Read what makes a family reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all what makes a family reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes a Family []  2021-1-17 18:0

    I have read numerous books by Debbie Macomber and each one is excellent. I also attended a Zoom Webinar where she was the guest speaker. She is a fascinating , I intend to finish reading every book she has written!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Diff'rence a Day Makes! []  2020-7-26 22:17

    Some people actually complained that Ms. Washington should stick with the Blues,Gospel,Jazz and pop music! Booby, this is a ballad album and don't you dare be angry at this terrific artist especially with jazz musicians such as Kenny Burrell, a amazing arranger [who I had never heard before] using violins and backround chorus. I'ts Schmaltz but gorgeous schmaltz . Dinah always had attractive diction and a special voice, so much admired she was the icon for other talented vocalists-Esther Phillips and certainly Nancy Wilson! These kind of beautiful albums were often created , thank God, lovely albums What the Hell is this Lizzo, and Snoop Dawg who proudly proclaims he is called on to provide Soundtracks for videos featuring women twerking and being happily being gang raped! You can I'm OLD!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Diff'rence a Day Makes! []  2020-7-26 22:17

    The latest time I heard these songs was when I had the record album back in the 70s. Now I can hear these songs anytime I wish to. I recommend to any Dinah Washington fan.

    0  


    Add your opinion on what makes a family or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Diff'rence a Day Makes! []  2020-7-26 22:17

    Reminds me of my parents and my youth. Such a classic voice!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Diff'rence a Day Makes! []  2020-7-26 22:17

    She sings those standards in her own inimitable style and you just hold on listening and appreciating every moment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Diff'rence a Day Makes! []  2020-7-26 22:17

    I grew up on this music. I guess the holidays created me nostalgic and I thought of Dinah Washington, Sarah Vaughn, Count Basie and Joe is tracks are remastered and the cover and liner notes are from the original e moment I place this CD on I fell in love with the Queen singing "What A Difference A Day Makes."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Diff'rence a Day Makes! []  2020-7-26 22:17

    Dinah Washington was a amazing songstress. Her diction was perfect; her delivery was perfect; her choice of songs was perfect. I love the album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Diff'rence a Day Makes! []  2020-7-26 22:17

    This is an amazing collection of songs from Ms. Washington. She had a delivery and a cadence that was singular and it goes very well with for example, "It's Magic," and "Time after Time." Both of these are amazing. Then there is of course her signature hit, "What a Difference a Day Made," which is simply sublime. Ms. Washington possessed an ability to tell a story with her singing and I think that is what is rendered here in this particular album. (NOTE: I bought this through Amazon Prime melody and downloaded it onto my Kindle Fire HDX, and it sounds gorgeous! I recommend Amazon Prime Melody and also the kindle Fire HdX both are incredibly simple to use! Far easier to use than itunes!) Ms. Washington died too young--but she lives here in this unbelievable album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Diff'rence a Day Makes! []  2020-7-26 22:17

    Want this rating had more stars. She will always be the BEST and the songs are classics.I had an original LP years ago and wore it out so I'm satisfied to have this will love her and the songs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Diff'rence a Day Makes! []  2020-7-26 22:17

    amazing music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Diff'rence a Day Makes! []  2020-7-26 22:17

    Dinah is always good. However My favorite is the Emarcy double album called the Jazz Sides. Too a lot of violins on this release and too commercial for my taste. Just an opinion

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Not a Buddhist []  2020-1-6 18:44

    This book wasn't at all what I expected when I first flipped through it in the bookstore. A Christian book with a related title would be about how the reader is deficient in practicing Christianity. This book, however, is an outline of the foundations of Buddhism. It's premise is that the reader is not Buddhist because they lack the requisite belief system, not from any moral e author illustrates the fundamentals with biographical info of Siddhartha Gautama. He emphasizes Siddhartha's humanity before he became enlightened to support the reader better connect with the is purpose of this book isn't to create fresh Buddhists. It is not proselytizing to the reader. Also, upon further research, I am given to understand that the book doesn't represent a lot of necessary Buddhist concepts (like the Four Noble Truths). There are also some criticism of how the author translates some necessary concepts, which might mislead a reader. If you wish to convert to Buddhism, you will wish another book.If you wish an understanding of Buddhism, this is a amazing book. I feel like I better understand Buddhism and buddhists after reading this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Not a Buddhist []  2020-1-6 18:44

    I’m not sure the Title of this book represents the content very well, because the author doesn’t disclose the connection till the end of the book. That being said, the title did catch my attention and influenced my decision to purchase this book in a positive way, but I do believe the title is misleading.I looked at few reviews of this book, and I understand why some of the readers felt the concepts were too simplistic, but in some sense that is the beauty of the work. I’ve been studying Buddhism for years and part of my practice is to hold reading Buddhist literature to gain a various perspective on how others perceive the practice.Let’s face it; being able to understand and implement the concept of impermanence and emptiness is no little task, so any insights and clarity that helps us embrace these truths is welcome in my mind no matter how simplistic it seems to be.I would recommend this book and give it a rating of 3.5 to 4 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Not a Buddhist []  2020-1-6 18:44

    Title: What Makes You Not a : Dzongsar Jamyang KhyentsePublisher: Shambala Boston/London (2007).ISBN: 1-59030-406-3.130 e ideas of Buddhism were originally expressed long ago, and far away. The travels of time and culture have meant that the interested modern Westerner has had to sift through a dozens of myths that have developed over the years and through translations of uneven accuracy. This book attempts to explain what the critical ideas are, and are not. Mostly, the book is refreshingly clear. Given the ambitious goal of the book and the high quality of some of it, in a few locations it disappoints, in a method that requires dialog to meet its own standard of clarity - or perhaps even a revised edition. This reader found himself thinking "What is the true point here?" and "but wait . . . you said . . . " a few times too often to offer a five star endorsement. The central idea of the book is that being a Buddhist means that one's views on life are consistent with four key insights. These four are: impermanence of compounded entities, the equivalence of emotion and pain, lack of inherent existence for all phenomena (emptiness), and that enlightenment cannot be understood using ordinary ideas about time, space, and power. Mostly, the author succeeds, especially regarding impermanence and emptiness. The description of emotion seems simplistic and confusing. The ysis of enlightenment is bold and useful, though inherently limited by the need to use words to describe something that is beyond words. The author takes amazing care to address conventional, and often more superficial, indicators of Buddhism. These contain blind faith in miracles, sand mandalas, vegetarianism, and incense. It is the view that is expressed in these practices and traditions that is important, and mostly, the author stays with his thesis that it is the view that distinguishes a religion. These are necessary insights, as much of the culture finds religious traditions to be similar, or their distinctions to be without difference, because of common values such as compassion and morality. As these are subtle points, the book will bear re-reading, both for its subtlety of notice and for its challenging of conventional attitudes. The weakest section of the book is the chapter on emotion and pain. Much is said about how emotions can trap us in frustration, even when the experience is initially pleasurable. More could have been done to clarify the difference between having any feeling at all, any discernment of liking or disliking, and having the experience of pleasure, and the attachments that make suffering in the Buddhist context. The statement "all emotions are pain" seems simplistic and misleading compared to its parallel companions "all compounded things are impermanent", "all emotions are pain", "all things have no inherent existence", and "Nirvana is beyond concepts". This chapter seems to have most of the pieces of a coherent message, which are interesting and worthwhile to read, but its main notice would have benefitted from more attention. The strongest sections are the chapters on impermanence and emptiness. The reader in a hurry for insights about what is special to Buddhism could simply read these, although the introduction would also help. (The aspect of suffering in connection with clinging to emotions can probably be found in a dozens of self-help books.) These two chapters are brilliantly written, bringing home ideas that are both subtle and unconventional. The most distracting thing about the book is the author's frequent references to modernity and western culture as being no better (and perhaps worse) than traditional cultures in their preoccupations that cause, rather than relieve, suffering. These sections are needlessly confrontational and discursive without attempting balance. The author seems to vent. There seems to be some sort of sentimentality at work here, or resentment of the powers of modern states. Finally, his requirement not to "kill one insect" leaves the reader wondering "what about bacteria?" Should Buddhists toss their mouthwash and other antibiotics? And what about the use of insecticides to create the production of vegetables practical? Despite these gripes, I strongly recommend the book for its insights on impermanence and emptiness, and for its overall effort to demythologize Buddhism. We have here a valuable and brief, though at times confusing, tutorial to living.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Not a Buddhist []  2020-1-6 18:44

    This was a really amazing read. I'm just starting my own journey into Buddhism and I feel like this book did a amazing job giving me some fundamental, but important, ideas to work with. Examples were clear, app to a everyday practice felt like it was within reach, and overall I felt like this was a book that encouraged my curiosity and didn't leave me feeling like I'm not intelligent enough for all of this. Trust me, there are plenty of locations where Buddhism gets far off the rails and leaves me feeling like a er spaniel trying to work a nuclear reactor. The best I can do is tilt my head inquisitively and home someone will eventually pat me on the head.I'm probably going to need to read it a couple more times to grasp all of the material, but then I wish to go back and take it all in again. I'm not frustrated and trying to understand, I am grateful and eager to see what I may have missed the first time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Not a Buddhist []  2020-1-6 18:44

    I have read several books by the Dalai Lama that were geared at Westerners and were very high level reading. I was looking to obtain a bit of a deeper understanding about Buddhism and this book was exactly what I was looking for. I feel much better prepared to explain why I think I am a Buddhist now if it ever comes up. And I also feel better prepared to examine my every day experiences through a fresh method of thinking given the 4 seals that Buddhism is based upon. 1) All compound things are impermanent. 2) All things have no inherent existence. 3) All emotions are pain. 4) Nirvana is beyond concepts. I think this is what the author would have wanted me to take away from the read because it is repeated throughout the book with some unbelievable stories to support deliver these points.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Not a Buddhist []  2020-1-6 18:44

    Catchy name, but had a lot of factual inaccuracies when this religious person tried to talk about history, politics, or economics -- created much of his claims suspect. Also ran counter to much of what I knew about Buddhism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Not a Buddhist []  2020-1-6 18:44

    Extremely useful book for understanding the fundamentals of Buddhism. I'm not really sure I understood the title of the book though, except insofar as understanding that if you really have a deep comprehension of the four seals of Buddhism, it's probably likely that you won't lean Buddhist...? At least for most people. But I think Khyentse does a amazing job explaining why these seals are...well, beautiful indisputable. So for me, it left me feeling that my choice to practice Buddhism is a choice I really don't have much choice about. His language is true and very down to earth, even funny at times. Highly recommend this book for people looking to gain a deeper understanding of Buddhism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Not a Buddhist []  2020-1-6 18:44

    13-Sep-2012 I was a-trollin' for yet another book on Buddhism and came across What Makes You Not a Buddhist. Believing I know a small about the subject, I said to myself "Yo-ho! Contrast!" and promptly got a copy for my Kindle. Yabba dabba doo. This is a very well-written book. Because much of Buddhism can be apprehended only by quiet contemplation - I practice Soto Zen, myself - the author, Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse, has bitten off a beautiful large chaw. He has done a masterful job of presenting key themes in a very accessible method - possibly about as amazing as can be attained in text. One thing I really love about the book is how it is directed toward Americans and, to a lesser extent, Europeans. Buddhism is mostly alien to most Westerners; it evolved from Indian, Tibetan, Chinese, and Japanese cultures. Buddhism is inclusive - one can be a Buddhist and a practicing Christian - but does not proselytize. Dzongsar smoothly renders Buddhist concepts accessible and understandable through explanations and contrasts in short, non-preaching examples. The examples are created familiar by using well-known names and happenings from the 2000-2011 time period, an approach adding depth and humor. To some, "What Makes You Not a Buddhist" may become dated in perhaps 10 years or so, but the notice will remain clear. One Noa Jones is mentioned in the credits as having contributed to the readability by bringing a "new to Buddhism" perspective to the writing/editing process (it isn't clear which). She is to be congratulated - her contributions essentially turned an interesting book into a very fluid reading experience. I give "What Makes You Not a Buddhist" my highest recommendation.[Disclaimer: anyone seriously interested in Buddhism (particularly Zen) needs to search a teacher if possible. This book is a amazing introduction, but true clarity evolves when guided.]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Not a Buddhist []  2020-1-6 18:44

    I found this interesting, but it is best read and thought about a small at a time. More of a call to actually living the Buddha's ideas as apposed to just reading about them. It can be a bit of a massive read. Assuming the Buddha existed, of course. And if there is no self, then who wrote this? And who is reading it? Who will click "add to cart"?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Not a Buddhist []  2020-1-6 18:44

    Tibetan lama, filmmaker, and writer Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Rinpoche, also known as Khyentse Norbu, provides a clear and entertaining description of what it means to be a follower of Buddhism. Whether you are a follower or not, Khyentse Norbu's deep understanding of Western cultural idiosyncrasies and sense of humor create this book a thoroughly enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Duke Makes: School for Dukes []  2021-2-12 18:0

    I love Mari (rhymes with starry). She's this excellent blend of Mary Poppins and Anne Shirley, and I wish her to be my fresh best friend. Lenora Bell performs magic with every novel, and I love how she weaves elements from books and films in pop culture into her Regency romance setting. Bell said she drew on inspiration from Mary Poppins for What a Difference a Duke Makes and it's so fun finding the small pops of inspiration when you know what to look for. Some amazing examples are Mari's frothy white dress with the crimson sash that is reminiscent of Mary Poppins' iconic "jolly holiday" dress from the movie; Mari makes up a story about someone named Bert; the lawyer's name is Albert, the same as Mary Poppins' Uncle Albert (a coincidence? Not in a Lenora Bell novel!) There's a part in Albert Shadwell's office where Mari takes note of pattern on the carpet - urns with red and blue roses. I am certain this has some sort of meaning or connection to something, I'm not just bright enough to connect the dots. But if Bell place it there, I'm sure it means something!I haven't seen anything official that mentions a connection to Anne Shirley (of Anne of Green Gables fame) but I'm so sure Bell must have drawn on inspiration from this hero by L.M. Montgomery. In addition to her general appearance, Mari insists her name is Mari (with an "i") just like Anne (with an "e"), and she even makes a reference to "scope for the imagination" at one point. There are a few other clues in there as well, but I'll allow you search them for yourself.I'm in danger of this review becoming as long as the book itself, so I'll wrap it up. In addition to being (clearly) enamored of the leading lady, the other characters are also superb. I appreciate Banksford's drive and his desire to care for his family (as well as his confusion about to how to that love he feels). India is an awesome woman and I can't wait to read about her in the next book in this series. The twins, Adele and Michel, are precocious and so sweet, and I hope we obtain to see how they're getting on in later books in the series as well. I love Lenora Bell's writing style; the book is well-researched, feels authentic to the period (as far as I can tell as a reader who enjoys Regency romance and doesn't inspect them with a grimace through my quizzing glass), the plot is well thought out and pleasingly paced, and the dialogue is in turns witty and endearing. I am a large fan of Lenora Bell and this had beautiful high expectations for this book, and I was definitely not disappointed. Now I just need to wait (ever impatiently!) for the next book in the series, For the Duke's Eyes Only.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Duke Makes: School for Dukes []  2021-2-12 18:0

    What story! This is my first book and will not be the last, but how come I missed this author. The couple a orphan who passed as a governess to the a Duke children. The kids are rebellious running wild according with the former governess who run from them because they not accept disciplinary orders. Really I should give 5stars but the was graphic. I agree with a review that is a mix of the sound of melody and Mary poppies. I recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Duke Makes: School for Dukes []  2021-2-12 18:0

    Another charming and delightful book from Lenora Bell. I just love that her novels thus far are inspired by other works - I'm a sucker for retellings. What a Difference a Duke Makes is inspired by Mary Poppins and Jane Eyre. I loved all of the names in the book and enjoyed seeing how they referenced MP & usual, Lenora Bell had me laughing out loud the whole method through.***Lord Laxton lifted Lady Blanche into his arms. "Make way, create way. She’s fainted. She needs air.""She’s in a park," said Mari.***"Miss Perkins is my governess," the duke said."Aren’t you a bit old to have a governess, Your Grace?" asked Mr. Grafton with an admirably bland expression. Mari grinned at the engineer. She liked him already."My children’s governess," amended the duke.***There's really nothing I didn't have fun about this book. Both the heroine and character are smart, funny, and kind, the kids are adorable (kids can be annoying in a lot of books), and the secondary characters are developed just enough to add depth (and often humor) to the main story rather than distract from it.Lenora Bell is an auto-buy for me. If you're looking for lighthearted romances with lots of intelligent humor, I can't recommend her enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Duke Makes: School for Dukes []  2021-2-12 18:0

    What a Difference a Duke Makes is the first in the series of School of DukesI absolutely loved the story line of What a Difference a Duke Makes. It’s not your normal read of a Duke and a Governess. This was far superior of the ones I’ve read in the past. Duke of Banksford interviewed Mari for the Governess’s job for his unruly children. It was an immediately chemistry between Mari and Edgar. Edgar’s sister Lady India sensed it and helped Mari with the governess’s position.I am looking forward to Lady India and the Duke of Ravenwood story. They are archaeologist and very competitive.I highly recommend. Also, Lenora Bell and her other series “The Disgraceful Dukes”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Duke Makes: School for Dukes []  2021-2-12 18:0

    Bell's plot is a tribute to P.L. Travers: Mary e story is set in London.Edgar Rochester, the Duke of Banksford is at his wit's end. His rambunctious twins have driven off several ri Perkins has come to London with a dual purpose: to get a paid position, and to search out more about her ll carefully deals with employer/employee dynamic, while keeping the story's tone light and humorous.A fun romance for fans of Mary Poppins.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Duke Makes: School for Dukes []  2021-2-12 18:0

    I've been horribly depressed so I required some satisfied in my life, and boy did this book deliver.I laughed out loud three times in the first two chapters and barely stopped smiling the entire book... which I started yesterday evening and finished a small after 1:00 this morning (never mind my 6 am wake-up call for work).This book borrows liberally from Mary Poppins, complete with the parrot beak umbrella, a spoonful of sugary "medicine" to remedy homesickness in the children, precocious children, kite flying, a white gown with a red sash, and even the Duke's title BANKSford and Mari-rhymes-with-starry ere are more idioms and proverbs than you could imagine and yet they don't obtain tiresome - they're one of Mari's quirks and also a lovely method she and Edgar ere's also some very amazing chemistry between them and a unbelievable cast of secondary e conflict is very easily resolved and it's certainly not the deepest story ever written, but it's otherwise "practically excellent in every way". It's like a hug in book form.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Duke Makes: School for Dukes []  2021-2-12 18:0

    That’s a Duke defending a Lady, that’s what that is!! Amazing romance. Plain and simple. Two common folk that lead a not so uncommon life. The Duke is a tradesman. The Governess is an orphan. Both are emotionally damaged, but then again, how can they not be when they were abused as children. There is no cliffhanger and there is a very feel amazing and satisfying ending. This is definitely a book to obtain lost in for a few by Alexander Petrenko / I actually met Lenora Bell. I did! Scout’s honor and all that! Allow me tell you that she would totally fit in the era she loves to write. SHE belongs on the cover of the books she writes as she is as beautiful as any cover model, as kind as any of her heroines. She’s also an awesome historical writer.I bought her series The Disgraceful Dukes when I saw her in the Kansas Town Kisscon. Her next book in this School For Dukes series won’t be out until September 18, 2018, which will feature the sister of the character Duke from this book. Now, that’s going to be a blast because India is someone I would LOVE to have as a mate in true life.Ok, about this book. It was a amazing vacation to take on a attractive spring/summer day sitting outside in my lawn chair. Mari is a strong, independent 20 year old that has to create her method in the globe alone. She gets dumped on by the proprietor of the governess-for-hire service and gets her trunk stolen on the first day she’s in London. Her life kicks into overdrive after that. Chasing two youngsters who are feeling misplaced and unloved is quite a challenge, but Mari knows a thing or two about feeling misplaced and unloved.Edgar, Duke of Banksford, has had enough crap happen in his life to rival Mari, which makes them a excellent match. He doesn’t know what to do with children. Hell, he doesn’t even know what to do with himself. He’s trying so hard that he’s spinning his wheels. Then comes Mari.Everyone needs someone to share the poor things as well as the amazing things. Someone who knows the secrets and will hold them as well as defend them. These two are excellent matches, but sometimes it takes the boldness of the woman to take the first steps. Mari is the one that tugs the Duke along his path whether he wants to or not. She is his character and mine too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Duke Makes: School for Dukes []  2021-2-12 18:0

    Our hero, Edgar Rochester, Duke of Banksford is in need of support raising his nine year old twin children, Michel and Adele. Kids he didn't know about until their mother has died and requested their nurse-caretaker to now tell their father of their existence.Edgar's support arrives in the form of our heroine, Miss Mari (rhymes with starry) Perkins. Edgar wants to love and support his kids (who have come to him from the south of France), but he's also working on developing an efficient steam engine for both fire fighting, and railroad developments. These two parts of his life he finds challenging to meld ri has left the orphanage in which she lived, grew, and was educated to search both employment, and to seek answers to her real parentage. Mari is unbelievable with the children, and they come to deeply love her. She also helps the Duke understand his children, and how to interact with e Duke realizes that he loves Mari too. But Edgar doesn't wish to take advantage of Mari without being able to offer her love and security, and due to his own troubled childhood family life isn't sure he can do ere are so a lot of unbelievable scenes in this book: the interaction of the Duke and Mari, and the interactions of both of them with the children; the interactions of the household staff with both of the main characters and children; the Duke's sister, India, is a humorous and lovely hero in the story.I like this book, because although there is conflict it doesn't overwhelm the story. There are satisfied endings all over the story, and if you wish some happiness in a historical romance this is the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Duke Makes: School for Dukes []  2021-2-12 18:0

    First Date: We meet Miss Mari Perkins at one of her lowest moments. She has been bamboozled and arrives late to the employment agency where she has been promised a governess position. Her tardiness makes her lose the position. Fearing homelessness, she overhears another governess who wants nothing more to do with the Duke of Banksford’s heathen children. Mari seizes that info and heads to the Duke’s home. While, she may not be qualified by the ton’s standards she is determined to have that post. From her steely attitude to her first encounter with the Duke, I knew I was in for a cond Date: I loved how unconventional both Edgar, the Duke of Banksford and Mari were. From the onset they had terrific chemistry even if they vexed each other. Bell did a unbelievable job of sharing their histories and those of the @#$%!&? twins Edgar is raising. The story had everything from meddling staff and siblings, to forbidden moments. Secondary stories surrounding Banksford’s inventions and business to Mari’s quest for regarding her parentage I found myself fully invested in the outcome. The twins, a boy, and a girl added interest and brought the couple ird Date: While Edgar struggled with the employer/staff relationship, the staff and his sister did not. I loved the hero growth and inner turmoil. Outside forces provided the obstacles in this romance allowing me to delight in the developing romance. If you love your romances tied up in neat small bows, Bell delivers. While I felt some of it all click into put rather easily, I was more than satisfied to continue dancing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Duke Makes: School for Dukes []  2021-2-12 18:0

    Mari Perkins misses her appointment at Mrs. Trilby’s Agency for Superior Governesses thus losing a position she’d been promised. Finding herself near penniless, she overhears that a certain duke’s kids have sent yet another governess packing. Miss Perkins presents herself on the duke’s doorstep. She proceeds to become a most clever governess and soon has the kids in hand. The Duke of Banksford has recently learned that he is the father of twins resulting from an affair with a Parisian actress ten years earlier. The kids arrived at the duke’s residence after being abruptly plucked from their home in France after their mother’s death and sent to London; they are faced with a father who keeps his distance causing them to feel unloved and unwanted. They rebel and are most unruly. But Miss Perkins, herself an orphan, understands these kids and soon has them under control.Miss Perkins stands up to the duke on behalf of the kids even though her heart races every time she sees the wildly handsome duke. He notices Mari’s quiet beauty behind her assertiveness; and that that his kids are now behaving and are more pleasant to be around. As Mari draws the duke into the globe where she and his kids reside, can he resist the temptation she unwittingly provides? And how does Mr. Lumley, the venerable toy-maker, figure into the story?An enticing romp through London with plenty of twists to hold the reader engrossed in this splendid bit of romance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Understanding Attraction: What Makes A Woman Want You []  2020-2-2 5:24

    For men that wish to know what women want, and how to create them wish you, here is a guide. I’m an ugly dude, I admit it, but this book seemed to point me in a direction that none of my mates talked about. I used a few of the hints and got a positive response. There’s a certain confidence that the book teaches you, and if you just keep onto it, you will definitely gain success.If you can step away from the fear of rejection, you will be rewarded with a attractive result. I for one liked the presentation here. I didn’t search myself arguing with the advice, or trying to nitpick anything, because it’s written in a very sincere and straight forward way. Often times with these books it’s massive handed or it’s misguided, but not this one, it’s a fully realized tutorial for the rest of us.Take a shot at success with women with this tutorial and you very well may land a 10. I immediately got play with just a few tips. You can too, if you just give it a shot. Hey, what you’ve been doing may not be working, which is why this book is so enticing, and I recommend it. Give it a shot, see whom you end up with. It’s well worth the investment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Understanding Attraction: What Makes A Woman Want You []  2020-2-2 5:24

    This has got to be the best book I have ever seen on creating attraction! The things that supposedly create woman tick, but nobody actually talks about are all listed in this book. When your done reading this you will go from being a seduction hobbyist to a seduction scientist literally!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Understanding Attraction: What Makes A Woman Want You []  2020-2-2 5:24

    A amazing book to read if you wish to understand what things you say or do that will create a girl feel attraction for you. Totally maps out what things women are and aren't attracted to in men. I plan on changing a few things in my life thanks to this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Doesn't Kill You Makes You Awesome: A Memoir []  2020-1-29 6:7

    What doesn't slay you makes you amazing is a memoir about a lot of of our young females shows how no matter your life's situations and cirtances there is hope and success eat read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes a Hero: The Suprising Science of Selflessness []  2020-1-29 9:46

    This was book I read a small bit at a time as it it created me think. I felt it was a amazing book but a lot of information. I recommended to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes a Hero: The Suprising Science of Selflessness []  2020-1-29 9:46

    I don't read that much non fiction, but was compelled to buy this when I heard an interview with the author. Really interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Doesn't Kill You Makes You Awesome: A Memoir []  2020-1-29 6:7

    A very amazing read. We often look at an individual before us, but rarely think about the journey they had to endure to obtain there. The raw truth is laid out for all of us to see. Some of it joyous and some of it not so happy. So, buckle up and have fun the ride on her street to awesomeness!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes a Hero: The Suprising Science of Selflessness []  2020-1-29 9:46

    A comprehensive list of the top research questions, and the recent research. I'm sick of listening to psychologists cynically insist that altruism doesn't exist. here are real-time heroes. have fun it. be inspired. change how you interact with the globe around you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Understanding Attraction: What Makes A Woman Want You []  2020-2-2 5:24

    This book shows completely all the things that cause women to feel attraction for men. A lot of things i can change very easily and other things correlate with how i wish to change my life. Gives me the motivation to go for also helps you understand the globe a bit better from a womans eyes. I remember talking to girls and just mindlessly talking, not knowing what direction to go and what to talk about. This book will tell you which direction to go to focus on the things that will create her like you. It gives me more confidence when i know what things will create her more into commended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Understanding Attraction: What Makes A Woman Want You []  2020-2-2 5:24

    The author has given us a step by step street map to success in daily life, not just attracting women. First impressions are the key to opening doors that are shut to a lot of of us who know these principles but either forget or think they're not necessary or necessary. A refreshing approach to a successful life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Understanding Attraction: What Makes A Woman Want You []  2020-2-2 5:24

    Author tries to break down all components of attraction in a scientific way. Well, as much as he believes that he has done a amazing job-ysis he fails on a lot of parts. Reason being this is not a easy scientific experiment. First all his ysis doesnt consider ,if he does at all, a very necessary parameter and that is age. A 20 year old versus a 30 year for example. This is a very complicated topic to yse. For example, Charisma and confidence only, can obtain a man with no face, body looks or other pluses an abundance of hot women over the age of 30. I dont this is real for 20yrs old or so. Have seen it a lot of times, so to all of you that dont have the looks or body of Brad P dont even bother with getting all and everything right. Just concetrate on one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Doesn't Kill You Makes You Awesome: A Memoir []  2020-1-29 6:7

    Can’t wait to read this amazing book very awesome when someone can write a story of there true life .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes a Hero: The Suprising Science of Selflessness []  2020-1-29 9:46

    I read this book only because it talks about my quadriplegic mate who saved a life. Normally, I wouldn't read a book like this. However, I enjoyed the book. It was a small like reading a book for school at first...too much science. Then, I got in to it. I loved the various programs around the country that obtain people to be more like heroes. I loved her really getting to the role of playing hero. I found it fascinating.Did a more thorough view at [...]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes a Hero: The Suprising Science of Selflessness []  2020-1-29 9:46

    Elizabeth Svoboda's _What Makes a Hero?_ is a pleasant, fast read on a matter that science has only recently begun to explore. She begins by discussing the evolutionary roots of altruism and heroism--the two concepts being points on a sliding scale of selfless behaviour. Although self-sacrifice would seem to be a trait that would be "selected out", genetically speaking, Svoboda makes the case for the development of social animals favouring what would otherwise be counter to "survival of the fittest".The author goes on to relate a lot of examples of selfless behaviour; the case studies create for touching and compelling stories even as they support us understand the psychological and sociological aspects of ly, Svoboda concludes with some practical content on how we call can further cultivate selfless behaviour within ourselves--how to search the "hero" in each of us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes a Hero: The Suprising Science of Selflessness []  2020-1-29 9:46

    Some awesome insights.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Doesn't Kill You Makes You Awesome: A Memoir []  2020-1-29 6:7

    This was a amazing read! Helped me realize that we all have trials and tribulations but by the grace of God, we can all overcome! What an amazing inspirational read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes a Hero: The Suprising Science of Selflessness []  2020-1-29 9:46

    Perfect book covering the wide field of heroism. From genetics to socialization as well as the wide range of heroic behaviors. Elizabeth does a amazing job of taking scientific research (which can be quite complex and dull) and instead writing a very simple to read synopsis that remains engaging with its amazing pacing and tempo.If you are interested in what makes people act heroically, this is an perfect starting point. You will learn a lot of of the various theories and walk away with practical steps you can take as you journey along your heroic path and encourage others to do the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes a Hero: The Suprising Science of Selflessness []  2020-1-29 9:46

    This is a amazing book if you do not see yourself as a character you will when you complete this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Understanding Attraction: What Makes A Woman Want You []  2020-2-2 5:24

    The first thing anyone reading reviews of this book should do is ignore the reviews of any woman writing a review. Women normally say one thing and do the complete opposite (saying "I just wish a nice guy" while banging tatted-out dealers), so they won't agree with the tip in this book, even though the things Jack writes will actually work on raising a man's attractiveness to a woman. I know this partially because I have worked on a lot of of the very things Jack discusses in this book, and I have seen ample evidence that I'm now much more beautiful to women than I was before I embarked on my self-improvement sentially, this book is a amazing introduction to some primary "red " ideas on male attractiveness. While most of this information has been around a while and is available from a dozens of scattered sources on the internet, Jack does a amazing job collecting that information then boiling it down into a short, simple, and easily-digestible book. No, it's not a large tome (I read it in a single morning), but it doesn't need to be. Jack delivers the info in a concise enough manner that I found the length of the book to be perfectly appropriate. The writing style is matter-of-fact, which apparently one reviewer found dull, but I found it clear and pleasant to e most interesting part of the book, I thought, was how Jack breaks down a man's attractiveness using pie charts and percentages. I hadn't seen this information explained this method before. While one could quibble with his numbers and proportions, I think it's a very amazing method to explain to men how different things can raise and lower their level of attractiveness. Men prefer hard info to the "feels" that motivate women, so I think Jack is onto something with this way of explanation. I'm not really sure how he came to these exact percentages, unless I missed it in the book, but his numbers generally pass the sniff is book is an accessible introduction to the modern view of how a man can create himself beautiful to women, especially for men as yet unaware of the truth regarding female attraction. It doesn't really matter if a man is looking for one-nighters with the b party girls who comprise most of the young female population in America, or a long-term relationship with the comparatively rare respectable woman. The female attraction triggers are the same, and Jack lays them out in this book. In the end, this is really a book about male self-improvement, and continuous self-improvement is always a amazing thing for a commended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Understanding Attraction: What Makes A Woman Want You []  2020-2-2 5:24

    Nothing fresh in this book. He just reworded everything on all the android game blogs. You can obtain all this information else where. The only method it would be helpful is if you don't know anything and don't have time to look through all the blogs that are out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes a Hero: The Suprising Science of Selflessness []  2020-1-29 9:46

    Thank you for the time and effort of putting this book together. It's and interesting read - lots of meal for thought

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes a Hero: The Suprising Science of Selflessness []  2020-1-29 9:46

    Really clean and strong.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Understanding Attraction: What Makes A Woman Want You []  2020-2-2 5:24

    What I like about this book is that the author breaks down Attraction in a very structured way. I like how he covers all aspects in detail and step by step and that each time example are provided, so you can also understand WHY it works. There's a quiz at the end of the book that you can use to search your sticking points, this makes it simple to identify your priorities if you wish to improve.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Understanding Attraction: What Makes A Woman Want You []  2020-2-2 5:24

    However short, this book is definetly worth a read. Does a amazing job of breaking down the various factors which are influential in making a man beautiful to women.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Beautiful []  2020-1-1 18:18

    This lovely story with its beautifully easy illustrations by Mary Navarro captured my heart.I specially liked the method the author's loving notice is woven beautifully through the story: "No matter how beautiful or beautiful your outside might be, it's what's on the INSIDE that makes you beautiful."This notice is beautifully illuminated with some very funny touches that created me laugh, such as "Hmmmm... is it my FULL VOLUME MIDNIGHT BLACK FALSE EYELASHES" that create me beautiful?" :) Loved that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Beautiful []  2020-1-1 18:18

    Shelley's recent book has an perfect notice for today's youth. In this adorably wriitten and illustrated book Selley reminds kids and adults alike that what makes you attractive isn't on the outside. The attractive but easy illustrations even back this notice up. Excellent for a self esteem unit!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Beautiful []  2020-1-1 18:18

    I love the easy illustrations! This book is amazing because it focuses on the importance of what's on the inside rather than materialistic qualities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Beautiful []  2020-1-1 18:18

    “What Makes You Beautiful” by Sherry Selley is a well written and illustrated Children’s Book. The illustrations are eye-catching and the lesson is great! It isn’t what we wear on the outside, it is what is inside that makes us beautiful! Wear your smile with pride and present your attractive heart to the world! This would be a unbelievable bedtime book with a amazing notice for children to dream about!-Green Gables Book Reviews

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Beautiful []  2020-1-1 18:18

    This book is really cute, my daughter loved to guess what makes Elsie beautiful! It's such a nice small story and invites parents to talk to their children (especially daughters) about the difference between inner and outer beauty. The illustrations are excellent - easy but with a very lovely focus to one unique detail on every page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Beautiful []  2020-1-1 18:18

    The small girl in this book is told she is beautiful. She thinks it is because of the attractive things she has but ends up understanding it is because she is kind, good, helpful, intelligent and unbelievable on the e book is very engaging and fun. The story flows perfectly and is very e illustrations are very amazing at complementing the text. Very simple, well-made, expressive. I think they work perfectly for is book teaches a amazing notice about what is truly necessary – being amazing and is notice is especially necessary nowadays with all the focus given to the outside beauty.I strongly recommend this book to all kids!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Beautiful []  2020-1-1 18:18

    Unbelievable book. Easy illustrations and clear message. This book’s notice is what every person, young and old needs to have sink in. We so often think of beauty on the outside. We deny compliments from people because we don’t feel beauty on the outside when they are referring to our hearts. We need to recognize real beauty and teach it to our children.I am sharing this with my grand daughters today!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Beautiful []  2020-1-1 18:18

    Simplicity makes an necessary statement in this colourful book. The conversational exchange makes for a special delivery of the core notice that we all need to remember. What's inside does matter most!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Beautiful []  2020-1-1 18:18

    This is an adorable book but it is also powerful!Don’t allow the cute photos distract you from the much required notice within!As a mom with 5 kids, two of them girls, I know firsthand how necessary it is to convey this notice to them.Well written, fun, and impactful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes You Beautiful []  2020-1-1 18:18

    I like that the book has appealing yet relatively easy illustrations, as this goes and in hand with the overall notice that eschews primary external and materialistic reasons for liking or thinking highly of someone. This is a important notice for all kids and people these days. **Spoiler alert***The only thing I am confused by is why she got "mad" when it wasn't anything she was listing off. I could see being frustrated perhaps, which is maybe what the author intended to portray, but it comes across as more upset than that which I don't search beautiful. It is only my own opinion on this one point though and it shouldn't be a deal breaker for anyone who wants to share the book with their kids, maybe explaining that the girl is frustrated at that point. Overall a nice book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Mom Makes: The Indelible Imprint a Mom Leaves on Her Son's Life []  2020-1-25 10:23

    As a pastor, father, stepfather and husband I bought this book to see if I could learn how to create a difference in the lives of those that are a mom in the course of my family life and ministry.Once again, Kevin Leman, [email protected]#$%! the nail right on the head!Be aware that you will be challenged to look at the role of being a mom in a fresh and meaningful way. Every day I watch the impact of women on their sons and continue to be amazed at how unaware they are of their impact on one another.I think every mother from the day their son is born dream of what it will be like one day to see them as a man. What they often don't realize is the tremendous impact they have on the kind of man their son will be one day. Leman does a amazing job of outlining the impact that mothers have on their sons at the various stages of life.If you are wondering what you could do right now to shape a son into a man of your future daughter-in-laws dreams then there is something here for you. The mother plays a major role in shaping how her son treats others including their future wife, daughters, and other women in his a pastor I found this book very informative as a resource in working with mom's and they challenges they face on a day to day basis. I also found it helpful in working with men on the impact their mother has on them including the relationship they have with their wife.A amazing investment for your library!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Mom Makes: The Indelible Imprint a Mom Leaves on Her Son's Life []  2020-1-25 10:23

    Want I'd read this book years ago before I had my children! Incredible, insightful and inspiring!! I immediately started using the principles Dr. Leman suggests, and have seen an overnight change in my relationship with my 14 year old son! I'm even using the same things with my daughters and it works!! I've already told my grown daughter who has two young sons that she will be getting this book as soon as I'm finished reading it--every mother should have this book in her library. Cannot recommend it enough!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Mom Makes: The Indelible Imprint a Mom Leaves on Her Son's Life []  2020-1-25 10:23

    Wow! I was recommended this book by a mate and it is fabulous. Some things are common sense and some will be brand new. Literally used one of the sugesstions today and my son cleaned up all the toys in the play room without a fight. Such a amazing read and helpful in reminding parents that "you are not the only one going through these things". Well done Dr. Leman. Thank you for this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Mom Makes: The Indelible Imprint a Mom Leaves on Her Son's Life []  2020-1-25 10:23

    I'm going to begin getting the as a show for soon to be boy mom's, it had completely changed the method that I parent my toddler. I love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Mom Makes: The Indelible Imprint a Mom Leaves on Her Son's Life []  2020-1-25 10:23

    I grew up with a brother and male cousins; I raised two sons, so trust me, Ladies, when I tell you this book is "spot on." Guys can seem so weird at times, but Leman explains them all and makes it fun. You should buy this book just to have fun the stories in it.But you obtain a lot more than the stories, you obtain the equivalent of hours of counseling with the world's best family psychologist. What a bargain! As you work through the pages, Leman asks you to stop and think and write down your answers to his questions. Then he explains why you think and act as you do, and how that affects your parenting and influences your son.And all along the method Leman assures us that our sons care deeply about pleasing us (who woulda thought?) And we are large in their lives at every age: "When you begin your mouth, you keep your son's welfare in your hands."My sons are grown, and I used Leman's "reality discipline" while raising them. He has never given me poor advice, so I was satisfied to buy another Leman book. Even after 29 years of mothering sons, I still learned something. Buy this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Mom Makes: The Indelible Imprint a Mom Leaves on Her Son's Life []  2020-1-25 10:23

    I listen to this book in the vehicle every morning and it reinforces parenting decisions and gives so much insight into my small man's (and actually huge man's) brain and how to interact with him. A wealth of knowledge and clear instruction for unbelievable results. Kevin Leman is encouraging and firm by making the choice to discipline with love and clear guidance to create a strong, obedient, thoughtful young man.I had only one reluctant point, when he gives the tip to walk away from my toddler in public when he is throwing a fit and leave him in a crowd for him to realize Mommy is gonna leave me behind, there's no method I would do that. Not this day and age! But the point is well taken and I understand the concept completely! I just don't see that as safe. Kid trafficking is a bigger business than in our country. All the other tip though is just right on and with a twist on that particular tip I can utilize it with fervor. :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Mom Makes: The Indelible Imprint a Mom Leaves on Her Son's Life []  2020-1-25 10:23

    As a Christian, mom, and avid reader, I'm always looking for something fresh and mind-provoking to read. I purchased WHAT A DIFFERENCE A MOM MAKES after hearing Dr. Kevin Leman speak at our annual back to school teacher convocation. I am a firstborn and a mother to two. My oldest is a four year old small boy who has all the characteristics of the typical first born kid himself. WHAT A DIFFERENCE A MOM MAKES really lead me to think about what things are going through his mind when we are interacting. The book gave tip and discipline tactics for all ages and stages of development and was even more helpful with the private accounts from other moms utilizing these tactics throughout the book. I highly recommend all mothers of boys read this book and intend to refer to it throughout the coming years as my own son grows and changes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Mom Makes: The Indelible Imprint a Mom Leaves on Her Son's Life []  2020-1-25 10:23

    Wow. For me personally, this is one of the best books I could have read at this time in my life. I am a mom to two young boys. Because I don't have daughters and may not ever have daughters, I felt my role as a mom wasn't as necessary as that of my husband. How wrong I was. Dr. Leman explains clearly why moms matter in their sons' lives. I learned so much by reading it, such as how I should change my parenting style and what is accetable and unaccetable attitudes. The book is not too heavy, but had just enough depth to convict me on some things I need to work on. I also appreciate how Dr. Leman used his own experiences to expound on his points. Its nice to know that what I'm doing as a parent is not in vain. I highly recommend this book to moms and dads.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Mom Makes: The Indelible Imprint a Mom Leaves on Her Son's Life []  2020-1-25 10:23

    I required a refreshing as mom. My teen son and his younger brother really wear me down. I know I need to change, new perspective. This was just that. What it means to be momma bear to my boys. What they need and what matters most for them and for me. I feel like I have a fresh plan,a better method to start again. Love his candor as he writes, the shared testimonies, the clear and gentle truth. What we do does matter. Press on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What a Difference a Mom Makes: The Indelible Imprint a Mom Leaves on Her Son's Life []  2020-1-25 10:23

    Every mother of a son or sons should buy this book. It is well written and simple to read. You don't have to read the whole book at once but can read the chapter that applies to the age of your son. It helps you understand how your son is various and how he sees you. Unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    try what he says [pierce county superior court case search]  2020-8-24 0:10
    [email protected]

    maryland judicairy case find dorchester county online case find a replacement colorado judiciary case find find oscn net case find helpful tips marion county case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    what google did to me [york county civil case search]  2020-8-24 19:43
    [email protected]

    san diego county superior court case find obtain more click here to search out more henderson justice court case find king county court case find mo case net litigant find the this article

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    what percent indian are you []  2021-2-6 6:39

    Saito Tomayaki PLEASE DON'T READ THIS. YOU WILL BE KISSED ON THE NEAREST FRIDAY BY THE LOVE OF YOUR LIFE. NOW YOU'VE STARTED READING THIS DON'T STOP. THIS IS FREAKY. 1) Say your name 10 times 2) Say your moms name 5 times 3) Say your crushes name 3 times 4) PASTE THIS TO FOUR OTHER QUIZZES. IF YOU DO THIS YOUR CRUSH WILL KISS YOU ON THE NEAREST................ FRIDAY. BUT. IF YOU DON'T PASTE IT YOU WILL HAVE BAD LUCK. THEN YOU WILL HAVE VERY BAD LUCK . SEND THIS TO 5 QUIZZES IN 143 MINUTES. WHEN YOUR DONE PRESS F6 AND YOUR CRUSHES NAME WILL APPEAR IN BIG LETTERS ON THE SCREEN. THIS IS SO FREAKY BASICALLY IT WORKS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    what percent bi are you []  2021-2-6 6:40

    Saito Tomayaki PLEASE DON'T READ THIS. YOU WILL BE KISSED ON THE NEAREST FRIDAY BY THE LOVE OF YOUR LIFE. NOW YOU'VE STARTED READING THIS DON'T STOP. THIS IS FREAKY. 1) Say your name 10 times 2) Say your moms name 5 times 3) Say your crushes name 3 times 4) PASTE THIS TO FOUR OTHER QUIZZES. IF YOU DO THIS YOUR CRUSH WILL KISS YOU ON THE NEAREST................ FRIDAY. BUT. IF YOU DON'T PASTE IT YOU WILL HAVE BAD LUCK. THEN YOU WILL HAVE VERY BAD LUCK . SEND THIS TO 5 QUIZZES IN 143 MINUTES. WHEN YOUR DONE PRESS F6 AND YOUR CRUSHES NAME WILL APPEAR IN BIG LETTERS ON THE SCREEN. THIS IS SO FREAKY BASICALLY IT WORKS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes a Magnet? (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) []  2020-1-30 22:18

    What a amazing book to use when introducing kids to magnetism! It engages the kid right away to discover what is magnetic or not by gathering different common things at home. My 2nd grader enjoyed reading the book to me while also trying the experiments. I even learned a couple things about magnetism!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes a Magnet? (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) []  2020-1-30 22:18

    This book is excellent if all you wish to talk is about magnets.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes a Magnet? (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) []  2020-1-30 22:18

    I required a book about magnets for my preschool class and thought this book may be over their head but bought it anyway. It ended up being a amazing book and very simple for my class to understand. I would recommend it for preschool through 2nd grade.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Doesn't Kill You Makes You Blacker: A Memoir in Essays []  2020-1-19 20:4

    It was hilarious! And dangerously insightful. I felt that he captured the dimensions of Blackness in a modern context that was both compelling and thoughtful. He had me thinking, laughing, and reflecting all at the same time. A brilliant writer with a straight shooter disposition that was necessary. His style would be considered dangerous for some but it really worked for him. And his content is unlike anything I’ve seen. Like a modern day James Baldwin, he takes you into the psyche, spirit, and physical nature of blackness without leaving economics, sociology, politics, love, and humanity out of the conversation. It was a amazing read. A bit wordy and lengthy in some parts but amazing altogether.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Character Makes a Difference: Where I'm From, Where I've Been, and What I Believe []  2020-7-20 19:15

    It amazes me to think that latest year I knew small to nothing about the former Governor of Arkansas. Then out of nowhere he steps onto the political stage to endear us with his thoughts. His stories are full of cheer and heartwarming considerations applicable to all of us. My first thoughts about buying his book was that he would be another political cheat related to others we have grown to know and yes even elect. These words are from a man who has far more depth than I would have thought. You might describe him in several various ways but one word that stands out above all the others is Character. He has it in abundance. I'll permit your reading his words first and see if you feel the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Character Makes a Difference: Where I'm From, Where I've Been, and What I Believe []  2020-7-20 19:15

    Too a lot of "f '"words

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tell-Tale Brain: A Neuroscientist's Quest for What Makes Us Human []  2020-3-31 19:4

    A fascinating book about distortions in parts of the brain and how the effect in cognitive distortions. studying such cases can teach us a lot about how the normal brain works, how we understand what we understand, how we use our language, the role of language, metaphors, puns, humor, socialization, feel of agency, arts and aesthetics, in the method the brain works e author mainly speaks about his own research, but his own research is amazing enough for this interesting ere are also lots of examples of brilliant ideas on how to respond questions in research.While I really enjoyed this book, there are a few caveats:a. The author claims that he planned this book also for non-scientists. While formally this is true, the rate in which he invokes fresh terminology and uses it, might cause an overload and be overwhelming for anyone with no or small prior knowledge.b. A considerable part of the book is about assumptions by the author. This, by itself is fine, but at times it was disappointing for me to see him starts a subject which is of amazing interest for me, just in order to offer a rough speculation and move on.c. At times he seems to underestimate the contribution of others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tell-Tale Brain: A Neuroscientist's Quest for What Makes Us Human []  2020-3-31 19:4

    This was an awesome book full of fascinating studies. It was written in a method that created it incredibly simple to read, even if you don't know much about the brain. In the book Dr. Ramachandran spoke about a lot of interesting quirks in the brain, such as phantom limbs and synesthesia. He got really deep into not only the hard science but also a lot of philosophical questions about what makes us human, what makes us so various from other animals. Overall, the book was a page turner and a captivating read, while still being full of information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    D is for Diversity: Celebrating What Makes Us Special from A to Z []  2020-9-23 18:57

    This was a fun, interesting, and well-illustrated children's book with a amazing notice that all kids need to hear. Well done. Recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    D is for Diversity: Celebrating What Makes Us Special from A to Z []  2020-9-23 18:57

    "D is for Diversity" is a fun, straight forward method to teach our kids about the various cultures, ethnicities, and general differences between people we interact with in our everyday lives. The illustrations are engaging, and the content comes off as informative and unforced.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    D is for Diversity: Celebrating What Makes Us Special from A to Z []  2020-9-23 18:57

    A very cute, colorful, well-illustrated children’s book with a creative method to teach the letters of the alphabet while teaching respect and diversity in the process. As an adult I even learned some fresh words, definitions and cultural norms I did not previously know. My grandkids who are just learning how to read are going to love this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sociopaths and Psychopaths: A Crisis of Conscience and Empathy (What Makes Them Tick Book 1) []  2020-12-5 20:37

    I am a retired social worker and found this book to be well written and a amazing reminder of some primary ideas. It was fun to read and full of info I found myself learning some fresh things. We need more books like this for the public to read. I wish one of attachment issue next.. my sister is a psychopath and scammed a lot of therapy as well as runed allot of lives including those of her children. maybe more thoughts on what you do if you are forced to live with these people to protect yourself. over all a amazing book..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inclusion in the Early Childhood Classroom: What Makes a Difference? (Early Childhood Education) []  2021-2-16 19:59

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Makes a Magnet? (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 2) []  2020-1-30 22:18

    Branley has helped educate my grandson (4 yrs old) about so a lot of every day scientific subjects in such a manner that my grandson keeps wanting yet another book. I have bought him nearly every one that has been published. The illustrations are marvelous. My grandson started reading to first grade classes at the age of 4 and I credit Branley's work for being a stimulus. Branley's work engages the kids with words found in their language. The flow of material readily helps them see/relate to the topics. My grandson, now 5, is at scene 2 so the stories are a bit more complex but the challenge is healthy for him and he gets excited by it. Amazing author with a very impressive resume and his illustrator really brings it all together for the children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tell-Tale Brain: A Neuroscientist's Quest for What Makes Us Human []  2020-3-31 19:4

    The Tell-Tale Brain: A Neuroscientist's Quest for What Makes Us Human by V.S. Ramachandran"The Tell-Tale Brain" is an insightful look into the intriguing globe of neuroscience and what makes us uniquely human. Accomplished neuroscientist and author of "Phantoms in the Brain: Probing the Mysteries of the Human Mind" takes the reader on a ride of his life's work inside the connections between brain, mind and body. Using an approach that involves studying patients with damaged parts of their brains that lead to peculiar behavior; Dr. Ramachandran shares what he has learned from countless examples of brain disorders. This enlightening 384-page book is composed of the following nine chapters: antom Limbs and Plastic Brains, 2. Seeing and Knowing, 3. Loud Colors and Hot Babes: Synesthesia, 4. The Neurons that Shaped Civilization, 5. Where Is Steven? The Riddle of Autism, 6. The Power of Babble: The Evolution of Language, 7. Beauty and the Brain: The Emergence of Aesthetics, 8. The Artful Brain: Universal Laws, and 9. An Ape with a Soul: How Introspection Evolved.Positives:1. Engaging writing style and amazing insights into neuroscience at an accessible level.2. The fascinating globe of neuroscience through private case studies.3. Amazing use of charts and diagrams.4. Thought-provoking questions and answers based on a combination of sound science and educated speculation.5. The author is candid on the limited knowledge we have in this young field but provides countless tidbits that whets ones appetite for more research.6. A lot of thought-provoking ideas, "When informed that their conscious self emerges `simply' from the mindless agitations of atoms and molecules in their brains, people often feel allow down, but they shouldn't."7. The brain's awesome capacity for change (plasticity). How culture and evolution provided the impetus for change.8. What makes the human brain truly unique; a look at how the brain processes visual information. Amazing Stuff!9. A lot of amazing case studies; one of the most intriguing, synesthesia.10. Mirror neurons at the heart of empathy. An evolutionary key to full-fledged culture.11. Interesting insights into autism.12. Explores how mirror neurons may have played a pivotal role in the development of language.13. The brain's response to beauty and art. The author speculates on the chance of true art (aesthetics). The nine laws of aesthetics.14. The nature of self-awareness. Consciousness. The seven aspects of the self.15. A look at disorders that make a sense of embodiment.16. An interesting spectrum of mental disorders. Cotard and Capgras syndromes to name a few.17. An perfect glossary of terms.18. Links to notes and a formal gatives:1. Some of the attempts of humor fell flat. I would advise a neuroscientist to stay away from political and any type of humor that can be misconstrued as ist.2. The author gives the impression of reading his own press (egotistic). Honestly, it doesn't bother me too much but I can see it being annoying to others.3. A primary refresher on evolution and how it relates to the brain would have added value to the book.4. For the sake of clarity, scientists need to be clear on what the current scientific consensus is. There are times when the author tells you when he is speculating but there are also times when I'm not clear what the current scientific consensus is and it needs to be clearly pointed summary, I really enjoyed this book. Dr. Ramachandran's writing style and fascinating subject makes for a fun even though his overinflated ego can be distracting. That being said, neuroscience is a fascinating field and the author presents a lot of interesting case studies to light on what makes our brains exceptional and thus human. A young field in the quest for answers, I highly recommend it!Further suggestions: "Subliminal" by Leonard Mlodinow, "The Believing Brain: From Ghosts and Gods to Politics and Conspiracies---How We Construct Beliefs and Reinforce Them as Truths" by Michael Shermer, "The Scientific American Brave Fresh Brain: How Neuroscience, Brain-Machine Interfaces, Neuroimaging, Psychopharmacology, Epigenetics, the Internet, and ... and Enhancing the Future of Mental Power" by Judith Horstman, "The Blank Slate: The Modern Denial of Human Nature" by Steven Pinker, "Who's in Charge?: Free Will and the Science of the Brain" and "Human: The Science Behind What Makes Us Unique", by Michael S. Gazzaniga, "Hardwired Behavior: What Neuroscience Reveals about Morality 1st Edition by Tancredi, Laurence published by Cambridge University Press Paperback" by Laurence Tancredi, "Braintrust: What Neuroscience Tells Us about Morality [ BRAINTRUST: WHAT NEUROSCIENCE TELLS US ABOUT MORALITY BY Churchland, Patricia S. ( Author ) Aug-26-2012" by Patricia S. Churchland, "Paranormality" by Richard Wiseman, and "The Brain and the Meaning of Life" by Paul Thagard.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Tell-Tale Brain: A Neuroscientist's Quest for What Makes Us Human []  2020-3-31 19:4

    If you are interested in science, and yet you know small about neuroscience, read this book. All I can say is WOW, this is extremely fascinating. Yes, this just barely skims the surface, but it makes you wish to work in this field. And don't be intimidated, this is written for lay people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Doesn't Kill You Makes You Blacker: A Memoir in Essays []  2020-1-19 20:4

    Raised in Penn Hills by educators, I’ve always known we must help our local authors. Having been introduced to Mr. Young in Friday’s NYTimes (he gives amazing interview), I received his memoir today. After a single chapter, East Liberty Kutz, be assured this man can write. I’d swear this was a work of fiction if it didn’t ring so true. Now ordering 2 more copies for my brother and sister and another for the library @ Linton.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Doesn't Kill You Makes You Blacker: A Memoir in Essays []  2020-1-19 20:4

    Damon Young is one of America's star bloggers with his Very Intelligent Brothas, which Young co-edits with Panama Jackson. Their blog is now housed over at the Root, if you wish to check out their insightful and frequently hilarious observations of life in America while Black. Young's memoir, What Doesn't Slay You Makes You Blacker, is hilarious in spots but the bulk of the book is a serious reflection on Young's life. For a white person, this book is a must read but I warn you it is not for the faint of heart or for anyone who suffers from white fragility. Young is an perfect "spiritual" tutorial if you view racial reconciliation work as spiritual warfare, which I do. Nun Katherine Weston, a member of the Eastern Orthodox Church and the Brotherhood of St. Moses, speaks of the courage it takes to embark on such a spiritual fight. Mr. Young possesses enormous courage and his readers will need courage as well to finish this book. One of the major teachings of Jesus is the importance of bearing witness and that is what I would encourage all white readers of Mr. Young's memoir to do--bear witness. Listen. Don't obtain defensive, don't argue, don't stop reading. Bear witness. Young's writings remind me of another strong Black writer who recently passed away--Professor Julius Lester. Lester was a freedom rider in the Civil Rights movement and he used his remarkable talents both as a blues musician and a writer to bare his soul as Young does. Lester's first book was Look Out, Whitey! Black Power’s Gonna’ Obtain Your Mama. Lester's early writings are as brutally honest and emotionally charged as Young's are today. Lester, as he aged, grew in his faith and tempered his observations with the wisdom of a spiritual leader. My hope is that Mr. Young continues his fine writing and never loses his sense of humor or his sense of outrage. Lastly, my sincerest hope is that Mr. Young can age as Julius Lester did and never lose hope. Please read this book with an begin powerful heart and listen carefully to the price of 400 years of oppression on a amazing man's soul.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Character Makes a Difference: Where I'm From, Where I've Been, and What I Believe []  2020-7-20 19:15

    absolutely love this book. u explain things even the youngest can understand and apply daily. thank you for ur choosing to be a Godly politition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    D is for Diversity: Celebrating What Makes Us Special from A to Z []  2020-9-23 18:57

    Super cool! I found myself in the book - "O is for old." Odds are you will search yourself in this book, too. Amazing book for introducing the subject of diversity with children and helping parents "have that talk." Well done! My only ding was "C is for Christian." The author suggest God sent Jesus to teach us how to love one another. Actually God sent his one and only son to die for us so that we would not perish due to our sins. Jesus is the greatest example of love there is, but if we love others and die in our sins we will miss out on God's love for all eternity. Except for that, amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sociopaths and Psychopaths: A Crisis of Conscience and Empathy (What Makes Them Tick Book 1) []  2020-12-5 20:37

    I enjoyed this short book. The info it contained was interesting, and I do like his light hearted manner of sharing the information. The book could have shared more indepth information, but for a short book it did very well. I learned to pay attention to the ‘mirroring’ thing in groups, and see who does what.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386