Read waves on the shore reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all waves on the shore reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kafka on the Shore []  2020-4-19 18:33

    Have you ever experienced one of those realistic dreams that take put in the time and zone between sleep and waking up? Anything is possible that realm. And no matter how outrageous it might seem later, at the time everything feels more vivid and more true than your waking world? For that moment in time, and despite all appearances to the contrary, your ability to discern connections runs of logical restraints.Kafka on the Shore reads like one of those dreams. It's something apart from your everyday world. You think it's spilling over into your waking memories, but if you take a closer look, you recognize how it's always been a part of you and always will be.And just like one of those dreams - one so fabulous, so fantastic, and so utterly involving - you don't wish it to end.What makes it so? The poetry of Mr Murakami's metaphors strike deep. His characters are well drawn, each one special in their uniqueness. They're not transparent and definitely not predictable. To say what or who they are would not do them justice and would your experience short. However, when it's all said and done, and if you begin yourself up to the self understanding, it's not difficult to see that each one is a part of you.And the story itself? Well, like Nakata or Hoshino, you must be patient to see where happenings take you. Just when you think you have it figured out, Mr Murakami adds another twist to the plot or to the metaphor in play all the method up to a very excellent ending. And you still don't wish the dream to end even though the alarm clock of the latest word on the latest page is ringing out, telling you the dream is over and it's time to place the book down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kafka on the Shore []  2020-4-19 18:33

    Giving a fast plot synopsis is not exactly an simple thing to do for Kafka on the Shore, or any Murakami book. Let’s just say that Kafka on the Shore has a lot of of the Murakami staples: lost cats, cats talking, eccentric types, alternating storylines, slacker types, American pop culture, music, wandering, and ventures into various realms. Kafka on the Shore follows two storylines: one a teenager named Kafka who has decided to run away from home, the other an odd, elderly simpleton named Nakata who experienced a strange incident as a kid which left him with odd powers. As we progress further into the plot, Kafka and Nakata stories start to coincide with one another. Both of these plotlines have the theme of the journey or wandering towards an unseen destination, the destination being both physical and metaphorical. I think this journey from both characters represents a part of finding oneself, coming to terms with one’s identity. This comment is probably a gross oversimplification, though, because there is a deeper transformation going on as well. Along the way, there a bevy of interesting characters: Miss Saeki, a mysterious woman who works in a personal library; Oshima, her assistant who often spouts philosophical wisdom; Hoshino, truck driver and slacker type, Colonel Sanders, a “concept.”The basis for the book’s title is the name of a song, “Kafka on the Shore” that Miss Saeki wrote when she was young and in love. Kafka reads through the lyrics and becomes enamored with the tune. The song’s lyrics mentions “little fish” raining from the sky and a girl’s “search for the entrance stone”, both which are part of this novel. In fact, the song is sort of an allegory for much of the novel’s premise.I think my favorite quote that comes from this book is when Miss Saeki is speaking with the young protagonist Kafka on a book she wrote about lightening: “The book didn't come to any conclusion, and nobody wants to read a book that doesn't have one. For me, though, having no conclusion seemed perfectly fine.”I thought this a fitting quote in some ways, as it seems to illustrate and depict not only “the quest” in Kafka on the Shore, but the entire Murakami reading experience. This is my third read from Murakami (I read Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the Globe and The Wind Up Bird Chronicle within the latest year) , and what I’ve come to realize is that there are no simple answers or solutions in his works. There are few very definites; rather, metaphors come to be the basis for the plot. Emotion often is the central piece in directing a hero towards a path. The find is always ongoing. Part of the journey of Kafka on the Shore is putting your own conclusions together. And this is what I love about Murakami’s books. He can take the trivial of life and combine it with the illogical, imaginative and symbolic and somehow create it all work. There is a poetic brilliance about the journey, one that takes us to two converging storylines to a fresh put and rhaps Oshima, speaking philosophy to Kafka about tragedies, says it best when he quotes “Man doesn’t choose Fate. Fate chooses man.” This is indicative of Kafka on the Shore’s direction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kafka on the Shore []  2020-4-19 18:33

    This novel could have been written by a 3rd grader channeling his tough boy ego, in hopes to emulate the rapist he'll be when he is 15. There is no binding agent in the plot of the novel; only gratuitous violence, abusive and rape. Murakami's lazily contrived magic realism fails as a carrying agent for 400 of romanticizing 15 year old ejaculate. Kafka's thoughts, actions and anatomy are so repetitive I felt I was reading copied and pasted content. The fact that a grown and accomplished man wrote this, and that people like this, has plunged me even further into asexuality. Trash.

    0  


    Add your opinion on waves on the shore or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kafka on the Shore []  2020-4-19 18:33

    This novel was recommended to me twice in one week by various people. So naturally I bought a copy and gave it a read.I just finished it and allow me say, I love it. To be honest I cant pinpoint exactly what makes this book so extraordinary. It may be the fact that there are twists and turns you don't see coming. It may be the random scenes that occur that create no sense but someone work with the story. It may be that although there are two completely separate story lines, they somehow blend together so well. To be honest, it was probably all of that and some more. If you were to ask me the moral of the story or what the story was about, I don't think I would be able to tell you. But one thing I know for sure is that this is a book everyone should read. It is exciting, unlike any other books I read, and draws you in. You create connections to the story, and the characters are method ahead of the times. All and all, it is worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kafka on the Shore []  2020-4-19 18:33

    I've now read Murakami's. This one is tops. You can say that the conversations, reflections, and dreams are too Americanized and Europeanized, but you don't mind it. From Beethoven to Prince to Coltrane, this story is full of music. Yes, it helps to know a small Kafka, but not that much, since the frustrations of The Castle and Trial aren't there. Magic, however, surrounds you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kafka on the Shore []  2020-4-19 18:33

    Five stars for Haruki Murakami’s Kafka on the Shore. It displays Murakami in the full maturity and control of his techniques. Complete with his usual conventions but with more flavor and greater literary merit. As of now it is 2nd of my favorite 3. I have a few more to read. Not for the very young with more than a small adult fore making the case for Kafka on the Shore, respect to it and his detractors. Warning there will be spoilers.I have read the objections by those who do not like the portrayals of acts and descriptions of women. This is not your book. Save your time. Murakami is not writing for you. At that there is a yuk factor with every true or imagined act. All the more reason for the prissy to stay olence. Particularly violence versus animals. There is a very hard several paragraphs where innocent animals are victimized. It is hard reading. I wonder if the point is: do not comment on the if you ignore the can be slow. Especially for the first 2/3s. This is also typical of Murakami. I like how he weaves his story so the pacing to me is more a possibility to have fun the craft of the writer. Be patient he will obtain you there.He will not respond all questions. What is left uncertain is e story line combines, magical reality, surrealism and what comes closer to Dadaism. Reading Kafka on the Shore can be like riding a bucking bronco. There are a lot of reason to ride anything, only a few for riding a bucking bronco. If by surprise you search yourself on such a wild horse, you cannot be faulted for being grumpy. Kafka on the shore is Kafkaesque. It will slide and elide in, parallel with and outside of reality; adhering to and ignoring conventional morality. Its logic is entirely internal to itself. It may be a very hard read for anyone with small prior exposure to Murakami. Be advised.Evan bigger possible spoiler:The primary plot centers on a 15 year old boy who runs away from home and assumes the name: Kafka Tamura. Some instinct brings him to the southern city of Takamutsu on the island of Shikoku where he finds refuge in the privately owned, public Komura Memorial Library Tamura is running from a father he hates and a home where his mother ran away years before. Tamura is also running from an oedipal prophecy.An alternating plot, a construction typical of Murakami books is about an older man. During the American bombing of Japan at the close of WW II; the child, Nakata his class friends were exposed to what we will realize was an enchantment. The rest of his class recovers but Nakata comes to with a weak shadow and total memory loss, including losing the ability to read. We meet him as a semi-improvised mentally challenged aging man; irregularly employed as a cat finder. He and the magic he carries will search their unbelievable method to Takamutsu on the island of take is that Kafka on the Shore is exclusively about Tamura. However, I caution anyone to be careful about imposing too much concrete rationalism on what is a challenging and rewarding read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kafka on the Shore []  2020-4-19 18:33

    I read this book after reading 1Q84, and I found certain similarities is book had a slow start. The premise floats around alternating chapters of Kafka - a teen that has run away from home to live another life - and an happening during WWII where a bunch of children fell unconscious in ough, in no time, both narratives ramp up into disjointed realities, violence, weird sex, and dreams. All dispersed between introspective pits for characters that wonder who their real selves are and if they could ever become who they feel they were meant to ere are so a lot of cats in the world, and Siamese cats are the most sociably articulate and helpful. Carry sardines around if you plan to become a cat tracker. Word of advice: if you ever run into Johnnie Walker, it may be best to turn away.I rotated between both the Audible audiobook and the paperback. The narration was fantastic. I would recommend either format.Less than a week after completing this novel, I walked into my bedroom and was faced with a huge slug slowly appearing from underneath my bed. Since this was my only opportunity, I didn't turn away. I allow it crawl onto some tissue before I ran upstairs and dumped it into a carnivorous pitcher e next day, I verified that it was dead and being eat book. Meow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kafka on the Shore []  2020-4-19 18:33

    Murakami is my favorite writer and this is quite possibly my favorite of his novels.I don't wish to give anything away about the plot because I think his books are better if you go in with no knowledge of it. But this book, and all his other books, combine reality, surrealism, and philosophy to create you step outside of your head and see life from a fresh perspective.His books aren't for everyone. He's one of those love him or hate him people and this book is no exception. I'd still recommend Kafka On The Shore to everyone as a amazing method to become acquainted with his style.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Roar on the Shore [App]  2019-7-19 13:37

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kafka on the Shore []  2020-4-19 18:33

    I'm a fan of surrealist, magical realist, and existentialist literature. I love the works of Kafka, Hesse, Schulz, Mann, Marquez, Carrington, and others. When I heard how lauded Haruki Murakami was for his surrealist or magical realist stories, I resolved to read them, beginning with his best work. Through some research, I found that Kafka on the Shore was consistently rated as his best. Reading it, I found that the book resembles literary fiction less than it does commercial genre fiction, particularly junior fiction, or young adult magical fantasy or supernatural thriller, with some implausible fantasies added. The book is thoroughly engaging, and compels you to read through to the end to see how it is concluded, so in this method it is successful. But the tone of the book, and its prose and its metaphors, resemble the Percy Jackson or Harry Potter series more than anything by Kafka, Schulz, or Marquez. Kafka is evoked as one of a lot of pop cultural references that are scattered throughout the book than through any close kinship to the Czech author's style. The prose is a small too easy and clumsy and lacks the same linguistic or poetic magic as Marquez or Schulz. There may be a lot that is lost in translation from Japanese. The simplicity of the language also may be because the novel's chief protagonists are a fifteen-year-old boy, a cognitively impaired man, and an uneducated truck driver, and to some degree we are forced to see the globe through their eyes. But overall it sounded as if most of the book was narrated by a ue to form for magical realism, yes, a lot of magical happenings occur. Some of them successfully contribute to an atmosphere of strangeness and mystery, while others seem to be more superfluous or random, added for the purposes of cute whimsy, particularly in the middle of the book, when it seems that the author runs out of ideas. In a method that is not real to form for magical realism, though, the protagonists' reactions to the magical happenings are always along the lines of remaking about how very strange the happenings are. Plus, there are plot points about magical stones that begin portals to other worlds that have to be begin and shut at the right times, and there are clever talking cats. All of this edges the story closer to fantasy fiction; characters in magical realist stories wouldn't bat an eye at how unusual the occurrences are. However strange and implausible the magic is, though, none of them are any more implausible than the scenes in which the teenage protagonist interacts with the two main female characters, scenes that seem to be lifted straight out of adolescent male fantasy, though to Murakami's defense, this tips at the chance that the story is event in the mind of the teenage protagonist; or maybe it doesn't. Maybe it's just the author's fantasies; I have no idea.I think the novel could have done well without any magic at all. Murakami endows some of the main characters with such compelling and likable description (particularly the library clerk, the truck driver, and the cognitively impaired man) that it makes me want that he simply had written a slice-of-life realist fiction novel about them.Overall, it's a amazing book. If you wish a book to take with you on a plane but you need a story with more depth than one about wizarding worlds, this is the one for you. If you're looking for something along the lines of James Joyce or Franz Kafka, prepare for something a small more watered down than stories by those authors but still enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kafka on the Shore []  2020-4-19 18:33

    I almost didn’t read this book after reading one negative review at Amazon. I know, very bad. But a friend, whose taste in literature I respect, said she enjoyed it very much. I picked it up reluctantly, thinking I’d read it quickly and pass it along. I picked it up but couldn’t place it down. Haruki Murakami is now my fresh favorite author. The writing is articulate, smooth, flowing. The characters seemed true to me. It was thought-provoking and, at times, challenging; fascinating. The protagonist of the story created me see through his eyes. This novel is a work of art. I have since purchased several more of his novels and will probably end up collecting all of them. They are on sitting proudly on my bookshelves and aren’t going anywhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bookshop on the Shore: A Novel []  2020-1-30 20:10

    I loved the book all the method until page 227 when they author inserted a paragraph as herself, stating her opinion and it pulled me out of the story with a crashing thump. Of all the countless novels I’ve read, I’ve never seen an author do this before and hope I won’t again. I planned to begin working my method through her catalog but now I’m wondering if she pulls this in all her books?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bookshop on the Shore: A Novel []  2020-1-30 20:10

    Even though the author says it isn't, this is sort of a sequel to The Bookshop on the Corner. In this book, Zoe is a (mostly) single mother to 4-year-old Hari. She moves to Scotland to support Nina with the blue book bus and to take a position as a nanny to 3 rather ill-behaved children. It is much like the other Jenny Colgan books in that it's an adventure with some romance and some family troubles to overcome. It is absorbing light reading; I finished it within a couple of days and enjoyed it very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bookshop on the Shore: A Novel []  2020-1-30 20:10

    This appears to be the same book as Bookshop of the Satisfied Ever After which was mentioned in the forward as a retitle from the UK to the US. I'm glad I didn't both! I normally really like Ms. Colgan's books, but The Bookshop on the Shore just seemed to ramble on. And it wasn't on the shore! Nina is pregnant with her first kid and can no longer handle the traveling bookshop. Zoe is in an untenable situation in London, living hand-to-mouth, (barely) with her son whose father is busy traveling as an unsuccessful DJ. Jazz's sister recommends Zoe to take over and also work as an au pair in a ramshackle estate in the hinterlands of Scotland. It is sounding like a Victorian novel! I admit that I skimmed parts of the book that were full of Zoe's angst over her four-year-old's son unwillingness to speak, her trials with her charges and the ancient housekeeper, her isolation from friends, her disappointment in Jazz. Of course, it all comes right in the end, rather predictably so. The atmosphere, the characters, even the story line was lacking. A quick read, especially if you skim, but not a terribly engrossing one. I hope the next will be more in the vein of earlier books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bookshop on the Shore: A Novel []  2020-1-30 20:10

    After agonizing through the first 70 pages - I did give this a possibility - I place it down. If you wish to read books about people suffering, in typical Victorian style, there are a lot of better authors. Colgan typically writes a unbelievable story, and I've read a lot of of her books, but this one was utterly depressing and a amazing plug for birth control. . I was so looking forward to her recent release, and a fun summer read. This is not it. It won't even obtain donated to the SPCA Non-Profit bookstore in town. Save your money. This one's going into the trash.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bookshop on the Shore: A Novel []  2020-1-30 20:10

    I wanted to like the book because the story line and the setting (old mansion in Scotland) sounded interesting. But throughout the whole book I stumbled across unfinished sentences, random jumping around from one stage to another without amazing reason, and worst of all: there wasn't one hero in this book that acted normal. Each and every person seemed to have large emotional problems, and everybody else just took it for normal and looked the other way. And all of a sudden, at the end of the book, miraculously Zoe solves all the issues and saves them all, herself included of course.What I read felt like a rushed writing job or an unfinished draft which needs a few more rounds of reviewing and editing, and it is definitely not worth the that Amazon (or the publisher) charges for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bookshop on the Shore: A Novel []  2020-1-30 20:10

    I thought this was one of Jenny Colgan's best books. I felt deeply for Zoe and liked her. She has character. It was fun that this book took the old trope of 'Cinderella meets an Earl' and ran with it. It was funny because the 'Earl' wasn't Prince Charming. He was instead a guy in a beautiful poor situation who wasn't coping well. Cinderella had to save him. And how does she do it? She perserveres, sometimes hanging on by a thread. Her life is utterly crappy but she still sees other people and feels for them.I hold trying to search related books by other authors but search they have protagonists I don't have a lot of empathy for; women who are self-absorbed, loud and who thrive on unnecessary drama and contrived angst. They aren't thoughtful women. If they have headaches, they think they have brain tumors.I read plenty of serious non-fiction, but at the end of the night, I just wish some balm. I wish to read something that gives me hope for the human race.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bookshop on the Shore: A Novel []  2020-1-30 20:10

    I enjoyed reading The Bookshop on the Corner, the first Jenny Colgan book I have read. The characters had enough charm to hold me interested, even though the heroine's sometimes juvenile behavior ("accidentally" getting pregnant, then still hanging on to her narcissistic boyfriend) was I was ready to more of her books, and read the blurbs on several. Christmas on the Island sounded good. ThenI read some of the customer comments about Christmas on the Island. It seems Ms. Colgan wasn't able to keep herself back from commenting on American politics. Don't you, as Americans, love it when someone from another country tells you what is wrong with the U.S.? I CERTAINLY wouldn't feel qualified, nor have the nerve, to throw out a few insults about the Prime Minister of Amazing Britain and, by inference, how stupid half the English population , sorry, Jenny Colgan, there are other authors to read.Writing successful romances doesn't mean you obtain to publicly pass judgement on Americans and their politics. What possessed you? Been hanging out with J. K. Rowling?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bookshop on the Shore: A Novel []  2020-1-30 20:10

    I'm a fan of Colgan's but haven't read her books in a while - and now I read 2 in 3 days, absolutely tearing through them. Can't wait for more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bookshop on the Shore: A Novel []  2020-1-30 20:10

    I love Jenny Colgan's books so much, and this one did not disappoint. I always feel like I obtain to know the main characters in her books so well, and Zoe is a woman who will stick with me. Her struggles become your struggles, and her victories your victories. The cast of characters is large, engaging and real, (with cameos by a few mates from the other Bookshop book) and there are twists that I did not see coming. I took this book on a sightseeing-heavy vacation to Alaska but whenever I had a spare moment, I opened it and felt like I was in Scotland!. Finishing one of these books is always bittersweet for me -- I never wish them to end (though this one had a satisfying ending) -- now I have to wait for the next one -- I can't wait to read what Colgan comes up with next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bookshop on the Shore: A Novel []  2020-1-30 20:10

    Jenny Colgan, one of my favorite authors, has the rare bonuses of bringing her characters to life, exploring complex family situations with compassion, and creating a strong sense of place, while deeply engaging readers in her novels. In this book, Zoe is a single mother devoted to her four-year old son Hari, whose father Jaz has rejected her and barely contributes emotionally or financially to his young child's care. Left by Jaz to cope on her own and near financial ruin, she bravely leaves London and moves to rural Scotland near Loch Ness to help herself and Hari. While Zoe finds the countryside breathtaking, she faces hard working conditions. Devoted to Hari and determined to provide him a amazing life, she takes two jobs as a mobile bookseller for Nina, who is pregnant and on bed rest, and as an au pair, the seventh, for the three Urquart children, who are hurt, angry, and rebellious. As the story progresses, Zoe slowly overcomes numerous challenges, and with insight, care, and love, she begins to make a home for all of the kids and a fresh life for herself. I absolutely loved this book and hope there is a sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fatal Shore []  2020-1-17 20:53

    "The Fatal Shore" delivers precisely what the subtitle promises: "the Epic of Australia's Founding."The reader, like the convicts of the time, is "transported" to this land. The risks taken to start white settlement were beyond comprehension - - perhaps like a decision today to colonize another planet. But there is more to the history of this put than itself. This book also taught me few surprising bits about America around the time of the Revolution, and a amazing about the English, Scots, and Irish, as Hughes recreates the period of time in Amazing Britain that gave birth to this movement of e hardships of early antipodean life would be all that you could ask humans to endure if they had only to endeavor each day to secure meal and shelter. But these folk had to perform those basics while managing a state of criminals, governing a budding nation, and dealing with rules created by persons nearly a year distant by the best means of travel e almost unimaginable conditions are carefully and vividly detailed by Hughes. His task was particularly difficult given the parsimonious records from 18th and 19th centuries that survived, and the apparent lack of interest in the Australian past that existed for the first 150 years after settlement. The author clearly worked on a labor of love and a penchant of need he felt to write this read this book for its history but relish much more. There is a range of vocabulary employed which stretches your mind. There are individual stories that sometimes chill you to the bone and other times create your massive heart story he recounts is of William Charles Wentworth, born upon arrival in the fresh colony, "went to school in England and came back to Fresh South Wales in 1810. ... In 1816 he set off to England again to study law. His aims were large: He would study the British Constitution so that he could draft one for Australia ...". That's a mission statement few would subscribe themselves to e "fun" of this epic is that the Wentworth story is seasoned with a phrase from Hughes that makes the reader's mind perk up and take notice. He says Wentworth "wound up his law studies in London and went to Cambridge. This was merely to brown the crust, as he did not work for a degree." I enjoyed a amazing a lot of entertaining passages in this ilk. When finished with this epic, you'll have all the facts you need to know: -Why Australia evolved the method it did -England's environment that effected colonization -How it started: The First Fleet -The workings of the Assignment System of convict labor -The central or interesting roles played by (a) common criminals; (b) political/societal criminals; (c) Aboriginies; (d) the Irish; (e) bushrangers; (f) English Governors of AustraliaPlus you obtain acquainted with other noteworthy people, historical views of the colonization system, and lasting influences of the early Australian experience. Devour this book slowly and judiciously, letting the writing give you both knowledge and feeling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Shore []  2020-1-19 20:29

    I don't typically lean to sci fi and or even dystopian fiction but I may be experiencing a conversion thanks to The Far Shore. I couldn't wait to obtain back to the characters and back to the story ... I read at lunch ... I read on the train ... I read until my butt was sore and then I moved a small and read some more. I couldn't place the book down and now I can't wait to read more from Damato. This story was simply enjoyable and I'm so satisfied I read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Shore []  2020-1-19 20:29

    Glenn Damato's "The Far Shore" grabbed my attention with the first words of this premier novel. As an admitted book snob, I search it impossible to read a book that is not written in an intelligent, cogent manner. Damato's novel is an absolute pleasure to lose yourself in. Rife with characters a reader can truly love and root for (Cristina) and those you truly wish to slap the tar out of... But you can obtain invested in all of the characters, which is not always e future this novel takes put in is not that far from our own reality, and is actually quite frightening - because of the very true chance we will end up like this if our civilization doesn't wake up and smell the coffee. It is an insidious, creeping, hateful future that is all too simple to imagine. I am not going to outline anything else in this terrific story, except to say that it is full of hope and possibility, danger and frustrations. I think it has tips of Heinlein, which I love. But it is, to me, a wholly special and fresh story ( which is hard enough in this genre) with logic, intelligence and amazing dialogue. I truly enjoyed "The Far Shore", first word to last. I am TRULY hoping for a sequel. SOON!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Shore []  2020-1-19 20:29

    As a fellow sailor I read the author Glenn Damato's first book, Breaking Shores, some years ago and enjoyed it immensely. Although, they are totally various types of books, I can again say that I thoroughly enjoyed A Far Shore. The author has made a very special and well thought out dystopian society in which his story takes put and makes one ponder where our current society might be headed in the not so distant future. It is a lot of fun following the protagonist as she maneuvers her method through the amazing morass she finds herself in. Can't wait for the next chapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dance Upon the Shore []  2020-1-23 3:35

    Maggie Sansone transported us back to ancient celtic times in "Mist and Stone" (another 5 star recording) with a thoroughly riveting traditional performance; but in "Dance Upon the Shore," her arrangements are planted firmly in the show while the soul of her melody is drawn deeply from the past. The melody is at once thoughtful, yet light; running the gamut of emotions from meditative to e melody will capture you immediately. When I started the CD, my active 9-year-old daughter stopped in mid-bounce and said,"Wow, that's nice! What is that, Dad?" and proceeded to listen to the entire CD three or four times straight through. I did too. It is just that good."Dance Upon the Shore" and "Mist and Stone" are Sansone at her best, and you do yourself a disfavor if you don't have them both.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fatal Shore []  2020-1-17 20:53

    Robert Hughes's The Fatal Shore is an epic piece of research that goes through the layers of colonial Australian history by each population that created up Australian colonial society. You will come away with a amazing understanding of how each group--common criminals, political prisoners, military officers on the outs, profit seekers, aborigines, and others--all interacted with each other to make the tapestry of Australian o critiques, however. First, the book is not chronological and at times my head spun from the a lot of jumps in time and location. I found myself flipping back to earlier chapters as I worked through the book to remind myself what happened in a given decade. Second, I felt like the author lost steam in his narrative about 1/4 to 1/2 method through each section. He presents a amazing of info but the reading is tedious at l in all, a very amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fatal Shore []  2020-1-17 20:53

    Though I have read other books I thought were better, this book is exactly what it is supposed to be. A thorough and educational acc of the beginnings of Australia. It is very well written and simple to absorb the information. The author doesn't obtain to technical or wander off on tangents about unrelated things or events. This IS a book about what it is supposed to be about. If you are interested in learning about Australia's history this book will give you what your looking for. I was only slightly curios and was very happy with this book. If I had a greater interest in the subject, I would have loved this book!! Even though I was only slightly interested in the story of Australia, I give the book 5 stars because it is exactly what it claims to be, it is very well written, very informative and educational and for a 600 page book it never seemed to long or like it was dragging. The info is clear, simple to follow and seldom(if ever) repeated. If you like to learn about globe history in any way, shape or form, I'd have a hard time thinking you wouldn't have fun this book. Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Shore []  2020-1-19 20:29

    Extremely well written novel in the first person showing an interesting depiction of a future not unlike one we could in fact be hurtling toward. Egalia's Daughter’s meet Orwells 1984 with the Martian as a backdrop. The authors ability to describe the scene, and feeling of living within this dystopian future is as if he lived through it... So realistic in description and feeling as life is dealt to the inhabitants. Awestruck by the depth and detail. Wouldn’t be surprised at all if shows up on the huge screen one day... I just hope they preserve the story and detail exactly as written. Can’t wait for the sequel or even a prequel to learn how we got this way!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Shore []  2020-1-19 20:29

    I highly recommend this book. It was very interesting and totally held my interest although I did obtain lost in some of the technical info but that is just me and it shows the accuracy of the story. I think this is one of the best sci-fi books that I have read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fatal Shore []  2020-1-17 20:53

    A heavy telling of the history of the British colonization of the islands of Australia, Norfork Island and Van Diemen's land (now known as Tasmania) from the 1780's through the 1860'e subtitle says: the Epic of Australia's Founding' and boy, does it deliver. The records that Mr. Hughes utilized - letters from those sent there as convicts as well as voluntarily residents, reports to government ministers, memoirs of survivors - are only some of the sources.England didn't wish to build prisons and they could no longer 'dump' the criminal element onto the American colonies so their criminals would be transported to Australia. To serve their sentences providing hard manual labor in an attempt to drive the criminal element out of them as well as provide a service to the Crown. The sentences were extreme - 5-7 years for the most minor petty thefts no matter if it was an adult or child. Families were separated and the government's actions to punish the so-called breadwinner and sending him thousands of miles away usually led the mother into prostitution and the kids to minor thievery in to survive. Which in turn, led to the wealthy and gentry to view that the not good were automatically criminal and being thieves, etc. was genetic. There are no numbers of how a lot of people starved or resorted in crime in to survive afterwards.And as much as he may wish otherwise, Hughes is brutally honest about what the convicts went through as well as the aboriginal people. It is a horrific insight in the harsh environment as well as the vicious cruelty that the convicts endured and after a while, the reader may become desensitized to the abuse these men endured. Not saying that some of them managed to serve out their sentences and eventually become productive and prosperous residents of the colony because a lot of is also the sanctimonious attitude of the soldiers, parsons, governors and other officials toward the convicts that can grate on modern sensitivities. The concept that criminal activities were genetic, that whipping, abuse, starvation and other violence could drive 'evil' out and create these former convicts 'good' model citizens is now seen as ludicrous but was prevalent at that ere are two stuff that did create it a bit confusing though:One: The different names of the residents - the Merinos (sheep-owners); the Specials (educated); the Currency (children born there); the Exclusives (settlers); the Emancipists (pardoned former convict) among others - created it confusing. A listing of the definitions would have been o: Hughes skips around a bit when moving between the three main areas - Fresh South Wales, Van Diemen's Land, Norfolk Island as well as others. Admittedly, he tries to complete a specific period of time 'here' before moving over to 'there' and repeat the events during the same or related time period. It becomes a bit confusing especially when governors hold changing back and forth.Overall - Hughes provided a heavy amount of info creating this unbelievable history of Australia's founding which some may search it overly dense reading but in turn, it provides some insight on the current te: This same review is posted on GoodReads

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fatal Shore []  2020-1-17 20:53

    I plan a trip to Australia soon and wanted to read some Australian history. This was the second book I've read. It starts off well but as I near the end I'm loosing interest. I can't believe how horribly English people treated each other in the 18th and 19th century. I'm surprised that anyone survived to tell the story. I had to think about American history about the same time as this book discussed Australian history. It would be like reading American history from the point of view of a slave. It's not a beautiful picture. It has created me more curious about the Aborigines. I'm still looking for a comprehensive book of Australian history. By the way, I do recommend this to anyone interested in history. It has a lot of interesting details. P.S. After thinking about the current situation in the middle east and Africa, perhaps we haven't changed all that much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Shore []  2020-1-19 20:29

    Mr Damato's most perfect hard scifi novel begins in a dystopian globe where the heroine finds herself a pariah, an outcast. She struggles for freedom when she is unsure of why she struggles at all. The best of the story comes when the young travelers are frantically launched on a one-way zone flight to freedom. They immediately struggle with realistic scenarios both during travel in zone and on the surface of their target planet. The meld of hard science and the messy social interaction among genius teenagers in tight quarters is well thought out and is is by far the best hard science fiction I've read in more than a decade. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Shore []  2020-1-19 20:29

    No. I didn't really hate the beginning. I just use it as a counterpoint to the reviewer who loved the beginning and hated the ending. The beginning is a provocative description of a planetary dystopia, that is so complete and fool proof as to be hard to accept. Especially the part about creating the mechanisms that take up the rest of the tale. I love that part of book even though I cannot accept the supposed ages of the main characters. In my mind's eye they were much older. The tech items In hard sci-fi is always over my head, and this book is no exception. Nevertheless, it is a amazing read and Damato gets five stars for originality and creativity. A sequel set about 100 - 200 years down the street would be great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dance Upon the Shore []  2020-1-23 3:35

    The melody is gently mystical and it flows nicely. This has been my favorite album of Maggie Sansone's for over 20 years. I especially love to listen to it when I am reading books by Stephen Lawhead like the Pendragon Cycle or other celtic-based stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fatal Shore []  2020-1-17 20:53

    I think a lot of are familiar with the fact that Britain sent a lot of of its prisoners to Australia for their punishment rather than build more jails in England. This book is intended for current-day Australians to support them understand their ancestry back a few generations. It's a difficult read in that there were a lot of human rights abuses that occurred during the time that the Brits sent boatload after boatload of convicts to Australia. A lot of died due to insufficient food, clothing and shelter. A lot of died due th harsh treatment. Some survived and thrived as a portion of the British commanders wanted the best for humanity. The native inhabitants of Australia suffered as the native inhabitants in a lot of locations have suffered when a fresh cast of characters invades. I found that after a while, the abuse of prisoners at one locale didn't sound much various than the abuse at other locales. Thus, a lot of chapters were skimmed quickly. The end result--that the succeeding generations of former British prisoners have become part and parcel of the Australian population, shows that people can succeed if given a chance. The Fatal Shore was a difficult read, largely due to brutal content, but a portion of history its worthwhile to know a bit about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fatal Shore []  2020-1-17 20:53

    A fascinating, if at times slightly tedious, history of British attempts to lower their prison population by shipping ('transporting') convicts to Australia. The British justice system in the 18-19th century and its role in over-crowded prisons is interesting in itself. The sadism of the 19th century penal system is breathtaking; at times the narrative verges on torture porn. If you are interested in the topic, check out 'Port Arthur prison' on Google. You will be astonished and perhaps horrified.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Shore []  2020-1-19 20:29

    While other reviews might focus on this novel's spacefaring technology, its depiction of the struggles of young planetary pioneers, or the heroine Cristina, what gripped me in particular was the dystopia from which the intrepid heroes flee -- a dystopia that is rendered with aching believability.Damato's dystopia is special in this genre precisely because it's complicated. This is not an easy-to-grasp dictatorship in which all of society revolves around the decrees of a single strongman -- simple to grasp, and simple to topple with a single assassin's bullet. This is not a easy Manichean globe of superwealthy aristocracy ruling over dung-wallowing peasants -- the kind of sophomoric, cartoonish pseudomoral formula, with evil scheming Haves and plucky virtuous Have-Nots, that a lot of writers use as a substitute for worldbuilding.On the contrary, Damato's dystopia doesn't even seem to *have* any clear-cut Haves -- everyone is basically a Have-Not. And they're almost all Have-Nots *due to their own lack of utility*. There is no clear set of greedy oligarchs hoarding the wealth of the masses, because the masses don't *produce* any wealth. They're not Have-Nots because someone is stealing the fruits of their labor, but because they don't *perform* any labor. The civilization is comprised almost entirely of useless, shiftless, drug-addled losers -- billions of them, and each one with a planet-sized sense of self-importance. Indeed, the oppressed peasant-citizens in "The Far Shore", very believably, have more in common with the "idle rich" aristocracy than with peasantry of any kind. The age-old formula of serfs enriching nobles is, in a way, turned on its head -- whereas medieval serfs had to physically work the land merely to survive, and the nobility could leech whatever those serfs produced beyond their own private survival, the "serfs" of "The Far Shore" make *nothing*, lacking even the primary ability to fend for themselves in the slightest way, existing solely by virtue of a technological infrastructure to which they are enslaved precisely because they are hopelessly dependent upon it. In other words, the citizenry of 2065 consists entirely of precisely the kind of people who would have starved to death from their own laziness and incompetence in 1365, and it is only thanks to technology that they aren't thusly self-weeded from the population.And in such a world, what is someone who actually *is* extraordinary supposed to do? Therein is where the dystopian nature of the globe really hits home. A truly competent, capable, exceptional individual is nothing but a threat to the mediocre, the incompetent, the banal. Every aspect of this society is organized around the principle of prohibiting the expression and exercise of individual virtue. It is a society that enshrines stupidity and patheticness. It is a society that celebrates "accomplishments" only when those "accomplishments" are unskilled token activities rather than genuine demonstrations of skill and brilliance -- *those* achievements it insults and sneers is the globe of "Harrison Bergeron". The globe of "Brave Fresh World". The globe of Earth 2019.But as Damato illustrates for us, for the few brilliant and intrepid of us who have not yet had their spirits crushed by this sad, pathetic dystopia of ubiquitous mediocrity, this lame-ocracy, there is still a frontier on the horizon, reachable by a pioneer spirit: There is still Mars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Shore []  2020-1-19 20:29

    Damato’s dystopian globe is both recognizable and alarming, and the author’s careful use of cultural references (“Dreamers” and “NASA” and “American States”) perfectly sets the stage. The reader is plunged into a future that is quick approaching, all the while wondering how it might be stopped.And then the main hero gets on a spaceship for Mars, and the whole dystopian theme is dropped. The power of the story drains out with the rocket fuel and leaves the jet-lagged reader in a teen angst-driven ver of The Martian (but not as carefully researched and lacking the power of believability.)The latest 3rd of the book does not sustain the suspension of disbelief and feels repetitive, one-dimensional, and petty. After such a amazing start, the disappointment is even stronger when the storyline falters and eventually fails.5 stars for the well-drawn dystopian world3 stars for the spaceship voyage with flat characters2 stars for the wonderful and unearned ending

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Shore []  2020-1-19 20:29

    The Far Shore is a amazing story. Damato's depiction of the dystopian USA is scary, given the direction we are heading. I love all the twists and turns and how his stubborn protagonist handles them. The zone travel and science and engineering detail are spot on. And the well-written story is reminiscent of the old classics by Bradbury, Asimov et al. Best sci-fi I have read in years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fatal Shore []  2020-1-17 20:53

    I read this story in preparation for a trip to Australia and Fresh Zealand. It is well written and well documented, but it is a grim story. I am glad I read it, but actually I had to begin skimming it and interspersing it with more joyful stories. It is a tale of cruelty, often "man's inhumanity to man". But it is a story that needs to be known as the first settlers of Australia lived this life and endured the hardships similar here. When I visit the countries, I will have a better understanding of the foundation of their world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fatal Shore []  2020-1-17 20:53

    Well-written. Very interesting and covers the whole early history of Australia including the prisoner importation and the record of the nature of some of the aboriginal tribes at the time of English settlement. Also has authentic prints and drawings from the period drawn by the first English paints a very fair handed picture of the convict settlers--many of whom were guilty of small more than stealing a loaf of bread or article of clothing in to survive. Also liked the explanation of the harshness of the environment and of the British policies &how they contributed to the cruelty of the whole system . Also amazing acc of role of missionaries and difficulties they faced.I recommend this as the most complete best book Ive read on this subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fatal Shore []  2020-1-17 20:53

    This acc of the first 100 years after England began transporting its convicts to Australia is based on original sources and careful research and convincingly demonstrates the cruelty and ruthlessness of this penal experiment, both for the prisoners and for the original occupants of the land chosen for this purpose. It perhaps includes too much detail on the sufferings of the unfortunate people involved, which makes it a harrowing chronicle and rarher bleak to read in manyplaces. Nevertheless one cannot escape the conclusion that after Australia's mineral riches had been uncovered in the 1850's, the Aborigine population had been suppressed to such an extent that they had no possibility to share in the cornucopia. A sad but well-told story of imperial exploitation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dance Upon the Shore []  2020-1-23 3:35

    I own three of Maggie Sansone's CD's...I like them all...my favorite of the three is Celtic Meditations. I like this one a lot too, although "Meditations" has a lot more songs (24 tracks.) This one features about three songs that are also on "Meditations." Bottom line, if you like dulcimer melody and/or celtic music, this one is really good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dance Upon the Shore []  2020-1-23 3:35

    What a treat to hear the sweet tones Sansone lures from her hammered dulcimer. This is melody to contemplate by or to read along with or just to sit and absorb the soothing sounds of Sansone and her friends. You'll hear flute, fiddle and accordian blending in to strengthen the sound.Absolutely a delight for any acoustic melody fan and particularly for those who love celtic music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder on Maryland's Eastern Shore: Race, Politics and the Case of Orphan Jones (True Crime) []  2020-1-27 20:51

    In all my years visiting The Shore, I never knew it too had it's dark secrets. The blood of INNOCENT AFRICAN AMERICANS is in every glass of water we drink. It's what create the trees from Virginia to Texas grow so tall and strong. It's why the soil is so fertile. It's why little white towns of less than 15 thousand residents often have an unemployment rate of less than 3% ie.. Danamora, NY; Attica, NY; Angola, Louisiana. Why in this country do we still fear Black Men (But Secretly Love Black Men) is a mystery to me. I guess we should revive Ted Bundy, and John Wayne Gacey and ask them? Maybe Ted Ginn has the answer. Read this power honest well written and gripping story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder on Maryland's Eastern Shore: Race, Politics and the Case of Orphan Jones (True Crime) []  2020-1-27 20:51

    Enjoyed the historical accuracy and found the content fascinating and insightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder on Maryland's Eastern Shore: Race, Politics and the Case of Orphan Jones (True Crime) []  2020-1-27 20:51

    Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder on Maryland's Eastern Shore: Race, Politics and the Case of Orphan Jones (True Crime) []  2020-1-27 20:51

    This book is morally compelling, historically fascinating and politically challenging for today's context. It is well-written and even with legal briefs quoted at length, it is a page-turner. As one living on the Shore, this book has helped me connect the dots and see the long shadow of the Easter Shore's racist history on life today in our smaller cities and towns. Thank you, Joseph Moore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder on Maryland's Eastern Shore: Race, Politics and the Case of Orphan Jones (True Crime) []  2020-1-27 20:51

    Anyone interested in Civil Rights history or the south (Maryland was a slave state.) will search here the usually hidden story of the 1930s.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder on Maryland's Eastern Shore: Race, Politics and the Case of Orphan Jones (True Crime) []  2020-1-27 20:51

    Amazing as expected!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder on Maryland's Eastern Shore: Race, Politics and the Case of Orphan Jones (True Crime) []  2020-1-27 20:51

    I have just started reading this book. It is full of history...some I was aware of and some I was not. I am like reading the history but the situation saddens me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder on Maryland's Eastern Shore: Race, Politics and the Case of Orphan Jones (True Crime) []  2020-1-27 20:51

    Here is a slice of judicial and racial history of the Eastern Shore of Maryland that echoes what James Michener did so astonishing well with first hand and almost autobiographical research. That Mr Moore is a lawyer and life long resident of the Eastern Shore makes him uniquely qualified to write this history. One need not be a Maryland judge or lawyer to appreciate Moore's spot-on analysis of the method the criminal justice system works. Nor must one be subjected to pervasive racial prejudice, a member of the communist party or have lived on the Eastern Shore to understand the events, culture and politics that Moore describes. All that is needed is to read the book and you will be transported to a time in the 30's when lynch mobs went unpunished, blacks were excluded from juries and Jewish communists seemed to be the only ones who cared.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder on Maryland's Eastern Shore: Race, Politics and the Case of Orphan Jones (True Crime) []  2020-1-27 20:51

    Very informative as to how life was back then and seems to be accurate

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Murder on Maryland's Eastern Shore: Race, Politics and the Case of Orphan Jones (True Crime) []  2020-1-27 20:51

    This is a very well researched and written narrative about the murder of a family and the subsequent prosecution of the perpetrator in 1930's Maryland. Written by a prosecutor, sometimes it focuses a small too much on legal mumbo jumbo, to the detriment of the story. There are perfect side plots in the book that give a revealing look at race relations at the time. Overall, a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Way to Shore (Stories from the Shore) []  2020-1-19 21:23

    Jonathan Vallen is a musician who has never felt amazing enough and was always in the shadow of his brother, at least as far as his father is concerned, fortunately his mother loved him for who he was. Marco Pellegrini has worked hard to be the successful executive he is and has not really wanted anything else. When the two men meet on an LGBT cruise, Jonathan has been away from the corporate globe for a year, has created some changes with himself and is much happier, Marco does not recognize him and Jonathan’s cousin decides to give them both false names on introduction. Marco and Jonathan are attracted and begin what they initially believe to be a cruise romance, but anything more is place at risk when Jonathan’s father meets them in one of their latest e story is told from the alternating point of view of both Jonathan and Marco.I really enjoyed this story, but then I am sucker for the gentle souls, nerds, geeks and all other characters who in the past have not gotten the satisfied ending! Add in a guy who because he is a gentle soul, his businessman father cannot even attempt to relate to him he is. Then the father simply wants him to join the company and learn to be just like him because he has the right name for the family business when he loses his golden son. These are characters I like to cheer for and Jonathan was definitely that, with his cousin and bestfriend Anthony, who has always been a close friend. Jonathan never felt like enough in the eyes of his father, and Anthony has taken the put of his mother to remind him of all the amazing things he brings to the world. Anthony is also the person he takes the cruise with, dubbing them Jonah and Andrew when they meet Marco and his sister, r Marco, while he is very amazing in the business world, and he has approached his private life in somewhat of the same clinical fashion, he does have more to him, a love of classical music, tropical holidays with scuba diving and after spending time with Jonathan, an appreciation of flowers and color! They really are a well matched pair and I liked how Marco wanted to take his time and not just fall into bed with Jonathan – well, he did, but since that is how he has approached every partner he’s had, he wanted to do things a bit various and obtain to know Jonathan, even though he thought he was Jonah at the time.I also appreciated that although Jonathan was using the name of Jonah, everything he shared was his true life, just without the names. Even how the deception is uncovered and how, although hurt, it was not an overly melodramatic end to the cruise but enough of an impact that both men started making changes once they got back to their true lives. I was definitely cheering for both characters to obtain a satisfied ending and loved that Anthony and Sophia played a part in all that (I wonder what the chances are that Anthony will obtain a story sometime?).If you like contemporary M/M romance, with characters that may almost seem like opposites who have a amazing chemistry just talking as much as they do in the bedroom, then I believe you will have fun this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Way to Shore (Stories from the Shore) []  2020-1-19 21:23

    I'm not calling this one insta-love more along the lines of meet-once-forget-loose-weight-then-fall-in-love. Not that that's a poor thing, just saying the one that lost weight knew who he was getting involved with from the beginning. Marco and "Jonah" clicked better method better than Marco and Jonathan.I liked the book overall. The relationships between family members who were secondary characters kept the book going. The book was almost fairy-tale like which honestly we all like to dream about, come on, having a fling on vacation with a hot rich guy...sounds amazing to me. I'm a sucker for a amazing HEA and this book gives you a amazing one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Way to Shore (Stories from the Shore) []  2020-1-19 21:23

    Truly well written. Realistic, emotional and joy-inducing. I was leery, as this story's been told so often, where it could have disappointed, it fully vested me in the characters--even the secondary is book was provided by the author via IndiGo Marketing & Design in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons at the Shore: Photographs of the Jersey Shore []  2020-1-23 1:14

    NICE PICTURES

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons at the Shore: Photographs of the Jersey Shore []  2020-1-23 1:14

    Peter O'Brien's sunset with the loving couple seated on the high bench found on the cover really looks attractive especially the sunset scenario color. In addition, Peter O'Brien's Lightning Picture with a purple background color found inside the book relects a notice of a poor storm on its method to cause hurt to the community.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Way to Shore (Stories from the Shore) []  2020-1-19 21:23

    Jonathan is a disappointment to his dad. After his older brother’s death Jonathan’s dad expects him to take up the role of the son he lost. Mainly to run his company and continue the family name. Jonathan is forced into the closet by his father’s disapproval. He also has no interest in running his father’s business. When his father hires the gorgeous Marco Jonathan puts in a small time but then decides to take his possibility to himself from his father and his expectations. He turns in his resignation and escapes to his late mother’s cottage in Cape Cod. The freedom is amazing for Jonathan. He loses weight and recreates his look. Which is how when he and Marco end up on a cruise ship, Marco has no idea who Jonathan is. Jonathan knows who Marco is however and keeping the lie gets harder and harder as the guys form a e guys fall for each other beautiful fast. Jonathan struggles with keeping the secret and each day they spend together on the cruise makes it more difficult to come clean without risking losing Marco forever. Most of the story relies on the lie which Jonathan’s cousin pushes him to hold going for some reason. It’s explained so the guys could hold having fun but you can’t support but question the logic once it’s obvious it’s more than a cruise fling. In these stories the truth is always going to come out and cause a fight. And it does. Marco has wanted to fall in love with someone this method for a long time. Despite being normally cautious he gives into his desire to see where things go. There’s some courtship and pining that happens after the huge blow up that gets a small sweet and angsty for my tastes. Jonathan’s dad gets a small OTT ugly but Jonathan saves the day by finally standing up to his father. It’s all very much a cliché romance story. Not that that’s a poor thing if you’re in the mood for that type of read. I did like the couple. Marco is very suave and confident. Jonathan is adorable and smitten. They had some amazing tension going. I liked this book for what it was but it did have its flaws.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Way to Shore (Stories from the Shore) []  2020-1-19 21:23

    1) What an awesome story.  This was so refreshing to read.  The plot of the story is very well thought out and kept me peeked throughout.  I loved how the author really allowed us to obtain to know the characters and didn't just focus on the romance aspect of the story.  The setting was very nicely development and I felt like I was there on the cruise with them.  What I liked a lot is how the setting matched the characters.  I thought those attentions to detail were perfect.  The Characters were nicely drawn out and I actually believed they were true people.  Yes, they were physically perfect, but they were more then just pretty, they all had problems and flaws which created them true to me.  What I really liked was the journey the characters took and how they actually grew durn the course of the story. Overall, the writing was spot on and I had no problems with following along. I personally loved the use of a journal for Marco it fit his personality to tee and I thought the shifts in POV were smooth and simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons at the Shore: Photographs of the Jersey Shore []  2020-1-23 1:14

    attractive pictures

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons at the Shore: Photographs of the Jersey Shore []  2020-1-23 1:14

    I am a proud Jersey Girl, and I have been going "down the shore" every summer since I was a little child. This books wondefully captures the very essence of the shore...all of the things that create it unique; all of the things that create it beautiful; all of the reasons why it is so magical. This is a fantasic book--with unbeatable pictures of the best put on Earth! The essays and quotes that are included also add to the experience. I highly recommend this to anyone who loves the Jersey Shore! It is a small expensive, but worth every penny!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Way to Shore (Stories from the Shore) []  2020-1-19 21:23

    There's a bit of a false begin to this book. We meet slouchy, sad Jonathan Vallen as he's making a fast exit from his hated position at his father's company. He has failed at business acumen, even after being trained by Marco Pellegrini, a master at reviving companies in the red. The two men part ways and Jonathan heads off to his Cape Cod cottage where a year passes and he emerges fit, handsome, and ready for a fresh lease on e story really starts when Jonathan and his flamboyant cousin Anthony board an LGBT cruise and meet Marco and his sister Sophia. Jonathan is mortified before he realizes Marco doesn't recognize him as his (soon-to-be former) boss' son. With a fake name in tow, Jonathan and Marco hit it off and quickly fall for each other.I was dreading the moment the cat got out of the bag because I hate stories that rely on miscommunication to further the plot. But Elliott doesn't waste time with writing those long, drawn-out misunderstandings. Both characters are hurt, but their love for each other was always real, and the getting-back-together is really well done. It all ended up much better than I expected, and it left us with a nicely-plotted love ere's nothing spectacularly memorable about the book. The characters fall in love very quickly and we're definitely lost in Gay Dreamland for the majority of the book. But it's undeniably entertaining as a fast and fluffy afternoon read. Sometimes a sweet story between two people who are meant to be is just what the doctor ordered!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Way to Shore (Stories from the Shore) []  2020-1-19 21:23

    This was a huge dose of sweet, a nice shot of spicy, and Jonathan and Marco had me swooning over and over.  I loved Jonathan's makeover (it actually has me recommitting myself to my own) and how he's reinventing himself after so long being held back by his father.  I suppose some might classify this as a second possibility story, but the two of them were never together when they first met and only knew each other for a short time then.  I'm just going to call this a sweet and swoony romance ;-)I really liked both main characters, Jonathan in particular as I felt he was very simple to relate to, and I thought it was unbelievable how he changed his life to create himself happier.  While I understand why he pretended he was someone else on the cruise, I don't agree with him doing so (and I'm lumping a chunk of blame on his cousin Anthony for it too).  Jonathan is Marco's opposite in a lot of ways, and the attraction between them feels slow-burn even though the cruise portion of the story where they fall for each other is over a very short period of time.  But things between them feel quite intense, and almost from the begin it felt like they just belonged e deception on Jonathan's part of hiding who he really is, along with the repercussions of that once Marco finds out lend quite a bit of drama to the story, and between that and the chemistry between the two of them I had a difficult time tearing myself away from this book.  There's extra tension when Jonathan's father tries to be even more of a jerk as Marco is finishing his time with the company-just one more thing that kept me glued to the pages.I got a kick out of Anthony, Jonathan's cousin, and his wildly out-and-proud attitude.  As for Jonathan's father...well, if he had been on that ship I think just about everyone would have been fine with him being forcefully shoved overboard.  But Anthony, as well as Marco's sister Sophia-these two I really enjoyed.A truly enjoyable read, All the Method to Shore was a very solid 4-star read for me.  I definitely recommend this story to any M/M romance fan, and it is meant for readers 18+ for adult language and M/M content.  Be prepared to fall for Jonathan and Marco-no matter how quick they fall for each other, they are simply irresistible together! This was my first CJane Elliott book, and I’ll most assuredly be reading more of her work in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Way to Shore (Stories from the Shore) []  2020-1-19 21:23

    Heat Level: 3 flames out of 5Rating: 4 stars out of 5This is the first book that I have read by this author. After reading All The Method To Shore, I may have to rectify that. I really enjoyed this almost instant love that gave me that warm love conquers all satisfied ever after feeling. This story has enough sweetness to raise your blood glucose levels. After reading a few murder mysteries and military romances, this came as a very welcome change. Jonathan has been forced into a position in his father’s company after the death of his brother. A position that Jonathan’s brother was groomed for and Jonathan never wanted. Never fitting into his brother’s shoes, Jonathan leaves the company and the very hot and very efficient Marco to obtain his father’s company on track and returns to his safe haven. During his time at his cottage escape, insecure Jonathan has reinvented himself. Dropping 40 pounds, getting in shape and a fresh wardrobe, Jonathan has a fresh confidence that makes him beautiful much unrecognizable. When Jonathan and his over the top, out and proud, funny, darling cousin Anthony book a trip on a cruise ship, they never expected to run smack into Marco. Nor did they think that Marco would not recognize Jonathan or an unstoppable attraction would develop. When Anthony and Jonathan decide to hide who Jonathan really is, (yeah you guessed it) things fall apart when Marco realizes who Jonathan is. Now with support from Anthony and Marco’s sister, Marco and Jonathan search their method back together in the sweetest, but dramatic way. Loved the chemistry between these two characters. The pacing was quick and very detailed for a shorter story. Super satisfied ever after ending with an added back to a jerk of a father. I loved the hero development, Jonathan’s transformation and Marco’s softer romantic side away from the boardroom. The added of reading about Anthony’s antics, create this book an absolute must read. If anyone is listening, Anthony needs his own OT 5 StarsCHEMISTRY: 5 StarsPACING: 4 StarsENDING:5 StarsCHARACTER DEVELOPMENT: 4 StarsReviewed by Mollien from Alpha Book Club

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons at the Shore: Photographs of the Jersey Shore []  2020-1-23 1:14

    This is a attractive compilation of pictures of the Jersey Shore and announce to all why it is we from Fresh Jersey love our shore. The pictures explain to others why we remain "Stronger than the Storm"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons at the Shore: Photographs of the Jersey Shore []  2020-1-23 1:14

    I've been at "The Shore" for summer vacations for all mylife, and I've recently become interested in om those perspectives, I found this book to be quitenice in its selection and quality of images. ( 2004,so presumably these were mostly movie photos, pre-digitialdominance.) I only had a small time with the book, boughtin a bonus at Sunset Beach (with the Sunken Ship, an oldone-of-few concrete ship from WW-I (likely in the book)and given to my mother, a Jersey gal in late years, now.(-;

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Way to Shore (Stories from the Shore) []  2020-1-19 21:23

    A Scattered Thoughts and Rogue Words Review (An Ali Review)Rating: 3.5 out of 5 starsJonathan Vallen has never felt amazing enough. A gentle musician who loves to garden, he’s woefully unsuited to running Vallen Industries, the family business. When his father hires a hotshot executive, Marco Pellegrini, to save the company, Jonathan moves away and leaves his humiliation behind. A year later and forty pounds lighter, Jonathan runs into Marco on an LGBT cruise. Marco doesn’t recognize him, the sparks fly, and Jonathan pretends to be someone else for the week—Jonah Rutledge—someone amazing enough to be rco Pellegrini has always been driven. He rose from poverty to the pinnacle of business success, and he’ll do anything to protect his reputation—including hiding his bisexuality. Having saved Vallen Industries, he’s weary of the rat race and ready for a more meaningful life. When Marco meets his soul friend for that fresh life—Jonah Rutledge—on an LGBT cruise, he prepares to stop hiding and begin ck on land, the romance crashes when Marco discovers his excellent man is not only a lie but the son of his boss, Frederick Vallen. Jonathan resolves to victory Marco back, but Frederick takes vengeful action. Jonathan and Marco must war their own fears as well as Frederick’s challenge to obtain to the future that awaits them on the is was a fun and enjoyable story.  The blurb does a amazing job of explaining the plot.  The romance is well done and I enjoyed both of the main characters.  They're a bit flawed but still amazing guys.  They each have a quirky side hero which I also thought added to the e story was narrated by Tim McKeirnan and I thought he did a amazing job on it.  I enjoyed the method he did both of the main characters as well as the side characters.  I thought the narration added to the overall story.  I had not listened to this narrator before but will definitely test him again.Overall this was an entertaining audiobook.  The plot was fun and sweet and had really likable characters and the narration was also good.  It's relatively short and would make  for a amazing summer pool side listen. The cover was done by L.C. Chase and I think it was well done.  It fits the characters and the overall plot well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All the Way to Shore (Stories from the Shore) []  2020-1-19 21:23

    This was a sweet, low-angst romance with no cliffhanger. Jonathan Vallen is charmingly awkward but determined to do better. I liked his commitment to learning how to live his life out loud. Marco, the love interest, didn't do as much for me. Frankly, I thought Jonathan could do better. Still, the ship-board romance read well, and when drama intervened, I liked the method the characters interacted.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Four Seasons at the Shore: Photographs of the Jersey Shore []  2020-1-23 1:14

    Anyone who loves the Jersey shore will love these photos...great coffee table book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-6 13:37

    love the point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-6 13:37

    School spirits contests

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-5 13:37

    My bus driver put`s this on the bus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-4-5 13:33

    love the point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-4-5 21:32

    love the point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-4-5 21:32

    School spirits contests

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-4-6 13:31

    I like the station and when I hit modernize I [email protected]#$%! would just go right through instead of asking me a bunch of other things and not updating me

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-4-6 13:31

    School spirits contests

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-31 13:39

    My bus driver put`s this on the bus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-27 13:35

    School spirits contests

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-26 21:35

    School spirits contests

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-28 21:37

    love the point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-6 13:37

    My bus driver put`s this on the bus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-5 13:37

    School spirits contests

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-27 13:35

    My bus driver put`s this on the bus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-4-5 13:33

    I like the station and when I hit modernize I [email protected]#$%! would just go right through instead of asking me a bunch of other things and not updating me

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-30 21:39

    School spirits contests

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-31 13:39

    School spirits contests

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-29 13:36

    School spirits contests

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-27 13:35

    love the point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-31 23:18

    School spirits contests

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-30 21:39

    My bus driver put`s this on the bus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-29 13:36

    My bus driver put`s this on the bus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-29 21:36

    School spirits contests

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-5 13:37

    love the point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-31 13:39

    love the point

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-28 21:37

    My bus driver put`s this on the bus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    94.3 The Point - The Jersey Shore'@#$%! Music [App]  2020-1-31 23:18

    love the point

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386