western Reviews & Opinions


Submit western review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Westerner review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Law West of the Pecos. The Westerner is directed by William Wyler and written by Niven Busch, Jo Swerling and Stuart N. Lake. It stars Gary Cooper, Walter Brennan, Fred Stone and Doris Davenport. Melody is by Dimitri Tiomkin and cinematography by Gregg Toland. Story is a fictionalised acc about Judge Roy Bean (Brennan), who here rules Vingaroon City by his own law and punishment. When suspected horse thief Cole Harden (Cooper) comes under his judicial system, they become odd mates due to Harden claiming to know personally Lily Langtree - the object of Bean's worship. Lots of uncredited work was involved in the making of The Westerner, while Cooper famously sulked about not having the main hero role, so much so his part was expanded and he performed under contract but under protest! Fact is is that it is as everyone has said before, Brennan steals the movie regardless, winning a Best Supporting Actor Oscar in the process. Cooper needn't have worried, he's very amazing here, turning in a number of different strains to Harden's character, bouncing off of Brennan to the pics eternal benefit. At the core of the plot is a amazing old fashioned thread involving Homesteaders vs Cattlemen, with Bean throwing his weight around and Harden forced to reevaluate his standing in the city when he falls for Jane Ellen Mathews (Davenport). The Lily Langtree (Lilian Bond) strand gives the pic an offbeat sensibility, making this a sort of dramatic comedy oater, but it works really well. Toland's photography is superb, sharp black and white sequences are given ethereal qualities, hinting at the fact this at times fun picture might be leading to a darker path? Davenport is weak and most of the supporting players struggle to create much of an impact, but come the attention grabbing finale you know you have been fed a wholesome western of substance. Propelled by two acting legends. 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Wild Westerners review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    Gunpowder & Gold! The Wild Westerners is directed by Oscar Rudolph and written by Gerald Drayson Adams. It stars James Philbrook, Nancy Kovack, Duane Eddy and Guy Mitchell. Melody is by Ross DiMaggio and Eastman Color cinematography is by Gordon Avil. It is what it is, a traditional Western created with a modest budget that tries to do the best it can. It's 1864 in the Montana Location and some outlaw types are easily robbing gold shipments. How come it's so easy? This is something Marshal McDowell (Philbrook) and his trusty squad must test to respond before it's too late - especially since the Marshal's newly "acquired" bride (Kovack) is becoming a key figure. Oddly enough there is quite a bit going on here for a "C" grade production, though the core thematic drive involves outlaws who are created known to us from the off, rendering the shifty - cum - mysterious shenanigans around city as kind of redundant! There's also a thread that involves trying to hold the Cheyenne off of the battle path, a burgeoning romance that has the most auspicious of beginnings, and some jealousies and macho posturings. The acting is a mixed bag of the average and the poor, the production value a blend of the nice (outdoor photography at Lone Pine) and the cheap (wonky and poorly designed sets), while there are no surprises in shop off of the page. Yet there are far worse Westerns out there that had bigger budgets, it's brisk and has amazing action, a couple of amazing guy/bad guy characters to cheer and boo respectively, and Duane Eddy's title guitar melody is quality. Not one to rush out to see, but some charm and minor qualities stop it from being in stinker hell. 5/10 See less▲

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    WESTERN VISTA review [App]  2019-2-14 21:8

    Amazing fresh features. Much easier to use.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on western or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch western video reviews and related movies:

    See Grjngo - Western Movies on youtube.

     related image

    See Red Sun | WESTERN | Charles Bronson | Action Film | Free Western Movie | Full Length | English | HD on youtube.

     related image

    See Warlock | Henry Fonda | WESTERN MOVIE | Full Length Cowboy Film | English on youtube.

     related image

    See Major storm hits western US on Thanksgiving on youtube.

     related image

    See The Revengers | WESTERN MOVIE | English | Free Full Length Movie | American Cowboy Film on youtube.

     related image

    See Dead Man's Burden | FULL WESTERN MOVIE | HD | Award Winning Film | Full Movie on youtube.

     related image

    See My Name Is Nobody | WESTERN | English | Free and Full Movie | Henry Fonda | HD | Spaghetti Western on youtube.

     related image

    See Boss | FREE WESTERN MOVIE | English | Full Length Cowboy Film | HD | Action Movie | Full Movie on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Amazing idea and works perfect!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    "Error Loading markers!" LG G4 6.0 Fix this please. This application deserves 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Simple, simple to use and dependable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Times are wrong again. Especially at the downtown station

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Amazing app, had some problems in the past, but those have all been fixed ages ago and it works perfectly!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Have fresh galaxy s7 edge with Android device 6.0. Application does not work. Fix this quickly please.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Choosing a car-free lifestyle, this application is invaluable in getting me where I need to be and wish to go. Cheers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Very Useful Application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    This application operates quickly, has exactly the information you wish for where you want, and has only gotten better with each modernize (UI, speeds, etc.). Unbelievable work, devs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Use this application all the time-beats having to take pictures of the bus times (like my iPhone friends) by miles

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    This application needs to gain more publicity for the students!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Awesome devs! Amazing app!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Awesome! Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Every time I test to go to the favorite stop tab the application crashes. I already reinstalled it once. Also the search my zone button doesn't zoom in to where I am located anymore.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    I used this for some time before the latest modernize with very small problem. Since the modernize however, the application crashes as soon as it launches. Please fix so I can give you a 5 star rating again!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Used it all year works exect today when I've tried to begin the application it has crashed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    It isn't true time (like NEXTBUS), but who cares!? This is Bellingham, it connects the schedule for each stop to the map and puts it in the palm of your hand. Satisfied Dance.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Use it all the time, so helpful!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Fresh modernize is FANTASTIC. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    This application is really simple and convenient to use! Especially when you're not sure where the nearest bus stop is or if you don't have time to pull up the WTA schedule...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    So much better than trying to use the wta website from my phone!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    So glad this exists!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Functions just as it says. Next to no startup time on a HTC one x. Settings button doesn't work though. Also, it would be amazing if you could find stops by route. Thanks for the app, I've been waiting for something like this for a while. Hold up the amazing work! I look forward to future updates.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    I just saw this on the western front and i used it twice already... I haven't taken a bus this year because I'm too lazy to go outside in the cold to check the bus stops. So this application is great. Amazing guys, hold up the amazing work. Runs amazing on Galaxy s2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Settings tab broken on HTC one running 4.3. Thanks for the fast response! 5 stars it is

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    I've been wanting something like this for a while! It's simple to use and super helpful :)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Easier to use than Google Maps

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Really amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Wheels review [App]  2019-9-25 13:44

    Unbelievable app! Super convenient and accurate bus times. Makes finding bus times in class a breeze. Highly recommended for regular bus users!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Decline of Western Civilization review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Though I both am neither a punk aficionado (I have seen X live in Detroit in 2008) nor an expert on Spheeris' movies (I have seen and enjoyed both 'Wayne's World' and 'Little Rascals'), this was very satisfying. The energy and spirit of these rebellious youths really comes across well, and the clever assertion from one of the interviewees that punk is simply another form of folk and protest music, albeit with various instruments and at a faster speed, rings true. Though I'm not privy to the Los Angeles stage (I'm from Windsor, Ontario, for crying out loud), it appears to be quite an accurate depiction, although it doesn't seem to grab hold, perhaps, of the underground movement. Seeing this, I look forward to the latter two parts of the trilogy, and only want over the years that Spheeris had expanded her sights, and created documentaries of other, vital, forms of melody in L.A., such as folk, hip-hop, rap, jazz, classical, experimental, even soundtrack work for films, since Hollywood is right nearby, and as someone already part of the filmmaking scene, she would have had access to some of the greats of our time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    I have successfully used this application for a couple of years now but all of a sudden it started to behave erratically, creating hundreds of copies of the same business contact in my outlook agenda. Such a shame!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Absolutely the best digital card organizer. I have tried them all, this one is easy and just plain works. Its really nice having all of your contacts business cards with you all of the time. Besides having the contact information, it also has a image of the card itself, front and even the back if needed. The application syncs with your contacts database. I rate this application on a scale of 1 to 10, a 10. You will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    I've been using this program for some time now and I am beautiful impressed with the overall functionality. The updates have created this an application better for use. I use it organize the business cards I receive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    I use this application all the time. Now I can't access my cards. The program locks up when I click on a card. Any ideas.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    I have been using this app for quite some time now. But they need to improve. Very slow upgrading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Today, most of my cards cannot be opened. Can see little picture, but cannot open. I paid for another membership, although CamCard is included free in my annual CamScanner subscription. Need to obtain my cards back

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Amazing app. Works well. OCR is accurate. It could use some extra phone, email and social fields to be complete, but if you obtain a lot of business cards this is a must have app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    This is a amazing and fast app to save all of acquaintances business cards. To prevent loosing it, and also reduce time needed to type in all business cards information into the phone.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    I using instead of collecting cards which most of the time either lost, or later cannot figure what extra information I got on the meeting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    I have used for a few years. Helps save paper

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    I have been using it for several years. I search it very very helpful

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    The best to scan your cards and organize them

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    A life saver. I've been using it for years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Amazing put to leep cards and notes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Amazing for storing business cards on the cloud

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Best application ever!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    That's a amazing app

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Amazing card program

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Application is amazing for organizing bus cards, adding them to contacts, and passing on contact information. The function of converting a image of a card to text [email protected]#$%! and miss. Also, re-establishing the cards when replacing a phone under warranty, upgrading, or after a factory reset, is complicated and not intuitive. My recent experience was beautiful good. The three prior--not so much.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    I have had it for a couple years now. But recently they have added their own tag/link "give cam card a try.... Yada Yada" when you send a contact card. You should be able to remove this. It looks tacky.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    It should be more accurate while capturing word. More font recognition should be included. Over all performance is good. however i need to know about some questions, do I have to buy everytime for fresh device using same google account? Will there any monthly payment that I have to pay in future for this app?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    To clarify: No difference between this CamCard Professional and CamCard BCR (Western) versions...- go for the cheaper version....- Does not integrate with LinkedIn ...- Does not let you to add images using Web/Browser interface, only via phone application which is tediously and very slow...- Will increase rating if these are addressed...- Could be the best of all available card reader apps! I like the method it links to my private and work address books, but it doesn't link to LinkedIn which is a shame. I have to manually download an excel file then upload it to LinkedIn or do a manual search. Sort this out and you will obtain a 5 star rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Perfect application to add contacts directly from visiting cards to phone contacts. Cloud sync is a huge plus. A must have app ☺️

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    It's unbelievable in reducing the roller deck we used to have for storing business cards

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Ya no puedo editar y recortar la tarjeta y no detecta correctamente el marco.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    I purchased this app which is paid version, when I change fresh handset it needs to be purchased again, kindly guid how to install that paid version. Regards

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    I can trust that I won't lose my contacts. I love how simple it is to add contacts and hold the original photos of the cards.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Amazing for quickly storing contact information by scanning business cards. Well integrated in contacts etc apps

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    It is my card holder for a lot of years. It recognizes all card data properly if it is English.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    I like its simplicity and how well it works.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    In some cards I need an auto detection for the backside of the card. Also if it supports Arabic detection, it will be super.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Amazing application would like if it read the info better but amazing application overall

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Amazing method to organize business cards.. Worth the cash fir paid ver

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Amazing app! Save me when I had to do a factory reset.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    True gem for businesses purpose.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Zone saver and I don't lose contact info anymore.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Perfect performance using this application from latest 6 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Perfect application which I use almost on a everyday basis.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    CamCard - BCR (Western) review [App]  2017-10-31 21:6

    Copied business card and added to Gmail fine

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Retreat of Western Liberalism review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    The Retreat of Western Liberalism is the book I've been waiting for. Its sweep takes in America, the UK and continental Europe and highlights the structural forces that's ailing the middle classes across all those countries. Other books focus only on America, or Brexit Britain, or the French far right. Luce's work stands back from the particularities and brings out what is threatening the west in general. The writing is pacy and engaging. The analysis is acute and the forecast is troubling. As Luce argues, western liberalism is in retreat but that does not mean that it has collapsed. It is up to us - the readers - to do something about it. I couldn't recommend this book more highly. Five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Retreat of Western Liberalism review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    I thought Mr. Luce's previous book, "Time to Begin Thinking" was disturbing. Then I began this one and it created the previous volume seem positively Pollyannaish. His dissection of the American and general Western political climate is spot on, and his extrapolation of the possible outcome of Mr. Trump's "leadership"is frighteningly plausible. And then he points out that, "...as Winter follows Autumn...", he fears what and whom follows Trump even more.And I'll be damned if I can come up with any sort of argument to refute his reasoning. It's a amazing reminder that amazing people of conscience must remain vigilant and prepared to take peaceful action to both resist the creep of autocracy, but also to rebuild the social compact that binds a nation together. It is our responsibility to be brave, to be strong, and to foster the trust that is the foundation of a free society.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Retreat of Western Liberalism review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    This is a difficult book to review because it has the ring of truth that most other authors either ignore or smother with self-serving propaganda to advance their political agendas. To write a proper review that conveys the entire notice of this book, I would have to quote almost all of it. It was one of those rare books that I read slowly in order to absorb it thoroughly and spread out the enjoyment of reading it over a lot of days.Edward Luce writes in a style you’d expect from a Globalist academic. However, he provides a deep and intellectually honest analysis of the broad spectrum of problems that have undermined globalism. He explores the root causes of our disappointing domestic and global economies, which are in turn unraveling the political and economic consensus for maintaining ’s a fun read because it relates the latest thirty years of history through Mr. Luce’s eyes. He talks about how life is lived not just by elitists like himself, but with a keen insight into the “forgotten middle class” that voted the USA and UK in Populist directions in 2016. He has been in the right locations to experience the highs and lows of latest history, starting with the win of the West in the Cold Battle of 1989.=====The year was 1989. Having grown up under the Cold War’s nuclear shadow, the temptation to catch a glimpse of its physical demise was irresistible. Being students, we did not inform anyone of our absence. The instant we heard East Germany had opened Checkpoint Charlie, uniting Berlin, we were on our way. We were infected with optimism. As a student of Philosophy, Politics and Economics at Oxford University, I imagined that I possessed the key to the historic significance of the arly three decades later, in the aftermath of Donald Trump’s 2016 election victory, I found myself in e worm had turned. America had just elected a president who was a huge fan of walls and a huge admirer of Vladimir Putin.=====Mr. Luce speaks not only for himself, but also for me. I, like millions of American Midwesterners, voted for Barack Obama in 2012, and Donald Trump in 2016. We flipped the states of Pennsylvania, Ohio, Michigan, Wisconsin, Iowa, (and also Florida) from Blue to Red, thereby transferring 99 of the electoral votes that elected Obama in 2012 to Trump in the main, we the people of PA, OH, MI, WI, IA, and FL are not ideology-bound political partisans. We voted our states for Obama in 2012 because we thought he was a fair-minded President who was moving the economy forward. We voted for Trump in 2016 because we thought he was more competent on economic problems of restricting excessive immigration and reining in ‘free” trade than Ms. Luce, being an academic economist of globalist bent, does not think much of Donald Trump. Nor does he create excuses for Ms. Clinton. “I have spent a fair amount of time interviewing leaders of ultra-nationalist movements, cult groups and fanatics of all kinds around the world. I have yet to come across a more airtight example of groupthink than Hillaryland.”His critique of Trump is that Trump appealed to the Populist, quasi-barbarian instincts of a disgruntled population. His critique of Ms. Clinton is that she tried to pretend that the disgruntled population did not exist. The same thing happened in Mr. Luce’s native Britain where the people booted the old order of Globalist Conservatives (roughly equivalent to our Republican Establishment) in the Brexit vote, but who are also unwilling to trust the left-of-center Labor Party to , what is it that has so a lot of people riled up, and leads them to reject the nostrums of both political part establishments? Luce illuminates the points as to what motivated so a lot of of people, including former Obama voters to switch to Trump:• By any numerical measure, humanity is becoming rapidly less poor. But between half and two-thirds of people in the West (USA and Western Europe) have been treading water – at best – for a generation. Tens of millions of Westerners will struggle to hold their heads above the surface over the coming decades.• The median income in 2007 was below what it was in 2002, at the begin of the business cycle that lasted for most of George W. Bush’s presidency. What is amazing for Apple may not be amazing for America. [Apple] shuttered its latest US production facility in 2004. The Bush expansion was the first on record where middle-class incomes were lower at the end of it than at the start. Today [after the Amazing Recession] the US median income is still below where it was at the beginning of this century. Clearly what the typical American understands by growth differs greatly from that of macroeconomists. GDP numbers insist we are doing well, at a time when half the country is suffering from private recessions.• Between a quarter and a third of people in the West have negative or zero net wealth. They face penurious retirements.• The most crushing result is stagnation. A lot of of the tools of modern life are increasingly priced beyond most people’s reach. In 1950 it took forty-five hours per month [to pay an average month’s rent]. Today it takes 101 hours. Much the same rising unaffordability applies to the cost of decent health insurance in America, and higher education.• When people lose faith in the future they are less likely to invest in the present. That sense of private stagnation – and the gnawing fear you may even be sinking – casts an enervating pall over the human spirit. Ronald Reagan once said, ‘Progress is our most necessary product.’• In 2000, exactly a third of Americans described themselves as lower class, according to Gallup. By 2015 that number had risen to almost half…They express a feeling people have about being shut out from society. It is a very un-American state of mind.• Today’s equivalent [of upward mobility] is probably ‘get an engineering degree’, but it will not necessarily be as lucrative. A third of Americans who graduated in STEM topics (science, technology, engineering and maths) are in jobs that do not require any such qualification. Up and down America there are programmers working as office temps and even fast-food servers. In 2006, Google bought YouTube for $ 1.65 billion. Such riches are small comfort to the thousands of engineers who cannot search work.• The next time an economist boasts about America’s low unemployment rate, remember that number means something very various from what it used to. This is not your parents’ economy [where everybody who wanted to work fulltime in their profession or trade had lifetime employment]. Almost half of Americans would be unable to pay a $ 400 medical emergency bill without going into debt.• The left urges incremental steps such as better worker training, smarter schools and infrastructure. These are worthy causes. But they are a bit like prescribing aspirin for cancer.• It should come as no surprise that democracies are now loath to ratify such [trade] agreements. Now Donald Trump has killed the Trans-Pacific Partnership, the deal that was launched by George W. Bush and completed by Barack Obama. Trump is also picking apart the Clinton-era North American Free Trade Agreement and has buried hopes of a transatlantic agreement. Britain, meanwhile, is abandoning the European single market. The world’s elites have helped to provoke what they feared: a populist uprising versus the globe economy.=====That sums up the method the American and British middle classes feel. Most see a dim future of declining wages and more frequent layoffs. “Getting a degree in STEM” isn’t going to support most people, because A) They don’t have the smarts to be engineers and B) STEM people are getting laid off too, as are bankers and stockbrokers. The “Populist” minded voters see a grim show and a worse future. The only thing propping up the USA economy is zero interest rates and a $20 trillion debt that is scheduled to rise to $40 trillion in 15 years. At some point it will become unpayable, and the USA will convert into a poverty-stricken banana republic. Perhaps it will dissolve under the weight of a failed capitalist economy, the same as the Soviet Union dissolved under a failed communist some ways, the USA and UK are even more oppressive of their citizens than was the old USSR. Foreign-born immigrants into the USA and UK keep vast amounts of government welfare assistance plus “affirmative action” programs that bring them to the front of the queue of jobs and education. Citizens born in the USA and UK pay taxes their entire lives and then are rewarded with layoffs and foreclosures in their 50’s and 60’s when they are most in need of financial stability. It is no surprise that people in both countries despise the Globalists of both parties who sent their jobs overseas, told them to “go to he**” and then opened the borders to millions of foreigners who are cherished as if they were born superior to the legacy citizens of the e other group who lives off the fat of the land without working very hard to earn it are the Globalist Crony Fatcat Society of politicians and the corporate CEO’s who own them. Their goal is to beat American and UK citizens out of their jobs and replace them with foreigners who will vote versus the citizens’ best at’s a comprehensive litany of complaints versus Globalization, but what is the solution?This is where Luce, like most every other author comes up short. His “solution” to the rollback of Globalism (which he equates with Liberal Democracy) is that we should be patient and let democracy to fulfill its function of electing leaders who will move the USA, UK, and the globe in the direction Mr. Luce desires. Indeed, this is precisely what happened with the election of Emmanuel Macron in France latest month.I, like a lot of Trump voters would prefer action to patience. Free Trade does not work in the best interests of the United States, and needs to be constrained. Why are we the ONLY country in the globe that runs $750 billion trade deficits each year? Why do other countries protect their markets from made-in-USA products, while demanding that we begin our shop to imports of their products?Why do we permit American companies to lay off American workers and move their jobs to Mexico and China?Why do our Republican and Democratic party Establishment leaders believe that foreign-born immigrants are superior to born-in-the USA citizens?Why do they always describe American citizens as “fat, dumb, lazy, and mal-educated” while assuming that half-educated, bomb-throwing, and crime-prone foreigners are superior forms of humanity?I am married into an all-Hispanic immigrant family who arrived in the USA legally. Some waited 12 years in queue for their number to come up. I am not at all anti-immigrant. Nor am I anti-globalist, having created much of my career writing software to manage trade between the USA and {Canada, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and Latin America}. But I do wish trade and immigration to be managed so as to work for the American people instead of being used to beat them out of their jobs, while possibly internationalizing the USA out of its identify as a sovereign nation.I am rating this book four stars because I don’t believe in a patient waiting of things to sort themselves, thereby avoiding our taking action to strike at the root causes of our economic malaise. We have been waiting long enough for things to “sort themselves out” and they have only gotten worse. Now is time for action. Trump was elected because he was the only leader of either party who promised to do it. Brexit happened in the UK because people saw no reasonable hope of their economic fortunes improving by remaining in the Luce and I disagree profoundly on our proposed solutions to the economic malaise. But I immensely enjoyed Mr. Luce’s book and his intellectual honesty in pointing out the economic distress of the middle class that is causing the retreat of Globalism and Liberal Democracy (which in his view are one and the same)He’s a very talented writer who tells the story of his private journey into the center of the world’s amazing controversies. Whatever your political view, I believe you will take away the same feeling, as I did, that Mr. Luce is writing YOUR story as well as his own.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Retreat of Western Liberalism review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    Edward Luce is a tremendous journalist. Not only does he work very hard, not only has he earned access to some of the sharpest minds in business and politics, he also commands the mightiest pen at the Financial Times, bar none.And that’s why I bought his previous book, “Time to Begin Thinking.” I did not much have fun it, though. In fact I thought it a waste of my reading time, about which more later. But long after the average sensible reader would have dismissed “Time to Begin Thinking,” he might recall that on page 247 of this 2012 book Edward Luce beautiful much predicted that Donald Trump might one day become president, and the man has at’s not good news, because on pages 145 – 153 of “The Retreat of Western Liberalism” the oracle of 1 Southwark Bridge, SE1 (yes, I admit it, I looked up the FT’s address online) is predicting a battle between the US and China over Taiwan, to take put in year 2020, with a ceasefire to be negotiated by none other than Vladimir Putin. And, believe me, he makes it sound much more probable than a Trump presidency sounded back in e main thesis of the book, basically, is that perhaps the West has crossed a bridge to a put where liberal values such as openness and democracy may be in retreat, and then anything is possible. Radical uncertainty, here we ’s written very very well. And it covers a lot of ground. If you wish to obtain your thoughts together about what went wrong, this book truly summarizes 99% of all the amazing explanations I’ve ever read. My favorite is on page 47, where Luce outlines all the proof you need of the fact that the Democratic party these days only pays lip service to liberal values and mainly serves the rich: “every single one of America’s 493 wealthiest counties, almost all urban, voted for Hillary Clinton.” But it’s really all here, and (as the author promises in the introduction) you can read it all in the zone of three hours.If I had to recommend to a mate only one book to understand where we search ourselves today as a society, this would be the one. azingly, however, and this truly baffles me, the very best explanation I’ve ever read about what just happened in the US, not only was proposed by Edward Luce in the FT on July 31, 2016, but is conspicuous in the book through its absence. In an amazingly incisive article he penned at the time, Luce explained that an American is first and foremost a consumer and that it is primarily as a consumer that he is rebelling versus the system. I was dying to read the longer ver of this thesis, and in particular I was dying to see Edward Luce weave this explanation into the general theme of the decline of liberalism, but I guess the book had to obtain out quickly, so it’s not there. What a crying shame!So you will let me to be uncharitable for a millisecond and suggest that perhaps that favorite article of mine may have been ghostwritten by somebody like Larry Summers (for whom Luce has written dozens of speeches before) and here’s why I’m saying so: because Luce can write like God, it’s simple to forget that he does not always 100% know what he’s writing about and is merely sampling from sources he thinks are good, rather than doing the deep thinking himself. So a amazing 60% of his previous book is a paean to industrial policy (and indeed could easily pass for a Trump speech with all its China-bashing and FDA-bashing). Also, he really cannot resist a amazing quote, even if he has not read the source and does not understand the favorite example: he had to obtain the “Thucydides Trap” in there as an expression, it sounded too cool to leave out, but on page 156 he suggests that Sparta lost the Peloponnesian War. I’ve only really read the relevant history book in translation, I must admit, but I seem to remember they won, overwhelmingly…So read this book with caution. It’s truly fantastic, it’s the best summary in print of where we stand in the battle between our liberal beliefs and the forces of autocracy, but read it the same method you read WebMD if you think you’re sick: as a put to begin rather than end your diagnosis.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Retreat of Western Liberalism review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    Edward Luce is the Washington correspondent for the Financial Times. This is a short book, about 55,000 words. Luce summarizes what is ailing the West, and makes a few suggestions for the future. He is much better at identifying issues than finding solutions. I have enjoyed two of Luce’s earlier works, but I was a bit disappointed with this one. The book’s title is a small misleading. He is not referring to liberalism in an American sense, but liberal the first part of the book he covers a lot of familiar ground. China and India are on the rise. The West is in relative decline. The American model has been successful in that more people are being lifted out of poverty than at a faster rate than at any time in human history. However, the American globe order is starting to unravel. Most countries see the benefits of capitalism but they don’t necessarily wish democracy. A lot of countries appear satisfied with their authoritarian leaders. Trump seems to have acknowledged that this is the reality. Luce believes that the “reckless” foreign battles of George Bush have damaged America’s influence abroad, and its ability to promote democracy. China is not democratic yet it has the world’s biggest economy in PPP terms. China is unlikely to wish to inherit America’s global role. Luce predicts that the effect is likely to be chaos. Luce provides a long rant about Donald Trump and he suggests that a battle with China may come about because Trump is an rk Mazower, a professor at Columbia University, wrote “Dark Continent” in 1999. He argued that the 20th century in Europe was a war between three rival ideologies: communism, fascism, and liberal democracy. He concluded that most of Europe did not have much experience with democracy prior to 1945, so it was not inevitable that liberal democracy would victory out. It was a consequence of who won WW2. He believed that Europeans could have lived happily under authoritarian leaders and that it was democracy which was an aberration. He seems to have be proved right in Russia, Turkey, Hungary and Poland. Luce suggests that authoritarianism may be about to become the global norm. However, we have been here before. In 1980, half of Europe and much of Asia was ce writes about the decline of the Western middle class. Sending jobs overseas has benefited China, Mexico and Poland but it has reduced the standard of living of ordinary people in the West. The wages of Americans have stagnated since the 1970s and they have less job security. In an interview, Luce claimed that in 2000, 30% of Americans categorized themselves as lower class, but by 2016 that had reached 49%. Social mobility is now lower in the U.S. than it is in the UK. He suggests that when people don’t share in economic growth or are excluded from the affluence around them, this can become risky for societies and usually produces ce recognizes that globalization has made issues for ordinary people, but he also maintains that globalization is inevitable and resistance is futile. He discusses Brexit and accepts that the EU is undemocratic. Some of what it proposes, like the European Arrest Warrant, is at odds with ancient British liberties. However, most Europeans don't seem to mind. He also observes that poorer people often value democracy more than the rich and the elite. The main objective of the EU is to make a federal super state, a United States of Europe, without the democratic checks and balances. Some of its proposals have proved disastrous, like the single currency. The EU currently has a population of 508 million and it wants to expand to contain Ukraine, the Balkans and perhaps Turkey. EU citizens can live and work anywhere in Europe and that became an problem in Britain. Britons eventually discovered that they were supposed to regard national sovereignty as a thing of the past. A lot of Britons began to object and Brexit became an beautiful option for the growing number who did not like what the EU was becoming. Leaving became the only option because Britain could not search allies who shared its concerns. Luce works for an editor at the Financial Times who is a well known EU supporter, so he probably has to be careful what he says, but he does point out some of the EU's ce believes that the rich and the left are starting to become disenchanted with democracy. He describes the extraordinary inequality levels and views it as a fresh Gilded Age. With growing inequality, the rich begin to obtain nervous and start to fear the mob. One Fresh York billionaire suggested to Luce that there should be competence tests for voters, only well-informed people should have the right to vote. The left has also begun to despise the working classes. If you read the commentators in London’s left of center Guardian, a lot of seem to believe that ordinary people are not qualified to vote on problems like e left in the U.S. and the UK have made rainbow coalitions which have left out the traditional white working classes. The left has been taken over by people from elite universities. They have small in common with the often socially conservative white working classes, whose views on immigration are often regarded as racist by liberals. Politicians like Bill Clinton and Tony Blair chose to abandon not good white people in the 1990s. Obama bailed out Wall Road but not the ordinary people who had their houses foreclosed. The Democrats now keep huge donations from Wall Road and Silicon Valley, so their interests have ce has fun with Hillary's clueless election campaign. The Democrats believed that they had demographics on their side. They forgot that immigrants become like everybody else once they stay long enough. They can even morph into Republicans. Luce believes that by abandoning the politics of solidarity with the white working classes Democrats have shot themselves in the foot. Not good whites have turned to people like Trump because he is the only person who will listen to them. Luce does not see Trump or populist nationalists in Europe, like Marine Le Pen, as the causes of today’s crisis in democratic liberalism but rather as symptoms. Luce does not believe that Trump and Brexit are one-offs, they represent dissatisfaction with the status quo. He argues that Washington is out of touch, since 91% of D.C. voted for Hillary.What is to be done? Luce’s solutions are underwhelming. He calls for a Marshall Plan for the middle classes. This mostly involves retraining the people who lose their jobs because of globalization. He uses Denmark (population 6 million) as an example. He wants an increase in investment in education. He argues for a stronger safety net and universal health care. He complains about inequality but does not wish to increase wealth distribution because that would be poor for growth. However, the thirty years after WW2 were amazing for America and its middle class. The top tax rate during the Eisenhower era was 91%, while the economy grew by 37% during the 1950s. If ordinary workers have more cash to spend on goods and services that will generate economic growth, the very rich tend to stash their cash offshore.Where the U.S. differs from Denmark is that it is huge enough to change the rules of the game. It can create things happen rather than just react, like Denmark. These days, getting agreement on what needs to be done is a serious issue. Luce wants to look at gerrymandering because he argues that House representatives choose their voters. However, not enough people in the major parties seems to care enough about the white working class to resolve their problems. The growth of AI and the rise of the robots are likely to create things worse. He mentions that over 50% of current jobs can soon be done by machines. If we wish to avoid becoming a feudal society, we need to first admit we have a problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Retreat of Western Liberalism review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    The fall of the Berlin Wall brought widespread optimism and Francis Fukuyama's hope that we were witnessing 'the universalization of Western liberal democracy as the final form of human government. No longer would nuclear-armed ideological camps face each other across Europe. Warsaw Pact regimes were falling like dominoes to peaceful demonstrators. Nationalism was also dying, and a unipolar globe was dawning - per author Luce. The street seemed clear for Washington to lead the world, , almost three decades later 'the worm has turned.' Vladimir Putin is pursuing a reconstruction of Russia's former empire - while also rebuilding and modernizing its military, Donald Trump has rejected the nearly universal agreement to mitigate global warming, China is taking steps to grow its international influence and minimize that of the U.S. in the Pacific, the U.S. has squandered trillions of dollars and thousands of lives in the Middle East - with small or nothing to present for it, and North Korea's former piddling threats are becoming more serious and credible every year. Simultaneously, global economic insecurity is mounting - between half and two-thirds of those in the West have been treading water for a generation, though hundreds of millions in the Far East have benefitted. Automation threatens the structure of Western societies.Western democracies have been held together by economic growth. When that growth shrinks or disappears, things turn into a nasty zero-sum battle. The West's median income has barely budged in the latest half-century. Inequality is also growing - history reports that is like to greatly intensify economic wars and discontent. China has become the world's leading trading nation, and has a long method to go - along with India, South Korea, and Taiwan. Incomes in Africa, the world's worst-performing continent, have almost doubled since 1970. (Asia's per-capita incomes increased 5X since 1970 - in some parts such as Singapore and South Korea, incomes have either overtaken or are level with the West.)China's unorthodox route to development (eg. opening slowly and on its own terms) exposed the limits of the Washington Consensus. This was reinforced by it high growth rate being unaffected by the 2008 'Great Recession,' while eg. South Korea and Mexico (loose, if any, limits on capital inflow) incurred considerable upheaval. U.S. median income is still below where it was at the begin of this century. The top 1% share about one-third of global wealth, the 1,406 richest in the globe claim assets exceeding those of 250 million of the least wealthy ween a 5th and a 3rd of the Western labor force is already engaged in independent work, per the McKinsey Global Institute. (Some are supplementing full-time work.) This rising share of independent workers acc for all jobs growth since the Amazing Recession. There is now a higher share of French males in full-time jobs than Americans - a statistic that reflects poorly on America, rather than well on France. U.S. life expectancy has dipped in latest years - something not supposed to happen in peacetime. America's per-capita rate of patent applications filed in the U.S., Europe, and Japan (screens out the frivolous ones) has fallen by a quarter since 2000. The fastest-growing troops in huge Western companies are the legal and public relations departments. Huge companies devote the bulk of their earnings to buying back shares and boosting dividends, less than previously on R&ina's urban per capita income now approaches half that of the U.S.; a generation ago it was one-sixth. The median worker today paying median rent in one of U.S. huge cities uses 101 hours to cover his/her rent, vs. 45 hours in 1950 and 56 hours a generation nomists and politicians are notorious for getting the future wrong, as well as peerless at explaining the past. In latest years economists have consistently predicted growth where none has materialized - since 2008 forecasts have annually over-estimated the next-year's growth. Arguing for China's admission to the WTO, President Clinton stated that China's entry would reduce America's bilateral trade deficit with lower tariff rates on its imports. Since then America's trade-deficit with China has leapt almost five-fold and China and its peers can now bank on the help of their biggest foreign investors. China's economy surpassed the U.S. in terms of purchasing power parity in 2014, and will likely be double that of the U.S. by 2050 - 100 years after its communist revolution. By then, India's will be roughly the same size as America's.When people lose faith in the future, they're less likely to invest in the present. Currently, the proportion of French males in full-time jobs is higher than that in America. Overdose rates have tripled since 2000. Rising intolerance and incivility are consequences of stagnation in American middle-class living standards.Every one of the 493 wealthiest counties, almost all urban, voted for Hillary. The remaining 2,623, mostly suburban or little city dominated, voted for -third of Americans who graduated in STEM topics are in jobs not requiring such bought U-Tube for $1.65 billion in 2006 - paying $25 million for each of the 65 employees at the time. Fb bought Ig for $1 billion in 2012 - 13 were then employed = $77/employee. The WhatsApp with 55 employees was purchased for $19 billion in 2014 --> $354 million/employee. Fb servers are managed by one technician/20,000 computers. The median pay for U.S. entry-level graduates @#$%!52,000 in 2000, down to $46,000 in 2014; flat for re than 160 million westerners now work in the 'gig economy,' per McKinsey. Of these, about a third do so 'out of necessity.' The bottom half of Americans own just 1% of the nation's wealth. Full-time employment has shrunk 0.1%/year since the 2008 nce the turn of the millennium, and especially over the past decade, 25 democracies have failed. Poland may soon join them. Latest December, hard-right nationalist Norbert Hofer came very close to winning Austria's presidency. Le Pen's Front National has the help of about 40%. Distrust in American politics almost paralyzes the turn of the millennium, there were more than 100 democracies worldwide. It was believed that one could not develop an economy without democracy, and that the Washington Consensus provided the toolkit for developing an economy. These beliefs ignored obvious exceptions such as the U.S. and England pursuing protectionist policies early on, and Bismark's Germany and Japan's Meiji Restoration. There also was Russia's disastrous 1996 shock therapy privatization and elimination of price controls - with democracy, and China's avoidance of the 2008 Meltdown by its ignoring the Washington Consensus (South Korea, Mexico and other East Asian nations were pummeled for allowing unregulated capital inflows.) There are now 25 fewer democracies - including Russia, Venezuela, Turkey, Thailand, and Hungary.We still call the 2008 meltdown a global recession. Actually, it was an Atlantic recession - in 2009, China's economy grew almost 10% and India's by almost 8%. Since 2009, the U.S. economy grew by roughly 2%/year, yet it's taken until 2015 for the median income to regain the level it was at prior to the Amazing Recession. U.S. median income is still below where it was at the beginning of this century - yet, GDP numbers say we're doing well. Under the old model, where most production was clustered behind national barriers, what was amazing for G.M. was amazing for America. Today, what is amazing for Apple (shut its latest U.S. production facility in 2004) may not be amazing for ipulations of truth have become almost a everyday occurrence since Trump's election. Prior to that came Bush II's falsely 'justified' invasion of Iraq, torture, and Bremer's inept management of ina's development banks are providing loans without pro-democracy strings. The Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank was panned by Obama - yet, Britain, France, Germany, and Australia joined as charter members. Beijing now has over 500 Confucian Institutes worldwide. It's aim is to rupture the West's claim to most 40 nations, led by Russia and China, have muzzled/expelled foreign NGOs since 2008, mostly Western. China's CCP views U.S. democracy as run by America's moneyed classes to defend the interests of capital, and its Democracy as a sham. Trump serves neither Wall Road nor Luce sees 'Hillaryland' as one of the world's strongest examples of 'groupthink.' U.S. voters describing themselves as independent has been rising for years. More than half of U.S. Hispanics prefer to call themselves white - thereby undermining the logic that minorities will become a majority in 2044. A greater share of Hispanic voters backed Trump in 2016 than Romney in 2012. Democrats giving higher priority to the politics of ethnic identity than people's common interests contributes to factionalism and racism. At the turn of the century, 11% of Brits saw immigration as a top concern - now it's up to ce ends by posing how today's environment could easily escalate into armed confrontation. Secretary of State Tillerson spoke of denying access to the South Sea islands China claims. Anti-dumping duties on China. Chinese missile tests. U.S. action on North Korea. U.S. flights and ships patrolling/spying just outside ump's White House squad has publicly told U.S. diplomats to resign rather than express misgivings via the State Department's long-standing dissent channel that permits concerns to be forwarded anonymously. Trump has come out as anti-NATO, anti- European Union, anti-Paris global warming pact. Eventual effect - chaos.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Retreat of Western Liberalism review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    Luce’s work walks into the morass of modern times showing what was the pride of Western Societies -- Liberalism that had evolved out of the Enlightenment as power was dispensed more broadly and the term Citizen took on meanings of obligations but also of entitlement -- has slowly evaporated so that now the Citizen is the voter, or apathetic, and the power lies the American case he shows the slow development of a just society coming out of WWII with institutions in put to control the turbulence of the shop economy and simple the hardships of the unfortunate and a political system capable of compromise and even compassion. Then its elements fall away. Have you noticed?Democracy itself has become suspect; not only here but in general. As Brecht once said: ‘All power comes from the people. But where does it go?’Luce’s style mixes hard facts with a playful take on current personalities ruling the headlines, but never misses the development of the underling story of societies in turmoil. On Trump his concern is who comes next as the failure of his tenor passes.What he raises well is the Sustainability of the prevailing Inequalities that have formed in current times. The rich are riding high but will need to explore means to offset the discontent created, or fortify their quarters. He covers a lot of of the suggestions* that are developing to deal with the further displacement expected from automation and artificial intelligence. The West is in retreat. “For the first time in centuries, the West must obtain used to that. It has to learn the arts of persuasion and compromise.” A very wise ce’s The Retreat of Western Liberalism is a kind smart forceful synopsis of our times, a amazing read of discovery for those wishing to obtain back to the role of ‘Citizen.’*(Austria has had for a long time a U.B.I. system for those interested in the topic.)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Retreat of Western Liberalism review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    I loved Edward Luce’s writings during the US presidential election on the struggles of middle class America, and why people would (and ultimately did) vote for Donald Trump. I have been waiting for his broader take, and I wasn’t e Retreat of Western Liberalism is quick paced and simple to read. The core argument is that “it’s the economy stupid” and the Left (and the Right for that matter, but his focus is on the Left), has been too focused on identity politics to offer effective solutions. Luce also shows convincingly that the issue isn't restricted to the United States, his basic focus. All liberal democratic societies are struggling as globalization upends existing economic arrangements. It's a broad structural issue that won't be solved through the lens of identity r Luce the entire liberal order is on the verge of collapse (i.e., liberals aren’t being hysterical), and preserving it will be really really hard. But its a cause he believes in, and one he's willing to war for. This isn’t a fun book, but it’s an necessary book. It should definitely be on the must read list of anyone trying to figure what in the globe is going on.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Retreat of Western Liberalism review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    Edward Luce is English, well educated, and experienced -- served as bureau chief for the Financial Times for four years in India, then in D.C. for a lot of years. Unlike the U.S. press, which always writes as though both American political parties were equally devious and dangerous, he writes explicitly about the turn of the Republicans to deception, bold faced lying, disinformation, and stoking racial and economic hatreds in their quest to establish a plutocratic ver of fascism in the U.S. He knows economics, trade, foreign leaders and capitols, and current history. By Western Liberalism he does not mean the U.S. Democratic Party, he means "liberalism," the whole panoply of rights and values associated with the Enlightenment, individualism, freedom of choice, and responsibility. What we are getting is a bastardized form of authoritarianism. We are ripe for this due to thirty years' worth of flat income levels for everyone below the top 10% and a bleak future of a lot of more jobs lost to robotics and vulture capitalism. I learned a amazing deal reading the book, even though I have been a close and frustrated observer of the passing stage for more than 60 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Retreat of Western Liberalism review [Book]  2018-1-4 18:0

    A brilliant analysis of the reasons behind much that is going on in the globe and America's put in it. Luce's description of the dangers of Trump are at times frightening. This is a book everyone interested in western democracy's sad state should read. Populism,nationalism and their connection to the decline of the middle class is explained clearly and convincingly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    WESTERN UNION - WU review [App]  2018-3-6 13:11

    [email protected]#$%!&[email protected] to registered so a lot of times but it's not working at all frustrating ..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just a Kid: A Western review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    I have been impatiently waiting for R. O. Lane to release the next Will Fain book and was disappointed to see this book instead. I forgot my disappointment as soon as I began reading. (Still hoping for more Will Fain though). As with all Lane's books I didn't do any skimming. The characters and storyline grabbed me and didn't allow go.I'm not sure why it's classified as a book for young readers except that there's no graphic sex and poor language. An perfect example of a classic western

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just a Kid: A Western review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    If you are a fan of westerns & wish a amazing old fashioned shoot-em-up cowboy story, look no further than this one. From beginning to end it's an exciting ride with Cole, "just a kid", who after burying his father decides to go to Colorado as his father's latest request of him. He's in Texas so it's not going to be an simple chore getting to Colorado, especially when he gets side-tracked helping out a widow who is besieged by a saloon owner & his band of outlaws bent on taking her ranch & everything she has. Cole & Kathryn together will face up to everything thrown at them & take the reader on an exciting adventure not soon forgotten.I highly recommend this book because it is cleanly written, almost impossible to place down & keeps you well entertained until the very end. Just discovered this writer & can't wait to begin reading the Will Fain series next.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just a Kid: A Western review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    I never heard of this author until my "book buddy" in Sebastian FL. emailed me about him. I'm always looking for books by R.J. Thomas, C.J. Petit, Lou Bradshaw and a few other authors in the class that write "unputdownablebooks". ne just slid right into that prestigious group and we're both looking forward to reading more of his books

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just a Kid: A Western review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    A really amazing story. The characters are well developed. This is amazing western book begin to finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just a Kid: A Western review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    Cole had to grow up quick when his daddy was killed. At 14 he became a capable shootouts with both pistol and rifle while protecting the young widow. Plane's a beautiful amazing story teller who knows what he writes about. Waiting on the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just a Kid: A Western review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    C.J. Petit has not written a story any better. R.O. Lane has written a book just like I enjoy. I wish more like this one and I am looking forward to the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Just a Kid: A Western review [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    I really liked this book. Have read others by this writer. Still waiting for the 4th Will Fain- US Marshal.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Western Vista FCU review [App]  2019-2-13 13:12

    Amazing fresh features. Much easier to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Tiny Western Loops review [App]  2019-3-21 21:27

    boring

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Tiny Western Loops review [App]  2019-3-21 21:27

    Awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fenimore Fillmore: The Westerner review [App]  2019-4-13 13:42

    Thx guys i like this android game both pc and android device versian

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fenimore Fillmore: The Westerner review [App]  2019-4-13 13:42

    Where's the achievements? Please add them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fenimore Fillmore: The Westerner review [App]  2019-4-13 13:42

    The android game that was released in the same year when I was born. Not poor game!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fenimore Fillmore: The Westerner review [App]  2019-4-13 13:42

    its a really fun android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fenimore Fillmore: The Westerner review [App]  2019-4-13 13:42

    oh i finally i found this android game thank you so much developer..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fenimore Fillmore: The Westerner review [App]  2019-4-13 13:42

    Amazing! It's very funny, I love the characters and the story. Amazing game.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter