates The Woman's language and elucidates her inner thoughts. You can decide which is more unsettling: not knowing what she says and think, or knowing full-well while the characters around her stupidly don't understand the human beast with whom they have ve, the book adds info to the film's opening scene. For the film, a person needs to interpret the opening scene, and that ysis is one kind of pleasure. In the book, the same stage is fully presented and explained, and such clarity is likewise a so, MAJOR SPOILER, Ketchum's book tells readers who the father of Peg's kid is. [email protected]#$%!&? Cleek has repeatedly raped his own daughter. With this revelation, the book offers further feminist discussion about abusive patriarchs

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woman []  2020-1-22 0:45

    At the beginning, it is simple to tell the difference between what Ketchum wrote and what McKee wrote. Somewhere towards the middle the styles merge and the book skyrockets into an exercise in mind bending torture that all of us expect from a Jack Ketchum story. Lucky McKee is the excellent choice for a cowriter. He has brought several Ketchum novels to the huge screen and he hasn't pulled a punch yet. His first collaboration with Ketchum, I Am Sam, was lyrical, brutal, and brilliant. The Woman, which connects with Off Season and Offspring, and very loosely with Hide and Seek, takes an "average family" and puts them into a situation where they keep a primitive woman captive and perform unspeakable acts on her. In real Ketchum form, the two writers succeed in exploring the darkest side of human only complaint is that I wanted more background info about the "doghouse child. " The book sets itself up for a sequel which I can't wait to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woman []  2020-1-22 0:45

    After the happenings of Offspring (OffSeason's second chapter), The Woman once again finds herself alone. Her dealing with the kid had been one that ended badly, destroying her kin and her cow and others as well. It also found her wounded once again - and weakened. In this state she finds herself thrust into a fresh world, where creatures and prey seem to lurk together.When I found myself in a third book, I wondered what I could gain from something like this. The Woman is an old hero and you think you understand her. You also think you understand the other people here, and you think you have a read on them. That changes, however, as things move. From the method first person brings "her" to life to the method the people seem to have fresh layers to them, there is something deeper than the moment happening. The people have a past, she has her way, and they all seem like they are walking a razor's feels good.I personally thought the style of the book was beautifully done. Not only could you see the writers in the book, but you could also see the characters and the life they were given. This seems to be one of Ketchum's greatest attributes, and adding only Lucky McGee only makes things more pronounced. There are awesome descriptions, haunting small themes, and people that become more pronounced as the story continues. The characters are also amazingly written, and their globe becomes one that you seem to e book is broken into two stories in a way, with the second portion of the book focusing on the first and yet adding on. I thought, because of the layout, that it might even be a second book after a 180 pages (or so). This is somewhat the case, too, but not really. You obtain to follow but with a change of narrator, and you have a fresh sense of the poor as it goes. Granted, this was not shocking like a lot of things were but, in a sense of the literary, it was amazingly constructed and read beautifully. When the pulse quickens the pace reflects it, with sentences that read in a maddened pace but still containing everything you wish and more. It is hard not to praise the method this comes r fans and readers alike, although I would add one thing. I like the method everything sits, but this is a 3rd book. I know some might search this spelled out but, as a reader looking for information, I found that hard to verify. This does not damage it and it does not seem like a squeal but, for the sake of reading along, things mentioned might be better understood this way. Regardless, it is 5/5 material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woman []  2020-1-22 0:45

    Remember the fine young cannibals? Not the band that sang, "You Drive Me Crazy" and "Good Thing." The band of cannibals that ate tourists along the coast of Maine in Jack Ketchum's classic novels, Off Season and Offspring. (Know by fans as Ketchum's Dead River Series.)The Woman is back in all her feral glory, and authors Ketchum and Lucky McKee place her through the paces in The Woman. The latest surviving member of her cave-dwelling, people-eating clan, the Woman is captured by a country lawyer / angry man who locks her up in his basement. Creepy Christopher Cleek, Esq. kicks it up a notch by getting his wife and children involved in the fiendish torture, which gives The Woman some of the same sadistic feel that permeated Ketchum’s landmark novel, The Girl Next nnibal girl isn't the only one suffering at hands of Cleek (and his growing-up-creepy son, Brian). Father and son feed a corpse to a package of wild dogs (and another, far more disturbing animal that shares the pen), and then sit back to soak in the soothing truth of extreme violence."There are bits of her scattered everywhere.“Doesn’t even look true anymore,” Brian says, “does it, dad.”He’s every bit as engaged as Cleek is.“Does to me,” he says. He doesn’t know particularly what he means by that but it has the ring of truth so he says it again. “Does to me.”Cleek’s wife, daughters, and secretary are all victims of his manipulation. His teenage daughter wonders if the cycle of abuse can ever be broken."Would she inherit this? And gradually melt into the ghost of some unknown man’s desires?"And later she considers the deepest scars of all.“When you’re young pain can take a long time to go away. And leave its residue forever."But the women in The Woman are all warriors and survivors, with the Woman representing raw feminine power at its most primal. Even as the Woman is brutalized, Ketchum and McKee celebrate her power, survival skills, and cunning. She is the real character here and it’s a blast when she finally breaks free and [email protected]#$%. Ketchum and McKee know revenge is a dish best served cold … and bloody. The Woman leaves readers wickedly sides, there are worse things than being a cannibal cavegirl. At least The Woman has a moral compass and a sense of family. Peel back the onionskin veneer of small-town lawyer Christopher Cleek and you'll search the real heart of darkness.-30-

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woman []  2020-1-22 0:45

    First off, I'll say I really enjoyed this book. It got crazier by the second and I was eager to flip the page (so-to-speak since it was on my Kindle Fire HD) and search out what was going to happen only issue with this book was there was no true back story to "the woman" and even the ending leaves you guessing what she is, where she came from, and where she goes from that point (as well as some other necessary characters). My hope is that this is the first book in a series maybe? It's interesting and engaging enough for me to wish to know more so even though I'm disspointed in NOT knowing everything, I'm giving it 4 stars for making me WANT to k now everything. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woman []  2020-1-22 0:45

    Jack Ketchum - whose true name was Dallas Mayr - was an utterly unique, brutally intense horror writer, one whose work was unlike almost anything else out there. Ketchum, who died latest week, was an author who was fascinated by violence - its effects on the human body, yes, but also the things that can lead people to commit such horrible acts. His novel Red, for instance, traced how a man could be treated in such a method that could lead him to horrible acts of revenge, while The Lost followed damaged characters until a public nightmare is unleashed. And while Ketchum created his name with the nightmarish cannibal tale Off Season, he's probably most well known - and most infamous - for The Girl Next Door, which holds the rare distinction of being one of the most upsetting, horrific, disturbing books I've ever read. It's a fictional retelling of the Sylvia Likens murder, a case I advise you not to Google unless you're prepared for the horrors to come. And this is not exaggeration. Suffice to say, it's about a girl who is kidnapped and held in a cellar, and the method people around them slowly search themselves begin to horrific acts of cruelty and 's hard not to think of The Girl Next Door when you read The Woman; despite the fact that it's technically a sequel to Off Season (well, technically, it's a sequel to that book's sequel, Offspring), the plot can't support but recall that book's nightmare scenario. An alpha-male true estate agent goes hunting one day and spies "The Woman" - the sole survivor of Off Season's cannibal tribe. Operating off of some base instinct, he decides to capture her and bring her to his basement, displaying her for his family...and as you might imagine, things obtain very, very bad, very very why would Ketchum revisit this story, and what should create any reader wish to come back to it? Because, without giving too much of the story away, The Woman isn't so much a story of captive brutality, but an entry in the "rape and revenge" genre. In some ways, the book feels like a response to The Girl Next Door, a possibility to settle the scales, to give the victim of The Girl Next Door the possibility to pay back her crimes in a method that book's victim never could.Mind you, Ketchum (and co-author Lucky McKee, who created his name with the amazing horror film May, among others, and is known for his feminist ideas) has more on his mind than just brutality and horror. The Woman is a savage indictment of male privilege and toxic masculinity; it's a book that believes in rape culture, in the awfulness of the male gaze, and demands that such crimes be answered for in full. That gives the book some heft and weight, even if there are times when the book's horrific elements sometimes distract from it (I'm thinking particularly of a late-book revelation about the couple's first child, which feels over the top and out of place).The Woman is a fascinating book - a fusion of Ketchum's gory cannibal horror and his fixation on violence; it mixes Ketchum's unflinching look at human cruelty with McKee's desire to speak from a female perspective; it marries the darkness of The Girl Next Door with a desire for cosmic justice full of anger and violence. The effect probably isn't Ketchum's finest book, but it's a amazing one, and in some ways (ironic ones, given how brutally and graphically violent the novel can obtain - and trust me, this gets brutal) more accessible than his most infamous pieces of writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woman []  2020-1-22 0:45

    Like 'Off Season' and 'Offspring' before it, 'The Woman' continues the Ketchum tradition of shock 'em and drop 'em (your jaws that is). Like a new carcass, 'The Woman' is freshly sed blood on a tested horror sub genre - cannibalism, tender and warm to start with, rotting and germ infested by the end - though one could argue it either method around in this case.'The Womans' early scenes introduces a normal American middle class family in the Cleeks, a young successful father, his homemaker wife and three kids ranging from preschool age to mid teens attending a BBQ and enjoying life. The facade doesn't latest too long, and soon enough, Chris Cleek, while hunting android game stumbles across an escapee cannibal from Offspring. It quickly turns rabid from the story progresses, the revelations become sicker and more twisted as the mask is peeled off lawyer Chris Cleek and his real identity reveled. Shocking scenes aplenty from a dysfunctional family drama unfolding in front of an unassuming and well meaning school teacher, to a mistreated monster held captive and forced to endure inhumane acts of depravity.'The Woman' is served well by a amazing cast of characters, Chris Cleek, most notably is one seriously disturbed individual, while Peggy (his 16yr old daughter) is all heart and heartache. However, its the slightly various take on the genre that makes 'The Woman' truly engrossing, as a role reversal of horrors is executed to perfection. A fine tale in all its guts and glory 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woman []  2020-1-22 0:45

    Warning: The Woman is a very dark story that will contain graphic themes of and physical abuse. If these sorts of things bother you to the extent that you’d rather not read about them then do not read this book. Though it is very well written, it is not possible to separate these themes from the story e Woman is an perfect and entertaining story even though it is very disturbing. If you like horror with plots that slowly go deeper and deeper into dark themes, than you’ll be happy with this book. The reveal is very much like an onion where something is only hinted at first, but then gradually builds until you are in the thick of it and not entirely sure how you got there. The style goes beyond easy writing, but expands into the very story and characters themselves who will slowly spiral out of control as the plot e story takes put in the US (presumably a rural area), but largely unspecified. A man encounters a woman who is utterly savage and without civilization and captures her. The man, his family and his relationships become a large part of the story with the element of this mysterious woman added in as an unwilling participant. Most of the story revolves around the characters interactions with one another and their inner thoughts as they are forced to witness or take part in something that is clearly morally atrocious.Each hero in the story is brilliantly complex in a method that allows you to experience part of how they feel and even sometimes sympathize regardless of their likability. What makes this particularly impressive is that it is done even when you can’t really relate to the hero themselves (which is often the case). Plot elements are revealed slowly and gradually, so that nothing truly blindsides you even though there are fulfilling twists to be had. Even the most undeveloped plot point and largest surprise is done with foreshadowing almost throughout the entire book. I really only have one complaint with the story, plausibility aside, and that is there is maybe just one too a lot of plot points that sneaks into it than the length and material is is a very dark book and very disturbing book that at times maybe hard to read, but if you have fun a amazing horror and feel you can stomach the hard parts, I would highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woman []  2020-1-22 0:45

    This book, while it kept me reading, wasn't as horrific as some of the reviews allow me to believe. The story line was a bit creepy and admittedly, there were some parts that created me realize how human we are, how primary some of our instincts are. The story kept moving and was very well written. A amazing read for the cash but if this book were not .99, I wouldn't recommend buying it. I got my money's worth for the .99 I paid for it.I would like to read some of this author's other books because his wriiting style is very simple to read. However, it seems as though most of his books follow the same type of "theme" with cannibalism. I"m not exactly sure how a spin on the same subject can be done. I will certainly watch for more books on sale by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Collins Readers) []  2020-11-20 21:4

    Review 4.4 starsThis was still as enjoyable as when I read the book as a kid some decades ago. and then, I read it again, a few times or more. The magic never goes when I return to Narnia and I will always encourage other children to escape there, and to relish the magical use of words and is book never gets old. It’s the first Narnia book that I encountered – and the first written then published, although chronologically the second.I always felt that talking animals would be awesome and C. S Lewis makes them believable and special characters. For me, the kids were always of less interest than the monsters of Narnia – starting with Tumnus the Faun. Although in her defence, Lucy is always the most endearing child. Everyone has things that create them contrast with the others, creating a memorable cast including ever, while giving human characteristics to a faun seems credible, it’s harder to accept animals described in related terms. For Narnia, that works, but as an adult, I can sense it’s not being real to their true nature. But don’t allow that spoil the weaving of the is is a classic fantasy for children, and disbelief is wonderfully suspended from the moment that Lucy Pevensie finds her method through the wardrobe and begins an enchanting adventure. In Narnia, we have a globe where the unexpected is possible and magic is at the heart of the creation. For the older reader, this globe poses a few questions. Perhaps that is why C.S Lewis felt compelled, after five books, to eventually write about the world’s origins in The Magician’s Nephew – my favourite Narnia book and chronologically Book s, there are aspects that are dated like attitudes to girls/women fighting, and there are the Christian undertones, but I can forget these as the whole creation transports me.                                                                                                                                                                   There is clever use of language, of humorous phrases, of adjectives to evoke emotions – both in the dialogue, and in the descriptive passages that abound, bringing Narnia alive in the imagination.“…And you are riding not on a street nor in a park nor even on the downs, but right across Narnia, in spring, down solemn avenues of beech and across sunny glades of oak, through wild orchards of snow-white cherry trees, past roaring waterfalls and mossy rocks and echoing caverns, up windy slopes alight with gorse bushes, and across the shoulders of heathery mountains and along giddy ridges and down, down, down again into wild valleys and out into acres of blue flowers.”I’m sure that Pauline Baynes’ illustrations were in the first copy that I read, and they helped make the vibrant photos in my head of Narnia, but the words on the page were what transported me there. The most abiding photo seems to be that lamp post and whenever I see a true or replica Victorian one in real-life, I drift back to that fir-fringed clearing in Narnia.Time to introduce my amazing grandkids to this spellbinding globe and this can be another book to encourage their ory – four starsSetting/World-building – five starsAuthenticity – three starsCharacters – four starsStructure – five starsReadability – five starsEditing – five stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Collins Readers) []  2020-11-20 21:4

    C S Lewis' The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe is a classic fantasy tale for children. Sent off to the country, four kids discover the old manor house and explore a wardrobe that takes them to another land where they have an adventure as they war an evil witch determined to maintain a winter-like totalitarian regime. With the support of a lion who offers aid, the four fulfill a prophecy and free a lot of of the local citizens who have been turned to statues by the witch. Along the way, they learn valuable lessons about life and themselves.Lewis contains all the traditional elements common in these types of tales with just enough action to hold the plot moving. Each of the kids has a special role to play. Finally, Lewis tips at the old man of the house being familiar with the wardrobe and indirectly promotes their involvement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Collins Readers) []  2020-11-20 21:4

    This is an 8.5x11 (magazine size) paperback copy of an abridged ver of the C.S. Lewis classic – NOT the original. “Independently Published”. The cover art appears to have been printed from a low resolution digital image, and the giant page margins are a waste of space. I was hoping this would be a amazing primer for my 7YO, but was sadly disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Collins Readers) []  2020-11-20 21:4

    It can be a risk to re-read books that you loved as a kid or a teen. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe is one of the books that I read countless times as I was growing up. The globe of Narnia never got old or boring. Happily, I enjoyed this as much 40+ years later!Published in 1950, this was the then first book of the Narnia series. A prequel was published later. I read other books in the Narnia series, but this was always my favorite. People will tell you that this is a story about Christianity, a retelling of stories from the Bible, or an allegory. As a kid I thought this was a unbelievable fairy tale. As an adult, I was able to see the moral or Christian parallels but I chose to ignore them and read this as a fairy er, Susan, Edmund and Lucy live in London but they are sent to the countryside during WWII to escape the blitz. They are housed with an elderly and wise professor and his strict and intimidating housekeeper in an old mansion. While playing hide and seek on a rainy day, Lucy hides in wardrobe. Behind the fur coats is the land of Narnia. Narnia is ruled by the White Witch and she has created the land "always winter but never Christmas." Narnia is divided into amazing animals and poor animals who serve the Witch. Lucy is helped by a "good" faun, who protects her from the Witch. The presence of a human in Narnia is threatening to the Witch and all the animals have been told to alert her immediately. Lucy safely returns home and her siblings do not believe her story. Edmund and Lucy then search Narnia together but he meets the White Witch and is place under her spell. On returning home, he lies to the two older siblings and claims Narnia does not exist. Eventually, all four siblings end up in Narnia, though with Edmund sneaking off to see the Witch. With the support of Mr. & Mrs. Beaver, Peter, Susan, and Lucy go to meet Aslan the Lion and together they war to save Narnia. Each kid is given a unique task and a magical tool. Aslan makes large sacrifices to save Edmund. The amazing and poor animals of the forest do war and being a fairy tale, there is a satisfied is book really sparked my imagination when I was a child. I just love the idea of a secret wardrobe that leads to another world. I still do! The book is dedicated to Mr. Lewis' goddaughter Lucy. It reads as if your kindly godfather was telling you a unbelievable story. I love the small asides by the narrator. As a child, I did not realize that the story took put during WWII or that a lot of kids were removed from London for their safety. Otherwise, the story is as I remembered and I believe the illustrations are the same. This is a classic for a reason. If you missed it in childhood, read it yourself or share it with a unique young person. It was lovely to visit Narnia again!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Collins Readers) []  2020-11-20 21:4

    I love this story. I had ordered several for my book club. The issue is that some of the pages in two of the books were printed so lightly they were unreadable. It was as if the printer had run out of ink. I have taken a picture of one of the pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Collins Readers) []  2020-11-20 21:4

    I required this book latest minute! It arrived quickly, the paperback ver was simple to read and it's held up really well overall. There are attractive illustrations inside too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Collins Readers) []  2020-11-20 21:4

    A attractive copy of a unbelievable book with illustrations that will fuel the imaginations of another generation. CS Lewis was wise, gentle, and spoke to the hearts of boys and girls in ways that affirm their bravery and inquisitiveness. His amazing humor brings truths down to a level that can be understood by children, but also reveals nuances and facets to those with more years of experience. Buy this celebration of the original with confidence in the quality, but also, of course, in the content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Collins Readers) []  2020-11-20 21:4

    Cheapo edition. Pauline Baynes' unbelievable illustrations are very poorly rendered. The original book had a lot of color plates - none of them is included here. And the lithography is terrible: a lot of words are so light on the page they can barely be read. Go to alibris and obtain a copy of the 1950 hardcover edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Collins Readers) []  2020-11-20 21:4

    Perhaps I missed out on an integral part of childhood, but I did not have a lot of fairy tales or books of magical tales in my life as a young boy. Lewis has an uncanny ability to create this readable as an adult and readable to a child. The reflections towards true life (one does not lock himself in a wardrobe!) and the magical life of Narnia (...because that is how beavers behave) are incredibly simple to relate to one another - it's as if you are there, understanding the ways of Narnia, though you've never been (and sadly, never will be).Notable are the Christian reflections of this tale, of what it's like to go down a path of sin with Edmund as he makes his method through the cold to the witch's castle, having fellowship amongst themselves at the dinner table, and Aslan's ultimate sacrifice, while being a being of immense power, allowed himself to be muzzled, beaten, and killed by the hands of the witch. A Christian myself, I look forward to re-reading the tale to grasp upon Lewis's deeper yet easy stories of the life of kids and beings if Narnia. That being said, if you are not Christian, the story does not really reference Christianity much at all, save calling the male kids "Sons of Adam" and the female kids "Daughters of Eve".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Collins Readers) []  2020-11-20 21:4

    It is without question that the Narnia series has had significant influence on the lives of countless people. I was in high school before reading most of these books, and I finished the entire series in about 5 or 6 days. I am 57 now and if only allowed to own one boxful of books, most of those in this series would be in it. Filled with adventure, courage, generosity, trust and perseverance, I cannot imagine how huge a void there would be in today's literary globe if this series had not been written. The books are FAR better than the movies!Despite being #2 in chronological order, 'The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe' was the one that Lewis wrote first and IMHO the series 'flows' more imaginatively if read in this order: 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 1, 7.A must-have for every library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Avengers: Vision and the Scarlet Witch (Vision and the Scarlet Witch (1982)) []  2021-2-6 18:0

    Vision & the Scarlet Witch have always been Marvel's fan favorite couple. They're even features in the Marvel Cinematic Universe with their romance was introduced in "Avengers: Infinity War" and soon-to-be TV series "WandaVision". This graphic novel features them as a married couple. It opens with "Giant-Size Avengers #4" where Vision & Scarlet Witch got married along with Swordman & Mantis but not before battling Dormammu with the Avengers. Then in "Vision and the Scarlet Witch #1-4", Vision & the Scarlet Witch wars the Grim Reaper, the Living Druid & Magneto while Wanda discovers that Magneto is her & Quicksilver's father. Featuring guest appearances from the Avengers & the eat graphic novel!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Avengers: Vision and the Scarlet Witch (Vision and the Scarlet Witch (1982)) []  2021-2-6 18:0

    Readers can be pardoned if they are a small confused by the comics collected in “Avengers: Vision and the Scarlet Witch” which includes five problems that are separated by almost a e collection opens with a “Giant-Sized Avengers" issued first published in 1974. The fourth problem of “Giant-Sized Avengers” is an necessary story but not exactly a memorable one. Probably best remembered as the problem where Vision and the Scarlet Witch marry, much of this story focuses on Mantis and the spirit of the Swordsman (who also obtain married in this issue). There are some interesting wars between Vision and Scarlet Witch versus Umar and Dormammu. Kang also appears to war Hawkeye, Iron Man and Thor. Steve Englehart does a fine job in crafting the story but the art squad led by Don Heck does not inspire in this issue, especially with Dormammu and Kang. Readers who pick this comic up for its importance might be lost. They need to read the first three problems of “Giant Sized-Avengers” before reading this. Still, Vision and Scarlet Witch fans should appreciate this issue’s importance and it is connected to the next four comics in this up are the four problems of the “Vision and Scarlet Witch” mini series written by Bill Mantlo with Rick Leonardi leading the art team. First published in 1982, there is no overarching plot in these comics outside of Vision and Scarlet Witch trying to search their put in the globe after leaving the Avengers. The first problem features a mystical plot that is really not connected to the next three issues. This is followed by three problems focused on connections with the past as the Whizzer and Wonder Man create major appearances before a major Marvel figure makes a shocking announcement in the final issue. Mantlo is, as always, a solid writer and the art squad does a fine job ere are some necessary comics here to be sure and they are generally fun reads. Having said that, these comics aren’t must haves for anyone besides Vision and Scarlet Witch fans though, at less than $5 on Kindle, this book is worth a gamble. If it were possible, I would give this book 3.5 stars which rounds up my rating. Recommended, especially for fans of the two lead characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Avengers: Vision and the Scarlet Witch (Vision and the Scarlet Witch (1982)) []  2021-2-6 18:0

    This was an unexpected roller coaster ride. There’s so much lore and backstory references that I’m not clued in on but I recognize most of the characters from the Marvel tv and film properties. It was enticing to read. I had a lot of fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Avengers: Vision and the Scarlet Witch (Vision and the Scarlet Witch (1982)) []  2021-2-6 18:0

    Amazing comic! Created a small girl very satisfied for Christmas!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Avengers: Vision and the Scarlet Witch (Vision and the Scarlet Witch (1982)) []  2021-2-6 18:0

    Amazing stories of the angry Titan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Avengers: Vision and the Scarlet Witch (Vision and the Scarlet Witch (1982)) []  2021-2-6 18:0

    came method faster than i expected and also came with a free comic! it was wrapped up well and had bubble wrap to protect it. very happy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman and Nature: The Roaring Inside Her []  2020-9-3 18:53

    Of course I was already aware of some of the misogyny in our society. What author Susan Griffin did, in 1978, was describe the process in Western culture by which women and nature were subjected to a male patriarchy. I know that women already know this, but this read shows how deeply it's imbedded in our society. She writes in her 2016 preface to this fresh addition that she dedicates this book to those beings whom Descartes claimed it would be ridiculous to imagine as having souls.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman and Nature: The Roaring Inside Her []  2020-9-3 18:53

    This book was needed reading for a graduate level somatic psychology class I participated in back in the mid-80s. I've never forgotten it. She has taken ordinary and unremarkable material and placed it next to seemingly unrelated, equally unremarkable material in such a method as to cause the reader to suddenly see both sets of material from another previously overlooked and awakening angle. She writes with an artist's or photographer's eye. For the most part, she leaves the conclusions to us...letting the dance between the two sets of info begin small windows of consciousness that allow in life and light. Over the latest 20 years or so I have returned to it again and again. A attractive and extraordinary book, both content and style.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman and Nature: The Roaring Inside Her []  2020-9-3 18:53

    Susan Griffin (born 1943) is an eco-feminist author, who has written books such as  Transforming Terror: Remembering the Soul of the World , A Chorus of Stones: The Personal Life of War , Wrestling with the Angel of Democracy: On Being an American Citizen , The Eros of Daily Life: Essays on Ecology, Gender and Society , What Her Body Thought , graphy and Silence , Rape:The Power of Consciousness , e wrote in the Preface to this 1978 book, "This is an unconventional book... I was concerned that the ecological movement had often placed the burden for solving its problems, those that this civilization has with nature, on women... men consider women to be more material than themselves, or more a part of nature. The fact that man does not consider himself a part of nature, but indeed considers himself superior to matter, seemed to me to gain significance when placed versus man's attitude that woman is both inferior to him and closer to nature. Hence this book ... grew."Here are some extra quotations from the book:"It is observed that women are closer to the earth." (Pg. 7)"And we learn to be afraid ... of our nature." (Pg. 24)"An instinct toward death is said to exist in the human psyche... That when harnessed, this instinct for destruction in men seeks power over nature. That in woman her body predisposes that she turn this instinct for destruction inward." (Pg. 45)"The labor theory of value. Her labor married to his value." (Pg. 101-102)"This, above all, we have never denied our dreams. They would have had us perish. But we do not deny our voices." (Pg. 175)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman and Nature: The Roaring Inside Her []  2020-9-3 18:53

    Terrific book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman and Nature: The Roaring Inside Her []  2020-9-3 18:53

    Interesting book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman and Nature: The Roaring Inside Her []  2020-9-3 18:53

    This is one of the 3 best books I've ever read. It deeply changed the method that I look at myself, society, and the globe we are a part is is a attractive book -- besides the info content, the writing style is simply attractive ... I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman and Nature: The Roaring Inside Her []  2020-9-3 18:53

    Today Pope Francis issued an encyclical urgently calling us to action on climate change. So deeply moved, the phrase "This Earth, my sister" kept running through my head. I thought back to this amazingly revolutionary, beautifully poetic, scientific, feminist ecology bible of 1979, when it broke my heart wide begin and directed my thinking to a feminist consciousness, to wanting to describe what a feminist epistemology would look like. What could the globe be, when we really understood "This earth is my sister...we are stunned by this beauty, and I do not forget: what she is to me, what I am to her." The weekend I discovered this book I was on a romantic getaway with my boyfriend to Huge Sur, but I kept sneaking into the bathroom to read this electrifying , decades later, perhaps the tide is turning, and we will return to knowing and caring for an ensouled earth. I am hopeful, and so, so grateful to Susan Griffin for this world-changing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman and Nature: The Roaring Inside Her []  2020-9-3 18:53

    A well described copy!!! Will buy from this seller again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman and Nature: The Roaring Inside Her []  2020-9-3 18:53

    One of my top 5 books in my life. Describes patriarchy perfectly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Woman and Nature: The Roaring Inside Her []  2020-9-3 18:53

    The lack of coherency in this book is rather upsetting. It is difficult to search any sort of idea flow inside of the book, proving an infuriating read. I believe that this book has amazing potential, but the editor should be questioned about how it passed any checks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bone Witch [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    I've not yet read anything like The Bone Witch. Maybe it was the slight discomfort which occurs when I am trying to obtain used to an unfamiliar authors flow, word choice, tone... but in the beginning I wasn't sure. There was something about the lone adult woman which called out to my own darkened heart and once I met her kid self couldn't look away. I'll have to read it all again because I tore through the pages in two nights. I've spent the latest few days wondering about Tea and how she became so broken. And I'm so eager to read more. My only criticism would be to have chapter headings that support me understand who is telling the story. We head hop from Tea to The Bard, which is fine, but sometimes I'm not sure who is telling the story. It becomes obvious a few sentences in, but it feels ank you so much for writing such rich descriptions and for building such a attractive and strange world. I love every stitch and gem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bone Witch [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    This book caught me right off with dark, twisty magic and creepy, original monsters. There are some really amazing twists. The heroine isn't excellent and I liked that. Tea kept me coming back to her story to hear a small more, to read what happened next. Fantasy can overdo the info but Chupeco knows when to chop out the boring travel or pivot. If I had a complaint it's only that this sets up at least one more book and I don't have it to read right now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bone Witch [Book]  2018-4-19 18:0

    It was so good. It slows, but not boring. The characters are complex, strong and incredible, it was so simple to understand and love all of them. I fell in love with Tea, like please, I wish a girlfriend like her. Her love for his brother is so riously, this book is awesome, I didn't know I required a diverse fantasy YA so much. People of color, Asian inspired world, necromancy, family, strong women, character turning to villain. Come on, pick it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Vine Witch [Book]  2019-11-18 19:52

    I enjoyed reading this book. Amazing mix of likeable characters and a plot that held my interest. I would recommend it and hope the author continues writing. The reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is French errors. Please correct them and if you are going to use French in the future, consider a proof-reader who knows the language. Errors: should be foie gras, not fois; Moulin à, not â (accents matter); ma, not mon petite; étrangère, which is feminine, not étranger, which is masculine; and in Ch. 25 vin, not vine. Please and thank you for correcting the Kindle edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Okay Witch []  2020-1-16 8:6

    I loved this book because it was a really funny and I connected to this book because I like witches to! You should read it too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Labyrinth of the Witch [App]  2019-5-2 13:24

    Very nice android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Darkland Witch [App]  2019-10-12 13:30

    Awesome game....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Darkland Witch [App]  2019-10-12 13:30

    Nice game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch Boy []  2020-2-1 2:12

    I had high hopes for this book, maybe too rst off, the pictures are GORGEOUS. I love the style of drawing used here. The globe building is beautiful cool too. I loved the main character. He's sweet but still thinks about his own needs, and is naive but in a method that's appropriate for his ever, the plot is lacking. The "surprise villain" is beautiful much the most obvious "twist" you could have come up with. Literally the exposition in the first SCENE spells it out for you. The side plot, a friendship with a non-magic girl, is a cool idea. She has a broken leg, and she doesn't wish to tell the protagonist what happened. They create it out to be this huge suspenseful secret so I was thinking abuse? assault? bullying? But no. (spoilers if you care) but some children were teasing her so she dared them to create a jump with their bikes and she did it first and fell. I understand they're supposed to be middle school aged and this could seem embarrassing but I mean?Also the metaphors obtain beautiful annoying as a teen reader. I understand that for kids this could support them understand complex problems around ity and gender, but I mean we obtain l in all, I'm not disappointed I read it. I think it had some amazing qualities, but it just wasn't for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Witch Boy []  2020-2-1 2:12

    The notice of the book is very necessary and can surely support a lot of the target audience of this graphic novel, as well as a lot of others. I really really enjoyed it, can't wait to pick up the rest!The only problem with the book is that the copy I received has a print error where there's a repeat of the pages where Aster meets Charlie for the first time right as Aster sees Sedge step outside of the boundary. It then also repeats the preparation for the children going off into the forest to test and search the animal they can shift into.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386