Read two summers reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all two summers reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Summers []  2020-1-14 19:27

    I really enjoyed this book. It a excellent summer read. Light and funny. Perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Summers []  2020-1-14 19:27

    I loved two summers. It had so a lot of twists and turns. It kept going back and fourth on the summers and I disentangle which summer i liked better until the end!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Summers []  2020-1-14 19:27

    I loved reading this book at the same time as my 10 year old granddaughter. The main character, Summer, tells the info of her life so completely that I simply lived her summer with her...nice jump I'm setting holds reader's interest.

    0  


    Add your opinion on two summers or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Summers []  2020-1-14 19:27

    This book is very amazing for pre teens who are sort of looking for a summer love story with a twist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Summers []  2020-1-14 19:27

    The book,was exactly what I was looking for and came in amazing condition and fast!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Summers []  2020-1-14 19:27

    A charming story with a clever idea. I enjoyed the story and had a hard time putting the book down. A very engaging young adult story that was well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Summers []  2020-1-14 19:27

    The concept has been done before. Story starts but at some point near the beginning, it diverges on two various paths. One if she does something and another if she doesn't. While some of the imagery in the book is beautiful, and it makes me wish to visit Provence, France, I found the book to be somewhat lacking. It was lazily written (the same people in line at the airport are the same people on the plane are the same people at the airport later on - not really for a point, but I felt more so the author didn't have to describe fresh people), and it was written with all of the melodrama and gimmicky language of the author wanting the book to immediately be written into a movie. The main character, while a teenager, is very much full of whining prose and unrealistically gets all the attention she would ever wish while constantly bemoaning her situation in life. I couldn't really search myself wanting her to succeed. I was also dissapointed by the end where the author had the opportunity to bring both story lines together but basically just drops one without any true reason why she split the story to start with besides the constant references each story line has to "what would have happened if...?" Yes, we obtain it. We're seeing both l in all, I don't feel like my life was enriched or even really entertained by reading this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Summers []  2020-1-14 19:27

    Absolutely loved this book! Two summers, two cute potential boyfriends...I kept turning those pages, allow me tell you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Summers []  2020-1-14 19:27

    I started this book a few years ago and never got to [email protected]#$%!. I can not wait to finish reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Summers []  2020-1-14 19:27

    The Kindle ver was not the book I ordered.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    28 Summers []  2020-6-16 18:0

    I have been reading Hilderbrand’s beachy books for a lot of years and look forward to my summer escapes to Nantucket from my landlocked home in Colorado. I have to say 28 Summers is now one of my all time favorites! When Mallory unexpectedly inherits her aunt’s beach cottage on Nantucket, she jumps at the possibility to leave NYC and relocate to the island. She ends up hosting her brother Coop and some of his mates for a bachelor party weekend. Finally, she has the opportunity to meet Jake, her brother’s best friend, in person instead of just over the phone in flirtatious phone calls--they are both smitten.Jake and Mallory commit to meeting every Labor Day weekend to continue their love affair. Each chapter in the book covers a year. Hilderbrand starts the chapter/year with the major historical and cultural events--this is fun as it was a trip down memory lane for me. Jake has continued his relationship with Ursula, his long time girlfriend, but continues to visit Mallory every year. Mallory also dabbles into other relationships, but cannot commit and move on from Jake. I really enjoyed the progression of the story from the character’s mid-20’s to their early-50’s, it created the story more relatable. Even though I knew the ending was going to be a tear jerker, I still found myself crying my eyes out because I was so connected to the characters. It was a longer read, but that was fine with me because I really didn’t wish it to end. If you are looking for a summer escape to Nantucket and an awesome love story, this is your book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    28 Summers []  2020-6-16 18:0

    Just in time for beach reading, 28 SUMMERS fills that niche when all a reader wants is a plot with recognizable emotions woven through the pages. Author Elin Hilderbrand is the expert in providing emotional power packs and this book supplies plenty of it. Our protagonist, Mallory Blessing, lives her life quickly and just a bit on the nontraditional side, even if some of it resembles a well known film plot. The book moves rapidly and while there are no huge surprises, there are no disappointments either. This is a tale that will please the author’s a lot of devoted fans. I received my copy from the publisher through NetGalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hundred Summers []  2020-6-16 18:0

    You can always count on the multifaceted plots of a Beatriz Williams novel...and this did not disappoint......however I gave it 4 stars due to the constant referral to "cigarettes"....they most became another hero in the plot line....yes, I know that cigarette smoking was extremely famous for men and women of that time period, however I became annoyed withthe constant referral to it.....also, mention was created of the Labor Day storm that destroyed Key Largo and the upper Keys in Florida in 1938..The Labor Day storm in the Keys was in 1935 not 1938....Perhaps some poetic license was taken here for the plot line but should have been referenced as such in the afterword. The 1935 storm wiped out Flaglers railroad and changed history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hundred Summers []  2020-6-16 18:0

    Another unbelievable book by Beatriz Williams-----keeps you on your toes, wanting to read, read, read--- and not place this book down!! Very interesting and different, the plot is. Set in Rhode island and Fresh York City. Beatriz Williams is one of my top 5 favorite authors---I cannot wait to begin reading a book by this talented writer. I loved this book, well-developed characters, an usual plot, and descriptive settings. I am from Fresh England; I grew up on Cape Cod and spent some of my college summers in Rhode island, also, so was drawn in when I saw one setting of this story is Rhode island.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hundred Summers []  2020-6-16 18:0

    This is the excellent beach book—even if you can't create it to the sand and waves this year. It's sassy and fun with colourful characters, lots of romance, and a plot that is so gripping you won't wish to stop reading. It is nearly excellent ChickLit!Taking put in 1931-32 and the summer of 1938, the book tells the story of Smith College senior Lily Dane, who with support from her best mate (more like frenemy) Budgie Byrne, she meets the love of her life, Dartmouth senior Nick Greenwald. Lily and Nick are not only thwarted in so a lot of heartbreaking ways from being together, but also betrayed by themselves and others. The chapters alternate between the two aforementioned time periods, focusing on Lily and Nick's early relationship in 1931-32 and an unexpected reunion in the summer of 1938 at Seaview, Rhode Island where Lily's family has "summered" for generations. The late September hurricane swirling in the Atlantic rivals the hurricane brewing in the hearts of these autifully written by Beatriz Williams, this book is both tender and passionate with a gripping storyline that just won't allow go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hundred Summers []  2020-6-16 18:0

    A mate recommended this book for the two of us to read as a "bookclub" sort of thing. It sounded cute and interesting but I didn't have high expectations. OH MAN WAS IT GOOD! I absolutely loved this book! It had a unbelievable plot with plenty of twists and fun revealings. I would highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Summers We Lost []  2020-2-5 1:44

    This has an interesting twist to the plot. I enjoyed reading the story to see how the characters came together in the end. I will watch for more books from this author .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hundred Summers []  2020-6-16 18:0

    I LOVED Beatriz Williams' book "The Secret Life of Violet Grant", so I had very high hopes for this one. The characters in "A Hundred Summers" were not as enjoyable or likeable as "Violet Grant"; therefore, only three stars. The plot is a bit predictable, but that should be expected of a beach read and for me, doesn't necessarily [email protected]#$%!s value; but strong, likeable characters are important for me to give a book more than three stars, and I felt myself frustrated with most of the characters in this book - the 'villains' are cruel, as they should be, but the main hero was just too weak and gullible for me to be sympathetic - I hate mousy women as leading characters! Ugh. I will test another Williams' book though, as I wish to read the one that came after "Violet Grant", which I believe is "Tiny Small Thing". Hopefully, this main hero will have the old-fashioned gumption and moxie that Violet (and Vivian) Grant had - those two had moxie!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hundred Summers []  2020-6-16 18:0

    This book caught my interest right from the begin and held it until the end. There were several twists and the ending was a surprise. I gave it three stars instead of four because there were so a lot of references to people smoking, During every conversation someone was lighting up or crushing a cigarette and it didn't seem to have any connection to the plot. When the main hero was stressed she wanted to smoke a whole pack. After a while it was just annoying. I was puzzled why the writer would choose to create copious references to smoking except during that time period a lot of people were smokers, but it was really over the top.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hundred Summers []  2020-6-16 18:0

    This is the first book I've read by this author and I immediately had to rate it after I finished! It was such a draw, each time I place it down for the day, I couldn't wait to pick it up again. It was simple to imagine the characters as Budgie, Lily, Nick, Aunt Julie and Kiki were described with traits that remained consistent throughout the book. Budgie wasn't very likeable, but she was magnetic in her calculating behavior. Lily was warm and dependable and she seemed to be eclipsed by Budgie's dazzle, but it was nice to see her search herself and realize her own strength. Especially as she continually allowed Budgie to dominate and manipulate their friendship. The book flowed nicely and there weren't loose ends that left you feeling confused, even though there were a few times I wondered why the characters were so easily able to damage those they cared about. The story culminated in a hurricane so descriptive I felt my heart rate increase as I flipped the pages! I'll certainly pick up another book by this author and I look forward to enjoying it just as much!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hundred Summers []  2020-6-16 18:0

    NYT listed this as a 'great' romance story and the dozens of reviews were largely extremely favourable. So I bought it. It was a mistake. Years ago I went on a romance writing course, and we were taught that there had to be "unresolvable tension" between the 2 would-be lovers, which gets, somehow, resolved in the end. Well, this followed the formula, on steroids. We were also taught there were tropes that could be used - e.g. a secret baby; a beautiful, but treacherous mate etc. etc. This book has em all. Throw in a hurricane as well. I got sick of it and couldn't [email protected]#$%!. I prefer romance writing to be dialed down, and 'adult' - e.g. Jennifer Crusie, Lois McMaster Bujold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hundred Summers []  2020-6-16 18:0

    I loved the characters in this story. I've read a lot of of Ms. Williams books, but this one had by far the best characters. I couldn't tell how to play any of them until the very end. I especially love Lily's father and mother. They're such large characters and yet have very small "screen" time. It's so well played though because when they are in the story they have a tremendous story with such impact. So much to love about this story from the Fresh England setting, the irresistible characters, the twisting turning plot, and dramatic ending. Another winner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Hundred Summers []  2020-6-16 18:0

    Loved! I read this very quickly, it was a unbelievable love story and very well written! Interesting to read about Seaview and it’s summer generational appeal! She did an perfect job of setting up the turmoil of young love and peer influence, shaping some of the decisions that we make. I think I fell in love with Nick, and there are parts of Nick that every woman seeks! I am getting ready to choose my next, Beatriz Williams love story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bayside Romance (Bayside Summers Book 5) []  2020-4-3 18:55

    I did not wish this book to end! I wanted to hold reading about Gavin, Harper, and their mates and family, but unfortunately, the book was over. If you have been an avid reader of Melissa Foster books, like I am, then you will remember Gavin and Harper from previous books, but now they have their own hot, sweet, and romantic story, and I never wanted to stop listening to this book. Actually, I have to confess that I sat in parking lots a lot of times, still listening after I had arrived at my destination. Melissa has done it again. She has written a 5+ star book. Gavin is the man that can melt your insides, and Harper is the sweetest woman that you wish with him, if it can't be you. Then, the narrators, Savannah Peachwood , Jacob Morgan, brings the story to life, just using their voices. The combination of Melissa Foster, Savannah Peachwood, and Jacob Morgan earns this book more than the five stars that I am able to give it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Handful of Summers: A Memoir []  2020-6-24 18:57

    Such an awesome glimpse into a globe long gone. A time when "amateur" tennis players travelled a much simpler globe and enjoyed life to the fullest. A time before entourages, private trainers, nutritionists, coaches, psychologists and the like trot along behind the player. Gordon Forbes was lucky enough to experience all of it and we are lucky enough that he was able to write about those experiences. This book has been in and out of print several times. grab a copy before it disappears forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Handful of Summers: A Memoir []  2020-6-24 18:57

    Forbsy really communicates his love of the android game of tennis and that of the amazing players of an earlier time before huge and endorsements entered the sport. His elegant, forthright and honest style and his "no holds barred" descriptions of an insider really give a special and valuable perspective. His diary notes also lend an authentic flavor to the read. His hilarious descriptions of players' special habits (including his own sleepwalking & talking episodes) created me laugh out loud. It's definitely a book for mature audiences though, since some of the accounts are fairly graphic. Cliff Drysdale recommended this book in his acceptance speech at the latest 2013 Tennis Hall of Fame Induction ceremonies. I'm glad that I took his advice!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gilded Summers (Newport's Gilded Age Book 1) []  2020-6-30 19:12

    This is the first book that I have read about the Gilded Age, 1870-1900. And it is the first book that I have read by Donna Russo Morin but, not the last. Truly loved learning about this time in history, loved the awesome friendship between Pearl and her servant/seamstress, Ginevra, and loved that women’s rights were part of the story. This story drew me in so well that I felt that I was there experiencing this story as it unfolded. An wonderful read that I highly recommend to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bayside Romance (Bayside Summers Book 5) []  2020-4-3 18:55

    This book was perfect. It was like your favorite rom-com film and then some in a book with all the info you love. I’ve always enjoyed Harper and loved getting to know Gavin through Serena; these two are definitely meant to search each other. Really liked the beginning with Harper’s interaction with Trey to showing up at the bonfire to search ‘the one who got away’. The method Gavin helped Harper search her method back to her bubbly self and all the awesome things he did for her along the way, definitely swoon worthy. And of course it wouldn’t be a Melissa Foster book without catching up with our mates and this book had an overabundance of my favorite characters making appearances, I did a satisfied dance each time someone I’ve been missing came on the scene. But of course not everything would be smooth sailing but with the support of Gavin’s family and Violet and Andre, Gavin and Harper are definitely heading toward something awesome together. My favorite line from this amazing book was, ‘I could say I’ve waited since latest summer, but the truth is, I’ve been waiting for you my whole life’. Thank you for another outstanding book, Melissa Foster. Definitely looking forward to the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bayside Romance (Bayside Summers Book 5) []  2020-4-3 18:55

    (Received an ARC and voluntarily reviewing)I enjoyed the majority of this book. I'm a large fan of second possibility books and I liked watching Gavin and Harper search their method back to each other. Their reunion at the beginning of the book was just adorable. And while I did have problem in the middle of the book keeping track of some of the subplots (the theater, the restaurant, Harper's writing, plus all of the family members), it managed to draw me back in and hold me interested until the end. There's a amazing setup for the next book in the series, which I'm really looking forward to, as well as an adorable ending. All in all, a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seaside Nights: Love in Bloom: Seaside Summers []  2020-6-4 18:37

    Sky sees Sawyer at begin Mic night and can't obtain him out of her head. Sawyer comes to her shop to obtain tattoo and the sparks fly. She is peaceful earthy type into poetry he is boxer/singer trying to create it thru next war so he can for his Father's medical treatment. She's not sure she can with his boxing and he can't quit yet. Love wins and they work together to search their HEA

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seaside Nights: Love in Bloom: Seaside Summers []  2020-6-4 18:37

    While I have read all of Melissa Foster's books to date, and LOVE all of them, this is the best one yet! Story line is such an awesome tale. I was personally drawn into the pages of this book, and was living and feeling these characters as though I were really there. A beautiful, thoughtful, free-spirited woman; completely comfortable in her own skin, yet completely taken aback by kindred soul. An alpha, hunky male so in touch with attractive words, and the deepest of emotions. The connection that would leave even the coldest of people fanning their faces. The characters are simple to relate to, and personal. As someone who loves words, values close friendships, depends on intimate and true conversations; I would say this is a MUST READ!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Handful of Summers: A Memoir []  2020-6-24 18:57

    This book was mentioned in Patrick Mcenroe's "Hard Court Confidential" as one of the best tennis memoir's around. Written by Gordon Forbes, a South African player in an era where decent players represented their country and then joined the "club" of amateur players touring the circuit which mainly consisted of the European tournaments. Remember, the Australian Begin was a much further trip and not widely visited and as "amateurs", sponsorship to the American tournaments was a true commitment by someone. Forbes was able to create the American tournaments late in his career and did quite well.Without a question this was a various era. While others focus on the simpler time, to me the biggest difference is the lack of training and commitment it needed now to be on the tour. It's just a much more physical android game now. This book spends a substantial amount of time on the "club culture" of the tour rather than the brutality of training and single mindedness needed today to be a top pro. For example drinking and carousing are discussed at length and while that goes on, today's top players are serious single minded athletes like Sampras and is interesting to hear Forbes discuss the players on the tour that he was quite close to, particularly the legend of his era, Rod Laver. Included are stories of sharing accommodations in a club member's home vs. the luxury paid-for hotel accommodations the tour players today enjoy. Yes, some still stay with members or volunteers in tour towns but normally that's the struggling up and coming players.Without a question this is a very interesting book if you are interested in the 50/60s and tennis in general. I strongly recommend this for a revisit to an old era in tennis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Handful of Summers: A Memoir []  2020-6-24 18:57

    I really liked this book. It is a slice of tennis history focusing predominantly on life on the amateur tennis circuit of the 1950s. The author played the circuit at the time and he vividly describes the austere circumstances of the amateur days. His anecdotes of the android game and the players are mostly upbeat and I felt amazing about reading them. If you are interested in tennis history, then you will have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gilded Summers (Newport's Gilded Age Book 1) []  2020-6-30 19:12

    I have been in one of the estate houses in Newport and this reminded me of a side I saw but didn't really comprehend- the separation of the classes-the owners and the helpers. I don't think it was that obvious to others that these grand houses could not exist without the helpers to create them run as households. I've also seen how difficult to even obtain dressed as a lady during that time. It brought to the forefront how much "help" one required to be a lady.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gilded Summers (Newport's Gilded Age Book 1) []  2020-6-30 19:12

    I really liked the Gilded Summers by Donna Russo a lot. The lifestyle of the rich and popular in Newport, RI, during the era of the Gay Nineties, as told by two attractive young women, is a fascinating read. The secrets they share and the trials they survive, give you insight into the lives of the daughter of a very wealthy family and her Italian, immigrant, maid. And what a life it was!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bayside Romance (Bayside Summers Book 5) []  2020-4-3 18:55

    Harper is going through a tough time after being beautiful much chewed up and spit out by the LA scene. She had a amazing thing going for her screen writing career until her present as canceled and had to go back with her tail between her legs home where those close to her are unaware of whats going on. On top of that she had a true connection with a guy during her one and only one night stand and the guy never called back. Imagine her surprise when she finds him and that he works with someone she knows. Now she trying to obtain her mojo back by working on a screen play, and seeing about that connection both she and Gavin have.If you love a amazing contemporary romance. One of the added of reading this book is getting to see previous characters play their roles and create appearances in this book so I obtain to see a bit of their lives even after their HEA. As for these main characters Gavin and Harper, I loved seeing the romance bloom between the two. Then there was the steamy stage which are also beautiful amazing but don't over power the book itself. I loved seeing how caring and the help for one another. This book was just a sweet book to read, I mean I would love to talk more about this book but that would be hard without giving any thing away. But trust me you'll have fun this book I really loved getting to know these characters and seeing the romance and it was just a really cute book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bayside Romance (Bayside Summers Book 5) []  2020-4-3 18:55

    All the sweet and swoony words! I absolutely adore Gavin! I've loved him since we met him in an elevator like 2-3 books ago! And Harper is just the sweetest thing ever!! Together they heat up the pages. And the sheets, and the walls, and the shower...I actually bounced between audible and actual reading with this book. But once I got an earful of Jacob Morgan's sweet sultry voice and my lady bits went berserk it was difficult to go back to just reading. His voice, y'all. I will never tire of listening to Gavin's "So sweet, baby". **Sigh** he's a panty melter alright.But anyhow, the story. I laughed so hard at Gav and his buddies. Zander is a hoot! And when Harper has her run-in with the dark haired airplane guy? Hahaha!! Together they are amazing!! But keep on, because it's not all sunshine and satisfied rainbows. Someone has a secret. And it's a doozy!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seaside Nights: Love in Bloom: Seaside Summers []  2020-6-4 18:37

    *** Seaside Nights4 starsI purchased a copy of the steamy novel Seaside Summers book 5: Seaside Nights: Sky and Sawyer by Melissa Foster and this review was given freely.A poignant story of courtship,dealing with loss and finding both a fresh direction and fulfillment. Set the summer after all the original Seaside crowd married, this story includes an eclectic mix of subjects such as post concussion brain injury, Parkinsons, orientation plus an ironic attraction at first sight romance. As Tattoo artist Sky achieves her business goals, she feels the loss of a private life until some possibility meetings and stray phrases from the P-town Poet lead her to professional boxer, rugged guitarist and songwriter Sawyer Bass. The romance is complicated by Sky's dislike for violence and Sawyers worry over his career, his health, and his father's health.***Seaside Embrace 4 starsI purchased a copy of the steamy novel Seaside Summers book 6: Seaside Embrace:Jana and Hunter by Melissa Foster and this review was given freely.A frenemies, reformation of a playboy and an in-laws to more steamy romance with errotic scenes. Metal artist Hunter and Dance instructor/boxer/waitress Jana hook up despite their siblings advice. However, despite their mutual desire to remain unattached, they search themselves continually drawn to each other causing Jana to question her feelings and Hunter's purpose. Side stories contain the progressive lives of the Seaside Group including their infants, a twist to the Bella and Theresa pranks, and Hunter's coworker's rocky marriage.***Seaside Lovers 5 starsI purchased a copy of the steamy novel Seaside Summers book 7: Seaside Lovers: by Melissa Foster and this review was given freely.A complex steamy story of loss,family and love mixed with the loving interference and acceptance of the Seaside ladies. A year of corresponding turns to love for the third Lacroux sibling, metal artist Grayson and California actress Parker.***Seaside Whispers4 starsI purchased a copy of the steamy novel Seaside Summers book 8: Seaside Whispers: Matt and Mira by Melissa Foster and this review was given freely.A fitting conclusion to the Lacroux family Seaside romances containing a unbelievable group of friends, some humor and a lot of steamy scenes. Dissatisfied Princeton professor Matt takes a sabbatical in Seaside to write a book,celebrate the triple wedding of his siblings, support test to save his father's hardware store, and to have a closer relationship with both his family and the woman he fantasizes about, his father's employee,single mother Mira.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seaside Nights: Love in Bloom: Seaside Summers []  2020-6-4 18:37

    Sky Lacroux moved back home to support run her father’s when he went into rehab. Now a couple years later, her dreams are finally coming true. She’s loved art and painting her entire life and her talent is finally paying off. She’s bought and renovated the tattoo in which she’s worked. She’s been living at Seaside while they were doing renovations on her and the apartment above it and she’s been getting ready for her grand re-opening. Spending time with her mates has always been one of her favorite things to do but she can’t support but want that she had what they have. She never would have guessed that when she found “him” that she would fall so fast, love so fast or be conflicted so wyer Bass was a poet, a singer and a song writer but first and foremost he was a boxer. When he first saw Sky across the bar, he was moved by her and wrote a song about her before he even knew her name. When he went to obtain a tattoo the following day, he knew it was fate when Sky was the one that permanently inked him with his recent words. With his final war just around the corner, he had to stay focused and not just because winning this war could secure his Dad’s future. This war is not only his last, it could be his end because if his doctors have warned him versus fighting ever again.I’ve been a fan of Sky’s since she first came to Seaside and was satisfied to see that she had finally found love. Sawyer could not have been more excellent for Sky! This was another awesome book by Melissa Foster. I’ve long been a fan of her closely knit family and mates writing style and always know going in that the book will hard to place down and this one was no different. I loved catching up with the Seaside girls and their crazy antics and can’t wait to see what she comes up with next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seaside Nights: Love in Bloom: Seaside Summers []  2020-6-4 18:37

    When reading typical romance novels, you read about the fast hookups, all there is is and no emotions involved. But with Melissa Foster's books you feel the emotions the characters are feeling. You feel like it could be you in the this book Sky's and Sawyers connection was felt from the beginning. I similar to sky's insecurities about knowing what love is and finally being able to say she had found love. I felt Sawyers pain in knowing his father's condition would only obtain worse not better . Their need for each other to obtain through their life's ups and downs was so heartfelt. The method they helped each other and cemented their love for one another was so s their connection didn't lack either, to place it nicely. They were on fire. Steamy scenes galore. Amazing ending to a wonderfully written book as always with Melissa. Never disappoints. Here is to another late night of reading and no sleep for work tomorrow. Another side result of starting one of Melissa Foster's books. Once you start,you can never stop until the latest page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Handful of Summers: A Memoir []  2020-6-24 18:57

    That's not just my opinion. Frank Keating, eminent sports writer for Punch Magazine and The Guardian thought so too. Rereading it after twenty years hasn't changed my opinion at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Handful of Summers: A Memoir []  2020-6-24 18:57

    This is the best book ever written about tennis. You will learn more about life on the old "amateur" circuit here than from any other source. Forbes, a beautiful amazing player half, brilliantly locations the reader back in time where he will laugh and have fun every story. Laver, Emerson, Stolle, and all the greats come to life for all to see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gilded Summers (Newport's Gilded Age Book 1) []  2020-6-30 19:12

    Fact and fiction come together to tell the upstairs -downstairs stories of Ginevra, a young Italian immigrant girl, and Pearl, the debutante daughter, as they come of age at the turn of the 20th century in the glittering splendor of Newport. It's a amazing story that held my interest, though the writing could have been stronger and It definitely required a amazing copy editor. Living in Rhode Island not far from Newport, I appreciated that the description, geography, and history of time, place, and prominent families were accurate. The two main characters and their families were fictional, as were the murder and depicted in the novel; however, Tessie Oehlrich, Mamie Fish, and Alva and Consuelo Vanderbilt (and others who appear) were very real, as was the society depicted by the author. Ms. Morin lives in Newport, and it shows, based on the level of authenticity demonstrated. I had pictured "The Beeches" as The Elms, and indeed, The author states she used it as the model for Pearl's family's cottage. The proofreading and copy editing, however, were sorely needed. There was WAY too much repetition of hackneyed and pseudo-foreshadowing phrases along the lines of, "It would be the first time, but not the last," " I would remember this moment forever, " and "If only I had," usually appearing at the end of a chapter. There were also too a lot of words misused and sentence fragments; I'm not sure if this came from the digitization, or whether the novel was self-published, or just sloppiness or laziness. But c'mon - the SPROUTING Rock Bathing Association - one error that particularly sticks in my mind. Overall a amazing read, but I do want more care had been taken with its execution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gilded Summers (Newport's Gilded Age Book 1) []  2020-6-30 19:12

    I've always loved the "romance" of the gilded age and those awesome Newport cottages. This book (albeit fiction) really opened my eyes to the lifestyles behind those walls. Such a amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summary of 28 Summers by Elin Hilderbrand []  2020-7-21 18:29

    This is a clear and detailed summary of the book, "28 Summers" by Elin Hilderbrand. It tells everything anyone would wish to know, from a breakdown of all the characters and summaries of all of the chapters. It even has some discussion questions at the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seaside Nights: Love in Bloom: Seaside Summers []  2020-6-4 18:37

    Sky and Sawyer are amazing characters. Sky is a tattoo artist while Sawyer is a boxer who will do anything for those he loves. These two characters mesh perfectly. They have chemistry that is off the charts. This whole Seaside group is amazing and each book in the series should be read. You can relate to at least one of the characters in any of the Harrison is back as narrator and he knocks it out of the park. His voice keeps you engaged and wanting more. He makes you feel like you are right there with the characters and you can feel all the emotion that is in the book. This is a amazing book to read and listen to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seaside Nights: Love in Bloom: Seaside Summers []  2020-6-4 18:37

    I'm going to in a completely various direction with my review on Seaside Nights by Melissa Foster. Sometimes a song or two will pop in my mind and I think, "man that totally works for this book". So, the two songs that came to my mind were Survivor's Eye of the Tiger and REO Speedwagon Can't War This 's why these two popped up. Eye of the Tiger is an simple one, because Sawyer is a boxer and it's the excellent boxing song (thank you Rocky). He's hungry for a win. However, he's doing it create sure his parents are set for life. How sweet. Lets just up some ovaries for sacrifice here. If that didn't call for ovaries sacrifice, the poet/musician thing should. That's right ladies he sings and writes. Panty melting all the way. The more we obtain to know Sawyer the more we realize he's a keeper. *sigh*Now Sky. I didn't know she was such a hippy. She loves poetry, art, and peaceful was a spirit, and she'd learned over the years to love herself for who she was, rather than comparing herself to e totally embraces herself, and I adore that about her.We see that Sawyer can speak to her soul. At the same time she's problem by his boxing. Throughout the story she's trying to obtain passed the notion of him fighting. For instance we see this early on:No matter how amazing of a kisser he was, or how she felt like they'd connected on so a lot of levels, he was still a ge problem between them. However, Sawyer doesn't push Sky to help him. At times she felt like she was being selfish. I love how Blue helps the guy out by saying:"Fighting is what he does, Sky. It's not who he is."It's a amazing story on that aspect. You have someone that is so perfect, but has one thing you don't like. Are you willing sacrifice almost perfection for one thing you don't like? This is a tough choice for Sky. You move pass the boxing, Sawyer is the excellent guy for Sky. Hey I would take Sawyer. He's just yummy and can totally melt you into a puddle of goo. Fortunately, Sky was able to realize she Can't War this Feeling when it comes to Sawyer.Overall, Seaside Nights keeps you entertain. You will see Sky and Sawyer hot and heavy. Trust me they are smoking hot, before they jump into bed. Once they do they tear up those sheets. You will laugh and you will obtain the feelies. Yes, you will obtain the antics of Bella and Theresa, and it seems to obtain worse (in a very fun way). This prank definitely tops the Bradley Cooper one. So, if you are looking for a getaway, you might consider Seaside Nights a latest final thought before I end this: I liked how Melissa was able to work in the Parkinson, which Sawyer's father. It's a debilitating disease and very heart-breaking to family members. Yet, she was able to work into the story to give Sawyer the reason to war for the money. It wasn't for fame and glory. Plus, it gave him an outlet, because it can be frustrating knowing you can't do anything for the one you love.Favorite Quote:"Honey, there's no perspective when it comes to matters of the heart. If anyone knows that, I do."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seaside Nights: Love in Bloom: Seaside Summers []  2020-6-4 18:37

    This is my favorite (so far) of the seaside series. Sky Lacroux is Pete's small sister. She was always a wanderer, but once her father went into rehab, she place down roots. Sawyer Bass writes melody but his career is as a boxer. When Sawyer and Sky meet during begin mic night, they're immediately drawn to one another.I really connected with both Sky and Sawyer. They were intriguing characters with demons that required to be handled. Sawyer was almost a small TOO poetic, but it did work for the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Handful of Summers: A Memoir []  2020-6-24 18:57

    I agree with the other reviewers: "A Handful of Summers" is the most informative and entertaining book on tennis I've read.But the 1997 HarperCollins edition is dreadful: the paper quality is poor, and — most importantly — all the photographs are missing. I was so disgusted with it I returned it to Amazon and bought a second-hand copy e five-star rating is for the writing, not the warned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Handful of Summers: A Memoir []  2020-6-24 18:57

    Very informative and entertaining regarding the tennis life a lot of decades ago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gilded Summers (Newport's Gilded Age Book 1) []  2020-6-30 19:12

    Gilded Summers, beautifully written by Donna Russo, perfectly captures the dichotomy and similarity of women in the Guilded Age in Newport, Rhode Island. Pearl and Ginevra, seemingly so distant in terms of their upbringing, social status and life circumstance, explore that they both yearn for a life determined by their own passions, not the confines of their birthright. The unlikely, yet heartwarming bond between servant and debutant shatters the notion that social status defines or limits deep friendship. Theirs is a story of defiance, determination, passion and self truth. WIth the glorious coastal zone set amid spectacular and lavish "summer cottages", the author's bonus of stunning description captures the essence of attractive Newport. Those familiar with the zone will deeply appreciate the historical info of Newport woven into the pages. In this era of celebrating and recognizing strength in women, Gilded Summers, and author Russo, remind us that this strength, though overshadowed in years past, has been a driving force throughout the ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gilded Summers (Newport's Gilded Age Book 1) []  2020-6-30 19:12

    If you are already a fan of Donna Russo Morin’s award-winning historical fiction, then you know you’re in for a treat with Gilded Summers. As with her other historical fiction, such as her trilogy Da Vinci’s Disciples, we are shown the past through the flesh and blood characters’ lives and stories. We immediately become immersed in their time and place—their lives are true lives, like our own. While Russo Morin’s research is impeccable, it does not distract but enhances our immersion. In Gilded Summers, two girls become women together even though they are forbidden the intense friendship they conceive and defend. Pearl is the daughter of members of Gilded Age society, a family so vastly rich that they own two mansions: one in the “cottage” neighborhood of Newport, RI, and one in Manhattan. Ginerva is an Italian immigrant newly arrived in America, a girl who must serve Pearl’s family and Pearl herself. Pearl struggles to fulfill her longing to become an artist—a goal forbidden by her social-climbing mother. The talented, hardworking Ginerva designs clothes and dreams of earning her living as a fashion designer—a goal kept out of reach by her low status, sex, and lack of education. The girls support one another hold their dreams alive as they grow into womanhood. Enter two young men—both society gentlemen—attractive to the young women, one corruptly attracted to both young women. The happenings that follow have the power to shatter the women’s lives, allow alone their friendship. The women’s actions, mistakes, and feelings are relatable as they struggle to survive the worst the globe has to young women. The ending is as satisfying as it is unexpected. This reader can only hope that Russo Morin is planning a sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bayside Romance (Bayside Summers Book 5) []  2020-4-3 18:55

    I really enjoyed this story a lot. I thought it was inspirational and beautiful. I can't say I loved all of it though. There was one teensy thing that I could have gone without. I won't state what it is due to the fact that I don't wish to ruin the book for people. But it was a conflict that was a small juvenile in my opinion. I'll leave it at that.I really similar to Harper in more ways than I'm fully comfortable admitting quite honestly. She's very critical of herself. Everybody seems to adore her, but she seems like she's just very introverted. I did have a few problems with her that I couldn't connect with, but over all she was a amazing person. Everybody in this book was beautiful awesome. I am actually trying to set up a book club like they have in the book! Maybe not erotic romances though.I really enjoyed both of the narrators. I haven't really heard of Savannah Peachwood or Jacob Morgan before this as far as I know. Quite frankly, I listen to so a lot of audiobooks, it does obtain hard to hold up with sometimes. Savannah's name is so cute though! It's ironic that both of her names technically have a bit to do with Georgia, my home state. I will definitely be begin to listening to more audiobooks by them.Overall, I really enjoyed this book. The narrators were fantastic. The characters were fantastic. The author's writing style was beautiful awesome as well. I think I'd of liked to see more info on the writing and publishing process, but that's just because I'm a nerd. It's a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bayside Romance (Bayside Summers Book 5) []  2020-4-3 18:55

    I loved Bayside Romance and Gavin & Harper. Melissa Foster did a unbelievable job telling their story. I laughed, sighed, and cried right along with them. They really complimented the other. Each has a secret they've kept from family & friends. As they figure out what they wish their relationship to be, they allow their walls down and share their secret with the other. And each one tries to figure out how to support the other with it. Like all of Melissa's story, their is a small twist thrown in there to remind us that life & relationships are not all rainbows and sunshine. It is those down times that either create a couple stronger or separates them. And since Ms. Foster writes HEA, this hiccup in their relationship makes them stronger. Now, I am ready for what is next from Melissa Foster.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bayside Romance (Bayside Summers Book 5) []  2020-4-3 18:55

    Bayside Romance was the fifth book in the Bayside Summers series by Melissa Foster. Although connected with the series, it can be read as a stand-alone.We met Gavin Wheeler in previous books as Serena’s business partner. He had moved with Serena from Boston (Bayside Heat, book three) to begin their own design studio at the Cape. He was gorgeous, talented, confident and single.Harper Garner was the sister to Jana and Brock (books six and nine respectively from Foster’s Bayside Seaside Summer series - also set in a little Cape town). She had spent a year in LA as a screenwriter following her dream and was now back at the Cape licking some wounds. She was a shadow of her former attractive and confident vin and Harper met previously at a random melody festival in Virginia and had a one night stand. They both had the best night of their lives but never expected to see each other again. Although only a year had passed, they had changed. Foster took us through their reunion as well as the baggage they carried with them. Foster also included info surrounding Harper’s career, adding more depth to the storyline. Although it was steamy and sexy, it also had a sweet vibe with small conflict. However, I might add, the conflict that was noted, wasn’t much of a conflict and was a bit overreacted.Otherwise, real to Foster’s style, it was well written and well developed. Foster also incorporated characters from multiple series, showing the six degrees of separation, adding depth to the storyline. With that said, Bayside Romance can still be read as a stand-alone and will provide intrigue for her other l in all, it was a fast and enjoyable read. Foster set the scene for more within Bayside Summers for Tegan, Jock and Daphne as well as Justin and his siblings in The Wickeds: Dark Knights at Bayside. And Beckett...we have to have Beckett’s story soon. And Colton....I’m not sure where he’ll fit, but he has amazing promise as well. So a lot of characters, so small time...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bayside Romance (Bayside Summers Book 5) []  2020-4-3 18:55

    Holy Sweetest Man in the World, Batman! Gavin seriously created me swoon. Like, literally swoon! He allow Harper obtain away once, he’s not going to allow it happen again. And while Harper has some problems from poor experiences over the latest year, she can’t seem to resist Gavin. I can’t blame her…he’s truly e premise of onset of Gavin and Harper is that they met before and had a one night stand of sorts. Something method out of hero for both of them, but even back when they met and decided to go all in and have a short fling, there was a connection that neither of them could deny. And, of course, fate threw Harper right in Gavin’s path so they could obtain it right this though Gavin is extremely sweet and wants Harper to follow her dreams, sometimes I did search him a bit too accommodating. He was ready to jump in to support her reach her goals, but somehow forgot to ever ask if her goals had changed since she returned home. While you would think that would give Harper more confidence, I felt it often shuttered her gardless, these two are like peas and carrots. Created for each and undeniably right for each other. I loved reading about their journey and, most of all, watching Harper blossom once she was of the stress that had bogged her down for so long.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bayside Romance (Bayside Summers Book 5) []  2020-4-3 18:55

    Gavin and Harper will steal your heart and won't allow go. I loved falling in love with Gavin and Harper as they did. Bayside Romance is a attractive second possibility romance. A excellent beach read or even one to curl up on a rainy day. I love Gavin. He is an awesome supportive guy. I love how he lifts Harper up and reads her so well. Harper has an awesome head on her shoulder even when she's feeling lost. I love how close she is with her family. Gavin and Harper just mesh so well together. I simply loved every moment of Bayside Romance. Melissa Foster is officially a go-to one-click author for me. I love her method with romance and how she just makes you feel apart of the story. I have loved every book in this Bayside Summers series to date and I can't wait to see what is coming next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seaside Nights: Love in Bloom: Seaside Summers []  2020-6-4 18:37

    Seaside Nights is a part of Melissa Foster's Love in Bloom Series. It can be read as a stand alone as well as a part of the series. Even though it is book 25 in the series, Melissa Foster never ceases to amaze me with her ingenuity and ability to develop fresh concepts. I always love the method she is able to develop her story lines so that they intricately weave among the other books in the series, yet also tell a story of their aside Nights is Sky Lacroux and Sawyer Bass' story. If you are a fan of Melissa Foster, you will have met Sky in the other Seaside Summer books, as she is Pete Lacroux's small sister. Sky came home to support with her father and to be with her family. She is an awesome artist and has decided to begin her own tattoo shop, Inky Skies. She loves to read and is never far from her favorite book of poetry. The latest person she expects to see walk into her is Sawyer Bass, the performer she had an instant connection with from across the wyer Bass is dedicated to his family and mates almost to a fault.He is a professional boxer and provider for his family. In an attempt to escape the reality of his life, he performs at a local bar one of his songs about his father. When he sees Sky, even from across the room, he feels an instant connection. He is completely surprised to search the woman who has not been far from his thoughts, in the tattoo shop. But will he have room for her with his family and career taking so much of his focus?Melissa Foster has a compelling method of drawing you in from the begin and not letting go. She writes such amazing chemistry and connections between her characters, you will instantly fall in love with them. There were a lot of times I laughed as well as cried while reading this book. Sometimes I laughed so hard I cried. I definitely can't wait to see what she has in shop for us next!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seaside Nights: Love in Bloom: Seaside Summers []  2020-6-4 18:37

    This book! So sweet, sexy, honest, and beautifully written it'll have you swooning. Sawyer is one of my favorite hunky alpha's in the Seaside group. He's romantic, amazing with words, honest, kind...'sigh'. Sky is another awesome attractive soul that I was ecstatic to obtain to know better.I always have fun getting to know each of the characters in the LIB series and catching up with what's event in my favorites lives. I'm so satisfied there are babies e prank in this story is the best one yet! What Theresa does to obtain back at Bella is absolutely perfect. I laughed so hard.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gilded Summers (Newport's Gilded Age Book 1) []  2020-6-30 19:12

    I have been reading every book I can search on the Guilded age. This read has been fascinating. Ms. Morons adventure into the lives of these characters draws you in. I felt as if I were there. A amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gilded Summers (Newport's Gilded Age Book 1) []  2020-6-30 19:12

    This is a delightfully written story of the friendship of two young girls from various cultures and economic stations in life during the Gilded Age. It is an absolute pleasure to read as you are transported back in time to a luxurious style of living in an American mansion. I loved that it touched on women's rights, women's education, and the need to have a voice and life focus. Highly recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gilded Summers (Newport's Gilded Age Book 1) []  2020-6-30 19:12

    The story is the narrative of two young women from vastly various worlds, but their inner truths search them on common ground. Those truths carry them to a higher ground than they could ever imagine.......

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Handful of Summers: A Memoir []  2020-6-24 18:57

    I enjoyed re-visiting the time when tennis became a pro sport. Rod Laver and a few other deserve for making it happen. And Gordon Forbes has done an perfect job of telling us some of his interesting and enjoyable memories about the that time.I love his writing style. AJ

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Handful of Summers: A Memoir []  2020-6-24 18:57

    If you are a tennis player this is a must have of the pre-open era in tennis. Insightful and captivating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the Monuments []  2020-2-9 19:5

    "Summers with Lincoln" explores Abraham Lincoln's life and put in American culture, using as a car the author's visits, with his students, to seven major Lincoln sculptures - Ball's "Emancipation Group" and the Lincoln Memorial in Washington DC; Manship's "Lincoln the Hoosier Youth" in Fort Wayne, Indiana; Bernard's Lincoln statue in Lytle Park, Cincinnati; Saint-Gauden's standing Lincoln in Lincoln Park, Chicago; Borglum's seated Lincoln in Newark, Fresh Jersey; and Fraser's seated Lincoln in Bay View Cemetery, Jersey City. The effect is an interesting and informative book on Lincoln that also imparts an impressive amount of American art history. It would be a useful tutorial for anyone visiting any of these monuments. The strongest chapter is the last, where Percoco presents the Lincoln Memorial as "the greatest collaboration in America between sculptor, architect and space."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    30 Summers More: Adding Time Back to Your Aging Clock []  2020-1-31 6:32

    I loved this book because it similar to the author's private journey, which we can all relate to, growing older, metabolism changes, too much of amazing "stuff" to eat, fun things to do, but still too small exercise. Worse yet we in the USA all wish to be thin and young yesterday and not wish to place any effort into it! The book shows you that little changes become large changes over time and impacts one is amazing ways. Further, it shows that we must be responsible for out own health and happiness by making those changes and not expecting everything to happen overnight without commitment. Small changes that are simple to make, this book give us tried and real efforts created personally by the author whose journey is simple to follow and one that we can all relate to in our hearts and bodies. A amazing read and very user friendly!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    30 Summers More: Adding Time Back to Your Aging Clock []  2020-1-31 6:32

    30 Summers Moore opened my eyes to so a lot of locations of health that I haven't been paying attention to. It's simple to read, digestible, and simplifies ways to become more educated about your health and take steps to live a healthy life. Highly recommend it for anyone curious about health, or if you or a loved one have health issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    30 Summers More: Adding Time Back to Your Aging Clock []  2020-1-31 6:32

    This book will change your life. 30 summers more is packed with practical lifestyle changes to support you live your healthiest life. A amazing read with large benefits!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder at Augusta: a Darwin Summers Golf Mystery []  2020-1-19 20:42

    Bring on the sequel! I loved this book. I am an avid golf fan and have been to the Masters once. This book was a more informative trip to Augusta National Golf Course than the original. Summers, the main character, is taking a hiatus from his detective business and is spending his time perfecting his golf game. Lured by the invitation to visit Augusta and play the course, Summers and Maddox, his minion, arrive in Augusta to solve the murder of a con man who ripped off some of Augusta's finest. Summers requires each of the people who were investors in the land scheme to play golf with him, peppering them each with seemingly unrelated questions. There's a upper class Columbo feel to it.... The best part of the book, to me, is the reminisces of Sidney, the caddy, who imparts Masters lore and history and anecdotes of the players dating back to the club's origins in the 1930's. Names of the past like Bobby Jones, Gene Sarazen, Bob Goalby, Roberto DeVencenzo and their exploits at the Masters are imparted by Sidney. Current golfer's names and their competition wins and woes (Nicklaus, Mickelson, Woods, Norman) are there too. Plus Sidney, at each hole of play, describes the hole and its history so well that you see it! The mystery was incidental to the golf, but it was satisfying as well. Reminded me of Perry Mason a bit with the final confrontation of the murderer. If you can't obtain tickets to the Masters, read this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder at Augusta: a Darwin Summers Golf Mystery []  2020-1-19 20:42

    Book is slow

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    30 Summers More: Adding Time Back to Your Aging Clock []  2020-1-31 6:32

    30 Summers More is a well-written book that will motivate you to see your health differently. Almost instantly this book several nuggets of convicting truth that hit home. One such truth was, "We wish fast fixes, and those rarely work and often backfire. We end up with sports injuries, medical side effects, and disappointment in ourselves when we don’t meet our expectations." So true. I've been on diets my whole life, all for the sake of losing a few pounds only to end up with cancerous tumors and other similar health problems. But never once was I trying to be healthier for health sake.What I appreciated most about this book was the author's candor. It was his honesty in sharing his struggles with weight and family problems that motivated me the most to rethink how I wish to live the rest of my life. I was also moved in learning that he began the senior care center near to where we currently live. Thank you, Dwayne, for sharing your story and for motivating me to take better care of this corrupted temple that I am requiring God's Spirit to live in. God bless you in the work that you are doing in caring for others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    30 Summers More: Adding Time Back to Your Aging Clock []  2020-1-31 6:32

    Enjoyed the chapters on relationships and purpose. As we age we should definitely take care of the body but I search connecting with others and having a sense of purpose is one of the greatest ways to feel young at heart! Book is an simple weekend read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder at St. Andrews: a Darwin Summers Mystery []  2020-1-19 20:33

    I enjoyed this book. The detective is related to Sherlock Holmes - rather non-social, brilliant - and he has an employee who takes care of things on his estate and who travels with him when he is hired to solve unusual mysteries. I didn't read the first book but I think this stands alone very well. The detective, Mr. Summers, is asked to solve a murder which happened several months previously and which is by a lot of attributed to a local ghost. During 18 rounds of golf at the popular course, St. Andrew's in Scotland, he talks with the people who were involved and - of course - solves the mystery. One of the caddies gives info in an entertaining fashion before every hole on the history which I found very interesting, having played a very small golf a lot of years ago. If you have even a small bit of curiosity about golf I think you would have fun the book, because the course at St. Andrew's goes back a few centuries and there is a lot of history, political and social, attached to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder at Augusta: a Darwin Summers Golf Mystery []  2020-1-19 20:42

    As a lover of golf, The Masters, and mystery, this one hit the nail on the head for me. Told from the perspective of the 'Watson' of the 'Holmes' (Summers), some fun twists, and the amazing stories about the history of Augusta National and The Masters we all know and love, it kept me interested from begin to [email protected]#$%!& really was like a mini Sherlock Holmes book to me, but set in a various time and an awesome setting. No words of wisdom about swings in this book, and it doesn't need that is would create a amazing bonus for a golfer in your life that is also a reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder at Augusta: a Darwin Summers Golf Mystery []  2020-1-19 20:42

    I loved this book,,,so simple to read and so clever with the descriptions of each hole at Augusta. A must read for golfers, but a amazing read for anyone who likes a amazing whodunnit! I look forward to more Detective Summers stories!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder at Augusta: a Darwin Summers Golf Mystery []  2020-1-19 20:42

    Amazing read! Mr. Koeper was masterful by incorporating the rich history of The Masters in a very well written mystery. To be honest I found myself unable to stop reading as I tried to solve the murder with the entertaining Darwin Summers. You don't have to be an avid golf fan to have fun this book or just a murder mystery fan. The book will create you a fan of both! Can't wait to read what happens at St. Andrews! I recommend checking out EXPOSED and DECEIVED by Mr. Koeper as well!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the Monuments []  2020-2-9 19:5

    Everywhere you look in the United States there seems to be a statue of Lincoln. From Washington, DC, to Fort Wayne, IN, from Cincinnati, OH, to Newark, NJ, our nation's parks, squares, and city halls are dotted with sculptures of the sixteenth president. Over the course of four summers, teacher and author James Percoco traveled to learn first-hand about our nation's mania to place up stone and metal remembrances of Lincoln. He discovered a Lincoln who in death has come to embody each generation's idealistic hopes for a leader; a kind of stand-in for "the better angels of our nature," to quote Lincoln himself. In some ways it is not Lincoln, the president, battle leader, or emancipator whom these sculptures commemorate but the Lincoln of our imaginations. A cross between "Blue Highways" by William Least Heat-Moon, and "Travels with Charley" by John Steinbeck, Percoco's "Summers with Lincoln" makes for thought-provoking reading about an necessary part of the American landscape.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder at St. Andrews: a Darwin Summers Mystery []  2020-1-19 20:33

    Besides solving the murder, the golf course description and all the tidbits of info are terrific. The next time the Begin Championship is played at The Old Course you can bet I'll be trying to pick out some of those distinctive course landmarks. More of these books would be great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder at Augusta: a Darwin Summers Golf Mystery []  2020-1-19 20:42

    Thriller/suspense writer James Koeper (author of 'Exposed' and 'Deceived') turns his craft to mystery in 'Murder at Augusta' - and it is an unqualified SUCESS!A wonderful, alluring concept: super-sleuth Darwin Summers tries to solve a murder case while playing on the fabled golf course of Augusta National! Sharp writing, compelling characters, a captivating mystery, and interesting facts on the history of The Masters - all created this 'Who-done-it' a fast-paced, exciting ry amazing book. I'll be keeping a close watch to see which fabled golf course Darwin Summers tees up on next! ...St. Andrews?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the Monuments []  2020-2-9 19:5

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the MonumentsThis book is a "must have" for anyone who is interested casually or seriously in Abraham Lincoln. It looks at the most studied President of the United States and yet adds fresh value through the dimension of his a lot of memorials. It is both an insightful and novel approach. Percoco conceys Lincoln's hero through interpretations of the monuments by getting inside the minds of Lincoln's a lot of sculptors. It has relevance to modern experiences and the values of today's youthful scholars. It is based on a well-grounded, historical expertise and proceeds to rile up the reader's interest. It vibrantly captures the emotions and themes that were meant to be instilled by the creators of Lincoln's memorial scultures.William N. Strykerauthor and historian

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    30 Summers More: Adding Time Back to Your Aging Clock []  2020-1-31 6:32

    I received my draft copy of 30 Summers more from my mate Dwayne latest year, read it and gave him feedback. He rewrote the book with a ton of feedback from a lot of people. In February my life began a shift I truthfully did not think it ever would. I had gained 3 to 5 lbs a year for a long time. Dwayne called me out on it and offered to support me lose weight. At 293 lbs and 70 years old… he similar that those two numbers did not go together. I accepted his offer. Today, I discovered he had enlisted me in his 36 Micro-Habits from 30 Summers More. No, I did not suddenly embrace 36 various ways of living my life. I did take on enough of those suggestions to lose 48 lbs and perhaps, extend my life by 20 years. We’ll see, on the twenty years… maybe it will be 30? What happened is that I gently (well, mostly) moved to a healthier lifestyle tracking my food, exercise, and vital health signs- basically finding out what worked for me to feel better and simply obtain more healthy. The tracking made a feedback loop so when things would go off the rails I could look back at my behavior and create adjustments. Learning from consequences really works for me- I just did not know how to obtain to a healthier lifestyle until I worked some of the 36 Micro Habits. I worked a lot of of them, and I am keeping some and staying healthier (read normal blood pressure and normal blood sugar- not at all where I started) and continue to lose weight, feel better and have fun a fun and loving life. I enthusiastically recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    30 Summers More: Adding Time Back to Your Aging Clock []  2020-1-31 6:32

    An simple read full of realistic and useful info for a better life. Well done! Amazing for any age and for anyone wanting to make better habits for a better life

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the Monuments []  2020-2-9 19:5

    This book is a new/different method to study Abraham Lincoln,,,,through the scultpures of him. A hisotry teacher shares his vast knowledge and enthusiasm in educating his students, and we, the readers. This is a book to own. I bought one for my son, who is an AP history teacher in high school The book really encourages me to obtain up and out and follow the route of Mr. Percoco.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the Monuments []  2020-2-9 19:5

    Gives a fine look at the different icons that have been developed for the grestest American who ever lived. The text describes and 'illustrates' the memorials created on Lincoln and how they have impacted upon our general conscience. A true MUST for all Lincoln fans as well as those who overall have fun learning about our nation and its historical connections via our common goals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the Monuments []  2020-2-9 19:5

    Mr. Percoco unbelievable insights into Abraham Lincoln the President and the ordinary man in taking us around the country to see statues erected to honor his memory. Not only do we learn about the importance of these monuments in remembering Mr. Lincoln, we learn of the artists that made them, the process they used to arrive at the photo they made of him and the thoughts of the people during those periods in US history. The reader not only learns from Mr. Percoco, but learns from Mr. Percoco's students, past and show that shared this journey with him. A very enjoyable and informative book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    30 Summers More: Adding Time Back to Your Aging Clock []  2020-1-31 6:32

    This book has much to recommend it! One of the chapters in this book is called “A wake up call,” and it really did serve as a wake up call for me! One thing I like about it is that there are a lot of focuses… For example, it’s not “just” a diet book or “just” a relationship book, but rather, there is a myriad of hints here for self-improvement. Instead of taking just taking a single approach, Dwayne Clarke points out that we need to take a look at both our physical body and physical health along with our mental health. I search much to agree with here, including his focus on optimism, as I, myself, have studied positive psychology in the past. I also liked his point about “letting go” of things that aren’t working for you… I totally agree with this sentiment, and it’s something that I want I had learned a long time ago. Lots of interesting items here… give it a read! You’ll be glad you did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    30 Summers More: Adding Time Back to Your Aging Clock []  2020-1-31 6:32

    Gentle approach--just what a lady of a certain age needs. Nice balance of health, food, movement, and attitude adjustments to consider.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder at St. Andrews: a Darwin Summers Mystery []  2020-1-19 20:33

    James does a amazing job of incorporating a murder investigation into a round of golf. I love the descriptions of each of the holes. With the method he describes the holes it's a wonder anyone can shoot par. This book is amazing for anyone who enjoys mysteries and even better if they're golfers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder at Augusta: a Darwin Summers Golf Mystery []  2020-1-19 20:42

    I've read Koeper's other books and this one is the best!The main man, Detective Summers, is a classic, and the plot unfolds at a classic place- Augusta National. Rich Augusta golf history entwines a amazing whodunit. A fun read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder at Augusta: a Darwin Summers Golf Mystery []  2020-1-19 20:42

    I love LeCarre and Ludlum. Koeper is in their class. Murder at Augusta is well crafted and reels you in. This book is one of the best of its genre and it actually spawns a fresh genre - golf murder mystery! Who can't relate to a protagonist who drinks Don Julio!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    30 Summers More: Adding Time Back to Your Aging Clock []  2020-1-31 6:32

    At first, I didn't know how amazing this book was. I'm a beauty lover, I'm still in my 20s but I'm always looking for fresh ways to hold myself young and positive about the natural aging process, as well as ways to hold myself and my family healthier. I also shared this book with my father who is a senior and has two various types of cancer and he found it really helpful. The book explores a lot of approaches and gives lots of amazing hints on how to hold yourself healthier physically and mentally, and also how to hold you positive / optimism. Besides this, it has also helped me to search ways to lose the additional pounds I have with easy changes in my lifestyle. I recommend it for any person who wants to change their lives and reach longevity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder at St. Andrews: a Darwin Summers Mystery []  2020-1-19 20:33

    An intriguing menagerie of golf lore and murder.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder at Augusta: a Darwin Summers Golf Mystery []  2020-1-19 20:42

    A really nice read, sort of a "Hercule Poirot Meets Clifford Roberts" (a murder mystery woven into an Augusta National setting). Especially amazing historical review of all of the holes at Augusta National, using the voice of a long-experienced Augusta caddy. I don't know how authentic or accurate the hole histories are, but they certainly sounded believable. The mystery theme is enjoyable, even if somewhat predictable. I've recommended the book to my golf-book-loving friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder at Augusta: a Darwin Summers Golf Mystery []  2020-1-19 20:42

    It was a fun book. I enjoyed the background on Augusta, even though I am not a golf fan, and I liked the story and characters. It was a light read, but it kept my attention. I guess sometimes the golf items overshadowed the story a little, but I enjoyed it. I have read one of James Koeper's other books (Deceived) and I really enjoyed it. I can't wait to read his other book, (Exposed).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summers with Lincoln: Looking for the Man in the Monuments []  2020-2-9 19:5

    Very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two by Two [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    I will say this one took !me a few chapters to rally obtain into the characters and storyline. Once I got into it I really enjoyed this novel. Marge is the one person that makes this book what it is. Unbelievable page turner and of course have your box of tissues handy because your heart will ache and also Leap for joy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two by Two [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    The characters in the book were so well defined, I felt like I knew them. I felt their joy, their anger and at one point was crying with them. I have enjoyed every Nicholas Sparks book I've read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two by Two [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    I do not like writing reviews before I finish a book, but 1/3 the method into this book and I just cannot take anymore.* Minor Spoilers *Russ Green and Vivian meet and fall in love. By the end of the first page I was sure I knew where the book was going. I was sure she would die in childbirth and Russ would have to raise their daughter alone. I could not have been more wrong, but I almost want Mr. Sparks would go back to his old stead the book comes off more like a Taylor Swift break-up song she writes for the sole purpose of revenge. At first Russ and Vivian are a satisfied newlywed couple. Very quickly their daughter London comes along and they settle into a typical middle class life with her staying home and him going off to his fancy PR job. But when he feels insecure at work he quits his job and starts his own company without getting a single client ready first. He then becomes bitter and feels insecure. Vivian gets a job with Walter Spannerman (read that as Donald Trump) and Russ is resentful. The next 7 chapters are from his point of view as he complains because he has to spend time with his daughter, taking her to her activities and doing household chores like grocery shopping, cooking, cleaning, and laundry. As if that is not enough he grumbles because he is not getting enough attention in the bedroom. When the couple does spend time together they bicker and snipe at each other constantly. While reading it I begin feeling agitated and cranky too.If all that is not enough the book is poorly edited. Words are missing and sentences repeat themselves. You can figure out what he was trying to say, but it feels like Mr Sparks is either just not interested in writing anymore, this book was rushed to release, or it was written as a method to obtain back at his wife after their divorce. I mean no disrespect to either of them, because it is horrible when any marriage ends, but this book is definitely in my top 5 worst books I have ever readUpdate: Our power went out shortly after I wrote this review and the only light available was from my Kindle. I ended up reading the whole book. There is a further modernize in the comments section

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two by Two [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    So a lot of people can learn from this story. It is about putting your children's wellbeing first when you obtain a divorce. Do not punish your kids because you broke you commitment to each other and your marriage. Work together in the best interest of your child.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two by Two [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    You expect tears when picking up a N. Sparks, but this novel blew me away. Even with a 13 month old and working full time I finished this book in a week. One of his best yet so much detail and delicate meshing of characters.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386