Read transfiguration of vincent reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all transfiguration of vincent reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transfiguration Of Blind Joe Death []  2020-1-23 3:20

    I remember seeing John Fahey play a set in Mt. Vernon, Washington State, in the mid was awesome to see this guy that I had listened to on records found in second hand stores in Seattle and Belllingham WA, and had adored for years, come out on stage, peel a layer of clothing off his sweating torso, and begin into his music. Just one man strumming away on a guitar. Blind Joe Death is definitive John Fahey. Pure and real interpretations of deep river blues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transfiguration Of Blind Joe Death []  2020-1-23 3:20

    I bought this in the '70s when I was just getting into country blues and fingerstyle acoustic guitar playing. What a stroke of luck! Not only are the pieces on "Blind Joe Death" amazing to listen to, but they are also (in a lot of cases) fairly easy to figure out and play. They also begin up the globe of alternative guitar tunings (open G or "Spanish"; begin D) to the uninitiated. Having just said that some of these pieces are relatively simple to play, I should also say that I'm still trying after decades to create them sound as amazing as Fahey does. This is a unbelievable collection of songs that just gets better with repeated listening. "Blind Joe Death" is essential listening for you fingerpickers out there and for anyone else who likes acoustic guitar music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transfiguration Of Blind Joe Death []  2020-1-23 3:20

    Transfiguration is the key word rong,strong,yet tender.

    0  


    Add your opinion on transfiguration of vincent or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transfiguration Of Blind Joe Death []  2020-1-23 3:20

    Amazing CD from one of the master guitarists...However...lots of his melody are kinda related to each other...So. it's kinda if you heard one song, the others will sound a bit familiar...HOWEVER....if you are a guitar student...as I am...you wish these to study his technique...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transfiguration Of Blind Joe Death []  2020-1-23 3:20

    I've played guitar for 30+ years, and I was exposed to John Fahey very early on. His "Blind Joe Death" album (along with Ry Cooder's early albums) changed the method I looked at technique and tone. They created we wish to search similarly obscure (if not weird) tunes and bring a private touch to them. If you're not a guitarist, you're still going to love this very perfect album (though I'm not a huge fan of Track 1). Fahey equally rewards both the casual and the careful listener.If you play guitar or are into melody theory, the outstanding liner notes contain guitar tunings for each track. Some of these tunings are special to Fahey. Unlike Kottke, for example, most of Fahey's tunes aren't difficult to play -- if you're going to try, having the right tunings will support immensely. Fahey is not flashy or quick -- he's about atmosphere and creative touches that most guitarists wouldn't think of. I probably prefer "Blind Joe Death" to this CD, but not by much. This is elegant, creative, and unusual guitar music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transfiguration Of Blind Joe Death []  2020-1-23 3:20

    I can't add much to the glowing reviews except to say that if civilization ended tomorrow, I hope that this recording will be preserved for those who come after us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transfiguration Of Blind Joe Death []  2020-1-23 3:20

    Gee it's amazing to see that folks are still finding John Fahey's recordings to be of interest. Reading these other reviews makes me wish to note a few things, in case other folks search some sort of curiosity re: Mr. Fahey's life and music. (1) It is necessary remember that, before Mr. Fahey, nobody and I mean nobody even entertained the thought of being a solo, fingerpicking, primitive [sic], flat-top guitar instrumentalist for a living. He had to begin his own recording company for that, because no other labels already in existence would take him seriously. So he started Takoma, he started making records, and he was really the initial groundbreaking folk-ish blues acoustic guitar fingerstyle soloist, paving the method for so a lot of other unbelievable and ensuing artists.(2) John Fahey's melody has true content that supersedes any type of technical ysis. Personally, I think that the best musical expressions succeed because they directly express things that simply do not translate well into word-based languages like English etc. i.e. metaphorically speaking: John didn't memorize the dictionary ... he did something with the language, and said meaningful items that still rings true... whatever that is.(3) Mr. Fahey was a real visionary, and he remains a completely special voice: He place full faith in his vision, and succeeded in the face of overwhelming odds. It is difficult to overstate this fact. You can see it in his recordings, and you can see it in his life. He reminds me of a quote I read one time from Albert Murray, who said that jazz was not a melody style, it was a life style. In that sense Mr. Fahey was certainly a life style iconoclast, and primitive American blues melody was a key component of his vision.(4) The more I read about Mr. Fahey, the weirder he gets. Gotta respect him. I remember reading one time that he wept when first he heard a recording of Blind Willie Johnson playing the tune "Praise God I'm Satisfied." I invite the reader to hunt down and listen to a clip or two of Blind Willie Johnson playing the tune "Praise God I'm Satisfied." Let's just say that it does not create me cry, but it does create me smile to think that I thought I'd obtain some insight into Mr. Fahey's mind by trying to channel Praise God I'm Satisfied. Turns out that John is a bit more inscrutable than that, for me anyway.I have been listening to this guy for a long time, and it still rings perfectly and elusively true. It is nice to see that others are fascinated as well. PS Check out the label Revenant Records, one of J. Fahey's latest projects.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transfiguration Of Blind Joe Death []  2020-1-23 3:20

    I love this music! It goes into my favorites stack. Also, the eight page sheet of notes inside the case has information about the different guitar tunings used.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transfiguration Of Blind Joe Death []  2020-1-23 3:20

    eiriee and sublime!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transfiguration Of Blind Joe Death []  2020-1-23 3:20

    John Fahey may be most recognized for helping begin fellow finger-style guitarist Leo Kottke's career (check out the CD re-issue of John Fahey/Peter Lang/Leo Kottke), but over the course of 40 years and tons of albums for several labels (which unfortunately go in and out of print) Fahey has produced an impressive body of work.While a lot of of them are superb and all are if nothing else interesting, The Transfiguration of Blind Joe Death (you gotta love this guy's album titles!) is one of his best.Fahey absorbed his folk and rural blues influences into what he called "American primitive guitar." It's as amazing as description as any. Whatever you call his music, after listening to it Fahey will become the standard by which all other guitarists are compared.His unaccompanied accoustic guitar work--though not flashy--is always engaging and haunting.If this whets your appetite sufficiently, check out Rhino's well-chosen two-disc anthology Return of the Repressed which contains 42 songs from 20 albums. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent Van Gogh: Portrait of an Artist []  2020-2-12 21:30

    I appreciated that this was a simple, fast read as I was visiting a unique exhibit the next day. I enjoyed getting an insight into the person before seeing his art for myself. Could easily be read or enjoyed by an older kid or teenager.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent Van Gogh: Portrait of an Artist []  2020-2-12 21:30

    Very amazing middle school text. Could have used more pictures of the artist's work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent Van Gogh: Portrait of an Artist []  2020-2-12 21:30

    My grandson loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent Van Gogh: Portrait of an Artist []  2020-2-12 21:30

    It is good. I bought it because of tip from another reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent de Paul: Saint of Charity []  2020-9-23 18:49

    Beautifully written! A amazing deal of religious literature for kids is poorly written, so I was happily surprised by the quality of this book. Parts of the story were a bit over my 6-year-old's head (even though I tried to explain the difficult concepts), but he still enjoyed it. The story was dramatic, exciting, funny, and above all, inspiring. I will be ordering other titles in this series for little caveat is that there are some passages which disparage contemplatives. As St. Vincent de Paul lived in a time and put where the clergy and religious were in crisis, I have no doubt there were a lot of "contemplative" religious at the time who entered convents and monasteries with no other goal than having a carefree and even luxurious life, but some of the passages compared contemplatives in general unfavorably with St. Vincent de Paul's religious orders, evincing an incorrect understanding of the contemplative vocation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent de Paul: Saint of Charity []  2020-9-23 18:49

    This book gave amazing research info for a school project.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent Van Gogh: Portrait of an Artist []  2020-2-12 21:30

    I didn't order this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent Van Gogh: Portrait of an Artist []  2020-2-12 21:30

    Amazing book for any avid Van Gogh lover of his art, that being said there are alot more books out there with more info about van go. But still a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent de Paul: Saint of Charity []  2020-9-23 18:49

    I purchased this for our parish library, and while it is suggested for young readers; I also think that adults who wish an simple to read story about St Vincent de Paul will have fun this book. St. Vincent de Paul's entire life was spent serving God by serving others. He served the not good and homeless in a lot of ways, and he founded the Vincentian Order and the Daughters of Charity. This story will certainly inspire young and old alike. If you don't know much about St. Vincent de Paul, this book is a amazing put to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent de Paul: Saint of Charity []  2020-9-23 18:49

    These are perfect books. My children read them all and are very inspired by them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent Van Gogh: Portrait of an Artist []  2020-2-12 21:30

    Among the non fiction recommendations for the Common Core for Middle School, this book chronological follows the life of Vincent Van Gogh. Though aimed at young readers, the story is retold with truth and frankness. The author presents the life of Van Gogh from early childhood, emphasizing his emergence of an artist. Theo, Vincent's brother, demonstrates that through family, genius can survive. As an artist Van Gogh was prolific and instrumental in an artistic movement. The book is filled with info for the art student and for those who wish to learn more about the artist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent Van Gogh: Portrait of an Artist []  2020-2-12 21:30

    My son used this book to help,with a 4th grade project/ report/performance. The book is nicely written, appears to be fairly comprehensive & isn't too complex. My son loved the fact that there was a timeline included, it helped him tremendously to simplify the info even further.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent de Paul: Saint of Charity []  2020-9-23 18:49

    An perfect introduction to the awesome story of the French Saint of Charity, this biography for young adults proves very readable, interesting and even inspirational. Although set in 17th century war-ravaged France this book is relevant even in modern times when poverty is still a serious issue. Common folk were devastated by a series of political conflicts, both internal (Louis 13 versus Richelieu, Queen Anne vs Mazarin) and external. Widespread famine, the Plague and deplorable social conditions touched Vincent's generous heart, leading him to found several relief organizations. Outraged by the laxity of a lot of of the clergy he instituted ecclesiastic reforms and serious study in seminary. For over five decades Vincent's life was willingly dedicated to a career of selfless service to the disenfranchised of France: from a country shepherd and early sacred vows he went into slavery in north Africa, where he suffered physically and chafed at his inability to serve as a priest in a Muslem world. Later revered as founder of charitable orders for men and then for women, he was able to roam the dark and risky roads of Paris in relative safely, recognized by his limp and fearless demeanor. Humble to the end, he waged an ever greater war as he struggled with moral problems re God's will and his own, perceived spiritual unworthiness. Vincent's confraternities, the religious orders which he founded were his sincere offerings to alleviate the misery which surrounded him both in the town and the countryside: he reached out to the poor, the homeless, the sick and the insane, to those in prison and even to abandoned babies. His personal passion was the reform of the French clergy through the founding of seminaries to train righteous young priests. Pious Vincent was recognized as a saint in his own lifetime. These VISION BOOKS are a unbelievable series for Young Adult readers--from which Christians of all ages can benefit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent Van Gogh: Portrait of an Artist []  2020-2-12 21:30

    This book is written for young readers. I wanted a fast introduction to Van Gogh without having to read his 600 letters to his brother or a 1,000 page biography. Going to a Van Gogh exhibition this weekend, I got what I wanted as pre-reading. More than what is on Wikipedia, but not a two week reading project. But be warned, it is a short, young reader book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent Van Gogh: Portrait of an Artist []  2020-2-12 21:30

    Interesting. I read it aloud to my children 7,6,4 and the older two loved it and even the 4 yr old appreciated it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus of Nazareth: From the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration []  2020-1-18 21:1

    In my find for an authoritative book of the teachings of Jesus, I found Jesus of Nazareth by Pope Benedict XVI (Joseph Ratzinger) - Part One: From the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration (2007). This was exactly what I was looking e Pope presents the LIFE of Jesus in this volume (volume 2 covers his death and resurrection) and argues that Jesus brought to the globe the direct experience of God. This perspective appealed directly to my mystical persuasion and also happy intellectual, philosophical and theological e book draws on historical-critical scholarship of the Gospels and contains a lot of Old Testament sources. This was excellent for me because I wanted to focus on the Gospels rather than later Fresh Testament sources such as the writings of e Pope, both now and when he was Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger, is conversant in philosophy, theology (ancient and modern), exegesis, Biblical scholarship, and a dozens of other subjects. He is an perfect scholar and knows how to communicate his ideas. This book is his private find "for the face of the Lord" and it is not written as part of the teaching authority of the Church.Pope Benedict explores the meaning of key moments in the Gospels, such as the temptations of Jesus, the Sermon on the Mount, the Lord's Prayer, the notice of the parables. He underscores Jesus' being rooted in the Old Testament, showing, for example, that the Beatitudes participate in a long tradition of blessings, exemplified in Psalms.If you are looking for teachings of substance about the life and teachings of Jesus then this book is to be considered. The book cannot be read casually; it requires attention and also assumes some familiarity with theological categories such as "Christology."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus of Nazareth: From the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration []  2020-1-18 21:1

    This book came as a genuine surprise. Perhaps I should have guessed this fact from his constant vilification in the press ("hidebound Catholic conservative" was the least of it, as I recall), but Joseph Ratzinger (now Benedict XVI) is a genius, a brilliant intellectual who makes someone like Richard Dawkins look like a shady counter-jumper.If you are thinking about reading this book, fasten your seat-belts. This is one of the most interesting and intriguing books about Jesus ever written.Just as one example...atheists and skeptics usually create a huge problem out of the fact that the gospels came later than Jesus, sometimes decades later. Since this crowd does not really believe that Jesus was in any method exceptional, they begin to weave a superficially interesting tapestry of "community myth-making." Ratzinger is the first person I know of to pose the very interesting question of how that community suddenly became possessed of spiritual genius. Wouldn't it be simpler, and more logical, to think that the spiritual genius came FIRST, and the "community recollection" afterwards?Honesty in reviewing: I am a Theist, not a Christian, but I lean more and more to the fairly obvious idea that Something Happened at the time of Christ. The sudden emergence of thousands, and then millions of faithful, willing to go to their deaths to testify to their faith, is, so far as I know, unparalleled in is is a challenging book, well worth your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus of Nazareth: From the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration []  2020-1-18 21:1

    What a pleasure it is to read a book written by a globe class theologian that is accessible to the lay reader who is not a professional in theology. I remember when Pope Benedict XVI was elected and I wondered what would be in shop for the Church, and I wasn't hopeful. Was I ever wrong. I've come to recognize Benedict as a thoughtful, humble man who loves Christ and the Church and teaches from that center. That is what you will search in this book. At least I did.We read this book for our Catholic parish book club and I think the overwhelming opinion was surprise and pleasure at what we found here. What truth is released when the focus is Trinitarian and Christ-centered. When reading this book, I sensed that Benedict uses the biblical text to share the Truth, the whole Truth and nothing but the Truth. In that, he invites us to encounter Christ. It was a pleasure to experience the freedom that comes from centering on Christ and the Trinitarian God. The Truth truly does set you free (John 8:32).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus of Nazareth: From the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration []  2020-1-18 21:1

    From his “personal find for the face of the Lord,’” Benedict takes a lifetime of study, teaching and preaching to compile his series of three books about the life of Jesus, the focus of this book being the ministry of Jesus. The amazing paradox of Benedict’s work in Christology is his purification of the superfluous and unfaithful teachings about Jesus while retaining the incredibly complex, yet coherent, beliefs about Him that have been handed down since the Apostles and discovered and developed by the amazing minds of the Church’s history. Using the three synoptic Gospels as a cohesive unit, Benedict integrates both theological insight and spiritual reflection on the words and actions of Jesus. While the majority of this book’s references come from Matthew, Tag and Luke, it devotes a chapter to significant points in John, focusing in its attractive imagery. An aspect both intellectually and spiritually enriching is his investigation of the titles of Jesus used throughout the Gospel. Always the teacher, Benedict also contains a glossary and bibliography, enabling the reader to both build a solid foundation to his theological writing and find further for more and wider reading in the study of Christ. Assuredly stemming from his lifelong emphasis on continuity, Benedict pulls from a wide range of sources that span across the Church’s 2,000 year history, creating a bridge, or pontifex, that is sure to continue long after the amazing work of this holy man is finished, but will surely act as another piece that will lead one, in conjunction with God’s written Word, to the “way, the truth and the me memorable quotes from Jesus of Nazareth:“To ‘hunger and thirst for righteousness’ – that is the path that lies begin to everyone; that is the method that finds its destination in Jesus Christ.”“When man begins to see and to live from God’s perspective, when he is a companion on Jesus’ way, then he lives by fresh standards…Jesus brings joy into the midst of affliction.”“Only by touching Jesus’ wounds and encountering his Resurrection are we able to grasp them, and then they become our mission.”Original publication year: 2007Pages: approx. 374I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus of Nazareth: From the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration []  2020-1-18 21:1

    Pope Benedict XVI (Cardinal Ratzinger) has an incredibly brilliant understanding of the nature of Jesus and the structure of Christianity. His discourse is unparalleled. But beware of assuming you can breeze through the book. Cardinal Ratzinger's philosophy is highly complex, and his diction is immensely difficult. So a clear understanding of the phenomenal truth of his description of Jesus takes some true careful thinking and meditation. I loved the book, but wow, IT WAS CHALLENGING.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus of Nazareth: From the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration []  2020-1-18 21:1

    This book includes a lot of insights into Holy Scripture that I had neither heard or thought of. The clarity and simplicity in which this book undertakes its purpose is also deep, yet accessible. The deep understanding and experience of the author is evident from reading it. I suggest this book for any honest persons who are willing to learn and especially those who are wanting to have a deep enough view of real Christian faith presented for honest intellectual ysis. It would support to read Introduction to Christianity by the same author Pope Benedict the XVI. I heard that when he was elected to the Papacy, that a lot of saw it as electing the most smart man in the room. I now believe that it is likely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus of Nazareth: From the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration []  2020-1-18 21:1

    I bought this and the second of the series and have learned much from both of them, Benedict writes from his own private find for the historical Jesus of the Gospels, and is "in no method an excercise of the magisterium, but is solely an expression of my [his] private find 'for the face of the lord'"I have found these two books would be interesting and informative reading for both the average person who wants a deeper insight into their Savior, and perfect reading for those who have an extensive understanding of theology and the scriptures.I have and will recommend these books to anyone who seeks a richer understanding and relationship with that there is a third book in the series "The Infancy Narratives", I plan to buy that one this week, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus of Nazareth: From the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration []  2020-1-18 21:1

    As a Jewish man, I was looking for an smart yet passionate declaration from a Christian, on the person of Jesus.I sensed Joseph Ratzinger (Pope Benedict the XVI) would deliver.And the Pope e Pope elucidates his private endeavor to search the 'essence' of a Man a lot of believe encapsulates the fulfillment of divinity.A Man whose life perpetually inspires and illuminates a lot of through the is book presents a 'Gospel-dissection' of Jesus' words and actions.What He was thinking, and most of all, what drove 'God' to pour Himself into the restrictive, suffocating mortal bodyof a human being.I am not sure the Pope makes his case for Jesus' divinity.But to deny that the Jesus of the Gospels was not a spectacularly special man would be todeny the heights to which a man can attain, when God is created the focus and locus of one's life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus of Nazareth: From the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration []  2020-1-18 21:1

    This is the second book by Pope Benedict that I’ve read and, as I was reading it, and mentally comparing it to his book on the Doctors of the Church, it suddenly struck me that the difference between the two books is the difference between Benedict and his successor, Francis. Benedict is a master theologian and Francis is a pastor. His book on the Doctors was taken from homilies he’d given and came across as powerful on history but weak on its attempts at inspiration. This book on Benedict’s views of Jesus as seen through the gospel is quite unbelievable and masterful. It plays to his theological wheelhouse and Benedict hits a home is particular volume follows Jesus from his baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration. It is filled with historical information, views from his wide reading, and his own theological insight. There is some unbelievable items here. His recounting of the baptism as a mirror of the Passion and crucifixion is something that I’d never considered before. I was intrigued by his discussion of Jacob Neuser’s book A Rabbi Talks with Jesus as a counterpoint to his look at the Sermon on the Mount. So much so that I’m now about halfway through Neuser’s book as well. He delivers an perfect explication of the Lord’s Prayer. He looks closely at three of Jesus’ parables and, in particular, gives us insight into the second brother, the “son who remained at home”, in his discussion of the Prodigal Son, which I found very t that I found everything Benedict explained convincing. I found his chapter on the Gospel of John, while perfect in describing its symbols and themes, a bit hard to trust when he tries to convince us of an earlier composition date and a lower Christology that seems apparent in the text. And yet, he is very convincing when he describes why he thinks that the gospel (and the letters of John) comes from a tradition that has links to an actual fact, this is an perfect book. Though it shows Benedict’s intellectual bent, it remains readable to any reasonable educated Christian. Whatever one feels about Benedict as a pope, this book is an engaging acc of his thinking about Christ. As such, it is a valuable resource for anyone on their own find for truth. I’m looking forward to reading the second volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus of Nazareth: From the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration []  2020-1-18 21:1

    Thoroughly readable, but also deep. Highly recommended reading for the time between Epiphany and the Easter Triduum (that begins with Holy Thursday). At times, it reads like a textbook (so have a dictionary nearby), but it's because he is doing a critical study of all the other studies about Christ - before he presents his private understanding of his l throughout, though, there are so a lot of amazing nuggets of fresh understanding about Jesus and Scripture.A few examples: - The mission of John the Baptist (and all Jewish prophets), not as mere magicians who predict the future. - Barabbas as "bar-abbas" - the false "son of the father" - Jesus as the fresh Jacob (who was ministered to by angels, rather than fighting them, as he climbed Jacob's ladder)... all awesome insights in just the first two chapters!Then he gets into the Sermon on the Mount and the Beatitudes: - the different (flawed) interpretations of "The Kingdom of God", culminating in the only remaining (and therefore, correct) one: Jesus *is* the Kingdom (i.e., "active lordship") of God - totally fresh understanding of "blessed are those who mourn..." Incredible! It is what they are mourning that matters. (This is the significance of the 8th Station of the Cross: Jesus speaks to the Weeping Women.) - discussion about the importance of the Sabbath as a renewal and reinforcement of the family (and, thereby, society) and Jesus as Lord of the is book ends with The Transfiguration, but foreshadows it about a third of the method through with the line: "...the dialogue between The Law and The Prophets..." This explains who Jesus is in figurative terms, but also foretells the literal discussion between Jesus, Moses (the Law) and Elijah (the Prophets).After establishing who Jesus is, Benedict then establishes who His Bride (the Church) is now, and has been through history. Some more examples: - We learn prayers (from Jesus, the Church, and the Saints) because we do not know how to pray - we are babbling like babies, but Mother Church teaches us how we are to pray. - Also, the Our Father, recited backwards, traces the journey of Jesus and the Israelites (from temptation, through the desert, relying on God for bread, to the coming of the Kingdom to Heaven and Our Father). He also gives a line-by-line breakdown of the Our Father that is very enlightening.He also presents some interesting theories about St. John the Evangelist. He pays particular attention to latest scholarship and theories about "the upper room" (of the Latest Supper) - that it was possibly owned by John's father, Zebedee. (This explains: why it was already set-up for the Passover; why Jesus and the Apostles could simply walk in like they owned the place; why servants were already prepared to wait on them; and why John was resting his head on Jesus' chest during the meal.)You'll wish to read this faster, but you also won't wish to miss anything for having read too quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Vincent in the Barn: Great Stories of Motorcycle Archaeology []  2020-1-19 23:13

    Interesting stories, but unless one’s interest lay in the zone of Vintage machines, it could be disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Vincent in the Barn: Great Stories of Motorcycle Archaeology []  2020-1-19 23:13

    The third book in Cotter's series of ____In the Barn books, this collection of stories is a nice twist on the original concept delivered by The Cobra in the Barn. These are rich stories that will hold you coming back again and again to relive the thrill of discovery that come with finding these ancient motorcycles entombed somewhere. This book lives proudly on my automotive bookshelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of Vincent van Gogh (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-30 19:23

    Wow...just wow. I have always enjoyed Van Gogh's works but I had no idea how complex he was. His letters to his brother paint a beautifully painful picture of the man who with the red beard. This is a must read for anyone. His writing is really lovely and you can feel his struggle to come into his own. His story is so heartbreaking and inspiring. He literally taught himself how to draw and paint people! He used a single book to teach himself. How awesome is that!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Vincent in the Barn: Great Stories of Motorcycle Archaeology []  2020-1-19 23:13

    I'm not entirely sure what exactly I was expecting with this book, but it didn't seem to fully deliver in any case. Yes, that sounds flaky, but I just wasn't as impressed as I had expected. The occasional typos and less than pro writing level didn't support (I'm a member of the language police). Still, it's a motorbike book, so there's some interesting items along the method for us bike nuts. The examples lean heavily on the Harley/Indian/Vincent finds which knowledgeable antique collector types will search rewarding, but I would have enjoyed a few more stories of "everyguy" finds, but those tend not to create for book-level material, I suppose. I'm glad I read it, but it won't stay on my shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Vincent in the Barn: Great Stories of Motorcycle Archaeology []  2020-1-19 23:13

    Had a amazing time with this book. My unfounded expectations were the only thing working versus this title as I was hoping for a few more stories of regular joes who happened upon amazing finds whereas most were tales of the serious collector or museum making acquisitions. Still, extremely enjoyable and really gave some amazing insight into how these "holy grails" of motorcycle archeology actually take place! Ultimately I'd recommend the book to anyone interested in acquiring their own antique motorcycle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of Vincent van Gogh (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-30 19:23

    Some books read easily and keep your attention all the method through; others demand plowing (he wrote long, often tedious letters) and this one calls for the latter. However, if you wish to obtain past the cliche-ridden view of Van Gogh and see the man with all of his complexities, this book does it. He was loving, charitable, bright, articulate, curious, insecure, needy and talented. He had father issues, religious issues, women problems and mental health issues. He was disorganized, sensitive, driven, over-reactive, sometimes nasty, often generous and I'm sure being inside his skin, at times, must have been hell. As I wrote above--you have to plow but you obtain to know the man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of Vincent van Gogh (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-30 19:23

    letters of van gogh create fascinating reading. deeply ytical mind of van gogh revealed. nothing about his thinking as demonstrated in his letters suggests he was crazy. the opposite: he was really rational. but emotional problems created him lop his ear off. his letter explaining the popular billiard room bar painting is itself worth the book price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Vincent in the Barn: Great Stories of Motorcycle Archaeology []  2020-1-19 23:13

    If you love motorcycles and remember "back in the day" this is a must read. These short stories collectively sew a wonderfully rich and colourful tapestry of those amazing stories guys tell other guys, who know and love bikes, that when shared cannot support but bring smiles and remembrance of a time past and another story not yet shared. All of Tom's books are amazing but I personally, particularly, enjoyed this one the most, for it's wide and diverse spectrum of experiences. A amazing page turner that you will be sorely tempted to speed through but pace yourself as each story is a gem to have fun on its own. R.K.Ryan, Harrisburg, NC

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of Vincent van Gogh (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-30 19:23

    I have never been drawn to van Gogh’s paintings, but I am very drawn to van Gogh. The bits of info that I had picked up here and there over the years about this man, engendered a kind of affinity that has grown with time. I approached his letters with a sort of reverence due to their intimate nature. They offer a glimpse of a deeply spiritual soul: a man of tremendous passion and yearning who saw things with such eloquent clarity. A contemplative man given to bouts of fanaticism due to the depth of his nature. A man who saw beauty in the seemingly mundane. Each nuance of nature reflected back to him with melancholic beauty and deep longing. Very poignant and powerful. I often paused to hang my head and close my eyes as I absorbed his words, feeling them course in my veins and resonate through my soul. He lived on a far deeper level than most.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of Vincent van Gogh (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-30 19:23

    Lots of typos in the Kindle edition, but the letters themselves are fascinating and bring a amazing deal of insight into Van Gogh's mind as a man of amazing intellectual depth, exquisite sensitivity, profound emotional wounds, difficult relationships, relentless creative passions, wrenching disappointments, intense inquiry, experimental pursuit, and purposeful intent as an artist, and astonishingly prolific output and singular artistic genius. Anyone wishing for greater understanding of both the man and his work will be moved and gratified by this large and very literary collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Vincent in the Barn: Great Stories of Motorcycle Archaeology []  2020-1-19 23:13

    I bought this book for my husband for Christmas-he can't place the book down the book created his Christmas-it created me satisfied one show that didn't have to go back. Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Vincent in the Barn: Great Stories of Motorcycle Archaeology []  2020-1-19 23:13

    Amazing short stories for motorcycle enthusiasts. I have owned over 32 motorcycles in my 71 years and most were barn, chicken shed, or up-side-down in ditch finds. My best Nortons, Triumphs, BMWs and Hondas came to me the same as Mr. Cotter describes. He presents a wide dozens of biographical essays. Also, I enjoyed his Cobra in the Barn and will search the Hemi volume soon. They are simple fun reads.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Vincent in the Barn: Great Stories of Motorcycle Archaeology []  2020-1-19 23:13

    What a amazing book! What a amazing collection of stories! My newest motorcycle is a 24 year old BMW, purchased new. If you believe, as I, that the best motorcycles have already been built, you will not be able to place this book down! Nicely illustrated; well researched, elegantly written, the items that classic motorcycle dreams are created of. Highly recommended. Enjoy!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of Vincent van Gogh (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-30 19:23

    Featuring a amazing selection of Vincent's letters to Theo and a few to others such as his sister Wil and his mate Paul Gaugin, this volume offers some insightful commentary, especially in the introduction. Passages that connect the selected letters are sometimes less than helpful, as they tend to summarize the content of the missive you're about to read; Vincent's letters, while they present the wide scope of his interest (as well as his limits at times), are fairly straightforward and don't really require that sort of treatment to be understood. Translations of terms, phrases and passages in French were very much e Kindle edition is riddled with typos, errant characters (letters with accent marks are often rendered as "6," for example) and poor formatting (what I imagine are page headings, for example, interrupting the body of a letter; and the fonts used to set off the letters from the commentary were inconsistently applied). I can take a small of that here and there, but there are so a lot of of these errors that it became actively annoying before I finished half the book. It's a shame that a publisher like Penguin can't ensure their ebooks are free of such obvious glitches, especially considering the price is nearly that of the trade paperback ve this a hard pass if you're looking for an ebook edition of Van Gogh's letters. Obtain the hard copy instead, which I'd assume doesn't have the problems I've described above. For shame, Penguin, for letting something like this out into the marketplace.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Vincent in the Barn: Great Stories of Motorcycle Archaeology []  2020-1-19 23:13

    Was going to download it on my Kindle but when I saw the reduced price for a used book I couldn't resist it. Was an old library book lightly used and if you are a fan of the addiction of acquiring Barn finds this is for you. Mine was a parking lot search and the author suggest if you have a story to submit it to him. Maybe I will.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Vincent in the Barn: Great Stories of Motorcycle Archaeology []  2020-1-19 23:13

    I too could not place down this book. The stories / tales of motorcycle finds from around the globe within this book were all amazing reads. You'll read not only about Vincents, but Indians, Harleys, Triumphs, and a lot of more bikes, some you may have never heard of. I highly recommend this book regardless of what brand motorcycle you ride. There is only one "con" to this book, and that is it has a ending. You'll think what a amazing read, I wish to read more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of Vincent van Gogh (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-30 19:23

    Van Gogh's letters are really a treasure that anybody who loves Art, Van Gogh's Art or just amazing historical figures should read. The Dutch painter is known by his characteristic colorful photos and brush strokes, for his insanity and tragic ending. Reading some of the letters to his brother and confidant Theo allows us to leave behind the almost mythical movie-like hero and meet the true Vincent, the human being, the man, the soul and the artist he was. His letters are full of realism, understanding and compassion towards human dejection and people living under harsh conditions; they are also full of spirituality and religiosity, of love and admiration for Nature, and of colour. His correspondence is a portal to his feelings of love, dejection, failure, fragility, indecision, anger, resentment, obsession and disappointments; are an example of how Art freed his spirit, a witness of his enthusiasm for literature and painting, as well as depiction of the poverty and misery that surrounded most of his adult life. In short, when reading Van Gogh's correspondence one feels transported to the late 19th century and living in Vincent's shoes. In that regard, the selection of letters presented in this edition helps to obtain a decent general view of who Van Gogh IS EDITIONThis book includes a selection of letters from van Gogh to his brother Theo, to his mother, and to artist mates Anton van Rappard and Paul Gauguin. These letters were collected, assembled and numbered by Theo’s wife Johanna, whose Memoir formed the introduction to their original publication and is included here in full, as main issue with this book, is not with what is in it, but what is not, why is not. Said differently, we are offered an edited ver of the person he was, an intentional mutilated view of his whole self, clearly appreciable if you compare any of the letters as presented here and the full reproduction of the letter elsewhere. I search extremely irritating editors with small understanding of what a historical doent is trying to 'rewrite' history for the sake of brevity, to please, who?The complete correspondence of Van Gogh might be a fatty plate for some people to swallow, and that is understandable. If a selection needs to be done for a book to be saleable, profitable and palatable, at least create a selection that is historically sound, well introduced and commented. However, the main sin of this book is not even the selection, but the fact that the letters chosen aren't reproduced in full. It is not that just that the dates, salutations and valedictions have been removed, it is that a lot of times we obtain 1% of the original letter, a paragraph of a letter that had a lot of cannot separate the state of mind, heart and life cirtances of the artist from his art, because they are intrinsically linked. In fact, the editorial house's blah-blah-blah promo says just so. But after doing the mutilation, they say that this edition is "The effect is an atypical take on Vincent van Gogh that avoids putting too much stress on his troubled mental state and too much straining by the editor to shape a narrative out of van Gogh's epistolary clues. Instead, we see the thoughtful and contemplative side of this creative genius, as well as his concern for the impact his art and life had on those people closest to him."One gets more the multifaceted personality of Van Gogh by having his letters not mutilated. In addition, I don't wish anybody who is not a super-duper editor with an understanding of what an historical text is, to do anything for me, to produce a mediocre text when a amazing one can be produced. If you cannot do something well, better do nothing. You might say, the book costs less than 4 bucks, right? but there are editions that offer the complete full unabridged non-mutilated translation of the correspondence for less than E TRANSLATIONAlthough the letters read well overall and some passages flow and are really enjoyable to read, a lot of times the language is unnecessarily messy, wordy and imprecise. Besides, the a lot of French bits are not translated or annotated, and so if you don't have a medium knowledge of that language, you will search yourself uttering a what?! quite is ebook works well in my device and have had no problems whatsoever. However, I'd like to mention, some small things:> The book has some of Van Gogh's sketches and paintings mentioned in the letters reproduced in the book. They should have been attached to the letters they relate to, or at least linked from the letter to the sketch and back to the letter. This has not been done, and we can only access the drawings and paintings by going to the index of illustrations at the beginning.> The ytic index has been linked in Kindle, although the number of page is not reflected, and a reference number appears instead.> I have noticed some typos, mistakes, and results of the digital conversion that need to be addressed.-- Proper typos: exhibitiosn (loc. 1023).-- Unnecessary use of capitals: went into an Inn and I thought that he would stay (Locs 1255-1256). , Not good lad (Loc. 1299)-- Unnecessary hyphenation of letters, probably the effect of the digital conversion, as they might have been in various line breaks when converted to Kindle: bread con- venient for me’ (Loc. 1503).-- Dubious verb concordance: Those vegetable gardens there have A KIND of old Dutch hero which always greatly APPEAL to me. (Locs 2624-2625).And so RECOMMENDATIONIt is because of my disappointment with this edition, that I searched for alternatives and came across very cheap and medium-priced books that supersede this edition in everything. A very cheap edition of the full correspondence and paintings (excluding the sketches) of Van Gogh plus the introductory biography by Joanna, can be found on Kindle:  Delphi Complete Works of Vincent van Gogh (Illustrated) (Masters of Art Book 3) . If you just wish a medium-priced selection of the correspondence, not the whole bunch, but seriously edited and translated, based on sound academic criteria, with high quality reproductions of the sketches and drawings included in the letters you can read the edition by Leo Jansen, Hans Luijten, and Nienke Bakker of the Van Gogh Museu, titled  Ever Yours: The Essential Letters .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of Vincent van Gogh (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-30 19:23

    I was slow getting into this book, because I had so a lot of before it to read. So, now that I have just finished reading it, while I still feel so strongly the emotions it brought forth, I wish to recommend it most highly. It's an simple book to pick up and place down (like reading in bed before going to sleep). It is a small slow-going in the beginning, but holds one's interest. I started out knowing probably about as much as most people about van Gogh, but based on other reviewer's opinions, I stuck with it - in no hurry to [email protected]#$%!.Little by little, it started to grab my attention, more and more, until I was genuinely "hooked". I am dumbfounded by van Gogh's bonus of writing - how a lot of of us knew that? He was certainly one of the most introspective and insightful men I've ever had the pleasure to read. Who knew that he was in his method as gifted with his writing as he was with his painting? His vocabulary, his ability to see beyond the obvious, his attractive and tender emotions, his love for all his mates and family - it just leaves me feeling stunned by the magnitude of his thinking, his suffering, his hard, hard work. I'm not a "professional" reviewer, and I can't write like one. However, I am almost 80 years old, and have read hundreds of books, on all kinds of subjects...and I have to say this one strikes me as one that goes right to one's heart and soul - yourself a favor, stick with this book, and feel transformed by the enriching experience of it all. I have a better, though belated appreciation for this attractive man

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of Vincent van Gogh (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-30 19:23

    Nothing quite like these beautifully human and passionate letters of a young artistic sensibility to his belovedbrother. Van Gogh felt the spirit - whatever one takes that to mean - and tried to become a preacher like his father.He was too Christ-like to learn Greek and Latin; he wanted to preach and reach people.He place aside "the Book"and In a 10 year span he made some of the most iconic photos of the century and, more importantly, spoke and preached about beauty and seeing things, through his self-taught paintings that have spoken to millions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Letters of Vincent van Gogh (Penguin Classics) []  2021-3-30 19:23

    An intimate read into the life of Van Gogh, amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dailey & Vincent []  2020-7-5 19:51

    Love to hear them sing. Their harmony on their choice of songs is fantastic. Have all of their CD's. If you like Bluegrass, then you need to add these gentlemen to your library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dailey & Vincent []  2020-7-5 19:51

    This is a amazing album. Came in a timely manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dailey & Vincent []  2020-7-5 19:51

    Jamie Dailey and Darrin Vincent, both veterans of years working with big-name bluegrass bands, have now teamed up to form a band of their own and have recently released their first album, the self-titled Dailey & Vincent. Dailey is best known for the nine years he spent with Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, the band he left in August 2007. Vincent, brother of Rhonda Vincent, got his begin performing with his family's band, The Sally Mountain Show, and has worked with the largest names in bluegrass and country melody in latest years.If Dailey & Vincent is any indication, these guys have a very bright future in bluegrass music. What makes this album, a mix of traditional bluegrass and gospel melody with a small country thrown in for amazing measure, unique are the harmonies featured in most of the songs. Jamie Dailey has one of the purest (and highest) high tenor voices in the business and Darrin Vincent's voice offers the excellent blend required to make some memorable ong the album's strongest cuts are five gospel tunes, including an acappella performance of "Don't You Wish to Go to Heaven When You Die," sung in four-part harmony and guaranteed to create you keep your breath as the lyrics seem to come faster and faster and obtain you wondering when the singers are going to run out of breath themselves. "By the Mark," a song that should be part of every Dailey & Vincent performance if it's not, gives Jamie Dailey the possibility to demonstrate that superb high tenor of his and is sure to be an album e traditional bluegrass sound is well represented by standout songs such as "berland River," "Poor Boy Workin' Blues" and my favorite, "Don't You Call My Name."This is a first class album debut but that should not be surprising considering the decades of musical experience that Dailey and Vincent already have under their belts. The guys have surrounded themselves with some fine musicians and promise to be just as amazing on scene as they are on this recording.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dailey & Vincent []  2020-7-5 19:51

    Mom loves it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dailey & Vincent []  2020-7-5 19:51

    amazing price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dailey & Vincent []  2020-7-5 19:51

    If you love traditional bluegrass music, you will love this album! These guys have amazing resumes having worked with the bands of Doyle Lawson, Ricky Skaggs, and Rhonda Vincent in the past. But putting just the two of them together, their melody and harmonies are even more magical. I am grateful that they included several gospel songs and "By The Mark" is my absolute favorite on this album. This one song is worth the purchase!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dailey & Vincent []  2020-7-5 19:51

    Expecting kinda the same tunes over and over.. these talented mendeliver an exciting audio festival! They are talented and very entertaining.Leaves audience wanting for more. I saw them in person, and they broughtdown the house... So glad they obtain recognition they deserve.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dailey & Vincent []  2020-7-5 19:51

    This is a group that formed after leaving Doyle Lawson and RIcky Skaggs. They probably miss them tremendously but are proud of what they are doing; and they are doing quite a lot. This is one of their first CDs with a lot of more to come. If you have fun bluegrass, buy this CD and begin a collection. These two are going far!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dailey & Vincent []  2020-7-5 19:51

    amazing dozens in songs perfect music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dailey & Vincent []  2020-7-5 19:51

    Buy everything this group records and see them in concert every time they come to city and you will NEVER be disappointed. Jamie and Darrin are both gifted with awesome talent and both apprenticed with some of the masters in their craft. Their recordings and their live performances are the proof. Two of the nicest guys in the business producing the best melody in this genre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of Vincent van Gogh (Illustrated) (Masters of Art Book 3) []  2020-2-1 0:29

    7.5/10This book devoted to Vincent Van Gogh, which is part of the Delphi Classics series of art masters, is what one expects a book aimed to the general public to be: affordable, informative, comprehensive, and most importantly, respectful with the artist. This work has 4000+ pages and everything you need to know to obtain to know a know better the Dutch e first section of the book includes a selection of Vincent Van Gogh's renowned paintings, with some extracted photos of info in them, and a brief introductory commentary to each one; the whole list of paintings by Vincent, chronologically ordered and grouped by the various locations where he lived and painted, follows; an alphabetical list of his paintings completes the first section of the book. The second section includes the complete unabridged correspondence of Van Gogh, 800+ letters, chronologically organised, translated into English by her sister-in-law Johanna van Gogh-Bonger in 1914. Just having the complete correspondence blows my mind. The book ends with a biography of the artist written by Johanna as well. All of this for less than three bucks on Kindle format. That is a loud wow.Overall, this a very satisfying book for the general public, who doesn't expect or demands a polished translation and edition, a comprehensive study and ysis of the texts, or more in-depth or commentary of the paintings of what is already here. The truth is that through the extensive catalogue of paintings one obtains an overall view of the themes, motifs, human types, techniques and creative periods in Van Gogh's artistic life. Through his correspondence one gets to know the true man behind the artist, a fascinating human being who, at least to me, was as amazing as a writer as a painter, a man with a amazing depth, soul and humanity, a human being not a pop-star though I really recommend this book to the general public, I would like to point out a few things that you should know before you purchase it: > This is not a complete collection of Vincent's artworks, just of his paintings, as none of his sketches in the book are included.> The quality of the photos in the Kindle edition goes from amazing to poor and everything in between. One can individuate each painting by double tapping the image; yet, it is not always clear, neat or amazing quality.> Some of the paintings were forever lost during WW2, so the only thing remaining are the black and white images of them we have in the book.> Vincent's correspondence, although complete, is written in old-fashioned English that does not read well at times, and not all the French sentences and expressions in the letters are always translated.> It would have been amazing having some of the paintings mentioned in the letters linked back and forward with the photos in this book, but they are not. > It would have been amazing having those letters with sketches, which are many, reproduced with the sketches in this book, or at least the sketches reproduced separately and linked to the letters, but they are not.I would suggest for a second edition of this book on Kindle the following things:> I would love having better resolution images, and each photo being reproduced in a larger format on each page.> Preparing an ytical index of the correspondence.> Placing the alphabetical list of paintings at the end of the book.> Work on the lateral menu on Kindle for Android, which, in its current format, is not usable because of the large amount of info listed there. To be usable, it should have been produced in collapsible format, a huge epigraph with a sub-epigraph and a sub-sub epigraph etc. A lot of things that should not be on that index are there.> Prepare a short glossary with a synopsis of each of the main people mentioned in the correspondence and repeatedly painted by Van Gogh.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of Vincent van Gogh (Illustrated) (Masters of Art Book 3) []  2020-2-1 0:29

    Was teaching two narrative movies about Van Gogh, and this book was helpful—a treasure trove of a collection of paintings, letters, and Theo’s wife’s biography. For an wonderful price, no less.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of Vincent van Gogh (Illustrated) (Masters of Art Book 3) []  2020-2-1 0:29

    Reading the letters gave me a various perspective of Van Gogh. I have always enjoyed potato his paintings. I now have a better insight about his work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of Vincent van Gogh (Illustrated) (Masters of Art Book 3) []  2020-2-1 0:29

    I am uncertain whether this is truly the complete works of VvG; if not, it must certainly come close. It is a fast reference for looking at / for looking up photos of VvG's paintings etc. If you are looking up some detail to cross reference with another work you might search it quickly here but only after you have learned to search your method around this "book". — You might also obtain pleasure from it if you are stuck in a long check-out counter queue or waiting for a dryer to finish up. That said, you will probably be disappointed at quite so a lot of little images, most of which are adequate. A few photos are a real thumbs ill I love having it all in hand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of Vincent van Gogh (Illustrated) (Masters of Art Book 3) []  2020-2-1 0:29

    I can't start to thank Delphi enough for all of the products they place out. This fresh Masters of Art series is yet another feather in their cap as they continue to provide wonderful collections for eBook readers. Here you can see all of Van Gogh's paintings, as well as read a biography on Vincent, see highlights with background info on his most popular works. Perhaps the best part of this is his collection of letters, which I love to read, a small at a time. While I can only see his paintings in B/W on my Kindle (non-Fire), I love to begin the book on my browser, where I can see them in riously, for this price, why are you even looking at reviews? But it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of Vincent van Gogh (Illustrated) (Masters of Art Book 3) []  2020-2-1 0:29

    So grateful for this unbelievable resource! I have quite a collection of books on Van Gogh and his art, but this includes some works I had not seen. I view this on the Kindle application for ipad and both the resolution and the color rendering are very good, better than most books. I appreciate their detail images, which let close study of brush marks. I hope Delphi sells dozens of ebooks from this series, both so they add fresh artists, and so they present the greedy publishers who charge $10-15 for ebooks (no paper, ink, printing or shipping) just how appreciative the buying public is of perfect quality affordable ebooks! I sure am, and plan on buying a lot of more in this series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of Vincent van Gogh (Illustrated) (Masters of Art Book 3) []  2020-2-1 0:29

    so gorgeous! what a amazing find.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of Vincent van Gogh (Illustrated) (Masters of Art Book 3) []  2020-2-1 0:29

    The Delphi Classics collection of Van Gogh not only has all of his paintings in color (on Amazon's Kindle apps for the iPad, PC or tablets), but virtually the entire 'Complete Letters of Vincent Van Gogh', all for the awesome price of $2.99. If you have the boxed 3-volume set of the 'Complete Letters...' you will message that the Kindle edition does not contain the drawings and some of the additional letters and supplemental commentary, but the Delphi Classics edition organizes the letters to his other acquaintances in chronological order within his letters to his brother Theo, something the hardcover edition doesn't do (the other letters are in their own sections at the end). The file is quite huge (due to the paintings), so be prepared for a longer download time (even with WiFi). I have since purchased other Delphi Classics collections and look forward to the same quality product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of Vincent van Gogh (Illustrated) (Masters of Art Book 3) []  2020-2-1 0:29

    I love these Delphi Complete Works books. If the photos are, at times, on the little side, they also contain titles so that I can look up individual works online, and they represent each artist's lifetime accomplishments and contain interesting, though by no means exhaustive text. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Complete Works of Vincent van Gogh (Illustrated) (Masters of Art Book 3) []  2020-2-1 0:29

    What an inspiration and pleasure is to view the pictures of this supreme master in takes you onto the globe of fantasy. Yet it's so hard to believe that he never sold one of his paintings and now if you had just one you'd be rich.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning from Henri Nouwen and Vincent van Gogh: A Portrait of the Compassionate Life []  2020-1-16 10:22

    I loved this small book, being a long-time fan of Henri Nouwen as well as an admirer of Van Gogh. The weaving of notes from Nouwen presents a tender portrait of two compassionate lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning from Henri Nouwen and Vincent van Gogh: A Portrait of the Compassionate Life []  2020-1-16 10:22

    Such a brilliant and attractive work on the life of compassion, integrating theology and art in a profound way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning from Henri Nouwen and Vincent van Gogh: A Portrait of the Compassionate Life []  2020-1-16 10:22

    This book draws wisdom from van Gogh’s life and work, along with the teachings of theologian Henri Nouwen, author of more than 40 books on the spiritual uwen had a profound interest in van Gogh. Both were Dutch, both shared a compassion for the poor, and both were deeply spiritual yet unconventional in their Carol Berry had the rare opportunity to audit a class taught by Nouwen at Yale Divinity School – “The Compassion of Vincent van Gogh”. Raised in the Netherlands herself, she retraced the steps of van Gogh’s life in The Netherlands, Amazing Britain, Belgium, and France and read his over 900 letters to his brother, Theo. Berry has been studying van Gogh’s life and work, and sharing her insights since of the a lot of things I loved about this book is that the author doesn’t show the common clichés about van Gogh as facts (like so a lot of others do), but as theories or misunderstandings.If you love Vincent van Gogh, this book is like a “behind the scenes” tour of his life and art. The insights Berry offers from her own research and the material shared with her from Nouwen’s literary estate, presents an inspiring peak into the true Vincent van Gogh that most people have no clue about. Forget what you think you already know about van Gogh and read this book. Highly, highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent van Gogh: A Life From Beginning to End (Biographies of Painters Book 2) []  2020-11-25 22:12

    I really liked this fast read and could easily imagine the scenes. November, 2018, I walked in Auvers and saw his paintings of the Hotel de Ville and the church on huge bulleting boards, located outside these actual buildings. I walked the wheat fields and visited the graves of Vincent and Theo. Previous trip in South France allow me experience his time in Arles and the hospital where he stayed. Van Gogh's struggles to search happiness and peace were so sad to read. And very emotional to trace some of his path. A very amazing biography. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent van Gogh: A Life From Beginning to End (Biographies of Painters Book 2) []  2020-11-25 22:12

    This is an interesting biography of Vincent Van Gogh. This book takes an indeapth look at his life and friends. It also talks about his mental illness when he couldn't obtain anyone to visit im at home to after his death there are two million people a year that visit his museum in the Netherlands.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning from Henri Nouwen and Vincent van Gogh: A Portrait of the Compassionate Life []  2020-1-16 10:22

    This is a unbelievable read. IF you are a fan of Nouwen, Van Gogh, compassion, art, etc... this is definitely worth your time. Berry writes well, weaving her own stories of ministry throughout the book - which could be distracting - but in this case, illuminating.I loved it, and will be passing along to a lot of others I know who will love it as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning from Henri Nouwen and Vincent van Gogh: A Portrait of the Compassionate Life []  2020-1-16 10:22

    Huge fan of both of these folks so enjoyed the read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning from Henri Nouwen and Vincent van Gogh: A Portrait of the Compassionate Life []  2020-1-16 10:22

    This attractive book felt like the art class I didn't know I needed: one that invited me to be more compassionate and show in suffering. The author, Carol Berry was a mate and student of Henri Nouwen in the days when he taught a class on Vincent Van Gogh's e connection and example of the two men is a deeply moving one. I loved learning more about the man behind familiar paintings, and growing in my understanding of what it means to enter into someone else's pain. The illustrations and the layout of the book itself only enhanced the notice of this book. I'm so grateful to have spent time in it's pages..“Henri enabled us to witness how Vincent sought to live his faith by doing what he believed Jesus would have done. This was a Vincent most musuemgoers would never encounter. Henri gave us the experience of agonizing with Vincent in his struggle to search his vocation as the artist we know today. When religious authorities rejected Vincent, we asked ourselves silently if it was better to hold the status quo, adhere to the rules, and play a role, rather than suffer the consequences of being authentically human." (52).A for anks to @ivpress for the review copy of this lovely book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent van Gogh: A Life From Beginning to End (Biographies of Painters Book 2) []  2020-11-25 22:12

    I was familiar with a few of van Gogh's more popular paintings and I knew of his struggle of his struggle with mental illness and the incident of cutting off his ear. Other than that, I knew small of the story of his is concise book did a amazing job of covering that. Although short, it contained plenty of facts. It covers the friction between his father and him, and his lifelong struggle with mental illness which was most likely bipolar disorder or what used to be called ong other things covered were his life of living in poverty, his lifelong journey of developing his own style, the devotion of his brother Theo, his transition from the religious life to that of an artist, the fact that his paintings didn't sell and weren't realized or appreciated until after his death, and that success eluded him due to his life being tragically chop e book provided amazing coverage of a short life and I found it interesting to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent van Gogh: A Life From Beginning to End (Biographies of Painters Book 2) []  2020-11-25 22:12

    Chapter one, page three has a huge error stating the date 1973. Obviously it was 1873, considering Van Gogh committed suicide in 1890. Such mistakes happen frequently with Hourly History. Other than that, amazing info about one of the greatest artists of all time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning from Henri Nouwen and Vincent van Gogh: A Portrait of the Compassionate Life []  2020-1-16 10:22

    I recall hearing bits and pieces about Vincent Van Gogh over the years-both in high school and then again in my Art History class very briefly in college. I knew of his "Starry Night"and about his ear and that was about obviously I cannot even start to say how much I learned about him through this work!I was captivated.His life was so intriguing and yet bittersweet in a lot of ways. He sounds like someone who lived such a full and well, quite dedicated, e photos included were beautifully vivid and came alive off of the page.I was a bit confused as to who exactly was telling everything and how everyone was connected. It was explained at the beginning and then again at the end; but I didn't fully grasp who was who and how they fit together until the conclusion. It did not detract from my experience, yet I feel it is worth the method in which his life is shown and told, you as the reader can tell that the author very much admired him and held him in high obtain a powerful look into his entire life without feeling bogged down as you go. The pacing was perfect and descriptions were used in a beneficial method to move the timeline along without stagnating anywhere.Oh and there is some items about a college class on Van Gogh and Compassion, but I don't wanna give everything away in my review! :)Brilliantly written.Wonderfully compelling.Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent van Gogh: A Life From Beginning to End (Biographies of Painters Book 2) []  2020-11-25 22:12

    I am not a huge fan of van Goghs style but I did have fun reading this brief bio of his life which was tragic and sad for most of it. He seemed like a man who really struggled to search himself and never really did. He was mentally unstable and frequently went home to live with his parents although he and his father had a difficult relationship. If it weren’t for his brother, Theo, he probably would have died much sooner and possibly never been discovered as a amazing artist. I was inspired to look up some of the paintings that were noted in this history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent van Gogh: A Life From Beginning to End (Biographies of Painters Book 2) []  2020-11-25 22:12

    This is a Hourly History ebook, it was a amazing short overview about Vincent Van Gogh, he began drawing at a very young age and continued painting until his death at age his earlier years he took a break from his paintings and studied the Bible and translated it into six various languages. Later picking up his painting again, he travelled to numerous cities always meeting up with other artists, trying to search a better technique of drawing and painting. He was depressed and sad most of his life. At one point in his life he got mad and chop off his own ear, he was bleeding poor and a doctor found him and saved him. The book tells about two marriages. It's sad that he didn't become popular until after his death. To honor of Vincent Van Gogh, his wife and his brother held numerous art exhibits showing hundreds of Vincent Van Gogh's paintings that he had painted throughout his life time. I enjoyed the book, I recommend it to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent van Gogh: A Life From Beginning to End (Biographies of Painters Book 2) []  2020-11-25 22:12

    I truly enjoyed this book; it gave me a brief intimate relationship with the artist. I will better appreciate his art given what I now know of his life's struggles. The genius of his talent was in his mental and spiritual state of being.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning from Henri Nouwen and Vincent van Gogh: A Portrait of the Compassionate Life []  2020-1-16 10:22

    Imagine the joy you feel if given the opportunity to step back in time to take a class from Henri Nouwen or spend a day watching Vincent van Gogh paint in the begin air. If the thought of either thrills your heart, this magnificent story will draw you into a deeper appreciation of the beauty surrounding us all. The synergy of the author’s own stories and experience adds even more texture and insight to Vincent and to Henri. Having been entrusted with valuable treasure, the author makes the most of it by weaving a tapestry filled with heart and cent’s aim as an artist was clear: “What I am trying to obtain at is not that I can draw a hand but the gesture, not a head with mathematical precision, but the over all a word, life” (73). The author, Carol A. Berry, achieved the same in this attractive book where you will explore the vibrant colors of compassion coming alive in you. I highly recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning from Henri Nouwen and Vincent van Gogh: A Portrait of the Compassionate Life []  2020-1-16 10:22

    Carol Berry takes readers on a definite journey. Through letters and obviously detailed research she brings the two men, Nouwen and van Gogh to life in a method I never expected. Ms Berry writes conversationally and I never felt lectured to. She draws spiritual and theological comparisons so vividly and clearly that I relished the time spent with these two men, artists in their own rights. I knew so small about either man at the beginning, but I cant stop telling people what I now know! I would recommend this book as a unbelievable book discussion selection, based solely on how badly I wanted to connect to other readers.Well Done, Carol Berry!I received my copy through NetGalley under no obligation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent van Gogh: A Life From Beginning to End (Biographies of Painters Book 2) []  2020-11-25 22:12

    This short volume tells us the story of the life and achievements of one of the most popular painters of all times, Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890), an archetype of an artist. There is much history that educated and even uneducated people should know. This book is part of the Hourly History series which gives readers an opportunity to learn what they should know, and read life stories that can be completed in an hour or less.We read in this book about his life as a youngster, what he wanted to accomplish, his marriage to a prostitute, his ill-fated collaboration with artist Paul Gauguin, the popular incident when he chop off his ear in 1889, his stay in an asylum when he painted “The Starry Night” one of the most recognizable paintings in the world, his suicide in 1890, and especially about his paintings. In his short life, he painted 850 oil paintings and 1300 drawings, watercolors, and studies. His paintings were worth nothing during his lifetime, but each is worth millions after his death.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent van Gogh: A Life From Beginning to End (Biographies of Painters Book 2) []  2020-11-25 22:12

    Vincent van Gogh today is one of the best known artists in the world, but when he lived, he sold only one painting. Today, has art is worth millions! This is the story of his life and art, and I highly recommend it as amazing art in itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning from Henri Nouwen and Vincent van Gogh: A Portrait of the Compassionate Life []  2020-1-16 10:22

    What we've been exposed to by Hollywood and the like about Vincent van Gogh has at best been a misunderstood life with much of his foundation as a person and artist omitted. An examination fostered by Henri Nouwen through his research, 900 letters and the chronological study of Vincent's art displays a much various portrait of the artist. Author Carol Berry takes us on a journey of that foundation, his writing and art to understand his choices, life, art and purpose.What we learn of Vincent van Gogh, his deep compassion for people and sincere offerings of hope through his paintings is well worth the investment in this book. He truly emodied the title of wounded healer.I received a complimentary copy of the book without obligation. This review is my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent van Gogh: A Life From Beginning to End (Biographies of Painters Book 2) []  2020-11-25 22:12

    I loved this book because it was not pretentious, nor was it tedious. It allowed me to gain an introductory awareness of Van Gogh without investing more than a few hours of ’s a full storyline, not a chopped up fact sheet.I am grateful for this interesting book. If it had pictures referenced with it, it would be perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent Icon Pack [App]  2019-10-8 14:3

    *****Don't not buy this icon pack***** I paid to have icons converted, and vendor did not respond. Wrote vendor several emails, they still did not respond. Was able to obtain a refund through Google. You have been warned!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent Icon Pack [App]  2019-10-8 14:3

    Attractive icons. A chop above. Well worth the purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent Icon Pack [App]  2019-10-8 14:3

    Really amazing textures for the icons. I look forward to seeing a lot of more. A few if it would be possible ( Discord, Comixology, Plex, PUBG Mobile)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent Icon Pack [App]  2019-10-8 14:3

    Paid a long time ago yet to keep icons...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vincent Icon Pack [App]  2019-10-8 14:3

    Was hesitant to buy this at first but now I want I had gotten it sooner. I absolutely love this app, it's so simple to use and there are a ton of options. The icons are attractive and create my phone really stand out

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386