Read those who eat like crocodiles reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all those who eat like crocodiles reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Save Us [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    This was an perfect story about one woman and her daughter surviving globe battle two under the most improbable circumstances. It had everything; Lots of amazing descriptions which were true enough to imagine actually being there as an eye witness. There was suspense, intrigue, and anticipation of where the story was going. It all came together very nicely; although, I felt that the ending was anti climatic to the story. I suppose I was looking for a happier ending to a tragic story. It was, however appropriate to the story. The book really stays with you like a song that you can't obtain out of your head. I need to search another book for a follow up to distract me from those who save us. I highly recommend this book ! It is comprehensive and entertaining from begin to finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Save Us [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    What an awesome story this author has told. You love....and hate, the characters.....but your faith in humanity is restored in the final chapters. Set on Germany during nazi reign, the story leaps off the pages. This book is a must read!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Can, Teach []  2020-1-17 19:9

    An perfect book for prospective teachers. It really opens your eyes to what a teaching career involves. I highly recommend this book to anyone considering teaching. It will quickly support you to see whether it's a career you should actually pursue.

    0  


    Add your opinion on those who eat like crocodiles or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Can, Teach []  2020-1-17 19:9

    Very amazing product

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Save Us [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    A new an special look at the part German citizens had in WW2 and it's long lasting consequences. While some descriptions are graphic, perhaps too much so in some cases, in my opinion, the story draws you in to the characters. I do not much like them at first, but then the author helps you to understand them. And then like them. I became invested in their story.I would read another of this authors books

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Can, Teach []  2020-1-17 19:9

    I got this for my "Intro into Education" class. This is okay as far as a textbook goes--of course, method too high priced, but that is the method with any needed text. I thought the authors did a fine job of outlining all the basics of teaching, and found most of the material (especially the case studies) very interesting and thought provoking. The book touched on a lot of topics, including possible pitfalls, legal rulings and court cases, standards, the history of education, job opportunities, professional development, the role of the teacher, educational philosophies, etc. One feature that especially interested me was the TechSource Video clips. I am interested in seeing how other educators manage their classrooms, employ certain techniques, and support their students to succeed. The book did not say how to view these clips at all (or I missed it if it did). Do I need to an additional key card or something to do this? You would think that for the it would be included! Anyway, if anyone knows where I need to go or what I need to do to watch these videos, please allow me know! Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Can, Teach []  2020-1-17 19:9

    Ordered for my college course and it did the job just fine!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Save Us [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    This was a well written novel about an interesting subject. How the German citizens reacted to and lived under the Nazi regime during WWII as well as how the kids of the survivors of that era with their parents actions during the war.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Save Us [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    This book is a excellent blend of history and reality. In essence it is a attractive story about an ugly time. Balance, in telling the story of those stricken by the circumstances of the time and how they with them in both mind and heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Save Us [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    This story is both emotional and historical. The people are so true as to evoke such feelings. The method the author takes you back and forth in time makes the development of the characters and the story itself impossible to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Can, Teach []  2020-1-17 19:9

    Was in amazing quality. Almost like I rented a brand fresh book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Save Us [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    The story of Anna and Trudie, mother and daughter. Set in Germany during the war; then moves to America. The story flips from the mother's story to that of the daughter, back and forth. It was very simple to follow. So much is kept a secret from the daughter but by the end of the story, she hears the truth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Save Us [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Anyone who's interested in historical fiction will obtain attached easily to this book! It feels as if you are there. It was a small slow to start, but awesome after continuing through the introductory chapters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Can, Teach []  2020-1-17 19:9

    Needed book for a class... it’s Awful!!!! The chapters are 50 pages each, they are full of rambling; the questions at the end of each chapter are random and the majority of recommendation and “web sources” don’t exist. Unfortunately you most likely don’t have a choose about needing this book. But warning- it stinks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Can, Teach []  2020-1-17 19:9

    I ordered this because I required it for one of the classes I was in . This arrived on time and was covered in bubble wrap. There were no bends or rips in it so that was amazing ! I would say that it is method too expensive but I guess you will have that with any school book you need .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Can, Teach []  2020-1-17 19:9

    not so much on teaching but more about how to be politically correct

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Save Us [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    There are not a lot of WWWII fiction written from a non-Jewish point of view so this book had a amazing premise of how the Germans lived through the holocaust and WWII. We all know how horribly the Jewish people were treated during this time period but what we don't know is how some daily German citizens felt about the whole thing. This book did a amazing job presenting various reactions from various German citizens, at the end everyone did what they did mainly because they just wish to survive more than anything else. That is why Anna's choices are so simple to understand, survival over morals and dignity. I didn't really care for Trudy's story and would rather the whole book was focused on Anna instead. What really annoyed me was Trudy's indifference toward Jack, her stepfather. He loved her and treated her like his own but because she was so obsessed about discovering her biological father she didn't quite reciprocate the same amount of love(IMO). On the other hand, she didn't seemed too interested in finding out more about Max, her true Jewish father. I understand the curiosity but it seemed like she was ready to love the Oberstrufurher just because she suspected he was her father. The town's treatment of Anna in the beginning is understandable but is quite much after 50 years later, especially they claimed to have respected Jack so much. They practically turned on her the moment he died. We don't forget after 50 years but surely we can forgive after all this time. It was a bit too much to isolate an old lady in her 70s for something she is not directly responsible for. However, I did like the method how Anna slowly opened up about her past towards the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Save Us [Book]  2017-10-13 21:14

    Awesome story, wondrously told. Am still digesting this fabulous book and decelerating from the rude. I can't recommend this book highly enough. Seldom do I read a book a second time, but this will be one. The audiobook ver us globe class as well. I own both the book and audiobook. I will be keeping them both in my library for a very long time to come. Thank you, Jenna Blum, and congratulations for your unbelievable achievement and literary gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Can, Teach []  2020-1-17 19:9

    Used this for a college course

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Can, Teach []  2020-1-17 19:9

    Required for college class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-16 22:11

    I am personally not a huge fan of this book. I think the pages are full of huge thick lined designs and e very page looks just like theast one. Method too much repetition. Love the idea and title but the boat sank

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-31 7:37

    This not only met my expectations, it totally exceeded them. The pictures are wonderful, it's hysterical, and the words present up very well after you're done coloring it. I would recommend this to anyone that needs time to chill.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-16 22:11

    Like others have said, this is nothing but hearts. Which wouldn't be poor if it consistently had obnoxious sayings on each page that went with the theme of eat sht and die. I'm beautiful disappointed overall.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-31 7:37

    I am personally not a huge fan of this book. I think the pages are full of huge thick lined designs and e very page looks just like theast one. Method too much repetition. Love the idea and title but the boat sank

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-31 7:37

    Like others have said, this is nothing but hearts. Which wouldn't be poor if it consistently had obnoxious sayings on each page that went with the theme of eat sht and die. I'm beautiful disappointed overall.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-16 22:11

    Every picture is essentially the same. Was hoping for more variety. First look was not working for this coloring book or I probably would not have purchased it. If you have fun coloring repetitive hearts than this book is for you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-16 22:11

    This not only met my expectations, it totally exceeded them. The pictures are wonderful, it's hysterical, and the words present up very well after you're done coloring it. I would recommend this to anyone that needs time to chill.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-16 22:11

    Awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-31 7:37

    I want the look inside option had worked, when I ordered this. Had I known almost all the pictures where heart candies, I would not have ordered this book. Coloring the same thing over and over, gets boring, VERY boring. I've ordered several of John T's books and it's like he gets one idea and then every picture has the same thing, with various sayings. PLEASE, John...put some dozens in your books. Also, the paper is not the best quality paper. It's kind of thin.I'm sorry, if John T or his fans don't like my review, but I have to be honest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-31 7:37

    Excellent for the grownup who wants to color but does so when she gets @#$%ed off LOL ... I call my brother an @$$ a lot, so I colourful and gave that one to him and he busted out laughing! He created me sign it and said he was going to frame it! This is one of my favorite coloring books now!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-31 7:37

    I like it because you have to color the patterns to create words but the patterns are beautiful much all the same. It got a small boring after a while.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-16 22:11

    I want the look inside option had worked, when I ordered this. Had I known almost all the pictures where heart candies, I would not have ordered this book. Coloring the same thing over and over, gets boring, VERY boring. I've ordered several of John T's books and it's like he gets one idea and then every picture has the same thing, with various sayings. PLEASE, John...put some dozens in your books. Also, the paper is not the best quality paper. It's kind of thin.I'm sorry, if John T or his fans don't like my review, but I have to be honest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-16 22:11

    Excellent for the grownup who wants to color but does so when she gets @#$%ed off LOL ... I call my brother an @$$ a lot, so I colourful and gave that one to him and he busted out laughing! He created me sign it and said he was going to frame it! This is one of my favorite coloring books now!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-31 7:37

    Every picture is essentially the same. Was hoping for more variety. First look was not working for this coloring book or I probably would not have purchased it. If you have fun coloring repetitive hearts than this book is for you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-31 7:37

    Amazing idea, but every single page is basically the same exact thing. Gets very boring after a couple pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-31 7:37

    While I love all my other John T. books, this one really sucks.. I've had it over a year and have only colourful maybe 2 or 3 pages. I hold going back through it,and still can't search anything I like about it.. Quite a disappointment,really had looked forward getting another John T. book as the others have been excellent. Can hardly read the "words" with the method the designs are.. Hate it..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-31 7:37

    Awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-16 22:11

    While I love all my other John T. books, this one really sucks.. I've had it over a year and have only colourful maybe 2 or 3 pages. I hold going back through it,and still can't search anything I like about it.. Quite a disappointment,really had looked forward getting another John T. book as the others have been excellent. Can hardly read the "words" with the method the designs are.. Hate it..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-16 22:11

    I like it because you have to color the patterns to create words but the patterns are beautiful much all the same. It got a small boring after a while.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eat @#$% & Die: An adult coloring book to help you cope with those asshats who try to ruin your day. []  2020-1-16 22:11

    Amazing idea, but every single page is basically the same exact thing. Gets very boring after a couple pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advice to Those Who Stutter []  2019-12-24 19:28

    It is unbelievable that this amazing book is available for people to have on their Kindle. With this book of therapy tip written by therapists who stutter themselves, people who stutter can have it handy to read on the bus, on their lunch break, while waiting at a doctor appointment, etc. Whenever they need encouragement for the day, one chapter is a short read. This book is highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dude Diet: Clean(ish) Food for People Who Like to Eat Dirty []  2020-1-2 18:3

    ***Update: still obsessed with this cookbook. Its so underrated. I feel like people see the title and think its for men only. I would say this is the best cookbook I own ( and I own method to many) I know everyone loves Chrissy Teigens book Cravings, but this is method far I have made:chicken parmstuffed pepperslasagnafish tacosthai chicken meatballsbbq chicken nachosgrilled chicken paillardarugula salad with parmesan, prosciutto and eggidiotproof chicken breastand smoky black bean stew (favorite)I am obsessed with this cookbook. I originally bought it for my boyfriend to encourage him to improve his cooking skills. There are so a lot of amazing recipes in here. Some people commented on the recipes being too complicated, I think it just looks that method because the font is bigger so the list of ingredients looks long but a lot of of the ingredients are things you most likely already have in your kitchen. Her directions are clear and simple to follow. Every single recipe we have made, we loved. Favorites include: stuffed peppers, fish tacos, smoky black bean stew, chicken parm and the BBQ nachos. Also, for years i have struggled with perfecting how to create chicken, it would seem simple but mine somehow always comes out too dry, she has an wonderful idiot proof chicken breast recipe. I would not call this a super healthy cookbook ( ie. if you wish to go on a diet and lose a bunch of weight), but i would say it helps someone who might not eat so healthy to slowly begin to create a few minor and simple changes to create recipes healthier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dude Diet: Clean(ish) Food for People Who Like to Eat Dirty []  2020-1-2 18:3

    This book has exactly the kind of recipes I've been looking for! Don't allow the title fool you, this book isn't just for "dudes." I didn't wish to go on a strict "clean eating" diet (cuz lets be honest, who's amazing at strict diets?) but I really wanted to be healthier. I've tried several out of here so far and all of them have been amazing if not fantastic. The mac n cheese is killer, but the brookies and chocolate chunk cookies are TO DIE FOR! She's got some amazing ideas on how to create items you love just a bit healthier without sacrificing flavor/moisture/etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dude Diet: Clean(ish) Food for People Who Like to Eat Dirty []  2020-1-2 18:3

    Amazing book with tasty recipes. It was a true allow down, however, to see that there is no nutritional information provided. If you’re interested in dieting, knowing what you are eating in regards to fat, protein, carbs, etc. would be very helpful, and it isn’t available with this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dude Diet: Clean(ish) Food for People Who Like to Eat Dirty []  2020-1-2 18:3

    I love to cook and for a long time I’ve wanted to cook my method through an entire cook book. I could never decide on the right one though. I wanted my family to eat a @#$%h healthier and test some fresh things but at the same time I know that trying to serve my meat-and-potatoes family kale salad and butternut squash was just not going to work. A majority of the healthier cookbooks I saw were just too unrealistic for modern families. After researching long and hard for the excellent book I found the Dude Diet. I have created 14 of the recipes so far and every one has been delicious! My family has tried meal we’ve never had before and even found some fresh favorites. It’s been so fun to cook through and I even feel better about the lighter meals I’m serving. I love how Serena takes the favorite foods and adds simple doable twists to lighten them up. Very excited to continue to cook my method through the whole thing! P.S. I admit I’m scared about the [email protected]#$%!ho ;)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dude Diet: Clean(ish) Food for People Who Like to Eat Dirty []  2020-1-2 18:3

    Amazing so far...I have tried the Magic Faux-tisserie Chicken, the Chocolate Chip Banana Pancakes, the Chicken Shawarma with Garlicky Yogurt Sauce, Taco Bell Beef Tacos, & the Cherry Garcia Milkshake. All turned out good. I wouldn’t say it excellent, because to me- anything perfect would be very unhealthy. This book incorporates more healthier variations, which to me- amazing is superb! Because c’mon- healthy being tasty?? Rare.When I a cookbook- it is necessary to me that the amount of ingredients & the directions are clear, meaning they have all been tested before making it into this book. So far, so good- every recipe that I have tried so far has been I guess the amount of stars can go down as I test more recipes, but so far so good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dude Diet: Clean(ish) Food for People Who Like to Eat Dirty []  2020-1-2 18:3

    So I saw this book while randomly scrolling Amazon. I liked the reviews and thought it fit me beautiful much perfectly as a mid 20 something dude who's enjoys an active lifestyle and who's metabolism is slowing down. Naturally, I didn't wish to sacrifice amazing taste and things like buffalo chicken or pasta so this seemed to be the excellent fit. I've probably cooked 5 meals so far and repeated one of them already. Every single one has been better than the last, especially the buffalo chicken salad which I could probably eat once a week. You may have to plan ahead and obtain the ingredients at the shop if you're like me and don't normally have things like cumin on hand. Once you do have some of the ingredients though, they often carry over to other dishes. My girlfriend and I enjoyed cooking all of this together and we even ordered a book for her brother. He now sends us pictures almost everyday of the meals he makes from the book. Her parents liked everything and ordered the book for themselves, too. I would highly recommend to anyone, especially if you're attempting to eat healthier and like to cook various meals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dude Diet: Clean(ish) Food for People Who Like to Eat Dirty []  2020-1-2 18:3

    Deeply satisfying, creative, and simple weeknight meals. That's a difficult combination to pull off, but this book is full of such recipes. Prior to the release of the cookbook, my husband I had been huge fans of Serena's Domesticate Me blog and her awesome recipes. I was a small hesitant to obtain the book, however, since my husband doesn't eat most meat (only fish), and I was worried the book would be too meat-focused to be useful. While it does have a fair amount of meaty recipes, a lot of them we are able to adapt by using fake meat products. But more importantly, the non-meaty recipes create the book more than worth it.Our favorites so far: Crispy Fish Tacos (we have created these at least 10 times!), Southwestern Sweet Potato Salad, Vegetable Soba Noodles with Peanut Sauce, Cheeseburger Quinoa Bake (substitute soy crumbles for beef!), and the Chocolate Almond "Cookie Dough" bites (these are AMAZING!)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dude Diet: Clean(ish) Food for People Who Like to Eat Dirty []  2020-1-2 18:3

    I love rich indulgent gourmet meals, but I'm a busy mom on a budget. I don't have time to go looking for specialty ingrdients. I also need foods that are simple, flavorful, and healthy that the whole family can relate to. This book delivers just that. I have created 4 meals from this book and each one has been better than the last. My 12 year old didn't even realize she was eating quinoa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dude Diet: Clean(ish) Food for People Who Like to Eat Dirty []  2020-1-2 18:3

    Normally, I am satisfied if I search one or two really amazing recipes in a cookbook that really impress is one impressed me, and continues to do so, as I create more and more of the dishes.I have created about a dozen of her recipes so far and they all have been delicious, as well as beautiful easy to create and healthy.I have to admit however that since I have been cooking for 50 plus years, I did simplify a few of her recipes. The broccoli with Fontina cheese is outstanding. However, instead of dirtying up numerous pans and bowls, I just threw the broccoli on a lined baking sheet, drizzled it with olive oil and sprinkled with seasoning salt. Since I am allergic to garlic, I skipped the step of stir-frying the panko bread crumbs with olive oil and garlic. I had the added flavor of the seasoning salt to compensate. About 20 mins into the baking process, I added the panko crumbs and fontina and roasted another 10 minutes. Best broccoli ever! Even leftover it was delicious. However, I had to double the recipe in subsequent dinners in to have leftovers for fast weekday e time and effort she puts into meals will off if you follow her directions exactly, but you can take the same recipes and with a few carefully chosen short cuts even the busiest of families can make her awesome e Roasted Cauliflower with Chimichurri is a champion everyone loved. Sauteed asparagus with bacon, d the Manly Mediterranean Salad, I and served the Jalapeno Cheddar skillet cornbread with e Chicken Shawarma with Garlicky Yogurt Sauce is another winner. The Beef and Broccoli was delicious, fast and far, every single recipe I tried has been a hit with mates and family and will be served again and again. I would give it ten stars if I could.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dude Diet: Clean(ish) Food for People Who Like to Eat Dirty []  2020-1-2 18:3

    I was searching online trying to search a fairly healthy meatloaf recipe when I stumbled on a website that had the Epic Meat Loaf recipe from this book. I did a small research into the book and ended up ordering because my husband is one of those that wish everything deep fried and cheesy, he's not a amazing cook, and we both need to eat healthier. This book is amazing. The first recipe I created was obviously the Epic Meat Loaf ... It was so delicious and my husband upon learning that it had quinoa in it didn't even care because it tasted so good. Since then I have made:- Apple Pie Overnight Oats (a bit sweet but still delicious)- Chocolate Chip Banana Pancakes (I subbed blueberries for the chocolate chips and they were delicious - sort of tasted like a cross between pancackes and french toast. My 7 year old place a small Nutella on them and declared them delicious)- Amped-Up Avocado Toast (this one tastes amazing)- Green God Smoothie (I was making this for me and my daughter asked to test it and loved it - she said she was not sure about it because it was green but it tastes amazing and in her words "a cover is not the book" - Mary Poppins Returns reference there)- Loaded Chicken Enchiladas (so good)- Smoky Black Bean Chicken Stew (another champion - and my husband cooked this one without any support from me)I'll be trying several more recipes this week. I love the method it's written with a bit of irreverence for "Dudes" with general nutrition tips/rules, primary kitchen tools information and some insights into some of the less mainstream ingredients. She's even got sections of recipes geared toward Android game Day Eats and Take Out Favorites. I'm hoping she'll come out with a second book so I can have even more of these amazing recipes to of the other reviewers said these are for eating healthier but not necessarily for losing weight. Maybe not for people who don't need to lose much but for those of us who have farther to go they are a amazing method to obtain healthier and lose weight combined with portion control and exercise. I've lost 3 pounds just this week eating these recipes for a amazing portion of my meals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Dare (Raiding Forces Book 1) []  2020-1-11 19:16

    Those Who Dare by Phil Ward is the first book in a series of novels about British raiding forces in Globe Battle II. Led by Lt. John Randall, an American officer who joined the UK forces early in the war, these brave volunteers engaged in [email protected]#$%!-and-run attacks versus German installations in occupied France. A former cavalry officer, Randall brought guerilla strategies and an American can-do attitude to the buttoned British forces, in the process learning to lead in combat, while at the same time, dealing with his growing affections for the hard core British baroness, herself trained in clandestine warfare, and who is working to elevate the position of women in the hide-bound British is novel is meticulously researched, and the author does a masterful job of weaving actual historical personalities into his fictional narrative. Military info are on the money, and used in such a method that they don’t disrupt the narrative or flow of the book. Characters are fully fleshed out, and the reader comes away from the book with a sense that you ‘know’ them.If you like military fiction, you’ll love this book. While there are some oddities in formatting in the e-book version, they do not detract from the pleasure of reading well-crafted military fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Dare (Raiding Forces Book 1) []  2020-1-11 19:16

    Starts out with the evacuation of Calais and Britain’s darkest hour and then, through hero development, shows the creation of its unique forces. Although its credibility is often stretched to the breaking point it’s a very engrossing tale. Ends with a amazing win for its raiders. It is very early in the battle and nothing amazing is event until this and a few other victories by the lead characters.Engrossing. Couldn’t place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Clover, Vol. 2: Those Who Protect []  2020-1-20 19:16

    Our character Asta has started his journey to become the Wizard King! What awaits him and his companions while they protect the kingdom as Magic Knights?! Evil doers beware, no one who hurts the innocent will escape the Black Bulls mighty judgment.I am so pumped especially since Jump! is so far ahead of these chapters! Oh Oct. can't come quick enough! I'm glad that I also obtain to see Yuno use some more of his magic skills!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Clover, Vol. 2: Those Who Protect []  2020-1-20 19:16

    Really like the direction it's heading

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Toast To Those Who Are Gone []  2020-1-31 9:46

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Wander: America’s Lost Street Kids []  2020-3-29 18:58

    I just really can’t place into words, how deeply I was touched by this book.I come from an abusive childhood and a drug addicted twenties.Wanted to live in the roads when I was 14 to run away from an adopted home. Got caught by police. Never imagine what life has in shop at that age, you just wish to leave. I’m so grateful I did. There is hope and there are people who care for awhile at least, at least back then. Now after 13 years sober and finally with begin eyes I’m grateful for all I went through because as Momo says No one else could have, it would have destroyed most women and men. Thank you for this. I often wonder what would have happened if I would’ve never gotten away from my dad at age 11. Then the adopted home at 14. Would I have been in your book or dead? Thank God for second and third chances and rock bottom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Dare (Raiding Forces Book 1) []  2020-1-11 19:16

    This series of books is interesting. While the writing and plotting could be improved* the background is the best I've run e author really knows the required training and the history of various raids and related attacks. He does change them (for example the raid on a Nazi E-boat to capture an Enigma that was pushed by Ian 007 Fleming never occurred. Phil Ward identifies weaknesses in the plan and uses them in his book. It is fun trying to identify the true operations, how they were changed and those totally created is isn't W.E.B Griffin, although you might think it is. Instead it is much more is isn't Tom Clancy. The solutions aren't high techIn some ways the author who is closest is maybe @#$% Couch, when writing non-fiction. Training, knowing your equipment, careful planning are the keys.* ProblemsWarrior always gets the most attractive women areaWarrior always gets the richest woman in the areaWarrior has unreal luck in every operationHeros never die

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Clover, Vol. 2: Those Who Protect []  2020-1-20 19:16

    I have read the first volume and it was awesome so I didn't expect any less from this one, and it met my expectations. Amazing job "Taba-Chan".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Clover, Vol. 2: Those Who Protect []  2020-1-20 19:16

    I love it:)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Wander: America’s Lost Street Kids []  2020-3-29 18:58

    This is a long journalistic story. I don't remember if it was considered a nonfiction book or not, but it is not. There are notes, but limited and primarily newspaper articles. NO parallel events, details, time, or much to create the story real. Two impressions that I read over and over again.1) It's the fault of the parents/guardians and drugs. Definitely not the kids; save them! 2) We as a society must support Ho never learned after all her effort and risk-taking that only the "lost road kids" can support themselves change when they are ready.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Toast To Those Who Are Gone []  2020-1-31 9:46

    It's ridiculous how amazing these demos and unreleased tracks are! Even Phil's so called second string offerings were top notch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Dare (Raiding Forces Book 1) []  2020-1-11 19:16

    An "I love it" 5 stars might be a bit strong, but I have no hesitation in giving it 4.5 stars, as I did quite have fun ught this on a whim and was glad I did. The author has definitely done his research and manages to sneak a lot of arcane period knowledge into his book without being overtly lectorial about it.I have never been in the Troops or Navy and so have absolutely no clue (zero... nada...) as to the veracity of his scenarios between officers and enlisted men, but I am a Brit and so imagine I can - to a fair degree - extrapolate past my "modern" sensibilities to take in the 1940s atmosphere he creates. Much of what he presents regarding the aristocracy and their military bearing rings very true, in fact, he rather underplays it...I have read a staggering amount of books on WWII and this author manages the neat trick of providing a view of the battle I haven't encountered. Yes, it has its share of silliness on occasion, but take that with a grain of salt. Overall, I think he presents far more of the truth than you would imagine. If ever an adage were real regarding this topic it is most certainly " Truth is stranger than fiction."Just one example; when Browning tried to interest the British troops into buying the Thompson submachine gun, a demonstration was arranged and Churchill showed up. He was wearing a pinstripe suit and sporting, of course, an ever-present cigar. He couldn't resist firing one himself and a image was taking of him holding the gun and chomping on his cigar. The Germans used this iconic image in their propaganda to portray Churchill as a Chicago-style St. Valentine's Day gangster! (I think he knew exactly what he was doing when he allowed that picture to be taken.) No possibility of catching Obama like that...As I said, I really enjoyed the author's portrayal of the atmosphere of the time. I will be reading his subsequent books. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Dare (Raiding Forces Book 1) []  2020-1-11 19:16

    Really enjoyed this book. Set in Globe Battle II. The characters were interesting and it held my attention. One of the best things is that there was no cursing. I was concerned when I started the book just by the subject and never reading any of this author's works before. It's nice to see that there are still authors who can write an interesting book regardless of the subject and not have to insert all the poor ere is also a small hidden romance along with the action of the war. Would recommend this book to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Clover, Vol. 2: Those Who Protect []  2020-1-20 19:16

    Satisfied with it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Clover, Vol. 2: Those Who Protect []  2020-1-20 19:16

    Really enjoyed this action paced volume. The only issue I have with this volume is that it ends rather abruptly. Typically it would be nice if each volume covers an arc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Toast To Those Who Are Gone []  2020-1-31 9:46

    A Toast To Those Who Are Gone is a collection of demos recorded during 1963/4 and 1965/6. The songs are a unbelievable reminder of the importance of Phil Ochs as a songwriter and performer in the 1960s. A lot of of the songs focus on themes of racial segregation and civil rights with Ochs passionately highlighting the brutality of American society on songs like William Moore, Colourful Town, Ballad of Oxford and Going Down To il's compassion, and wit are to the fore on the tale of the rise and fall of an entrepeneur, Billy Sol;in the attractive song supporting the striking Hazard miners, No Christmas In Kentucky, and in the classic anti- death penalty song of Paul idst songs of genuine social significance there are pop gems like the Song of My Returning and the e cd also includes arguably the saddest song in the world, I'm st of this cd is upbeat, at times full of a spirit of crusade. While a lot of of his contemporaries wrote abstract songs relating to the sixties quest for private enlightenment, Ochs mostly focussed on contemporary social problems and he remains arguably the most necessary political/social voice of his is cd also includes some of the most attractive singing ever to be found in a 'folk/protest/pop'genre.A Toast is a very fine introduction to the early period songs of the brilliant Phil Ochs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Wander: America’s Lost Street Kids []  2020-3-29 18:58

    As the author admits, there's much "information" in this book that can never be verified. So let's begin with what can be. In October, 2015, three young people murdered and robbed 23-year-old Audrey Carey In San Francisco. Then they moved north into Marin County. They were headed to Oregon, but first they required to steal a car. For a victim, they chose 67-year-old Steve Carter, who was returning to his vehicle after walking his dog. They shot and killed Carter and wounded his dog, then started north in his car.Haze Lampley was 26, his girlfriend Lila Alligood was 18, and their recently acquired mate was 25-year-old Sean Angold. Lampley's family owned land in rural Oregon and he intended to settle down and grow pot, but they never got there. They stopped at a Catholic Church in Portland which runs a dining hall and showers for the homeless, the GPS on Steve Carter's vehicle alerted police, and they were arrested and charged with is the norm, each one claimed innocence and blamed the killings on the others. Angold turned state's evidence and received a reduced sentence for doing so. Lampley was sentenced to 100 years in prison and Alligood to 50. A fresh California law now allows for earlier parole hearings. Lampley could be released in his fifties; Alligood as early as e author was a young, naive reporter at the time of the murders. A product of a loving, stable home and a latest transplant from Fresh England, she was intrigued by the "street people" culture of San Francisco and the conflicting emotions it arouses in those who live there. Some feel the presence of eccentrics and spirits adds to the color and excitement of the city. Some pity those who everyday with the danger and hardships of living on the street. Some see the homeless as lazy and dangerous, making the town a put they no longer wish to live. And the majority swing from one feeling to the other, just as most of us ught up in the story of the murders, the young woman threw herself into researching the lives of Haze Lampley and Lila Alligood, trying to figure out what created them what they are. For some reason, she tells nothing about Sean Angold. He is despised by his mates and their families for being a "snitch." Does the author share that feeling or was there some other reason she didn't focus more on Angold? We never learn.I was surprised that she uses the term "street kids" for all homeless people, regardless of age. She cites a study that shows 7,500 homeless people in San Francisco, with 1/3 under the age of 30 and 1/2 under the age of 40. That means that half of them are 40 or older, but in this book they're ALL "dirty kids" who live on the street. The managers of shelters and support centers she interviews vigorously deny that any of these people are homeless by choice. According to them, all homeless have fled abusive families and turned to drugs to with the pain of their childhoods. Ms. Ho accepts this mantra mpley's story (early childhood with a drug-addicted mother, then a stint with an abusive father) seems to bear this out. But further investigation shows that his tales are as full of holes as Swiss cheese. On the other hand, Alligood was undeniably a kid of privilege, attending a prestigious personal school in Hawaii, from which she was expelled for drugs. When her mother tried to relocate the family to support her daughter, Lila ran away. She and others the author interviewed WERE on the road by choice.I was irritated by the constant use of "kids" (which implies no responsibility) but I have to admit that all of the people she interviewed (young and old) have one thing in common - they share the "teenager" mentality that all parents and teachers recognize. They feel invincible and pride themselves on taking risks. They resent rules and authority. They have unrealistic ideas about what they're entitled to and what's likely to be in their futures. They're reluctant to accept any responsibility for their actions and resentful when things go wrong for them. They're incapable of seeing very far ahead or of anticipating cause-and-effect. They trust only their peers; everyone else is the enemy. And they have no scruples about lying to or stealing from that enemy!Most of us learn early that these attitudes don't lead to success and happiness. In other words, we grow up. The nation of restless wanderers this author describes never do. Some are caught in a cycle of poor decisions. Others simply opt out of "normal" e author agonizes over the hardships of homelessness and searches for an answer. She quickly finds that there isn't one because homeless people are no more homogeneous than any other group. Some are rootless by choice. Some are mentally ill. Some have been abused as children. Some are simply misfits or people who were born in the wrong what's the answer? More treatment for mental health and/or addiction is needed, but most of us have seen loving families who've sacrificed to send a mentally ill or addicted loved one for expensive treatment with no improvement. Affordable housing is a large need in this country, but a mentally ill or addicted or emotionally unstable person can seldom take advantage of even the most generous public benefit programs. Ask the people who run programs for the homeless all over the country and they'll tell you of successes and e author is a young (to me) woman from a privileged background whose guilt over the unfairness of life colors her thinking. I look at life from the viewpoint of seven decades of observation and experience. I live in a city with unusually extensive programs for homeless people, including transitional housing. I vacation in a coastal city with almost no support programs, but hundreds of homeless attracted by the warm weather and the beach life. I can say this for sure. There are NO simple answers to this problem. We have to try, but we should have reasonable expectations and we should avoid assigning wholesale blame to the families of the is book is well-written and very readable. The young author opens up about her own struggles to with the murders and the people who committed them. She shares her frustration at the impossibility of learning the truth from people who are programmed to lie and cover up and blame others for their problems. She beautifully expresses the anger and sorrow and guilt that we ALL feel when we see someone who lacks the basics of life. She's written a book that makes the reader think. For that reason, it's a valuable effort.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Wander: America’s Lost Street Kids []  2020-3-29 18:58

    This book will stay with me for some time. It tells specifically of three homeless youth who murdered two innocent people. It also recounts tales from other houseless youth, the stories of how they became that way, abuse and drug use through their lives, and their day to day part of the story excuses the crimes committed by any of the people interviewed. At one point the author breaks the neutral reporter facade long enough to express her discomfort at the lack of remorse shown by those convicted. She follows with a psychological explanation of why people in this situation feel and act the method they do, but her unease is still rt biography, part sociology, and part psychology, this is one of my favorite Kindle First picks. While the story is primarily dark, with slight glimmers of hope, the writing is engaging and factual. The trauma that the road children endured and exist with on a everyday basis is a dark secret of society, simple to push away and disregard as somebody else's problem. The repercussions and potential consequences are real, as are the people looking for that glimmer of hope.An example of the writing: "The cabin in Oregon was where his story was supposed to end, but it was here that it truly began. He believed this land to be his birthright. What he inherited instead was generations of drug addiction, mental illness, and damage that would go on to irrevocably shape the outcome of his life—and the lives of countless others."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Wander: America’s Lost Street Kids []  2020-3-29 18:58

    Not all homeless and abused children are murderers. They were used to give the book a hook, and their victims were given small to no consideration. Small insight overall.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Dare (Raiding Forces Book 1) []  2020-1-11 19:16

    If you read Evelyn Waugh's "Sword of Honor" trilogy, you got a fictional ver of Waugh's service with the Royal Marines and then SOE. For purely Waugh private and artistic reasons, he emphasized the glass-half-empty side - lots of superlative people, relatively small war-fighting as opposed to moral help at the darkest hn Randal is an American inter-war Troops vet who is both a neat character AND a strong literary device making all the Brits and their societies immediately, forcefully true and engaging to us 21st Cenrury Amurcans (for pure civilians of any politics as well as a wide range of vets with experiences like Ward's own as a Ranger)Phil Ward has crafted a bunch of interesting, three-dimensional characters who are also among the earliest commandos, Long Range Patrol, SAS and Unique boats, as well as the earliest British or American airborne forces. Their vividly describes, violent combat helps flesh out the characters and how they grow under the trauma and stress of a unique ops war.He evidently feels the training and morale elements - Rangers are still seriously focused on realistic to terrifying training, which helps him communicate the 1940 training with a power Waugh merely points at with understated e dialogue, arcs of hero and the evocation of 1939-40 Britain are all memorable, but mostly Mr Ward tells a ripping amazing yarn. I started looking for book 2 before I finished book 1.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Dare (Raiding Forces Book 1) []  2020-1-11 19:16

    This is an awesome quick moving fictional story based on non-fictional research about the beginnings of British commando strategies at the outset of WW2. The author sets the action rolling as he recounts the opening actions at the pullout from Dunkirk seen through the eyes of a brave young American Calvary Lieutenant John Randall. Randall is sent in at the French port of Calais to organize & execute a diversionary slowdown to time for allied soldiers trapped at Dunkirk to be rescued. From that point on the author creatively builds his story almost seamlessly, giving the reader an in-depth view as to how quickly Britain's civilian populace & military had to react and answer to the fresh heavy battle machine poised on the coastlines of France and Europe. The author gives the reader first hand insight into the complex set of issues and solutions that people from all walks of life were faced with by the onslaught of the Nazi Germany. This is a fascinating and enthralling novel that moves with a flawless energy yet is based on exhaustive research and realism. Perfect reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Dare (Raiding Forces Book 1) []  2020-1-11 19:16

    A latest Kindle edition freebie.I mostly enjoyed this book. I thought the book started out with some writing issues, but the writing seemed to obtain better as the book went creates a wide cast of characters, related to W.E.B. Griffin's military series books, along with some more or less believable combat and training sequences. I think I would have given it 5 stars if the book had toned down some of the items though. I just did not believe all of it, even though it was fun to e book follows the exploits of a young American officer serving in the British troops in WWII before the US entered the war. It starts with his exploits at Dunkirk, followed by commando training and some raids on the me of the political and social things described in the book are beautiful interesting in themselves, and probably the truest to true life items in the r those expecting anything realistic in their WWII fiction, you will be disappointed. If you wish to have a amazing time reading and are willing to sacrifice plausibility for fun, this is a amazing story for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Toast To Those Who Are Gone []  2020-1-31 9:46

    phil ochs is less well known than some of the other '60s singers and writers, but you would be amazed at the number of songs he produced, and that others have performed. tragic life, bigger-than-life writer/performer. supplier is amazing to work with. would from them again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Wander: America’s Lost Street Kids []  2020-3-29 18:58

    Although the book relates the stories of Lila Scott Alligood, Morrison Haze Lampley, and Sean Michael Angold, author Vivian Ho uses their experiences as a jumping-off point to a look at a serious problem: homelessness, and primarily for those who are not yet considered adults. Alligood, Lampley, and Angold are all serving time for the murders of Audrey Carey and Steve Carter. Ms. Ho doesn’t excuse their crimes. Rather, she delves into the myriad causes, how all the smaller instances can lead up to actions most people search difficult to comprehend. During the journey, the author ventures into a various world, that of the homeless kids (sometimes referred to as “dirty kids”). She presents the material as facts, never writing to pull at the reader’s heartstrings; instead, the author presents her findings and allows us to determine our own final Ho’s writing is descriptive and to the point. At times the book reads like a novel, as the author a range of info to support us understand. For instance, we learn about “Haze” Lampley’s childhood from both his mother and mother-in-law (Lampley lived with his father from age 7 to 12). The stories conflict, both blaming the other for Lampley’s behavior and at times it is difficult for the parties to agree even on the simplest of events. To her credit, Ms. Ho presents each side and ultimately allows the reader to filter through the stories and come up with their own e author was not content to fill up her book with background info from newspapers, magazines, and other books. To her credit, she “got her hands dirty” by meeting face-to-face with homeless youths and those who work with them, conducting these visits in the subjects’ own environments. This allowed a realistic picture to be drawn from Ms. Ho’s own experiences, injecting the book with a subtle power that resonates throughout the chapters. She allows herself to be a conduit for the people who have experienced homelessness, both those who have found their method to a safer put and for those who still call the roads their home. An enlightening, sobering read. Recommended. Five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Clover, Vol. 2: Those Who Protect []  2020-1-20 19:16

    I love this series. I can't wait till October 4 when the third volume is released. I like how the most strong is the one with no magic power at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Clover, Vol. 2: Those Who Protect []  2020-1-20 19:16

    I've been buying this manga this year and it's amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Dare (Raiding Forces Book 1) []  2020-1-11 19:16

    I read the "story squib" and thought, 'Well, it -might- be interesting. The author is supposed to be a Ranger-qualified officer -with- combat experience, so .. maybe things will be beautiful close to correct and not be hyped like most "Hollywood" stories (and movies)." This is necessary to me since I, also, am a veteran and =really= don't like 'rah-rah BS' .. unless I know it's specifically written as a "comicbook" type of thing. What the heck, it's only a few bucks -- I can take a gamble to check it out.Well, =Daaaamn=!! A few pages into it and I -knew- I had a winner! Yes, there were locations that seemed to have a "'deja vu' all over, again" feel, but they were -good- to read! And the author -does- know what he's talking about: the =second= jump -is- the scariest..... ((BTDT))As for the actually writing, the characters seem real, some of the 'cultural oddities' -I- knew about were spot on (sometimes 'unfortunately'), and I didn't detect any typos. The -only- thing that annoys the hell out of me is the authors habit of using the characters' -full- name, -with- titles & decorations!, almost every damn time he or she is mentioned .. for the whole blinking book!! Once in a while, weeell, okay, but (almost) -every- -single- -time-?!! >>grump

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Dare (Raiding Forces Book 1) []  2020-1-11 19:16

    "Those Who Dare" was an exceptional book. The plot was immersive, complex and believable. Characters were extremely well drawn, (I cared what happened to them while reading). This was fiction set at the very beginning of WWII, and as such could have just devolved into action scenes loosely based on historical events, but the author did his research and introduced material in a believable method that realistically expands the typical reader's knowledge of how life could have been for a protagonist in that true situation and time. The book also includes a dash of romance, keeping it classy, all set in a very immersive military plot. I have a military background and was impressed with the accurate detail used in planning and training conducted by the characters in this story, without it devolving into a dry history. I highly recommend this book and will hold it on my re-read list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Clover, Vol. 2: Those Who Protect []  2020-1-20 19:16

    My granddaughter loved them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Clover, Vol. 2: Those Who Protect []  2020-1-20 19:16

    Amazing stuff, funny character

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Wander: America’s Lost Street Kids []  2020-3-29 18:58

    To be honest, I haven't finished this book yet and I'm not sure if I will. I am really interested in the topic and really wanted to like the book, but I really couldn't obtain into reading this. I was expecting more of a Truman Capote In Cold Blood style dissection of the crimes and the lives of the killers. The first several chapters repetitively chanted rhetoric about the importance of treating road children like people who deserved to be saved - I don' t disagree there. But I didn't pick this book up to be convinced that homeless children are an issue. I wanted to delve into the minds and lives of three young people that the globe abused and abandoned. If I manage to hold pushing and search that it gets better, I'll write an update. But for now, all I can say is that I hate this journalists emotionally vacant story about her experience writing about the case and passionless statements about the country's homeless youth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Wander: America’s Lost Street Kids []  2020-3-29 18:58

    This was a amazing concept, but sadly the book reads like outlining notes. Lacking in depth and truly genuine contacts, the authors brief encounters with different road children read like blurbs, not the true, in-depth meaningful insights into their reality that the book aimed for. The entire book seems like an introduction. It kept me reading in hopes of the stories fleshing out and actually giving intimate glimpses into life on the streets. But it just never happened.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Wander: America’s Lost Street Kids []  2020-3-29 18:58

    This book uses a pair of senseless murders, committed by a trio of homeless youths, as a jumping-off point to shine a light on youth homelessness, a issue too a lot of would rather ignore. The author takes the reader along with her as she learns more about the murderers and about homelessness in San Francisco and e actions of the murderers are never excused, but as we learn more about their backstories and the backstories of so a lot of other homeless young people, we see that they've often experienced things most of us can't imagine - abuse, rape, drug addiction, mental illness, etc. You see how so a lot of of them end up in a vicious cycle of getting damage and in turn hurting others.Even if you can't feel any sympathy for the murderers - and again, the author doesn't you ask to - you will certainly feel plenty for a lot of of the other people who are homeless or have been homeless that the author introduces us to. Their stories are heartbreaking, and you realize that even a lot of of the spirits who will say they're satisfied being wanderers have troubled pasts, sometimes risky presents, and uncertain and often bleak e author acknowledges she does not have all the answers to our homelessness crisis, but she does point out some of the key problems that we should all be paying more attention- a broken foster care system, insufficient drug treatment programs, a lack of accessible mental health resources. She notes that people living in cities like San Francisco will help measures to obtain homeless people off the streets, but balk at measures that would fund more housing for them - essentially "I don't care where they go; I just don't wish to have to see them."The author rightly notes that there is a lot of work to do, that it will take many, a lot of years, and that the very thought of combating such a heavy issue can be daunting and depressing. But being compassionate and viewing the homeless as the human beings that they are is a amazing put to start, and this book will at least take the reader that far by giving names and faces and stories to people who are too often ignored.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Wander: America’s Lost Street Kids []  2020-3-29 18:58

    Extremely repetitive. This should not be a book. This should be a longform article.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Solo Traveler's Handbook: For Those Who Love And Those Who Long To Go Solo []  2020-1-22 21:50

    I really enjoyed this book as it gave me a lot of ideas and resources for traveling solo. I believe a lot of the info could apply to any traveler not just those traveling alone. However, it is amazing to have such an informative resource for those of us who do travel by ourselves. I also am part of Janice Waugh's Fb community for solo travel and have taken three solo trips in the past 13 months because of the confidence the books and website have provided me. I am so thankful I found these resources.If you are interested in traveling alone but don't know where to begin this book is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Solo Traveler's Handbook: For Those Who Love And Those Who Long To Go Solo []  2020-1-22 21:50

    Clever and funny, lots of anecdotes about the payoff of traveling solo: freedom and taking chances, making friends. Warnings too about security and paying attention around you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay: Neapolitan Novels, Book Three []  2020-1-24 23:26

    This is the third of the four books in Ferrante"s (whoever she is) Neapolitan series. It is a dark and totally engrossing examination of a friendship, a culture, a period of time, the role of women in society and marriage. And gorgeously written. I could't bear to place it down when I finished it and so went right to the fourth book. But only a few pages into it I realized I required a break.While to me this is the best of the series, I don't think one can appreciate it without having read the first two--which is not a hardship. Fortunately each book provides an annotated cast of characters, including (thank God!) nicknames, family relationships, and--if you've read the preceding books--brief reminders of what has gone on before, reminders that will only be cryptic to those who haven't immersed themselves in what came before. After I finish book four I will probably go back and read the first one, "My Brilliant Friend," again, to give me the benefit of both hindsight and foresight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay: Neapolitan Novels, Book Three []  2020-1-24 23:26

    I was beautiful disappointed when I got to the latest chapter. I won't say what happened because I don't wish to spoil the book for others. Lenu is heading for a huge disappointment, I think. I will read the fourth book just to search out what happens. I started reading these books in the first put because the two girls and myself are the same age. I thought a lot about my younger life and compared it to theirs. The sixties were not an simple time to be a young girl or teenager, whether in the US or Italy. My teenage life was certainly not as fraught by danger and violence as theirs. I did not have fun being reminded of the sexism of the sixties and the overwhelming power of males over females. We have come a long method but we are NOT DONE YET!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Solo Traveler's Handbook: For Those Who Love And Those Who Long To Go Solo []  2020-1-22 21:50

    I've just perused the book - safety, common sense, etc. I'm traveling solo to Buenos Aires next year and wanted some insight from a seasoned solo traveler. Since I've traveled a lot of places, mostly getting there by myself then meeting someone, it didn't a whole lot of fresh information. What I like about it was the info all in one source - instead of my head, it's written for an simple read and reference. It's like tangible reassurance and reminding. Worth the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Solo Traveler's Handbook: For Those Who Love And Those Who Long To Go Solo []  2020-1-22 21:50

    Thank you, thank you, thank you Ms. Waugh! Having lost my husband two years ago, I thought much of my travel opportunity was over. You have given back to me the desire and the knowledge that I can not only travel alone, but have fun it in a fresh and exciting and satisfying way!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Solo Traveler's Handbook: For Those Who Love And Those Who Long To Go Solo []  2020-1-22 21:50

    I was enlightened and encouraged by the instructions and stories in this book. I am alone now and would like to hold traveling but there are so a lot of times when I will have to go alone. This book was very helpful for me to begin doing just that in safety and with more peace of mind. Thanks to the author and all who contributed to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay: Neapolitan Novels, Book Three []  2020-1-24 23:26

    I loved the first book of the trilogy and recommended it to beautiful much everyone I know who reads serious literature and a fair number of people who might not. It is also the case that I was once a large student of Italiant culture and lived in the house of some prominant leftist newspaper people as an exchange student in high-school. So, the happenings of this book speak to a deep (if somewhat cooled) passion of mine that other readers might or might not share. However, all the same, I found the second and third books altogether more difficult to read. While the writing is phenomenal in its min psychological detail and insights into class and gender and how ideology gets used as a currency in social games, it is difficult and not always pleasant reading -- a slog at times-- as the inner-conflicts of the narrative become more intense and her personality less pleasant. I was never going to give up, but I didn't always search joy in this book. In short: read it, but save it for that moment in your life when you have the patience to with a literary mate who is difficult, conflicted, and at times even unlikeable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay: Neapolitan Novels, Book Three []  2020-1-24 23:26

    I thoroughly enjoyed the Neapolitan quartet. Elena Ferrante's narrative drive kept the story moving through all four books. The evolving story was captivating; the desire to see where it would end was more involving than any series of this length I have read. Actually, I'm not sure I have ever read a series of this length, another testament to the power of the story. The writing, while not elegant, was never less than capable, and the translation seemed to be excellent. I did at times become frustrated by Lena's continual obsession with comparing herself to Lila. That she was never happy to accept herself as she was without agonizing over whether she was better or worse than her mate seemed a method to waste her life in torment. I'm sure a lot of readers associate the series with women's books, but, to me, it just a very amazing story by a woman that happens to illuminate some very unsavory and inadequate men.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay: Neapolitan Novels, Book Three []  2020-1-24 23:26

    This book is in the middle of the Neapolitan quartet but can be read as a standalone. Since these books are all filled with characters that you will feel like you know very well, it's impressive that you can read them separately. The story in this part of the quartet is about early adult life--after leaving the confines of childhood--and about the choices that we all make. Since one huge choice is whether to go away or to stay place where one grew up, That's where this title comes from. The paths that each of the characters take does not sever the connections that still remain for them in their neighborhood. It's a amazing book and the writing style is very private and authentic. Definitely recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay: Neapolitan Novels, Book Three []  2020-1-24 23:26

    I slogged my method through this series of four books this spring and I wanted to know what happened but it was a tough go. I found the writing to be amazing if sometimes overwrought and I liked that the friendships were so honestly examined, but I did search it hard to relate to these women and sometimes I wondered why they continued with each other. I wouldn't recommend it unless you have a lot of time on your hands, but if you've gotten to this one, you're probably committed to finding out how it all ends, as I was. I think I could have created better use of what small reading time I had at this time in my life though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Solo Traveler's Handbook: For Those Who Love And Those Who Long To Go Solo []  2020-1-22 21:50

    This is a amazing travel resource, not only for solo travelers but also for anyone who is a small hesitant about foreign travel. Women seem more hesitant to step out into the unknown without a travel companion. Men, on the other hand, blithely package a bag and head out to the unknown. This book is filled with just about anything a solo traveler could be met with - arriving in the dead of night in a strange city and trying to search your hotel, for instance. And it's a true pleasure to read about Janice's adventures, the mates she created along the way, and so much more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay: Neapolitan Novels, Book Three []  2020-1-24 23:26

    This is volume three of the author's tetralogy "The Neapolitan Tales," which is, in my opinion, a amazing literary work. From a storytelling point of view, the pace gets faster and faster from one book to the next, until I was totally engaged and on the edge of my seat, sometimes gasping at the turn that happenings had taken. The characters, who are kids in volume one, were at first difficult for me to distinguish among, but become increasingly singular as the successive volumes follow their development into adulthood and delve deeper and deeper into their lives. Most compelling for me were the narrator's reflections on her own thoughts and feelings and those of the other characters. For example, at one point she says that she realizes that she could be both satisfied and sad at the same time. I stopped dead in my tracks and thought about that, and yes, I realized that I, too, have that capacity. In other words, she has the ability to take particular info of feeling, translate them into psychological concepts, and universalize them. I'm totally hooked.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Solo Traveler's Handbook: For Those Who Love And Those Who Long To Go Solo []  2020-1-22 21:50

    The author gives amazing general tip on a wide dozens of topics. But some of the tip is obvious, and the book is aimed at a wide audience. --Men shouldn't carry their wallet in their back pocket, if you go to a club be aware of where the nearest exits are, Women should consider having birth control with them if they might have sex---So you will not search specific travel ideas--locations, how to obtain deals, resort reviews...I hesitate to give the book less than four stars because the book it a public service. It's inspirational to those who search themselves alone and might not have traveled in a long time. As such it a amazing service and gives people items to consider and gives a lot of necessary pointers to those people. Other people who obtain out more might not search the book super helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Solo Traveler's Handbook: For Those Who Love And Those Who Long To Go Solo []  2020-1-22 21:50

    Amazing read for anyone thinking about travelling by themselves. I wasn't sure what to expect travelling by myself so I bought this book and it perfectly conveyed to me the reality of travelling solo. I now have a much better understanding of the topic and can honestly say that this book helped me.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386