Read the world is tough reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the world is tough reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trapped in a Dating Sim: The World of Otome Games is Tough for Mobs (Light Novel) Vol. 1 []  2020-11-22 18:0

    Loved the series before Seven Seas picked it up. I know alot of people don't like the mc, but I love Leon, and his sarcastic ways. Hopefully Seven Seas will bring the next 5 novels over quickly. I also hope that Amazon/Kindle doesn't go all woke/censorship, and test to take this series off, like they did with Arifureta and No Game, No Life. Next light novel series I hope we can obtain is, The Gate-Thus the J.S.D.F series and Sono Mono.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trapped in a Dating Sim: The World of Otome Games is Tough for Mobs (Light Novel) Vol. 2 []  2021-3-12 18:0

    This was an amazing addition to the story. Action, drama, and a pinch closer to romance for a background protagonist who doesn't know how to stay out problem (not for the lack of trying). Happenings of the otome android game continue to spiral out of control and our character is in the thick of it king a name for himself by humiliating the game's basic love interests has done Leon no favors in a globe that belittles males. Despised by the general masses, only a handful of loyal mates remain at the rising star's side. The ostracized heroine of the otome android game Livia and the original female antagonist Angie remain steadfast; doing what they can to shield Leon from heinous fallout treatment his deeds have t, Leon still can't search a bride. He could always test marrying the queen?There are a lot of happenings taking put in this one novel. Factions wish revenge on the OP Leon while he aims towards getting android game happenings back on track and fade once more into the background. Kind of hard to do when you create yourself the winner to a duke's daughter. So much drama, Leon can't catch a break. And his fellow isekai rival is well into scheming her comeback.I can't sing this franchise's praise enough. This story is a fun ride from begin to finish. I was so satisfied; like watching the redemption trial from the "Rise of the Shield Hero". The author really knows how to build a globe and leaves me wanting more by the end. I love the characters and love the plot. I'm really looking forward to the next installment to this franchise. I can recommend to anyone fond of the Isekai Otome android games story builds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Purple []  2020-8-25 20:35

    Anytime you see a 3 digit number in front of something like this, it is a preview/promo. If it's the series it will say S1 E1, or Season One Episode One, S1 E2, S1 E3 's plainly stated this is 2 mins long. Anyone who follows this present KNOWS Season 3 is not out yet. Don't leave a negative review because you couldn't take the time to read a few words.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the world is tough or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Purple []  2020-8-25 20:35

    The series is awesome and Ive been waiting for Season 3. So far it doesn't disappoint, as l negative reviews are based on the fact that the purchaser did not read the description before purchasing, dont leave a poor rating for the present because you failed to read the IS SHOW IS AMAZING

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Purple []  2020-8-25 20:35

    With just the preview and the squad video, season 3 is going to be outstanding!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Purple []  2020-8-25 20:35

    2.99 for a 2 min clip!?!?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Purple []  2020-8-25 20:35

    I just paid $2.99 to watch a commercial for next season.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Purple []  2020-8-25 20:35

    DON'T MAKE THE MISTAKE OF PURCHASE. THIS IS NOT AN ESP. IT'S A 3 MIN. PREVIEW

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Purple []  2020-8-25 20:35

    I thought I was buying an episode of the the series....didn’t know it is just the advertisement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Purple []  2020-8-25 20:35

    Beware we accidentally paid $2.15 with tax to watch this 1 minute and 45 second preview. Yep a preview, not an actual episode at all. disappointed 😞 to say the least.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Purple []  2020-8-25 20:35

    Loved the first l the 1 stars are from people who cant comprehend that the present has a release date and releases 1 episode at a time. Granted, Amazon could place it in BIG BOLD letters, but they assume too much of their audience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Purple []  2020-8-25 20:35

    What a ripoff

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is A Rainbow []  2020-8-8 19:50

    This song is so adorable! I used it during an end of camp ceremony. It was simple for the children to learn and the parents loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is A Rainbow []  2020-8-8 19:50

    thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is A Rainbow []  2020-8-8 19:50

    I had hoped to use it for a slide show, when I listened to it on the clip I loved it. When I bought it, it had a religious introduction and I could not use it. The song is very nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World is My Oyster []  2020-11-17 19:14

    This young radio journalist got around quite a bit. From his base in Fresh York, he traveled not only to remote corners of the US, but also to Brazil, the Caribbean and even Japan. He experiences items that the regular tourist would probably never see—or maybe even wouldn't wish to see. I wouldn't necessarily live all of those experiences myself, but seeing them happen to someone else is quite funny. And he reports on people and off-the-beaten-track locations other journalists would probably search dry or uninteresting to write about, but that come alive in his stories as in "Point Barrow, Alaska" and others. In his stories you obtain the "real deal" along with an idea of how it would feel to actually live in one of those locations thru' a massive dose of local flavor . Also liked the background info. You obtain a bit of the history of each put and learn items that only an insider would know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is A Rainbow []  2020-8-8 19:50

    I did not like the fact that there was a conversation about god right in the beginning of the song. I wanted just the song, did not need anything else

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where is the World is Carmen SanDiego? v4.0 []  2021-2-27 20:55

    loved this android game as a child but, cant even play this will not work at all on windows 7, which realy sucked, i donated it to my local elementry school. it does work ok on the older comps.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where is the World is Carmen SanDiego? v4.0 []  2021-2-27 20:55

    I've tried the android game out. I've tried to save the progress and it won't allow me. I've also tried to google that issue and it doesn't seem to have info on that. The android game itself has been very fun for my 8-year-old son, though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where is the World is Carmen SanDiego? v4.0 []  2021-2-27 20:55

    I bought the android game based on the TV show. In its roundabout way, it's education through entertainment. As a parent you just hope the education sticks long after the entertainment has is android game is fun for my young ones. The object is to stop a thief based on the description of the bystanders. You not only deduce the description of the criminal but also the country that is currently housing the thief's next is can be fun for the whole family. I play with my kids (ages 8-10) in order to help them in finding the geographic location. For now, the bystander's descriptions can be a small too ambiguous for my kids; it is simple enough for them to compile a description.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where is the World is Carmen SanDiego? v4.0 []  2021-2-27 20:55

    Your browser does not help HTML5 video.  Don't work at all really

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where is the World is Carmen SanDiego? v4.0 []  2021-2-27 20:55

    The Learning Company claims this (and U.S.A) is XP compatible, but I don't think that's the case. I don't know, maybe it is, because this probably wouldn't have even installed if it weren't. For me, the android game either keeps minimizing the screen (until only the icon, on the toolbar can be seen), or turns to a black screen and crashes. Changing compatibility mode doesn't support either. The least this android game could do is give me an error notice specifically stating what's wrong. Not even that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where is the World is Carmen SanDiego? v4.0 []  2021-2-27 20:55

    I was looking for a copy of the CD that was produced by broderbund media back in 1985, that had a lot of more cases to solve rather than just the treasures of Knowledge cases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where is the World is Carmen SanDiego? v4.0 []  2021-2-27 20:55

    I have Windows 10 and when I installed the android game the part where I need internet won't work. If someone out there could support I would appreciate it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where is the World is Carmen SanDiego? v4.0 []  2021-2-27 20:55

    This is a fun, amazing method to learn about the world. It was simple to install. I know it is rated for kids, but I love it as an adult

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where is the World is Carmen SanDiego? v4.0 []  2021-2-27 20:55

    I like the android game itself, but it was not compatiable to my windows XP and would not play. I had an older computer and it played fine. When I got a fresh computer with windows XP the android game would not play. So I brought one on Amazon that was suppose to be compatiable to windows XP but it wasn't. In fact I brought 2 various Carmen Sandiego android games and they did not play. The sellers did offered to give me my cash back. I want I could search Carmen Sandiego android games Compatiable for my windows 7.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where is the World is Carmen SanDiego? v4.0 []  2021-2-27 20:55

    The android game was in amazing codition but it was the treasur of knowlage insted of the one I was looking for I wanted the one that you have to search the discription of the thief before you catch them but other than that it a fun game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching When the World Is on Fire []  2019-12-23 19:32

    This is a dreadful book, and not one that I would use to inspire any teacher, or anyone going near a opens with an essay by former Weather Underground leader William Ayers entitles "Teaching Toward Freedom." Remember, the Weather Underground was a terrorist organization and the kind of freedom they had in mind involved murder and blowing up buildings. Remarkably, although Ayers did go to jail, he never did serious time.Ayers now describes himself as an elementary educational theorist.But on September 10, 2001, The Fresh York Times ran an article about Bill Ayers which opened with this quote: "I don't regret setting bombs. I feel we didn't do enough."That was the day before Sept. 11, 2001, when terrorists killed more than 3,300 Americans with the destruction of the Globe Trade Center in Fresh York, an attack on the Pentagon and a failed attack that was believed aimed at the White this a man you'd wish giving tip to your grammar school kid's teachers?I wouldn't.And I have small regard either for most of the other authors whose essays appear in this volume of communist and revolutionary e people whose essays appear here are among those who'd like to set the globe on fire, not place out fires or support people create peace between one deed, according to Ayers, some traditional schools, inadvertently or not, "crush souls and break bodies." Okay, not all the time, he admits, but "too a lot of schools, day in and day out, are organized to smash curiosity, impede imagination, shatter self-respect, and deflate the dreams of youth."Good grief. No, I'd say schools today are too busy brainwashing their students instead of teaching them to think--and that's exactly what this man and his colleagues want, to brainwash your kids, to teach them America is poor and has always been is book is best pulped and sent to the recycling bin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching When the World Is on Fire []  2019-12-23 19:32

    Lisa Delpit does it again. Her words are inspiring, intellectual, literal & real! A must read for all educators & parents.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Made of Stories []  2020-2-6 20:47

    David Loy takes us into the role and reality of stories in our lives. He admits in the Preface that although Zen Buddhism challenges getting stuck in concepts, that does not mean that we can not acknowledge the role of stories in our lives. Loy asserts that one major story in our life is the story of the self. This book is a series of entry points each with an epigraph (there are one or two on every page) into various possible stories that people can live by. Although this is not a linear book, Loy does close with culminating references to the story of the Christian Heaven and to the Pure Land, suggesting that we might become the narrators (not Loy's term) of these stories. In the context of Loy's works, his subsequent book *A Fresh Buddhist Path* (2015) includes a long section called "The Story" (pp. 65-104) that provides a summation and even more importantly a completion of the conversation begun in *The Globe Is Created of Stories.* In this newer book, Loy focuses in on the ultimate story, the story of cosmology (somewhat as told by Brian Swinne and Thomas Berry in *The Universe Story.*) For a discovery of diverse stories by which we might live, *The Globe Is Created of Stories* offers much more range and scope. In *The Globe Is Created of Stories* Loy gives us multiple perspectives on the dozens of stories to which we are similar or in terms of which we live.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Made of Stories []  2020-2-6 20:47

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Series? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 2:57

    I bought this book as a bonus for my nephew, who is a large baseball fan. He is 9 years old and in 3rd grade. This is a chapter book and is excellent for his reading level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Series? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 2:57

    Nothing grandson loves better then to obtain this book series in the mail

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Cup? (What Was?) []  2020-7-26 21:1

    I think it was good, but they never really talked about other globe cups besides the one between Brazil and Italy. Also I think they could have mentioned more about other players. They only really talked about Pele, and nobody else. - written by my 9 year old

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Cup? (What Was?) []  2020-7-26 21:1

    Unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Cup? (What Was?) []  2020-7-26 21:1

    Class loves this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Cup? (What Was?) []  2020-7-26 21:1

    My 9 years old son very love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirty Wars: The World Is a Battlefield []  2020-9-24 18:55

    Dirty Battles is a amazing book, but the info offered inside is just a more in depth and personalized acc of policies and situations that have been recounted excellently in brief elsewhere, or in headline articles as said happenings were happening. However, since Americans have a very short attention span, and things go down the "memory hole" within a few weeks of their revelation, this book does a amazing job of bringing to light in an intimate manner the crimes of the US government, not only in Afghanistan, but also in Somalia and Yemen (as relates to the hunt for Anwar al Awlaki) that have long since been at is another point worth mentioning. This book is by far the best comprehensive acc of the whole story of Anwar al Awlaki (from birth to death, pacifist t.v. personality to radical, and American citizen to terrorist) and his extrajudicial killing via a US drone (becoming one of the first Americans to be killed by the government without being charged, convicted, or tried).The only true issue with the book is one of production quality. The book is so huge that just reading through it normally caused half of the pages to become unglued from the spine. It definitely should have been released initially as a hardcover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirty Wars: The World Is a Battlefield []  2020-9-24 18:55

    This should be needed reading for every adult in this country. We have a very serious issue and it's definitely getting worse. We will never have peace, because it appears to me that my own country's government is populated with neo-cons and battle mongers. We really do have an imperial government, and it doesn't seem to create any difference which party is in power. Once either party gets in there, nothing ever changes, it just increases. It's also beautiful clear that our activities are not making us safer, but they are making our government loathed around the world, and no wonder! We the citizenry are not paying anywhere near enough attention. When President Eisenhower left office he warned us that the one thing we really had to fear was the rise of the military industrial complex, and boy, was he right. There are very strong forces at work and I fear that's it's already too late so save our republic, because it's already been destroyed. There's a quote "We have met the opponent and he is us." Truer words were never spoken.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirty Wars: The World Is a Battlefield []  2020-9-24 18:55

    This necessary book starts out slow, and to be truthful, I place it down thinking maybe I wouldn't [email protected]#$%!. Months later I went back and had no issue reading it in its entirety. After page 100, the book takes off. Yes there seems to be TMI, but on reflection it is justified by the complexity of what is event over there. There is no short-cut to an adequate understanding of the mess we created, especially in Somalia. Jeremy Scahill, along with Glenn Greenwald, is at the forefront of journalism, the leading edge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PS2 SCARFACE THE WORLD IS YOURS []  2020-1-13 20:15

    Item was like fresh and it shippiled quick ..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Series? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 2:57

    Like

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Series? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 2:57

    Nice addition to the Who Was series. All about the Globe Series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching When the World Is on Fire []  2019-12-23 19:32

    An perfect collection of writings about teaching today. The writings are grouped by subject and confront today's toughest issues. The footnotes are a valuable resource for further reading and research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching When the World Is on Fire []  2019-12-23 19:32

    Really amazing book. Has a "how to" in each essay written by amazing people-- how to teach climate change, how to be LGBT+ inclusive, how to teach politics in the age of Trump, how to reach students of color, etc. Tehre are some amazing books and resources mentioned, including reading lists, and some really amazing ideas.Easy to read, simple to implement, and engaging-- NOT dry and boring at all. Truly wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching When the World Is on Fire []  2019-12-23 19:32

    I got this book for my wife who's a teacher and her feedback was that instead of helping to search middle ground and let objective discussions, the author seems to indulge in memories to better times, of which oddly Nixon is chosen to be an example how in those days was a amazing example compared to today's society. That was beautiful much the end of the exploration with an begin mind.(If your believes match with the author, this may be a motivational read and there is nothing wrong with it, but it does not appear to be the unbiased tip as the title implies.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Made of Stories []  2020-2-6 20:47

    I enjoyed this fresh book by David Loy, but first allow me explain what this book is not:It is not a systematic look into the nature of narrative and is not a philosophical tome with tight argumentation.If the reader is expecting this he or she will be is book is very brief (just 100 pages, it can easily be read in two sittings), and serves more as a buffet of ideas about the nature of life, story, meaning, and enlightenment, that are highly, even contagiously suggestive. In fact a amazing portion of the book is composed of quotations from different thinkers and ere are no definite conclusions drawn here, it is more of a springboard for further thought, is a fun and enlightening read, and because of its structure and brevity it might be ideal for a book discussion group as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Made of Stories []  2020-2-6 20:47

    Beautifully written meta-yses of how we think and act in story terms, tying in lots of culture and quotes. It's not exactly gripping, but it's insightful. I teach this items and I enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Made of Stories []  2020-2-6 20:47

    A must read! For transformational work, psychology, and philosophy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Cup? (What Was?) []  2020-7-26 21:1

    My son loves this series. There are so a lot of various subjects to learn.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirty Wars: The World Is a Battlefield []  2020-9-24 18:55

    Must read look at the failure of the U.S. battle on terror. Provides endless examples of how the use of torture, drones, renditions to foreign prison camps, policies that ignored the Geneva Convention and assassination actually increased terrorism in Yemen, Iraq, Somalia, Afghanistan and other countries. It is another example of how tough sounding rhetoric and policies, which are so politically popular, is actually a recipe for disaster. This of course has the unfortunate political impact of actually being amazing for those are advocate these dysfunctional policies. As their "get tough on terror" terrorizes the civilian populations and works as a recruiting tool for terror groups, the subsequent rise in terrorism and political instability encourages even tougher policies, creating a vicious cycle of military spending, assassinations, terror and even more incompetent political leaders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirty Wars: The World Is a Battlefield []  2020-9-24 18:55

    'Dirty Wars', was a very long and thorough look at covert and clandestine operations, not only in Afghanistan, but also in East Africa such as in Sudan, Yemen, Somalia and also the involvement of neighbouring Kenya. While the book focused predominately on the Bush and then the Obama Presidential administrations embracing assassinations, it was also about the first assassination of a native US citizen who was never ever charged (Anwar Awlaki).The reader got an education on slay squads, renditioning, black websites (secret prisons housing prisoners who had no human rights, no lawyers, no Red Cross aid, no family contact AND were never to be released). They were tortured, sleep deprived (their eyes were taped begin and often wore headphones with massive metal melody playing), place into stress positions (where they stood with their arms and legs stretched out wide by ropes), they were continually shackled, unable to use a bathroom and forced into adult nappies to urinate and soil themselves. Yes, Chapter 15:'No Blood, No Foul', was truly horrific, but compulsive en there the reader learnt about snatch and grab ops (of actual people) who were called High Value Targets) (HVT), there were warrantless wiretaps, mass arrests of Arabs, Pakistani's and other muslims by 'Western forces' (the US military, the CIA, JSOC and some British forces too). It was an begin ended war, with no clear target and with no exit plan in mind. Indeed, if it wasn't such a diabolical disaster, the mission would've be laughable. Cheney and Rumsfeld were described as using Tom Clancy Combat Concepts (TCCC). The US government was using the CIA, JSOC (Joint Secret Operations Command) and different sovereign state militaries (Sudan, Kenya and Somali battle lords) as part of their 'worldwide battle on terror'. In 2004, the International Red Cross (IRC) published figures that were very very disturbing. It was announced that anywhere between 70 to (incredibly) 90% of people were wrongfully arrested in these Black Sites! It makes your blood e more the bombs reigned down on Afghanistan, Somalia, Yemen, Sudan et. al. the more, it seemed, death and destruction made more sympathy for Al Qaeda. With 'state secret privileges', 'Special Access Program' and 'Terror Tuesday' Presidential meetings, the Federal US government was clearly focused on killing as a lot of Al Qaeda followers as possible. Rumsfeld, for example, just wanted to obliterate them. Yet, even with all this going on, the second most wanted man after Bin Laden, Anwar Awlaki, couldn't be found by the Americans, but Abdul Haidar Shaye, a Yemeni journalist could not only search him, but he was interviewing him from time to time. It became an embarrassment to the White should be remembered that Al Qaeda is an ideology, an extremist one, but an ideology nonetheless, and is not found just in in Afghanistan, Sudan or Somali, but in over SIXTY countries around the world. The method to curb Al Qaeda is through education, peace and allowing people to believe that the West is not out to slay all Muslims or Arabs, but instead believing that we can all live together as one ~ regardless of our faith, our skin colour or what we wear. We should be able to live together through education, humanitarian peace and by being able to talk with one another. War, on the other hand, doesn't support bring people together. Battle and military intervention divides people because if the West (the USA: CIA or JSOC affiliated) slay teams can slay my mother, my sister, my brother or my friend, why would I wish to be mates with the West? Why, indeed?Some other references about conflicts in the Middle East & Central Asia (including Iraq & Afghanistan) include:1. Chapter 5,'Liberating Afghanistan'. From, “Freedom Next Time”, John Pilger. 2007. (Afghanistan).2.’ The Unraveling: High Hopes and Missed Opportunities in Iraq’, Emma Sky, 2016. (Iraq).3. “No Amazing Men Among the Living: America, the Taliban and the Battle through Afghan Eyes”, Anand Gopal. 2015. (Afghanistan).4. “Tell Me No Lies”, John Pilger. 677 pages. Particularly, ‘Complicity in a Million Deaths', Tag Curtis. 'Reporting the Truth about Iraq': Articles by Felicity Arbuthnot, Joy Gordon, Richard Norton-Taylor, Jo Wilding, Edward W. Said and Robert Fisk. 2011. (Iraq).5. “The Amazing Battle for Civilisation: The Conquest of the Middle East”, R. Fisk. 2005. 1105 pages. (The Middle East).6. “Sleeping with the Devil: How Washington sold our Soul for Saudi Crude”, Robert Baer. (Saudi Arabia). 2004.7’. Ghost Wars: The Secret History of the CIA, Afghanistan, and bin Laden, from the Soviet Invasion to September 10’, Steve Coll. 2001. (Pakistan).8.’ The Hooligans of Kandahar: Not All Battle Stories are Heroic’, Joseph Kassabian. 2017. pages 258. (Afghanistan).9. “Blackwater: The Rise of the World's Most Strong Mercenary Army”, Jeremy Scahill. 2007. (Afghanistan).10. “The Looming Tower”, Lawerence Wright. (The USA & The Middle East). 2007.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirty Wars: The World Is a Battlefield []  2020-9-24 18:55

    Although the vast amount of ongoing info in this book can become mind numbing the overall thrust raises perfect questions about how our country conducts drone and unique operations warfare versus terrorists. The nature of terrorists - how they operate, where they base themselves, how they are financed - don't fit neatly into our concept of how battle is conducted. When is it acceptable for our forces to attack individuals or groups located in another country? Suppose that country becomes a close ally like Britain or France? Would they accept that? So is it allowable only in weaker states such as Yemen and Somalia? Yet there is no doubt that there are evil people plotting versus our country and citizens. The author raises questions and challenges how we are or should be conducting this war which become uncomfortable to consider.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirty Wars: The World Is a Battlefield []  2020-9-24 18:55

    I was skeptical going in to this book thinking it was going to be horribly biased to one particular side, however, once I began to delve into the pages of this book I clearly saw that the administration follies were on both sides. Jeremy Scahill is an awesome investigative journalist for his tenacity for getting the truth. Journalists used to write the truth because the people deserved to know, now it seems they are all biased to one is very difficult to search an unbiased journalist, but Jeremy is definitely one of hill writes about how America, through both the Bush and Obama administrations, has sought to push past not only people's rights in foreign countries, but our own as well in order to obtain the kill. The books shows how the administrations have supplied other countries with foreign aid in return for cooperation, or in other words, in return for allowing the U.S. to do whatever military operations it requires within that particular country, followed by cover-ups and denials. The book illustrates also how American citizens in foreign countries have been hunted down and killed for practicing freedom of speech, albeit speech the government found hill pulls no punches in this massive hitter book which calls both sides out for the trespasses they have done to innocent foreigners and its own citizens. This book is highly recommended to obtain a fuller picture of the underworld of American operations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching When the World Is on Fire []  2019-12-23 19:32

    If the globe is indeed "on fire," is that specific to today, or to quote Billy Joel (sorry), it's always burning? Do today's teachers have an ethical responsibility to address hot button problems like climate change, even if that means that more traditional topics obtain sidelined? Each era has its own challenges, and I grew up in one where the presidential administration was perhaps less than attentive to environmental causes, and children worried about things like acid rain, the thinning ozone layer, etc. yet none of my teachers created combatting these things a central project (though as I recall, we did once discuss the California grape pickers' boycott).Teachers have an undeniably tough job, one that I would not want, being called upon at different times to be a combination of mentor, therapist, etiquette teacher, etc. as well as ensuring that their class masters the old fashioned reading, writing and arithmetic, or at least enough to pass the needed standardized tests. Whether you agree with the contributors here - or are a card carrying member of Liberal Globe - will determine how you answer to this book of essays. Certainly the teachers and administrators who write here seem empathic and committed to their students and genuinely concerned about creating an atmosphere where they feel free to discuss and argue points. But if you, like me, believe that political views should largely be left at the door of the classroom, that neither the Right nor the Left has any genuine claim to being the party of moral superiority, though there's nothing wrong with modeling tolerance and inclusiveness to one's fellow humans and the planet, you may have reservations as I did. (I hope that if these writers feel the need to bring in the president on any discussions of manners and morals, they also raise the question of why so a lot of Democrat politicians fail at the rules of primary civility while on social media, etc. Or better yet, leave that all out.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Series? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 2:57

    Bought for 8 year old grandson - he loves it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Series? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 2:57

    I love these books! It gets my reluctant reader reading and learning about things he enjoys.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PS2 SCARFACE THE WORLD IS YOURS []  2020-1-13 20:15

    the disk itsself was in immaculate condition!!!!plays well and never skips!this android game only plays on the ps2 i recenlty ordered from here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Made of Stories []  2020-2-6 20:47

    David Loy is both a scholar and a practitioner. He has written scholarly books but in this book he takes a graspable metaphor- that of stories- and uses it to lead us through a very enlightening and transformative exploration of the deepest themes in the religious and philosophical conversation, right up to the post-modern show day, all without using technical language or referring to books you may not have read. He quotes liberally from books you may or may not have read, but chooses quotations that help and advance the approach he is taking. I recommend this to anyone who is engaged in the spiritual/philosophical journey, anyone who is willing to take their commitment to their own story lightly. Whether you have been on this journey a long or short time, you will search a wise, compassionate mate guiding you through the process of seeing the globe through enlightened eyes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Made of Stories []  2020-2-6 20:47

    This is a very deep book, dense with concepts even though it is relatively short (103 pages not including the preface, index, and acknowledgements). It consists of short quotes from different authors, philosophers, and popular people regarding stories and myths, each followed by a paragraph or two of the author's commentary. The commentary ties the quotes together in an attempt to present that "the globe is created of stories" and what that implies to us. He does this from a Buddhist perspective, but in an smart and gentle method that never beat me over the head with it.I was surprised how much I enjoyed this book. It includes more ideas than you would guess from its little size. While not a Buddhist, I thoroughly enjoyed Loy's perspective on stories as the atoms that create up everything.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Made of Stories []  2020-2-6 20:47

    Amazing book and really created me stop and realize how every situation I've been in revolves around the story of "me" and what I do to perpetuate it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Cup? (What Was?) []  2020-7-26 21:1

    My son and I read this book together and it was simple to read and very interesting!! It's a amazing book for a book report!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirty Wars: The World Is a Battlefield []  2020-9-24 18:55

    The good: this is extremely well researched, detailed, and informative. The bad: the topic matter is depressing. I lean to the left and I have to say my opinion of Obama took a huge hit while reading this.Anyway, Dirty Battles is a very massive read. The author just overloads you with info and details. It can be a bit much at times, but I have to credit Mr. Scahill for being so thorough. Strengths of the book are his chapters on Somalia and Anwar Al-Awlaki. While I consider myself to be fairly informed on globe news and events, this book was proof that I was quite ignorant on those two subjects.While I think it is a must read for everyone, I honestly do not think those not very interested in foreign policy and international affairs will be sucked into this book. It is a bit dry and does not flow especially well. If not for my interest in those two subjects, I probably would have not finished the book, or at least would have skipped significant portions (and just stuck to the chapters similar to Al-Awlaki).In short, 5 stars for the info provided, 3 stars for the writing. Overall 4 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching When the World Is on Fire []  2019-12-23 19:32

    This is a difficult book to read, in the best sense of the word. The book is a collection of essays from teachers and scholars in the education and similar fields edited by Lisa Delpit, the author of Other People’s Children. The essays covers subjects on politics, Safety, Race, Gender, Climate and Culture. It ends with an appendix of books on immigration for younger readers. While the overall stance of the materials are certainly on one side of today’s politics, I hope that people from any sides will read this collection. You do not have to agree to the content, but you should be aware of these necessary matters. Ignoring these subjects in Education, or providing a one sided view on these subjects in school, is not a amazing thing — they authors e book also has a lot of practical ideas for teachers and administrators to involve students and the community in these discussions without bias, and who can argue that is not a amazing thing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirty Wars: The World Is a Battlefield []  2020-9-24 18:55

    This is the first thing I've read by Mr. Scahill and I have to say he delivers the goods. He is not a pundit commenting from afar about the work and research of others: he has talked to a lot of of the main figures involved (other than Rumsfeld, Cheney and Addington....) and place together a scathing indictment of the ineffective and tragic embrace of violence and cruelty to test to stamp out terrorism. It is simple to judge the men involved in terrorism, and, thanks to drones, easier to search them and slay them, but to what end? We would save a lot of cash and lives if we did some of the things they claim to wish us to do: shut down our bases in the Middle East, push harder for Israel to treat the Palestinians like human beings with rights, and use our influence with the leaders of the Middle Eastern countries to improve justice and opportunity for more of their citizens. But, as we all well know, there are few rational or reasonable actors at any level here, and power, hubris and cash have blinded nearly all the principals to the hurt they cause. In the end the path of least resistance is letting the military and the CIA run amok because most Americans really don't care as long as they aren't personally affected by all this activity. It will be very interesting if the Nobel Peace Prize winning President Obama every comes clean about all the dirty dealings he has been a part of. They are a stain on whatever legacy he claims, and I otherwise admire him much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Series? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 2:57

    My 11 year old nephew is hooked on these books. Getting kids to read anything is amazing and these books are amazing from an informative and enjoyable point of view. Lots of information packed in a manageable size book. Lots of facts and tidbits. Nephew is a large MLB fan so this was even more enjoyable for eat series of books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Series? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 2:57

    Quick shipping and amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Made of Stories []  2020-2-6 20:47

    This small book of diverse quotes, and Loy's narrative interludes, weaving and tying the theme of finding our voice, telling our stories and making our meaning (wrestling it from the cold reality of modern sensibilities and primordial vastness....) within the delicate balance of appearance and emptiness, illusion and experience, is delightful. Poetic and yet specific enough to clearly hit home, this is a fast read, simple to understand, yet rewarding to repeat visits. It is playful and profound, and perhaps most importantly, encouraging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Cup? (What Was?) []  2020-7-26 21:1

    This was a Christmas bonus for a kid I do not know. I did keep a passionate thank you note for acting as Santa's helper and purchasing this book from his/her list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Cup? (What Was?) []  2020-7-26 21:1

    Purchased for my granddaughter who is a fresh elementary teacher. She loves it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Cup? (What Was?) []  2020-7-26 21:1

    I think that this book would be a amazing one for ages 7-9. A amazing part of the book is that it had a lot of details

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Made of Stories []  2020-2-6 20:47

    This book is absolutely wise and delightful, expressing truth in spades and with a clever smile and warmth. If you really consider the ideas in the book, you will make in yourself a fresh understanding of your own consciousness, and the interplay of people in the world. It is filled with unbelievable quotations, and the guiding stories succeed in removing you from a put of illusory self-righteousness.I've given this book as a bonus to several friends, who have thanked me later for the impact it has had. Thank you Mr. Loy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Series? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 2:57

    we love who/what was books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Series? (What Was?) []  2020-2-1 2:57

    My 9 yr old loved this book. Was able to read it in just a few days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Teaching When the World Is on Fire []  2019-12-23 19:32

    MacArthur award champion Delpit teaches education at Southern University and A&M College in Louisiana and is the author of or co-editor of three other books on education, all published by the Fresh Press. Her concern throughout her writings is to recognize diversity in our teaching and prepare students of all colors, creeds, genders and preferences for life in our divisive society and complicated and perplexing world. Given the blandness of much of contemporary writing on public school teaching, it is to her credit that her commentators address huge current-day concerns: how can teachers address a heated up political environment, politicians who don’t care about fact and the renewed emergence of hate groups; what do we say to students about school shootings, which leave them (rightly enough) frightened in the classroom; how do we address race issues, gender differences, education; how do we discuss environmental concerns when there are parents who oppose even discussing the science behind the concerns; and lastly, how do we encourage students to discover and honor all kinds of diversity. To the editor’s credit also, she has used this book to bring an exceptionally wide set of communicators to the table, all with their own experiences, ideas and y of the pieces relate experiences and teaching experiments that however heartening are small more than anecdotes. The length of individual essays is an indicator. Of the twenty-eight essays in this volume, only nine run ten pages or longer, and one of those is Delpit’s introduction, which is largely devoted to introducing all the other is is a concern: there are so a lot of problems to address in public school education now that what is required most is root and branch proposals to salvage it. Furthermore, one problem not addressed in this book is the erosion of serious, useful content in what is taught: education must make a sustained narrative to support the newly learning student create sense and gain mastery over a confusing and often distressing world. Reading this collection as a whole may leave an impression in the reader’s mind but few of the essays do on their own. They’re just too slight.I found one essay very helpful: T. Elijah Hawkins on “School Justice: Teaching Politically Fraught Topics.” It describes a thoughtful effort to bring students, teachers and school administrators together to make a system of school discipline that is equitable. It’s an effort to place the brakes on the “pipeline between the school and prison.” While discussing how it worked in his school, Hawkins makes the sage observation that we should not confuse the exercise of authority with authoritarianism. Students understand (and need/feel more comfortable with legitimate authority. They know the importance of rules of conduct, boundaries in behavior and the need for an impartial rule keeper. It’s unjustified and under-explained authority that drives students nuts. And it should.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Is the World Cup? (What Was?) []  2020-7-26 21:1

    perfect book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dirty Wars: The World Is a Battlefield []  2020-9-24 18:55

    Very interesting take on the SOCOM and drone programs during the battles in the Middle East post 9/11. The book uses the narrative story line of one of the targets and his family to follow the program e book does shed light on battlefield dynamics and the current battle issues. Very well written and e author does allow his politics interfere a bit in the early stages of the book (refers to Bush as a cowboy), but the book accurately reflect the build-ups and problems under the following ybe some I'll watch the doentary based on this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What The World Needs Now Is Love []  2021-1-17 19:21

    I am not sure what ver of the song this is...but it doesn't sound like any ver i have ever heard. He might be playing the piano, but Burt does sing a single verse on this version.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    is safe [5mg cost ]  2020-9-14 15:12
    [email protected]

    the presence that the major choice possess life-threatening, mammary-threatening side. uk Hyytew qamzmt

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    when is your birthday []  2021-2-6 6:40

    Saito Tomayaki PLEASE DON'T READ THIS. YOU WILL BE KISSED ON THE NEAREST FRIDAY BY THE LOVE OF YOUR LIFE. NOW YOU'VE STARTED READING THIS DON'T STOP. THIS IS FREAKY. 1) Say your name 10 times 2) Say your moms name 5 times 3) Say your crushes name 3 times 4) PASTE THIS TO FOUR OTHER QUIZZES. IF YOU DO THIS YOUR CRUSH WILL KISS YOU ON THE NEAREST................ FRIDAY. BUT. IF YOU DON'T PASTE IT YOU WILL HAVE BAD LUCK. THEN YOU WILL HAVE VERY BAD LUCK . SEND THIS TO 5 QUIZZES IN 143 MINUTES. WHEN YOUR DONE PRESS F6 AND YOUR CRUSHES NAME WILL APPEAR IN BIG LETTERS ON THE SCREEN. THIS IS SO FREAKY BASICALLY IT WORKS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    what is tadalafil tadalis sx [buy tadalafil tadalis sx]  2021-3-24 11:12
    [email protected]

    symptoms stomach issues allergy spray generic tadalafil tadalis sx tadalafil everyday use tadalis sx

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I have it on my phone & what I like about it is the extra security you can apply to it. But the one aggravating problem it has is having to update my password because it for whatever reason it doesn't recognize my present password []  2021-2-21 21:2
    [email protected]

    I appreciate the additional security that the application provides with the phone and so much more the application offers. The application needs some fixing & perhaps updating as well. From the thumbs down I've seen in the reviews This Summit Credit Union Customer knows that it's time for the amazing application to be greater. I wish to give much thanks to developers of the cardnav application for doing a amazing job &I know they can do a greater job of tuning it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how much is generic [generic best price]  2021-2-2 19:50
    [email protected]

    buy online total members danger long time generic safe - inurl:i - cost of at walmart buy online overnight delivery lee county tree

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Managerial Revolution: What is Happening in the World []  2020-5-26 18:0

    The year is 1940. The USSR is under Stalin and a Third Reich seems to be absorbing Europe. China, rocked by inner conflict, looks like it may become just another enslaved region of the Empire of Japan. The Fresh Deal in the USA is showing just how anti-business a government can be. Everywhere Burnham looks, even within the USA, Capitalism seems to be failing. But Som is NOT gaining any ground. It is not replacing Capitalism. Who is replacing the Capitalists? Bureaucrats and managers seem to be organizing, controlling, combining the factories, businesses, and nations into... what?And that is what the book is about. Burnham was sot who lost trust in his fellow Marxists but not in Marxism. He believed that Capitalism was on the method out but it seemed to him it was NOT going to be replaced by Som. As he watched and studied the very happenings event in Europe, Asia, and within the USA, he came to the answer. Managers would become the next class. Neither owners nor producers, they would nevertheless, take reins in hand to control the nations, forming super-states and gaining power over the other classes.He does a amazing job of tracing his logic, using history and current happenings (well, happenings that was current at the time), building up his predictions. In fact, some of the pages could be used, word for word, to describe happenings and movements event now. For example, when talking about the youth of England, who no longer believe in the system they are living in and are showing a lack of willingness to help it, I could not support but think about the Occupy movement! On the other hand, he seems to have totally dismissed banks and other factors that we know would shape our future, for better or for ch of the happenings he talked about did not happen and may never happen, but his book did influence such authors as Orwell, who used Burnham's idea of three super-states always in conflict for the setting of Nineteen Eighty-Four. I plan to get The Machiavellians: Defenders of Freedom and read it to support understand more of his thoughts of political theory.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Managerial Revolution: What is Happening in the World []  2020-5-26 18:0

    always looking for education, I would recommend reading to everyone wanting to prepare ourselves for thing coming to us. Read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Modern Detective: How Corporate Intelligence Is Reshaping the World []  2020-10-4 18:30

    The Modern Detective combines the best of a detective thriller with the specific info of how investigative work is actually done in true life. This fascinating and well-written book is a page turner (or page scroller, as per Kindle! ) Tyler Maroney manages to write at the thriller pace of the best detective novel with clarity and detail showcasing fascinating global cases with clarity; grit; and integrity. If you wish to 'uncover' true knowledge and insight about what undercover agents DO, at firms like NYC-based QWI, this book is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Managerial Revolution: What is Happening in the World []  2020-5-26 18:0

    I like that the author took a swing at trying to propose a third method between som and capitalism. I also liked his explanation of why som fails. As a former Trotskyite turned so-called conservative, he showed some keen insight. I also liked his ysis of why capitalism must fail even though history has proven him wrong. I also liked his point that Marx failed to predict the rise of the importance of the technocrats as a middle ground force between the proletariat and the bourgeoisie and that this ruined Marx’s position.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Managerial Revolution: What is Happening in the World []  2020-5-26 18:0

    Burnham begins seemingly in a rational, fair, and balanced way. He explores the rise of managers as a group of skilled individuals, meeting the growing need for organization in a complex society as well as in increasingly complex businesses. It seems perfectly appropriate that people specially trained to organize business and government, should have access to info that lets them do the job well, and also should be paid enough to attract extra people to that difficult set of tasks: the tasks of guiding, administering, managing, directing and organizing the processes of production or service on, however, Burnham's voice becomes more sincere: In the "drive for social dominance, for power and privilege, for the position of ruling class, by the social group or class of the managers.... This drive will be successful ... versus the masses, who, obscurely, are a social force tending versus oppression and class rule of any kind." [The mechanism is] "propaganda and ideologies, all under a bewildering dozens of slogans and ostensible motivations" (Burnham, p. 166, 1941):"The managers, the ruling class of the fresh society, will for their own purposes require at least a limited democracy. When the ruling group becomes more and more liable to miscalculate, a certain measure of democracy makes it easier for the ruling class to obtain more, and more accurate, information. Second, experience shows that a certain measure of democracy is an perfect method to enable enemies and the masses to allow off steam without endangering the foundations of the social fabric. Democracy, freedom for public minority political expression within a class society, must be so limited as not to interfere with the primary social relations whereby the ruling class maintains its position of power and privilege."When the vote has been extended to wide sections of the population, including a majority that is not members of the ruling class, that issue is more difficult. In spite of the wider democracy, however, control by the ruling class can be assured ... when major social institutions upholding the position of the ruling class are firmly consolidated, when ideologies contributing to the maintenance of these institutions are generally accepted, when the instruments of education and propaganda are primarily available to the ruling class...." (Burnham, p. 168, 1941).This is an necessary book to read and share because it reveals, plainly spoken, the contempt business managers have, and are taught to have, for the citizens of our nation and the world, as well as the tactics they use to control our actions and even our thoughts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Managerial Revolution: What is Happening in the World []  2020-5-26 18:0

    8/10Not entirely accurate in its prognostications, but not as wrong as it seems on the surface. Burnham had a issue with being too bound to the zeitgeist to understand historical developments in perspective - likewise in 'Suicide of the West' - but he presents here fragmented components of a framework helpful for understanding the globe as it developed (which in fact took on a lot of criteria of the managerial society, but with capitalism more tenacious than predicted) and for a historically-important and contemporary vision of when the rule of law gave method to administrative rulemaking (see Hamburger, 'Is Administrative Law Lawful?') and when the meanings of 'liberal' and 'progressive' began their continuing Marxist ink of how and why Burnham's predictions didn't come to pass - and think of how they may have come to pass in a mutated form - and this book will provide amazing (though not endless) meal for thought and insight in to the Gramscian long march through the institutions, and technocrats more er works build upon Burnham, such as Francis, 'Leviathan and its Enemies', which I look forward to reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Managerial Revolution: What is Happening in the World []  2020-5-26 18:0

    This book is an essential supplement to the theme in the street to serfdom. Extremely well written and insightful. I detected no weakness,. In fact , faced with the towering intellect exhibited in this book, I feel it would be a tad presumptuous to argue for one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Managerial Revolution: What is Happening in the World []  2020-5-26 18:0

    This is one of the single most necessary political texts of the 29th century. Do not neglect it! It's more necessary now than when it was written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Managerial Revolution: What is Happening in the World []  2020-5-26 18:0

    Excited to delve into this bit of history. Amazing condition! Awesome backstory on this book. Cannot wait to obtain started!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Managerial Revolution: What is Happening in the World []  2020-5-26 18:0

    If you don't know what the future looks like then read this book....History truly does repeat itself. A must read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Managerial Revolution: What is Happening in the World []  2020-5-26 18:0

    Burnham's Managerial Revolution was published in 1940, almost 20 years before J.K. Galbraith's more popular The Fresh Industrial State (1958), but includes most of the necessary ideas concerning the rise of a managerial class with loyalties more to its own class than to the owners of the enterprise (capital, shareholders), which later created Galbraith famous. Other than the fact that Burnham (once a leftist philosophy professor who broke with the left over Stalin's crimes) was a conservative, there is no rational explanation why this is not the popular book and Galbraith an epigonal footnote. Dated of course, but Burham was insightful and prescient. Especially in view of latest evidence of members of the fresh managerial class looting their companies despite attempts to align their interests more closely with the owners (stockholders) through stock incentive schemes. Read Burnham!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unstoppable.: The Mentally Tough Gymnast []  2020-6-6 18:29

    Amazing tactics that can be applied in a gymnastics setting or for work/life. I am a retired gymnast and found this book helpful to obtain through challenges that come up at work and life. Amazing tactics and interactive activities (private or group setting at the gym) to support you think your method through struggles and changes your mindset to obtain through whatever you are trying to achieve.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Breakthrough: How One Teen Innovator Is Changing the World []  2020-1-18 21:22

    Very interesting story about a remarkable young man. Was so awesome to read about all the things he made at such a young age. Method to go Jack. Amazing to read about such positive and inspiring young people. Would like to know more about what he does with his bonuses and talents as he gets older.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Breakthrough: How One Teen Innovator Is Changing the World []  2020-1-18 21:22

    Although I felt the autobiographical story was a small bit slow out of the gate, it quickly picked up speed. You cannot support but be inspired by this young man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Breakthrough: How One Teen Innovator Is Changing the World []  2020-1-18 21:22

    This was a bonus for my Grandson. It was needed reading during summer break for High School.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World Is Flat: Further Updated and Expanded []  2020-1-22 22:25

    I have read this book twice and each time , I go through it , I learn something new. I agree the Globe is getting flat and flatter. Because boundaries and distances among people are being eliminated every day by the advancement in technology as I write. Several years ago, communication was very expensive for people in the developing Globe with those in the developed world. But, with the invention of the app, WhatsApp;communication has become affordable in the developing countries as well and they can communicate with any part of the globe at affordable rates. This is a book that challenges one to think and take a critical look of the events in their surroundings how it influences the future. If you are interested in learning some fresh concepts, you will love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    State of the World 2013: Is Sustainability Still Possible? []  2020-1-24 19:11

    They have done a really nice job summarizing the a lot of aspects of what needs to be reversed, mitigated, avoided and/or increased to achieve sustainability. I learned quite a bit of how close we are to the point of no-return (if not already past such point). One fundamental question, however, remained unanswered: Why are we knowingly destroying our habitat, as if mankind had an option to live separated from this one ecosystem that supports all living things on earth? While the book hardly discusses what can be done to stop or reverse population growth, which is one obvious respond to lowering mankind's ecological foot print. It seems also to skirt the question what role beliefs and myths played to obtain us and hold us on our self-destructive path. It shouldn't be surprising to witness widespread exploitation of nature, when most (at least Western) kids have been taught that mankind has a mandate (from God) to dominate the globe and procreate. Even today a lot of kids are taught that they are not part of evolution, but members of an inherently various species, closer to God than beast. A lot of religions propagate behavior that encourages their members to multiply - apparently as a tactic to "outbreed" others. One can only speculate why this obvious connection between belief and human action wasn't given more attention, but it probably isn't because the authors have not thought about it ... and it is at the root of our collective d read and very informative as said above. Go buy it, read it and change your life!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386