Read the woven coverlets of norway reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all the woven coverlets of norway reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woven Coverlets of Norway []  2021-1-10 20:37

    The book was in pristine condition. Writing is perfect and photography is amazing with a lot of close ups of textiles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woven Coverlets of Norway []  2021-1-10 20:37

    I' ve met the author who weaves coverlets (called okla or akla In Norwegian) and shows her work . Besides the a lot of color images of museum quality okla to inspire the general reader, there are a lot of technical descriptions of weaving, looms and how your precious baptismal or wedding skilbraegd got to be that way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woven Coverlets of Norway []  2021-1-10 20:37

    My wife mainly used it for textile ideas in weaving. But a sidelight that I think she ended up liking better than weaving descriptions were the a lot of images and history presented (in a family of engineers she was the art historian).At any rate it was one of the books she kept nearby in her final months. The book setup does lend itself to short is fairly technical but if you are interested in detailed weaving or textile history similar to Norway and Scandinavia then I highly recommend this book.

    0  


    Add your opinion on the woven coverlets of norway or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woven Coverlets of Norway []  2021-1-10 20:37

    Research

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woven Coverlets of Norway []  2021-1-10 20:37

    This book was selected to keep the ep Ethnic Textiles Book Award for 2001. The Award is presented annually by the Textile Society of America (TSA) to a publication judged the best book of the year in this field. The purpose of the Award is to encourage the study and understanding of textile traditions by recognizing and rewarding an exceptional study that fosters appreciation for the field of ethnic textiles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woven Coverlets of Norway []  2021-1-10 20:37

    there are a lot of publications about american coverlets, this one attracted me because it concerns coverlets from another weaving tradition.another reviewer has done a first rate job of detailing a lot of of the books historical strengths. i am adding my review to contain the patterns and is is not, as the other reviewer noted, an instruction manual. but it is a superb design resource, for a lot of other fiber arts as well as e images are fantastic. the examples are inspiring--i'm mentally designing a color pattern sweater from one coverlet, and several beaded pr jects from others. some coverlet designs would translate very easily into several kinds of e author notes the similarities in design among scandanavian, russion, other european and mid-eastern weavings. what i found interesting is the similarities between some of the coverlets and american patchwork quilts. all crafts borrowed freely from one another--lace patterns were created into embroidery, and vice versa, weaving patterns were used in knitting, etc., so finding simialr elements is common. but the designs of several coverlets in this selection could pass for patchwork in their arrangement. since morwegian settlers are credited wtih introding the log cabin to american in the colonial era, i wonder is they also influenced the design of 18th and 19th century is is a unbelievable book, that would be of use and interest to norwegians and non-norwegians, anyone who designs for any textile craft, and the general reader who is interested in how our forbears lived.i can only hope that another edition will be brought out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woven Coverlets of Norway []  2021-1-10 20:37

    one of the most thorough literary writings on the process of the "antique" hand manufacture of fiber art for the useful and extraordinary articles of any civilization.. this is colorful, exact,. correct and and absolutely ... beautiful... even if you don't care anything about weaving. Awesome and well worth taking a very long look!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Woven Coverlets of Norway []  2021-1-10 20:37

    A Review in the December problem of the Norwegian-American newspaper, Døtre av Norge, a publication of the Daughters of Norway..Let me start by saying that Katherine Larson is a member of Nina Grieg Lodge #40 of the Daughters of Norway in Poulsbo, Washington.Katherine worked with the Nordic Heritage Museum in Seattle and the Vesterheim Norwegian-American Museum, Decorah, Iowa, to develop a major exhibit on woven coverlets from major museums in Norway and the United States that was or will be shown as follows:* Nordic Heritage Museum, Seattle, Washington, September 13-November 11, 2001;* The Plains Art Museum, Fargo, North Dakota, May 16-July 14, 2002;* West Vancouver Museum and Archives, West Vancouver, British Columbia, August-October, e first forty pages of Katherine Larson's book are a cultural history of Norway using weaving and coverlets as a unifying theme. Katherine writes extensively and well about the isolation and self sufficiency of rural life in Norway. Although the precise dates that a lot of techniques and technologies arrived in Norway from abroad are not typically known, she does test to frame such introductions in terms of centuries. More importantly, she discusses why weaving was so necessary to the development of the favorite chapter in the first section of the book is titled, "More Than Just a Cover for the Bed," in which she describes the arrangement of farm households, the psychological boost from colourful additions during the long winter months and the cradle to grave use of coverlets, including baptisms and funerals.Katherine uses historical photographs of women and their equipment; color prints from paintings in the National Gallery and line art of plants used for dying wool, of weaving techniques and of weaving patterns. She presents about 130 high-quality color photographs of finished coverlets, either flat so you can see the entire design or a close up section or in use on a bed. In addition there are many, a lot of black and white photographs of more whole coverlets. Some of the detail drawings would also be useful for embroidery and e later chapters of the book are devoted one each to the different types of Norwegian woven coverlets. Some of these are pan-Scandinavian and others even pan-European, but the essence always comes back to what Norwegian women had, wanted to have and were willing to make for their homes from roughly the middle ages to modern times.Each valley or district in the country had a favorite technique and pattern for its coverlets, providing a rich visual texture to the book. The weaving styles and techniques covered contain tapestry/billedvev, square-weave/rutevev, bound-weave/krokbragd, other weft-faced styles, knotted pile/rye, (reversible) double-weave/dobeltvev, and overshot/tavlebragd or e appendices and closing words contain a brief afterword about her family's immigration experience, a conversational and a literal table of equivalent of weaving terms among English, Norwegian and Swedish; notes; a glossary of textile terms in English; a bibliography; and a proper is book is NOT a beginner's how-to. It is a highly readable cultural reference book about weaving. It would be a useful addition for anyone making hand-woven textiles, anyone who likes to apply older techniques in modern textile settings (not just weaving), and anyone interested in the cultural history of Norway and for Norwegian-Americans. In short almost everyone interested in Norway.I was happy to search my own family's two dominant weaving styles in the later chapters of the book: Danish weave, common in southeastern Norway, and overshot weave, mostly the Monk's Belt pattern. One of my maiden great, amazing aunts was a professional weaver and both my grandmother and aunt also wove.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heimskringla: History of the Kings of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:59

    This is perhaps the very best of all the books I have ever read on the Viking is complete with drawings to stir the imagination and fill in the orre Sturelson certainly got his info right and provided a smooth transition from king to king.I think any reader will be glad to read the conquests of Saint King Olav and his a lot of travels.I had read this book prior to my very first visit to Norway, hence my visit to the Viking ship museum was more meaningful....to think the span of centuries in a book was right beneath my fingertips in the museum.I really recommend this book for it's detail, accuracy and the gaps it fills in all my imaginations of that era of history. The Vikings were certainly a vigorous manly force as frightful as they were courageous.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heimskringla: History of the Kings of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:59

    I haven't been able to read it all yet, but appears a very interesting read. I know scholars have written this book off saying it's not completely accurate and a lot of the sagas are fiction, but much of it appears to have historical facts. It seems this is the best starting point for those exploring Viking history. All the VIking books I've read reference THIS book like it's the bible of Viking history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heimskringla: History of the Kings of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:59

    It was a gift, he loves it,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heimskringla: History of the Kings of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:59

    This book is not one that summarizes the deeds and victories of heroes and kings of varying import. These are sagas: acc for acc of actions, locations, people, families and relations. I would not recommend this book for one looking to obtain a general idea for the history of Norway (and the Viking world); I would recommend it for one like me who wants to engross himself in the history of such a daring and adventurous people. I have fun it thoroughly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heimskringla: History of the Kings of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:59

    This was a gem find. Looks like it had been checked out once and the reader created it through half the intro before giving up. This is a needed read for anyone interested in Norse history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heimskringla: History of the Kings of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:59

    If you are a student of the Vikings then you have to read Heimskringla. This ver was MUCH better than another I had previously purchased on here, and was complete with liner notes, alternate translations, and a very amazing introduction!!! I learned more about the Vikings reading this one book than I did in all of my School years, and being written in "their own words" really adds a fresh slant to history and some of their old tales.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heimskringla: History of the Kings of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:59

    This book is expensive, but if you are interested in the growth of the Norwegian kingdom, I highly recommend it. Being Snorri's own tales of the Kings of Norway, the book is composed of a lot of short passages detailing the histories of different kings. Being essentially a transcription of minstrelsy similar to these kings, the text is narrative, and often has bits of poetry thrown e footnotes, editing and translation were all excellently e binding is paper, which is a pity, but it's not cheaply bound and has wide enough margins it may be possible to sew it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heimskringla: History of the Kings of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:59

    This was a bonus to my granddaughter (14) for Christmas. When she opened it she shouted for joy and as soon as she could escape the rest of us she immediately began reading. She loves it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heimskringla: History of the Kings of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:59

    Awesome book that is excellent to read a small bit at a time when you need a break. I carried it with me in college and I would read it when I required to clear my head. Took me months to read it like that, but so worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heimskringla: History of the Kings of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:59

    This is first hand history of Northern Europe, which is only briefly covered in most American schools. This is a thousand year our writings describing the activities of Vikings and early royalty in northern Europe

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Story of Norway - Volume I (Illustrated) []  2020-1-24 20:37

    Interesting - some fresh things were uncovered

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paddle Pilgrim: Kayaking the Fjords of Norway []  2020-7-24 19:13

    I was immediately caught up in this diary even before the kayaking begins. Dave has paddled solo on the Mississippi from its northern tributary down to Fresh Orleans; from Buffalo, Fresh York, to the Statue of Liberty. I was with him in spirit on these journeys through his writing. The same is real for this book. This time there is a squad travelling together. All have Norwegian ancestry. They paddle to where their families lived before coming to America: Voss, Hardanger, Drydal, Sogne Fjord, are just some of the locations visited in this month long journey. Even if you don’t kayak, don’t hike, and are not an outdoorsy type of person, you will have fun reading of their adventures, experiencing some of your own joys and delights and, yes, even Murphy’s Revenge. Thank you, Dave, for your sense of family, adventure, and delight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paddle Pilgrim: Kayaking the Fjords of Norway []  2020-7-24 19:13

    Although Dave Ellingson’s book looks on the surface to be about kayaking the fjords of Norway, this adventure is not what lured me to follow page after page until I finished reading in one sitting. What captured me was that the rigor of Dave’s kayaking experience is the means by which he connects with his Norwegian ancestors through the farms, the rivers, the mountains, and the people. His descriptions of how he could feel the “welcome home” from his relatives living and those passed on, the communion of saints, is what compelled me to read on. His process of pausing in contemplation after each day’s offerings, leading him to a “sense of total integration with the land; a powerful feeling of being at home in a put he had never visited before” is what created the paddler a pilgrim. He describes a deeper and wider reality. As C.S. Lewis would say, he became “further in and further out.” I recommend Paddle Pilgrim as a depiction of a mystical experience of finding home to become fully alive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Story of Norway - Volume I (Illustrated) []  2020-1-24 20:37

    Amazing historical volumes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paddle Pilgrim: Kayaking the Fjords of Norway []  2020-7-24 19:13

    Third in a series by this kayaker, who has recorded his paddles down the entire length of the Mississippi and from Buffalo down the Hudson to the Statue of Liberty. Here he slows down to take in the magic of two large Norwegian Fjords and some side trips. The author's heritage began in this part of the world, and he seems to hear echoes of ancestors' voices as he paddles and hikes this pristine landscape. He skillfully weaves thoughtful reflections with practical details, putting the reader "there" with him as skillfully as any wilderness traveler you'll find. The book invites you to slow down and savor the experience, It's one you'll wish to read more than once, like a long well-done meditation on the Zen of paddling in such spiritually eloquent beauty. It strikes just the right balance between the practical and the ethereal that floods the senses in such places. God made this attractive country, and from it Ellingson has made a masterpiece of wilderness travel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paddle Pilgrim: Kayaking the Fjords of Norway []  2020-7-24 19:13

    From the very beginning, the reader's attention is captured by theauthor's inner longing of not being happy with just dreaming abouthis Norwegian heritage, his tenacious spirit led him to pursue until hepaddled the challenging Norwegian Fjords! He pushed thing held him back. Hope and expectation was his driving forceeven when facing wonderful odds! He weathered risky stormsbalanced by God's protection, spectacular scenery and the jubilanceof meeting "Fjord Angel Helpers" along the way. Through it all heexperienced the presence of his family roots and coming home at is inspiring book encourages the reader to push forward andnot let impossibilities to hold dreams from happening!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Story of Norway - Volume I (Illustrated) []  2020-1-24 20:37

    Information is good, but it's beautiful hard to obtain into. It's written like a school textbook and not much fun to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paddle Pilgrim: Kayaking the Fjords of Norway []  2020-7-24 19:13

    Dave Ellingson is an artist. He paints attractive word pictures from the pit of his canoe. They invite you to “paddle boldly” with him while you soak in the majesty of Norway’s fjords, its “pine-scented air”, have fun a fine cup of morning coffee and happily accept a Norse culinary practice that embraces a liberal use of butter, sugar and cinnamon.But this Paddle Pilgrimage is far more than that. It is an exploration into the past - an ancestral “coming home” for Dave and his Spirit of Norway crew. It’s something a lot of of us long to do - learn more about ourselves by better knowing where we are from, and who ventured out boldly before us.Dave is an adventurer, and his drive in life may be best captured by the words of his favorite poet - the late Mary Oliver: “Instructions for living a life. Pay attention. Be astonished. Tell about it.” That’s what Dave does. And he’s darn amazing at it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paddle Pilgrim: Kayaking the Fjords of Norway []  2020-7-24 19:13

    Fjords of Norway, Paddle Pilgrim ReviewIf you are looking for an experience through the perspective of an articulate wise adventurer, then you would have fun this story.Kayaking the Fjords of Norway is in essence a very familiar story in its Paddle Pilgrim tradition. David’s devotion to self-exploration through the lenses of adventure, inquisition, and contemplation makes for a thought provoking r a brief moment into the reading one begins to wonder if this holy wacky squad is actually suited to retrace multigenerational lineage back home to Norway; nevertheless, while paddling Kayaks through the Fjords. However, one quickly discovers that the adventure is created even more so lively because of the diversity in expertise, background, and quite frankly the wisdom of the crew.Spiritual references and significant meanings are consistently drowned from what most may consider b occurring’s. Furthermore, a deep connection to ancestry and nature is established through the landmarks and encounters that emerge. My private favorites are the accounts of the river this book and explore the Fjords of Norway through the lenses of is book is for those looking for a special experience through the perspective of an articulate wise adventurer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Story of Norway - Volume I (Illustrated) []  2020-1-24 20:37

    I'm still plowing through. So much detail and information. But I wish to know it all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paddle Pilgrim: Kayaking the Fjords of Norway []  2020-7-24 19:13

    This is the third Paddle Pilgrim book I have read. I sincerely mean it when I say Dave makes me feel like I am traveling with him and want I was on the adventure. The combination of reliving the experience and beautifully describing it simply makes the read totally enjoyable. Even if you are not an adventurer the pictures, the descriptions, the discoveries are simply delightful. Since reading Dave's first book about traversing the Mississippi River I have paddled in Minnesota and Scotland. I am now drawn to Norway and its wonderful beauty and people. Making mates along the method of each of Dave's adventures is simply intriguing to me. It is as if magical people and moments are simply an every day occurence. They are there when you need them and there just because these wonderful folks are there and willing to share their lives and provisions. Kayaking the Fjords of Norway is about method more than the fjords of Norway and yet everything about the fjords of Norway. I highly encourage people to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paddle Pilgrim: Kayaking the Fjords of Norway []  2020-7-24 19:13

    I recommend this book to adventurer and seeker and thinker and prayer and ponderer alike. However, if you have not read Dave's first two books in the Paddle Pilgrim series, I urge you to begin there as his adventures on the Mississippi and the Erie C so influence and inform the experience found upon the waters of the Norwegian fjords. Prepare to read slowly, although the pace of the adventure will wish to support turn the pages for you. Don't fly through the "Ponder" sections - really ponder them with Dave. Read a paragraph and stop. Listen. See. Saturate yourself in wonder and mystery, and then move to the next day. Dave offers something of a ritual - even liturgical - in the method the book is formatted, and do be sure to take full advantage when you read. And then share the book with someone else! Encourage fresh readers to search Dave's work and his unbelievable adventures so that we may, as he urges, paddle boldly! - Eric Thompson, Host of The Catholic Forge Podcast.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Story of Norway - Volume I (Illustrated) []  2020-1-24 20:37

    Very interesting book, though it was a bit difficult following the names - lots of Magnuses, Olafs and Ingeborgs. Did a lot of rereading before I could place all the pegs in the proper holes. The table of contents lists the rulers in chronological order, which was a huge support - couldn't tell the players without a program (Magnus the Good, Magnus Barefoot, Olaf the Saint, Olaf the Quiet, etc.). Once you obtain used to the naming style, it is a fairly simple read. This is not a chop and dried history book, there is a lot of action (the Norse favorite past time was fighting and producing pretenders to the throne) and Hjalmar Boyesen injects a wee bit of humor in places. I was surprised to learn that a form of democracy was the basis for early Norse government. Matters of community importance and meting out of justice were decided by famous assembly - the ting, at which any free man was entitled to speak. The book is well researched, well written and was proofread!! I recommend it highly to history buffs or anyone, like me, of Norwegian descent. I am currently 75% of the method through The Story of Norway - Volume II.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Story of Norway - Volume I (Illustrated) []  2020-1-24 20:37

    Very detailed. The history is terrific. Amazing insight on origins of Norway, Sweden and Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Story of Norway - Volume I (Illustrated) []  2020-1-24 20:37

    This was a amazing early history of Norway, though it starts with a glorification of the Aryan race, which is no longer politically correct, though it was at the time the book was written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paddle Pilgrim: Kayaking the Fjords of Norway []  2020-7-24 19:13

    This book brought up my own memories of going to Norway to find for my roots. But Dave added on top of his roots find the grand adventure of kayaking the fjords. A dream trip! I don't think I'll ever do that so this story if his journey is the next best thing. Enjoyed the descriptions and his moments of reflection. Thought provoking stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paddle Pilgrim: Kayaking the Fjords of Norway []  2020-7-24 19:13

    The Spirit Of Norway squad takes a step away from the norm to spend a month on their own, kayaking thirteen various fjords. The four adventurers don’t stay in hotels as most other tourists, but pitch their tents along the ancient waters in the shelter of some of the most attractive scenery in the world. Rather than the usual “we did this, we did that,” David very effectively connects this special travel experience with his own heritage as he collects his thoughts in early morning ponderings and weaves in stories from his grandparents’ emigration from this very region of Norway. The bottom line is that this is a amazing book and would be a thrill for any reader!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    North Wild Kitchen: Home Cooking from the Heart of Norway []  2020-10-18 18:45

    She did a really nice job with this cook book and I can't wait to test some of these recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    North Wild Kitchen: Home Cooking from the Heart of Norway []  2020-10-18 18:45

    For about 3 years now I have been following Nevada Berg on Ig with anticipation that all of her awesome & delicious recipes would one become an outstanding cookbook and finally that day is Here and it’s absolutely incredible!! Northwild Kitchen truly takes you on a Nordic adventure in your mind with so a lot of gorgeous recipes and images and talk about inspiration!! This book was written with so much love and passion! I highly recommended ordering it, if you love to cook and especially if you love to eat,it’s truly a showstopper!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    North Wild Kitchen: Home Cooking from the Heart of Norway []  2020-10-18 18:45

    I bought this for my Norwegian Father who absolutely loves Norwegian cuisine on a whim. I cannot tell you how satisfied he was to begin this, and search all of his favorite nostalgic recipes. I didn’t know how satisfied this would create him and it was priceless. My mom makes him a dish from this cookbook at least once a week, and sends me a image the dishes. This was probably the best bonus I have ever gotten my dad and I didn’t realize it at the time I bought it, but I am so glad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    North Wild Kitchen: Home Cooking from the Heart of Norway []  2020-10-18 18:45

    This is a attractive cookbook with a amazing balance of storytelling, images, and Norwegian recipes. I bought it for my mom for Christmas and then had to obtain a copy of my own! My family is Norwegian and I grew up with recipes that are related to the ones offered, so I appreciate both the reminder of some beloved meals I haven't had in ages, as well as updated takes on some other classics. I've created several of the recipes already (her rice porridge -- better [sorry, Bestemor] than the one my family only ever had at Christmas -- is my fresh favorite comfort food!)Berg offers alternatives to some of the less widely-available ingredients in her introduction, so beautiful much every dish feels achievable. Plus, it's just gorgeous all around. Highly recommend this for anyone interested in delicious Scandinavian recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    North Wild Kitchen: Home Cooking from the Heart of Norway []  2020-10-18 18:45

    This is a amazing book full of recipes, stories and attractive pictures. If you have any interest in norway this book should be on your shelf

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    North Wild Kitchen: Home Cooking from the Heart of Norway []  2020-10-18 18:45

    This book is so beautiful. The recipes are fantastic, and I feel like I obtain to escape to a tranquil landscape from the comfort of my couch. The images and writing really helps you understand the connection to nature and appreciation for all resources. The recipes are fun and doable. A Must HAVE for the novice to the expert.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    North Wild Kitchen: Home Cooking from the Heart of Norway []  2020-10-18 18:45

    The narrative rambles and is a bit boring (I haven’t read her blog, most likely won’t) but the images are attractive and the recipes are tasty, well-rounded and doable. I can’t wait to obtain my hands on some spruce tips!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    North Wild Kitchen: Home Cooking from the Heart of Norway []  2020-10-18 18:45

    I got this as a bonus for my birthday. I’d been following Nevada for a while on Ig and I was so happy to keep her book! I created the boller recipe and they were delicious just like the ones I ate in Norway. My family devoured them in a few hours. Can’t wait to test the rest!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:57

    An perfect overview of the history of Norway. Quite readable. Should one wish to delve more deeply into individual topics, e.g. the Vikings, the two Olavs, relations between Norway and its Nordic neighbors, as well as Norwegian resistance during Globe Battle II, this work presents a amazing basis from which to proceed. The reader is also provided with an extensive bibliography and adequate index; however, a work of this scope requires more than one map (and that with small detail).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:57

    This is a clearly written,well researched book with unbelievable descriptions of specific happenings throughout time. I recommend it to anyone who wants to learn and appreciate the struggles and successes of Norwegian people

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Invasion of Norway 1940 [App]  2020-1-3 13:57

    One of the more frustrating campaigns of the series. Tried to play this on hard and kept getting owned. Heck of a challenge!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Invasion of Norway 1940 [App]  2020-1-3 13:57

    Fun game, love the story, history notes , and gameplay. But three times now the application has reported a catastrophic error and created me reset the game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    North Wild Kitchen: Home Cooking from the Heart of Norway []  2020-10-18 18:45

    My boyfriend's extended family lives in Norway and I bought this as a Christmas bonus for his sister. I flipped through, and this book has attractive photography. It contains all of the true, regional, family Norwegian recipes that my boyfriend's grandmother cooks there, plus some more modern takes on the region's cuisine, as well as some of our favorite baked goods. Excellent buy for somebody interested in their Norwegian heritage and looking for authentic recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    North Wild Kitchen: Home Cooking from the Heart of Norway []  2020-10-18 18:45

    Bought as a bonus and the receiver loves the book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Invasion of Norway 1940 [App]  2020-1-3 13:57

    Very enjoyable game. The designer is very responsive to any glitches you report too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Invasion of Norway 1940 [App]  2020-1-3 13:57

    I had five dollars to spare and I decide that I'm going to buy one of your android games and BOOM. I see that you have a fresh one posted. I know it's going be great. Also, it'd be amazing if it was possible to do a couple scenarios in the east. Japan invading pacific islands, Japan versus China, etc. Both sides also. Bigger maps, etc

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of Norway []  2020-1-28 20:29

    Amazing stories & history of Norway...some were just a bit too short, or not detailed enough. Some I had to look up some other ever for an introduction into Norway's history it was beautiful good!.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of Norway []  2020-1-28 20:29

    The stories were most enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:57

    John A. Yilek's HISTORY OF NORWAY fills a need for an accurate, readable, and up-to-date history of Norway in English. This book is the first of its kind in over 70 years. I had been looking for a amazing history of Norway in english for years. Yilek's HISTORY OF NORWAY (Wasteland Press, 270 pages, $15.95) was the respond to my prayers. The author, for a lot of years a teacher of Norwegian history at Mindekirken (the Norwegian Language and Culture Program associated with the Norwegian Lutheran church of the same name in Minneapolis), had done extensive research and developed his own lectures, which eventually he used to write this user-friendly text, in eight chapters, beginning with Norway's pre-history through the Migration Age, followed by chapters on the Vikings of Norway; the Unification of Norway, Civil Wars, and the Age of Greatness; Norway's Decline; Norway in 1814; From Nationalism to Independence; Globe Battle II in Norway; and To the Show Day. Notable is Yilek's treatment of the Sami, Norway's (and Sweden's and Finland's) indigenous non-Indo-European people, for the earliest times through the present. His scholarly bibliography contains some 161 books (in English and in Norwegian), mostly of late 20th-century and early 21st-century through 2013 works. That the book is not intended to be a work of original academic scholarship is obvious from its lack of footnotes. I highly recommend John A. Yilek's HISTORY OF NORWAY for general readers and for students who need a fast but accurate overview of Norway's history over more than two millennia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:57

    a Very thrilling and realistic story, finaly at first into English about Norway, told on a clear way. An interesting history less known, for instance what happened during WW II when King Haakon VII and Crown prince Olaf had to fled for the Nazi occupiers who tried to killed them by Luftwaffe attacks, after they simply had refused any peaceful collaboration with the Nazi's, but right in time they were saved by the British Royal Navy, and the fact that Norway in contrary with the Low Countries, had never abandoned during the occupation, Amazingly, They remained into offensive versus pro's and other Nazi figures, including the Massive Water mission at Vemork! preventing a possible German atomic bomb!, till the country had been freed itself, simply after Nazi Germany had abandoned on May 9th 1945 in Berlin to the Allies, and the remained Nazi soldiers in Norway were unarmed by the British and Norwegian , Norway and their King and legal government shows us they did'nt intimidate themselves.A right book for the historical buffs, who like to know more of what Norway really have done.A SINCERE HINT! Unique for readers in the Netherlands, who also had been suffered under the Nazi occupation, I advise reading this book. To my true opinion, a lot of people in the Netherlands had seemed to be given a too weak picture of defense versus such a form of outstanding provokings. (e.g. excisting NSB Dutch National Sot party), and paramilitary molesters and other wouldbe pro Nazi's, who often betrayed their own country fellowmen, e.g. people with a Jewish background, mostly for getting paychecks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of Norway []  2020-1-28 20:29

    Short very interesting stories of history of Norway. I loved reading it. It is light reading. I bought a few more books and gave them as gifts. They thought this book was a amazing gift. They love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of Norway []  2020-1-28 20:29

    Perfect book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of Norway []  2020-1-28 20:29

    The stories are interesting and the images are historical. I'd like to visit Norway and use this book as a guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:57

    This book does a nice job of giving a level of detail so that you can beautiful easily ready through Norway's history without getting too bogged down. It's certainly not a complete history, but not every book has to be. The issue is that it's really not very well written. Facts might as well be in bullet form, and it largely fails to be either entertaining or engaging.I know a lot more about Norway now, but I had to wish it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:57

    The reading is a bit dry, but well worth the effort. My husband still has relatives living in Norway, so we are more than casually interested in the history. Learning so much more about all the battles and struggles helps us better understand these proud people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Invasion of Norway 1940 [App]  2020-1-3 13:57

    So I haven't played this one out yet. I have started. And enjoying the fresh aspects of this game. Joni is an artist in the method he makes these games. If you are undecided on whether or not to buy one of these android games . then stop wondering and do it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Invasion of Norway 1940 [App]  2020-1-3 13:57

    Masterpiece

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:57

    The history of Norway is a very amazing history of Norway -- extremely informative. I highly recommend this book for anyone of Norwegian heritage or who just wants to know more about one of the most attractive Scandinavian countries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:57

    A lot of history that I never heard about. All of my family came to America from Norway and I never knew their countries story. Thanks for putting this book together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Invasion of Norway 1940 [App]  2020-1-3 13:57

    One of the few programmers who truly gets classic hex based tactic battle games. Complex detailed background, yet easy straight forward play.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Invasion of Norway 1940 [App]  2020-1-3 13:57

    Dang supply areas plays way... To huge a role. At times more tedious/confusing. Just my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Invasion of Norway 1940 [App]  2020-1-3 13:57

    Its all here. Invasion of Norway requires that you successfully manage naval, air power, supply and ground units to be a amazing commander.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Invasion of Norway 1940 [App]  2020-1-3 13:57

    Amazing supply challenge, but I thought the luftwaffe would be stronger.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of Norway []  2020-1-28 20:29

    A short but perfect book that touches on several eras of Norwegian History. I like how John writes. Very entertaining and normal writing rather than a dry, scholarly style. So these can be read out of general interest and you will come away knowing something in the process. 15 chapters that cover everything from the pre-Viking times to the WW2 resistance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of Norway []  2020-1-28 20:29

    Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:57

    I am researching Norwegian History in regard to my family’s history. I have read several books. This book appears to be a rehash of other books. Beautiful lazy. Very small originality. You would hope for more given the bio of the writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    History of Norway []  2020-1-17 20:57

    Simple read to become well informed about Norwegian history. Covers from the beginning to the present. Highly recommend for anyone before e visiting Norway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway []  2020-2-2 1:29

    ONE OF US is the story of a monstrous crime and bizarre act of terrorism. Its culmination is the gruesome 72-page chapter “Friday”, which reconstructs Breivik’s bombing of the Norwegian Prime Minister’s office (eight killed and at least 209 injured) on July 22, 2011 and his massacre a few hours later of 69 people, mostly defenseless teenagers, at a summer OF US is journalism and Asne Seierstad does a tremendous job at presenting the backstory and facts of Breivik’s crimes. As she points out in her epilogue, there is a voluminous record of these crimes, due to police interrogation of Breivik, the prosecutor’s decision to investigate and doent each murder, and ysis of Breivik by numerous court-appointed psychiatrists. This record enables Seierstad to show the sequence and info of a lot of murders at the camp and even enter Breivik’s mind during his murderous spree. For example: “He fired at someone swimming. Between the trees he spied two figures. A Norwegian man and an Arab woman, he would later call them. They looked very disorientated, he thought.”I read ONE OF US with several questions in mind. These included:o Who could commit such a heinous deed? Breivik was an ambitious and delusional narcissist who, before committing his crimes, spent five years alone in his room playing intense computer games, visiting lunatic-fringe web sites, and trying to develop relationships with right-wing bloggers. Observed a court psychiatrist: “At his core, there is just a deeply lonely man… We have here not only a right-wing extremist @#$%!&?… His personality and extreme right-wing ideology combined in an effort to obtain out of his own prison…”o What actually happened? Seierstad gets an A+.o Did the police answer competently? Throughout the chapter “Friday”, Seierstad shows how the police reacted as Breivik detonated his bomb and carried on his hour-long massacre. This response was utterly incompetent. But it is also overpowered in the narrative by the egregiousness of Breivik’s actions. As a result, I was happy when Seierstad, near the end of her book, allowed a father of a murdered boy to recapitulate the policing debacle. “Could one say that the police were inattentive on 22 July? Could one say the authorities were inattentive beforehand? Could one say it was irresponsible that the squad of Norway’s sole police helicopter were all on leave for the whole of July? Could one say that individual police officers had not followed the instructions for a ‘shooting in progress’ situation, indicating that a direct intervention was required? Should anyone be charged with negligence?”Nonetheless, there is a flaw in this book that I found distracting. It is that Seierstad, a journalist, doesn’t do very amazing hero sketches. As a result, her portrayals of the victims of this atrocity are dull and unconvincing. Yes, these were elite and successful teenagers at the Utoya summer camp and Seierstad wants to present respect to them and their parents. But in doing so, she makes the victims virtuously t an simple read but recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway []  2020-2-2 1:29

    I almost did a double take when I ran an internet find on the Norway Massacre and discovered that it was around five years ago. At the risk of making a political statement inside of a book review, it really says something when you lose track of mass shooting incidents because they have been overtaken in your memory by other mass shootings.Åsne Seierstad in One of Us: The Story of a Massacre in Norway -- and Its Aftermath goes into downright haunting detail of Anders Behring Breivik from his troubled childhood all the method through the plotting and execution of the Massacre. As a reader, I felt genuinely creeped out at the detail Seierstad goes into because it felt like I was entering the mind of a killer, which is no put any rational person should aspire to ierstad does something unique in that we don’t just meet Anders Breivik, but also several of his eventual victims—some of them stay for an extended period of time, while others are there for the briefest of moments. This both place a human face to the incident and pointed to almost scary randomness of life. One min you are at a Labor Party camp, the next min your dead. It was very e standout portion of One of US is the description of the massacre itself which went on for somewhere between 50-90 pages, I lost count because I became so engrossed in the narrative. If there’s a reader out there who likes Real Crime type tv like the First 48, I think you will really have fun the contents of that section, even if his actions were totally repulsing from a human morality conclusion, One of Us is a story that won’t allow the reader go, even weeks after they read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway []  2020-2-2 1:29

    This was a stunning read, richly researched, Cooley but excitingly written, a book very difficult to place down, and once out down impossible to forget. I can hardly remember another book I have read that gripped me so deeply. It raises a lot of crucial questions in this age of terrorism. First, just how is terrorism to be be defined? Was Breivik terrorist or murderer? Second, was he angry or a reasoned political actor, whose actions were murder for a cause? Third, was he only delusional in his notion of being a commander in the Knights Templar movement, of which there seems to be no evidence of its existence, or was a sort of victim of right wing internet absurdities? Much of his trial and conviction revolved around these sorts of questions. He is in prison in Norway because he was found responsible for his actions, but precisely how that responsibility is to be construed is far from clear. This is masterful reporting in every way, and I urgent you to read this extraordinary book. It will haunt me for a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway []  2020-2-2 1:29

    If you're just looking for cheap thrills, you'll probably be impatient with "One of Us," because I can't remember the latest time I read a real crime book with such vivid detail, about both the assassin and his victims. I was fascinated by Anders' backstory and how he developed a motivation for his horrible crimes. That said, this book is hardly clinical--Seierstad's description of the massacre left me breathless and petrified.And the fact that the author takes the time and care to tell us about some of the victims' lives makes everything so much more powerful--the only thing I can compare it to Robert Kolker's "Lost Girls," in which the author *only* can write about the victims' lives (as their murderer is still unknown). Letting us obtain to know some of the victims makes the inevitable tragedy that much more "real"--and I felt like I was mourning the victims for days and days after I finished reading the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway []  2020-2-2 1:29

    Yes, it's long and full of info but in order to know the full story of the massacre, you had to learn about his childhood and his friends. When I was first reading this book, I had to look at the description once more to create sure that it was NON-fiction. I didn't see how she could have possibly researched this material in such depth. I sneaked a peak to Wikipedia. It has a long description of the massacre, but doesn't tell about the others who were once his friends. This is what created the book so thing that created me pause was how a lot of social services were offered to the family and to Anders when he was small. They all tried their very best to help, but evidently pouring cash into social services doesn't always ierstad should have received awards for this book. She is an perfect author.I'm going to order another of her books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway []  2020-2-2 1:29

    One has to acknowledge Åsne Seierstad's research in Anders Breivik's life, as this is a book that covers a time span of nearly 35 years, from the early childhood of the Norwegian slaughterer till his conviction from the Norwegian court in 2013, after ten weeks of judicial proceedings. Seierstad is an perfect writer and he manages to place the reader in small Ander's mental status, when, as a teenager, tried desperately to leave his own unique tag through a number of activities (such as graffiti or bullying weaker classmates), while at the same time describing the contemporary status of immigration policies in the capital town of Oslo, where -especially in the Eastern part of the town- more and more immigrants are residing today. The book consists of three parts, the first describing Breivik's life till his arrest, the second covering his trial and conviction, while the latest part is dedicated to the victims of this brutal crime, in an attempt of articulating voice for the tragic protagonists of this drama. It is a book that I recommend to anyone, provided that you can detach yourself from the barbarous subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway []  2020-2-2 1:29

    One of my top three real crime books, alongside Executioner's Song and In Cold Blood (I know, I know, not technically 'true' but close enough). The author, calmly, painstakingly limns the hero of this fantastically evil person with nearly no editorial comment or horrified reactions or conclusions. She begins the book so brutally and violently, I almost didn't read any further. But I soon discovered that what she was after was the entire grim picture, laid out methodically and filled in completely, both with the blood and beauty of the victims as well as the exasperating background and off-the-charts cruelty of the killer. What emerges is a being so vile I began to want for drawing and quartering for such exceptional cases -- and I don't even help capital punishment. What Norway's criminal justice system delivered was quite a bit short of satisfying retribution, but the Norwegian State it seems is not meant to be a means of retribution. And it would be difficult to have any conclusion that even approaches justice for what this poor man did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway []  2020-2-2 1:29

    Beautifully written by the talented Norwegian journalist Åsne Seierstad, "One of Us" is the story of Anders Breivik who, in 2011, committed the most horrendous mass murder in Norway in modern times. Seierstad draws on official doents, extensive interviews and courtroom observations to detail Breivik's life from his troubled childhood, through his illegal "tagging" and descent into gaming and the paranoid globe of anti-Muslim ranting. His fevered bomb-construction and murderous explosive attempt to assassinate the Prime Minister leads him to the island where a group of teenagers are enjoying a summer holiday. The cold-blooded murders of sixty-nine youngsters is so strong that it had me weeping as if those kids were my following Breivik's warped life, Seierstad scrapes away the gloss on Norway's—and the world's—efforts to integrate refugees into society and lays bare the gross failings of Norway's police effort. The trial of the murderer, Breivik, and his early life in prison is part of this engrossing tale. It's absolutely the most strong book Ive ever read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway []  2020-2-2 1:29

    I'm a bit late in reading Norwegian author Asne Seierstad's book, "One of Us: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway". This book is a compelling and tragic acc of the hunting down and murder of 69 teenagers on an island near Oslo by lone gunman, Anders Behring Breivik, after having murdered seven others in a bomb explosion in the town of Oslo. The day of tragedy happened in 2011 and the "crime" these young people "committed" was being part of a youth group of a Norwegian political party known for it's multiculturalism. The mass murderer was a 32 year old man who was, of course, a "loner", but an adherent of an anti-Islamic sentiments. He decried the method Islamic groups were taking over parts of European society and wanted to rid the Norwegian society of young people of the Workers Youth League, who he saw as perpetuating the policy he ne Seierstad's book has been chosen by the Fresh York Times as one of their 10 best book for 2015. I hadn't heard of it before reading the article. The book, a long one, is a study of both the murderer, and three of the victims of the shootings. The writing is "spare", but astoundingly complete as Seierstad has taken a complex topic - both political and private - and brought them together. Some other reviewers point out this "spareness" of writing as a negative, but I simply don't see how she could have told the story in less spare terms. Certainly what Seierstad was writing about had wonderful pathos and more florid writing would have gotten in the method of the ne Seierstad's book is a haunting look at a mass murderer and his victims. You won't forget it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway []  2020-2-2 1:29

    This book gave me exactly what I was looking for - a deeply researched and well written acc of the horrific mass killings in Norway. The author pulls no punches in terms of rendering an extremely detailed description of the crimes and the victims. If that is something you prefer not to place yourself through, this is not the book for you. What I tremendously admired was the author's method of laying out the background of the assassin but not trying to extrapolate some cause and result from there. Because it doesn't exist. There are no answers. Just questions to think about. A fine piece of reportage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    NORWAY Country Studies: A brief, comprehensive study of Norway []  2020-1-26 23:10

    This is a concise, but thorough overview of the history and development of the Norwegian independent state

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of a Massacre in Norway - and Its Aftermath []  2020-2-2 8:6

    I almost did a double take when I ran an internet find on the Norway Massacre and discovered that it was around five years ago. At the risk of making a political statement inside of a book review, it really says something when you lose track of mass shooting incidents because they have been overtaken in your memory by other mass shootings.Åsne Seierstad in One of Us: The Story of a Massacre in Norway -- and Its Aftermath goes into downright haunting detail of Anders Behring Breivik from his troubled childhood all the method through the plotting and execution of the Massacre. As a reader, I felt genuinely creeped out at the detail Seierstad goes into because it felt like I was entering the mind of a killer, which is no put any rational person should aspire to ierstad does something unique in that we don’t just meet Anders Breivik, but also several of his eventual victims—some of them stay for an extended period of time, while others are there for the briefest of moments. This both place a human face to the incident and pointed to almost scary randomness of life. One min you are at a Labor Party camp, the next min your dead. It was very e standout portion of One of US is the description of the massacre itself which went on for somewhere between 50-90 pages, I lost count because I became so engrossed in the narrative. If there’s a reader out there who likes Real Crime type tv like the First 48, I think you will really have fun the contents of that section, even if his actions were totally repulsing from a human morality conclusion, One of Us is a story that won’t allow the reader go, even weeks after they read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of a Massacre in Norway - and Its Aftermath []  2020-2-2 8:6

    This book gave me exactly what I was looking for - a deeply researched and well written acc of the horrific mass killings in Norway. The author pulls no punches in terms of rendering an extremely detailed description of the crimes and the victims. If that is something you prefer not to place yourself through, this is not the book for you. What I tremendously admired was the author's method of laying out the background of the assassin but not trying to extrapolate some cause and result from there. Because it doesn't exist. There are no answers. Just questions to think about. A fine piece of reportage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of a Massacre in Norway - and Its Aftermath []  2020-2-2 8:6

    This was a stunning read, richly researched, Cooley but excitingly written, a book very difficult to place down, and once out down impossible to forget. I can hardly remember another book I have read that gripped me so deeply. It raises a lot of crucial questions in this age of terrorism. First, just how is terrorism to be be defined? Was Breivik terrorist or murderer? Second, was he angry or a reasoned political actor, whose actions were murder for a cause? Third, was he only delusional in his notion of being a commander in the Knights Templar movement, of which there seems to be no evidence of its existence, or was a sort of victim of right wing internet absurdities? Much of his trial and conviction revolved around these sorts of questions. He is in prison in Norway because he was found responsible for his actions, but precisely how that responsibility is to be construed is far from clear. This is masterful reporting in every way, and I urgent you to read this extraordinary book. It will haunt me for a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of a Massacre in Norway - and Its Aftermath []  2020-2-2 8:6

    One has to acknowledge Åsne Seierstad's research in Anders Breivik's life, as this is a book that covers a time span of nearly 35 years, from the early childhood of the Norwegian slaughterer till his conviction from the Norwegian court in 2013, after ten weeks of judicial proceedings. Seierstad is an perfect writer and he manages to place the reader in small Ander's mental status, when, as a teenager, tried desperately to leave his own unique tag through a number of activities (such as graffiti or bullying weaker classmates), while at the same time describing the contemporary status of immigration policies in the capital town of Oslo, where -especially in the Eastern part of the town- more and more immigrants are residing today. The book consists of three parts, the first describing Breivik's life till his arrest, the second covering his trial and conviction, while the latest part is dedicated to the victims of this brutal crime, in an attempt of articulating voice for the tragic protagonists of this drama. It is a book that I recommend to anyone, provided that you can detach yourself from the barbarous subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of a Massacre in Norway - and Its Aftermath []  2020-2-2 8:6

    One of my top three real crime books, alongside Executioner's Song and In Cold Blood (I know, I know, not technically 'true' but close enough). The author, calmly, painstakingly limns the hero of this fantastically evil person with nearly no editorial comment or horrified reactions or conclusions. She begins the book so brutally and violently, I almost didn't read any further. But I soon discovered that what she was after was the entire grim picture, laid out methodically and filled in completely, both with the blood and beauty of the victims as well as the exasperating background and off-the-charts cruelty of the killer. What emerges is a being so vile I began to want for drawing and quartering for such exceptional cases -- and I don't even help capital punishment. What Norway's criminal justice system delivered was quite a bit short of satisfying retribution, but the Norwegian State it seems is not meant to be a means of retribution. And it would be difficult to have any conclusion that even approaches justice for what this poor man did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of a Massacre in Norway - and Its Aftermath []  2020-2-2 8:6

    Beautifully written by the talented Norwegian journalist Åsne Seierstad, "One of Us" is the story of Anders Breivik who, in 2011, committed the most horrendous mass murder in Norway in modern times. Seierstad draws on official doents, extensive interviews and courtroom observations to detail Breivik's life from his troubled childhood, through his illegal "tagging" and descent into gaming and the paranoid globe of anti-Muslim ranting. His fevered bomb-construction and murderous explosive attempt to assassinate the Prime Minister leads him to the island where a group of teenagers are enjoying a summer holiday. The cold-blooded murders of sixty-nine youngsters is so strong that it had me weeping as if those kids were my following Breivik's warped life, Seierstad scrapes away the gloss on Norway's—and the world's—efforts to integrate refugees into society and lays bare the gross failings of Norway's police effort. The trial of the murderer, Breivik, and his early life in prison is part of this engrossing tale. It's absolutely the most strong book Ive ever read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of a Massacre in Norway - and Its Aftermath []  2020-2-2 8:6

    ONE OF US is the story of a monstrous crime and bizarre act of terrorism. Its culmination is the gruesome 72-page chapter “Friday”, which reconstructs Breivik’s bombing of the Norwegian Prime Minister’s office (eight killed and at least 209 injured) on July 22, 2011 and his massacre a few hours later of 69 people, mostly defenseless teenagers, at a summer OF US is journalism and Asne Seierstad does a tremendous job at presenting the backstory and facts of Breivik’s crimes. As she points out in her epilogue, there is a voluminous record of these crimes, due to police interrogation of Breivik, the prosecutor’s decision to investigate and doent each murder, and ysis of Breivik by numerous court-appointed psychiatrists. This record enables Seierstad to show the sequence and info of a lot of murders at the camp and even enter Breivik’s mind during his murderous spree. For example: “He fired at someone swimming. Between the trees he spied two figures. A Norwegian man and an Arab woman, he would later call them. They looked very disorientated, he thought.”I read ONE OF US with several questions in mind. These included:o Who could commit such a heinous deed? Breivik was an ambitious and delusional narcissist who, before committing his crimes, spent five years alone in his room playing intense computer games, visiting lunatic-fringe web sites, and trying to develop relationships with right-wing bloggers. Observed a court psychiatrist: “At his core, there is just a deeply lonely man… We have here not only a right-wing extremist @#$%!&?… His personality and extreme right-wing ideology combined in an effort to obtain out of his own prison…”o What actually happened? Seierstad gets an A+.o Did the police answer competently? Throughout the chapter “Friday”, Seierstad shows how the police reacted as Breivik detonated his bomb and carried on his hour-long massacre. This response was utterly incompetent. But it is also overpowered in the narrative by the egregiousness of Breivik’s actions. As a result, I was happy when Seierstad, near the end of her book, allowed a father of a murdered boy to recapitulate the policing debacle. “Could one say that the police were inattentive on 22 July? Could one say the authorities were inattentive beforehand? Could one say it was irresponsible that the squad of Norway’s sole police helicopter were all on leave for the whole of July? Could one say that individual police officers had not followed the instructions for a ‘shooting in progress’ situation, indicating that a direct intervention was required? Should anyone be charged with negligence?”Nonetheless, there is a flaw in this book that I found distracting. It is that Seierstad, a journalist, doesn’t do very amazing hero sketches. As a result, her portrayals of the victims of this atrocity are dull and unconvincing. Yes, these were elite and successful teenagers at the Utoya summer camp and Seierstad wants to present respect to them and their parents. But in doing so, she makes the victims virtuously t an simple read but recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of a Massacre in Norway - and Its Aftermath []  2020-2-2 8:6

    I'm a bit late in reading Norwegian author Asne Seierstad's book, "One of Us: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway". This book is a compelling and tragic acc of the hunting down and murder of 69 teenagers on an island near Oslo by lone gunman, Anders Behring Breivik, after having murdered seven others in a bomb explosion in the town of Oslo. The day of tragedy happened in 2011 and the "crime" these young people "committed" was being part of a youth group of a Norwegian political party known for it's multiculturalism. The mass murderer was a 32 year old man who was, of course, a "loner", but an adherent of an anti-Islamic sentiments. He decried the method Islamic groups were taking over parts of European society and wanted to rid the Norwegian society of young people of the Workers Youth League, who he saw as perpetuating the policy he ne Seierstad's book has been chosen by the Fresh York Times as one of their 10 best book for 2015. I hadn't heard of it before reading the article. The book, a long one, is a study of both the murderer, and three of the victims of the shootings. The writing is "spare", but astoundingly complete as Seierstad has taken a complex topic - both political and private - and brought them together. Some other reviewers point out this "spareness" of writing as a negative, but I simply don't see how she could have told the story in less spare terms. Certainly what Seierstad was writing about had wonderful pathos and more florid writing would have gotten in the method of the ne Seierstad's book is a haunting look at a mass murderer and his victims. You won't forget it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Culture and Customs of Norway (Cultures and Customs of the World) []  2020-12-12 18:26

    As I read the book,I search it amazing and very interesting...It helps me to understand more the customs and culture of Norway..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of a Massacre in Norway - and Its Aftermath []  2020-2-2 8:6

    If you're just looking for cheap thrills, you'll probably be impatient with "One of Us," because I can't remember the latest time I read a real crime book with such vivid detail, about both the assassin and his victims. I was fascinated by Anders' backstory and how he developed a motivation for his horrible crimes. That said, this book is hardly clinical--Seierstad's description of the massacre left me breathless and petrified.And the fact that the author takes the time and care to tell us about some of the victims' lives makes everything so much more powerful--the only thing I can compare it to Robert Kolker's "Lost Girls," in which the author *only* can write about the victims' lives (as their murderer is still unknown). Letting us obtain to know some of the victims makes the inevitable tragedy that much more "real"--and I felt like I was mourning the victims for days and days after I finished reading the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One of Us: The Story of a Massacre in Norway - and Its Aftermath []  2020-2-2 8:6

    Yes, it's long and full of info but in order to know the full story of the massacre, you had to learn about his childhood and his friends. When I was first reading this book, I had to look at the description once more to create sure that it was NON-fiction. I didn't see how she could have possibly researched this material in such depth. I sneaked a peak to Wikipedia. It has a long description of the massacre, but doesn't tell about the others who were once his friends. This is what created the book so thing that created me pause was how a lot of social services were offered to the family and to Anders when he was small. They all tried their very best to help, but evidently pouring cash into social services doesn't always ierstad should have received awards for this book. She is an perfect author.I'm going to order another of her books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler Strikes North: The Nazi Invasion of Norway and Denmark, 9 April 1940 []  2020-2-10 18:0

    husband love it,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler Strikes North: The Nazi Invasion of Norway and Denmark, 9 April 1940 []  2020-2-10 18:0

    This perfect history of the incredibly and brilliantly conducted invasion under the Allies noses is very readable for any serious student of WWII. I highly recommend it to all history minded readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler Strikes North: The Nazi Invasion of Norway and Denmark, 9 April 1940 []  2020-2-10 18:0

    I cannot imagine a more comprehensive, better researched book than this -- the definitive book on the topic. Must for anyone who wants a complete collection of WW2 history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler Strikes North: The Nazi Invasion of Norway and Denmark, 9 April 1940 []  2020-2-10 18:0

    Overall a amazing read on a topic that is not covered as much, but gets bogged down with more technical information than I needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler Strikes North: The Nazi Invasion of Norway and Denmark, 9 April 1940 []  2020-2-10 18:0

    Very amazing extended treatment of sideshow of WWII that shows how the Norwegians and Danes could have by a few easy actions, as easy as having a couple of practice exercises by their forces, been powerful enough to have deterred the Germans from the invasion at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hitler Strikes North: The Nazi Invasion of Norway and Denmark, 9 April 1940 []  2020-2-10 18:0

    Even though I am a history buff, 90% of the contents were fresh and surprising to me. It was backed up by a amazing deal of detail which would satisfy any historian. Provided background of history and strategies from all natiions involved, as well day by day progress of the war. For some readers, might be too much detail, but can easily skip over those.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386