Read true temper 1850100 garden hoe reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all true temper 1850100 garden hoe reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hartford True Lane Application [auto discount program for Hartford AARP Insurance]  2020-5-24 20:8

    The discount is supposed to a maximum of 25% discount after using the application for 6 months. I have called Hartford and have spoken to Real Lane reps several times and indicated that the program indicates happenings that are completely untrue and certainly is not indicative of my driving skills. They acknowledge the program is not accurate and supposedly is evaluated at the end of the 6 months. After the 6 months my projected discount is 12%. When I called to voice my disappointment I spoke to a manager from Hartford who said he can't do anything about the programs results. I in turn told him the program is completely false and should not be used as a valid indication of ones driving skills. I am a conservative driver who never drives 95 MPH which the program has me recorded at and I brake when important to avoid collision. I have not had a speeding ticket in the latest 20 years. If you use Real Lane DO NOT EXPECT THE DISCOUNT TO BE ANY WHERE NEAR THE 25%. It won't happen!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truly Garden Cultivator Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:55

    This is a formidable tool. I got this to support break up massive soil for planting comfrey and sunchokes. This is exactly what I needed. Very powerful looking metal construction with very sound welds. Wooden handle created from a very hard wood. I expect it to latest me a decade or more of rough use. I plan to spray paint it yellow, like I do all my garden tools. This makes them latest longer in the elements, but more importantly, it makes it easier to find. If I lost this, I would definitely this one again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ORIENTOOLS Winged Weeder with Telescoping Handle, Garden Warren Hoe with Large Blade []  2020-5-21 19:12

    I like the blade, it's more "aggressive" serrated blade than the older flat bladed models.

    0  


    Add your opinion on true temper 1850100 garden hoe or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    ORIENTOOLS Winged Weeder with Telescoping Handle, Garden Warren Hoe with Large Blade []  2020-5-21 19:12

    This tool appears sturdy. However, I can't determine how well it works because it can not be assembled properly. The handle is created of 3 parts that thread together. The middle part has a thread section that is shorter than the threads on the top part. However, the female section of the bottom part is the same length as the female section that the top part threads in to. That means the threads for connecting the middle section to the bottom section don't friend properly. The top section can be threaded in to the bottom section, but that results in a very short handle. This is a design problem, and unless the tool is re-machined there is no method to assemble it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ORIENTOOLS Winged Weeder with Telescoping Handle, Garden Warren Hoe with Large Blade []  2020-5-21 19:12

    It is lightweight and has a very sharp point that clears the weeds from cracks. I have a poor back it and it has been amazing getting the weeds out of the rocks that surround my house. I definitely recommend Warren Hoe Winged Weeder.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truper 30021 Tru Built 54-Inch Welded Garden Hoe, 6-Inch Head, Fiberglass Handle []  2020-5-21 19:12

    I like this hoe a lot! It’s amazing construction helped me chop out a garden from an over grown yard beautiful easy. The grass was thick & soil rocky/clay. It was no issue for this hoe. I just want the head was a couple pounds heavier & handle about 2 feet longer. Other than that it’s a unbelievable tool to use. I go over it with a file/stone during breaks to create sure it’s still “sharp” & cuts effortlessly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truper 30021 Tru Built 54-Inch Welded Garden Hoe, 6-Inch Head, Fiberglass Handle []  2020-5-21 19:12

    I used the hoe for two days and then the blade snapped. It appears the steel is cast, not forged as advertised. I enjoyed it for the short time I used it and am disappointed it is so poorly made. Forged iron tools would not snap in this manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truper 30021 Tru Built 54-Inch Welded Garden Hoe, 6-Inch Head, Fiberglass Handle []  2020-5-21 19:12

    I used to have one of these created seventy years ago and it broke. This is its replacement. I was worried it might not be created as well as the old globe version. No fear, it is. It is a excellent angle to do some serious sod busting, ditch digging, or soil scraping. Better than the silly hoes sold in huge box store. If you have never used a hoe like this and you this one, you will be writing a related review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ORIENTOOLS Winged Weeder with Telescoping Handle, Garden Warren Hoe with Large Blade []  2020-5-21 19:12

    When I first received this product I tried to use it and didn't like it. I place in for a return. Before I packed it I decided to give it one more test and a huge grass patch that is native an the root system is huge and deep well holy moly this thing just chop the whole root system and I was able to clean up that zone with very small effort. So I canceled the return. A few day later I took to my sons house and he really liked it so I a second one for him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ORIENTOOLS Winged Weeder with Telescoping Handle, Garden Warren Hoe with Large Blade []  2020-5-21 19:12

    I love this weeder and use it every day. My garden is 20 by 30 ft, half vegetables and half flowers and this tool is important for keeping the weeds under control.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truper 30021 Tru Built 54-Inch Welded Garden Hoe, 6-Inch Head, Fiberglass Handle []  2020-5-21 19:12

    It will function, but it's not a step up standard tools. It's a poorly created eye hoe compared to "grandpas". The metal is a extremely rough and the blade does not thicken towards the eye like the older ones I own. However it will function with a small work to the edge. Spring for the 60 inch handle if your over 5ft 9

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truper 30021 Tru Built 54-Inch Welded Garden Hoe, 6-Inch Head, Fiberglass Handle []  2020-5-21 19:12

    Purchased the 2 1/2 lb head with 54" handlePros:Easily leveled an 8' by 6' zone with this poor boy. Long enough for me at 6' tall. Delivered as one ns:THE INFERNAL STICKER. Had to sand off an obtrusive sticker that sits where my hands go. Would have been poor to work with that still on there. Also came additional dull. Had to sand the entire handle until smooth, and use an angle grinder to sharpen the blade. Not as massive as I'd like so it takes a small more effort in hard ground.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ORIENTOOLS Winged Weeder with Telescoping Handle, Garden Warren Hoe with Large Blade []  2020-5-21 19:12

    Doesnt work. Missed return window otherwise it was going back for sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truper 30021 Tru Built 54-Inch Welded Garden Hoe, 6-Inch Head, Fiberglass Handle []  2020-5-21 19:12

    I used this hoe to did a trench full of rocks. I read the negative reviews of the blade breaking and soft. These are all older (2014 - 2015) reviews. The manufacturer must have taken message and improved the blade since then. I was impressed with how well this blade held-up versus the conditions. I live in a region where it is very rocky. I ran into huge rocks (> 8" in diameter) often while digging a trench. I even used the hoe to pry the rocks from the ground. The blade is solid and did not bend, crack or break.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truper 30021 Tru Built 54-Inch Welded Garden Hoe, 6-Inch Head, Fiberglass Handle []  2020-5-21 19:12

    I've used this hoe for a few weeks now, and I've place it through the paces. This thing is hands down better than anything my local home depot carries. It's strong, long and awesome. I'm using it to build a trail up a mountain side so it's taking its fair share of a beating and still going strong. I have previously bought a wooden handle hoe and it broke the first day so the fact that this is going powerful after weeks of use is an A+ in my book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truper 30021 Tru Built 54-Inch Welded Garden Hoe, 6-Inch Head, Fiberglass Handle []  2020-5-21 19:12

    I $32 for the grub for at the time, 4 years ago. I liked it after and only after I chop off about 1/2” on each side of the blade. Awhile back the blade snapped in half, my fault... I used it to pry a root. Would again but not for the of $50 today. Not worth y problem I have with this is the head needs a hole for screwing a bolt on so the blade doesn’t slide down after awhile of tamping dirt a bit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ORIENTOOLS Winged Weeder with Telescoping Handle, Garden Warren Hoe with Large Blade []  2020-5-21 19:12

    I was looking for a gardening hoe that worked like to ones I remember in UK. This one delivers. It can push forward under the surface to chop the weed roots, and it can also pull backwards to catch the roots you missed. Very effective, and much, much better than any other weeding garden tools I've found in the US. It's light and simple to maneuver.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ORIENTOOLS Winged Weeder with Telescoping Handle, Garden Warren Hoe with Large Blade []  2020-5-21 19:12

    Works amazing for weeding and moving dirt on my flower bed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truper 30021 Tru Built 54-Inch Welded Garden Hoe, 6-Inch Head, Fiberglass Handle []  2020-5-21 19:12

    If used properly this is a amazing tool. From other reviews, I got the impression that people thought is to be used like a mattock. It is not. It is more of a finesse tool for clearing weeds, sod, and making the occasional ditch in workable ground. I just used it to clear matted weeds from a neglected garden and it worked great. It is not a tool to force like a mattock, instead I use a light grip with a fast swing angled to obtain under the sod or weeds and peal it up. No need to sharpen as some have suggested. The quality off the blade and handle are as amazing as any in this range.I have a lot of niche tools and know how to use them. A grub hoe has a niche and works amazing for what it is created for. If you are breaking hard packed, rocky, or ground with a lot of roots use a mattock. If you need to clear latest years matted weeds in a little to medium size garden, this is your best choice. I already have a gardener mate that will probably by one soon

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truper 30021 Tru Built 54-Inch Welded Garden Hoe, 6-Inch Head, Fiberglass Handle []  2020-5-21 19:12

    Wood to metal fit at bottom of handle is very quality is poor, Edge was ground poorly and is rough and dull. The shank was welded to the handle bell and is not a single forged piece like the ones I’ve bought in the past. It’s becoming very hard to search a amazing hoe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ORIENTOOLS Winged Weeder with Telescoping Handle, Garden Warren Hoe with Large Blade []  2020-5-21 19:12

    Love it. I really like how it comes apart. I have to drive to my garden and I can easily split it into two and place in my trunk. Very precise around plants

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ORIENTOOLS Winged Weeder with Telescoping Handle, Garden Warren Hoe with Large Blade []  2020-5-21 19:12

    This winged weeder grabs grassy weeds like crabgrass by the base and pulls them out easily,and it is also flexible that allows you to work around and between flowers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper ABTT3612 Scratch-Free Snow Brush, 36-Inch []  2020-1-28 2:24

    No more bristles! I liked this product sooooo much that this is the second one that I purchased. Quality construction but still lightweight. So much better and easier on your vehicle's paint! NOTE: Check for proper sizing (length) for your car as I bought the smaller one for a vehicle and mid-size one for a little SUV. No complaints.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper ABTT3612 Scratch-Free Snow Brush, 36-Inch []  2020-1-28 2:24

    In my opinion it's not as amazing as regular snow brush, narrow and awkward to use. It's a small easier to use around outside mirrors but even around windshield vipers regular brush worked better. It can't come close to regular brush for brushing snow of the roof, even for a little car. I might use it just for ice, not sure if it's better or not yet. Disappointing...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper ABTT3612 Scratch-Free Snow Brush, 36-Inch []  2020-1-28 2:24

    So, I saw this sponsored elsewhere and I decided to test this product out. Theirs nothing worse than scratching the paint/clearcoat on your vehicle. Well, we have been getting blasted with snow and ice galore this winter, and I can safely say I am very impressed with how well this brush does. Thick or thin, fluffy or massive snow, I can easily brush my truck off quickly, and efficiently. Zero Scratches have occurred from what I can see. I'm usually rushing to obtain it cleaned off, too. Works Perfect! The only thing I would change on the product is the surface zone it cover. Another 2" would create this the ultimate winter brush IMO.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper ABTT3612 Scratch-Free Snow Brush, 36-Inch []  2020-1-28 2:24

    I bought this so that I would not hurt my fresh truck when sweeping the snow e Neo-foam sweeper end does a nice job of e problem I have with this is the handle is strait and if you do not attention the end with the scraper will come in contact with your car and hurt it. So one end protects it the other wrecks it. Not a amazing lution: The straight bar should have an offset bent do that sweeper end protrudes down a couple inches so that scrapper will not come in contact.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper ABTT3612 Scratch-Free Snow Brush, 36-Inch []  2020-1-28 2:24

    The scraper is junk. The brush part, meh. But at least it doesn't scratch my car. But I think I like the bristle type design better, especially with dealing with crevices/details like on the windshield. But since I bought a fresh car, figured I'd treat myself to a fancy fresh snow brush. Guess the solution though is to park indoors. But of course my garage is a mess.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper ABTT3612 Scratch-Free Snow Brush, 36-Inch []  2020-1-28 2:24

    I used to have a little hand scrapper that created it hard to reach the middle of the windshield. This one requires a grip using the handle above the foam snow brush, which reduces the reach a bit, but forces amazing contact between the frost/ice scraper blade and windshield and results in very clean and efficient frost removal that still allows me to reach the center of the windshield. Very satisfied with the method it has performed this cold season so far.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper ABTT3612 Scratch-Free Snow Brush, 36-Inch []  2020-1-28 2:24

    Where the heck has this been? I have had to use the bottom of the barrel scrappers for years. I am so upset with my lack of knowledge that this magic piece of snow shredding awesomeness existed. If you give a hot damn about your vehicle (and don’t wish it all scratched up or trashed) then two of these. It’s magic in the wiper zone (which we all know is the bane of existence when the snow gets all up in there and then freezes and then the wipers obtain all junked up and then your day sucks and then you obtain fired cause you had a poor day and talked trash to your nasty co-worker who had it coming anyways...yes, Maria, I’m talking to you!!). Errr, anyway, drop that zero snowcrapper and obtain with this character snow at Maria makes me so mad....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper ABTT3612 Scratch-Free Snow Brush, 36-Inch []  2020-1-28 2:24

    I purchased this snow brush specifically, shortly after purchasing a brand new, shiny white SUV. I purchased this brush because it said it was scratch free. This couldn't be further from the truth. We finally had a snow storm that led me to push snow off of my vehicle using this brush. I was extremely careful and gentle because I approach my fresh SUV in this respect with every action I take. Today when all of the snow melted, I looked and saw large, long black scratches all over the hood of my fresh car. These can only be attributed to the snow brush. I am SO angry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper ABTT3612 Scratch-Free Snow Brush, 36-Inch []  2020-1-28 2:24

    After moving back to a pickup truck from a little vehicle I required something to reach the full windshield. This does the job. The squeegee part is nice and but sturdy enough to remove the ice residue after scraping the windshield. I haven’t used it in the snow yet. I hope I don’t have to though because nobody knows how to drive in the snow here in the Puget Sound area. Lol. Well except for me

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper ABTT3612 Scratch-Free Snow Brush, 36-Inch []  2020-1-28 2:24

    I purchased this product with My own hard earned money. This review includes my own experience with the product.I purchased this snow brush for our fresh Subaru SUV. Before we had vehicles so smaller snow brushes were fine, but our old ones had already worn out, that and with the fresh car I wanted a larger brush. I have used this brush now 2 times. The handles are simple to keep and fairly comfortable. The scraper side was effective at getting through the thin ice buildup / frost. I have not tested it on a thicker layer of ice. Most brushes have well a regular brush style head but this as more like a squeegee. It works great. Pushes the snow with less water and snow left on the windows. It’s got a amazing length for a larger car to obtain across the windshield, but it is also to long to just leave in the vehicle and forget about it all year round.I would definitely this again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2945000 Deluxe Weed Grass Cutter with Serrated Steel Blade with 30 in. Hardwood Handle []  2020-2-9 19:56

    Oh yeah, the Real Temper Deluxe Week Whacker. I love this thing. There are times when bringing along a gas powered trimmer is too much effort.I search the weed whacker has no issue on ferns and generic weeds. Huckleberry and salad can be a present stopper, depending upon how thick it's finitely something to have in the tool , for the warnings: Wear safety glasses and hold aware of your environment. You don't wish to whack a pet, child, mate or spouse. That won't be good. Oh, and one more thing, don't whack yourself with this thing. It's going to hurt. So wear closed toed boots, m-kay?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2812200 4-Tine Spading Digging Fork with Hardwood D-Grip Handle, 30 Inch, Brown []  2020-1-29 22:1

    As reported by others, this snapped after minimal force being applied to it. As the picture shows, this was not a heavily used item. I do not believe fit for purpose and how can this be an Amazon recommended? Amazon, please read your reviews.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2812200 4-Tine Spading Digging Fork with Hardwood D-Grip Handle, 30 Inch, Brown []  2020-1-29 22:1

    not as amazing as i hoped. the tines are too flat, and far too little to be a truly useful tool. I know my hand tools, i grew up using these things all the time, and this is not a nice tool. I would add that i would be afraid to "lean into" this tool, it is not super solid feeling. A complete waste of for me as i actually use these tools i dont just stack them in a shed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 1649800 VersaGrip Poly Snow Pusher with Straight D-Grip Steel Handle 20 Inch []  2020-1-23 5:11

    One snow storm so far this year, thankfully! Shovel worked very well on 8 to 12 inches of fairly wet and massive snow. Handle is configured so I could push snow on my concrete drive into a nice pile then shift hands and shovel it away. Scoop is quite huge so wet snow can create the shovel heavy- be wise. Nice edge, got right down to base of snow and scraped concrete clean with small effort. Maybe it won't snow here again until next year, I expect shovel will work just a s well then.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 1649800 VersaGrip Poly Snow Pusher with Straight D-Grip Steel Handle 20 Inch []  2020-1-23 5:11

    I have the previous ver and went looking for these. If they keep up like the previous shovel they will be great. They look to be an exact match except for color.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2945000 Deluxe Weed Grass Cutter with Serrated Steel Blade with 30 in. Hardwood Handle []  2020-2-9 19:56

    I have a thick hedge of very hardy bamboo in the rear of my back yard versus the back fence. The bamboo sends out lots of shoots that come up in the lawn about 10 feet from the main plant. Annoying when cutting the rear grass and the lawnmower leaves a stub sticking a couple of inches above the grass. It's tedious to take a pruning shears and go chop every errant bamboo shoot so this create it simple to go whack them down at ground level for easier is sharp as some poor technique and inattentive use left me bleeding from a huge chop one night. User error on my part, nothing wrong with this fine tool.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 1649800 VersaGrip Poly Snow Pusher with Straight D-Grip Steel Handle 20 Inch []  2020-1-23 5:11

    I bought this to replace a related shovel that was wearing out. It seems like a amazing quality shovel, but I have two problems with it. First, the metal along the edge of the blade actually makes it much more difficult to slide the shovel across my driveway/sidewalks. I'm not sure I've ever used a shovel with the metal before, so perhaps this is normal, and I wouldn't deduct a star for this, although I'll probably all plastic shovels in the future, since they latest for years anyway. The reason I don't like this shovel is it's about six inches shorter that the previous Real Temper shovel that was wearing out. That forced me to have to hunch down more when lifting loads of snow, causing my lower back to become much more sore than with the longer shovel that I was used to using. Thus, I'd say it's a decent quality shovel...for shorter people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 1649800 VersaGrip Poly Snow Pusher with Straight D-Grip Steel Handle 20 Inch []  2020-1-23 5:11

    A really well created shovel! The company got back to me immediately when there was an problem with the delivery that went mistakenly went to the wrong address! I highly recommend this amazing shovel and company🙋🏻

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 1649800 VersaGrip Poly Snow Pusher with Straight D-Grip Steel Handle 20 Inch []  2020-1-23 5:11

    No snow here, {Bakersfield,CA), but lots of soggy went leaves. Got this to scoop/scrape them off huge locations of concrete & it's just whai I required ! It's lihgt, the handle shape is easy, & it's metal-covered leading edge holds up well. Very satisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2812200 4-Tine Spading Digging Fork with Hardwood D-Grip Handle, 30 Inch, Brown []  2020-1-29 22:1

    So glad I bought this.I'm paving my driveway with coarse mulch. Shovels won't go in, raking takes forever and ever and ever. Borrowed one of these off a neighbor, worked like magic and I had to have one of my own.Went with Real Temper because that's been a reliable brand for a lot of is is a very massive duty fork. Handle is the excellent length for me, I'm like 5'11". Shorter people might prefer a bit less handle length.If you're moving mulch, you need this. Cannot recommend enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2812200 4-Tine Spading Digging Fork with Hardwood D-Grip Handle, 30 Inch, Brown []  2020-1-29 22:1

    Nothing to complain about so far. Does what it's supposed to do. Four stars = "I like it" - I'm not sure what it would take to create me "love" a pitchfork, but five stars = "I love it" - so I guess I'll give it four. There was one small spot of the plastic handle where it was molded that had a slight imperfection - maybe that's why it's four stars (doesn't really affect the use of the fork for what I'd bought it for, which is turning compost, which it does very well).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2812200 4-Tine Spading Digging Fork with Hardwood D-Grip Handle, 30 Inch, Brown []  2020-1-29 22:1

    Have never brought a pitchfork that broke. I am a baby boomer, meaning older, and the first time I used this it broke in half. I mention the age because I am not exactly strong. If it broke in half if I used it, I can only imagine if someone stronger used it and the bottom went flying and damage is could definitely cause major damage, the manufacturer should definitely up their liability coverage, and I strongly suggest no one this item.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2812200 4-Tine Spading Digging Fork with Hardwood D-Grip Handle, 30 Inch, Brown []  2020-1-29 22:1

    With limited use, it is as expected. My only concern is the yellow plastic handle at the top. It has too much give for my liking and feels like it could snap whenever I applied a moderate amount of pressure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 1649800 VersaGrip Poly Snow Pusher with Straight D-Grip Steel Handle 20 Inch []  2020-1-23 5:11

    I've been looking for this shovel ever since I bought my first one from Home Depot 8 years ago. It was the best shovel but the metal edge wore down and wasn't amazing for scrapping the packed snow anymore. I finally found this one online and immediately ordered it. When it was delivered, I could instantly tell it was not the same quality as the original. They went with a cheaper build. The shaft is loose and flimsy. It rattles if you give it a small shake. Feels cheep when you keep it. I'm so disappointed. I love the ergonomic handle and shape of the scoop on the shovel but the loose fitting shaft is complete garbage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 1649800 VersaGrip Poly Snow Pusher with Straight D-Grip Steel Handle 20 Inch []  2020-1-23 5:11

    It’s amazing but bends simple when picking up larger loads so be careful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2945000 Deluxe Weed Grass Cutter with Serrated Steel Blade with 30 in. Hardwood Handle []  2020-2-9 19:56

    I am living in a rented townhouse with a horrible yard. The ground is uneven. There are roots, rocks, bricks and an adjacent wooded zone that constantly attempts to take the yard over. We haven't dared use a lawn mower and a weed eater takes forever. So I thought maybe the old-school methods might work. I searched for scythes, hearing Billy Bob Thornton in my head the whole time, and found the Real Temp Deluxe Weedcutter here. I decided to give it a try. We did the whole yard, which was overgrown to near jungle proportions, yesterday and it surpassed my expectations. Took out whole swaths with one swing! Much faster and more efficient than the weed eater. The only con, which could be considered a pro, is you'll be quite sore afterwards if you're out of shape like us. It's certainly amazing exercise! Also, if you really wish to feel like a jungle explorer, use it in the South in July and pretend you're Indiana Jones. I was thankful that, unlike Indy, I had a shower handy afterward.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2945000 Deluxe Weed Grass Cutter with Serrated Steel Blade with 30 in. Hardwood Handle []  2020-2-9 19:56

    I bought this to handle weeds that repeatedly grow on the side of our house. They are too tough for a weed whacker, but too a lot of to pull by hand. This actually created very fast work of it, but it does obtain the heart going. Other reviews are correct that the handle is shorter, but I acually prefer it. I have some rocks on the ground and a long handle would definitely have had me hitting more of them. As it is, I struck a few and dug up the blade a bit, but I search the shorter handle better than if it was 's a amazing quality product. Handle is hardwood and it's shown no sign of breaking, as others have reported.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2945000 Deluxe Weed Grass Cutter with Serrated Steel Blade with 30 in. Hardwood Handle []  2020-2-9 19:56

    Besides the obvious, like it's sharp and sturdy, this cutter has one very outstanding feature: It is assembles with nuts and bolts and can therefore be disassembled and repaired instead of thrown away. Not that this one broke so soon, but that I've had several welded troops that broke welds, bent or broke handles and were only complaint with this one is the straight handle. After an hour or so of bush whacking, my "golf" grip was ka-put. So back at the shop, I found an old shovel handle with a D-grip. Nuts, bolts and drilling later, the handle replaced with a horizontal grip, it was much easier to wield and not nearly so tiring to the wrist and hand..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2812200 4-Tine Spading Digging Fork with Hardwood D-Grip Handle, 30 Inch, Brown []  2020-1-29 22:1

    Horrible product! After only a few lightweight uses it snapped in half. VERY dangerous. Users be ware! I'm 48, female turning over a little amount of soil, not like I was over exerting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2812200 4-Tine Spading Digging Fork with Hardwood D-Grip Handle, 30 Inch, Brown []  2020-1-29 22:1

    This is narrower than my latest one (it was very old, I leave it out in the weather beside the compost in year round in Florida humidity, the tines were rusty then the handle rotted off) but it works fine for the method I use my upright compost bins (like huge garbage cans with no bottoms). However, all I do is create a hole, dump my kitchen scraps in, and cover it up to hold bugs and rodents away, I never really turn it like you're supposed to and I don't think this would be my tool of choice if I did. I am using it, but I do want I'd waited and found one that was wider like my ancient one that finally died.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2945000 Deluxe Weed Grass Cutter with Serrated Steel Blade with 30 in. Hardwood Handle []  2020-2-9 19:56

    I used this for years as a young man to trim weeds around the farm. I purchased this as much for nostalgia as for functionality. I had to present my children (16+ year olds), if the battery is dead the weeds around the edge of the property can still be trimmed. With minimal effort mind you. I can't count the blisters this wore on my hands around the farm, that is till I learned how to properly use it 35+ years ago now. It is certainly an acquired skill. Gloves certainly support with manual type is one is amazing and works exactly as desired. No questions about that. We repaired ours on the farm for countless years and I have no doubt this one will live a long life, cutting a lot of weeds. If it is ever un repairable I will certainly another.Another benefit to this is to teach my boys, about life on the farm those 35+ years ago. Purchased thru amazon as all the local brick and mortar stores don't hold them in stock. Its a combo of older tech (this cutter) versus newer tech (amazon) coming together for what you need.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2945000 Deluxe Weed Grass Cutter with Serrated Steel Blade with 30 in. Hardwood Handle []  2020-2-9 19:56

    Holy crap this a creature of a weed whacker! As a 50 year old woman, it's a bit of work out but product is very effective! It's extremely sharp, so be careful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 1649800 VersaGrip Poly Snow Pusher with Straight D-Grip Steel Handle 20 Inch []  2020-1-23 5:11

    My grown son was over shoveling a bit of snow on my deck with my shovel I've had since latest year (I now have 2) My son says "WOW mom! What a neat shovel!!" So for Christmas mama got him one and he loves it! :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 1649800 VersaGrip Poly Snow Pusher with Straight D-Grip Steel Handle 20 Inch []  2020-1-23 5:11

    My trusty snow shovel broke towards the end of February 2015. I could hardly blame it after the record-setting amount of snow we received here in the Boston area. Though spring was around the corner, I knew I required another shovel just in case more snow ckily, I did create this purchase, because sure enough, we did obtain more snow. Nothing over a few inches, but so far, I am very pleased. And as a life-long Fresh Englander, I think I have beautiful high standards for snow shovels!First, the blade is nicely curved, so the snow gets scooped into the blade as you [email protected]#$%! along the ground. What I especially like is that you can scoop a amazing amount of snow in one cond, the steel wear strip works great. It makes for smooth movement over my driveway, and I can clear the snow right down to the ird, the shovel is not too heavy. We literally have a 4-to-5-foot snow bank on either side of our driveway because of all the accumulated snow this season. I wouldn't say it's "easy", but I am able to use this shovel to throw snow over the tops of the snow banks. (I am a 5' 6" female, not especially fit, but not exactly out of shape either. Manually shoveling snow is probably the most exercise I obtain all year!)This product boasts a "unique VersaGrip" handle which is kind of hard to see in the product photo, but basically, there's a bend in the middle of the handle. So far, I haven't noticed it being especially comfortable on my hands or anything, but it doesn't bother me, either, so I think it's I mentioned, I didn't obtain this shovel until the end of the snow season, so I don't know yet how sturdy this shovel will be under the weight of heavy, wet snow, or whether or not the steel wear strip will work effectively in helping to break up that layer of ice that sometimes builds up on the driveway. Still, I'm willing to give this product 5 stars now because it's doing a amazing job so far, and I suspect that it will keep up. I do tend to hold up on my reviews, so if I create any fresh discoveries in the coming winters, I'll be sure to modernize this , I wish to say, I'm huge on online shopping, and I'm always careful to read reviews before making a purchase. This shovel surprised me because it looked really great, but at the time I bought it, there were only a handful of reviews. I jumped over to the web website of a major home improvement retail chain, and sure enough, they had tons of reviews on this product - and all were positive. If there still aren't a ton of reviews here when you look at this product, test checking out reviews on other sites.UPDATE 3/4/2015: Latest night, we got a few inches of snow, then rain. That makes for a very wet, very massive slush. This shovel felt sturdy under the weight, and held up fine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 1649800 VersaGrip Poly Snow Pusher with Straight D-Grip Steel Handle 20 Inch []  2020-1-23 5:11

    This is a really nice shovel. Lightweight, affordable, nice handle, pushes and lifts easily. After doing some research on the various kinds of shovels (consumer reports) they recommended an all around one like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2812200 4-Tine Spading Digging Fork with Hardwood D-Grip Handle, 30 Inch, Brown []  2020-1-29 22:1

    The old saying that a tool is an expensive tool is perfectly illustrated by this piece of junk. If you wish to use it for tossing dried grass or other weightless stuff, it might work. Just don't test using it in the ground, even loose and ground, because it snaps like a twig. I've been gardening for 20 plus years, this is the worst tool I've ever seen. I'm 5'6;" and weigh 130, so not like I'm the Terminator. Save your money, this is trash.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2812200 4-Tine Spading Digging Fork with Hardwood D-Grip Handle, 30 Inch, Brown []  2020-1-29 22:1

    Back in business again. Have used these too much over the years and yet when required there is nothing else like them. Manure,garden soil, most anything but rocks or clay you can't beat this fork. Powerful enough for massive duty work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2945000 Deluxe Weed Grass Cutter with Serrated Steel Blade with 30 in. Hardwood Handle []  2020-2-9 19:56

    This is an perfect tool for clearing weeds and light brush growing in shady locations of your property. You will be very satisfied with the speed and ease with which you can clear knee-high annual weeds, little vines, young thorny briars, and first-year saplings with this tool. It is easier than breaking out a gas-powered brushcutter for little tasks. This is not a scythe, however, and thus it is not ideal for mowing or cutting tall, thick grass growing in full to use:You should wear gloves and eye protection when using this sort of tool. Hold spectators back as, obviously, you are swinging a blade around and could inadvertently sling epare your work zone by clearing fallen limbs and cuting up thick diameter woody vines (over a few millimeters) growing in the area. Create sure that there are no hidden rocks, stumps, metal, or related non-cuttable stuff show that could hurt your tool and cause you to strain or injure yourself.Hold the tool like a golf club with the blade parallel to the ground and create smooth (not aggressive) pendulum-like swinging motions, as if you were practicing a golf stroke with a sand wedge. Do not reel up as if you were driving a golf ball; hold it below the hips. Slowly advance forward (small steps) and you will clear a two to three foot swath. Overlap tracks slightly for an even cut. The tool's momentum will do the cutting, and if you are forcing it you are encountering too-thick brush or you should raise your cutting e tool will sling the brush to the left and right of the user, as it cuts on both the forward and reverse you work, pause and hold an eye out for fallen limbs and related objects as you uncover them from the brush. If you hit them, you will strain your shoulders and wrists. It is best to work briefly and then rest and inspect the area; fatigue will cause operator strain or potential injury. Patience and well-planned operation will yield amazing te:Check the bolts and nuts on the tool after and the first use, then periodically thereafter. The nuts on the handle of my tool required to be re-torqued after the first use. The nuts on the blade are lock nuts and they were fine. It is unlikely that the blade could separate from the unit and become a projectile even if one bolt failed (you would notice), but you don't wish to lose parts or risk hurting somebody.I have a long-term shoulder injury and found that I was able to use this tool successfully provided I did not overexert myself and was cautious so as not to hit fallen branches or test to chop tall thick grass growing in full sun. A real scythe is what you should use for tall grass in full ware that may ship this tool in a very huge box (see my photo).If you appreciate the info I have provided in the review, please the helpful button so that Amazon will rank and display my content where everyone can see it. I was NOT provided a tool for this review. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2945000 Deluxe Weed Grass Cutter with Serrated Steel Blade with 30 in. Hardwood Handle []  2020-2-9 19:56

    If you wish to go old school on some grass/weeds this it the instrument. Some reviews complained of its performance...but they likely were not angry at the weeds. Well built, solid thick handle, durable sharp blade. Exactly what I was looking for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Temper 2945000 Deluxe Weed Grass Cutter with Serrated Steel Blade with 30 in. Hardwood Handle []  2020-2-9 19:56

    My recommendation is to look elsewhere for a weed cutter. I required to replace my old one because I bent the blade beautiful badly, which was totally my fault. So, I ordered this item. It worked well, until I got into some thick weeds. After a few whacks, the handle split where the blade attaches. Now it's totally useless. Fortunately, I still had the old cutter, so I replaced the bent blade with the one from this item. The handle on the first blade was tough enough so that it stayed intact during impact that bent the blade. The Real Temper handle, not so tough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hard Row to Hoe []  2020-1-16 18:57

    I really Love this song, as much as " To Old to Die Young" And" Wehyah" It is so deep and well done. It is a amazing story of keeping it together under a lot of trials. Dege does an outstanding performance with his lyrics, voice and guitar,Cajan Bottle Neck Blues!!! All my mates love it!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper Hand Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:54

    Love this tool...weeding, digging, removing lawn areas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hoss Double Wheel Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:55

    This was a bonus for my daughter's 50th birthday. She wanted a huge wheel plough, but when I saw this, it looked like a much better alternative. She loves it, and is using it for her first garden.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper Hand Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:54

    Amazing tool for digging up weeds. I also use this tool for planting and digging little holes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper Hand Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:54

    I use when I'm walking around the desert digging for antique bottles. Very amazing tool!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hoss Double Wheel Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:55

    Easier to handle than single wheel

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hoss Double Wheel Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:55

    Amazing method to work around in the garden

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper Hand Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:54

    forsmall jobs only

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hoss Double Wheel Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:55

    A bit pricey but amazing product. Also disappointed in the handles. I think for the spent the handles could have been of a better quality. In addition, the three tools that came with the unit could have been sharpened. Sorry, just have to be fair and honest so that others will have up front information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hoss Double Wheel Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:55

    This is a tool anyone needs who has a garden of any size. Very well created and very simple to assemble. Absolutely perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper Hand Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:54

    I bought one of these 2 years ago. One of the tines broke off this season so I bought another recently and am still using the old one anyway because it is so effective. Even though it's a lot of work it is a amazing upper body workout. A very important part of garden tool selection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper Hand Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:54

    Love the item but one of the teeth broke so I am returning it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hoss Double Wheel Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:55

    Quality created product. Performs as described on their website. I use it on a garden that's approximately 100 feet x 100 feet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper Hand Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:54

    blade end is not sharp - it is more blunt and takes more muscle to use it effectively.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper Hand Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:54

    Love this tool.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hoss Double Wheel Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:55

    Had been wanting a Hoss Hoe for years. Finally I got the double wheel hoe as a present. I’m a bit older (early 50s), lack some strength and tall so was a small skeptical if this would be right for me without getting the opportunity to test it out first. But its fabulous and it has created my garden chores easier. Which is the point after all, right?I had to clear fast grass, nettles and deep rooted weeds in a lot of zone (maybe 8’ x 70’ and a second 5’ x 35’) that I wanted to grow my own meal in.With the cultivating forks that came with the double wheel hoe it was a lot of hard work to obtain through everything. That zone while a pasture hadn’t been turned since the 60s. But the forks did 97% of the worst parts. In a few locations I just didn’t have the strength and had to loosen the ground with a spade or a garden fork first But I was really impressed overall.I had a bit of difficulty assembling it initially but that was just figuring it out. I’ve been changing out attachments now without any problems. And I took the time to oil it has a small mind of its own if your zone is very uneven but not awful. And it actually helped move dirt around on the next passes to support even it out with some zone has electric fence along two edges but the hoe got in close enough without hazard at all. It did however create it just a tad tricky to maneuver around and turn back around. Mind you that would be the same for a rototiller or a lot of other garden tools. So not a issue just an observation and something you need to plan forWould I it? Absolutely. It is solid. Makes gardening easier and soil prep faster. Attachments are massive duty workhorses crafted to last. And the dozens of attachments Hoss Tools is generous. Is it worth the price? I’d looked at several wheeled hoes in US and in Europe and they’re all in the same ballpark so I wasn’t hesitant on getting because of price. I really thought I wouldn’t be powerful enough to use it and that’s not the case at all. Best thing overall? MADE IN THE U.S.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hoss Double Wheel Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:55

    simple to use tool but TOO EXPENSIVE if you are on a budget......price gouging maybe???

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hoss Double Wheel Hoe []  2020-2-9 19:55

    Amazing product

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper SH61000 Diamond Hoe []  2020-5-21 19:13

    My neighbor saw me pulling weeds and insisted that I use his weeder. He wouldn't take no for an respond and came back with this weird contraption. I thanked him, just to be nice, and started using it. Oh My Goodness! This thing was amazing! I got rid of the weeds in no time and had a clear patch for landscaping.I searched all over for one of these, but the local HD and hardware stores simply don't carry it. Why? I searched on Amazon, but didn't search it until one day while browsing for some other p, this is it. I've used it to clear more weeds and it cuts them so fast. I can even level the ground with this. I don't have any issues with the design or the construction of the hoe, but I've only used it a few times. Hope it doesn't fall apart on me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper SH61000 Diamond Hoe []  2020-5-21 19:13

    I have updated this review after more experience with this works OK on ground that is somewhat damp. To use it, slip the blade into the top half-inch of soil and slide it forward and backward. The forward stroke does most of the cutting while the back stroke acts more to rake the items already cut. This action kills two birds with one stone by loosening the top half-inch of soil, prepping it for ever, prepare to sweat if you have a huge zone to weed. Forget it if you have an zone of rock-hard, dry soil.I agree with other reviewers that the angle is a bit much. I'm 5'5" and have to keep the handle near the end and stoop a small to hold the blade parallel with the nce purchasing this hoe, I found two Barebones hoes at a local garden center that do a much, much better job, the square and the triangle long-handles hoes. My only issues with those hoes are the and the handles being only 48" long.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper SH61000 Diamond Hoe []  2020-5-21 19:13

    The only reason it got 4 stars is it should come with a cover of some sort for putting over the head during transport, I have to go from my house to an exteranl website garden and a cover would support a lot, I end up taping a plastic bag or cardboard over it as it's in the vehicle with my grandkids, it's too long for the trunk, But it's a Amazing weeding tool Iwish I'd gotten two of these instead of the hula hoe that really just didn't work, I work my garden with someone else usually and we need two efficient weeders, obtain two!!, go this route if you need two, or just one. it does the job. and very simple to sharpen, I did not have to sand the handle it was fine, I did lightly sharpen the blade and clean and lightly oil it if important in between 's a very nice, very sharp tool.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper SH61000 Diamond Hoe []  2020-5-21 19:13

    This is like a handheld diamond shaped weeder I had decades ago (before I had aching shoulder and back and knees). It is very lightweight and simple to wield (I am 60+) from a standing position. It has two helpful uses: horizontally, it can "mow" weeds from their roots either pulling or pushing the blade; and vertically, it can cultivate/till (sort of) the top two inches of soil at the beginning of the season, in prepration for fertilizing and seeding. Very glad I got this. Well worth the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper SH61000 Diamond Hoe []  2020-5-21 19:13

    This hoe is manufactured to Corona usual good/great standard of quality. However the design is marginal. Stating all sides of hoe are sharpened, leads one to believe it could be used like a hulu hoe. However, the angle to the handle is such that it only really cuts/hoes a single direction...no back and forth. Had the angle been 11 degrees various this would be a 5+ star weed-lethal hoe. As is--this hoe is of small more use than a triangle hoe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper SH61000 Diamond Hoe []  2020-5-21 19:13

    This is an amazing garden tool. A must have for a shop garden. Only reason why i gave it 4 stars is because it came with NO SHEATH!! A tool this sharp should not be sold without a amazing sheath. I'm looking at making one out of 2 sections of PVC pipes with bungee cords holding em to the blade. The item was shipped poorly and both hints were slightly bent, nothing a file cant fix. The handle is massive duty and has a amazing finish, feels like a solid tool in your hands. Weeds like a champ and cuts quick even through larger weeds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper SH61000 Diamond Hoe []  2020-5-21 19:13

    I was skeptical but took the plunge anyway. I required something that could efficiently clear thin stalk brush in typical Southern California soil. Anything that wasn't more than maybe 1/8" thick just bent over instead of getting cut, which then led me to apply the blade closer or at ground level which still didn't support much, but then the sparse gravel began to do a number on the blade. I guess this might work alright for garden weeds, but for California brush, I feel suckered for what I paid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper SH61000 Diamond Hoe []  2020-5-21 19:13

    I have several various types of hoe's, Hula, Push, Delta Wing, this hoe is the easiest hoe that I've ever used. Cuts weeds like butter! The only negative is the blade fell off almost immediately. I have a welder and welded it on the handle. The spot welds that they assemble with are weak. In function, this is the best hoe that I've ever used but the Corona company has some not good workmanship.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper SH61000 Diamond Hoe []  2020-5-21 19:13

    I have tried several hoes. This hoe head is the best designed garden tool for weeding.I should give it five stars.But whoever assembled this product should be e handle and the hoe head are loosely connected with a metal sheet screw.I spend one hour to take them apart, re-shape the handle and re-assembled I have a five stars hoe.But I can only give this product three stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Corona Clipper SH61000 Diamond Hoe []  2020-5-21 19:13

    Ordered 6/3/2020 and received 6/7/2020 Near Chicago. I waffled between this and a Nejiri which I have the short handle for when I feel like crushing my knees and back. We have a issue with burdock, and 1/4" thick honey suckle and buck thorn saplings and this slices through them like butter. I now have a little blister between thumb and fore finger from the push pull action of the blade. Very fast reduction of weed locations and this appears to be a well constructed tool mounted on a stout ash handle. One other point about this tool, it requires you to lean into when pushing and lean away when pulling back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elephant in the Garden: Inspired by a True Story []  2020-1-11 19:22

    I bought this book because I love both the town of Dresden and the book Water for Elephants. Not much of Dresden is in the setting, and the plot is not as complex as Water for Elephants. Still, the book is an perfect read-aloud for upper elementary students because of the elephant's appealing hero and the suspense of the family's wartime journey to Heidelberg. I also noticed a connection to the von Stauffenberg plot to assassinate Hitler. The Countess's castle is in about the right put on the journey, but it is a parallel rather than a reference because Von Stauffenberg's wife was arrested after her husband was executed. The compass is an necessary symbol in the book, and there is a lot of opportunity for students to debate ethical choices.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elephant in the Garden: Inspired by a True Story []  2020-1-11 19:22

    I tried to stop reading six various times! Finally it became apparent that I could not stop. So, here I am at 1:24 AM writing this review. My advice? Begin reading it with your coffee at breakfast.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elephant in the Garden: Inspired by a True Story []  2020-1-11 19:22

    The thrust of this book - how a family and an elephant survive after escaping Dresden in WWII - is fascinating and illuminating. The elephant is an necessary hero in the story, and the human characters are appealing. However, I don’t know why the author chose to alternate points-of-view, using both the elderly woman Lizzie, and her nurse, as narrators. Lizzie’s story is compelling enough to stand on its own. The nurse is not relevant, nor actually is her young son, to whom Lizzie tells her story. If Lizzie had simply told the tale, as if the reader were her only listener, I think the book would have been stronger.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elephant in the Garden: Inspired by a True Story []  2020-1-11 19:22

    I hope to write a related book someday. My mother was a kid in Nazi Germany, and I have long wanted to tell the globe that not every German was taken in/brainwashed by Hitler. This book, based on a real story, even has the exact same comment my grandparents created in the early [email protected]#$%!&?ler is an idiot - no one will take him seriously". Families were divided and threatened, but some, like the people in this book, tried to do good. Attractive story showing that battle is always terrible, no matter what "side" you are on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elephant in the Garden: Inspired by a True Story []  2020-1-11 19:22

    Honestly, I thought this was a kind of dull and boring at first. I feel not good for saying that but that's the truth. The story overall is very sweet and lovely. And the latest 1/4 of the book was unbelievable and I was glad I stuck with it. It is based very loosely on a real story -- actually a couple various stories -- and then all the parts that were inspired by real stories were place together for a whole fresh story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elephant in the Garden: Inspired by a True Story []  2020-1-11 19:22

    I run into this author by chance. I was reading Robin of Sherwood to my nine-year-old and both of us were crying and could not stop reading. After finishing the book, we looked at each other and we said we need to read more books by this author. Then we realized that we had already a fable book by Morpurgo that happened to be en we read An Elephant in my Garden. Another unbelievable story. It is sad. If your children do not like a small sadness in the stories, perhaps this is not the best book. But, the book is beautiful. The author always chooses the right words to create you picture what is happening, and how they are feeling. Now we are reading Battle Horse. The saddest of all. In the middle of the book, my son told me , "I do not know if I can hold reading it". But now, he is telling, " I am glad that we kept reading it". So far, all these books, have a lot of hope and teach through its characters to never give up in a very strong way. Regarding the Elephant in the Garden, we bought the edition that Amazon is sellng and at the end of the book it has an interview to the author. My son loved it!! We also read: Toro Toro! It is the shortest of the books mentioned here. Next one that we have in our list is Pinoccio. We cannot wait (either my son and myself because it is so so well written).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elephant in the Garden: Inspired by a True Story []  2020-1-11 19:22

    Recommended for ages 10-14 * we used this as a read aloud (mom) to 8 and 9 year old boysIsn’t it a lot of home educators joy to be able to captivate your students in a book that pairs history and fiction? In this book, An Elephant In The Garden, the story was just that… captivating! The setting is Dresden, Germany during WWII and is inspired by a real story about an elephant rescued from a Belfast Zoo to escape certain death as bombers narrowed e story begins with a sweet elderly woman named Lizzy telling, what a lot of think are just created up tales, of an elephant in her garden. Intrigued, a caregiver and her son Karl stay one day to hear more. The mins turn in to hours as they sit listening intently, realizing quickly that this is certainly not a created up tall tale but a very real, private life story of a family torn away from everything they know by war. A surprising and suspenseful journey across Germany and a frightening encounter with an opponent combat who joins the families journey makes this an unpredictable and engaging book for kids and adults y times throughout this book I was created to pause as the children demanded more info about the war, who was involved, who were the ‘good guys’, why the battle even happened, and on and on. As a parent I was delighted to see their minds thoughtfully attempting to process WWII, from a fresh perspective: The ey wanted to understand Americas involvement and the info of why the bombing raids took place. This story helped us ponder life for the Germans during a time of division and fear. I agree with the recommended age of 10-14 as a silent reader as the book does have some dark elements as the bombing of Dresden and firestorm that followed killed thousands. Also romance is included, although clean, it may not be suitable for young readers.Overall, this book was inspiring as the author was able to incorporate the horror of war, a focus on helping others and working together, a look into lives of refugees and their experiences as they test to survive. It was emotional, and magical with the addition with this ‘Gentle Giant’, Marlene the elephant that really kept this family alive and together.We picked this book up off Amazon for $6.99 and it will be a keeper on the shelf!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elephant in the Garden: Inspired by a True Story []  2020-1-11 19:22

    My fifth graders love it! It is a beautifully written book and they have kept it checked out continually. For a book to keep a 10 year old's attention without benefit of wars or vampires is so refreshing in today's market. My class highly reccomends it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elephant in the Garden: Inspired by a True Story []  2020-1-11 19:22

    The American book shop is, its fair to say, absolutely saturated with WW2 fiction for both kids and adults. There are a lot of amazing stories out there - starting with Anne Frank, of course, and moving on through contemporary classics such as Number the Stars and The Book Thief. This sweet tale deserves a junior status alongside the sed loosely on the dual real stories of zookeepers who saved their charges during the battle and the Feb 1945 devastating fire bombing of Dresden, Germany by Allied forces, The Elephant in the Garden delivers the shattering history of the Allied destruction of Dresden with the sweet touch of an elephant named Marlene. Marlene, orphaned during the battle and looked after by “Mutti,” comes home to the spend the evenings in the family garden to support the young (4yo) elephant cope with the loss of her mother. Her handler, known only as Mutti, has two kids and has been working at the zoo to support create ends meet while her husband is fighting at the Russian rlene, with her elephantine wisdom and kindness, brings much joy to the family as 1945 begins, and through a series of events, unwittingly helps her adopted family escape the firebombing of Dresden over the weekend of Feb 13-15, 1945. Now homeless and without any resources, the family begins an astonishing journey across southern Germany as they first test to escape the Dresden attacks and then decide that they would do anything not to fall into the clutches of The quickly advancing Soviet Army. Their flight westward is filled with unexpected adventures, a bit of suffering, and encounters of the most unexpected kind. All along, Marlene provides comfort, friendship, and transport for the youngest child, Karli, who suffers from asthma and a leg l in all, this is a sweet but not saccharine tale that introduces a horrific happening of the Second Globe Battle for which the “good guys” are entirely responsible, offering middle grade students an opportunity to think about the costs of war, the meaning of sacrifice, and whether and how to label “good guys” and “bad guys” even in the midst of the latest “good war” America fought. Definitely worth a read and discussion. I do want there had been more specificity regarding happenings and timelines - to present where the family traveled and when happenings occurred would have been helpful - and really brought home the fact that the family fled a amazing distance fearing not only the bombing runs but also the actions of the Soviets as they advanced towards Berlin, setting up the historical context for understanding some of the key factors that explain how and why the US and the Soviets went from wartime allies to bitter opponents in less than two years.A well written and engaging tale. Excellent for early middle grade students or those who really wish to learn about the battle but can’t handle the death and destruction that accompanies most sources; The Elephant In the Garden has a feather light touch when it comes to key moments of death and destruction, which I know will be greatly appreciated by my own middle grade reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elephant in the Garden: Inspired by a True Story []  2020-1-11 19:22

    I love real stories about elephants and this one kept my eyes glued to each page. Such a touching story about the love between a family and their elephant.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386