Read violent manhood reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all violent manhood reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Ends []  2020-9-16 19:12

    I took a possibility and read this with a reading enrichment course. The teenagers (15-16) I read it with were mature and interested in reading this. Violent Ends is amazing as far as not glorifying the shooter. Each chapter gives a perspective one would expect, while others shed a various light. I will say that some of the chapters were *”better” as far as relevance, but all chapters cohesively work together even though they are written by other authors.*I only gave it a four because of the chapter content. I don’t wish to say it was “boring” because of the sensitive subject, but some chapters felt long and is is a amazing read by yourself but is also amazing for a book club or classroom read. I’d say a more mature audience is best; conversation is deep and meaningful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Ends []  2020-9-16 19:12

    I thought this story was very well thought out. The beginning and end tied together nicely. I found it interesting that we learned so much about the shooter without ever seeing the story through his eyes. It was fascinating to see how his friends, enemies, and people who didn't even really know him could form various opinions about him as a person. Ithe created him feel complete and favorite part about this story is how it draws together so a lot of characters. It shows how this shooting affects both individuals and a community. Violent Ends is not afraid to tackle some beautiful huge issues, and I respect the authors for that.About my only criticism of the story is that there were some characters I wanted to hear a small more from, like his D&D group.Overall, I highly recommend this story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Saturday [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    The Brandenville Broth. Violent Saturday is directed by Richard Fleischer and adapted to screenplay by Sydney Boehm from the novel of the same name written by William L. Heath. It stars Victor Mature, Richard Egan, Lee Marvin, Stephen McNally, J. Carrol Naish, Tommy Noonan, Ernest Borgnine, Virginia Leith and Sylvia Sidney. Melody is by Hugo Friedhoffer and cinematography by Charles G. Clarke. Stand Pat and Resist Evil. A simmering powder keg of criminality told in attractive De Luxe and CinemaScope, Violent Saturday is one of the definitions of a slow burn film that pays off with explosive aplomb. The city of Brandenville is the stage of a planned bank robbery by a trio of baddies led by Harper (McNally). The narrative has the trio arrive in city and plan for the robbery, as they move about the populace, a whole bunch of sub-plots pop up to maintain maximum interest and to of course set up the drama involving the robbery and the subsequent attempts at a getaway. I don't blame him – she moves like a Swiss watch. The characters are prime noir dwellers, they range from thieving dames and tramp wives, to a peeping tom, a drunkard husband and also a guilt ridden father, and this before we even obtain to the villains! Who, with Marvin in prime Benzedrine sniffing sbag mode (he thinks nothing of hurting children), are truly shifty operators personified. The Arizona locale is beautifully utilised by Fleischer and Clarke, belying the harsh side of the human condition that comes roaring out the Brandenville traps as the pic enters the final third. There's some murky moralising in said latest third that irritates, more so when it involves a badly miscast Borgnine as a Quaker! While one hero strand is annoyingly left dangling. So it's not excellent by any stretch of the imagination. In fact some of the cast were less than enamoured with either their work on the movie or the attitude of others around them. Yet, and while understanding the reticence of some to not afford it movie noir status, it has the requisite characterisations and nasty bite to hold noiristas very satisfied indeed 7.5/10

    0  


    Add your opinion on violent manhood or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Ends []  2020-9-16 19:12

    In April of 1999, I was sitting in science class when I heard about the actions of two mad children in a HS twenty miles away. I haven't really spent a lot of time thinking about that over the years. This book brought all of those feelings back up and socked me in the gut with is is an intense, and sometimes confusing book. But I really think that it speaks to how intense and confusing such an happening is. No one is sure of the why or the how. People aren't even sure of their own emotions or how they should react. Violent Ends aptly illustrates that. Each of the stories are woven around a few concrete points, but the method they obtain to those points, and the emotions they convey make this complex view of a singular event. There are no heroes or villains, just people trying to live their lives, hide their weakness, and create it to the next 's hard to separate the various stories. All of them seem to begin in the middle, and most of them end ambiguously, just slice of life vignettes.Each of them relies on the other stories to flesh them out, to bring in background and contrast. As individual stories these would falter, but in the anthology setting, they're really able to [email protected]#$%!&'s a various approach to an anthology, and one I really is would be an wonderful book to read with your kids after a school shooting. It's very thought provoking without being preachy, leaving the problems of gun control or mental illness out of it entirely to focus on the people impacted. Highly, highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Ends []  2020-9-16 19:12

    Amazing book! I would recommend it, but you learned about who Kirby Matheson was through everyone else's eyes and never really learned who he was from his point of view. It would have been nice to know how he truly felt and learn what created him do what he did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Ends []  2020-9-16 19:12

    Violent Ends is a very disturbing scenario...as it should be. A novel, written from 17 points of view, each story within is intertwined around one event, a deadly shooting at a high school pep rally. Each story is special and each perspective is different, told through the eyes of those who were directly involved or lived on the periphery of this terrifying incident. Whether before the shooting, at the school during the horrifying violence, or in the aftermath, each takes a type of "six degrees of separation" look into problems of bullying, abuse, anorexia, or gender issues, family dysfunction, and above all violence. All the contributions are good, but some will take your breath away. This is written by some of the best authors in urban fantasy. Some readers will search bits of themselves, their friends, or their families within the pages, both amazing and bad. I couldn't place it down, and at the same time, had to take a breather at points to simply absorb and deal with the emotions it evoked so strongly. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Ends []  2020-9-16 19:12

    I'll confess: I went into the book with mixed thoughts, because books predicated around school shootings can often be tricky territory. They're sometimes done exceptionally well, but I wasn't sure how the multiple perspectives would factor into Kirby's story. Would it ultimately detract away from helping readers develop a full picture of both the shooter and the happening itself?Well, I shouldn't have worried. Because Shaun Hutchinson and seventeen of the most talented writers in YA have teamed up to share the puzzle pieces of Kirby's life with insight provided by mates and classmates, who were both intimately and broadly acquainted with him. Through each story, we obtain a small closer to just what could have possibly drove Kirby to this end.While each of the stories stand on their own merit, it doesn't seem fair to judge them individually. So I'll just say that in terms of the whole picture, each story adds a piece to the puzzle that is Kirby, showing just why this young man has been driven to these violent ends.Each story ultimately asks, and sometimes outright challenges the reader, to ask the question of just what - if anything - could have been done differently to prevent this tragedy from happening. While the temptation is to just write Kirby off as a homicidal monster, something that Beth Revis's main hero struggles with in "Violent Beginnings", we see accutely through stories of chance denied like "The Girl Who Said No" by Trish Doller, or the gentle and painful truths of "Feet First" by Margie Gelbwasser, that this was a young man with complexities and challenges reinforcing his humanity, but also making the end effect all the more troubling.While Violent Ends is a challenging, and often times painful read, it's also a welcome and much needed-look at a reality that has unfortunately become more and more verdict:Violent Ends is an necessary book in all respects, but especially for younger readers. Sure to provoke a lot of conversation and discussion, and I would like to introduce this book - with care - to the young readers in my life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Ends []  2020-9-16 19:12

    Initially I wasn't sure if I would like it and if the story would be able to flow with a various author doing each chapter, but I was pleasantlt surprised. It worked well and each author balanced the one who came before. This was a very gripping read and it created me think of We need to talk about Kevin. Is a kid born bad?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Ends []  2020-9-16 19:12

    This book was a really amazing read. There is language and in this book so for those who wish to hold that away from their kids, create a note. I thought the various chapters were really good. There is one perspective that blew me away. The whole book left me with lots of questions and thoughts. This would be a really amazing book club read or discussion starter for teens. I believe it would be ok for mature 8th graders to read and amazing for high school-aged students. It is about a high school shooting, so be prepared. I wasn't initially going to read it because it is about a high school shooting but after reading reviews from teens who had read it, I wanted to. I am glad I did. One of my favorite authors, Neal Shusterman, and his son wrote one of the chapters. I did not identify which author wrote which chapter ahead of time. I am glad I didn't. I enjoyed seeing who wrote what after I completed the book. I loved the chapter the Shustermans wrote. I enjoyed reading the writing of authors I hadn't read before. Overall, amazing read. Thought provoking. Insightful. Not the usual info you see come out of situations like this. You will flip flop as to how you feel about the shooter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Ends []  2020-9-16 19:12

    Grade: A+Who is Kirby Matheson? The boy who befriended bullied kids? The child who tried to protect you? Your victim? The oddball? The loner? The boy you who was once your friend? Your secret crush? The unpopular child with whom you couldn't be seen? The child with a gun? The monster? The shooter? Your brother?VIOLENT ENDS tells the story of seventeen people who knew Kirby at various periods in his life and in various capacities. Each chapter is written by a various YA writer, each one of the seventeen POVs written in either first or third person, each a fascinating glimpse into Kirby. I devoured this special novel in one sitting, eager to understand why this child became a killer.Of course, there are no simple answers, no true answers at all. Armchair psychologists, media, jurors and peers can theorize, but because Kirby died and we don't obtain his POV, there can never be true answers. I never saw him as a creature or a victim, but as a child trying to search his put in his world. Acceptance. Friends. Esteem. An introvert who lived more in his head than among others, unskilled at asking for what he needed. The seventeen flawed narrators allow him down in little and huge ways, deliberately and by omission, recognized or denied their contribution to who Kirby became in varying s, Kirby pulled the trigger, but he did not become Kirby-The-School-Shooter in a vacuum.I didn't wish VIOLENT ENDS to end. I wanted more from each narrator (except the gun), more backstory and more of what happened in the aftermath. I would love sequels in the separate POVs (a series?) because I was that interested. Collaborator/Editor Shaun David Hutchinson can you create this happen? Please?My only little criticism is that I was a small confused in who lived, died and who knew who. If each chapter had had the narrator's name and disposition, that might have helped?THEMES: violence, school shooting, family, friends, bullying, short-stories, peer pressureVIOLENT ENDS is an necessary book that should be read by teens, their parents and their teachers. It would be a amazing classroom read for English, Psychology or Sociology classes. It's so amazing I'm about to reread, even though I have another book I can't wait to read in the queue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Ends []  2020-9-16 19:12

    On the day of his high school's pep rally, teenager Kirby Matheson walks into his school and opens fire, killing six students and injuring five others. Violent Ends describes the days surrounding the traumatic event, with each chapter featuring a various perspective. Like 13 Reasons Why, Violent Ends explores adolescent death in a method that's both fascinating and horrifying. This is one of those books you won't be able to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Manhood: The Bare Reality []  2020-7-2 19:2

    This is an okay collection of photos, which I acquired for the easy purpose of not always using myself as the model! I expected much larger, in-your-face @#$% pix. As it is, it’s useful. Someone will obtain this subject photographed and printed correctly, one day. Hints: (1) different angles and (2) varied degrees of ‘inflation’!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Youth And Young Manhood []  2021-3-16 19:51

    bought this for my dad for his bday. he loves it. amazing album!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Manhood: The Bare Reality []  2020-7-2 19:2

    This is not a fast read. For the most part, it is the stories of each man as he more or less described what manhood means to him. It is British, so some of the terms may be unknown outside Europe. Some had not good childhoods that left them scared, and trying to search a method forward. Others were early on confused as to their ity and how they came to terms with who they were. Some had medical problems which impeded their enjoyment of relations. Others were confident with their manhood, and had rewarding experiences. Some were in there only marriage, and others with multiple divorces in their past. Some stayed close to their children, and others got separated forever from their children. The stories cover a wide range of human experiences, told through the lens of being a man. There is also a wide range of adult ages, a lot of of middle age or older. Yes, some discuss what size means to them, from the whole range of sizes, as does it really matter?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Manhood: The Bare Reality []  2020-7-2 19:2

    Not what i was expecting. There are plenty of pictures with male naked but the studies about that is not very deep. I am still looking for a amazing book about that subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Youth And Young Manhood []  2021-3-16 19:51

    I can hardly take this CD off the carousel, it's so hip and event and loose and funky and mostly just downright incredibly tuneful.I'm listening to most of the other 'new rock' out there like the White Stripes, Hives, Black Keys, etc and for my cash the Kings are method out n't know where this stupid 'southern rock' description comes from. OK these guys come from Tennessee but the melody doesn't sound 'southern' in the slightest. The first time I heard some of these tunes in a club, I thought they were probably from NYC/Boston, cuz the Lou Reed/Bob Dylan/Ramones influence was so strong. Or maybe California. The guitar tones are very British, early Kinks, Who, Stones, very Vox-ish.Anywhere but the south, they don't sound even an iota like Lynrd Skynrd (or however you spell it, one of the worst bands of all time), the Allman Brothers (who I dig, but there's absolutely no link with this music).As for the reviewer who talked about hype, what hype? I haven't heard any hype over this group at all. Like I said, I was in a bar that was playing a few tunes over the sound system. I asked the bartender who these guys were, then went out and bought it. Every mate that hears it at my crib wants a copy, I must've burned a dozen or so in the latest two waiting at the edge of my seat for their second CD, hope it's as good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Youth And Young Manhood []  2021-3-16 19:51

    This band was suggested by my twenty-year old nephew when I asked who the children liked nowadays-He suggested ONLY BY THE NIGHT,but after the Kings created an appearance on the TODAY SHOW,I felt their recent material was too mellow(it's still outstanding,though)-This record has a truly live feel,like they recorded it in a bar afterhours-Excellent performances the whole method through,what I call "minimalist",like Husker Du in a way-My fave here is HOLY ROLLER NOVACAINE;I think it could have been a hit if it were released as a single because it is catchy and has a amazing structure-I've listened to this album the past three days with my morning coffee,and now I'm gonna place it down for a while so I don't burn out on it-But,I've enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone down on modern rock and roll-Along with My Morning Jacket,Kings of Leon will be remembered fondly in melody history-A band to watch out for!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Youth And Young Manhood []  2021-3-16 19:51

    I love these guys. I have all their cd's, but I did not like this one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Youth And Young Manhood []  2021-3-16 19:51

    item as described, but 3 of the four corners of the cover were bent up. To the point I wouldn't hang it on the wall... But otherwise amazing item.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Manhood: The Bare Reality []  2020-7-2 19:2

    I saw this book in The Guardian and thought it would support me understand men better; as a cisgender hetero female, men really stump me a lot of the time. I am not aware of other books like this out there. Also plan to use it as a "display" for the values-based adult ity classes I facilitate. Essays are short, interesting. Pictures certainly add interest (who knew how a lot of men shave their pubes?!) But I had to delete one star just because this is written and edited in the UK, and a lot of the slang is lost on me as a US reader. A glossary would have been a huge help. Of course you can look terms up on the internet...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Manhood: The Bare Reality []  2020-7-2 19:2

    I enjoyed reading this book but want that I had known that all of the men involved were from England.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Manhood: The Bare Reality []  2020-7-2 19:2

    One of the best books I have ever read. Just daily men talking about daily things, feelings and more. Your is a major part of your life and should be talked about!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Youth And Young Manhood []  2021-3-16 19:51

    Before I obtain too far, I'll say that the CD is not poor at all. Amazing not great. Now I must say that I don't obtain the "southern rock" mark at all. Maybe they wish to emphasize the "southern" part to separate them from bands like The Strokes. But don't expect to hear anything southern (maybe "Joe's Head" and "Trani", and the bluesy "Dusty" ?). To me, southern rock has some element of twang, especially in the vocals. It's absent sounds a lot like early '70s glam such as T. Rex, Lou Reed, Stooges-lite, Bowie (most vocals are like an aggressive Bowie, and as other reviewers have noted, aren't for everyone)and also sounds a bit like late '70s/early '80s fresh wave/eck out the Drive-by Truckers if you are looking for contemporary southern rock.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Youth And Young Manhood []  2021-3-16 19:51

    This is, in my opinion, in the top 5 debut albums of all time. It's not full of over-produced "poppy" hooks and rhythms. This is the kind of album you could listen to with nearly anyone, and they would have fun every min of it. I've introduced this album to mates of all various ages, ethnicities, and backgrounds. People just have fun this album, because it's different, and the Kings don't keep anything back. Matt, Caleb, Nathan, and Jared have changed their style with each album, and that's one thing you can't knock. After their wildly famous "Only By The Night," they didn't come out with another radio-infused, money-maker album. They came out with a chill, but edgy album, "Come Around Sundown." Youth and Young Manhood is where it all started. Do yourself a favor, and scoop up this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Manhood: The Bare Reality []  2020-7-2 19:2

    I love this book for so a lot of various reasons. For starters I was very sheltered growing up and men absolutely elude me. It’s very intersesting to read about the lives and “livelihood” of different types men, and see how they view their condly, the presentation is amazing. You obtain vauge info about the men from their genitalia (it’s a , it won’t tell you much) but I was led to draw conclusions, that is until I read the text and was able to disconnect from the photo and the person. It’s very refreshing to read in such a way, because instead of knowing who this person is, they will tell me is very depressing and makes me wonder about the consicencses of pushing masculinity on boys and men. Some is exciting and some is very insightful. I’m positive not all men think just like this book, but these 100 men are leading a path to discussing true problems and true l in all, I think it’s a amazing read for anyone who is curious about other people, curious about men, or wish to discover journalistic writing ry amazing read, and I look foreword to finding more books like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Manhood: The Bare Reality []  2020-7-2 19:2

    The picture print quality is bad. Also, the pic is method too little for each section. It would be so much nicer to have a glossy paper for the overview. From a design perspective , the book can only obtain a three.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Youth And Young Manhood []  2021-3-16 19:51

    I pulled this cd out of my collection to burn for some work pals who had never heard them but are fans of Lynard Skynard. I remember that it was only about two notes into "red morning light" that I realized these guys were something special. A lot of years and cds and shows later I still think so. I still highly recommend them to fans of Allman Brothers, Lynard Skynard, and other "kings" of southern rock.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Manhood: The Bare Reality []  2020-7-2 19:2

    I agree with a previous reviewer: the idea is amazing and the stories are mostly interesting, but the quality of the images and the text are merely mediocre. I search the text (font) challenging to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Manhood: The Bare Reality []  2020-7-2 19:2

    Want the pics were bigger, and was printed in better quality, but the stories are amazing and a amazing coffee table book for discussion

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Youth And Young Manhood []  2021-3-16 19:51

    This was the first item I bought online and one of my all-time favorite cds. Kings of Leon is an alt band that takes rock back to its roots.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Youth And Young Manhood []  2021-3-16 19:51

    As a fan of the early KOL music, this one is awesome. Not so much a fan of what they are putting out now, but this album was beautiful awesome!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent By Design (Deluxe) []  2020-1-23 3:15

    this is a rare and awsome album. if you ever obtain a possibility to obtain it, buy it on the spot. jedi mind tricks never disappoints!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent By Design (Deluxe) []  2020-1-23 3:15

    Rivals wu tang clan's 'forever' album. actually like that but a lot more aggressive. think dmx crossed with killah priest, canibus and rza on beats that are half alchemist half rza.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violent Enemy []  2020-9-28 18:0

    Amazing but not amazing l I've read much better Higgins. Average plot. Beautiful amazing word pictures and hero construction. Some characters not quite real,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violent Enemy []  2020-9-28 18:0

    Amazing ReaD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent by Design [Vinyl] []  2020-12-1 22:0

    this is a rare and awsome album. if you ever obtain a possibility to obtain it, buy it on the spot. jedi mind tricks never disappoints!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    These Violent Delights []  2020-11-18 19:4

    I would allow Juliette Cai step on my throat. 10/10 would absolutely recommend!!! Miss Chloe Gong is one to watch in the years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    These Violent Delights []  2020-11-18 19:4

    These Violent Things is one (of many) books that I had on my private most anticipated reads of the year. This is Chloe Gong’s debut novel, and I think she has an wonderful writing career ahead. I feel that this was written with amazing planning and research of the times, cultures, and people. Although this is fantasy, she remained real to the themes she chose to represent. The plot felt well planned and paced, so that story was constantly moving forward. Her writing style allows the reader to enter her world, to see and know the characters, while creating different emotions with her a Romeo and Juliet retellling, I say she did an awesome job recreating the globe and events. I love Juliett’s character! She is a strong, smart female protagonist. There is ownvoices for queer representation and is a attractive addition to the a debut, I am giving it four stars for creativity, themes, representation, and writing. This is a powerful debut and I look forward to reading more from ths author in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    These Violent Delights []  2020-11-18 19:4

    These Violent Delights is set in a truly cosmopolitan Shanghai in 1926, where crime, debauchery, and political conflict runs rampant. We are introduced to the Scarlet Gang and White Flowers, the former comprised of ethnic Chinese members of high society, and the latter created up of Russians who’ve fled the Bolshevik Revolution. Gong’s Shanghai is a divided city, with different political parties and gangs fighting for dominion, and in the middle of it all is a creature that preys on its members left and right. Juliette Cai and Roma Montagov – lovers turned opponents and heirs of the two reigning gangs – set out to uncover the mystery of the town and save itself from doom, and in the process stand to lose themselves and everything they keep near and anghai is a living breathing hero in this story. Gong manages to transport the reader to the crime filled roads and inside the scheming gatherings, and gives us a taste of the time and put so vividly. The political implications and conflicts of the time provides such a concrete backdrop for the mystery and the tension of the overall story, and definitely raises the stakes for the main characters’ actions. There’s also an underlying exploration of ideas of colonialism and foreign occupation, and I really appreciated how in Gong’s globe things were not always black and white, and there was no clear right and wrong, or superior moral ese Violent Delights is getting a lot of buzz, and it deserves all the praise. Chloe Gong’s original, seductive, captivating Romeo and Juliet retelling is an instant recommendation for any fantasy fan, especially if you like quick paced and dark mysteries woven in magical, mysterious settings

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    These Violent Delights []  2020-11-18 19:4

    Thank you so much to Simon & Schuster and Chloe Gong for destroying my entire week... I mean, providing me with a free Advanced Reader Copy of These Violent Delights in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed herein are my own and not influenced by the company or its affiliates in any way.***I have never been happier to have a platform that could potentially reach an author than I am now. Because I need to tell Chloe Gong this…How very dare you?! How dare you have the audacity to write a book this devastatingly good. I lost nights of sleep staying up to read These Violent Delights and then I lost even more sleep after finishing because I couldn’t stop thinking about , I understand that These Violent Delights literally came out today, but can you please hurry up with the sequel? I currently have the largest book hangover that I’ve ever had.**WHAT I LIKED**I understand that saying everything isn't the best review, so let’s dive in to why this retelling is even better than the original.*GASP* Romeo and Juliet was written by Shakespeare himself, so how dare I say that??I search a lot wrong with the classic, and I know in this modern age, I’m not alone in thinking that. So, Chloe Gong came in, shook some things up, and just created it better.- It’s a slow burn romance. Which is just *chefs kiss* perfect. It happens to be my favorite kind of romance, and it completely fits the story since they’re rivals.- Juliette is a [email protected]#$%. Juliette is described as being a assassin who is violent and ruthless with questionable morals. While that might not seem like everyone’s cup of tea, her morals are still there – they’re just questionable. Not only is she a female in the 1920s, she is also trying to control a gang of men who would drag her down the moment she came into power if they were not fearful of her. She does what she does in order to protect the only three things she cares about: her city, her gang, and her people. And she does it all in a beautiful dress (and a garrote wire necklace, of course).- There is so much diversity. So much. There is a trans character, which Gong handles impeccably in both letting us know that the hero is trans and not using her gender as her only (or even primary) hero trait. There is a queer relationship which I was honestly rooting for more than Roma and Juliette because they characters are so freaking adorable with each other. And again, Gong didn’t create their relationship or their orientation their main hero trait. I’m fairly certain she even gave one of the characters OCD, but it’s not definitive, because again… it’s not their main trait. She made true dimensional characters that just so happen to be diverse. Of course, there were also strong females and POC, being as it was set in Shanghai.- Ooh, so mysterious. Chloe Gong did something that I absolutely love in novels and is one of the largest factors that cause me to devour books. She added mystery, but not just on the huge scale of the main plot (“is there a creature and what is causing the madness?”). She added little mysteries (like why do Roma and Juliette hate each other so much?) throughout the entire novel, and answered them along the way, just pulling me along for the ride chapter after chapter.- Call backs to the original. One of my favorite things about retellings are the little call backs to the original story, and Gong did this in such a fun way. There was of course a masquerade ball (which was so exciting!), she has a Rosalind and a hero with the latest name Voronin, which I just can’t accept is coincidence with Rosaline and Fair Verona in the original.- And my favorite thing about the entire book… her writing. Oh, Chloe Gong, I will forever pick up any book that you write, because your writing style is immaculate. I take a lot of notes while reading because my memory is quite awful, and I have note after note about how much I love her words. Mostly, I love how she describes characters. She doesn’t describe their looks, but more so their emotions and personalities in such a attractive way. For example, in describing Juliette’s cousin she wrote “A boy with steel skin and a heart of glass.” I just… I have no words to describe how HER WORDS create me feel. Who… the AUDACITY CHLOE GONG!**WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE**For a review to be good, it has to mention what you didn’t like about the book right? But, I mean, what is there to say versus These Violent Delights?“Oh, it’s unrealistic that a female would be in a position of power in the 1920s.” Well, GONG ADDRESSES THAT.“Oh, it’s unrealistic that LGBTQA+ characters wouldn’t be harassed in the 1920s.” Well, GONG ADDRESSES THAT.Anything that remotely crossed my mind as “suspending belief” (of course, outside of the realm of a creature existing and causing madness), Gong addresses fully and reasonably, taking away any doubt that this story could definitely exist in the true world… again, despite the , while I mentioned it already, my only real beef with this book and Chloe Gong is the audacity to make such an awesome story that it caused me to lose a lot of hours of precious sleep, to the embarrassing point that my husband had to remind me that the next day would be hell if I didn’t just place the dang book down. And this book hangover is harsh. I’m not quite sure there’s another book out there that’s going to be able to pull me out of this one.** FINAL RECAP **YOU HAVE TO READ THIS *violently throws the book in your face*

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent By Design (Deluxe) []  2020-1-23 3:15

    undergroung royalty one of the best albums ever inn my eyes the production is monumental and the lyrics are excellent this is jus Allah's best work and the only items from him I value lyrically aotp Vinnie is a legend inn the underground I'm a Boston head but Phillie is top notch. kdizzle MV forlife

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent By Design (Deluxe) []  2020-1-23 3:15

    One of the sickest albums of all time .. In my top 5 for sure . If you never heard of them but loved with tang guild melody back in the day buy this .. Crazy lyrics and beats it's a classic .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violent Enemy []  2020-9-28 18:0

    Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    These Violent Delights []  2020-11-18 19:4

    Excuse me for one moment, I need to peel myself off the floor before I test to form any coherent thoughts about this book.*Deep breath* Okay, this was my most anticipated book of 2020, and it might actually end up being my favorite read of 2020 as well! These Violent [email protected]#$%! the spot for me on almost every aspect of the story, from the cast to the plot to the themes. Not to mention the GORGEOUS writing!I love retellings that feel reminiscent of the original, but are inspired by it rather than following most of the plot points. These Violent Delights did this perfectly -- the plot felt original in its own right, but there were still enough nods to the original Romeo and Juliet that my Shakespeare nerd heart rejoiced (the balcony scene! The duel! Paris!). Also, a creature terrorizing the town and a mystery about who's responsible?? Yes PLEASE!The cast of characters might be my fresh favorite fictional #squad. From the whip-smart and deadly Juliette to the secretly soft Roma, from the wisecracking Marshall to the sweet yet cunning Kathleen, the Scarlets and the White Flowers totally drew me into their world. I would have perhaps liked to see a small more of the White Flowers, since Juliette's perspective is the most frequent one in the book, but they'll probably obtain more fleshed out in the sequel.I also loved the themes of imperialism woven in throughout the story, especially in Juliette's POV. My favorite fantasy novels are the ones that also include necessary social commentary, and this one is no exception! The various political factions and nationalities in the town created for some super interesting conflicts that brought up questions about national identity, ownership, and how "soft power" such as trade relations can still be insidious.Overall, this was a truly stunning read, and I think I'm going to be dealing with this book hangover until the sequel arrives! Never mind -- it's a little price to pay for the brilliant rollercoaster Chloe Gong just took me ank to Simon and Schuster for the e-ARC!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent by Design [Vinyl] []  2020-12-1 22:0

    undergroung royalty one of the best albums ever inn my eyes the production is monumental and the lyrics are excellent this is jus Allah's best work and the only items from him I value lyrically aotp Vinnie is a legend inn the underground I'm a Boston head but Phillie is top notch. kdizzle MV forlife

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent by Design [Vinyl] []  2020-12-1 22:0

    never heard much of JMT until scanning reviews of other artists in the genre...very related to a Dead Prez feel to the album. To me amazing hip hop begins with the beats and is carried out with lyrics (regardless of the profanity) that mean something. While violent and vicious the lyrics do have a notice or at least an opinion that one can grab onto. Can't stand rap/hip hop that's only about the same garbage of money, bling, and women with some weak hook of a word they just created up...terrible. JMT have legit mic skills and present it in all tracks on this disc...I love Dead Prez' first CD "Let us be Free" I think as well...a classic. Amazing album I'll be looking to discover more of their catalouge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent By Design (Deluxe) []  2020-1-23 3:15

    This is the hip hop I remember from high school. Rugged, raw, sick beats, feat. a young Vinnie Paz, before he was molded into the rapper he is today. Still, very much, a amazing album. Stoupe's beats are on point as always. With a very early appearance of AOTP. A must listen to for Jedi Mind Trick fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent By Design (Deluxe) []  2020-1-23 3:15

    never heard much of JMT until scanning reviews of other artists in the genre...very related to a Dead Prez feel to the album. To me amazing hip hop begins with the beats and is carried out with lyrics (regardless of the profanity) that mean something. While violent and vicious the lyrics do have a notice or at least an opinion that one can grab onto. Can't stand rap/hip hop that's only about the same garbage of money, bling, and women with some weak hook of a word they just created up...terrible. JMT have legit mic skills and present it in all tracks on this disc...I love Dead Prez' first CD "Let us be Free" I think as well...a classic. Amazing album I'll be looking to discover more of their catalouge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent by Design [Vinyl] []  2020-12-1 22:0

    This is the hip hop I remember from high school. Rugged, raw, sick beats, feat. a young Vinnie Paz, before he was molded into the rapper he is today. Still, very much, a amazing album. Stoupe's beats are on point as always. With a very early appearance of AOTP. A must listen to for Jedi Mind Trick fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent by Design [Vinyl] []  2020-12-1 22:0

    One of the sickest albums of all time .. In my top 5 for sure . If you never heard of them but loved with tang guild melody back in the day buy this .. Crazy lyrics and beats it's a classic .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent by Design [Vinyl] []  2020-12-1 22:0

    Classic underground hip hop! JMT AOTP for life!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violent Enemy []  2020-9-28 18:0

    The book was great. I personally like more common themes and salivate waiting for more Sean Dillon stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violent Enemy []  2020-9-28 18:0

    What can I say, I have all of Jack Higgins' books. He doesn't write the long, scene-changing, so-called "well-developed", epics like other action adventure authors. But, it's nice to read a fast-paced story where you don't have to return to a previous chapter to figure out the current character.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    These Violent Delights []  2020-11-18 19:4

    Wow! That was absolutely gorgeous. From the very first page until the very end, I was invested in Juliette and Roma's story. It was romantic and so deliciously forbidden. Gong takes a classic tale and makes it all her own. The best thing about These Violent Delights is that it takes put in 1926 Shanghai.Juliette is the heroine you've longed for-she's powerful and fiercely independent. I loved her immediately. I think readers will love this because it has a hot trope, enemies-to-lovers! The best kind, in my humble opinion.Honestly, I wasn't a fan of the original play of Romeo & Juliet. Gasp...I know! I'm terrible. For some odd reason, I always end up loving the retelling of the classic tale. However, Gong's ver is by far my favorite. I'm in love with it. I can't wait for the second book to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent By Design (Deluxe) []  2020-1-23 3:15

    I first learned about Jedi Mind Tricks from one of my best mates and so I couldn't search it in stores or anywhere else. When I heard my mates copy, I was hooked. Amazing beats and lyrics hold you captivated each song on the album. Hopefully one day people will realize that underground groups like JMT and other artists such as Virtuoso, 7L & Esoteric and more have more skillz than most of these mainstream rappers. They even surpass the latest Wu-Tang release IMHO, and that is by far a tight achievement for two rappers and a producer to accomplish. Buy the album, help JMT and one day we could see their video playin on BET or MTV.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violent Enemy []  2020-9-28 18:0

    When I have been disappointed in a book, I always go into my Kindle and bring up a Jack Higgins book. This book was a quick paced read, no extraneous fill just to add pages. His books have never done anything but give me enjoyment. Thanks Jack.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violent Enemy []  2020-9-28 18:0

    Exciting story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violent Enemy []  2020-9-28 18:0

    A amazing read. Not the usual Higgins, this one had a romantic twist. An escaped felon from prison, Seth Rogan,a IRA legend decides to do one latest favor, he thinks for the IRA. A quick read and a amazing story!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent by Design [Vinyl] []  2020-12-1 22:0

    This is one of my all-time fav albums and I was excited to see it obtain a 2012 reissue, so I immediately ordered it. Came on nice cokebottle-clear vinyl on 2 LPs, but with one major problem. They crammed them into one sleeve without a paper insert or anything else! There's no method to even look at the tracklist without looking at the actual label on the record. This album is a classic and deserves a nice gatefold, or at least a tracklisting on the back cover. Otherwise satisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent by Design [Vinyl] []  2020-12-1 22:0

    Rivals wu tang clan's 'forever' album. actually like that but a lot more aggressive. think dmx crossed with killah priest, canibus and rza on beats that are half alchemist half rza.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    These Violent Delights []  2020-11-18 19:4

    Review first posted at Girl Who Reads. A free copy was provided in exchange for an honest review.A blood feud exists between two rival gangs in 1926 Shanghai. Juliette Cai has returned to assume rule over the Scarlet Gang, and her main rival is Roma Montagov, leader of the White Flowers. Gangsters on both sides soon are clawing out their own throats, and there are whispers of a contagion or madness spreading. Juliette and Roma have to combine forces, or there will be nothing left to rule.We're introduced to the gangs right off the bat, as well as our Romeo and Juliet. Some lines are borrowed from the Bard, but this isn't a West Side Story rehash located in a various place. We have the culture of 1920's Shanghai, the various underworld figures, and the supernatural all in the om there, the novel is addictive, with so a lot of info about the city, its politics and the gangs that I feel like I'm there. Juliette is trying to obtain to the bottom of the madness while she's also fighting misogyny and the subtlety of familial relationships and piety inherent in her Chinese culture. Roma has a Russian background, but the White Flowers progress more by merit than bloodlines. Either way, the tension between them and their families is a palpable thing. That distracts them from the creature in the river and the insects; reading about it makes me wish to scratch my scalp as well, it's so vividly ere is so much action in the second half of the book, with shifting loyalties and the weight of the past between Juliette and Roma as they test to figure out the truth of the creature and save Shanghai. It doesn't support that they can't openly cooperate and that there are those willing to bring them down in the name of advancement within their gang. I turned pages so quick and groaned in frustration when it hit the end. Then there was another twist I wasn't expecting that created excellent sense, and another groan with the latest few lines. There's going to be another book following this one, which is wonderful, but it was the end of this one and I wanted more book to read!Romeo and Juliet fighting a creature in 1920s Shanghai works so well, even when it looks like it shouldn't. Trust me, you wish to read this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    These Violent Delights []  2020-11-18 19:4

    This seriously may have just become my favorite read of 2020! First; the characters.Juliette Cai is the heiress to the Scarlet Gang and she is, quite frankly, a [email protected]#$%. She just returned from studying abroad in Fresh York. She speaks Mandarin, English, French, and Dutch among other languages. She is settling back into her position as the heiress, which her cousin has been trying to take. She is independent, confident, and knows exactly what she wants!Then comes Roma, the heir to the White Flowers, the rival gang of The Scarlets. He is such a wonderfully complex character, in my opinion., His exterior is all tough but inside he just wants ma and Juliette have history, they were each other's first loves before Roma betrays Juliette. But they place the past aside to work together to destroy a creature that threatens to terrorize their town (Shanghai) by spreading a mysterious illness which causes people to tear out their own throats.I love the chemistry between Roma and ere is LQBTQ+ representation which we LOVE TO SEE!I also loved that the book touched on some beautiful necessary political things like imperialism, white supremacy, and llowing along with Juliette and Roma, as well as some beautiful awesome side characters, was such a thrill! I already cannot wait for the second book! I need so a lot of answers, especially after that CLIFFHANGER. EEK!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent By Design (Deluxe) []  2020-1-23 3:15

    Classic album this is my favorite of all time to me it never loses replay value its always on massive rotation

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent By Design (Deluxe) []  2020-1-23 3:15

    This is one of my all-time fav albums and I was excited to see it obtain a 2012 reissue, so I immediately ordered it. Came on nice cokebottle-clear vinyl on 2 LPs, but with one major problem. They crammed them into one sleeve without a paper insert or anything else! There's no method to even look at the tracklist without looking at the actual label on the record. This album is a classic and deserves a nice gatefold, or at least a tracklisting on the back cover. Otherwise satisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent By Design (Deluxe) []  2020-1-23 3:15

    Classic underground hip hop! JMT AOTP for life!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violent Enemy []  2020-9-28 18:0

    Jack Higgins is the best, my favorite writer! He makes his political intrigue books so readable you can't place them down!I have 78 of his books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Violent Enemy []  2020-9-28 18:0

    A Jack Higgins book that is about a former IRA member who is not Sean Dillon. This story holds your attention with a mixture of hair raising action and a tender love story. Enjoyed it immensely

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    These Violent Delights []  2020-11-18 19:4

    (Disclaimer: I received this book from Netgalley. This has not impacted my review which is unbiased and honest.)These Violent Delights defies expectations and words. Set in 1926 Shanghai, Chloe Gong's debut is a blood soaked setting full of feuds, betrayal, and Imperialism. I have never loved Romeo & Juliet, but These Violent Delights is now cannon. Featuring emotion fueled scenes of yearning, tension that cuts with dagger edges, and walking that fine balance between betrayal tinged nostalgia, These Violent Delights is a stunning debut. Gong integrates elements from the original, transforming them into angst massive scenes leaving readers in om the beginning, These Violent Delights is captivating. The writing is expressive and gorgeous, weaving you in a web of detailed globe building, hidden moments, and layered complexity. While you don't have to have read Romeo & Juliet beforehand, if you do you will be rewarding with an experience where you are constantly shrieking at Gong's masterful re-interpretations. But where These Violent Delights burrowed its method into my heart was the characters.Juliette is no doubts about it, a major [email protected]#$%. With looks that could wither crops, hidden weapons that you'll never find, and a smile that conceals her real motivations, Juliette is dangerous. She has steel in her bones and fire in her veins. But what I love about her, is that there's also a vulnerability to her, a knowledge that weakness gets you killed. That opening our hearts ends in bloodshed. That dreams cost blood and no one escapes unscathed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    These Violent Delights []  2020-11-18 19:4

    Shanghai in the 1920s. Two rival gangs shoot each other on sight. A creature is indiscriminately killing the people of Shanghai. The heirs of the rival gangs, Roma and Juliet, work together to stop the heart, this is a retelling of Romeo and Juliet. The author elevates the tale with vivid depictions of Shanghai in the 1920s. The town is brought to life in all its gritty glory. The characters are well depicted and relateable. Entwined are problems about gender, race and though this is labeled as Young Adult, as an adult I was drawn in at the very main criticism is that the ending doesn't wrap up the loose ends. Instead the happenings will be continued in a subsequent book.I was given a free copy of this book and I am leaving my honest review

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent by Design [Vinyl] []  2020-12-1 22:0

    I first learned about Jedi Mind Tricks from one of my best mates and so I couldn't search it in stores or anywhere else. When I heard my mates copy, I was hooked. Amazing beats and lyrics hold you captivated each song on the album. Hopefully one day people will realize that underground groups like JMT and other artists such as Virtuoso, 7L & Esoteric and more have more skillz than most of these mainstream rappers. They even surpass the latest Wu-Tang release IMHO, and that is by far a tight achievement for two rappers and a producer to accomplish. Buy the album, help JMT and one day we could see their video playin on BET or MTV.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent by Design [Vinyl] []  2020-12-1 22:0

    Classic album this is my favorite of all time to me it never loses replay value its always on massive rotation

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Checkpoints: A Tactical Guide to Manhood []  2020-6-18 19:9

    This has been amazing for my son and his mates to prepare for high school next year. 32 out of 38 boys are participating and they all love it. As a mom I am very happy and impressed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Checkpoints: A Tactical Guide to Manhood []  2020-6-18 19:9

    Checkpoints is an perfect choice for those looking to follow a Biblical path into manhood. Whether you wish to walk alongside a growing adult or journey the path with your peers I've found this a amazing guide. The Authors mix amazing stories and practical life examples with challenging questions and activities designed to deepen the understanding of each Checkpoint.I carry the ebook ver on my tablet and have the paperback copy at home for my son. We are working through it with my brother and nephew, a amazing method for 16 yr olds to learn more about themselves and their fathers (us!)I've the book a chance. I've sent copies to college-aged mates looking for guidance as they are away from is well worth the price of the vote and 40 days of your time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Checkpoints: A Tactical Guide to Manhood []  2020-6-18 19:9

    I found this book after searching for another bible study tutorial to do with my sons. Very military like, strait forward and to the point, a easier study tutorial to do with busy lives. My sons have fun it as well being that they grew up around the military life style, hearing the stories playing the video android games and watching military movies. It gives us a method to come together talk and learn the word of God.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Checkpoints: A Tactical Guide to Manhood []  2020-6-18 19:9

    I am a student pastor and I bought several copies of this book to mentor middle and high school guys. The content and structure of this book is great! Solid gospel-centered teach along with relatable stories and action steps. This is a amazing book to go through when discipling young men!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Checkpoints: A Tactical Guide to Manhood []  2020-6-18 19:9

    As a student pastor for 18 years and a father for 17 years, let me to HIGHLY recommend this book (if I could, I would give 10 stars, IT IS that good) I have sent several of my high school boys through this book and they are in turn leading our middle school boys little groups though it! (How AWESOME is that?1!) I have also went through this with my son who is 13, and the material is excellent for his age and even younger, however it still hits home with the older teenagers and even us adults ... Man, boy, father, son or Student Pastor do yourself a favor BUY THIS BOOK and READ IT then READ IT AGAIN! You will not be wasting your time! 10 STARS 2 Thumbs up!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Checkpoints: A Tactical Guide to Manhood []  2020-6-18 19:9

    It's a down to earth tactical viewpoint for men. Hubby loves it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Recovering from Biblical Manhood and Womanhood []  2020-5-6 18:45

    Are we incorporating women in the life of the church as important allies, or have we allowed the yellow wallpaper of “biblical manhood and womanhood” to distract us from the complementarity of the es we see in Scripture? Is there room in our churches for Mary, Lydia, and Priscilla? Are women encouraged to sit at Jesus’s feet and learn, and are we willing to learn from women when they contribute to our discussions?Byrd’s book is a welcome addition to the current conversations on the importance of women in the life of the church. We need to be aware of the yellow wallpaper in our churches, and we need to peel away these extra-biblical beliefs that obscure the beauty of the Scriptures. The globe around us needs to hear the truth of who we are as men and women created in His image, and it needs men and women as witnesses to the truth of the gospel. I’m thankful for Byrd’s work and highly recommend this book. It will bless and strengthen men, women, and churches, if we’re willing to listen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Checkpoints: A Tactical Guide to Manhood []  2020-6-18 19:9

    I am 65 years old and helped to lead a group of adult men and teen boys through this disciple study.I was stopped for two hours at one subject and question that I had not fully resolved in my own life. It brought me to clarity as I persisted to an is a amazing book targeted for a 14-20 year old, but an adult leader will also learn and mature in completing it. It exposed some of the locations even a mature believe may have missed or needs targeted attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Checkpoints: A Tactical Guide to Manhood []  2020-6-18 19:9

    My husband is leading a High School boy's Bible study using this book. The children seem to really like it and my husband highly recommends the book to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Checkpoints: A Tactical Guide to Manhood []  2020-6-18 19:9

    We have just begun going through this with a 6th grade group. We couldn't afford to obtain everyone books, and are choosing our method through as we don't have enough weeks to hit every chapter, but it is amazing material. Very pertinent to bringing up strong, Christian men. There is a chapter though that contains items that may be a bit too mature for 6th graders re: that might work better for 7th or 8th graders. But that might just be our 6th graders, who are method more into legos than girls at this point. Could be a bit awkward if we had purchased books and given out without talking to their parents first. Just so you know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Checkpoints: A Tactical Guide to Manhood []  2020-6-18 19:9

    I am really enjoying this book. It is laid out well and packed full of practical Biblical wisdom. We are currently going through this with our high school youth group guys and it is helping begin conversations and discussions with them. I love the admonitions and challenges for them to step and work toward Biblical manhood. And it is also very convicting at times for us leaders as well. Looking forward to getting deeper into the book as it leads us deeper into God's word.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thunderbolts: Violent Rejection (Thunderbolts (2006-2012)) [Book]  2018-3-18 18:1

    Man I dig this squad

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crude World: The Violent Twilight of Oil []  2019-12-29 18:38

    This book reads more like a travelogue. The descriptions of locations and people are interesting, but the info of the oil industry are not particularly shocking. The author seems unable to obtain interviews with relevant people in the industry and as a result, most of the book reads like a summary of a lot of newspaper articles. The writing is simplistic as is the handling of a lot of complex issues. I obtain the feeling that anyone who traveled to these locations and read some general oil case studies could have written this book. The author does not reveal anything fresh and does not provide any novel solutions to dealing with the oil industry's problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Video Games and Society (Opposing Viewpoints) []  2020-1-28 0:32

    Amazing addition to our library collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Delights (White Monarch Book 1) []  2020-1-28 22:37

    JESSICA HAWKINS HOW COULD YOU? I have no words. I mean I have some, but none are lady like(mom’s definitely shaking her head). I devoured this book. It was EVERYTHING I NEEDED! You obtain all the stars for this... ALL THE STARS!!!!!!!!!I was keep my breathe the whole time. Panic and pandemonium ensured when I reached the end. I couldn’t include myself. I was texting my BFF, because she obviously required this book in her life. Safe to say I clearly have a favorite brother and one who’s not. Hawkins is an evil word wizard and I know book two will KILL olent Delight is a PHENOMENAL novel. The cover is gorgeous. The words are PERFECT. The plot moves swiftly, but also leaves you guessing as to what’s to come. I just don’t know what I’m going to do, JUNE is so far away! Cristiano, Diego, and Natalia will definitely be on my mind, because HOLY CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!This book is excellent for those who love quick paced, angsty, steamy, and breathtaking books! Violent Delight left me gasping. WHAT’S TO COME? Who knows. Well played Hawkins, well played.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Delights (White Monarch Book 1) []  2020-1-28 22:37

    What this book lacks in subtlety it makes up for in edge-of-your-seat ssica Hawkins uses a Mexican cartel as the jumping point for this first book in a trilogy, introducing you to Natalia Cruz and the two brothers who wish to claim her, Cristiano and Diego. It will take you about six chapters (and that’s if you’re only half paying attention) to figure out which brother is the amazing guy. It takes Natalia a whole lot longer, so don’t be embarrassed if the news comes as a is book is a set up for the rest of the trilogy. Jessica Hawkins takes you deep into the Cruz cartel’s world, letting you meet different players, including Natalia’s father. You meet runners, murderers, and saboteurs. It is difficult, at times, to root for any of them, knowing what they do for a living. Hawkins does her best to humanize these people ( thugs: they’re just like you!), but ever show in the back of your mind is the knowledge that these people are not the sort you wish to know in true come for the love triangle, and that’s why you stick around. Will Natalia realize which man’s intentions are pure? Will she place her heart at risk with blind loyalty? Like I said, you will know the answers before she does. She’s only twenty, after all, and has led a fairly sheltered life, despite the family business.Of course the book ends on a cliffhanger. My hope is that Natalia doesn’t spend the second book still dithering between brothers, but if anyone can pull that off, it’s Jessica Hawkins. She packs this book with so much action that you will feel breathless as you read it. One action missing: hot headboard rocking. Jessica Hawkins even makes that okay, though. There is one scene, and you'll wish more. And then you realize that this long, slow burn will have a tremendous payoff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DESTROYING MONITORING SPIRITS: With Violent Prayer Points []  2020-2-6 23:8

    I enjoyed this book and was glad I stumbled up on it on Amazon. I've been dealing with the spirit of Monitoring and this book helped me to understand what type of spirit is in operation and how to pray versus it. Once again this author has written a amazing book that brings deliverance to the captives. I want that it was a bit longer though. Thank you again Hlompho.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DESTROYING MONITORING SPIRITS: With Violent Prayer Points []  2020-2-6 23:8

    Amazing book, especially amazing to read in the midnight hour.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Profiling Violent Crimes: An Investigative Tool []  2021-2-17 21:5

    Bought the book used, amazing condition, and I am very satisfied with my purchase. Thank you!I’ll definitely be back (:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Profiling Violent Crimes: An Investigative Tool []  2021-2-17 21:5

    Best text book I have ever read. It was so engaging that I read chapters that were not even assigned!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thunderbolts: Violent Rejection (Thunderbolts (2006-2012)) [Book]  2018-3-18 18:1

    Finally..at least this volume of "Thunderbolts" seems to provide what was lacking in the previous volumes ("Thunderbolts:Cage" and "Thunderbolts:Shadowland"). In this volume, there was enough action , humour and more importantly, I very necessary ingredient for Thunderbolts, plot-twists!Issue #152 and 153 include one story-arc. To deal with a serious threat which reuires a lot, as Luke cage puts it, raw-power, he recruits Hyperion. Then , the squad goes to Japan to war some over-sized monsters. And then the unexpected happens. Though it's a short story-arc, it's highly entertaining and bit of humour makes it still sue #154 is a single story with focus on the Man-thing. It even tells about the origin of Man-thing. This, also, is a well-written sue #155 involves Cage and Strange going to Nepal to recruit Satana who doesn't seem to be interested in joining the Thunderbolts. Story is ok but the hero of Satana is very interesting and will only create the whole squad more sue #156 and 157 actually involves two stories. In one story, Cage takes the squad to Germany to handle one magical threat whereas in the other story Songbird, Fixer and Mach V (ex-thunderbolts and current Squad leaders) "interviewing" candidates for a beta-team of Thunderbolts. This Beta-team is later termed by Moonstone, very humorously (and maybe reasonably) as "Underbolts".One of the only fault I found with this book is the art. The pencillers are not that good, especially Kev-walker. He is poor with faces, especially with Karla Sofen/Moonstone. She looked ugly or was rather drawn ugly-ly. In Problem no 155, Dr Stephen Strange is drawn with a rather huge and awkward moustache which looked, well..strange! (Sorry, poor pun).Apart from the minor complaint I mentioned above,It's one of the few amazing ongoing-series from marvels. And this time, the Thunderbolts are led by a character (Like Cage). The Squad dynamics is good. Well-written dialogues, fast-paced story, lots of drama and action! Perfect characterization. Hats-off to Jeff Parker. Blessed is he, to be able to come up with such stories and characters. I had bought ALL the fresh Thunderbolts title ("Cage", "Shadowland", "Violent Rejections", "Fear Itself" and "The Amazing Escape"). No disappointments, so far. Hell, I'm even enjoying this series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crude World: The Violent Twilight of Oil []  2019-12-29 18:38

    Curiously this book starts out discussing the problem of how much oil is left, specifically in Saudi Arabia but then switches gears to doent a whole series of cases studies in which oil has been a negative influence rather than a positive one on a lot of of the countries where it has been found. Examples contain Equatorial Guinea, Ecuador, Venezuela, Russia, Some of the Former Soviet Republics, Iraq, Saudi Arabia and others. Books like this that needed field research by authors often produce very interesting anecdotes and stories about locations a lot of people never hear about, and in that sense, this book definitely doesn't disappoint. Sadly, a lot of of the stories about graft, despotism, theft of national resources, bribes and accidents in the oil industry will probably not be much of a revelation to most readers. It is at the same time a triumph of the book and a shortcoming that the author has managed to show such an emotional view on the evils of oil. It certainly helps personalize it for a lot of people who probably fill up their vehicle without any thought or knowledge of where the oil comes from. On the other hand, his characterization tends to show a gloomy, almost dystopian view of a lot of of these countries. I think the book is most definitely a useful primer on the seedier sides of oil production, but I would hope that readers of it would not take the vignettes presented here as a general characterization of the countries in question. In some cases, such as Equatorial Guinea, oil may actually be more or less the only present in town. In others, such as Venezuela or Russia, oil is only a part of multifaceted and complex cultures and economies. Overall, I really liked this book and found it to be a true page turner as well as one of those books that points out a lot of clever ways of viewing things. Oil production is a subject that is starting to obtain a bit saturated in the book industry, but this one still manages to be fairly fresh.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crude World: The Violent Twilight of Oil []  2019-12-29 18:38

    "We're addicted to oil," said George W. Bush, as though that was some kind of revelation. Well, it actually might be to most Americans. If asked, the majority of the public would probably say they only use oil to fuel their vehicle or heat their home. In fact, oil is the essential ingredient in 100% of all our possessions, and most of our activities. No meal is eaten without heavy oil inputs. No iPods or flat screen TV's entertain us without oil to create them, deliver them, and fuel them. Even if we all biked to work, the streets themselves are created of oil.If we actually stop to think about it, our oil need is beyond an addiction, for if the will is there, a junkie can be weaned from his fix. Oil is more like the water a fish swims in, so familiar and so necessary, it's not even noticed. Or, as Peter [email protected]#$% says in his outstanding book Crude World, oil is the U.S., we consume 21 million barrels of oil a day, but we produce only about 9 million. The rest comes from other countries - a lot of of which are not our friends, and are not democracies. It is this foreign supply of our everyday fix that gets the bulk of Maass's scrutiny, and it's an eye-opener, to say the least, because oil has a paradoxical method of making the people who live in most countries that export it poorer, not richer; the oil curse, as it's called.With their slick corporate PR campaigns (BP - "Beyond Petroleum") and unlimited lobbying budgets, the oil companies are able to project a high-tech, consumer-friendly photo as benign providers of clean energy. That may be mostly real in the United States, with its advanced legal, political, and regulatory system. But what happens to these ostensibly fine corporate citizens when they can extract oil in not good third globe countries? Here Peter Maass blows the lid off their carefully contrived corporate image, with intimate and devastating private portraits of exploitation in action. Maass blithely walks into the most risky civil wars, jungles, and guerrilla training camps to present countries like Equatorial Guinea, where a little fraction of the population aligned with the brutal dictator Teodoro Obiang skim virtually the entire gross revenues of the country, while the remaining people live in filth. To ensure their continued access to the country's riches, ExxonMobil, Marathon Oil, Chevron, and others treat Obiang as a valued mate and enlightened leader. U.S. officials like Condoleeza Rice treat him as a confidante, and our own banks support him launder his plundered wealth.And that's only one story. Maass takes us around the globe as the story changes and fascinates, but the conclusions are the same. Crude Globe is a cook's tour of the devil's kitchen, and is too riveting to place down. Every American should read it, and know where his everyday fix really comes from. We can't obtain off of oil today, but we might just move a small bit faster if we think about how a lot of people have to starve for us to fill our SUV's.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DESTROYING MONITORING SPIRITS: With Violent Prayer Points []  2020-2-6 23:8

    This book was very informative and an simple read. Uses scripture, has prayer points throughout. I highly reccomend to anyone dealing with monitoring spirits. Reveals how to hold doors closed as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Delights (White Monarch Book 1) []  2020-1-28 22:37

    I HAVE LOST MY MIND OVER THIS EAKING.MIND.I mean... Whoa! Holy flipping whoa. This is the book of the year for me. THE #1! It barreled over all of my favorites. I'm declaring it the winner. It was OUT OF THIS WORLD. I can't believe how amazing it was. I can't wrap my head around it. I mean, WHERE DID THIS STORY LINE COME FROM? It rocked me to my core. Undeniably addictive. Every word forces you to pay attention. The characters are commanding and demanding, bold and cunning, intelligent and layered, and just woweeeeeeee! I fell in love with our anti-hero Cristiano, and his brother Diego... NO WORDS.JUST NONE.I can't even explain.And this storyline... It's twisty. Lordy, is it twisty. I can't say much. I feel like that would be too spoilery! And I don't wish to color your minds with my opinions. This is a book you need to throw yourself into. This story will devour you. It'll create you feel SO MUCH. It's special and refreshing and angsty and intense and intelligent and twisted and so a lot of other things. I can tell the author took the time to really write a detailed, smart, complex, and thoroughly thought-out tale. One with an intricate plot, a cast of characters who have boldly defined personalities, and writing that just LIVES and BREATHES. I am such a fan of this book. You need to read it. I swear, it's so good. Mafia romance done right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Violent Delights (White Monarch Book 1) []  2020-1-28 22:37

    This is as well written as per usual, and her staple emotionally conflicted characters are show and accounted for. But this time around, while this book is better than any other I've read in this genre (complex organised crime/fracturing loyalties) it was very predictable. For me anyway. I was also disappointed by the length of this. It's kinda ually Hawkins has 300 or 400+ pages a book, which I've always been grateful for because they go by so fast. Also, nothing irritates me more than people not asking pressing/important questions ions like, "What happened on the day my mother died?" You know, just regular daily things that one might wish to know after someone turns up out of the blue after 11 years. Was this entertaining? Sure. Will I obtain the next 2 installments of this telenovela? Meh. Maybe when they're all released, and I'm stuck in an airport with a long layover...and no other viable options.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Profiling Violent Crimes: An Investigative Tool []  2021-2-17 21:5

    Amazing text book and the seller was amazing to work with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Profiling Violent Crimes: An Investigative Tool []  2021-2-17 21:5

    Amazing book that is very informative about the real technique of profiling violent crimes. I read this book while attending a criminal profiling class and learned so much info on the truth of profiling over what a lot of may believe they know based on TV shows. This book is very informative in breaking down individual profiles on a range of violent crimes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crude World: The Violent Twilight of Oil []  2019-12-29 18:38

    Oil seems to be poor news. The BP Deep Horizon disaster is a timely illustration of the point: the company, with cavalier disregard of safety problems lobbied strenuously versus a dozens of blowout containment measures. BP has a long record of disregard for facilities maintenance. BP has had several fatal disasters. BP has a dismal environmental record. BP is unlikely to clean up the mess in the Gulf of Mexico and has consistently and deliberately underestimated the extent of the damage. BP probably will not compensate the fisheries industry, tourism, homeowners and others for their losses assuming irreparable hurt to the ecosystem and the Gulf economy has not already occurred. BP is emblematic of the issues inherent in the extraction and marketing of petroleum products and journalist Peter Maas very compellingly and cogently addresses the entire sorry mess in this book."Crude World" is not intended to be a comprehensive history of the petroleum industry and its captains: "The Prize" by Peter Yergin best fills that role. Instead, it is a trenchantly argued polemic and indictment: witness the chapter titles ("Scarcity", "Plunder", "Rot", "Contamination", "Fear", "Greed", "Desire", "Alienation", "Empire", "Mirage"). Maas uses copious examples which illustrate the book's premise. The author adroitly locations editorial commentary to illustrate the facts which are seemingly as argues that petroleum corrupts and defiles the countries from which it is extracted. For example, he asserts that the government of Equatorial Guinea, with its inherent corruption and maniacal violence has been materially worsened by the presence of copious amounts of petroleum and the oceans of money that it has garnered. He further claims that the brutality, inefficiency, avarice, disregard for the welfare of the population and the environment are all further exacerbated by petroleum-related wealth regardless of the country of origin, with the apparent exceptions of the UK and Norway. While Maas is doubtlessly correct in that assertion (witness the corruption and coziness between governments in the "developed countries" like the U.S. and major oil companies), he tacitly notes that its human nature to serve one's self-interest first: his explanation for the Norwegian phenomenon is that Norway is an advanced democracy. It seems to me that, were the principals of amazing government and rule of law already part of the social compact, petroleum would advance rather than retard development in other countries, as well. Prior to the discovery of oil, Norway already had a diversified economy and an intelligent, well-educated and cohesive electorate. Other countries., in contradistinction, repeatedly fall prey to oil company machinations. Perhaps it is because most lack a diversified economy, a lot of have ideologically motivated governments and fearful, atomized populations. So, oil lubricates not only machinery, but corruption and other poor traits, as well. Not terribly ere are other looming issues for a fossil-fuel dependent world. In general, oil is located in ever more remote and inaccessible regions. Of equal importance, it seems to be concentrated in politically unstable areas. Alternative fossil-fuel sources (coal, oil shale, tar sands) are environmentally devastating, both in their extraction and in their combustion byproducts. Climate change is upon us and, at this scene can hardly be reversed. So, what does Maas advocate? Promotion of "social values", "Publish What You Pay" (transparency in government and corporations), enforcement of current laws are some proposed solutions. Education and incentives for developing alternatives are as draws appropriate attention to the fact that petroleum extraction, while it provides cash does not provide a lot of jobs nor does it serve as an adequate basis for a self-sustaining economy. Witness, for example, the economic dead location that exists in Iran and Saudi Arabia: minus petroleum revenue, there isn't much there. Maas also notes (but does not concentrate on) the environmental depredation caused by oil drilling, citing, for example, the debacle caused by Chevron in South America. Interestingly, but not surprisingly, when Chevron departed, the Equadoran national petroleum company simply perpetuated and ignored the "Crude World", Maas makes a compelling and readable argument versus the petroleum industry and its "Black Plaque". I see the matter somewhat differently: rather than creating a dichotomy ("us vs. them"), the issues associated with oil are more like Walt Kelly in "Pogo" characterized it: "We have met the opponent and he is us". Its time to do something. Maybe reading this book will support convince the "unconverted".

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386