Read untold stories of old currituck duck clubs reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all untold stories of old currituck duck clubs reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Old Mechanic: stories of an old motorcycle mechanic []  2019-12-23 20:20

    I haven't finished it quite yet, but love it so far. Its a amazing book with a really amazing story line. It is set in Australia.

    0  


    Add your opinion on untold stories of old currituck duck clubs or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Old Mechanic: stories of an old motorcycle mechanic []  2019-12-23 20:20

    This is one of those books where I was sad that it ended. The author seems to know a amazing about old English bikes and there are tidbits of info about the bikes throughout the book. I own and maintain a 1968 BSA 441 Victor and have had a lot of Triumph motorcycles in the past. Most of his insights are spot on. This is the powerful part of the e weakness is the writing and story telling. It seemed like this might be his first book. Having said that, I still enjoyed reading it very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Old Mechanic: stories of an old motorcycle mechanic []  2019-12-23 20:20

    Okay. I liked the characters and I like old bikes, but something was missing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Old Mechanic: stories of an old motorcycle mechanic []  2019-12-23 20:20

    Yes an enjoyable light hearted read. I did the next offering by this author and think that the next story is just a small better as its more detailled. Saying that however, I am glad that I bought it as it was interesting,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Old Mechanic: stories of an old motorcycle mechanic []  2019-12-23 20:20

    This was kind of an interesting story. Not very informative regarding the info that I was looking for, but it's always fun reading about searching for the Holy Grail in primitive MC collecting. There is much that can be learned regarding restoration of classic rides.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Old Mechanic: stories of an old motorcycle mechanic []  2019-12-23 20:20

    I mistakenly thought this book was non-fiction. A few pages in I realized it was fiction but it did not detract from my enjoyment. If you are expecting a novel with depth and complicated characters this is not the book for you. Instead, Uren gives us a light read about a wise old mechanic starting to pass the torch to a younger protege. I would suggest the reader have at least a moderate interest in old bikes and their workings to really appreciate this book. It could be argued that it is a how-to manual of bike repair woven with a fictional story about two likable characters. I certainly learned a lot about vintage bike repair from reading it and it was delivered in a method that created it is volume is suitable for all ages and I think would be particularly liked by young adults with an interest in old motorcycles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Old Mechanic: stories of an old motorcycle mechanic []  2019-12-23 20:20

    A amazing read! A amazing mix of talking bikes, relationships. Both of the books by Peter have been a joy to read. He makes feel like your right at the with them. To read of the love and passion for relationships and to have the joy and pride in the work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Old Mechanic: stories of an old motorcycle mechanic []  2019-12-23 20:20

    I enjoyed reading this book. It's enough to say it was a fun read. Well worth the money, and time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Old Mechanic: stories of an old motorcycle mechanic []  2019-12-23 20:20

    A warm story about life, companionship, and old motorcycles. A very enjoyable read, reminds me a bit of Alexander McCall Smith.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Old Mechanic: stories of an old motorcycle mechanic []  2019-12-23 20:20

    I have an old triumph, norton and matchless and enjoyed the method the old bikes and mechanical knowledge were woven into the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jump! (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2019-12-23 20:8

    Of the 3 that are available from this Amazon Original Stories collection ...this one in my humble opinion is the best. It will keep your interest and you will learn something ... I even wished for more .. they are all very short and sweet. I have fun the narrators voice, huge time: Amy McFadden ... has a amazing voice, really adds to the piece. must listen for sure!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jump! (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2019-12-23 20:8

    This could have been just an ordinary article on an often overlooked component of aviation history. For me, the author's prose was delicious, taking something potentially mundane and molding it into something touching and irresistibly human.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail of Ted Bundy: Digging Up The Untold Stories []  2020-1-15 21:6

    A summary of this book:Read my other book, The Bundy Murders (Which I'm going to mention it about 50+ times throughout this book.)Every put that Bundy committed crimes, I visited, and they beautiful much look the same (nearly every zone description).I wrote another book called The Bundy Murders. Did I mention that already? Well, just in case you didn't know, I wrote another book called The Bundy Murders.I took images of places, but they aren't included here - I just wish you to know that pictures were the end of each chapter are just laughable transitions ("But then, something super not amazing happened.")Overall, this book was a complete waste of two hours of my life. It felt like reading a transcript of a live podcast with absolutely no logical flow. In addition, it was a shameless, redundant plug for the author's previous book, which as another reviewer stated, the author mentioned at least 46 times. Don't waste your - Stranger Beside Me by Ann : I wrote The Bundy Murders (my previous book, called "The Bundy Murders")

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail of Ted Bundy: Digging Up The Untold Stories []  2020-1-15 21:6

    This book Includes fresh info about the case, and sheds fresh light on the murders. Bundy became a successful assassin through meticulous planning and execution. He operated in at least 7 States from 1974 through 1975 and then again in 1978. He managed to slay 30 women but that number may well exceed 50 as there are murders Bundy himself refused to talk about. This book is not another biography but a deeper look into his crimes across different states and it includes fresh and interesting information. The book includes testimony of those who knew Bundy from mates of the victims and others involved with his story. Kevin Sullivan - "We owe the future generations to record now those voices still out there who are willing to talk'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jump! (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2019-12-23 20:8

    The lesser-heard tales of a German millionaire and a French conman, an American stuntman and a German tailor, and an ambitious American dancer and her imitators, this collection moves swiftly and smoothly through the turn of the century, an era when craft is in the science and art is in the this story, we learn about a rather hopeless tailor turned inventor and a stuntman and building climber turned living try dummy. I was familiar with the tailor's tale (and the bananas footage of him) but the fresh info here are fascinating, and the other story was completely fresh to me. Both tragic tales are written in a method that's a liiiiiitle too fanciful, purple, and dramatic, but given how terribly wrong their lives end up, perhaps this is only fitting, a final beautiful but pitying eulogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jump! (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2019-12-23 20:8

    This reads quickly — I zipped through it in a sitting — and yet it does a remarkable job of getting inside the minds of these parachute pioneers. The unearthed story of “The Human Fly” jumping from the Statue of Liberty feels like it could be a movie. You also obtain a vivid impression of the extreme dangers of early aviation. Engber writes: “One got the sense that man had launched himself into the heavens and only then remembered that he couldn’t float.” The whole thing created my palms sweat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail of Ted Bundy: Digging Up The Untold Stories []  2020-1-15 21:6

    I have now read all three books on Bundy by Kevin Sullivan. It was very amazing to have these happenings documented and see some of the original police reports to better understand the case of the time. To interview some of the people involved before they depart this earth was also important. I was 7 living in Tallahassee when the maniac swept through Tallahassee and (both my parents were involved at the university) and then he left Kim Leach only 15 mins from my grandparent's home Things were never the same in our town or the country for that matter. I still have so a lot of questions but I learned fresh things from all three of Sullivan's books, I was actually not ready for either book to end. I do hope that someone can obtain to the bottom of the unknown hitchhiker victims. But likely too much time has passed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail of Ted Bundy: Digging Up The Untold Stories []  2020-1-15 21:6

    I read Mr Sullivan's The Trail of Ted Bundy in a day and I was utterly disappointed. The book felt like a 155 page ad for Mr Sullivan's other Ted Bundy book; although I'm delighted he's written other books I don't need to be reminded of this other and better book while I'm reading this one. While overall the book is a amazing read, the constant quotes from his other Bundy book, his constant references to something he already covered in his other Bundy book and the few times he stated "I already covered that in my other Bundy book and won't repeat that info here" became exhausting and frustrating for me. The only other time I was this disappointed was when I read Polly Nelson's "Defending the Devil", where she repeats over and over about this crush she had on a fellow lawyer - a possibly valid point but inappropriate to the story of Ted Bundy that she was promising to tell. Overall this book is nothing more than an ad to his other book; and thus I feel I wasted my buying this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail of Ted Bundy: Digging Up The Untold Stories []  2020-1-15 21:6

    Amazing book writer by an outstanding writer. All facts were verified that is in this book the author Kevin Sullivan did an perfect job. In all his books he always checks his fact to be accurate. I recommend you read all his books and go on Facebook, to obtain facts pictures etc. The Bundy Discussion you will have fun it. Kevin Sullivan and I are on it , you can ask questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jump! (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2019-12-23 20:8

    I liked it. it was interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jump! (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2019-12-23 20:8

    I can't believe I never heard about this chapter of history before. What an audacious moment in time. The images of these old-timey parachuters are unbelievable. I can't wait to read more of these historic inventions stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail of Ted Bundy: Digging Up The Untold Stories []  2020-1-15 21:6

    If you haven't read any other books about Bundy, do NOT start here. The info provided is very specific and detailed. To truly appreciate the contents of this short companion piece to the author's earlier book, you must go back to books like The Stranger Beside Me, by the late Ann Rule, who knew Bundy personally, I would also highly recommend The Phantom Prince: My Life With Ted Bundy, by Elizabeth Kendall (known as Liz). It is no longer in print, but there are copies still available through personal sellers here on Amazon. She and Bundy for all intents and purposes virtually lived together throughout his killing spree in Washington State and they were still involved during his time in Utah. Through her eyes you will see the public/private side of Bundy that he wanted to portray. He was manipulative, always in control of the relationship, and he lived off of her money. At the same time he was killing, he was playing with Liz's young daughter and treating their threesome like a family, cooking for them, taking Liz on an expensive long weekend in Canada, charming the socks off of her parents, proposing marriage and then backing out time after time. He depended on women his entire life, and he hated women as much as he required them. Liz Kendall went to the police because she was scared that the man she loved and wanted desperately to marry was a serial killer. She called Utah authorities as well, when he moved to Salt Lake to attend law school and she started reading and hearing about the same kinds of missing women stories that she read about in Washington. I think for a beginner and for the informed, her book completes the entire picture. I apologize for rhapsodizing Ms, Kendall's book, but I really feel very strongly that her book, and Ms. Rule's book are perfect depictions of the times and of Ted, painting the general picture. I believe you need those books under your belt so that highly detailed books like this one (and the original that this one references) will be more easily understood, and the wonderful amount of detail this writer has accumulated through interviews with witnesses, detectives and investigators, transcripts of psychological testing in Utah, and transcripts of meetings with Bundy on death row shortly before his death warrant was to be affected, in Stark, Florida, fill in so a lot of info and gaps for people who have studied this most well known serial assassin in America. The transcripts of those tapes, largely known as "The Confession Interviews", brings about as real of a reckoning as it is possible to obtain from a sociopath. He finally began to confess because his appellate process had run its course in Florida. He wanted to confess to his other murders in Utah, Colorado, Idaho, Washington State and Oregon, perhaps California as well. All of the investigators from these states believe the victim count to be much higher. After his death, one of his lawyers broke silence and in an interview stated that Bundy told him about 100 and he believed him. Nevertheless, Ted only did these confessions to test to arrange a with any of these other states' Governors or Atty Generals to stop his execution. Obviously that didn't work, but in this book you can read quite a amazing sample of what he said to state and federal investigators in the latest couple weeks of his e author talks about visiting a lot of of the locations where Bundy lived and where he stayed along his method to Florida, as well as where he most likely laid in wait for his intended victims. I confess that at this late date, with a lot of of these locations no longer existing, the author spends too much time describing them. He also tends to drift into strange observations of his own, such as "feeling leftover negative energy" near a particular house, and how he felt when standing in the "exact" locations where Ted picked out and grabbed two coeds at Lake Sammamish in one day in Washington State. The author uses words like monster, evil, crazed. All the adjectives you expect to see in thriller fiction books, or and poorly written real crime books. I'm not sure if he's just using these words to test to up the emotional ante, or what, but again it seems odd like the trips to all the "monuments" whether they were houses, campuses, resorts, or a beach. It just seemed to me to be very counterproductive to the wealth of factual info versus private observations and feelings. There are also so a lot of references to his first book about Bundy, along with teasers in the form of, "here's a small of the whole that's in my original Bundy book", that frankly I found to be not only distracting, but annoying in a way, like a door to door salesman or an infomercial. The kind that say, "But wait! There's more!" It was very off-putting to me. Those private memories of locations visited and how he felt when he was there, and the pushing of his more expensive original book that has been re-released before when fresh info has been uncovered, are the reasons I gave this 4 stars. If you are a stickler for well edited and proofread material, this one will also obtain under your skin a small bit, but then again I've been seeing a lot of that in Kindle Books, some that I've already read a few times in hardback are really sloppy in vertheless, the original book and this companion piece are crammed with specific witness accounts, transcripts of letters written by Bundy, investigators' reports, psych evals, hair and trace evidence, and parts of the confession transcripts. Once you are familiar with the general story as it is laid out in the earliest books about Ted Bundy, if you wish to really obtain a better handle on the timing of events, and answers to a lot of the questions left hanging for so a lot of years, here is your go to author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail of Ted Bundy: Digging Up The Untold Stories []  2020-1-15 21:6

    A lot has been written on Bundy so it is not surprising that this book includes small fresh information. Still, for those determined to read everything, the book is a fast and pleasant read and a few interesting details. Certainly worth a look.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jump! (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2019-12-23 20:8

    In an era where most people were pushing the boundary up, a few people decided to go downDaniel Engber gives us a quick, read-in-one-sitting tale talking about people in the early 1900s who experimented with parachutes and wing sailing.Engber notes that this was a time of scientific exploration, when most of the inventors were trying to figure out ways to go up - through planes, Zeppelins, and of course - t a few people chose to go the other ey jumped from the Statue of Liberty and the Eiffel Tower.And regardless of what happened after, they each claimed their little part of history.Engber tells the tale well, and gets to the point. This is a little time-investment, true payoff history book. It's great, and I recommend both the book and the series to everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jump! (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2019-12-23 20:8

    This book was a amazing read, but I would have liked to hear more about the history of these jumpers. However, maybe these stories were the only interesting ones and a book any larger would have become dull. I really did like this one and it did excite me for more of the author's works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail of Ted Bundy: Digging Up The Untold Stories []  2020-1-15 21:6

    First and foremost, I highly recommend that you and read "The Bundy Murders" by Kevin Sullivan, before reading The Trail of Ted is "extension" is a nice tie of the bow short that delves even further into the mind of Ted Bundy, how others viewed him before his secrets were exposed, and much more.I have read almost every book about Ted Bundy. In my humble opinion, "The Bundy Murders", is the best and most informative book about Bundy out there, so I wasn't surprised that I equally enjoyed reading more previously unreleased info about him in this book.Hopefully, Mr. Sullivan will write more real crime books in the near future!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail of Ted Bundy: Digging Up The Untold Stories []  2020-1-15 21:6

    Amazing book to add fascinating extra info about Ted Bundy and his victims. People who aren't familiar with Bundy should read The Bundy Murders by Kevin Sullivan first but anyone who knows about Bundy already will understand everything in this book. I myself have been fascinated by the Ted Bundy case for close to 30 years and I really enjoyed reading the series of 4 (soon to be 5) books about the case written by Kevin Sullivan. He's a rare combination of a talented writer and gifted researcher and reading his books I have learned a lot more about Ted Bundy. I very highly recommend his books to anyone interested in the Bundy case

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Trail of Ted Bundy: Digging Up The Untold Stories []  2020-1-15 21:6

    As someone who enthusiastically recommends Kevin Sullivan's first Bundy book to all my real crime friends, I was worried when he brought out this companion book to his first, but it is incredibly interesting! If you are interested in what wasn't said in the other book, this one is definitely for you. You will love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jump! (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2019-12-23 20:8

    This was the fascinating story of two early century daredevils, testing early forms of parachutes in the turn of the century. One brave German jumping from the Eiffel Turret in France and an American jumping from buildings and planes in the US. While certain facts are known, the author takes poetic license with some of the imagined recollections. An entertaining read. I read this book using immersion reading while listening to the audiobook. Amy McFadden's narration was brilliant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jump! (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2019-12-23 20:8

    This is the story of early attempts to invent a working parachute and the story of a couple of the men in involved in this quest. It is a very short book, so if can be read in one sitting, so I would recommend it if you wish to know a small about parachutes and the men who were brave enough to risk their lives in trying to excellent it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Feet Under: Untold stories of homelessness in London []  2020-1-29 1:14

    First my commendations to the author of Four Feet Under. What I like most about Four Feet Under is that it is not some stupid book filled with graphs and analysis of what homeless people say written by a psychologist or other "caring" professional. Four Feet Under is filled with homeless voices speaking strongly without reservation for themselves. The author very carefully frames the beginning and background of every encounter with a homeless person but, takes amazing care to allow homeless people speak for e author asks sensitive questions and builds a rapport with the homeless people she listens to. What is most refreshing is the author is so naturally affirming of the dignity of each homeless person she interviews without coming off like a preachy social justice warrior. The author of Four Feet Under seems to know that the most strong narrative is the voices of the homeless themselves as they share their intimate details. The author is not forcing an socialist agenda down your throat, she merely presents the real gut wrenching facts of homelessness in the words of those actually experiencing life on the e road homeless are at once the most obvious and often the most destitute and vulnerable homeless. The road homeless are often those who will be struggling with abuse of drugs or drink and thus are in most dire need of our understanding and compassion. For me the most compelling story was that of the lovely Irish chap who lost his flat and fell on road homelessness because; he invited a angry woman to stay with him. This man required so small to obtain back into life. All he required was an address, a put to obtain and stay clean, a few hundred pound to obtain his bus drivers licenses in and he'd be back to living safe indoors. In that instance I realized just how hard it is to obtain back into housing once you are road homeless.What I just shared is not an isolated story in this book. Four Feet Under is full of very moving private accounts of the nuts and bolts of understanding homelessness from amazing people experiencing homelessness on London Streets. I live in the USA and we have homelessness on the same level. Unfortunately most of the books about USA homelessness are long stupid boring tomes that analyze homelessness. I haven't found a book like Four Feet Under that lets homeless people share their own stories without 15 pages of associated scholarly graphs and ur Feet Under is the true in that it shows the naked face of homelessness. Oh and for me I enjoyed reading the special method British Citizens talk. Four Feet Under does define some of the more obscure special UK idioms but for the most part it lets the homeless UK person relate their story in their own words. Four Feet Under is simply the best book on the homeless experience I have ever read which is why my review is so long. This book is brilliant, smashing and the author is lovely. I give to the author and every person featured in Four Feet Under my heart felt thanks for taking the time to share your priceless homeless experiences. You all created me laugh, cry and more but most of all you created me think and rethink my attitudes about road homelessness and for that, this book is worth far more than its asking price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Feet Under: Untold stories of homelessness in London []  2020-1-29 1:14

    Everyone should read this book because of its truth and the learning for the reader. Words fail me except to say that it is breathtaking. The homeless people in huge cities of wealth and privilege are PEOPLE with individual lives and stories. This book is brilliant and Tam, the author, is a woman of amazing talent and courage. I cried, hoping for a magic wand with which to respond the hopes and prayers of each person she profiled...each voice Tam brought to me. With the comfort and riches of our safe lives goes amazing responsibility. Read this book and give it to everybody you know. Place everything into perspective!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lovecraft's Untold Stories [App]  2019-10-5 21:42

    The ver is perfect, that one dosen't work at all on my samsung s9 edge. After the intro cinematin the screen just stay pitch black and the menu don't appear

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dominator in the Shadows: more stories of an old motorcycle mechanic (The Old Mechanic Book 2) []  2019-12-23 20:20

    I enjoyed reading the first book in this series very much, I was very impressed with the author's knowledge of vintage British motorcycle's. I enjoyed reading about the adventures of the Old Mechanic and his cohorts in the second book as well until romance crept into the story. Not what I would expect to search in a book written about old motorcycles and the people that repair them. I did however the third book in this series, but have not read it as of yet.I can only hope the story in book 3 has returned to the exploits of the old mechanic and his helpers in repairing and discussing old English iron, and possibly a few other countries examples of fine classic e above is just an opinion, if I were to speak to the author I would thank him for the stories, and ask him to continue writing in this genre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dominator in the Shadows: more stories of an old motorcycle mechanic (The Old Mechanic Book 2) []  2019-12-23 20:20

    I bought this book because a long time ago I owned a Norton Atlas. This story is about an old mechanic and his everyday life as he goes about maintaining and restoring old motorcycles while he is assisted by two apprentice mechanics. In the process of acquiring his dream bike, the old mechanic feeds out small tid-bits of bike maintenance, old bikes, the everyday interaction between him and the apprentices, and so on. I just liked the tempo and simple going nature of this story along with some sound tip about life and bikes, going to have to read book #1.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dominator in the Shadows: more stories of an old motorcycle mechanic (The Old Mechanic Book 2) []  2019-12-23 20:20

    Another amazing chapter in the story. Love all the bike references and also the life lessons he teaches to those around him. Want there was another installment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classic Bike Dreaming: yet more stories of an old motorcycle mechanic (The Old Mechanic Book 4) []  2019-12-23 20:20

    Love the characters and the evolving story. This is a amazing series of books and I have enjoyed every one. More please Mr Uren

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dominator in the Shadows: more stories of an old motorcycle mechanic (The Old Mechanic Book 2) []  2019-12-23 20:20

    After reading the first in this series I was compelled to the second and I'm glad I did. Over the past two years my own love of old English bikes has grown exponentially and this brief series of books panders to all of the things that create the heart sing for those of us who adore them.Any "biker" can appreciate the adulation and respect that these characters demonstrate for the machines mentioned within these pages. As an added bonus, the author is quite knowledgable about bikes and honestly I leaned a thing or two while reading the story that I look forward to attempting in my own home e story itself unfolds at an even pace and never waivers from that tempo. Some wisdom and life lessons are revealed through the course of the novel as the main character, George, imparts his experience on his younger co-workers. While nothing earth shattering or revolutionary takes put I was always left with the feeling of being gently tutored by an older e abrupt ending to threw me off but overall I have to say that I found this entire work truly endearing. I'd love for there to be a third installment. I've grown attached to the characters and I envy the seemingly simple, earnest lives they live. They seem like they'd be amazing folks to hang out with, talk bikes and learn a thing or two.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dominator in the Shadows: more stories of an old motorcycle mechanic (The Old Mechanic Book 2) []  2019-12-23 20:20

    If you ride motorcycles, especially older ones, you will like this book. This is one of at least 3 books with the same characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classic Bike Dreaming: yet more stories of an old motorcycle mechanic (The Old Mechanic Book 4) []  2019-12-23 20:20

    I hope that Mr. Uren keeps writing these sort of novels as i`ll hold buying them. Amazing on you Peter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dominator in the Shadows: more stories of an old motorcycle mechanic (The Old Mechanic Book 2) []  2019-12-23 20:20

    I read the first book "The old mechanic" and liked it. This second book is better than the first. The only issue was, it was so amazing I finished it in two sittings!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classic Bike Dreaming: yet more stories of an old motorcycle mechanic (The Old Mechanic Book 4) []  2019-12-23 20:20

    I enjoyed the first three books in this series. When the author wrote about classic bikes and the workshop everyday workload he spoke with obvious knowledge and passion. In this fourth book he has chosen to stand on his soap box and talk about the worthy topic of Aboriginal rights but has severely denigrated the actions of police, prison staff and even the general population. I understand that the author has relied on the tip of third parties but he should have checked his facts and not included their info as gospel in his book. One glaring falsehood he has included is that visitors to a prison may be strip searched. Utter rubbish Mr Uren. To state that Police Officers and prison staff treat Aboriginal people as you describe in this book is probably something you wish to believe but doesn't have any basis in truth. People in law enforcement are very professional and treat people as they search them without some deep seated racial hatred as you gleefully portray them. I have lived in western Fresh South Wales for over ten years and have never heard about Aboriginal people being refused service from any local shop. The over representation of indigenous people in prison compared to the rest of population is reported and has been the topic of a lot of government inquiries and studies. There has never been any suggestion from any of the findings that the courts have been motivated to lock up anyone on the basis of their cultural background. In this book you have solved this issue by explaining that choices and education are the easy answers to this major social issue. Why police in particular and the white population in general had to be attacked to tell the story is either laziness or left leaning nonsense. I hope you continue to write about classic bikes and the people who ride and maintain them. I also hope you're able to expand your books to contain the things which create Australia such a amazing country while doing the important research and enquiries to ascertain your facts and case you're wondering I can trace my own Aboriginal heritage back to Tasmania where my latest known ancestor was so severely beaten that he fled to Victoria and subsequently died.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dominator in the Shadows: more stories of an old motorcycle mechanic (The Old Mechanic Book 2) []  2019-12-23 20:20

    Continues where the "Old Mechanic" left off. A amazing read especially if you like old British motorcycles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classic Bike Dreaming: yet more stories of an old motorcycle mechanic (The Old Mechanic Book 4) []  2019-12-23 20:20

    Uren keeps getting better. It was a pleasure to spend a small more time with the old mechanic and his people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classic Bike Dreaming: yet more stories of an old motorcycle mechanic (The Old Mechanic Book 4) []  2019-12-23 20:20

    not enough cycle fixing in this one. rushed epilogue

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dominator in the Shadows: more stories of an old motorcycle mechanic (The Old Mechanic Book 2) []  2019-12-23 20:20

    As I am close to 80 and still have 3 bikes,this was a truly fine read for me. I can only hope that Mr. Then keeps on writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Lights and In the Dark: Untold Stories of Women’s Soccer []  2020-1-7 19:2

    I love soccer. I am still playing (55 years old) & am a season ticker holder of my home team. I have been following my squad since my sixth birthday. Nevertheless, I have always been skeptical of women soccer (never watched a single match). Therefore, I was not sure, if I like the verdict: yes I like it better than expected. The stories are fun to read & shows the issues of women soccer. Especially the first story was very strong & tragic. Nevertheless, the author always sided with the players & never questioned their life choices (sorry to go to a Eastern European country is more than only naive in the first place).I also hate politics within sports. I am sitting beside a nice gentlemen, when I am watching my home team. We both focus on our squad during the 90 minutes. We both love our club. I do not know his political view, I do not know if he is married, hell I do not even know his name. Nevertheless, we have a amazing time, because we bond on the team. The author's admiration for Portland's fans (especially their politics) is a nuisance. The focus on has nothing to do with football & makes woman football not more vertheless, most of the stories are amazing & the sacrifise of those women are remarkable. Thank you for the book, Mrs Gwendolyn Oxenham!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Lights and In the Dark: Untold Stories of Women’s Soccer []  2020-1-7 19:2

    You don't need to care about women's soccer at all to have fun this book. The vignettes about life as a pro in the infant stages of a sport are brilliant even if you don't care about what happens on the field. There is culture here, character journeys and disappointments, labors of love and heartbreaks. Mostly, it captures a sport that's not yet fully commodified, commercialized, and oversaturated.Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diamond Formula (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-16 3:6

    This was an interesting, quick, simple read about a man who conned some wise men who should have been able to escape his scheme. There are lessons learned in this story that are every bit as necessary today, as at the turn of the century, a hundred years the way, I recommend downloading and listening to the professionally narrated Audible version.. Excellent for a commute to work and back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diamond Formula (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-16 3:6

    This was my favorite of the "Belle Epoch" series as a humble man claims to have made man-made diamonds and the potentially catastrophic effects such a talent would have on the diamond industry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Electricity Fairy (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-26 23:11

    This short book is one of the three Inventions Amazon originals series books out this month. I greatly enjoyed the Jump book. This book wasn't as interesting for me. A amazing part of it spends time describing her dance style. After a while it gets boring. While the lady was an artiste, she was adamantly opposed to efforts to place her performances on the media of film. Copycats filled that bill for Edison. The sections on Thomas Edison and Marie Cutie were more interesting for me. Amy McFadden was perfect on the narration, but I felt it could've been trimmed a bit for the redundant dance descriptions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Electricity Fairy (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-26 23:11

    Ms. Mar creates a breathtaking photo from the turning point of the 20th century. Bringing to life the awesome creativity of Loïe Fuller and the myriad synchronicities between the sciences and arts at the fin de sciecle; evoking an adrenaline rush one seldom encounters in "dry" history. The accompanying images are priceless to the narrative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why They Marched: Untold Stories of the Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote []  2020-1-19 23:21

    This will be my Christmas bonus book for all my female friends. It consists of chapters about individual movers and shakers of the suffrage movement, the well known, the small known and the unknown until this book. It also tells the accompanying political atmosphere and sometimes quirky situations these brave and clever souls found themselves in as they fought for the women's right to vote. Very informative and truly entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Partition Voices: Untold British Stories []  2020-2-6 19:25

    Nice Book Tells About The forgotton Times

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Partition Voices: Untold British Stories []  2020-2-6 19:25

    Very moving collection of real stories of those affected by the 1947 partition of the Subcontinent. There are stories here of all the religious groups affected and what becomes truly clear from these stories is that we humans are capable of not good cruelty and also awesome kindness and humanity. Thank you, Ms. Puri, for your very moving collection about a very necessary and not good 20th century event.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Electricity Fairy (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-26 23:11

    The descriptions in this book were so beautifully detailed they made attractive photos in the mind despite all pictures being in black and white. I can’t even imagine how breathtaking it must have been to see this woman perform in person. I can’t believe that she had a relationship with the Curies and how even Edison wanted to photograph her. She was so popular during her time, it’s crazy to have never heard her name. I loved how she created her own destiny and how she always fought to be the best and fought for her own identity. She was protective of her art.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Electricity Fairy (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-26 23:11

    I am always fascinated to learn more about life in earlier eras. This book gave a concise and thoughtful look at some of the overlooked aspects of the turn of the latest century. The author did a very amazing job a pointing out how people so science as magic and then how science was used In a destructive method during WW1.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diamond Formula (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-16 3:6

    This was an entertaining story of a con man who managed to not only dupe the strong head of De Beers diamonds out of a substantial sum of money, and become the toast of Paris as well. The backgrounds of both are presented, framing how they met and the con was executed. The subsequent is the most interesting part. Even the judge was enthralled. The sheer gumption of the con is impressive. I read this book using immersion reading while listening to the audiobook. The book was interesting, but Amy McFadden's superb narrative stands out and really brings the book alive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diamond Formula (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-16 3:6

    A Quick, Impactful Tale of HistoryAlina Simone gets to the point quickly with this read-in-one-sitting tale, and she might kick off a fresh trend with all time investment on the reader's part, but quite a bit of mone shows the characters here, and then shows what 's difficult to place down, and when you do - it's over.And then you wish more.I highly recommend this book, and have already started the next in the series - Jump! (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Attractive Era collection.I highly recommend this book, and so far I like this series and fresh style as a whole.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Lights and In the Dark: Untold Stories of Women’s Soccer []  2020-1-7 19:2

    This is one of the best books I have read. This is a book about soccer, not just women. It covers various problems facing people daily and how we can take encouragement from athletes who have overcome. Every girl and woman who loves soccer needs to read this. If you wish to go pro you need to read this and see the challenges that face women athletes everyday. The author brings the players to reality and you obtain an intimate sense of players from around the world. I am encouraged and so excited. And the writing is fantastic. The book is well edited and well written. This is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Lights and In the Dark: Untold Stories of Women’s Soccer []  2020-1-7 19:2

    Profoundly excellent. A collection of stories from around the world that will blow you away. As a fan of the USWNT and the NWSL, this book shines a light on the state of the sport today. One of my favorite books of all time. The thing that really struck me was that these women are so often playing not just to compete and win, but to lift the sport in the public conscious - an wonderful burden. They love the game, of course, and more than anything they wish to see the soccer "breakthrough" and gain national recognition. Terrific read for anyone, but especially fans of the most attractive android game on earth.I would read these types of stories forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Lights and In the Dark: Untold Stories of Women’s Soccer []  2020-1-7 19:2

    What I love about this book is that its a book that anyone who has any interest in sports should read. From the fanatics who don't miss a single android game and read every article on their squad to the ones that only watch a android game because their partner or families are fans. This book is particularly eye opening for those that don't know much about women's sports or the NWSL. For those of us that do know quite a bit about women's sports and/or the NWSL, it sadly confirms the stories and rumors we've heard for years. I was fortunate or unfortunate, depending on how you look at it, to briefly work in the NWSL and while my time in the league was short, it was so very eye opening. This book really confirmed a lot of what I heard from players and other staff. After my short time with the league I couldn't even watch the android games anymore because of how depressing most of the league is. But what this book did for me is reminded me why I fell in love with the league and the players. My first ever NWSL android game was a Portland Thorns game. I saw them play the Boston Breakers at Providence Park in the summer of 2014. I hadn't heard of the league or the team, allow alone several of the players and my sister, who is not a sports fan at all and hadn't even been to a game, insisted I go to the match while I was in town. I'm glad she got me tickets and told me to go, the android game was awesome and the Thorns had a mighty victory over the Breakers. I'm a major sports fan and have been to a lot of android games across the numerous professional sports league, but I never had an experience like I did at Providence Park. The energy was electric, you could feel the players passion for the android game while sitting in the stands and the fans were truly out of this world. I am so glad that Gwendolyn touched on the awesome atmosphere that Portland and the Riveters have created. To be able to obtain her perspective on the league and the Thorns was great. And not just that, but to hear the stories of players all over the globe created me appreciate these women even more. My hope is that the NWSL, women's league all around the world, and all women national squads obtain the resources and recognition that they need and deserve. I am currently working on trying to obtain back into professional soccer, specifically working in the NWSL again, despite my horrible experience, because I wish these players to continue to live their dreams without sacrificing everything else in their lives. Those players and future ones hoping to be drafted, play for those of us not amazing enough to play pro, those of us that can't afford to go pro, and for the small girls that dream of making a solid career of playing soccer. Gwendolyn, if you ever write another book on the NWSL or any other professional or semi-professional women's sports league, you can count on me to read your book and to pass it on! Thank you for the wonderful insight!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Lights and In the Dark: Untold Stories of Women’s Soccer []  2020-1-7 19:2

    Oxenham brings us an excellent, well-written book about women's soccer, sharing the stories of a lot of various women who love and play the Attractive Game. She hints her hand to her Thorns fandom, but I appreciated that she closed the book with a chapter focused on soccer supporters, as that is a vital element of the Women's Android game and its growth & sustainability. I recommend this book to sports fans, especially supporters of the men's android game who might not have had the exposure to the grit, dedication, sacrifice, and skill that these women bring to the android game of soccer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden in History: The Untold Stories of Female Revolutionaries and Activists []  2020-1-8 19:14

    This was such a amazing read! Reading about these women heroes who have often been over-looked was eye-opening! I could not place this book down!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diamond Formula (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-16 3:6

    Interesting concept on making artificial diamonds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diamond Formula (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-16 3:6

    I just liked this one. It was really well written and even portrayed like a mystery novel. This whole story could have been a well written short fiction and I would have completely loved it. The author did amazing work at making what could be a slow story into an intriguing and hard to place down one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Electricity Fairy (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-26 23:11

    The lesser-heard tales of a German millionaire and a French conman, an American stuntman and a German tailor, and an ambitious American dancer and her imitators, this collection moves swiftly and smoothly through the turn of the century, an era when craft is in the science and art is in the is story was fantastic. The descriptions of her dances, her set-up, her risky ambitions, it was all so good. I enjoyed all three of the stories in "Inventions," but this one really captured the imagination. If only some of her dances, especially her science-themed ones, could have been properly preserved and seen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Electricity Fairy (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-26 23:11

    I read the other books of this series by the same author, but I just could not obtain into this one. I found the material dull and for some reason I could not follow the meaningfulness of the story. This is one of the few books I have abandoned, which is hard for me to say considering I read the others in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Lights and In the Dark: Untold Stories of Women’s Soccer []  2020-1-7 19:2

    This is a amazing book -- whether or not you're a fan of women's soccer. What we have here is a bunch of stories about the struggles of women to create a living in the minor sport that is women's soccer. Describing women's soccer as "minor" is not derogatory; it's realistic -- and I happen to like the close-up emotions you can have about the sport and its players as contrasted with stories about the distant millionaires who play "major" e most shocking tale here is that of Dani Foxhoven and her season with a mafia-controlled Russian team. This couldbe the plot of a horror film -- and it makes me wonder why anyone in his right mind would wish to collude with the Russians. ;)Another amazing chapter is about the elegant Olympian Allie Long. To train and to create a few dollars, she plays indoor soccer with immigrant men's squads in Brooklyn and Queens, showing up several times a week (in her Lexus) to compete in gritty android games in high school gymnasiums. Most of the spectators are unaware of her exalted status in women's soccer. She is known simply as "la gringa", "la rubia" (Blondie), and "la blanquita" (little white girl). There's also a film plot ere's a amazing chapter on the fiery Afghan refugee and goal scorer, Nadia Nadim. And a long chapter about the plight of women on Christian soccer teams. An perfect read!Smallchief

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Lights and In the Dark: Untold Stories of Women’s Soccer []  2020-1-7 19:2

    Someday when women's football is just football we will look back on these stories of the pioneers aghast at their struggles. Is the Portland environment the future norm? Or just an outlier, a quaint effort to the 22nd century historian? Time will tell, but we live in the now and this book is a unbelievable telling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hidden in History: The Untold Stories of Female Revolutionaries and Activists []  2020-1-8 19:14

    The coolest book written from such an awesome perspective. Hearing about the iconic women in history just keeps you so on your toes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diamond Formula (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-16 3:6

    The Diamond industry is so artificial. The value is so high you can't not invest, think Cold Fusion (a flawed experiment that generated millions in investment). This a short, like a novella mix of necessary Diamond history and one poor investment by the company that Rules them All. What a amazing short read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diamond Formula (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-16 3:6

    This was an interesting fast history of the diamond trade and the subsequent creation of synthetic diamonds. I am glad that the Audible listening track was available for this title as I dont know if I would have finished it without switching to audio book format. I enjoyed it for its historical relevance but lost interest in the presentation of the info a couple times. Still as a from Amazon's inventions collection it was worth the listen!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Electricity Fairy (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-26 23:11

    It's a short book filed with the life of a creative woman. I wished we knew more, but the story is interesting nonetheless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Electricity Fairy (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-26 23:11

    Very intriguing story combining one of early pioneers of modern dance, the early life and inventions of Thomas Edison and the awesome innovative discoveries of Marie Curie. The addition of historic images support to bring the story to life along with Alex Mar's fascinating writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diamond Formula (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-16 3:6

    The lesser-heard tales of a German millionaire and a French conman, an American stuntman and a German tailor, and an ambitious American dancer and her imitators, this collection moves swiftly and smoothly through the turn of the century, an era when craft is in the science and art is in the this section, we learn of the zeal and excitement for advances in science and industry that ended up with a grand con job that went on longer than you'd believe because of the hopes and gambles taken by a wealthy man. That's a wealthy man you'll also have fun learning was conned because, as a turn of the century diamond king, he's beautiful poor too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Diamond Formula (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-16 3:6

    Reads like a novel, but this a historical acc of the birth of artificial gems - and of the de Beers diamond cartel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Lights and In the Dark: Untold Stories of Women’s Soccer []  2020-1-7 19:2

    As a fan of amazing soccer writing, I test and read everything that comes out about my favorite sport. This book was no exception. I loved Oxenham's first book - Finding the Android game - and I'd been looking forward to her follow up for did not disappoint. There are memorable characters here. The homeless soccer players of Liverpool, African women playing in Sweden, Portland, and Russia. A dictatorial, abusive, almost cartoonishly misogynistic Russian coach. The lovable eccentrics of Portland. The clash of religion and sexuality in the American South. The amazing Marta - a sad example of the struggles still faced by women's soccer despite its heavy gains in latest years. Each section created me long for more info about its topic - the tag of unbelievable reportage and perfect writing.I'd recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading about the attractive game. This isn't a book about women's soccer. It's a book about soccer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Under the Lights and In the Dark: Untold Stories of Women’s Soccer []  2020-1-7 19:2

    this was a bonus for a 13 year old girl soccer player who very much enjoys playing the game. she was satisfied with thebook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why They Marched: Untold Stories of the Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote []  2020-1-19 23:21

    The stories of unsung women who fought for women's right to full citizenship are riveting. I hadn't heard of any of the nineteen women Ware writes about. I fear most women in the 21st have lost the sense of how hardwon primary rights for women were.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Electricity Fairy (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-26 23:11

    Fascinating story about the most popular person from Fullersburg Illinois!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Electricity Fairy (Inventions: Untold Stories of the Beautiful Era collection) []  2020-1-26 23:11

    The electricity fairy tell the story of Love Fuller in a light prose, still including vivid descriptions and figurative language that let the reader to form pictures of what is being e story contains the notorious addition T. Edison and the Curie's couple story as they interlink path with a short book easily complete from beginning to end in less than an hour or listen to in audiobook form in about same time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hell on Wheels: An Illustrated History of Outlaw Motorcycle Clubs []  2020-2-7 19:31

    Amazing job of historical timeline and information. Really enjoyed the nuance info and off the cuff stories. Would have liked a better compare and contrast of true MC's versus pretender MC's.Overall it provides a wealth of knowledge to anyone fresh to the MC globe and should be needed reading for future prospects.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hell on Wheels: An Illustrated History of Outlaw Motorcycle Clubs []  2020-2-7 19:31

    Amazing price, amazing book, very interesting, especially the biker funerals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hell on Wheels: An Illustrated History of Outlaw Motorcycle Clubs []  2020-2-7 19:31

    Attractive book, my dad loves it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hell on Wheels: An Illustrated History of Outlaw Motorcycle Clubs []  2020-2-7 19:31

    For anyone who wants to obtain some history of OMG's this is not a poor read , better than mostThe

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hell on Wheels: An Illustrated History of Outlaw Motorcycle Clubs []  2020-2-7 19:31

    This is a amazing history on the motorcycle community and the one percent life. i ripped through this as it is well written and entertaining. Photo's in themselves create the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hell on Wheels: An Illustrated History of Outlaw Motorcycle Clubs []  2020-2-7 19:31

    This book was for my husband and he thought it was a unbelievable book. Being the only Christian Club in the book created him proud.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hell on Wheels: An Illustrated History of Outlaw Motorcycle Clubs []  2020-2-7 19:31

    Bill Hayes has long been recognized as “The historian for the motorcycle culture.” Over the years (40+) Bill, and mates from all over the world, have place together not one, but two publications that share the illustrated history of this special lifestyle. His first publication, “The One-Percenter Encyclopedia” featured almost every 1% club in the world. He gave their history, where they lived and a short, well sometimes not so short, commentary. “The Globe of Outlaw Motorcycle Clubs from abyss ghosts to zombies elite.” A amazing book for reference. With his second book he shares our mentality; the method we think, what our priorities are.“Hell On Wheels”An illustrated history of Outlaw Motorcycle Clubs. By Bill Hayes “The outlaw biker sands apart from the crowd, a beacon of freedom, laughing in the face of authority. While a lot of do everything possible to avoid being marginalized by society, the one-percenter stomps through those margins without fear. Too often he ends up in prison or dead, but the ethos he lives by values freedom over life itself.” This lifestyle demands respect; respect for yourself and respect from others. “If you wish respect, give it.” These people know who and what they are, they demand respect! When Bill Hayes says “illustrated” he means it. This book has more images in it than family albums. Sometimes you’ll obtain lost in the captions of the Pics. Some you’ll enjoy, some not, but it’s all our history. He starts with the stories, he discusses the history of our culture beginning with our military, the first clubs and the attitude of the men that built this lifestyle. Bill wears the green and white of the Boozefighters MC, and has for over 40 years. He knows the history and lives the life, and it shows. He has place together another pictorial history of our lifestyle, the old and the fresh that shows the people within this chosen life. He discusses policies and warns about doing nothing to change it. Our culture is silently growing throughout the world. We need to take care of our own. As we stated earlier, some images will capture your attention and take you away from the commentary. If you do obtain lost, just flip back a few pages. Bill does have a warning in there, and he’s not very subtle in his presentation. You won’t need a flashlight to obtain the point. Enjoy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hell on Wheels: An Illustrated History of Outlaw Motorcycle Clubs []  2020-2-7 19:31

    I really liked this book . because it tells it like it is VNVLV/ MC

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hell on Wheels: An Illustrated History of Outlaw Motorcycle Clubs []  2020-2-7 19:31

    Interesting

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hell on Wheels: An Illustrated History of Outlaw Motorcycle Clubs []  2020-2-7 19:31

    A nicely formatted pictorial and narrative overview of the globe of motorcycle clubs both past and present. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust [Book]  2018-4-23 18:0

    What happened in Italy to the Jews during Globe Battle II is a fascinating story. And, I would recommend the book to people who are interested in the subject. It is a amazing source of info on the subject. But, the book is not particularly well written and it seems quite repetitious.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust [Book]  2018-4-23 18:0

    I liked the book and even though Elizabeth is not a seasoned writer her determination and skill of research off. It is a story that is completely unknown in Italy and I hope that this book will bring to the general public the happenings narrated. What the Italian people did is a miracle in itself, but the organizing of the meetings of the Jewish people who were 'guests' of these Italian people with the religious and civil authorities is a second miracle. Something like David and Goliath - total concentration and determination bring results. Something like Three Cups of tea. The impossible can be done.Anne

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Voices of the [email protected]#$%!&?old Stories from the Marine Heroes of World War II []  2020-1-29 8:52

    I just started this book and had to post an early review to warn people…if you’re a fan of A Higher Call like me and you bought this book thinking it’s another A Higher Call, you’re in for a surprise. Adam Makos didn’t write this book like A Higher Call. The WWII Marines wrote this book. It’s 98% in their words. Makos just chimes in here and there to give some history tidbits and to set the scene for the veterans’ stories.I’m not complaining. In fact, by turning the spotlight on the vets the action is faster. I just read the War of the Tenaru River part where 4 of the Marines place you in the foxholes with them (Sid Phillips, Jim Young, Roy Gerlach, and Arthur Pendleton). Literally you’re there as the Japanese are splashing across the river toward them waving swords and flashing vet tells a spurt of a story then the next chimes in. Then another guy piles onto the other guy’s story and before you know it the stories are building in intensity. I found my heart pounding. When you see battle only through the veterans’ eyes it’s a scary thing.I’ll add to my review later but wanted to warn people that this is a very various kind of WWII story. It’s no A Higher Call, but very special in style and like a amazing WWII book should be, it’s all about the men who were there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Voices of the [email protected]#$%!&?old Stories from the Marine Heroes of World War II []  2020-1-29 8:52

    So, let's see now. I have read all the books regarding the Band of Brother's, seen the mini-series, and read Hugh Ambrose's "Pacific", have seen Spielberg and Hanks amazing 10 part epic on the Pacific campaign and followed that up with Ken Burns multi-part PBS documentary, "The War". Having done that, I thought that I had somehow come to the end of WWII. My library was full of amazing works on the genre. Then on April 2, 2013, a fresh book on the Pacific campaign was released, its title "Voices of the Pacific". Recently acclaimed author Adam Makos and Marcus Brotherton have come together to bring another amazing painting of that not good time. In December, Adam released his first book entitled "A Higher Call". With Larry Alexander they painted a amazing story on the European side of the war. This time Adam went back and found a amazing number of veterans both fresh and some old that shared some fresh aspects on the battle with Japan. I found the picture I was getting was that of some of the missing pieces that Hollywood left out. I understand that there are still more stories to tell and I hope that Adam and Marcus will continue to tell am Makos is on his method as a history writer of much importance. It goes without saying that this work is a must read for all the history people. If you read this review, and are a lover of history, you must place this volume on either the BUY or your WISH LIST for future reading. You DO NOT wish to miss this extraordinary volume. You also do not wish to miss the Band of Brothers books authored by Marcus Brotherton. Two outstanding authors together. What a amazing job gentlemen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Voices of the [email protected]#$%!&?old Stories from the Marine Heroes of World War II []  2020-1-29 8:52

    This is simply one of the finest books I’ve read in a long time. In fact, even though I purchased the book in electronic format, I have every intention to add a hard copy of the book to my is simple to read and understand history book is a collection of interviews with the men who fought some of the most risky wars of the Pacific theater. This book includes a tremendous amount of private info about these men and their of the more interesting aspects of his book is these men knew some of the amazing legends of the time. They served under Chesty Puller and along-side of John Basilone. In this respect it is not like a lot of other books as it provides a first person perspective of the ings I liked about this book contain the method it is structured. The stories are very well integrated with each other and a tremendous amount of attention was to editing the book. It is truly a unbelievable read and simple to follow. The reader does not need to be an expert on history to have fun this book and it will reach a general audience just as easily as the e only thing I did not like about the book is out the control of the author; those interviewed, or even the editorial staff. This may very well be one of the latest books of its kind because this generation is leaving us. That saddens me to think about. They are a joy and this is why this book is a very necessary contribution to the to the history of our is book is hard to compare to others. However, if you read this book and enjoyed it then you certainly would have fun the brilliant book With the Old Breed by E. B. Sledge, Helmet for my Pillow by Robert Leckie, You’ll be Sorry by Sid Phillips and of course Battleground Pacific: A marine Rifleman’s Combat Odyssey by Sterling Mace.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust [Book]  2018-4-23 18:0

    This is a story that needs to be told because so few really know what happened in Italy during Globe Battle II. Amazingly, Italy the ally of Hitler's Germany, defied the Nazi and their inhumane persecution of the Jews. Italy's Jews and those who were able to come to Italy were treated humanly and with compassion. While all other European countries closed their borders to Jews, Italy did the opposite. To obtain into Italy a visa was not even e Jews population was well protected. Even after Italy switched sides and became Germany's opponent and the Nazi's invaded, a lot of of the Italians hid and protected the Jews and tried their best to thwart deportations to the death camps of Poland. Astoundingly while 80 percent of European Jewry perished in the Shoah, 80 % of Jews in Italy survived. This is an awesome story and needs to be read and told to all, young and old.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386