Read when it snows reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all when it snows reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Like It When It Rains []  2020-1-16 23:23

    I have ten songs on mine, total of 40 min. Mostly slow blues, one Russian or Gypsy flavored tune ("Mutchika"), and a deeply felt, dark toned cover of the Mississippi Sheiks (best known as by Howlin' Wolf) "Sittin On Top Of The World". Title song is related to "Sitting" as well. Of course, all instrumentals, mostly electric slide guitar features-which has always been Ronnie's forte. "Down On Guadalupe" has a jazzy Robert Lockwood feel, and "Ridin' With Ronnie" is quick 50's rock & roll with piano sharing the lead with Earl. Nice but brief disc, evidently kinda rare. Recorded in 1990.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Like It When It Rains []  2020-1-16 23:23

    The thirteen tracks listed in Amazon's entry for "I Like It When It Rains" matches what was originally printed on the back liner notes for the recording. However, on the copy I received through a second-party Amazon seller, tracks six through eight in the liner notes have been taped out, leaving a total of only 10 tracks. The tracks listed on the disc itself confirm this total:1. Ridin With Ronnie2. Linda3. Midnite Clothes4. Mutcika5. I Like It When It Rains6. Walkin and Cryin7. Down on Guadalupe8. Anna Lee9. Sittin on Top of the World10. Blues for Jimmie and Jessie

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Like It When It Rains []  2020-1-16 23:23

    Amazing older Ronnie Earl album. The songs are not quite as long as on other Ronnie recordings, but that's just a pet peave of mine. The more Ronnie the better. The backing group of musicians is very amazing here providing Ronnie quality backing. One of my favorite covers on this recording "Sittin' On Top Of The World" is a beautiful amazing version, although I still prefer Cream's rendition. Overall a decent effort by Ronnie and the guys.

    0  


    Add your opinion on when it snows or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hearsay When I Hear It! [App]  2019-11-1 13:54

    I love this android game I only want there were more cases available.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Like It When It Rains []  2020-1-16 23:23

    i didn't think this ronnie was as amazing as some of the black top items - deep blues, soul searchin', peace of mind - it is still ronnie earl. he carries the title of guitar virtuoso, and deservedly so. any ronnie earl disc is worth owning, this one included.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Like It When It Rains []  2020-1-16 23:23

    Obtain back to Ronnie's Roots with this one! I am grateful to the amazing people who were there to document Ronnie's Rising Star! Dig Deep and have fun this early feast for your ears.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hearsay When I Hear It! [App]  2019-11-1 13:54

    Have enjoyed this android game for years. It can obtain very challenging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    This month I've re-read all of Yancey's books....yes, all of them. The Kindle and Alexa helped me do this. This second time shows me something I missed the first time. Where is the Trust scripture tells us we need? In any die situation or even life itself, it is vital. Everyone has an opponent to their soul so who are you believing? We are given the loving freedom to choose.Anyone wanting to understand more of God in a difficult situation might like the book (a real story) MURDERED HEIRESS LIVING WITNESS by Petty Wagner....(now available on Kindle).She really was murdered but lived to tell about it. She learned to know the God of Love.His ultimate goal is not to punish but a private relationship with each individual. After all, how much do you trust a total stranger?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    One of the largest objections that people have to the idea of a loving God, is the reality of pain and suffering in the world. They ask, "How can a loving God let this or that to happen?""Either God is all-powerful," the argument goes, "or he is all-loving. But the state of our globe is evidence that he cannot possibly be both."Or can he be?Christians have - since the beginning - thought about this necessary question. It's a question we can't escape. It is all around us. Every time a loved one dies, we're faced with it. Every terminal diagnosis we hear about reminds us of it. And when we turn on the news, there's a near constant stream of reasons to question God's love and power.And not only is this question all around us - it's incredibly personal. This isn't a topic only for theologians in their ivory towers. The question of suffering will touch every human being on earth, given enough , where is God in the midst of all this?That's what Philip Yancey attempts to respond in his classic book Where is God When it Hurts? Originally written in 1977 when Yancey was in his mid-twenties, it went through a major revision in 1990 (I can't speak to any differences between the two versions because I've only read the more latest one). And though he was young when he first place pen to paper, this book is filled with wisdom. Wisdom gained by listening to of the things I learned fairly early on in my life, was that even if I didn't have wisdom or understanding. Others did. And if I'm willing to listen to their stories, their experiences, and their failures, then I don't have to create the same mistakes they did. I can glean from the wisdom of others. This is how Yancey was able - though young - to write a book that's so a journalist, Yancey had the opportunity to interview people from all walks of life. Their stories of suffering and persevering create up his case that God is, in fact, both all-loving and all-powerful. So, how does he create this case? Slowly and e book is divided up into five parts that build on one another. He begins with the rather broad question, 'Why is there such a thing as pain?' This is as foundational as you can get. And I can imagine that a lot of people who are suffering - whether from physical or psychological pain - might ask this question: "If God is good, why did he make pain to start with?"What follows is a rather clinical discussion - focusing on the biology of pain and how our body processes it. It makes sense to me, in a theoretical way, to start a book like this. But as I read, I wondered about the person reading this who had just lost their spouse - or who had just received a terminal diagnosis. I almost felt like they might be turned off by this approach. And Yancey acknowledges that, even when we understand the purpose of pain, it doesn't support those who experience it in its chronic form. Again, I obtain why he started this way. It makes sense because of everything he builds on this foundation. I just wonder how a lot of suffering people started reading Where is God When it Hurts? - in hopes of finding support - but quickly place it down because of the method it Yancey continues, he tells about Dr. Paul Brand, a doctor who works with lepers in Louisiana. Lepers' pain receptors don't work. They can't experience pain - at least not the physical kind. And it's disastrous for them. They don't know when something is too hot, so they can easily burn themselves. They can break bones, tear tendons, and chop themselves without even realizing ough we might want we could experience a pain-free life, we wouldn't like it if that want was granted. We'd end up like old King Midas: realizing that the thing we thought we most wanted was actually the thing that would destroy part 2, Yancey asks another necessary question, 'Is pain a notice from God?' He acknowledges the locations in Scripture where suffering is sent by God but he makes an necessary distinction. When God sent judgment in the Old Testament, it was always preceded by a warning. In other words, God didn't send plagues or battle or famine without first telling people he was going to. God always warned people - in hopes that they would repent.Unfortunately, too a lot of Christians strip these verses of their context and create proclamations about this or that being 'God's will.' But, we can't know that. God may let a sickness or a death but that doesn't mean he caused it. Job's story reminds us that we can't know why most suffering takes place. And Yancey makes liberal use of Job's experience to perfect the end of this section, Yancey argues that the Christian response to suffering must be just that: a response. If we focus on the cause, we'll never obtain out of the valley. If we hold asking "Why me?" or "What is God trying to tell me in this?" we'll just dig ourselves deeper into the ground. Instead of focusing on the cause, Yancey encourages us to hold our eyes facing forward. We should reflect on our response to the suffering more than the causes. This is the best method to work through the a lot of emotions that accompany rt 3 recounts the stories of several suffering people. One chapter is devoted to Brian Sternberg. Another tells about Joni Eareckson Tada. And still another focuses on several Holocaust survivors. Each of these chapters looks at how people obtain through suffering - even when the suffering doesn't end. These are helpful because they bring much of what Yancey has been discussing down to an even more private level. It's one thing to say "Focus on your response to pain rather than the cause." It's a completely various thing to hear about men like Christian Reger - a Holocaust survivor who persevered in spite of witnessing the very worst of part 4, Yancey gets practical by examining the question, 'How can we cope with pain?' Here, he looks at two things that will drag us into further pain (fear and helplessness) and two things that have the potential to lift us out of our pain (meaning and hope). These are necessary chapters though I felt like they'd probably be better for people ministering to others who are suffering rather than the suffering people themselves.And since I'm on the subject, allow me say that I believe this book would serve as a unbelievable resource for pastors and for squads devoted to ministering to others. There's a amazing of very practical tip here and Yancey steers us away from some of the common errors that Christians create when interacting with suffering people. In addition, this book contains a group discussion tutorial in the back that would be excellent for either a ministry squad or a help group to work through. I can imagine that it would be very profitable; though I can't speak from experience since I read it alone.Yancey closes the book with, in my view, the most necessary part of all: 'How does faith help?' And in particular, he looks at how Christian faith helps. In this section, he notes the importance of the Church being Christ's presence and voice to suffering people. Pain can block out the voice of God. In those moments, the Church needs desperately to step up to the e end of this book returns to the question posed in the title, Where is God When it Hurts? If we're tempted to ask this question, we would do well to meditate on a picture of the sus, God the Son, suffered alongside us. He entered into this globe - a globe he created - so that he could fully identify with us - his creatures. And when we suffer, we should remind ourselves that we don't suffer alone. God has suffered with us. He has come into our pain and our sorrow. As John's Gospel says, "Jesus wept" ( John 11:35).And he weeps with cause this globe doesn't work the method he intended. Death and disease were not part of God's amazing creation. They are intruders and enemies.And Jesus' resurrection reminds us that they won't have the final say. On Easter, Christ defeated death, once for all. This is the hope that sustains us through all pain and all 's the hope that one day God will place all things right. In that day, God "will wipe away every tear from their eyes; and there will no longer be any death; there will no longer be any mourning, or crying, or pain; the first things have passed away" (Revelation 21:4). Yancey points us toward that y we walk to it, through both joy and suffering, with confidence.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    The hardest book I have read in my life so far. (I’m 56.) I bought this because of private pain from tragedies in my life, and a lot of anger with God. It’s kind of for physical pain-but trust me when I say that 99% of what I read was directly applicable to my mental suffering, sadness, grief, anger, hopelessness, pessimism and amazing apathy. This book brought amazing meaning to all those feelings and thoughts. GREAT meaning. Which I would have thought impossible. My life is not all rosy and sunshine now, but I certainly look at life and God and circumstances differently, and I’m still very sad, but I’m not mad at God anymore, certainly not. If you’re looking for an respond like that, you will search it here and much much more. It will challenge your misconceptions about quite a few things and also challenge you (in a amazing way). What a amazing writer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    One of the best books I've read on pain and suffering.Yancey begins by showing the importance and benefit of pain. He describes the discovery of Dr. Brand that leprosy does not cause flesh to be destroyed. Rather because people with leprosy feel no pain, they don't recognize when something is event so they don't prevent the hurt to their bodies. In India, people with leprosy had their fingers and toes chewed off by rats. However, they didn't know what happened--they thought their digits were "eaten" by the disease. It wasn't until Dr. Brand observed them constantly that he figured out what was happening. God made the sensation of pain in our bodies to warn us when something is wrong. Dr. Brand tried to make some kind of warning system for people with leprosy and learned that people ignored every type of warning except pain. Pain not only warns us, but it also forces us to stop doing something that harms us or to obtain support for whatever is going minding us of God's response to Job, the author says that God doesn't explain why we individually are suffering in specific situations. God never told Job why he had been through all the trauma--He just asked Job a series of questions pointing out the power of God. Two things lead to pain: 1) God set in motion a set of natural laws in which certain actions/circumstances lead to specific results, and 2) God gave mankind freedom. Pain cannot be avoided unless God changes His creation, which would make chaos and/or turn humans into automatons.Yancey gives examples of people who have not only survived not good pain and suffering but actually become better from having gone through their painful experiences. Even when we can't understand why we are suffering and can't stop it, we can actually draw closer to God and inspire and support other people through our e author then shows that God understands and cares deeply about our pain. Jesus Himself suffered more than we ever will. He knew how hard it would be; He even prayed that there might be another method but accepted the Father's will. During his lifetime, He healed people because He cared about their pain. He has promised never to leave us or forsake us--the Holy Spirit is with us when we suffer even when we don't feel His presence.Yancey ends the book by telling us that we as the Body of Christ reflect God to people with they suffer. We are called to feed the hungry, care for widows and orphans, answer to natural disasters, comfort the sick and imprisoned--to present God's love to those who are hurting.Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    I liked the book, I was on a journey studying the philosophical question "The issue of Pain" when i read this book. That was years ago from the time of this review, so theres not alot I remeber other than: I appreciated how the author approach the subject and gave examples of people going through true e author didnt seemed to be simply trying to create a case for a particular religious belief, it was more... answering a general question that the we all grapple with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    Yancey pulls in multiple sources and types of sources to give the reader a amazing engagement of the problem of pain and suffering and faithful response. He avoids the simple trap of looking to the afterlife to explain it all away which is common in American Christianity today while still acknowledging the reality of this life's temporary nature. It is well balanced between giving some answers and recognizing that there are no simple answers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    A riveting read by the author based on real life stories. This makes it personal. When it's personal, the question you and I have to create is - why them and not me, why me and not them. We are emotionally attached. Emotional intelligence is probably the greatest attribute one can attain. I strive to share : attitude, altitude, magnitude and gratitude ... a caring and humble relationship with one's neighbour

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    I admit that I have several Yancey books, and consider all of them to be excellent. This book is no exception. Yancey has a method of writing that draws the reader into the story. Though very scholarly, he writes so that all are led to understand the point that he is developing. A number of true globe situations are described. The reactions of two families that had young athletes suffer live-altering accidents are described in detail to illustrate the difference between acceptance of the effect vs the refusal to accept the result. "Where is God when..." is a question that we often ask, actually or subconsciously, and in this book Yancey draws the reader to respond the question in various ways and in various situations. Much material about ministering to hurting people is also developed. A chapter-by-chapter discussion tutorial is included as the closing section of the book. This tutorial is written in a manner that can be used for individual study or little group study, and is an perfect resource to build on the notice in each chapter. This book is an exceptional resource for the topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    I have to give this book 5 stars just because of how well and how thoroughly -- and how compassionately -- the author covered the subject of suffering. Too a lot of times, I have heard a polarized opinion of pain: either there is no God (or God is just mean) because there is suffering in the world, or there is suffering in the globe because it's our fault and we just have to with it. And from those in the latter camp, it's usually followed up with some goofy comment about positive thinking/optimism/joy/whatever. None of that is at all helpful or comforting when you are experiencing suffering or doubt as a effect of suffering.What I appreciated the most about this book is the author giving us permission to feel pain, to feel grief, to feel anger, to feel loss. I was diagnosed with depression at 12, and I am honestly repulsed and appalled by how the majority of Christians view depression and other mental illness. If only I had faith, I wouldn't have depression; if only I wanted to be healed, I'd be healed; if I had a true relationship with God, the devil wouldn't obtain in me and give me depression. It's (almost) enough to turn someone away from God instead of toward him. The author is honest about the reality of pain, even going so far as to point out -- gasp -- that Jesus felt pain, sadness, and fear.What I also really appreciated was the author's suggestion for a shift in thinking of "why?" to "to what end?" In other words, turning one's experience of suffering into an experience that can not only bring about healing, but support others and glorify God.I recommend this book to anyone that is hurting or has loved ones hurting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Is God When It Hurts? []  2020-1-26 23:35

    Yancey doesn't pull any punches when he tackles an issue, which is part of the reason I love his work (especially Disappointment With God). He covers all the common objections about suffering raised by secular people and Christians alike. He does a amazing job in this book making it not so much about philosophical doctrine but instead about how do true people with these problems on an emotional and spiritual level, making this book unique. He does cover all the essential theological responses to the issue of evil, however, so It's not just a feel-good fantasy based in abstractions.I would recommend this book to anybody who struggles with chronic suffering, or who works with people who do. However, I think this book works best in addition to other works that are of a more scholarly level, (The Root of Evil by Geisler comes to mind). This book is an attempt to obtain at the heart of a person, which is good, but I think it falls a small short when it comes to getting at the mind. Overall a amazing work and a fast read that's worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    An perfect book for those involved in the Human Medicine business. Whether you are an Nurses' aide. RN, LVN, M.D, Physical or Respiratory therapist, Ambulance or even Firefighter; ANYONE who with the Public Health should read this book for medicinal purposes. LOL. The author writes that makes you feel that you completely understand where he is coming from, and you are just reeling with laughter, even though you might be tired, disgruntled, depressed, etc. He has the correct title for this book, too. lol Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    I am a 911 dispatcher. latest night was one of the most stressful nights I had in a very long time. when I got home this morning, I picked up my Kindle and happen to come across this book which I had bought and forgot about. By the second story, I was almost wetting myself from laughter. At one point I had to just lay the Kindle down, I was laughing so hard. This is a true stress reliever. And I can almost garentee you the stories are true, you cant create this items up.Wonderful writing, light, funny, and very discriptive. You can "see" it as you read it...I'll not be eating cottage cheese for a very long time!!!!! And I understand better why our EMS run like a bat out of hell when baby delivery is soon to happen.Just it, its worth much more than you pay!!! ENJOY!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    People are giving this book not good reviews because they actually believe everything written actually happened. I think a lot of of the stories are embellished far beyond the reality. Do I believe an experienced and mature EMT would steal pricey hospital equipment and use it to shoot a needle into a colleague's rear? No. Do I believe that the author was afraid when he pushed a corpse in the dark refer before turning the light on and the door slammed behind him? No. Do I believe that 70% of what was written is pure imagination? Yes.And yes, explaining how to steal hospital clothing is, well, just Cyra isn't a not good writer and he is sometimes funny. And if they can create TV shows about outrageous things that happened in the ER, I don't see why Mr. Cyra can't publish his fiction with a few grains of truth. Just don't know if I will read any more of it even though I have the second book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    And there was...laughter. A lot. Some might say, "too much," but I'm not sure that's possible.I enjoyed this a lot...perhaps laughed too much at times but, that's the point of this 's a quick, fun, read and simple to stop and return to as each chapter is a story in and of itself.Had to drop one star for spelling. 3 words on one page? Where was the editor or mate to double check? Didn't result the book overall, just created me lose concentration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    Being a former paramedic, I was expecting a lot from this book. I wanted to laugh, and be reminded why being a paramedic was the most unbelievable job I ever had. I was not disappointed! I laughed and laughed while reading his stories. I found myself reading some of them 2 and 3 times because they were that enjoyable, and was disappointed to reach the end. I wish more!I have to take problem with the one and two star reviews that claim that all the positive reviews are from people who know the author. I do not know the author at all. My positive review is based on my enjoyment of the book. I do think that you need to be able to understand medical humor in to know that people in the medical field must distance themselves and search humor in their jobs, or risk falling into a deep depression with all that they see and do. With that said, if you don't understand medical humor, this may not be the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    I read one of Mike Cyra's stories on a blog before I got the book to read, and I laughed so hard at the story I read, I just had to check out the book. The book isn't bad. However, after reading the one story on the blog, the book disappointed me some. The writing for a lot of of the stories is not very professional--it has a very blog-like, amateur writer and amateur comedian feel to the writing style. The stories, however, most of them are beautiful t to sound all sexist, but some of the stories are probably going to be funnier to guys than to most ladies. The humor is the type my young adult son absolutely loves and roars at, but those stories only really just created me chuckle or sort of shrug my shoulders. They weren't poor stories, per se, but they just weren't my thing. Then there were some stories that created me really laugh. So it [email protected]#$%! or miss, but it was worth the time to read private take on it is that if the author were to hone up on his actual writing skills, he's got some raw talent here that can develop into a really amazing sense of professional writing humor. I believe this is a first book of this nature for author Mike Cyra, and as such, it's a amazing freshman effort. I think if he continues with this course, we'll either see that he gave everything he had to this first book and is a one-hit wonder, or he's going to totally excel and blow us away once his talent has had some time to mature and develop (and I mean the talent mature--I do NOT mean the author is immature--but there are (chuckle) a lot of 'immature' stories that will create you laugh at the silliness in this book). Think Dave Barry, but not quite as 'clean' and definitely not as polished if you like to laugh and you don't mind some gallows humor and body functions and blood and guts and locker room humor don't bother you, you might really like this book. Even if you don't care for that type of humor, there are still a few stories in here you might search you like a lot. A amazing effort and a pleasurable read. I'll definitely hold an eye out for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    I loved this book really, it was so funny in so a lot of ways, especially the first two stories had me laughing with tears rolling down my face as I read. Recited the stories to mates and family in the following weeks and they too laughed till they cried. Very well written actually. I loved the story about the cottage cheese, I'm still laughing, cringing etc and the story about the 'central line' and large needle!!! It's a amazing read between massive novels, it lightens the spirit, brings a whole fresh perspective of what our not good emergency workers have to place up with on a everyday basis. I don't envy them one bit but it takes a very special, caring and thoughtful person, with a wicked personality to survive and Mike is that man. Fabulous at a time when the globe is going a bit crazy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    This was a fast read. While there were no stories that changed my life in a meaningful way, I appreciated the variety. I was surprised that the voice of the book was much less reverent towards patients than I am accustomed to (I work in human services). Regardless, I enjoyed the chapter about driving an ambulance in traffic and getting stuck behind a poor driver. I also don't think I'll look at a potato in quite the same way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    I spent far too a lot of nights up to the very early morning hours engulfed by this book. In more than a few parts I had to physically place the book down and wipe my eyes because I was literally crying from laughter. The things that people do to themselves is beyond hilarious. Also knowing that behind the curtain doctors and nurses are secretly sometimes biting the insides of their cheeks and trying so hard to place on a 'serious doctor' face makes it even better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emergency Laughter: It Wasn't Funny When It Happened, But it is Now! []  2020-2-6 21:20

    This is a amazing read. I would read it when my partner was driving the ambulance and I just loved it. It had me burst out laughing in the very first chapter! All of these stories are a amazing read and I just love this experiences. I'll be checking to see what else this author has written. Just so much animation in the first chapter ALONE. It's unforgettable. And the vines story? Oh my GOD.If you're in EMS read this. You'll love it. It's no various then kicking back with fellow EMTs, Medics, etc and just hearing some awesome and sometimes not good stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    Only works in California. Should say so in description. Useless if it only works in 1 state.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    You know you're gonna obtain poor ratings from anyone outside CA so why not create it clear? Odd.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    Do go pass the sign in

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wicked River: The Mississippi When It Last Ran Wild []  2020-1-17 20:22

    I thought this would be a fascinating book, but unfortunately to me the book was very dry and wandered from topic to subject. Even though this was a amazing topic that should have kept me turning the pages I had a hard time staying interested. The author did a amazing job researching this subject, I just [email protected]#$%! had been written in a more interesting manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wicked River: The Mississippi When It Last Ran Wild []  2020-1-17 20:22

    If you're looking for a book about life on the Mississippi told in the manner of Tag Twain, this is not the book for you. "Wicked River" describes life on the river from a historical view providing the reader with a various window to look through. Lee Sandlin's descriptions of the landscape and this ever changing river enable you to partake on a journey, sometimes leisurely and sometimes treacherous. As you navigate your method down this amazing river on a dozens of vessels, you'll pass through a dozens of towns, both amazing and bad, and be introduced to some of the people that created their home on and near the water. You'll explore pirates and profiteers, earthquakes, floods, fires, war, disasters and engineering l in all, I found this to be a most enjoyable book and was sorry to have the journey end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    Reading Marshall Stocker's book is like reading history in the making! With all that has gone on in Egypt the past few years - and continues to go on - you need a solid perspective of the players, the culture and the politics to fully understand what is happening, and Stocker provides that in this book. He sets out to tell the story of his true estate venture and ends up telling a much larger story. Fascinating, full of amazing insight, and often humorous, this book was a pleasure to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    An awesome book that an insightful view into a culture that is remarkably various from the United States. Also insight into the difficulties westerners experience trying to begin a business venture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wicked River: The Mississippi When It Last Ran Wild []  2020-1-17 20:22

    A vivid history of the Mississippi River culture of the early 19th century, including the people living there, the river itself as a deadly and ever-changing force, and the method it was presented to outsiders through the early VR-like technology of "panoramas" and the work of Tag Twain. A favorite part for me was the discussion of just how forbidding an environment the river was in the early years, with an entire slang vocabulary that sprang up to describe its hazards (including "sawyers") and entire towns that were established specifically to hold thieving, drunken river-dwellers out of the respectable people's districts just inland.I read this in the context of Stark's "Astoria", a history of an ill-fated expedition to colonize what's now Oregon, with some overlapping info about early Canadian "voyageur" culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wicked River: The Mississippi When It Last Ran Wild []  2020-1-17 20:22

    An extraordinary compendium of awesome stories of happenings along the old Huge Muddy. Fascinating and relentlessly entertaining. If you live near the river as I do you will search the stories a window into history as it was before civilization tamed the river.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    Not Available in Illinois

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    not available in my state

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    When will this be available in Michigan?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    👍👍👍👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Shed Method: Making Better Choices When It Matters []  2020-1-19 22:22

    What a thoughtful, practical yet inspiring book. Written in a warm yet informative style, the SHED Way covers info on managing your own reactions to work situations. Having taken part in two executive education programs at Stanford, this book covers much of that same crucial info in a very accessible format. As I read the book, I created quite a few notes on fresh approaches to maintaining a positive, professional mood throughout my work day, and was introduced to fresh concepts too. This will be a book I return to again and again as I incorporate these ideas into my everyday life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    Brilliant novel from an adventurous investor polo player with a mission: revolutionizing the Egyptian rent-controlled true estate market. His motto is "buy when there's blood on the streets, even if the blood is your own". In his candid style Stocker describes every day life in Cairo, as well as the immense economic challenges Egypt is facing post-uprising. Faced with dire economic prospects, he eventually closed in 2012, after five years, and wondered: "was it better to build a business offering salutary benefits that, in the long run, would enhance Egyptians' lives? Or was it better to withdraw from all economic endeavors to signal objection to the government's human rights abuses". Another one worth noting: "Prior to January 2011 tourists were introduced to looming photos of President Hosni Mubarak. I specifically remember one of him in a business suit and dark sunglasses surrounded by military leaders. What was it about autocrats and sunglasses?" ;-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    This book was excellent for me on several levels. The business and political insight about Egypt is useful because I am involved in "developing country" investments. And, the narrative was well organized and well written: a entertaining story with often-humorous anecdotes.I agree with the author that countries should move from central planning to markets to improve living standards for everyone. Therefore, I appreciated the well-thought-out ways in which the author argued this.And, I believe American businesspeople preparing to do business in the more chaotic parts of the globe are wise to read-up on the experiences of others who have already done that.I highly recommend this book!John Christmas, author of "Democracy Society"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    Can't sign up without Facebook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    why even have the application available if it is only for California residents.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    it's not available in Alabama

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    i love this application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    Disclaimer: I told Marshall to write this book because whenever we met in Cairo he would have the best stories to tell — and characters and crazy currency rumours — and I realised I could not steal them all.'So write a book,' I told him, 'and then when you've sold a million copies and it has done much better than mine you have to take me out to dinner.'He rshall trying to do business in Cairo — part 'Our Man in Havana', part Normal Lewis trying to figure out the Mafia in 'Naples '44' — is a tale of unintended hilarity shot through with insight and macro economics. It reminds us who hold trying to do journalism, that the best stories are the ones which you inhabit, or which simply happen to you, not the ones you interview. This is not a nose-pressed-against-the-glass acc of the Arab Spring, but an inside acc of an American trying to business in the middle of a revolution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    Marshall intertwines economic analysis and compelling private narrative. His central thesis, highlighting the difficulties getting business done in contemporary Cairo, rings more and more real in the months following this book's publication. I consider this an essential starting point to anyone with a desire to understand the economic undercurrents that must surely be resolved before Egypt gets onto the right track. The more Marshall's Egypt drives away, the more dire its economic future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wicked River: The Mississippi When It Last Ran Wild []  2020-1-17 20:22

    One of the very few books describing the history of the life on the Mississippi River from the first arrival of the white settlers to the modern days. The author shows realistic depiction of the life and culture along and on the River. The idea going through this book is how small value a life had there and how cruel the times were all the method up until the beginning of the 20th century.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wicked River: The Mississippi When It Last Ran Wild []  2020-1-17 20:22

    Sandlin brings a lot of information, facts, history and fun anecdotal, long-forgotten stories into a very amazing read. He researched a lot of books, including a lot of written in the early to late 1800’s. I throughly enjoyed, and was enriched by, the book. So much so that I just ordered another of his books, The Distancers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunt Snows - Snow Goose E-Caller App [App]  2020-1-31 21:36

    extremely simple to use. amazing sounds. best e caller application i have ever used

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    Written just before, during, and after the Arab Spring, this book takes you on an exciting, albeit bumpy, ride through Egypt. Having kept up with the news headlines, I thought I had a grasp of current happenings in Egypt. But, reading this sheds much required light on what truly is a strange and fascinating culture. I laughed out loud in some parts. And cringed in others. If you rather read about tear gas in Tahrir than experience it first hand, this book will serve you well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    This outstanding, easy-read book is both informative and entertaining. You'll spend three years alongside an American businessman experiencing not only the Egyptian culture and a complex bureaucracy, but also understanding the psyche of a population driven to civil unrest. The years were filled with ethical dilemmas, intrigue, and undaunted perseverance. MUST read. You won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    This book has value in that it provides the opinions and experience of an American businessman in Cairo before, a small bit during, and after the Jan 25 revolution. But it's really a cross between a travel blog devoid of much insight and a collection of stories that might impress the crowd at a wealthy cocktail party. The author absurdly argues that the revolution was partly versus communism. His perceptions of Egyptian culture are at best superficial and at worst derogatory. Egyptians are often late and taxi drivers are cheats, that sort of thing. The worst aspect is the author's self-importance. He claims he's in more danger than is reality. In reality, he was housed in an island for the elite, played polo on the weekends, and left in the middle of the revolution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    60 - 177% APR is exactly the definition of predatory lending. Search any other means of borrowing money, even cards are cheaper than this scam. Avoid at ALL costs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    Amazing app, support me out a bunch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    Why not create it clear your only available on one state? senseless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    doesn't even work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    Method easier than asking mates and family for cash.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wicked River: The Mississippi When It Last Ran Wild []  2020-1-17 20:22

    If you are interested in how the Mississippi changed America, this is the book for you. Short and concise, yet with a ton of information, you will not be sorry. While it did drag a bit at the end, I learned a lot about how the Mississippi literally contributed to the development of towns, economies and the Civil War. If you wish a history book that you will really have fun reading, pick this one up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wicked River: The Mississippi When It Last Ran Wild []  2020-1-17 20:22

    I grew up with the Mississippi River levee literally in our back yard. The river has always been a put of wonder, mystery and wonderful power. I've read a lot of books about the river and this is one of the best. I just [email protected]#$%! had been a small longer. I finished it so quickly it left me eager for more of the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    Not available in Florida ugh

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    BOO ! not available in Connecticut. sucks. where are you even available at? is this a joke?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hundy - P2P Microloans - Money When You Need It [App]  2019-11-13 13:14

    Not available in TX

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wicked River: The Mississippi When It Last Ran Wild []  2020-1-17 20:22

    A view of the Mississippi River that one is not used to seeing. The Mississippi was not always the romantic put as envisioned by Jerome Kerns and Oxcart Hammerstein in :"Show Boat", or the nostalgic tale of Tag Twain in "Tom Sawyer." My own nostalgic memories of the River are from my days as a student at Washington University in St. Louis (pre Gateway Arch) and gathering samples of Mississippi River water at Fresh Madrid to try for possible pollution introduced from a power plant built on the shores of the River. (There was no detectable result on water quality due to the nearly infinite dilution by the River.)Today when one observes the Mississippi, he sees the long barges hauling agricultural an the goods for export at Fresh e wild river has been tamed to let it to become a major means of transportation. The romantic days of the River are confined to "Show Boats" and other paddle-wheelers as tourist attractions. The U.S. Troops of Corps of Engineers seems to have a constant war to hold the river begin for traffic in fighting the tendency of the River to wish to change course. If one looks at modern mopes of the United States it is observed that parts of Illinois are on the west bank of the Mississippi. One has to wonder if taming the river is really feasible or only a pipe dream.An simple and informative read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wicked River: The Mississippi When It Last Ran Wild []  2020-1-17 20:22

    We live about a mile from the Mississippi at its widest spot. The book is a unbelievable reminder of the days when it was truly a river with all its people and their adventures. Unfortunately, as Sandlin says simple on in the book, the Mississippi River is no longer a river.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Don't Stand Under a Tree When It Rains []  2020-1-21 22:43

    Not my usual read, but a compelling look at history in the making in Egypt! Marshall writes his thoughts and experiences and paints a vivid look at modern day business and life in Egypt!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunt Snows - Snow Goose E-Caller App [App]  2020-1-31 21:36

    This application makes using any ecaller better. Now you can run the best sounds for your setup from your phone. Adjustments are simple and you can run multiple sounds at the same time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunt Snows - Snow Goose E-Caller App [App]  2020-1-31 21:36

    It's a amazing one

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When []  2020-1-14 19:40

    I overheard teachers at my junior high raving about this book, and while I don't usually read young adult novels, I love mysteries. This was a amazing book and I love the unusual bonus that the protagonist has. I will definitely read the sequel, if there is one...which I hope for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When []  2020-1-14 19:40

    I work full time, have a freelance business I’m building at home in addition to that FT job, a husband, a noisy kitten in heat, a 12 week old puppy in poddy training that also wants to play 24/7, AND I STILL FINISHED THIS IN 2.5 DAYS.I couldn’t place it down! The MC is not your typical Nancy Drew type; no sneaking off to catch the poor guy herself, etc. There’s no true YA romance, no super cute character to come in & teach her how to use/handle/cope w her gift/ability. All of which I found very refreshing, for this genre.I read some negative reviews that said the FBI’s reactions were absurdly unrealistic & that they’d never act like that in true life, but I beg to differ. I know a true family who was drug through mud exactly like that for an absurd reason, w cops/feds/etc getting all the facts twisted on purpose to fit the story they thought they knew. In that true story there was no hero/heroine to save the day though. The person really did serve time, & spent years afterward trying to earn back what they had lost. It ripped the family apart & really had an result on the kids. SO, don’t take those ‘absurd & unrealistic’ agents so lightly; they might be few & far between but they do exist & that’s part of why this story rang so real for finitely worth your time! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When []  2020-1-14 19:40

    "I'm not exactly sure when I started seeing the numbers." And with that opening line, this gripping, suspenseful story ng Maddie can see everyone's death dates. She doesn't realize the significance of these numbers until her dad dies. Maddie is left wondering if she could have changed the date. Her mom drinks a lot and Maddie feels like her mom blames her for her dad's death. Maddie charges people to tell them their dates so she can earn additional for the household. Maddie hates her ability and hates telling people their dates, but she doesn't feel she can say no to her mother. When a fresh client comes in to ask about her kid with cancer, Maddie gives her the respond she is looking for: her daughter will live a long time. But when she sees a picture of the client's other young son, she realizes he will die within a week. Maddie seems very naive because she assumes that the boy's death will be an accident or the effect of a medical issue that no one knows about. But when the police finds his body, she is quickly shocked into reality. The young boy dies as a effect of extreme torture. Unfortunately he is not the first one to die. The resulting mystery was so compelling that I couldn't place the book down. I had preordered it in Amazon and read it within a few hours. This book wasn't just about a compelling mystery. It is also about a family trying to cope with grief and it's about fate and destiny. If someone knows when they are going to die (but not the how), can it be changed? I thought Maddie did a amazing job dealing with her "gift" the best method she could. I loved the pacing of this story. I thought the storyline moved very quickly, which kept me glued to the page. There was also a surprise ending. I thought I knew who the assassin was, but then I found out I was wrong. There was a twist to who the assassin was that I honestly didn't see coming. The only problem I really had with the book was that the crush on Aiden seemed forced and out of place. There really wasn't a focus on romance, there was just a sprinkling of it here and there. It seemed like more of a distraction to me. I had never read this author's work before but I intend to read more of her stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When []  2020-1-14 19:40

    While ostensibly geared towards YA readers, this book is more than enough for adults as well. I'd give it more than five stars if I agine, if you would, how you would with knowing when everyone you meet or every person you saw pictured would die. Everyone! Then imagine that someone is found dead after you had given their parent the date. The FBI is called in and you and your best mate are suspect in his death. This I'd the dilemma that Maddie and Stubs face. No one believes them and their lives are thrown into turmoil as more people go do you prove your innocence?This book will hold you reading, even if you're supposed to be doing something else. (It did me.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When []  2020-1-14 19:40

    Victoria has done it again! I loved this book. There are books I have read that I really similar with the characters, but there are characters you just fall in love with. Maddie is one of them. Maddie has a special bonus of seeing people's death dates. Of course this gets her in trouble. And the sheeples fear and distrust her. And the cops? Well, let's just say their focus is off! One of the things about Maddie is she has the courage to listen to her intuition and stand powerful when necessary.I sometimes forget that teenagers are mini-adults and there are a lot of teens that face life struggles every day. They ARE adults, especially if they end up taking care of a parent. At any rate, I fell in love with Maddie and hope there may be another story about her. Victoria, hold up that active imagination, and especially hold writing stories that have some type of hero with a metaphysical gift!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When []  2020-1-14 19:40

    it was a amazing read. A small far fetched but since im into paranormal/ fantasy/sci fi items I didnt mind Basically its about a girl who has always had the ability to tell when someone will die by a cluster of numbers she can see above their h ead. She doesnt know how they'll die just when. So when a mother comes in and asks about her kid she tells them that hild will live for a while but one of her others will pass away very soon. When the same boy is found brutally murdered she is the one who is pulled into an F.B.I a beautiful short book and its very quick paced but it wasn't as gripping as I hoped.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When []  2020-1-14 19:40

    Warning, once you finish this book you will be so depressed. All you will wish is to read more of it. This book is one of the best ones I've ever read. I would recommend this to any teen all the method to an adult in their 40's. If suspense and mystery books are your types of books, you NEED to read this book. So please, this book and treat yourself with a book I know anyone would like.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When []  2020-1-14 19:40

    I literally just finished this book about three mins ago and I had to read the latest page a multitude of times because it place the dumbest, goofiest smile on my face. I absolutely loved this book, and I knew that I would considering I purchased it almost immediately after reading the excerpt provided by the "Look Inside" link. I never leave reviews, but I think this book is definitely worth the and the read so I had to leave one. I'll be adding it to my list of favorites.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When []  2020-1-14 19:40

    If you could look at someone and see the date they would die, what lengths would you go to save r Maddie, that is life. Maddie has a gift, she can see the dates someone is going to die just by looking at them. She sees their numbers, little black numbers just hanging over their foreheads. She can read it on someones forehead in person, on television and even in a picture. She has been able to see them since she was a little child. She knows this much, because she saw her fathers number. As she grew up, Maddie began to hold a notebook with all of the death dates she saw in it, she believed this support her to cope with her "gift".Maddies father, a police officer, was gunned down on the date she had predicted as a little child. Her fathers death had sent her mother into a alcohol fueled depression, causing her to lose her nursing job, and the families a teenager to support out with the lack of income from her mother, Maddie began charging customers to read their death date. One of the customers has asked Maddie to read the death date of her young daughter, currently in the hospital battling cancer, but instead what catches maddies attention is the looming upcoming date of another child, a male, in the photograph the customer brought. Maddie created the choice to advise her customer of what she had seen. This naturally upset the customer, who stormed out and predicted on the date Maddie had given her customer, the young male disappeared. After a find returned the boys remains, the FBI began their investigation . With the date connection that maddie had given the murdered boys mother, Maddie was rocketed to the front line of suspects.During the boys investigation, another teenager goes missing, this one a famous cheerleader from a city over. Maddie had also seen the cheerleaders death date. She had also been correct. She had also tried to warn the cheerleader. This lead to another investigation with Maddie front and center once again. Only this time, she had her best friend, Stubby, with her. Stubby knew what Maddie could see, he also knew the death date of the cheerleader because Stubby had a crush on her.During the investigation of Stubby, the FBI agents found damning evidence to point to Stubby leading to his llowing Stubbys arrest, maddies secret makes it method out. The FBI seems to be intent on putting the murders on Maddie and e remaining chapters reveal who is at fault for the murders and the connection to Maddie. Not much can be further explained without s a amazing read, at just over 320 pages it is also a fairly fast read !!!!!Appropriate for teen readers also.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When []  2020-1-14 19:40

    This book was FABULOUS! Victoria Laurie really pulls you into the action and writes characters that are believable. I cared about what happened to the main characters and rode the emotional roller coaster with each shocking action. Ms. Laurie makes you feel what the characters feel. I caught myself getting mad when people were being accusing or mean. At times I laughed out loud, even in public! My attention was caught from the very beginning and I couldn't wait to obtain back to the story (that is, when I HAD to place it down). If left to my own devices I would have read it straight through in one sitting. I plan to copies for my nieces once the book is released! Thank you Ms. Laurie, for writing another action packed, emotionally exciting book! I will recommend this book to everyone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Violence Is the Answer: Learning How to Do What It Takes When Your Life Is at Stake []  2020-1-8 19:2

    Tim Larkin often says that violence is usually not the answer, but when it is, it is the only answer.I’ve listened to several of his interviews, watched several of his videos, and read more than one of his books. His notice is consistent. 99 percent of conflicts are what he calls “antisocial.” The schoolyard bully. The mad red neck. The drunk guy at the bar. These all can and should be avoided. Violence is not the respond to these encounters. The respond is to stay polite and walk away.What about the other 1%? These are asocial encounters. We’ve moved beyond “monkey politics,” as Larkin calls it. There’s no communication. There’s no social posturing. There’s only a predator, and he intends to obtain what he wants regardless of what he has to do. Your life, or your family member’s life, is at stake. You can’t talk your method out. You can’t run. Now is when violence is the answer.If you’ve read Larkin’s other books, you won’t search a lot that is fresh here A slightly various focus, maybe, but the same primary message. But if you haven’t read any of his writings, I highly recommend this one as it is the most up to date.Another note: this book is not full of self-defense techniques. There are general principals, but not specific techniques. As Larkin says, this is not martial arts. You don’t have to know a fancy technique to cause serious injury using just your ere is a lot of amazing info in this book—information that could save a life. I read it with interest, and I’m sure I’ll read it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Violence Is the Answer: Learning How to Do What It Takes When Your Life Is at Stake []  2020-1-8 19:2

    This is a must read for men, women, young, old, short, tall, light or heavy. I pray not, but supposing you were in a parking lot and a man accosted you with a gun, knife or club and you have no method out, what would you do? This recent book of Tim explains in detail how to confront the situation calmly, & confidently knowing that in five seconds or less, you know you will be able to demolish this threat & be ready to face his associate, if he has not right away will know exactly which part of the body you will target to demolish and incapacitate his brain completely!I was introduced to Tim Larkins books and videos since two years ago and must say this book introduces you to the topic of protecting yourself, and your family with your bare hands. You will minimize or completely remove the fear of facing a gun or knife or club,It is a page turner and I urgently ask men & especially women to read it and some videos. You can demolish any attacker in five seconds or less.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Violence Is the Answer: Learning How to Do What It Takes When Your Life Is at Stake []  2020-1-8 19:2

    In today's globe you may be confronted with someone or some situation which forces you to choose between doing something violent or permitting the individual or situation to possibly end your life! Given that scenario would you consider an appropriate response?Would you decide to live?Would you decide to allow them slay you?Would you decide to live and be forced to damage them?You could choose to live, and still not succeed because, how do you damage them enough to stop them?I would choose to live! I would Wish to survive and prosper, Rather than just survive the ordeal! In other words, I really would honestly, rather not have to ever create such a decision, but simetimes you don't have any choice, like those unfortunate passengers on 9/11!If you've ever grappled with problems like really do owe it to yourself, and your loved ones to read, Tim Larkin's book! I thinkhe has "Got It!""Spot On!""Dead Right"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Violence Is the Answer: Learning How to Do What It Takes When Your Life Is at Stake []  2020-1-8 19:2

    I read through the whole book today and found it a amazing refresher to what I already know. I'll be honest from the get-go - I didn't spend my on Tim Larkin's daring book for the true, essential, info packed inside it. I bought it to publicly help the author in his mission of preparing amazing people to be able to even the odds if/when they search themselves facing imminent danger.Eleven years ago, after being responsible for taking care of two young nephews on a two-day long street trip, it hit me that I wouldn't know exactly what I would need to do if they ever required my protection. Until then I had always been able to remove myself from threats before situations escalated because I was aware of the social dynamics coming into play earlier than most and I have never been the type to look for trouble. However, when you have to look after another person you can't always obtain to safety. I started searching and eventually found Tim online and ordered a set of his self-protection training e principles Tim taught then haven't changed. They do require the mental/emotional shift to understanding violence as being a tool available to anybody when it's what is required to survive. They are true, simple, and simple to absorb and to o years later I was fortunate to be able to attend a live two-day training with Tim when he was "Down Under". Totally worthwhile experience because 1) getting on the mats with other students and training the "slow" TFT method really got me "dialled in" as I've never been able to search a training partner here in NZ. 2) It was neat to finally meet Tim - one of the most humble, kind, helpful, guys you will ever meet. A real gentleman is someone who chooses to be gentle not someone who is because gentle is the only option they have. Too a lot of amazing men in our society today don't know how to use violence successfully to protect the vulnerable from the asocial predators. If that is you, like it was me once, then grab this book and learn how to change that. It does NOT take years of martial arts training. It takes a couple hours of learning the principles and primary physics that every successful act of violence (whether done by a criminal or a hero) is built e notice of this book is super controversial in these idealistic politically correct times when most of the powers-that-be don't wish the average Joe or Jane Citizen to have access to this sort of knowledge. Info that every person should have available to them. This info has not created me a violent person. Rather it has helped me to dump the silly war fantasies so a lot of of us carry around from watching un-realistic film war scenes etc. Real violence is always to be avoided unless you absolutely can't avoid it. Tim talks a lot about how to know when that is going down. I worked in development in a more risky part of the globe for ten years and never had any true issues because although I am bigger than average I would never be found anywhere sketchy late at night with a couple drinks in me. Over there I observed twice that untrained, unarmed, normally peaceful, people can slay hardened criminals when place in a kill-or-be-killed situation if they obtain to create the first injury. This is why I chose Tim's training over the other options so long ago. It makes absolute sense because that's how things go down in the true world.Overall Tim's dvds and books have given me a more peace-filled existence. How so? 1) I understand that avoidable ego-driven wars can unintentionally turn fatal so easily and quickly because we are all equally vulnerable to serious injury - so I won't be baited into a fight. 2) the knowledge I have about what it takes to use violence successfully means I don't need to carry a weapon to be effective. This gives me unspoken confidence - not the kind that looks for problem but the kind that crims know to not mess with if they have easier options.Whether you are male or female, young or old, you too can possess that sense of responsible assurance. But only if you understand what you must do when violence is the only answer. I hope to never search myself in such a situation but if I do I have the right installed in my brain. Thanks Tim!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Violence Is the Answer: Learning How to Do What It Takes When Your Life Is at Stake []  2020-1-8 19:2

    An perfect book! I took a possibility on this one because Gavin De Becker, author of "The Bonus of Fear" and other books wrote the front cover blurb. I reread De Becker at least once a year. I can recall two instances where trusting my sense of fear kept me out of is book builds on the foundation of recognizing when other people mean you hurt and goes into detail about what it really means to have to create the choice to defend e author spends a lot of pages explaining the difference between social aggression and true violence. I found the first section fascinating. I learned a lot about how to read (typically) male posturing and fighting. Then I was introduced to serious asocial, criminal owing the difference is key to understanding when responding with violence is important to defend my own life or that of others.Mind you, Larkin never suggests that we resort to violence except in those rare instances when no other response will be sufficient to avert our annihilation. He describes the mindset one needs to develop in to successfully defend ourselves - a halfhearted defense in hopes that the poor guy will decide to leave us alone is no support at all. One must be committed to do all that is important to stop the poor guy - even to the point of disabling him. Once you begin to defend yourself it's necessary to commit to stopping the aggressor, no matter what it e second part is devoted to learning how to disable someone when it is required. There's some awfully amazing info in this section. But study the first part, too. That's where the true meat of this book is. I highly recommend it, and will add it to my shelf of "must revisit annually" books, right alongside De Becker.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Violence Is the Answer: Learning How to Do What It Takes When Your Life Is at Stake []  2020-1-8 19:2

    You hear a lot of people talk about certain articles or books being "essential" reading and usually they're just really well-written pieces that confirm somebody's previously held beliefs. A mate of mine told me about this book, knowing that I had cousins and nieces going away to college or graduating from college and moving to huge cities for their first jobs, and he said that I should read this, and give it to my family, because it was essential for understanding what violence is and how to use it and not use it in protect yourself and live a more peaceful existence. As a natural anxious person, everything he was saying pegged my anxiety to "10", but once I was done with it I realized he was right. Understanding that violence is a tool and that not all violence is made equal, really helped me as someone who lives in a huge town and created it easier for me to talk about it with my family members who are generally non-confrontational too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Violence Is the Answer: Learning How to Do What It Takes When Your Life Is at Stake []  2020-1-8 19:2

    Not quite what I expected the book to be. I was expecting to learn about techniques and methodology for self-defense. Really the whole book is about changing your mindset about violence from incomprehensible to a tool. Which makes sense, I'm sure a lot of people need support wrapping their minds around the idea that sometimes the only method to survive is with violence as your ally. The book is very well footnoted, which I appreciate. It just wasn't the training book I thought it was and now it feels a bit like I bought an infomercial because I obtain all kinds of emails and to attend the very expensive training classes or watch the training videos the author has made.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Violence Is the Answer: Learning How to Do What It Takes When Your Life Is at Stake []  2020-1-8 19:2

    I've been following Tim's work since around 2003. I have to say... DAMN! This book is so good. Back then the notice wasn't as concise as it is today. He accomplishes in this hard-to-put-down book more than he used to in 5 hours of video back then! Seriously. No exaggeration. The examples are absolutely excellent for showing the points being made. Now, I know nobody typical really looks forward to being faced with a situation where violence is the only answer. Here's the damndest thing though: A typical mechanic doesn't look forward to having to use a wrench because that means he'll have to obtain dirtier than normal, will probably scrape his fingers' knuckles up some, and he's going to have to use the wrench again to place it all back together again. Still he learns how to use that wrench while scraping up his knuckles less or not at all. If he didn't know how to use the tool (wrench) he'd be stuck with items he couldn't obtain apart. He doesn't like to use it, but he knows sometimes he'll have to. Luckily, with violence, well, you'll almost never, if ever, have to face the situation where you mindset has to change to be able to face it. BUT if you ever have to face the unthinkablility of violence, wouldn't you rather your body be alive at the end? There is nothing out there like this. Nobody crystalizes the subject like Tim. So if you think there's even a 1 in a billion shot at having to face the end of your life in unnatural ways, then just obtain this book becuase when violence is the answer, it's the only answer. Like when a wrench is the answer, it's the only answer. It's a tool that you should have the ability to use when needed. And perhaps you will never have to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Violence Is the Answer: Learning How to Do What It Takes When Your Life Is at Stake []  2020-1-8 19:2

    I do not like violence. But when 9/11 happened, I knew I did not wish to be a passenger on one of the three planes that were flown into public buildings with amazing loss of life; I wanted to be one of the passengers on Flight 93 who fought back. They lost their lives, but did not let their airplane to be used to massacre thousands more innocent knowing that karate black belts are amazing warriors (thank you, Chuck Norris!), I started working on a black belt. As I came up to my black belt exam, I realized I still didn't have any idea how to take down a terrorist in an airplane. Perhaps primitive Okinawan karate would have taught this kind of thing, but karate as generally practiced in the USA does not. So I started searching through tons of other options, finally going to one of Tim Larkins' Target Focus Training seminars with my deputy sheriff son-in-law. After 2 1/2 days of training, we walked out knowing exactly what to do to take down a terrorist in an airplane!This book is that weekend seminar printed and bound, and able to be read in the comfort of your own home. It will not turn you into a testosterone-driven angry man. It will not create you a homicidal felon. It will simply give you the principles you can use to effectively protect yourself and your loved ones in the happening of having your life threatened by a violent felon. You will need to do some training, and the training process is deeply explained in the book. For more specifics on the training, find the web for Target Focus Training's series of is is the true deal. It is based on very effective principles, and can be used by the biggest man or smallest woman. I highly recommend the book and the DVDs.And I still hate violence!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Violence Is the Answer: Learning How to Do What It Takes When Your Life Is at Stake []  2020-1-8 19:2

    The author is the founder of “Target focus training” and I have taken his live training seminar a lot of years ago when he came to the Chicago area. I have also sent for much of his material, read his a lot of articles, and his two previous books (Survive the unthinkable and How to survive the most critical 5 seconds of your life).This fresh hardcover 295 page book covers the same theme and philosophical base as his previous books; however, he explains in greater detail certain principles that are essential to understand the nature of violence and when to use it to save your life or the life of a loved is perfect volume is organized into two parts. Part one (How to think about violence) covers violence is a tool, social aggression vs asocial violence, mindset matters most, the worst people have the best info and violence isn’t the answer. The second part (How to think about using violence) focuses on the best target is the one you can get, your brain is your deadliest weapon, training time, training to inflict injury and in the someone who has been involved in numerous martial arts and self-defense systems (Karate-Do, Judo, Jujitsu, Boxing, Wrestling, Krav Maga, American combatives, target focus training and a lot of other fighting arts) for 60 plus years, I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to understand violence and when it is proper to use violence and when you should walk away from a situation.Rating: 5 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Tactical Principles of the most effective combative systems)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Science Slept Sixteen Centuries - And What It Achieved When It Woke: From Greek Science to Quantum Systems []  2020-1-9 18:59

    Pure torture to read if one has any elementary school knowledge of grammar. Not to mention the repetitiveness and unnecessary uld be of mild interest to someone who has absolutely no knowledge of primary history of the development of physics and it's key players, AND no understanding of American English. Most of his info seems to have come from wikipedia anyway--just do some research ally feel sorry for people who for the print edition.And, the charts he referenced are no longer available on the internet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Science Slept Sixteen Centuries - And What It Achieved When It Woke: From Greek Science to Quantum Systems []  2020-1-9 18:59

    As a non-physicist (high school physics only), I am still interested in science and its beginnings. I have found this book to be exceptionally helpful in reaching this goal. It lays out the concepts very well, on a level that most anyone can understand. I would recommend it to everyone for an interesting read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Science Slept Sixteen Centuries - And What It Achieved When It Woke: From Greek Science to Quantum Systems []  2020-1-9 18:59

    Not being particularly inclined to read about physics, I was surprised to search myself quite absorbed in this book. It’s really an overview of a lot of aspects of physics, from the steam engine, to the laws of thermodynamics, to the formation of stars and black holes and much more. The author is passionate about his subject. The tone is personal, he digresses to cover this or that aspect of a physicist’s life -- not always physics-related – and clearly enjoys sharing his knowledge of the subject. Though I didn’t understand everything, I never felt lost. You obtain the sense the author is taking you by the hand to lead you through what is admittedly not an simple subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Science Slept Sixteen Centuries - And What It Achieved When It Woke: From Greek Science to Quantum Systems []  2020-1-9 18:59

    This one's editing is certainly a major disaster! Other than typos, you may search there a lot of a hiatus and repetition in wording, which are quite annoying and sometimes can affect your flow of thinking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Science Slept Sixteen Centuries - And What It Achieved When It Woke: From Greek Science to Quantum Systems []  2020-1-9 18:59

    Amazing book that was very clear with minimal equations yet comprehensive enough to be thorough. Very well done history of physics!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Science Slept Sixteen Centuries - And What It Achieved When It Woke: From Greek Science to Quantum Systems []  2020-1-9 18:59

    This book was recommended to me by a mate and while I did not read the entire thing, physics is not quite my domain but I must say I found it surprisingly interesting, and I'm rather proud to have got through most of it at least!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Science Slept Sixteen Centuries - And What It Achieved When It Woke: From Greek Science to Quantum Systems []  2020-1-9 18:59

    Who was this written for? He says explicitly that it is to educate laymen on science history, but then he spends pages tediously laboring over an explanation of scientific notation. I have a sizable private library of science history books. This one nothing of interest and is slow, dull reading. I'll hit the "REMOVE FROM DEVICE" button on my Kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Science Slept Sixteen Centuries - And What It Achieved When It Woke: From Greek Science to Quantum Systems []  2020-1-9 18:59

    I never thought I would be interested in a book about physics but I was incredibly engrossed and learned so much. It is very well written and insightful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Science Slept Sixteen Centuries - And What It Achieved When It Woke: From Greek Science to Quantum Systems []  2020-1-9 18:59

    On my e-reader (kobo), this book has 411 pages and I struggled through to page 232 where I hit, what was for me, the final careless blooper (there have been very a lot of before this). The author has explained at some length in the introduction how exponents work and that expressing numbers using exponents is the norm in science and virtually compulsory when talking about very huge or very little numbers. But he doesn't really trust that the notice has got through so he often wants to present the expanded number. Here he says (note the following is 10 with a superscript of -7) “..from 10-7 (or .0000007)" !!! I know this is just a silly stupid error but that was it – I'm too fed up with this level of errors in addition to the book's other e mistakes are egregious and too numerous to e book needs a heavy editing and sub-editing exercise. The organisation is woeful to the point where the whole thread of description is lost. The punctuation is strange and the level of grammatical mistakes such as singular/plural subject/verb mismatches is unacceptable. His use of capitals is very strange, his use of quotation marks equally weird and he is addicted to dashes at inappropriate locations in e mistakes are at all levels; for example in the introduction he claims that he is going to use the MKS system of measurement in his book and then obliviously uses miles and feet and says things like:“Weight = Mass (called ‘slugs’ and applicable to a person or an object)”A slug is a not an MKS unit - it is a unit in British Imperial or United States customary units.I'm not going to criticise the level of physics explanations per se, but the standard of writing and not good organisation are such that I cannot see anyone learning any true physics from rry, I like famous science books but cannot recommend this to anyone – it needs a lot more work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How We Learn: The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens [Book]  2017-12-18 18:2

    There's plenty of info here to work with. How to be a better learner seems to be a huge trend in latest books. In the past couple of months I've read Fluent Forever (about language learning) and A Mind For Numbers (about being a amazing student, particularly in math and science) and they've all been released at the same time. They're also all, I'm very satisfied to say, strongly grounded in true research, rather than just making up some interesting-sounding notions about what might work (I have certainly seen books that did that...)I would have to say that someone who wants to be a amazing student ASAP is probably better off reading A Mind For Numbers first. That book takes you by the hand and leads you through the ideas about what you need to DO a lot more specifically. It makes very frequent references to research, but it's plainly written with the intention of being a tutorial for people who are taking and really need to hone in on exactly what to do NOW, because there are tests coming up. It leads you through the material by the hand, beautiful much, asking you questions and reminding you to stop and think about what you've read. It also has a (free) online MOOC through Coursera to go with it that covers/reinforces the same material.Fluent Forever, in its effort to teach people how to learn languages, makes use of some of the same research, but shapes it to its topic. It a sort of general idea of how you should proceed, but the emphasis is on giving you a primary plan and just enough understanding of the research so that you can create amazing decisions about how to move forward with it.I feel like How We Learn is a small farther down the spectrum in that same direction. Most of its emphasis is on teaching you the research (some of which is the same research cited by the other two), with an assumption that you'll be able to create reasonable decisions about how to place it into practice. So he goes over exactly why it is NOT a amazing idea to learn a fresh math trick by doing 50 issues in a row that use that trick. He touches on how it can be place into practice, but it isn't something he dwells on. This versus A Mind for Numbers is sort of like... one being a professor who teaches key points but assumes that the students are capable of drawing some reasonable conclusions on their own, and the other being a professor who strives to touch on every single possible problem that might be of importance. It's a very various r someone who's actually writing a paper on learning or something of that nature, I suspect this will be more valuable. For someone who is actively taking classes or trying to learn a language, I'd say read either A Mind for Numbers or Fluent Forever first, because they'll obtain you going on making progress faster. Then, it certainly wouldn't damage to come back to review some of the concepts and generally deepen your understanding overall by reading How We Learn. (If you're not taking classes and you just love teaching yourself fresh things, you might wish to skip A Mind for Numbers. It puts a lot of emphasis on things like dealing with procrastination, which is very valuable, but not really a core problem if you're learning for pleasure and there aren't really any deadlines to speak of.)

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386