Read ucall for umpires reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all ucall for umpires reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    uCALL for Umpires [App]  2019-4-16 13:48

    Honestly not really worth $1.99. It's ok if your a newb ump.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    my heart transplant for your amusement []  2020-8-16 15:50
    [email protected]

    "My Heart Transplant for Your Amusement" by Vince Clews The essence of this book is Vince's story about his heart condition and the obstacles he had to overcome to create the transplant happen; but, it also a love story of Vince's love for his wife, Carol. That love is evidenced in his accolades describing her faithful attendance to his every need, demonstrating what it means to vow, "I will love you and honor you all he days of your life". This is a amazing read and makes one admire the Clews for the tenacity they demonstrated in overcoming the continued frustrations of this rollercoaster ride. I would suggest a various title ~ as I was not amused! I might suggest, "My Heart Transplant: A Good-Humored Look at a Life in Crisis". It is amazing read and I love a guy who watches The Meal Channel to see Barefoot Contessa and Giada with cleavage showing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in Portland [best price for lasix in New York]  2020-9-14 1:55
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Sweden buy lasix in San Francisco where to lasix in Baltimore online lasix 40mg cheap lasix in San Antonio top 7 best locations to lasix in Hungary top 9 best locations to lasix in Netherlands purchase lasix from Saudi Arabia buy lasix online from Washington buy furosemide

    0  


    Add your opinion on ucall for umpires or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    dank vapedank legal buds for sale []  2020-6-8 19:23

    Buy Mimosa online Buy strawberry shortcake Buy Cannabis flower Buy jungle boys buy Topanga Canyon online buy Girl Scout Cookies Buy orange cookies Buy kiva online Buy sundae driver strain buy kiva online buy kingpen online Buy Chocolate truffles buy bruce banner strain Buy Grenadine cookies canada Buy moon rocks weed where can i gorilla glue Buy Biscotti online buy ogkush purple kush online kush seeds for in united states of america Buy White runtz Buy pink runtz wholesale thc oil cartridge lemon haze for sale One hitter weed for sale brass knuckles cartridge for online la vapors wholesale dank legal buds for sale sour diesel weed online weed for online cheap best online weed store weed online shopping kingpen cartridges price buy ounce of weed online Buy cannabis online Gucci cart herban supply co edipure edibles harlequin oil dank bud for sale

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    auto swiper for gamers []  2020-6-27 22:55

    I can only obtain it to perform a single action and it one time for every time I hit play tried looking it up barely found this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in Albuquerque [where to buy lasix in UK online]  2020-9-17 13:34
    [email protected]

    best for lasix in Poland top 5 best locations to lasix in United States where to generic lasix where to lasix in Japan top 9 best locations to lasix in Israel buy lasix online with prescription lasix online pharmacy in Oklahoma cheap lasix in Indianapolis buy lasix in Portland

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    viagra for sale []  2020-6-17 12:34
    [email protected]

    canadian pharmacy cialis professional view unanswered posts - for sale cialis uk 99 for sale - cialis online login how much the official of cialis in usa

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in San Diego [where to purchase lasix in Charlotte]  2020-9-13 14:26
    [email protected]

    united healthcare lasix best for lasix in Buffalo where to lasix in Cincinnati online how to lasix in San Diego where to lasix in Sweden where to lasix in Tulsa buy lasix fedex shipping

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2018 and 2019 NFHS Softball Umpires Manual []  2020-1-11 19:3

    Amazing book for umpire basics. For rules see official rule book for league and state. All umpires should read especially beginners.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2016 and 2017 NFHS Softball Umpires Manual []  2020-6-14 19:10

    simple to read and search what you need

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2018 and 2019 NFHS Softball Umpires Manual []  2020-1-11 19:3

    Very helpful manual for any umpire regardless of experience. I would recommend this book to any umpire to refresh your mechanics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2016 and 2017 NFHS Softball Umpires Manual []  2020-6-14 19:10

    Excellent for all of your mechanic needs

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    2016 and 2017 NFHS Softball Umpires Manual []  2020-6-14 19:10

    Nice being able to look up a reference by searching instead of page flipping. Have fun all of the other ebooks as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working a "Perfect Game": Conversations With Umpires []  2020-9-24 19:44

    if an umpire does a amazing job, the fans never know he's there. A amazing takeaway from this book was the personalities of the different umps interviewed (and there are a lot of them in this book) and the street each of them took to create the Majors, akin to a ballplayer trying to reach the highest pinnacle. Some unbelievable human stories here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    As They See 'Em: A Fan's Travels in the Land of Umpires []  2020-1-13 19:23

    If you're a long time baseball fan this book is a MUST read. It gives you a whole fresh perspective on the android game and TONS of sympathy for the guys you used to jeer at. What a life! Treated like redheaded step kids from begin to finish, these guys toil largely in obscurity "chasing the dream" that one day they'll be one of the chosen few who obtain called up to the show. It turns out that the average fan stands a better possibility of being a huge league player than he or she does of being a huge league umpire. If, and that's a huge IF, you create it to AAA ball as an ump you still travel by vehicle from android game to game, share a flea bag motel room with your partner, place up with nightly abuse, and obtain about $25,000 a year. And each year only one or two AAA umps are promoted. Most walk away having spent the better part of their lives banging their heads versus a wall. After you've read this book you'll search yourself trying to watch the umps at work when the ball android game is on. It's awesome how your perspective changes. Here's an example from the book that illustrates how invisible amazing umpires become; After a game, in which there is a blown call at the plate following a line drive down the left field line, the press jumped on the home plate umpire about how he missed the call. The umpire then explained to them that on that particular play he had rotated up to third base to create sure the runner hit the bag because the third base ump had to run down the line to watch for fan interference. It was the first base umpire who rotated to cover home who missed the call. He had to explain this to a room full of sports writers who had been watching android games for decades, had seen this play a thousand times, but had never noticed that the umpires shift on that play! That's amazing! There's even an entire chapter dedicated to the strike zone! For non-fans thats serious snooze time but if you're a fan... fascinating! A amazing baseball book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    As They See 'Em: A Fan's Travels in the Land of Umpires []  2020-1-13 19:23

    Amazing style, amazing content. While you read it you really feel sympathy for those guys on the field we love to hate. You end up taking that sympathy to the ballpark with you and begin to think sensitively toward the men trying to bring to the game...until you see that first poor call versus your e life of a baseball umpire, from their begin at a school through their huge league career is well documented here; as is the stiffly competitive environment within their profession. Terrific anecdotes pepper the work; a saving grace that adds spice to a narrative pace that can become bland and bog down here and there. A must read for baseball fans; although that target audience is it's only true audience, with maybe a small bleed over to fans of other sports.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    As They See 'Em: A Fan's Travels in the Land of Umpires []  2020-1-13 19:23

    As an armchair baseball fan, I was more than intrigued by the concept of this book - recommended to me by a part-time low level umpire. However, I gave up on it after wading through bits and pieces of umpiring all thrown together without any semblance of or organization. The author is a professional writer but, in this case, he required more work by his editor so as to give the reader a android game plan of where he is going and how he is going to obtain there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    As They See 'Em: A Fan's Travels in the Land of Umpires []  2020-1-13 19:23

    Large baseball fan that I am, like most people, I don't any attention to umpires unless they seriously mess up but, after reading this book, I will more attention to 's a terrific baseball book about all things umpire. As a fan, I think he's an NY Times reporter, attended the Jim Evans Umpiring School in Florida, one of two umpiring schools, and also interviewed scores of current and former major league and minor league tells it like it is. Indeed, the best parts of the book were of his own experiences in learning to be an umpire and then, actually umpiring, during spring training.Explaining how umps think--about the game, about the league, and about their fellow umpires--and how their skills and attitudes have changed over the years was quite interesting as was how they dealing with messing e 1999 umpires strike, during which all the umpires quit and most were hired back, got an overabundance of attention in this book and not always in a well-organized fashion, which is why it got 4 stars from me, instead of 5 ing about the woman ump who was fired a few years back was interesting. I want the author spent more time on her and how she was ry informative and very interesting. I learned a lot about the android game I love. Who knew that the umps yelled "PLAY!!" when the android game starts and not "Play Ball"?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    As They See 'Em: A Fan's Travels in the Land of Umpires []  2020-1-13 19:23

    The author repeats himself throughout the book letting the reader know everything he knows about baseball. After several chapters I got true tired of reading the same thing the author had just wrote in the previous chapters, about the various rules of baseball. It would have been fine if he had talked about some other rules, but he kept telling about the same thing. I did not finish reading the book, which was a disappoint for me, because I always test to finish a book I have started to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    As They See 'Em: A Fan's Travels in the Land of Umpires []  2020-1-13 19:23

    I am 47 years old and it took me 45 years to learn that I really like baseball. As I've learned more about the sport and the various levels of professional play, I started to learn more about the umpires that oversee the android games at these levels. I wanted to learn more about the men (and women) who perform this difficult job that goes sorely unnoticed an under appreciated. I ordered the audio CD used and it was delivered in a timely manner. It was in the described condition (used, acceptable) with a small wear and tear and foxing on the outside CD cover. The cover picture and wording were undamaged as well as the individual CDs. The individual CDs were all present, unscratched and played e narration read by Charley Steiner was initially "old" sounding to me. I thought it would be boring to listen to this guy all the method through 12 CDs with his broadcaster's voice and tempo. After a very short time, his voice seemed absolutely appropriate and I can't imagine anyone else narrating this book. It fit in very well with the topic matter and worked out just fine for me. As far as the writing, I enjoyed the numerous anecdotes and stories that went along with whatever topic Mr. Weber was covering. Sometimes the content would jump from one thing to another, but it flowed well if you payed attention to the transitions which might be hard to do if you are listening to the book while driving in traffic and are distracted by the knucklehead who just chop you off.I found the problems discussed in the book to be very interesting and was rarely bored by anything discussed. I think it was particularly important to discuss the fact that so few races are represented in the upper levels of professional umpiring as well as the lack of women in the field. The author addresses these problems fairly and with the best candor possible without putting undue blame or justification to the causes. Interviews with umpires of Latin and African decent were thorough and seemed to be honestly presented. The interviews with female umpires showed what a difficult time they had in the field as well as their successes and the source of the difficulties each group had in their climb to professional levels in the field.Overall, I completely enjoyed the book and the buying experience through Amazon was excellent. I am satisfied to give 5 stars as a review and hope more authors take up the call to write about professional umpires as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    As They See 'Em: A Fan's Travels in the Land of Umpires []  2020-1-13 19:23

    While a lot of children dream of being a professional athlete from their earliest days of playing sports, very few dream of being a MLB umpire. That is probably a amazing thing since the odds are better of reaching the huge leagues as a player than an ump. Weber traces the difficult and near impossible path of aspiring umps from the rotten travel, third rate hotels and abusive fans all the method to the pressure of running a android game in the "Show".This is a thoroughly captivating book about umpires from one of the two sanctioned umpire schools, their relationship with owners, players and their peers. Weber leaves you smelling the hot dogs, beer and grass of the ballpark while he weaves a colourful view of what it is really like to be behind the mask at home plate trying to call a strike on a 100 mph fastball in less than 1/2 second. We see the nuances of proper positioning on the bases to the proper stance behind the plate. You start to understand the stress of having to be on your android game every pitch, every hit and every out -- not even the most necessary or involved player on the field is that involved in the game. The reality is the only people on the field that need to be on "top of their game" all android game are the umpires. In a sport where a .300 BA is good, we expect our umpires to bat 1.000. When they don't, we see that as a failure far more flagrant than the 70% of time are idols ere are other aspects of the history of MLB that Weber captures with amazing background and detail even most avid fans probably don't know. While I was beautiful familiar with the disastrous move by a lot of umpires to follow Richie Phillips lead and resign en masse, Weber shines more information. As an avid baseball fan since my childhood in the 70s, it was fun getting a fresh perspective on some of the names I remember hearing during the broadcast, people like Nester brings all of this to life in such a compelling and engaging method that by the time I finished, I was hoping to read volume 2. If you are a baseball fan, this is a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    As They See 'Em: A Fan's Travels in the Land of Umpires []  2020-1-13 19:23

    This book changed the method I view umpires. I was surprised at the relatively not good treatment the minor league umpires suffer at the hands of the minor league owners. This is truly a "long shot" if an umpire is hoping to create it to the huge leagues. The minor league owners come across as insensitive cost cutters. The wholesale condemnation of the single female umpire in the minor leagues was was also very interesting to read about the evolution of the umpires union since the 90's. It was surprising to read that a few major league umpires behaved so poorly on the basepaths (Eric Gregg) that the owners radically changed the umpires union and organization. But, it makes sense. The umpires did seem to have established their own kingdom and were operating with impunity. No one is bigger than the organization of MLB!The book shows that the umpires are human, and some not so beautiful in their ethical orientations. Stories about umpires demanding that superstars sign autographs for them------ or the in the strike zone---- were surprising. The admission that umpires favor the pitcher to hold the android game moving was also surprising. The backbiting, envy, and petty grievances of the umpires was disappointing to read about. The changes to the strike location were very interesting, as was the technology employed to improve the quality of e overall impression I got from reading this book is that everything attached to MLB is about the owners------- there are no truly independent employees. Everyone is an employee of the owners in MLB. The owners employ the commissioner, the umpires, the scouts, everyone . . .This was a amazing book to read if you love baseball, and are fascinated by the interpersonal aspects of its operation. I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    As They See 'Em: A Fan's Travels in the Land of Umpires []  2020-1-13 19:23

    “As They See ‘Em” by Bruce WeberThis 2019 season has been a poor one for baseball umpires. Since the Globe Series began, two have died, one had to leave a android game due to a concussion, and one is suing for defamation of character.But the amazing news is that it is a fine time to read about the lives of umpires as in the book “As They See ‘Em” by Bruce Weber. As a long-time fan of baseball, I found that there was a lot I could still learn about the umpires in our National ’s book concentrates on how umpires obtain trained and the hardships they endure both before and after they reach the majors and their importance to the android game for more than a hundred years. As an example of physical stress, consider squatting and tensing behind the catcher about 300 times a android game at the approximate age of is book is a amazing read for any fan interested in baseball or occupational hazards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    As They See 'Em: A Fan's Travels in the Land of Umpires []  2020-1-13 19:23

    I've watched thousands of baseball android games in my life. I know the players. I know the managers. I know the commentators. Yet I never knew the umpires. And I never cared to. It's not that I hated umpires. It's that I didn't even consider their existence until they created a call that upset en I picked up this book and all of that uce Weber enters the globe of umpires, even to the degree of attending umpire school and umpiring android games himself, and invites us to join him. In so doing he introduces us to the distinct culture and ethic of professional umpires with insight and humor. It's an enjoyable and even educational journey into their worldIn the process we learn what draws people into the profession, what challenges they must endure to obtain there, what they think about their sometimes popular blown calls, and what the MLB rulebook really says -- which, in several cases, is not what the commentators have been telling me for the past 30 rhaps most importantly, Weber treats the umpires he writes about as the human beings they are. As the umpires explain, that's not something they often experience.[...]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside the Lines of Gilded Age Baseball: Gambling, Umpires, and Racism in 1880s Baseball []  2020-7-5 18:55

    Gambling, umpires, and racism in baseball. At first, this seems an eclectic mix for a book of baseball history. However, when used in combination with the first book in this series, the connection becomes clear. Book 1 in the Outside the Lines of Gilded Age Baseball series is about alcohol, training, cheating, and violence in the game. In other words, things individual players did that influenced the android game on the field. This book, book 2 in the series, covers the major problems in 1880s baseball that individual players did not have control first glance, the book a amazing of coverage about umpires in the early years of baseball. What was the huge with umpires? A host of things, as it turns out. The reader of today cannot imagine how much abuse and violence umpires faced in the 1880s. Several times each year, umpires faced assault from unruly fans and players. Several suffered injury on the job. Two minor league umpires actually died at the hands of mad spectators.I also enjoyed, albeit in a macabre way, how during the pennant race one year, 3 of the 4 umpires in the National League were consistently drunk while umpiring games! (And, yes, the whole league had 4 umpires. Each android game had only one umpire in the 1880s which, of course, added to the abuse umpires suffered because one man can never see everything on the ball field.)Perhaps the saddest part of the book, however, is the chapters on mascots and racism. By the time the author picks up the story, baseball has already drawn its color line and banned African Americans from the major leagues. However, that didn't stop baseball from showing its racism in other ways. Often, young children, a lot of of them black, were used by squads as mascots and subjected to different forms of humiliation in a team's quest to search amazing e author zeroes in on one mascot in particular, a young man named Clarence Duval, whose career as a mascot is more well-documented than most because he participated in the Spalding Tour of 1888-1889. Duval's story is not a satisfied one. (I also note, after viewing the author's other works, he actually took Duval's story and fictionalized it into a pair of historical novels. They certainly appear worth checking out because young Clarence is quite a compelling and sympathetic character.)In other respects, the chapter on mascots is quite funny. If we could eliminate the racist parts of things, all the stories of lucky mustaches, lucky animals, and the like would be amazing , to conclude, this is an perfect sequel to the first book in this series. I hope this set of books gets some attention because readers will learn a host of fresh things about how baseball worked in its early years, and how things like umpires and racism influenced the early development of the sport.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best Seat in Baseball, But You Have to Stand!: The Game as Umpires See It (Writing Baseball) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    Fun read , tells the secret ways of the major league umpires. Must read for baseball fan or umpire fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best Seat in Baseball, But You Have to Stand!: The Game as Umpires See It (Writing Baseball) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    Must read for any baseball umpire.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best Seat in Baseball, But You Have to Stand!: The Game as Umpires See It (Writing Baseball) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    Fun to obtain inside info, and some funny stories, but method too much preaching that umpires are the moral compass of baseball.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best Seat in Baseball, But You Have to Stand!: The Game as Umpires See It (Writing Baseball) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    This writer is angry. He tells a lot of the mean or confrontational side of umpires. He puts them in a poor light. It gets boring. Baseball is fun. This book is not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best Seat in Baseball, But You Have to Stand!: The Game as Umpires See It (Writing Baseball) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    Rating:3 of 5 stars (okay)Review:This book of the chronicles of a National League umpiring squad during the 1974 season was originally published in 1975 and has been re-released in ebook formats now. Lee Gutkind traveled with the squad that was headed by Doug Harvey, who later was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame, and gives the reader an inside look at the men who are not remembered during a android game unless they create a mistake – the was billed as a tell-all book that would create fans realize exactly what umpires must go through and how they endure life always on the road, since they do not have home android games like the players, how they interact with fans and other people in each town and some of the shenanigans they do as well to bide their time. Some have called this the “Ball Four” of umpires. There is some NC-17 language in the book, but that is about all that this book has in common with the Jim Bouton me of the stories are downright entertaining, such as the cab driver in Chicago who will only give rides to and from the ball park to umpires. His take on what these men are like is funny, touching and even a bit poignant. If for no other reason, this story alone would be a amazing reason to pick up this ever, the same can’t be said of some of the other passages in the book. Gutkind touches on some sensitive issues, such as infidelity (although none of the four umpires in the book are guilty of that in any of the stories) and race issues. However, some of these and other stories tend to obtain a bit wordy and begin to repeat themselves. The book could have had some shorter passages or not repeat some subjects and still have been able to create the same points.Overall, this book is okay for baseball fans, and one that those who are interested in learning more about the umpires would really enjoy. But as an interesting read, it struggled to hold my interest and was only mildly impressed. An okay read.I want to thank NetGalley for providing a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.Did I skim?ce of the book:It felt to be dragging at times, especially when the talk was about Williams and the reason he was in the major leagues was only for integration. After a while I got tired of hearing that and to have it described for several pages created for tough I recommend?If you are a hard core fan of 1970s baseball or are interested in the life of an umpire, then pick this one up. If not, then I recommend passing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best Seat in Baseball, But You Have to Stand!: The Game as Umpires See It (Writing Baseball) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    Good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best Seat in Baseball, But You Have to Stand!: The Game as Umpires See It (Writing Baseball) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best Seat in Baseball, But You Have to Stand!: The Game as Umpires See It (Writing Baseball) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    If you are an umpire, regardless of level, you will search portions of this book interesting. The author's literary style is wordy (the book could be half as long without losing any substance) but his overuse of adjectives is easily ignored by the reader. It is a quick read and a book you can place down and pick back up at will. Despite some obvious errors ("One hundred and fifty miles south of San Diego, in Bakersfield, California,"), the author introduces you to the people part of umpires about whom you had, largely, only known their names. What could have been an intimate book about umpires and their special view of baseball is, instead, an uneven acc of the 1974 National League season for one squad of umpires. Part hit piece, part historical chronicle of members of our society rarely written about, the book will keep your interest if you both love baseball and are an umpire. Absent being both and you may not see it to the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best Seat in Baseball, But You Have to Stand!: The Game as Umpires See It (Writing Baseball) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    I used to have fun this book a amazing for its overall storyline taking put during the course of the 1974 NL season. But time has not been kind to it thanks to something Gutkind didn't know we'd have to access to one day, namely Retrosheet. We now have the ability to look up in an instant the android games and happenings Gutkind describes in such vivid detail as he gives us his narrative of the travails of the umpiring squad he follows, and thanks to that we now explore that there is a lot of what Gutkind wrote that has been embellished or rearranged (or else Gutkind was an incredibly careless taker of notes when describing the android game action.I'll cite just one example. I cross-checked with Retrosheet to search the corresponding android game to Gutkind's chapter on Harry Wendelstedt soldiering on in the face of pain after getting hit in the toe with a foul ball. He has this event in a Mets-Giants android game at Shea Stadium and vividly describes players by name ganging up on Wendelstedt after the play, specifically Ron Bryant (Giants pitcher), Dave Kingman (Giants first baseman), Jerry Grote (Mets batter) and Tom Seaver (on-deck hitter). He describes Wendelstedt at first base, and that the android game went additional innings adding to his misery until Bobby Bonds homered and Ed Kranepool hit into a DP to end the is android game Gutkind describes is pure fiction. Nothing like this ever happened according to Retrosheet because there were no Mets-Giants android games that went additional innings in that series, nor one where Ron Bryant pitched or Dave Kingman played first or where Bobby Bonds homered. I did search that in the first android game of a doubleheader on May 7, 1974 the Giants beat Seaver 4-3 in nine innings thanks to an 8th inning homer by Gary Mathews (not a sexy enough name I guess), and that Kranepool did fly out to end the game. But Wendlestedt was umpiring at SECOND base in that game, not first. Then if things don't obtain bizarre, we have a rainout taking put the next day in the next chapter, but that didn't happen, though the May 7 doubleheader may be similar to a rainout that happened the previous is alas is not the only example you'll search if you test to do this further in terms of comparing the android games described by Gutkind or in conversations with the umps and then test to match them to the true android games on Retrosheet. Gutkind clearly was engaging in an act of creative larceny when he wrote this book, rearranging events, making up conversations and inventing whole pieces of action out of thin air to create his narrative more sexy. I'm sure a lot of the broader truths he talked about, like Art Williams struggle to create it as an umpire did happen (the acc of Wendelstedt's collapse in Houston is also accurate), but Gutkind's now simple to expose deceit regarding the android game action he describes, in which conversations among the umpires during this non-existent android game action are necessary to the narrative, now permanently taints the value of this book. It can no longer be recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best Seat in Baseball, But You Have to Stand!: The Game as Umpires See It (Writing Baseball) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    I have read a number of books that relate baseball from the umpire’s side of things, and to be honest, I found this one to be the least interesting of the ones I have read. There wasn’t a amazing “insider” look at the game, and not a lot of humor. Instead, I found the book to be mostly a look at the day-to-day struggles of being an umpire…which I just didn’t search all that interesting.=== The Amazing Items ===* The book is a fairly honest look at the life of a few umpires, including such well known figures as Harry Wendelstedt and Doug Harvey, Art Williams and others. This is not a contemporary work,Wendelstedt retired in 1998, and most of the happenings similar happened in the early ‘70’s. For the most part, the stories are timeless, and as interesting now as they were 40 years ago.* Les Gutkind writes in a easy-to-read style, and the book moves along and I ended up reading it in a single sitting.* There was some genuine insider information. There were small info on how to prepare the baseballs for a game, a discussion of protective equipment worn by umpires and its affect on the strike location calls, and the mechanics behind how umpires position themselves and the procedures for determining and making calls.* The book concentrates on some of the more “mundane” aspects of the umpires lifestyle. Constant travel, the accommodations at ballparks, clothing and protective gear, salary and expenses are all discussed.* One of the more interesting aspects of the book was the rapid promotion of several umpires due to their minority status, and the difficulties the other umpires had in “covering” for their more inexperienced colleagues. This also provided a nice insight into the mentality of umpires, such as their need to control their environment, refuse to take abuse from players or coaches, and management of the mechanics of the game.=== The Not-So-Good Items ===* Some of the info is obviously dated and of limited interest. For example, the discussion of strike zones based on the various styles of chest protector in the NL and AL in interesting, but outdated.* A lot of of the info similar are boring than interesting. I really don’t care what sort of underwear the umpires wear, nor is their choice of footwear of much interest. There is some discussion of the umpires need to “play injured” because of the lack of available substitutes. While this was an interesting point, I believe the situation is much various with today’s contracts.=== Summary ===I found the book to be a bit tedious to read. It seems to struggle between humor, seriousness looks at baseball, and the mundane aspects of anyone who travels for business. It never really found a “groove”, and when coupled with the outdated nature of much of the information, it was a tough read.Die-hard baseball fans might have fun the book, but I think more casual fans will search it disappointing.=== Disclaimer ===I was able to read an advance copy through the courtesy of the publisher and Netgalley

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rank and File of 19th Century Major League Baseball: Biographies of 1,084 Players, Owners, Managers and Umpires []  2020-8-24 18:57

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Real Season: A Hilarious Look Back at 1975 - When Major Leaguers Made Peanuts, the Umpires Wore Red, and Billy Martin Terrorized Everyone []  2020-8-10 19:8

    The title is misleading . . nothing about free-agency. A sports writer who drinks a lot following the Texas Rangers about for a year. Barely interesting, no insights, waste of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Real Season: A Hilarious Look Back at 1975 - When Major Leaguers Made Peanuts, the Umpires Wore Red, and Billy Martin Terrorized Everyone []  2020-8-10 19:8

    The book is fine. But it centers on the 1975 Texas Rangers, not baseball in general. It is interesting to read about Billy Martin getting fired and then hired a couple of weeks later by the Yankees. But there are no inside looks at what baseball was like in its latest season prior to agency. Nor does it really discuss how baseball changed once agency became an accepted part of the game.If you wish to read about the 1975 season of the Texas Ranger's, then this book is for you. But if you wish to read about what baseball was like prior to agency, then hold looking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Real Season: A Hilarious Look Back at 1975 - When Major Leaguers Made Peanuts, the Umpires Wore Red, and Billy Martin Terrorized Everyone []  2020-8-10 19:8

    Some stories deserve a sequel."Seasons in Hell" is one of at was the title of a book Mike Shropshire wrote about his experiences covering the Texas Rangers, mostly in 1973-74. It's a noteworthy book in my mind for a couple of reasons.1. It's as funny a book about baseball as you'll read anywhere. Heck, it might be as funny a book about anything you'll read anywhere.2. After I posted a glowing review on a Web site, the author actually sent me an e-mail to thank me. I have received exactly one other letter from an author not known to me, and he wasn't too satisfied that his fill-in-the-colors book wasn't well received. Shropshire can't do too much wrong in my book after when "The Latest True Season" came along, I felt an obligation to obtain d thing too. There were plenty of more laughs to be obtained out of the mid-1970's Texas e 1975 season was something of an end of an era in major league baseball. The Messersmith/McNally decision was right around the corner, freeing the slaves better known as the players and making them rich beyond their wildest dreams. Oakland's dynasty was winding down, and Cincinnati was about to begin a run as one of the best squads in at didn't matter much in Dallas/Fort Worth, though. There the Rangers, teased by a promising 1974 season, were back in their usual spot -- looking up at more than half of the squads in the ropshire covered those Rangers, who were enlivened for a while by the presence of manager Billy Martin. His act was starting to wear thin in Texas, as it always did eventually, but Martin always was capable of providing a amazing story on short st of the book is about those Rangers. Shropshire has a amazing memory for the happenings of that year and the characters involved. That's a small surprising, considering the amount of alcohol he apparently consumed that season. Ah, the Seventies. A various e rest of the baseball season, non-Rangers portions, is thrown in along the way. While Shropshire obviously attention to other teams, his main responsibility was the play of the Rangers. So there isn't much in the other-than-Texas parts that most won't know t a problem. There are more than enough laughs here to compensate for any weaknesses in that department. Maybe it's not quite as amazing as the original, but "The Latest True Season" definitely is worthwhile.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Real Season: A Hilarious Look Back at 1975 - When Major Leaguers Made Peanuts, the Umpires Wore Red, and Billy Martin Terrorized Everyone []  2020-8-10 19:8

    A small irreverent, but that's Shropshire's style

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Real Season: A Hilarious Look Back at 1975 - When Major Leaguers Made Peanuts, the Umpires Wore Red, and Billy Martin Terrorized Everyone []  2020-8-10 19:8

    Sequels rarely live up to the original. Mike Shropshire wrote one of the funniest baseball books I have ever read in Seasons in Hell. I have fun anecdotes about players more than I do baseball statistics, but I found The Latest True Season to become a tiresome read of profanity and players over-indulging in alcohol and other drugs. To me at least I found my interest waning by the time I read two-thirds of the book. I imagine another author could write a book of any squad and contain related anecdotes. I realize the story of the Texas Rangers of 1975 is a light-hearted effort, but I personally prefer a book about The Summer of '41, The Boys of Summer, October, 1964, or The Tigers of '68. I brought three copies of The Latest True Season prior to reading it, one for myself, another for a friend, and a third for the school library. My mistake! It was three copies too many.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Real Season: A Hilarious Look Back at 1975 - When Major Leaguers Made Peanuts, the Umpires Wore Red, and Billy Martin Terrorized Everyone []  2020-8-10 19:8

    Although enjoyable. The book does not provide the same WOW value as Mr. Shropshire's previous offering. A lot of of the tales brought forth in this novel were repeated from the latest but with a fresh twist. I was expecting more than this. Still an enjoyable read filled with plenty of shock value. Worth it for the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Real Season: A Hilarious Look Back at 1975 - When Major Leaguers Made Peanuts, the Umpires Wore Red, and Billy Martin Terrorized Everyone []  2020-8-10 19:8

    I do like the writing style and this was a fast read. Unfortunately, a couple faults hold this from being a top-notch baseball book. First, the summary of the book is misleading. It makes it sound like a comprehensive look at the '75 season and how baseball would soon change with the era of agency. As interesting as it was, the focal point of this book is Billy Martin's '75 Rangers, the squad the writer happened to be covering. So a lot of other intriguing story lines of the season are glossed over and it becomes merely more of a sentimental look back for the author. Second, the author certainly does write with a humorous flair, but needs an editor to chop down on the similes. He makes some amazing comparisons--several of which had me laughing out loud on the train--but it gets tiresome after a while. A simile every page or two makes the technique lose its ain, an enjoyable and fast read, but not quite a classic in the baseball writing genre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Real Season: A Hilarious Look Back at 1975 - When Major Leaguers Made Peanuts, the Umpires Wore Red, and Billy Martin Terrorized Everyone []  2020-8-10 19:8

    Amazing read. Well written. Stories about the method baseball used to be. Flows well and simple read. I am out of words to write.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Real Season: A Hilarious Look Back at 1975 - When Major Leaguers Made Peanuts, the Umpires Wore Red, and Billy Martin Terrorized Everyone []  2020-8-10 19:8

    Not only would I rate Seasons in Hell higher, it should also logically (in of events) be read first. But even if you just read The Latest True Season, you'll have fun it. Some unbelievable stories in here...and if the info don't match anything on , don't worry. Would you survive the haze of this era and remember everything?Speaking of the info (baseball a sport more focused on stats than any other) this book also puts more of a light on who's in first, who's making a move, so on. Don't worry, there's more than enough amazing anecdotes from 1975 in the book. For that it's worth the purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Last Real Season: A Hilarious Look Back at 1975 - When Major Leaguers Made Peanuts, the Umpires Wore Red, and Billy Martin Terrorized Everyone []  2020-8-10 19:8

    Shropshire is a funny guy and a amazing writer. His book about the 1973 Texas Rangers is also very good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 21:6

    I love it.. Its very useful especially when you are into buying and selling..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 21:6

    Amazing apps for searching material

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 21:6

    Stupid

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 21:6

    Amazing app. Simple to search fresh goods of industry... Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 21:6

    This amazing platform

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 21:6

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 21:6

    Satisfied

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 21:6

    This application is very amazing I'm using it since very long time & it's simple to search supplier here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    for Android [App]  2018-6-2 13:8

    位置情報が必要のがダメ。いつもオフにしているから。使えない。

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    for Android [App]  2018-6-2 13:8

    Don't work it. Nexus5X + Ocn oneで動かない。地域判定前に、プレミアログインを先に判定しろよ。エンジニアはユースケース整理すらしてないのかな?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    for Android [App]  2018-6-2 13:8

    動かない 地域判定中で落ちる

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    for Android [App]  2018-6-2 13:8

    Bummed. The funding model for this service is unfortunate. Instead of embracing the fact that the internet can stream anything to anyone anywhere, they reimpose traditional radio's barrier of location-limited access and then create you to remove it. Tunein Radio has created quite a bit of without resorting to what feels like paying a ransom. Hopefully they change their ways soon, or the listeners of the stations concerned convince the operators to go elsewhere. Sorry to be so [email protected]#$%!&'s a bummer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    for Android [App]  2018-6-2 13:8

    とてもいい テレビが持ってないのて、このアプリは、日本語を勉強することに日本語を勉強することに役に立つ。

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    for Android [App]  2018-6-2 13:8

    特に問題ない Working ok for me here in Tokyo on Wi-Fi with one min buffer set. I like how you can see song list, station Twitter feed, and flick through stations. Not the most well elegant interface/color scheme I have ever seen, however, and you DO need to be able to read Japanese.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    for Android [App]  2018-6-2 13:8

    エリアが 静岡にいるのにどうやっても東京から変更できない。 仕様ですか?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    for Android [App]  2018-6-4 13:8

    受信が切れると再接続してくれない。自動で再接続してくれる機能を追加してほしい。また、3/5にアップデートしましたが、何を改善したのかの説明がないのが不安です。他のアプリでは変更点などは記載しているものが多いです。

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    for Android [App]  2018-6-4 13:8

    Don't work it. Nexus5X + Ocn oneで動かない。地域判定前に、プレミアログインを先に判定しろよ。エンジニアはユースケース整理すらしてないのかな?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    for Android [App]  2018-6-4 13:8

    動かない 地域判定中で落ちる

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    for Android [App]  2018-6-4 13:8

    Bummed. The funding model for this service is unfortunate. Instead of embracing the fact that the internet can stream anything to anyone anywhere, they reimpose traditional radio's barrier of location-limited access and then create you to remove it. Tunein Radio has created quite a bit of without resorting to what feels like paying a ransom. Hopefully they change their ways soon, or the listeners of the stations concerned convince the operators to go elsewhere. Sorry to be so [email protected]#$%!&'s a bummer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    for Android [App]  2018-6-4 13:8

    Allow people outside Japan use it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    for Android [App]  2018-6-4 13:8

    使えない 何回も画面が出たり消えたりする。アプデ前までは使えてたのになー。

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    for Android [App]  2018-6-4 13:8

    つくない sharp 003SH 今日本住んでるでもradiko作りません I live in Japan, and have a sharp Japanese only phone, but when I use this application it says I am in a zone where the application isn't allowed...but i live in Japan!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    for Android [App]  2018-6-4 13:8

    最悪 もっといいなアプリの開発みつけよ。

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Downloader for [App]  2018-6-4 21:8

    Not yet

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-24 21:6

    I love it.. Its very useful especially when you are into buying and selling..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-24 21:6

    You can search anything you wish

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-24 21:6

    Stupid

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-24 21:6

    Need of Future

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-24 21:6

    It's amazing to use this app

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-24 21:6

    Simple to use

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-24 21:6

    I love this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-24 21:6

    The is amazing for ordering but I wasn't able to search a method to check to msgs

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 13:6

    This application is simply amazing..very detailed info and affordable items..5stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 13:6

    Nice source of getting goods from China

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 13:6

    Best application ever,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 13:6

    Simple to #get connect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 13:6

    Amazing for business

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 13:6

    Satisfied

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 13:6

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    (for buyer) [App]  2018-4-25 13:6

    This application is very amazing I'm using it since very long time & it's simple to search supplier here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ® for professionals [App]  2019-1-28 13:11

    perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ® for professionals [App]  2019-1-30 13:7

    perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ® for professionals [App]  2019-1-30 21:10

    perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ® for professionals [App]  2019-2-1 13:7

    perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ® for professionals [App]  2019-2-1 13:10

    perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ® for professionals [App]  2019-2-2 13:11

    perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ® for professionals [App]  2019-1-12 13:10

    perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ® for professionals [App]  2019-1-13 21:7

    perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ® for professionals [App]  2019-1-15 21:11

    perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ® for professionals [App]  2019-1-19 13:7

    perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ® for professionals [App]  2019-1-19 13:11

    perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ® for professionals [App]  2019-1-20 21:7

    perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ® for professionals [App]  2019-2-3 13:11

    perfect application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ® for professionals [App]  2019-2-3 21:10

    perfect application

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386