Read theoretical physics for biological systems reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all theoretical physics for biological systems reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Molecular Biophysics (Biological and Medical Physics, Biomedical Engineering) []  2020-6-11 18:47

    Theoretical Molecular BiophysicsSpringer Berlin Fresh York, HeidelbergJoseph J Grenier MD PhDThis is a amazing text deriving formulae of interest to Biophysicists, students of mathematics, fellows, and theoretical physicists. The dynamic predicate calculus and differential forms inc. Kramer’s Rules and Theorems are defined and further developed in sequential linear theory. This book is advanced and confusing for the average physics scientists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Statistical Physics for Biological Matter (Graduate Texts in Physics) []  2020-11-30 18:37

    I took a few courses from the author so my review might be is book covers necessary Statistical physical concepts for the understanding of a lot of biological processes with the emphasis of a coherent presentation of them. Even though this book covers a lot the presentation is fairly thorough (of course not complete).Compare to most of the textbook on biological physics (or biophysics), this book is more advanced with more focused on physics. I believe this book would be a useful reference for graduate students and researchers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Statistical Physics for Biological Matter (Graduate Texts in Physics) []  2020-5-23 18:13

    I took a few courses from the author so my review might be is book covers necessary Statistical physical concepts for the understanding of a lot of biological processes with the emphasis of a coherent presentation of them. Even though this book covers a lot the presentation is fairly thorough (of course not complete).Compare to most of the textbook on biological physics (or biophysics), this book is more advanced with more focused on physics. I believe this book would be a useful reference for graduate students and researchers.

    0  


    Add your opinion on theoretical physics for biological systems or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Geometry and Mathematical Physics: Part I. Manifolds, Lie Groups and Hamiltonian Systems (Theoretical and Mathematical Physics) []  2020-7-5 18:49

    This is a thorough summary of the topics in the title. As the back cover says, it is written in thestyle of a mathematics text, that is, lots of proofs, examples, and exercises. Of course there are textswhich would obtain the physicist up to speed in a less complete coverage. But this is a book to work throughand hold as a reference when it comes to the fine details, all the conditions and restrictions that keep whenapplying the methods. Moreover, there is a generous supply of footnotes which point to easily accessible references for still more info and depth. I look forward eagerly to the next volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Hydrodynamics (Dover Books on Physics) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    As soon as I required to create use of this book I found how amazing it was at its explanantions and even for a novice in the zone it was well written and clear. Somehwat old now but nonetheless a solid introduction to hydrodynamics in the tradition of Lamb. It sits well next to that beacon of fluid mechanics Batchelor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics (Classical Theoretical Physics) []  2020-2-6 22:19

    It would be wrong to give it a five star rating, since it has too a lot of elementary misgivings: There are inconsistencies in the notation, it's plagued with typos, and it doesn't give a list of extra problems, and references. On the other hand, its virtues highly compensate them. The book is very simple to read in general, provides a wide collection of examples and solved problems, and is an perfect introduction to statistical mechanics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Hydrodynamics (Dover Books on Physics) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Milne-Thomson's text is a about 40 years more latest than Lamb's Hydrodynamics, and I think it is slightly superior (but only slightly). The notation is a small more compatible with that used in more modern texts, and the text, while still laid out in the "short article" format, flows a small better than Lamb'ne-Thomson makes a lot of use of the complex variable and complex potential methods, which can be used only for inviscid flow problems. As a result, this book is powerful in air-foil problems, conformal mapping, and high Reynolds number flows, but less powerful in viscous flow regimes. There are also nice sections summarizing notation, vector identities, tensors, Gauss's theorem, Stokes's theorem, Green's theorem and a lot of other useful mathematical tools.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics (Classical Theoretical Physics) []  2020-2-6 22:19

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics (Classical Theoretical Physics) []  2020-2-6 22:19

    A slightly better graduate text is that by Pathria which is in its second edition. It is fairly clear that Greiner has borrowed heavily from Pathria's approach. Greiner's book is more comfortable to look at and read einer does not contain a single reference in this book. I would like to point out that if this were an article submitted to a scientific journal, it would be rejected out of hand for this egregious lack of attribution. This is particularly bothersome with regard to comparing experiment with theory. Mr. Bromley, who wrote the preface, states that these comparisons are a plus for the book. While true, this is hardly unique. Every stat mech book I have quotes experimental results, but the others also cite the reference to the original work. This gives students (and teachers) the ability to look at the experimental work and to obtain the data for themselves, and it gives credit to those who did the work.What could have been a much better text is marred by too a lot of typos and references to incorrect equation numbers. As well, I search that some "derivations", again contrary to a statement by Bromley, are of the "it can be seen that" variety, which is odd in a text which does go into some detail on a lot of things, e.g. the derivation of the partition function for an ideal gas in the microcanonical ensemble. An example of a non-derivation is given in the discussion that follows eqn 7.67 which arbitrarily splits the velocity distribution into 3 multiplicative pieces. Since the huge fresh thing for a student in this topic is the use of probability, it would have been much more appropriate to search the one-dimensional velocity distribution by integrating the 3d distribution over two of the components. There are other locations in the book where the author fails to use this approach. Students search this confusing, I search it inconsistent. As it stands, the formula is correct, but there is not even a tip that it should be derived or questioned.I found the discussion of the purely classical derivation, the semiclassical derivation, and the quantum derivation of different quantities such as the IG partition function to be a bit confusing at times particularly when the Gibbs factor and the quantum correction h^3N were involved, perhaps it is just me. I would search it better if each derivation were given separately with a summary at the end. This would be more helpful, since some of the later derivations, e.g. Maxwell-Boltzmann are essentially classical in nature and could be arrived at from any of the formulas.On the other hand I found Chapter 12 on the Grand Canonical Ensemble to be excellent, especially the discussion of the distribution of occupation numbers on p. 308ff, an necessary subject that is not often discussed in Stat Mech l in all, though, this would be amazing book with a small more care and with an appropriate reference list. If you obtain it, pay attention as you read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics (Classical Theoretical Physics) []  2020-2-6 22:19

    As the book says, it is written for advanced undergraduates and beginning graduate students. I really doubt that it is appropriate for students who first expose themselves with statistical mechanics, even as a reference. This is because the book assumes certain familiarity with quantum mechanics and exposures to different applications like solid state physics and high energy ere are several things that I like about this book. It starts with thermodynamics. Most statistical physics books focus only on statistical mechanics. I think it is necessary to see the linkage with thermodynamics for a physics student. Also, the book discusses quantum statistical mechanics formally using density matrix. The motivation and explanation of density matrix are beautiful well done. This book serves as a amazing follow-up course for undergraduate statistical mechanics in my opinion. And I like the treatment of quantum statistics using canonical ensemble and then switch to the grand canonical ensemble. Such treatment provides a lot of insight, which is usually not well presented in other textbooks.I rate this book 4 stars because I am annoyed by it at the same time. As other people have noted, there are numerous typos. I think that the translation from German to English is problematic. Very often, I feel that the English is not exactly what it really means. Finally, the book provides a lot of so-called examples. But does it? Such examples are discussed as part of the main text in other textbooks. For instance, the derivation of the Planck radiation formula spans like 5 pages and it is called an example. The latest chapter is on the Ising model. Why is the derivation of the 1D Ising model an example? While I appreciate a amazing collection of examples, the examples in this book are not for real, in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Hydrodynamics (Dover Books on Physics) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    I searched a book for students in this field and I search it satisfactory for me. And the shipping was very quick too - there was said that I obtain the book on 22nd November, but I got it on 7th November.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Hydrodynamics (Dover Books on Physics) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Very informative, although the notation takes some getting used to to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Hydrodynamics (Dover Books on Physics) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    A compilation of classic results in the field. Not the book to read for an introduction to the topic but indispensable as a reference. Better than Lamb in my opinion, but if you're going to buy one you should obtain the other.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics (Classical Theoretical Physics) []  2020-2-6 22:19

    Greiner does it again! The authors do an perfect job of setting up the important math and then comprehensively going over the concepts with you. There is a lot of concepts in this text that are given at an introductory to statistical mechanics level for those who did not have an undergraduate course in statistical mechanics. It's relatively low level but it really helps you obtain the basics and it's very readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics (Classical Theoretical Physics) []  2020-2-6 22:19

    I didn't end up using this text as a reference as much as I anticipated I would. I wasn't a large fan of the structure or explanation, but I will be keeping it as a reference anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics (Classical Theoretical Physics) []  2020-2-6 22:19

    A really amazing graduate level text that was useful as a supplement for my stat mech class. Lots of worked examples, would be amazing for self study also. Greiner's field theory book is a amazing one too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Hydrodynamics (Dover Books on Physics) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Thank You

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics (Classical Theoretical Physics) []  2020-2-6 22:19

    It seems like a beautiful amazing textbook. I have read a bunch of chapters and found above-average insight and relevant examples that have been amazing at clearing up confusion. Concepts are clearly explained. What the student may like are the huge number of worked examples. This is invaluable to have when you learn statistical mechanics for the first time. Most of Greiner's books are of a very high pedagogical value. True, there may be similarities with other texts, but hey, it must be difficult to show the same old classical material in a various manner.Just a minor note: his discussion of exact differentials on pp.26-27 is wrong. He claims that curl F = 0 is a important and sufficient condition for f to be exact. It is a important condition, but not sufficient. It is not enough to present that curl F=0. All this shows is that the form is "close" (not exact). To prove that it is exact is a much more difficult task: one must prove that a potential function exists. This subject is covered in a lot of elementary books on differential geometry..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics (Classical Theoretical Physics) []  2020-2-6 22:19

    College Level/ First Year Graduate SchoolThis book , like a lot of others Greiner's outstanding physics volumes, is a Jewel !Clearly written, with examples and solved problems, thoroughly covering the essential material (and much more!)I want the text book had been available when I went to College/Graduate School !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics (Classical Theoretical Physics) []  2020-2-6 22:19

    This book is typical for all books of the Greiner includes lots of solved sample issues scattered throughout the text. It has a readable, nice style but there are a lot of unnecessary typing errors. All in all this is a readable book for beginners but nothing special.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Basis for Nursing []  2020-1-19 23:47

    Thank you for this book. It helped me immensely with my class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Basis for Nursing []  2020-1-19 23:47

    Required for college. Saved cash with this purchase

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Basis for Nursing []  2020-1-19 23:47

    Book cover was folded and torn. For the price, and the fact that it was new, it was inappropriate. I'm blaming the automated picking process,but it wasn't appreciated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Basis for Nursing []  2020-1-19 23:47

    Nursing theory can be a small difficult to grasp. The book does a amazing job of building on knowledge making it clearer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Basis for Nursing []  2020-1-19 23:47

    Exactlly what they said it was!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Basis for Nursing []  2020-1-19 23:47

    While i received by book fast, it did not look new, which is what I paid for. Several pages were wrinkled and folded. The spine and cover looked worn plus there was a black smudge on the cover. If my class hadn’t started already, I would’ve returned it and just bought a used book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Basis for Nursing []  2020-1-19 23:47

    Served its purpose

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Basis for Nursing []  2020-1-19 23:47

    Excellent edition for what I need. saved me bunches of money. very pleased. Also amazing reference book for my future classes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Basis for Nursing []  2020-1-19 23:47

    Bought this because I HAVE to for class otherwise I wouldn't bother. Very liberal and left wing nservative values are overlooked .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Basis for Nursing []  2020-1-19 23:47

    Simple to read, not boring, and well organized. A amazing book for advanced nursing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Monte Carlo Methods for Radiation Transport: Fundamentals and Advanced Topics (Biological and Medical Physics, Biomedical Engineering) []  2020-6-29 18:44

    I was very much looking forward to the content of this book, however Kindle for PC or the method that this eBook was published makes it impossible to read equations and a lot of figures legibly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Monte Carlo Methods for Radiation Transport: Fundamentals and Advanced Topics (Biological and Medical Physics, Biomedical Engineering) []  2020-6-29 18:44

    Amazing book for medical physicists who are interested in the background mathematics of Monte Carlo. There's also a useful chapter on microdosimetry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Biological Physics Student Edition: Energy, Information, Life []  2020-6-28 18:36

    This book is an perfect bonus for your students or young people who are just jumping into the field of biophysics. It is also worth to have one hard copy in the lab so that we can quickly obtain the info or equation anytime. The pictures in the ver are grey. I think the author wants to hold costs low. The amazing thing is that you can search all color figures free online, which is amazing because you can have high-resolution figures for preparing your presentation or reading notes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transport Phenomena in Biological Systems (2nd Edition) []  2020-9-10 18:39

    Not as a lot of examples and notations is not consistent throughout the book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transport Phenomena in Biological Systems (2nd Edition) []  2020-9-10 18:39

    Okay...90% of this book is info that has been around for years and I am just not a fan of the exorbitant price that the publishers extract out of students further burdening them with debt. Further I am thinking this took forever to arrive, but I am not rating based on pathetic service from the vendor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transport Phenomena in Biological Systems (2nd Edition) []  2020-9-10 18:39

    the book was new, but it had a manufacturing issue so I was not happy with that, but couldn't return it because I required it in class. Otherwise, came in time, everything else was as described.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transport Phenomena in Biological Systems (2nd Edition) []  2020-9-10 18:39

    Perfect condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mechanics: Volume 1 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2020-1-25 3:26

    This book is not for someone to learn classical mechanics from. In a nutshell this book shows where the symmetries of physics and the conservation laws come from. This book is not meant to present what happens when you fall off the roof. Symmetries and conservation laws play a huge role in Quantum Mechanics and Quantum Field theory, plus different other branches of l the formulations in this book use Action integrals, the Lagrangian and the Hamiltonian. Learning this book can save a lot of frustration when the things this book covers present up in more advanced physics courses. It is also a amazing reference book to use when the things in this book do present up in later physics courses and you need a amazing explain it the best method I know how, this book is the nuts and bolts of what is going on behind the scenes of physics. Why Newton's equations act they method they do. This book adds the maturity to what you already know about classical mechanics and more advanced st of the physics you take from now on depend on the formulation of the ideas of this book in one method or another. Some of the formulations of QM. depend on the Hamilton-Jacobi equation which this book covers. Simply place this book is the level of maturity you need to be at to move on to more advanced physics is book does an perfect job of covering these topics. It has the solutions to almost all the issues in the book making it the excellent book for self study. This book covers just the right amount of material and no more, so there is no fluff. The book is written in such a style that it is a simple read. It has just the right balance between understanding concepts and the is book is the bridge to the next level of physics. This book gives the right background so in the future you do not memorize a bunch of equations without understanding how they came about. The ideas in this book permeate all of physics, not just Classical me previous exposure to Action integrals, the Lagrangian and the Hamiltonian are really a must. Again this is not a book to learn how to do Mechanics from, but the why, Newtons equations act the method they do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mechanics: Volume 1 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2020-1-25 3:26

    Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Mechanics of Particles and Continua (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-11-20 18:42

    I found it to be full of the mathematics that explains Theoretical Mechanics. It is so hard to search books that can explain the materials in the method that this book can. A lot of books claim to explain this material but they fall short. I highly recommend this book to everyone who wishes to learn theoretical mechanics and particle continua. A lot of claim to respond ones questions but only this book will obtain one to the finish line.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Mechanics of Particles and Continua (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-11-20 18:42

    Amazing quality

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Volume 6 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2021-1-7 21:29

    Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Volume 6 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2021-1-7 21:29

    Witten by "The Landau."Short, dense, packed with info, as you expect after reading the Mechanics text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transport Phenomena in Biological Systems (2nd Edition) []  2020-9-10 18:39

    This book is terrible. There is an errata available but still doesn’t correct all of the errors. I read maybe 5 pages for both of the classes I used this for and it didn’t really help. Sometimes the examples are nice but I’d rather burn this book if I didn’t have to return it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transport Phenomena in Biological Systems (2nd Edition) []  2020-9-10 18:39

    Not terribly simple to understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Mechanics of Particles and Continua (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-11-20 18:42

    This book covers all the main subjects that a mechanics course at the advance undergraduate or graduate level should have and more. It starts with a first chapter on Primary Principles where the authors do a general review about Newtonian mechanics, that is, Newton's laws, angular momentum, energy, conservation laws, center of mass motion, two body motion with a central potential and scattering. Then follows a chapter on Accelerated Coordinate Systems where you encounter things like the Corioly acceleration and centrifugal forces. Chapter three is a delight, it is about Lagrangian Dynamics where you learn a much powerfull formalism than newton's equations to solve issues using the Lagrangian function, learning about virtual displacements and generalized coordinates (also D'Alambert and Hamilton's principle). Chapter four is about Little Oscillations, it is very necessary since here you learn to work with many-particle systems that are use a lot in condense matter physics, the very well known normal coordinates are here introduced. Chapter five is about Rigid Bodies, chapter six is about Hamiltonian Dynamics, this chapter connects very well with chapter three illustrating yet another way to solve mechanics issues by defining canonically momentas for every generalized coordinates and then finding a set of first orders differential equations involving the hamiltonian (as opposed to chapter three where either D'Alambert or Hamilton principle lead to a system of second order differential equations) The hamiltonian is defined as a Legendre transformation of the Lagrangian function, also the Poisson brackets are introduced here and it is even explained how to do the transition between classical and quantum mechanics and also canonical transformations are introduced. This first six chapters create purchasing this book worthwhile but as if this weren't enough there are still another seven chapters more! I will just write their names: 7-Strings, 8-Membranes, 9-Sound waves in fluids, 10-Surface waves on fluids, 11- Heat Conduction, 12-Viscous Fluids and 13-Elastic continua. It also brings 5 appendices. This book is very well written and I always come back to it when I have to remember some mechanics formula or problem to re-study, I say that this book, Landau and Goldstein are the best books you can obtain on classical mechanics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Mechanics of Particles and Continua (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-11-20 18:42

    Amazing fresh book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mechanics: Volume 1 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2020-1-25 3:26

    This book was recommended as a supplimentary text for our mechanics course. This book is 100% better than any other mechanics book I've looked at. The explanations are very clear, especially for non-inertial & rotational reference frames and the derevations for conservation of energy, momenta, and angular momenta (integrals of motion).Includes extensive section on Euler angle derivation and tops. The examples in this text are quite difficult (more difficult than your typical undergraduate text), but they are all solved with partial work, so they are still helpful for studying.Overall a clearly written text with amazing examples and perfect derivations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mechanics: Volume 1 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2020-1-25 3:26

    I like to read this book before bed. That does NOT mean that it is boring! It's rather dense; you might spend 30 mins reading one page. You'll have to think about every sentence in the book because he's explaining some necessary insight. You need to have a amazing background in calculus of variations to even start to read the book. Could have done a better job at canonical transformations but overall far superior to other books on the subject. Definitely not for undergraduates.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Volume 6 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2021-1-7 21:29

    Nice book. Very comprehensive. What else you expect to see from Lanau?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transport Phenomena in Biological Systems (2nd Edition) []  2020-9-10 18:39

    Had to obtain this book for a bioengineering transport class. This book is horrible. While it has interesting background physiology info, it's not good in the engineering classroom. There are few worked examples in the book, and whatever worked examples there are skip a lot of steps. There are a lot of equation derivations, as can be expected from any engineering book, but the explanations are hit-or-misses, and sometimes difficult to grasp the concept of. There are no answers in the back of the book for you to determine if did the issues right or wrong. The respond key available separately includes a ton of errors, or again, skips a lot of steps. Though I thought it would be impossible, the explanations in the respond key are even worse than the ones available in the l in all, I thought this was a not good book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transport Phenomena in Biological Systems (2nd Edition) []  2020-9-10 18:39

    Not poor - amazing examples and solutions manual and no answers to check versus makes it hard to practice with though. So fine if you need it but don't buy it looking for any more examples than the text itself has to offer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Field, Forces and Flows in Biological Systems []  2020-9-3 19:4

    book looks good, but not amazing enough to understand what is going on. I Received the book is amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Field, Forces and Flows in Biological Systems []  2020-9-3 19:4

    Amazing book with a lousy title. Amazing for biophysics of electrolytes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transport Phenomena in Biological Systems (2nd Edition) []  2020-9-10 18:39

    some of the questions are beautiful unreasonable and it doesn't always walk you through certain issues (even for examples); however, i would suggest buying a cheap version, then selling it back during prime buying season because the price is raised significantly since this book is in high demand (ex: i bought it for 110$ used, sold it back for credit for 127$ during the right time)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transport Phenomena in Biological Systems (2nd Edition) []  2020-9-10 18:39

    The book's papers are too poor quality. So, I wish either to change or retun the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mechanics: Volume 1 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2020-1-25 3:26

    Previous knowledge required:Multivariable and Vector Calculus (partial and total derivatives, multiple integrals, differential equations, cross and dot products, divergence and curl, vector integral equations), Basics on Tensor Calculus, Calculus of Variations (definition of variation), Linear Algebra (matrix manipulations -addition, multiplication and inversion-, determinants, minors, linear transformations: translations, rotations and reflections), Basics on Classical Mechanics (momentum, angular momentum, energy).Didactical level: 5Mathematical level: 8Mathematical rigurosity: 6Physical rigurosity: 10Physical view: 10Degree of conciseness: 10Level of revision: 10Solved problems: YesProposed problems: NoNote on quantitations:Didactical level: 0 = the author does not care about the reader, he/she just writes for his/her own understanding; 10 = the book is so easily read that almost anybody can learn from it, with nearly no thematical level: 0 = no equations given (book for the layman); 10 = the most advanced mathematical language used for the topic given in the book (book for the higly advanced expert).Mathematical rigurosity: 0 = innacurate exposition of equations (it means, the equations are fine, but the author does not care about any underlying mathematical subtleties); 10 = abstract presentation of equations, with rigorously detailed exposition and demostration of theorems (mathematical book on physics). To give more details: a 6 means a typical book that a Nobel Prize physicist would prefer, and a 10 means a typical book that a Fields Medal mathematician would ysical rigurosity: 0 = divulgative book; 10 = pinpoint detailed description of the physical concepts involved in each situation described in the ysical view: 0 = pure abstract mathematics, with no comments on the underlying physics; 10 = comments on the physical concept that almost every equation of conciseness: 0 = too explicative (or too dry) for its level; 10 = the exact number of equations and comments are given to expound the subject.Level of revision: 0 = no revised at all, full of errors; 10 = meticulously revised, no perceptible mistakes left in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mechanics: Volume 1 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2020-1-25 3:26

    I understand everything, for it’s clearly explained

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mechanics: Volume 1 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2020-1-25 3:26

    Very amazing textbooks if you have learned it before.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Beautiful Invisible: Creativity, imagination, and theoretical physics []  2020-8-23 18:43

    i still hold the 5 stars even i was tempted to reduce it a bit, it's unbelievable read any how, my only issue that i sometimes even suffered when the author finished explaining a physical phenomenon and test to go abstract, my own opinion is that when it gets terribly boring and i never could understand what he wants to say, he uses very strange english all the time which irritated me e part on symmetry is also very vague, compared with my other book readings about the e part on poisson brackets i thought it was unbelievable and l in all i still Love this book and i think it worth reading....thanks for reading my review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Mechanics of Particles and Continua (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-11-20 18:42

    A really superb graduate level classical mechanics and dynamics book. Written by a gifted teacher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Volume 6 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2021-1-7 21:29

    Difficult and dense, but worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Volume 6 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2021-1-7 21:29

    [email protected]#$%z "Course of Theoretical Physics" is, probably, one of the most necessary book series on theoretical physics.If you can search one printed in Britain, better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mechanics: Volume 1 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2020-1-25 3:26

    Used this for a graduate classical mechanics course. Imagine and entire semesters worth of graduate level material smashed down into 30 pages of text with forty steps missing from each evaluation. Then drink a half gallon of coffee punch yourself in the face a few times. That's beautiful much what this book offers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic Concepts of String Theory (Theoretical and Mathematical Physics) []  2020-9-21 18:59

    Primary Concepts in String TheoryEd. BlumenhagenSpringer Berlin Heidelberg IntrnationalEd re: Joseph Grenier MD PhD MPHThis is an perfect book on strings with a discussion of confocal and nonconformal strings. 0 dimensional, and mulidimensional concepts with rules and proofs included. There is a complete discussion of begin and closed strings. Supersymmetry and and super graviity is explained. Quantized bosonic and non-bosonic particles is discussed as well. Perturbation and non-peturbation phenomena and particles is explained in major aspects of the textbook. Dirac’s matrix, bracket, and other notation have a major discussion here. This book is primarily for advanced students with applications to advanced and intermediate studies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Mechanics of Particles and Continua (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-11-20 18:42

    I have to use this textbook for a class. The text itself isn't the worst, but the issues are rough. This mismatch is something of an issue; the coverage of material is rather vague compared to the detail of the issues which makes a course based on this text rather frustrating at times. The mechanics texts by Goldstein and Arnold (for those more into mathematics) are superior to Fetter and Walecka while covering most of the same material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Mechanics of Particles and Continua (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-11-20 18:42

    Amazing book! Chock full of equations and explanations of mechanics of particles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Mechanics of Particles and Continua (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-11-20 18:42

    I like this. I used it to complement my Classical Dynamics course which used Goldstein's book. What I really like about this text that it is clear. There are not too a lot of examples, but the few examples presented are complete and informative.I want this text could be extended with extra 200 or 300 pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Volume 6 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2021-1-7 21:29

    Perfect reference book of classical fluid mechanics. Highly recommended text for graduate students of fluid/aerodynamics, fluid mechanicians and applied physicists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Volume 6 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2021-1-7 21:29

    I bought this book as a more advanced introduction to Fluid Dynamics after I had already taken a course in Fluid Dynamics during my early undergraduate career (and forgotten a amazing amount of it). Particularly, I was interested in learning more about turbulent flow, shockwaves, detonation, and more advanced subjects in Fluid Dynamics for a course in the theory of supernovae. This book excellently and thoroughly covers these subjects both in a mathematically sound and perfect way, as well as well-describing the phenomenology behind the explained topics. The book is simply, excellent, and most of the reviewers have already commented on the advantages of having a book that references thermodynamics very early on, that has solved example problems, and it covers a large breadth of subjects in perfect detail.I would not recommend this textbook to an undergraduate trying to learn fluid dynamics for the first time, unless they were very thorough and advanced in their coursework (probably a senior or junior level undergraduate looking to go on to study physics in graduate school). Perfect reference, perfect pedagogical writing style. I cannot say anything poor about this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mechanics: Volume 1 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2020-1-25 3:26

    Arguably, everything that could possibly be said about the L&L textbook on classical mechanics (L&L-I for short) have already been said here in these reviews and elsewhere. But I would like to add my voice to the crowd that really likes this textbook.I am fond of classical mechanics, and I keep a host of "classics" in the field in my private library: L&L-I, Goldstein, Kibble, Siegel & Moser, Sommerfeld, Arnold, Lanczos, Whittaker, and Mach, besides some general relativity texts (you may be missing Abraham & Marsden and Gallavotti's "The Elements of Mechanics" from the list, but I am not -- I miss the exquisite text by Sudarshan & Mukunda). In every one of these texts I can search something that I dislike---excessive rigour, lack of figures, verbosity, crazy exercises, etc. (sometimes in combination...)---, but I can hardly search any fault in L&e choice of subjects in L&L-I is just exactly (imho) what a working physicist must know by heart. Some complain that it does not deal adequately with nonlinear dynamics, chaos, etc., but this critique is unfair: the book does not cover all you may wish know about classical mechanics, but definitely covers everything you *must* know about classical mechanics. Moreover, it was written ~70 years ago, method before the "chaos revival" of the 1980'cently, I came across at the library with a small book that I found well written, concise, rigorous, and with a very nice blend of classical and modern subjects: "Lagrangian and Hamiltonian Mechanics," by M. G. Calkin. Nowadays, if I had to teach a second course on classical mechanics for undergraduates I would use L&L I + Calkin (despite the somewhat picky review by Robert Weinstock on Calkin's textbook on Am. J. Phys. 66(3), 261-262 (1998)].P.S.: The printing quality is very uneven and disappointing. Some of the smaller printing (in the exercises) is barely readable. The book is not a cheap $9.99 paperback, so the puny printing quality is unacceptable. Guess what: printed and bound in China... I will feel lucky if the ink does not include lead, mercury, wasted nuclear material, etc. Attention, editorial houses: come printing your books in Brazil!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mechanics: Volume 1 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2020-1-25 3:26

    First, I completely concur with all those who have suggested that this book is the pinnacle of mechanics. I have a copy of the soft-cover text that I have read (and reread) for years. "Brilliant" doesn't do it justice. If you are serious about understanding classical mechanics and seeing the connections between classical and modern physics, this concise text is a must-read.Loving the text as I do, I was excited to obtain a copy for Kindle. I justified the expense (on a book I already own) by noting the aging, dog-eared, well used hero of my physical copy. How sadly disappointed I was with the purchase. While essentially the same as the original, the production of the Kindle edition uses odd type faces for the Greek/scientific notation that is inline (which is distracting and annoying to test to parse). Equations are simply scanned copies from the original (scalable vector equations would have been too much trouble, I guess). While this could have been OK, the publisher chose to scan the figures in grayscale (instead of b/w) and to do it at a remarkably low resolution. The effect is that the equations are often too little to read inline with the text and zooming them just give you a larger, fuzzier version. Really less than ideal. In fact, I would say the production values on this one are the worse that I have seen for a mathematical/physics text on Kindle. So sad that this should be done to such an outstanding 5 stars for the book, 1 for the kindle edition -> 3 stars overall.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Beautiful Invisible: Creativity, imagination, and theoretical physics []  2020-8-23 18:43

    This is a unbelievable book that I believe should be a must read for all physicists. In this book, Giovanni Vignale chronicles an epic journey that began a few centuries ago, and continues to the show day, to understand a science within a science, theoretical physics. Vignale compares this with poetry and proceeds to explain the success of this science, and eulogizes its major players, ancient and modern. Being a theoretical physicist all my life, I was always conscious of our role as someone unraveling the laws of nature by pure intellect. However, my dream is now shattered by Vignale's claim that the success of a theory at explaining or predicting the facts in no method proves the objective reality of that theory! According to him, it merely reflects our intellectual ability to explain the tailored reality that we want to focus on. However, it is not as poor as it sounds, because he thinks that a successful theory actually transcends nature. It does that by creating abstract models where we use our preconceived notions about which aspect of reality should be discarded and what should be retained. His method of describing the glories of theoretical physics is unorthodox. While there are the usual heroes, Boltzmann, Heisenberg, Dirac, Maxwell, the DNA double helix (a theoretical masterpiece), quantum mechanics, etc., we also obtain to learn about the evil teacher Drona from Mahabharata, Zeno's paradox, Buridan'[email protected]#$%, and about Alice and Eve from quantum cryptography. It is mesmerizing how Vignale makes a smooth transition from one to the other. ogies with poetry are everywhere in the book. Whoever thought of `duality' in quantum theory expressed in a Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam! This book excels while most others fail, by not composing a requiem in memory of all the dead heroes, but rather by creating an anthology of verse and prose that goes beyond the endless praise of a few individuals. In today's mean globe of h-index, and the angry rush to publish in `high impact factor' journals, it is reassuring to realize that the inner beauty of theoretical physics, so profoundly portrayed by Vignale, and the pioneering contributions of all the practitioners past and show (often not appreciated in their times) and their timeless, brilliant ideas, were not touched by this numerical madness. Some of those pioneers were quirky, but for other reasons: Boltzmann killed himself and Demokritos plucked out his eyes to be able to think more clearly. But they were spared the agonies of obsessively hopping from one conference to another to be able to sell their ideas!The prose in this book is simply delightful and engaging. Allow me conclude (apologies to Omar Khayyam) with the following:The moving finger writes; and having writ,Weaves a unbelievable tale that adds witTo the triumphs and tribulations of theorists over centuries,For bright minds everywhere to be inspired by it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Mechanics of Particles and Continua (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-11-20 18:42

    Amazing book for mechanics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Theoretical Mechanics of Particles and Continua (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-11-20 18:42

    Perfect,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Volume 6 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2021-1-7 21:29

    Landau was the master of Russian physics, his collection of books is fantastic. I have all his books in Italian language, but this one was never translated, so I bought it in English. Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Volume 6 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2021-1-7 21:29

    The book is often cited by other authors of fluid mechanics and explosion/shock wave work which is why I bought it. It makes a amazing reference book, yet is probably not the best choice for an introductory course. It is very complete in its development of subjects and the problems/examples are all solved in straight forward approaches.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Volume 6 (Course of Theoretical Physics S) []  2021-1-7 21:29

    like the other books of this series a amazing book full of facinating thoughts and calculations. though it is very dense and the nomencature is various from the usual. one of the huge values of the book lies in the fact that it gives a physics point of view on a typically more engineering type field

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quantum Physics, Mini Black Holes, and the Multiverse: Debunking Common Misconceptions in Theoretical Physics (Multiversal Journeys) []  2020-7-7 18:59

    I was intrigued by the title of this book. It drew my interest because, as a non-scientist, I thought my understanding of some basics, especially in quantum theory, was “off” in ways a book like this could fix. I think I’m one of those readers who probably knows enough to obtain things interestingly at itch was definitely scratched in the first section of the book, on misconceptions in quantum physics. The other two sections appealed less to me, I have to admit. Those dealt respectively with misconceptions about particles and spacetime, and with misconceptions about multiverse theory. But really they also concern various kinds of misconceptions as well.Each section is written by a various author. The first, by Bill Poirier, who does research in physical chemistry, as I said scratched the itch I came to the book with. I found Poirier to be a very lucid writer about difficult topics.Poirier adopts an interesting strategy. He upholds the “weirdness” of the quantum globe — such things as objective indeterminacy and nonlocality or “spooky action at a distance” (in Einstein’s terms). He sticks to conceptual terms, and I think he succeeds beautiful impressively.I understood much more, for example, about “spooky action at a distance” (a phenomenon by which particles at distant areas may have “entangled” or dynamically coordinated attributes even when the distances between them preclude any sort of causal interactions). Poirier nicely set up the punchline about this with a previous discussion correcting the misconception that the quantum wave function refers to individual particles. You might even create your own inferences about how “spooky action at a distance” might work before you even obtain to the explicit discussion in the following chapter.Poirier’s discussion refined my understanding of the subjects he discussed — I certainly don’t understand everything I would like to understand, but I’ve moved forward. Without the math, you can certainly miss a lot, and even obtain a small lost, as in understanding interference patterns in the double slit experiment. As with all three authors, Poirier provides an appendix with more technical (i.e., more mathematically dense) material as well as suggestions for going farther on your own.I don’t think I profited as much from my reading of the other two sections. The second one, written by John Terning (a particle physicist at UC Davis), concerns misconceptions about particles and spacetime. Poirier, I thought, focused on misconceptions that scientists themselves have made, as well as people like me trying to understand physics and cosmology but falling into mistakes that seemed reasonable. Terning starts out similarly, with a discussion of what “particles” are, correcting the tendency to think of them as “tiny small balls”. But then he progresses on to exaggerated media claims, such as that, “The Higgs Boson could wipe out the Universe.”I don’t know that I mean to criticize Terning on that point — he is exposing and correcting miconceptions (he even takes on the claim that cell phones can cause brain damage), but they are just of a various sort than the ones I was looking to correct in my own criticism I will make, though, about the construction of the book itself, is that, given that the subjects of the three sections overlap (e.g., particles in the second section with quantum physics in the first), it would have been nice to see tighter integration of the writing such that, for instance, the discussion of what particles are in the second section referred specifically back to discussions of the wave function and uncertainty in the first section. It’s not that the sections are inconsistent, only that they don’t build pedagogically upon one another as much as they e third section, misconceptions about multiverse theory, is more a defense of multiverse theory than a correction of misconceptions per se. The author, Yasunori Nomura, is a cosmologist and physicist with amazing technical and speculative credentials in quantum and cosmological theory. Multiverse theory is often attacked as lacking scientific rigor, particularly lacking critical testable observational mura defends the theory, citing observational motivations drawn from considerations about the fittingness of the observed universe to complex structure (including smart life, e.g, us), and theoretical motivations drawing from string theory and current approaches to resolving purely theoretical conundrums in quantum gravity.I think Nomura’s comments here are part of a much broader debate, rather than a correction of some primary misconceptions in understanding modern physics. He touches on a number of highly controversial topics, including the relationship between theory and observation, the cosmological anthropic, and the role of mathematical reasoning in scientific theorizing. I think readers would do well to research that broader debate and understand more about why Nomura’s enemies think what they think — this is some amazing items that deserves more than the 30 or so pages we obtain here.Overall, I’m certainly glad I read the book, especially the first section, as it addressed the kind of misconceptions I was most concerned about — where I could advance beyond some of my own questions and mistakes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quantum Physics, Mini Black Holes, and the Multiverse: Debunking Common Misconceptions in Theoretical Physics (Multiversal Journeys) []  2020-7-7 18:59

    Bill Poirier taught physical chemistry (thermodynamics) at my university. I loved his course. He has a amazing method of clarifying elusive concepts, and this book is no exception. Do yourself a favor and pick it up. My only complaint is the actual size of the book. The dimensions are related to a huge text book, only not as thick. This makes it a small bersome for casual reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Self-Organization in Biological Systems (Princeton Studies in Complexity) []  2020-7-5 18:45

    A very amazing read. Enjoyed every chapter. No complaints!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Self-Organization in Biological Systems (Princeton Studies in Complexity) []  2020-7-5 18:45

    Wow, it looks dense! Binding looks sturdy and the pages look to be created of thick enough paper that my scribblings wont leak through the pages!I want there was an e book ver I ould have gotten though, my eyes are just not what they once were, and I admit to having really gotten addicted to the increase font function on computers and e readers!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Self-Organization in Biological Systems (Princeton Studies in Complexity) []  2020-7-5 18:45

    I buy a used book, but I cannot search out any difference with a fresh one!The shipment was much quicker than I expect. It was supposed to be delivered with 6 week, but I got it within 2 weeks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Self-Organization in Biological Systems (Princeton Studies in Complexity) []  2020-7-5 18:45

    This book is a unbelievable treatment of self-organization in biological systems (as per title...) The writing is extremely accessible and the case studies very illuminating. One of the amazing virtues of the studies in here is how careful the writers are of making hasty assumptions in modeling complex systems and self-organization. They are explicit about the limitations of each model and the assumptions built into each. I found it to be a very responsible text in a field that has been booming with publications often striding from one hasty assumption to the next.Another property I found very valuable, as someone interested in emergence and complexity in human systems, is the description of other kinds of organizational processes that, while a lot of may not appear in cellular slime molds, may occur more routinely in human society. For instance, one of the chapters on wasps (I believe it was on nest construction) discussed the role of stigmergy (response to work done) in the construction of nests, which would be various than the common multi-agent self-organizing processes assumed for a lot of of the models. This further suggests the intellectually responsible methodology of the authors. Perfect book and a fun read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Self-Organization in Biological Systems (Princeton Studies in Complexity) []  2020-7-5 18:45

    A lot of books containing theory upon theory about self-organization in the biosphere have appeared in latest years. This book could be an necessary catalyst towards putting more of these theories to the test. While it has long been recognized that self-organization could be necessary in biological systems, a lot of of these studies are computational models only. A lot of are very convincing, but unless steps are taken towards verifying these models and scrutinizing their validity, it is very difficult to know whether the theories have any true value towards understanding true e strenght of this book lies in its rigorous introductions to the relevant theoretical concepts in self-organization, followed up by a general debate of self-organization vs competing explanations. The book spends a lot of chapters looking at particular natural phenomena in detail, and examines possibilities for self-organization in these. In spite of the fact that these chapters have various authors, they follow each other well. The book is unusually well place together for this kind of collection of works by multiple e majority of the case study chapters involve studies of social insects, which narrows the subject a small in comparison with the more ambitious title. Self-organization also occurs elsewhere in biology, and personally I am a small dissapointed that a wider range of case studies were not chosen for the book. This could have spawned more interest and further work in other locations of the ever, the book is definitely well worth reading for biologists and other scientists interested in self-organization, and represents a major step towards establishing studies of self-organization in biology as a serious field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Self-Organization in Biological Systems (Princeton Studies in Complexity) []  2020-7-5 18:45

    I strongly agree with everything the reviewer above had to say.... with one caveat. At several points in the text, the authors refer to programs that apparently were available on the web when the book first appeared. If anyone out there knows where that website migrated, you'd be doing the readers of this book a amazing service by letting us know.Otherwise, this is a very interesting text, well worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Theoretical Minimum: What You Need to Know to Start Doing Physics [Book]  2017-12-28 18:0

    This 220 page 6 x 8.5 small text is packed with valuable nuggets, and does NOT shy away from advanced math. This book is based on the famous Stanford, online and YouTube "adult ed" lectures and is targeted at scientists and "amateurs" who missed physics in undergrad but are still T a "popular" physics book with a bunch of fluffy, non substantial speculation about membranes, stings, fractals, superpositioned states and multiple universes! Has real, tough, solid content with a LOT of advanced formulas, including tensors and a lot of partial derivatives. You CAN "get" these with supplemental study, but the pace of the 11 lectures included is quick enough to leave you behind very quickly if you're rusty in math.I teach ordinary differential equations to non engineers at classpros dot com, including Psychologists interested in the recent progress in nonlinear dynamical systems as applied to neurons, behavior, etc. This book is a true GEM as an intro to those topics, without "dumbing down" the content for a "lay" audience.If you love reading populist texts on quantum physics, etc. this unbelievable book will take you all the method from classic upwards, with the requisite math, and will provide a amazing foundation for really getting what's going on in the more advanced areas. Unfortunately, the math will scare lots of folks off, but please, don't be one of them!The 11 lectures included are: 1. Classical Physics, 2. Motion, 3. Dynamics, 4. Multiple Particle Systems, 5. Energy, 6. Least Action Principle, 7. Symmetries and Conservation, 8. Hamiltonian Mechanics, 9. Phase Zone Fluid and Gibbs-Liouville, 10. Poisson Brackets, Angular Momentum, Symmetries, 11. Electric and Magnetic ere also is an appendix on Central Forces and Planetary Orbits and "math interludes" on Trig, Vectors, Integrals and PDE's. NOTE that only classical mechanics are covered here, HOWEVER circular motion and momentum are covered, and if you've seen the "Feynman" approach to QED (QED: The Strange Theory of Light and Matter), you know that even advanced Physics grad students were astonished that Richard was able to use "clock metaphors" and circular momentum to explain Quantum math and mechanics that normally take a grad student 3 years to master!Nothing is covered in a LOT of depth, for example there's small on computational complexity, but the theory of info conservation is touched on briefly as the "most fundamental of all physical laws" -- the cyclic "memory" of where we begin and end!The REALLY COOL thing is that the authors don't talk down to us, they assume that just as "amateurs" can explore fresh stars in Astronomy, non-college types can also create amazing fresh contributions in Physics! No fooling, no tongue in cheek. Seems like a revolutionary view from Stanford types, but perhaps they've seen the future of distributed, non-brick and mortar education for real! At under 20 bucks this is a MUST HAVE even for HS students in my humble opinion. GREAT GIFT for a bright grandchild for their 18th birthday as well! This is such an original math refresher too, that I'm guessing a lot of folks will also use it to brush up on applied math. By page 60 we're already at differential equations-- so hang on to your saddle!Library Picks reviews always buys the books we review and has nothing to do with authors, publishers or Amazon, our focus is exclusively on the ROI of Amazon buyers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Theoretical Minimum: What You Need to Know to Start Doing Physics [Book]  2017-12-28 18:0

    This is, quite frankly, the single best popsci book I've ever read. Most books introducing science to the public talk in ogies, so they're often simplified to the point of being useless and/or wrong.[...]This book, however, doesn't do that. It doesn't shy away from the math. In fact, aside from the first chapter, there's at least one equation on just about every page. Susskind doesn't assume that you know any math, though, so he walks the reader through the math. He teaches the reader how to follow (and if you're a fast study, do) primary derivatives, integrals, and multivariable derivatives/integrals. He makes the actual physics accessible (without being condescending) rather than just giving you the Cliffnotes version.If you only know algebra, and have always wanted to be able to understand classical physics, this is definitely the book to pick up. While the subtitle is inaccurate (it should be "what you need to know to begin following physics" rather than "what you need to know to begin doing physics"), this really is the single best popsci book introducing the lay person to physics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Theoretical Minimum: What You Need to Know to Start Doing Physics [Book]  2017-12-28 18:0

    Be careful what you want for: I wanted a fast and focused trip through all the physics I want I had learned in high school and the book certainly takes you on that tour. However, be prepared to do some more reading on your own as the explanations can be very brief. You always obtain the general point but may not be clear on how to apply it. Example: vector addition is nicely demonstrated and then the author says "can you figure out how to subtract vectors?". Err....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Landau and [email protected]#$%z: Course of Theoretical Physics, Volume 6 []  2019-12-24 20:7

    like the other books of this series a amazing book full of facinating thoughts and calculations. though it is very dense and the nomencature is various from the usual. one of the huge values of the book lies in the fact that it gives a physics point of view on a typically more engineering type field

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Landau and [email protected]#$%z: Course of Theoretical Physics, Volume 6 []  2020-1-9 18:51

    Nice book. Very comprehensive. What else you expect to see from Lanau?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Classical Theory of Fields (COURSE OF THEORETICAL PHYSICS Book 2) []  2020-10-23 18:30

    Landau's approach to Classical Field Theory demonstrates his ability to be clear, concise, and elegant without drowning out the physics with math. I will say, however, that Landau requires a certain maturity to appreciate his style (same goes for Rudin's books of ysis). I would recommend this title to those with a working knowledge of classical E & M, vector/tensor ysis, and of unique relativity. It is also wise to work through the author's Theoretical Mechanics to obtain a taste of their style. I believe, contrary to many, that this book is appropriate for self study if one is willing to do the work (not only the exercises but following along pencil in hand). I suggest reading a passage and then covering it up and then trying to do the derivations by hand. My only complaint is the quality of print, which has is not the fault of the authors. It is especially annoying at first.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Classical Theory of Fields (COURSE OF THEORETICAL PHYSICS Book 2) []  2020-10-23 18:30

    The printing quality is not very good, especially when this book includes so a lot of formulas. Some subscripts are not recognizable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Landau and [email protected]#$%z: Course of Theoretical Physics, Volume 6 []  2020-12-25 20:23

    The book is often cited by other authors of fluid mechanics and explosion/shock wave work which is why I bought it. It makes a amazing reference book, yet is probably not the best choice for an introductory course. It is very complete in its development of subjects and the problems/examples are all solved in straight forward approaches.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Landau and [email protected]#$%z: Course of Theoretical Physics, Volume 6 []  2020-12-25 20:23

    like the other books of this series a amazing book full of facinating thoughts and calculations. though it is very dense and the nomencature is various from the usual. one of the huge values of the book lies in the fact that it gives a physics point of view on a typically more engineering type field

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Landau and [email protected]#$%z: Course of Theoretical Physics, Volume 6 []  2021-2-16 20:20

    The book is often cited by other authors of fluid mechanics and explosion/shock wave work which is why I bought it. It makes a amazing reference book, yet is probably not the best choice for an introductory course. It is very complete in its development of subjects and the problems/examples are all solved in straight forward approaches.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Landau and [email protected]#$%z: Course of Theoretical Physics, Volume 6 []  2021-2-16 20:20

    [email protected]#$%z "Course of Theoretical Physics" is, probably, one of the most necessary book series on theoretical physics.If you can search one printed in Britain, better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Landau and [email protected]#$%z: Course of Theoretical Physics, Volume 6 []  2021-2-17 20:25

    Landau was the master of Russian physics, his collection of books is fantastic. I have all his books in Italian language, but this one was never translated, so I bought it in English. Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Landau and [email protected]#$%z: Course of Theoretical Physics, Volume 6 []  2021-2-17 20:25

    like the other books of this series a amazing book full of facinating thoughts and calculations. though it is very dense and the nomencature is various from the usual. one of the huge values of the book lies in the fact that it gives a physics point of view on a typically more engineering type field

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Mechanics: Landau and [email protected]#$%z: Course of Theoretical Physics, Volume 6 []  2021-1-25 20:16

    Nice book. Very comprehensive. What else you expect to see from Lanau?

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386