Read when it rains it pours reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all when it rains it pours reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Rains It Pours [Explicit] []  2020-6-25 19:21

    I love this song! What a nice voice...Luke!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Rains It Pours [Explicit] []  2020-6-25 19:21

    Love this song. Amazing story fun amazing upbeat. Excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Rains It Pours [Explicit] []  2020-6-25 19:21

    It's a fun song! Especially like the "ex-future-mother-in-law" LOL

    0  


    Add your opinion on when it rains it pours or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Rains It Pours [Explicit] []  2020-6-25 19:21

    :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Rains It Pours [Explicit] []  2020-6-25 19:21

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Rains It Pours [Explicit] []  2020-6-25 19:21

    I love this song. Cracks me up each time...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Rains It Pours [Explicit] []  2020-6-25 19:21

    Talk about luck! This is a fun song with a amazing lyric. I should be so lucky!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Rains It Pours [Explicit] []  2020-6-25 19:21

    An upbeat, positive view of life, focusing on the positives in life...The total opposite of our standard VIEW of our every day life scenario of "when it rains, it pours"Makes me satisfied to hear a positive funny, yet true life country song (well, country songs ARE usually about true life but you know what I mean)I LOVE THIS SONG!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Rains It Pours [Explicit] []  2020-6-25 19:21

    Luke combs rocks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Rains It Pours [Explicit] []  2020-6-25 19:21

    Amazing song

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Like It When It Rains []  2020-1-16 23:23

    The thirteen tracks listed in Amazon's entry for "I Like It When It Rains" matches what was originally printed on the back liner notes for the recording. However, on the copy I received through a second-party Amazon seller, tracks six through eight in the liner notes have been taped out, leaving a total of only 10 tracks. The tracks listed on the disc itself confirm this total:1. Ridin With Ronnie2. Linda3. Midnite Clothes4. Mutcika5. I Like It When It Rains6. Walkin and Cryin7. Down on Guadalupe8. Anna Lee9. Sittin on Top of the World10. Blues for Jimmie and Jessie

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Like It When It Rains []  2020-1-16 23:23

    I have ten songs on mine, total of 40 min. Mostly slow blues, one Russian or Gypsy flavored tune ("Mutchika"), and a deeply felt, dark toned cover of the Mississippi Sheiks (best known as by Howlin' Wolf) "Sittin On Top Of The World". Title song is related to "Sitting" as well. Of course, all instrumentals, mostly electric slide guitar features-which has always been Ronnie's forte. "Down On Guadalupe" has a jazzy Robert Lockwood feel, and "Ridin' With Ronnie" is quick 50's rock & roll with piano sharing the lead with Earl. Nice but brief disc, evidently kinda rare. Recorded in 1990.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Like It When It Rains []  2020-1-16 23:23

    Obtain back to Ronnie's Roots with this one! I am grateful to the amazing people who were there to document Ronnie's Rising Star! Dig Deep and have fun this early feast for your ears.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Like It When It Rains []  2020-1-16 23:23

    Amazing older Ronnie Earl album. The songs are not quite as long as on other Ronnie recordings, but that's just a pet peave of mine. The more Ronnie the better. The backing group of musicians is very amazing here providing Ronnie quality backing. One of my favorite covers on this recording "Sittin' On Top Of The World" is a beautiful amazing version, although I still prefer Cream's rendition. Overall a decent effort by Ronnie and the guys.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Like It When It Rains []  2020-1-16 23:23

    i didn't think this ronnie was as amazing as some of the black top items - deep blues, soul searchin', peace of mind - it is still ronnie earl. he carries the title of guitar virtuoso, and deservedly so. any ronnie earl disc is worth owning, this one included.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    Brilliant novel from an adventurous investor polo player with a mission: revolutionizing the Egyptian rent-controlled true estate market. His motto is "buy when there's blood on the streets, even if the blood is your own". In his candid style Stocker describes every day life in Cairo, as well as the immense economic challenges Egypt is facing post-uprising. Faced with dire economic prospects, he eventually closed in 2012, after five years, and wondered: "was it better to build a business offering salutary benefits that, in the long run, would enhance Egyptians' lives? Or was it better to withdraw from all economic endeavors to signal objection to the government's human rights abuses". Another one worth noting: "Prior to January 2011 tourists were introduced to looming photos of President Hosni Mubarak. I specifically remember one of him in a business suit and dark sunglasses surrounded by military leaders. What was it about autocrats and sunglasses?" ;-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    This book was excellent for me on several levels. The business and political insight about Egypt is useful because I am involved in "developing country" investments. And, the narrative was well organized and well written: a entertaining story with often-humorous anecdotes.I agree with the author that countries should move from central planning to markets to improve living standards for everyone. Therefore, I appreciated the well-thought-out ways in which the author argued this.And, I believe American businesspeople preparing to do business in the more chaotic parts of the globe are wise to read-up on the experiences of others who have already done that.I highly recommend this book!John Christmas, author of "Democracy Society"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    Reading Marshall Stocker's book is like reading history in the making! With all that has gone on in Egypt the past few years - and continues to go on - you need a solid perspective of the players, the culture and the politics to fully understand what is happening, and Stocker provides that in this book. He sets out to tell the story of his true estate venture and ends up telling a much larger story. Fascinating, full of amazing insight, and often humorous, this book was a pleasure to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    An awesome book that an insightful view into a culture that is remarkably various from the United States. Also insight into the difficulties westerners experience trying to begin a business venture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    Not my usual read, but a compelling look at history in the making in Egypt! Marshall writes his thoughts and experiences and paints a vivid look at modern day business and life in Egypt!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    Disclaimer: I told Marshall to write this book because whenever we met in Cairo he would have the best stories to tell — and characters and crazy currency rumours — and I realised I could not steal them all.'So write a book,' I told him, 'and then when you've sold a million copies and it has done much better than mine you have to take me out to dinner.'He rshall trying to do business in Cairo — part 'Our Man in Havana', part Normal Lewis trying to figure out the Mafia in 'Naples '44' — is a tale of unintended hilarity shot through with insight and macro economics. It reminds us who hold trying to do journalism, that the best stories are the ones which you inhabit, or which simply happen to you, not the ones you interview. This is not a nose-pressed-against-the-glass acc of the Arab Spring, but an inside acc of an American trying to business in the middle of a revolution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    Marshall intertwines economic analysis and compelling private narrative. His central thesis, highlighting the difficulties getting business done in contemporary Cairo, rings more and more real in the months following this book's publication. I consider this an essential starting point to anyone with a desire to understand the economic undercurrents that must surely be resolved before Egypt gets onto the right track. The more Marshall's Egypt drives away, the more dire its economic future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    Written just before, during, and after the Arab Spring, this book takes you on an exciting, albeit bumpy, ride through Egypt. Having kept up with the news headlines, I thought I had a grasp of current happenings in Egypt. But, reading this sheds much required light on what truly is a strange and fascinating culture. I laughed out loud in some parts. And cringed in others. If you rather read about tear gas in Tahrir than experience it first hand, this book will serve you well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    This outstanding, easy-read book is both informative and entertaining. You'll spend three years alongside an American businessman experiencing not only the Egyptian culture and a complex bureaucracy, but also understanding the psyche of a population driven to civil unrest. The years were filled with ethical dilemmas, intrigue, and undaunted perseverance. MUST read. You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    This book has value in that it provides the opinions and experience of an American businessman in Cairo before, a small bit during, and after the Jan 25 revolution. But it's really a cross between a travel blog devoid of much insight and a collection of stories that might impress the crowd at a wealthy cocktail party. The author absurdly argues that the revolution was partly versus communism. His perceptions of Egyptian culture are at best superficial and at worst derogatory. Egyptians are often late and taxi drivers are cheats, that sort of thing. The worst aspect is the author's self-importance. He claims he's in more danger than is reality. In reality, he was housed in an island for the elite, played polo on the weekends, and left in the middle of the revolution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It Never Rains in Tiger Stadium []  2020-7-19 18:42

    Went to Tulane 1970-1974 and remember well the LSU Tigers of the early to mid 70's. Very formidable squads to say the least, headed by almost mythic type players like Tommy Casanova, Brad Davis, Warren Capone, Bert Jones, 'Miracle' Mike Miley, etc.If you were ever an athlete who hit the "ceiling" of your ability at some point, you always wondreed what it would be like to have acheived success at an elite level. This book provides the best insight I've ever read of that situation, as well as the darker side when the author reached his private "ceiling" as an athlete (albeit a very high ceiling) and how he dealt with it going forward.Just long enough to create the poitn without belaboring anything. Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It Never Rains in Tiger Stadium []  2020-7-19 18:42

    I feel like I know John Ed too well now. It's almost as if I went through his medicine chest when I was at a party at his e book gives the best insight into college football (and LSU in particular) that any outsider will probably ever get.I will still have fun my Saturday nights in Tiger Stadium, but I will look at those men on the field with fresh won't regret the purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It Never Rains in Tiger Stadium []  2020-7-19 18:42

    I laughed out loud and cried with John Ed Bradley. One of the best books I've ever read. A must read for any athlete.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It Never Rains in Tiger Stadium []  2020-7-19 18:42

    This is the autobiography of a young man named John Ed Bradley who lettered in football for four years at Louisiana State University. (LSU) Despite the fact that the only position more impressive in Louisiana than playing football for LSU would be Governor, this is oh so much more than a sports story!John Ed's football career at LSU culminated on December 22, 1979 with a 34-10 win over Wake Forest in the Tangerine Bowl. At that point John Ed decided to place his entire lifetime football experience behind him, including any contact with any of his teammates or coaches. Though at first blush, the reader might feel, like John Ed did, that this was just a step in the maturation of a kid putting aside childhood toys, but twenty-seven years later, John Ed agonizingly realized with excruciating sadness, that his choice reverberated with echoing emptiness in the deepest chambers of his heart and e writing style of John Ed is akin to romantic poetry, instead of the "click-click-click" staccato you would expect from your daily sports section in your local newspaper. The reader, with just a small imagination can become ensconced, as if you're involved in a youthful breakup with a lover, that you walked away from a quarter of a century ago, and though you've refused to look back on whether you did the right thing or not so a lot of years ago, an alignment of your life's planets has forced you to re-examine with new eyes and heart, the stage you left frozen in another hn Ed was asked by teachers, "What was it like?".... He was asked by bankers, "What was it like?"... He was asked by women, "What was it like?" He was asked by students, "What was it like?" "TO PLAY FOOTBALL AT LSU!?"HE SAID: "WE WALKED BETWEEN THE RAINDROPS. THAT PRETTY WELL DESCRIBES HOW WE THOUGHT ABOUT OURSELVES. NOTHING COULD TOUCH US, INCLUDING THE RAIN. AND OF COURSE IT WAS AMAZING HOW PEOPLE TREATED YOU OUT IN PUBLIC!"And then twenty-seven years later, it hit John Ed like a million dozens of raindrops, and he poetically wrote: "I miss football so much. I miss it like you can't believe. I miss the things I didn't value or much attention to when I had them. I don't miss the android games so much, the people in the stadium. I miss being a part of something. I only have myself to worry about now, and it's about worn me out. The weird thing is I've even started to miss the guys I didn't much care for when I was playing. And I miss August and the method the grass used to smell when we went out to begin two-a-days." "I guess I never saw my time running out. I thought I'd have it forever. And now if I could have anything back, it would be that-the feeling that came around every August when everything was fresh and anything could happen because the season was about to start."As I said; this exquisitely written book, isn't really about sports. It's about the parent you stopped talking to years ago, and now it's too late. It's about the lover you walked away from and never looked back. It's about the best mate whose friendship ended so long ago, and only now in hindsight do you look back. The author uses words like Picasso used colors!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It Never Rains in Tiger Stadium []  2020-7-19 18:42

    John Ed Bradley has a gift. The man can write. But, he also can be so full of himself that when his longtime girlfriend tells him that he makes her sick with his lies and false promises, you're thankful that someone has said what you've been thinking for a hundred pages. The question, however, is whether its real as he is the narrator of the story. Is his self-absorption this amazing or is it art, the creating of narrative tension. The respond is probably a small of ill, reading this book was both enjoyable and painful with every page turned. Bradley captures the essence of what it means to play for love and honor and team. In his case, its a life long love affair with the LSU Tigers, a squad that he had the privilege to captain in 1979. He thinks of his teammates everyday although he avoids seeing them for years that turns into decades. But, a visit to his dying Coach Mac makes him reconsider seeing the men who meant so much to his life. The visits are all bittersweet, but yet cleaning for Bradley's guilt. A quiet resolution is seen in the face that when he has the opportunity later in life, he returns to his home city of Opelousas, itself a major hero in the book. Very endearing, somewhat exasperating, this is a memorable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It Never Rains in Tiger Stadium []  2020-7-19 18:42

    Found this to be both funny and sad at times. Amazing acc of what a player goes through after his playing days are over. Eloquent writing. Finished it very quickly as I couldn't place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It Never Rains in Tiger Stadium []  2020-7-19 18:42

    Disclaimer: I was born and raised in southern Louisiana and attended LSU in the late 90's. That being said, it's safe to safe that I possess a certain hometown bias when reading and reviewing this book. For those looking for a story strictly about football, you should probably look elsewhere. It Never Rains in Tiger Stadium is a compelling story about a man and his struggles to move on after his college football career. The book follows him along his path from high school standout to struggling favorite parts were the bits where John Ed Bradley reminisces of his days as a LSU Tiger. He does a unbelievable job of painting vivid pictures of the locker room, practice field, and the ultimate - a Saturday night in Baton Rouge. A must read for any college football fan and for those who have fun a amazing story that is genuine and sincere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It Never Rains in Tiger Stadium []  2020-7-19 18:42

    received in perfect, brand fresh condition. am very pleased

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It Never Rains in Tiger Stadium []  2020-7-19 18:42

    Anyone who has played organized sports and has been fortunate to experience success needs to read this book. Often we feel that there are happenings we experience early in our lives that we will never eclipse. Mr. Bradley accurately captures in this amazing book the essence and the burden of this thought.He explores the mystique of playing football in the amazing state of Louisiana - especially at LSU. He also very artfully explores life after playing football at LSU and what it's like to live up or live down an era in one's life. I'm absolutely sure this exists in ever part of the country regardless of the fact that this is set in Louisiana. There are hometown heroes everywhere that either run from the past or test and re-live it, trying to be amazing once version before has a former player, who excelled, so eloquently encapsulated the internal struggles that come from being amazing at one time in their lives. Once you've had a taste, you're just not normal again. John Ed ran from that for a long time. And, I believe that this book is meant to set that right with both himself and his former teammates and this book, then relive some of it, or the old days, with an old buddy that you've place off calling for method too long. You'll be satisfied that you did both.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It Never Rains in Tiger Stadium []  2020-7-19 18:42

    if you played the game, particularly at the college level, you'll like this book. i don't know if anyone who has never played with the intensity that is needed to play in college will appreciate this story, but i did, and I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If It Rains Pancakes: Haiku and Lantern Poems (Poetry Adventures) []  2020-2-6 20:51

    Fun book to read. Inspired me to write a children's book. Amazing book to encourage children's interest in reading and to appreciate poetry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If It Rains Pancakes: Haiku and Lantern Poems (Poetry Adventures) []  2020-2-6 20:51

    I'm a fan of Brian P. Cleary and this is another ter a brief description of how to write haiku and lantern poems, Cleary provides oddles of examples using kid-friendly subjects and eye-catching illustrations. These types of poems are easy enough for even the most reluctant writers. And if my boys don't pick up a pencil and begin writing after reading "Yummy", I'll eat my dry erase marker. I do so love a book that inspires creative writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If It Rains Pancakes: Haiku and Lantern Poems (Poetry Adventures) []  2020-2-6 20:51

    This book tells you all about the ancient poetry forms of Haiku and the lesser known Lantern form of poetry. These short poems are deliberate, non-rhyming and package a punch. The precise syllables that each line requires to fit the format of these poems will create you think, ponder and finally succeed in writing your own versions if you so desire. I love the fact that the author uses humour and sometimes touching scenarios of various children in their everyday life just doing what children do best....being kids. Your kid can definitely relate to what the book-kids are up to. These settings create this form of poetry not only enjoyable to read but encourages the reader to search a topic he enjoys and then make a haiku or lantern poem to write wland's kid-friendly illustrations with their bright colours, expressive emotions and entertaining action just draw children into the poetry. The author adds www services to visit and a book list that gives a more in-depth experience regarding this form of poetry at the end of the book.I loved the book. It was fun and quirky and created me laugh. I had no idea about the Japanese lantern form of poetry and now I do. You are never too old to learn something new. Thank you Brain P. Cleary for enlightening me. I am off now to make a Lantern poem because I have been inspired, and I know I too can write one if I place my mind to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If It Rains Pancakes: Haiku and Lantern Poems (Poetry Adventures) []  2020-2-6 20:51

    One of the amazing appeals of Haiku, for me, is that the form can be turned to so a lot of purposes. It reminds me of the old ad campaign "Everyone Looks Amazing in a Tuxedo". Everyone can test to make a Haiku poem, and any subject is fair game. (One of my favorite books is Haiku Tech, which consists of a hundred Haiku poems devoted to info technology and development. Example: "virtual disk drive; storage zone created of shadows; you're not really there".)Anyway, it's one thing to explain what Haiku is and to give examples. It's another thing to obtain a child interested in Haiku and jazzed to test it. That's where this book shines. Apart from the best brief description I've seen, (of a "syllable sandwich"), the poems and illustrations in this book seem likely to catch a kid's interest and fire the imagination. Instead of cherry blossoms, water and death, (probably not huge stuff in second grade), we obtain burps, football, pizza, pancakes and hugs. That strikes me as talking to the budding poets in a language that they'll e second section of the book, Lanterns, is a nice touch because it a similarly manageable alternative to Haiku, and opens up the chance that there are even more poem forms out there, which is a solid and painless , a fun book to read and a amazing book to use to begin an activity - what a nice search and appealing addition to the family ease note that I received a advance ecopy of this book in exchange for a candid review. Apart from that I have no connection at all to either the author or the publisher of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If It Rains Pancakes: Haiku and Lantern Poems (Poetry Adventures) []  2020-2-6 20:51

    Silly haiku poemsColorful illustrationsAnd lantern poems tooFill this cute picture book. I received this book to review from Netgalley. It is cute and silly and a fun method to teach the haiku and lantern forms of poetry to children. I think that it would be amazing to have in all school libraries!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If It Rains Pancakes: Haiku and Lantern Poems (Poetry Adventures) []  2020-2-6 20:51

    Loads of fun and so useful in preparing my lesson plan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If It Rains Pancakes: Haiku and Lantern Poems (Poetry Adventures) []  2020-2-6 20:51

    I really enjoyed reading this short taster of the haiku and lantern poetic forms of ancient Japan. It is a amazing method for kids to be introduced to these forms, and to poetry in lustrated throughout with fun pictures by Andy Rowland, the photos support bring the poems to life for kids and grab their e easy and relevant poems will be fun and interesting to kids and adults alike. Kids will be able to relate easily with the content and subject of the poems. The book is reasonably short and so can be read with them in one sitting, or maybe two, splitting the sessions between the two poetic forms.I would recommend this book as an enjoyable and informative read to share with your children. Learning whilst having fun is always the best is review is based on a complimentary copy of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If It Rains Pancakes: Haiku and Lantern Poems (Poetry Adventures) []  2020-2-6 20:51

    What better method is there to learn about poetry than penning a few yourself? Of course Brian Cleary is a master of verse, who has now branched out into haiku and lantern poetry. There are lessons to be learned and, in addition to teaching us how to write them, he gives examples of each type. Young students are encouraged to test a few of their a very conversation style aimed at students, he asks them to “Think of a haiku as a sandwich, with the 5-syllable lines as the bread and the 7-syllable line and the items in the middle!” The approach up a bit of a challenge, something that I search always works well in a homeschool or classroom setting. Can you do it? Of course you can. A small humor goes a long method in a Japanese haiku!YummyWhen something’s so goodyou wish to taste it again,that’s what burps are e Japanese lantern or lanturne form of poetry is something that is a tad less common in the haiku. The instructions Cleary gives are also in written form, something that makes it much easier to understand. The object of the lantern is to create sure “All lines are centered on the page, so the finished poem roughly resembles the shape of a Japanese :“Feed me.”“Pet me too.”“Feed me. Pet me.”“Now.”I love the creative, fun slant Cleary infectiously inserts into this book. The artwork pops and has just the right amount of humor to interest young students. It’s far from boring and the poetry is very child friendly. My favorite Cleary series, of course, are the CATegorical ones. Kids in our area, especially the reluctant readers, love them!This book courtesy of the publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If It Rains Pancakes: Haiku and Lantern Poems (Poetry Adventures) []  2020-2-6 20:51

    This is a amazing model to share with my third graders. I chose it for the Haiku, and will also expose them to the Lantern Poems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If It Rains Pancakes: Haiku and Lantern Poems (Poetry Adventures) []  2020-2-6 20:51

    This review originally appeared on my blog, Cozy Small Book Journal, and was written with the support of my four-year-old daughter Magda. We received a digital review copy from a poet and a teacher, I naturally love books that support children develop a love of poetry. Having said that, I'll be the first to admit that it's not always simple to search poetry books for very young children. Sure, a lot of children's books are written in verse, but most of them don't draw attention to that fact, so it's not always simple to introduce poetry as a concept to young kids.If It Rains Pancakes introduces haiku and lantern poems by giving examples with themes that kids would like (like pancakes!). It may not be the most sophisticated introduction to the poetic forms, but that's kind of the point. Plus, I'll admit I wasn't familiar with lantern poems so it was a nice introduction for me as well!Magda's Take:I liked the small poem stories. My favourite was "If It Rains Pancakes." When I saw the book, I hoped there would be one about pancakes and there was! I really like pancakes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Comes Back Around []  2020-6-26 18:0

    Awesome read! She did it again, excellent mixture of, romance, drama,and comedy! Ms. Parker always gives us a small touch it all without over doing it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Comes Back Around []  2020-6-26 18:0

    What can I say... Chenell never disappoints! Hartley was an ideal hero for me. She was close with her family and didn’t with the bs. Her only flaw was being so stubborn at times, which is relatable. Now that Karter... he was downright disgusting! He played under so a lot of people and caused so much pain! He couldn’t move on in peace, and as a result, he drug people down with him. I’m satisfied Fabian turned out be EVERYTHING Hartley required in a man. He didn’t play at all!Without giving away too much, I will say that this book had me wanting more! It was refreshing, packed with drama, comical, and well developed! I really enjoyed how the story flowed and how the scenes didn’t drag. Chenell always detail her stories without overdoing it, and this book wasn’t an exception. I highly recommend this book if you’re looking for substance. The storyline wasn’t rushed and the pace allowed me to fully understand each hero without it becoming boring. Kudos, Chenell, kudos!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Comes Back Around []  2020-6-26 18:0

    She did the damn thing but I’m not surprised she always know how to pull you into a amazing book and hold you there

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hearsay When I Hear It! [App]  2019-11-1 13:54

    Have enjoyed this android game for years. It can obtain very challenging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Comes Back Around []  2020-6-26 18:0

    Omg the book was everything I couldn't place it down.. I just knew Fab was gonna be a book bae I love how hart played no android games with karter [email protected]#$%..Omari the true MVP the method she did Rel......MRS PARKER NEVER DISAPPOINT!!!!💋💋💋

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Comes Back Around []  2020-6-26 18:0

    Another amazing read from one of the best authors out here, I loved it. Not good Mr. Armato he deserved so much better. Fab is definitely what Hart required and deserved, I loved the method their love story unfolded. Definitely a must read!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Comes Back Around []  2020-6-26 18:0

    The book was beautiful predictable as far as Fab ending up with Hartley and that being Karter’s cousin. I’m always loyal to Chenell’s books, so that didn’t bother me. It still had a amazing storyline.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hearsay When I Hear It! [App]  2019-11-1 13:54

    I love this android game I only want there were more cases available.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Comes Back Around []  2020-6-26 18:0

    I was so excited when this book dropped and it didn’t disappoint. She always delivers an entertaining and thorough standalone. I have literally been re-reading her catalog for the past few weeks. When it Comes Back Around showed us the inner workings of karma. I love the close knitted relationship amongst Hart and her siblings as well as Fab and his parents. There was generational drama and generational levels to the karma!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Comes Back Around []  2020-6-26 18:0

    I loved the entire story, I swear I hate that it ended, now what am I suppose to read. Chenell Parker is a gifted writer and storyteller , the love story between Fab and Hartly and the love of their family's was so good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Comes Back Around []  2020-6-26 18:0

    I loved this story line. With all the drama Karter cause I’m satisfied he got his in the end, but a part of me started to feel poor for him. And that dang Ida, is the absolute worst! You’d be surprised at how often that happens in true life within families. 10 star read!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Comes Back Around []  2020-6-26 18:0

    This author never disappoints! That Karter was dirty to the core. I didn’t feel poor for his at all. Rel was cookoo and I felt poor for Janae

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It []  2020-1-18 20:39

    Can you go to jail for having this in your Kindle library? A long, multi-page description of a pre-teen girl pulling a train with a "blow by blow" description of how it feels is something that I wouldn't wish to obtain caught with. I'm deleting this book from my library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It []  2020-1-18 20:39

    When I was on a school field trip in the seventh grade, I took Stephen King's "IT" with me to read. The trip was going to be two days in Virginia, and was an example of staying overnight on a school trip. It should have been an adventure. The trip was frankly a waste, but the book was sublime.I'd gotten into reading Stephen King two years before by method of a trip over the previous summer to my uncle's house. He had a collection of Stephen King novels and I'd started reading them with Pet Sematary, which had been adapted to the huge screen two years before. In the intervening time, I'd devoured Salem's Lot, Carrie, Firestarter, and Misery, and The Shining. I found a copy of the 1990 TV film adaptation and watched it. I recognized just how much I figured it had to have been toned down, but it was a decent primer (or so I thought). I felt warmed up and ready for the brick-like tome I'd acquired. I was ing the book was like a marathon, and I was prepared for a sprint. I easily identified with the younger versions of the characters, but had problem with identifying with their adult incarnations. I appreciated the story and the implications of both eras, but entirely missed out on how well crafted the story was. In the end it took three weeks, but I completed the book, considered myself proud for conquering the nearly 1200 page tome, place it on the shelf, and...proceeded to place it out of my mind for nearly twenty five years. Almost, and entirely unintentionally, like the characters in the book...Twenty five years later, I was on a kick of re-reading books I'd read as a kid, and then I approached Stephen King again. In the interim I'd devoured his books and probably thousands of other books by a lot of tons of various writers of differing skill levels, and when I thought "I should re-read some Stephen King" I thought about it, and it came down to either reading "IT" or "The Stand" and to be honest I felt "IT" was the better book. I remember it being a mountain for an adolescent. I wondered how I'd do this was SO MUCH better than I ever thought it would be!I felt ACHINGLY nostalgic in the sections with the characters as kids. Whereas as a child I identified with those elements as mapping directly onto my mates and setting, I did it unconsciously. Now I was (at times painfully) aware of it. I longed for the amazing times and mates of my youth. I appreciated how well King encapsulated the distance between childhood and adulthood and all the streets we travel in between. I reveled in how small we remember accurately about the past and how mutable it can be. I realized that IT was in fact two predators...both the eponymous creature who will slay and devour you, and the predator that robs us of our memories and the clarity we remember having as a e prose is wonderful. King doesn't use mere words to tell stories, he uses meanings themselves, woven seemingly seamlessly into shades of context and pigments of innuendo and occasionally bright, obvious splashes of unobfuscated emotion that jar you because...hey...in true life that's how it works. And in getting that right, King manages to create the impossible elements like the supernatural nature of IT and the relationship IT has with the city of Derry and the inhabitants there...normal. This could have happened. It could be happening. And it's that esoteric dread that King wields masterfully. The implications. The possibilities. Even in the fact that both eras are now, as of 2016, dated (the earlier phase was in the 50's, and the later phase was in the 80's...eerily we would be neck deep in the middle of the next cycle were it coming) was delightful. It was an added layer of nostalgia woven over the rest of the tapestry.If you haven't read this book, read it now. Have fun it. If you have read it, by all means read it again. It will thrill and delight and horrify and frighten you all over again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It []  2020-1-18 20:39

    Very sick and twisted. I don't know they were going to have 10 year olds having an orgie. I'm so disgusted! I think Stephen king needs a mental evaluation if he is thinking of these things.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It []  2020-1-18 20:39

    There’s an evil lurking in Derry, Maine. It lurks in the storm drains and the sewers. The scary part? The entire city is affected by evil that lives under the town wreaking its havoc upon the town, but only the kids can see It. Seven outcasts form a bond in to defeat It, deeming themselves The Loser’s Club. It, being a monster from out of this world, takes their greatest nightmares and turns them versus each child. Thinking they defeated It as children, they lead a life outside of Derry until the murders begin event again. Twenty-seven years later, The Loser’s Club makes their method back to Derry to conquer the evil once and for all.If you’ve ever read a Stephen King book, you would know his descriptions are vivid and this book is no exception. You wouldn’t believe Derry was a fictional city with the method he describes it. The info create you believe you aren’t just reading about a town, but that you actually have stepped foot right into it. With all the crazy and evil things that happen here, it is not a put I would wish to visit. With the method King goes into details, it’s like you are actually in the book right beside the characters as they go through the horrors of every day life of living in Derry. His style definitely works by making you really feel terrified as you read, as if It could actually reach out and grab you at any minute. This is a real horror novel. It is not for the faint at heart. Do not read this at night, especially if you are alone- you will have nightmares. “…she took her washcloth and leaned over the basin to obtain some water and the voice came whispering out of the drain: ‘Help me….’”-Stephen King, ItI loved the method this book was formatted. It’s not your typical straightforward timeline. The book is split up into 5 parts, alternating between childhood and adulthood in the perspective of every member of The Loser’s Club. Instead of starting out with the childhood perspective, you are thrown right into the perspective of the adults in present-time making you curious as to how each hero got to that certain point in their lives. This was an effective writing style making it so you just couldn’t place the book down because you just had to know how everything would come together.Every hero King writes is so realistic. You either love them or hate them. I just fell in love with every hero that was part of The Loser’s Club. Each had their own personality and quirks and that’s what created you love them even more. They seemed so real; like they could be your friend. Same goes for the poor characters. He writes them so descriptively that you just can’t support but hate them with everything you have. Some characters in this story were so demented. Pennywise (the clown) was so scary and creepy. The descriptors that King uses couldn’t be anymore perfect. Hero personality, growth, and development obtain an A+ from me.“Can an entire town be haunted?”–Stephen King, ItThis novel wouldn’t be what it is without the addition of the Derry Interludes at the end of every part. The interludes, in my opinion, are what created the book so terrifying. They detail all the past horrors that have happened in Derry and have basically been ignored and forgotten. This is where you really see the real evil nature It brings upon this town. I could read an entire novel just on the basis of the history of Derry, Maine. So interesting, yet so for my dislikes. One thing that bothered me about this whole book of amazingness is the amount of detail. I know, I know, I just went on and on how I loved all of King’s brilliant descriptions, but at some parts they seemed to become unnecessary. I got bored at some of the parts that I was just not interested in. For example, the description of Stan’s wife’s life. She wasn’t a major part of the storyline; therefore, I really didn’t care to hear about her life. I thought some parts like the one I just described could have been chop out entirely. Also I feel the need to mention one specific stage that just did not sit well with me, mainly because the ages of the characters at this point in the novel. I’m not going to go into detail about it because after all this is a spoiler-free review, but I do believe this one stage was just absolutely disgusting. If you’ve read the book, you know what stage I’m talking about. The stage that brings The Loser’s together. (Sorry for the vague description!) Besides that, I have no complaints of this brilliantly written book. I was hooked from beginning to end. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars and would recommend it to fans of Stephen King or fans of horror novels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It []  2020-1-18 20:39

    This is such a large book for real. The pages have this nice feel. I've owned several SK books but speacially this one caught my attention for the first time when I was 16 years old. I still own the paperback edition but I went only trough several chapters because the presentation (in my opinion) was hard to read the words very tiny, so I never finished it. I was looking for a hardcover edition but I wasn't lucky enough to search one. Now I shall thank the upcoming film for bringing up the book again specially in this edition that to my sight is a lot better to read. Now it is time to begin again this awesome story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It []  2020-1-18 20:39

    This is my favorite Stephen King novel. I read it once in high school and now I have just re-read it years later. King is an American Proust and IT is In Find of Lost Time with monsters. King perfectly captures the feel of growing up an outsider in suburban America. Horror best with metaphors and here we search our hopes, our fears, our hopes, and our loss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It []  2020-1-18 20:39

    This book is really gorgeous. This novel gave me more than just pleasure. It gave me hope, created me feel more optimistic about life. Of course the "horror" scenes are truly disgusting and horrible and can inspire nightmares. But the main point of the book is about the unique abilities and powers that kids have and that adults do not have, and how we need to heal the rift, or close the rift that separates the kid (each one of us used to be) from the adult (that we have become). To war the evil of "It," the adults must recall their childhoods to "staple the show to the past," and rediscover who they used to be. It is about memory and about transformation and what makes each of us a "person" in spite of our constant transformations...for each human who grows to adulthood is a shape-shifter, just as "It" is a shape-shifter, and part of our power comes from this, but also from our twin abilities to remember, and to forget and obliterate what we were... I read this novel after my teenage daughter read it, but as a middle-aged man it meant something unique to me. It created me feel better about hitting middle age, it created me feel more whole, and more in touch with who I used to be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It []  2020-1-18 20:39

    I'm going to admit something right off the bat. While I am a huge fan of Stephen King, due to the 1990 miniseries "It," I was afraid the book wouldn't be great. I thought it would be good, but not at that awesome level of storytelling that King is capable of. I was so wrong. "It," the novel, is e book is extremely long at 1478 pages. (As a writer, I'm wondering how a lot of words that comes to, but suffice it to say, it's a lot.) As such, the story is about as thorough as one can get, showing the harrowing happenings and exploring the characters' minds, as six adult mates are called back to Derry, Maine, and to destroy an ancient evil they had fought as children. At first, they remember very little, but as they meet and discuss their shared past, they realize they must destroy the creature that has been murdering kids in their city for centuries or e monster, It, also known as Bob Gray or Pennywise the Dancing Clown, is so much more than a clown. That brings me to the climax of the story. I won't give it away, of course. However, I will say this. Part of my problem with the 1990 miniseries is what a letdown the climax was there, how anticlimactic the ultimate confrontation with It was. Kings endings are sometimes like that, but sometimes they're powerful, perfect. That was the case with the book. The climactic chapters had all the terror and power that the novel deserved. After, the denouement was simply beautiful.If you haven't gotten around to reading "It" yet, I suggest you read it soon. This novel is amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It []  2020-1-18 20:39

    My favorite book of all time. I've read 14 times and who knows how a lot of more times I'll read it again! King creates a globe where you feel the eyes of a being of unimaginable horror on you as you follow the lives of a group of childeren who come together to face a monster that has haunted their city and hunted it's kids for years upon years. You will not search a better book that creates such a electric tingling atmosphere that you will catch yourself reading method past the hour you said you would place it down at.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It []  2020-1-18 20:39

    This is my first Stephen King novel and I was constantly shocked at the depth King went to on character-to-character interactions.Hard to imagine this book was written in the 1980'e word journey best describes this book. If you are buying this novel because of a assassin clown, you have no idea what your getting is is a unbelievable book that everyone should read at least is book will creep you out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    One of the largest objections that people have to the idea of a loving God, is the reality of pain and suffering in the world. They ask, "How can a loving God let this or that to happen?""Either God is all-powerful," the argument goes, "or he is all-loving. But the state of our globe is evidence that he cannot possibly be both."Or can he be?Christians have - since the beginning - thought about this necessary question. It's a question we can't escape. It is all around us. Every time a loved one dies, we're faced with it. Every terminal diagnosis we hear about reminds us of it. And when we turn on the news, there's a near constant stream of reasons to question God's love and power.And not only is this question all around us - it's incredibly personal. This isn't a topic only for theologians in their ivory towers. The question of suffering will touch every human being on earth, given enough , where is God in the midst of all this?That's what Philip Yancey attempts to respond in his classic book Where is God When it Hurts? Originally written in 1977 when Yancey was in his mid-twenties, it went through a major revision in 1990 (I can't speak to any differences between the two versions because I've only read the more latest one). And though he was young when he first place pen to paper, this book is filled with wisdom. Wisdom gained by listening to of the things I learned fairly early on in my life, was that even if I didn't have wisdom or understanding. Others did. And if I'm willing to listen to their stories, their experiences, and their failures, then I don't have to create the same mistakes they did. I can glean from the wisdom of others. This is how Yancey was able - though young - to write a book that's so a journalist, Yancey had the opportunity to interview people from all walks of life. Their stories of suffering and persevering create up his case that God is, in fact, both all-loving and all-powerful. So, how does he create this case? Slowly and e book is divided up into five parts that build on one another. He begins with the rather broad question, 'Why is there such a thing as pain?' This is as foundational as you can get. And I can imagine that a lot of people who are suffering - whether from physical or psychological pain - might ask this question: "If God is good, why did he make pain to start with?"What follows is a rather clinical discussion - focusing on the biology of pain and how our body processes it. It makes sense to me, in a theoretical way, to start a book like this. But as I read, I wondered about the person reading this who had just lost their spouse - or who had just received a terminal diagnosis. I almost felt like they might be turned off by this approach. And Yancey acknowledges that, even when we understand the purpose of pain, it doesn't support those who experience it in its chronic form. Again, I obtain why he started this way. It makes sense because of everything he builds on this foundation. I just wonder how a lot of suffering people started reading Where is God When it Hurts? - in hopes of finding support - but quickly place it down because of the method it Yancey continues, he tells about Dr. Paul Brand, a doctor who works with lepers in Louisiana. Lepers' pain receptors don't work. They can't experience pain - at least not the physical kind. And it's disastrous for them. They don't know when something is too hot, so they can easily burn themselves. They can break bones, tear tendons, and chop themselves without even realizing ough we might want we could experience a pain-free life, we wouldn't like it if that want was granted. We'd end up like old King Midas: realizing that the thing we thought we most wanted was actually the thing that would destroy part 2, Yancey asks another necessary question, 'Is pain a notice from God?' He acknowledges the locations in Scripture where suffering is sent by God but he makes an necessary distinction. When God sent judgment in the Old Testament, it was always preceded by a warning. In other words, God didn't send plagues or battle or famine without first telling people he was going to. God always warned people - in hopes that they would repent.Unfortunately, too a lot of Christians strip these verses of their context and create proclamations about this or that being 'God's will.' But, we can't know that. God may let a sickness or a death but that doesn't mean he caused it. Job's story reminds us that we can't know why most suffering takes place. And Yancey makes liberal use of Job's experience to perfect the end of this section, Yancey argues that the Christian response to suffering must be just that: a response. If we focus on the cause, we'll never obtain out of the valley. If we hold asking "Why me?" or "What is God trying to tell me in this?" we'll just dig ourselves deeper into the ground. Instead of focusing on the cause, Yancey encourages us to hold our eyes facing forward. We should reflect on our response to the suffering more than the causes. This is the best method to work through the a lot of emotions that accompany rt 3 recounts the stories of several suffering people. One chapter is devoted to Brian Sternberg. Another tells about Joni Eareckson Tada. And still another focuses on several Holocaust survivors. Each of these chapters looks at how people obtain through suffering - even when the suffering doesn't end. These are helpful because they bring much of what Yancey has been discussing down to an even more private level. It's one thing to say "Focus on your response to pain rather than the cause." It's a completely various thing to hear about men like Christian Reger - a Holocaust survivor who persevered in spite of witnessing the very worst of part 4, Yancey gets practical by examining the question, 'How can we cope with pain?' Here, he looks at two things that will drag us into further pain (fear and helplessness) and two things that have the potential to lift us out of our pain (meaning and hope). These are necessary chapters though I felt like they'd probably be better for people ministering to others who are suffering rather than the suffering people themselves.And since I'm on the subject, allow me say that I believe this book would serve as a unbelievable resource for pastors and for squads devoted to ministering to others. There's a amazing of very practical tip here and Yancey steers us away from some of the common errors that Christians create when interacting with suffering people. In addition, this book contains a group discussion tutorial in the back that would be excellent for either a ministry squad or a help group to work through. I can imagine that it would be very profitable; though I can't speak from experience since I read it alone.Yancey closes the book with, in my view, the most necessary part of all: 'How does faith help?' And in particular, he looks at how Christian faith helps. In this section, he notes the importance of the Church being Christ's presence and voice to suffering people. Pain can block out the voice of God. In those moments, the Church needs desperately to step up to the e end of this book returns to the question posed in the title, Where is God When it Hurts? If we're tempted to ask this question, we would do well to meditate on a picture of the sus, God the Son, suffered alongside us. He entered into this globe - a globe he created - so that he could fully identify with us - his creatures. And when we suffer, we should remind ourselves that we don't suffer alone. God has suffered with us. He has come into our pain and our sorrow. As John's Gospel says, "Jesus wept" ( John 11:35).And he weeps with cause this globe doesn't work the method he intended. Death and disease were not part of God's amazing creation. They are intruders and enemies.And Jesus' resurrection reminds us that they won't have the final say. On Easter, Christ defeated death, once for all. This is the hope that sustains us through all pain and all 's the hope that one day God will place all things right. In that day, God "will wipe away every tear from their eyes; and there will no longer be any death; there will no longer be any mourning, or crying, or pain; the first things have passed away" (Revelation 21:4). Yancey points us toward that y we walk to it, through both joy and suffering, with confidence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    The hardest book I have read in my life so far. (I’m 56.) I bought this because of private pain from tragedies in my life, and a lot of anger with God. It’s kind of for physical pain-but trust me when I say that 99% of what I read was directly applicable to my mental suffering, sadness, grief, anger, hopelessness, pessimism and amazing apathy. This book brought amazing meaning to all those feelings and thoughts. GREAT meaning. Which I would have thought impossible. My life is not all rosy and sunshine now, but I certainly look at life and God and circumstances differently, and I’m still very sad, but I’m not mad at God anymore, certainly not. If you’re looking for an respond like that, you will search it here and much much more. It will challenge your misconceptions about quite a few things and also challenge you (in a amazing way). What a amazing writer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get It Done When You're Depressed []  2020-6-10 20:31

    This book was very helpful for me. Along with bipolar disorder I struggle with ADHD and dyslexia, as well as other anxiety producing disorders. Using a "50 Tactics for Keeping Your Life on Track" format broke down the given info into 2 1/2 page increments that were concise. I need concise. It was very functional for me to read each short tactic complete with recommendations, the Dr.'s opinion, a summary, and then PAUSE... or stop if I required to...before moving on. In this method I was able to maintain my focus and composure, prevent most of my typical eye strain, and give myself time to truly digest what I was learning without sensory overload. In the meantime, the tactics are great. I would recommend this book to bipolar persons as it is full of practical suggestions, patient and author examples, a doctor's opinion and an encouraging synopsis at the conclusion of each tactic as well. This book was well thought out, it is very organized, the info is extremely compelling, and the format is completrly functional. I learned a lot from it, and for that I am very grateful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get It Done When You're Depressed []  2020-6-10 20:31

    I thought I'd lost my other copy that I bought years ago. I love this book. Julie really gets how hard it is to do required tasks when one is depressed. She also gets how hard it is to read a self support book when depressed! This book is written exactly for a depressed person to process. She wrote it while depressed. I have been so impressed at the ultra short chapters and their simple to read and process can take the book in little bites, which is how a depressed person has to take life in general.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Counts (2016 Book 2) []  2020-7-7 19:7

    Loved it and I'm so sad that I finished it in 48 hours since who knows when the next one will come out. Hold it up Lauren!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    One of the best books I've read on pain and suffering.Yancey begins by showing the importance and benefit of pain. He describes the discovery of Dr. Brand that leprosy does not cause flesh to be destroyed. Rather because people with leprosy feel no pain, they don't recognize when something is event so they don't prevent the hurt to their bodies. In India, people with leprosy had their fingers and toes chewed off by rats. However, they didn't know what happened--they thought their digits were "eaten" by the disease. It wasn't until Dr. Brand observed them constantly that he figured out what was happening. God made the sensation of pain in our bodies to warn us when something is wrong. Dr. Brand tried to make some kind of warning system for people with leprosy and learned that people ignored every type of warning except pain. Pain not only warns us, but it also forces us to stop doing something that harms us or to obtain support for whatever is going minding us of God's response to Job, the author says that God doesn't explain why we individually are suffering in specific situations. God never told Job why he had been through all the trauma--He just asked Job a series of questions pointing out the power of God. Two things lead to pain: 1) God set in motion a set of natural laws in which certain actions/circumstances lead to specific results, and 2) God gave mankind freedom. Pain cannot be avoided unless God changes His creation, which would make chaos and/or turn humans into automatons.Yancey gives examples of people who have not only survived not good pain and suffering but actually become better from having gone through their painful experiences. Even when we can't understand why we are suffering and can't stop it, we can actually draw closer to God and inspire and support other people through our e author then shows that God understands and cares deeply about our pain. Jesus Himself suffered more than we ever will. He knew how hard it would be; He even prayed that there might be another method but accepted the Father's will. During his lifetime, He healed people because He cared about their pain. He has promised never to leave us or forsake us--the Holy Spirit is with us when we suffer even when we don't feel His presence.Yancey ends the book by telling us that we as the Body of Christ reflect God to people with they suffer. We are called to feed the hungry, care for widows and orphans, answer to natural disasters, comfort the sick and imprisoned--to present God's love to those who are hurting.Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    I liked the book, I was on a journey studying the philosophical question "The issue of Pain" when i read this book. That was years ago from the time of this review, so theres not alot I remeber other than: I appreciated how the author approach the subject and gave examples of people going through true e author didnt seemed to be simply trying to create a case for a particular religious belief, it was more... answering a general question that the we all grapple with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get It Done When You're Depressed []  2020-6-10 20:31

    I tried to like this book but simply could not stick with it. It is pedantic, patronizing and condescending. Julie's tip to obtain to work comes easily from her, she has very small set schedule to meet and lives with her mother. This greatly eases any financial strain she occasionally experiences. Being on disability for Bipolar type 1, anxiety, and depression, I went through a very painful experience of losing my career in health info technology. Julie's words only left me feeling even more ashamed & guilt ridden, and it felt like she was speaking to me as if I were a misbehaving moron. I felt mad while reading this and had to set the book aside. Unimpressed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get It Done When You're Depressed []  2020-6-10 20:31

    This author just gets it when it comes to understanding the not good drag chronic depression can have on your day in and day out existence. Why? Because she too struggles with depression and quite often shares her experiences of how difficult it can be just to obtain out of bed some days. She a plethora of suggestions for the reader to pick and choose from when it comes to finding healthy alternatives to break of the same old behavior patterns that leave you frustrated and e also has a question and respond session in each chapter with a doctor specializing in depression, who gives the professional clinical view on the subject at hand. I found this helpful as well.I say this book will be very helpful for some, but not all, because no single self support book is going to appeal to every single person. What I search helpful may prove unhelpful for you. So a sample before you and see if the book might be a fit for more thing I'd like to add. I read the kindle edition and because there are a lot of exercises that require you to write things out, I'd suggest the hard copy might be the better method to go. But you could just as easily use a note book. Whaterver works for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Counts (2016 Book 2) []  2020-7-7 19:7

    Perfect book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    I admit that I have several Yancey books, and consider all of them to be excellent. This book is no exception. Yancey has a method of writing that draws the reader into the story. Though very scholarly, he writes so that all are led to understand the point that he is developing. A number of true globe situations are described. The reactions of two families that had young athletes suffer live-altering accidents are described in detail to illustrate the difference between acceptance of the effect vs the refusal to accept the result. "Where is God when..." is a question that we often ask, actually or subconsciously, and in this book Yancey draws the reader to respond the question in various ways and in various situations. Much material about ministering to hurting people is also developed. A chapter-by-chapter discussion tutorial is included as the closing section of the book. This tutorial is written in a manner that can be used for individual study or little group study, and is an perfect resource to build on the notice in each chapter. This book is an exceptional resource for the topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    I have to give this book 5 stars just because of how well and how thoroughly -- and how compassionately -- the author covered the subject of suffering. Too a lot of times, I have heard a polarized opinion of pain: either there is no God (or God is just mean) because there is suffering in the world, or there is suffering in the globe because it's our fault and we just have to with it. And from those in the latter camp, it's usually followed up with some goofy comment about positive thinking/optimism/joy/whatever. None of that is at all helpful or comforting when you are experiencing suffering or doubt as a effect of suffering.What I appreciated the most about this book is the author giving us permission to feel pain, to feel grief, to feel anger, to feel loss. I was diagnosed with depression at 12, and I am honestly repulsed and appalled by how the majority of Christians view depression and other mental illness. If only I had faith, I wouldn't have depression; if only I wanted to be healed, I'd be healed; if I had a true relationship with God, the devil wouldn't obtain in me and give me depression. It's (almost) enough to turn someone away from God instead of toward him. The author is honest about the reality of pain, even going so far as to point out -- gasp -- that Jesus felt pain, sadness, and fear.What I also really appreciated was the author's suggestion for a shift in thinking of "why?" to "to what end?" In other words, turning one's experience of suffering into an experience that can not only bring about healing, but support others and glorify God.I recommend this book to anyone that is hurting or has loved ones hurting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    Yancey doesn't pull any punches when he tackles an issue, which is part of the reason I love his work (especially Disappointment With God). He covers all the common objections about suffering raised by secular people and Christians alike. He does a amazing job in this book making it not so much about philosophical doctrine but instead about how do true people with these problems on an emotional and spiritual level, making this book unique. He does cover all the essential theological responses to the issue of evil, however, so It's not just a feel-good fantasy based in abstractions.I would recommend this book to anybody who struggles with chronic suffering, or who works with people who do. However, I think this book works best in addition to other works that are of a more scholarly level, (The Root of Evil by Geisler comes to mind). This book is an attempt to obtain at the heart of a person, which is good, but I think it falls a small short when it comes to getting at the mind. Overall a amazing work and a fast read that's worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get It Done When You're Depressed []  2020-6-10 20:31

    I have never written a review for any book, product or anything - ever! I am on page 55 (ebook) of this 270 page book, and for the first time in a lot of years I feel HOPEFULL! The tools that are offered in this book are just amazing!This book is written by a depressed person who is REAL in dealing with the fact that we must control our actions, if we ever have a hope for a quality life and a healthy mental mind. Her tools (as I call them) are very real.I have read hundreds of self support books, articles, watched videos, heard speeches, classes and so forth. I have spent hundreds & hundreds of dollars on books and such about how to organize everything, lose weight, create my home/office more cheerful, negative thinking, depression, self esteem and on and on...Each time I bought anything I had hope and usually within the first few pages I knew it was already gone (though I did finish what I was reading/studying, only to be proven correct - sadly)In each one of them I had the thought of "get real" about their suggestions. There are no "go on vacations" hints here (not so far lol). I could care less about a vacation right now. I just wish to figure out how to obtain the hell out of bed, place clothes on & earn a paycheck, without beating the hell out of myself in the process. Going to bed at night feeling like I did something, ANYTHING other then breath all day is my goal right now. She gets that! Oh she takes you MUCH further then breathing though!!!Even at just page 55 I feel like maybe just maybe I can reach for my goals/dreams again. I am 52 years old and this feeling has been a longgggggggggg time coming :)PS: Even for those who don't have depression and/or any Mental Health problems this is an amazing amazing self support book. I plan to several copies to give away. Everyone can benefit from this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get It Done When You're Depressed []  2020-6-10 20:31

    I have finally found a book that gets "real" about depression. I have yet to read a book, visit a www service page or have a conversation with an individual where they understand that maybe there is no treatment for a lot of of us who are life-long sufferers of depression. This book is the first I've ever read that acknowleges depression is a disease and sometimes all we can do is cope with the condition. Everytime someone suggests that I need to "find what I love and pursue it", "eat right" and "exercise", I wish to punch them in the nose. It's so hurtful that peope don't understand "mood disorders" in the same method they understand cancer and multiple sclerosis. This book acknowleges that we will live with limitations and have to re-evaluate our life expectations. I have been stuggling with depression and anxiety for a lifetime and I am now 50 years old. It occurred to me a few years back that there may not be a solution for my condiiton. Something I had never considered before. I've been searching for meds that will improve my condition but I have not been successful. I have to stop searching for a "cure" or "effective treatment" and test to cope. This book is necessary to individuals who have lived with depression for extended periods of time without relief. It may be an "unburdening" for some.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Counts (2016 Book 2) []  2020-7-7 19:7

    I bought this book a few days after it came out, but I didn't actually begin reading it until this morning. Now I'm done and I am hungry for the next one!!I love the progression of Amalia's journey. We've gotten to see her come so far over the course of the past two books, and I almost want she was actually a person so I could cheer her on in true life. I also love the characterization of the other gymnasts. Zara is sweet and adorable, and I never thought I'd actually feel poor for Maddy. I also adore Emerson and bably the best thing about this series, though, is the realism when it comes to gymnastics. The method the gymnastics is described, the scoring, the skills - everything is something that could actually happen. As someone who has been a fan of gymnastics for nearly a decade now, that's something I really appreciate. I can't wait for book three!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Counts (2016 Book 2) []  2020-7-7 19:7

    Lauren Hopkins did it again! From the storyline to the personalities of the characters to the exciting cliffhanger ending, When It Counts is a excellent second installment in the 2016 season. I really enjoyed how, generally, Hopkins kept real-life 2016 happenings the same, such as Russian doping, the U.S. men's qualification results and even the subdivision the U.S. was in at the Games, the starting happening and the other full squad with it. She makes you think you know what's going to happen because you watched it play out in true life but then the storyline takes another exciting turn. There's also a amazing balance of everything: routines, romance with Jack, tournament results, downtime — just enough of everything and not too much of one thing or another. Which could be a issue with so a lot of various competitions and gymnastics at the heart of the storyline. Overall, the factor that makes Hopkins' story truly amazing is the knowledge you see she has about the whole Olympic process. It's authentic and realistic — even the parts that are created up. I did have one little nitpick, though. Because of the relative push to obtain the book published on time, there were some typos and missing words here and there but nothing too glaring.I cannot wait for the third one to see how everything unfolds!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    This month I've re-read all of Yancey's books....yes, all of them. The Kindle and Alexa helped me do this. This second time shows me something I missed the first time. Where is the Trust scripture tells us we need? In any die situation or even life itself, it is vital. Everyone has an opponent to their soul so who are you believing? We are given the loving freedom to choose.Anyone wanting to understand more of God in a difficult situation might like the book (a real story) MURDERED HEIRESS LIVING WITNESS by Petty Wagner....(now available on Kindle).She really was murdered but lived to tell about it. She learned to know the God of Love.His ultimate goal is not to punish but a private relationship with each individual. After all, how much do you trust a total stranger?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get It Done When You're Depressed []  2020-6-10 20:31

    Honestly, at first I didn't think this book was giving me much. The first few chapters had hints I had already tried or currently use, but it got much better. There are a lot of amazing suggestions. Another thing I personally like about it is how quickly I can read a chapter. As someone that wars depression, I hesitate to commit to books with long chapters, thinking it'll take too much time. I now read a chapter each day to hold the techniques new in my mind without taking much time out of my day. I recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get It Done When You're Depressed []  2020-6-10 20:31

    This is the only resource I've ever used about how to with depression that is just honest about what it's really like. In fact, it's the most helpful thing that I've ever encountered to support with managing this crappy condition. I've spent 25+ years dealing with depression, mostly in denial that I even had depression. I have worked very hard to be happy, including being a dedicated yoga and meditation practitioner, using writing, lots of talk therapy, peer counseling, healing bodywork, developing healthy friendships, getting regular exercise, working with diet and so on. The piece I never got was that sometimes a person with depression just feels crappy and there's nothing they can do about it in that moment; but they have to hold going with their lives anyway. Seems simple, but when you just wish to be "normal" and feel hopeful but instead you feel like you should truly just be dead, it isn't so easy. Julie Quick obviously knows what it's like to with depression, and has place all of her hard-earned knowledge down for the benefit of the rest of us. She writes with compassion and clarity, and presents the situation that depressed people face in a matter-of-fact way, which is what you need, in the end, to with the depression on a day-to-day basis. No therapist ever created me feel that they really understood how to manage it, and they definitely couldn't convey to me how to do it. I obtain it now. This book was the missing piece to all of the hard work I've done all these years. I can now separate the "real" me (who is actually cheerful and upbeat and caring) with the depressed me. I bought this as an e-book and just scanning through the table of contents on my phone when I'm having a hard day is immeasureably helpful. Thank you, Julie!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Counts (2016 Book 2) []  2020-7-7 19:7

    Well written Lauren--thank you. You've stepped it up since the first book and I hope you hold writing! Definitely realistic yet fun with a few twists in the plot. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    Yancey pulls in multiple sources and types of sources to give the reader a amazing engagement of the problem of pain and suffering and faithful response. He avoids the simple trap of looking to the afterlife to explain it all away which is common in American Christianity today while still acknowledging the reality of this life's temporary nature. It is well balanced between giving some answers and recognizing that there are no simple answers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    A riveting read by the author based on real life stories. This makes it personal. When it's personal, the question you and I have to create is - why them and not me, why me and not them. We are emotionally attached. Emotional intelligence is probably the greatest attribute one can attain. I strive to share : attitude, altitude, magnitude and gratitude ... a caring and humble relationship with one's neighbour

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get It Done When You're Depressed []  2020-6-10 20:31

    Getting rid of depression is an admirable goal but life won't wait until we obtain better. Responsibilities still demand very much of us. But getting items done can seem impossible when depression stands in our method like an immovable boulder, blocking our road. Fortunately, there are a lot of detours around that boulder. There are a lot of ways to obtain items done despite depression lording over our brains. This book gives you those n't think you can read a whole book? Don't sweat it! The chapters are short and you can read them in any order. You don't even have to read them all! Just check out whatever sounds appealing. This book is easily skimmed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get It Done When You're Depressed []  2020-6-10 20:31

    It never occurred to me, before reading this book, that it was possible to separate motivation and feeling depressed, from just doing things and making your mind up to obtain something done regardless of how you are feeling. It actually has helped me press on in the face of a lot of upheaval in my life, and to actually create up my mind to turn up to work, and place on my brave face, so that I could still my bills. I am very grateful for this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When It Counts (2016 Book 2) []  2020-7-7 19:7

    Well written and exciting 😁

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    People are giving this book not good reviews because they actually believe everything written actually happened. I think a lot of of the stories are embellished far beyond the reality. Do I believe an experienced and mature EMT would steal pricey hospital equipment and use it to shoot a needle into a colleague's rear? No. Do I believe that the author was afraid when he pushed a corpse in the dark refer before turning the light on and the door slammed behind him? No. Do I believe that 70% of what was written is pure imagination? Yes.And yes, explaining how to steal hospital clothing is, well, just Cyra isn't a not good writer and he is sometimes funny. And if they can create TV shows about outrageous things that happened in the ER, I don't see why Mr. Cyra can't publish his fiction with a few grains of truth. Just don't know if I will read any more of it even though I have the second book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    And there was...laughter. A lot. Some might say, "too much," but I'm not sure that's possible.I enjoyed this a lot...perhaps laughed too much at times but, that's the point of this 's a quick, fun, read and simple to stop and return to as each chapter is a story in and of itself.Had to drop one star for spelling. 3 words on one page? Where was the editor or mate to double check? Didn't result the book overall, just created me lose concentration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    Being a former paramedic, I was expecting a lot from this book. I wanted to laugh, and be reminded why being a paramedic was the most unbelievable job I ever had. I was not disappointed! I laughed and laughed while reading his stories. I found myself reading some of them 2 and 3 times because they were that enjoyable, and was disappointed to reach the end. I wish more!I have to take problem with the one and two star reviews that claim that all the positive reviews are from people who know the author. I do not know the author at all. My positive review is based on my enjoyment of the book. I do think that you need to be able to understand medical humor in to know that people in the medical field must distance themselves and search humor in their jobs, or risk falling into a deep depression with all that they see and do. With that said, if you don't understand medical humor, this may not be the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    I spent far too a lot of nights up to the very early morning hours engulfed by this book. In more than a few parts I had to physically place the book down and wipe my eyes because I was literally crying from laughter. The things that people do to themselves is beyond hilarious. Also knowing that behind the curtain doctors and nurses are secretly sometimes biting the insides of their cheeks and trying so hard to place on a 'serious doctor' face makes it even better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    This is a amazing read. I would read it when my partner was driving the ambulance and I just loved it. It had me burst out laughing in the very first chapter! All of these stories are a amazing read and I just love this experiences. I'll be checking to see what else this author has written. Just so much animation in the first chapter ALONE. It's unforgettable. And the vines story? Oh my GOD.If you're in EMS read this. You'll love it. It's no various then kicking back with fellow EMTs, Medics, etc and just hearing some awesome and sometimes not good stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    I read one of Mike Cyra's stories on a blog before I got the book to read, and I laughed so hard at the story I read, I just had to check out the book. The book isn't bad. However, after reading the one story on the blog, the book disappointed me some. The writing for a lot of of the stories is not very professional--it has a very blog-like, amateur writer and amateur comedian feel to the writing style. The stories, however, most of them are beautiful t to sound all sexist, but some of the stories are probably going to be funnier to guys than to most ladies. The humor is the type my young adult son absolutely loves and roars at, but those stories only really just created me chuckle or sort of shrug my shoulders. They weren't poor stories, per se, but they just weren't my thing. Then there were some stories that created me really laugh. So it [email protected]#$%! or miss, but it was worth the time to read private take on it is that if the author were to hone up on his actual writing skills, he's got some raw talent here that can develop into a really amazing sense of professional writing humor. I believe this is a first book of this nature for author Mike Cyra, and as such, it's a amazing freshman effort. I think if he continues with this course, we'll either see that he gave everything he had to this first book and is a one-hit wonder, or he's going to totally excel and blow us away once his talent has had some time to mature and develop (and I mean the talent mature--I do NOT mean the author is immature--but there are (chuckle) a lot of 'immature' stories that will create you laugh at the silliness in this book). Think Dave Barry, but not quite as 'clean' and definitely not as polished if you like to laugh and you don't mind some gallows humor and body functions and blood and guts and locker room humor don't bother you, you might really like this book. Even if you don't care for that type of humor, there are still a few stories in here you might search you like a lot. A amazing effort and a pleasurable read. I'll definitely hold an eye out for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    I loved this book really, it was so funny in so a lot of ways, especially the first two stories had me laughing with tears rolling down my face as I read. Recited the stories to mates and family in the following weeks and they too laughed till they cried. Very well written actually. I loved the story about the cottage cheese, I'm still laughing, cringing etc and the story about the 'central line' and large needle!!! It's a amazing read between massive novels, it lightens the spirit, brings a whole fresh perspective of what our not good emergency workers have to place up with on a everyday basis. I don't envy them one bit but it takes a very special, caring and thoughtful person, with a wicked personality to survive and Mike is that man. Fabulous at a time when the globe is going a bit crazy.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386