using statistics in the social and health sciences with spss and excel Reviews & Opinions


Submit using statistics in the social and health sciences with spss and excel review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    I purchased this book for a health policy class I took as part of a master's in public health program. I've read a lot of policy books and documents in my time and know the topic matter can be dry (even for someone who is interested in the topic). But this book was surprisingly simple to read and gave clear explanations for the a lot of theoretical terms and analytic frameworks it went over. It uses a lot of true globe examples to illustrate its points. It gives a broad overview of the various actors, frameworks, and decision-making factors that going into creating policy, with a specific focus on health policy. I enjoyed reading this book and felt it conveyed useful info for those wanting an overview of how policies are developed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    This book provides an perfect critical perspective on global health policy with international case examples. Also the references let further exploration of the problems discussed. It certainly enriched my understanding of health policy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    Good

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on using statistics in the social and health sciences with spss and excel or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch using statistics in the social and health sciences with spss and excel video reviews and related movies:

    See SPSS for Beginners 1: Introduction on youtube.

     related image

    See Welcome to Statistics for the Social Sciences on youtube.

     related image

    See Statistics for Health Research Tutorial 12: Course Review and Exam Preparation on youtube.

     related image

    See Choosing which statistical test to use - statistics help. on youtube.

     related image

    See Introduction to statistical data analysis for social sciences on youtube.

     related image

    See Structural Equation Modeling: what is it and what can we use it for? (part 1 of 6) on youtube.

     related image

    See Introduction to LCA with Bethany Bray on youtube.

     related image

    See Learn Data Science Tutorial - Full Course for Beginners on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    I got this for someone doing their MHA. According to her, the info is clear, concise and uses amazing examples. It is a amazing addition to one's library since it covers a lot of concepts and theories well and its app to true life situations.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    Had to use it for a class, very insightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    It is a course I am currently studying and the content is just what I needed. I would recommend it to my course mates.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    this book is exercellent

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Making Health Policy (UK Higher Education OUP Humanities & Social Sciences Health & Social Welfare) review []  2020-1-22 20:33

    very useful for the researchers

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Applied Multivariate Statistics for the Social Sciences: Analyses with SAS and IBM’s SPSS, Sixth Edition review []  2019-12-23 19:43

    Amazing purchase! Access to practical examples and actual datasets to replicate examples makes this text a must buy for postgrad statistics students!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Applied Multivariate Statistics for the Social Sciences: Analyses with SAS and IBM’s SPSS, Sixth Edition review []  2019-12-23 19:43

    This was a text book for my multivariate class, it was suggested by the professor. The book is clear, at the same time it goes deep on the info covering thoroughly multivariate analysis. Plus, the price was amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Applied Multivariate Statistics for the Social Sciences: Analyses with SAS and IBM’s SPSS, Sixth Edition review []  2019-12-23 19:43

    It’s beautiful well written and the jargon is minimal.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Applied Multivariate Statistics for the Social Sciences: Analyses with SAS and IBM’s SPSS, Sixth Edition review []  2019-12-23 19:43

    This book is needed for my class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Applied Multivariate Statistics for the Social Sciences: Analyses with SAS and IBM’s SPSS, Sixth Edition review []  2019-12-23 19:43

    Very clear, helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics review []  2020-1-17 19:15

    If you have to take Stats, this is the author/textbook you wish to learn from! Hilarious and practical - it makes learning statistics actually...enjoyable? :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics review []  2020-1-17 19:15

    Easy-to-read, fun-to-read, and professionally written textbook! You will something helpful in this book, no matter you are dummies, or you are into research work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics review []  2020-1-17 19:15

    Me ha encantado estudiar estadística en este libro, ya que hace accesibles temas muy complicados. Felicidades y muchas gracias a Andy Field por esta gran obra.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics review []  2020-1-17 19:15

    Perfect descriptions of how (and why) to do statistical analysis on SPSS. Readable and entertaining, which is a tall order for stats :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics review []  2020-1-17 19:15

    Mother of god....take me away from all this deat----I mean statistics. Yeah that's it. Regression can drive a student to day drinking. Luckily Andy adds cats and relatable scenarios when applying SPSS output.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics review []  2020-1-17 19:15

    A amazing book with well structured content, helpful explanations and summaries. But there are also frequent, long-winded and irrelevant asides. Obviously, Field is trying to create the topic interesting but instead I regularly search myself frustrated at the lack of respect he has my time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics (Sage01) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    If you have to take Stats, this is the author/textbook you wish to learn from! Hilarious and practical - it makes learning statistics actually...enjoyable? :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics (Sage01) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    Easy-to-read, fun-to-read, and professionally written textbook! You will something helpful in this book, no matter you are dummies, or you are into research work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics (Sage01) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    Me ha encantado estudiar estadística en este libro, ya que hace accesibles temas muy complicados. Felicidades y muchas gracias a Andy Field por esta gran obra.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics (Sage01) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    Perfect descriptions of how (and why) to do statistical analysis on SPSS. Readable and entertaining, which is a tall order for stats :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics (Sage01) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    Mother of god....take me away from all this deat----I mean statistics. Yeah that's it. Regression can drive a student to day drinking. Luckily Andy adds cats and relatable scenarios when applying SPSS output.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics (Sage01) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    A amazing book with well structured content, helpful explanations and summaries. But there are also frequent, long-winded and irrelevant asides. Obviously, Field is trying to create the topic interesting but instead I regularly search myself frustrated at the lack of respect he has my time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics: Using Microsoft Excel 2016 review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    The author goes through how to compute in Excel which is helpful. What I search lacking is a clear and concise definition of the terms in some cases. I’d also like to have a few more examples with visuals for discussion to support me grasp the concepts - for example, I looked up the easy definition of t-test, WHY would you compare two means of variable populations? What does that tell me about my data? Just as necessary to how to do something is why you’re doing it. I also don’t care for the distracting remarks meant to lighten the tone and create people more comfortable. I like to be funny in most cases, but it’s a small distracting here at times.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics: Using Microsoft Excel 2016 review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    The book is useful and informative, I am successful in my statistics course so far. The author provides entertaining commentary for each chapter which makes statistics entertaining. Each chapter is short and sweet-to the point and allows the reader to practice the issues at the end which reinforces calculations explained in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics: Using Microsoft Excel 2016 review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Such a amazing foray into statistics, it explains so much info so well and you don't feel treated like a child, rather you are treated like a human being who has logical and sometimes silly thoughts. This book should be every professors/teachers first book for any students that are starting statistics. This makes sure that people aren't scared of statistics but excited about all the possibilities of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics: Using Microsoft Excel 2016 review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    I purchased the digital ver of this book. It is awful. The charts and figures are all blurry. I showed my husband and he was astounded. The text is easily viewed, however, the figures and items I need for my homework are blurry. How is one supposed to work on math issues if they are not able to see the numbers! Horrible digital copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics: Using Microsoft Excel 2016 review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Incredibly dry and boring, making it almost impossible to so, you can search virtually all of this info on YouTube for free.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics: Using Microsoft Excel 2016 review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    I never ended up using it for the class but it was in amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics: Using Microsoft Excel 2016 review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    This guy really lays things out for you beautiful easily! If you don’t know anything about statistics and you’re nervous, if your professor is chosen this book you’re going to be OK!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics: Using Microsoft Excel 2016 review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Just as described- amazing price

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics: Using Microsoft Excel 2016 review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Amazing book that met my class requirements

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics: Using Microsoft Excel 2016 review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Like

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics: North American Edition review []  2020-1-22 20:22

    No!!! So distracting. I obtain the idea of making learning fun, but fun doesn't mean a thousand pages out of which only 200 are similar to statistics. I only bought it because it was needed for one of my classes. Sometimes professors don't understand that not all students learn the same method and they don't care if the book is expensive. Hello!!!! I'm a student with limited income?!!I don't understand why most statistics books have a lot of bla bla bla. Would you just obtain to the point? I don't have all day!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics: North American Edition review []  2020-1-22 20:22

    I like that Andy uses plain speech to explain things. Some of his jokes are "smirkable". However, the sex talk is not relatable or necessary. I am no prude, if he had just dropped a few things here and there, I would have just thought, eh, not my taste and blown it off. None of it is funny or arousing. It certainly doesn't support me understand statistics any better. In 2019, let's allow products sell themselves, sans sex!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics: North American Edition review []  2020-1-22 20:22

    Worst textbook I have ever been forced to read for a class. Author spends most of the time talking about himself and his characters and less time teaching the facts. You obtain lost. Waste of money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics: North American Edition review []  2020-1-22 20:22

    The general quality of the book structure (not even the content- I'll obtain to that) is terrible! The cover and pages are flimsy (I've ripped several pages just turning them) and there is some glossy coating on the pages that ensures reflections will appear on whatever zone of the text is most difficult to understand. Did I mention flimsy? Do you remember the part in Men in Black where Will Smith was taking the exam will all the military guys and the tests were too flimsy and unshapely to be of any use? Those try designers also helped with this e internal layout is terrible. Three columns per page? Six per spread? "Bolded" words that are actually light blue??? This book is NOT skimmable to go back and search en there are the errors: parts where the glossary does not point one to the right page (even after SEARCHING through the hard-to-read text), and directions that do not match the online data and content in the Intelligent Alex en there is the content. Okay. He's got a dorky personality that he thinks is cool. Fine. But don't ramble. And for the love of all things, don't create jokes that people can only understand if they already understand your content. The book is there to teach, not trade witty remarks with other professors. Overall, I wanted to love this book but instead found the quality of the physical book, the rambling, the jokes, the errors, and the incongruous nature of the presentation to make more frustration than understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics: North American Edition review []  2020-1-22 20:22

    I don't obtain this book (currently on chapter 4), I'm trying to understand. Is it British humor? Is it some other worldly being? IDK, but Fields's personality translates as narcissistic and dull across every page he mentions his upbringing. I do not care if you got whacked in the head in the garden with a golf club accidentally when you were a child...I just wish to learn the proper terms. I hope this gets better, because I've had too a lot of sleepless nights wondering what he means and I've had far too a lot of drinks trying to drown out his incessant footnotes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics: North American Edition review []  2020-1-22 20:22

    This is one of the WORST TEXTBOOKS I HAVE EVER USED IN COLLEGE.1. It is set up like a comic book which makes it udents who want to be entertained can do it from reading a true comic book, not a textbook you are supposed to learn from.2. DISORGANIZEDDid I mention disorganized. Readings should flow like a textbook not dot in and out of information3. POOR EXPLANATIONS AND EXAMPLESStudents are trying to learn not hear jokes. In order to learn a topic you must give proper examples and definitions. I learned more from other online resources than this text.4. POORLY WRITTEN ONLINE RESOURCESIt is amazing to have proper review questions so that a student can grasp what they have ar instructors...PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS BOOK AS A MAJOR TEXT IN CLASS THANKS.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics: North American Edition review []  2020-1-22 20:22

    I came into a class late, and was unable to obtain the printed textbook in time. No one in the program (believe it or not) was using a Kindle version. I had no choice, because I had assignments r the most part, it's really great. I mean the method the Kindle Application features work. However, there are some problemsSome pictures can be zoomed and have amazing resolution. However others, when zoomed are illegible. Still others (like mathematical formulae) "bounce" back to the left margin. So I use pinch-zoom, but as soon as I allow my fingers off, the formula flies off to the left margin. If it's a long formula, I can see the right-most part of it. Most of the short formulae, however, simply disappear.I required to use the Standard Distribution Table at the beginning of the Appendix, in order to respond one of the self-test questions. Well, it was an extraordinarily tall, skinny, table. Zooming it left me with a bunch of muck, that was totally illegible.While I like the features of the Kindle book generally (links, and fast movements, exporting cards, highlights, and notes, etc) some of these other problems may force me to order the paperback copy as a "companion" so that I can have full access to formulae and tables.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics: North American Edition review []  2020-1-22 20:22

    Field provides a very straightforward approach to teaching statistics in this book. I'm getting my PhD and my dissertation is a quantitative study and I decided to use SPSS to analyze the data. Field breaks down how to use SPSS for every statistical way I am planning on using in a step-by-step manner. This book is filled with a lot of examples to support you understand each fresh concept. My only minor grip is in a lot of of his examples, he labels one of the dichotomous variables as "sex" when it should clearly be "gender" as the only choices are "male" and "female", not "yes" or "no" (or how often which would create it an interval variable).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics: North American Edition review []  2020-1-22 20:22

    Field always does a amazing job. Shape of the book is unwieldy, I prefer the smaller and thicker format, rather than the wider and slimmer one that this this edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics: North American Edition review []  2020-1-22 20:22

    The style of this book did not support with my learning whatsoever. Its a ton of relatable text for concepts but none of the teachers within my school only tested concepts! There were no practice issues in the book. Just explanations in long winded stories. If you just wish to learn the basics of statistics and read for fun, then this might suit you. If you are about to take a college course, this book is not recommended by me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    IBM SPSS: Comprehensive Beginners Guide to Learn Statistics using IBM SPSS from A-Z review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    I bought this book because it had all positive reviews. Unfortunately, I don't share that opinion.I am a PhD student trying to understand SPSS when I didn't quite obtain it in class. Unfortunately, this book tries to be a lot more than just SPSS. It tries to discuss a lot about research, but unfortunately it is just simply r example, in Chapter 2 under the section "Machine Readable Data Types", one of the things that it says is that quantitative info is anything that is based on a number. This is something I mostly agree with. However, it then says that qualitative data is anything that is based on language. This is somewhat correct. Then the book uses the example that it is qualitative data if you count the number of men versus the number of women in your store. Since the word "men" is not a number, and the word "women" is not a number, then this is supposed to signify qualitative data. This is simply incorrect. It is the fact that you are COUNTING the men versus women that makes it quantitative data. If you went into the zone and asked the men and women questions regarding their thoughts or feelings about something and created a comparison about your findings, then THAT would be qualitative data.Unfortunately, with this HUGE misunderstanding as one of the primary pieces of the book (and this is only one example), I cannot believe any of the info that is given on any of the subjects that I do not understand. If he couldn't obtain the basics of Qualitative versus Quantitative right, what else did he mess up? Besides, I didn't even wish to read about that in this book- I was just looking for something about SPSS!So very disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    IBM SPSS: Comprehensive Beginners Guide to Learn Statistics using IBM SPSS from A-Z review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Every graduate student (not in Statistics) needs this book...It helps you determine which type of try to run based on your data and research questions... and most importantly how to evaluate your results and write them up in a manner that reflects all the hard work you are doing to complete your research! I will hold this book on my shelf to inform future research ...and to share with my students.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    IBM SPSS: Comprehensive Beginners Guide to Learn Statistics using IBM SPSS from A-Z review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    What a complete waste of money. I hadn't used SPSS for a few years and this book looked like it would be a amazing refresher and teach me about fresh features. Not so much. It's more like a trifold brochure that a student tried to stretch to become a book. It has zero useful info and even less instruction. Amazing for proping up uneven tables.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    IBM SPSS: Comprehensive Beginners Guide to Learn Statistics using IBM SPSS from A-Z review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Info on the whole comes at us from every direction. Its influence on business, politics, and government, banking, the STEM fields, and even the social sciences cannot be understated. This book should serve as a reference tutorial for those who want to go beyond the basics into location that requires a solid understanding of advanced statistical concepts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    IBM SPSS: Comprehensive Beginners Guide to Learn Statistics using IBM SPSS from A-Z review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Compact content over measurements and utilizing SPSS. Easy to peruse and got me through my class. My reading material was difficult to pursue and this was an wonderful enhancement to it. My instructor was horrible and difficult to comprehend and this book created a difference

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    IBM SPSS: Comprehensive Beginners Guide to Learn Statistics using IBM SPSS from A-Z review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Finally, I very much appreciated the section with hints on producing a project plan for an analytics project. It fleshes out the expected timelines for each step of the CRISP-DM process along with factors to consider at each step. All in all, definitely worth your time and attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    IBM SPSS: Comprehensive Beginners Guide to Learn Statistics using IBM SPSS from A-Z review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Order arrived on time. Renting it was easy. The book was actually beautiful helpful and wasn’t horribly boring. The author has a amazing sense of humor. Might purchase since I only rented previously. Used this for my graduate class in a industrial organizational psychology program.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    IBM SPSS: Comprehensive Beginners Guide to Learn Statistics using IBM SPSS from A-Z review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    Got this book because one of the professors on my graduate committee allow me use his 3rd edition after I started pestering him about using SPSS. Figured I required this book going forward for my own studies. Very entertaining, if at times terribly inappropriate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    IBM SPSS: Comprehensive Beginners Guide to Learn Statistics using IBM SPSS from A-Z review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    It makes it simple to follow and learn the program. Amazing book that gave simple step by step instructions with all the data IBM SPSS. This is a excellent guide. Well worth the investment. It breaks down every concept and every try into understandable terms.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    IBM SPSS: Comprehensive Beginners Guide to Learn Statistics using IBM SPSS from A-Z review []  2019-12-18 20:46

    This is a Beginners Tutorial to Learn Statistics using IBM SPSS. I'm impressed with this guide. The author published an perfect job for everyone — well written and useful content here. I wish to prefer this guide. Prescribed!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for Beginners: How Easy It Is to Lie with Statistics in Business, social Science, Politics, Criminology and Law review []  2020-1-18 21:12

    This book has a lot of potential. It was interesting and presented a lot of true life examples of statistics used for iffy purposes. However, it was also poorly written, inconsistent, full of rambling tangents, and displayed the author’s biases and blindnesses- most notably a barely concealed racist streak as well as a seemingly deeply ingrained misogyny, which miscolored several sections among which the two most blatant are the wage gap, and alimony. He has filled his book with numerous private opinions and generalizations, such as the wage gap is made because women are more likely to take a vacation than men (!) without a single source to back up his claims. In fact, most of the examples he points out throughout the entire book contain just enough to state his claim then conclude without any justification. If this were a debate article or a paper on persuasion it would have gotten an an F.Even excluding the sections where sexist and racist undercurrents can be found (the sections with the most rambling, I might add), the book needs a lot of revising and would benefit greatly from a co-author with other perspectives as well as a background in writing science a globe where ”just a small learning is a risky thing”, the author of this book should know better than to leave impressionable readers with his dogmatic, authoritative opinions rather than logical, consistent conclusions backed up with actual sources described within the paragraph. This is deliciously ironic considering the main idea of the book is how statistics can be misleading when not all the info is presented or explained clearly.I actually think this book started off with noble intentions and then got too broad and out of control so I am giving it 3 stars instead of the 2 that it would otherwise deserve.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for Beginners: How Easy It Is to Lie with Statistics in Business, social Science, Politics, Criminology and Law review []  2020-1-18 21:12

    If you just look at the title of this book, you might be led to believe that it might support you with your Probability and Statistics class. But another look at the subtitle suggests that this book is not meant to aid academic studies—as well as revealing a certain bias about statistics. I would agree with the author that statistics may be manipulated to say whatever a person or organization wants them to say. However, this particular book is unfocused in its discussion of statistics. The introductory parts of the book don’t seem to have much to do with statistics at all, or at least with the author is trying to present is not done so that the inferences can be clearly drawn. The core of the book aims to look at specific segments of society or academia and how they use and abuse statistics; laws and criminality, business, social sciences, and politics. However, the first case he looks at in a criminology section has more to do with business than law. Each of the cases or concepts that he looks at aren’t written in a tightly cohesive fashion to create them more easily understood by the reader.I think the book required a general editor to support the author focus the entire book as well as the sections of it. The book is also in serious need of a copyeditor or proofreader, as a lot of primary rules of grammar and punctuation seem to be unknown to or disregarded by the author.I believe this is a worthwhile subject for a book. Its promise, however, was not realized by this author.I received a free copy of this book, but that did not affect my review--obviously!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for Beginners: How Easy It Is to Lie with Statistics in Business, social Science, Politics, Criminology and Law review []  2020-1-18 21:12

    Being in a globe where technology rules, we don't realize what is going on in the background. I mean sure you have conspiracy theorists that believe Alexa works for the CIA and such. But in reality everything we do is being monitored in some method or function. This book is an eye-opener as to some of the ways our info is taken from us and being used. Some of the ways featured in this book I had absolutely no clue that was happening. I mean we have all noticed that if we look something up on Google, that following that Fb starts to use ads targeting something we are already interested in. This is a amazing book to read if you wish to know how and why your info is taken and used.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for Beginners: How Easy It Is to Lie with Statistics in Business, social Science, Politics, Criminology and Law review []  2020-1-18 21:12

    This book makes it easier to understand how everything we see including statistics can't always be believed. Data can be manipulated or biased on order to achieve certain results....the audiobook gives a peek into this phenomena...is was enjoyable and entertaining...would recommend to anyone just for the sake off information

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for Beginners: How Easy It Is to Lie with Statistics in Business, social Science, Politics, Criminology and Law review []  2020-1-18 21:12

    I'm one to press versus the rules regardless of history if I'm a powerful believer. Nice book to become more aware of others' views.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Burton's Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Burton)) review []  2020-1-19 23:53

    The text in this book is fantastic, very clear and concise - simple for a student (like me) to read on their own and obtain a very clear understanding of. The book covers everything from the discovery of microorganisms to viruses, bacteria, protazoa, prions and the chemistry in cellular apter listing:Microbiology - The ScienceMicroscopyCell Structure and TaxonomyDiversity of Microorganisms Part 1Diversity of Microorganisms Part 2BiochemistryMicrobial Physiology and GeneticsControlling Microbial Growth in VitroUsing Antimicrobial Agents to Control Microbial Groth in VivoMicrobial EcologyEpidemiology and Public HealthHealthcare Epidemiology: Nosocomial Infections and Infection ControlDiagnosing Infectious DiseasesPathogens of Infectious DiseasesNonspecific Host Defense MechanismsSpecific Host Defense Mechanisms: An Introduction to ImmunologyMajor Viral, Bacterial, and Fungal Diseases of HumansMajor Parasitic Diseases of Humans: An Introduction to Medical ParasitologySo you can see, this book covers a dozens of subjects - and is a unbelievable introduction to the field of microbiology. The negatives of using this book - if you are a visual learner the diagrams are sub-par at best. Now I'm not talking about the tables, the tables are fantastic. The diagrams are minimal, and not very helpful. I am lucky in that my Micro professor has overheads of the diagrams from a various book that he uses.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Burton's Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Burton)) review []  2020-1-19 23:53

    As far as science textbooks go, I really like this one. This book has highlighted the necessary subject from each paragraph which makes it easier to read. Cuts out the word fluff and just tells you what you need to know.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Burton's Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Burton)) review []  2020-1-19 23:53

    very straightforward so included is a cd in the back. i first coudln't feel it through the packaging but it was is book is recommended for those taking micro for a health similar profession like nursing or eat book~ simple and fast read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Burton's Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Burton)) review []  2020-1-19 23:53

    Inaccurate information. Skip this and obtain a better book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Burton's Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Burton)) review []  2020-1-19 23:53

    Amazing tool for acupuncture students!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Burton's Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Burton)) review []  2020-1-19 23:53

    I like the fact that it has questions after each chapter which helped to reenforce what was learned. The book is paperback and little so accidental folding will happen. In comparison to other microbiology books this book is straight forward and the wording is well presented to me as a student.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Burton's Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Burton)) review []  2020-1-19 23:53

    I bought it for class, and my professor uses it RELIGIOUSLY. All in all it is a amazing book, simple to follow, and not heavy like some of the other science books have been.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Burton's Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Burton)) review []  2020-1-19 23:53

    I paid 49 cents for this book here on Amazon, this book should be much more. It's got a cd and amazing pictures and 's a must buy for any microbiology student.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Burton's Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Burton)) review []  2020-1-19 23:53

    I bought for school and really utilized the book. It was a amazing resource to use for class. Very simple to understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Burton's Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Microbiology for the Health Sciences (Burton)) review []  2020-1-19 23:53

    A must read for microbiologist.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Measurement Theory and Applications for the Social Sciences (Methodology in the Social Sciences) review []  2020-1-21 20:21

    satisfied with this order. everything was as described. thanks! 5/5.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Measurement Theory and Applications for the Social Sciences (Methodology in the Social Sciences) review []  2020-1-21 20:21

    Book arrived as described. Clear explanations

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Applied Meta-Analysis for Social Science Research (Methodology in the Social Sciences) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    Well written book which was bought as a reference after attending his lecture. He is a amazing speaker and makes things so simple to understand. The book is a amazing resource for info and references, if you are planning to conduct a meta-analytic review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Applied Meta-Analysis for Social Science Research (Methodology in the Social Sciences) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    Easily understandable and truly describes the a lot of aspects of a meta analysis. It is detailed enough but with perfect examples.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Applied Meta-Analysis for Social Science Research (Methodology in the Social Sciences) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    I search that most books on the subject are either too massive in stats and opaque equations or, on the contrary -- too superficial and merely give an overview sufficient to create you a more smart consumer of such research, but not train you to be a researcher yourself. This book is a amazing exception. I really enjoyed this clearly written book because it provides a very practical explanations of what to do, how to do it and why. The math is kept to the bare minimum and each equation is well explained. It is well organized and simple to follow.I am, however, a bit disappointed that the author chose to skip some problems regarding them as "too difficult for you, the reader" and did not like the use of the sometimes didactic tone (feels like the author was saying: this is really really complicated and you are not so bright, so I will skip this subject altogether. You'll understand when you are older").

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for Managers Using Microsoft Excel review []  2020-1-22 20:44

    I bought this book used off of Amazon for my MBA statistics class. I confirmed that the ISBN is the same provided by my university bookstore, 978-0-13-417305-4 / 0-13-417305-8. When it arrived, I confirmed that the book's cover matched what the 8th edition sold by the university bookstore - blue with "Statistics for Managers" in the green box and "Using Microsoft Excel" in the red box.When my teacher started going over book issues in class, I noticed that some my issues didn't match what he was reviewing. When I looked at our homework assignment issues and compared my book with another student's, I found that out of 54 issues assigned, about 25% were various in my book. When I addressed this with my teacher, we compared books - the only difference is that mine doesn't have the copyright info page at the front of the book. I'm not the only student in class to have this issue - 2 others besides me have the same book that I have. But otherwise, they have the same ISBN number on the back and look exactly the same. I'm not sure if this is an international version, but if it is, there's nothing in the book that indicates it as such and nothing indicated from the seller.If you anticipate having homework assignments, I wouldn't buy this book used from Amazon. I would buy it directly form your university bookstore or rent a digital version. Between my experience and the other comments here, I would pass on buying this book used.UPDATE: Per Pearson, it appears the book several of my classmates and I purchased are counterfeits. They have no record of producing the book I have with the slightly wrong problems. It is missing the copyright page at the front of the book, so if your book is missing that and goes straight from the dedication page to page 6, you probably have a counterfeit book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for Managers Using Microsoft Excel review []  2020-1-22 20:44

    This book is a powerhouse of info along the lines of the topic matter. In places, the book is very wordy and complicated, but that is what Professors, Instructors, Teachers and your math tutor are for should you obtain lost in the text. Eventhough my class is over, I am continuing on with the book due to how necessary the topic matter is to me. This book seems to have everything but the kitchen sink. The on-line material that is associated with this text are top notch. Data sets, Excell examples (with formulas) and fast tutorials support to create the topic matter more clear. The only down side of this book is that at the current time it is hella expensive. I will be turning in my beloved hard copy for a paperback and rock on.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for Managers Using Microsoft Excel review []  2020-1-22 20:44

    This book is written to be read by a statistics professor. It's difficult to comprehend. If you search yourself in a class with this book create sure to use the available Powerpoint slides and use the book as a reference. You will search it almost impossible to learn and comprehend statistics from this book alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for Managers Using Microsoft Excel review []  2020-1-22 20:44

    I am taking the Intro Stats class currently, the HW questions in the book are terribly confusing for a lot of the problems. They required to place all the answers in the back of the book so if I can't solve, at least I can test to work backwards toward a solution. I'm going blind for a lot of the questions, and this is very frustrating for the word issues that require some extra critical thinking.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for Managers Using Microsoft Excel review []  2020-1-22 20:44

    No coverage of Bayes Theorem in edition 8, so instructor stayed with 7. Not sure how you can actually teach a statistics coure without this - it's beautiful fundamental and one of the most interesting and useful things you usually learn. The rest of the book is very close between editions and I'm at a loss for why the section was pulled. Amazing luck..........

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for Managers Using Microsoft Excel review []  2020-1-22 20:44

    Textbook is worthless. hundreds of other books on statistics are both better written and more pertinent to the subject. Save the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for Managers Using Microsoft Excel review []  2020-1-22 20:44

    I don’t know whose fault it is, but some of the pages fell out. Not super terrific. Required to buy for a course for mba

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for Managers Using Microsoft Excel review []  2020-1-22 20:44

    Word of caution. This international ver issues DIFFER from the US version. If you are trying to go international to save money, your issues for homework will be different. Content was okay. It is a generic stats using Excel book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for Managers Using Microsoft Excel review []  2020-1-22 20:44

    A++ - Highly recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Statistics for Managers Using Microsoft Excel review []  2020-1-22 20:44

    Very useful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Use Excel 2010: Home Budgeting (How to Use Excel in Home Budgeting Book 1) review []  2020-1-8 18:25

    Amazing Book. Test it you will think it helpful as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Doing Statistical Mediation and Moderation (Methodology in the Social Sciences) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    Paul Jose has done a amazing job on explaining statistical mediation and moderation: what they mean and how they are done. He writes in clear, easy-to-understand (for a stats book!) English, with relatively few complicated formulas. As an almost-finished Ph.D student, I really want he had written this book a couple of years ago because it would have created my analysis so much easier to finish. Even if I were not interested in statistical mediation, the explanations of IV/DV vs. predictor/outcome would have been worth the cost of the book!I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Doing Statistical Mediation and Moderation (Methodology in the Social Sciences) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    This is probably the best book I've seen on moderation and mediation with especially powerful sections showing how do try for both using regression and other statistical methods. Most books fail to create the mediation and moderator distinction as clear or fail to present how relatively easy it is to try for their presence. In a latest lecture for my doctoral research methods class, I used some information from this book and students found it clear.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Doing Statistical Mediation and Moderation (Methodology in the Social Sciences) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    Perfect book. Explained the nuts and bolts of mediation analysis in simple easy terms, so novice statisticians and none statisticians can understand and use this valuable tool in their research. Only problem is that the kindle ver is not allowed on the kindle cloud reader. Which is too poor if you need to access it via the kindle cloud reader instead of the kindle application or reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Doing Statistical Mediation and Moderation (Methodology in the Social Sciences) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    Best book on moderation and moderation for me - I feel it explained the processes better than Hayes when I was just familiarizing myself with the topic

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Doing Statistical Mediation and Moderation (Methodology in the Social Sciences) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    Amazing book for introducing these techniques if you are moderately familiar with multiple regression and the primary ideas of path analysis. Simple to read with amazing examples and the data sets he uses, so you can play with these approaches yourself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Doing Statistical Mediation and Moderation (Methodology in the Social Sciences) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    This is a very well-written text. It starts with a primary model using multiple regression and contains more sophisticated SEM methods. I read the entire book and did the exercises. Highly recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Doing Statistical Mediation and Moderation (Methodology in the Social Sciences) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    Prof. Jose did a very amazing job!Explain the statistical theory of Mediation and Moderation analysis briefly. Give lots of hints and resources for applied researchers.I have read half of the book and recommended it to graduate students or researchers on psychology (BTW, Paul himself is a psychologist) and other social science.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Doing Statistical Mediation and Moderation (Methodology in the Social Sciences) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    It's a really amazing book! I strongly recommend to those who are looking to search out an simple method to understand mediation and moderation analyses.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Doing Statistical Mediation and Moderation (Methodology in the Social Sciences) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    This book helped in an emergency during my dissertation review. The tables are great

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Doing Statistical Mediation and Moderation (Methodology in the Social Sciences) review []  2019-12-18 20:47

    amazing bookprovides useful programming examplescurrent to current ver of SASuseful for applied researchersgreat explanations of methods.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Medical and Health Science Statistics Made Easy review []  2020-1-22 1:14

    If needing some help for primary statistics I highly suggest buying the book Medical and Heath Science Statistics Created Simple by Harris and Taylor, which create complex concepts very very understandable.A small no nonsense book. What a godsend this book is even though a bit spendy for its little size. A amazing complement to Polit text. And this is a comment coming from a person who struggles with statistics and research concepts in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Medical and Health Science Statistics Made Easy review []  2020-1-22 1:14

    very clear and concise-just from the perspective of being able to almost use it for cliff notes to obtain through an advanced research class that I am currently in, it was very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Medical and Health Science Statistics Made Easy review []  2020-1-22 1:14

    An perfect book for brushing up on statistics concepts and to support you read and evaluate journal articles. Just so you are aware, it doesn't tell you how to generate statistics like standard deviations, just how to read them. I would buy it again!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Medical and Health Science Statistics Made Easy review []  2020-1-22 1:14

    Book was described accurately and arrived quickly.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter