Read what every pianist needs to know about the body reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all what every pianist needs to know about the body reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Pianist Needs to Know About the Body []  2020-1-20 0:31

    I'm not even finished with this book yet and am already writing a review...From the outset of learning piano I've experienced pains throughout my body, no doubt attributed to not good technique. At first I thought it was normal, a beginner's method of having to "work through the pain" until the parts of my body that are used to play the piano became stronger. That was until it only got worse, to the point where I realized something was wrong and I had to do something about it.I brought the problem up with my piano teacher, who simply replied, "You just have to loosen up!". After several more weeks of trying to figure out exactly what that even meant, my condition only worsened.And then I came accross this book with a find on Amazon, which I eventually purchased (after much research with reviews, etc.).Since receiving it (I'm only a small more than halfway done), I can already attribute my progressive lessening of experiences with pain at the piano to the knowledge I've gained from this book.I quickly learned how uninformed (and sometimes, misinformed), I was in almost every element of piano playing technique. This book opened my eyes to all the faulty use of body mechanics I had already adapted, and showed me how to return to the fundamentals of posturing (both on and off the piano).If I were a piano teacher, this would be the first book I would recommend ANY level student, for it remarkably examines the foundation from which only amazing technique and pain-free enjoyment of playing this attractive instrument can be achieved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Pianist Needs to Know About the Body []  2020-1-20 0:31

    This book is about kinesthetics and leveraging your entire body for keyboard playing. It's not an exercise book. It's a meta-technique book. You probably should read this as a beginner but you probably won't understand it till you're somewhat advanced. There are tons of hints and insights that you can incorporate into your playing if you wish to. There are several things you can use if you are injured and I hate to say that because you should never obtain injured just playing. But the truth is a lot of do endup damage and this can support you recover. I had carpal tunnel in both wrists and right shoulder after 35 years in a computer desk job. After 8 months of 4 hours a day piano practice with this book, it's healed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Pianist Needs to Know About the Body []  2020-1-20 0:31

    Too often in a lot of activities, people don't recognize their poor habits until attention is called to them. Such was the case with me, but studying this book and applying the knowledge therein has done wonders for my playing.I injured myself shortly after purchasing this book (acute muscle injury to my right forearm and acute ulnar nerve injury at my left forearm - at the same time!), and a day later, after reaching the section regarding the forearms, I discovered why it happened. Since adjusting the body map of my forearms according to the info in the book, my playing - in spite of the fact that my injuries are still in the healing stages - no longer causes me less, the proper mapping of my entire upper body has improved fluidity, speed, accuracy, and tone quality in my e book is coherently laid-out, as well as clear and concise in its descriptions. The various locations of the body are logically sectioned out, and the subsections are organized in the same e anatomical diagrams are, for the most part, very simple to follow. A few of them were unclear to me, but when supplemented by the reading, they were not problematic.Abstract knowledge is not the only thing this book has to offer. Detailed activities are described and suggested at a lot of points in the text so you may directly discover the structures and movements of your body while reading.Further along in the book are sections on how to map breathing (in order to prevent more unnecessary tension) and the piano itself (to be an extension of the body map).The final chapter is devoted to discussing injury, including the causes and types that e principles contained in the book are useful not only for playing the piano, but for all day-to-day movements. In fact, it seems to be crucial that one apply them universally at all times to reap the maximum benefit and more quickly adapt to these fresh (read: natural) ways of movement.I've read some complaints in other reviews that the book doesn't focus on technique. This is true, but addressing technique is not the book's intended purpose - at least not directly. The knowledge in this book does, however, provide a solid foundation upon which you can more rapidly and effectively improve your technique.

    0  


    Add your opinion on what every pianist needs to know about the body or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Pianist Needs to Know About the Body []  2020-1-20 0:31

    My teachers have always told me to play with less tension, which I could feel in my wrists and forearms. I tried to consciously correct the issue with technique, but I had no idea HOW to. I searched the internet but solutions were always vague and left me puzzled. This book has been essential to me, I regret that I waited until I became injured before I acquired a copy. It is composed in a very constructive way, building a comprehensive knowledge of anatomy and mechanics with simple, interesting facts, supplemented with suggestive processes to create you aware of your anatomy. It also contains a lot of the Alexander Technique. Besides debunking different posture myths, it tutorials the reader in developing the kinesthetic sense (being aware of your body structure), body mapping (knowing how your private structure works), setting optimal bench height, mechanical advantage, weight help through the major axes of the body, and much more. It specifically describes issues that arise from misconceptions in body mapping and body mechanics, and the injured pianist will be enlightened by the discussion of common injuries and ways to safely recover from them. I want my teachers created me study this text when I was learning as a boy, the language is easy enough for a kid to understand, the pictures are fantastic, and the level of awareness and knowledge I have gained from my first reading is profound. It applies to all locations of anatomy, but specifically dealing with common promblems a pianist faces makes it invaluable to your library. Highly recommended, an awesome resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Pianist Needs to Know About the Body []  2020-1-20 0:31

    Basically I ordered this book for my wife, as she is an occupational therapist and avid pianist, and she is almost finished with the book already...after 4 days! She cannot place it down and told me that the outlining of the joints, muscles and posture positions are fantastic. I bought a piano for her and my 2 daughters this Christmas and thoght she would be able to use this as a teaching tool for them. I will modernize this review in several weeks as she implements the facts fo this book into her lessons with the girls.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Pianist Needs to Know About the Body []  2020-1-20 0:31

    This guy should keep an award for finally taking all the current knowledge of the body, and using it to correct piano technique. I've seen alot of technique books that are aimed at certain goals (scales, quick leaps, etc), but this book is more like a general baseline that everything else follows from. Amazing illustrations, which are crucial for actually internalizing this knowledge about the body and transferring it to the keyboard. Some subjects covered: bench height, arm positioning, finger usage, spine and posture, sitting correctly, standing correctly. It will change your playing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Pianist Needs to Know About the Body []  2020-1-20 0:31

    While this is a long and fairly tedious lesson in anatomy for those who need it, I found very small that I can actually use. There must be something better out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Pianist Needs to Know About the Body []  2020-1-20 0:31

    Definitely fills a amazing need. Tendonitis, carpal tunnel and back issues are common among pianists. Most test to obtain relief by seeking medical attention. This book is the only one I've found which shows how to adjust the pianists playing technique to play in a much more relaxed manner and eliminate the stressful movements that cause the issues to start with. Disspells a lot of myths about posture, hand position and finger movementsDave W

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Pianist Needs to Know About the Body []  2020-1-20 0:31

    Very amazing insight on teaching and the ergonomics important to create your student a champion ! Thanks for the excellence you produce.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Pianist Needs to Know About the Body []  2020-1-20 0:31

    There's a amazing responsibility on teachers and, I must say, parents of piano students, to hold an eye on young people as they practice, so that they don't develop poor posture and make issues for themselves. You can easily pick pianists who spent a lot of solitary hours practising as children, by their peculiar playing mannerisms - not at all conducive to creating a pleasing tone on the piano.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reading Body Language: Everything You Should Know about Body Language to Find Out What Every Body is Saying and Foresee Human Behavior and Persuasion []  2019-12-18 20:48

    I was very happy when I purchased this book. This is really an perfect book. The book is very simple to advance, it is a easy read. For me, these contain subjects such as body language, eye contact, literal or metaphor of some words, etc. The book goes into painstaking detail, talking about different parts of the body and the gestures they can make, various social situations and how body language can affect it, and the deeper psychological meaning behind body language. The authors give the body a very lighthearted feel and inject plenty of humor into it to prevent from turning to a dry read. The book even gives a helpful exam at the end. Overall it is an perfect book and helps me to learn body language effectively. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reading Body Language: Everything You Should Know about Body Language to Find Out What Every Body is Saying and Foresee Human Behavior and Persuasion []  2019-12-18 20:48

    The book broadly expounds, discussing various pieces of the body and the motions they can make, distinctive social circumstances and how non-verbal communication can influence it, and the more profound mental importance behind non-verbal communication. The writers give the body a cheerful vibe and infuse a lot of amusing into it to hold from going to a dry read. The book even gives a supportive try toward the end. In general it is a unbelievable book and encourages me to learn non-verbal communication referenced in the book, our mental and social understanding is likely foreseen by our non-verbal correspondence as the best info significant for our thriving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reading Body Language: Everything You Should Know about Body Language to Find Out What Every Body is Saying and Foresee Human Behavior and Persuasion []  2019-12-18 20:48

    his is a primary reading material which will have 5 segments which will be an wonderful expansion as far as anyone is concerned. In the happening that individuals don't care for your image, who will trust you? As referenced in the book, our psychological and social insight is likely anticipated by our non-verbal communication as the best knowledge necessary for our prosperity. This book has shown you how to administer yourself and fabricate your certainty that will be an wonderful resource for your profession in long haul.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reading Body Language: Everything You Should Know about Body Language to Find Out What Every Body is Saying and Foresee Human Behavior and Persuasion []  2019-12-18 20:48

    Clearly and succinctly written with detailed explanations, this book takes the mystery out deciphering body language. Everything covered makes reading body language applicable to everyday life--and interesting. If you wish a straightforward, immediately useful book on this topic, this is the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reading Body Language: Everything You Should Know about Body Language to Find Out What Every Body is Saying and Foresee Human Behavior and Persuasion []  2019-12-18 20:48

    I read this book with huge interest. This is really an perfect book. This is a step by step tutorial to the beginners. In this book, you will search so a lot of helpful info about identifiable people to see their body language. Overall this is a excellent book about analyzing people so easily. I really liked this book and would recommend anyone who needs such type of information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reading Body Language: Everything You Should Know about Body Language to Find Out What Every Body is Saying and Foresee Human Behavior and Persuasion []  2019-12-18 20:48

    This book is magnificent. There is a nitty-gritty depiction of every individual is so personal. I completely concur that the essential thought of what the other individual is letting us know is covered up, accordingly, it is significant for everybody to study non-verbal communication.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reading Body Language: Everything You Should Know about Body Language to Find Out What Every Body is Saying and Foresee Human Behavior and Persuasion []  2019-12-18 20:48

    This is a very interesting book. I read these book lots of chapters I can know lots of thing and also support improve emotional intelligence, couples communication, cognitive behavioral therapy. I am satisfied to purchase this guidebook. Especially thanks to the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reading Body Language: Everything You Should Know about Body Language to Find Out What Every Body is Saying and Foresee Human Behavior and Persuasion []  2019-12-18 20:48

    Interesting book that opens your mind to body language. I found it tells me more about my own body language than reading others. It did obtain me suspicious and sometimes nervous looks when I read it at work. They were worried I could read their minds I guess.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reading Body Language: Everything You Should Know about Body Language to Find Out What Every Body is Saying and Foresee Human Behavior and Persuasion []  2019-12-18 20:48

    This book is extraordinary. in this book you will obtain so a lot of information that really necessary for everyone's. I really liked this book and would recommend anyone who needs such type of information. Very helpful and interesting book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reading Body Language: Everything You Should Know about Body Language to Find Out What Every Body is Saying and Foresee Human Behavior and Persuasion []  2019-12-18 20:48

    Very informative and covered about everything I was looking for body language.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boys Body Book, Fifth Edition: Everything You Need to Know for a Healthy, Happy You! (Body Books) []  2020-1-22 21:23

    We bought the Girl’s Body Book for our daughter and it’s a large hit. Well written in a manner that a 9 year old could understand well and two years later, she has pulled it off the shelf for reference on a few occasions. The boys book hits the same bullseye as far as I’m concerned. In addition to the physiological changes, it touches well on the psychological changes, as well as the effects of technology and social platforms.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boys Body Book, Fifth Edition: Everything You Need to Know for a Healthy, Happy You! (Body Books) []  2020-1-22 21:24

    I struggled to search an appropriate book for my son that would talk about the changes he will go through without being overly graphic. This is the book! I would recommend it to parents looking for a brief introduction that is age appropriate for late-elementary, early middle school students. It was very simple for my 10 year old to read and understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boys Body Book, Fifth Edition: Everything You Need to Know for a Healthy, Happy You! (Body Books) []  2020-1-22 21:24

    Its a amazing book.but, I was very thrown off reading with my kid it jumping from talking about primary puberty to jumping into erections! It was a bit much..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boys Body Book, Fifth Edition: Everything You Need to Know for a Healthy, Happy You! (Body Books) []  2020-1-22 21:24

    Wow, this is a amazing book to go over with your young boys!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boys Body Book, Fifth Edition: Everything You Need to Know for a Healthy, Happy You! (Body Books) []  2020-1-22 21:24

    I bought this for my 11 year old. He loved the first 8 pages because it mentioned testicles, erections, talked about his crazy emotions, and showed a cartoon picture of a penis. Typical preteen. The rest of the book was boring for him because it was subjects that he was basically raised with (good hygiene, etc.)Perfect for a young boy 8-9

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boys Body Book, Fifth Edition: Everything You Need to Know for a Healthy, Happy You! (Body Books) []  2020-1-22 21:24

    Was satisfied to search a book like this to support me explain to my son all the changes he will be experiencing over the next few years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boys Body Book, Fifth Edition: Everything You Need to Know for a Healthy, Happy You! (Body Books) []  2020-1-22 21:24

    It’s a nice beginner book. Very helpful for my late bloomer at 13 but could have more info on masturbation itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boys Body Book, Fifth Edition: Everything You Need to Know for a Healthy, Happy You! (Body Books) []  2020-1-22 21:24

    Purchased this for my son. Was hoping for more about the changing body in regards to anatomy. Lots about social challenges, hygiene, and a body overview.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boys Body Book, Fifth Edition: Everything You Need to Know for a Healthy, Happy You! (Body Books) []  2020-1-22 21:24

    My kid really took interest in this book, and has learned a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boys Body Book, Fifth Edition: Everything You Need to Know for a Healthy, Happy You! (Body Books) []  2020-1-22 21:24

    My son is 11years old ad this book is perfect. It went into a lot of details, but not too graphic, that will be useful into his high school years and beyond.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need to Know About Down Syndrome (Need to Know Library) []  2020-1-16 11:48

    I dont feel it has everything you Need to know!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Whole Life Prostate Book: Everything That Every Man-at Every Age-Needs to Know About Maintaining Optimal Prostate Health []  2020-1-21 20:28

    This is worth a read. Well worth it. I once read that 70% of all visits to the doctor are because of lifestyle. Smoking, drinking, too much food, too small exercise. This book tends to confirm that. While prostate similar issues do obtain worse just because you age or because you have a family history, there is still a lot you can do about it. Exercise and diet being the huge things. The plus is these things will support you ward off a lot of other problems. There's also a lot of discussion about doctor's over treating people who indeed have prostate issues, something that's been publicized elsewhere. I didn't message before buying this is 500 pages long. There is a lot of items here, all sorts of possible prostate issues and treatment modalities are discussed in detail with references to case studies. A lot of the items is fresh to me, some not. I know I should exercise more, eat less but in any case it doesn't damage to be reminded. Lots of nice small anecdotes. Like the Okinawans saying a prayer before they eat that they will stop eating before they are full. I'm going to tell myself that now each time I sit to eat and be conscious of it. Well worth the $20 or whatever it was I paid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Whole Life Prostate Book: Everything That Every Man-at Every Age-Needs to Know About Maintaining Optimal Prostate Health []  2020-1-21 20:28

    Going through a bout of problems similar to an enlarged prostate, spiking PSA try results and an upcoming biopsy, I rented this book from the library. I found it highly informative and written in such a method as to create a technical and complex subject simple for the layman to understand. I was so happy with the book that I bought a copy on Amazon. The book is written by the head of one of the top 5 Urology hospitals in the US. I don't think you could search a more authoritative source.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Whole Life Prostate Book: Everything That Every Man-at Every Age-Needs to Know About Maintaining Optimal Prostate Health []  2020-1-21 20:28

    Over the years I have purchased every book on the prostate to hit the market. This book is far and away the best. Current, authorative, comprehensive and simple to read and understand. Where other books complexify the material and take the reader through the "tall grass" Dr. Carter excels at clear and concise explanations that anticipate your questions and tailor the response in easy scientific terms. The result----you end up with clarity and confidence and are empowered to understand the problems and create informed decisions. Dr Carter has been the true "power behind the throne" at Johns Hopkins on the topic of the prostate and is internationally recognized as "the" authority in the field of prostate Cancer. You will not be disappointed with your purchase of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Whole Life Prostate Book: Everything That Every Man-at Every Age-Needs to Know About Maintaining Optimal Prostate Health []  2020-1-21 20:28

    I am not a doctor but these are my thoughts: you need to read this book..if you rely soley on your local urologist, you may be minus your testicles, living out of a diaper..better do some research on your own!! don't allow them scare you into procedures you may not need...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Whole Life Prostate Book: Everything That Every Man-at Every Age-Needs to Know About Maintaining Optimal Prostate Health []  2020-1-21 20:28

    This book is a amazing resource for men wanting to know more about prostate health. It is written by a preeminent MD who is Director Of Adult Urology at Johns Hopkins University School Of Medicine. While published in 2012, seven years ago, the info remains relevant. But, the reader wanting to know more about newer prostate cancer treatments such as HIFU will have to augment the book with some research. Johns Hopkins itself can be better used with the know how this book imparts to the reader. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Whole Life Prostate Book: Everything That Every Man-at Every Age-Needs to Know About Maintaining Optimal Prostate Health []  2020-1-21 20:28

    Very informative - paid full price from AMZ but you can obtain it used. Every man needs to know whats in this book. The author doesn't treat the reader like a high school student. Like an adult. that's what I l ike about this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Whole Life Prostate Book: Everything That Every Man-at Every Age-Needs to Know About Maintaining Optimal Prostate Health []  2020-1-21 20:28

    This book steps back to take a look at how to reduce your chances of ever being told you or someone you love has cancer AND how quick you must act to obtain the best outcome possible. There are a TON of internet resources, clinical settings and books on this topic. Urologists (all of them are surgeons) usually suggest surgery. Radiologist offer radiation. Oncologist offer hormone and chemotherapy options. There are so a lot of choices with this type of cancer because there is not ONE single amazing choice. Each person must decide what they can accept or live with and create the best choice. The notion of eww eww it is cancer, obtain it out of me or can you live with this disease as though you had diabetes seems to be a huge obstacle for many. All sources seem to agree (even the quackery websites and books) that diet and exercise play a key role in reducing the risk, growth and spread of prostate cancer. After scouring the internet and book options I opted for this one to bring all the info together in one put that we could review to create sensible, nonFEAR based decisions about healthcare choices. I highly suggest everyone read this book. As a side note, July 19, 2012 Fresh Englad Journal of Medicine article suggests there may be small benefit to surgery for most men with prostate cancer that were studied in this report. Since this book was published prior to that date, consider whether or not you fall into the group that will truly benefit when making your choices.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Whole Life Prostate Book: Everything That Every Man-at Every Age-Needs to Know About Maintaining Optimal Prostate Health []  2020-1-21 20:28

    This is my 8th book on the prostate and prostate cancer. I'm in the process of discovering what level of process can I may have (PSA spiked several months ago). What distinguishes this book from most of the others is that it not only helps educate you about the prostate and different forms of prostate diseases, it tells you the things you can do NOW to turn things around--whether you want to avoid prostate cancer in the future or if you've already been diagnosed with it. This book teaches you how to change the environment in your body making it as hostile as possible for cancer to exist and thrive. As you might imagine, this involves: nutrition and exercise.Going through a diagnosis of prostate cancer is terrifying; it makes you feel hopeless and without any control over the circumstances of your disease. This book empowers you to take keep of your life and DO something that can war the disease or prevent it. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Whole Life Prostate Book: Everything That Every Man-at Every Age-Needs to Know About Maintaining Optimal Prostate Health []  2020-1-21 20:28

    This book is really only useful for men who plan to live beyond age 50 or the women who care about them. Actually, much of the book addresses problems that women over age 50 also share, so even man haters will likely search useful info in here. So much of what causes suffering long term could be prevented by some easy changes in everyday activities. There are poor things you can do occasionally that can change your life, but the amazing things that can change your life need to become habits that you follow every week and almost every day. Read the book, develop fresh habits, or suffer the consequences and know that they are likely your own fault.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Whole Life Prostate Book: Everything That Every Man-at Every Age-Needs to Know About Maintaining Optimal Prostate Health []  2020-1-21 20:28

    Most complete information, to date, comprehensive, but filled with practical incites. Covers symptoms and types of tests, diagnosis, and treatment options at a lot of various levels, including general care and health risks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need to Know About Domestic Violence (Need to Know Library) []  2020-1-30 23:51

    Having been in an abusive relationship and found a method out, I could relate. I was grateful it touched on the question most ask "why don't you just leave?" A amazing perspective for those in the relationship and those wanting to support or just wondering why.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need to Know About Domestic Violence (Need to Know Library) []  2020-1-30 23:51

    Having read Mary P Donahue's first two books I expected the straightforward, honest and clear voice. In defining domestic abuse in true globe situations then giving thoughtful steps for supporting a victim this book gives practical support to a frighteningly common problem. There is a chapter titled Getting Free for those ready to leave a poor place. Dr. Donahue gives empathetic, expert advice. The range of resources listed for further reading and the bibliography present a well researched and credible book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an []  2020-1-16 10:18

    This book presents the most necessary stages of the development of the Qur'an in a very easy way. The author was fair and academic in presenting the Muslim faith, and impressed me by his ability of quoting authentic Islamic resources to help his of the very interesting points that this book raised in the Islamic development of understanding the difference between Tahreef Al Maana (changing the meaning) and Tahreef [email protected]#$% (Changing the text). A lot of of the Christians in America, and a lot of Islamic scholars as well, don't understand the importance of this point in the Christian-Muslim dialogue, and a lot of books overlooked it. Dr. White, on the opposite, was able to simplify this concept, and support Christians to utilizes it to communicate the Gospel of Christ to an Arab Christian who is specialized in Islam, I can say that I recommend this book for both Christians and Muslims alike. For Muslims, because it shines the light on some concepts and doctrines that Muslims often tend to overlook. And for Christians because it equips them to understand Islam and the Qur'an in a deeper level than a lot of other books presents.Dr. White, once again, gave us a book that is worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an []  2020-1-16 10:18

    Westerners wish to believe that Islam is at its essence a religion of peace and that its holy [email protected]#$%!&?ms that noble belief. Our media, our political leaders, and very often our Christian leaders are eager to endorse that opinion. However, few consider the religion's scriptural and historical realities. White's book is a amazing overview that compares and contrasts Islamic and Christian beliefs and history, putting both under critical scrutiny (something that Islam forbids of itself and the Quran). In addition to thorough analysis and arguments, the book's perfect footnotes add nuance and further color. Only one thing is missing, however, and it's a critical omission. The book fails to consider the uniquely Muslim doctrine of abrogation (whereby earlier revelation can be annulled by later revelation) and how it leads to both misleading or misunderstood interpretation of Quranic verses as well as providing the justification for Islamic fundamentalist terrorism. For a better understanding of this very necessary subject one might also wish to consider: "Secrets of the Koran" by Don Richardson; "No God But One, Allah or Jesus" by Nabeel Qureshi; or "Answering Islam" by Norman L. Geisler and Abdul Saleeb.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an []  2020-1-16 10:18

    I respect James White. I even think we theologically agree in a lot of areas. But I’m not crazy about his approach in this book.Of importance: 1) I think his conception of radical Islam is right in point and accurately draws attention to the inconsistencies of the faith. 2) I think he takes a fair approach in never “attacking” the Islamic faith, but purely presents the faiths issues as logically inconsistent. 3) I appreciate White not going for the “Islam is a not good religion and everyone who believes it is wrong,” it’s been done several times and by men with a greater keep on the pen (Christopher Hutchins, who I disagree with on all accounts, had a pristine argument versus the religion). White takes a more level headed approach. 4) his argument overall is flat and one dimensional, in my opinion. He focuses completely on how it doesn’t match up the Christian revelation and especially in terms of the doctrine of the trinity. 5) HOWEVER, that’s the point of the book, it’s in the title. So... four stars.Of lesser importance: the format of the book is extremely bland. I know this doesn’t matter in the long run but having drab stylistic appeal and boring type face never helps.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an []  2020-1-16 10:18

    I can't tell whether it's the topic matter, the writer's presentation and style, or both, but trying to read through this book is a very tedious exercise. If, as a Christian, you have the opportunity to talk to a Muslim about specific subjects in Islam, the book would probably be useful to refer to subject by topic. But trying to read it through was all but impossible for me. And method too a lot of substantive other general criticism: I want the author had devoted some time to the "big picture" that the Quran is supposed to be presenting. I mean, if you ask what the "big picture" of the Bible is, one example would be that it's a narrative of God's efforts to reach out to mankind (the calling of Abraham, of Moses, the giving of the Law, the prophets, the Incarnation...). Can anything analogous be said about the Quran? The author here is more interested into getting into the weeds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an []  2020-1-16 10:18

    This is a very useful and detailed insight to the Qu'ran and the Muslim faith. I recommend that every Christian who is desperate to see Muslims come to Christian faith should read this book and gain the important insight to witness effectively and lovingly to the Muslim community. James White has argued effectively the clear differences and shown the inconsistencies and errors of the scripture in light of the fact that the Qu'ran author's claim of directly divine authorship and link to the Christian scriptures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an []  2020-1-16 10:18

    I haven't finished it yet. The info is important, but it's somewhat difficult to read. The excerpts from the Qur'an and Hadith are especially challenging to figure out what it is saying. Sometimes he pasted it in there and moved on to another subject immediately without summarizing or analyzing the text or telling me why it was important, as if the notice of the passage was completely self explanatory. One might argue perhaps the author was trying to hold himself out of it and allow the reader form his own opinions, but since the purpose of the book is to teach, I don't think it applies. He could do a better job communicating.I do appreciate how much work he did preparing for the book. I myself would prefer not to invest so much time to study the Qur'an and Hadith directly in order to learn its notice and better understand where Muslims are coming from. I'd rather to read books like ing Allah, Finding Jesus was much easier for me to read and it contained a lot of amazing info (major doctrinal differences between Christianity and Islam), besides being a thrilling acc of God patiently demonstrating His love for the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an []  2020-1-16 10:18

    Unbelievable book. Solid, biblical teaching. No apologies from the Author. Dr James White fulfills the greatest of the commandments and teaches his reader the same. Like a hunter who seeks his prey, Dr White gives practical explanations about the Quran so we can be ready to give an respond by letting the Muslims know that we understand who they are and what their book teaches.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an []  2020-1-16 10:18

    Perfect and deep coverage of the Quran from a Christian point of view. He uses external historical sources and also covers the Quranic verses as they are. Dr. White takes a respectful approach towards untangling confusing passages. As a Former Muslim, I found the book to be a fair representation of what I used to believe and he also added info that most Muslims have no clue about (via historical data).If you are interested in reading more from a former Muslim (now Christian), check out this blog:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an []  2020-1-16 10:18

    As someone who is familiar with both Christianity and Islam, I found Dr. White's book to be a very amazing read. As an Arab I was a small skeptical of whether or not the author could really relate to not only the doctrine of Islam and the words of the Quran, but the existential feeling of being a Muslim and somehow filter that through a Christian worldview. It was obvious to me that the author had done his homework and that this topic was necessary to him. With so much pseudo-intelligence regarding what Islam and the Quran state and believe so readily available, it is my hope that we obtain more books like this and that Mr. White continues writing on this e only caveat is that this book is beautiful involved. I search that a lot of wish sort of a crib notes on the Quran. This is not that. This is a work for those who have a serious desire to dig into the Quran.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur'an []  2020-1-16 10:18

    Dr. White delivers a fair, but sharp critique of Islam as expressed in the Qur'an. As an evangelical Christian I was very interested to learn more about what the Qur'an teaches about Christians. Dr. White carefully and methodically exegetes the Qur'an and the effect is what I must say is tantamount to a death blow versus Islam. Dr. White's debating skills are legendary and he exposes the deception found in the Qur'an with the skill of a surgeon! All churches should have this book on their church library. I also recommend that you give this book as a bonus to Muslims who have expressed interest in Christianity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Studies Every Anesthesiologist Should Know (Fifty Studies Every Doctor Should Know) []  2020-1-29 0:27

    I suppose the usefulness of this book will vary from reader to reader. As a board certified academic anesthesiologist about ten years into practice, I have found almost no fresh info in this book. Most of the studies are between 10-30 years old. Some are eye rolling in their uselessness (TEE is a safe procedure. Yay.) Others are key studies such as POISE, but these should be familiar to all practitioners rhaps a medical student or CRNA student could obtain more out of this. This book is too easy and out of date even for residents.I have found a number of typographical errors as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Studies Every Anesthesiologist Should Know (Fifty Studies Every Doctor Should Know) []  2020-1-29 0:27

    Whether you are in academic or clinical anesthesia, it is necessary to know which studies have shaped our field; rather than spend hours digging through UpToDate pickup this book instead. The series has been a hit another subspecialties I am glad they finally addressed anesthesia and pain medicine. My husband and I (anesthesiologists in academia and frequent contributors to the ASA, ABA, ASRA, and SNACC) encourage our residents and fellows to review it. Being able to reference a study always solidifies an argument and enhances a e Miller/Barash of publications! #mustRead

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    ADHD: What Every Parent Needs to Know []  2020-1-29 1:1

    It’s an simple read, straight to the pint and with very effective hints and practices. Our child was recently diagnosed and the techniques presented here really work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I'm Not in the Mood: What Every Woman Should Know About Improving Her Libido (What Every Woman Should Know about Increasing Her Libido) []  2020-1-25 3:20

    There's something here (with varying degrees of material) for every scene of womanhood. Other reviews will give the impression that this book is only for menopausal and postmenopausal women...rather odd statements to make, considering there is quite a bit of info about the effects of birth control pills, breastfeeding, pregnancy, childbirth, and postpartum problems on a woman's desire for sex. Reichman contains several case studies of women in their ere are a more than a few amazing things about the book: a section entitled 'who's doing it - and not doing it' which covers the demographics of sexual behavior; Reichman's extensive discussions of how hormones work (or don't), alternatives to HRT; the ways in which certain meds, diseases, and medical treatments might affect desire; and the resources and recommended l that said - I was place off by Reichman's (sometimes) dismissive attitudes and comments about men, and her sophomoric attempts at humor:"the same male hormones that convert small boys (and politicians) into sexually driven beings""my first scientific documentation that the hearts of men are ruled by their...).""I guess if the plumbing works, these men will wish to use it."etc. etc. cause, after all, that's what you need in a book for women who don't wish to have sex, isn't it? Comments and attitudes which trivialize, objectify, and ridicule men. Right?There are also swipes at conservatives and Republicans (note: the two are not necessarily interchangeable), and comments which may offend her more religious readers ("God didn't invent it, the pharmaceutical companies did").She is at her best when she drops the 'aren't I droll?' routine and writes clearly and in amazing detail about that which she clearly knows - the science and practice of medicine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I'm Not in the Mood: What Every Woman Should Know About Improving Her Libido (What Every Woman Should Know about Increasing Her Libido) []  2020-1-25 3:20

    This book really focuses on organic desire problems, mainly loss of libido due to hormone fluctations. It really pushes the use of testosterone to increase libido, and other remedies and procedures that are largely geared towards much older women (usually through menopause). THIS IS NOT A HELPFUL BOOK FOR WOMEN UNDER 40.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I'm Not in the Mood: What Every Woman Should Know About Improving Her Libido (What Every Woman Should Know about Increasing Her Libido) []  2020-1-25 3:20

    My GYN recommended that I pick up this book. I am skipping around, reading the sections that interest me, and so far I search it very interesting, humorous, and amazing information. It helps me to think of questions about supplements, hormones, etc. that I can ask my doctor about next time I see her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I'm Not in the Mood: What Every Woman Should Know About Improving Her Libido (What Every Woman Should Know about Increasing Her Libido) []  2020-1-25 3:20

    Very simple to read and very informative

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I'm Not in the Mood: What Every Woman Should Know About Improving Her Libido (What Every Woman Should Know about Increasing Her Libido) []  2020-1-25 3:20

    I read the book. My wife said she did, but I believe she just glanced through it. No change, - no better, no more frequent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I'm Not in the Mood: What Every Woman Should Know About Improving Her Libido (What Every Woman Should Know about Increasing Her Libido) []  2020-1-25 3:20

    Mostly talks about medical issues and when it discusses emotional or mental issues similar to the problem all it says is you might wish to talk to a counselor if you think it's an problem for you. Also mentions obvious solutions like eating healthier and having a healthy diet. It has been educational to read but I'd say I've skipped through at least 40% of the book that has talked about this that are completely unrelateable unless you have a specific medical condition... so I'd recommend it and then again I wouldn't. Check it out from a library before you read it, or go to a shop and scan through before you actually buy it to see if it actually has what you're looking for, it's a hit or miss I think, with about 30% general information for all so, it's more geared towards women around the ages of menopause.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I'm Not in the Mood: What Every Woman Should Know About Improving Her Libido (What Every Woman Should Know about Increasing Her Libido) []  2020-1-25 3:20

    There's a surprise category in this book. But, first, what's best about the book.I recommend the book to most of my female patients because it gives an perfect description of all of the causes of a woman's decreased libido. Reading this book gives a amazing framework for talking with the physician and for taking responsibility for improved rhaps she underestimates the power of testosterone. No matter what else goes on, if that hormone is low, a woman will struggle with her libido. If you're considering changing the method you replace your horomones and wish more info about the private experiences of someone before and after proper hormone replacement, read Suzane Summer's recent e surprise category is this: Men can be the cause of a woman's decreased libido. The method Dr. Reichman explains it: if the man has ejaculation and quits before the woman is satisfied, then the woman experiences frustration and loses desire for sex. Replacing the hormones of a few thousand women has taught me that this issue is much more common than most men know (the woman does love her husband and so doesn't wish to tell him). Dr. Reichman tries to address this issue by writing a few pages about impotence in 's the problem, most men will not seek treatment from a physician (only about 30% of men with erectile dysfunction...impotence or premature ejaculation...will see a physician). So, I often search Dr. Reichman's category to be a true one: men do contribute to the decreased libido of a woman when they don't understand how to provide prolonged love making for the woman who needs it to achieve orgasm.Dr. Reichman doesn't expand on the issue of men as the cause of decreased libido, but another common issue in my practice is that the woman comes to see me with decreased libido, then after I treat her the husband can't hold up with her. So, she goes from decreased libido, to improved libido, to frustration and decreased libido again. Because my women patients usually can't convince their husbands to come see me, I wrote a 15-day course for men: Anytime...for as Long as You Want: Strength, Genius, Libido, and Erection by Integrative Sex , I ask my women patients to read Dr. Reichman's book. Then when the woman improves her libido (with the book and my hormone therapy), I give the woman the book Anytime...for as Long as You Wish (which comes with an audio CD) to support her convince her husband to seek support in keeping up with her fresh both of these books and don't give up. Just a few months ago, I had a 65-year-old patient brag to me that she had her first orgasm just a few weeks after starting therapy as descirbed in this book. Her husband of a lot of years only smiled.--Charles Runels, MDAuthor of "Anytime for as Long as You Want: Strength, Genius, Libido, & Erection by Integrative Sex Transmutation (A 15-Day Course for Men to Improve Sex and Life)"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I'm Not in the Mood: What Every Woman Should Know About Improving Her Libido (What Every Woman Should Know about Increasing Her Libido) []  2020-1-25 3:20

    One only has to read the reviews by all the 20 year old women to see how large this issue is. Nobody seems to search that the solutions in the book have solved their libdo or physical problems. The true huge issues begin after ual incompatibility desire between men and women IMO is the #1 war of the sexes issue and it increases dramatically as women age. With post menopause women the issue escalates. Viagra for men has caused a lot of a divorce.Hormone therapy can't be done indefinitely because of cancer. Lubricants can support vaginal dryness, but after sex an older woman will probably experience urinary urgency. No amout of foreplay solves the the issue of an atrophying vagina. How is a woman supposed to have fun sex when she has no libido and sex creates post sex misery.When everything is ok, women may like sex. When a man has sex, everything is ok. One egg a month versus 200 million sperm a day. The whole design screams for polygamy, but that's only legal in the bible. Medical science has a huge e European solution has historically been a mistress. There seems no solution in the US at this time. The design is greatly flawed. It's awesome the divorce rate is only a scant 50%. This situation is just one of hundreds of reasons smart design is nonsense."JUSTIFIABLE HOMICIDE?" -Growing Up A Baptist Fundamentalist-

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I'm Not in the Mood: What Every Woman Should Know About Improving Her Libido (What Every Woman Should Know about Increasing Her Libido) []  2020-1-25 3:20

    I have used this book in my clinical practice as a Women's Health Nurse Practitioner for the past couple of years to treat Female Diminished Libido. I loan my copy out to my patients who don't wish to purchase this book and have had tremendous success with my patients. I have my client read the book over a couple of weeks while waiting for lab results to come back and then we discuss her lab results and what she discovered in the book. The book has had the beneficial result that most of my patients are able to honestly reveal if there is marital discord that may not have been admitted to in the first appointment. Opening up the method for a sex therapist or marriage counselor has been another positive benefit of this book. I search that a lot of of my patients were reluctant to consider counseling in the first appointment, but were willing to contain counseling as part of the treatment plan of their decreased libido. So a lot of women learn about the female body and functions for the first time while reading this book. Every patient has been very satisfied with this book and no longer felt alone with this problem. They were able to realize that other women have suffered with this same issue and that, most of the time, there is positive results with hormones, exercise, honest communication with their spouse, counseling and/or treatment for depression. I plan to continue to use this book in my treatment of Diminished Female Libido.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I'm Not in the Mood: What Every Woman Should Know About Improving Her Libido (What Every Woman Should Know about Increasing Her Libido) []  2020-1-25 3:20

    A straight-forward explanation of causes for loss of sexual desire in women. It offers psychological (body image, depression, stress, relationship issues), physical, and drug/medical reasons. For these it suggests the best treatment depending on the cause, plus has a section on how to talk with your partner about the eful to know the likely causes and gives a starting point for changing things.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bullying and Cyberbullying: What Every Educator Needs to Know []  2020-1-20 18:30

    At last! A book on bullying and cyberbullying book that goes deep on a complex subject and provides research-based solutions! Not only do I agree with the subtitle: “What every educator needs to know"!, I wish to add: “what every educator, parent, professional or any adult who cares about children needs to know.” The author and researcher, Elizabeth Englander has compiled the definitive text on all the most latest research available today on bullying and cyberbullying--issues sadly too much in the news and too much a part of our daily lives. In her book, she also examines the processes for detecting and understanding the behaviors, explains the role digital technology plays in the problem, and offers research-based tactics for responding. As a pediatrician, parent educator, and children's advocate, I whole-heartedly congratulate Englander on her extensive, thorough work and encourage all caring adults to place Englander's ideas to address bullying and cyberbullying to work in your homes, schools, and communities. I will be sharing her insights and helpful solutions on this complex subject in all my school trainings and in my parent talks.Kathy Masarie MD, author of Face to Face: Cultivating Kids' Social LIves in Today's Digital World

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bullying and Cyberbullying: What Every Educator Needs to Know []  2020-1-20 18:30

    I am a clinician treating adults, adolescents and families. Although I thought this book was intended for educators, it turns out to be incredibly useful for me as a clinician in my treatment of patients! The book goes through, in a very sensible and down-to-earth way, what we really know--and need to know-- about bullying and cyberbullying and how to effectively approach these problems with children and with schools. In addition to being a clinician, I am also an educator. This intellectually stimulating book is of value in both domains. It is very well-written and holds the reader's interest. I can't recommend it highly enough; I'd give it ten stars if i could!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bullying and Cyberbullying: What Every Educator Needs to Know []  2020-1-20 18:30

    Work related

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bullying and Cyberbullying: What Every Educator Needs to Know []  2020-1-20 18:30

    I read this book as a school administrator and found her research and approach illuminating. Having read a lot of books on adolescent social issues, this one in particular was engaging and accessible. There are hints here for teachers, for students and for parents. Englander's has done some groundbreaking research on what students search helpful when they feel bullied. She also covers cyber problems in a method that is realistic and constructive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bullying and Cyberbullying: What Every Educator Needs to Know []  2020-1-20 18:30

    This is nice and clear; not too 'academic'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bullying and Cyberbullying: What Every Educator Needs to Know []  2020-1-20 18:30

    The greatest challenge in dealing with the issues facing educators, parents, and all members of the human family is implementation: getting changes recommended by research findings into day-to-day, public life. All too often research results are written for, and read only by, other researchers. In contrast, Dr. Englander reports on the results of her research with actual kids and youth in a systematic, clear, and engaging manner. She highlights risk factors so that adults in schools and families can recognize the need for early intervention while (most importantly!) avoiding the `tuning out' that results from scare strategies and throwing the technological baby out with the dirty bath water of abusive behavior.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bullying and Cyberbullying: What Every Educator Needs to Know []  2020-1-20 18:30

    As a Clinical Psychologist working with kids and adolescents, I found this book to be extremely valuable in providing a detailed window into the connection between the social environment in school and online. Social media plays a significant part in the lives of kids today, often more so than live interpersonal interactions. It is a globe that is constantly changing, and one most parents, educators and therapists are less familiar with. Dr. Englander clearly and intelligently, lays out a compilation of the recent research on what happens between children in school and online, and how these two worlds interact. This book is valuable not only to educators, but to parents, therapists, and anyone who works with children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bullying and Cyberbullying: What Every Educator Needs to Know []  2020-1-20 18:30

    After reading this book, I thought to myself whose kid has not been bullied or cyberbullied? I am prettysure the respond is none. After a lot of years of agonizing with dealing with schools, who are not quite surehow to deal with this serious situation, I had to seek outside support to create sure my kids were not at riskof harming themselves. While browsing through Amazon, I was able to get Elizabeth Kandel Englander'sbook on bullying and cyberbullying. I worked with her center years ago but didnt even know she had written a book. What a unbelievable read for parents. Finally, a book has arisen that helpsparents get info that they can use, a proverbial "tool box". Hats off to Dr. rents, a amazing read for you no matter if your kid is 2 or 21.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bullying and Cyberbullying: What Every Educator Needs to Know []  2020-1-20 18:30

    This book is an perfect and readable resource for educators. Elizabeth Englander has thought through all the challenges that arise in preventing and dealing with bullying, based on her long experience working on this problem in Massachusetts and nationally. The book is full of clarity and wisdom!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bullying and Cyberbullying: What Every Educator Needs to Know []  2020-1-20 18:30

    Elizabeth Englander has provided readers with a well-researched and realistic view of bullying and cyberbullying among kids today. She offers practical tip without all of the hype that often accompanies this topic. There is no doubt that educators will feel better prepared to talk with their students and address these problems after reading this book. I highly recommend this to anyone hoping to increase their knowledge about the topic. Parents and educators..this is a MUST READ!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Copyright Handbook, The: What Every Writer Needs to Know []  2020-1-27 21:4

    If you make intellectual property or wish to use (or "borrow") the intellectual property of someone else, you should probably read this book. There's far more to copyrighting something than just putting the small "c" in a circle with your name and the date. Author Fishman, a practicing attorney, has filled his book with anecdotes, case studies, and explanations of the law that probably run circles around your own attorney's knowledge--unless your own attorney's specialty is copyright and trademark law. (There is a difference between a copyright, a trademark, and a patent, and Fishman explains them all.)For my thoughts on why Nolo is the method to go for do-it-yourself legal help, read my review of Consultant & Independent Contractor Agreements, also from Nolo.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Copyright Handbook, The: What Every Writer Needs to Know []  2020-1-27 21:4

    If you're a writer, or a wanna be writer, this is the book for you. Treading the waters of copyrights (and copyright infringement) is a skillful journey that requires a lot of research and often a copyright lawyer. Understanding a topic that is not familiar usually requires a lot of grunt work, fortunately this book provides enough info to give you a detailed overview of what to do and what not to do. It is well-written, simple to understand and informative, and lays out every zone that a writer needs to understand to protect themselves and their work. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Copyright Handbook, The: What Every Writer Needs to Know []  2020-1-27 21:4

    This is a amazing tutorial to the minefield of copyright in the U.S. today. It is primarily aimed at writers, but the info is useful to anyone dealing with copyright problems (which is nearly everyone these days...).The author starts with the basics and goes on to deal with registering copyrights, copyright notices, ownership and what copyright protects, dealing with copyrighted material as property in business and private interactions such as transferring ownership, marriage, divorce, death and so on. He covers contractual problems such as partnerships, collaborative works, works for hire, etc.He also covers the use of other people's copyrighted works in one's own writing, permissions, taxation, and infringement, and a CD-ROM filled with forms similar to the text is is is a very valuable addition to anyone's library, especially those who write professionally. NOLO is the go to publisher for amazing books on legal issues, and this is a fine addition to their commended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Copyright Handbook, The: What Every Writer Needs to Know []  2020-1-27 21:4

    When I started out as a writer in 1967 I signed away all of my writes for 5 cents a word. The magazine was sharp enough to take away all of my rights and I was naive enough to allow them. I blame it on being barely out of my teens and not knowing my options. But today there's no excuse for e title of this book says it all. Every writer "should" be armed with this information.Rights to what you make are important. They can be used as a bargaining chip. You may not wish to sell all of your rights. You may wish to hold some rights for a lot of reasons. In fact, it's seldom in your best interest to transfer "all" rights to your work in my ients often think they are buying all rights when they hire a copywriter, for example. The truth is they are not. Unless the contract specifies the work is a work for hire, the creator actually owns the having this knowledge, the writer can craft smart contracts that protect both the client and the writer.But a writer also needs to know about using the works of others. What are his liabilities in certain instances? What can he do and what shouldn't he do when it comes to the use of other people's work? What about using charts, pictures, etc? All this is in this amazing pyright is one of the largest problems facing the writer. It's an zone where most people have very limited knowledge. You should protect yourself and this book should be on your desk at all times. If you're like me, you'll refer to it often and it will be a book you'll both read and use.But you obtain a gift with this book. You obtain a CD with all the forms you could ever need! This is really valuable. The CD is worth the price of the book if you didn't read a word. If you download the forms from the U.S. Copyright Office, you'll need a typewriter or you'll have to fill them out by hand. With the CD, it's a snap. In addition, you actually obtain understandable instructions --- something the government isn't keen on buy this book if you buy no other book this year. It can save you a ton of headaches and probably a lot of lawsuits.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Copyright Handbook, The: What Every Writer Needs to Know []  2020-1-27 21:4

    I have to grit my teeth in anger when I think of all the wasted hours I've spent reading web website and magazine articles written by people who had no idea what they were talking about in regard to the often confusing globe of copyright e easy purchase and reading of Fishman's book would have saved me all that time, trouble, and confusion. He does a amazing job of laying out everything I've ever wanted to know about copyright law, in understandable terms...and alleviates any doubt by presenting brilliantly clear "examples" of almost every point.If you wish to learn as much as possible about copyright, without having to spend years becoming a copyright attorney, this is the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Copyright Handbook, The: What Every Writer Needs to Know []  2020-1-27 21:4

    Most definitely the info I required to know, and I'm just getting started! I look forward to reading the rest of the parts of the book that pertain to me. You mentioned some future updates. I got to check the Nolo www service soon for more info. This book is a MUST have for anyone wishing to copyright their work. Hold up the GREAT work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Copyright Handbook, The: What Every Writer Needs to Know []  2020-1-27 21:4

    The material is organized and labeled via the table of contents is such a method that it is simple to search what you need without having to search. It also includes a lot of information. Amazing resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Copyright Handbook, The: What Every Writer Needs to Know []  2020-1-27 21:4

    I was surprised how much I learnt from this book. I thought I knew a fair bit about copyright, being an infosec pro with a direct interest in copyright-protecting the security awareness materials I write for a living. The book opened my eyes to aspects that hadn't even occurred to me before. It is very well written and engaging. I found it simple and enjoyable to read - this is no dry academic or legal tome, despite the topic matter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Copyright Handbook, The: What Every Writer Needs to Know []  2020-1-27 21:4

    Amazing info I like how the book is designed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Copyright Handbook, The: What Every Writer Needs to Know []  2020-1-27 21:4

    I purchased this book at the online insistence of Dean Wesley Smith and Kristine Katherine Rusch. They run www services about professional writing.I thought it was a bit silly to have a book on the topic until quite literally the next day a professional writer acquaintance had a question- one that was answered on pages XY&Z.Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Quantum Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) []  2020-1-19 20:13

    I have four of the books in this series. There are about 4 to 6 pages dedicated to each of the subjects, giving you a synopsis of the various topics the book cover. I've found these articles very helpful, as often there is an insight that I've never seen in other books on QM. The only complaint is that several of the topics are covered in other books of the same series. I mean they are identical to what is in those books word for word. But since I really like the book, it only drops one star for this infraction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Quantum Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) []  2020-1-19 20:13

    Very nice compilation of quantum theories and formulas, which is not a amazing thing from my point of view, but may be to commended as an introductory text for anyone interested in understanding the bizarre nature of the universe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Quantum Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) []  2020-1-19 20:13

    Super and simple to deal with - she does a amazing job with a difficult topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Quantum Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) []  2020-1-19 20:13

    Amazing book for a bonus or private use

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    50 Quantum Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) []  2020-1-19 20:13

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need To Know About Caregiving For Parkinson's Disease (Everything You Need To Know About Parkinson's Disease Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:22

    My husband's diagnosis was recently changed from Parkinson's to MSA. I have a tendency to become impatient at times and I found this book to be helpful while reminding me that he needs "superhuman" compassion, consideration and helpfulness. While he is unable to support himself, he depends on me for support in so a lot of ways. I have also learned that I cannot "do it all". I now have some support to give me a bit of a break to regain my patience and regenerate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need To Know About Caregiving For Parkinson's Disease (Everything You Need To Know About Parkinson's Disease Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:22

    Love this book! Told by a daughter with the support of her mom who has Parkinson's. I have used some of the tips she has given. I have also gone back and looked for support in her book. I read it quick and wished it never ended. I am a caregiver. I found it very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need To Know About Caregiving For Parkinson's Disease (Everything You Need To Know About Parkinson's Disease Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:22

    My Husband has PSP and I am his caregiver most of the time His illness has left him without a voice and the communication is difficult. But this book was unbelievable read it in one day. I could see all the things I was doing wrong. He still wants to be independent and he can do most things but I was smothering him. This book helped me see I was hurting him more than helping. I would recommend any caregiver to read eat Job

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need To Know About Caregiving For Parkinson's Disease (Everything You Need To Know About Parkinson's Disease Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:22

    I first read her book “Everything you need to know about Parkinson’s disease.” Then I read this one. Much, if not all, is not only repetitive, it is word for word repetitious. This bothered me, but it bothered me even more to learn that the author lives 2500 miles from the person she is “caregiving” and Skypes or phones once or twice a week. This is so various from my caretaking experience of 24 hours a day for 10 years (and counting) with my spouse. The book is probably okay for a long distance caregiver who is just starting to phone his/her person with Parkinson’s.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need To Know About Caregiving For Parkinson's Disease (Everything You Need To Know About Parkinson's Disease Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:22

    As the daughter of a Parkinsons patient and a Parkinsons patient myself, I found this book to be very helpful. It addressed the situations faced by a lot of patients and caregivers and gave practical hints on how to deal with them as well as resources available for tip and assistance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need To Know About Caregiving For Parkinson's Disease (Everything You Need To Know About Parkinson's Disease Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:22

    Lot's of amazing information. Guess I didn't say "I love it" because the subject is so hard. I would definitely say "buy it"!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need To Know About Caregiving For Parkinson's Disease (Everything You Need To Know About Parkinson's Disease Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:22

    I was very happy with the thorough coverage on the subject of caring for Parkinson's patients. The book included helpful and practical tip from someone who has taken this journey herself. Because of careful research by the author it is a valuable reference resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need To Know About Caregiving For Parkinson's Disease (Everything You Need To Know About Parkinson's Disease Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:22

    I expected this book to talk more about Parkinson's and it was more of a general care giver type book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need To Know About Caregiving For Parkinson's Disease (Everything You Need To Know About Parkinson's Disease Book 2) []  2020-1-21 20:22

    Still waiting for a diagnosis from doctor?, but a amazing common sence tutorial to caregiving.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386