Read washington confidential reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all washington confidential reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington Confidential []  2021-1-10 18:44

    Overall, Washington Confidential is a fascinating "must read" for anyone interested in the history of DC and its suburbs of the 1930s through 1950.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington Confidential []  2021-1-10 18:44

    I liked this book as well as chicago confidential and u.s.a. confidential by the same authors. But what must be taken into acc that the writers worked for william randolph hearst newspapers and the book was possibly published by a company associated with the hearst papers. William Randolph Hearst papers speciallized in sensationalism and misrepresentation and were equivalent to the national enquirer's interpretation of historical persons and events. The history and a lot of of the personalities were true but the context that the writers built around them would have created Senator Joseph McCarthy grin from ear to ear, The writers were staunch republicans with a unique hatred for the Aministrations of Presidents Franklin Delano Roosevelt and Harry Truman. In light of History they would have been very disappointed had the lived to review the eisenhower Administration which had just as much corruption and carried on the Fresh Deal Policies of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and Harry Truman. But in the end the books were tourist tutorials for the cities that they described because the authors knew where all of the vice,and entertainment was down to the road and corners

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington Confidential []  2021-1-10 18:44

    Sometimes the truth hurts but the truth it one is off limits not even the "sainted" by the Left Eleanor Roosevelt and movers and other shakers back then. The mafia friendly family of Nancy "D'Alessandro" Pelosi should be known by o poor we don't have more reporters unafraid to go after the political elitists e newest confidential book is "Vineyard Confidential" - you can bet that the dirty secrets of the Kennedys are exposed there including Teddy's liasons and his cowardly actions saving himself while letting Mary Joe Kopechne die.

    0  


    Add your opinion on washington confidential or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington Confidential []  2021-1-10 18:44

    I enjoyed the historical detail that the book covered,noticed that black people were described as @#$%!&s,duskies and that the writers had a bug up their backs for the Democratic partyespecially critical of presidents f.d. roosevelt and harry truman and their adminstrations. But failed to see that History was catching up with the Nation's creed[I pledge allegiance to the flag of the united states of america and to the republic for which stands[in 1951]one nation concieved in liberty and justice for all. The criticism heaped on Eleanor Roosevelt and the N.a.a.c.p. showed that the writers were not aware the the tide of history had changed. Both Presidents were the men for the time. The writers of the book must be given their due,not too a lot of of ther writers covered what they did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington Confidential []  2021-1-10 18:44

    I picked up this book simply because I was interested in a "snapshot" of the town of my birth (Washington, D.C.) in the year of my birth (1951). I was disappointed, to say the e authors' racist and homophobic attitudes are almost laughable. They can be explained away, I suppose (though not excused), by the times they were living in. After a while, though, there was nothing even to laugh at. It was like being bludgeoned over the head, again and again, with the same prejudices.Even more surprising was the authors' almost virulent hated of Eleanor Roosevelt. They never missed an opportunity to attack her. To hear them talk, you'd think she was personally responsible for almost all of D.C.'s s, these guys (Lait and Mortimer) were truly amazing. They called themselves "hard-hitting", but they were really large reactionaries. Next to them, Rush Limbaugh looks like Michael Moore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington Confidential []  2021-1-10 18:44

    I enjoyed the book. It was slanted in a rightwing pattern-when it went after the democratic administrations of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and Harry Truman. Yet it was consistent with American History from the 1930's to the time that it was written. The writers told the story of how Washington D.C. had a complicated Police system. Five separate Agencies within Washington D.C. to hold order but stumbling over each other to enforce tha law. They implication that the african american community was larger than the caucasian community. That most of the white community moved to the suburbs. It also showed the evolving of organized crime's keep on Washington D.c. as well as suburbs. If you wish to learn about Washington D.C period 1950,this is the book to obtain ,once you obtain past the william randolph hearst sensationalism and exaggeration you have a coherent story well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    washington court case search [iowa case search]  2020-8-26 20:43
    [email protected]

    maryland judiciary case view www service virginia judiciary case find why not test here the original source wayne county case find palm beach county clerk of court case find judicial case find maryland

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    washington state judiciary case searchib [case search njyg]  2020-8-20 9:16
    [email protected]

    azihrylrvzwt delaware judiciary case find justice court las vegas case find baltimore county court case find illegal find and seizure supreme court cases orange county clerk of court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington []  2020-6-15 18:49

    Every year there are biographies published on the life and career of George Washington. Years pass but still no one has matched Douglas Southall Freeman for a biography on the Father of our nation. Freeman was the dean of Southern historians winning a lot of awards (including the Pulitzer Prize) for his unsurpassed life of RE Lee in 4 volumes; Lee's Lieutenants in 3 volumes and 7 volumes on the life of Washington (he died before he completed this overwhelming project!) Richard Harwell abridges the work as he has also done on Freeman's volumes on Lee. Overall he has done an perfect job.I do want the book had included more maps to follow the war action. A lot of of the sections of the book will seem dry. Freeman's workis basically a military history as he rarely comments on the social stage in colonial and early America. While not williing to spend time with Freeman through his seven volumes on Washington I found this one volume work to beessential in my understanding of Washington. Washington was a man who loved duty, honor and country. He washonest and ambitious. Frugal Washington never gave up on American independence. He was kind and though somewhat aloof could also be there for his mates and nation when in wonder he and Lincoln are always at the top of presidential polls. In this sober work of scholarship you will meet a amazing man and have fun the words of a amazing scholar. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington []  2020-6-15 18:49

    One of the best works on President Washington out there. I have read over 14 books about the Man and Freeman and Flexner are the best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington []  2020-6-15 18:49

    When I buy a Fresh Book I expect it to look brand, meaning not a single tag or crease on the outside or inside, I know the book topic is amazing or I would not have bought it, I am disappointed in the appearance!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington []  2020-6-15 18:49

    It was written by a man who knew Washington. It is somehow more intriguing because George Washington died before photographs and movies. I enjoyed learning about this awesome man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington []  2020-6-15 18:49

    More like a comprehensive description of what occurred than a novel. Lots of details. Very sympathetic to our hero.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington []  2020-6-15 18:49

    This volume condenses a much larger work into a manageable read that does not gloss over the mistakes and human shortcomings of Washington, while at the same time illuminating the elements of the General's hero that created him great. I found it refreshingly candid and extremely interesting; in fact, I couldn't place it down once I dug into it in earnest.I live 10 mins from Mount Vernon and I've been to West Point, Trenton, Princeton, Philadelphia, and other locations where Washington fought the American Revolution and carried out the earliest business of our nation. Reading this book after seeing these historic websites makes Washington true and causes me to wish to return to these locations and walk in his footsteps again. If you are looking for an excellent, well-written summary of the life of one of the greatest leaders who ever lived, look no further.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington []  2020-6-15 18:49

    Originally published in multiple volumes, we have the condensed version, which is still over 700 pages long. It's absolutely gorgeous. Freeman left no stone unturned in finding resources for the book, and brings Washington forth, not so much from description as from his actions. I never obtain a sense of Washington's voice, yet I see him and feel him clearly in what he's doing. The man emerges in his wonderful tenacity in trying cirtances. In slogging through the war, feeling like I was right in there with them, I was amazed that our nation even formed, so formidable and numerous were the obstacles, that I thought there really must have been some heavenly providence guiding this republic to succeed. His hero reveals itself further with the powerful sense of duty he demonstrates, when having already given not only the Revolutionary Battle his all, but to the Indian battles prior to that, by his taking up office, even though he would rather have been tending his plantation and farms. Broke, having spent his private funds on the war, Washington puts himself in debt further still by feeding all who stop by to visit at war's end. Seeing the turmoil of our beginning sheds light on our current situation as well, the discordant voices and desires that don't seem to have changed very much through time but, which altogether, continue our republic. I strongly recommend it. (This might not have been an Amazon purchase as we've had the book for a while.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington []  2020-6-15 18:49

    Very interesting bio!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington []  2020-6-15 18:49

    Douglas Southall Freeman's unabridged Washington biography would be the best thing for serious students of American history. It is one of the best Washington biographies and the author won a Pulitzer ard Harwell has done a amazing job with this abridgement for people who don't have time for the full work.I message that some reviewers think this work is "dry," however the original is also dry, and more so! But both versions are full of necessary e introduction and afterward include some useful biographical info about Freeman and were written by Michael Kammen and Dumas Malone, also Pulitzer Prize hn Christmas, author of "Democracy Society"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Washington []  2020-6-15 18:49

    This is very interesting stuff, not as easily read as Freeman's abridged Lee. It is well researched and still classic Freeman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitchen Confidential [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Park what you know about being a chef. Anthony Bourdain's bio is a dose of irreverent reality about life in and out of the kitchen. He relates the life of a chef and culinary in poignant and amusing detail. I like the part where he was introduced to his first true cuisine, as a boy, aboard the the Queen Mary cruising to Europe with his parents, and his first taste of oysters in France, straight from the ocean was fantastic. The description of his one time mentor "Bigfoot" and how he managed his restaurants was fantastic... I have the audio book in my vehicle and it hasn't left the CD player in a month. You will have fun it if you like meal and eating and amazing restaurants.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Confidential []  2020-1-17 0:51

    His latest album. Got lots of swing and funk. A nice tribute to his talent and all the amazing musicians he worked with dating back to the E. Beat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Confidential []  2020-1-17 0:51

    Amazing album. RIP Ranking Roger

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortuary Confidential: []  2019-12-19 18:52

    The book is not excellent nor a masterpiece (too a lot of references to people smoking, some kind of a hangup on and too a lot of mentions of drinking through the different stories). But, there are some true jewels! Stories that will create you questions some of your priorities, will give you deep insight on life and death matters and provide you with ways of reevaluating all your relationships.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortuary Confidential: []  2019-12-19 18:52

    I love the small tidbits from undertakers. It's a slice of life from an occupation that most people don't wish to hear about, but obtain over it, we all die someday and I for one wish caring, level-headed people taking care of my shell when I leave this earth. This book gives me hope that there's more of them than I thought.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortuary Confidential: []  2019-12-19 18:52

    The headline does not do this book justice. I am a nurse, not a writer, sorry. But, being a nurse, and having dealt with death, near death etc. I loved this book. It is a lot of amazing experiences that funeral directors, morticians and the like have gone through. Some of the stories will create you laugh, others cry. If a book can obtain me so involved that I cry, the writers have done their job. Most people are truly uncomfortable around death, funerals, hospice and hospitals. I [email protected]#$%! was not so, but, face it, we are all going to die. Whether you believe in a supreme being, or not, you will obtain a lot out of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Confidential []  2020-1-10 19:8

    my husband loved it - didn't wish it to end! Expected it to just be stories and he found it very informative and interesting. He wants me to read it - I am a hockey fan, as well, though not as into it as he is.He shared it with a friend, who also thought it was well written and interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Confidential []  2020-1-10 19:8

    amazing book. very interesting stories. would have never known most of these stories if not for this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bollywood Confidential []  2020-2-4 6:15

    i adore this book! The writer is very clever, and her wit shines through in her characters. As a bollywood lover I snatched this book up and was not dissappointed! Very descriptive, and hilarious. I love Raveena and her outlook on BW and all its happenings. Test this book by this author. It is fab!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bollywood Confidential []  2020-2-4 6:15

    I absolutely love chick lit that feature Indian characters, so I was glad when I learned Sonia Singh had a second novel out entitled "Bollywood Confidential". Although her first novel was average at best in my opinion, this recent book was a amazing read.Raveena is a struggling Indian actress currently living in Los Angeles. She is tired of not getting anywhere in her acting career. After much deliberation, she decides to accept her agent's recent offer: the lead in a Bollywood movie - that takes put and shoots in Bombay, India. Despite her misgivings about living in another country for six months, she figures it would be worth it; after all, she is playing the leading role!Despite the fact that she is of Indian decent, Raveena has grown up in the USA and is unprepared for how India really is: extremely dirty, crowded and hot. Her hotel is a dump, and she is forced to move in temporarily with her seemingly crazy uncle. The director is lecherous and determined to obtain her into bed, and her costar, the extremely handsome and popular Indian film star Siddharth, is charismatic and famous, but aloof and uninterested. Too poor Raveena is attracted to him.Worst of all, the as-of-yet unwritten script turns out to be downright terrible. Raveena is afraid she has created a huge mistake by accepting this offer to star in what will obviously be a flop of a movie. But she is determined to stick it out.If the Indian meal and water doesn't slay her first...Just when it seems Raveena might have caught Siddharth's attention, she gets embroiled in a love triangle with India's number one actress, who is also interested in llywood Confidential was a tantalizingly delicious read. Filled with glitz, glamour, poverty, backstabbing, and rivalry - I was hooked from the start. Raveena is a smart, admirable main heroine that I liked reading about. Sonia Singh has a fluid, engaging writing style that created me wish to continue reading until the e only downfall to this book was that it was a bit predictable overall. Also, the latest couple of chapters were downright ridiculous and far-fetched, for the most part.But overall, the amazing writing and engaging story line created up for any poor parts. I highly recommend this book to all who wish to have fun a amazing story about actresses and India.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bollywood Confidential []  2020-2-4 6:15

    I LOVED this book - don't obtain be wrong, I still think _Goddess for Hire_ is utterly fabu and I'm crossing all my digits that Sonia's next book will have Maya in it - but _Bollywood Confidential_ is a breezy romp.Once again, even though I'm a notoriously slow reader, I read the book in a day. While I may not have laughed out loud as a lot of times as I did w/ _GfH_, I still enjoyed _BC_ immensely. Sonia continues to write with a humorous tone which is always a positive IMHO (If you like humor in your fiction, give Christopher Moore a test and if you like it in your fantasy titles, test Terry Pratchett). Additionally, I liked the insight one gets into the Bollywood/Hollywood movie industry - guess in some ways they really aren't that various after of the gifts is that if you are interested in checking out Bollywood titles and are a novice (like I am), Sonia has a section at the back of the book with suggestions and descriptions of her favorite if you are looking for a light hearted summer read, I'd highly suggest picking up a copy of _Bollywood Confidential_ and entering into Raveena's world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thailand Confidential []  2020-8-14 19:26

    Very amazing read.I read this book before going to Thailand and it really did support me out when I arrived and stayed there for two weeks. I like the humor and sarcasm and it opened my eyes to various cultures, customs and lifestyles of the Thai is book is definatly worth a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amish Confidential []  2020-10-4 18:20

    I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. Found the history of Amish very interesting. Lots of information about Amish, that I didn't know or think about. Loved the Amish view on tragedies. The mother of the shooter of the not good Amish school girls and the one kid who lived and needs care still, the Mother comes and helps this girl every Thursday. Very interesting fast read. If he writes another book, I will buy it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitchen Confidential [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Unless you have fun cooking, frequent fine dining restaurants and/or are interested in how professional cooks work and live, don’t read this. If you are interested in the aforementioned, this will be an entertaining and eye opening read. I always knew it had to be challenging work, but never more than now. I think Anthony Bourdain approaches things somewhat differently, at least on a behavioral vein, but I've no doubt there is some unusual behavior among a lot of in this line if work. The info of some of that in the very long chapter around pp 200 got a bit old, finding myself saying “I obtain it already” and almost putting the book down. But subsequent chapters changed that topic and I got back into enjoying and learning from what I was reading. Bourdain is quite a guy, I must say. This book is 15-20 hears old, and I imagine he continues to mellow with age. I occasionally watch his program on CNN. After reading this I’ll see it with more familiarity of his life and interest in meal of all kinds from everywhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitchen Confidential [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    We are all different, I realize. But Anthony Bourdain is undoubtedly the most special person I've ever met. I've met him through his TV show, and gotten much better acquainted through this book. I particularly appreciate his being willing to share parts of his childhood plus deeply private parts of his life that few of us would be willing to share with others. And the method he tells his some of his stories is very funny. Yes, I loved this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitchen Confidential [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    OK. I admit, I read it because I have a large crush on the man. That said, I'll read his other books too, because he is a very entertaining writer, who comes across very much like he does on TV. "Kitchen Confidential" is about everything you don't wish to know about what goes on in a restaurant behind those swinging doors, and if it doesn't place you off going out to eat for a while, you're a far better man than I. Being a carbawhore (and artisinal bread in particular), I would slay to taste bread created by Adam Real-Last-Name-Unknown. It sounds heavenly, even if he doesn't.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortuary Confidential: []  2019-12-19 18:52

    Bravo! Well done. Mortuary Confidential provides a glimpse into a globe that most people will never experience. A down to earth human perspective into the realities of our end of life experience. While a lot of of the stories, all told by funeral professionals, are laugh out loud funny they also enlighten you to the challenges funeral experts face on a day to day basis. When we mere mortals create a mistake we can remind ourselves to relax and take comfort that it is “not a life or death” mistake. When a Funeral Director makes a slip-up it is a life or death mistake! Reading these funny, poignant stories makes me realize how uniquely rewarding and challenging the funeral profession must be. Highly recommend reading…fast, easy, fun. Fun eral Stories...additional read...Over Our Dead Bodies- Todd Harra,Kenneth McKenzie

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortuary Confidential: []  2019-12-19 18:52

    The introductory paragraph selling the book is just the same as what was written. Stories are not that amazing and didn't finish this book because of this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Confidential []  2020-1-17 0:51

    Another solid offering from Ranking Roger's ver of the Beat. Well produced with Roger in fine voice. There's plenty of recognizable sounds harking back to the Beat of the early 80s, but overall the sound leans more toward General Public. Lyrically not quite as powerful ast the previous album Bounce, but still light years ahead of the second rate collection of teenage angst from Roger's old sparring partner, Dave Wakeling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Confidential []  2020-1-17 0:51

    Sadly RR is no longer with us but his melody lives on. A classic in the style of The Beat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Confidential []  2020-1-17 0:51

    Arrived quick. Vinyl is d expierience. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Confidential []  2020-1-17 0:51

    The most brilliant Beat album since I Just Can’t Stop It. Ranking Roger is a creative force.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Confidential []  2020-1-10 19:8

    Perhaps not what you would expect -- it's not about scoops and how they are turned up from one of hockey's top reporters. This is a book about hockey and how it dominates the lives of so many, and in so a lot of unique ways. You feel better after reading it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bollywood Confidential []  2020-2-4 6:15

    Sonia Singh came up with some amazing characters -- the uncle, "Daddy," the Bollywood star and his family. The characters were worthy of a better book. The author touches on some interesting points, that India is not a third globe country -- there are two Indias, rich and poor, living together. I enjoyed when she spoke about Bollywood movies as an escape for those in e stage in which the Reena gets her revenge was, to be blunt, ridiculous, if not for her actions, then for the speech she is book was an entertaining read, but it could have been so much better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thailand Confidential []  2020-8-14 19:26

    Interesting memoir and info about Thailand. i enjoyed the author's sharing of his experiences and perspectiveson life in Thailand. Very educational but some parts of the book did not grab me.I would recommend it to anyone planning a visit to Thailand to obtain a feel for the land and the people.I think the cover could have been better, looks like a cheap noir novel instead of a amazing memoir.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thailand Confidential []  2020-8-14 19:26

    Conversational writing created this interesting to begin; however, once the idea catches on, the added information becomes unnecessary. It offers a amazing idea of the lives of expats from every walk of life now choosing to live in Thailand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thailand Confidential []  2020-8-14 19:26

    Actually a beautiful amazing book on Thai culture that would be amazing to know for any traveler to Thailand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Campus Confidential []  2020-8-7 19:47

    Also had this record once; it's even better than 'On Campus'. Wonder what the guys are doing now? Want they would go on tour again...their melody is great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amish Confidential []  2020-10-4 18:20

    As others have mentioned this book is not exactly what I thought it would be, but I did obtain a lot of enjoyment out of it. Levi gives a lot of insight into the Amish method of life and how people go about their lives. He tells a lot of amazing stories and it is generally an interesting read. On the negative side there is virtually no insight into the Amish Mafia TV present except a small bit on the public reaction to it, and Levi’s campaign versus the governor (shown in the show), at near the end of the book. There is no mention of any of the other cast members which was disappointing. I was kind of hoping Levi would go into the Amish Aid thing and how it works, but that topic was absent from the book as well. Bottom line if you are looking for insight into the TV present you may not like this book, but if you are interested in general info about the Amish method of life you might search it interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitchen Confidential [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    After watching Bourdain on Kitchen Confidential, I wasn't entirely surprised at most of his additional curricular activities and general attitude that he chooses to share in this book. I DO,I believe, have a greater respect for the work and dedication that goes in to choosing this line of work and I believe I will probably be much more suspect of what might be event behind the closed doors of the restaurants I go to. I am also more conscious of the things I use to cook with. Along with being more biographical, he balances the info with colourful stories of his life and behind the scenes "goings on" which holds your interest throughout. This is the first book of his that I have read and I would like to read another one! My issue is - which one should I choose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitchen Confidential [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Anthony Bourdain's gritty life history starts out funny and interesting, but eventually turns into a depressing, self-aggrandizing, ultimately boring tale of and alcohol abuse and exploitative casual . Yawn. I created it about 3/4 of the method through and gave up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    L.A. Confidential [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Town of Angels? More Like Town of Demons! Curtis Hanson directs and co-adapts the screenplay with Brian Helgeland from legendary pulp novelist James Ellroy's novel. It stars Kevin Spacey, Russell Crowe, Guy Pearce, James Cromwell, Kim Basinger, Danny DeVito and David Strathairn. Melody is by Jerry Goldsmith and cinematography by Dante Spinotti. It's 1950s Los Angeles and three cops of very various morals and stature are about to be entwined in crime and corruption... I admire you as a policeman, particularly your adherence to violence as a important adjunct to the job. Tremendous movie making. Hanson takes Ellroy's labyrinthine story and pumps it with period authenticity and seamless direction, the latter of which sees him garner superlative performances from the cast. This is the side of Los Angeles nobody wants to talk about, it's awash with corpses, hookers, seedy set-ups, violence, , racism and corruption a go-go. And that's just involving the politicians, the press and the coppers! Rollo Tomasi. The absence of genuine heroes on present still further keeps "The Town of Angels" covered in dark clouds, where even as the plot twists and turns, as the mysteries unravel and brutality unfurls, the final destination of the principal characters is never clear, thus there's a continuing edge of seat pulse beat about the pic. It's also y and dangerous, the dialogue sharper than a serpent's tooth, and while the ending is a small too cosy as opposed to original noir wave conventions, this is pure noir in all but black and white photography. It won only two Academy Awards, Basinger for Best Actress in a Supporting Role and for Hanson and Hegeland for Best Writing, Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or Published. Frankly it should have won a dozen or so, for it's one of the best movies of the 90s. 10/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortuary Confidential: []  2019-12-19 18:52

    For the curious, this is a amazing read. The compilation of stories provide amazing varieties of private experiences of individuals working within the mortuary services. Expect to feel some of these stories- there are some surprising tales. The book is reader friendly, avoiding massive technical terms, medical gore, or explicit info that may scare some readers. But it is a book about death and what remains to be done after a loss. This book reflects their work as part arts, sciences, and human service workers tied together to honor the dead and the living. I highly recommend this for those interested in an industry so a lot of of us know small about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortuary Confidential: []  2019-12-19 18:52

    Imagine savoring a globe class food with mates while trading stories over dessert and coffee and you have "Mortuary Confidential".It's a collection of about 50 stories from people who work in the funeral business. They cover the range from tales of private loss, to humor and stories that just plain create you shake your e sad ones you would expect, but in general, this book is more upbeat that is self- published, and feels like it could use the work of a professional editor. However - with that said, I loved the book and will read it have to remember they not only work with the deceased, but deal with the grief and loss of the family member who is coming in to create final arrangements. So they are part counselor, part artist, part mediator, and all the while having to maintain a business and the mountains of work that coincides with r example:More than one story-teller recalled collecting and embalming a dear mate who had asked that "You take care of me". The story-teller each relayed that they did this hard job as an act of love towards their friend. Can you imagine something more difficult than that? Yet they had the courage and love to provide this service as a latest `gift' to their me stories were amusing, like trying to have a love life while living upstairs in a funeral home. A la "Six Feet Under" anyone?Some stories were laugh out loud funny, while charmingly sad. A woman lost her only daughter to diabetes. She came in to do funeral 's the story:"{The client}... Leaned over the desk and whispered clandestinely to me as if there were other people who might overhear, "She doesn't have any legs."Without missing a beat I stared back at her and whispered, "Same price."She sat back and laughed so hard tears came to her is book is well worth the cash and time. I suspect there will be a follow up book and I will certainly buy it. If it were given the benefit and polish of a pro editor, IMO this could be a best seller in the retail book stores.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Confidential []  2020-1-10 19:8

    Must read for all fans of NHL. This book provides some amazing stories about people in the NHL and is not a "tell all" book. Did you know that Colin Campbell almost drowned in his pond and how ytics came into hockey and are used? You'll obtain the full story on these and a lot of other ones if you read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Confidential []  2020-1-10 19:8

    Amazing condition! Looks like something I would pull off the shelf of a bookstore!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Confidential []  2020-1-17 0:51

    I am a amazing fan of ska probably my favorite form of melody and Rankin Roger has done some wonderful work over the years but this effort did not quite reach that level but it is still worth having

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bollywood Confidential []  2020-2-4 6:15

    I read this book in two days because it was so entertaining and bubbly. It's filled with quirky characters and cute one-liners and best of all, it is set in the Bollywood stage in India from an Indian-American girl's perspective. The story's culture clashes cross so a lot of borders - I'm a Latina and could see me in Raveena's shoes in Mexico. It's a light, breezy book to lift your spirits. The revenge aspect was a bit forced and maybe a tad farfedtched, but who cares, that's what real Bollywood is all about! I'm off to buy another one of Sonia's book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bollywood Confidential []  2020-2-4 6:15

    This is a fun book. For fun. On level of aholic books, etc. Fun. I required a break from serious. I admit it. It flows well and held my attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thailand Confidential []  2020-8-14 19:26

    I don’t know why, but I didn’t like this book. I tried to discern between not liking the book or maybe not liking what I read about Thailand or maybe it was e first 3-4 chapters were about . Obviously, this is a huge part of Thai culture. But I began to feel like taking a ter that, the author moved on to other topics, but I just found myself disliking this country.He reported his perception of the country and in all fairness, that is what a amazing book should do.He articulated well and wasn’t too wordy. I want I could explain why I was glad to end the book.I’m very well traveled and never look at locations thru rose-colored glasses. I don’t expect countries to be perfect. And I don’t wish a book that is going to portray experiences from a touristy point of view.I just didn’t care for this book- and I don’t know each his own. I hope I’m alone in this opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thailand Confidential []  2020-8-14 19:26

    The first thing that grips you in this book is Jerry Hopkins' style. With lots of self-deprecating humour, Hopkins takes us on an educational tour around the land of smiles, bars, beer wars, spirits, amulets, body snatchers, change operations, aphrodisiacs, sticky rice and fiery e amazing thing about this book, is that there is no particular order or sequence with which you should read it. Skip the chapters that bore you. Pick out the chapters that interest you. There is no central theme. Some chapters sound like confessions. Some sound like serious journalism and some even sound like history lessons. Nevertheless, humour and a reader-friendly approach are the main selling points here. Compared to  Bizarre Thailand : Tales of Crime, and Black Magic , this is a lighter and slightly easier read, so I won't list the a lot of books in this genre, there are also attempts to highlight some mind-boggling aspects of Thai culture, customs and practices. Hopkins did a marvellous job here. A amazing read for anyone on vacation in Thailand. Siam Smile/s - Secret of the Thais "Hello My Huge Huge Honey!" Love Letters to Bangkok Bar Girls and Their Revealing Interviews Spellbound In Chiangmai

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thailand Confidential []  2020-8-14 19:26

    Amazing at talking about himself. Not much of interest about Thai people. A self confessed grump with a shallow understanding of thailand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thailand Confidential []  2020-8-14 19:26

    The info in the book is a small hap haphazardly organized and choppy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amish Confidential []  2020-10-4 18:20

    I will admit that watching the series was a guilty pleasure. And of course Lebanon Levi does test to paint himself as just a 'good ole boy' but the book is a must read if you wish to know what the Amish are really like. If you grew up or spent any amount of time around the Amish communities in Pennsylvania you know what the tourism bureaus don't wish you to know and Levi lets it all out. From the cruel industries of Puppy Mills to rampant trafficking and the inexcusable crimes of incest and kid abuse, he puts it all out there for America to see. This books should be an eye-opener to most people about a cult where cash is king and the most despicable abuses are swept under the table.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amish Confidential []  2020-10-4 18:20

    I dove into this book because I have dealt with the Amish over the years & am offended at their "superior" attitude towards Americans,or as they call us "The English". This book truthfully covers a lot of problems I was already aware of, and other problems I was not awareof within their secret society.I have always resented that my ancestors gave up their lives for the freedoms we all have fun in America, yet the Amish obtain a ey have shed no blood for this country, and are exempt from some tax laws and others laws the rest of us have to adhere to.I don't blame Levi for this tell all book, I think it is method past time for this info to be revealed so thank you Levi for your courageto just tell it like it is. It definitely required to be e Amish have no right to be so judgmental of others, and the shunning is not Biblical. I like the book. Amazing job

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amish Confidential []  2020-10-4 18:20

    Some of the things I knew about the Amish and other things, I did not. Simple reading and I enjoyed. The Amish need to modernization or they are not going to last. The Amish who have moved forward in businesses have done very well. They have earned respect and outsiders like their products.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitchen Confidential [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    As a foodie and former restaurant owner I found this book a amazing read. My better half didn't like the language or attitude but the reality is that Bourdain is accurate in his story telling and even though we were located in our state's third biggest city, nothing like NYC, I heard and saw the same attitude in our "urban" kitchen. After the read I came across a young man who wanted to work in my kitchen; after a few miserable days of sloppy work I told him that he required to read this book to understand the globe he thought he wanted to be in and why my standards on cleanliness and prep was so important. I gave him another week and as of today he has left meal service (fired rather for using oven cleaner on my grill top) and pursuing a career as a nurse. Let's just say I plan on avoiding the hospital he gets a job in! So, my point is, if you were ever interested in meal service and have dreams of being a fancy chef you seen on the Meal Network then read this book for a dose of reality!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitchen Confidential [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    very simple to read, it's written in an simple english so even those like me who use english as a second language can have fun understanding all of it. amazing for a beach reading

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bollywood Confidential []  2020-2-4 6:15

    a look into the globe of bollywood . funny and simple to read .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bollywood Confidential []  2020-2-4 6:15

    Sonia Singh's "Bollywood Confidential" centered around Raveena, a struggling actress in Hollywood who was offered a leading role in a Bollywood film. Despite her doubts, Raveena went to Bombay in the hope that she would create it huge there and hopefully the Hollywood directors would then "notice" her. Things did not turn quite as Raveena expected as she realized the director who hired her was somewhat of a pervert and she had to stay with her distant uncle as the director was too cheap to place her up in a amazing hotel. The only consolation to all this was that the leading actor in her movie was Bollywood's hottest actor, is was a very average book for me as the writing was very easy and at times, I wondered if I was reading a teen lit. There were hardly any plot or hero development and it truly read like a Bollywood-inspired novel. The one amazing thing about the book was that I did learn something about Bollywood. I wouldn't recommend readers to purchase this book even if they are large Bollywood fans and they are better off getting this book from the library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Confidential []  2020-1-17 0:51

    As amazing as the best English Beat album!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortuary Confidential: []  2019-12-19 18:52

    One of my 1st jobs as a teenager was to work in a funeral home. Although I only lasted about 3 months, what I experienced within those three months have left an indelible print in my memory. That was almost 45 years ago. The short recollections within this book are interesting, funny, and insightful. I thought I was the only one that had some of these experiences. Also, if you ever wish to have a blast, go to a Morticians Convention. It's not what you think.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Confidential []  2020-1-10 19:8

    About the largest complaint anyone could have with Bob McKenzie's fresh book is the sounds like it should be a Canadian pulp magazine from the 1930s, full of slightly scandalous stories and material a small south of the truth. In fact, a mate saw the book cover and asked, "Is it full of raw material about the players?"Well, no. McKenzie tackles the problem of the title right at the begin of "Hockey Confidential." He says he didn't have anything better than "A Bunch of Stories Bob Would Like to Tell." That wouldn't sell too a lot of e to think of it, maybe it might. McKenzie, who had a long newspaper career before becoming a reporter for Canada's TSN, is actually the most respectable of journalists. He's had to be talked into the social media responsibilities of the business with the odd kick and screams. McKenzie prefers a more leisurely approach at telling stories than revealing facts 140 characters at a erefore, he feels right at home with the book-sized format. Most of the accounts here have not been covered at amazing length before, especially in this way, so they feel fresh and fresh. But the tales take a leisurely, thoughtful approach.A amazing example of this comes in the early going. Take it from someone who covers lacrosse for a living, McKenzie is right on target with a profile of John Tavares. If you thought I was talking about the Fresh York Islanders' young star, you'd be right. And if you thought I was talking about the indoor lacrosse legend of the Buffalo Bandits, you'd be right. The lacrosse player is "Uncle John" to the hockey player, and the connection has been well publicized in the lacrosse community. After bios of both, McKenzie sits down with both of them and has them compare notes, if you will. It's a amazing enough conversation to have been video taped and shown on tv somewhere.Other chapters cover a dozens of hockey-related talk. Former NHL player and executive Colin Campbell tells about how he almost drowned when he drove his tractor on to a frozen lake when the machine sank through the ice. Some of those in the info revolution in hockey obtain their possibility at explaining what's going on - to someone who was lucky to obtain out of high school math. McKenzie watches a youth hockey android game with Don Cherry and his son. Connor McDavid, the Next Huge Thing in hockey, gets a long look, particularly concerning the pressures that come with that sort of me of the story topics branch off the mainstream a bit. There are chapters on a massage therapist, a skating coach, and the lead singer of Canada's top band who is a large fan of the Boston Bruins. Then there's the Subban family, a most unlikely group that has produced three NHL draft choices - including one of the league's best e chapters were designed to be about the same size at first, but some expanded when necessary. Two - the McDavid saga as well as the story of Sheldon Keefe, a junior hockey coach - both obtain 45 pages or so each, and they are the longest of the es it support to be Canadian to read this? Maybe a little. For example, the Mike Danton/David Frost story, in which Keefe plays a little role, probably was a much bigger story in Canada than the U.S. But Americans who like hockey, or who merely like a amazing story, well-told, will search this worthwhile.I'd like to think that there's still room fora collection of stories like this, and McKenzie is a amazing choice to come up with them. "Hockey Confidential" is a amazing method to spend time on a cold winter night waiting for the next hockey android game to begin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Confidential []  2020-1-10 19:8

    Nice range of stories. Didn't name drop nearly as much as i would have if i were him!Interesting to see the perspective on the android game as it's changed from someone embedded in it, but able to pull back and be honest. A lot of of the player or coach biographies are amazing reads...but you know going into it they have a very specific view of the game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Confidential []  2020-1-10 19:8

    Some of the stories were more interesting than others. I enjoyed the chapters on the Subbans, Connor McDavid and Don Cherry. I learned a lot from the hockey ytics chapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Confidential []  2020-1-10 19:8

    This book would've been a 4 or 5, but two chapters really brought the rating method down. Those two chapters were definitely snoozers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thailand Confidential []  2020-8-14 19:26

    A cute book with very helpful information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amish Confidential []  2020-10-4 18:20

    This book is NOT what I thought it would be. I almost didn't buy it because I had heard that Levi wrote it in retaliation to the Amish Bi for having excommunicated and shunned him when it was discovered that Levi had fathered a kid out of wedlock. I did not wish to read a lot of trash talk. However, I'm glad I took the possibility and bought it. Not only is this book VERY well written, but it's extremely entertaining. Levi has a unbelievable sense of humor. The book does "tell all" about the Amish, but it's practically all in a positive light. I came out of it thinking better about the Amish (with one exception), wishing I could be as forgiving as they. My only criticism is their attitude towards animals, which is abominable, for which they should be persecuted. I had to skip over a lot of that filth. Otherwise, this book would rate 5 stars. Levi should write more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amish Confidential []  2020-10-4 18:20

    My daughter and I both watched and really enjoyed this show, and both of us were anxious to read the book and learn more. As Levi states in the book, the literature that's out there on the Amish really does paint them in a light that seemed almost too amazing to possibly be real all the time. And according to Levi, there are other parts that nobody reveals or discusses. I consider this a more fair and impartial look at the culture. Levi shares the poor and the good, his book is sort of The Amish: Warts and All.If you are looking for a book that tells more about the rest of the story behind the Amish Mafia and the characters on the show, this book will not be what you expected. Nothing is stated here about the Amish Mafia, it's a much wider view of the actual people of the Amish faith and their ways. Engrossing and well written, you'll learn much either way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amish Confidential []  2020-10-4 18:20

    Anyone who is a fan of the television series 'Amish Mafia' NEEDS to read this book! Lebanon Levi chronicles the back stories for the day-to-day happenings shown in the series ad well as some that weren't! Certainly leaved you wanting to know Levi and some of the other people highlighted in the of the best reasons for fans to read this is IT IS AN EASY READ! You'd swear Levi was a mate you haven't seen for a while, and is just 'catching you up' on e happenings that happened while you were absent. As ALL amazing books and TV series, it leaves you wanting more,and a small sad that they ended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amish Confidential []  2020-10-4 18:20

    I was a small disappointed. I was expecting this to at least touch on some of the things that happened on his show. He touched on mine of it. He gave his watered down ver of what Amish life is like, but mostly talked about things you can read about anywhere. In fact, it's almost like the Amish Wikipedia. Maybe not even as in-depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitchen Confidential [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    Had I read this when it was first released I likely would have given it five stars. But now is now and nine years after publication those of us who care know so much more about the back-of-the-house restaurant reality, both in terms of process and personalities, that Kitchen Confidential doesn't package quite the wallop it once did. That said, this is pure Bourdain being Bourdain: fun, outrageous, edgy, daring and honest. Amazing stuff. Anyone who is interested in the meal service business but hasn't yet read this classic should pick it up. It's a fast and simple read, but one with a lot of meat on the bones. I found Bourdain's heartfelt admission that he is not and never will be (and the why behind it) a amazing chef to be soul-baring of the first order. Would that we could all confront our own failures and inadequacies with the openness and honesty that Bourdain does. That, more than anything else in this book, took balls. And for that alone the author deserves our respect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kitchen Confidential [Book]  2017-10-13 21:16

    I love watching any and all things Anthony Bourdain and finally gave his first book a read to learn more about the origins of the man. It may be because I have watched so a lot of of his shows, but I can picture him telling the story as if he's in the room with me as I read. He has an amusing and blunt writing voice that makes you laugh out loud at his crazy young antics and previous restaurant e layout of the book is very special and intriguing as well, as he bounces around from childhood, to the necessities for any kitchen, to a day in the life at Les Halles. No stone is left un-turned in the "real" restaurant globe by the time you finish reading. It was a book I couldn't stand to place down and yet couldn't bare to finish since I wanted more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortuary Confidential: []  2019-12-19 18:52

    For some reason I came up on this book at a time of death in my life. The woman I cooked for died two days ago and my mother is approaching that season of her life also. The stories were amazing but what is most necessary are the ideas and feelings between the lines of print and the words. Although it is humorous it also has a unique reverence for those who depart and those who honor them. I am grateful for the book at the time of my life that I have read it. Thank you for honoring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mortuary Confidential: []  2019-12-19 18:52

    The latest loving gesture humanity can render to those who have died is respect. The authors understand and convey that their "service" is to the living which they offer by showing respect for the dead. For balance, they also acknowledge that when human beings are running things, the people in charge have to expect the unexpected and be ready to deal with it. Sometimes the hearse gets lost in street construction on the method to the cemetery. Sometimes street conditions send the hearse into the ditch. Sometimes squirrels obtain into the funeral home and sometimes the casket just isn't sturdy enough to keep the decedent. So what do you do? You deal with it, respectfully. (Disclosure: my father was a second generation funeral director. Reading the McKenzie and Harra books were like listening again to some of the stories he brought home from F.D. conventions. With respect and a sense of humor, people can hold their dignity and obtain the job done.) Highly recommended for anyone who wants to know what "real" funeral directors are like.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hockey Confidential []  2020-1-10 19:8

    This book was worthwhile reading and it includes some story's that hockey fans will search interesting. I'm satisfied that I bought a used book from Amazon and don't think it would have been a amazing value if I had paid full price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Confidential []  2020-1-17 0:51

    Completely familiar sound but undeniably new and new. A fine farewell recording from the late amazing Ranking Roger and the rest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Public Confidential []  2020-1-17 0:51

    I like the English Beat, so I knew I would like this album. I like it a lot and my grandkids have fun it also. Bapa play that again is what I hear frequently from them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thailand Confidential []  2020-8-14 19:26

    My wife and I have just visited Thailand for our first time. I purchased this book, based on latest Amazon reviews, in order to prepare for this trip, but I had reservations about the cover. This book was remarkably well written,and simple to read. It was accurate and quite helpful with respect to having some insight into the Thai culture, behaviors, and customs. I would recommend it for any first time Thai traveler, but would change the cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bollywood Confidential []  2020-2-4 6:15

    I loved this book.Raveena is a twenty-eight year old American-Indian woman, a struggling actress in Hollywood and accepts an offer to be the female star in a Bollywood movie.But, her promised first class ticket is standard class. Her promised limo to pick her up at the airport isn't there. The hotel she was told was a five star hotel was a dump. The director of this film has lied to her and her Hollywood agent.Having been born in America, with Indian born parents, and told how it is in India, she is shocked by the stark differences in the lives of those in India. Rich or e eventually moves in with her maybe-crazy uncle. The director turns out to be a lech. The one amazing thing is her co-star, Siddharth.Raveena makes mates wherever she goes, and her observations were one of the a lot of things I liked in this book. Being an upfront, upbeat woman, she doesn't take well to the back-stabbing of another woman or the director or to how the film is going: it's horrible.Everything comes to a head and Raveena decides to war back. The rest of the story is a Bollywood I said earlier, I loved this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bollywood Confidential []  2020-2-4 6:15

    Wannabe actress Raveena Rai has failed to create it in Hollywood so when her agent informs her that he has a starring role in a Bollywood movie, she immediately accepts the job. Without waiting for anyone to change their mind, Raveena quickly heads to Bombay where she assumes fame and fortune await ever, upon reaching her destination in India Raveena finds nothing is remotely like that described by her agent she now considers slime. Her hotel is a dump, but she cannot move in with her Uncle Heeru as his home is overrun by wild pigeons. Even worse, her script is not written and she must dance more than act. To create her stay more miserable her director uses a hands on way touching her everywhere while trying to obtain her on the casting couch; all this without a script. On the positive side of this disaster is her leading man, mega hunk Siddharth, who Raveena believes is her destiny though she has a few rivals who consider the most famous Bollywood actor of the moment as fair ing stereotypes as help cast, Sonia Singh lampoons the Bollywood film industry for making inane movies that are so undemanding and unoriginal yet at the same time Raveena toasts the industry for its vigor and energy. The story line is well written as the audience wonders whether Raveena will obtain the leading man and finish the film while eluding the quick hands of the lecherous director. Contemporary readers will welcome this fine absorbing look at the dynamic Indian movie industry.Harriet Klausner

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Amish Confidential []  2020-10-4 18:20

    I loved this book, I started watching the amish mafia as I have mennonite ancestors, this book was amazing as far as telling some early history on the amish and mennonites. I loved that, I loved hearing how things have changed over the years. Unfortunately, they are becoming corrupted too, just like the rest of the globe and I had alot of the same questions levi had, why is it okay to ride with someone but they can't drive, why is it okay to rent zone at a neighbors for their freezer but they can't have it in their house. I think the bible is used in so a lot of various ways, it all depends on who's reading it and what they wish to read into the words. I think all religions are this way. Above all it was a amazing read, I couldn't place it down myself. I read it in just a couple days. I think you will have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Palm Beach Confidential [App]  2019-11-28 21:11

    Only a few people has a brave heart to alert you, being you a regular people or beginner in this interesting and magnetic world. Better yet if it is overseas. Thanks Teeka.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Law School Confidential []  2020-5-13 18:29

    As a 0L (soon to be 1L), this book seems to have a lot of valuable info to prepare before and during law school. It is a beautiful comprehensive book which is divided in several parts (applying/preparing as a 0L/your first year/second year/third year). The book talks about how to create the most of your learning experience and give hints regarding exam taking, preparing for interviews, getting into law review and/or getting internships/externships/clerkships. It also covers how to choose the best school for you, financial aid, and a lot of other aspects of the law school experience. I have gone through the whole book once, and I plan to review each specific part (for example, this summer I will re-read the 0L part of the book) and in August I will revisit the 1L portion. The author gives a lot of tip regarding preparation, and although it is a lot of information, I am beautiful sure that it will prove useful soon. I recommend the book as it provides condensed insight on a lot of aspects of the legal education.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Law School Confidential []  2020-5-13 18:29

    INTROI have read a lot of and varied law school preparation books. To be forward, of all the books I have read, I found this one to be the most overrated. It is indeed useful, particularly if this is your first book on law school and you are interested in a very general RSONAL SUGGESTION (*warining* private opinion)My strongest suggestion for those interested in law school is this: take one or two years off prior to entering law school to 1) adequately prepare and 2) create a determination whether or not you *really* wish to do it. Whether you enroll into a graduate program, work, relax, explore, or engage in charitable activities - give yourself some time to pursue your varied interests. If you ever wanted to begin a company, see a particular part of the world, or just take some time to think .. I highly suggest you do that prior to entering law school. If you just completed or are about to complete an undergraduate or graduate program, you might not have this opportunity again. Purge those urges and pursue those interests now while you have a chance.HIGHLIGHTSThe book provides useful info regarding law school from financing your education to law school etiquette (share your class notes; do not boast about anything; avoid gossip; and never discuss grades). Furthermore, the author provides useful insights on applying for jobs to obtaining internships. A lot of subjects are addressed in the book, and I appreciated the perspectives of former law students to hiring partners at variously sized firms. I do not necessarily agree with the author's suggestion on case briefing, however. I think it would be tedious and time-consuming to read cases using variously colourful highlighters. It is better to use simply a pen and underline relevant MMARY & CONCLUSIONThe info in the book lacks depth but makes up for it for its vast breadth concerning prior to law school, while in law school (year 1, 2, and 3) and after law school. I am confident that most people who have an interest in possibly attending law school will search the book useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cast Member Confidential: []  2020-8-7 19:10

    Allow me say at the beginning, I have no ties to Disney or its employees so I cannot attest to the veracity of the author's e book in itself is surprisingly well written. The author recants his relatively short stint as a cast member at Walt Disney Globe in Florida. Reading some other reviews, I am guessing a lot of the work similar storied are exaggerated if not downright fabricated. I am inclined to believe a lot of it because when you have that a lot of young people in one location, @#$% happens, people be crazy Yo. I thought it was a very entertaining book and I actually read it on the plane to Florida on my method to Disney. I would recommend it to people like myself who wish a glance behind the scenes of the invariably pristine exterior of Disney employee life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cast Member Confidential: []  2020-8-7 19:10

    Such a amazing book takes you on a true ride and ends in a amazing way. I love disney and wish to know all the behind the magic I can and this book was excellent for that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    K-pop Confidential []  2020-11-25 23:49

    Like K-pop? Love K-pop? Know absolutely nothing about K-pop? It doesn't matter because this is just a joy to read from begin to finish for fans and non-fans alike. I started off a bit nervous because I've been a K-pop fan for over 15 years and tend to obtain a small protective over American media depictions of it, but the book exceeded all of my expectations! It assumes a knowledge base of zero while remaining completely authentic. Candace, the protagonist, is so blessed from begin to finish despite all odds that she could fall into the trap of being unlikeable but Lee's humor, heart, and most of all, pacing, builds a globe in which you can't support but to root for Candace and her debut on the K-pop stage. If you are a K-pop fan, there are several Easter Eggs in this book you'll surely catch, and if you come in with a knowledge base of 0, you'll have several starting points to enter the globe of K-pop fandom. Finally, this is ultimately a book about the Korean-American experience and Gen Z's relationship with their family, with most of the Korean phrases taught in this book revealing a lot about Korean family dynamics. Don't hesitate — buy this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    K-Pop Confidential []  2020-10-4 18:58

    I fell head over heels in love with Stephan Lee's K-Pop Confidential! This is such a fun, smart, stylish read that follows Candace Park as she embarks on what she *thinks* is her dream: to become a K-Pop star and break out of her little NJ hometown. But when Candace arrives in paradise (aka K-Pop idol boot camp), she has to decide if she's really ready for what could happen if she does succeed. I couldn't place this book down and was so sad when it ended! Can't wait to see what Lee does next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Law School Confidential []  2020-5-13 18:29

    I cannot think of a graduate school experience that is more mythologized than the first year of law school (in the worst possible way), and as an incoming 1L, I sought to familiarize myself with what to expect as best as I could. Mr. Miller's book not only provides an extremely thorough rendering of what happens at every step of the law school experience, but he imbues his writing with a candor and perspective that was extremely refreshing to read. He was neither hyperbolic nor dismissive about the trials and tribulations of law school, and it is necessary for incoming students to see this sort of balance reflected in discussions of what law school will be like (since most of my peers tend to swing towards either end of the spectrum).I plan to give a copy of this book to all of the future 1Ls in my life, and even though I am only a week into my first year, I know I am much better off having read this book from cover to cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cast Member Confidential: []  2020-8-7 19:10

    I cautiously approached this book expecting a damaging tell-all that would form cracks in the righteous ars of the Disney foundation, but it never happened. With CAST MEMBER CONFIDENTIAL, Chris Mitchell reveals a private Disney odyssey that tips of a dark/alternative "underworld" that belies the overly-wholesome photo Disney has projected for decades. While the book is readable and entertaining, the veracity of its content is surely up for debate.I can describe my Disney Globe experiences as a dichotomy between indifference (my first two visits as a teenager and young adult) and utter joy (my two most latest visits as the father of two young Disney Princess-obsessed daughters). From a parent's point-of-view, I found those latest trips to Walt Disney Globe to be some of the most memorable and enjoyable experiences of my life. Other than the occasional kid meltdown, Disney Globe actually proved itself as a magically satisfied oasis impervious to real-world misery (politics/economy) and even Mother Nature (110 degree weather in mid-July or rain). Adult common-sense, however, dictates the understanding that the process of producing a perfected final product isn't always beautiful ... or public (how a lot of famous products contain the "proudly created by kid sweat employees" disclaimer?). While Chris Mitchell seems half-heartedly determined to prove Disney World's magical photo is nothing more than an expensive façade, nothing he reveals in his book (if even true) is really that detrimental , shocking ... or totally ST MEMBER CONFIDENTIAL simply chronicles a late-twenty-something's attempt to escape real-world issues (a cancer-stricken mother and no viable career path) by working at Disney World, a put reminiscent of the satisfied times he experienced as a kid in California (Disneyland). Starting as a lower-level photography department employee in Animal Kingdom, he realizes there is a class-system among Disney employees (all known as cast members): the gopher types, management and the royalty of cast members, those who don the costumes of Disney characters. Initially shunned by co-workers as an outsider, the author finally realizes the only method to earn peer approval/acceptance is to partake in deviant behavior. Once welcomed into this "inner circle", Mitchell realizes the opportunities before him: advance his Disney career and earn the ultimate role of being a "face" character, party invitations and intimacy with a few female characters in the parks while off-duty. Reading more like a teen-angst novel, readers are taken on a rollercoaster of emotion, action and scandal as Mitchell discovers the seedy, dysfunctional nature of most all of his peers ... who happen to be the same cheery characters your children fawn over. Paralleling the author's Disney experience is the story of his sick mother in California and Mitchell's disappointingly cavalier attitude toward her struggle (the Disney lifestyletook priority). Once the author reaches his short term pinnacle (the "Little Mermaid" as his girlfriend and an opportunity to be a face character), the bubble predictably bursts, everything falls apart and Mitchell learns a few life-lessons.I enjoyed the storytelling aspect of CAST MEMBER CONFIDENTIAL and the author has a knack of being descriptive, but not verbose ... the book is a quick read and beautiful entertaining. But, I found much of the book's storylines a small bit of a stretch. I don't doubt, as normal adults, that some of the cast members have hidden private issues/struggles, but virtually ALL of Mitchell's peers are shown to be deviants. A easy Google find couldn't confirm some of the more notable stories: a dramatic water rescue and an employee death. While the ulative result of happenings portrayed may have readers believing the book is a complete work of fiction; I think it is actually a mixed bag as I'm sure crazy things do happen in the Disney family of employees ... they just aren't broadcasted. I liked the descriptive insider tour of the parks I got as I read as well some insight to Disney's rigid approach to employment. I found the Disney-vernacular and acronyms peppered throughout the book somewhat amusing: "protein s" (vomit), SOP ( on property) and DAK (Disney Animal Kingdom ... although, ironically, that acronym more commonly refers to Deutsch Afrika Korps).In my opinion, CAST MEMBER CONFIDENTIAL is less a tell-all than a brief, colourful interlude in one person's life. Sure, some stories come across as embellished (or even made-up), but I enjoyed it none-the-less. A lot of Disney Fans will likely hate this book and the somewhat deplorable depiction of cast members, but Mitchell never comes across as having a grudge or a chip on his shoulder and that gives the book a tip of legitimacy. While the expose aspects of CAST MEMBER CONFIDENTIAL may use the Disney as a selling point, its revelations do not come close to tarnishing the Mouse Ears.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cast Member Confidential: []  2020-8-7 19:10

    This is a very entertaining, and surprisingly touching read. Nothing ground-breaking, but some interesting backstage stories. The author states that names are changed, and some compositing is done to protect the employees, but it gives an interesting glimpse into the motivations and reality of someone who works at WDW. It's deeper than that, though I will not spoil any further here. A amazing read, but do understand, this is very adult material. Not for the easily offended or those who wish to preserve all of the magic.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386