through the looking glass Reviews & Opinions


Submit through the looking glass review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Look! Look! Look! review [Book]  2018-2-24 18:1

    Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Look! Look! Look! review [Book]  2018-2-24 18:1

    Liked the info in the pictures. Amazing book for WWS in teaching writers that they can write like scientists and look closely.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Look! Look! Look! review [Book]  2018-2-24 18:1

    This book is an awesome method to teach kids of quite an age range the a lot of various ways to look at art work. Three mice take a visual journey through a painting, looking at the painting's lines, colors, and shapes. It's a amazing visual story so young children love the book and older kids (even some adults!) can learn of the a lot of ways to appreciate a work of art. A must at home, in the library, and in an art class!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on through the looking glass or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch through the looking glass video reviews and related movies:

    See Alice Through the Looking Glass Official Trailer #2 (2016) - Mia Wasikowska, Johnny Depp Movie HD on youtube.

     related image

    See Alice Through the Looking Glass Official Trailer #1 (2016) - Mia Wasikowska, Johnny Depp Movie HD on youtube.

     related image

    See Alice Through The Looking Glass - Extended Look on youtube.

     related image

    See Volodymyr Bystriakov - Alice Through the Looking Glass (library / soundtrack, Ukraine, USSR, 1982) on youtube.

     related image

    See Alice Through The Looking Glass - "Save The Hatter" clip on youtube.

     related image

    See ALICE THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS BY LEWIS CARROLL // ANIMATED BOOK SUMMARY on youtube.

     related image

    See Alice Through the Looking Glass - ตัวอย่างที่ 2 (Official ซับไทย HD) on youtube.

     related image

    See ALICE THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS | Teaser Trailer | Official Disney UK on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Look! Look! Look! review [Book]  2018-2-24 18:1

    Fabulous experience

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Look! Look! Look! review [Book]  2018-2-24 18:1

    This is a amazing book to work on visual discrimination skills and art appreciation all in one. I love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Look! Look! Look! review [Book]  2018-2-24 18:1

    Mom's Point of View:For me personally, I loved the book. I was captivated by the method the book starts with the overall picture and then focuses on all the little info of the chosen artwork. Then, when the mice recreate the art work in various ways, I loved how it gave perspective on the method that various artists and view and show the same subject. I found the colors attractive and thought that this was a amazing method to obtain my kid to look at gartener's Point of View:My daughter loves art. She can spend a whole day in an art museum looking at paintings and finding awesome things about them (while irritating other patrons with her five-year-old volume!). I thought this book would be excellent for her, but the book simply couldn't hold her interest. I tried to create it as fun as possible. I got out paper and scissors so that we could look at art in our own house in various ways. And she was interested for about a minute. I kept trying to draw her back into the book, pointing out various things and seeing what she could find. Nope. Finally, I allow her go and simply read the book myself.Overall Conclusion:In spite of the age guidelines, I think that the book, attractive as it is, is more appropriate for a slightly older child. I did want that the chosen artwork had been something a small more interesting to a kid - something with lots of animals or a stage were things were happening, rather than a portrait of one woman. I personally enjoyed the book and will revisit it with my kid when she's a bit older.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Look! Look! Look! review [Book]  2018-2-24 18:1

     This is basically a lesson plan on how to appreciate art. In this book, there are about six various fun activities that you could do with any piece of 's carefully disguised as a kids' book where some mice steal/borrow a fine art postcard and then the mice think of various ways that they can appreciate the art on the postcard.I thought this notice in the book was really cool, because a lot of time I stare at some art, and I really don't know what I should do so that I can fully appreciate it. This book gives a lot of things you can do, like identify various parts of the art. Define which colors are in the art, and which ones aren't. Come up with your own drawings and shapes that are interpretations of the art, and a lot of more fact, the book is created from chop outs, and mimics a lot of various kinds of art in the house of the mice, so the book itself is an example of what it's trying to encourage the readers to do.And, even if you don't wish to appreciate art, it's still a cute story about small s:+Careful attention to detail with the illustrations+Great lesson plan+Great kids' book+The most interesting lesson plan that I've ever read+An extremely informative book on how you can appreciate art+Tons of activities in this bookCons:-Kids will need an adult's interpretation of the book in order to do all of the activities in this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Look! Look! Look! review [Book]  2018-2-24 18:1

    This book is really, really primary art. I found it was most appreciated by my preschooler and only just still of interest to my first grader. It does explain the elements of color, line, pattern, and shape very clearly, and it does it cleverly by focusing on a single piece of art and how the elements come into play in that picture. Most other related books that I've seen use a lot of various works of art to entice kids to think about these things. For example, the Come Look With Me series takes a little number of various works and then has kids respond questions that require studying the pictures. Micklethwait's books have easy headings ("Play" or "Color" or "Line") and then showcases art works that seem to highlight those features. By focusing all the attention of this book on the single portrait shown on the cover, this book shows how the elements of art all contribute differently to a single piece. The choice of the portrait is odd, although perhaps by being so outside of a typical preschooler's experience it raises lots of interesting questions. Who is she? Why did someone paint her picture? Would you like to dress like that? These questions are not in the book, however.I also found it interesting that the mice discover with line, shape, etc, to reduce the portrait to the rawest form of line, shape, etc. It really threw those elements into relief. Although I read this as a bedtime story to my children, I would like to go back through it more slowly perhaps during a crafty afternoon so that we can test out some of the same activities that the mice did. The book really invites this sort of exploration. I think it's really amazing for pre-K through about first for art; not a lot older than that, though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Look! Look! Look! review [Book]  2018-2-24 18:1

    Three whiskered art connoisseurs borrow a postcard of a popular portrait that happens to arrive while the people who own the home in which their home is located are out. Being little mice, the postcard is just the right size for them to examine and discover the painting. They chop out frames through which to view info and patterns in the paintings (and they message info and patterns in their own clothes). They lay out colourful paper next to the postcard and look for which colors are in the painting. They draw the outlines of the person and the major info of the painting. They search and chop out various shapes they search in the painting. They assemble and re-assemble these shapes to create various images. Finally, they play around by inserting themselves into the painting and adding and changing details.Without being beaten over the head, children are learning the primary tools of art appreciation - detail, line, color and shading and form. Since it's being done through the perspective of mice in the form of a story, the educational aspect is muted so that it doesn't interfere with children's engagement with the material itself. For those interested, there is a glossary in the back that further explains and gives examples of the concepts covered and an activity to make your own portrait is is an perfect book to read with your children just before visiting a museum or art gallery in person. You can bring along viewing frames, color samples and a sketchbook for children to study the paintings on their own. This is a amazing method to obtain early elementary children (ages 6 to 10 perhaps) interested in art and understanding the primary e illustrations in the book are made by using textured paper chop into easy shapes to make the characters, their clothes and other objects in simple, almost cartoon-ish form which are simple for children to connect with. Another amazing activity might be having your children chop their own textured paper to make their own pictures and stories.I don't know that this is a book children will love and wish to return to over and over, but it is an engaging method to introduce primary concepts of art appreciation. Used in connection with activities as described, it could be a amazing method of piquing your child's interest in art. Recommended for the target audience.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Look! Look! Look! review [Book]  2018-2-24 18:1

    To children, this is a fun (super-cute) "book about art." In actuality, it is a tremendously brilliant educational tool for young people (and maybe some older ones). The text offers youngsters a myriad of ways in which to view and appreciate a single work of art. Sounds like a snooze, right?! NOT AT ALL! Here is a fast break down:The mice "borrow" a postcard featuring Peake's "Portrait of Lady Clopton." (I love this idea that the recipients of the card are not home, so the mice "borrow" the postcard until the family returns ... they could have easily secreted it away in their cozy mouse hole, but being "cultured" creatures, they merely borrow it). Using viewfinders of their own design (they make "frames" from construction paper), they locate focal points (face, hand, necklace, etc.), determine that the woman has garb of various patterns, and then use the viewfinders in their own life to locate varying patterns. The mice then employ color swatches to determine the palette of the artist. Next, they sketch the relevant locations of the portrait and chop construction shapes to recreate the lady (a la Matisse). And, then they obtain creative (prepare for surprises!)The book itself is delightfully postmodern in that the "illustrations" are actually the same paper cut-outs that the mice create. Moreover, I am amazed at how "simplistic" the author/illustrator has rendered this (actually very complicated) "lesson." Beautiful!The final pages provide a glossary and an activity. This is a nice a college-level instructor of the visual arts (film), I am bananas about this book and the idea getting (young!) kids excited about art ... not just about free-drawing with crayons, but understanding how art operates. And, I adore that this text has the power to encourage kids to "Look!" carefully ... and to learn!I barely have the words to express how strong and delightful this book is. I extend my deepest gratitude to all involved!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Out, Looking In review []  2020-1-8 19:43

    Worked perfect!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Out, Looking In review []  2020-1-8 19:43

    It's a textbook so I cant say I love it lol. It was in amazing shape and I only used it once or twice for my class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Out, Looking In review []  2020-1-8 19:43

    amazing condition with a amazing price.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Out, Looking In review []  2020-1-8 19:43

    Best price and I find everywhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Out, Looking In review []  2020-1-8 19:43

    For what I need is enough, it was used but in amazing conditions and best price

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Out, Looking In review []  2020-1-8 19:43

    Purchased for school. Affordable and came on time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Out, Looking In review []  2020-1-8 19:43

    Book is amazing but no instruction for return was sent with the book as amazon advertise...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Out, Looking In review []  2020-1-8 19:43

    ok

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Out, Looking In review []  2020-1-8 19:43

    delivered before time and as described

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Out, Looking In review []  2020-1-8 19:43

    What Ineeded for a class I am taking.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Cutting Oil - Glass Cutter & Bottle Cutter Lubricant - Use with Any Glass Cutter Tool for Glass Cutting - Glass Cutter Oil for Glass Drill Bit, Mirror Cutter, Tile Cutter & Glass Cutting Tools review []  2019-12-18 19:59

     This oil works to create your glass cutter work better and latest longer, but its a bottle of oil. There isn't much to say except that it works.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Cutting Oil - Glass Cutter & Bottle Cutter Lubricant - Use with Any Glass Cutter Tool for Glass Cutting - Glass Cutter Oil for Glass Drill Bit, Mirror Cutter, Tile Cutter & Glass Cutting Tools review []  2019-12-18 19:59

    Amazing cutting oil

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Cutting Oil - Glass Cutter & Bottle Cutter Lubricant - Use with Any Glass Cutter Tool for Glass Cutting - Glass Cutter Oil for Glass Drill Bit, Mirror Cutter, Tile Cutter & Glass Cutting Tools review []  2019-12-18 19:59

    Glass cutting oil was a amazing quality, it arrived quickly and works as expected

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Cutting Oil - Glass Cutter & Bottle Cutter Lubricant - Use with Any Glass Cutter Tool for Glass Cutting - Glass Cutter Oil for Glass Drill Bit, Mirror Cutter, Tile Cutter & Glass Cutting Tools review []  2019-12-18 19:59

    Makes using glass cutter much easier and smoother.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Cutting Oil - Glass Cutter & Bottle Cutter Lubricant - Use with Any Glass Cutter Tool for Glass Cutting - Glass Cutter Oil for Glass Drill Bit, Mirror Cutter, Tile Cutter & Glass Cutting Tools review []  2019-12-18 19:59

    Amazing product . For use with a glass cutting tool.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Cutting Oil - Glass Cutter & Bottle Cutter Lubricant - Use with Any Glass Cutter Tool for Glass Cutting - Glass Cutter Oil for Glass Drill Bit, Mirror Cutter, Tile Cutter & Glass Cutting Tools review []  2019-12-18 19:59

    My husband & I are working on a diy project using glass bottles. We started cutting our bottles using our cutter with running water. The cuts weren’t great. After some research I purchased this glass cutting oil, the cuts are so much cleaner & easier to make. The scoring process was created clearer also. I would highly recommend this product if you plan on doing any glass cutting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Cutting Oil - Glass Cutter & Bottle Cutter Lubricant - Use with Any Glass Cutter Tool for Glass Cutting - Glass Cutter Oil for Glass Drill Bit, Mirror Cutter, Tile Cutter & Glass Cutting Tools review []  2019-12-18 19:59

    This oil works perfectly with our fresh glass cutter. Gave four stars just because I was misled by the image into thinking I would be receiving two bottles at this price.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Cutting Oil - Glass Cutter & Bottle Cutter Lubricant - Use with Any Glass Cutter Tool for Glass Cutting - Glass Cutter Oil for Glass Drill Bit, Mirror Cutter, Tile Cutter & Glass Cutting Tools review []  2019-12-18 19:59

    Bought this for my brother, he loves crafting things out of wood and has recently started crafting things from glass, and he says this glass cutting oil is perfect. Makes for much smoother edges every time. Definitely recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Cutting Oil - Glass Cutter & Bottle Cutter Lubricant - Use with Any Glass Cutter Tool for Glass Cutting - Glass Cutter Oil for Glass Drill Bit, Mirror Cutter, Tile Cutter & Glass Cutting Tools review []  2019-12-18 19:59

    works great

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Cutting Oil - Glass Cutter & Bottle Cutter Lubricant - Use with Any Glass Cutter Tool for Glass Cutting - Glass Cutter Oil for Glass Drill Bit, Mirror Cutter, Tile Cutter & Glass Cutting Tools review []  2019-12-18 19:59

    The product is very amazing quality, I was very satisfied, with this oil glass is chop perfectly thanks to those who offer this product to the service of interested people. Thank you for the customer service, very interested in e-mails are answered immediately, and thank you very much shipping.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful: A girl's trip through the looking glass review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:1

    I bought this book for seven dollars and I am dissapointed that it took me about half an hour to read through the whole story. But other than that I really enjoyed this book and all the illustrations it included. I won't spoil anything for you! In conclusion I am giving this book four stars even though it took me half an hour to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful: A girl's trip through the looking glass review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:1

    Unbelievable book with amazing notice for girls. I've already ordered more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful: A girl's trip through the looking glass review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:1

    I enjoyed this fast read, and would recommend it to any girl or woman that has ever struggled with not feeling amazing enough or beautiful enough being themselves. The story, illustrations, and book concept work well together to convey a notice a lot of women don't accept about themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful: A girl's trip through the looking glass review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:1

    I disliked this book because it was too short. It took me 10 mins to read it from begin to Finnish

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful: A girl's trip through the looking glass review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:1

    My 9 year old says the humor in this book is, “not funny at all mom” *dissapointed sigh followed by a slight eye roll in which she almost gets in problem for

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful: A girl's trip through the looking glass review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:1

    I ordered this book hoping for it to be a amazing book to use to discuss self worth to my daughter. We finished the book in one sitting and it just didn't leave much to discuss. Not what I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful: A girl's trip through the looking glass review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:1

    It was short but I liked it. The pictures looked kinda real. But cute. I liked the very latest page when her mate said that she was cute.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful: A girl's trip through the looking glass review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:1

    This story hit the nail on the head. I want I had access to this when not just my daughter was entering her teen years but for my son as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful: A girl's trip through the looking glass review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:1

    Attractive is a book that I want was around during my teen years. What a difference it could have made! This book is especially excellent for the globe of today with all of the media's emphasis on shallow outer beauty and who has hooked up with e art work in the book is delightful. The author does a fabulous job of getting into the mind of Lily the book's main character.We all know what crazy things our mind tell us and can relate.I have not read anything so refreshing and honest in a very long this book for your daughter, nieces, mates and all of the women in your life. You won't regret it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Beautiful: A girl's trip through the looking glass review [Book]  2018-3-10 18:1

    Small short, but besides that it is a amazing book. I would expect more like a girl's life. I like it, very nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Glass Loot Slots PAID review [App]  2019-1-22 0:25

    Really amazing simple to play slots. No in application purchases, just nice simple to play slots with no ads. I would only change a few little things, allow me remove the blinking lights on the buttons "more games" flashing gets distracting and when you obtain a huge payout it always kicks me over to the share with mates window. Otherwise it's a very fun and well created themed slots with a lot of mini android games and they never ask you to buy coins.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Glass Loot Slots PAID review [App]  2019-1-22 0:25

    Almost five star A very no nag experience makes it far better than 99 percent of other slots but the actual reel zone is too little and so the graphic experience is less than optimal ... Its also one better played with sound off

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Glass Loot Slots PAID review [App]  2019-1-22 0:25

    Fun to play and very amazing pay outs, I'll continue to play it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Glass Loot Slots PAID review [App]  2019-1-22 0:25

    I love it am glad to have it now love y'all

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wine Bottle and Jar Cutter, Glass Bottle Cutter, Glass Cutting Tools to Make Glasses and Stained Glass Green review []  2019-12-18 20:0

    Awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wine Bottle and Jar Cutter, Glass Bottle Cutter, Glass Cutting Tools to Make Glasses and Stained Glass Green review []  2019-12-18 20:0

    NOT A VERY EASY PRODUCT TO USE DOESNT CUT EASIELY

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wine Bottle and Jar Cutter, Glass Bottle Cutter, Glass Cutting Tools to Make Glasses and Stained Glass Green review []  2019-12-18 20:0

    The idea is good, but the blades are too dull to create a consistent chop in the bottle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Glass (The Naturalist Series Book 2) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    I couldn’t place this book down. I read it in one setting!!! I Look forward to reading book number three!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Glass (The Naturalist Series Book 2) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    The author directly insults people of religious beliefs in several places. I am tired of being insulted for being a Christian

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Glass (The Naturalist Series Book 2) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    After successfully finding a serial assassin that no one even knew existed, Dr. Theo Cray is in high demand. He’s working for a shadowy arm of the government, trying to search connections between suspected terrorists. He’s also being hounded by people who’ve lost loved ones, looking for answers where there seemingly are none. The sad eyes of a father missing his only son gets to Theo, and he’s on the case in L.A., looking for missing African American kids with light-colored eyes. I’m satisfied to report that he escapes the physical trauma that beset him in the first novel, though this episode seems to take a more psychological toll. Expect more of the same solid pacing from Mayne’s first installment, along with Cray continuing to “science the sh!t” out of every situation. The ending did seem slightly far-fetched, and it left me a small sad for Cray – is he going down to the dark side? I’m looking forward to finding out in the third book.I read an early copy of this book - my opinions are my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Glass (The Naturalist Series Book 2) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    I'm a small worried about how much I'm enjoying this series. Some would say that Dr. Theo Cray is a vigilante. While I don't condone this, it's satisfying to see him singlehandedly pursue poor guys without worrying about the consequences. And he must, again, risk everything on this quest. Law enforcement is not helpful and nobody believes him. Worse, the baddie may be protected by someone up high. And he is one of the worst kind of monsters: the kind who preys on children. Theo doesn't wish to take the case when a father begs him to search his son, who disappeared years ago. Versus his better judgement, he starts pulling at the thread, unravelling a conspiracy and finding a literal boneyard. Why hasn't anyone noticed? These are black, underprivileged kids, so no one cares. I cringed, cheered and worried along with Theo. I'm looking forward to the next volume.I chose to read this book and all opinions in this review are my own and completely unbiased. Thank you, NetGalley/Thomas & Mercer!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Glass (The Naturalist Series Book 2) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    I was really looking forward to this book after how amazing the naturalist was, but came out very disappointed. The premise was promising, and the first half or so of the book was good, suspenseful, and interesting... and then, it was like the author lost interest. Instead of creating a a special villain like Joe Vik, the Toyman was left unfinished as a character. He was taken down method too easily. The whole time Theo would say that he had no idea how the Toyman thought, he was of a various create than Joe and Theo- mindless musings that were not followed up on. Was the author rushing to obtain this finished and instead of fully fleshing out the serial killer, said forget it, lets just end it with a government conspiracy and call it a day? This shoddy ending wasnt even fully explained. Like any politician would risk his career to hold a kid rapist/murderer safe. Also, I could be wrong, but this book seemed method shorter than the first- finished it in under 2 hours.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Glass (The Naturalist Series Book 2) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    This book and the book before it, about the same character, are hard reading for me, since I'm not sure I understand even half of what the hero is thinking. Of course the hero has a method of thinking that makes him what he is and gives him the ability to see thing differently than most of us so my not understanding him isn't a complaint. I enjoyed the book, despite the violence, since the violence was meant to stop more violence. I wouldn't mind reading more books about Theo Cray's work in the future, as he does what he thinks needs to be done, while having to compromise his values along the way. Thanks to Thomas & Mercer and NetGalley for this ARC in return for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Glass (The Naturalist Series Book 2) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    Well written thriller that sometimes goes a tad over the top with the conspiracy but at the same time has a amazing heart. Theo Cray is a really intelligent guy who is now working for DIA but that doesn't stop him from working hard to figure out who and what the "Toy Man" is. His investigatory tactic relies on scientific method, not the gut, and he's successful. You know he's going to sort this out but can you figure out who the poor guy is? This has enough twists to hold you guessing. Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Glass (The Naturalist Series Book 2) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    Nerdy science guy with desire for justice at his best, narrow focused know-it-all that ignores people and rules at his worst, Professor Theo Cray finds himself searching for another serial assassin in LOOKING GLASS by Andrew Mayne. Cray's challenge is even tougher this time, because now their are larger and more strong entities trying to misdirect Cray and bury the truth he is searching for. Cray perceives criminal investigation the method fresh globe baseball minds view sabermetrics; probabilities and likelihoods are key to finding the truth. Mayne also makes Cray more accessible; Cray has learned a small better since his latest case (THE NATURALIST) how to interact with the globe (law enforcement, witnesses, etc) to obtain what he needs. Still a small bull headed and determined to search the truth even if it breaks laws, Cray intentions are so pure, though, the reader can't support but yearn for him to solve the case. There are some dead ends in Cray's search, but Mayne entertains with some creative and fun characters in those parts so that those dead ends are quickly smoothed over and woven into the fabric and texture of the search. While most all of the science and forensic discovery is simple to understand and explained in detail when necessary, there are few moments when Mayne does go off on a bit of a extraneous tangent that really doesn't progress the story and occasionally halts the momentum a amazing mystery/suspense like this one should have. In LOOKING GLASS, Mayne has presented a excited and multi-layered story of Professor Theo Cray's righteous find for a assassin the globe has either ignored or simply forgotten. Cray's relentless drive and Mayne's crafting of a multilayered story full of twists and turns makes for a compelling read. Thank you to Thomas & Mercer, Andrew Mayne, and Netgalley for an copt of this book in exchange for an honest review!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Glass (The Naturalist Series Book 2) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    Andrew Mayne's newest thriller Looking Glass picks up a small while after the action of the first book in the series The Naturalist. Dr. Theo Cray has left academia and entered the personal sector as a government contractor searching for terrorists using AI. After a conflict in his fresh position, he travels to Los Angeles to look into a missing kid case. Cray quickly finds links to more victims and believes this is the work of a serial killer.While I thoroughly enjoyed The Naturalist, I had mixed feelings about Looking Glass. Cray's hero is well-developed and continues to evolve. Mayne is exceptional at explaining the use of science, from Huge Data to advanced biology, to drive the investigation.While the Professor Cray's hero is engaging, the plot of Looking Glass is thin at times. I felt a twinge of unrealism enter the narrative in several places; the cause and result of character's actions did not add up. I give this book three stars, but I would read another in this series because I like the main hero so ank you to NetGalley, Thomas & Mercer, and Mr. Mayne for an advanced copy for review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Looking Glass (The Naturalist Series Book 2) review [Book]  2018-3-14 18:0

    The Naturalist was one of the greatest literary surprises of latest year for me. I'm currently an hour into book 2 and already loving rk my words: Andrew Mayne is one to watch. Every time I finish one of his books, I feel smarter, and his characters are second to none.If you've not read the Naturalist: go read it. If you have, buckle in along with me for its worthy successor.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Language Glass: Why the World Looks Different in Other Languages review []  2019-12-27 19:6

    This was our book group selection for February 7, 2016 and was based on my recommendation. I started reading the book months earlier and periodically kept up with it but was glad to have the possibility to discuss it with my mates since they always bring aspects to their interpretations that I would have missed otherwise. In general, and this was a shared feeling, Guy does not carry through the argument the tile seems to lead one to expect. I appreciated the history that led to the linguistic relativity theory especially the section on Gladstone and the colors – or lack of colors in the Homeric texts. (It was also interesting that a national leader would also have an interest in scholarly work since it is hard imagining anyone having that sort of time and interest in political leadership today.) The interesting in the Sapir Whorf hypothesis and why it went over board and became a laughing stock was interesting, but then Guy attempts to bring some of the theory back with a catch. The primitive languages which remain we ought to learn as much from as we can while they are still around since they seem to be more in touch with fundamental reality – as one mate pointed out in her own experience the native groups have a true need for communicating close to nature experiences for survival reasons. Urbanites seem to just talk talk talk all the time about very abstract things. (Interesting here is a reference to the Flynn effect.) I also enjoyed the “itiscization” of English and the sort of critique of Tag Twain’s piece on the Poor German Language by pointing out English used to be the same method but perhaps efficiency did a pruning job on it. But the end argument is not that language is so much a glass through which we see the globe as that social characterizations or frames force us to view things the method it does even if that is not necessarily going to enable us to ignore something like colors. But if you grow up egocentric you see things that way, if your culture is based more on relations situated in the Australian Outback then the cardinal directions become second nature to you even with regard to how you are situated in a room or a cup on the table is not next to you as much as it is south of you. Or is that west? An interesting book, an interesting read and discussion book, though clearly the subject has much more ground to explore.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Language Glass: Why the World Looks Different in Other Languages review []  2019-12-27 19:6

    THE BOOKThis is an perfect book, the only drawback is that is feels too E KINDLE EDITIONHowever, the Kindle edition (on my black-and-white) Kindle is badly done. All photos are quite little for an unknown reason. Some photos mentioned in the text are simply missing. Even worse, the book discusses color vision, and has some color charts, but I couldn't search them, and I guess they would be black and white anyway. Maybe Amazon could provide extra download links where you could download the photos to your mobile phone or something, since the Kindle edition is simply missing a lot (and typesetting of unique characters is horrible, as usual).What could be done is, you buy a book, you obtain an e-mail (as you already do) with extra material for that book, so you can immediately click on them on your mobile phone...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Language Glass: Why the World Looks Different in Other Languages review []  2019-12-27 19:6

    An interesting and well-written book, but one that disappointed me compared to the author's previous work, "The Unfolding of Language". That, for me, was a truly mind- bending book, which changed my beliefs about how language evolved. "Through the Language Glass" sounds equally wide-ranging -- the blurb on the American edition says adds as a subtitle "Why the Globe Looks Various in Other Languages".As it happens, the British edition has a more accurate subtitle "How Words Color Your World." The first half of the book is mostly about color, and the words we use for color. In the nineteenth century, scholars (led by British PM Gladstone) began to address the fact that some very necessary historical languages, including Greek, Hebrew and Sanskrit, did not use nearly as a lot of color words as do modern European languages. Later researchers showed that a lot of non-European languages shared this trait. The book describes how this study proceeded, what conclusions it reached, and what seems to Deutscher the best explanation. This part of the book, about 120 pages long, is almost as interesting and just as well written as "Unfolding", though it clearly is a work on a smaller canvas. I would give this section five e second half of the book examines other locations in which language and culture have interacted -- complexity, gender, and physical orientation. The discussion of complexity is interesting, but very brief. The section on physical orientation strikes me more as a curiosity than something with true importance in the innate/cultural debate. And the section on gender reports a series of complex experiments that, it seems to me, yield very thin results. I would have to give the second half of the book three ding it up, this book is well worth the time and attention of anyone interested in linguistics -- and, for the benefit of non- professionals, gracefully written. It's not as satisfying as the earlier work, but I still look forward to the next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Language Glass: Why the World Looks Different in Other Languages review []  2019-12-27 19:6

    Thus is a amazing book and a "good read", well written. Sometimes one is excited to obtain to a conclusion from a set of experiments. I am glad I read it. It is so that some of the reviews promised too much. Language clearly does influence how people think, but as explained iin subtle ways not yet fully understood. Some of the research is in early stages and awaits technical advances. The author is very realistic about this. So one will not fine dramatic stories of why diplomatic negotiations failed because the participants did not understand what the various languages meant. But one will learn why some cultures think differently about color or spacial orientation and how language plays a key if not controlling role in that. Read it to learn and expand your horizons, but don't expect unrealistic conclusions or explanations beyond where the field stands.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Language Glass: Why the World Looks Different in Other Languages review []  2019-12-27 19:6

    This seems to be worth 4.99 stars for content and I would round up to 6.0 (if possible) for Deutscher's style and humor, even if the content were not as good. This is an perfect introduction to the current state of investigation of the relationship between thought and language. While there are no in-line references, the Notes section in the back of the book provides references to the 19 page Bibliography ( 300 entries).I do have a few minor gripes that I wish to obtain off my chest.1) I feel that Deutscher presents Whorf's most extreme position -almost a caricature. Whorf was an M.I.T. graduate in Chemical Engineering whose entire career was as a safety engineer for The Hartford Fire Insurance Company. Linguistics was his avocation. Whorf died at the age of 44 and a lot of of his papers were published by his mates and colleagues after his death. We cannot know what changes he might have created prior to publication had he lived. His defenders point out that his written statements contain a lot of more moderate statements of position; indeed it is difficult to discern the exact limits of his position. In fairness to Deutscher, personifying the extreme position seems to be an effective pedagogical technique, and Whorf did take extreme positions at times.I consider myself a moderate Whorfian; I search the most succinct expression of my position is an adaptation of the astrologer's formulation concerning the stars: "Languages impel, they do not compel." Perhaps one attribute of genius is the ability to overcome the impulses and promptings of language. This leads to an expansion of the language that permits non-geniuses to share in the genius' insight. And, this provides the mechanism by which we all augment our cognitive toolboxes and "stand on the shoulders of giants".2) Deutscher gives an perfect explanation of "factive vs. non-factive verbs" (P-150). He uses this to help his claim that people can learn fresh concepts that were not previously show in their individual languages and to argue that therefore language does not constrain EVER, before Deutscher explained the concept I would not have realized verbs could be categorized in that manner. Now I do. Previously, I would never have thought of that characteristic when analyzing a verb; in the future I shall. Now that Deutscher has expanded my language by adding the concept of factive, my language is various and I think differently. Deutscher's argument has actually confirmed Whorf! -moderately!3) Although Deutscher writes perfect [email protected]#$%!& is not his native language and in a couple of cases he seems to lack a native speaker's feel for the Whorfian underpinnings and nuances of utscher asks "Or think about it another way, when you ask someone ...something like `are you coming tomorrow?' do you feel your grasp of futurity is slipping?" (PP. 145 -6)When I compare "Are you coming tomorrow?" with "Will you come tomorrow?" I feel, in the first case the query asks: "Is it your current intention to come tomorrow?" and in the second "Do you believe your plans and external circumstances will effect in your coming tomorrow?" The first one is rooted in the present, the second in the future. I will accept that this has elements of connotation vs. denotation, but the language still impels me to address either the show state of affairs or the future. I will also grant that the respond to the first might be "I intend to come, but it looks like the creek's going to rise and I may not be able to obtain across the ford with my old car.", but that is a various matter -providing as much info as is important for the purposes of the exchange. (H.P. Grice's Maxim of Quantity). Language does not compel me to ignore the future, it merely nudges me. Perhaps being a native English-speaker leads me to see nuances second-language speakers do not. (And, by the way, I used futurity will twice, when I was really speaking about the present, to indicate a concession -"I will accept.") I just heard a Yale Economist speculating that the reason the Germans save for the future is that they habitually use the show tense for future events: Es regnet am Morgen (literally "It rains tomorrow" for English "It's going to rain tomorrow." Or "It will raan tomorrow."As Hebrew has gender (Masc. Fem. Neu.) for all nouns, Deutscher finds the use of he or she to be "poetic" and even "arch" for English nouns that are normally neuter. He has not met the farmer, miner or assembly line worker whose favorite rifle or tool is a she, or tried calling someone's household pet or favorite horse "it". I have heard computer programmers describe the operation of a piece of software as "he wants to ...". I have a 24-year old sports vehicle that has acquired personhood over the years, as have some of the quirkier computers I've worked on. I also must wonder whether a native speaker of a language with two genders (e.g. Spanish) would search this natural or "arch"? -or a native speaker of two languages with contradictory genders?However, when everything is considered this book has my highest recommendation for style, content and humor -every star amazon will allow!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Language Glass: Why the World Looks Different in Other Languages review []  2019-12-27 19:6

    Deutscher's thesis is that the often repeated proposition that the lack of a word for a certain concept in a language somehow limits the speakers ability to see, or think about or understand the concept, simply isn't true. Deutcher can hardly be blamed if poof that something isn't real is rarely as exciting as proof that it is. At least to someone who isn't an academic and has no stake in the e section on how various cultures categorize colors was interesting. The included color plates merit ill, Deutscher's style is witty and engaging. Academic without ever being stuffy, the material was accessible even to someone without a linguistic background. Though I finished the book unsatisfied because I didn't learn what I wanted to know, I'm glad I read it, and would recommend it to someone with an interest in the subject.I gave it four stars instead of five because toward the end, I found it needlessly repetitive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Language Glass: Why the World Looks Different in Other Languages review []  2019-12-27 19:6

    As the title implies, this book looks at the relationship between thought and language - what is the relationship between how people conceive and understand the globe and the words, grammar, syntax that they use to verbalize these thoughts? This covers color, gender, even direction and physical orientation, and incorporates anthropology, history, and physics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Language Glass: Why the World Looks Different in Other Languages review []  2019-12-27 19:6

    If you're interested in linguistics, psychology, and the interplay between the two within the human experience, this is the book for you! The author provides a comprehensive overview of historical discoveries in these fields that have led to understanding of how language affects our reality. Some parts of the book, such as the one that discussed object genders in various languages, were really really amusing! Also, I am left greatly impressed by ingenious experiments that psychologists managed to design to uncover mental processes. All in all, an awesome awesome read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Language Glass: Why the World Looks Different in Other Languages review []  2019-12-27 19:6

    This is a tremendous book full of insight into language, grammar and its relation to culture. A lot of of Noam Chomsky's generally accepted ideas are place to the test. It is critical that you read this in a Kindle that has COLOR capability since the text of entire chapters makes no sense unless you can see the pictures in color. As a non-native English speaker I have often wondered about the relationship between first language and cultural development. This book shed a lot of light on the subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Through the Language Glass: Why the World Looks Different in Other Languages review []  2019-12-27 19:6

    This book discusses how a group's language can affect (or not) their differences in culture from others. Culture is more a effect of the put and situation into which a person is born than any differences in intellect. Tribes living in a primitive culture do not necessarly have a primitive language. Their communication with each other may be complex. This was the most surprising notice this reader took from the ever, some languages reveal more about a person's life than others. A lot of more languages have male and female words than the English language does, thereby revealing more in conversations than does English.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Bottle Cutting Machine for Crafts - Thick Glass Cutter Tool for Wine and Beer Bottle Glasses - Sturdy Glass Bottle Cutter Kit, Glass Cutter for Bottles - Ephrem's Original Bottle Cutter review []  2019-12-24 19:15

    I purchased this primarily to chop the top off a glass bottle that was actually created for an oil lamp so I could use it as a candle holder. First I chop a couple of wine bottles to obtain the hang of it - it works really well. But one must follow the instructions closely...the scoring always required more than one app of heat and cold before the bottle would separate. The oil lamp bottle was very thick and needed more than one pass to score, and a lot of applications of heat and cold before I finally got it to separate - the break was a small uneven, but I'm sure that it's because of the multiple times I had to use the cutter. But I'm thrilled that it did work! I've had the lamp for a long time and can finally use it!My only reason for not giving it 5 stars was that there was supposed to be a finer polishing paper that was not in the package, and I also wasn't aware that there is a 'deluxe' ver of this cutter - it seems I can't chop something as little as the neck of a bottle with this primary model, and it can't be adapted - would have to purchase the other one. But overall I am happy with this item...as I create more stuff with it I could see buying the deluxe model.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Bottle Cutting Machine for Crafts - Thick Glass Cutter Tool for Wine and Beer Bottle Glasses - Sturdy Glass Bottle Cutter Kit, Glass Cutter for Bottles - Ephrem's Original Bottle Cutter review []  2019-12-24 19:15

    I read the instructions. I used cutting oil and the tool to etch the snap line I used the provided candle to heat the etching line made by the tool. I then set an ice cube on a piece of wood and ran the line over the ice, I heard some snapping as indicated in the instructions. Then the bottle broke unevenly and was worthless. I tried 3 more times with related results. I may acquire a drinking issue before I have success with this tool. Can you help?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Bottle Cutting Machine for Crafts - Thick Glass Cutter Tool for Wine and Beer Bottle Glasses - Sturdy Glass Bottle Cutter Kit, Glass Cutter for Bottles - Ephrem's Original Bottle Cutter review []  2019-12-24 19:15

    I opened this item and tried it immediately. Super simple to use I chop 2 beer bottles perfectly and I’ve never used a bottle cutter before. What surprised me was the candle and sandpaper they thought of everything you’ll need. The cutter is well created I’d recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Bottle Cutting Machine for Crafts - Thick Glass Cutter Tool for Wine and Beer Bottle Glasses - Sturdy Glass Bottle Cutter Kit, Glass Cutter for Bottles - Ephrem's Original Bottle Cutter review []  2019-12-24 19:15

    I wasn't sure if I should buy this one or spend more on a various brand. If you are like me, pull the trigger and thank me later! It takes practice to obtain the hang of it! Once you figure it out, its simple and you will become an expert, lol!DO NOT test to chop over the labels on your bottle! If you do, the bottle will not have a clean break. Spend the time to prep your bottles and you will search it easier to use.Take your time and follow the instructions! I am one who usually follows my own, but once I went back and created sure to read everything and follow along, the bottles were chop perfectly and they look great!I will included some pictures once I upload them online.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Bottle Cutting Machine for Crafts - Thick Glass Cutter Tool for Wine and Beer Bottle Glasses - Sturdy Glass Bottle Cutter Kit, Glass Cutter for Bottles - Ephrem's Original Bottle Cutter review []  2019-12-24 19:15

    I am disappointed in this product , there are cheaper ones out there, that work better.i have gone through 6 wine bottles , following the instructions , have yet to have any success.... I should return it , it doesn't work. The instructions say to use two hands , one to keep the bottle .the other to turn it. The issue is you have to allow go of the bottle and regrip it to obtain completely around ,it's impossible to go completely around without stopping and re gripping .When you do this , you either lose the chop line , chop over a fraction that you have already chop or skip a little bit if you reset a touch ahead of where you left off. Any or all of these will ruin the score line ...and therefore the project.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Bottle Cutting Machine for Crafts - Thick Glass Cutter Tool for Wine and Beer Bottle Glasses - Sturdy Glass Bottle Cutter Kit, Glass Cutter for Bottles - Ephrem's Original Bottle Cutter review []  2019-12-24 19:15

    Product seems to be well priced in relation to other bottle cutter type devices. This product works well. At least it does once I re read the instructions. Follow the instructions. One of the best parts of this products is the excellent detailed instructions they provide. Also you will mess up a few bottles figuring out how to use this product so begin with a few scrap or less favourite bottles first. Only complaint is slide to adjust back stopper is a small sticky to adjust and requires flathead screwdriver.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Bottle Cutting Machine for Crafts - Thick Glass Cutter Tool for Wine and Beer Bottle Glasses - Sturdy Glass Bottle Cutter Kit, Glass Cutter for Bottles - Ephrem's Original Bottle Cutter review []  2019-12-24 19:15

    I was finally able to test this out on 3 bottles. The 1st trial one came out just a small bit jagged, because I didn't keep the bottle down very well. But the other 2 came out PERFECTLY.I followed the directions exactly the method it was written.I would recommend this to anyone who had issues ank you

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Bottle Cutting Machine for Crafts - Thick Glass Cutter Tool for Wine and Beer Bottle Glasses - Sturdy Glass Bottle Cutter Kit, Glass Cutter for Bottles - Ephrem's Original Bottle Cutter review []  2019-12-24 19:15

    I didn’t even wish to give this 1 Star! Not satisfied with this product at all! Packed it back up to return and missed my dang deadline (dang is sooooi not the word I wish to use). Even with the so called extension this deluxe model-nothing!So mad! Had huge plans for this!☹️😡

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Bottle Cutting Machine for Crafts - Thick Glass Cutter Tool for Wine and Beer Bottle Glasses - Sturdy Glass Bottle Cutter Kit, Glass Cutter for Bottles - Ephrem's Original Bottle Cutter review []  2019-12-24 19:15

    This works very well, especially with wine bottles. However, there is a large learning curve. It's imperative you set the device up facing the correct method and rotate the glass in the direction indicated in the guide. The cutter can be adjusted for shorter or taller glasses.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Glass Bottle Cutting Machine for Crafts - Thick Glass Cutter Tool for Wine and Beer Bottle Glasses - Sturdy Glass Bottle Cutter Kit, Glass Cutter for Bottles - Ephrem's Original Bottle Cutter review []  2019-12-24 19:15

    The scoring of the glass bottle works well. I found, thanks youtube, a better method to use heat/cold to obtain the score to crack. After scoring the bottle using only one solid revolution around the bottle, take turns, 10 secs each, dipping the score of the bottle in a pot of boiling water and bowl of ice water. Faster and cleaner break vs using candle and ice. This has been my experience that has worked for me. Not 5 stars because this cutter has a limitation of how low on the bottle you can score.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great 7 pcs Glass Tool Kit: 4 Various Pliers plus 3 Glass Cutters for Glass & Stained Glass Art review []  2019-12-17 20:16

    Had all the tools advertised and amazing quality. I like that it comes with a couple of various cutters. If you’re fresh and buying your first supplies, it gives you the possibility to figure out which one works best for your preference instead of forcing you to figure it out with one that’s not comfortable for you. There are a few more tools that are important that aren’t included. One that I found helps a lot are tile nippers. For the items that the bundle does come with- it’s excellent when you’re getting your tool collection started so you don’t have to buy them all separately. And, at a amazing value! I’m glad I came across this seller’s bundle before I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great 7 pcs Glass Tool Kit: 4 Various Pliers plus 3 Glass Cutters for Glass & Stained Glass Art review []  2019-12-17 20:16

    As described.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great 7 pcs Glass Tool Kit: 4 Various Pliers plus 3 Glass Cutters for Glass & Stained Glass Art review []  2019-12-17 20:16

    I got all the tools I required for my projects and the quality and price was amazing for a person who loves to fuse glass.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great 7 pcs Glass Tool Kit: 4 Various Pliers plus 3 Glass Cutters for Glass & Stained Glass Art review []  2019-12-17 20:16

    love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great 7 pcs Glass Tool Kit: 4 Various Pliers plus 3 Glass Cutters for Glass & Stained Glass Art review []  2019-12-17 20:16

    The kit includes a nice assortment of glass tools for a glass artist.I rated this a 4 because the kit did not include any info about each tool. I bought the kit as a bonus and was not sure that the recipient would know the name or intended purpose of each item in the kit.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great 7 pcs Glass Tool Kit: 4 Various Pliers plus 3 Glass Cutters for Glass & Stained Glass Art review []  2019-12-17 20:16

    Love the kit!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great 7 pcs Glass Tool Kit: 4 Various Pliers plus 3 Glass Cutters for Glass & Stained Glass Art review []  2019-12-17 20:16

    Nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great 7 pcs Glass Tool Kit: 4 Various Pliers plus 3 Glass Cutters for Glass & Stained Glass Art review []  2019-12-17 20:16

    descent set for starting into stain glass

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great 7 pcs Glass Tool Kit: 4 Various Pliers plus 3 Glass Cutters for Glass & Stained Glass Art review []  2019-12-17 20:16

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Great 7 pcs Glass Tool Kit: 4 Various Pliers plus 3 Glass Cutters for Glass & Stained Glass Art review []  2019-12-17 20:16

    This is a amazing "kit" for stained glass enthusiasts. I am re-starting my hobby activities and required to re-establish a tool kit. This was a amazing fit.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass (Bantam Classics) review []  2019-12-25 18:32

    This review is for the RED "hardcover" and I will post pictures because when I read reviews prior to purchase I was super confused and had no idea which book the reviews were rst, the cover is gorgeous but it's not "hardcover" (see photo). It's a lovely soft cover, covered with leather which is partially embossed; the gold lettering appears to be painted on. The back cover is just as well created and embossed as cond, this is the full ver of both stories, not an "abridged" e generous illustrations are beautifully done.I can't believe this book is only $10!I hope my review helps!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass (Bantam Classics) review []  2019-12-25 18:32

    This review is specifically for the penguin hardcover cloth-bound classics edition (white with pink flamingos)!Naturally, the tale of Alice in Wonderland (told in two books; Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass) is definitely a fun, special tale that appeals to kids and adults alike, so of course I wanted to own a quality copy of it! I like how this edition includes both books and is hardcover with a easy cover design that looks timeless and elegant on my bookshelf. The book is full of useful notes and info in edition to having the tale; plus it includes the classic illustrations too! The paper is very high quality, the printing very attractive, and overall it was well worth the $10 I spent on it. I thought it was such an beautiful edition that I bought one for my sister, who is a collector of the different editions of this tale. I've no complaints except that I don't really care for how rough the fabric is; it's not very nice to keep in your bare hands in my opinion, and it makes a sound when it's placed on the shelf next to other cloth-bound hardcovers from the penguin classics series, so those are two things to hold in mind. I personally would have preferred either a softer fabric or for the books to have been bound in hard-backed pleather.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass (Bantam Classics) review []  2019-12-25 18:32

    UPDATE - I ultimately ended up returning this as I had purchased it as a bonus and the book is advertised as having incredible, original artwork. You would need a microscope to view the little illustrations. I was extremely disappointed though I doI blame myself; I guess I was not paying attention to size. Just note that this edition is barely bigger than my hand. This is more or less a pocket sized volume. The illustrations are REALLY little as is the book itself. I had ordered for a Christmas bonus for someone else and was really shocked and disappointed to see it was not a regular sized book. The reviews were all so high and no one mentioned or complained about the book being so tiny.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass (Bantam Classics) review []  2019-12-25 18:32

    I love the color and the cover material. It’s not a hard cover but it’s also not paper, more like a smooth plastic (hard to describe). The detail on the outside is nice and I love the attached gold bookmark. All of the print in mine is fine and not smudged.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass (Bantam Classics) review []  2019-12-25 18:32

    Rating: 5.0/5.0First I wish to talk about this attractive edition of the book released by Barnes & Nobles. It is a purple/pink leather bound with the edges in silver color and it has lots of attractive illustrations that helps a lot in understanding the story better. The papers are thick and very durable and created of amazing quality. The book has two stories Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass. I have read the first a lot of years back but it is the first time I read the second e story of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland is such a delight to revisit again. It is as charming as it was when I read it first time, maybe I am loving it even more today. It is funny, colourful and sometimes dark if you think of it. I absolutely adore the curiosity of Alice regarding her surroundings and love it when she keeps talking to herself and reacting to that! The characters in both stories are so well crafted, each and every hero of them. I love the first story more and I would give it a complete five star while the second one is more of a three and half or four star but still it has its own charm as though I love Disney's anime movie and also Johnny Depp's film but I still feel that Alice in Wonderland has not been turned into a feature movie that is real to the book. I would love to see that happen in the future. This classic is one of those which is still regarded as one of the best adventure books that is enjoyed by kids and adults equally. Lewis Carroll's story is truly an immortal one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass (Bantam Classics) review []  2019-12-25 18:32

    The story of Alice in Wonderland is everywhere. It has been created into multiple movies, is consistently referenced, and even has play adaptations. Everyone seems to know the story by heart. Then I realized that I had actually never read to book. Of course I had to change ice in Wonderland is a coming of age story. It is about having to place away the fantasy of youth and grow up. The notice is not at all subtle in the story. Alice even berates herself several times for not growing up. Yet while she is coming of age while in a fantasy favorite part of the story is at the very end. Alice rehearses her "dream" to her older sister. Alice's sister than gets to rejoin the fantasy of youth for a brief time before coming back to the responsibility of e tale is simple, it is a children's story. It is not a very long book, yet the very complexities in the plot create it entertaining for all ages. Even though the storyline has been rehashed and mutilated a lot of times in our modern culture, everyone should go back to the original source and read this posted on: [...]

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass (Bantam Classics) review []  2019-12-25 18:32

    These are two separate children’s books, but the edition I read is one of several in which they are bundled together. Besides the fact that each is only a small over 100 pages, they are conveniently bundled because they share the same lead character, Alice, and take put in related (arguably the same) alternate realities: Wonderland and the Looking-Glass World. These are worlds in which strange happenings are common put and there’s small compulsion to behave logically-- worlds in which imagination rules and reality only provides a subconscious shaping of the former book, Alice enters the alternate globe by tumbling down the rabbit hole and in the later she does so by stepping through a mirror (i.e. a looking-glass.) Each of these books follows Alice from her entry into the alternate reality, through a series of adventures, and then back to the true t much of a review is important because even though—given you are reading a review—you probably haven’t read the books yet, you will be familiar with a lot of of the characters and references from widespread appearance in pop culture. I already mentioned the tumble down the rabbit hole, as does Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne) in “The Matrix.” That film also references chasing the white rabbit, as does a popular song by Grace Slick. You’ve also probably seen or heard references to the grin of the Cheshire Cat and the frenetic behavior of the Angry Hatter. “Through the Looking-Glass” features several well-known characters from English nursery rhymes (e.g. Tweedledee & Tweedledum as well as Humpty Dumpty.)It’s also not so necessary to obtain into plot because the stories are purposefully chaotic and exist in a globe of loose logic. The strings of causality are not so strong, but it’s on purpose. It’s supposed to be a strange and surreal world, and it achieves amazing success in this regard. Happenings don’t have to create sense; they just have to be imaginable. This doesn’t mean that there is no flow or transitions between the adventures in these books. There is. It’s more easily recognized in “Through the Looking-Glass” in which a android game of chess provides an underlying structure for the unfolding of events.I’d recommend everybody read these books. While I referred to them as “children’s books,” I also agree with Neil Gaiman’s point that that is a nonsense term. So one shouldn’t think one missed the boat and there is no going back.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass (Bantam Classics) review []  2019-12-25 18:32

    Carroll's stories are playful challenges to logic, identity and problems of existence. In this reading I experienced Alice's adventures as a loving, continuously changing puzzle that forces a kid (and readers) of rigid upbringing to expand e games, riddles, homophones and startling responses of characters force Alice to encounter, if not fully appreciate, a novel point of view. She also experiences awkward, frightening and near risky situations that force her to glimpse profound existential, emotional and philosophical roll introduces Alice to various values, perspectives, environmental changes, private transformations and questionable assumptions about attitudes as well as her own definition of ath is close at hand: The Red Queen's "off with her head" repetition, falling into oblivion, shrinking to almost nothing, near drowning, threat with being smoked out of Rabbit's ese skirmishes never place her in true harm's way, but she learns that danger is real. She also learns that she can look for external opportunities to support herself and can rely on her own wit and inner resources, e.g. search help, look for "poison" label, stand up for herself with the flowers, the caterpillar, the Red Queen, have internal conversations with herself about reality and walk away from impossible situations, e.g. the Tea Party and Tweedledee and Tweeledum's accelerating e deals with wonderful points of view characters have about herself. To the caucus race participants she's the giver of the prize. To a bird she's a serpent. To the White Rabbit's neighbors she's a monster. To the Cheshire cat she's mad. To the Red Queen she's a subservient child. To the Caterpillar she is an unknown. To the flowers she is an ungainly wilting flower. She may not exist at all and only have gossamer substance in the Red King's dream.Her challenge is be herself while she is undergoing change and roll cajoles us into anna Poppink, MFTLos Angeles psychotherapistauthor of Healing Your Hungry Heart: recovering from your eating disorder

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass (Bantam Classics) review []  2019-12-25 18:32

    Everyone has seen the Disney rendition of the classic “Alice in Wonderland’ but fewer people have ever actually read the corresponding novel. It is a fascinating, beautifully written book that paints the picture of Wonderland just as well, if not better, than the screen does. Wonderland has a lot more of a topsy-turvy feel to it. It’s invigorating and unnerving, in the film it’s a fairyland, a put you would wish to be but in the book you experience the stripped-down experiences that are a small more ice comes across a hurried white rabbit, who strikes her as very ‘curious’ so she follows him and consequently falls down a rabbit hole into a mysterious world. She finds magical foods, talking doorknobs, oceans of tears, a Angry Hatter, a Mock Turtle, a Duchess, a Queen and a lifetime’s worth of magical experiences. “Alice in Wonderland” was a very well-written, world-blocking book. I would highly suggest it to all other teens out there, to catch a feeling for youth and empathy again. I hope you have fun it as much as I did, and that when you watch the Disney ver again it is with a newfound sense of wonder.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass (Bantam Classics) review []  2019-12-25 18:32

    As a child I enjoyed watching all of the Alice in Wonderland films so I was excited to read this book. Even though reading isn't one of my favorite things to do I was still interested when I got the assignment to read this book for class. Because I watched all three Alice in Wonderland movies, I thought I knew exactly what to expect from the book. But reading Lewis Carroll's, Alice in Wonderland is actually very various compared to the movies. Every chapter I was surprised with fresh information. The most latest film spin on Alice in Wonderland featured a stage where Alice killed the Jabberwocky, a part that was chop from the first two movies but was a major stage told by a poem in the book. A lot of smaller details, like little characters, were left out of the films too so in all reading the book is a better option for anyone especially if you're looking to obtain all the info on Alice and her journey. For those less interested in reading I don't recommend this book. Even though it's filled with awesome scenes and characters, it can sometimes be overwhelming and even boring. Alice in Wonderland is jam packed with over forty characters that are quickly introduced, some that are hard to understand and obtain to know. Also the setting alters rapidly and isn't always a swift change which can be frustrating because it's difficult to follow. Now if you're the type of person who enjoys amazing detail and attractive scenery then you'll love the vast surroundings that Carroll made in wonderland but you also must be up for a sort of challenge. As a fifteen year old reading this book it was always interesting, but I wasn't always intrigued enough to wish to read on. I would say that this book is most appropriate for readers around the age of twelve. Lewis Carroll stylistically wrote Alice in Wonderland at a level simple enough for middle schoolers but in order for them to finish the book I'd say that they'd have to be interested enough to read it all. With all the crazy obstacles Alice is facing a person with an begin mind would probably continue to read on. Also because Alice is younger it might be easier for kids to relate and connect with her. If you've seen the Alice in Wonderland films and enjoyed them then I definitely recommend reading this book. You'll be surprised by the amount of detail left out by the movies. This book is truly awesome and I'm sure you won't regret adding it into your library.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Happy Glass : Fill The Glass review [App]  2019-8-4 21:28

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Cutting Lens Glass Circle Cutter Tool Stained Glass & Regular Glass review []  2019-12-18 20:0

    Was a small unsure at first, didn't think it would do what I needed. It did in Spades. Super tool. It took a small practice, but now I'm amazing at using it. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Easy Cutting Lens Glass Circle Cutter Tool Stained Glass & Regular Glass review []  2019-12-18 20:0

    I need a small practise with it. But works well. Just a bit of a learning curve for me.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter