village of secrets: defying the nazis in vichy france Reviews & Opinions


Submit village of secrets: defying the nazis in vichy france review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis in Vichy France (The Resistance Trilogy Book 2) review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    Caroline Moorehead is an perfect writer whose book "A train in Winter" was highly praised. I read it with amazing ever with her fresh book "Village of Secrets", Moorehead seriously damages her reputation as a reliable writer. To begin with, her title should have been "Villages of Secrets"!Where is her historical scholarship? Who helped her with fact-checking for even easy info like the correct spelling of people she mentions? Why didn't she consult the internet? Her text is loaded with egregious errors and private sarcastic judgments. Her distortions go from some historical facts to the most trivial small s, Moorehead writes very well and her research is extensive judging by the unusually huge list of books in her bibliography...yet her errors are the proof she did not read them all, including the most latest and necessary ones. Yes, she honors deserving people like Pastor Daniel Curtet or Simone Mairesse. But these people were recognized years ago! Strangely enough, one wonders whether she has a unique contact with the globe of the dead when she thanks for their interview Leon Eyraud who died in 1953 and Madame Marguerite Roussel who passed in 1996. There are always several sides to a story. It is regrettable and sad that Moorehead fell under the spell of a disgruntled crowd and some jealous people. The 12 Plateau Vivairais-Lignon villages and all the various types of rescuers, the nonviolent resistance and the armed resistance have not been forgotten in the little WWII museum that opened in LE Chambon - sur - Lignon in 2013. Yet this disgruntled group refused to join the project and did everything possible to slay it.. They even convinced Moorehead that the very capable Mayor Eliane WAuquiez-Motte who raised the funds and organized the professional planning deserved to be demeaned!You don't have to read Village of Secrets: go straight to the Foreword and especially the Afterword to obtain a general impression of the tone of the book. If Moorehead is absolutely right in praising necessary people such as Charles Guillon, Oscar Rozowsky and Marc Boegner ( all recognized years ago), she did not need to trash other necessary people such as the ethicist ( and not the historian) Philip Hallie who in 1979 place Le Chambon -sur-Lignon on the map, or the perfect documentary producer Pierre Sauvage who describes his private story and the reason why he was allowed to live as a Jewish baby born during the Holocaust, and finally two of the several idealists and catalists of the effective nonviolent resistance, Pastors Edouard Theis and Andre Trocme.I ought to know: I am Trocme's daughter and I grew up In Le Chambon during WW II.I also had Caroline Moorehead as my house guest in the United States and I gladly allow her interview me. She was friendly.I now understand better why total silence followed her visit...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis in Vichy France (The Resistance Trilogy Book 2) review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    This book is a scandal; it pretends to be a chronicle of history, which it is emphatically NOT. includes so a lot of errors that it should not have been published at all in its show form.We Hanne (Hirsch) and Max Liebmann are featured in this book as survivors of the only deportation from Germany to France , prisoners of Camp de Gurs French internment camp as well as having been sheltered in Le Chambon sur Lignon. As we have told the publisher and author, we protest the misleading info about ourselves as well as our families and the general misinformation about this particular time period. People not familiar with the happening of 1933 - 1945 will obtain a totally wrong impression. That such a book should even be considered for a literary book award in Britain is totally ludicrous.Just to cite a few of the a lot of errors :Chapter 2; Moorehead states that in Camp de Gurs we ate dogs, cats and rats. There was not a single dog or cat in camp. Plenty of rats, but nobody ate roughout the book Moorehead maligns Pasteur Trocme, a person of the highest moral and ethical integrity. recognized by Yad Vashem as "Righteous Gentile" In addition she denounces Prof. Hallie who with his book "Lest innocent blood be shed" place le Chambon on the map for the worldHanne and Max Liebmann .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis in Vichy France (The Resistance Trilogy Book 2) review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    My parents were among the Jews who found shelter in the zone of Le Chambon-sur-Lignon, France, during the Holocaust--the topic of this astonishingly inaccurate book--and I had the amazing fortune to be born there at that time. I thus care deeply about the remarkable rescue mission that profoundly affected my is thus dismaying that this acc of those happenings preposterously asserts that the French Protestant (Huguenot) dimension of the rescue effort has been inflated into a myth, that the village's remarkable pastor can be plausibly charged with being a self-aggrandizing pathological liar, that nonviolence was only a little part of the story, that unnamed atheists and agnostics played an equal role in providing shelter, that indeed the religious beliefs of the rescuers deserve only passing mention... Incidentally, among the a lot of tons of misrepresentations and errors in this sloppy book are the very photograph on the cover: the reader has no method of knowing that the "Village of Secrets" portrayed is not Le Chambon!Furthermore, in the author's eagerness to be able to claim that she is, at last, setting "the record straight" and describing for the first time "what actually took place" in and around Le Chambon, she feels it important to go out of her method to malign the late Philip Hallie and me--who have told the story before her. In my case, she goes so far as to fabricate the utterly false allegation that key figures in Le Chambon's wartime happenings branded my well-received feature documentary on the subject, "Weapons of the Spirit," as nothing less than a "mutilation of historical truth." This is very mean-spirited fiction indeed!For more information, please see: [...]Pierre SauvagePresident, Chambon Foundation

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on village of secrets: defying the nazis in vichy france or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch village of secrets: defying the nazis in vichy france video reviews and related movies:

    See Caroline Moorehead: Village of Secrets on youtube.

     related image

    See Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis in Vichy France by Caroline Moorehead | Book Review on youtube.

     related image

    See Defying the Nazis in Vichy, France on youtube.

     related image

    See Thrift Store Haul on youtube.

     related image

    See Powell's Book Haul June 2016 on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis in Vichy France (The Resistance Trilogy Book 2) review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    After reading this I had to again ask myself why. A well told story of a village under siege and how they did the best they knew how to preserve not only their method of living, but necessary belongings. It got a small long for the info presented.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis in Vichy France (The Resistance Trilogy Book 2) review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    ...and a excellent example of what people of conscience can and must do here and now in these United States.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis in Vichy France (The Resistance Trilogy Book 2) review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    Village of secrets is exceptionally well researched and well written. A sad acc of some of the atrocities committed by Germany in the lead up to, and during WW2. The villagers who quietly and without fuss accepted kids and a lot of adults into their midst and sheltered them from tyrany should never be forgotten. This book like a lot of others will ensure the memories live on.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis in Vichy France (The Resistance Trilogy Book 2) review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    Interesting story of resistence

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis in Vichy France (The Resistance Trilogy Book 2) review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    Very interesting insight into the role of French Huguenots and Darbyists in saving Jews and others sought by the Nazis in Vichy France. The writing is stilted, dry and, at times, the vocabulary, word choices and phrasing are not good and/or confusing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis in Vichy France (The Resistance Trilogy Book 2) review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    This story has so much info and so a lot of characters that I was sometimes lost in the following of it. It did enlighten me to the a lot of organizations that existed in France and to which ones were helpful in the hiding of the Jewish kids and adults. A very sad story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis in Vichy France (The Resistance Trilogy Book 2) review [Book]  2018-2-19 18:0

    This book was very informative on the risk people were willing to take to save others. We forget so soon what the battle was like for those living then.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Saboteur: The Aristocrat Who Became France's Most Daring Anti-Nazi Commando review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    Just started reading The Saboteur and I'm about half method through. It's a fast read but a small bogged down with put names and no reference to major geographic cities/areas/landmarks. As with a lot of books referring to a lot of characters, it gets difficult at times to put people. The reader is mercifully spared much of the subject's not good ordeal under torture.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Saboteur: The Aristocrat Who Became France's Most Daring Anti-Nazi Commando review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    My first thought when reading this book was, "Why hasn't a major motion picture been created about this person?" Once I started reading it I couldn't place it down. The author has done a amazing job of research and analysis and applying what he learned to the story of this brave and honorable man. The book is well written and flows smoothly and makes one anxious to turn the page to read what happens next. I highly and enthusiastically recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Saboteur: The Aristocrat Who Became France's Most Daring Anti-Nazi Commando review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    A gripping and tense real story of French and British insurgency in France during WW II. The real story also the growth of the resistance and the brutal German response. Fresh to me was the high level of. citizen collaboration and the limited size of the resistance.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Saboteur: The Aristocrat Who Became France's Most Daring Anti-Nazi Commando review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    Fans of espionage fiction will appreciate this real life story of a young aristocrat who wars the Nazi occupiers of France during WWII.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Saboteur: The Aristocrat Who Became France's Most Daring Anti-Nazi Commando review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    I've said it before and will say it again: Globe Battle 2 teems with amazing, dramatic stories of heroism and greatness. Add to that list Paul Kix's The Saboteur: The Aristocrat Who Became France's Most Daring Anti-Nazi Commando. Kix pored over family records, military records, and private accounts to place together this gripping acc of Robert de la Rochefoucauld's activities during WW2. And what a story it is.When the Nazis marched into France, the French gave small resistance. A lot of in France considered Nazi occupation was preferable to Nazi bombardment. As the German occupation set in, Robert de la Rochefoucauld, a brash teenager from a family with a long aristocratic history, became angrier and angrier. Nazi military leaders moved into the family home, leaving the family to occupy one wing while the Nazis used the other wing as a headquarters and bunkhouse. This imposition reflected, in La Rochefoucauld's mind, the amazing insult of the Germans making themselves at home in France and subjugating the spired by the broadcasts from general-in-exile Charles de Gaulle, Robert determined to create his method to London and volunteer for de Gaulle's Resistance. Getting out of France was an adventure. When he got to Spain he was thrown in prison, along with a couple of RAF pilots, while they awaited intervention from the U.K. Thanks to British officials, Robert created his method to England, where, after meeting with de Gaulle himself, he agreed to join a British unit training for secret missions into bert parachuted back into France and embraced the missions with a vengeance. One of his basic roles was leading sabotage missions, strategically placing explosives to shut down an arms plant. He was also instrumental in obtaining weapons for the Resistance. It was risky, but Robert knew the risks. Sure enough, after a few months he was caught and spent miserable months in prison, being tortured and interrogated by the Nazis. Real to his training and to his country, he did not betray the Resistance movement.When his Nazi jailers couldn't obtain amazing intel out of him, they sentenced him to be executed. But on the method to his execution, he escaped. In a stage that might be wonderful in an action movie, he evaded his pursuers' gunshots, stole a Nazi dignitary's car, drove it through a Nazi roadblock, and dumped the vehicle in a quarry. His career continued with acts of escape, daring-do, and heroism. Through luck and skill and training and maybe some miracles, he survived the battle and was recognized for his x's narrative is straightforward and unembellished. The Saboteur is gripping, not because of Kix's writing, but because of the remarkable experiences of la Rochefoucauld. That, I suppose is the tag of a skilled biographical writer: I did not place the book down thinking, "Wow, Kix sure can write!" My only thought was "Wow, that la Rochefoucauld fellow was amazing!" The Saboteur gives a amazing perspective on the battle in France and chronicles one of France's amazing anks to Edelweiss and the publisher for the complimentary electronic review copy!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Saboteur: The Aristocrat Who Became France's Most Daring Anti-Nazi Commando review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    Reading this book for the first time, I just couldn't believe it was all real. Imagine your favorite James Bond movie, add in some Guns of Navarone and some Jason Bourne, and that's what you've got here ... except that every word of it is shockingly true. Really, you won't be able top place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Saboteur: The Aristocrat Who Became France's Most Daring Anti-Nazi Commando review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    The cover of this book promises a biography of Robert de La Rochefoucauld, the “Saboteur” of the title, that is “as fast-paced and emotionally intuitive as the very best spy thrillers” --- and it delivers just that. Paul Kix’s debut nonfiction acc is based on La Rochefoucauld’s own memoir, but he has supplemented it with careful research to broaden the focus and provide context for his subject’s remarkable story. In so doing, he also has created it accessible to readers who may not be totally familiar with how Globe Battle II was fought beyond the rn into one of the oldest and most aristocratic French families, La Rochefoucauld was a teenager when the Nazis invaded France in 1939. By lying about his age, he set out the following year to join Charles de Gaulle’s Free French, which was operating out of London. He created his method to Spain, but was caught and imprisoned --- before making the first of three awesome escapes from ter La Rochefoucauld created his method to London, a possibility encounter resulted in an offer to join the fledgling Unique Operations Executive, Winston Churchill’s brainchild. He agreed to do so, but only if de Gaulle supported the decision. When he was ushered into the General’s presence and posed the question, de Gaulle’s response was typical: “It’s still for France, even if it’s allied with the Devil. Go!”After intensive training, La Rochefoucauld parachuted into Vichy France to work with the Resistance, but was soon captured and imprisoned. Conditions at the prison near the city of Auxerre were appalling, and he was regularly tortured. Finally, La Rochefoucauld was tried and sentenced to death --- but, on his method to the firing squad, he decided to overcome his drivers and create a run for it. His escape involved stealing an SS vehicle and dressing as a nun, and thanks to sympathetic villagers, he managed to evade capture, once again making his method to Rochefoucauld’s latest mission turns out to be both his most risky and the most brazen. Kix’s description of hanging from netting above a casement that surrounded a Nazi stronghold is vivid, and La Rochefoucauld’s success in destroying the almost impregnable garrison was celebrated by his e story doesn’t quite end there. In a surprising twist, years after the war, La Rochefoucauld found himself confronting a man accused of collaborating with the Nazis and was forced to decide if he believed in his innocence. His decision reflects the courage he exhibited in E SABOTEUR is a book about one man overcoming his own fear in service of his homeland, but Paul Kix uses Robert de La Rochefoucauld’s experiences to discover what it was like to survive in a country overtaken by the enemy, and the courage it took to war back when those around you have acquiesced. It’s an inspiring ed by Lorraine W. Shanley

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Saboteur: The Aristocrat Who Became France's Most Daring Anti-Nazi Commando review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    Paul Kix weaves the tragic story of the German occupation of France together with the heroic story of a very young and daring French aristocrat. Not a lot of lived through the horror to tell about it, but Robert La Rochefoucault lives to tell of his escapades in the French Resistance. Kix brings this story to us as vividly as if he were there himself.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Saboteur: The Aristocrat Who Became France's Most Daring Anti-Nazi Commando review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    This book is an outstanding read. Delving into the small known French Resistance' warrior Robert de La Rochefoucauld's exploits, Paul Kix masterfully tells the tales of bravery, courage and pain. A must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Saboteur: The Aristocrat Who Became France's Most Daring Anti-Nazi Commando review [Book]  2018-2-4 18:0

    My husband couldn't place the book down.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All Village Map - Locate Your Village review [App]  2019-1-31 13:15

    japekrom

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rogue Heroes: The History of the SAS, Britain's Secret Special Forces Unit That Sabotaged the Nazis and Changed the Nature of War review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    If you search the history of Globe Battle II fascinating, you’re likely to feel that Rogue Heroes is endlessly so. In this eminently readable book, British historian Ben MacIntyre relates the story of the Unique Air Service, the unit that set the pattern for unique forces around the world. From its beginnings in 1941 in the fevered imagination of a rebellious junior officer in the British Army, the SAS has taken on a larger-than-life role in the story of Globe Battle II. MacIntyre makes the most of the romance of the tale, but there’s no whitewash here; the violence, the raging fury, the madness, and the evil brought out by the battle figure just as prominently in the tale. But Rogue Heroes is not just gripping, it’s also frequently very, very e Unique Air Service was born in the North African desert, where an insubordinate lieutenant named David Stirling managed to charm his method into British HQ in Cairo and talk a general into accepting a plan that everyone else on the staff thought utterly mad. Stirling’s notion was that a little unit of unusually brave and enterprising men could parachute behind opponent lines and do amazing hurt to the German armed forces. He set out to create Erwin Rommel‘s life miserable, and he nearly succeeded.A Scottish aristocrat who had failed at everything in civilian life, Stirling had his method at least in part because the commanding general knew his family and had actually visited the ancestral Stirling home. Thus he was authorized to give his idea a try. He began with a handful of men under the arbitrary name L Detachment of the Unique Air Service. By the end of the battle less than four years later, the SAS had grown into a brigade of 2,500 men consisting of five regiments. Two were British, two French, and one Belgian, but all were under British command. Operating in secrecy during most of the war, the SAS was one of the Allies’ most celebrated fighting troops by the time the battle gether, the several thousand men who served in the SAS destroyed large numbers of German and Italian airplanes, trains, ammunition and fuel depots, and trucks, killed hundreds of opponent soldiers, and took hundreds of prisoners. One SAS unit also opened the eyes of the globe to the unspeakable horrors of the now notorious Bergen-Belsen concentration camp. In the course of these incomparably eventful four years, a amazing a lot of men of the SAS died, were wounded, or captured. But the pattern was set. One after another, a lot of of the world’s nations copied the SAS model. In the United States, the first was Delta Force, formed in 1977. Unique forces are now an indispensable element of virtually every one of today’s cIntyre brings the SAS story vividly to life with unique attention to Stirling and a handful of other leaders, not all of them commissioned officers.About the authorThe spies and unconventional fighters of the Second Globe Battle star in four out of Ben MacIntyre’s eleven books, all nonfiction. (The others are Agent Zigzag, Operation Mincemeat, Double Cross, and Rogue Heroes. I’ve reviewed all but the first of these.) MacIntyre is an historian and a columnist for The Times of London.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rogue Heroes: The History of the SAS, Britain's Secret Special Forces Unit That Sabotaged the Nazis and Changed the Nature of War review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    Awesome stories about this group of fearless men as part of the SAS. Very graphic when it came to killing and being killed. I never knew this story, or the group before, but they certainly deserved higher recognition than they got. I'm sure their efforts shortened the battle to some extent, in conquer of the Nazi's and Mussolini's troops. You had to be a unique breed to war with these guys. Your average soldier would not have held his own. Some awesome innovations these guys came up with to destroy vehicles, airplanes and property. Their leaders were all blood and guts. Interesting also [email protected]#$%!ler's order to catch these guys and slay them outright. Showed you how effective they were in setting things back for the Nazi's.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rogue Heroes: The History of the SAS, Britain's Secret Special Forces Unit That Sabotaged the Nazis and Changed the Nature of War review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    Awesome real story of the beginning of the Unique Forces during WW2. This group did so much for the Allies and hurt to the Axis. I'm glad that someone place it into print for all of us to appreciate. Ben Macintyre did a superb job of telling this story. It's the third one his books now on my book shelf. One of my favorite authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rogue Heroes: The History of the SAS, Britain's Secret Special Forces Unit That Sabotaged the Nazis and Changed the Nature of War review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    One of the best non-fiction writers around; thoroughly researched and highly readable. Makes me think that Macintyre is a non-fiction nom de plume that Bernard Cornwell or Le Carre hide behind. The author captures the bravery behind these amateur soldiers that still imbues much of the British Troops today. These are guys from all walks of life and all persuasions that WWII gives a field for them to play out their adrenalin in. A battle in a wide begin environment, at least in its opening in North Africa but later in the more and better known set pieces of Europe. These characters of real "can do" spirit somehow preserved a military tradition of bravery, regimental pride, and mission discipline though through a most untraditional entrepreneurial behavior. Rogues and heroes, indeed!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rogue Heroes: The History of the SAS, Britain's Secret Special Forces Unit That Sabotaged the Nazis and Changed the Nature of War review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    From raiders behind the German lines in North Africa to liberating concentration camps at the end of WWII in Europe the history of the SAS is told in well researched detail. If you are interested in the origins of Unique Forces this book features the beginnings of behind the lines heroes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rogue Heroes: The History of the SAS, Britain's Secret Special Forces Unit That Sabotaged the Nazis and Changed the Nature of War review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    The fascinating story of the extraordinary men who made the British SAS, the prototype for the US Green Berets, Navy Seals, Delta Force and virtually all other unique operations combat troops in the world. Born in 1941 in the deserts of Libya and Egypt an unlikely amalgam of men who ranged from idiosyncratic to sociopathic (and perhaps beyond) fresh (to modern warfare) style of fighting.While the tactical innovations are interesting, the true story is the men, who intrigue and sometimes is book should be headed for the best seller lists.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rogue Heroes: The History of the SAS, Britain's Secret Special Forces Unit That Sabotaged the Nazis and Changed the Nature of War review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    From the North African desert to VE Day, Macintye tracks the origins of the SAS and some of its more popular members through its a lot of campaigns. At this distance in time, it is hard to flesh out the quirks and characteristics of the individual SAS fighters, but there is enough there to create you care when they are wounded, captured, or died, and that is what happened to most of them. Solid history of an elite group of fighters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rogue Heroes: The History of the SAS, Britain's Secret Special Forces Unit That Sabotaged the Nazis and Changed the Nature of War review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    This was a unbelievable book....I read it in me continuous sitting...could not place it down. I test to read everything associated with WW II that is considered authoritative and good. This book ranks with most ... Very informative. It deals with extraordinary people who were there when most needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rogue Heroes: The History of the SAS, Britain's Secret Special Forces Unit That Sabotaged the Nazis and Changed the Nature of War review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    If you are interested in WWII history and the role played by the unconventional forces represented here by the SAS, this is the book for you. At times, the book reads almost like a spy thriller. It is hard to understand the grueling training and difficulties that these men went through during the war, but the author tries his best to obtain that across to the reader. These volunteers would do anything to conquer the opponent and end the war. A lot of did not live to see the end of the war, but with this book, their memories live on. Excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Rogue Heroes: The History of the SAS, Britain's Secret Special Forces Unit That Sabotaged the Nazis and Changed the Nature of War review [Book]  2018-5-14 18:0

    I have read all of McIntyre's books. He is a diligent researcher and brings one's understanding of Globe Battle II into focus. "Rogue Heroes" gives the reader an insight into the courageous and special individuals who founded the SAS. As a woman, I have to say, thank God I never had to go to war. The endless descriptions of killings-although understandably necessary- are painful to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 3: The Secret Formulas for Duplicating Your Favorite Restaurant Dishes at Home (Top Secret Recipes) review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:1

    Love the series to improve my cooking technique

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 3: The Secret Formulas for Duplicating Your Favorite Restaurant Dishes at Home (Top Secret Recipes) review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:1

    Amazing book and in number one condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 3: The Secret Formulas for Duplicating Your Favorite Restaurant Dishes at Home (Top Secret Recipes) review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:1

    recipe book well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 3: The Secret Formulas for Duplicating Your Favorite Restaurant Dishes at Home (Top Secret Recipes) review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:1

    Lots and lots of restaurant cloned recipes !! From all major restaurants.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 3: The Secret Formulas for Duplicating Your Favorite Restaurant Dishes at Home (Top Secret Recipes) review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:1

    amazing items

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 3: The Secret Formulas for Duplicating Your Favorite Restaurant Dishes at Home (Top Secret Recipes) review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:1

    perfect as all his books are. we have tried several recipes over the years and were really impressed with the results, and taste.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 3: The Secret Formulas for Duplicating Your Favorite Restaurant Dishes at Home (Top Secret Recipes) review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:1

    We have all of Todd Wilbers books. This has some recipes we have seen in other books but all in all it has a lot of nice fresh ones.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 3: The Secret Formulas for Duplicating Your Favorite Restaurant Dishes at Home (Top Secret Recipes) review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:1

    I love this book!!!! I have already created a few recipes out of the book and my family loves it! The recipes are so easy it makes me wish to cook twice as much. I even purchased the first edition (not as amazing as this one). I may never need another cookbook, if I obtain the complete set.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 3: The Secret Formulas for Duplicating Your Favorite Restaurant Dishes at Home (Top Secret Recipes) review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:1

    Glad to have this sequel book to the first 1 I bought. My sister loves them both. She is going to use them both. Thank you for having those books ank you Amazon!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 3: The Secret Formulas for Duplicating Your Favorite Restaurant Dishes at Home (Top Secret Recipes) review [Book]  2018-1-31 18:1

    I bought this book just for the Serendipity Frozen Hot Chocolate recipe and Cheesecake Factory's Thai Lettuce ose two recipes were well worth the price of this book!He is awesome at duplicating recipes!! Check out the index and search your favorite!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secret Empire (Secret Empire (2017)) review [Book]  2017-10-27 18:1

    Hail Hydra! This was the marvel happening for 2017. A lot of hated it, some were ambivalent, and it got fans polarized over it. The story: Steve Rogers has had enough of super character civil battles and villains doing what they do. So, after taking over Shield he takes over Hydra as well. Then he recruits heroes and villains that are morally ambivalent to the fresh method and quickly imprisons most of the other heroes either in zone or in Fresh York Town under a darkforce e back story is more complicated. Rogers private timeline got changed by a cosmic cube thus his fresh allegiance to Hydra. But, being who he is and his willpower causes him to realize that all would be better with himself in charge of Hydra and Hydra in charge of everything else. Making Captain America into the villain was the most controversial thing that Marvel could have it a amazing story? Each problem can be read separately as there are no connecting threads and the overall story is broken up at random. The solidification of power by Hydra, the resistance, the heroes at the zone station, Fresh York Town as prison, and the little vignettes with Black Panther, Namor, and the X-men all compete for attention. However, now that it is in a collected edition the story seems more readable. Despite the flaws the story moves along and qualifies for 3.5 - 4 e art changes hands a few times which is understandable given the overall length of the book. Mostly dark in tone and each chapter stays consistent. Again, 3.5 - 4 stars. The format is another matter. Hardcover price is a huge $60! Yes, most of the single problems were five dollars each but only the hard collectors will wish to purchase this one. Granted the price one pays might fluctuate (Civil Battle 2 was half-price less than a month it came out) but the most cost effective is currently the digital ver on kindle. The plus to this edition is one can zoom in the panels that will be smaller in the print volume. Worth the 12.50? Yes, since the singles were larger than normal its like having twenty-four comics thoughts- Marvel did change things even though a lot was returned to normal. The "real" Steve Rogers is imprisoned and still committed to the principles of Hydra. The "new" Steve Rogers is really a construct created by the cosmic cube. Not taken out of time or a clone but a memory fragment created real. So this Captain America is essentially a blank slate with no ties to the past and must deal with the fallout. One can say that the true Steve Rogers died on the field in action at Pleasant Hill (another story) and that's all right. That's the method he would have wanted : Black Widow, Rick llects Secret Empire 1-10, 0, Omega, and Capt. America 25.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delivering Her Secret: A Secret Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    One week is not going to be enough! Houston and Charlie have their work chop out for them. Will Houston be able to hold Charlie from having so much backlash in such a little town? Grab this hot page-turning masterpiece to search out for yourself. Kira never disappoints! This woman is an wonderful author! I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delivering Her Secret: A Secret Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review. Delivering Her Secret is Charlie and Houston's story. Charlie is a preschool teacher and Houston is a doctor. The two meet when Charlie has to bring in one of her students. When the two lay eyes on one another there is an instant attraction. The instant attraction leads to a one night stand. The only issue with there one night stand is that neither of them can obtain the other person out of their head, they both wish more. The two characters are very entertaining you can't support but love them. Their chemistry is so hot that I couldn't place the book down it was a true page turner. Houston isn't a relationship guy and has to hold reminding himself that when he is thinking about Charlie. Charlie soon finds that she is carrying something of Houston's, when Houston returns to city will they be able to work something out or will they go there separate ways? You will have to read to search out. Such a amazing fast read, it was so so good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delivering Her Secret: A Secret Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    This was a fun and steamy romance. Houston was only supposed to be around one more night when he ran into Charlie. So what they had was only supposed to latest one night. However, for the first time ever Houston couldn't stop thinking about a woman. Amazing thing because Charlie has a secret that will certainly hold her from forgetting Houston!With a quick paced story line, Kira Blakely has written a novel that you'll have a hard time putting down. Even if it's only to search out if the evil moms finally succeed in getting Charlie fired from their exclusive school.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delivering Her Secret: A Secret Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    Oooh I love this fast-paced secret baby romance, I devoured it in short hit me with drama and frustrations from the beginning and since then I can't sexy doctor and a shy nursery school teacher, oh yeah they're so various but that's what makes this story interesting, because opposite do for characters, I love Houston and Charlie, from their banters to all the hotness this couple brings, and especially their love toward each other, how they making each other ere's moments I'd love to slap them some senses though, but still I love this sweet couple.If you love secret baby romance with a lot of drama, you might love this one.*I voluntarily received a review copy of this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delivering Her Secret: A Secret Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.I love Kira Blakley writing and this book is another amazing one by her.Houston is a doctor who lost his job because of some scandal and has a harsh view on reality. Charlie only wants to do her job as preschool teacher and love upon the children in her class. Charlie and Houston meet when she takes kid to be looked at. It's n instant attraction for them both that leads to a one night stand that neither one of them can forget about. She's got troublesome parents, a horrible boss, and a secret that she is trying to figure out by herself and he has a meddling mother and a career that needs saving. They have to place everything aside to search their HEA.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delivering Her Secret: A Secret Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    What a Brilliant Story from Kira Blakely. I just love reading her books, I especially enjoyed this one, “Delivering Her Secret”, It is a really well written book with an attention grabbing storyline that drew me in and I didn’t wish to place it down, I was really engrossed in this book till the end. I really loved the characters, Houston & Charlie, who have amazing chemistry and interaction that pulls you into their story. You can’t support but like them. This is an Entertaining, Romantic, Must Read Book that is worthy of your time and I would recommend it to anyone. I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this book. Looking forward to reading more amazing stories from the amazing Kira Blakely

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delivering Her Secret: A Secret Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    Houston is an obstetrician who is on his method to his fresh job and is stuck in a little city for a week. His mother lives in this city and so does Charlie a local a school teacher. They have an instant chemistry and decide to spend the week together before he leaves. Houston does not wish a relationship and continues to tell himself that Charlie is not unique to him. He cannot support but to protect her when she is in e characters are amazing in this story as they test to overcome their fears. Houston’s mother was a true pill and took it awhile before she wins you over.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delivering Her Secret: A Secret Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    Houston is an obstetrician who is on his method to his fresh job and is stuck in a little city for a week. His mother lives in this city and so does Charlie a local a school teacher. They have an instant chemistry and decide to spend the week together before he leaves. Houston does not wish a relationship and continues to tell himself that Charlie is not unique to him. He cannot support but to protect her when she is in e characters are amazing in this story as they test to overcome their fears. Houston’s mother was a true pill and took it awhile before she wins you over.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delivering Her Secret: A Secret Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a arlie is a teacher dealing with little city pettiness when she meets Houston Pope. They have what should've been a one night stand that turns into a week before he leaves for a job out of state. Not long after, Charlie finds herself dealing with more than just issue parents: she's about to be one herself. When Houston returns to see his mother, will they be able to create something more lasting, or will the negative interference of others ruin everything?Some situations were very frustrating to read about , but Charles and Houston deserve a satisfied ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Delivering Her Secret: A Secret Baby Romance review [Book]  2018-1-2 18:0

    Definitely love this book. Two characters who are opposites who just happen to meet unexpectedly and boom instant attraction. The chemistry between these characters are off the charts. They were not looking for love but a one night stand left them hungry for more from the other one. Houston is not looking for a relationship due to a past that almost ruined his career and he is trying to repair it while Charlie is a preschool teacher that has problem with the rich parents in her school. People will test to obtain in between them but will they go for their HEA? I absolutely enjoyed every page of this book. I voluntarily read this ARC in exchange for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    In Secret review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    **A tale of tragic secret affair.** I never heard of it, but I found it accidentally and then decided to watch after learning it has a amazing cast. I mean not that they are the very famous ones right now in the Hollywood, maybe except Elizabeth Olsen, but awesomely played their roles. All the main four characters were very crucial throughout the narration. Like the title say, it was about a secret love affair between a young married woman and her handicapped husband's close friend. In between them, a mother of one of them played an necessary part in the story that brings a twist in the later part. An affair means, going any extent to achieve what they wish for the permanent basis. But not all the affairs, but in this one it gets darker while the story progresses. One thing I liked very much was the tale never intended to label any of its characters as a villain. That balance was so brilliant, but I did not know that, so I always expected something very poor to happen and then, except in one stage which changes the course of the rest of the film. The cinematic feel is there, but it was more like in the true life event. No ones are evil and no ones are heroes, but everyone does all the amazing and poor things in their life and how serious those harmful acts, particularly how it destroys who are all involved in it was the movie excellently told. It was based on the 150 years old French novel. It is also set in at the same time, I mean the 1860s, Paris. The recreation of the era was very good, but my only concern was the pace and the length of the film. Feels boring in some parts, other than that I got no problem with it. Having amazing actors with a decent direction, still it is like to belong in the B film category. Though the overall effort from everyone was awesome and that's the reason you should watch it. _6.5/10_

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    What We Do Is Secret review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Jan Paul Beahm (September 26, 1958 - December 6, 1980) Who? Well quite, and that may well be the issue for any casual film fan who happens to like musical bio-pictures. Jan Paul Beahm during his short run for fame was better known as Darby Crash, lead singer and founding member of Los Angeles punk band The Germs. Firmly picking up on the punk ethic for doing it yourself, Crash and his band created waves across L.A. for a short period of time. Much like The Sex Pistols back in the UK, The Germs were blighted by being unable to play venues as their reputation preceded them. With Crash growing ever more erratic as he tried to execute the different strands of his so called 5 year plan, those around him invariably suffered. Here director Rodger Grossman attempts to tell the "true" story of the life and death of an enigmatic young man on a "crash" course to oblivion. With low production values and a choppy attempt at being a semi rockumentary, What We Do Is secret is really only of interest to fans of the band or those wishing to bone up on American punk rock circa 1976-1980. Even tho myself, an ageing old British punker, quite liked The Germs, this movie only exists because of two major factors. For the facts are that outside of L.A. they were hardly known at the time. It's only because of Crash's subsequent suicide at a young age {on the day John Lennon was shot and killed} and guitarist Pat Smear's future involvement with Nirvana and the Foo Fighters, that the band have had a reappraisal. With minimal input chop onto disc, one has to wonder if someone is trying to build up a legend that doesn't actually exist? What can be said with confidence is that the movie at least brings the L.A. punk stage to notice. With all the historical talk about the Fresh York punk stage that was born out of CBGB'S and Max's Kansas City, it often gets forgotten that L.A. had its moments too. The cast here are beautiful much the run of the mill performers one expects from such a production. Ranging from adequate (Shane West as Crash) to very decent (Rick Gonzalez of Coach Carter fame as Smear), Grossman's movie will not be remembered for any amazing thesping. And since Crash is not very likable, or engaging on an intellectual level, the finale is unlikely to strike you with a sadness born out of the waste of a young life. However, the soundtrack crackles with punk vibrancy and emotive potency, and definitely some of the concert sequences have the look and feel of the original punk rock era. But ultimately the piece remains only worth an interest to an undemanding and little selection of melody fans. Oh and 70s fashion guru's as well one thinks. 6/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secret Wars (Secret Wars (2015-2016)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    First I have to say that the art is gorgeous, sadly I didn't like the story. The first digital comic that I read was the original Secret Battles and although old it was so full packed of action and twists and drama. This story instead felt very long, the mysteries where not interesting to elucidate and had no sympathy to the characters as they look washed or faded as if they had forgotten who they are. Even more in some parts (although I was tired) I fell asleep x_x I felt a amazing percentage of the story as a distraction of a plot that never arrived.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secret Wars (Secret Wars (2015-2016)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    The end of Hickman's multiverse spanning adventures is huge and complicated. Lots of things happen but at the very core is the relationship between Reed Richards and Victor von Doom. It's very well done and is very important. But for all that importance, how much has really changed more than the typical superhero relaunch? Maybe things are changed but it doesn't feel like too much has and that's a bit disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secret Wars (Secret Wars (2015-2016)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Of course it could only end with a reset. Almost a color-by numbers approach to story-telling but it certainly worked as a guilty pleasure. Even in this upside-down reality, everyone beautiful much behaved as expected. The art was mostly lovable but if the same shots had been taken by a photographer, they'd tell the models to use their entire faces (and bodies) to present emotion - most especially their eyes - too often the characters looked like they were simply posing with their mouths open. Nevertheless, I'm only a fanboy so I still enjoyed reading it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secret Wars (Secret Wars (2015-2016)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    This is not a series you can just pick up and read without a lot of previous knowledge - it exists in a very specfic put and time in the Marvel Universe. It took 3 problems for me to obtain into the content of the series, and you can tell it's part of a major crossover of material that is covered in ancilary stories which you never see at said, the storyline for the Unbelievable Four and Dr Doom is quite moving for this story. I want that more time had been spent exploring that rather than the machinations of explaining the fresh universe that had been created. Part of this story reads a bit like the House of M crossover, but ultimately it seems less successful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secret Wars (Secret Wars (2015-2016)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    The primary scenario - the surviving bits and pieces of the Marvel multiverse have been pattern welded together by God Emperor Doom - is great. Unfortunately, the globe is primarily revealed to the reader via dull "As you know" exposition dumps. In addition, most of the characters come across as tediously flat and sterile. I gave up on Hickman's Avengers run after two trades for the same reason - special high concept ideas allow down by underwritten characters and weak storytelling.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secret Wars (Secret Wars (2015-2016)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Beautiful streamlined for how a lot of characters were in this story. Still feel the Time Runs Out story that lead to this was actually stronger. Thanos my favorite villain was under utilized but overall a beautiful amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secret Wars (Secret Wars (2015-2016)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    This was a amazing read. The story was not what I expected, but still very enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secret Wars (Secret Wars (2015-2016)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Perfect comic to add to my collection!!! Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secret Wars (Secret Wars (2015-2016)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    Unbelievable story with unbelievable end. Marvel knows how to make fresh universes but still hold the old around. I'm a buy in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secret Wars (Secret Wars (2015-2016)) review [Book]  2017-11-3 18:2

    The story was ok. Johnathan Hickman is not my cup of tea. I understand his long process of setting up the stories but us readers who have been reading 30+ years or more deserve more. I know that Doom is huge and poor and it seems that Hickman thinks highly of him after his long run with the Unbelievable Four. However, just because you have the power of a god does not mean all you do is sulk and not say much. Plus with an troops of Thors, should this not be enough power to rule the planet? We know that Doom has always thought he is better than Reed and yes, in this story he is trying to take his place. But I can't like stories when they create strong people idiots like the molecule man. I wanted to like this book as I read it twice but to me, the story did not work. I love cosmic level events: Infinity Gauntlet, Dark Phoenix Saga, Legion of Superhero the Amazing Darkness Saga, Thor the Eternal Saga, Secret Battles (original) and others. Yes I know that some are really old but guess want, they withstand the try of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in an Irish Village (An Irish Village Mystery) review [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    Amazing but not great. I got bored in the middle, but the ending is a surprise.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in an Irish Village (An Irish Village Mystery) review [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    What a fun romp in an Irish village. Complicated characters, intriguing plot., quick pace. Seems that nearly everyone has motive and opportunity. Well written mystery that kept me guessing right up to the reveal. Hope to search a second in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in an Irish Village (An Irish Village Mystery) review [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    Fun, simple read. Moves quickly. Holds your interest to the end. I liked these characters. O'Connor did a amazing job of hero development in an interesting way. I could easily picture the village without a long detailed sometimes bring description. Definitely plan to read more of her books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in an Irish Village (An Irish Village Mystery) review [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    I enjoyed it very much. I knew how to pronounce the main character's name, but had to look up her siblings names (with the exception of Ann, of course!) I enjoyed getting to know an Irish village up close and personal. Looking forward to reading more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in an Irish Village (An Irish Village Mystery) review [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    Really well written mystery. I can usually figure out who did it method before the end of the book but this one kept me guessing until the reveal.Highly recommend for an entertaining book, amazing plane read also.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in an Irish Village (An Irish Village Mystery) review [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    Very enjoyable read. My first of this author. It is well written, contains some memorable characters. The special lifestyle and characteristics of the Irish are presented with both candor and humor, making it a pleasurable read. Maybe in one of these series a recipe or two will be included!!! Just a suggestion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in an Irish Village (An Irish Village Mystery) review [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    I liked this book very much. I have always liked books of this type. I have fun a amazing mystery any time. If feel the same this book is for you. I can highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in an Irish Village (An Irish Village Mystery) review [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    Enjoyed it with Liked the characters and the Irish feel of the characters and the town. Various twists and turns. Loved the family feel . A amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in an Irish Village (An Irish Village Mystery) review [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    Enjoyed this as much as the first! Couldn't place it down! Love the setting and descriptions of Ireland - I can't wait for the next book in the series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Murder in an Irish Village (An Irish Village Mystery) review [Book]  2017-11-7 18:0

    This book deserves 5 stars. It reads simple and keeps you hanging on to see who the murderer is. The Irish language is hard to understand sometime.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret Child: A gripping novel of family secrets review [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    A attractive yet sorrowful story of Susie, a young mother and wife who created the life altering decision to give her second kid up for adoption in the 60's, conceived by another man whilst her husband was away for fifteen months, performing his duties in the Navy. Convinced she has no other option than to give her son up for adoption, her demons plague her for decades after, her grief, shame and loneliness of carrying such a secret tainting everything that comes after, especially her relationship with her loving husband and two daughters, Louise and Grace, who often bear the brunt of Susie's inner turmoil, without ever being privy to understanding why she is the method she is.A moving and emotionally charged novel, I would often search myself with a amazing huge lump in my throat and tears glistening in my eyes. With wonderfully fleshed out characters, one cannot support but feel for each one of them as they are intricately tied together in the complex relationships of this family spanning across is tale highlights the strong keep a kid has on its mother, whether she only spent six weeks with them or several decades. It also had me pondering over the fact that even though siblings were brought up under the same roof, their bond may not be ideal, yet, on the flipside - * SPOILER HERE! - siblings could share an instant bond even though they didn't grow up together.*Primarily told from Susie's point of view, the story switches over to Grace's point of view in Part Two, when Grace learns of her mother's skeleton in the attic, adding another layer to this already multi-layered story. As the truth reveals itself, like a bowling ball hitting pins in all sorts of directions, we witness each family member's somewhat unpredictable reactions. Grace's entire perspective of her mother changes, with her finally getting to understand why her mother was the method she the author's words, this attractive tale leaves us with "a notice of hope – that there are more amazing people in the globe than bad, that decency, forgiveness and love will triumph."I loved getting to know each member of the Duarte family, having shared in the heartache of their trials but also in the love they clearly have for one another.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret Child: A gripping novel of family secrets review [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    Kerry is one of my favourite authors and I always look forward to reading her work, I downloaded The Secret Kid to then be able to save it for Christmas, as you can see that didn't quite go to rry's strength is in her characters and how realistic they become within the pages of her books, with this heartfelt story of Susie, who gives her kid up for adoption. It is set back in the late 1960's moving us forward through the happenings and life.I can't start to imagine what it must have been like to give up a kid not because you wanted to for different reasons, but because your family was embarrassed by you. It wasn't the done Susie's decisions affect her future years like a domino effect, but not only hers - her family and how she makes rry describes the decades with subtle reminders of music, fashion, and family differences. How times really have changed from generation to generation, with some things staying the same.A family saga that will hold you turning the pages, but not wanting it to end. With storylines that you will take to your heart, you will question the personalities and decisions made. Making this an interesting thought provoking read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret Child: A gripping novel of family secrets review [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    A mother's love is all encompassing, it is always present, and it comes from her soul...I looked down at their fingers entwined, struck by the sheer power of maternal love. Within that clasp was so much love and longing, such strength of feeling that time had done nothing to diminish.A quote from the book that speaks of a mother's love. The author, Kerry Fisher, goes into the depth of this love for the entire story. Her words leap off the page, touch the heart, and cause tears to flow e main character, Susie, is married to Danny, with a daughter Louise. A singing passion and an unfortunate forcible act, a kid is conceived, when Danny is away at sea. To maintain her family and their happiness, she gives up the kid for adoption, and that guilt eats her up throughout her life.... Till a fatal episode forces the entire family to face the shock of the secret...Kerry Fisher has done a unbelievable job to describe the guilt of a mother who has given her kid away. The longing which a mother feels to keep all her children, especially the one who is away from her. Every occasion forces the mother to remember her child, there is never a moment of complete joy for that mother. Such is the main character, Susie described by the author. Her pain seeps through the pages into the reader's e story is told in dual voices first half by the mother, Susie and the latter by the second daughter, Grace. It is awesome to see how the daughter who rebelled the most, ultimately understood her mother more deeply than the others. The book follows their lives through the years Susie, Danny, and their two daughters. Their choices, their decisions, their anger, their differences, their joy, their happiness. But the background of Susie's pain coats every page...I read this book as an observer as someone outside the family. Even though there is pathos, I didn't search myself swayed by those emotions always. At times, I felt that Susie should have confessed to her family, especially when the children grew up or when the adopted kid tried to contact her... But that does not, a story e book goes from Susie's youth to her old age and makes it an entertaining read.I end the review with another quote by Kerry Fisher —The most generous words, one human being says to another, (the adopted mother to the birth mother)Thank you so much for for my son. Your son...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret Child: A gripping novel of family secrets review [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    THE SECRET CHILD by Kerry Fisher is a strong and emotional story of heartache, motherly love, and family, and I guarantee you will need tissues close by as you devour every word of this sie has loved her son, her second child, from the moment she laid eyes on him and even though she was only allowed to hold him for six weeks, he has lived in her mind and heart every day. Conceived at the end of the sixties when her beloved husband was away in the Navy, her mother and the Church soon forced Susie to give away her boy, and with that single decision, Susie's life is altered forever. Anxious, desperate, and heartbroken over a loss that she must hide for years, in the first part of this story we see how Susie's despair impacts her two daughters and her caring husband who cannot understand why she is the method she e second part of the story is years later and Gracie has discovered her mother's secret and embarks on a journey that will change the dynamics of their family forever.With beautiful, in-depth characters we obtain to know every part of their personalities and my heart broke for Susie while at times I desperately wanted her to be more show for her daughters, especially Louise. This book created me sad and mad because sadly we all now know what happened to so a lot of women back then, and I really wanted Susie to search some peace in her life and be E SECRET CHILD by Kerry Fisher is a stunning story that you will not wish to place down once you begin. It is compelling, it is raw, and it is beautifully written, and I highly recommend it to fiction fans that have fun a dramatic family tale.*I voluntarily reviewed this book from the Publisher

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret Child: A gripping novel of family secrets review [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    This is an emotional read that will tug at your heartstrings from the very is book starts out in the 1960’s. Susie who is first known to us as Rita is forced by her mother to go to a Mother and Baby place, to give birth to a baby boy, which she has to give up for adoption. Susie struggles with giving him away and insists on caring for him until the day he is taken and given away. She treasures every moment that she has with her son. Susie returns home and keeps the secret of her son and her infidelity from her husband Danny. Susie’s guilt on giving her son away eats at her as every year passes, and she becomes a moody and emotional and suffers depression. When Susie gets ill later in life the truth of what happened surfaces. Will her family endure such a large secret being uncovered?This story is told in two perspectives, the first being from Susie, and the second from her daughter Grace. It is unbelievable to obtain the second perspective, it shows the relationship between the mother and daughter. And just how much the secret has affected her and her sister e storyline is well written and the characters felt so real. I was on the emotional roller-coaster ride with the whole is was one unbelievable read that should definitely be place on everyone’s TBR rry Fisher knows how to write a book that will pull its readers into the story and create them feel everything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret Child: A gripping novel of family secrets review [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    I’ve read two previous books by this author and this is definitely my favourite to date. I absolutely loved it. From begin to finish I was gripped. Apart from having to create (a quick) dinner I read this in one sitting.While reading this I felt the author took out my heart and squeezed it until I cried. I’ll now be adding this to the rare collection of books that created me e author wrote this in such a amazing method I felt as if I was there with the characters. I felt their pain, I went through the various emotions with them.A truly brilliant read. Can’t wait to read more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret Child: A gripping novel of family secrets review [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    This novel pulls at the heartstrings like you wouldn't believe and left me with a heavy lump in my throat. It's the kind of story that has me reaching for the tissues, just in case, and has me doing that weird waving-hand-in-front-of-face thing to hold the tears at bay. Kerry Fisher obviously knows how to draw relatable and realistic characters that worm their method into your heart and I desperately wanted things to work out for all of them. This is a beautifully written story, sad and heartbreaking, moving and thought-provoking, ultimately incredibly emotional. I loved every min of it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret Child: A gripping novel of family secrets review [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    I adore Kerry Fisher's writing. Her stories are hard hitting and emotional and stay with me for a long time. I save her books as treats, knowing they will always entertain and take me right into the characters' lives and their dilemmas so for a few days I am lost, completely and utterly at the mercy of this author and the spell she weaves with her unbelievable stories. And this book... WOW! From the very first, emotional chapter, I was hooked. And the story just kept getting better and better, more and more addictive until I gave up all pretence of trying to do other things and gave myself over to the persistent demands of the characters to be heard. A beautiful, poignant tale covering a very sensitive subject and doing justice to all the characters involved. Loved them all. Lived their lives and their dilemmas, cried with them. What more can you ask for in a book? I'm still thinking of them and will do so for a long time. Brilliant author! Fabulous book! Very highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret Child: A gripping novel of family secrets review [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    Susie is married to Danny in the sixties and they have a daughter Louise but when Danny is away on a long tour of duty in the navy Susie gets pregnant by another man. Convinced that the only option she has is to give the baby up for adoption she goes into a mother and baby home and leaves her son there..... something that will have a profound affect on her life!Danny and Susie have another daughter Grace but Susie cannot ever obtain over having to give up her son and as the years go by it eats away at her more and more which ends up with taking it out on her husband and daughters, who obviously can't understand why she is like she isA brilliant emotional story, working well with Grace taking the narrative in the second part, it wad a sad story with Susie torn apart for so a lot of years by her secret unable to share it with her family but a book that I couldn't place down and one that stayed with me long after I finished reading it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Secret Child: A gripping novel of family secrets review [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    Another deeply emotional well written story from Kerry is was described as a gripping novel of family secrets and it certainly lived up to its billing. The novel opens in 1968 when we meet fresh mother, Susie, who is giving her baby up for adoption. She already has a little daughter and her husband, who is away at sea, cannot be the father of her second begins a lifetime of secrets which affect Susie and her emotional relationship with her daughter and husband. As she struggled with her demons, I found myself more and more drawn to her, and was really wanting her to resolve these issues. The story unfolded well, with the surprise involvement of her daughter in helping her mother. The characters of her daughter and husband were also beautifully drawn and we also saw in to their emotions and reactions to the situation in which they found themselves.Another perfect novel from one of my fresh favourite authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets at Seaside (Sweet with Heat: Seaside Secrets) review [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    Secrets at Seaside may just be the best book of the Seaside Summers series. Amy and Tony shared a heartbreaking past that Amy has kept from her mates from the Cape. In order to move on and have a second possibility at the relationship they want, they have to confront the past they've hidden from their closest ers who have been waiting for Tony and Amy's story are not going to be disappointed. Out of all the Seaside couples, their street to happiness has been the most difficult, and the most rewarding.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets at Seaside (Sweet with Heat: Seaside Secrets) review [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    This series is so satisfying to read. I have fun the twists and turns in the plots. I am looking forward to reading more of this author's work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets at Seaside (Sweet with Heat: Seaside Secrets) review [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    Well it's about time. The two finally knocked down their walls and got together. Sweet heartfelt story of waiting for the person you have loved forever to finally wake up. Love this book and all the others so far in the series. The story is well written. Book 6 Nights at Seaside is next, can't wait!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets at Seaside (Sweet with Heat: Seaside Secrets) review [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    Love the story of Tony and Amy it so sweet. There was a lot of pain they had to work through with their past. The friendship the girls have are so strong. I want I had mates like them. 🙂

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets at Seaside (Sweet with Heat: Seaside Secrets) review [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    Amazing series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets at Seaside (Sweet with Heat: Seaside Secrets) review [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    This is my first time writing a review, but I felt the need to allow people know how much I loved Amy and Tony's story. I accidentally found the Seaside stories one day, while looking for something fast but fun to read. I read Leanna and Kurt's story first, and fell immediately in love with all four of the Seaside Girls. Amy and Tony always intrigued me. It was obvious that they both cared greatly for the other. Why couldn't they just admit it, and be together? This was the book I was waiting for! This story explains their reasons, and how they finally overcome them to become the couple I've been hoping for since book one. Addison Cole's (or Melissa Foster's) books are thoughtful, heartwarming, sometimes heart breaking, and sweet, with just a small heat!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets at Seaside (Sweet with Heat: Seaside Secrets) review [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    This is a amazing story. Love scenes are left to the imagination while the passion in the story itself created a unbelievable book with heartfelt characters!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets at Seaside (Sweet with Heat: Seaside Secrets) review [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    The past haunts some of us just like it haunted Amy in "Secrets at Seaside". I could totally identify with this character. Loved the love story that was meant to be. Everyone should have a story book ending like this!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets at Seaside (Sweet with Heat: Seaside Secrets) review [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    Perfect series and author! I love following the characters in the following books even after the current book is finished!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets at Seaside (Sweet with Heat: Seaside Secrets) review [Book]  2018-6-15 18:0

    A+

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets review [App]  2019-2-7 13:36

    People don't understand the use of this app, this is the best application ever, just that after use u must close it, if it remains on the taskbar, and someone taps on it, it wont ask for a pin😂😂😂

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets review [App]  2019-2-7 13:36

    It doesn't work when I dial 1111 nothing happens and when I test to take pictures the application freezes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets review [App]  2019-2-7 13:36

    I love the preview as well As The Application Amazing Work U Guy's

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets review [App]  2019-2-7 13:36

    The 1111 fake call is connecting me to Airtel Network.... please support

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets review [App]  2019-2-7 13:36

    I hate it this application is too boring

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Secrets review [App]  2019-2-7 13:36

    Why cant i begin it anymore by not dialling 1111?? What's happened?

    0  



    Read random posts:


    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter