Read theatre and migration reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all theatre and migration reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    cialis and pharmacy uiua [ vjet]  2020-10-16 3:45
    [email protected]

    cialis- canadian pharmacy [url= in united states of america pharmacy[/url] canadian pharmacy com india pharmacy canadian pharcharmy [url= pharmacy - cialis[/url] us pharmacy cialis london pharmacy canada [url= pharmacies without prescription[/url] canadian online pharmacy for cialis legitimate online pharmacies india

    0  


  • -1

    Useful review?

    search and seizure case law [collin county case search]  2020-8-23 16:35
    [email protected]

    pacer case locator find agree with what google did to me fairfax county case find dc court case find my find the original source he has a amazing point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    google it now and you will be at best site for transaltion [Teacher]  2021-1-11 9:32
    [email protected]

    my opinion is to create it part of everyday practive to obtain leran from the bests.

    0  


    Add your opinion on theatre and migration or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Migration []  2020-6-17 18:45

    Why we chose this book:We (I) have been on a non-fiction kick lately, and T and I both have fun animals. A cover featuring my favorite bird caught my eye, and when I saw that the book was a collection of individual stories, I expected a amazing fit. T likes non-fiction books that he can flip though to select a subject to learn about. Bloomsbury Children's Books provided a review copy in exchange for an honest Migration is an introduction to the migratory habits of twenty various creatures, with each monster featured on a two-page spread. A few paragraphs explain the journey, while a few sentences in a various font give an explanation of what the animal is. Back matter contains a migration map with trivia and info about dangers to migrating animals.What is so delightful about Migration is the feeling I obtain that I am witnessing the migration first hand. Narrated from the animals' locations, the journeys are created personal, as with the nervous elephant babies sticking close to their mothers, or when "the air [is] dancing with butterflies." Unwin crafts a story for each animal that also elucidates its migration, and Desmond's full-page illustrations captivate the eye. I'm assuming that one person will be reading while a littler person is looking at the pictures, but also taken as a whole, Migration is enchanting and amazing, from explanation to execution. Some animals were familiar, but others were new. I didn't know that amazing white sharks migrated in find of food, for o monsters that particularly delight in this household were part of the fun: hummingbirds and monarch butterflies. We have been talking about hummingbirds a lot lately. I plucked one from the sidewalk during the 1997 El Niño; my mom has been telling T about it, and T has been retelling his dad the same story. Monarch butterflies are also very much on our radar right now. T and I have been following the metamorphosis of the caterpillars and now butterflies that my cousin protected through the summer; now she is releasing them, and it has been exciting to see all the pictures! At first glance, Migration is a book that addresses exotic animals' journeys on a global scale. Reading, however, reveals that the exotic and global are sometimes much more local than one so posted on my blog: Glass of Wine, Glass of Milk

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    migration []  2020-7-5 19:43

    Excellent - exactly what I purchased

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    migration []  2020-7-5 19:43

    Nitin Sawhney is so talented as a musician and a producer it's almost nauseating. Migration is his mellowest, jazziest album - short, but seductively beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Migration []  2020-6-17 18:45

    Join the celebration as millions of animals take their migratory trek all around the globe. The wonderful migration stories of 19 animals are highlighted in, Migration Wonderful Animal Journeys releasing this om humpback whales, emperor penguins, amazing white sharks, to even hummingbirds and dragonflies, all various types of animal species need to migrate to survive. Picturesque illustrations capture each animal as they create their journey through deserts, oceans, skies, or mountains. Whether it is due to environmental changes, species survival, or even breeding, each animal carries its own extraordinary story of their journey.If you would like to see part of a migration story up close, the Monarch Sanctuary in Pacific Grove is a sight of wonder, as monarchs create their migration. You can check their www service for migration path times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    migration []  2020-7-5 19:43

    Sometimes it can be hard to place into words your feelings towadrs an album, and this is no exception. The sounds conjured up by Sawhney create you wonder whether musician is the right word for him. Perhaps majician would be more appropriate. All I can say is that if you haven't bought this album yet, then there is a musical genre missing from your collection. That genre is known simplay as Nitin Sawhney...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puppets and Puppet Theatre []  2020-6-11 20:1

    I think this book covers so much, not just about puppets but about modelling characters in general. Its nice to search a book that actually includes more info than a Google search. As an artist I have knowledge of casting and modelling but still found value in it. I was hesitant to obtain but definitely not disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puppets and Puppet Theatre []  2020-6-11 20:1

    very amazing book to begin getting into the globe of puppetry. Amazing for not only beginners, but also for more advanced.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puppets and Puppet Theatre []  2020-6-11 20:1

    As a professional puppeteer and builder I found this particular book very informative!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puppets and Puppet Theatre []  2020-6-11 20:1

    Purchased as a gift. No complaints!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puppets and Puppet Theatre []  2020-6-11 20:1

    received item in description. love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puppets and Puppet Theatre []  2020-6-11 20:1

    Thank you for the quality book and timely delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puppets and Puppet Theatre []  2020-6-11 20:1

    My son is a puppeteer and puppet maker. Bought this for a bonus and he said he was looking to this too. He is very satisfied with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puppets and Puppet Theatre []  2020-6-11 20:1

    The scope of this instructional textbook ranges from puppet craftsmanship to the technical aspects of production. Essentially, readers will be prepared to consider all pertinent aspects of the puppet making and puppetory theater production processes, and thereby will avoid a lot of mistakes along the method by reading this helpful book.If you do judge a book by its cover and appearance to some extent - like this reviewer - you won't be disappointed. The pictures used are exquisite, and will assuredly pique the interests of the interested even further. Aesthetically, this work is quite pleasing.While the intended scope of this book wasn't fine art criticism and appreciation, it wouldn't have damage to have included some of each. The images of puppetory productions used point conclusively to an author who has likely mastered these loftier concepts. To close the circle, some commentary about why certain productions have excelled would have been welcomed, as opposed to discussing only technical pitfalls. Unlike presentational theater, puppetry is far more technical in nature, but it is a fine art medium also and more of its practitioners should have the initiative to promote it as of the best primers currently available, but it begs for a fresh edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puppets and Puppet Theatre []  2020-6-11 20:1

    This book tells the reader how to build almost any type of puppet there is, and has fine images of various puppets.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puppets and Puppet Theatre []  2020-6-11 20:1

    I always have fun Mr. Currell's books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Global Migration: Patterns, processes, and politics []  2020-12-12 18:39

    Had to obtain for school, beautiful simple read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fabric Painting and Dyeing for the Theatre []  2020-2-1 0:23

    Good+ condition, arrived quickly. Thank you!Excellent how to book. We use it in my Grad Dye & Paint class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fabric Painting and Dyeing for the Theatre []  2020-2-1 0:23

    The name turned me away at first, as I am not dyeing for the theater. That was a mistake. While I don't need the chapters on how to set up a dye for a theatre, other info provided in this book is hard to come by elsewhere. Covers fiber reactive dyes, acid dyes, 1:2 metal complex dyes, direct dyes, primary dyes for acrylics, disperse dyes, metallics, textile paints, screen printing, 4 various discharge dyeing pastes, batik, blue printing and brown printing on fabric (or whole garments) using light, marbling, airbrush. Much more thorough treatment of potential hazards than any other dyeing book I've seen. Lists of carcinogenic dyes to avoid. Actual try results of fabric feel and fastness of a lot of various textile paints, each on six various fibers. Amazing index.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puppet Theatre (Crafts and family Activities) []  2020-1-20 0:54

    This book gives you ideas but not a lot of how to's. No templates or measurements but some step by steps. There are some nice things created out of items you really don't have around the house. Fun to read though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cancer, Musical Theatre, and Other Chronic Illnesses []  2020-9-15 18:19

    This book is pure Magic. I lost my mom to cancer years back and to see the journey from the perspective of the patient was mind blowing. The musical theatre references to Characters in his life was hilarious and the adult themes in the book was handled with a maturity I could never do.If you or someone you know is battling this illness, this book must be read during those long, lonely times in the waiting room. I was at my pool laughing very loudly then crying 5 mins later. My respect for this author has no bounds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fabric Painting and Dyeing for the Theatre []  2020-2-1 0:23

    this is a amazing research book if your doing this type of work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puppet Theatre (Crafts and family Activities) []  2020-1-20 0:54

    Very nice book with clear instructions on how to make your puppets and much more. We love to use this book with our children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cancer, Musical Theatre, and Other Chronic Illnesses []  2020-9-15 18:19

    "Just read the book and write an honest review."is is what the author of this book, Ed Miskie, told me recently when I admitted that I only read the first chapter before I sobbed, place it down, and refused to pick it up again. It’s almost as if to say, "Hey, if I don’t read it then this whole cancer thing never happened to you….” Not to mention that the LAST thing someone wants to do is read about how someone they know, admire, and consider a friend, had to suffer. Even though, spoiler alert, Ed managed to create cancer his b word and now looks better then ever, it’s still hard to flip through pages reading about the pain he endured…the pain that not only his tumor named Seymour gave him, but the pain from the process…bouncing from doctor to doctor, being told the wrong information, and almost being turned away b/c he wasn’t a trust fund baby and never won the e moment after I was given the side eye and told to stop being a girl and read the book already, I went home and did just that…cover to cover..in one sitting…tissues in hand. (That’s what an simple read it is btw… ) All of a sudden.. it hit me…wait…during this whole ordeal…. I saw Ed…we hung out…even went to Medieval Times. I mean.. I know he was sick -he had told me-but when we were together there was never a mention of it or slightest sign of struggle. If you didn’t know you wouldn’t have known.. that’s how much of a superhero he was (and still is) I mean only DAYS before a lengthy and agonizing hospital stay, Ed was his normal, funny, social butterfly self - at FUDGING Medieval Times of all places! Who does that?The point is NEVER know what someone is REALLY going through. Even if there's a smile on the face of a friend, relative, or just your recent one night stand, you NEVER know what’s really behind the curtain. So whether you've conquered cancer yourself, currently in the midst of battle, know someone who has done either, or are just a curious creature, this book is a MUST READ. It’s a TRULY HONEST account…no sugarcoating AT ALL, of what it takes to war the beast....all while still trying to survive in society, maintain a job, date, and not obtain knocked down by an NYC tourist in find of the excellent Ig picture. It’s also a LOVE story about how family, friendships, and a teddy bear can be more strong than even strongest of pain so…this book is funny. REALLY funny. How can cancer be funny you ask? Well you’ll have to read and see! Ed’s got a fast wit and the sharpest comebacks of anyone in Fresh York City, and this book proves it. Did he REALLY call his doctor that? Holy crap, YES HE DID. He did really just describe in detail about how cancer is linked to his "you know what"? You’d better believe ly the star of this book might not be the author, or even cancer itself. It’s about musical theater and how Ed’s love of Broadway helped him obtain the top billing in life. There are so a lot of present tune references, that while you are reading about death, you’ll search yourself singing the entire score of CATS, secretly (or not so much) yearning to wear something covered in glitter or sequins, and wanting to audition for your local production of Grease. Quite frankly it’s these references , jokes, and comparisons that set this book apart from the other huge C books on the go obtain this book, I dare you. Read it on the subway, or in the bathtub…or while waiting in a doctors office for those dreaded try results…and smile at the fact that- at that moment-you are still breathing and every day is awesome…even if a rain cloud is in sight. Then go tell your best friend, family, pets, and stuffed animals how much you love them and how much you help them…..and if they EVER write a book…just read it and write a fudging review already.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cancer, Musical Theatre, and Other Chronic Illnesses []  2020-9-15 18:19

    First book I have picked up since high school. For someone to share such a grave story gave me a various outlook on life. Just when I thought it didn't obtain any better, the end created me feel all the feels!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Puppet Theatre (Crafts and family Activities) []  2020-1-20 0:54

    This beautifully illustrated book is filled with creative ways to create puppets and puppet stages out of almost anything. Stockings, socks, vegetables, old rags, egg shells...a wide assortment of stuff are used to make the characters required for hours of fun storytelling entertainment. This would be a unbelievable resource for the classroom or homeschool, inspiring students to use their imaginations in creating stories & the puppets to go along with them. It is not a storybook itself, but merely instructs the reader in how to go about creating different puppets and puppet stages; as such, it would be more appropriate for the upper elementary or "middle-aged" children. Still, the pictures are attractive to look at, even for emergent readers, and could spark creativity in and of themselves. I'm certainly glad this book was brought to us from Finland!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cancer, Musical Theatre, and Other Chronic Illnesses []  2020-9-15 18:19

    This book was awesome! It totally captured all of the feelings and emotions of a cancer patient. I could totally relate. I cried and I laughed right there with you.........reliving my own experience in a positive way.........understanding that I wasn't alone in my feelings. The pizza party was classic and I love you for your persistence with the hospital staff. I think its a book that all hospital staff should be needed to read and a amazing read for anyone who has been diagnosed with this sucky disease!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fabric Painting and Dyeing for the Theatre []  2020-2-1 0:23

    This book is THE book for dyers, even just individual artists not working in eat problem shooting tutorial and even just amazing to read as a refresher if you haven't done something in a while. I've been dyeing for almost 10 years and still refer to this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cancer, Musical Theatre, and Other Chronic Illnesses []  2020-9-15 18:19

    Fresh York Town author Edward Miskie is a musical theatre actor, calendar model, singer and cancer survivor (Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma). A possibility encounter with a fellow survivor prompted him to start writing his "as-funny-as-cancer-can-be memoir." A course of treatment at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center provided the inspiration for the book, which was written four years after he was declared cancer free. Having always known he wanted to give back to those who supported him, not only throughout the course of his lifetime, but his course of treatment at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, Edward soon took to his laptop and began forming this memoir. Originally, he identified this piece as a self-help book for cancer patients, survivors, and those closely associated with the two. Since, it has morphed into what he refers to as 'the ugly truth' behind cancer. The book touches on the farce that is cancer treatment, the circus that is the healthcare system we face, and the challenges that face you even after you are told you are cancer all framed in the content of musicals. Edward’s goal? To encourage us through the indecencies, heartbreaks, triumphs, and shenanigans to search some form of peace in knowing that it's okay to feel the method they do, and they are not me authors of experience search difficulty in writing a memoir guidance help book a daunting task. Edward’s bonus is his light hearted, honest, plain truths – a feeling we search especially real in his extraordinary Prologue: ‘Cancer is really f***king terrible. I think we can all agree on some level that we know that. We have all seen, on either scene or screen, how Cancer is portrayed; bald, and skinny with no appetite, tired. Mostly, that is all true... ish. My fellow patients/ survivors understand. We know that the surface of all of this patient business is just that, surface, but we don't stop being human; we don't stop feeling, needing, wanting. Maybe those of you who have watched someone go through treatment can elaborate on those elements a small bit more, but there is so much more to being hairless and depleted than that. There is so much more to being a slave to a hospital, treatments, and a medical schedule that isn't touched upon or conveyed by the physical ailments that are the outwards signs of being a Cancer patient. I'm going to convey those to you. I'm going to take what you already know, the basics, and place them under a microscope for your understanding. I'm going to talk about the things that Cancer patients don't wish you to know about; the reasons they wear hats, and wigs, and sparkly outfits, or whatever, and pretend that they're okay while you're around. After I do that, I'm going to talk to you about what you definitely don't know, or haven't considered. Once the tight hand of hospitals, doctors, and treatments loosens up a little, or lets go entirely, you begin to realize that that hand was a actually help system, a back bone, a structure. In a sick way, you need it. Once it's gone you sort of fall apart into a blob of uncertainty, fawning for an appointment, almost anticipating something to go horribly wrong so you have something stark and clear to do amongst the question marks. The process of letting that need go is a hurdle in and of itself, and then your life after treatment begins, but it's almost as hard as treatment itself. In short, one starts out as a whole person, the person you are, or were, then you are ripped away from that life, hooked up to machines and tubes for days and months at a time, and forced into this codependent professional patient lifestyle. Once you're given the 'all clear' and released, you're heartlessly sent back out into the world; set free, and the true work, the true repair, and recovery begins with no clear begin point or guideline of what to do. Then the questions begin.’Reading CANCER, MUSICAL THEATER AND OTHER CHRONIC ILLNESSES is a joy, not only because of the quality of writing but also the tone of the message. The only appropriate response to his accomplishment is a round of raucous applause and shouts of Bravo! Highly recommended. Grady Harp, April 17This book is on Kindle Unlimited

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fabric Painting and Dyeing for the Theatre []  2020-2-1 0:23

    The best book in its field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cancer, Musical Theatre, and Other Chronic Illnesses []  2020-9-15 18:19

    I wasn't sure what I was getting myself into when I bought this book. But I have to admit that I read the ENTIRE thing in one sitting. I couldn't place it down. The confusion and frustration of the author in his find for diagnosis and, most of all, GETTING WELL is awe-inspiring. It could happen to ANY of us. On top of that, the use of Musical Theatre titles and hero names to disguise the actual people was nothing short of BRILLIANT. (And no, you don't have to know a THING about Musical Theatre to obtain the story, but if you DO, it makes it all the more delicious.) Brava!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cancer, Musical Theatre, and Other Chronic Illnesses []  2020-9-15 18:19

    Book was awesome. Ed is an awesome person, to go through his cancer, and develop into a amazing actor- he was just amazing in Rag Time at Park Playhouse. Cancer affects all of us (whether it is personally or with people we know)and Edward's book is an awesome documentation of this. Read it soon

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cancer, Musical Theatre, and Other Chronic Illnesses []  2020-9-15 18:19

    I love this book it is amazing! It's very inspiring that's all I am going to say for those that have not read it yet. Thank you Edward for sharing a dark part of your life, and giving those that have no idea of what it's like a peep through the window. You are such a unbelievable man Edward, I stand and I applaud you kind an Goodman

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Free to Move: Foot Voting, Migration, and Political Freedom []  2020-7-2 20:19

    Once you understand Ilya Somin's arguments, it is hard to think of anything else. Free to Move outlines why removing immigration restrictions is the most promising policy proposal for creating a more prosperous and begin world. Not only does the book outline arguments for international migration, the book examines the benefits of federalism, foreign immigration, and foot voting in the personal sphere, like school choice or marriage. Somin outlines why "foot voting" enables individuals to gain negative liberty, positive liberty, and freedom from domination. Not only does the book uncover how foot voting interacts with the aforementioned philosophical arguments, but the book also makes significant contributions to public choice and the law and economics tradition. Ilya's grasp of a broad interdisciplinary framework makes this book compelling for academics across the academy. His work on the constitutional structure, international law, and global governance are the best chapters. As an expert in constitutional law, property law, and the study of famous political participation and its implications for constitutional democracy, he is particularly suited to discuss these issues. Anyone interested in helping individuals to make a more peaceful, prosperous, and thriving globe should read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Settler's Cookbook: A Memoir of Love, Migration and Food []  2020-5-28 18:0

    Loved the book, fascinating history of the Asians in Uganda. Living in Uganda myself, I can really relate to much of what she says, it is not so very various today. I would have given the book a five star rating as the whole idea and concept, woven with recipes which clearly bring Yasmin a deep sense of nostalgia, is wonderful. However, the deeply felt, blatant hatred of white people that comes across throughout the book is painful to read. It is a amazing and noble thing to be anti-racist, but to be full of aggressive anger and racism for white people, particularly when you are hosted by them in their own country, as Yasmin now is, is repulsive. I realize that Yasmin is notorious for her anti-white hate speech, which is a shame as she weaves such a magical tale through her journey documented in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Illegal People: How Globalization Creates Migration and Criminalizes Immigrants []  2020-6-11 20:4

    David Bacon, the author of Illegal People: How Globalization Creates Migration and Criminalizes Immigrants has written a monumental work detailing the root causes behind immigration to this country by people from Mexico and Latin America. Bacon, an award-winning journalist, union organizer, and historian makes an ironclad case why the United States and Canada must re-think their economic policies aimed at pillaging countries to the global south, specifically "free" trade agreements like NAFTA, CAFTA, and why we must stop poor trade and the instrument that rushes them through, Quick Track, currently being pushed by the Obama administration to push TPP, TTIP, and a host of other poor trade agreements currently being negotiated in legal People lays out in heartbreaking detail, the systematic destruction of the Mexican economy, its unions, and Constitution, for the benefit of Huge AG, Huge Mining, and Huge corporate interests at the expense of indigenous farmers, workers, and teachers.A must read for all people striving to understand the root causes of the current Immigrant/refugee crisis

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Illegal People: How Globalization Creates Migration and Criminalizes Immigrants []  2020-6-11 20:4

    The book is current and on point. This is a subject that is making headlines e service was quick and the book is in very amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Settler's Cookbook: A Memoir of Love, Migration and Food []  2020-5-28 18:0

    Love the stories!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Illegal People: How Globalization Creates Migration and Criminalizes Immigrants []  2020-6-11 20:4

    David Bacon has been fighting for the rights of working people for decades. This book is a monument to a life well spent. Bacon goes through the problems around immigration in a highly readable way. The impact of NAFTA and Neoliberalism. The dangers and hardships faced by economic refugees, documented or not. The exploitative conditions that employers force economic refugees to work under. Bacon is very amazing on the history of guest worker programs and how they oppress its participants. His book is a amazing mix of hard facts and analysis plus heart wrenching stories from the front lines. I fear that anti-immigrant sentiment may turn even uglier as the economy weakens. We desperately need the info that Bacon provides to counter the bigotry and ignorance in our work locations and among our mates and family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Free to Move: Foot Voting, Migration, and Political Freedom []  2020-7-2 20:19

    Somin has produced an awesome piece of scholarly work. Leveraging his keen insight, combined with powerful research, and articulate writing has enabled the author to teach us all about these political dynamics. This book is the most compelling piece I have read in a long time. How can I rate this more than 5 stars?!?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Climate and Human Migration: Past Experiences, Future Challenges []  2020-1-26 22:15

    Amazing book and amazing service!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Illegal People: How Globalization Creates Migration and Criminalizes Immigrants []  2020-6-11 20:4

    GREAT BOOK! REALLY RECOMMEND!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Illegal People: How Globalization Creates Migration and Criminalizes Immigrants []  2020-6-11 20:4

    In Illegal People, labor movement veteran David Bacon asks the question of why Americans fail to appreciate the connections between problems like trade, unionization, widening disparities between rich and poor--and immigration, a natural corollary of these and other topics. Bacon then proceeds to respond the question in a tough, thorough, and insightful work that combines straight-up political analysis with the stories of migrant workers and labor movements across the globe. Bacon's ultimate point--that western governments (especially the USA), in the service of capital, use exclusive immigration policies to undermine rights and depress wages for both native and immigrant laborers--is a sophisticated one, yet argued so brilliantly that the observation seems natural and obvious by the time he's finished.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Illegal People: How Globalization Creates Migration and Criminalizes Immigrants []  2020-6-11 20:4

    An perfect book that highlights the fallacy of the modern American economy. based on the influx of labor the American system can not be sustained in an equitable e only solution to the immigration issue is a heavy AMNESTY for a lot of illegal immigrants who can document their length of stay in the USA. along w/ a serious deportation program that will bring some sense (and teeth) tot he remaining immigration is book outlines the inherent contradictions that prevent kind hearted people who wish to support illegal aliens by aligning them with organized labor. We see step-by-step how they attempt to weld a coalition w/ undocumented workers advocates and how they spectacularly fail. No amount of temporary worker quotas and family reunification quotas and H1 visas and guest workers exemptions can create sense out of a system that is simply at odds w/ the xico has a surplus of low wage workers; Mexico needs the erica has a demand for low wage services; America needs the e not good workers are here already and will continue to come. Allow them stay and give them AMNESTY.But America does not need to let the workers families to come. A de facto guest worker program would develop if the workers were given legal protection and the Border Patrol actually deported people. There would be a carrot and stick approach that would improve the working life of the workers and hold their families safe back home.David Bacon is a fine man. He has worked for years to publicize the plight of the poorest workers but I fear his fault is that he is still singing Le Internationale; he is still sympathetic to the Marxist ideas. Some people simply believe that the evils in the globe will not end until we are all united in begin borders and the trade of labor and people. That is immpractical and not going to happen b/c people are clannish and tribal. Once immigrants settle in an zone ( or job) they conspire to maintain their dominance and to hold out n't believe me? I have often heard formally illegal aliens say they have small sympathy for "@#$%!&?s" who wish welfare benefits. These people tell me they created it without the government's support and refuse to support thinks they doth not remember from where they came...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Settler's Cookbook: A Memoir of Love, Migration and Food []  2020-5-28 18:0

    The book surprised me very pleasantly in that I did not expect to read such an accurate description of a country where I lived during the three years before Amin took over the country. Of course a lot of of the subjects are not pleasant about those dark hours of Ugandan history. The Asian experience in Uganda required to be told. I enjoyed reading the recipes and will test some. Uganda was my first intro to Indian curry and I have loved eating Indian dishes ever since. The author's coming of age story in such turbulent changing times is compelling. My only disagreement with the author is that I loved eating Matoke and miss that fruity plantain taste it gave curries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Climate and Human Migration: Past Experiences, Future Challenges []  2020-1-26 22:15

    this book helped me with my research subject my first semester of grad school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Illegal People: How Globalization Creates Migration and Criminalizes Immigrants []  2020-6-11 20:4

    One of the best books on this subject. It explains the forces at play that push people to create the choice to immigrate illegally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Illegal People: How Globalization Creates Migration and Criminalizes Immigrants []  2020-6-11 20:4

    David Bacon cares deeply about two things: working people, especially immigrants, and explaining all social phenomena using shopworn economic and political frameworks that often defy primary arithmetic. There is no denying his compassion for the people he writes about, photographs, and organizes. For three decades, Bacon has been a strong social voice and a welcome one.Unfortunately, he is drawn to writing not simply about people, where is eye is excellent, but about economics, which is not his strongest subject. Bacon's globe is built on economic myth. Once embedded, they die hard. These include:The decline of American manufacturing. Which hasn't happened. US manufacturing output has risen 50% in twenty years and has never been higher than it is right now. Employment has declined, but that's a amazing thing, just as it was with agricultural employment. 70% of America used to be farmers -- now 1-2% produce it all and we all like it that way, even if we don't like that some farmers and a lot of farmworkers got screwed along the way. You cannot raise incomes without higher productivity, which means producing more items with fewer people. Manufacturers have done that. Bacon is right to point out that this change is hard on displaced workers and right to argue for doing more for them, but claims of "deindustrialization" are flat wise, Bacon has never seen a trade he didn't hate. Again, he needs to distinguish costs (victims damage by trade) from the benefits he ignores (higher wages, fresh jobs, and vastly lower costs at the checkout counter -- equal to an annual raise for working families). He needs to focus as much on jobs made by trade (a lot) and wages raised by trade (even more) as he does people damage by it. Finally, even if you hate trade, trade are simply not the problem. We have no trade with China (the WTO is not a trade deal). A 2014 survey of hundreds of prominent economists on about whether “past major trade have benefited most Americans.” resulted in a clear majority saying yes. Some were uncertain. Not a single economist said no -- and economists rarely agree on r decades, Bacon has nurtured a deep resentment based of an economy that is rigged by a perfidious ruling class that closes plants, lays off workers, withholds raises, and accumulates income and wealth faster than the rest of us. I want he were right, since removing oligarchs is the work of an afternoon. But in the true world, the US economy is much more complex and far less centralized than it is in the recesses of Bacon's fevered imagination. A lot of outcomes happen without anyone's control or direction. That of course does not mean we should ignore the impact of economic change on the least skilled, educated, or resilient -- but pretending that a wealthy clique is somehow steering the ship is an illusion that has long served Bacon Bacon's world, that the rich don’t enough in taxes. The middle class (the middle 60% of the income distribution) pays 13% of its income in federal taxes. The top 1% pays 33 percent. This is a much, much bigger difference than you would search in Denmark or Sweden, where after tax incomes are more equal thanks to high quality government services. Moving taxes on our oligarchs to half or two-thirds and eliminating some glaring loopholes might feel better (it's unimaginative, but I'd vote for it), but it does not make work for migrants, raises for hourly workers, or better schools for their ly, for a guy who has grown up in Silicon Valley, Bacon takes a surprisingly passive view of technological change. For my money, this has adversely affected more workers and more work than trade (let's begin with the fact that most workers, including most immigrants and most union members, do not produce tradable goods or services, so trade cannot be what ails them). Here again however, technology is emergent, not a centralized plot. It arises from the decisions of thousands of engineers, managers, and entrepreneurs. It is critical for folks like Bacon to scream when innovations replace unskilled workers faster than they make opportunities for them -- which has been happening. Skill-biased technological change is looked at by most economists as a leading cause of the increasing inequality the United States has experienced in latest decades. Trade is a side show.I would love for Bacon to write a book about this with the nuance and frankly the modesty that the subject deserves. Maybe the next one. Unfortunately, that's not what this book is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Settler's Cookbook: A Memoir of Love, Migration and Food []  2020-5-28 18:0

    This book is a welcome addition to my meal memoir bookshelf which is massive in Western influenced food/countries. The author goes into amazing detail about growing up in Uganda and eventually going to oxford in the middle of Londons own chaotic enviorment. She also covers the tension between the Asian community and the Africans. TSC is part history, and takes the reader (if you are an average American with the primary American education) into a history of a country which is largely ingnored. Her most memorable passages are those when she desribes the generational tensions, including her own beating by the hands of her family when she dared to kiss a black African boy in a production of Romeo and Juliet, and the section detailing her failing marriage. Although I enjoyed the whole book. The recipies look delicious and authentic (although since I am kitchenless at the moment I have not had a possibility to test them out)She does test to create concessions for the availabily of ingredients. Very well formated for the kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Illegal People: How Globalization Creates Migration and Criminalizes Immigrants []  2020-6-11 20:4

    Has given me vital info regard the problem. A review of David Bacon's images led me to this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Illegal People: How Globalization Creates Migration and Criminalizes Immigrants []  2020-6-11 20:4

    Excelent book. Explains some of the effects of globalization. Simple to read and informative. I will look for other books by Mr Bacon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    HIGH SCHOOL THEATRE OPERATIONS for Architects, Administrators and Academics []  2019-12-18 20:45

    Extremely useful book, providing info for architects, administrators and academics. Theatres are not a known quantity in the public education system, so this book is a unbelievable resource for teachers to use in building convincing arguments for why one person certified in English might not always be the best choice for that begin drama teacher vacancy, through a series of well reasoned and readable experiences of the author. As a 7 year teacher, going into my third year of teaching drama after 10 years as an actor, this book is gold for me as I learn to obtain better at this strange fresh craft of teaching a topic I care deeply about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    HIGH SCHOOL THEATRE OPERATIONS for Architects, Administrators and Academics []  2019-12-18 20:45

    Amazing products

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Theatre []  2020-1-22 3:21

    Great, serious publication and a favorite of my daughter's who is an actress in the Pacific NW. I have been ordering it for her as a holiday bonus for several years now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Theatre []  2020-1-22 3:21

    TCG always has it finger on the pulse of Regional, National and Broadway (Off and Off/Off) theatre. Used to monthly at Borders until they went out of business and now am a proud subscriber. I always encourage my theatre students to invest in a subscription. Its the most valuable periodical for actors today (sorry Backstage!)!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Theatre []  2020-1-22 3:21

    My daughter has been an actress and playwright who loves to hold up with American Theatre in Holland where she lives. I bring them to her or she gets them fromme whenever we visit each other. What a unbelievable magazine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theatre, Brief []  2020-1-16 6:9

    Fair (for a college textbook... 😜), fresh as described, delivered right on time...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Theatre []  2020-1-22 3:21

    If you're interested in theatre you need to own this. It is full of everything from upcoming happenings around the globe to articles, conservatory auditions and more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Theatre []  2020-1-22 3:21

    Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Theatre []  2020-1-22 3:21

    American Theatre is probably my favorite print theatre magazine available. It unbelievable editorial pieces on actors, directors, designers, and companies around the country who are doing innovative or inspirational work and contributing to the community at large. For the casual audience member, this magazine may be a bit too dry and "boring." But for any artist or patron of the arts who likes to stay up to date and involved in the theatre community at large, this is a must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Theatre []  2020-1-22 3:21

    I have loved "American Theatre" for over two decades. It has tons of ads for effective training around the country, unbelievable articles and fresh play scripts. It is a must for any Theatre teacher to introduce to his or her students. Bravo, "American Theatre" magazine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Storming the Wall: Climate Change, Migration, and Homeland Security (City Lights Open Media) []  2020-1-15 22:56

    All the well documented info in this book presents a bleak future for our planet. However we have to face brutal facts in to be moved to take action. It reminds me of a formula from Michael Moore... "Ignorance ...fear... hatred... violence." This is so real when it comes to climate change and immigration. I'll carry with me one of Miller's final bits of tip from a quote... "Always leave room in your heart for hope."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Storming the Wall: Climate Change, Migration, and Homeland Security (City Lights Open Media) []  2020-1-15 22:56

    Must read! It will change the method you think about climate change and our political future. Extremely well-researched,compassionate, and smart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Departure: Mass Migration from Eastern Europe and the Making of the Free World []  2020-1-26 23:28

    Very comprehensive book about the reasons behind immigration and the results of leaving ones country of origin. The findings cover over a hundred years to the present. History does indeed repeat itself with no clear answers on how to cope with the globe situations that evolve with decisions created by people in power. The story does not have an ending yet and probably never will.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Good Provider Is One Who Leaves: One Family and Migration in the 21st Century []  2020-1-25 2:1

    An perfect book on modern migration and how it impacts families, communities and nations. I cannot recommend it highly enough! From the book: "No one is more quintessentially American than a fresh American, and no country has grown stronger, richer, or more vibrant from welcoming immigrants than the United States."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Good Provider Is One Who Leaves: One Family and Migration in the 21st Century []  2020-1-25 2:1

    This is the first book in a very long while that I stayed up half the night to read. Jason DeParle’s “A Amazing Provider is One Who Leaves” gives the story of a Filipino family told by a white American expat who lived with the family in their Manila slum. He gives a history of economic migrants from the beginning of the 20th century through our current anti-immigration/anti-non-white US leadership, citing statistics that describe the world-wide phenomena of people who need to leave their family and homes, either temporarily or permanently, to have any chance of improved living standard.I myself lived in Manila for several years. I personally saw the wonderful mass of people living in cardboard shacks. Overseas employment to the Middle East, to wealthy countries of Southeast Asia, or to the US, was the route to a secure future for so a lot of people, and despite with well-documented stories of florid abuse by employers. As a single American woman in Manila, I was considered the cream of employers as I would my house support on time, feed them a nutritious diet, and would not hit-on the female maids who could not say no to their boss. At the Manila airport I also saw the constant stream of “balikbayan boxes” (shipped bonus crates of every possible type of goods) sent by overseas Filipinos to relatives still at home.I highly recommend this book to anyone with a Philippine connection and to anyone who wonders why we must with migrants and global labor demands. And this book is a tribute to the resilience of the Filipino people who will always have a unique put in my heart. Mabuhay Ang Filipino!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Homelands: Four Friends, Two Countries, and the Fate of the Great Mexican-American Migration []  2020-1-28 20:14

    This is a complex book, full of historic and social info and covering generations of people. And, the book tries to create sense out of Mexican immigrants and their lives in a fresh country.A major part of the book is about four young, Latino male professionals, including the author, discovering each other in the town of Philadelphia, of all places. They share loves for amazing Mexican food, Tequila, and much more, including powerful drives to be successful. There are not a lot of Mexicans to be found in Philadelphia at that time. The author is a journalist, another is a lawyer, one is a social activist, the other is the owner of a Mexican bar/restaurant, where the four frequently meet. They have much in common, but they also have conflicts among each other -- and within themselves. Eventually, each will move on, beyond their initial e other theme of the book involves the history of Mexican Americans coming to the U.S., typically to work in the fields, to stay, and to raise kids, knowing that the kids, for the most part, are to be Americans. As such, much of the book is really about first-generation Mexicans in the U.S., and how they obtain to where they are to e author was born in Durango, Mexico. He came with his parents to the U.S. when he was about five. He was raised in California and Texas. He found his method into journalism, working for newspapers in Texas, then the Wall Road Journal in Philadelphia, eventually becoming the Mexican Border correspondent for the Dallas Morning e book starts with his life in Philadelphia, where, as a reporter, he was well-aware of his Latino looks and background, knowing that he was “flying under the radar, quietly trying to hide, (while at the same time), attempting to join the white mainsteam.” He had started his career at the Herald-Post in El Paso, and was much more comfortable there.Others will probably disagree, but as the book went on, I found the info about the lives of the other three mates to be less necessary and of interest to me as a reader than the info of the author’s life, and his struggles for him and his extended family to search their locations in the U.S. And, to with the conflicts of whether they would someday return to live in e family arrives in California in 1966, when Latinos were much less prominent in that state than they are now, “unless you were out in the fields under the earth’s elements.” His parents would never learn English. He would drop out of high school. Both parents toiled in the fields, with his mother being an absolute superstar at her work. He rebelled at any suggestion that they were headed for the “American Dream.” The children hardly ever saw their parents, who seemed to work, mostly, to live and survive, typically starting work at 3:30 in the morning.But back in Mexico, there was a drought, and in the city where they came from there was small work. Eventually, more and more from their city would move to Texas or California. Alfredo’s family would later move from the California Central Valley to El Paso, where they opened a restaurant, named, “Freddy’s Café.” Alfredo worked as a waiter there, went back to school, and got started in his career in is was at the time when the 1986 Immigration and Control Act was all the talk. It offered amnesty to those who could prove that they had lived in the U.S. for four years. The family had done that for more than 20. But there was skepticism. Was it a trick? What amazing would it do? Are we all not going back to Mexico, eventually? America seemed to wish it “both ways.” Mexicans were welcome to work, when there was work, but they were less than welcomed when the work was slow. What was this “amnesty” items all about?Many who worked in the fields took the amnesty, then headed to other states, like Colorado, which offered jobs in restaurants, hotels, and the like. With green cards, the ex-farmworkers moved on to “better” jobs, which, of course, left a vacuum to be filled by the need for more undocumented e author leaves Philadelphia to pursue his dream of being a reporter in both the U.S. and Mexico. He returns to El Paso, which he describes at that time as “a dead-end working-class city with few compelling jobs to to college graduates.” He got his U.S. citizenship in 1988. (His parents would obtain theirs in 1998.) But NAFTA was coming (1992), and it promised to add thousands of white-collar jobs to the mix. But NAFTA, in a lot of ways, was about Mexican labor and “making on the backs of the poor.” It was all about maquiladora factories on the border and excess corn flooding into Mexico, without any tariffs. And, part of NAFTA was building a fence at the border. Alfredo would soon move on to the Dallas Morning News, which had a relatively huge office in Mexico City, as well as e gist of the book from then on is to examine the a lot of factors of Mexican immigration. The situation in Mexico was described as, “Just 10 percent of the population, the wealthiest, controlled Mexico.” NAFTA exposed a lot of weaknesses of the Mexican economy, especially in its ability to compete versus strong U.S. companies and interests. And, the whole question of can one “go home” comes to light. Would life really be better in Mexico, or, in fact, is it better to be Mexican in the U.S., even if one has not mastered English nor fully assimilated? And, aren’t those who grow up in the U.S. as children fully Americanized anyway? Says the author, “Mexico was growing in the U.S. The other Mexico was trapped.”He talks about the hopeful relationship between President George W. Bush and Mexican President Vicente Fox…before 9/11 in 2001. After 9/11, it was all about border fencing and the fear of immigrant ar the end of the book is a chapter about a 30-year reunion of the four amigos in Philadelphia. None were determined to return to Mexico to live. Relationships between some had soured. Time had moved them on from a somewhat lonely need for companionship back when they first met, when they each required a sense of Mexican identity, while living in a “foreign” e author admits that his Spanish is not as amazing as it could be, and, in interviews about the book, he has said that none of his nephews speak Spanish well. As a journalist, he has had the opportunity to tour the country to examine how transplanted Mexicans have fared in different parts of the country. Everywhere he goes he finds “hard-working Mexicans.” But he also finds Mexicans moving on, and newer immigrants from other countries taking their locations at the of the latest chapters involves a street trip by the family to the home city in Mexico for a funeral. The put is dry and relatively underpopulated. There are questions as to whether it was worth it to move to the U.S. in the first place? What would life have been like if we would have stayed? For Alfredo, it would probably have been not better than to go to the U.S. as a young adult and to become a waiter. He would have had a limited education at that time. And, as one relative says, “Once the mothers leave, the community dies.”While some were returning to the hometown, much of the cattle was being sent to the U.S., in a method that would create it nearly impossible to replace them. But says the author: “We can’t give up on Mexico….But corruption remained endemic. Crimes unpunished still hovered above 95%. More than half the population lived in poverty….”So, there you have it: My review of this somewhat complicated book. I’ll look forward to reading other reviews and to following the author on is book tour. There is no doubt that this is provocative book, written by a guy who has been right in the middle of his topic matter. I do think that this is an necessary book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Homelands: Four Friends, Two Countries, and the Fate of the Great Mexican-American Migration []  2020-1-28 20:14

    Homelands is the real story of four Mexican mates in America, a Breakfast Club of sorts – one journalist, one revolutionary, one straight-laced lawyer and one bar owner – except that it starts in a beloved Philadelphia restaurant in the 1980s, over rough this thread, the journalist (Corchado) is able to present what it feels like to be a Mexican immigrant in this country, a person with two homelands but enough love for both. It's a perspective I feel we don't obtain in today's debate over immigration: What it's been like for families to live through the push and pull of different US policies, shop forces, trade treaties, drug wars, 9/11 and even Corchado's mom told him as a kid in California missing his Mexican relatives, "Don't feel lonely anymore. They're all here now." Through the catch-22 of offering jobs and making border crossings harder, the US government had unwittingly attracted and trapped the migrants in the United States. Meanwhile, returning to Mexico for amazing with all its chronic issues was not a viable option. Mexico is a "Beautiful, precious, rosebud. It just never opened for us."The lifelong bond of the four mates sustains them through the years as they struggle with their identity in a country that is increasingly making them a "political piñata," ... and as they find for the excellent tequila. Eye-opening and deeply human.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire of Care: Nursing and Migration in Filipino American History (American Encounters/Global Interactions) []  2020-9-21 18:22

    Empire of Care is a well-written review of a very interesting topic, current to immigration policy. The author looks at the desires of the immigrants to better themselves, the desire of the USA to obtain professional workers without having to spend on education, and the benefit of the immigrants to their home is is a very complex issue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire of Care: Nursing and Migration in Filipino American History (American Encounters/Global Interactions) []  2020-9-21 18:22

    not really useful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire of Care: Nursing and Migration in Filipino American History (American Encounters/Global Interactions) []  2020-9-21 18:22

    Empire of care is not an argumentative book. The author only goal is to define the context in which Pilipino nurses migrated to the US. The issue is in her attempt to leave the decision to the reader on rather or not the US was a amazing or poor influence on the Philippines she does not give enough background info about the history of America's and the Philippines' relationship to draw anything from unless you are already familiar w/ the topic. If you wish information about the Philippines, US imperialism, migration, or similar subjects pick another book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unforgetting: A Memoir of Family, Migration, Gangs, and Revolution in the Americas []  2020-9-25 18:44

    As a Salvadoran in the US, specifically Los Angeles. I felt seen and learned so much - I also appreciate the reading list within the book. Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unforgetting: A Memoir of Family, Migration, Gangs, and Revolution in the Americas []  2020-9-25 18:44

    Lovato deftly weaves El Salvador's complex history of revolution, dirty politics, survival, unfettered violence, and moments of pure grace into his family's own relatable story. He shapes the fragments into a cogent whole with a beating heart. This is THE book on modern El Salvador. On top of all that? It's a page-turner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Homelands: Four Friends, Two Countries, and the Fate of the Great Mexican-American Migration []  2020-1-28 20:14

    This is an often heart-rendering tale and illuminating history lesson written by an award-winning Mexican American journalist of what it feels like to be torn between his two countries, to be alone in a globe where he is trying to assimilate, to feel like a fish out of water at the prominent newspaper where he works, even though he rightly belongs, and to finally meet three men who become lifelong mates who share hopes, dreams, and a common thread that hold them together over the span of decades, like the brothers they never fredo Corchado wonderfully demonstrates with soul and brilliant historical facts the hardship of his own family’s immigration experience and that of his mates and others bringing our current affairs closer to heart and home in his book HOMELANDS: FOUR FRIENDS, TWO COUNTRIES, AND THE FATE OF THE GREAT MEXICAN-AMERICAN MIGRATION.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Homelands: Four Friends, Two Countries, and the Fate of the Great Mexican-American Migration []  2020-1-28 20:14

    Gave to family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Good Provider Is One Who Leaves: One Family and Migration in the 21st Century []  2020-1-25 2:1

    I had to give 5 Stars to this awesome story beautifully written by journalist, Jason MMARYThis real story follows a Filipino family through three generations; chronicling their eventual move from the slums of Manila to a solidly middle class Texas neighborhood. It tells the story of people from emerging nations or third globe nations who leave their spouses and/or kids at home while working abroad in to help their families. A lot of countries have very limited economic opportunities combined a comparatively low cost of living making this option a viable choice. This book explores the effects of this lifestyle on three generations of a family.WHAT I LOVEDThe premise of this book; a study on the economic, social, emotional and psychological impact of separating the breadwinner from their family to work abroad; could be fascinating if written well or it horribly boring if not. Luckily, it was done extremely well. Author, Jason DeParle, created the book more than just facts, he created it a heart felt story about a family. Don't misunderstand, the book was very well researched, and I do feel educated on the topic but it was so much more than ch like true life; some parts of the book are surprising, even a small shocking for middle class American and other parts are a bit mundane and very daily.I love how honest he was about the family members; their faults and strengths, their triumphs and allow downs. If he had created them shiny heroes who never had moments of doubt, the story would not have had this level of credibility. Instead, he portrayed them as true people who missed their children, who often felt lost, who got tired and who left dirty dishes in the sink. They were imperfect yet kept going because they knew being apart from their family was the only method to take care of their family's financial needs. I have extreme respect for this family for being brave enough to begin over in a fresh country, caring for their family in such a selfless manner and for allowing a journalist to follow their family for thirty years.WHAT I DIDN'T LOVEI have to admit, it did create me feel like an over privileged, ungrateful brat. I need to appreciate my middle class life more and the fact the I never had to create that kind of choice. I guess that's not a comment on the readability of the book but more about the likeability of me.OVERALLSuch a well written, sensitive book about a difficult set of choices. It's educational and fascinating glimpse into a timely problem with immigration being on the forefront of the news. I highly recommend it to anyone who has any interest in the subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Good Provider Is One Who Leaves: One Family and Migration in the 21st Century []  2020-1-25 2:1

    The story of the amazing globe migration of the 21st century. Well written and well researched.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Oxford Handbook of Refugee and Forced Migration Studies (Oxford Handbooks) []  2020-1-15 22:55

    This is by far the best textbook on refugee and forced migration studies for readers who are not legal scholars or have non-legal background. A Must-Read for any one who wish to broaden your horizon on these subjects.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Oxford Handbook of Refugee and Forced Migration Studies (Oxford Handbooks) []  2020-1-15 22:56

    HI is the best book is force migration studies... I really recommend it. I have a question if and is similar the kindle version. If i the paperback ver Can I the kindle version????

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Storming the Wall: Climate Change, Migration, and Homeland Security (City Lights Open Media) []  2020-1-15 22:56

    Somewhat interesting. Be aware that this book is heavily influenced by the authors private experience and is as much advocacy for a particular immigration approach as a source of information- Begin borders.- The evil North Americans and EU countries made the climate change and must accept all immigrants, legal or not, as a moral duty.; defending borders is indefensible. Worth reading to hear the perspective but not really useful. An emotional appeal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Departure: Mass Migration from Eastern Europe and the Making of the Free World []  2020-1-26 23:28

    Zahra describes the experiences of Central European emigrants, and the policies of nations that affected those who migrated during the fin de siècle, throughout both Globe Wars, the Cold War, and beyond. Zahra’s intent is to reveal patterns in emigration and immigration policies among Eastern and Western states. Her book contrasts with other historians, who predominantly focus on the quantities of Europeans migrating to the United States. Instead, Zahra locations the focus of The Amazing Departure on the motivations for Europeans to emigrate, the effects that their leaving had on their homeland, and how European governments attempted to prevent emigration from event (6).Zahra reveals a plethora of patterns in emigration policies among European and North American states that emerge in the late nineteenth century and continue to this day. The patterns contain ideas on mobility and freedom, state control of emigration as a means to achieve political goals, the influence of mercantilist ideas, using ethnic groups as scapegoats, and the adjustment of policies in to encourage the immigration of preferred migrants. One of the more interesting patterns is the conflicting view between Eastern and Western powers on what freedom is. To Western states, freedom was inextricably tied to mobility, and was increasingly considered a “human right,” whereas Eastern states “sought to protect the ‘freedom’ of citizens by keeping them at home” (55, 246).Initially, emigration was seen as a major issue for government. Mercantilist philosophies that valued the population as a source of economic and political power, left governments fearful (9). Attempts, such as the of Jewish travel agents in 1889, were created to stop the mass exodus of people (23-24). As it became clear that states could not halt emigration entirely, they began to take a more opportunistic approach by utilizing emigration as a means to serve their goals. Zahra points out that “emigration came to be seen as a potential solution to different social and political problems,” which resulted with several European states developing tactics aimed at encouraging or forcing “undesirable” or “surplus” citizens to leave (10). Some states achieved this through the establishment of penal colonies, while others gave in to rising nationalist trends by attempting to homogenize their population. Ironically, this effort at homogeneity had the side-effect of endowing marginalized communities with increased mobility, and therefore, at least in some sense, increased freedoms (10, 17). In summary, Zahra’s The Amazing Departure is a masterful examination of the patterns of emigration in the modern age.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Departure: Mass Migration from Eastern Europe and the Making of the Free World []  2020-1-26 23:28

    Have fun reading about the immigrants from 1872 about 1900 I'm still reading. My grandfather came from Bohemia in 1882 I search this period of time the most interesting enjoyed the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Departure: Mass Migration from Eastern Europe and the Making of the Free World []  2020-1-26 23:28

    One of the best works regarding the Amazing Migration from Eastern Europe. Lest we should forget where so a lot of of us came from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire of Care: Nursing and Migration in Filipino American History (American Encounters/Global Interactions) []  2020-9-21 18:22

    informative seemed outdated however and a cultural slant seems odd to feel that method and create over 100,000 per year and fill used the author wasnt even a nurse confusing perspective

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unforgetting: A Memoir of Family, Migration, Gangs, and Revolution in the Americas []  2020-9-25 18:44

    I happened on this book after reading the novel American Dirt and disliking it. I wanted to read something by an actual Latinx writer about the heartbreaking and insidiously complex experiences of migrants from Central America and Mexico. This book is by a California-born man of Salvadoran descent. He describes his trips to El Salvador to uncover the truth about massacres of campesinos and indigenous villagers at the hands of U.S. trained and funded death squads. In the process he draws closer to his aged father who shares his traumatic memories of the killings in the 1930s. The point of view jumps around from that time period to the early 1990s and to the show day. One of the most significant episodes of the book, in my opinion, is the revelation of his driver’s identity and background. This vignette is a very strong example of U.S. interference in the region and its not good consequences. Readers may be surprised (or not) to search the current attorney general, William Barr, figuring in the story. You can probably guess what sort of nefarious activity he was engaged in. Overall a compelling read and a very necessary book in these times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unforgetting: A Memoir of Family, Migration, Gangs, and Revolution in the Americas []  2020-9-25 18:44

    "Unforgetting" is a captivating memoir that takes us on an wonderful journey. Through his lived experiences as a son of Salvadoran immigrants and an accomplished writer, educator and activist, Roberto Lovato chronicles the special history of El Salvador, his family, and role that extreme poverty, political violence, and U.S.-backed military dictatorships played in forcing a lot of Central American immigrants to migrate north into the United States. In this big-hearted book, Lovato weaves together a rich, textured narrative, capturing the human suffering that his family and the Salvadoran people endured for decades and also their deep love, courage and steadfast commitment to revolutionary change and social and economic justice. Through his lyrical voice and memorable lived experiences, he has given us a strong and special story that needs to be told and never forgotten, not ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unforgetting: A Memoir of Family, Migration, Gangs, and Revolution in the Americas []  2020-9-25 18:44

    As a high school child I would ask my family to take me to bookstores while on summer trips to El Salvador, whether it was La Ceiba or the bookstore at the UCA campus, eager to obtain my hands on history books on the civil war, 1932, or Monseñor. I wanted to obtain more of a context for the stories I had heard from my relatives. I found a few along the way, but what I noticed was that most were beautiful dry academic texts. The color was missing, I couldn’t see the scenes inside my head. The information was there, yet still slightly out of ing “Unforgetting” was another type of experience. Not only do you obtain a crash course in Salvadoran history in the 20th Century, but you obtain a social, personal, and familial context for each time period described in the book.I could see parallels to my own family: broken families, hijos ilegítimos, indigenismo and the erasure of our roots and identity during Martínez, as well as the strength of matriarchs, the resilience of our people to hold moving forward and search stability whether within or outside El Salvador’s is book is an invitation to meditate on the fact that our lives are impacted by actions and decisions and happenings that transpired well before our own births, and how by looking back and “unforgetting” them, we can heal, grow, understand ourselves and our loved ones better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Oxford Handbook of Refugee and Forced Migration Studies (Oxford Handbooks) []  2020-1-15 22:56

    Perfect info - much website specific which is actually a plus as each situation for refugees is different. Well written, amazing basis for those working in the field

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Storming the Wall: Climate Change, Migration, and Homeland Security (City Lights Open Media) []  2020-1-15 22:56

    I assigned this book in my undergraduate class on immigration. Without exception, students loved it. Concise, fact- filled, beautifully argued. A special perspective on immigration and the sobering reality that while some in DC claim it a farce, the military recognizes climate change as a true and show danger on the border and beyond. Miller a fresh, nuanced and special perspective, one where climate change, political and economic policies and social history collide, creating a complex landscape where the not good have few options and walls are not solutions. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Storming the Wall: Climate Change, Migration, and Homeland Security (City Lights Open Media) []  2020-1-15 22:56

    It’s challenging reading because what is event is so distressing but well written and worth it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The California Gold Rush: Chinese Laborers in America (1848-1882) (Spotlight on Immigration and Migration) []  2020-1-16 8:44

    Be forewarned, this is barely 25 pages long with extra-large typeface. Even as a children's history, it's beautiful thin, and expensive for what it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Good Provider Is One Who Leaves: One Family and Migration in the 21st Century []  2020-1-25 2:1

    This is a book anyone who has any interests in the pros and cons of migration should read. It causes the reader to take his nose “off the screen” and view the concept of migrant down through history from a lens at a greater distance. The first part of the book chronicles an extended family in the Philippines, going back several generations, then forward 20-25 years until one family member finally makes it to the US. The second half looks more quantitatively at migration. It has caused me to think about the need for As well as the effects of migration across the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Good Provider Is One Who Leaves: One Family and Migration in the 21st Century []  2020-1-25 2:1

    DeParle [email protected]#$%! a raw nerve for OFWs in the Philippines. His writing is engaging - emotionally and politically. Well researched and best of all, as true as it gets. Not everyone gets a satisfied ending in life, and this one just makes you realize that the globe will always give us a Goliath to bring out the David in us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Homelands: Four Friends, Two Countries, and the Fate of the Great Mexican-American Migration []  2020-1-28 20:14

    Alfredo Corchado has written movingly about his find for home. A lot of people struggle to search their put in the globe and feel they don't fit anywhere. Born in Mexico but raised in the United States, Corchado first believes his issue is geography. Over a lot of years, toggling between the two countries, he can't escape the fact that both Mexico and the United States are inside him. He actually feels most Mexican while spending time with mates in Philadelphia. Those mates - three various personalities from very various backgrounds - form the backbone of the story. I found myself rooting for all four men to succeed, understanding that "success" means four various things. Mostly I wanted Corchado, who I've known and admired since he was a young reporter, to search his dream, and his home. He tells the story as an immigrant saga across the generations, complete with a skilled reporter's view of the history and politics of immigration, but ultimately this is the story of a amazing child who grew into a amazing man trying to search his put in the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Homelands: Four Friends, Two Countries, and the Fate of the Great Mexican-American Migration []  2020-1-28 20:14

    Spoiler alert: Politically ChargedEste vato le pone mucha crema a sus tacos. Typical story of how a person takes everything for granted in the United States and has allegiance to Mexico. Wanted more from the author. It reinforced the notion I was hoping it would dispel. That certain people will never be satisfied with the United States unless it becomes Mexico, and that Mexico is the victim of US oppression. Y tambien se hace como que toda la Raza no mas son Santos y Los americanos se quieren aprovecharse de ellos. Some cool stories, and interesting behind the scenes history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Departure: Mass Migration from Eastern Europe and the Making of the Free World []  2020-1-26 23:28

    It reminded me so much of the neighborhood that I grew up in! The memories of the various languages that were spoken and all of the various foods that were shared in our neighborhood will always remain with me. Thanks you for the perfect book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Human Migration: Investigate the Global Journey of Humankind (Inquire and Investigate) []  2020-7-23 20:35

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unforgetting: A Memoir of Family, Migration, Gangs, and Revolution in the Americas []  2020-9-25 18:44

    This is an wonderful book. Roberto Lovato deftly weaves together history and memoir into a moving story of trauma, healing, redemption, and survival. This is a book full of history, but it is also a page turner. I read it in one weekend. I felt like I was with the writer walking the roads of San Salvador, the Mission in San Francisco, and Los Angeles. It should be needed reading for anyone interested in understanding El Salvador and the impact of United States policy on El Salvador (and everyone should be interested). This is definitely one of the best books I've read this year.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386