Read three voices: a psychological historical novel, based on a reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all three voices: a psychological historical novel, based on a reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    wordington: a word story []  2020-7-6 6:35

    I have completed all tasks to be told more tasks to come soon. Its been days and still waiting. I have accrued over 250 dollars and nothing to spend it on. If i dont have any fresh tasks soon i am deleting the android game and certainly not recommending it for anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    andronix - linux on android without root []  2020-6-18 7:32
    [email protected]

    Looked promising, but the button on their www service takes you to google play, so I took myself off to AnLinux.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Voices: A Psychological Historical Novel, Based on a Jewish Girl's WW2 Holocaust True Story Memoir [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    Three VoicesBy Nora SarelReview By Ila Garg‘Three Voices, a novel by Nora Sarel, is published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. The cover has historical feels to it with a picture of a woman in sepia filter and some faint picture in red in the backdrop. There are some cottages and aerophanes in the bottom of the sed on true happenings around Holocaust, the protagonist of the story is Lena. Loneliness followed her everywhere—whether she hid in an oven or the forest, in the monastery or in the cellar, loneliness was always there with her. At present, she is an old woman. With nothing but her memories to tutorial her, she embarks on a journey to unravel the truth of her e three voice—First Voice I remember, Second Voice I don’t remember and Third Voice I wish to forget, represent the trauma and relief of a woman who nearly escaped the atrocities of the Holocaust, travelled the globe and eventually reclaimed her this 334-page book, the three special perspectives—past, show and future—come together to create a heart-wrenching tale that will move you completely. Lena comes face-to-face with another Lena as she reaches the end of her journey and takes her life back.Ratings: 4.5/5

    0  


    Add your opinion on three voices: a psychological historical novel, based on a or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Voices: A Psychological Historical Novel, Based on a Jewish Girl's WW2 Holocaust True Story Memoir [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    ‘Three Voices illustrates the trauma and relief of a woman escaping the atrocities of the Holocaust, traveling the globe and eventually reclaiming her childhood.’Author Nora Sarel’s story of survival an interesting all-encompassing human dramatization that stretches out from the dim days of the Second Globe Battle to the autonomous State of Israel. A holding and inspiringly idealistic acc based on true events, you’ll appreciate each page of this heart-wrenching voyage of hope, inspiration and e book description gives a preview; ‘Whether she was hiding in an oven or the forest, in the monastery or in the cellar, Lena has been followed by one thing: loneliness. Now an elderly woman with nothing but her memories to tutorial her – she embarks on a journey to unravel the truth of her past, once and for all…Lena remembers everything from her childhood. She doesn’t know that her whole life is about to be turned upside down as she comes face-to-face with another Lena. A once-in-a-lifetime meeting between the two Lena’s and the town's priest, sends shockwaves that reverberate through the truth that was known to her…’Each Holocaust survivor has a special and individual story. However, these survivors’ stories didn’t end in 1945. They continue through to the show day. Their testimonies provide us with an understanding of how the happenings of the Holocaust have shaped their lives and are an ongoing testimony to the strength of the human spirit.An authentic and moving life story, Three Voices is a remarkable work and a highly recommended read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Voices: A Psychological Historical Novel, Based on a Jewish Girl's WW2 Holocaust True Story Memoir [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    Three Voices portrays the horrifying life and trauma of a woman during the Holocaust and her journey as she tries to place it behind her. The story is told in three parts, bringing together the past, show and future, creating links that the woman was unaware of and exposing some truths that were e story is brings out the harsh conditions, the method of life and the hardships people faced at the time of the Holocaust. In the first part, we take a journey with Lena as she shows us a glimpse into her childhood and years of growing up. A child, forced to grow up and act mature right from the age of 3, Lena with hiding, secrecy, living away from her parents and changes in faith. The main question that comes up as a part of this story is the question of faith and religion, how the mind processes it and how it affects times it is difficult to follow the story as it is narrated without a clear distinction in who is really talking to the reader. It becomes confusing to separate the info until later on, in the latest part, when the rest of the story unravels. The hero profile of the "other Lena" is confusing and not very clear. The story of the priest and the truth he finally brings out ensures that the reader has the entire story by the end of the book. A lot of repetition of points, especially to re-enforce how the protagonist was forced to grow up very soon, diluted the result and seriousness of the overall theme.Overall, the story is a decent read for those who have fun stories based on historical happenings and the reader will definitely feel the sadness and result of the happenings as Lena sets out to rediscover and reclaim her past.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Voices: A Psychological Historical Novel, Based on a Jewish Girl's WW2 Holocaust True Story Memoir [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    This is a sad story which shows the impact of battle on lives of Poland jews. It is a heart wrenching story of a girl and her childhood spent on moving to various hiding locations away from her parents to save herself from German soldiers and other Poles who hate Jews. This story shows how an innocent kid can learn life surviving skills when she cannot even have primary needs like food, water, clothes and bath. I liked the story and it is interesting to know a child's perspective on war. But, I felt narration would have been better. The story is told in the perspective of 3 various people and because of poor narration and less clarity, it becomes confusing to comprehend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Voices: A Psychological Historical Novel, Based on a Jewish Girl's WW2 Holocaust True Story Memoir [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    To understand some stories, you need to start from the end. The Holocaust was probably the most difficult times for mankind. It wasn’t just about battle but snatching an identity and the right to live from a community. May authors have penned their true stories and some have created me cry as well. This is another one of them—the author’s approach for telling truth in the first person has a profound result on the reader. It forms an instant connect and the intensity of the experience starts sinking in as one turns page after page. Inspired by the lives of Tosha and Ignatz, the epilogue actually sums it up well: “You know that without identification, there’s no identity, and I have no one to identify with. The key figures in my life changed constantly. I identified with my mother, and then with Mr. Stefanik. First with Judaism, and then with Christianity. I identified with Bierutow, and then with Wroclaw. I had no religious identity and no national identity, no personal identity and no social identity. Whenever I began to form an identity, someone or something would pop up and uproot it, my identity, and it had to be built up from scratch. I had to make a fresh one in its place.”This kind of tells you what the book is all about—finding and preserving your identity and the pain upheavals bring. We might not understand this pain, living in our comfortable homes, but the author puts it very aptly: “I search it simple to explain it to you because you are not Jewish, and you never experienced the happenings of the Second Globe War. You are a proud Polish Christian like me. You are capable of understanding. Only one thing may work versus us. What is that? Age. You, young man, were born a lot of years after the war, and I wonder how you can understand what effects battle can cause. And what the church’s orders were at the time. How can you judge me fairly? How will I come to the end of this twisting path with you? Why are you still standing? Take off your coat and sit on the chair in the corner of the room. It may be a small shabby, but it is most comfortable.”Interspersed with pictures, the book has truth and fiction. There are true life happenings and they have been padded with imagination. But the portrayal is a sensitive one. I was particularly moved by the beginning where all seems lost: “My childhood, my life, even my name. I tell you, I have no name, no roots. They were taken by the war.”I think books like this one create us realize that battle is futile thing which destroys people and leaves us with wounds that never seem to heal. But, perhaps sharing stories can be a part of the healing and forgiving process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Voices: A Psychological Historical Novel, Based on a Jewish Girl's WW2 Holocaust True Story Memoir [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    The summary of Three Voices by Nora Sarel is very simple. First Voice I remember. Second Voice I don't remember. Third Voice I wish to forget. Quite simple. Right? No. It's not that easy as you are thinking. And you will understand that only once you enroll yourself for Three Voices in the institute run by Nora Sarel. You will, in fact, have to qualify in all the three semesters of the course. These three semesters are First Voice, Second Voice, and Third Voice. In reality, these are the three sections of the book. There are 13, 9 and 5 chapters in each of those. Its story has a lot of aspects. Firstly, it reflects the relationship between Jews and Polish. Secondly. it is the story of a family, in fact. Thirdly, it is a life story having a lot of elements of truth based on the testimonials of Holocaust ere is a mention of a very attractive poem of the Israeli poet Astar Shamir in the introduction of Three Voices. Nora Salel calls this book a combination of truth and fiction. In fact, poetry doesn't end with the introduction. Without those attractive work of poetry by some fabulous poets in the beginning of each chapter, this book would not have been what it is. As a matter of fact, that little poetry builds the context of that chapter well. Also, that draws a amazing amount of curiosity to search the connection of those four lines of poetry in those few pages of that particular chapter. Battle takes everything in life. In return, it leaves a lot of remembrances which are quite painful. No battle leaves sweet memories. There is always a loss in any war. A lot of people lose their roots in a ree Voices Is A Journey To Unravel The Truth of PastThree voices by Nora Sarel is a journey of a woman to unravel the truth of the past. It is the story of Lena's life and her loneliness. And what happens when one Lena meets another Lena. In fact, it becomes a meeting of a lifetime for both. And thus starts the unfolding of a truth that is hard to face.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Voices: A Psychological Historical Novel, Based on a Jewish Girl's WW2 Holocaust True Story Memoir [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    "Violin play, playPlay all night, playGive your violin heartUntil all my emotions flare up erupt"This is a lullaby from the book which beautiful much sums up the atmosphere of the 's a sad book, full of memories, full of forgotten things, people, events. Full of remembered ones some of which is better to forget again. The book is written in a very easy-to-read style which makes all these memories even easier to identify with. Divided into a three parts, the author leads us through story of loneliness, story based on past which is far away, in time and place, but yet important to remember if you wish to have show and learn something for the future.And even sometimes that path is painful, it is important if you wish to heal your wounds. Because if you left them forgotten, and not take care of them, even they are now only scars and nothing more, nothing amazing becomes from it. This book is a very amazing example why we all have to face ourselves and our past if we wish to have a future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Voices: A Psychological Historical Novel, Based on a Jewish Girl's WW2 Holocaust True Story Memoir [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    Three Voices by Nora Sarel is primarily a life story of a woman. It is divided into three sections namely First Voice I remember, Second Voice I don't remember and Third Voice I remember. I wish to e story is a piece of memories..the memories of past which change you as a person. It is being narrated in first person narrative which makes you connect yourself with the author (the three voices to be precise) immediately. The author's easy language and narration will create you feel like you're conversing with the author. She has added a few snippets of some poems in between the chapters which heavily relates to the termination and courage is needed at every walk of life. Determination to face adversities and courage to accept truth. This is what this book taught me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Voices: A Psychological Historical Novel, Based on a Jewish Girl's WW2 Holocaust True Story Memoir [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    “I place the distance of time between us and I went, I thought that the distance of time would heal..”-N. IsraeliThis is an autobiographical fiction. This is divided into three parts called; first voice, second voice and third voice.Lena is a Jew, caught in the globe war. Mr Stefanik takes Lena to woods to partisans. They war Nazis from the woods like guerrilla fighters. She is only 6 or 6.5. they don’t accept her and Mr Stefanik has to take her back. He gives her a fresh name: Elka Isdebska and declares her Christian. The battle was never ending as seemed to e description of passion of the priest for Tosha is superb. He is totally blind with passion and she is totally oblivious. He is consumed by carnal desires and when he grabs her, she resists with all her might. He becomes morose and vengeful. This episode reminded me of the deplorable behaviour of our so-called Hindu saints. Asharam bapu, Dixit of Ishwariya vidyalaya and Ram Rahim came to is is a story of grit and determination. I like the story. 4 /5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Voices: A Psychological Historical Novel, Based on a Jewish Girl's WW2 Holocaust True Story Memoir [Book]  2018-3-27 18:0

    Perspective is the frame of the experience or the lens through which we look at the experience. Our perspective can either be positive or negative and decide which type we possess, we should be mindful about how we view our past because it is not the past but the perspective of our past that imprisons or limits us. ‘Three Voices’ is a memoir that describes the struggle of a woman for knowing her real identity. Set in the time when holocaust was the terror that ran in the veins of many, this book promises to give the reader moments of genuine heartache and create the eyes well up from the wounds and the experiences. But the light at the end of the tunnel cannot be ignored, for the hope returns when Nora decides to drop the baggage and welcomes the amazing and the grace with begin arms. Unless one treats the past as a lesson, it is very difficult to forgo the trauma. And through this book, the author successfully projects this idea.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Kingdoms: A Historical Novel []  2020-1-22 19:22

    The is a amazing book which has an perfect translation from the Chinese novel Three Kingdoms. It's a amazing bonus for western people who wish to know the stories of ancient China.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Kingdoms: A Historical Novel []  2020-1-22 19:22

    Loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Kingdoms: A Historical Novel []  2020-1-22 19:22

    Moss Roberts' translation is absolutely fantastic. Much more alive than others. Take the opening sentences:"Here begins our tale. The empire, long divided, must unite; long united, must divide. Thus it has ever been."Compare this with Taylor's translation:"Domains under heaven, after a long period of division, tends to unite; after a long period of union, tends to divide. This has been so since antiquity."Or Hegel's:"Empires wax and wane; states cleave asunder and coalesce."It's really no contest. Roberts' prose is lively and absolutely engaging throughout. He's that rare translator who not only understands the nuances of the original language but has a keen ear for English prose. The only complaint I have about this edition is that all the footnotes (and there are a *lot*) are at the back of the 2nd volume, which means that while reading the first two-thirds of the epic, you have to carry around both volumes (and these are big, massive books). I don't know if there are other high-quality printings of Roberts' translation which might improve on this issue, but I wouldn't even consider a various translator.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Kingdoms: A Historical Novel []  2020-1-22 19:22

    I read the same book in another language and this one is like an academia dissertation who is enamored with translating a difficult poems into English. Very difficult to read thru.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Kingdoms: A Historical Novel []  2020-1-22 19:22

    Amazing book, although I should mention a complaint with Amazon for using bubble wrap. I couldn't return it because I was going overseas within a day, and it was simply too much hassle. The book arrived damaged, because bubble wrap doesn't protect the book. However, they have accepted my complaint, and agreed to a replacement (Thankyou!)The book itself is a classic, and this is a amazing translation, although I wish the one that starts: "They say the momentum of history was ever thus: the empire, long divided, must unite; long united, must divide." That is surely one of the greatest openings in all of literature; this one isn't quite at that level. I think that ver might be adapted from Moss Roberts (the same translator as this book), or it may be his earlier, abridged is is one of the four classical chinese novels, and if you are looking to connect with the Middle Kingdom and its past, this is a amazing (though rather heavy) put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Kingdoms: A Historical Novel []  2020-1-22 19:22

    I got this for my son for a Christmas bonus and he loves it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Kingdoms: A Historical Novel []  2020-1-22 19:22

    ***This review is based on a discovery created when attempting to begin reading the book***The annotations & footnotes for Volume 1 are stored in the back of Volume 2. So if you care about any of these, which there are A TON, you need to the second book & lug it around with you. Which these books are not little or light by any where in the book itself or on this shop page does it mention the appendix being in the other volume. I had to dig around online til i saw this briefly mentioned in a review for vol. 2

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Kingdoms: A Historical Novel []  2020-1-22 19:22

    This is one of four folk tales that nearly every literate person in China has read. It's akin to a Chinese Odyssey or Iliad. Plus it's a amazing story of a brotherly, filial bond, a story that can provide insight to the Chinese collective consciousness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Kingdoms: A Historical Novel []  2020-1-22 19:22

    Amazing read with a amazing translation and annotations that support you remember some of the info in a story that often swaps between characters with related (occasionally exact same) names. Highly recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three Kingdoms: A Historical Novel []  2020-1-22 19:22

    Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fortress: A Historical Fiction Novel Based On A WW2 True Story []  2020-1-11 19:30

    Sorry I did test to read this book but I couldn't obtain past the first chapters which was a pity as very few novels relate to Romania during the war. Unfortunately the writing is poor,. Maybe it was aimed at ypoung readers, if so then Amazon should have created this plainer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fortress: A Historical Fiction Novel Based On A WW2 True Story []  2020-1-11 19:30

    A well written novel, with perfect editing. The characters were well described with smooth follow through from one happening to the next. A very satisfying read from beginning to end, with an especially lovely ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fortress: A Historical Fiction Novel Based On A WW2 True Story []  2020-1-11 19:30

    Road children in Bucharest, Romania at the outbreak of WWII. Some are Catholic; some are Jewish. The horror of battle makes them all one family. Not every road kid is noble but enough exist to create it to productive adulthood. Fascinating read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fortress: A Historical Fiction Novel Based On A WW2 True Story []  2020-1-11 19:30

    This book really captured me at the beginning and I found the stories of its different characters quite intriguing. For this I give it 4 stars. The only reason I did not give it 5 is because at times it was difficult to follow the chronology, especially towards the end, and also the latest couple of chapters could have used a bit more copy editing. As a copy editor, I message such things. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fortress: A Historical Fiction Novel Based On A WW2 True Story []  2020-1-11 19:30

    It is so hard to believe these things happened. What a not good hardship for so a lot of people. They were all amazingly powerful people and heroes. It is so hard for me to understand how human beings can be so cruel to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fortress: A Historical Fiction Novel Based On A WW2 True Story []  2020-1-11 19:30

    A beautifully written book with perspicacity, insightfulness, sensitivity and attractive imagery.Each hero shines through with its inner and external challenges. It takes you from the attractive Bucharest before WII all the method through the Ceucescu regime and shows how it brings togetherness and love among total strangers,whose common trait is survival.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fortress: A Historical Fiction Novel Based On A WW2 True Story []  2020-1-11 19:30

    Opened my eyes to how the Jews ey persevered and did everything possible to survive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fortress: A Historical Fiction Novel Based On A WW2 True Story []  2020-1-11 19:30

    Amazing story, plot and characters. I enjoyed reading about how the people bonded together in WWII Romania. A various view.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fortress: A Historical Fiction Novel Based On A WW2 True Story []  2020-1-11 19:30

    This is a unbelievable story about growing up in Romania prior to and during WW11 and a subsequent escape to Israel. Daniel goes from being a rich Jew to living in the “Fortress “ (underground caves) to escaping to the countryside with the road children who lived in the caves. He befriends the road children and is subsequently able to hide his family from the Nazis. When the “Fortress” is discovered by the Nazis the whole group moves to the countryside. Later fearing discovery by the Nazis again the family decides to emigrate to Israel. There are several side stories of some of the road kids. The characters are well defined and interesting. Read this novel in one sitting as I couldn’t place it down. Amazing historical fiction!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fortress: A Historical Fiction Novel Based On A WW2 True Story []  2020-1-11 19:30

    What a unbelievable and miraculous story of love, courage and friendship in amongst the horror and devastation of the holocaust. Loved it. Really did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brothers of Auschwitz: A heartbreaking and unforgettable historical novel based on an untold true story []  2020-1-25 0:16

    I have read a lot of books on survivors during the Holocaust. This book just moved me to e suffering these 3 siblings went through and how it effected them for the rest of their lives is amazing. These adults now were teenagers and saw their mates and neighbors turn versus their family as they were sent to the extermination camps. Later after the battle one of the brothers went back to their village to his families house to search one of the villagers living there. The sister cannot obtain the photo of her mother walking down the ramp to the crematorium out of her ere is so much suffering in this book and how these experiences cannot be erased from the mind and affected these peoples life’s profoundly for years even though they live productive lives now. This book is very detailed about the experiences of each person. I highly recommend reading this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brothers of Auschwitz: A heartbreaking and unforgettable historical novel based on an untold true story []  2020-1-25 0:16

    This book tells a vivid story of life and the will to live. People and locations can be attractive and cruel. The people of Hungary, Poland and Germany choose cruel. This book reveals how cruel and evil people can be to others. Look away, ignore and deny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brothers of Auschwitz: A heartbreaking and unforgettable historical novel based on an untold true story []  2020-1-25 0:16

    This is one of the best books I ever read on the Holocaust. Even though the majority of it was imagines by the author, it did a lot for me personally because of the depth of the vents. I have tried for years to wrap my mind around the Holocaust and to just understand it a small bit. This book helped me to see so much more...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brothers of Auschwitz: A heartbreaking and unforgettable historical novel based on an untold true story []  2020-1-25 0:16

    I didn't care for the author's writing style. It was very dry and hard to follow. It did not pull me in. This is not to say the info weren't interesting but the delivery lacked the ability to engage with the story and the characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brothers of Auschwitz: A heartbreaking and unforgettable historical novel based on an untold true story []  2020-1-25 0:16

    All in all this book was interesting. However I feel that some of the vulgar language was unnecessary. The proper wording would have created the book more enjoyable for me

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brothers of Auschwitz: A heartbreaking and unforgettable historical novel based on an untold true story []  2020-1-25 0:16

    I have read several books about the camps of the Holocaust, but never have I been so effected as I was by this one. Most recounts of the camps end with liberation and the end of the war. This one not only covers the horror of the camps for two young brothers, but what happened to them afterward and how they continued on. I think this should definitely be a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brothers of Auschwitz: A heartbreaking and unforgettable historical novel based on an untold true story []  2020-1-25 0:16

    I have read books and seen movies about the Holocaust, but this book goes beyond and does an admirable job of delving into the thoughts and emotions of the victims and how their lives as survivors were affected. The horrors of the camps are graphically described and difficult to imagine, but it is the psychopathic, inhuman brutality and unnecessary cruelty of those in charge that is so appalling. "Man's inhumanity to man" there in the twentieth century is shocking and difficult to understand. I especially appreciated this book because it follows the emotional effects and after-effects of such treatment on the victims, their courage and will to survive, and how they managed to obtain on with their lives with the support and love from others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brothers of Auschwitz: A heartbreaking and unforgettable historical novel based on an untold true story []  2020-1-25 0:16

    Amazing, simply awesome especially for anyone who has encountered any significant degree of trauma or grief in their life that may have left them with some level of e insights in being present, sharing there difficulties in integrating and interacting with others was thoughtful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brothers of Auschwitz: A heartbreaking and unforgettable historical novel based on an untold true story []  2020-1-25 0:16

    Heartbreaking acc of what happened to a family during WWII. Felt like I was sitting across a table listening to them tell me about the different Evil ways they were treated. Sometimes I had to take a break from reading because it touched me deeply. Everyone should read this book to be aware of the extremes Evil go to in their attempt to stop speech and obtain rid of people who are different. History will repeat itself unless we read books like this. Their stories deserve to be read and remembered!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Brothers of Auschwitz: A heartbreaking and unforgettable historical novel based on an untold true story []  2020-1-25 0:16

    The Brothers of Auschwitz, a biographical novel, is the most moving and disturbing Holocaust book I’ve ever read and there have been quite a few. Yes, any story about the experience of being in a concentration camp is deeply upsetting but this one was extremely raw and emotional for me. The detail is exceptional and it will shock you to your core. The reader will feel the pain, anguish, desperation, helplessness, terror, and the horrors of it all as experienced by these two brothers who were taken at 15 and 16 years old. You can’t support but feel outrage that human beings were treated in such a brutal and barbaric way.We all knew the way at Zeiss. The method: No food, no water, no put to breathe, no shower, no coat, no medication, just work, work fast, until death comes. It takes about three months to come. In the meantime they bring a fresh, healthy consignment and the old-timers obtain on a train to the nearest available crematorium. Yes. Three months was enough for the Germans to turn healthy young men into a pile of disgusting ere are aspects of being a concentration camp prisoner that I never even contemplated but are on clear display in this book. Yes, it is very difficult to read at times but I feel it is an necessary book that is worth reading because it brings the experience to life like no other book. There is a marked tension throughout the story that had me on the edge of my seat, unable to place this book is is a story about family, love, the will to survive and above all else, hope. The bond between these two brothers is remarkable and you cannot support but wonder if either would’ve created it through without the other. It is a miracle that they even found each other and were able to stay together.What really makes this story stand out from all the others I’ve read is that roughly one-third of the method through the book the battle ends. It’s the aftermath that we witness up close and the post traumatic stress that the brothers experience for the rest of their lives. Acclimating to civilized life after suffering and struggling to merely survive is no simple task. It is impossible for them to escape the images, memories and even the metimes I have photos with sound from life in the camps. The photos and sounds come like thieves in the ere are so a lot of things these former prisoners had to learn or relearn — not to gulp their food, not to steal food, not to hold meal in their pocket or hidden in their bed, to say please and thank you, to wash their hands before a meal, and so much more. There were a lot of newly acquired fears that stuck with them. Because they were shuttled in cattle vehicles from one camp to the next, one brother won’t ever obtain on a train. Also feared are hospitals and one brother refuses to ever set foot in one — as a result, he won’t even go for a much required cataract surgery. One brother confesses that he can’t and won’t go anywhere near a BBQ. Going to a bakery is a very scary proposition because of the ovens. Then there are the mental photos and sound bytes that assault their senses at any time. You may leave the concentration camp but the camp never leaves you.I realized that the battle had ended in the globe but not in people’s hearts. I knew, the battle would never ever leave us. Just like putting a boiling iron with a number on the body of a calf. The calf grows older, the number remains fact, after the battle was over, the brothers discovered there was a fresh “hell.” Safely ensconced in Israel, they faced humiliation and later felt shame....you went like sheep to the slaughter and didn’t resist. You didn’t war like men. There were thousands of you in their trains, why didn’t you revolt. You could have grabbed their guns, at least wiped out a few Germans before the crematorium. Aah. We felt fresh opponents had risen versus us. For the Germans we were garbage, in Eretz-Israel we were sheep.We should have attacked them. We should have caused havoc, stopped those convoys walking and walking to the crematorium as if they were handing out candies on sticks in there. They’d have fired their rifles, so what, was gas any better? At least we’d have stopped the pace of death, I think about that and go fore the hunger we could have risen versus them. The hunger weakened our minds. A hungry person can’t think about anything, his mind is stupid. The Germans took care to create us stupid in the camps, so we wouldn’t message the convoys going to the crematorium, is it any wonder that we were silent? People didn’t even have the strength to commit suicide. The mind needs a lot of strength to think it’s better to ere seems to be some problem with the translation as what’s written seems “rough around the edges.” Perhaps it will be improved when published but if it’s not, it is still a book that needs to be ank you to Harper Collins UK One More Chapter and NetGalley for an advance reader copy in exchange for my honest opinion and review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor [Book]  2019-12-1 18:0

    This was a very moving memoir. While painful to read at times, the characters were so engaging that it was impossible to place down. My 4 stars vs 5 is a reflection that I wanted more. I wanted an epilogue or a family tree that affirmed what is so beautifully written, that life goes on for these characters and the inherent human ability to adapt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    5 starts as I am not allowed to do 100! I have read a lot of Holocaust stories over the years. This one truly shows how and why hatred, suspicion and prejudices proliferate and how lack of knowledge can cause tragic harm. And it still lives today. Sadly, as a child, I was taught that Jews killed Jesus. As I aged and read more I found that it was a despicable lie. I was raised a Catholic! I had a lot of mates in San Francisco of various races and religions. We all got along well until older people started spreading lies. I was in 2nd grade when I first learned African Americans were slaves, my second best friend, that my first best friend, Japanese, had family that lived in WW II internment camps. As a 2nd grader, I was shocked and appalled. Just an idea of me.I recommend that this book be needed reading in junior high and high school and urge that Holocaust survivors be listened to, teach, be respected and be globe class leaders, as are the Jews of Israel and the state/country of ere are too a lot of lies told and ignorance, fear, disrespect, suspicions and old tales!By all rights, in today's world, Israel and then America are the leading enemies to such sad and may G-d bless all of the Jewish people and Israel. Meanwhile, currently, America needs to pull itself up by the ter reading so a lot of stories this 65 year old geezer has placed visiting Israel and learning Judaism at the top of the list in my Bucket list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    This is a beautifully written story about one woman's life during the horrific days of the German occupation of Poland. This book was written in a style that could be enjoyed by readers young and old. I would recommend this book for fans of "The Diary of Anne Frank".Sarah "Shurka"Shidlovsky is a normal young woman, starting out her married life with her beloved husband, Avraham, when rumors of Adolf Hitler and his hatred of Jews begin to be heard. Soon, Shurka and her family decide to hide in the Parczew Forest. All her life, Shurka has been told that the forest is not a safe place, but now she has to place aside her fears in to save herself and her is hard to imagine living in a forest without housing, having to dig bunkers in the ground in to have shelter. Then, when you finally obtain settled into this home, you have to pick up and move again. Shurka and her family shuffle from bunker to bunker, venturing to stay in granaries during the winter months, surviving on meager rations and no safety. Those who are brave enough (or greedy enough) to support Jews are in danger of death from the is was an awesome story, well written and full of the dangers and horrors of the times. The author does a unbelievable job in her descriptions of the areas, the people, their hopes and their fears. I have read a lot of Holocaust stories and have always wondered why people living in those times didn't heed the warnings to obtain away from Hitler's occupation. In this book, the author relates several instances that create it easier to see that it wouldn't have been an simple decision to make. In our modern times, we often forget that communication during the late 1930's was mostly through word of mouth instead of our instant worldwide news.I am always amazed at the resiliency of the human spirit that shines through in stories of Holocaust survivors. Even though it was a horrific time, full of suffering and death, there is always a light at the end of it. The deaths of Shurka's family during their attempt to stay safe were heartbreaking and the author writes it in such a method that the reader feels every tear. The addition of the immigration of Jews to the fresh homeland of Israel that was included in this book was very enlightening also.I was given a possibility to read this book through a review group, but this review is entirely my own opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Jewish Spy (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-6-15 18:49

    This author has written so a lot of unbelievable books and continues to do so. This one is a unbelievable read.Poland 1938. Eve of the Globe Battle II. Rivka sends her husband and three beloved kids to the United States, where they will search safe shelter from the e tells everyone that she is staying behind in to care for her aging parents but her true reason is completely different.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Jewish Spy (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-6-15 18:49

    I really liked this historical novel, bringing together the action and adventure of a spy novel and the hardships of the jewish community - and underground network - during WW2. Happenings were narrated in a very detailed fashion, giving the reader the possibility to experience the character's context and appreciate the toughness of the decisions Rivka has to face throughout the entire story. The private hardships are perhaps even more obvious than the overall horrors of the war, even though its constant specter is of course always present. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    This was a very moving memoir. While painful to read at times, the characters were so engaging that it was impossible to place down. My 4 stars vs 5 is a reflection that I wanted more. I wanted an epilogue or a family tree that affirmed what is so beautifully written, that life goes on for these characters and the inherent human ability to adapt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor [Book]  2019-12-1 18:0

    5 starts as I am not allowed to do 100! I have read a lot of Holocaust stories over the years. This one truly shows how and why hatred, suspicion and prejudices proliferate and how lack of knowledge can cause tragic harm. And it still lives today. Sadly, as a child, I was taught that Jews killed Jesus. As I aged and read more I found that it was a despicable lie. I was raised a Catholic! I had a lot of mates in San Francisco of various races and religions. We all got along well until older people started spreading lies. I was in 2nd grade when I first learned African Americans were slaves, my second best friend, that my first best friend, Japanese, had family that lived in WW II internment camps. As a 2nd grader, I was shocked and appalled. Just an idea of me.I recommend that this book be needed reading in junior high and high school and urge that Holocaust survivors be listened to, teach, be respected and be globe class leaders, as are the Jews of Israel and the state/country of ere are too a lot of lies told and ignorance, fear, disrespect, suspicions and old tales!By all rights, in today's world, Israel and then America are the leading enemies to such sad and may G-d bless all of the Jewish people and Israel. Meanwhile, currently, America needs to pull itself up by the ter reading so a lot of stories this 65 year old geezer has placed visiting Israel and learning Judaism at the top of the list in my Bucket list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor [Book]  2019-12-1 18:0

    amazing story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Jewish Spy (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-6-15 18:49

    Israeli author Hayuta Katzenelson serves as a conflict mediator while also volunteering at eh Israeli police and social organizations. She has published three books to date – TO LIVE THE FUTURE, WAITING FOR HER BELOVED, and now THE JEWISH e continuing need to discover and understand the Holocaust has resulted in a lot of fine novels, both valid memoirs and fictional tales, and Hayuta combines those elements with this fine novel based on the real story of a Holocaust survivor. In making her characters credible as people with whom we can identify and thus feel stronger compassion, Hayuta manages to capture our attention as she weaves this enhanced biographical experience with grace.Hayuta opens her story with an insightful moment that describes her central character: ‘Rivka’s whole body ached with nostalgia, even though her husband and kids were with her in her hometown of Nadvorna to celebrate her forty-second birthday. Her blue eyes were dreaming as she helped her mother, Masha, obtain seated at the table. How could she leave her parents, who had always supported her, behind? Since her older brother’s death at a young age from tuberculosis, she had felt obligated to be especially attentive and acquiesce to their wishes. There was even a sort of guilt she carried as the one who survived…’ With this degree of sensitivity to Rivka’s plight the story becomes iefly, the arc of the story follows as the synopsis states – ‘Poland 1938. Eve of the Globe Battle II. Rivka sends her husband and three beloved kids to the United States, where they will search safe shelter from the war. She tells everyone that she is staying behind in to care for her aging parents but her true reason is completely different. Beyond her work as librarian, Rivka serves as a spy for the Jewish underground, a critical role in the changing reality in Europe. Even when she receives letters describing her family’s desperate situation, the sense of mission leaves her no choice. She understands that her brave choice may cost a painful - losing her own family.’It has been often said that history is stranger than fiction, and in Hayuta’s skilled hands she blends that terrifying history of WW II and the Holocaust with a sensitive depiction of a survivor in a novel that makes a lasting imprint on the reader. Recommended. Grady Harp, February 20

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Jewish Spy (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-6-15 18:49

    This book really drew me in from the very first page. It is well written tale of survival in the darkest of times. The fact that it is based on a real story makes it even more incredible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Jewish Spy (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-6-15 18:49

    Rivka is the most inspiring person I've ever heard e adventures, the tremendous sacrifice is just mind n't stop reading, create some time before starting this one :)5 stars for me

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor [Book]  2019-12-1 18:0

    What a horrifying ordeal for anybody to have to endure. I was born in the early 50’s and truly had no idea what these people endured, in the globe does one obtain to be so so powerful, be so ugly and destroy so a lot of people? Why did such strong countries let all this? Truly just don’t understand it. The more I read about it all the angrier I get!!!! Just heartbreaking!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor [Book]  2019-12-1 18:0

    This book is sad, heart-breaking to read what they went though. I love WW2 books and this one is good. I would recommend this book to anyone. It deserves a 5 star rating!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor [Book]  2019-12-1 18:0

    I received a copy of this historical novel from TheFussyLibrarian and Goodreads Giveaway, Adiva Geffen, and publisher ebookpro. Thank you all for sharing your hard work with me. I have read 'Surviving the Forest' of my own volition, and this review reflects my honest opinion of this iva Geffen takes us into Poland just prior to the beginning of WWII, a time when there were over 5.3 million Jews living peacefully in Poland. Globe Battle II officially began on 1 September 1939, with the invasion of Poland by Germany. Changes in the lives of Polish Jews happened slowly in the smaller communities but like a barrel rolling downhill, the hurt was eventually damning.We follow the family Shidlovsky. Sarah - Shurka her more familiar name, was one of two daughters of Yaakov Mendel and Taiba. In the late 1930's Shurka was married to Avraham Orlitzky, son of a trader, and they were the parents of Irina, about 3, and Yitzhak, born frail in the winter of 1941, born into a Poland now under severe German command. The conditions of all Jewish residents quickly deteriorating as they lived through pogroms, sporadic and mass shootings, middle-of-the-night moves to smaller, cruder, safer places, abandoning all they owned save clothing and shoes and pots and blankets, and finally by the summer of 1942, as ordered, four generations of the extended Shidlovsky family including the Orlitzky's moved to the ghetto at Ostrow Lubelski. But they all knew in their hearts the next step would be cattle vehicles on the train to a death camp. Their only possibility of making it through the battle alive was to escape from the ghetto. It was too late to test to go east to Russia. The only put left to hide was in the foreboding, swamp infused Parczew the end of the war, there were 40,000 to 100,00 total Jews in Poland who survived the Holocaust. Another 150,000 Jewish refugees returned to Poland at the end of the fighting. By 1946 the first peacetime Kielce Pogrom took place, with 42 deaths and 80 wounded of the 200 Jews then living in that ing the tattered remains of the Shidlovsky family to Israel would not be quick or easy. Life there would not be simple. But Israel was not a destination. It would be home.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    I have read a lot of books about the Holocaust. This was not like any of them in an zone of which I knew little. I spent the whole day reading it. It grabbed me right away knowing it was a real story about a remarkable woman in a horrible time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Jewish Spy (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-6-15 18:49

    Author Hayuta Katzenelson weaves a strong historical novel (based on a real story of a Jewish holocaust survivor) that will captivate the reader from the first page to the last. The author paints a dramatic and riveting tale of love, loss and sacrifice in a very vivid and convincing way. In addition, the characters are drawn with amazing credibility and conviction. It’s a fast-paced novel that will have you spellbound from the opening e book description gives a compelling preview: ‘Poland 1938. Eve of the Globe Battle II. Rivka sends her husband and three beloved kids to the United States, where they will search safe shelter from the war. She tells everyone that she is staying behind in to care for her ageing parents but her true reason is completely different. Beyond her work as librarian, Rivka serves as a spy for the Jewish underground, a critical role in the changing reality in Europe. Even when she receives letters describing her family’s desperate situation, the sense of mission leaves her no choice. She understands that her brave choice may cost a painful - losing her own family.’Now, if that’s not enough to whet your appetite, I don’t know what will. But if you wish to search out what happens, you’ll just have to turn the pages for yourself! However, I will say it was well worth the read. It’s my first time reading this author and I must say I was very e Jewish Spy had every element a amazing story should have. An interesting plot, attention to detail, but best of all fleshed out, well-written and well-rounded hero development. There’s an abundance of well-illustrated scenes that create you feel like you are right there in the story, and that’s something I really look for in a amazing ’s one of those stories that come along once in a while that makes you wish to read it non-stop until you obtain to the end. I’m giving nothing further away here. And this, I hope, will only add to the mystery and enjoyment for the reader!I’ll be looking forward to reading more from Hayuta Katzenelson in the future. I would highly recommend this book. A well-deserved five stars from me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Jewish Spy (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-6-15 18:49

    Hayuta Katzenelson series on heroines of WW2 is a truly brilliant series. The third book in this installment tells the story of Rivka, a young man who stays behind while his family flees in to support Jews go into hiding. It is an inspiring tale that is brilliantly told. Sure to hold you hooked from cover to cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor [Book]  2019-12-1 18:0

    I received a kindle copy in the goodreads giveaway. "Surviving the Forest" is about a Jewish family in Poland during the Holocaust. Growing up Sarah "Shurka" is Jewish girl in Poland. Her family has told her to never go In the forest because of the dangers there. Then the begin of the Holocaust changes everything. People in the village begin to disappear and the rights of the Jewish people are slowly taken from them. Shurka marries and starts a family and soon they have to search a method to survive. Shurka has to go in the forest to hide from the Germans who could take them. Over the next years Shurka and her family have to hide in the forest, in other people's homes to live. Shurka endures heartbreak. starvation and does what she has to do to protect her family. A very amazing book about what people had to do to survive and begin fresh lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor [Book]  2019-12-1 18:0

    This feels as though it was written for younger readers, leaving adults to explain what pogrom, rape, and murder mean. While it’s a amazing intro for children to the horrors of the Holocaust, it also contains a mother killing her crying baby in to save the rest of the family. Discretion is encouraged.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor [Book]  2019-12-1 18:0

    This is a beautifully written story about one woman's life during the horrific days of the German occupation of Poland. This book was written in a style that could be enjoyed by readers young and old. I would recommend this book for fans of "The Diary of Anne Frank".Sarah "Shurka"Shidlovsky is a normal young woman, starting out her married life with her beloved husband, Avraham, when rumors of Adolf Hitler and his hatred of Jews begin to be heard. Soon, Shurka and her family decide to hide in the Parczew Forest. All her life, Shurka has been told that the forest is not a safe place, but now she has to place aside her fears in to save herself and her is hard to imagine living in a forest without housing, having to dig bunkers in the ground in to have shelter. Then, when you finally obtain settled into this home, you have to pick up and move again. Shurka and her family shuffle from bunker to bunker, venturing to stay in granaries during the winter months, surviving on meager rations and no safety. Those who are brave enough (or greedy enough) to support Jews are in danger of death from the is was an awesome story, well written and full of the dangers and horrors of the times. The author does a unbelievable job in her descriptions of the areas, the people, their hopes and their fears. I have read a lot of Holocaust stories and have always wondered why people living in those times didn't heed the warnings to obtain away from Hitler's occupation. In this book, the author relates several instances that create it easier to see that it wouldn't have been an simple decision to make. In our modern times, we often forget that communication during the late 1930's was mostly through word of mouth instead of our instant worldwide news.I am always amazed at the resiliency of the human spirit that shines through in stories of Holocaust survivors. Even though it was a horrific time, full of suffering and death, there is always a light at the end of it. The deaths of Shurka's family during their attempt to stay safe were heartbreaking and the author writes it in such a method that the reader feels every tear. The addition of the immigration of Jews to the fresh homeland of Israel that was included in this book was very enlightening also.I was given a possibility to read this book through a review group, but this review is entirely my own opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    I received a kindle copy in the goodreads giveaway. "Surviving the Forest" is about a Jewish family in Poland during the Holocaust. Growing up Sarah "Shurka" is Jewish girl in Poland. Her family has told her to never go In the forest because of the dangers there. Then the begin of the Holocaust changes everything. People in the village begin to disappear and the rights of the Jewish people are slowly taken from them. Shurka marries and starts a family and soon they have to search a method to survive. Shurka has to go in the forest to hide from the Germans who could take them. Over the next years Shurka and her family have to hide in the forest, in other people's homes to live. Shurka endures heartbreak. starvation and does what she has to do to protect her family. A very amazing book about what people had to do to survive and begin fresh lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    This feels as though it was written for younger readers, leaving adults to explain what pogrom, rape, and murder mean. While it’s a amazing intro for children to the horrors of the Holocaust, it also contains a mother killing her crying baby in to save the rest of the family. Discretion is encouraged.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    amazing story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Jewish Spy (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-6-15 18:49

    This sounded that it would be a serious authentic story of a person in the war versus the evil of persecution of the Jewish people but in the first few pages this married woman spy took part in intimacy with the stranger who brought secret info to her home. Will not continue to read the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Jewish Spy (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-6-15 18:49

    I had to read this book in little doses because I was emotionally drained after reading what this brave determined woman went through. I doubt I could do the same…. but it sure makes me think before I complain about little things…

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor [Book]  2019-12-1 18:0

    I have read a lot of books about the Holocaust. This was not like any of them in an zone of which I knew little. I spent the whole day reading it. It grabbed me right away knowing it was a real story about a remarkable woman in a horrible time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    What a horrifying ordeal for anybody to have to endure. I was born in the early 50’s and truly had no idea what these people endured, in the globe does one obtain to be so so powerful, be so ugly and destroy so a lot of people? Why did such strong countries let all this? Truly just don’t understand it. The more I read about it all the angrier I get!!!! Just heartbreaking!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    This book is sad, heart-breaking to read what they went though. I love WW2 books and this one is good. I would recommend this book to anyone. It deserves a 5 star rating!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Surviving The Forest (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    I received a copy of this historical novel from TheFussyLibrarian and Goodreads Giveaway, Adiva Geffen, and publisher ebookpro. Thank you all for sharing your hard work with me. I have read 'Surviving the Forest' of my own volition, and this review reflects my honest opinion of this iva Geffen takes us into Poland just prior to the beginning of WWII, a time when there were over 5.3 million Jews living peacefully in Poland. Globe Battle II officially began on 1 September 1939, with the invasion of Poland by Germany. Changes in the lives of Polish Jews happened slowly in the smaller communities but like a barrel rolling downhill, the hurt was eventually damning.We follow the family Shidlovsky. Sarah - Shurka her more familiar name, was one of two daughters of Yaakov Mendel and Taiba. In the late 1930's Shurka was married to Avraham Orlitzky, son of a trader, and they were the parents of Irina, about 3, and Yitzhak, born frail in the winter of 1941, born into a Poland now under severe German command. The conditions of all Jewish residents quickly deteriorating as they lived through pogroms, sporadic and mass shootings, middle-of-the-night moves to smaller, cruder, safer places, abandoning all they owned save clothing and shoes and pots and blankets, and finally by the summer of 1942, as ordered, four generations of the extended Shidlovsky family including the Orlitzky's moved to the ghetto at Ostrow Lubelski. But they all knew in their hearts the next step would be cattle vehicles on the train to a death camp. Their only possibility of making it through the battle alive was to escape from the ghetto. It was too late to test to go east to Russia. The only put left to hide was in the foreboding, swamp infused Parczew the end of the war, there were 40,000 to 100,00 total Jews in Poland who survived the Holocaust. Another 150,000 Jewish refugees returned to Poland at the end of the fighting. By 1946 the first peacetime Kielce Pogrom took place, with 42 deaths and 80 wounded of the 200 Jews then living in that ing the tattered remains of the Shidlovsky family to Israel would not be quick or easy. Life there would not be simple. But Israel was not a destination. It would be home.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Jewish Spy (A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor) []  2020-6-15 18:49

    Hayuta Katzenelson's third book is yet another veritable treat and reading pleasure. Steeped in historical happenings and filled with suspense, it serves as a valuable addition to Katzenelson's is page-turner in war-time Poland. The year is 1938. Rivka, the protagonist, is facing a decision with life-changing consequences. Her dilemma is presented in a masterly fashion, and the reader will search himself nervously anticipating Rivka's next steps.I particularly liked the suspense that is maintained throughout the entirety of the book. It is hard to predict happenings and therefore the reader is kept in the dark. I found myself vouching for Rivka the whole time, hoping that one method or another things would work out for her.Overall, I can highly recommend 'The Jewish Spy'. 5 stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Pieces of Hope: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on the True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor []  2020-1-27 20:1

    Award winning author and poet, Wilhemina, writes an exceptional survival memoir about the holocaust. The author paints an all-encompassing human dramatization of love, loss and survival in a very vivid and compelling way.Tiny Pieces of Hope by Wilhemina is a strong and inspirational story about a young kid who survived the Holocaust by using her imagination and resourcefulness. It was a heart-rending and thought-provoking read that will leave you, unexpectedly, feeling like a better person for having read it.Each Holocaust survivor has a special and individual story. However, these survivor’s stories didn’t end in 1945. They continue through to the show day. Their testimonies provide us with an understanding of how the happenings of the Holocaust have shaped their lives and are an ongoing testimony to the strength of the human is was such a phenomenal read. It’s a story you won’t soon forget. It a book that will stay with you long after you’ve finished reading it.Highly recommended and a well deserved five stars from me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Pieces of Hope: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on the True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor []  2020-1-27 20:1

    Five stars for the absolutely captivating writing style and the "footnote" notations which helped understand the foreign language used to enhance the timeline and migrant travel throughout the era. Shows that whatever circumstances you're living in, true life keeps on happening. Something that is often lost in this era of trump.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Pieces of Hope: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on the True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor []  2020-1-27 20:1

    Oh. My. Goodness!!! There aren't enough words to explain this book! The best method to summarize it is this: If you are looking at this or thinking about reading it, don't think about it any more, do it!!!This book brought out all various types of emotions and feelings, even ones that I never would have seen coming!To read this book, from a child's point of view, was so much various from anything else I've ever read! It was both heart wrenching and yet somehow almost joyful at times.Having the opportunity to read this through a child's view brought everything into a whole fresh light. I am in awe of how strong and helpful the ability of a childs imagination is to shape their experiences is. The sheer amount of imagination and innovative ideas that only a kid has the about to "tap into" and utilize were breathtaking and attractive in their own way. Not that the things that any of the kids who lived through this and were forced to experience or were exposed to are beautiful, but that the method they perceived it and dealt with it was an absolutely awesome and attractive journey to read about. It speaks volumes about just how resilient kids really are. This book shows so much of this and shows how various a childs perspective of the same experience can be from an adults. It was still utterly heartbreaking to imagine anything like this event to anyone, as it is with any books like this, but the amount of hope that was able to be found, felt and seen in this book was beyond anything I've ever read or would have expected to have found! It was something that even helped obtain me through the harder times in the book. Just holding onto the hope that was in the heart of the kids helped me too!The descriptiveness of this book is incredibly awesome and well timed. I truly felt like I was right there alongside them as I got lost in this book. There aren't a lot of books that can create the reader feel like they're a part of the story and not just reading about it. To have had this experience brought out a lot of various feelings and created everything so much more true than if I wasn't to have felt this way!I can honestly say that I would be surprised if anyone that was to read this would walk away untouched. This is a book that will stick with you for the rest of your life.I received a complementary copy of this book and I reviewed it voluntarily. This review is my honest opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Pieces of Hope: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on the True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor []  2020-1-27 20:1

    I chose a five,I really enjoyed the. It was amusing and had sort of a musical rhythm to it.I,'ve read quite a few ww2 books, and this is one of best. Of course I recognize the suffering of the author during that period of her life and I mean no disrespect,it is well written book.and I do recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Pieces of Hope: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on the True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor []  2020-1-27 20:1

    Israeli author Wilhelmina is both a writer and a poet, having earned her degrees in literature and education from The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, and Bar Illan University. She is chairman of the Hebrew Writers Association and has won a lot of awards for her writing, poetry and video art.Wilhelmina divides her engrossing memoir of her life as a kid in the midst of Globe Battle II into three sections – Lust for Food: Starvation, Lust for Life; Displaced Persons Camp and Israeli Sunshine, and Lust for Love – and in doing so invites the reader into the interstices of her manner of survival during the Holocaust. The innocence of her vision as a kid is evident in the opening words: ‘The first person who came into the trunk with me was Srulik. I initially heard his true name “Israel” in the darkness of one night. We were in the kibitka, the muddy hovel where we lived. The two of them, both the trunk and Srulik, disturbed the routine of the kibitka, changing my life completely. I was accustomed to the sight of bundles of clothes, bound by a easy strap. The glamour engulfing the ornamental nail-studded trunk amazed me. The luxury of a leather belt to keep it together… all representing some kind of extended reincarnation of a huge chemodan [trunk] that was common in our part of the world.’With this degree of childlike innocence Wilhelmina relates her survival through the rigorous trials of being unwanted and imprisoned and forced to be on constant run - from Krakow, Poland to Uzbekistan, with a lost father and an imprisoned mother – forced to live alone – her only attribute that sustained her was her ability to use her vivid imagination to see things ‘through somewhat rose colourful glasses’ and search ways to pass through counties foreign to her in language and meal and habits, and live – ultimately reaching t just another story about the horrors of the Holocaust, Wilhelmina makes the experience one as seen - and selectively created tolerable – through a child’s eyes. This is a fine book that deserves a powerful reception among readers. Grady Harp May 19I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Pieces of Hope: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on the True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor []  2020-1-27 20:1

    Seeing horrors of the Holocaust through the eyes of adults is one thing, but seeing it through the eyes of the kid is something completely mehow, all the not good things what had happened during that time seem not less terrible, but easier to with, because when you are an adult, even if the horror is incomprehensible, you can cope with it on some level. But when you are a child, even that level is unreachable for om a child's point of view, everything becomes even more frightening, even more dangerous. It is in children's nature to seek safety and what if that safety is scattered into the pieces from the unknown reason?Some of them obtain lost in that kind of globe and some, like the main hero of this book, creates her own globe instead of the missing one. And survive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Pieces of Hope: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on the True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor []  2020-1-27 20:1

    Kids can handle more then we can even imagine. It's awesome to read how the mind of a kid works and how powerful it is, especially in difficult situations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Pieces of Hope: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on the True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor []  2020-1-27 20:1

    Amazing book, interesting story, it's sad what families had to endure during the war. I thought it jumped around and I found it hard to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Pieces of Hope: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on the True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor []  2020-1-27 20:1

    Little Pieces of Home is by Wilhelmina. This book is very difficult to read. It is very disjointed and jumps around. It is definitely not told in order. It seems like the author just goes off on binges of imagination. First, she is with her Mother, then not, then again, Mother is back in the background, and then back to being a model citizen. She is with her Mother yet an orphan or living with her Grandmother then being found at the market. Finally, you obtain the idea that she is the hands of the Soviets. I was not impressed with Little Pieces of Home is by Wilhelmina. This book is very difficult to read. It is very disjointed and jumps around. It is definitely not told in order. It seems like the author just goes off on binges of imagination. First, she is with her Mother, then not, then again, Mother is back in the background, and then back to being a model citizen. She is with her Mother yet an orphan or living with her Grandmother then being found at the market. Finally, you obtain the idea that she is the hands of the Soviets. I was not impressed with this book. It was too difficult to hold up with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tiny Pieces of Hope: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on the True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor []  2020-1-27 20:1

    Might have been interesting if it wasn't so poorly written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vittoria: A Historical Drama Based on A True Story [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    This book was very meaningful to me. I admit to crying and feeling that I want I could have helped. Such a attractive love story that helps to soften the harshness of this reality. So glad I read this book. I hope a lot of more will.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vittoria: A Historical Drama Based on A True Story [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    Portrayed the love between her Grandmother and Grandfather very well. Love shone from each page. This family had a rocky street to travel. However amazing times were liberally sprinkled throughout like raisins in a holiday bread.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vittoria: A Historical Drama Based on A True Story [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    We must remember our history. Not a lot of book written about what occurred in Italy. Enjoyed the whol book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vittoria: A Historical Drama Based on A True Story [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    Really liked this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vittoria: A Historical Drama Based on A True Story [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    Amazing historical factual story! Moving and emotional rollercoaster ride! The Story will suck you in and you will be enthralled in this amazing family and extraordinary and woman!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vittoria: A Historical Drama Based on A True Story [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    Underpinned by the "true" aspect it is without frills , an simple read and carrie a deep truth

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vittoria: A Historical Drama Based on A True Story [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    Enjoyed a lot

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vittoria: A Historical Drama Based on A True Story [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    This story is compelling, but the writing was awkward.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vittoria: A Historical Drama Based on A True Story [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    It was interesting but not terribly exciting. I have fun reading books from that specific time in history and it was based on a real story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vittoria: A Historical Drama Based on A True Story [Book]  2017-11-29 18:0

    A family struggles to survive during battle time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping on the Danube River: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor (World War II Brave Women Fiction Book 4) []  2020-6-27 18:0

    I have read a lot of books about the holocaust, but this story was fresh to me. Never knew about Jews trying to escape by boat. The story itself is heart-wrenching and terrifying. I found the book to be a small hard to follow, going back and forth in time, sometimes I had to go back to search out who was who. I also found it hard to picture some of the things the author was describing. But all-in-all I enjoyed the book and would recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping on the Danube River: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor (World War II Brave Women Fiction Book 4) []  2020-6-27 18:0

    5*,but one of the harder Holocaust books,I have is is a Historical novel,based on e people are very hard to forget & you will be remembering this book,long after you finish the latest page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping on the Danube River: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor (World War II Brave Women Fiction Book 4) []  2020-6-27 18:0

    i have also read this book in hebrew, the original language of the book, and i found it amazing! It is an exciting book about Jews trying to escape during Nazi times. Based on a real story it is full of suspense and believable characters and portrays very well the struggle that a group of jews had to survive as they fled from Nazi clutches . I can highly recommend this book. The translation into english is excelllent!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping on the Danube River: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor (World War II Brave Women Fiction Book 4) []  2020-6-27 18:0

    Awesome real story. I read the book in Hebrew and recently in English. The book is translated very a kid I heard bits and pieces of this tragic happening at home from my mother. She was a teenager when she escaped in the latest transport from Belgrade when it was still possible. I never understood the magnitude of this tragedy and the ways it affected so a lot of lives of people who were trying to escape the inferno of hell. The historical facts are real, well described in a captivating novel which is well written. After reading this book, I have a much better understanding of the tragedy that took put in this dark age in our though the topic matter is dark, the story is written as a captivating novel with very interesting characters. I highly recommend this nny Bar-Shlomo

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping on the Danube River: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor (World War II Brave Women Fiction Book 4) []  2020-6-27 18:0

    This adds faces and private stories to the numbers of the a lot of lost to the insanity of the holocaust. It's an perfect book for youth to gain understanding of growing up during that period. Amazing for class reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping on the Danube River: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor (World War II Brave Women Fiction Book 4) []  2020-6-27 18:0

    Any one interested in WWII-Holocaust history will search this real story quite compelling. The writer is deeply attached to his family history and it is a bonus to the globe to know of this event.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping on the Danube River: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor (World War II Brave Women Fiction Book 4) []  2020-6-27 18:0

    I am left with a very sad and hollow feeling in my stomach after reading this book. The disappointments and time spent waiting to obtain immigration papers was just heartbreaking. It is difficult to hold reading while knowing what abuse and destruction awaits the people in this group but this story required to be told - just as all the other stories of holocaust atrocities need to be told - so that the globe will never forget nor let again this type of horrendous injustice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping on the Danube River: A WW2 Historical Novel, Based on a True Story of a Jewish Holocaust Survivor (World War II Brave Women Fiction Book 4) []  2020-6-27 18:0

    What a story of untold tragedy and suffering! My heart damage during the reading of this epic tale. God has not forgotten His people, nor will He. I've read the end of the story and there is a satisfied ending, see Jeremiah 31-end of book. Well worth the time to read it.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386