undisclosed desires Reviews & Opinions


Submit undisclosed desires review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    Leo and Grace are an insta-love story...sort of. They meet, they go their separate ways, they meet again and then go their separate ways again...but this time, he is out of touch and she finds out she is pregnant (this is all in the blurb, so not a spoiler). So, the attraction is instant, but not really acted on until later, but, not for lack of trying on their ere is a lot here already. Throw in that he thinks she is an escort, her family is nothing but drama, her employer is going under and has no problems pimping her out to the (hopefully) highest bidder, Leo's drama with his brother and wanting to sell the company, and Grace's stress about her job. So, the plot is busy and at times it does jump a bit from point to point, which keeps it is book was busy and, while this meant that it moved quickly, I felt a small like the relationship with Grace and Leo took a small bit of a backseat to the myriad other things that were going on it the story.I did have fun it overall. I liked the characters and this was a fun, lighter read. I do recommend this title.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    Such a sweet nice read of two characters longing for love and nothing ace meets Leo on a wrong foot, accosting him at his hotel was not the excellent timing, especially when he is known to obtain escorts from hotel’s ey start on the wrong method until she realizes what he thinks she is and he understand she is here on a business purpose.Leo Newbury is a billionaire in the child toys universe but he has reached his limits and wants to sell but he is locked by his own brother’s ace, coming from a very disrupted family, works for a little company close to bankrupt, so her boss sent her to meet Leo in order to gain his attention to invest in its business.But nothing goes as expected, Leo refuses to hear about her boss company, then left for a trip and when he comes back he is only interested in Grace, not her job.And while things move between them, Leo has to left again, normally for a short but it goes longer and Grace discovering she is pregnant begins to think he left for sure when she does not heard anymore from learn more, you might have to read it.I very liked Leo’s character, if we place his wealth in brackets, he is a kind man, he acts to please when it is for those he cares, he can cry when he knows he turned things poor and even after being damage by his ex-wife, he is able to accept to love again and then he loves with all his ace is younger and needs reassurance, she gets mad faster but when it is important she can place her pride aside and apologize and forgive.A amazing romance to spend a nice moment.I’m a verified customer on

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader copy of this book. Leo was a billionaire that was tired of working and wanted to sell his company. Grace worked for a little company that wanted Leo's blessing and help. She showed up at an happening he was scheduled to show an award at and waited for him in the lobby. She thought this was a very poor idea but her boss talked her into it as a latest ditch effort to save her company. When Leo saw Grace, he got the wrong notice and thought Grace was his date for the night, an escort. He grabbed her up and took her into the happening with him as his date. Grace couldn't obtain a word in edgewise so she just went along with the program so to speak. Leo thought Grace was the most attractive woman he had ever seen and wanted to leave immediately to have fun her company alone. However, it didn't work out that way, they stayed but then before she knew it when it was over Leo was trying to obtain away from people who wanted his time. They ended up in a janitor's closet they thought until the crowd went away, unfortunately for them they were locked in until the following morning. What would happen then, would Grace obtain Leo to listen to her plea about her company, would they war and yell at each other, would Leo take advantage of the situation since he thought Grace was an escort, only you will know once you read this very strong and moving story all the method to the ending which is explosive too.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on undisclosed desires or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch undisclosed desires video reviews and related movies:

    See Muse - Undisclosed Desires on youtube.

     related image

    See Undisclosed desires- Muse Full song (With Lyrics) on youtube.

     related image

    See Muse- Undisclosed Desires [LYRICS] on youtube.

     related image

    See Muse - Undisclosed Desires [Live At Royal Albert Hall] on youtube.

     related image

    See Muse - Undisclosed Desires [HD] on youtube.

     related image

    See Muse - Undisclosed Desires. Live At Rome Olympic (Full HD 1080p) on youtube.

     related image

    See Muse - Undisclosed Desires (Official Music Video) on youtube.

     related image

    See Undisclosed Desires (Thin White Duke Remix) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    Leo thinks Grace is an escort for him, he's attending an awards dinner, and he takes her with him. Grace is at Leo's hotel hoping to speak to him, hoping he will support save the company she works for. He treats her like an escort and she isn't sure why. She is uncomfortable at the dinner and tried to talk to him about her company. Grace created quite an impression on Leo, she was nothing like his usual escorts, she's smart. They end up spending the night together but not sleeping together. It's one of my favorite parts of the book. They both feel a connection physically and intellectually, he likes talking to her. They are really amazing together, it's rocky at first but they work it out. Leo realized he wasn't satisfied with how he treated Grace that first night. He was so lucky to search Grace and Grace to search him. It's a fun love story!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    Absolutely gloves this book. Leo and Grace just had that chemistry from the first meeting and all the method through the the book it was off the charts and Leo seems such a hard head in the beginning with how he treated Grace and the things he said to her but then he seemed to calm down and turned into this sweet man who really did wish love despite everything that happened in his marriage. Grace on the other hand didn't wish to repeat her mom and sisters history by getting pregnant in her teens which is why at 23, she was still a virgin. Her mom had always told her that men were useless and only amazing for one ace and Leo met at a hotel ready to go into an awards ceremony. He thinks she is an escort and he wants to talk to him about toy licenses to support her boss. Things at the end don't really go to plan as they end up locked in a janitors cupboard. Grace spends the weekend with Leo, as her boss tells everybody that she has got what she wants and the company will survive, Leo has to go and talk to his brother and leaves the next day. Grace finds she is pregnant. A lot happens in this book which makes it a really amazing read, from things between Leo and his brother, George, Grace and her sister and mother, a death, grace and her ex boss and grace and her best friend. This book is well worth the read from beginning to end. I voluntarily reviewed this book as an advanced reader copy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    I like a book that has a lot of twists and turns. It keeps me interested, Desire has a lot of OMG moments I didn’t see coming. Leo meets Grace unexpectedly and what he thinks she is couldn’t be farther from the truth. Grace tries to pitch an idea to Leo about the company she works for, but Leo is only interested in getting Grace in bed. Leo is a strong CEO of a multi billion toy company, he wants to sell the company but his brother who owns the company with him doesn’t wish to sell. Leo needs to search a method to convince his brother to sell the company. Grace might be exactly what Leo needs but she isn’t interested in Leo that method at all. Grace is beautiful, smart, sassy and she can keep her own. Leo is rich, powerful, sexy and a bit alpha. To say I have fun this book is an understatement, I love all the twists and unexpected turns that the book takes. The supporting characters are hysterical especially Grace’s mother and sister. I also love that the author doesn’t write an instant sex and love story. I fall in love hard with Leo, he has such a amazing heart. Desire give me all the feels while I hope that Leo and Grace could search their happily ever after. This book is worth your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    It was mistaken identity, lust at first sight, comedic relief, and intense chemistry all rolled into one. Leo was a multi-billionaire toy company owner who was looking for a method out. Stuck at another stuffy event, he’s not so surprised when a attractive woman approaches him as a date. Assuming she’s an escort that he didn’t even hire, he treats her as such. At least until Grace lets him know she’s just another person after his money. Except, that’s not what she’s really after. After a lot of miscommunication, these two combust beautifully in a service closet. One thing leads to the next and they search themselves travelling the street to ere was very small drama, very small conflict, and very few things to obtain upset about. It was steamy and extremely simple to read. It was a small on the sweeter side for this author, which was an okay change of pace. I look forward to what she delivers to us next!Release Date: December 27, 2017Genre: Contemporary RomancePOV: Dual - 1st personHeat: 4 out of 5Type: Standalone

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book. Another amazing book from Ms Sowood. I found Grace and Leo's story a page turner from the beginning. They may have met in an unusual method and there my have been a bit of misunderstanding but the chemistry between them was unmistakable. This was a very well written book with just a touch of humor. Leo might have not been very nice to Grace in the beginning but once he is away from her he can't stop thinking about her and wonders if he will see her again. I really enjoyed this book and I loved how everything worked out in the end for them. Unbelievable HEA.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    I received this book with the understanding that I could leave a voluntary and honest this book we meet Leo and Grace. When Leo meets Grace he just expects a woman out looking for a amazing time for a night. Small did he know what all he would obtain when this woman literally falls into his lap. Grace is just supposed to ensure the support from Leo to create sure that the company she works for won't go under. However when she literally falls into Leo's lap she gets so much more. Can they both obtain all that they wish or is this just a series of mistakes that will blow up in their faces?This is an awesome book that will have you hooked from the first word to the very end. There are some twists and turns that I wish to tell you all about but don't wish to ruin the book for anyone else. I will say create sure you have something cool near by or be ready for some cold showers cause this book will heat you up. I would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire review [Book]  2017-12-30 18:0

    I loved reading the fabulous and unbelievable romance story. Leo and Grace meet in an unexpected method and the attraction for each other is off the charts. Even though Leo wants nothing to do with Grace's business proposition, he wants Grace. Read the highly recommended, engaging and captivating, full of romance and humor, and a must read love story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Desire (Dark Desires Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 22:34

    When " Stephaine " enlists her mate Roxie to support her live out her fantasies, and feel like more than just an errand girl to her Hotel running family she cannot think of a better put than the upscale strip/sex club Roxie works.Once she has met Dylan, its crystal clear- this is where she needs to be.An electrifying connection between the two keeps this sexy and sassy, light BDSM story sizzlingly as they work to figure one another out. Once I started I couldn't place the book down; I had a feeling I knew where it was going to go- and wanted to warn Dylan and Emily (aka Stephaine ) whom I have come to like already of what I saw headed their way!Enticing, intriguing, fan yourself heat with layers of emotion and twisted suspense for the future! Summer Cooper has the begin of something spectacular here! I am not usually a fan of cliffhangers, but this book is one I can handle waiting to see what comes next!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Desire (Dark Desires Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 22:34

    An attraction so powerful it takes your breath. A amazing storyline and the chemistry between these characters, you can feel it rolling off the pages. Things are heating up in more ways than one. But some truths haven't been told, some secrets haven't been revealed. Wow! This book kept getting more intriguing, dropping small tips about secrets that Harper and Alex test to hold separate from their fresh relationship.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Desire (Dark Desires Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 22:34

    I highly recommend this book. The storyline was very good, it was simple to stay with what was happening. Loved the characters, couldn't place it down, looking forward to the next adventure with Dylan & Emily. Hold up the amazing work Summer!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Desire (Dark Desires Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 22:34

    After reading 50 Shades of Grey this series popped up on my kindle as a suggestion based on reading preferences. I am so glad I gave it a chance. Once I started reading I couldn't place it down I was hooked.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Desire (Dark Desires Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 22:34

    Well written story of a young woman wanting to break out of her boring but privileged life. Emily is sweet, giving, responsible, and insulated from the true world. Her siblings are moving on in life with marriage and children, and Emily is tired of being “the Mary Poppins” of the family. The deciding factor happened on her twenty seventh birthday when no one even remembered except for her eclectic stripper friend, Roxie.I liked their friendship as Emily lacked the prejudice associated with Roxie’s profession and genuinely appreciated their friendship.I didn’t really like that Dylan was a seasoned “trainer and breaker” as he viewed Emily as another method to deal with his boredom. I also disliked the fact that he was interested in Roxie and visited the club beautiful much to watch her “dance” whenever he was in the area. I think I prefer when the alpha male has some “firsts” with the heroine of the is author had a unbelievable method with the sensual and intensely graphic scenes. Emily/Stephanie was drawn into the erotic globe Dylan/Master Dark wove around her. Their unexpected connection abruptly halted for Emily when she discovered Dylan’s identity and how it connected to her iffy at the end that had me wanting more.I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Desire (Dark Desires Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 22:34

    Emily Thompson is a wealthy single 27 yr. old woman. She does some charity work but primarily travels from put to put babysitting for her brother's children. She loves her nieces and nephews but has her own life and no longer wants to be taken advantage of. When they forgot her birthday it was the latest straw. Emily is intrigued by her best mates job at a gentlemen's club and wants her to enable her to go there. Emily is a virgin and sort of wants that issue taken care of. She also has an interest in some kinky stuff.Dylan is also wealthy and owns a lot of hotels. He is looking to buy property to place a hotel on in Myrtle Beach. He is thwarted every time he thinks he's found something by the Thompson brothers.Her mate likes the idea of Dylan and Emily getting together and works to create this happen. Emily wears a partial mask and goes by the name Stephanie so she isn't recognized. She doesn't wish to know Dylan's name and refers to him as Mr. they fulfill the first contract and he's not tired of her as he usually is in 3 days. Then the extend it and he still hasn't tired of her. Next they settle on a fresh conract with some changes. She learns Dylan's name when she sees his signature on this fresh contract. Just a few mins prior to this her brother said horrible things about Dylan. Will she run or will she defy her brothers. There is a cliffhanger but it was so amazing that I'm not as annoyed as I usually am. This book is fabulous and I can't wait for the next one. I am voluntarily reviewing an advanced copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Desire (Dark Desires Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 22:34

    When Emily has finally had enough of her family using her, she decides to do something for herself and enlists the support of her b.f. Roxie, an exotic dancer. When Dylan wants some time for himself to indulge in his kinks, he goes to a personal club where he has his eye on one of the dancers, but when he’s introduced to Emily aka Stephanie, he wants whatever she has to offer. Emily is inexperienced but is willing to test anything with Mr.Dark. The two tangle and when she finds out who he really is...will she continue.A amazing read with steamy sensual scenes and a doozy of a cliffhanger. I was torn with Dylan, what he does I consider cheating even though he doesn’t go through with it but the intention was there and if it wasn’t for other factors, he would have. I did like Emily, she finally grows a backbone, is kind and generous and a sweetheart. If it wasn’t for Dylan’s stray, it would have been a 5 star for me....3.5 stars.*I voluntarily read an advanced copy and expressed my honest opinion*

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Desire (Dark Desires Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 22:34

    I loved Emily's & Dylan's storyEmily comes from a very rich family that owns a lot of hotels and her latest name is Thomas and they're one of a huge hotel tycoons her brothers run the business and she's never had to work and she spoiled but she does a lot of charity work with her best mate Roxy who she met through charity work she got to know her and come to search out Roxy works at a very exclusive Club call Imo's it's a strip and sex club it's very very personal it's invitation-only she works as a stripper there which does it for a living and she does shows on the street she wants her to obtain her into the personal club it was her birthday and her family takes advantage of her all the time she flies back and forth from where everybody lives and stays in the hotel that they own and it was her birthday and she feels poor because nobody even noticed finally she talks her mate in 2 taking her to the club which that's where she meant Dylan which he owns a company which is in the hotel business to but at estate and he's looking to buy property to begin his own chain in the zone one thing leads to another and they meet each other and Emily is still a virgin and she has been had these dark secret fantasies about being a submissive and she would like to discover that when they list to say things go very very hot very quick very tantalizing story makes you wish more have to see what happens in the next book that leaves in a cliffhanger which is so deliciously sexy and I can't waitI received an arc copy for an honest review

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Desire (Dark Desires Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 22:34

    I voluntarily read an arc of this book for an honest review. This book is crazy! Emily is the perpetual nanny for her very wealthy family. She’s spends all her time traveling from one sibling to another watching their small angels. She loves being the aunt who’s always there, but she’s starting to feel taken advantage of. Especially when not one of her brothers or their wives remembers her birthday. Dylan is in a funk. He’s trying to buy some property for their business and keeps being blocked every time. He knows who’s doing it but can’t really do anything about it. Emily and Dylan both need to relax and unwind. Lucky for both of them they have mates who can obtain them into a unique club. It’s very exclusive and kinky. For Emily it’s going to be an awakening, she’s innocent but still very interested in a certain kind of kink. Dylan is looking for a fresh sub while he’s in town. They meet at the club and hit it off. He’s the excellent person to introduce her to the lifestyle and she’s just what he’s looking for in a temporary way. I only gave this book three stars because I don’t like it during certain scenes when a woman calls a man, “sir”. It drives me crazy and pulls me out of the moment. Other than that it was amazing and ended on a cliffhanger so it’ll be interesting to see how all their problems resolve.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dark Desire (Dark Desires Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 22:34

    Oh, don't leave me this way, yes I have been left hanging, but I am loving the method this book has setup the story so far. Emily (Stephanie) comes from a well off family, which has sheltered her (and she is a virgin), and they kind of take advantage of her helpful nature, by getting her to look after all their kids. Emily has decided it's enough, they even forgot her Birthday this year, so she is claiming her life back, she wants to have a man and children of her own. To discover her submissive side, she gets her mate Roxie to support her obtain into a club (that Roxie works at), and support her search a amazing partner to discover it with. Roxie thinks Dylan (Mr Dark, as Emily calls him) might be just the man for Emily. Will he prove to be a amazing choice? I enjoyed the attractive chemistry between these two, the light BDSM they explore, how they challenge one another, hurry and bring on the next one.I am voluntarily reviewing a copy I received.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Is This Desire? review []  2020-1-23 2:46

    I was an early fan of Joni Mitchell and then Laura Nyro, by method of having studied classical piano from an early age. I came quite late to P.J. Harvey: a mate at work loaned me her 5th record (Stories...from the Sea), her most commercially viable, which i liked very much; while her earliest fans who liked her alt punk rock sound were having none of it. I progressed to Uh Huh Her, her 5th effort, and then started working my method back, my 3rd exposure being to her 4th effort, IS THIS DESIRE?. I rank these respectively her 3rd best, 2nd best and BEST. Desire? is for me just about perfect. My 4th favorite of her body of work is her 8th album, Allow England Shake. Harvey won the Mercury Melody Award for Stories...from the Sea and Allow England Shake; so is in the Guinness Book of Records as the only artist to have won twice. Deservedly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Is This Desire? review []  2020-1-23 2:46

    I came upon this record, hearing the title track playing at the end of a film or a TV present which I can't seem to remember. In any case I found the CD used and it came in amazing condition. To be honest the track isn't the home run I thought I heard but surprise, I like the whole album. Harvey's 4th album after a long layoff is a bit on the somber side, with a bit of Patty Smith's punk rock element offset by a bluesy sound. It is quiet and worthy of repeated listens.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Is This Desire? review []  2020-1-23 2:46

    All of PJ Harvey's favorite topics come up again on Is This Desire?: death, sex, obssession, and tragic women. And it works beautifully. Unlike her previous albums though, Is This Desire? has a much quieter, more subdued sound. A softer side of her voice takes center scene here, but she still sounds just as strong as e reason it didn't obtain 5 stars is that some of the songs just don't seem as solid as others and just seem to fall a small flat on comparison. Angelene,A Excellent Day Elise, The Wind, Catherine, The Garden, Joy, and The River are some of the best may not be my favorite PJ Harvey album, but it's still very amazing and very much worth buying.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Is This Desire? review []  2020-1-23 2:46

    I've been desirous of this cd for awhile, now. Yes, it was desire. The bass levels are a bit too much for my cd player. Plays much cleaner on the vehicle player. Want that PJ would spend more time giving credit to her musicians, though!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Is This Desire? review []  2020-1-23 2:46

    Heard "Rid Of Me" a few years ago and found it very off-putting. This CD is a small mellower in that the production is cleaner and the arrangements are a small quieter; on balance, though, this is a CD that will please any PJ enthusiast but not too a lot of others. My take is that if you thought Bryan Ferry created a habit of exposing his emotions in song, he doesn't keep a candle to PJ. She would suck all the juices out of Ferry's body and leave him a charred, crispy, quivering husk. She is without a doubt the queen of raging, tragic, compulsive/obsessive songwriting. A rawer expression of obsessive love and flat-out horniness would be very difficult to find, unless it were other PJ albums. Method too raw for my taste. She's positively flagitious in her need to expose every single raw-nerved aspect of her failed physical relationships. Jeez! Have a beer! It must be hard to search amazing men in Cornwall. Oh well, she's moved to Fresh York now anyway so she's probably doing better now, not good dear. Musically, PJ is also the mistress of the brief, punchy song. The best song on the CD, "Elise," is less than three mins and cries out for longer treatment. My wife really likes her, though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Is This Desire? review []  2020-1-23 2:46

    I loved this album as a teenager and still do. So indie, various and the melody is like no other. Amazing album!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Is This Desire? review []  2020-1-23 2:46

    One of the best from the BEST. What else can I say? Bought two ... one for a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Is This Desire? review []  2020-1-23 2:46

    one of my favourite albums

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Is This Desire? review []  2020-1-23 2:46

    My FAVORITE PJ EVAH :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Is This Desire? review []  2020-1-23 2:46

    You cannot go wrong with any P.J. Harvey album,they are all om the first song,Angeline, straight through the latest song the title track,it is a captivating,beautiful om a beautiful,captivating woman.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paranormal Romance: Dragon’s desire (Dragon Shifter Romance Billionaire Romantic Comedy Book 1) (Paranormal Action Adventure Shifter Romantic (Dragon's desire) review []  2020-1-19 19:58

    A romantic comedy? Sign me up. A paranormal romantic comedy? Well… Okay, sure. Personally wouldn’t have thought of putting all three together, much less have fun the combination, but this was surprisingly entertaining! Misty and Hunter’s story was cute!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paranormal Romance: Dragon’s desire (Dragon Shifter Romance Billionaire Romantic Comedy Book 1) (Paranormal Action Adventure Shifter Romantic (Dragon's desire) review []  2020-1-19 19:58

    However it would have had to be a story for me to have liked it, not read the first 2 chapters then go back to the index to click on chapter 3 to continue reading, and after chapter 5 nothing more, that does not a story create (I personally do not believe I will purchase any more of this persons works if this is the norm.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paranormal Romance: Dragon’s desire (Dragon Shifter Romance Billionaire Romantic Comedy Book 1) (Paranormal Action Adventure Shifter Romantic (Dragon's desire) review []  2020-1-19 19:58

    On chapter 3 my book changed from English language to something else.. My Kindle is set on English. The first two chapters were really amazing though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paranormal Romance: Dragon’s desire (Dragon Shifter Romance Billionaire Romantic Comedy Book 1) (Paranormal Action Adventure Shifter Romantic (Dragon's desire) review []  2020-1-19 19:58

    Save your money, and your time. One star is too many. The characters are childish, the dialogue between them is...Let's just say I've deleted the "story" from my Kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paranormal Romance: Dragon’s desire (Dragon Shifter Romance Billionaire Romantic Comedy Book 1) (Paranormal Action Adventure Shifter Romantic (Dragon's desire) review []  2020-1-19 19:58

    The story started out well with a few fun twists, but the Kindle format was strange. After the 2nd chapter I had to go back to the Table of Contents and click on the 3rd Chapter. Then the book stopped - not a cliff hanger - just stopped. There are a few other stories, but it appears to be 1-2 chapters of other books. I looked around amazon and can't search the "end" of the first book, even though there is another book with the same name and author. This ver is 114 pages and the other book is 117! It seems like something wasn't set up correctly. (Based on the other reviews, other readers got the entire book.)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paranormal Romance: Dragon’s desire (Dragon Shifter Romance Billionaire Romantic Comedy Book 1) (Paranormal Action Adventure Shifter Romantic (Dragon's desire) review []  2020-1-19 19:58

    When I buy a book.... it shouldn't be PART of a book. And the story is , for lack of a better word...obvious. It was written well enough to obtain me to buy it with the hope it would obtain better. I was disappointed, won't buy part 2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paranormal Romance: Dragon’s desire (Dragon Shifter Romance Billionaire Romantic Comedy Book 1) (Paranormal Action Adventure Shifter Romantic (Dragon's desire) review []  2020-1-19 19:58

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paranormal Romance: Dragon’s desire (Dragon Shifter Romance Billionaire Romantic Comedy Book 1) (Paranormal Action Adventure Shifter Romantic (Dragon's desire) review []  2020-1-19 19:58

    Dragons who transform into hot male humans. By nature attracted to gold, the protagonist falls for Misty's natural blonde locks after he discovers her in his house after a vehicle accident. The story heats up. Amazing hero development and the author did a amazing job connecting the reader to the female protagonist Misty in the the story. There are some funny bits too. Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paranormal Romance: Dragon’s desire (Dragon Shifter Romance Billionaire Romantic Comedy Book 1) (Paranormal Action Adventure Shifter Romantic (Dragon's desire) review []  2020-1-19 19:58

    One of my favorite books

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Paranormal Romance: Dragon’s desire (Dragon Shifter Romance Billionaire Romantic Comedy Book 1) (Paranormal Action Adventure Shifter Romantic (Dragon's desire) review []  2020-1-19 19:58

    Totally disappointed. It is really just previews for books not a whole book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Duty or Desire review []  2019-12-29 18:37

    Denver's very handsome, very single Sheriff has his equilibrium rocked twice in the zone of five months! First he assumed custody of his deceased brother and sister-in-law's infant child. Quick forward five months and a attractive young woman jump starts his heart that has been frozen over for at least twelve years when she applies for the job of Nanny! Sheriff Peterson Higgins or as his mates call him Pete is enamored with Myra from the moment he sees her. Things are never what they appear on the surface to be and suffice it to say all comes out right in the end. The characters most of which we know from other Westmoreland mates and family novels are still there and still supportive. Some fresh ones introduced in Pete and Myra's story we hope to read more about later especially Garth Outlaw (even though Garth is not fresh to us, his brewing story is) and his attractive pilot Regan! Then there is the guy Myra relates to as more of a brother than the one who actually is her brother seems like he would be an interesting hero to build a story around! This story was well worth the wait both the print and audio version. Thank you Mrs. Jackson for another story well told!!! I am waiting on bated breath to see what you pen next!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Duty or Desire review []  2019-12-29 18:37

    This story has all of the above. Another well told story from the awesome Brenda Jackson. Myra and Peterson's story reminded me of the television present The Nanny, and I loved that show. Hhired to take care of the sheriff's young niece the attraction between the two was immediate and they both fought it as long as the could. Even though he was only mentioned and didn't have an actual presence in the book I liked Wallace as Myra's protector and surrogate huge brother. Byron and his mother wow just wow but greed and jealousy will create you do cruel and crazy things. Looking forward to the next awesome story that Brenda has for us. I reccomend this book to any and all Brenda Jackson fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Duty or Desire review []  2019-12-29 18:37

    I've been reading Brenda Jackson's westmoreland series books for some time now and I started reading her westmoreland legacy books they were ok but this one I did not like at all her characters are starting to become interchangeable to me thus the one star.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Duty or Desire review []  2019-12-29 18:37

    I think that Miss Bonnie knew that Pete would be attracted to Myra when she suggested that he hire her because she wanted him to begin his heart up to love again and to live instead of just existing. I knew Pete and Myra were going to fall in love because they felt things for each other that that hadn't never felt with anyone else. I'm glad that Pete found out about the plans that Baron, Charlene and several of Baron’s mates had schemed up versus Myra and used the important resources to have them shut all the method down. I'm glad that Pete, Myra, and Ciara got their HEA.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Duty or Desire review []  2019-12-29 18:37

    I’d stopped reading Ms. Jackson’s books. They’d become too formulaic. Lately, it seemed she just changed the characters’ names and some if the places. Even the steamy parts seemed to be chop and pasted from book to book. Not so with this is was a sweet and at times funny story. The H and h were lovable and engaging.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Duty or Desire review []  2019-12-29 18:37

    Mrs. Jackson is definitely my favorite author and I definitely always have fun her books but this one I just couldn’t connect with the characters and their falling in love felt rush. I love how she updated us on the other Westmoreland’s

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Duty or Desire review []  2019-12-29 18:37

    Duty or Desire brings Peterson Higgins, mate of the Westmorelands, onto center stage. left with his orphaned niece Ciara, Pete is in need of a temporary nanny when his nanny Bonnie's sister becomes ill. The attractive Myra is hired for the job, and not only takes perfect care of Ciara, but captures Pete 's heart as well! Wish to know how? Read the book!!! Another perfect Brenda Jackson creation!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Duty or Desire review []  2019-12-29 18:37

    Attractive story. I liked the method the couple embraced their attraction to each other. And reReally enjoyed the inclusion of the Westmoreland 's and Outlaws. Cannot wait to read the next 3 books. Another champion Mrs. Jackson. In fact, this book created me wish to re-read "Whispered promises." I don't know why, but Pete reminded me of Dex and Caitlin.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Duty or Desire review []  2019-12-29 18:37

    The was a amazing story, however I wanted a bit more excitement with Myra and her brother's plot. Overall, the book was amazing and had me engaged from the beginning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Duty or Desire review []  2019-12-29 18:37

    What an awesome love story between Sheriff Pete and the lovely Myra. Scream out to Bonnie for arranging the union. You have to wonder if Bonnie’s sister was really sick, or this was her method at matchmaking. I have said it before and will say it again. “I just love a Brenda Jackson book”

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire Under the Elms review []  2020-1-18 20:9

    My copy came slightly bent but no other damage! I'm extremely happy with my product.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire Under the Elms review []  2020-1-18 20:9

    Impeccably acted. Abby is the earthy maternal O'Niell meant her to be, neurotic mother-lover and not good mother archetype; erases those poor photos of Sophia Loren (!?). Bean portrays a excellent humane knowable Cabot while retaining all of the Huge Other in this figure. Eben very well done as Oedipal child-man. Meaningful and moving. Bit by bit listening in the vehicle i saw it clearly with triggered imagination: better than passively watched.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire Under the Elms review []  2020-1-18 20:9

    The first time I saw the film of this title was more than a decade ago. The book and the film are outstanding, nothing like human nature to create agreat story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire Under the Elms review []  2020-1-18 20:9

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire Under the Elms review []  2020-1-18 20:9

    I like Eugene O'Neil, but Desire under the Elms is not my favorite play of his. I still need to read the other one in this book, but I'm rather disinterested.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desire Under the Elms review []  2020-1-18 20:9

    Had to read for school. Not my favorite book, by far. The old language is hard to understand. It's a classic and I do see the value, just wouldn't read it on my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Evolution of Desire review []  2020-1-19 21:57

    Had to buy this for a class. Interesting read, Buss discusses things in daily language while keeping you engrossed in the story. I learned some interesting things about mating and sexuality. The one drawback is that there were a couple chapters I felt were too long and a bit boring. Overall, a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Evolution of Desire review []  2020-1-19 21:57

    I imagine the authors went on google scholar and typed “What do women want” and “what do men want” and then wrote a fact, those searches are two of the chapters in this book. This book has ZERO emotion. It’s a collection of studies where they interviewed thousands of people and asked them questions like, “Rank these attributes in a mate”MoneySocial statusEtc etcThe author clearly has no BS this a legit method to search out what is really going on here? I think NOT! If you actually wish your questions answered, look elsewhere. If you wish to play logic android games with the author, buy away!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Evolution of Desire review []  2020-1-19 21:57

    Bought this book for an anthropology class and loved it! It's super interesting but still very accessible if you have no knowledge of dating and relationships. I really enjoyed it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Evolution of Desire review []  2020-1-19 21:57

    Explains amazing patterns of dating and mating strategies. Well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Evolution of Desire review []  2020-1-19 21:57

    Amazing book about human behaviour

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Evolution of Desire review []  2020-1-19 21:57

    This was on of the most insightful books I've read on human behavior. After reading it, I have a completely fresh outlook on human dynamics and relationships. Amazing read, would recommend to everyone 5/5

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Evolution of Desire review []  2020-1-19 21:57

    Very insightful and well researched, an interesting book for anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Evolution of Desire review []  2020-1-19 21:57

    Essential reading for everyone interested in human behavior and human sexuality

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Evolution of Desire review []  2020-1-19 21:57

    I enjoyed this book immensely. Considering that choosing a friend and keeping that friend are tasks that everyone has to grapple with eventually, I'm just shocked that this material isn't taught in every high school across the country. Imagine the pain and suffering that could be avoided if each and every person learned how human mating has evolved over time and what their evolutionary roles and ongoing responsibilities are as potential mates.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Evolution of Desire review []  2020-1-19 21:57

    What to know all about it. This is it. Huge fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delinquent Desires review []  2020-1-19 22:39

    Very interesting story line. It is not something one would expect from a gay romance writer. Can't wait to read the next one. Hooray for the poor guys.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delinquent Desires review []  2020-1-19 22:39

    The words that come to mind when trying to describe this story are: gritty, confusing, has some proofreading issues, but they aren't too bad.Unfortunately, I couldn't really connect with the MCs. And, once I finally did, the ending seemed a bit abrupt. I also never really understood why Clyde thought getting cash was going to support his mom obtain out of jail. Characters, motivations and circumstances just seemed... hazy, I guess would be a amazing word.If you like stories a small 'darker,' you might have fun this, but I doubt I will re-read it.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delinquent Desires review []  2020-1-19 22:39

    High Wind mall Chicago Clyde and Fam of sorts are waiting on Tag who is stealing from the mall while Eugene is the getaway driver and Clyde is into security/the look out in this case for a low level gang who only steal for survival along with Casper out on a heist. Clyde has an uneasy feeling about this heist but no one is listening. They are all between the ages of 18-23. Clyde is not only trying to survive but he’s also trying to save up enough cash to obtain his mom a decent lawyer as she is in prison at the moment.I found this to be a very interesting story full of twists and turns and lots of action mixed in with a small heat. Amazing read with lots of characters that all have problems of their own. I truly hope there will be another book as I would love to know what happened with the rest of the characters.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delinquent Desires review []  2020-1-19 22:39

    i read this book asp art of an arc program. This is a story about two young men named Tag and Clyde. They are living with another group of youths that steal to survive. tag was a runaway from a foster home where he was abused and didn't trust easily. Clyde was trying to obtain cash to pay for a lawyer to obtain his mother out of prison. When Clyde and Tag work together and realize they both are attracted to each other, they test to ignore their feelings. When Clyde wants to break into a mansion to earn a lot of cash after his mother was hurt, Tag wants to support but knows it is a risky job. i really liked this story. It shows the attachment among all of the boys and how they were willing to support each other and they were like a family. Clyde and Tag had a amazing connection and i think they both really wanted to support the other and hold the other safe. Amazing one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delinquent Desires review []  2020-1-19 22:39

    Delinquent Desire was a amazing book. The characters demeanor's were so well written that you can't support but feel for each of them. The characters are all part of a gang called the Rapp's. Delinquent Desires will take you on excursions with the boy's as they test to obtain cash to live on. Most of the excursions are with Clyde, and Mark. Clyde is trying to create some cash to support his mom while trying to deny his feelings for Mark. Tag is busy trying to support Clyde create some money, while trying to hide his feelings from Clyde and the rest of the gang. When things go awry, it is only natural for the two work together. Will their feelings obtain in the method of their job? Or will the difficulty of the job bring their feelings to light?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delinquent Desires review []  2020-1-19 22:39

    This is a tension filled book with romantic encounters being the only things that give the characters hope. The plot is unusual and outside the realm of most of our worlds. Being a member of gang means risking all....freedom, relationships and the future. Clyde and Tag are caught in a web that can almost only end badly...but then assistance comes from someone they least expected to ere is so much reality included in this book, but I was struck by the authenticity of the plot and the need for all of us to look closer at social service agencies. What Tag faced, as well as the other boys, cannot be an isolated incident. Love really is the amazing equalizer.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delinquent Desires review []  2020-1-19 22:39

    Tag and Clyde are part of a little time road gang, the Rapps. The group is a “family” that supports each other and steal to survive. Tag and Clyde explore they are mutually attracted to each other. Clyde is trying to score huge to obtain additional cash to pay for a lawyer to support his mom who is in prison. He needs Tag to support him. Trust does not come simple to either man and they slowly build a is books has suspense and action. I would have liked a small more info Describing their street to their HEA near the end of the book. I feel the book is a bit more suited to YAs but is still a amazing read.I received an advanced copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delinquent Desires review []  2020-1-19 22:39

    Delinquent Desires is an awesome story and very interesting and romantic in some ways. I'm not fond of delinquents but this method a amazing story for people who normally would read a story like this one. It is sad that had to happen to his mom. Being a thief is not something you would wish to do for a leaving cause sooner or later you will obtain caught and you will be punished for it. Hold up the awesome work and you guys are going to love this story. I can't wait to read more of your stories. I love your storiesI received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delinquent Desires review []  2020-1-19 22:39

    Tag and Clyde are members of the Rapps, a little time gang of young guys who survive by stealing any and everything they can. Clyde, in addition to making his contribution to the Rapps, is trying to create cash to obtain his inmate mother a lawyer. When Tag learns of Clyde's troubles, he offers to help. They become close and Tag finally gives in to his attraction to Clyde. They have some rough times and near misses, but they search happiness in each other. Very nice ending.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delinquent Desires review []  2020-1-19 22:39

    3.5 StarsI thought the premise of this was intriguing. Clyde and Tag are hustlers. They steal what they can, then take the goods back to the Rapps for their cut. But soon they explore that they have feelings beyond friendship and duty and they could possibly have a future.I loved that they were so innocent, yet were thieves. Both MC's had hearts of gold and were literally stealing for food. Their relationship was believable and sweet and ended with a HFN, quite possibly a HEA.Well done.* Arc provided by author in exchange for an honest review *

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Botany of Desire review []  2020-1-19 22:42

    Thanks to a bit of trans-generational intellectual “pollination,” via the son of a mate from Atlanta who once owned a restaurant and had a passion for food, I was introduced to Michael Pollan’s work “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” a decade ago, which I have read and reviewed on Amazon. Most regrettably, I had not read a second of his works until now. The man has a lot to say; and says it all too well. It is a case of “all the news NOT repeating itself,” to invert one of John Prine’s laments.“The Omnivore’s Dilemma,” published in 2007, is subtitled: “A Natural History of Four Meals.” The number “four” is also operative in “The Botany of Desire,” which was published in 2002. It is the story of four plants: apples, tulips, cannabis and potatoes. Reflecting the theme of the title, there are four human desires that are associated with these plants: sweetness, beauty, intoxication and control, respectively.Early in the book Pollan teasingly throws out the idea that perhaps the classic view: “People cultivate plants” should be inverted. For sure, Pollan does not fall off some “New Age talk-to-the-plants” cliff (and they will talk back) but posits a sound argument that without a conscious effort, plants evolve to utilize humans and animals to create up for their lack of mobility. His introduction is entitled: “The Human Bumblebee.”Alma-Ata (Kazakhstan) means “father of the apple.” From the surrounding zone the apple spread throughout the world, in part, aided by John Chapman, an American folklore character more famously called: “Johnny Appleseed.” Pollan traveled to eastern Ohio, which, in 1806, was once the American frontier, and attempted to sort out the man from the myth, providing a lot of an illuminating insight. Among those insights: apples were planted not for eating, but for drinking… in fermented form, and it was Prohibition that forced the apple growers to concoct the marketing slogan: “An apple a day keeps the doctor away.”Tulips originated in Turkey. An Austrian Ambassador to the Court of Suleyman the Magnificent in Constantinople served as the “bumblebee” in this case, bringing tulip bulbs back to Europe, where they spread to Holland and fueled one of the more popular financial “bubbles,” ironically among normally staid Calvinists, in the 17th Century. A “holy grail” among tulip cultivators is a black tulip since black occurs so infrequently in the living plant world. The grail is still elusive but Pollan is proud of his dark maroon nnabis is associated with the desire for intoxication. Hidden in plain sight, as Pollan says, is the chronic issue with mind-altering substances that are abused: “toxic.” Pollan provides a brilliant exposition on this perennial flashpoint of America’s cultural wars. Anslinger, and “Reefer Madness” create the obligatory cameo appearance. Much more instructive was the modernize from the ‘60’s, in terms of how marijuana is raised and cultivated in the United States, and the pendulum swinging back and forth towards legalization (written in 2002, he does not anticipate its legalization in neighboring Colorado, or a handful of other states). He has justified concerns about the two “errant” plants in his backyard, noting under federal asset forfeiture laws that if a case was brought: “The People of Connecticut v. Michael Pollan’s Garden”, his land could become the property of the Fresh Milford Police Department. Pollan introduced me to Raphael Mechoulam, an Israeli scientist who isolated the chemically active component: THC. The author provides a BRILLIANT description of “plain-ol’” vanilla ice cream as experienced in an altered state of consciousness, and questions whether, chemically there is a difference between the chemically-aided ver and that induced by meditation, fasting, and other methods. Indeed, there is a “sense of wonder,” as Pollan says, about seeing things new and anew, as a kid might, that can create a trip worthwhile, so all the news does not repeat itself.Potatoes are the topic of the latest chapter, starting their journey from their historic epicenter high in the Andes and brought back to Europe by the conquering Spaniards. They may have been introduced into Ireland by a shipwreck from the Spanish armada in 1588, providing a godsend to a starving people where other crops would not readily grow. A “godsend” until the famine of the 1840’s caused a reduction by half of Ireland’s population (through starvation and emigration). The dangers of an agricultural “monoculture.” Pollan visits the headquarters of Monsanto in St. Louis, which is doing so much to introduce the entire globe to the “intellectual property” of patented genes and seeds and goes off to Idaho to describe its dicative of Pollan’s outlook and writing style is the following quote concerning his visit to the St. Louis Monsanto headquarters, and his meeting with Dave Hjelle, the company’s director of regulatory affairs: “Dave Hjelle is a disarmingly candid man, and before we finished our lunch he uttered two words that I never thought I’d hear for the lips of a corporate executive, except perhaps in a poor movie. I’d assumed these two words had been scrupulously expunged from the corporate vocabulary a lot of years ago, during a previous paradigm long since discredited, but Dave Hjelle proved me wrong: ‘TRUST US’.”To see anew, and act anew, and the catalyst can come from a book: 6-stars for Pollan’s many, a lot of fine insights.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Botany of Desire review []  2020-1-19 22:42

    It was some years ago that I read the author's "Omnivore's Dilemma" and watched the documentary series based on his book "Cooked". I have been impressed by both these works. It is, therefore, with amazing expectation that I picked up his "Botany of Desire". I am fascinated by the idea that plants are in result topics in attracting us (objects) to support them propagate, when we may think that we are taking the initiative to domesticate them.Taking apples, tulips, marijuana, and potatoes, the author looks at how these plants pander to our desires for sweetness, beauty, intoxication, and control. In doing so, he takes the reader on an interesting journey through history, civilisation, capitalism, and technological ere are, nevertheless, a few aspects in the author's style of writing that I feel are not reader friendly. The book consists of very long chapters which are not organised under any subheadings that would support the reader to follow his train of thought. Indeed he often jumps from one idea to another in a rather disorganised manner. There is a theme that he comes back to throughout his book--that of Apollonian order versus Dionysian diversity. However, he harps on this theme so often that the idea quickly loses its initial freshness to the all, interesting items though rather disorganised.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Botany of Desire review []  2020-1-19 22:42

    A story of four plants and four human motivations, Pollan draws them together with wit. I consumed this book in a short time, taking to work to read in my spare moments. I don't often obtain wrapped up so deeply in books, but this one grabbed me. There are source citations for a amazing a lot of of his assertions, which was also fantastic. If you are interested in evolution, plants, human nature, marijuana, flowers, industrial food, organic gardening; there will be something to carry you through this story and speak to your interest. The writing is engaging and flows with ease from one topic to the next. It refers back to previous chapters and thoughts expressed, without wandering aimlessly in thought.A amazing small read that will provoke thought and discussion. It will leave you wanting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Botany of Desire review []  2020-1-19 22:42

    Don’t obtain me wrong, I love Michael Pollan’s work. Especially his writing style, which takes full flight here: the method he interweaves stories, facts and speculation, all the while using only the most masterfully crafted sentences. And like his later masterpieces, you cannot come away from it without some fresh ideas about the plants we consume. What bothers me is that the central conceit underlying this work here. He uses the apple, tulip, marijuana and potato plants to illustrate his theory that they have coevolved with our desires for sweetness, beauty, intoxication and order, respectively. Problem is, this theory seems to be pulled out of thin air, perhaps in the haze from the marijuana he has gardened. He generously offers to remove our blinders of anthropocentrism to reveal how these wily plants have evolved to cultivate us as their caretakers. By ignoring the fact that their traits were all deliberately selected from nature by our preexisting desires, his concept of coevolution seems not just ironic, but ridiculous. While waxing philosophic on the beauty of tulips, he even goes to far as to suggest he has discovered the meaning of life. If that’s not breathless enough for you, his relentless fascination with metaphor gets to be a bit much. The word itself seems to appear on every second page. It’s as if he is honing his writing skills here, waiting for them to collide with the topic of nutrition that will create his career later. Have fun those books first, and unlike me, don’t go back to this one expecting more of the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Botany of Desire review []  2020-1-19 22:42

    - this book is split into 4 parts, and each examines a unique relationship between a plant and the human race:- tulips and the pursuit of beauty, apples and the pursuit of sweetness, marijuana and the pursuit of intoxication, and potatoes and the pursuit of a staple crop- pollan moves from his experiences as a casual gardener, an intent breeder, an accidental discoverer, as an observer, a reader, a researcher to info he uncovered in histories, annals and journals seamlessly; in other words, he can tell you about his afternoon spent tending his tulip patch and the Dutch tulip mania in one continuous, endlessly entertaining flow- the set up of the book is concise and well considered- pollan's writing style is approachably anecdotal, but the book is in fact backed up with a lot of science- for people who search his views on what to eat "political" or antagonizing, please still give this book a chance. I know vegans have used his other works to preach, and it place me off reading Pollan for a long time... but I am glad I gave this book a chance

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Botany of Desire review []  2020-1-19 22:42

    This is a book that makes you think not just about meal but about the nature of mankind, the power of what we call Nature and the element of chaos or unpredictability that drives the results in the course of human affairs. This was a very informative book that challenges me to look at how we fit into the overall pattern of living things on this planet. Well written, intimate and with a beguiling understated self depreciating wit the book was a pleasure and satisfied page turner. It should be as well for anyone with a amazing sense of curiosity about such things. Gave it to my daughter for her birthday when I saw that she was actually interested (for once) in one of the nerdy books I am always reading. She loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Botany of Desire review []  2020-1-19 22:42

    This is truly one of the most interesting books I've ever read about a topic I'd never before thought much about -- our relationship with the plants that feed us and create out lives possible and enjoyable. On top of that, it's very well written and frequently quite amusing. Use Amazon's "Look Inside" feature and see for yourself what an perfect read this book is.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Botany of Desire review []  2020-1-19 22:42

    If it weren't flawed by what is at times 101 level superficial background knowledge (i.e. China roses were not the first repeat blooming roses to enter Europe, and a lot of species repeat); sly political advocacy that takes advantage of the bond he builds with his readers; his tendency to belittle people who disagree with him to create himself look more clever than he really is by false contrast; his banal, annoying college freshman-like reiteration of Nietzsche and Apollo versus Dionysus; and his unreliability as a narrator (he claims to dislike pot, which he later has to acknowledge is not exactly true...a dishonest rhetorical trick to test to persuade others to his side)....if it weren't for those things this would be a excellent book. As one reviewer called it, a pastoral poem for our age on par with Virgil. Too poor Pollan didn't have an editor willing to do the right thing and chop this down by vertheless, this is a amazing read though you can definitely skim some parts as he says the same things over and over, adding nothing new.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Botany of Desire review []  2020-1-19 22:42

    I've been a fan of Michael Pollan since I read the Omnivore's Dilemma in college. He doesn't disappoint here. His exploration into the history of the apple, tulip, potato, and cannabis is fascinating and well-written. Of all the chapters, the apple and the potato were my favorite. The thought of a potato that creates its own pesticides is wonderful AND incredibly scary. It is a bit meandering at times, and as one of his earlier books, it's not as riveting as his later works. But it's still very good.I should add that I listened to the audiobook ver narrated by Scott Brick while reading. The narration was perfect and really added to the experience. If your reading time is limited, I would recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Botany of Desire review []  2020-1-19 22:42

    This book isn't what i was expecting based on the title and brief description. The title should be something like: "Four plants and their influence on human culture and behavior." The book does describe some botany (which is very interesting), but in no method is that the majority of the book. Most of the book is about human behavior and how it has been influenced by plants. For example, in the marijuana section, Pollan talk A LOT about the experience of getting high and why people wish to obtain high. He talks about consciousness and some of the chemical means of altering it (talking of course about THC, but also other chemicals). As another example, in the apple section he talks A LOT about Johnny Appleseed (probably the majority of the section). In the tulip section, he talks about tulipomania (a very interesting time in the 1700's in the Netherlands revolving around tulip fervor there and an economic bubble and crash of the tulip trade). All of these were interesting in the own right, and perhaps worth the read. It just wasn't what I was expecting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desirous Wallpaper review [App]  2020-1-21 13:38

    This application is scam 1st thing it asks for is what ads to post you, 2nd thing is telling you go pro(pay up).. It includes no 3d wallpapers tho the thing it was advertised for.. And it crashes all the time with msg that this application is already licensed under another name soo this is probably pirated app.. My advice.. STAY AWAY

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desirous Wallpaper review [App]  2020-1-21 13:38

    This is my first time to install.. but i wanna test and see .. Tnx

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desirous Wallpaper review [App]  2020-1-21 13:38

    Nice and creative

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desirous Wallpaper review [App]  2020-1-21 13:38

    Waste of time

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desirous Wallpaper review [App]  2020-1-21 13:38

    So far so amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desirous Wallpaper review [App]  2020-1-21 13:38

    So poor no 3d photos and doesn't allow you choose any picture it just kicks you out of the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desirous Wallpaper review [App]  2020-1-21 13:38

    Its fun beutiful walpapper free its a dream come real i always wanted amazing walpapper but it cost cash this its free absulutly awesome im speachless of how amazing it is 💝

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desirous Wallpaper review [App]  2020-1-21 13:38

    I love this application so much 😆😁

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desirous Wallpaper review [App]  2020-1-21 13:38

    Hi hh

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desirous Wallpaper review [App]  2020-1-21 13:38

    Ok

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desirous Wallpaper review [App]  2020-1-21 13:38

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desirous Wallpaper review [App]  2020-1-21 13:38

    Cool wallpapers

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desirous Wallpaper review [App]  2020-1-21 13:38

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Desirous Wallpaper review [App]  2020-1-21 13:38

    DONT YOU DARE DOWNLOAD THIS SCAM,IT REGISTERED ME TO AN SERVICES THAT I SHOULD PAY A LARGE AMOUNT EVERY WEEK,I WILL PROSECUTE IF NECESSARY!!!

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter