Read top chicago blues reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all top chicago blues reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Celebration Of Blues: Chicago Blues []  2021-2-9 19:59

    Listen to my picks and learn something about the BLUES!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Chicago Blues 4 / Various []  2020-1-16 22:50

    EXCELLENT CHICAGO BLUES!!!GREAT BLUES ON VOL..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Chicago Blues, Vol. 1 []  2020-1-17 5:13

    Alligator Records Living Chicago Blues series Volumes 1 thru 4 are the gold standard for 1970's is volume features the lightly recorded Left Hand Frank. That makes this CD a gem. The Jimmy Dawkins Band material is also very strong. Not a poor track on this CD. If you are a fan of straight Chicago Blues you must have these recordings in your blues collection.

    0  


    Add your opinion on top chicago blues or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Chicago Blues, Vol. 2 []  2020-1-17 5:14

    Nice collection of tunes. All seem well recorded and sound great.If you like Chicago style blues consider adding this to your collection!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Chicago Blues, Vol. 2 []  2020-1-17 5:14

    First off, there are 4 volumes in the Living Chicago Blues series. All are a must have for the collection of any blues enthusiast. This is a review of volume 2. Not only is the melody amazing but there are over 60 mins packed onto the CD for your enjoyment. Obviously, this provides a amazing value for your entertainment dollar. What I especially like about this series is that Alligator Records gives you several songs from each artist which allows the listener to obtain a much better feel for the abilities of these performers.Each of the selections on this CD is played in the style of traditional blues. This CD does not have a "rock" blues feel to it at all. Lonnie Brooks' Cold, Lonely Nights is chock full of sultry, steamy emotion as is Pinetop Perkins' Blues After Hours. Both pieces give you the feeling that you're at a local blues joint, nursing your latest shot of whiskey just before closing time.If you like traditional blues with a more modern feel, this CD and series is for you. It is worth every penny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Chicago Blues, Vol. 3 []  2020-7-26 22:43

    All told there are 4 volumes in this series and this volume 3 is as perfect as the other three. Some amazing performances by ed that pulsates with passion along with other amazing artists that gives us amazing joy in hearing this hn Walsh

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Chicago Blues, Vol. 3 []  2020-7-26 22:43

    This is the absolutely best compilation album any blues fan can own. The reason for buying such an album is to obtain a nice sampling of artists you probably don't own any melody from. Certainly that is the case here were a lot of of the artists appear for the first and maybe only time ever but the melody is first rate.Vol 3 is part of a 4 part series but the other 3 sets are no longer available. Too poor but this is the best of the lot. This is first rate chicago blues with a high energy pulse, stinging musicianship and plenty of soul. AC reed, the sons of the blues, lacy gibson and my all time fav band scotty and the rib hints might not be in the blues hall of fame but the cuts here combine for one of the finest blues albums you can own!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Chicago Blues, Vol. 1 []  2020-1-17 5:13

    A must have for my Chicago Blues collection!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Chicago Blues, Vol. 2 []  2020-1-17 5:14

    VARIOUSLiving Chicago Blues Vol. IIAlligator ALCD 7702 Nowhere has blues been so transformed as in Chicago. To this day, gritty, electric blues fills its night air. Alligator's Living Chicago Blues series was made to record and bring attention to the city's overlooked or undiscovered talent. The hope was blues would "not be resigned to mere history". In Jim O'Neal's perfect liner notes, originally written in 1978, it is interesting to observe how small some things have changed. He writes, "The strong recording conglomerates present small interest in blues". As a minimum, each volume features four artists with session players as historically rich as the recordings themselves. The Grammy nominated Volume II includes two of the best guitarists and two of the best pianists. Three of these authentic artists still record and perform regularly even though they are senior citizens. Talk about Living Chicago Blues! It's hard to imagine that at the time of these recordings, none of these read deal musicians were huge names in the blues. Lonnie Brooks has been on the stage for half a century. His incisive bands have been a breeding ground for the next generation of blues greats. It's hard to believe "Don't Respond The Door" was recorded in '78, since the song still sounds contemporary. It features Brooks' deep blues grooves, booming vocals, and cutting guitar. "Two Headed Man" has become a staple as has the signature guitar solo Brooks performs on it. Magic Slim received his nickname from his mentor, guitar amazing Magic Sam. Slim moved to Chicago in the '60s, and by '72 he had replaced Hound Dog Taylor at a prominent South Side blues club. At the time of this recording Magic Slim was the essence of Chicago blues guitar, and he still is in 2005. On "Stranded On The Highway", he and his Teardrops perform as if they were born and raised with each other. When Slim plays a vibrato solo on "Spider In My Stew", it strikes a chord in your soul. The departed Johnny "Big Moose" Walker was a Korea veteran, and Earl Hooker was his closest melody partner. "Would You, Baby?" features classic Chicago blues piano performed like few before or after Walker. His dominant vocals rein mighty on "Worry, Worry". Like all the classic ballparks that are now gone, they don't play or record blues guitar like Louis Myers performs on "Cry, Cry Darling". Acclaimed pianist Pinetop Perkins is best known for his days spent with Muddy Waters. When it comes to piano, the nonchalant gentleman may easily be considered the cat of the blues. Not surprisingly, a lot of Waters alumni recorded with Perkins on these sessions. Within seconds, he flies up and down the keyboards, while singing like an alley cat on "Take It Easy, Baby". His proficient piano and Sammy Lawhorn's legendary guitar cannot be challenged on "Blues After Hours". There are four volumes in the Living Chicago Blues series. Originally issued in the late '70s on six LPs, every song in the collection has been place onto four CDs, each lasting over an hour long. Until a more modern series of recordings is made, these four collections dominate as the most current reflection of Chicago blues. Obtain any of them as quick as you can. If you've never been to a Chicago blues bar, any of these CDs will allow you know what you are missing.--- Tim Holek

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Chicago Blues 4 / Various []  2020-1-16 22:50

    My mother is featured on this edition on Living Chicago Blues (Queen Sylvia). This is another album that was converted to cd's. I love all the artist on this and still communicate with Bruce Iglar from time-to-time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Chicago Blues 4 / Various []  2020-1-16 22:50

    VARIOUSLiving Chicago Blues Vol. IVAlligator ALCD 7704 Nowhere has blues been so transformed as in Chicago. To this day, gritty, electric blues fills its night air. Alligator's Living Chicago Blues series is "all about exposing Chicago blues talent to fresh audiences". The hope was blues would "not be resigned to mere history". As a minimum, each volume features four artists with session players as historically rich as the recordings themselves. They are obscure, unknown, and not originally from Chicago. However, Volume IV includes some of the city's best vocalists, guitarists, harpists, and pianists. It features the most diverse songwriting, and unfortunately, the greatest number of deceased artists. At the time of these recordings, none of these true deal musicians were huge names in the blues. After you listen to this bona fide album, it will be harder to come to grips with the fact they still aren't. Amos Milburn was Detroit Junior's idol. His "half-sing half-talk" vocal style features on his selections. With only occasional rattling piano, "If I Hadn't Been High" is homey, and speaks to the men. Saxophones ignite Junior's upper register on "Some Nerve". Minor key blues, when performed on piano, creates a whole fresh sub-genre. As proof, listen to "Somebody To Shack". Using a contented rhythm, it tells a story. Instrumentation isn't necessary or important here. West side guitar is defined as "alternating stinging single-note leads with powerful, distorted chords". Listen to Luther "Guitar Junior" Johnson, best known for his seven year stint with Muddy Waters, perform it to a tee. Powerful rhythm, as on "Look What You Done" is Johnson's essential magic as well. On "Just Like Mama Said", Willie Smith gets slap satisfied on drums while Johnson sounds like Otis Rush. This is the style of blues I originally fell in love with. The departed artists start with Queen Sylvia Embry. She had everything to be "Chicago's next amazing blues woman". The method she spits out the words force you to listen, and pay attention because he commands it. Her exemplary vocals and mighty guitarists on "Going Upstairs" are the album's surprise smash, while Dino Alvarez is the disc's most impressive drummer. Huge Leon Brooks idolized Small Walter. These remarkable recordings feature Brooks recovering from serious heart and lung problems, and sounding like Junior Wells. "Blues For A True Man" accurately describes all the melody on this album. "Country Boy" stresses the importance of family and a easy life. Brooks' and Embry's brilliant bands are the most rounded. Andrew Brown's versatility allowed him to gig at tail lounges, black social club dances, and basement bars. With soul-swooning vocals and Albert King guitar licks, Brown creates a deep trance on the omnipotent "I Got News For You". Definitely another uncovered treasure. There are four volumes in the Living Chicago Blues series. Originally issued in the late '70s on six LPs, every song in the collection has been place onto four CDs, each lasting over an hour long. Until a more modern series of recordings is made, these four premium samplers remain the most authoritative reflection of Chicago blues. Volume IV is one of those desert island discs that your CD player won't wish to eject. However, you should obtain any of them as quick as you can. If you've never been to a Chicago blues bar, any of these CDs will allow you know what you are missing.--- Tim Holek

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Chicago Blues, Vol. 3 []  2020-7-26 22:43

    I'm not talking about some Ktel top 40 record either man. Ya dig? Ya looking to pick up some red hot soulful chicago blues then what are you waiting for? This is it! Volume 3 is the best of alligator's 4 part living chicago blues seris. No $14 could be better spent.Every chop on this disk is solid through and through. AC Reed starts out with "hard times" and they just hold getting better. This is one of the few ways to obtain your hands on some "scotty and the rib tips" stuff. The name alone makes you like these guys. The melody makes you like them even more. "Careless with our love" will smooth out life's wrinkles. The quitar is solid and soulful. You can tell these guys take their blues seriously.Everything is fine from there. Carey bell is the mouth harp master. When you hear Lacy gibson's "feel so bad" you won't feel poor at all. That song is almost too hot to hear. You wonder if your CD is playing at warp speed. The follow up "wish me well" continues to smoke. Latest but not least are the son's of the blues. Lurrie bell is one of my favorites. This son of carey bell carries on his fathers legacy to the next level. President reagan must have been listening to the "berlin wall" just before he created that infamous speech. President gorbachev, tear down this wall!What would the globe be like without alligator records? I shudder to think. Create this your second blues CD after the alligator records 25th anniversary collection. You won't be disappointed!...............socks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Chicago Blues, Vol. 3 []  2020-7-26 22:43

    You've search it...If you're looking for some grassy, rocky, jazzy blues, don't go somewhere else. Chicago is the TOWN of BLUES. And this album (with the other of the serie) is really what you should consider BLUES. Yes Robert JOHNSON, Muddy WATTERS, John Lee HOOKER, BB KING, Eric CLAPTON are over the top, but listen to this album. And if you had travel to Chicago and had a beer in one of those bars around, you'll be right back in town. I miss Chicago and my nights out there, but with THIS CD...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Chicago Blues, Vol. 1 []  2020-1-17 5:13

    I first heard this album 20 years ago. All of the artists are great. Jimmy Johnson's performance is magic. As far as I'm concerned, Johnson is the blues. His voice talks to your soul. "Feel Like Breaking Up Somebody's Home" is one of my all time favorite songs. It's the excellent companion to a rainy day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Chicago Blues, Vol. 3 []  2020-7-26 22:43

    is a amazing song. The rest of the CD is amazing as well, but I love that song.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago/The Blues/Today! [3 CD] []  2020-10-20 19:4

    At the time complete albums would have been too much. Single songs per artist is nothing more than a mere sampler. Vanguard Records intelligent decision was to give each band a short studio set. This format works. BIG WALTER HORTON arguably the greatest blues harmonica player, blows on a whole disc like never before. Left handed OTIS RUSH makes it sound easy, evolving from his previous Cobra Recordings. JUNIOR WELLS soulful, funky style expands on what can be done within the blues. BUDDY GUY's guitar solos are under control (All his items on Vanguard holds up). OTIS SPANN's piano work more than create up for his shortcomings on vocals. The rest of the package without going on and on, pull their weight and then some. JIMMY COTTON by the method is the same JAMES COTTON. As a whole, timeless material, including some catchy slide riffs reminiscent of the late, amazing ELMORE JAMES, from begin to finish. VG lengthy, historical booklet and remastered sound. Original og tapes transferred to digital. Bass restored. Any newcomers though should begin with the compilation - ESSENTIAL CHICAGO BLUES first..............................................FOLLOW UP ALBUM PICKS: Junior Wells - Southside Blues Jam.....Buddy Guy - The Complete Vanguard Recordings.....J.B. Hutto & His Hawks - Hawk Squat.....Otis Spann - Muddy Waters Live At Newport.....James Cotton Band - Buddah Blues Compilation (100% Cotton, Live & On The Move, High Energy).....Otis Rush - Right Place, Wrong Time.....Big Walter Horton - The Soul Of The Blues Harmonica (Bonus Tracks Edition).....Charlie Musselwhite - Stand Back!.....Cotton/Wells/Bell/Branch - Harp Attack!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago/The Blues/Today! [3 CD] []  2020-10-20 19:4

    Somehow lost my earlier Vanguard trio of disks. Also have the original three records from their first release. Arguably the finest set of Chicago blues of the period ever made. Chess and Delmarva releases of the time and later are also very good, but none have the energy and virtuoso diversity of this set. A shame Vanguard never did much more with the blues. Very highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago/The Blues/Today! [3 CD] []  2020-10-20 19:4

    I bought this record in 1966, and it convinced me to pick the University of Chicago. That was a mistake, but the record has some of the best blues ever and anywhere. Johnny Shines sounds like and plays like Robert Johnson. Then there is Huge Walter Horton: just the sound, and nothing more would be necessary, but there is much more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago/The Blues/Today! [3 CD] []  2020-10-20 19:4

    A mate on mine lent me this cd after listening to and reading the booklet inside Ihad to buy my own cd. It is an real blues history of the Chicago blues scene. So if youare a real blues fan you'll wish this in your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago/The Blues/Today! [3 CD] []  2020-10-20 19:4

    I think this is the finest collection of urban blues you will search anywhere. I was a child in high school when Chicago The Blues Today LP's first came out, and I owned all three records on vinyl. Even back then I recognized this collection as something really special. All my record collection from those days are long lost, so when I saw this release of all three records on CD I thought I would snatch them up and hear them all , I am glad I did! It is even better than I remember. First of all I listen on my computer through a quality Creative sound card and Sennheiser head phones. Woah Nelley! these blues masters come through like I am right there in Pepper's Lounge, front and center, 1966. And there is not a dud tract on any 3 of the CDs. JB Hutto's slide guitar, Jr Wells and his wailing harp. I really like Walter Horton's harp playing too, especially on If I Obtain Lucky with the Johnny Shines band. But it is all amazing music. I pick a favorite then a few days later I have a fresh r an added gift there is a booklet included written by Sam Charters, a kind of historical remembrance of how all this amazing melody came together. Isn't that a amazing image of Chicago on the cover? His wife Ann took that while they were in city recording the sessions. There are black and white images of a lot of of the musicians featured on the CDs and one of a young Jimi Hendrix posing with his vinyl copy of Chicago The Blues Today! Jimi knew where it was at!It's not Rap, it's not Raggae, it's not Rock. It's the root of all, and it's the true deal, played by the best there was. Don't miss out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago/The Blues/Today! [3 CD] []  2020-10-20 19:4

    I bought the three separate Vanguard vinyl LP's years ago. Wore 'em out. They got me started on the harp and I have played ever since....or at least, tried to play. I memorized and absorbed all of this inspiring stuff, I played it so much. It has had a major influence on my entire life. What a brilliant idea by Sam Charters in the first place, and then to actually pull it off, with all these blues giants, is a simply awesome feat. Prior to that the only blues I had listened to was the Stones and Paul Butterfield, and from there I went back to the originals, like Small Walter and Muddy and Wolf and Sonny ose latest four legends are NOT on these recordings--Walter and Sonny Boy had passed by then--but just about everyone who meant anything in Chicago blues is. Muddy's former harp player James Cotton and the one and only Otis Spann, his favorite keyboard man, are both in powerful form. Cotton's ver of Rocket '88 is the most rocking and explosive jump blues you will ever hear, truly a gigantically necessary recording. His harp performances on this set are tremendously strong and creative, showcasing his inimitable style. Junior Wells and Buddy Guy play a powerful mini-set, with Junior's vocals on Vietcong Blues some of the best he's ever is simply wonderful that these recordings feature three guys who, over the years became some of my all-time favorite musicians, and remain so to this day: Johnny Shines, Otis Rush, and Charlie Musselwhite. Not that race matters, but Charlie, just as in the very first Ann Arbor Blues Festival in 1969, is the only white guy on the records. Since it's Chicago blues, Johnny Shines plays electric here, and he blows the doors off with his strong and impassioned vocals. I am convinced that Shines, unlike any musician I can name, is at least as amazing acoustically as he is amped up. The amazing Huge Walter "Shakey" Horton lends superb harp to Shines', and Johnny Young's sets, and Charlie--billed then as Memphis Charlie--plays a really nice harp duet with Huge e immortal Otis Rush, again, only in my opinion, the greatest combination blues singer/guitarist ever, tosses off a sublime ver of I Can't Quit You Baby, which rivals and possibly exceeds his Cobra is is an absolutely essential recording for anyone interested in blues Chicago-style: amplified, electric, stunningly powerful. These blues will grab you and will not allow you go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago/The Blues/Today! [3 CD] []  2020-10-20 19:4

    This 3 CD set was originally released on Vanguard and it shows. Very clean recordings of the exciting fresh blues of the mid 60s. The gatefold the CDs come in is very beautiful and there is an interesting and detailed booklet included. I was researching 60s electric blues and all signs seem to point to this collection. They weren't kidding. Perfect production and seminal cuts that became standards. There is no reason to ponder buying this its a unbelievable value.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago/The Blues/Today! [3 CD] []  2020-10-20 19:4

    For anyone even remotely interested in 60s era electric blues, this three-disc Vanguard collection is an perfect to put to start. There's not a poor tune to found. For further listening pick-up almost anything released contemporaneously on the Delmark label.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago/The Blues/Today! [3 CD] []  2020-10-20 19:4

    I love the atmospheric picture on the cover so much I might pay additional for it, but all 13 tracks from this volume (Vol. 3) are included on a single disc of the boxed set, and similarly with vols 1 and 2. Since all three volumes are great, the boxed set is the better buy. I guess the spendthrift who buys the three volumes singly avoids the unpleasantness of having the plastic tray come apart, as it always nsidered as an individual purchase, the disc is just as distinguished as the first two, if the names aren't quite as well known. The star is Huge Walter Horton, who features in all three of the groups on the disc. Huge Walter is distinguished from 'Little Walter' Jacobs who wrote, sang and played harp with Muddy Waters and others. Huge Walter's recorded 'oeuvre' is not as simple to find, but he is one of the greats. If you ever listen to Paul Butterfield you will hear lots of echoes of Huge Walter's delectably dry tone. Harpist Charlie Musselwhite, who appears on one track, is a white player who recorded with John Hammond Jr. and Bonnie Raitt among others, as well as under his own e three bands represented here overlap quite a bit in personnel, so you don't obtain as varied a cast as with vol. 1 or 2. On the other hand, this disc is the only one of the three connecting the dots of Chicago blues and Delta blues, via Shines's Robert Johnson-ish Dynaflow Blues. Typically drummerless, Delta blues departs from the 12 bar format by frequently throwing in an additional measure or half-measure as a turnaround; here, the drummer has to test to hold something like a steady beat going versus the irregular structure. Interesting. In sum, not as a lot of huge names here but perhaps the purest example of the Chicago blues genre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago/The Blues/Today! [3 CD] []  2020-10-20 19:4

    If there ever was a blues album that could be called a classic, this is it. These performances are the roots of urban blues, and are the melody that people like Eric Clapton and Keith Richards were listening to when they developed their styles. Don't look for fancy production values: what you have here are basically human beings and a microphone, just like you would in a Chicago blues club. If you are a fan of urban blues, you probably already have this set, but you should obtain it if you don't. If you wish to investigate this type of music, or if you're a fan of the a lot of later rock covers and imitations of it, then this set will prove both a revelation and a delight and is the put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    purchase lasix from Chicago [lasix how much]  2020-9-13 16:15
    [email protected]

    where to buy lasix in Sacramento lasix prescription where to purchase lasix in Boston lasix medication order lasix online best method to search cheap lasix in Tulsa best method to search cheap lasix in San Diego buy lasix 100mg how to obtain lasix over the counter how to buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Top Chef: Chicago Season 4 []  2020-9-17 20:18

    One of my favorite seasons. A lot of of my favorite Chefs are on here (Richard Blaise, Dale Taliday, Spike, Andrew among others--and Chefs if I misspelled your names, please forgive me).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Top Chef: Chicago Season 4 []  2020-9-17 20:18

    This is another winning season for top chef program. As in season three, this present came off with flair, some arguing, a small backstabbing and winning talented chefs, no matter who went packing. I throughly enjoyed this season as much as season three. What is also nice, that even though these chefs are highly competive and talented, it showed that they can compete and not be totally abrasive in their behavior towards one another. Give this one a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Top Chef: Chicago Season 4 []  2020-9-17 20:18

    I purchased Season Four a while back. The producers have chosen to change the format since my purchase and now the present no longer appears FULL Screen on my intelligent TV. This is not what I paid for and I am wanting my cash back!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Top Chef: Chicago Season 4 []  2020-9-17 20:18

    I'm a Top Chef addict! I have Top Chef seasons on my computer & have been working on getting all the seasons available on DVD. I have nothing to complain about with any season of Top Chef. Even if I prefer one season over another - I would still rate all the seasons with 5 stars because ultimately it's amazing reality TV (which is very hard to search these days!).I am a professional pet sitter & like to have the DVD format when I'm doing an overnight stay because my netbook is too ancient to have even one season stored on it allow alone several. Plus, the cell phone service that I use with my netbook & cell phone (Sprint) is such crap that I sometimes can't obtain any signal at , I love my Top Chef DVD's & want BRAVO would release the first 3 seasons too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Top Chef: Chicago Season 4 []  2020-9-17 20:18

    As you can see I did give Top Chef Season 4 a 5 star review. Just really have fun this show. Yes the production value is actually very good. The idea of the present is a amazing one. What a amazing idea for a show. Had no idea that some chefs could be such divas, and stuck on themselves. Still it's a fun present so if you have fun meal & a reality format this is the present for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Top Chef: Chicago Season 4 []  2020-9-17 20:18

    I want there were 20 more seasons for me to buy and watch

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Top Chef: Chicago Season 4 []  2020-9-17 20:18

    I think that this was one of the best seasons - amazing chefs - you see them from time to time on newer programs, and the editing of this present got back to its roots, while there was some tension, the true theme was the actual cooking tournament at hand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Top Chef: Chicago Season 4 []  2020-9-17 20:18

    If you like completion shows and cooking combined. Fun to watch them come up with various meal ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Top Chef: Chicago Season 4 []  2020-9-17 20:18

    Every now and then I obtain in this mood where I just wish to watch people cook and compete. Top chef is top notch when it comes to those two ingredients. There's always a amazing mix of personalities too. I love y chefs as long as they're not pompous and mean. Top Chef is never in short supply of arrogant chefs. Some chefs leave a positive lasting impression on me and I'm satisfied for their future successes. Top Chef has exposed amazing talent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Top Chef: Chicago Season 4 []  2020-9-17 20:18

    Love top chef

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Top Blues-A-Rama, Vol. 7 []  2020-8-16 19:52

    I have purchased the whole set (seven) to complete it, this one by far I found to be the weakest. The artists are not the best either, from begin to finish the series is excellent. Except ur & and this one, it was a amazing live series all recorded at a club in Louisiana, it is a bunch of artists who were all on the (Blacktop) label at the time. I think the whole set is amazing except these two I mentioned, I would not rate any of them below four stars except these two. (see my other review on the rest of the set)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Top Blues-A-Rama, Vol. 7 []  2020-8-16 19:52

    again this set some of the best blues fest melody around

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how to buy lasix in Chicago [lasix rx in canada]  2020-9-17 5:31
    [email protected]

    who can buy lasix buying lasix in canada how to buy lasix in Norway best price for lasix in Long Beach where to purchase lasix in Washington how can i buy lasix best method to search cheap lasix in Czech Republic where is better to purchase lasix cheap lasix in Singapore where to buy lasix in Fresh Orleans online

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    quite a various fishing book. well done with a host of truths applicable to todays current fishing issues. Respect the resource, which we do not do, learning and respecting a bit about the eco system of our waters, this conversation is interesting. Subtle tips of the migration of Blues ( which he loves and i do not blame him ) and i enjoyed the recipes at the conclusion of each chapter. If all you wish to do is look for techniques on catching, this is not your book. But, if you wish a lifetime of experience explained in a comfortable conversation between two smart human beings, than have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Perfect read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    This had got to be one of my favorite books of all time. Written as if it could also be read to a child, I hope to one day read this to my children. Amazing story, amazing recipes. A amazing method to present the seasons. I cant say enough amazing things about this classic. Buy this if your a fisherman, interested in the sea, fish, or seafood. Amazing book for a young kid as well as an adult.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Give as a bonus to all my fishing friends. Simply outstanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Hersey is a great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    A second read thirty years later. Fisherman, even degree ones, don't talk like this guy who seems more a professorial lecturer than a weather beaten fisher of fish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    If you fish for bluefish this is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Truly a classic. Amazing recipes too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Magnificent book on fishing for bluefish, extraordinary facts about blues, well written, Just a joy to a fisherman like me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Amazing book for fishermen

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago Top 40 Charts 1970-1979 []  2020-12-25 21:54

    I've docked this book a star from the author's own review (is that kosher?) and given it four stars for one striking omission. Smith does identify every tune to reach Chicago's WLS weekly melody survey by title and artist, along with the debut and peak dates, highest position reached and weeks on the survey, along with the top songs of each year and the entire decade, as well as the top 89 artists of the 70s. What is missing is a listing of the number ones week-by-week or at the very least some indication of how a lot of weeks a given number one hit spent at the top. Still, this is an essential reference for those whose interest in the charts extends beyond merely the national Hot 100. I hope Mr. Smith puts out a 1980s volume, and that some other people with access to source material obtain the same idea and do related works on some of the other regional markets.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago Top 40 Charts 1970-1979 []  2020-12-25 21:54

    The decade I grew up in...Loved listening to those songs on WLS and WCFL.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago Top 40 Charts 1970-1979 []  2020-12-25 21:54

    For those who enjoyed my first book, Chicago Top 40 Charts 1960-1969, this book continues the musical journey. As a broadcaster for the past 30 years, I know that a set of Joel Whitburn's Billboard chart books are indispensible. But often, it was the local and regional hits that drove famous music. In Chicago Top 40 Charts 1970-1979, I identify every tune to reach the WLS weekly melody survey by title and artist, along with the debut and peak dates, highest position reached and weeks on the survey. There's also the top songs of each year and the entire decade, as well as the top 89 artists of the 70s. I've attempted to bring to a local melody chart the professional research Whitburn brings to his Billboard books. For record collectors or radio enthusiasts, this book should bring back wonderful melody memories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago Top 40 Charts 1970-1979 []  2020-12-25 21:54

    love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago Top 40 Charts 1970-1979 []  2020-12-25 21:54

    As a former deejay in the 80's, I love this book - a excellent companion for my digital melody collection. It summarizes all of the songs that charted on Chicago's WLS Top 40 for the entire decade and is searchable by both artist and song title. It provides the date each song debuted on the charts, the date it peaked and its peak position, and the number of weeks it appeared in the Top 40. At the end of the book it lists the Top 40 songs for every year in the decade.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago Top 40 Charts 1970-1979 []  2020-12-25 21:54

    Lots of information on The Chicago charts of the seventies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago Top 40 Charts 1970-1979 []  2020-12-25 21:54

    Amazing product, quick shipping

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago Top 40 Charts 1970-1979 []  2020-12-25 21:54

    This book would have been a lot more interesting if it included reproductions of every I said before, A monkey could have compiled these lists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bitten by the Blues: The Alligator Records Story (Chicago Visions and Revisions) []  2020-7-22 19:11

    I bought this because I love the blues and am very appreciative of what Bruce Iglauer has done for the blues. I did know much of the story behind Bruce and his original signing of Hound Dog Taylor. But this goes beyond that story and describes his steps to bring Alligator to the forefront of blues. As a musician, I liked his info on recording, producing and distribution, things I did not expect to read about. I grew up in Chicago, did a lot of of the things that Bruce talks about, played the blues and lived near some of the popular blues joints. So I guess I am partial to this story, but still, it is a amazing one. Needless to say, I loved the book and if you are a blues fan, so will you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bitten by the Blues: The Alligator Records Story (Chicago Visions and Revisions) []  2020-7-22 19:11

    This is a unbelievable overview of the Chicago Blues from 1970 to today. told by an insider who built a business and a life around recording some of the best and some obscure artists in the town in that time. Well written and captivating narrative. Bruce Iglauer is quite an extraordinary man with amazing stories to tell. I loved how he wove his private story with his industry and business growth along with the stories of all of the blues artists that he has worked with. If you are at all interested in Chicago Blues history from 1970 or how an independent record label works or how to work with blues artists or just wish to read a really interesting autobiography this book will not disappoint. Unbelievable read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gliding From Glendale To Chicago - 46 Red Hot Boogie Woogie & Blues Piano Classics []  2021-1-2 19:0

    excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bitten by the Blues: The Alligator Records Story (Chicago Visions and Revisions) []  2020-7-22 19:11

    I love the blues and Alligator has always been there for my listening pleasure, and what a amazing book that tells the stories of how and why Alligator has been there. The book covers the history, the founder, the artists, tours, and insight into the business of recorded melody and it’s sales and distribution which is all fascinating and leaves you thankful that Alligator has survived. Amazing insight into the melody business and the Alligator artists which I think would be a amazing read whether you are a blues fan or not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gliding From Glendale To Chicago - 46 Red Hot Boogie Woogie & Blues Piano Classics []  2021-1-2 19:0

    Sweet & smooth BW as opposed to hard pounding rhythem piano. "Gliding" is the right word. A pleasure to listen to or have as background and a must for any BW enthusiast.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bitten by the Blues: The Alligator Records Story (Chicago Visions and Revisions) []  2020-7-22 19:11

    I have a lot of Alligator records and CDs. I have been turned on to a lot of artists that I would have known nothing about. I remember the first time I heard 'Give me back my wig,' by Hound Dog Taylor. It was electrifying. I saw Albert Collins on an Alligator concert at Carnagie Hall, with Lonnie Mack and Roy Buchanan. Albert blew them both away. On a compilation record, I heard Elvin Bi on a cut. I had no idea that he had gotten so good. On the same CD were wonderful cuts from Lonnie Brooks, Luther Allison, and James Cotton. I hope the Alligator label makes it in the current environment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bitten by the Blues: The Alligator Records Story (Chicago Visions and Revisions) []  2020-7-22 19:11

    What a amazing book about Bruce's passion and dedication to the blues and the artists he represented. Inspiring reading if you're a blues melody fan. I still love when I can convert someone to a blues fan, often after insisting they listen to Alligator artists like Lil Ed, Small Charlie, or Luther Allison.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bitten by the Blues: The Alligator Records Story (Chicago Visions and Revisions) []  2020-7-22 19:11

    Soon as I saw this book I had to order it, if only to re-pay a kindness Bruce Iglauer extended to memany years ago when he smoothed the method for me to take images from the scene zone atthe Long Beach Blues Festival (1985)(of which a lot of of these images are to be seen at mywebsite JAZZ FOR MOSTLY)-------------- What a amazing memoir and I am only halfway done! (I keephaving to obtain up and pull an Alligator record off the shelf to re-visit all the stories he tells)------- Bruce isonly a half dozen years elder to me, so, besides being extremely jealous of his Chicago days, I cancertainly relate: Imagine being a white guy from the middleclass suburbs of the sprawling SouthernCalifornia raised on 60s pop & rock melody & the Rolling Stones and one night walking into a beer jointin South Central (we called it Watts back then) in 1973 and hearing Pee Wee Crayton ---- I thought I wasin heaven, here I was a beer drinker myself, among a whole room of beer drinkers, the odd tone of myskin stood out but was irrelevant in the bath of sound coming off this small scene ----------- Bruce gets toall this, and I also appreciate that he reveals much about the business of being a record company------I sure want he had a camera those years, this guy was no slouch when it comes to going into dangerousterritory ---------------- and I also appreciate that he lays out the differences of South Side Chicago fromWest Side from North Side, something I’ve always wonder’d about-----------------It hits you soon asyou obtain inside the beer joint that these black blues guys could mop the floor with the Rolling Stones, Iwas hooked, and all those years I should have been in collitch, I was in Watts drenched in BLUES music------------ANDI was unaware that Mr Iglauer was one of the founders of LIVING BLUES magazine, of which, I’ve been asubscriber since problem #10------------------------------signed, Tag Weber

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bitten by the Blues: The Alligator Records Story (Chicago Visions and Revisions) []  2020-7-22 19:11

    I have been buying blues CD's place out by Alligator records for a lot of years. The label has a amazing roster of artists with amazing music. I probably own at least a third if not half the catalog. When I saw this book by the owner I decided to obtain it. He goes into amazing detail about building and maintaining the Alligator company as well as amazing detail about the a lot of artists on his roster. If you wish info and an inside look at the melody business as well as stories about a lot of amazing blues artists then I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gliding From Glendale To Chicago - 46 Red Hot Boogie Woogie & Blues Piano Classics []  2021-1-2 19:0

    One of the boogie woogie greats. An perfect overview of his work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bitten by the Blues: The Alligator Records Story (Chicago Visions and Revisions) []  2020-7-22 19:11

    I bought this book and read it within 24 hours. Enjoyable throughout. I've known Bruce Iglauer, who IS Alligator Records, since his very first record, but I didn't even know there was a book until a few days ago. I'm glad I found it. Very straightforwardly written, this tells the story of a young guy who got hooked on the blues and then pursued his passion -- starting an independent record label, and one that has remained real to its vision throughout. At one point, there were hundreds of indies (I co-founded one of them) but Alligator always stood out for its dedication to one genre and serving it well. The label clearly believed in its artists and helped book and manage them as well. This book tells how Bruce got the label off the ground -- one record a year for the first several years, and recounts a lot of of the challenges along the way. Even those who were never part of the record business can appreciate the method it worked, because the writing is clear and doesn't presume knowledge of business jargon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bitten by the Blues: The Alligator Records Story (Chicago Visions and Revisions) []  2020-7-22 19:11

    As a fan of the Blues who grew up in Chicago, I have been aware of Alligator Records since the 1970’s. This book by founder Bruce Iglauer was a highly entertaining read.Iglauer tells the story from the very beginning, of literally launching a record label with what amounted to pocket change, passion for blues melody and a desire to succeed. He takes a reader throughAny twists and turns of growing his roster, branching out beyond traditional blues artists and continuing to release top quality was really touching to read about the relationships Iglauer developed with so a lot of artists, that went above and beyond a normal artist/label scope. It is very evident how much Iglauer cares about these artists and his commitment to them (even if they eventually left Alligator for another label).I also found it fascinating to read about the challenges of a record label through the begin of cd’s, to the advent of streaming and the diminishing pool of people who purchase physical copies of melody today. Iglauer finds a method to roll with the changes and stay relevant nearly 50 years after it all final thing: it is amazing to read a story about someone who followed their passion in life, found a method to create a living from it and who was able to rebound with the seismic shifts like those in the melody industry since 1971. Awesome stuff!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bitten by the Blues: The Alligator Records Story (Chicago Visions and Revisions) []  2020-7-22 19:11

    As a long time fan of the blues I started going to Chicago in the early seventies while still in college. The author and I share the same taste and visited some of the same clubs. Though I never had the courage to go into the South end! So I really loved learning more about some of the artists whose melody I've enjoyed for close to fifty years. I'm also an entrepreneur so I also could appreciate his tales of bootstrapping his company and dealing with distributors bankruptcies. If you love the blues I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-11 20:43

    A bonus for my son and his family

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-11 20:43

    This Chicago magazine subscription was a christmas present. The magazine is o.k., but usually ends up in the garbage. There are too a lot of ads and not enough info on the "real" chicago. I do like some of their articles, but again, usually, it ends up in the garbage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-29 6:23

    Sometimes the articles obtain screwed up. Still like getting paper this way. My largest issue is getting it downloaded. Sometimes it's there and sometimes I have to hunt it down. That is extremely frustrating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-29 6:23

    I really enjoyed the sun time when I was a young man a lot of moons ago I enjoyed the insight it just covers all locations I love it and miss reading it when I was a native in Chicago

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-11 20:43

    We live in Michigan and travel to Chicago a few times a year to have fun a amazing hotel, amazing restaurants, shows, museums and ping. The Chicago magazine is our "go to" Chicago tutorial to figure out what to do each time we travel. It has been invaluable with concerning to finding amazing (some fresh some old) restaurants and shows. For the cost it's a bargain to us!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-11 20:43

    Like so a lot of magazines that have decided to pursue the relatively affluent core of their subscription, Chicago magazine is amazing if you wish to read a magazine to figure out what to buy. It's got lots of articles that are relevant to you if you're upwardly mobile, either live in the suburbs or have a vehicle to obtain there, and are interested in the recent trends in entertainment and at said, it's just not what I look for in a magazine. I've read a lot of problems and while the writing is beautiful good, I've never found an article that I thought was worth saving, or even much that told me something I didn't know about Chicago, and I've only lived here a few years. Don't be fooled by the title -- this magazine is fine for what it is, but it doesn't even come close to covering Chicago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-29 6:23

    I am considering cancelling the paper because it seems every other day it does not download properly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-11 20:43

    Amazing magazine and very informative but, I only received 1 issue. Now I hold getting notifications in the mail to renew my subscription but I'm not going to pay this much cash to only obtain one issue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-11 20:43

    I ordered it because they sent me a subscription card for $12...luckily that is all I paid. You might appreciate this magazine if you are in your forties, have 5 children, are a doctor or lawyer, and thrive on statistics. Every problem focuses on comparing us to other cities, primarily Fresh York, and is a general bore. There is nothing one could actually utilize, or would wish to, in the entertainment/restaurant section. I've never been so eager for a subscription to end. I can't believe Amazon suggests buying this along with Time Out Chicago, who I've turned to for true information, colourful interviews, and articles that honestly do feel like Chicago does. Yuck...all the focus on rich people makes me wish to puke. Why don't they count up some statistics on how a lot of Chicagoans actually fit your sickeningly rich profile? 5 percent? Their March problem explaining that a D-I-N-K couple making a combined $120,000 a year struggles just as much as a single mother making $15,000 based on their choices really tops it off: this magazine is out of touch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-29 6:23

    I love the Chicago Sun-Times. It's my favorite everyday newspaper. But the Kindle ver leaves much to be desired. First, the typography is atrocious! Yesterday's headline was, "CITYATTORNEYRESIGNSAF-TERJUDGEFINDSSHE MISLEDCO-URTIN2011FATALCPDSHOO-TINGCASE." Yikes! Who can read that? There are related spacing issues in a lot of of the articles. Also, I agree with another reviewer that there seems to be no rhyme or reason to the method articles are organized. Not sure if I will be continuing my subscription after the 14-day trial expires.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-29 6:23

    The Chicago Sun-Times for the Kindle absolutely stinks. It has very small content in News stories, but lots of sports. It has no weather whatsoever either. Virtually no finance news. It really is hardly worth downloading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-29 6:23

    Everything good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-29 6:23

    I'm sure for the normal reader who just wants primary news, this is great. But for me, who actually needs the classified section from today's paper, it was a waste of $.50.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-29 6:23

    I liked the Sports coverage however never a box score in it like the Tribune.Rick Morrisey’s article’s are mostly enjoyable unless he gets st are so liberal & politics stays out of Sports for anyone. Always ready to drop it but it gives the other squad in city nice coverage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-29 6:23

    For years we have been Sun-Times readers. I would have given it five stars before they created their changes and cuts several years back, because it was the excellent small newspaper!! But it still rates four stars cause it is Chicago's BEST newspaper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-11 20:43

    i have bought chicago r years. allow my subscription end. glad i starting up again

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-11 20:43

    Useful for specific purposes: Restaurant ratings and reviews, "Top XX whatevers" etc. Just don't pay more than $12 a year, the "rack rate" the publisher offers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-11 20:43

    Used to be a amazing mag. Now the town has changed a lot and I am not as interested in it as during the amazing old days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-11 20:43

    I do live in Chicago, so my viewpoint may be various than that of someone who doesn't live here and probably only comes here once a month.I subscribed to this magazine 2 years ago, before the Tribune Co. bought it. It had several amazing articles each month and was really relevant not only to people living in Chicago, but to those who had just moved here. I still have several of those because they were so amazing to me of my favorite, and headlining, articles include: Chicago's Best Fresh Restaurants (May 2001), Chicago's Tutorial to Summer (May 2001), 25 Weekend Getaways (June 2001), Tutorial to Surviving O'Hare (Feb. 2001)When I resubscribed 6 months ago (post Tribune buy out) I started to message it was catering to a various set of people. It now at least seems to have a lot less articles and they are a lot more relevant to people who live in the suburbs, or are Chicago old-money. Definitely catering to the 50+ crowd om the Jan. 2003 edition: Chicago's top doctors, From the Dec. 2002 edition: The Most expensive things in town, and Look at this month's highlight 'Chicago's Richest people'.. Why do I care? I don't!!I will NOT be renewing my subscription to this formerly amazing magazine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chicago []  2020-1-29 6:23

    I've only had my kindle for a short time so maybe it's me.I had to go thru one whole article before getting to the next uldn't search a table of contents so I could chose what I wanted to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Top 10 Chicago (Pocket Travel Guide) []  2020-7-13 19:11

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Top 10 Chicago (Pocket Travel Guide) []  2020-7-13 19:11

    I have used the Eyewitness Top 10 guidebooks for several trips and I can't imagine doing a trip without them! They are a convenient size for my travel bag, are concise and filled with lots of info.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Top 10 Chicago (Pocket Travel Guide) []  2020-7-13 19:11

    Very handy tutorial with maps and routes to famous places.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    top 7 best places to buy lasix in Finland [buy lasix in Toledo]  2020-9-14 1:27
    [email protected]

    purchase lasix from Omaha lasix how much where to buy lasix in St Louis lasix online pharmacy in San Jose buy lasix online from El Paso how to buy lasix lasix online in india

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tishomingo Blues [Book]  2017-12-21 18:0

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tishomingo Blues [Book]  2017-12-21 18:0

    It's Elmore at his best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tishomingo Blues [Book]  2017-12-21 18:0

    When Elmore Leonard is on a roll, he's just about the best there is. This isn't his strongest work, in my opinion, but it's still a fun story with memorable characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creole Blues []  2020-2-2 0:6

    Arrived on time, as discrived. Melody disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Blues []  2020-2-2 11:52

    I found everything I hoped for in the magazine, concerning whats event in the blues world. It's the best in blues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sugar Blues []  2020-2-9 19:23

    This has to be one of the best books on sugar I have ever read. And think that this was back decades ago. This book has been recommended by different authorities and want this had been more promoted back in the 60s when I was growing up.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386