Read the world of aromatherapy reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the world of aromatherapy reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy []  2020-2-1 17:32

    This is the book your doctor, dentist and the pharmacology CEO's do not wish you to read. Essential oils are not only for the human body but pets, gardens and the whole house. The author covers a lot of of these subjects as well. Also included are a lot of alternative oil solutions just in case one might have an allergic reaction or low tolerance for some oils. Really an perfect book and I would highly recommend it to anyone that is seeking to unblock nature's medicine cabinet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy []  2020-2-1 17:32

    This book has a nice initial overview of Essential Oils and a lot of recipes. I felt, however, like it was really scattered, and didn't give me the science or depth I was looking for. It is certainly nice to have on hand, and you gain a lot of insight if you are able to read each part through. If you are looking for recipes, this is a amazing book to use and you'll gain a small bit of knowledge as a result. Some neat stories, too. I think this is amazing for a beginner, but someone who has a science background and a small knowledge already might search this is not for you.I'll hold ping around for more comprehensive EO books and will likely sell this back or trade with a mate once I search what I am looking for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Aromatherapy: The Science of Essential Oil Therapy []  2020-7-2 19:43

    I am very grateful to Dr. Schnaubelt for his a lot of perfect is book is special in its approach to aromatherapy, and is definitely worth getting even if you own his other shows the properties of a lot of essential oils along the axes of yin and yang and polar and non-polar, which illuminates their qualities in awesome ways. The extra info about each oil is also very valuable.Highly recommended!p.s. Interesting story: I've just started studying aromatherapy (although I've been fascinated with scents since high school and have done graduate school work in chemistry). I asked a mate who has a very huge library of aromatherapy books to lend them to me to see if any met my needs. This book was the best in his entire pile, and the only one I decided to purchase.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the world of aromatherapy or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Aromatherapy: The Science of Essential Oil Therapy []  2020-7-2 19:43

    I hesitate to be honest because I fear sounding dumb, but this book was just too much like a chemistry textbook for me. As a total newcomer who has never yet even tried essential oils, I was looking for a easy user friendly book with photographs to obtain me started. This book is not it! I am going to hold it as a reference, but I am still looking for a source to tutorial me if and when I tiptoe into the globe of essential oils!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy []  2020-2-1 17:32

    Exactly what I was looking for! This book comes with dozens and dozens of recipes. I believe it has over 600! There is so much amazing information in this book that I couldn't possibly cover it all here. So you will just have to buy yourself a copy to search out! 😜 It does talk about various ailments and it will give you essential oil recipes. It teaches you a lot about essential oils so it is definitely amazing for a beginner. What I love most about this book is that I can look up an ailment in the back and it will send me right to the recipe I need to remedy it. I think this would be amazing for people who have a hard time sitting down and reading a book. It is also just a amazing reference to have if you are in a rush or just for daily life! I highly recommend this book and I'm so glad that I purchased it. The price was amazing as well. If you are not aware a lot of reference books for essential oils cost $40+ so this one won't break the bank! If you found my review helpful please allow me know by clicking below. Thank you! 😊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy []  2020-2-1 17:32

    I purchased this book because it is highly recommended. There is much to read here and I haven't read it in its entirety yet but what I have read has been very interesting and helpful. I have tried a couple of the recipes for hand cream and face cream. The primary hand cream called for bees wax, which I used but found this created the hand cream more solid than I liked so next time I will either use less than suggested or omit it. The face cream turned out fine and is working well for me. I think as I learn more I will tweak some of the recipes. I will use this book often for reference. I'm glad I bought it as I will have somewhere to check for questions about essential oils.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy []  2020-2-1 17:32

    I am fairly fresh to essential oils, so for me to search erroneous info means the author cannot be rst error I found: on one of the first pages she lists Essential Oils that should "never" be used. I do know that some EOs are toxic and should be handled with caution, etc and know that safety is VERY important. However, she listed "Wintergreen", which I know is contentious, but from my research with credible sources, this is an inaccruate blanket statement, and Wintergreen is an EO to be used with caution, but not to be completely cond (And huge error): In her table in the beginning, she says that EOs are inflammable... which is 100% false, as everywhere else you look says they all have varying flash points, but are flammable...Pregnancy section (I have a pregnant coworker I wanted to create some products for) included a very little list of safe EOs then her pregnancy recipes used EOs NOT in the list, and no mention of EOs to avoid during pregnancy (which I think is beautiful critical). Again with the lack of safety, recommends Clove oil as part of the "Basic Care Kit", but doesn't mention any of the safety concerns (and there are some)! Especially if you are recommending it as the primary (I read beginner) care kit, create sure you highlight any safety concerns... other than dilute for use on skin, which goes far basically all of them except a little handful. Then, I read the reviews about recommending EOs for cats that can cause death! Like I said, I am fairly fresh to EOs, but there seem to be too a lot of problems with the material provided that I just cannot trust anything in this e indexes in the back are not great... I would like to know how to use the EOs (safety concerns... some are toxic if ingested, can irritate nasal passages, etc). Why is Lavender indicated for body use everywhere but my neck? Just didn't provide enough safety information.I will be looking for another source to learn about EOs.I will be looking for another book to learn about EOs

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Aromatherapy: The Science of Essential Oil Therapy []  2020-7-2 19:43

    This is one of my favorite Aromatherapy books! I use it often because it includes so much valuable information. It is an Advanced book but I do believe that beginners could obtain valuable info from it. I do have to note that this book is very inexpensive, I appreciate that Dr. Schnaubelt has kept his book reasonably priced so that a lot of can have fun it without being burdened with the cost. As quoted by Dr. Papas, you can not not afford to be educated. The book goes over some primary chemistry of oils and you can learn the chemotypes and sub groups. The author does speak to the true and potential dangers of using essential oils, there is safety information included. Info is given on adulteration of essential oils and how to choose what oils to use. The book includes information on a lot of essential oils and their uses as well as what blends make a synergy when mixing. There are guidelines on how to use the oils and protocols to follow for specific uses such as for fevers, flu, ter purchasing this book I did go on to purchase all of Dr. Schnaubelt's books and I am impressed with all of them. They are very useful to me, and if you are considering becoming certified in Aromatherapy his books are a must!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Aromatherapy: The Science of Essential Oil Therapy []  2020-7-2 19:43

    Advanced Aromatherapy, published in 1995, is more technical than Kurt Schnaubelt's 2011 follow-up, The Healing Intelligence of Essential Oils. Advanced Aromatherapy discusses the terpenes hydrocarbons, esters, alcohols, acetates, etc. that compose a lot of of the most common essential oils. Why does anyone really need to know this information? Essential oils works because of how the molecules bond to lipids in our bodies, and that's beautiful much the gist of the whole thing. I would have preferred to learn about the energetic frequencies of these essential oils, but that's just where my own interest lies. The largest take-away I got from Advanced Aromatherapy is that rubbing the oils on one's feet is probably the best put for topical application, due to the workings of the circulatory system. I much preferred Schnaubelt's second book, The Healing Intelligence of Essential Oils, which is, firstly, much more visually beautiful. Second, it gives more practical information, such as how to take essential oils internally for medicinal purposes. Third, it has a greater depth of recipes for topical usage. I think most of the pertinent info from the first book can also be found in the 2nd. Another really amazing book on aromatherapy is Aromatherapy for Healing the Spirit: Restoring Emotional and Mental Balance with Essential Oils, by Gabriel Mojay.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy []  2020-2-1 17:32

    I first had this book in the early 90s and loved it. At the time I had 100 or so various essential oils, a lot of carrier oils & butters, and different natural ingredients listed for making a lot of of the recipes contained in the book, and could easily buy anything the recipes called ever, having bought this book again recently after a lot of years without it, I remember now that most of the ingredients for these recipes are not readily available in most people's homes, so if they aren't very committed to aromatherapy, and/or cannot afford to hold buying more and more various essential oils and ingredients, this book is not very useful to the average person. It's nice for those who can afford to experiment with and use a lot of of the recipes. I had other aromatherapy books which were much more helpful for the beginner and the average person, with fewer recipes but ones that were affordable for most people to make, and which allowed a choice of essential oils; e.g. a shoe deodorizer requires only cornstarch or baking soda and almost any 1 essential oil or combination; air freshener and linen sprays only require distilled water, vodka, and 1 or more essential oils.... and so on. So for people fresh to essential oils and on a budget I would not recommend this book as their rrently I only have 26 essential oils, so for every recipe I've read recently, after having been without this book for a lot of years, I search that in order to create the recipes I wish I'll have to buy more and more and more so essential oils can be risky if used improperly. These are highly concentrated and strong extracts which should not be ingested in most cases, and done so with thorough knowledge and guidance from ing essential oils on animals can be risky because they not only absorb it from their skin - and do not process it as humans do, plus they also lick their skin and fur, and groom each other so even if they can't reach the oils on themselves (e.g. behind their heads), other pets can.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy []  2020-2-1 17:32

    I think this is a really amazing book on essential oils and aromatherapy. I like the various ways it is indexed for looking up certain oils and/or how they are used. It was definitely helpful to me in deciding which oils to purchase for my beginner's set, and then which others I wanted to slowly obtain. The one thing I do remember about this, and I apologize if I am wrong as I don't have the book near me for reference, but I remember thinking that it seemed a small outdated. I don't know when it was written/published and I apologize if that is not the case. It's just that there is so much information out there on oils that is really up to date and I'm always trying to hold up with it and hold track of the content, It would be really nice to have a bound copy like this book with completely updated information!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Aromatherapy: The Science of Essential Oil Therapy []  2020-7-2 19:43

    A amazing resource. More in depth with scientific backup. If you wish to know how the essential oils work, interactions or contraindications this is the book for you. It is not a recipe book but a book to support you understand the why's and how's of the oils, their chemical make-up and their uses. It does tell you the best oils to use for specific conditions. A truly amazing addition to your essential oil resource library collection. I think it would be helpful if you have some chemistry or science background otherwise you may search it a bit dry and heady to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Aromatherapy: The Science of Essential Oil Therapy []  2020-7-2 19:43

    I love Kurt S.'s books. I love his attitude and the info he shares without indulging in self-sensorship. He is a amazing teacher, and his books are full of awesome gems that you won't search anywhere else. If you'd like to learn from an expert, he's the one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy []  2020-2-1 17:32

    Being fresh to EOs, I was looking for a amazing starter book to learn about them and how to use them, including how to create my own blends so I wouldn't have to rely on brand name blends for everything. This book got amazing reviews everywhere I looked, so I ordered it...and I am so glad I did. She begins with the science behind oils and the different methods for applying/using them. LOTS of GREAT information. One of the BEST things about this book is that the author keeps it SIMPLE when it comes to which oils to use. She lists her top ten oils to have on hand and her top ten oils to travel with (most overlap). With just those oils, you can treat just about EVERY ailment listed in her (incredibly comprehensive) book. On each page, she lists how to mix them and then has a column listing alternate oils you can use if you are missing one of the ten originally listed or if you just have a various preference. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that I didn't have to order 137 oils that I won't ever obtain around to using, because most of the treatments involve oils from her 2 lists. It has been so much less overwhelming than another book I bought later for comparison purposes. The second book will list completely various oils for every treatment, there is very small repetition/consistency of oil usage. I would have to buy hundreds of oils to use the treatments listed in the second book, whereas Valerie's book allowed me to obtain by with about a dozen or so as I obtain e also has chapter after chapter listing categories of ailments that can be treated with EOs as well as explanations for how to adjust dosages for several age ranges with infants and children. Having 5 kids spanning 2 - 16 years, this is a large plus for ain LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this book and I highly recommend it for anyone just getting into EOs. It keeps things easy and does not overwhelm you with hundreds of complicated oil combinations. Neither does it require you to purchase brand name blends to obtain the job done. Rather, it teaches you how to formulate your own blends from a handful of single oils you can have on hand at any moment. While, I do occasionally cross reference the suggestions in this book with my other, this one has quickly become my favorite. I guess you could say it is like my EO bible. haha!Fantastic! I love it! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy []  2020-2-1 17:32

    I selected this book largely because of the amazing reviews, and I was not disappointed. "The Complete Book of Essential Oils & Aromatherapy" is very informative and interesting. The author begins with a history of essential oils and their uses. She explains why some oils are more expensive than others, how the oils are extracted from the plants, and how the body gets rid of e chapters in this book are larger categories that contain smaller subsections of ailments, which contain everything from congestion to bug bites to beauty. This organization is amazing for reading on my Kindle because I can easily find for a term if I am looking for something specific. I also really have fun that the author lists her recommended oil blends to use, but also has a list of all oils that are amazing for whatever she is talking about so that you can choose your own. This is helpful because most people don't have every single oil she mentions in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Aromatherapy: The Science of Essential Oil Therapy []  2020-7-2 19:43

    I am a certified aromatherapist and this book changed the method I blended EOs! The author shares with us a chart that shows the relationship between chemical structure and effects. The chart divides chemical components into nucleophilic/electrophilic, hydrophilic/lipophilic and yin/yang. Utilizing this tool, I was able to incorporate a structural component that was missing from my blends. I highly recommend this book to my fellow professionals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Aromatherapy: The Science of Essential Oil Therapy []  2020-7-2 19:43

    GREAT science info ... I am a newbie to aromatherapy and with past hobbies, SO a lot of of the "popular" books are kind of worthless ... so I decided to plunge into something substantial right off the other reviewers have noted, a lot of it is "over my head." LOTS of chemistry info ... which I believe I will refer back to OFTEN in the future. The non-technical info is a amazing primer on how to use the oils and why they work for specific conditions. However, this book was written 20 years ago, based primarily on VERY interesting scientific research done in Europe (mostly France). It discusses a limited number of specific oils, but you can pick up lots of info on how to use those on the internet ~ which, of course, you must always take with a grain of salt. This book, in contrast, provides solid science info with minimal "fluff."This COULD be a five-star book. I want the author (or someone) would modernize this book to contain more latest science, coverage of more commonly-used oils, and how people are using and having success with essential oil treatments. AND the index is poor ... it's hard to refer back to specific topics. It seems like a book written originally as a thesis or other academic exercise.I highly recommend this book if you have a scientific curiosity about aromatherapy. I always like to know "how things work" and I believe this is a book I will refer to OFTEN in the future. It is a very amazing value for the price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Aromatherapy: The Science of Essential Oil Therapy []  2020-7-2 19:43

    I spent a long time choosing which book to buy and am glad I chose this one. He carefully explained what I required to know in order to combine oils for synergistic result to address specific symptoms. It was a lot to remember, so marking main topic matter with a highlighter really helped for me to check back to remember what he was referring to later. It has a lot of information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy []  2020-2-1 17:32

    For starters it has a decent amount of "animal" aromatherapy and it is not scientifically based. Most animals cannot process or metabolize essential oils. This part of the book is quite risky actually and might cause serious hurt if used. Another section that alarms me is the part if cooking with essential oils. There are a lot of various Multi Level Marketing (MLM) companies that promote using essential oils in food. However, this is not a safe practice without truly understanding the scientific compounds and how they will react with different medications, age ranges, etc. Before introducing essential oils into your meal create sure to coordinate with a certified is book has been quite helpful in navigating essential oils on a primary level and I have enjoyed reading through it and actually trying some of the recipes. It was merely the things listed above that alarmed me a bit and makes me worried that it is promoting unsafe use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Aromatherapy: The Science of Essential Oil Therapy []  2020-7-2 19:43

    There are 2 books i would recommend ... for people looking to understand the science of essential oils. This is one, the other is "The Chrmistry Of Aromatherapeutic Oils" by E. Joy Bowles. The two books are mutually compatible. Two remarks from this book summarize the situation ... A lot of people who explore aromatherapy enter a fresh kind of aroma-euphoria .. and ... A dozens of ketones (in some oils) atrack parts of the nervous system. For this reason, it is absolutely essential to use oils ... with correct doses. These statements present why the science is essential. This book can support move you in the right direction!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aromatherapy: 365 Days of Aromatherapy Recipes Book []  2020-2-1 23:39

    amazing and fun. Simple to read and follow. Love the accessibility on my phone

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aromatherapy: 365 Days of Aromatherapy Recipes Book []  2020-2-1 23:39

    My daughter enjoys doing everything naturally, this book looks like it has amazing ideas and suggestions. Very happy with giving her this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aromatherapy: 365 Days of Aromatherapy Recipes Book []  2020-2-1 23:39

    Very nice for what it is. Only recipes. I wish to search one that will explain the oils themselves

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aromatherapy: 365 Days of Aromatherapy Recipes Book []  2020-2-1 23:39

    Amazing ways to utilized essential oils in your life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aromatherapy: 365 Days of Aromatherapy Recipes Book []  2020-2-1 23:39

    amazing product

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aromatherapy: 365 Days of Aromatherapy Recipes Book []  2020-2-1 23:39

    Very easy book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aromatherapy: 365 Days of Aromatherapy Recipes Book []  2020-2-1 23:39

    It has some amazing information but difficult to find, not able to just look up a date and tada there's the days info.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aromatherapy: 365 Days of Aromatherapy Recipes Book []  2020-2-1 23:39

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aromatherapy: 365 Days of Aromatherapy Recipes Book []  2020-2-1 23:39

    I like the book and the ideas it has to make beauty items.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Aromatherapy: 365 Days of Aromatherapy Recipes Book []  2020-2-1 23:39

    Interesting recipes, projects etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hydrosols: The Next Aromatherapy []  2020-7-2 19:42

    Amazing book on hydrosols. She gives information on uses, safety and shelf life for common hydrosols, which is super helpful. Sometimes the benefits of an essential oil aren't exactly the same as the hydrosols, so this is a must have for anyone looking to formulate with them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hydrosols: The Next Aromatherapy []  2020-7-2 19:42

    Perfect book for anyone that wants to learn more about Hydrosols and their a lot of uses. Especially if you work with cats since you cannot use essential oils with cats, hydrosols are a amazing alternative. A must have for any library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hydrosols: The Next Aromatherapy []  2020-7-2 19:42

    Enjoyable book. I read it in one night being an aromatherapist this was exactly what I was taught and was very scientific but in simple to understand form. This book will be a amazing library addition for my research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hydrosols: The Next Aromatherapy []  2020-7-2 19:42

    I purchased this book when it first came out. I thoroughly enjoyed it at that time, and have used it as a reference ever since. What so a lot of do not realize is that various treatments (distillation vs. tincture vs. absolute vs. hydrosol, etc.) of a plant effect in often VERY various properties comprising that substance. So finally having some insights into the properties of hydrosols, the water remaining from the distillation of a plant, is/was much needed. No other work like it had been available.And what a revelation about a lot of of them. Most people, even those working with essential oils and their cousins were not aware of what this or that hydrosol might do, allow alone how to obtain their hands on ally required and really unbelievable work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hydrosols: The Next Aromatherapy []  2020-7-2 19:42

    This book is a extremely thorough, informative, and interesting. It is not a superficial revue of Hydrosols, rather, it is both penetrating and thought provoking. I plan to give it to a mate who owns an international Essential Oil company (dealing largely in fine, organic oils). My mate is a consummate professional who already sells Hydrosols, yet I believe that even he will appreciate and gain from the knowledge in this book.I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hydrosols: The Next Aromatherapy []  2020-7-2 19:42

    Such an informative book. As an aromatherapist I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hydrosols: The Next Aromatherapy []  2020-7-2 19:42

    Fabulous book, full of information. It does expect you to create some connections and draw some conclusions yourself, which I like. Suzanne Catty is the go-to reference for hydrosols, as I have found out while reading other books written since this one. You can save yourself from having to search a lot of storage for the other authors' books by buying this one first!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hydrosols: The Next Aromatherapy []  2020-7-2 19:42

    This is an perfect book! The author provides so much helpful info about hydrosols and how to use them. It should be a staple in any aromatherapist's collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hydrosols: The Next Aromatherapy []  2020-7-2 19:42

    This is one of the best books on hydrosols. I really enjoyed reading and learning. The author sounds like she has a lot of experience. I absolutely loved her recipes and suggestions. Awesome, amazing book!!! Highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hydrosols: The Next Aromatherapy []  2020-7-2 19:42

    This book is highly recommended when you study aromatherapy for your certification or clinical. I am slowly devouring this book and wanting to make hydrosols. Not because they're better but because they're a unbelievable complement to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Healing Intelligence of Essential Oils: The Science of Advanced Aromatherapy []  2020-9-8 19:16

    This book is the excellent introduction to essential oils for someone who is serious about using essential oils for medicinal purposes, and especially for those with a primary background in chemistry and biology. Dr. Schnaubelt does a unbelievable job of explaining the nuances of using essential oils vs. prescribed phamaceutical preparaptions to treat a dozens of conditions. He makes it very clear that essential oil is not a cure-all for all ailments, and presents a very realistic view of what the benefits can be to using different oils.I am a Registered Nurse, and am most interested in the whys of how various treatment modalities work, just as much as I am with the results (provides a solid basis for deciding to initiate, continue, or terminate any given treatment modality, be it aspirin or an essential oil). This book does a very amazing job of giving me a starting point of where I can begin really learning about the phisiological interactions our bodies, down to the cellular level, have with the various compounds found within essential oils. For those who aren't familiar (or just need a refresher from your A&P or BioChem classes), Dr. Schnaubelt provides a brief overview of cellular structure, chemical bonds, molecular polarity, etc. in his writing and diagrams, and explains why these structures and their properties are necessary in the app of essential oils as a therapeutic modality.If you feel a bit rusty in your biology and chemistry studies, a fast review of primary human biology (cellular structure, protein structure & synthesis, enzyme structure, synthesis, and actions, DNA & RNA synthesis & replication, etc.) and chemistry (remember all of those fun diagrams we had to draw to visualize the component molecules & the associated bonds that create up different compounds? Theeeeyyyyyrrrreeee baaaaaaaack! At least Dr. Schnaubelt makes it more interesting, and there won't be a pop-quiz tomorrow... but don't forget to also read up some of the common molecules and groups found in biological organisms) will greatly enhance your experience with this book. If you don't wish to go that route, then simply just look up unfamiliar things when you come across them. Understanding these basics of biology and chemistry will prove to be the foundation from which your knowledge and applied aromatherapy practice will be based on. Think of it as something like knowing the roles for individual positions on a football squad before you can become a coach, and begin making up play-books of your own.I also search it very refreshing that Dr. Schnaubelt does not completely dismiss Western medicine, as a lot of other "alternative" or "holistic" practitioners seem to do. While he does have an obvious, and understandable, problem with the phamaceutical industry and its' implications for actual human health, he without a doubt recognizes and encourages people to consult with and seek treatment from a professional doctor/NP/PA when it is prudent.Even as my knowledge of this field is expanding, I still search myself referring to this book in my studies. For people that are interested in, or have already created essential oil treatment part of their lives, this book will not likely collect dust on the bookshelf after reading it. Just understand that there IS a powerful scientific/technical element to the book, so you may need to reference other sources (like old college science textbooks) to extract the maximum amount of knowledge that Dr. Schnaubelt is sharing in his writings. The additional effort is well worth the payoff: an ability to truly understand the connections and interactions between our bodies and essential oils, which leads to greater competence and confidence in the field of applied r those that have fun this book, I highly recommend his other books on essential oils for continuing education on the subject. If I were to classify each book as in an academic progression, I would say that his book "Advanced Aromatherapy" is the intro level book, this book is the intermediate book, and "Medical Aromatherapy" is the intermediate-advanced level book.Special note: While the author has business connections with the Pacific Institute of Aromatherapy, as well as the associated product line of Original Swiss Aromatics, he does NOT create either the focus of any of his books. They may be mentioned in passing a few times in the text of each book, but these books are definitely NOT huge advertisements for a particular brand of oil or a paticular school. I encountered this in a few other aromatherapy books, which was a HUGE turn-off for me; I'm not one to pay my own cash for advertisements disguised as instructional texts. Dr. Schnaubelt simply stresses the quality and sourcing of oils in the writing, and only mentions specific products sporadically. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Healing Intelligence of Essential Oils: The Science of Advanced Aromatherapy []  2020-9-8 19:16

    Reading this book is like going to class with a really cool teacher , one that knows their topic very well and can impart that complex knowledge to you in a method you can understand and makes it interesting for you to learn about. The Science behind aromatherapy is really interesting and this book is not a boring read . Not only do you learn the science behind why and how the essential oils work to heal , you learn about the differences in the quality of essential oils and are even given an exercise to learn how to be able to tell if an essential oil is a clonal ver or a hybrid version. There are guidelines and precautions included and a lot of various recipe's for specific ailments . The footnotes are unbelievable and have a lot of leads and references to other authors and spet on the topic matter for those who wish to go further into their research on this topic . The images throughout are also a colourful and lovely addition, from vast fields of Lavender to the amazing Shwedogon Paya , a Sunset in Sabah and so a lot of more attractive images that grace throughout the pages of this unbelievable and informative book. For anyone who is serious and or just curious about Aromatherapy and the use of essential oils for healing and wish to know the science behind how they work or learn recipe's for specific ailments buy this book . It is a amazing investment well worth the time and money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Healing Intelligence of Essential Oils: The Science of Advanced Aromatherapy []  2020-9-8 19:16

    This book has TONS of info in it..but for me it's just to scientific,I tried to obtain into it because of my interest in essentials oils and aromatherapy but the beginning of the book is PURE scientific language...WARNING TO YOU....if you are not interested in the bio activity and molecules and such skip AHEAD to part 2 or even Part 3...those parts are definitely most interesting...Kudos to the author though he really went all out to explain the intelligence of essential oils...he meant it literal...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Healing Intelligence of Essential Oils: The Science of Advanced Aromatherapy []  2020-9-8 19:16

    I always read reviews of the books before buying some. And I appreciate when people write an in depth review that helps me to decide whether I buy a book or not. However, I won’t be writing this kind of a review. I just say that this book is a must! It might be too difficult for beginners, but t should be in a library of every person who uses and loves essential oils. I wanted to highlight every paragraph of every page! So much required and hard to search scientifically proven info about essential oils, how and why they work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Healing Intelligence of Essential Oils: The Science of Advanced Aromatherapy []  2020-9-8 19:16

    One star only because I received a misprint copy TWICE. I know this author is highly trusted, and I was looking forward to adding this book to my library, but a lot of pages were printed twice and a lot of pages were missing from the book, so it was not a amazing purchase in my mind. I will continue to look for a full copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Healing Intelligence of Essential Oils: The Science of Advanced Aromatherapy []  2020-9-8 19:16

    Very in-depth, maybe too much so for some. Nice photos. Not for someone looking for simplicity and simple to search info. That would be why it says "The Science of Advanced Aromatherapy." If advanced means the use of some obscure oils then this is for you. For example the two oils mentioned for shingles--I ould use any oif the more common antiviral oils andnotas as stand-alone vertheless, there is loads of useful info , if you don't obtain bogged down.If you are looking for a pharmacopeia and uses of common but effective oils, this us not for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Healing Intelligence of Essential Oils: The Science of Advanced Aromatherapy []  2020-9-8 19:16

    I found the book has lots of amazing info but it is not organized well and all are over the put and not too sure what is the essence of this book. it is like compiling a lot of other books into one book and not organized well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Healing Intelligence of Essential Oils: The Science of Advanced Aromatherapy []  2020-9-8 19:16

    I am a medical reference librarian, and I have searched and searched for reliable info about essential rt of the issue is there's no funding for study of essential oils, or the studies being done are in vitro, not in vivo, (although every other part of the globe is doing research except the US).Part of the issue is that there's a lot of folk lore around essential oils since they have been used for the latest 500 years or so. And then the waters are REALLY muddied by different well meaning folks who are part of reputable direct sales marketing companies. These people think they know what they are talking about as they disseminate misinformation ad nauseum.Dr. Schnaubelt is recognized as the most reliable provider of info about the use and effects of EOs. Although the research just isn't available some times, there's enough anecdotal or private experience with the oils through Dr. Schnaubelt's work to help his recommendations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Healing Intelligence of Essential Oils: The Science of Advanced Aromatherapy []  2020-9-8 19:16

    This book is a trailblazing examination of essential oil blends for acute medical conditions, used both topically and internally. There are a lot of remedies listed for insomnia, prevention of viral and bacterial infections (including MRSA and hepatitis B & C), cancer treatment, and yeast. There is also substantial evidence and scientific research on how essential oils work medicinally in the body. I have tried the prescribed recipes for pain relieving rub, virus prevention and bedtime soporifics, and found them all to be effective and surprisingly sweet-smelling. I've been able to come off some of my prescription meds because of this book! It is an perfect resource that I will refer to again and again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Healing Intelligence of Essential Oils: The Science of Advanced Aromatherapy []  2020-9-8 19:16

    I've had this book for a bit and I realized that quite a few pages are missing, the ones I need and others are reprinted so the book is useless to me. I kept trying to read it then, just the other day I decided to look thru it page by page and was embarrassed to explore this. I am sadden that I did't explore it till now as I really wish to read the parts missing. Just my luck. Murphys law [email protected]#$%!&ing me hard lately. What have I done to deserve this???? LOLIf I had a complete book I'm sure my review would be various but it is what it is. How is the book by the way? What is on pages 97 onward????? I don't rry for review. Out of my control.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Magic [App]  2019-7-7 13:38

    Following the most latest update, I have been unable to play the game. When trying to download the extra data, a notice pops up saying there was an error, so I can't play. I've redownloaded the android game and switched my connection, but nothing seems to work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Magic [App]  2019-7-7 13:38

    The android game is amazing and all but it's lacking too a lot of stuffs. The pet modernize is basically an ongoing cancer not just because its ruining the class balance and stuffs. The mage nerf modernize is one of the dumbest thing on TWOM probably the third one. The most frustrating thing about TWOM is the fact that the android game server is basically garbage, I frequently dc even with a stable internet connection and the worst part is the login, It keeps on saying Test again the Login textbox wont even present up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Magic [App]  2019-7-7 13:38

    Been playing for almost a decade now. Android game still is beautiful neat. I would like for there to be fresh classes though, and i know that would take time to create with all the equipment and balancing that would go with it, but it feels kinda boring seeing the same three class types running around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Magic [App]  2019-7-7 13:38

    Security in this android game is insanely stupid of whoever thought of it. Cant even access/play old accounts. Hero Name? who the heck will remember that? not just that but, even if you login into your old account, you can do anything/play. this is straight up dumb of the developer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Magic [App]  2019-7-7 13:38

    why i cant connect to the server "you disconnect from server, please log in again" i test a lot of times but it dont work, please fix this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Magic [App]  2019-7-7 13:38

    Android game keeps crashing especially in the Battlefield. Could test changing android game engine maybe?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GO of the world [App]  2019-10-8 13:42

    I just started learning on here how to play this game. I saw this android game on a few television shows and a film called After Sunset. Word to the wise though if you happen to Google this and see this installed from that internet page, don't click on it... Why, well I did and it created my application all in Japanese or Chinese and I couldn't change it through the application from my LG pad so I had to remove the application then reinstall it back again... I was really worried I screwed it up to where I couldn't use it again. You wish a really challenging android game this is it, this is so hard it will literally @#$% you off that so a lot of people are better than you...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GO of the world [App]  2019-10-8 13:42

    Didnt work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GO of the world [App]  2019-10-8 13:42

    Funny

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GO of the world [App]  2019-10-8 13:42

    It is I liking the chinglish velly much too ;-) :-D ! Amazing items all round. Few issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GO of the world [App]  2019-10-8 13:42

    Doesn't use the actual kyu-dan ranking system that u would normally find. Instead it has its own ranking spin off. I like the ability click a submit button to put your stone especially on mobile devices. I played a few android games the closed the app. I opened it up later and it was no longer in English. To much work to uninstall and reinstall. I wasnt incredibly impressed with the android game to start with. However I will hold it uninstalled. I have IGS client that is my basic App.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    GO of the world [App]  2019-10-8 13:42

    Couldn't begin the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Child of the World []  2020-1-18 18:31

    Visionary material, thank you for the perfect service.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of IT []  2020-1-16 5:29

    Awesome companion to the films! I love the sketches and behind the scenes photos. Attractive book and even has information you may not have known before! It is a must-have for any IT fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kindness of the World []  2020-1-17 0:10

    A real diamond in the rough created during a time when indy labels were on the ascent. Every song is produced with a deft touch. The musicianship is superb. This album is one of the best, if not the best, alternative country albums ever e Henry has moved on to more adventurous terrane since this album, but this one might have been able to garner a mainstream audience had it been on a major label and promoted properly. The eerie back up vocals of Victoria Williams fit Joe like a glove. The lyrics are intelligent and enigmatic. The hooks linger in your head for a long, long time. Place this one on your shelf under the label, "Obscure classics."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of the World []  2020-1-17 0:22

    I love her music. As a beginning native american flute player it is inspiring to hear a professional. Though not sold on Amazon, there are coordinating songbooks for some of her CD's so you can play along. As always, the prices of her CD's are best on Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heart of the World []  2020-1-17 0:22

    Awesome CD and awesome artist. Very nice music. Relaxing. Highly recommend to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Banknotes of the world [App]  2019-12-16 13:32

    Amazing idea for an application but not exactly what I was looking for and not layed out very well. Each series for a bill has it's own entry so for instance the US $5 bill has a dozen or so separate entries. It would be ideal to select $5 Bills and see a list of various series available. Currently when you browse by country you see every separate series listed, so a country like the US with 7 various denominations and tons of series for each has method too a lot of options present up in the list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Imaginary World Of... []  2020-1-4 21:14

    I bought this for daughter (11) for Christmas but wanted it for myself. I flipped through it and as a writer this would excellent for globe building. Instead of keeping it I have decided to buy myself a couple and am giving this one to her. She likes role playing and drawing characters and giving them bios, so I think this is excellent to make her own globe for her characters. i will be using mine for my novel characters globe and another for my fantasy world. So fun, and gives me is would also be amazing for anyone with depression or anxiety and need to escape reality and make their own.I will modernize review on binding quality and whether she likes it after we have had it for a bit. But so far I am super and excited and satisfied about this purchase, ready to purchase another.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Imaginary World Of... []  2020-1-4 21:14

    I am officially obsessed with all Keri Smith books!! Whenever I have moments of mind numbing boredom I just pull one out and focus on it. The book also helps a lot with anxiety.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Darkness []  2020-1-22 23:56

    This rulebook not only explains how to roleplay this tricky scenario, but it also inspires the player in a positive way. I had purchased another book in this genre before, but it was rather depressing. The WOD book, by contrast, makes the reader wish to make his hero and begin roleplaying as soon as is book includes rules and helpful info and hints for hero creation, different potential scenarios, weapons, tools, movement, combat and other useful information. It also furnishes some examples of types of characters, although I obtain a bit confused on the number of dots beginning players are allowed, for hero development.WOD is a amazing book to begin your monster-hunting adventures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Darkness []  2020-1-22 23:56

    I never played the original WoD, so I'm not going to test to compare it to the older line. Having read this, I can safely say that this is a phenomenal product. The book is attractive, with amazing art, fonts, and awesome use of space. The running themes of horror, mystery and the unknown are prevalent throughout. The "fluff" content (background information, storylines, how-to's, etc.) is amazing, and the "crunch" aspect (rules, numbers, hard data, etc.) is amazing as well. Some books like this leave you in the dark about how the rules work, or how you can implement and integrate everything in the book. The Globe of Darkness book is nothing like that, and there are examples of everything inside. It's very beginner friendly but urges use of your imagination, to come up with story lines and themes that you and your mates will like, rather than using what is considered "stock." Overall I was very impressed.I highly recommend this to anyone who is sick and tired of "roll" playing and would rather do some "role" playing. Allow the children have their umpteenth edition of D&D. This is so far ahead of any of that, it's ridiculous.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Byzantium []  2020-1-20 22:45

    As amazing as I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Children []  2020-1-21 20:57

    This book was needed for a class, and we were allowed to use older editions of the book. I really did wish to like it and I should say that some of the writing is fine. But overall, I felt that it relied heavily on weasel words and ambiguity to skim over concepts that the book didn't focus on but required to reference. It also felt like it relied on outdated research, two examples I can think of are the pages talking about an implied causation between video android game violence and aggression in children, and the pages relating to nutrition. It does have a helpful format with bolded vocabulary terms and little summaries for these terms in the margins. It also has a rather robust glossary in the back, as well as an appendix that helps locate specific authors/psychologists mentioned. This book was for an introductory college Psychology course, but it felt more like it was written for high school. I did have fun reading some parts of it, but overall, it felt too biased and outdated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Children []  2020-1-21 20:57

    Amazing product!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lord of the World []  2020-1-19 22:2

    This review is for: Lord of the WorldThis is a attractive story, written with subtlety that preserves dramatic tension with spiritual insight. I will leave it to others to sing its praises. I wish, rather, to praise the *presentation* of this particular copy (ISBN 1507790503). I have purchased three various copies of "Lord of the World." The first two looked like computer printouts with a little font and strange margins. *This* copy, however, is quite different. It looks, well, like a book. The typographical design makes the reading experience pleasurable; the cover is dramatic; and the binding quality is fine. Most helpful of all, the Latin phrases that so bedevil the non-Latin-reader are now accompanied by translations (in footnotes) so that -- especially in a stage wherein a Latin hymn plays a rather necessary part -- the reader loses nothing of the story, the drama, or the meaning. Highly recommended. (I should add that the same company also prints Benson's sequel, or alternative to Lord of the Globe -- The Dawn of All. See 1515075176 ISBN 1515075176).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lord of the World []  2020-1-19 22:2

    Benson's end times novel eerily and presciently captures the spirit of the early 21st century even though it was written over a century prior. To quote a Tragically Hip song title, it is "ahead by a century". From pantheism rearing its head at the Amazon Synod to Humanism at Pope Francis' latest speech to the UN to globalism trying to form globe alliances, Benson's globe is coming alive now with a rapidly modernizing and apostasizing Church a willing accomplice. However, in the same way, there is a remnant holding real to the perennial teachings and truths of the Church in a heroic manner, not always to the point of shedding blood but certainly to the point of a soft persecution of ridicule, ostracism, and misunderstanding. Read this book to gain hope if you are part of the remnant and be warned if you are not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    News Of The World []  2020-1-28 1:18

    My love for queen has rekindled since seeing the movie Bohemian Rhapsody. With that, I wanted to add them to my vinyl us, I discovered this small gem via features a lot of amazing 70s Queen Songs. These tracks are said to have been taken from a live FM und is crisp, clear but lacking much bass in the mix. It's 13 tracks and pressed on green vinyl.I have had the live albums Live Assassins & Live in Montreal for years on mp3. Plus Queen Greatest hits compilations. My favorite studio album is the Game. I've also ordered the live albums Live at the Rainbow, Queen on Fire & Live at Wembley. Will write reviews for them at later dates.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    News Of The World []  2020-1-28 1:18

    This is the 2009 vinyl re-re-release by Disney's Hollywood Record label. It's OK and on heavyweight black vinyl, but other than for a collector's item, I'd take the original Elektra release pressed by Columbia Records, Santa Maria(CSM) or the U.K. EMI original release, anyday over these re-issues. Now, if og Productions came out with 45rpm LP version, pressed by Quality, that would instantly surpass any previous release, like they did with the original Doors albums. Probably will never happen. It's hard to obtain anything away from the talons of Disney.Well, Amazon's got a few left, so buy a copy now before they jack up the price, currently it's still at the price I bought my 2 copies for at $7.99 each(CA residents will be ripped-off by sales tax at $8.65). It's a bargain here, priced like LP's 20 years ago. Obtain 'em before they're gone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Yesterday []  2020-2-6 19:26

    Zweig was one of the most famous writers in the globe in the 20’s and 30’s (in multiple languages). After reading this work, I can understand why. I just want I had found him in my youth!“Before the battle I knew the highest degree and form of individual freedom, and later its lowest level in hundreds of years; I have been celebrated and despised, free and unfree, rich and poor. All the livid steeds of the Apocalypse have stormed through my life –revolution and famine, inflation and terror, epidemics and emigration.’’What does Zweig see as the worst poison?“I have seen the amazing mass ideologies grow and spread before my eyes –Fascism in Italy, National Som in Germany, Bolshevism in Russia, and above all else that arch-plague nationalism which has poisoned the flower of our European culture.’’This polemic versus ‘that arch-plague nationalism’ runs throughout. He spends time and effort presenting the overwhelming impact of this fresh ‘arch-plague’.“To give witness of this tense, dramatic life of ours, filled with the unexpected, seems to me a duty; for, I repeat, everyone was a witness of this large transformation, everyone was forced to be a witness.’’Zweig pleads with the reader to accept his ‘witness’ of the ‘gigantic transformation’. What was the change?“In its liberal idealism, the nineteenth century was honestly convinced that it was on the straight and unfailing path toward being the best of all worlds. Earlier eras, with their wars, famines, and revolts, were deprecated as times when mankind was still immature and unenlightened. But now it was merely a matter of decades until the latest vestige of evil and violence would finally be conquered, and this faith in an uninterrupted and irresistible “progress” truly had the force of a religion for that generation.’’‘Faith in irresistible progress’ was a religion!“One began to believe more in this “progress” than in the Bible, and its gospel appeared ultimate because of the everyday fresh wonders of science and technology. In fact, at the end of this peaceful century, a general advance became more marked, more rapid, more varied. At night the dim road lights of former times were replaced by electric lights, the spread their tempting glow from the main roads out to the town limits. Thanks to the telephone one could talk at a distance from person to person. People moved about in horseless carriages with a fresh rapidity.’’This fresh faith produced everyday miracles! Who wouldn’t believe this more than the Bible? But . . . What happened?“A certain shadow has never quite disappeared from Europe’s once so bright horizon. Bitterness and distrust of nation for nation and people for people remained like an insidious poison in its maimed body.’’“In spite of the social and technical progress of this quarter of a century between globe battle and globe war, there is not a single nation in our little globe of the West that has not lost immeasurably much of its joie de vivre and its carefree existence. It would take days to describe how confiding, how childishly joyous the Italian people once were, even in the depth of poverty, how they laughed and sang in their trattorie, how wittily they derided the poor government and now they march sullenly with their chins thrust forward and wrath in their hearts. Can one still imagine an Austria so lax and loose in its joviality, so piously confiding in its Imperial master and in the God who created life so comfortable for them?’’“The Russians, the Germans, the Spaniards, not one of them can remember how much freedom and joy the soulless, voracious bogy of the “State” has sucked from the very marrow of their soul. All peoples feel only that a strange shadow hangs broad and massive over their lives. But we, who once knew a globe of individual freedom, know and can give testimony that Europe once, without a care, enjoyed its kaleidoscopic play of color. And we shudder when we think how overcast, overshadowed, enslaved and enchained our globe has become because of its suicidal fury.’’Wow! No wonder Zweig is abandoned, in this globe that lives and dies for (worships) nationalism!I ~ The Globe of SecurityII ~ School in the Latest CenturyIII ~ Eros MatutinusIV ~ Universitas VitaeV ~ Paris, the Town of Eternal YouthVI ~ Bypaths on the Method to MyselfVII ~ Beyond EuropeVIII ~ Light and Shadow over EuropeIX ~ The First Hours of the Battle of 1914X ~ The Struggle for Intellectual BrotherhoodXI ~ In the Heart of EuropeXII ~ Homecoming to AustriaXIII ~ Into the Globe AgainXIV ~ SunsetXV ~ Incipit HitlerXVI ~ The Agony of PeaceReturning to Austria after the battle . . .“Children as young as eleven or twelve went off in organized Wandervögel units which were well instructed in matters of , and traveled about the country as far as Italy and the North Sea. Following the Russian pattern “pupils’ councils” were set up in the schools and these supervised the teachers and upset the curriculum, for it was the intention as well as their will to study only what happy them.’’‘Supervised the teachers’!“They revolted versus every legitimated form for the mere pleasure of revolting, even versus the order of nature, versus the eternal polarity of the es. The girls adopted “boyish bobs” so that they were indistinguishable from boys; the young men for their part shaved in an effort to seem girlish; homoity and ism became the fashion, not from an inner instinct but by method of protest versus the traditional and normal expressions of love.’’“The general impulse to radical and revolutionary excess manifested itself in art, too, of course. The fresh painting declared all that Rembrandt, Holbein, and Velasquez had made as finished and done for, and set off on the most unbelievable cubistic and surrealistic experiments. The comprehensible element in everything was proscribed, music in music, resemblance in portraits, intelligibility in language.’’In the 20’s? Here we are hundred years later and now it describes whole world, not just Austria!Zweig writes in the manner of the nineteenth century German academic. Dense, detailed, filled with metaphors and literary allusions. Not philosophically obscure, nevertheless requires serious concentration and thought. On the other hand, reader can unearth treasures that shallow digging would pelling!(See also: “1917: Lenin, Wilson, and the Birth of the Fresh Globe Disorder’’ by Arthur Herman. Fresh book that complements Zweig’s insights.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Yesterday []  2020-2-6 19:26

    There are two stories near the end of Zweig’s book that stood out in their sadness and frustration. The first involved his attending a debate between George Bernard Shaw and H.G. Wells. Zweig, who is not a native English speaker, listens in to these aging intellectuals as they debate something, the theme of which he can’t quite figure out. He knows there is something brewing between those two minds, but he’s a stranger before them. The other story is of his elderly mother and how she was no longer able to rest during her walks on the public benches in Austria because Hitler stripped Jews of this primary e story of how Zweig, and all of Europe got to the point where he was no longer part of the conversation and Jews were humiliated is what this book is about. We do not obtain the why, eig begins the acc of his beloved Austria and Europe as a kid living in the strict and ordered German society that only the old were truly allowed to master. Even someone just turned 40 was still considered, in those days, to be too young to be really trusted with necessary work. A person had to spend their whole life working at a set pace, each year or decade moving up the ladder as if there was a checklist. But society was secure, there was safety, reliability, predictability in daily life. Even the unpredictable could be managed with insurance and savings.But Zweig had an artist’s mind and an artist’s youthful enthusiasm. He longed to break through those solid walls that had been mortared up generation after stoic generation, he wanted to be free, free to study art and melody and think freely. And for much of his life he did. He rubbed shoulders with nearly every influential artist and thinker of his day. The book is an encyclopedia of who’s who.But what we don’t get, and what he never saw, was what was event off stage. While he was reading poetry, young people in the Balkans were planning the assassination of Archduke Ferdinand. Everywhere there was injustice and poverty, only a select few, like Zweig, could really have fun the lifestyle he so loved and longed for. When WW1 breaks out it’s almost a surprise for him and he is nearly ignorant of the suffering world:"Why should we be concerned with these constant skirmishes with Serbia which, as we all knew, arose out of some commercial treaties concerned with the export of Hungarian pigs?"But I’m not going to be too harsh on Zweig because though he was thoughtless, he was naive in a good-natured way. His life was art, and thinking, and all that is amazing in the world. Were everyone only concerned with poetry and coffee how magical would the globe be? How free of pain and suffering? Yet the true globe does not take artists very seriously. Someone might create a few headlines with a propaganda poem, such as Ernst Lissauer's "Hymn of Hate", but then have to flee after the battle because nobody wants to associate with and are ashamed of such hateful ybe this is a reason why he killed himself (his wife too, though she is barely mentioned more than four times in the book so her story is obscure)? Maybe he saw himself like the old woman who once lived above him, a woman who once knew Goethe, but the link between them is ephemeral, dry, and dying. She was an old woman dying in her room and he only saw the link between her and a amazing artist. What of her? What of her suffering? We learn nothing. So perhaps his blindness to the greater evils of the globe was what did him in. Maybe he knew that his silence on politics was a mistake, but he might have also known it wouldn’t have mattered anyway for who could have stopped either war? Who could truly oppose Hitler and those who followed him?And this is why I wanted to read this book now, because of the current political climate here in America, specifically with the candidacy of Donald Trump. Someone like myself who tries to stay away from politics, who sees that man as a buffoon, is reminded how Zweig saw the rise of Fascism. He saw it and was unable to do anything about it until he had to flee his country where he becomes a stranger and outsider everywhere and leaves his elderly mother behind to be humiliated by not even being allowed to sit on a park l of it is absurd, really. From him sitting in Switzerland with meal but drink not 5 mins away from Austria where everyone starves, to the Belgians using dogs to pull guns on small carts, to men drinking all the beer in one country because it was cheaper than in another and they’d become so drunk they had to practically be rolled back across the border, and where in a battle economy when cakes of soap are more valuable than true estate.And after the first Globe Battle he could see how the globe had been fractured, where artists like Dali and Joyce rewrite the method we interpret the globe through art, where instead of free passage between nations one needs passports and fingerprints and interrogations just to move across a line on a e globe went mad, and then went even madder when Hitler began his march. Zweig had become an alien, not just from his country, but from all humanity. He might have as well been from another planet considering how much the globe had changed from when he was born. From beautiful, ordered Vienna, to the crazed heat of Brazil as the globe tried to blow itself up once more across both oceans.And the worst part is to be helpless. What amazing can art do versus such forces? Where in the globe is there a put for melody and literature and the visual arts? How a lot of mouths can an oil painting feed? How much clean water is a poem worth? How a lot of books can save an infant from dying of disease?And so now we stand on the other side of this question where engineering and practicality and a total lack of empathy for ‘those people over there’ is considered a virtue. Entertainment is ok, but not art, art is a waste of time. Artists should be place to the factories to create computers and ring money registers.And I can’t say I disagree with Zweig in not wanting to live in a globe where function reigns over art, where a mind must conform to only one method of thinking and that energy is only directly applied to where do we go from here, those of us who have lived on after Zweig? What is left for us? What amazing can art do? What use is an artist?I hadn’t intended to grow so pessimistic by the end of my review, but it does parallel Zweig’s feelings on the state of the world. And while I have no intention of doing myself in, I do have a amazing sadness for his globe of yesterday, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Yesterday []  2020-2-6 19:26

    This is an incredibly moving memoir on the collective loss of sanity, beauty, and rational mind, and the necessary role of the intellectuals in defense of humanity versus insidious and ultimately destructive power of political manipulation. It is written in crystal, clear, and yet warm and personable manner, I think it is one of the best memoirs I have read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Atlas of the World []  2020-6-23 19:14

    Although this is the most thorough book, I should have paid attention to the dimensions. Very heavy, can't keep in my lap. So big, I can't fit it in any of my bookcases, have to stand it up on the floor versus the TV. I'm a little petite person, hard for me to maneuver but a really unbelievable addition to anyone's library, if they have a put to place it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empress of the World []  2020-1-25 11:24

    As an adult , I was a small disappointed in the writing. I wanted to like the story, but it was simply too shallow for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empress of the World []  2020-1-25 11:24

    Amazing book. Want I'd had it when I was soooo confused about my ity as a teen. Very well written!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of PostSecret []  2020-7-22 19:14

    A brief history of this book...a small over 10 years ago, Frank Warren gave out postcards, asking random people to decorate a postcard and write a secret that they had never previously revealed. The postcards were then mailed back to him for compilation. This is an endearing book, allowing the reader to catch just a glimpse of someones personal, sometimes humorous and sometimes heart wrenching mini thoughts and secrets. This book is wildly famous with the college crowd as well as anyone interested in a light read, and would create an perfect gift. If you like those confession articles in a lot of of the magazines, you will love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of PostSecret []  2020-7-22 19:14

    Another wonderful book that reminds me how connected we all are. So strong and I love the stories of how the secrets brought people together. Highly recommend... with Kleenex!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of PostSecret []  2020-7-22 19:14

    My secret was published on-line several months ago. Bought the book to see if it created it into print. Probably better that it didn't, but enjoying reading through the rest of the book regardless. I've been reading Frank's posts since the beginning and they never fail to amaze, amuse, encourage, and inspire.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    News of the World []  2020-7-26 22:19

    This is the first Queen album that I listened to back in 1978. I immediately became a huge fan and I'm even more passionate about them now after 40 years. This album showcases their ability to create melody in so a lot of various ways in their special method and all four members contributed to song writing. I love this album so much!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    News of the World []  2020-7-26 22:19

    Amazing Queen music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    News of the World []  2020-7-26 22:19

    to listen to their unbelievable music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Salsas of the World []  2020-9-19 18:1

    was a gift

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Balcony of the World []  2020-12-1 22:22

    Love this duo’s music. I’d say they are as close to Acoustic Alchemy (pre Nick Webb’s untimely passing) as you are going to find. Wonderful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Light of the World []  2020-12-7 19:49

    Wonderful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Light of the World []  2020-12-7 19:49

    I brought this CD latest year after hearing the title song on the radio. After a mate listened to it I gave her the CD as a gift. Now I'm ordering me another copy. The beginning of the song is sung by a child. The voice of this kid is so sweet that it just created me cry because its sung from the heart. The question that's asked is "What could I give him, not good as I am...?" After that line, just obtain the tissues out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Perception []  2020-12-13 18:28

    As a scholar whose intellectual life has been continually guided and inspired by the work of Merleau-Ponty for four decades, I am overjoyed by the translation and publication of these seven radio lectures given by Merleau-Ponty in France in 1948. For the serious scholar, these are beautifully written and elegant statements about the heart of Merleau-Ponty's project to shift the ground of philosophy and phenomenology by diving into the depth of the perceptual globe and turning to art as a touchstone for a reawakened perceptual experience. Merleau-Ponty says in the first lecture that we have no idea what the globe really looks and feels like, if we concentrate on how it comes to us through our body and senses, feelings, etc., and I believe he is right. This book will startle a lot of and stimulate them. However, for the beginning philosophy student, these lectures are wonderfully clear, engaging, and immediately comprehensible, which is not real for all of Merleau-Ponty's work. For a lot of of us, it has been frustrating that for the introductory student, much of Merleau-Ponty's oeuvre is intimidating or calls for a greater investment of concentration than a lot of students are willing to make. This book is the excellent solution: it is brief, clear, and inviting. The lectures--which Merleau-Ponty called "chats" and captures their spirit--is the excellent introduction to Merleau-Ponty's thought. However, the actual "Introduction" to the book is written by a British ytical philosopher who doesn't understand the chats and should be avoided. He manages to mangle the chats and take the life out of them. I regret it was included in the book, but don''t allow it discourage you, just skip it!, I can't recommend the chats highly enough! ... A sheer delight, as well as subtle, nuanced and evocative!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Perception []  2020-12-13 18:28

    This book can explain phenomenology. What a weird philosophical position. Now I understand the continential/ytical differences.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Perception []  2020-12-13 18:28

    School. Learn. Stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Magic [App]  2019-7-7 13:38

    I'm only addicted to it because I already invested so much time, and money. The fresh updates suck, honestly. They're getting lazy with designs, and forcing you to grind/USD to customize your character, first I didn't mind it, but really? Modernize removed eye color and we all have same eyes, and suddenly you can buy eye color changers "moon potion" seen it coming lmao. The happenings aren't also worth logging on for, it's the same items as before, nothing fresh at all, it's tedious and boring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Magic [App]  2019-7-7 13:38

    this android game is really addictive especially in grind farming , no auto farm and enjoyable pvp matches ... but there's a issue this app always crash in any device sometimes ... and the security also in accounts and trade because there's some kind of players always wish to scam and hack others .. this is my opinion and also fix some bugs especially crash

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386