Read what happened that night a shocking and gripping psychological thriller reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all what happened that night a shocking and gripping psychological thriller reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Happened Last Night: A Psychological Thriller That Will Have You Guessing Until The End []  2020-6-26 18:38

    I was able to place this book down! The first half was boring because there really wasn't much going on that was exciting enough to hold me interested. The book seemed repetitive using the main happening and just a few people to test to invoke interest but I think it fell flat. Just not enough "meat" in the story to be considered a psychological thriller...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Happened Last Night: A Psychological Thriller That Will Have You Guessing Until The End []  2020-6-26 18:38

    This was a fun who done it that I read in a night. William and Carlotta and married and their relationship is not at a amazing point. I guess it wouldn't be because William cannot stop cheating on his lovely wife and the girls are young interns at his put of work.When one of them winds up dead, there are only two suspects..William or Carlotta.Jamie is the detective who must figure it all out. The murder happened at the satisfied couple's HOUSE where the victim was apparently thrown from a window in the middle of the night. Both of the suspects claim they drank to much the night before and neither can remember even seeing her, allow alone killing her or at least that is what they SAY..This was a fun small thriller that is a really quick read and is filled with deception and lies. It is a amazing read with amazing writing and if I had one complaint it is that it really is not that hard to figure out. I also never got a sense of who this couple was. I mean William..he was an obvious misogynist but I'd have liked to see his nice side so I could understand how all those women were drawn to him. He also came off as to sour and mean a person to root for.I think I'd have enjoyed the book more if the two central characters had been developed a bit more and also if I got a glimpse of their relationship before it turned so bad.Overall though, it was a amazing and quick read that I think Domestic mystery fans would really enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Happened Last Night: A Psychological Thriller That Will Have You Guessing Until The End []  2020-6-26 18:38

    This is a amazing thriller that will hold you guessing who done it until the end! This story has LA detective Jamie Del Rey on the case and he soon finds that is will not be an simple case to solve. The victim is Candy a 19 year old and having an affair with a married man. William is his name and sophisticated wife Carlotta have both reasons for wanting her dead but both have strange Alibis? So read to search out who done it! I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book.

    0  


    Add your opinion on what happened that night a shocking and gripping psychological thriller or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Happened Last Night: A Psychological Thriller That Will Have You Guessing Until The End []  2020-6-26 18:38

    Not sure what to really think of this book. I found most of it rather boring and kept reading to search something to e detective was not interesting, in fact just seemed to be going through the paces. The married couples story ran hot and cold and the rhetoric between them seemed disjointed. The ending was not surprising. A woman, who takes so much damage from her husband had to had a hidden agenda.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Happened Last Night: A Psychological Thriller That Will Have You Guessing Until The End []  2020-6-26 18:38

    What Happened Latest Night is a psychological thriller that had me on the edge of my seat wondering who did it. This is about William and Carlotta a married couple and the dead body found in their back yard of nineteen year old Candy. Just when I thought I figured it out something happened that threw me off. Cole Baxter writes the kind of psychological thrillers that you don't wish to stop reading until you search out how it ends. Intriguing storyline, interesting characters and an ending that left me speechless create this an awesome read. I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Happened Last Night: A Psychological Thriller That Will Have You Guessing Until The End []  2020-6-26 18:38

    What Happened Latest NightBy Cole BaxterMain Characters: Carlotta and WilliamI voluntarily and honestly reviewed this book without bias or persuasion from the author.4 out of 5 starsThis was a well-plotted physiological suspense story. It involves a married couple Carlotta and William who end up with a dead 19-year-old girl in the backyard. It is up to Detective Jamie Del Rey to search out which of the two people involved actually killed her. This story has an unhappy marriage, cheating, lying, angst, drama, mental illness, drinking, , etc. It will have you trying to figure out who committed the crime right up to the end. And even then I didn't foresee what was going to happen. The only redeemable hero was the detective in my mind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Happened Last Night: A Psychological Thriller That Will Have You Guessing Until The End []  2020-6-26 18:38

    Carlotta and William aren't getting along very well. Their marriage is crumbling away! Then the intern at Williams' firm adds some spice that's not appreciated. Who killed her is the problem. I could have done without the expletives throughout the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Happened Last Night: A Psychological Thriller That Will Have You Guessing Until The End []  2020-6-26 18:38

    This book was interesting and kept me wanting more. I enjoyed the characters and how the story moved. Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Happened Last Night: A Psychological Thriller That Will Have You Guessing Until The End []  2020-6-26 18:38

    A amazing book written with a lot of thought. A married couple are slowly loosing their marriage. The man has been having affairs with young girls he works with and the women feels unloved. When the one who he has been having an affair with comes unglued murder begins to happen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Happened Last Night: A Psychological Thriller That Will Have You Guessing Until The End []  2020-6-26 18:38

    William and Carlotta may have loved each other.....once, but that love is long gone. In its put is manipulation, disrespect, neglect and cheating. And when a young girl that is William's recent fling becomes unhinged, there are finally consequences to his behavior, for both of them. Although the majority of the story revolves around these two and their disintegrating relationship, Detective Jamie Del Rey is assigned the case to determine who killed William's recent distraction. Cole Baxter always gives us twists turns, drama, and a large surprise or two. This book doesn't disappoint, you are kept guessing till the end.I received an ARC of this book and this is my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Liars: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-1-27 18:0

    This is my second book by Frances Vick and quick becoming a fan! I loved her first book "Bad Small Girl", if you haven't read it yet, you should!This book starts with a woman's body found in the woods. We are soon introduced to Jenny, the main character, who is just informed of her mother's death. Info about Jenny are slowly revealed. She was abused as a kid by her mother's boyfriend and has problems she needs to deal with. She sees a therapist and is studying to become one herself. Then she meets David. She thinks he is excellent for her but her best mate Freddie sees things differently. May I interrupt here to say I LOVED Freddie!? Loved him! Freddie soon starts to explore disturbing things about David and the more he digs, the more scared for Jenny he is. What exactly is David hiding and why does he seem to be so controlling?I very much enjoyed this book and am eager for her next! Some nice twists and turns throughout that took me a bit by surprise! I will be patiently awaiting this author's third book! And it's only .99 cents?!!?!Many thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for an advanced copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Liars: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-1-27 18:0

    Francis Vick pieced together a well-written narrative framed with nerve-rattling desperation. The rhythm of the scenes were crafted at just the right tempo. Carried me along for a bumpy ride down the Psychotic Highway. As the momentum built, it haunted me with a far-reaching storyline. Luckily for me every seat has an edge for that's where I found myself perched throughout the entire book. The main characters were defined to a tee. So much so that I began to form a love-hate relationship after introductions. And we had only just nny Holloway learned that her mother Sal, had been discovered lying face down, dead, in a mound of snow. Distraught, she felt partly responsible for not being there in her time of need. Maybe she could have prevented it. Probably not. What kind of daughter was she, she asked herself. At this hour of grief, small did she know that this single happening would be the catalyst of a journey with a one-way ticket to the kingdom of Hades.During the funeral, she met David Crane. An acquaintance she'd hardly known years ago back in school. It turned out, lucky for her, he provided her with just the right alibi at the time of her mother's death. Everyone's a suspect. He claimed to have seen her walking at a removed zone at the time in question. Created a report to the police. Fortunate for her. Fortunate for him. He had his own motives built upon a lot of years in the making. Before long, they started dating. Wrong. Wrong. nny had no idea where this relationship would lead her. At first, It had shown itself laced with feelings of need and desire. Yet an overwhelming dread of hatred and deception lurked in the background leaving my stomach in knots. Doomed from the start. Destined for tragedy with a lot of shocking twists and turns that rushed at me with a roar. With shattered nerves, it was all I could do to hang on to a wild finish I could not thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture for this ARC in exchange for an unbiased review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Liars: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-1-27 18:0

    Liars is a fantastic, creepy psychological thriller, revolving around three main characters who are all manipulative to some degree or another. They also tell lies, which impacts on the reader's view of what is going on as they all take a turn with the narrative. I thoroughly have fun this type of structure, where we are in various people's heads, trying to work out what's really going e story is about Jenny, her mate Freddie and her stalker/boyfriend David and what happens after Jenny's mother dies in what appears to be an accident. I can't say much about the story without giving spoilers, suffice to say, there are quite a few twists and turns as we go along and secrets are revealed, lies is is the first book I have read by this author and I have to say I really enjoyed it. The characters are so well created, especially David, who I became very fond of, and sorry for, despite the fact that he is clearly a psychopath. There are lots of small clues dropped along the method as the story fluctuates between narrators and we pick up on their lies and I thought the author executed this with amazing skill and e structure of the book was unusual, as it went backwards and forwards in time, going over old incidents, but from the perspective of three various narrators plus Jenny's blog posts. For me, this created some bits feel slightly repetitive, especially if you'd guessed the truth, although we learnt something new, and usually devastating each time and I don't think it was possible to guess the whole truth at any only gripe with this book is that after a mid-point, which felt like a climax, things slowed down, rather than built. That's not to say it was boring, because gaps in knowledge were filled in. Eventually, it really sped up and hurtled the reader to a amazing ending, which was worth waiting e writing flowed well and the book was very absorbing and readable. I'll definitely be reading more by this anks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an ARC copy in return for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Liars: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-1-27 18:0

    A lot of thanks to the author / Bookouture / Netgalley for the advanced digital copy of this psychological thriller. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my nny's mother is dead. The one night Jenny stays somewhere overnight and her mother is found in the woods. Of course she had been drinking and evidently fell and hit her head on a nny is seeing a therapist, actually is taking classes to become one herself. Her therapist recommended that she hold a journal of some sort, not only for her own benefit, but for her classes as well. Jenny decides on an online blog and has aculated quite a e was abused and mistreated as a child, has never known what it is to have someone to love and care for her .... until she meets David.Even though she thinks she's found her knight in shining armor, her best friend, Freddie, is seeing things she isn't .. or is he?They all have secrets, risky ones.I found this one a small difficult to obtain into. Didn't grab me at the beginning and it seemed a small predictable the more I read. There are obvious twists and turns that deceive... the ending was stunning in its surprise.3.5 STARS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Liars: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-1-27 18:0

    Initially I thought this book would be "just another thriller" and I read A LOT of those; but I was pleasantly (well, shockingly) surprised that this novel had so a lot of twists I didn't see coming! I never really trust the blurbs and they sometimes give away too much, but in this case there is no method you can really tell who is lying and where the truth lies until the very latest page. Jenny, David, Freddie...friends? Accomplices? Saviors? Four deaths...how a lot of are murders and which are accidents? This novel seriously has your head spinning with possibilities as almost everyone is an unreliable narrator with flawed personalities and problems of abuse. Be prepared to read in one sitting!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Happened That Night [Book]  2017-11-1 18:0

    Ah, here it comes again. Another miraculous book that'@#$%! the top 100.Let's see.A not good cover - CheckNo blurb - CheckNo Look-Inside - CheckA False Claim (NY Times Best-Seller) - Check (How presumptuous!)Aren't these click-farmers getting crafty?Please don't purchase this book. It's not a novel--it's a scam. A ghost-written piece of garbage click-farmed to the top of the charts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother's Lie: A shocking psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you up at night [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    Years ago Clara McNair's parents disappeared from the city of Hollow Hills, N.C.. The small city she lived in blamed Clara ,so did the police. Clara left and now 10 years later she's back to star in a doentary about it to fund an experimental treatment for her son James brain cancer. The city doesn't wish her here and the assassin is playing android games with her. Will she survive to finished the doentary and obtain the treatment her son so desperately needs or will the assassin finish the job?A quick paced mystery thriller I couldn't place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother's Lie: A shocking psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you up at night [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    I received an ARC of book leaving my honest opinion. Like a few others, I loved the book at the beginning, but it became long and drawn out for me, I skipped a few pages to see if something would obtain my attention back, nothing, went back to where I was reading. Clara does what any mom would do for her child, James, what a cute small boy, he's the best part of the entire story. Detective Elkins, a very various person, Amanda, amazing mate true or pretend? You decide, but you have to before the end of the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother's Lie: A shocking psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you up at night [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    How far would a mother go to save her son's life? It's a question every parent hopes they never have to figure out but it's a question Clara McNair faces on a everyday basis in A Mother's Lie. Her two year old son has been diagnosed with a tumor disorder that may only give him nine more months to live. A fresh experimental is available but with insurance not covering she's got to search a fast method to create enough cash to cover it. Not so luckily her parents disappeared and the ten year anniversary is coming up and she's been contacted to do a doentary on the disappearance and how it's effected her. Sounds beautiful simple except she has to go back to her hometown for filming and all anyone remembers of Clara is her wild teen years and the fact she was the prime suspect in her parents disappearance. How far will the city push to obtain Clara out? How far will Clara push to search out the truth? Will she search out the truth before it kills Her?I haven't been this impressed by a debut from an author since Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris. The author really nailed making you feel just how isolated Clara was and just how desperate she was. Too a lot of times while reading this I was gasping out loud due to a turn I hadn't seen coming or an injustice I just couldn't believe. It usually takes me about seven days to read a book due to work and children but I devoured this in a small over 24 hours. I can't wait to spread the word about this knockout debut.I received an ARC egalley of this book from the www service Hidden Gems for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother's Lie: A shocking psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you up at night [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    This was a fabulous read. Once I picked it up I could l d not place it down, read the whole thing in one day. The plot was fascinating with all the twists and turns. This is my first book by Jo Crow, but it won't be my last. Highly recommend this book to readers of thrillers. I voluntarily read and reviewed this book honestly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother's Lie: A shocking psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you up at night [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    Ten years ago Clara's parents disappeared and although there was no evidence, the police and the peolle of the city thought Clara was responsible for murdering her parents. Clara has since returned to her hometown to do a doentary on what is to be the anniversary of her parents disappearance. Clara is doing this for the cash because her son needs experimental for his failing health. I thought it was a amazing mystery. I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother's Lie: A shocking psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you up at night [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    What an awesome story! The author does a unbelievable job describing the multitude of characters and weaving a story that's filled with mystery,intrigue,danger and fear. Above all of that is Clara's love and determination to save her two year old son,James,doing what she has to to provide the treatment required to save his life. The author takes you on a journey filled with twists and turns and surprises .. keeps you hanging on every word .. every page right up to the end. I can't recommend this book highly enough!! An absolute must read!!I voluntarily reviewed an ARC copy of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother's Lie: A shocking psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you up at night [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    A Mother’s Lie is told from Clair’s POV. Her hero is well developed, much better than some of the secondary characters. To earn the cash required for medical treatment to save her son’s life, Clare goes back to her beginnings and the mystery surrounding her parents. She is smart, but this is not reflected in a lot of of her actions and decisions and in the people she trusts. If you like psychological thrillers, you will probably have fun this book. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother's Lie: A shocking psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you up at night [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    I was given an ARC for an unbiased review of A Mother’s Lie by Jo Crow.What would you be willing to do to save your child’s life? Would you be willing to return to a city that hates you? Return to your childhood home and the stage of your parent’s disappearance; to the zone where it was clear your parents were physically tortured and maybe killed? Would you return to a city where law enforcement and most inhabitants hate you because they believe you killed your parents, and even if they don’t believe you are guilty, hate you for leaving them to go to university in Europe, following the unsolved investigatio,n and causing the town’s basic employer, your family's factory, to close down? Claire McNair is faced with these very questions. With a very sick young son and an experimental treatment out of her financial reach, Claire is offered the possibility to be part of a doentary about her parents’ disappearance and expected murder on the 10-year anniversary of the crime. The pay is great; it’s enough to obtain her 2 year old son James the treatment he needs to likely save his life but she must relive and narrate the cirtances surrounding the crime and return to her hometown of Hickory Hills, the same little NC city where the crime was committed. It’s an simple choice to create for a mother who truly loves her son but a difficult choice to live aire was a troubled kid and teen. She was wild and promiscuous and a small crazy growing up; getting into all sorts of problem with her BFF Amanda. It is simple to see why, without any other evidence or potential suspects, the townspeople and police detectives believe Claire is guilty despite Claire, our narrator, insisting she is not and anxious to search the guilty e book opens with bones being dug up and left on the McNair property (in a trust so it can not be sold). We quickly learn the bones belong to Claire’s parents. The story and mystery progress from there. Claire is threatened, physically and emotionally taunted. Claire continues to remind herself why she is doing this. She's here for her son but it seems she is also looking for closure and to know what happened to her parents, who she clearly loved, and e book is well written. Claire in particular is well developed though imperfect. I wanted to like her, but for such a intelligent young women she was beautiful dumb and thick in a lot of of her actions and decisions. Beautiful early on I figured out who was guilty and struggled to understand why Claire was not at least a small suspicious. A few characters come and go and could have been more fully developed to add more depth to the story as well as provide more potential suspects. To wrap the story to its conclusion the author took a few liberties with characters who suddenly become unhinged and detectives who bounce between doing what is right and acting one dimensionally. Overall I enjoyed reading A Mother’s Lie and despite its massive topic found it to be an enjoyable, simple read. 4 STARS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother's Lie: A shocking psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you up at night [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this bookI didn't wish to place down this book. It hook me in from the first page. Clara parents went missing when she was 17, and she left as soon she finish school. She already created plans for college and decided to go. Ten years later, she return to her home city to do an doentary of her parents dy are turning up, city are going versus Clara, violence and more. But despite the warning Claire was getting on her safety and her son safety. She decided to stay and solve the disappearance of her parents

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother's Lie: A shocking psychological thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you up at night [Book]  2018-1-26 18:0

    **I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of the book*** Well I liked the concept of the book. However, the execution needs some work. The cover is awesome and as a mother myself I was eager to see where this small boy was wandering off to.We follow Clara as she returns to her childhood home in hopes to complete a doentary for funds to obtain the medical treatment her small boy needs. Returning home isn't so bad... for normal people. As for Clara, the whole city is convinced she is the assassin of her own parents. One of them being a main reason that the city has any cash coming in at all. You see where their grudge would be raised beautiful good. As the case is reopened with her return, she races the police to prove that she is innocent. Clara brings to light the old saying, "one step forward, two steps back". Everything she does to clear her own name just digs her into a deeper hole as more and more evidence is stacked versus her.I was sucked in early in the book but found myself distracted about half method through. I felt as though Crow's writing style had changed. It was as if "big words" were trying to be inserted to create things more interesting, however, I found them highly distracting. Then the writing goes back to being like it was in the beginning and not as intense with the amount of odd words being used. As a sucker for most thrillers, I like when a book pulls you in and can really give you the feeling that you're there. However, I found Crow's need to describe EVERYTHING annoying. I felt like each detail had five words to describe it and found myself just wanting to skim to obtain it over with. Crow did a amazing job with the ending and pulling me back in. I am glad I stuck with it and finished.I'm indifferent as to recommending this book.3 out of 5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guilty: A gripping psychological thriller that will have you hooked [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    Words can be damning and lies can be buried but can resurface.. I really liked the method this book ended. This book was one I couldn't seem to place down.. I love a book that makes me wish to know what happened to the characters, long after the latest page has been turned..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guilty: A gripping psychological thriller that will have you hooked [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    A story out of England. Interesting and well written. Not too much flowery descriptive items that clogs up the story. Like this writer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guilty: A gripping psychological thriller that will have you hooked [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    Well developed characters, overall an amazing read. My only complaint is with the present/past jumping method the author chose to tell the story- personally, I found myself confused a few times & frustrated w/ the tense..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guilty: A gripping psychological thriller that will have you hooked [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    It was ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guilty: A gripping psychological thriller that will have you hooked [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    In all honesty, to me this book started out really slow (yawn), however, I persevered and about a fourth of the method in it picked up speed and got very interesting. The plot is complex and well thought out with lots of twist and creativity. Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guilty: A gripping psychological thriller that will have you hooked [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    What a amazing story. I did not expect the method the book took off and enjoyed the a lot of twists and turns

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guilty: A gripping psychological thriller that will have you hooked [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    I liked the first part of the book with the missing teenage girl, but after the initial excitement and outcome of what happened, the book kind of drags. I did like the ending. Vengeance is sweet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guilty: A gripping psychological thriller that will have you hooked [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    Too A lot of PlotsSomewhat interesting in the beginning but then it seemed to meander off into several subplots with an unrealistic disappointing ending. I cannot endorse this book and don't think I will pursue the author's other endeavors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guilty: A gripping psychological thriller that will have you hooked [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    This is an awesome book that kept me intrigued from begin to finish. The characters and the plot created for a thoroughly interesting read. It was hard to place down. Laura Elliot is a fresh author for me and I will definitely read more of her books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guilty: A gripping psychological thriller that will have you hooked [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    This book was great. It was the first book that I have read from this particular author and I intend on reading extra books by her after reading this one. There were a lot of twists and turns and just when you thought you had it figured out, the author introduced another expected story line. I really liked that there was a lot going on and just when you thought the book was only about one story line, you are introduced to another.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Darkest Lies: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    I usually can figure out the end. But, not this time. This Book was full of suspense until the very end. Looking forward to reading more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Darkest Lies: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    Just finished this book! If you like mysteries be sure to read it. Yes it is long but keeps you wondering who! What next! Going to look at more books by this author

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl Last Seen: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    Read this for book club. Saw it didn't have a lot of reads yet, and was author's first novel, but reviews were really good, so started reading with a tinge of skepticism and a amazing dose of hope that I'd like it. Immediately drawn in. A small bit of a lag towards end of first third (or just because I got busy and was hard to have enough time to obtain back to it, but rest of book I wanted to hold reading... especially latest third. First-time author wrote a nice, dark psycho-thriller that has enough going on, you're not sure where it's going. I seldom give 1 or 5's to anything, esp books and movies, unless in totally blown away or disgusted by my waste of time I place into viewing or reading it. . so if you think a 4 means it's not worth your time... it's really a 4.5. ;)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl Last Seen: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    I absolutely could not place this book down! The suspense was agonizing and pulse-poundingly delicious all at the same time. I had to create myself slow down and really absorb every page, instead of skimming through the lines, quickly, so I could turn the next page. I was SO anxious to see what would happen next! If you love thrillers, as much as I do, this book should DEFINITELY be on your TBR list. I was expecting a lot out of this story, and I got ten times the amount of enjoyment over what I was looking for. What a REALLY GREAT READ!!!*I received a complimentary ARC of this book from NetGalley and Grand Central Publishing/Hachette Book Group in order to read and provide a voluntary, unbiased and honest review, should I choose to do so.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lie to Me: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-1-27 18:0

    No spoilers. Very entertaining read. The characters all had depth which created you care for the cirtances they found themselves in and those cirtances were truly believable. Looking forward to this author writing more in this genre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lie to Me: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-1-27 18:0

    Very amazing story line.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boy in the Park: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    Ok but story line seemed rather highly unlikely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Darkest Lies: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    I think Barbara did a fine job writing about a very sad storyline. I did correctly guess who the evil one was early on but that didn't ruin the story. I shed tears because the story touched my heart. Kudos Ms. Copperthwaite!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Darkest Lies: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    I couldn't out it down after getting 60%through it. It really picks up steam towards the end and does have several surprises. It was nice to read a book which I was unable to correctly surmise the ending, sort of. I enjoyed this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl Last Seen: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    I was midway through comfort-bingeing my favorite author when my copy of Girl Latest Seen arrived. I stopped to skim the first chapter to decide whether to place it at the top of my to-read pile or the bottom. In the first five pages it hijacked me so thoroughly that I didn't go back to my favorite author's book until three in the morning, three days later. Nina Laurin's voice as a young woman who survived a horrific ordeal is pitch-perfect, but it's not painful to live in her skin as she tries to stop what happened to her from event to another small girl. I was kept guessing until the very satisfying ending, and hope to see a lot more from this author SOON.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl Last Seen: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    This book opens with the escape of Ella Santos from her captor, who’s held the 13 year old for three years. We next meet her a decade later, where she lives in anonymity under a pseudonym (Lainey) assigned to her a lot of years earlier.We soon learn Ella was the kid of a fairly disinterested mother and it took a while for anyone to actually message that she’d gone missing after her mother was imprisoned. It created it hard therefore, for investigators to understand when and where she was taken. And given her family background and how small the 13 year old could share on her release about her masked captor, investigators perhaps looked less fervently than they might have otherwise ’s now ten years later and newly-missing Olivia is from a wealthy family and a globe away from the kid Ella was. There are similarities though (although for me drawing the link was a bit of a stretch other than the physical similarities between Olivia and Ella) so Lainey’s spidey senses are ere were a few surprises in this book – and they weren’t necessarily just the whodunnit kind. They actually helps link the two cases so it becomes obvious they’re somehow connected. We don’t learn a lot more about Lainey’s own kidnapping and time spent with her captor, but she finally confronts her past and it’s something she needs to do – not to mention heightening the intrigue for we readers.I actually liked that Laurin wasn’t tempted to have Lainey turn her life around completely and the young woman is obviously still struggling with her history. She works two jobs to create ends meet but is dependent on an array of pharmaceuticals to obtain her through the day. Her addiction only increases as she deals with the anxiety of police scrutiny and media milarly Olivia’s parents and detective Sean Ortiz are complex enough that we’re not sure we can completely trust them. It adds to the suspense, along with the unexpected revelations thrown in along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lie to Me: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-1-27 18:0

    Perfect read. Held your interest

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lie to Me: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-1-27 18:0

    Kept me reading nonstop. Enjoyed the book thoroughly. The ending was a bit twisted. Shows that not everything turns out ok. Some things do though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boy in the Park: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    This is an outstanding psychological thriller, but not the kind of story you usually associate with that description. Movingly told from several points of view, you need to stay with it until the end to realize the real horror of the abuse inflicted and the resulting effects on the person receiving the abuse. As a psych major and a former kid welfare worker, this story rang real for me in every way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boy in the Park: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    This was really a gripping read, I just had to see what is the not good boy's story. I couldn't wait to [email protected]#$%!, worth your time and effort I promise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lie to Me: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-1-27 18:0

    I enjoyed reading this book. I found the main hero a small abrasive but other than that, the twists and turns were well thought out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lie to Me: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-1-27 18:0

    This book kept me engrossed right until the end. Whilst I thought I knew what the ending was going to be in liked that even that took me by surprise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Darkest Lies: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    I found this book interesting throughout. I felt the main hero went a bit over the top in her actions/reactions. Also, it was a bit of a stretch to have such a conspiracy of so a lot of in a city so small. I thought three and a half stars would more accurately reflect my rating, but the book was entertaining to the end. I would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Darkest Lies: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    Another book I'd love to see hit the huge screen; I'm already casting it in my head. An e-book long enough to really engross the reader thoroughly. Full of twists and turns ... completely satisfying ending. Kudos Ms. Copperthwaite ... I'm off to download your remaining books on Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl Last Seen: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    Girl Latest Seen is such a special thriller. The story opens up with Laine Moreno (born Ella Santos but having changed her name after the horrible experiences she had under that name) sort of floating through life, trying not to create connections or long-term commitments but being happy with menial work that requires very small from her. She's been covering up her obvious PTSD with and alcohol, always keeping one eye on the door and the other on the missing children's posters, waiting for her abductor - who was never caught - to strike again. Then he does and Laine's life is irrevocably changed forever. While most of this is highlighted in the synopsis above what isn't created clear is just how twisty and tormented Laine's story is and just how painful a journey it will be before the reader turns that latest page. Laine is such a wonderfully complicated hero and unlike any other narrator I've come across before. So often with these sorts of thrillers it seems the victim/main hero is a middle-class (or higher) white woman who has an adequate amount of resources and help as she navigates whatever dangers her story presents. Not Laine. She's a young Hispanic woman who grew up not good and unloved by her mother, who's disappearance when she was kidnapped as a ten-year-old went unknown for some time because her mother had been arrested and no one was looking after her. Years later, when we meet Laine on the day she discovers Olivia Shaw has been kidnapped, she's living in a squalid apartment and making herself numb to all the buried damage and horror she has inside with , working two jobs just to pay for this sad small life. She's treated like dirt and, even worse, like some sort of criminal when the police come looking for her support in trying to search Olivia. Given the life she's had it's not surprising that Laine has problems with authority and lashes out at others, more often than not hurting herself in the process. She's a warrior and a survivor but also a very vulnerable person who needs understand and care as much as anything else. I absolutely loved her even when I sometimes wished I could shake her into not doing something stupid. I also loved how twisty the plot was and how so a lot of of these twists her sort of casually dropped within normal narration or dialogue to be picked up by the reader. I can't really go into any of the twists as it would ruin so much enjoyment, but I will say that, while I had an inkling for some of what was eventually revealed, the ending had me completely stumped. I absolutely love when that happens! I should warn those thinking about reading Girl Latest Seen that it can obtain quite gritty and dark. There are a lot of horrible things event to some of these characters, some of which involves children, and there is massive profanity throughout as well. This in no method bothered me during reading - to be honest I think it brought the story home and created it feel quite realistic given the story I was reading - but I do like to warn others as I know this bothers some reader a rl Latest Seen is a quick-paced psychological suspense/thriller with plenty of turns to hold even the most discerning fan of the genre entertained and guessing. It's not an simple story to envelop yourself in by any means, but it's a poignant one and one I think needs to be told. There are more women than I would care to venture a guess at who have experienced the kinds of horrors than Laine has but, given their poverty and background, haven't gotten the support or even understanding they deserved. I'm very interested to see what Nina Laurin writes next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl Last Seen: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    For those who love Gillian Flynn, but are frustrated with her taking nine years before releasing her follow up to Gone Girl, THIS is the writer you've been waiting for. Ms. Laurin is a master with bringing the flawed heroine come to e twists are new and terrific,the characters are gripping, and unlike Gillian Flynn, this author knows how to end a novel on the right note. (As much as I love Flynn, her endings are always questionable.) I cannot WAIT for Laurin's follow up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl Last Seen: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    This book actually created me sweat. Like, full on, I’m so scared right now, you’re messing with my head, type of sweat. And I loved it. I was recommending this all over social media and was so highly invested I didn’t wish to go to my weekly volleyball android game when things started getting realllll twisty towards the end. If you can handle a disturbing thriller, obtain this one, because it will stick with you. I will say if you can’t handle disturbing situations such as kid abuse, you need to avoid this one, because the ending gets extremely dark. Absolutely chilling, a book that will hold you up at night, and one I highly recommend if this is your genre.I received a review copy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lie to Me: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-1-27 18:0

    amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lie to Me: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-1-27 18:0

    This book was a amazing story I connected with the characters I could not place it down .I'd recommend this book highly keeps you guessing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lie to Me: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-1-27 18:0

    This book was a gripping page turner from the beginning they kept you on the edge of your seat until the very end.. the characters are so relatable, with a story line that you don't see coming.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Darkest Lies: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    I have seldom given five stars, but this is one of the most extraordinary psychological thrillers that I have ever e depth of the main characters thoughts and actions keeps the reader in a state of suspence. As both a mother and a teacher I could really identify with Beth's mothers love, grief and fortitude to get answers when the police were too slow. This was an perfect book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Darkest Lies: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    I just now finished this book. What a story this is. I could not read it quick enough. It had just the right balance of description and conversation. Throughout this novel I was so sure that it was this one, or no it's that one and yet all the while I kind of wondered if it was......now come on, you didn't think I would reveal that did you? This is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Darkest Lies: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    I couldn't place this book down, Thank-you for a amazing read, will definitely be looking for more of your work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl Last Seen: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    Check out the full review at Kritters RamblingsLaine is working two jobs and trying to help herself and it is revealed early on that she had a hard childhood with a major experience that forever changed who she was. While working one of her jobs, she sees a missing report, but this one seems various from the rest and pulls her in to figure out what happened to this girl.I loved the premise of this story and the first half worked so well for me, but somewhere half method thru I got lost and couldn't really obtain back into it. There was a huge thing about her past and what happened to her and how it happened that I just didn't obtain nor enjoy. I actually rolled my eyes and got frustrated with the book because I just didn't think it worked with the rest of the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Boy in the Park: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-3-30 18:0

    This is one of the best books I've read in a long time. The story is well organized and flows smoothly to a surprising ending. I look forward to reading more books by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lie to Me: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2018-1-27 18:0

    It was a captivating fast read. My smartphone is getting tempermental. I lose put when it goes off on me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Darkest Lies: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-16 18:0

    I enjoyed this book. It was rather slow in certain parts. I found myself skimming something's. Decent twist at the end but not brilliant. I would read extra books by the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl Last Seen: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    The description for this book is chilling. This is a dark psychological thriller with plenty of suspense, and I believe this will be one of the most talked about books this year. Nina Laurin has an perfect writing style and descriptive imagery that grabs you from the prologue and never lets go. She taps into the main characters thoughts and shares them as an internal narration throughout the book. The hero development is extensive and very well done. I believe this is Laurin's debut thriller, and I look forward to more reading more novels from e first huge plot twist that I didn't see coming comes about 10% into the book. Definitely an "oh boy" moment. As the book progresses, Lainey (Laine) gets pulled deep into the investigation of the current abduction. The detective on the current case was involved in Laine's abduction a decade before. She is naturally apprehensive about getting involved in the fresh case, and the detective also voices his concerns versus urin does an perfect job portraying Laine's internal struggles with her past, and her a lot of coping mechanisms to deal with her past and the show situation. A series of plot twists ensue that will hold you guessing, because nothing is as it seems. Laine scrambles to hold up and desperately tries to stay in front of the dangers around every corner. She soon comes to the startling realization that she's all alone again, and her desperation and determination intensifies. Before long her past and show worlds collide and crash down around her, and she must scramble to figure out a method to resolve things before it's too late. The conclusion is shocking and explosive.I hope this book will be adapted into a movie, but of course there is no method the film could match the caliber of the novel. I would recommend this book to fans of suspense and psychological thrillers. I received this as a free ARC from Grand Central Publishing on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Girl Last Seen: A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist [Book]  2017-11-25 18:0

    Girl Latest Seen is this author's debut novel and for her first book it was beautiful darn good. I can't wait to watch her grow because this book hit a lot of fears. Because of some of the topic matter it may be hard for people who are sensitive to such things to read. It didn't go into detail which I was very thankful for but it was created very clear what had happened. Knowing what had happened without a lot of of the info didn't lessen the horror but it did support hold the visuals out of my head.Once I started reading the book I didn't wish to place it down. I required to search out what and the who. The heroine wasn't the character they wanted but she was the one they required and the one she herself needed. It was a suspense for sure. The thriller part was that it played on my own private fears and they are legion when it comes to my children. But it also is full of hope and a war of a various kind. I just really liked this book. I can't wait to see what this author has in shop for us next. Her first book was a hit with me and I would recommend it to any who like suspenseful thrillers.**I was given a copy of this book by the publisher in hopes of my honest and fair review. I was never obligated to ever write this review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    I really enjoyed Sister Sister when I read it latest year. I was especially impressed by Ms Fortin's skill at creating, shall we say, interesting characters and providing them with a very well plotted storyline that kept me guessing right until the end. So to say I was quite looking forward to reading this would be a bit of an understatement. Although with all that in mind, I did approach the book with a modi of trepidation as my expectations were indeed quite ouldn't have worried really. This book matched my expectations nicely and, once again, left me with a very happy feeling at its conclusion; happy but also a wee bit in , it's Joanne's 40th birthday and she decides the occasion needs marked accordingly. So, she invites her three best mates - Carys, Zoe and Andrea - to spend the weekend with her at a mystery location. Sound like something that anyone would jump at. Well, you see things haven't been that tight between Joanne and her three mates recently. Could this weekend be the happening that brings them all back together, or with things go completely the other way? As the shenanigans begin, it appear evident that Joanne has an ulterior motive for calling them all together. But who is keeping the secret and what repercussions are about to befall our cast?Blooming heck... this book hit the ground running, literally at a rate of knots and didn't allow up until the very end, holding me powerlessly in its thrall continually throughout. Even though for half the time my impression on where the heck the author was taking me was completely various from where I actually went! So much so that I starter to question EVERYTHING. Every small thing, nothing was taken on face value. I really want I could qualify even just some of my gushing admiration but I tried and invariable it included tips at spoilers and that's a huge was quite an intense read for me. Not just because of the action packed nature of the storyline, but the characters really got under my skin. Even though I was at a loss about certain motivations and couldn't see through the lies and duplicity half the time, I just couldn't support getting a bit emotionally involved with certain characters.Honestly, I can't really express how impressed I was when finally all was revealed. It was worth all the confusion and wrong guesses I created along the way. Be warned though, be prepared to forgo all other responsibilities once you begin this book. Personally, I want someone had warned me as, once I has started reading, the times I spent away from the book just had me pining for when I could obtain back to it. Another one for the top five reads f the year thanks go to the Publisher and Netgalley for the possibility to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    The Birthday Girl is a novel full of secrets and lies, and it is one jaw-dropping read! I couldn’t place it down, finishing within a day, so desperate was I to know what happens next!Joanne is turning 40 and has decided to organise a weekend trip for herself and her girlfriends Andrea, Carys and Zoe. As with the best of us, things haven’t been as simple between them as they usually are and this is a possibility for them to obtain back the status quo. In order to hold it all a surprise, the other three only keep their invitations the day before departure so not only is it a surprise, it’s also unexpected. So off they set on a mystery trip …What kicks off as a celebratory weekend soon turns into something sinister with Joanne extracting revenge under the guise of ‘fun’. A series of happenings unfolds making all participants very uncomfortable and uneasy about what is going to happen next and this is the type of novel where you don’t wish to let your attention to be diverted in any method whatsoever – for fear of missing something! But no matter how attentive you are as a reader, believe me, there are surprises and shocks in is is an enticing read. Each chapter leads onto the next and it is very hard to place down. In between chapters there is narration by an unknown person – but who? At the end of the book, all the questions which have been spinning around in your head are answered – but probably not how you think. And don’t for one moment think it’s all wrapped up because the largest twist is on the very latest page . . .As a psychological thriller, this is up there with the very best and is a heart thumping, blood pumping read, and not one which you will easily forget. One latest observation: I, too, have a ‘big’ birthday on the horizon and if ANYONE invites me to a surprise weekend – I am not accepting!!I would like to extend my grateful thanks to publisher HarperImpulse for granting me an arc via NetGalley. This is my honest, original and unbiased review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    I read this intriguing story in a day. Four girlfriends go away to celebrate a birthday and right from the beginning we realise that things are not going to go well. There’s a mystery commentator whose italicised thoughts appear at regular intervals. We know this is the baddie. But which one of them is it (if it’s one of them at all)? Fortin kept me guessing who was behind the mayhem all the method through. Was the birthday girl out to damage them all? Or was one of the other girls responsible for the strange and risky goings-on that beset the weekend? A amazing read, fast-paced and different, with believable characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    Joanne invites her three best friends, Carys, Andrea and Zoe, to a mystery birthday weekend. Carys and Andrea aren't looking forward to the party as their relationship with Joanne hasn't been as amazing as it used to be for a while. For the sake of friendship they accept though, which is something they might deeply regret. Joanne feels wronged and she has a plan. Her weekend isn't about celebrating the bond she has with her friends, it's about exposing secrets. The four mates are in a remote cottage in the woods and have no means of communication. How will this weekend end?The Birthday Girl is a unbelievable gripping story. The relationship between Carys, Andrea, Zoe and Joanne is complex. Joanne excels at snide remarks, she's amazing at digging up info and she's on a mission. She also has the upper hand because her mates don't know what they can expect from their weekend away. That's an interesting idea for a story and I loved Sue Fortin's execution. The atmosphere is either heated or frosty and I couldn't wait to search out what would happen between the mates when the secrets would eventually come to light. Finding out what those secrets would be created me incredibly curious and kept me on the edge of my e Fortin tells a huge part of The Birthday Girl from Carys's point of view. She's an interesting multilayered person. Carys hasn't got an simple life and she struggles with problems at home. She has a complicated past and this makes her a fascinating main character. Carys has plenty of survival skills, which come in handy while spending a weekend outside. I loved how powerful and resilient she is and couldn't turn the pages quickly enough to explore more about her. Sue Fortin has created the four mates all very different. Andrea is outspoken, daring and loud, Zoe is bubbly and upbeat, and seems to be the least powerful of the group, and Joanne is haughty and proper. I loved this combination of characters and couldn't wait to see what Sue Fortin would have in shop for e Birthday Girl is thrilling, surprising and suspenseful. Sue Fortin knows how to build tension and the story is filled with unexpected twists and turns. I love stories about secrets and wasn't disappointed, Sue Fortin manages to come up with a huge number of amazing ones. Because The Birthday Girl is a story about friendship the relationships between the main characters are deep straight away. They're complex and nothing is entirely black or white. There's plenty of emotion, there's drama and there are a lot of spectacular complications. It all comes together in a terrific finale that chilled me to the bone. I highly recommend The Birthday Girl, it's an awesome story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    *Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*It’s actually Sue Fortin’s fault, I got into psychological thrillers. Her book Sister Sister is one of my fave books this year, so naturally I really wanted to read is story has a very mysterious start, which got me all excited and hooked. Carys, Zoe and Andrea obtain invitation for a weekend away from their mate Joanne. A lot of mystery is surrounding this letter and the women are not sure what to think. The weekend is full of surprises and one of the ladies is hiding a secret. It’s also clear that a lot is connected to their past. It was very interesting finding out more and more about their lives and their connections to each e book is full of twists and turns and lies add a lot to the tension as well. I was hooked from the begin and couldn’t place the book down. It’s a true page turner and very intense. You really don’t know in what direction it’s going and Sue Fortin’s writing is on point. Every detail is right and the storyline is so gripping.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    Four mates head to a country cottage to celebrate a fortieth birthday, what could be more ordinary? Well, the invitation is intriguing, the journey unusual and the invitees hide secrets, even from each other. A suspenseful few days follow, full of sinister happenings, simmering anger and settings so atmospheric you feel like the fifth guest.Written in the first person, Carys reveals the story, except for the insights into the mind of the antagonist. There are a lot of suspects, but the final revelation of the truth is more horrific than you first renaline, angst and adversity characterise this fast-paced story, making it an addictive read. The cleverly written roles of the key players, lead to a heart-stopping twist at the end, which makes you shudder.A classy psychological thriller with realistic characters and an insightful exploration of what happens to human emotions when pushed to their limits.I received a copy of this book from Harper Impulse via NetGalley in return for an honest review

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    I loved this book!!  It really gripped me and I didn't wish to stop reading until I reached the very end - it was very hard to place down! The pace was spot on and it slowly built up speed from the beginning.  I loved the build up as the partygoers went from destination to destination at the very outset so even the reader had no idea where  they were going to end up.  The characters were amazing and I loved how they worked so well together to create it such an enjoyable read!Twists and turns, shocks and suspense - I have given the book 5 stars and it is definitely a book I'm going to be recommending!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    When mates Carys, Zoe and Andrea are invited to join mate Joanne for a weekend of 'mysteries and surprises' to celebrate her fortieth birthday, small do they imagine what is in store. Certainly, a lot more than just cake and champagne. Right from the start, it is clear that the foursome share more than easy friendship, with dark secrets and betrayals at the heart of the story.I thought this book was well-written, gradually revealing its twists and turns, leaving the reader unsure of where it will lead. I didn't particularly warm to the female characters, but that didn't spoil my overall enjoyment and surprise at the ending. The descriptions of the different outdoor activities that form part of the weekend were detailed and convincing, and there are sufficient shock moments to ratchet up the tension. Thank you to Netgalley for allowing me to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Birthday Girl: The gripping new psychological thriller full of shocking twists and lies: 2 [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    The story is exciting, intense and leaves you unclear about what is actually being played until the end. While reading, you constantly change the potential offender. Even if you have a guess towards the end, you still remain in the dark for some time and puzzling in e reflection of the friendship of the four women is also interesting. Trust is changing in distrust. Secrets cause suspicions and conjectures. A family drama turns into a nightmare. Mates become enemies.I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Can't Sleep: The gripping psychological thriller that will keep you awake at night. []  2020-10-19 18:17

    I Can’t Sleep is an intriguing read that captured my attention with its mark line of, “I can’t sleep. Not since June 16th, 2018. Not since what happened…” This raised so a lot of questions in my head and I just had to know why! As a sufferer of insomnia myself, this title and story created it all the more appealing to e plot is fresh, special and is very compelling. J.E. Rowney does such a amazing job of really going deep into the main protagonists head and gives the reader a detailed acc of the trauma she has suffered. Although she is not a hero that I connected with initially, I was able to sympathise with her and her situation and she did grow on me towards the end.J.E. Rowney is a fresh author to me and one that I would like to read more from when I can. She has a very simple style which makes for a very smooth and fluid read. Her characters have been written well and are very well rounded and developed. The story has been expertly plotted, executed and with an outcome that I did not see coming, does create for a very enjoyable read.I Can’t Sleep is very gripping read. It is true page turner and at only 149 pages, will have you racing through them at lightening speed. It packs a strong punch and the tension and suspense that is built up along the way, makes this an edge of your seat psychological thriller. It was a pleasure to read and review I Can’t Sleep which I recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Can't Sleep: The gripping psychological thriller that will keep you awake at night. []  2020-10-19 18:17

    Amazing book that really makes you think. I thought I would just dip in and out of this one whilst reading other things, but I was very wrong - I couldn't place it down and finished it in one afternoon. It's one of those books where nothing really happens but everything happens all at the same time. On the surface it's a day to day story of a girl getting used to being at university after a number of not good things have happened to her, but underneath it's so much 'll definitely leave you a small bit unsure of what you think you know about the storyline. Rowney has written a really amazing book that explores a lot of complicated problems but inspires you to hold reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Can't Sleep: The gripping psychological thriller that will keep you awake at night. []  2020-10-19 18:17

    My favorite aspect of this book was the main character's voice. Becky is a classic unreliable narrator. As she told her story, I truly felt her anxiety, her frustration, the sense that her globe was closing in upon her. I didn't know whether to believe Becky or not. It was especially difficult because I wanted to believe her! She's a likable character, and I felt amazing sympathy for her. Even up until the latest pages, I still wasn't sure whether I could trust Becky's account. I absolutely love how the author kept me guessing! I definitely have my opinion now, but I won't spoil that ending!This honest review is based on a free advance copy from the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Can't Sleep: The gripping psychological thriller that will keep you awake at night. []  2020-10-19 18:17

    Rebecca can’t sleep. It’s been 2 years and every time she closes her eyes she sees his face. Her beloved brother, whom she loved more than anyone. One fatal night changed her life forever. Now at Uni away from home, she is hoping to obtain better. She feels like someone is watching her, in fact, she’s sure someone is stalking her... or is she imagining it because she can’t sleep. No one at uni knows her past. She doesn’t wish anyone to know is book held my attention, I kept wanting to know more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Can't Sleep: The gripping psychological thriller that will keep you awake at night. []  2020-10-19 18:17

    Rebecca (Becky) used to have no problem sleeping. However, she has had insomnia since June 16, 2018! Yet, Becky passed her A levels and went on to Wes University. This, to prove that what had caused the insomnia would not stop Becky from living her life. (Also that what did happen was not for naught.)At uni, Becky makes mates with Cally - who also lives in her dorm house. This is difficult because Becky does not wish to be "watched" - she wants to blend in...Having just given up on therapy (now 300 miles away from home) Becky still needs her meds. She goes to the uni physician who recommends counselling for the insomnia, but does write Becky a be truthful, Becky never has told anyone the whole real story of what really happened with Jordan. .Also, she has flashbacks having to do with Jordan, who is now dead. An Overall OK read. Amazing hero depictions...The reader is kept in suspense as to what really happened to Becky and Jordan...Many Thanks to BooksGoSocial and NetGalley for a possibility to read and review

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Can't Sleep: The gripping psychological thriller that will keep you awake at night. []  2020-10-19 18:17

    I won this book through a Goodreads giveaway. I went to read it on amazon. I could not even create myself download the book. All over the amazon page are the letters LGBT. LGBT right below the title. LGBT chosen by the author as all three genre categories. Nothing in the blurbs.I do not read political/liberal books, and I really did wish to read this book because the lack-of-sleep thriller appealed to me. I will not read it; I would not be able to stop thinking of the shroud of secrecy in in marketing it to Goodreads and its readers. This was a waste to draw my name as a champion -- someone else who would have read it could have won.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Can't Sleep: The gripping psychological thriller that will keep you awake at night. []  2020-10-19 18:17

    I read an ARC of this book on Kindle. I really wanted to like this book. I love the concept. Becky can't sleep because of the death of her brother. She blames herself. The opening of the book drew me in right away. But then... nine chapters of the same info over and over again. Becky can't sleep. She feels guilty. The author seems to be deliberately obfuscating by never telling us what happened to the brother until the final chapter. Nothing actually happens until Chapter 11.Having said that, this book is well-written. The language is clear and engaging, the settings are solid and simple to picture. I honestly think this could have been a amazing short story. As it is, it's just an okay novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Can't Sleep: The gripping psychological thriller that will keep you awake at night. []  2020-10-19 18:17

    I Can't Sleep by J. E. Rowney is a gripping psychological thriller. Becky's past is traumatic, which has caused her to have insomnia. She's tried everything to obtain some sleep. She goes away to college, hoping that things will obtain better. Instead, strange things start to e book has some creepy moments and hooks you from the start. It's a fast read but has you on the edge of your seat from begin to finish. The book clearly shows what people go through when they have chronic insomnia and how it creates stress on the mind and body. I Can't Sleep is a amazing read and one I would recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Can't Sleep: The gripping psychological thriller that will keep you awake at night. []  2020-10-19 18:17

    This book surprised the heck out of me! I'm not sure what I was expecting but not this. I mean that in the best method possible. This book is so gripping and digs deep into massive subjects like grief and mental cky Braithwaite a college student struggling with insomnia after a tragic accident a few years ago tries to pull away from her past's taunting grips on her life. As her insomnia gets worse and things begin pulling her tight grips on what is true and what isn't, Becky is faced with the choice on if she is okay with bringing up the past or allow it silence the plot unraveled it blurred the lines between reality and imagination. The method Rowney wrote this novel bringing us into the main character, Becky's mind was incredible. I did not see that ending coming at all, and that is saying a lot!Highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys psychological thrillers that leave you wanting more.I got a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Can't Sleep: The gripping psychological thriller that will keep you awake at night. []  2020-10-19 18:17

    Very interesting read!!! I am still not sure how I really feel about this book. I did have fun it and was very intrigued with the storyline. This book was very mysterious and had me guessing and in suspense until the end. I was able to read this book in 1 day. However, the ending has me somewhat confused on what actually happened. I honestly was not satisfied with how it ended. However, the ending was shocking but yet I am still somewhat confused. I honestly would never guess that this book would end the method it did. I honestly can not obtain this book out of my head.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother’s Secret: A gripping psychological thriller []  2020-2-4 1:40

    This book started out so amazing and I was getting into the characters and story -line when the Chapter Lydia was introduced. It took most of the book to figure out how all the characters were similar but that is what created the book such a amazing read. I thought I had everything figured out but was wrong. It was hard to place this book down. Amazing thing we have had several days of unending rain and I could spend a weekend reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother’s Secret: A gripping psychological thriller []  2020-2-4 1:40

    This story meanders along. There are so a lot of red herrings that it becomes irritating, especially since the culprit is fairly obvious from early in the story. Nevertheless, I kept reading until the limp conclusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother’s Secret: A gripping psychological thriller []  2020-2-4 1:40

    It gets a 5star, not for the story itself, but for the complication that was finally revealed. Who really killed the baby? Hmm. So we do search out. I did not like the compromise at the end as it could cause too a lot of risky future complications.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother’s Secret: A gripping psychological thriller []  2020-2-4 1:40

    Oh my gosh... I've cried for pages in a book... but to cry for chapters!!I don't know who or what I cried for the r heart is pulled hard, to the point you might consider you need an antacid for your stomach!At the half method of the story, I was sure who the villain could be. Yeah. Nope!I read this book in one tastic characters, all with flaws and reasons.I loved the repeated "draw the reader in" timing of shock and grief!So, for all of you readers of dark fiction, search your self a beverage and excuseyourself to a quiet place, begin this book, turn the page... and meet Lydia Slaughter!Evil has blonde hair and blue eyes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother’s Secret: A gripping psychological thriller []  2020-2-4 1:40

    I want this book had went on and on and on and on. This was SO good!!! It kept me on my toes that's for sure. I THOUGHT I had things figured out and then bam! Wrong! Another twist! Just amazing. If your looking for a GREAT book to hold your attention and hold you up at night...look no further...you have to read this you will love it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother’s Secret: A gripping psychological thriller []  2020-2-4 1:40

    Amazing psychological thriller. A mother who thinks she might be going crazy because she has lapses in memory; a kid who is emotionally, physically,and ly abused; and a dead kid are all woven together in a amazing novel. This is the author’s first attempt at a psychological thriller and she hits it on the head. Can’t wait to read more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother’s Secret: A gripping psychological thriller []  2020-2-4 1:40

    This is a "hold your breath" story. It leaves you with so a lot of questions about what is evil. Switching between show heartbreak and past horror, you will be caught up in the lives of Lydia and Maddie. It will haunt me for a while, but I'm glad I read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother’s Secret: A gripping psychological thriller []  2020-2-4 1:40

    Listened to audio ver and loved the narrator! Story line was great! Just when you think you figured it out, boom it was not right. Love mysteries like that. I hate when they are simple to figure out. It ruins the book for me. This was not like that. I couldn’t place it down. Wore my headphones everywhere I went so I could listen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother’s Secret: A gripping psychological thriller []  2020-2-4 1:40

    This story is different. It's the story of Maddie, her family, and secrets. Secrets that are deadly. I read it quickly, could not place it down. Some of the decisions at the end were questionable, but they created sense e author's writing style is good, and hero development is good. Her characters are likeable to a point, human and flawed. I think I've found a fresh author to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Mother’s Secret: A gripping psychological thriller []  2020-2-4 1:40

    You will be glad if you begin this book because it's a true page turner. Lots of intriguing twists and surprises. Meant sure of the ending until I had read the very latest word.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Roommates: A gripping, addictive, psychological thriller full of shocking twists from the Kindle top ten bestseller []  2019-12-21 18:31

    The Roommates is a book that is full of mystery and suspense that will have you hooked and reading well into the night. This book definitely keeps you on your toes and ends with a jaw dropping finale which I loved.Rachel has made a tightly woven, intriguing plot where four girls, Imogen (Imo for short), Amber, Phoenix and Tegan, are brought together sharing a flat as they attend their first year of university. Each girl couldn’t be more various from the other and each have a secret from their past that they bring with t in the university’s fresher’s week, Rachel wastes no time in throwing the girls together when one of them goes missing. When the girls mother informs the girls that she left to go travelling via a text message, doesn’t sit well with Imo and the mystery deepens when strange things begin event which makes Imo begin to question who is she really living though I did not really gel with any of the characters from the obtain go, Rachel has done a amazing job in bringing them to life. I really enjoyed how I was kept second guessing as to how this was all going to unfold and who was going to be responsible. As the story progresses each girl starts to unravel and secrets are revealed and you then obtain a better understanding as to why each one is the method they are through alternating chapters from each of their perspectives and by the end I did change my opinion on a couple of them.I enjoyed Rachel’s style and she does a amazing job in capturing the readers attention with special storytelling, descriptive and cohesive writing and she definitely knows her method around the psychological thriller genre, It was a pleasure to be able to read and review The Roommates which I highly ank-you to NetGalley, Harper Collins and Rachel Sargeant for allowing me to read an advanced copy of The Roommates which I have reviewed and voluntarily.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386