Read where have you been reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all where have you been reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mark O'Travel: Where Have You Been? [App]  2019-5-17 13:18

    I really have fun the set up and seeing the listing of the pieces of the world, tagging the locations I traveled to and watching others use the map listing capabilities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where The Hell Have You Been?: Monty, Italy and One Man's Incredible Escape []  2020-7-13 19:18

    I enjoyed the book because after reading a number of books about Monty it was interesting to obtain a more human view of him. What really makes this book is Richard, the stepson of Monty. I appreciate the care that Tom took in writing this book and looking up the people who helped hide Richard after his escape. It was sad that circumstances prevented Richard from visiting the people who had helped him.If you like reading about WWII you will love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where The Hell Have You Been?: Monty, Italy and One Man's Incredible Escape []  2020-7-13 19:18

    Tom Carver's compelling "Where The Hell Have You Been?" is a sketch of the life of his father, British Troops officer Richard Carver, centered around his escape from a Globe Battle II Italian POW camp and his odessey hundreds of miles across Italy to Allied lines and freedom. The story has three intertwined themes: Richard Carver's rather hard-luck career as a Royal Engineer officer, his son Tom's quest for an understanding of his father's life, and, looming in the background, the outsized personality and presence of Richard's popular stepfather, Field Marshal Bernard Montgomery of El Carver's narrative has been cunningly constructed from his own recollections, his father's notes of his escape, memoirs by fellow escapees, and extracts from family letters and official histories of the War. The effect is a charming, often shockingly candid acc of life during the Second Globe Battle and the end of the British Empire. The text is nicely illustrated with photographs, maps, and copies of letters and e general reader and the student of the Second Globe Battle should search fascinating the insights into the personality of Field Marshal Montgomery, here glimpsed with his family, and into life as a POW in German and Italian custody. "Where The Hell Have You Been?" is very highly recommended as an entertaining and insightful read.

    0  


    Add your opinion on where have you been or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where The Hell Have You Been?: Monty, Italy and One Man's Incredible Escape []  2020-7-13 19:18

    I may be prejudiced as I read about the DiGregorios part in @#$% Carver's life. I know they spellit DeGregorio but that may be a typo error. I feel that they are similar in some method to us herein America. I know we have relatives in Sicily. It was a amazing story about Montgomery and Carverand their wars with Rommel(The Desert Fox).My son was visiting his wife's relatives in NewZealand during Dec. and learned about the book there. Ben DiGregorio Bx,NYI can only add how proud I am of the DiGregorio family risking their lives to save aBritish officer.I M VERY DISAPPOINTED with the relative that just wanted to create offCarver by driving him around and lying to him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where The Hell Have You Been?: Monty, Italy and One Man's Incredible Escape []  2020-7-13 19:18

    Amazing book loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where The Hell Have You Been?: Monty, Italy and One Man's Incredible Escape []  2020-7-13 19:18

    A fascinating record of one man's WWII escapades and an insite into General Montgomery's private life. It was especially interesting to me as my father was a sapper in the British 1st Army, following the same route from North Africa, to Sicily and up through Italy. He never spoke of his battle experiences, except for mentioning the flies in the desert.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where The Hell Have You Been?: Monty, Italy and One Man's Incredible Escape []  2020-7-13 19:18

    Fascinating book on three levels.1) The story: The protagonist, Richard Carver, was General Montgomery's step-son. He was captured in northern Africa just as Montgomery was routing Rommel, and he was afraid his identity would be discovered and he'd be used as a pawn versus Montgomery. He and fellow prisoners were taken to a prison camp in northern Italy. When Mussolini capitulated and German units were just miles away and advancing towards them, the German-hating Italian guards chop the fence and released about 600 prisoners. A lot of never created it home, and the story of Carver's journey south (he decided he couldn't create it across the alps) was fascinating on several levels. At every turn, he was helped by Italian farmers at amazing risk to them and their families.2) The research: Author Tom Carver is Richard Carver's son. At the end of his father's life, he began pressing him for info about his battle experiences, but the father was both reticent and loath to cast himself in any heroic light. Tom fortunately found journals--his father's and another of a fellow escapee--that helped tremendously. He also interviewed other survivors as well as Italians and their kids who had been there.3) The relationships: between Monty and Richard Carver, between Richard and his son Tom, and between Carver and the Italians who hid and saved him.I was particularly interested in this because I've never known much about this part of the war. It totally changed my view of the Italians who, in this book, were portrayed as victims of Mussolini's regime and then of the Germans, not enemies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where The Hell Have You Been?: Monty, Italy and One Man's Incredible Escape []  2020-7-13 19:18

    My in-laws gifted me with this book a couple of Christmases ago, however I lost it among my bookcases and only recently rediscovered any rate, I took it on a trip this past weekend and read it in just a couple of sittings. It's a very private story and I believe that the author does a unbelievable job of moving the reader back and forth in time, and from perspective to perspective. He additionally does not test to create more or less of the story than what it actually was. And I believe that makes it even better. Altogether it is a nicely woven blend of common and mean with magnificent and admirable. It is very human and 's an perfect book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where The Hell Have You Been?: Monty, Italy and One Man's Incredible Escape []  2020-7-13 19:18

    If you have read Eric Newby's acc of his survival in Italy having 'escaped' from a POW camp then this is a amazing addition. More importantly, it allows a rare private insight into Monty the man, from the perspectives of Tom as a kid and his father, Monty's stepson.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Have You Never Been Mellow []  2020-6-30 19:53

    To understand Olivia , you have to begin with the early albums and this is no exception ! The hits were " Have You Never Been Mellow ? " , " The Air That I Breathe " and " Please Mr. Please " and then there are some goodies like " Lovin' Arms " , " It's So Simple " and " Follow Me " . Amazing cd that brings back the memories of growing up in the ' 70s .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Have You Never Been Mellow []  2020-6-30 19:53

    As most reviewers note, this is a lovely album that was listened to over and over as a child. It brings back such pleasant memories, and I have enjoyed listening to the songs again without the inerruptions from eight-track tape days. ONJ has a attractive voice, and this is one of her best albums.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Have You Never Been Mellow []  2020-6-30 19:53

    I love, love, love this album. I had this as a record when I was small and I used to play it over and over. It's a amazing thing LPs didn't wear out because this one certainly would have. My all-time favorite Olivia song "Loving Arms" is on this CD. I bought the CD just for that song because I haven't been able to search it on any other of her collections. But as I listened to it I remembered how satisfied the melody created me, especially the upbeat "Lifestream" and "Water Under the Bridge". I also love her rendition of John Denver's "Goodbye Again". It's just such a amazing album overall. I highly recommend this CD to anyone who loves Olivia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Have You Never Been Mellow []  2020-6-30 19:53

    Some of her best early music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Have You Never Been Mellow []  2020-6-30 19:53

    Amazing singer. Loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Have You Never Been Mellow []  2020-6-30 19:53

    My wife and I love this album. We would recommend this album to anyone that likes Olivia Newton John or is collecting her music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Have You Never Been Mellow []  2020-6-30 19:53

    Love, love, love some Olivia. This was one of my favorites!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Have You Never Been Mellow []  2020-6-30 19:53

    She's one the of the greatest female vocalists and it would be a grave error NOT to own her most famous collections.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Have You Never Been Mellow []  2020-6-30 19:53

    Only 5 of 12 songs play.. no matter how/where I try. Bootlegged copy gone wrong?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Have You Never Been Mellow []  2020-6-30 19:53

    It is so amazing to have this album on CD after years of missing the old LP. The sound is great, and ONJ sounds as amazing as she did in Junior High School.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Have I Known You Before []  2020-1-22 2:8

    I was emulating Jimmy H. , when I first heard Return to forever. Got to see them play at my high school while a more in Greenwich ct. Every guitar players jaw was on the floor! This melody changed my life and my path in music. Call it fusion... progressive rock or jazz. Whatever you wish to call this form of music, it is what so a lot of musicians aspire to and what so a lot of serious melody fans live for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Have I Known You Before []  2020-1-22 2:8

    One of my favorite albums from Chick's "fusion" days. Very electric, high-driving jazz-rock melody from the quartet which included Chick corea on keyboards; Al Dimeola on guitars; Stanley Clarke on drums, and Lenny White on drums and percussion.Was glad to search this on CD; for years all I had available was the vinyl ver which, after more than 40 years is starting to present some wear... go figure. :)Released just 3 years after Miles Davis essentially made the genre in 1970, if you like electric fusion jazz, this is one of the best,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Have I Known You Before []  2020-1-22 2:8

    OK, if you are like me, then you are probably a musician, between the ages of 30 - 50 years old, and grew up listening to Stanley Clarke, Herbie Hancock, Tony Williams, etc...This album is smokin'. The playing is unparalleled with anything else. I just can't believe this is 1974. It was so far ahead of it's time, or maybe it was just part of the magic items that was the fusion of the 1970' me, Tony William's "Believe It" , Allan Holdsworth's IOU, Herbie Hancock's "Thrust" etc, and this album are fusion royalty. Yes, there are a lot of other albums in the genre I love, but these come to mind first. Our list of favorites is probably the ing a bass player, I am BAFFLED by Stanley's bass lines on the latest track, "Songs to a Pharoa King" (not sure if I have the name right). He is so groovin', so in the pocket, yet so at the same time. NOBODY was playing like him at the time. NOBODY.I love this album....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Have I Known You Before []  2020-1-22 2:8

    I forget exactly now, but I think my title for "Romantic Warrior" was almost identical, because these two RTF albums are truly two of the best albums ever made, if you like fusion! This early effort of Chick Corea's experiment in jazz/fusion features Chick's keyboard prowess more strongly than the Fighter album. I like his short "Where Have I..." solo tunes on this album, which gives a feel of a concept album to this work. I think this was the first album to feature the RTF "dream team" of Al DiMeola on guitars, Stanley Clarke on bass and Lenny White on drums. But, perfect writing mixed with flawless execution and tremendous performances by all artists involved makes this a real hallmark of '70s fusion, and very honestly one of the best albums ever made. Oddly enough, the album which came in between this album's '74 release date and Romantic Warrior's '76 release date (the '75 album "No Mystery") was an okay album, but it did not have the fire, imagination or spark to create it truly special. THIS ALBUM DEFINITELY HAS THE SPARK TO MAKE IT SPECIAL! If jazz/fusion (or even '70s prog rock) figure measurably in your melody collection, hear me and HEAR ME WELL! Two albums you need to have in your collection are "Romantic Warrior" and "Where Have I Known You Before" by the incomparable and too-short-lived Return To Forever!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Have I Known You Before []  2020-1-22 2:8

    This is one Return to Forever album that somehow passed me by and I am not quite sure how (or why) because it is phenomenally amazing and ranks right up there as one of my favorite RTF albums. The style of melody on Where Have I Known You Before (1974) is somewhat related to Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy (1973) although there is a bit more in the method of softer textures, making for a very balanced listening e lineup at this point included Chick Corea (Fender Rhodes electric piano, acoustic piano, clavinet, Yamaha organ, ARP Odyssey synthesizer, and percussion); bassist extraordinaire Stanley Clarke (Alembic electric bass guitar, Yamaha organ, bell tree, chimes; perfect drummer Lenny White (drums, percussion); and newcomer Al Di Meola (electric and acoustic guitars; acoustic 12 string guitar). I think it goes without saying that this is a musician's band. These guys are all unbelievably talented, with Stanley Clarke setting fresh standards for performance on the bass that would be equaled by few - this guy is mind-blowingly fast. For his first time playing with RTF (Al was 19 at the time), Al does an wonderful job, although his playing is not as dominant in the mix as it would become on later albums. With this album, Chick had started weaving synthesizers into the RTF sound and he gets some amazing tone colors out of the ARP Odyssey on this album, which is plastered everywhere. As a large fan of progressive rock and electronica, I do not mind the analog synthesizer use at all, although some jazz fans might be turned e eight tracks on the album range in length from 1'02" to the 14'21" Song to the Pharoah Kings suite. In terms of the music, it is an wonderful amalgamation of jazz; jazz rock; progressive rock; zone rock; funk and even a little bit of classical - more like a proggy jazz rock actually. In fact, as a progger, I really appreciate the dense arrangements and virtuosity. Speaking of which, just about every odd time signature under the sun is used on Where Have I Known You Before and there is some incredibly complex ensemble ndwiched in-between the highly electric rave-ups are three of Chick's acoustic piano improvisations including Where Have I Loved You Before; Where Have I Danced With You Before; and Where Have I Known You Before. This is the closest this album comes to sounding like traditional jazz and showcases Chick's considerable talents on the acoustic piano. The softer acoustic tracks provide a nice contrast with the highly charged electric tracks. Earth Juice is the "funkiest" piece on the album, although this funk is beautiful far removed from Sly and the Family Stone. Of course, Chick's work on the clavinet here and there on the album really lends to the funkiness. The suite that closes the album out is a high point for me and opens with a amazing synthesizer arrangement, which then launches into some extremely complicated ensemble work that sounds very related to some of the melody that was coming out of the English progressive rock stage at the time. Although there are solos on this lengthy track, they are really very interesting and are seamlessly integrated with the arrangement - in fact, they sound though it may not appear to be the case, this Verve release was remastered (albeit a low budget remaster), and the sound quality is very good. There are a few images of the band and a lengthy bit of "cosmic" verse from Neville Potter. The imagery of the words is both colourful and l in all this is an perfect RTF album (my "new" private favorite) and is very highly recommended along with Romantic Fighter (1976). Proggers should definitely check this album out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Have I Known You Before []  2020-1-22 2:8

    IMHO, this recording represents the best of the jazz-fusion productions from the 70's. Not only is the musicianship jaw-dropping (rather common), the melodies are pleasant and quite memorable (uncommon). Lenny White was one of the finest drummers for this type of music, and I think his talent has its best display here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Have I Known You Before []  2020-1-22 2:8

    From 1974, this was a defining moment in musical exploration by one of the most wonderful collection of musicians in history. For Chick Corea, there were no rules and no boundaries. Something like Star Trek, "To go where no man has gone before...". RTF (and a few others, like Herbie Hancock) did just that over 40 years ago. They were explorers in a very true sense. And they've been inspiring others ever since. Truly, a landmark album that still astounds!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Have I Known You Before []  2020-1-22 2:8

    Some of the formative melody of my younger days, and it still has the power to thrill, and enrich. The band seems to have adjusted to the guitaristics of it's fresh hero, DiMeola, and though I still prefer Conors' playing from the earlier incarnation (more soulful, less predictable), DiMeola's scale passages are more suited to this melody - or maybe I'm just used to hearing them this way. The bass playing of Stanley Clarke has some truly standout moments, Lenny White plays like a sophisticated and intricate hard rock drummer, and Chick? Well, he sounds just like Chick - and if you know what that means, you know what that means. If you don't, you're in for a treat - I truly want I could go back in time, and listen to this as if for the first time. This music, together with the previous record (marginally stronger compositions there, IMHO), beautiful much defines 70's jazz-rock fusion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Have I Known You Before []  2020-1-22 2:8

    I have been an RTF fan for more than 30 years. I first heard them when I was in a rock band in high school-I was about 17 at the time; other band members more melody savvy than I was turned me on to them, and I remain an admirer of their melody to this day. RTF really is/was a jazz rock fusion supergroup. Chick Corea, Stanley Clark, Al DiMeola, and Lenny White are each terrific musicians in their own right, and the years that have passed since the definitive RTF lineup broke up in 1976 have borne that out. Each member has produced perfect work in a dozens of forms (Clarke, for example, has carved a niche for himself doing film and television scores in addition to his solo albums)."Where Have I Known You Before" in particular has always been a favorite of mine, with signature tunes such as "Vulcan Worlds" (showcasing Clarke's fascination with the original Star Trek series), and the long musical trip known as "Song to the Pharaoh Kings". The album is indeed a classic, but the recording quality is less than stellar, with the sound being compressed and narrow. Corea's keyboards, his Fender Rhodes in particular, sound brassy, with quite a bit of the lower frequencies missing. I have always thought that "Romantic Warrior" (recorded for Columbia rather than Polydor) is by far the best work this RTF lineup produced in terms of recording quality.Just this latest Tuesday night I had the pleasure of seeing the classic RTF lineup back together again on their show reunion tour at the Paramount Theater in downtown Denver, Colorado. The band played both of the aforementioned songs in addition to others from "No Mystery" and "Romantic Warrior". Chick had some sound problems regarding his keyboards early on, but once this issue was rectified the band proceeded to blow the roof off the house. Everyone got the possibility to do extended solos, which are a hallmark of RTF's melody to start with. It was an wonderful concert-and the only time I have gotten to see this lineup live(I did obtain to see the final RTF lineup that recorded "Musicmagic" back in 1978). It was well worth the wait. One can only hope a concert DVD is made from this tour; RTF's fans will snap them up to be sure...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Where Have I Known You Before []  2020-1-22 2:8

    With an opening chop like Stanley Clarke's "Vulcan Worlds", you know you're in for some serious musical mayhem. With its soaring chiming melody, turn on a dime meter changes and fierce rhtyhms, it pulls you in and commands your ings just obtain more interesting as each piece is connected by short solo piano interludes from Chick that set up the listener for the next major piece. "Shadow of Lo" is Lenny White's contribution combining soaring music and earthy funkiness. "Beyond The 7th Galaxy" is a amazing sequel to the title chop of the previous album "Hymn of The 7th Galaxy, combining frighteningly tight ensemble passages and grand sweeping melodic themes. "Earth Juice"" is an unabashed funk workout for the guys just to stretch out and have fun with. But then, the piece de resistance', "Song of The Pharoah Kings". Setting it up with mysterious organ backdrops and probing Middle Eastern-tinged lead synth, Chick leads the charge into an urgent taut wild ride over the dunes and through ancient lands that pharoahs once ruled. A amazing method to me people have complained about Chick's synth tones on this disc, personally, I think they had kind of a playful impish charm that actually e only weak spot for me was, well, you guessed it readers, Al DiMeola. Although nowhere near as obnoxiously wanky as he became towrads the end of RTF's exitence and his solo outings, I do search myself missing Bill Connors' thick-toned soulful emotionally charged playing. DiMeola here just sounds very dry and mathematical to my e DiMeola thing notwithstanding, it doesn't take awayt from this disc's sheer sense of adventure and brilliance!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Have You Been Wearing My Pantyhose?: A Love Letter []  2020-7-27 19:22

    Loved this Book. I went through same thing thing is i didn't grow out of it. So regards to Kathy hon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts I Have Been []  2020-1-20 19:27

    When poor, small-town Blossom decides to place to a band of teenage pranksters bent on Halloween mischief, she sets in motion a chain of happenings that will ultimately lead her and her mates across the sea to London, to Madam Trussaud 's Wax Museum and a Royal Drawing Room.Her adventures on the method and the characters she encounters range from the hilariously funny to the sublimely tragic, all met with Blossom Culp's particular blend of honesty, level-headed determination and... Second Sight.I can't wait to read Richard Peck's other books featuring Blossom Culp... and I'm over 60!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts I Have Been []  2020-1-20 19:27

    I remember the created for t.v films the Disney company place out in the 70's. Kid of Glass-excellent movie-even by today standars-in my dvd collection. When I first saw it, I wasn't aware it was based on Richard Peck's book The Ghost Belongs to ter getting the dvd of Kid for x-mas. I looked him up and found out about the book series. I read ghost I have been. It's a amazing and insightful look into the supernatural-even for a children book. I would highly suggest obtain one for yourself and the kid in your life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts I Have Been []  2020-1-20 19:27

    I read this a lot of a lot of years ago in school. I remember liking it so when I saw it again I decided to a copy and reread. It is a cute small story and well written about a young girl with psychic ability who sees ghosts and finds herself on the Titanic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts I Have Been []  2020-1-20 19:27

    This is one of those books I read a long time ago as a teen and totally enjoyed it. It is light, humorous, and sometimes even scary. I like the hero of Blossom Culp. An American girl with Second Sight. We obtain ghosts, con artists, and the Titanic in the novel. Even in a reread I found it enjoyable. Maybe because it can be light and sometimes serious, a well balanced story and well crafted. I salute Richard Peck and his skill as an author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts I Have Been []  2020-1-20 19:27

    Although technically not a sequel to The Ghost Belonged to Me, GHOSTS I HAVE BEEN has enough elements in it to tie the two together.Blossom Culp (who was the co-star in "The Ghost Belonged To Me"), a teenage outcast who is very not good and has an odd mother that should be arrested for kid neglect, is the one who tells the story this time around. Anyway, Blossom pretends to have the bonus of psychic powers and before you know it, it comes true. She ends up becoming a local celebrity after communicating with the dead and helping them search their resting place, which catches the eye of the Queen Of England who then invites Blossom for a visit. She's able to create the trip with the support of a rich and eccentric old woman and Alexander tags 's another exciting tale from author Richard Peck that contains ghosts, con-artists, and historical events--all the while taking put in the early 1900s--that should hold children of all ages glued to the book to the very end. I enjoyed the adventure to England, the trance that takes Blossom back to the sinking of the Titanic, and the funny and ironic observations that she makes about people and life.If you have fun reading children's books or are looking for some that are exciting but not too scary for the kids, I highly recommend this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts I Have Been []  2020-1-20 19:27

    Blossom Culp, the not good fortune-teller's daughter from The Ghost Belonged to Me, has her own story now, and I couldn't be happier about it. Her pragmatic, down-to-earth, do-what-you've-got-to philosophy combined with her loyalty, her ambition, and her sense of justice created her a force to be reckoned with even before she developed her own psychic powers. Now bullies, con men, queens, and ghosts will have to respond to her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts I Have Been []  2020-1-20 19:27

    I read this as a kid, but never forgot Blossom Culp. Richard Peck invokes the dialog and feel of the early 20th century in his chatty characters, their cars, clothes and attitudes. The Titanic story and his ghosts are just scary enough for my 10-year-old. It does have a bit of murder, suicide and heartbreak, but beautifully narrated in subtle storytelling. I found that the sequel to this book fell short, but Ghosts I Have Been is a treasure of a story- maybe a classic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts I Have Been []  2020-1-20 19:27

    I've read this book too a lot of times to count. Blossom has such a special voice and the charm she brings to the narrative is one of its major points. In comparison to the prequel to this book, The Ghost That Belonged To Me,I felt Blossom is a much stronger narrator than Alexander and that Alexander gets more opportunities to shine here in Blossom's story than Blossom got to shine in Alexander's. Also anyone interested in the Titanic playing a part in a larger story will search this to be a fun read. I picked this book up in middle school after a unit on the Titanic and like I said before, I've reread it a lot of a lot of times. It's just as fun at 24 as it was at 13.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts I Have Been []  2020-1-20 19:27

    I gave my niece “ The ghost belongs to me” , Which she loved so I bought her the next book with “ Blossom Culp” in it by Richard Peck.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts I Have Been []  2020-1-20 19:27

    I read this as a kid. But don't obtain me wrong, it's a amazing read for an adult too! I bought it after all these years because I remembered it being such a amazing book. I'd forgotten about most of the plot and found myself enjoying it this time as much as before. Got me thinking about the idea of parallel universe and such. Like how do ghosts see us if we are in their time, do we look like ghosts to them like they do in our time? Etc. It's a amazing fiction story so hold an begin mind and you'll love it! This is one of few books that stayed with me for 25 years!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Have Been Judged: A Space Opera Adventure Legal Thriller (Judge, Jury, & Executioner Book 1) []  2020-1-27 21:13

    The first time I watched Judge Dredd I was ambivalent. There was a lot to like, but there was a sense of cardboard cutouts moving through the story. Then I realized it was a comic book turned into a film with live actors instead of animation. Then it created sense. (Hey, that was method back in '95. Things were a small different.)YOU HAVE BEEN JUDGED has some of that feel. The plot moves swiftly so, for some characters, their motivation never develops. That said, the heroine's motivation is organic and does develop--well enough to hold me reading. In the spirit of Marvel Comics, Rivka is a flawed person with rampant self-doubts and some awesome talent that, so far, is minimally understood or tamed. She MIGHT be a loose cannon. Clearly she has potential. More amazing adventures are just around the is story carves out a new niche in the Kurtherian Gambit Universe. There are connections to characters and happenings that KGU fans will recognize. KGU technology is a amazing backdrop. The motivation of major characters such as the five Magistrates is familiar to all followers of Bethany Anne: JUSTICE. The warp speed due process that accompanies JUSTICE can be quite satisfying. The effect is never simple to predict but somehow it's just of rollicking zone Westerns may have fun the adventures of Rivka Anoa, as I did. Where's the next book?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Have Been Judged: A Space Opera Adventure Legal Thriller (Judge, Jury, & Executioner Book 1) []  2020-1-27 21:13

    I grew up in a "legal" family. My father was a lawyer, I worked my method through college in the law school's library, and taught first year students how to "Shepardize" their cases. I finally ended up marrying a lawyer.But even though this book has a premise in law and uses a bit of legal jargon here and there, it's still an action thriller, so don't allow the occasional legal term place you 's a fun romp through zone with some very enjoyable characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    So, How Long Have You Been Native?: Life as an Alaska Native Tour Guide []  2020-1-17 20:12

    My sister told me about this book. She was a Jesuit lay volunteer after college. She thought it would be a amazing book to read before our Alaskan Trip. It was fun and an simple read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need to Know But Have Never Been Told By David Icke []  2020-5-6 18:13

    I couldn't quite understand all the positive reviews of this book until it struck me that those who Ickes books are probably the only ones buying it. I had viewed several of his Youtube videos and thought I might take a look for myself. Well, needless to say, I didn't even obtain through the first chapter, until I started skipping through looking for something from which I may gain some insight. Well, I got to the Moon business (how ridiculous) and threw the book into the trash where it belongs. Well, there goes $11.30. If you are a Christian, you ought not to be reading this tin foil fiction. Just look at the cult Ron L Hubbard started, and you can readily see where Icke is coming from. Icke fills rooms with thousands of people and tells them how they are living in a globe full of shape-shifting lizards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    So, How Long Have You Been Native?: Life as an Alaska Native Tour Guide []  2020-1-17 20:12

    It's very interesting book. It gives the reader a very amazing insight into the Alaskan tourist industry in general and the Native one in particular. It was very well researched. It is fun and simple reading. I recommend the book to anyone who plan to travel in Alaska.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Have Been Judged: A Space Opera Adventure Legal Thriller (Judge, Jury, & Executioner Book 1) []  2020-1-27 21:13

    I was amazed at the poor writing when I started reading this book. Color me highly skeptical of all the 5 star reviews.I urge you to use the preview feature before clicking "buy".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Have Been Judged: A Space Opera Adventure Legal Thriller (Judge, Jury, & Executioner Book 1) []  2020-1-27 21:13

    [email protected]#$% lawyer bringing justice to the universe. Partnered with a dedicated bodyguard, a people watching teenager and an EI with enough subtle snark to create you wonder if he's not evolving to an AI. This looks to be a fun series. Cant wait for the next book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need to Know But Have Never Been Told By David Icke []  2020-5-6 18:13

    I cannot believe it. Icke has proven me wrong so a lot of times over the years. When he arrived on the scene, he was a nutball or a scam artist or a mentally broken TV guy. That's what THEY all tried to create us believe. Icke stayed powerful and spoke his mind and opened up in ways NONE of us would. He was just discovering a fresh reality--the true reality--and he told us everything he thought as he developed his ideas and created discoveries. Man, was he mocked. Every step of his journey. By me as , especially in the latest two years or so, I see he has connected so a lot of CRITICAL dots. Science and History and leaked documents have proven him almost %100 correct, IMO. The things he points out in this book are true--in as much as anyone understands them at this point.Even if Icke is wrong about half of the things he posits in this giant doorstop book, the rest is essential reading. But he is not wrong. The evil and the weird have been revealed since the advent of the internet. More is coming out every month. Our governments cannot hide like trolls under the bridge anymore. And this generation is both technologically savvy and spiritually curious. That's a nail in the elites' collective coffin, if all goes well.And Icke's tendency to point to the previously occult and to ancient insights is more apropos than ever. Early humanity was not stupid. Early humanity was as spiritually capable as we are. They may have even been more technologically capable! But I'll leave that argument up to Graham this book. Create no decisions until you are done. Think it all over. You will soon see the world, watch the boob tube, and observe people in a fresh light. Light always dispels the dark.I thought Icke's smiling face on the cover was corny or arrogant at first--but now I realize. Icke won't be here a lot of decades longer, unfortunately. So this book is both a magnum opus to remember him by and a huge flip off to the elites. Every time they have to test to hold this book out of your hands, Icke will be smirking at them. Because they are indeed the evil puppet fools he reveals them to be. They deserve to be laughed at as they quest for power and control and fear-mongering eat job, David Icke. This is a book to re-read. No question. This info is power. With it, trust of the illusion the elite feed us will fade more quickly.And the book's also a suitable weapon if anyone breaks in while you're reading it! I remember seeing guys knocked out by what humans used to call "phone books" back in the Eighties. This book should do the trick as well. Comprehensive and combat-ready.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need to Know But Have Never Been Told By David Icke []  2020-5-6 18:13

    This is the first David Icke book I have read, although I've known about him for at least ten years. I always assumed he was, like the MSM portrays him, a complete lunatic. But when I saw this book, it looked interesting and it seemed like a amazing method to search out about his work and determine whether or not he was really barking mad. I actually agree with much of what he writes, and the rest I have an begin mind about.Even if you agree with very small of what's in this book, Icke will create you think critically about a lot of things. I've had an begin mind about the simulated reality/holographic universe idea since I read Michael Talbot's book years ago, but now I'm starting to lean more and more to believing that it's the most likely scenario. At over 700 pages, this book will hold your mind stimulated for a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    So, How Long Have You Been Native?: Life as an Alaska Native Tour Guide []  2020-1-17 20:12

    Wonderful, sometimes poignant, often funny look behind the scenes of the "cultural tourism" business. The book raises a number of questions that a lot of tourists often fail to consider during their holidays. Perfect reading for armchair travelers or budding sociologists interested in ethnography.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Have Been Judged: A Space Opera Adventure Legal Thriller (Judge, Jury, & Executioner Book 1) []  2020-1-27 21:13

    Satisfied to have had a possibility to read this book. This will be a amazing fresh addition to the Kutherian Universe, coming along with his latest Poor Company series. Craig Martelle does two things usually well in his books, his characters - especially the main character(s), and dialogue. Rivka certainly has the hero part down, as well as an awesome amount of snark to round things off. So again Craig Martelle has another fresh series that is off to a powerful start.. As long as Rivka stays on mission this should be an perfect series and I'm certainly looking forward to the next book in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Have Been Judged: A Space Opera Adventure Legal Thriller (Judge, Jury, & Executioner Book 1) []  2020-1-27 21:13

    Excellent! Legalese, justice, action and results, Nice to see, even as a really well devised story. As someone who retired from a career in rural law enforcement, I know huge locations cause a multitude of problems, legal and otherwise(personal experience; 5 officers-20,000 sq. miles). The parameters of zone and settled solar systems can be labelled as a macrocosm of huge rural county with little towns scattered through wild country. I really liked the whole concept, and it's a amazing story! Waiting for volume W,,,,,you really need to obtain Jay enhanced too, if she's gonna be crew, she needs the tools and to be protected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Have Been Judged: A Space Opera Adventure Legal Thriller (Judge, Jury, & Executioner Book 1) []  2020-1-27 21:13

    Personally, I love this universe of Anderle origin. As much as I appreciate his books, it is a universe also colourful in by a lot of co writers. Craig Martelle has been there from the beginning thank is series is a fun twist on zone law with a [email protected]#$% heroine lead who seeks true justice. The cast of characters is slowly growing to fill this series. This novel focuses on the heroine. Cursing and some serious violence occur in the pursuit of justice, but not cartoonish or too dark.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need to Know But Have Never Been Told By David Icke []  2020-5-6 18:13

    As is his penchant, he tells it as it is! Backed up with researchable facts, Icke doesn't pull any punches. Wouldn't be surprised if this book is eventually banned by the self-appointed guardians of acceptable speech. If you have a firmly closed mind, reading this would be a waste of time. You need an smart begin mind that will evaluate logically and empirically the info presented.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need to Know But Have Never Been Told By David Icke []  2020-5-6 18:13

    For years I’ve have known that we, citizens of the U.S. and the world, had not been given fully accurate or complete knowledge of all things. I have done much research over the past a lot of years. I do not care WHERE truth comes from, I only wish TRUTH. I was looking forward to reading this behemoth of a book from David Icke. I had just finished reading about the “U.S. Navy’s Secret Zone Program” and “Selected by Extraterrestrials”. This book is better written than the two I mentioned and while it exposited special ideas that intrigued me, when Icke stated “facts” about info that I had already exhaustively researched and studied, and I then found these same “facts” were COMPLETELY WRONG, over and OVER again, and could EASILY be verified by the simplest of Internet searches, I actually threw the book in the trash. I have RARELY, EVER done such a thing! TRUTH is very necessary to me and I do not wish to read info from non-corroborated sources that are passed off as “absolute Truth”. I therefore, in to protect my “search for the truth”, had to toss this book in the trash, lest I interiorlize falsehoods and wild, unverifiable imaginings. I had a mate like this for a lot of years. He would ponder a situation, consider his private opinion on this subject, and then pass off his private opinion as absolute, objective fact and he was wrong and wrong over and over again! I like David Icke very much as a person, but when it comes to factual truth, I have personally found him to be unverifiable and incorrect. Believe me, I was REALLY looking forward to reading this book and finding new, esoteric, and TRUE, information. However, the man is not well educated about all of which he speaks. I truly want he was...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Have Been Judged: A Space Opera Adventure Legal Thriller (Judge, Jury, & Executioner Book 1) []  2020-1-27 21:13

    Another perfect series begin for Mr. Martelle. His obvious respect for and understanding of law combined with a [email protected]#$% heroine create for exciting reading. This book is a fast-paced and action-packed fresh addition to the Kurtherian universe. They say that a writer should write about what he knows - Martelle knows lawyers and the law. We will be watching for the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Have Been Judged: A Space Opera Adventure Legal Thriller (Judge, Jury, & Executioner Book 1) []  2020-1-27 21:13

    Amazing character. Martell 's dialog and hero development is improving by leaps and bounds. His time in the Kurtherian Gambit universe is paying off as his globe blends smoothly into the rest of this series.Rivka has a special talent that yanks her from legal intern to etheric vigilante in a twisted (and thoroughly snarky) journey. She's making it her mission to present the galaxy's miscreants how to be perfect to each other. Or else!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    So, How Long Have You Been Native?: Life as an Alaska Native Tour Guide []  2020-1-17 20:12

    For someone as supposedly educated as the author the book was surprisingly lacking. First of all, the author was purposefully vague on just how much time she had ever really spent in Alaska. She has bragging rights to being part Native but she had no history in Sitka and it shows. She listed inaccuracies as tho they were fact, obviously having read the stats somewhere. For instance Mt. Edgecumbe hospital in Sitka is under the SEARHC umbrella but it was a federal hospital until it went tribal or "638" in 1986,I believe, not in 1975, Of course, you wouldn't know that if you just googled the information and did not place any critical thinking into what you e also did her fair share of white bashing and America bashing. Having a long history in Alaska I am very used to the white bashing but it gets old. she also mentions how it feels to be a "minority". Well, in most of the villages in Alaska, whites are in the minority. On page 159 she mentions the "massive genocide of millions (natives) that cleared the land that became America" Really? Where did she come up with that? Well, there was fighting on both sides if you study your history, and yes, the Natives were here first. Public sympathy has always been on the side of the Natives over the American Government. But please, enough white America bashing. Instead of thinking of all that was done versus your ancestors, think of all the amazing that the white (taxpayer) has contributed.On page 152 she complains about Columbus Day being a holiday. I agree. There are a lot of better things to celebrate. She recommended Indigenous People's Day. Her Yupik tribe celebrates Elizabeth Peratrovich Day in put of President's Day and in spite of her America bashing, Sitka celebrates Alaska Day on 10/18 every year celebrating the transfer of the Location of Alaska to the United States.Other than the white America bashing and the not good info there were parts of the book that were entertaining. I do have to say, tho, that after reading her book I would not take a tour with Sitka Tribes. I would go with the other group.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need to Know But Have Never Been Told By David Icke []  2020-5-6 18:13

    Like always, David’s book is the best on the shop about this topic, 700 pages, foreign import, less than $25, it’s definitely not for the money. Just it, read it, fully absorb the content, and then you will be free, physically, mentally, and most important, spiritually.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need to Know But Have Never Been Told By David Icke []  2020-5-6 18:13

    Seems to be a refined and edited ver of Perception Deception, with references to current happenings in 2016-2017. It is worth the read, even if just to review and memorize David Ickes message. It is a real RED PILL that will tell you everything you need to know, and David Icke seems to have no alliance or bias to the political Left or political Right. The physical size may scare normies away, seeing as our society doesn't read anymore; but this book is the excellent primer to awaken your loved ones.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    You Have Been Judged: A Space Opera Adventure Legal Thriller (Judge, Jury, & Executioner Book 1) []  2020-1-27 21:13

    Love this fresh book by Craig Marielle! The Rangers from the Kurthen Gambit Series have always been a favorite so I've enjoyed how he was able to incorporate them into this series. The hero Rivka is so interesting I'm looking forward to her growth as a Magistrate as the series continues. My favorite kind of book with lots of twists and turns, action and adventure sprinkled liberally with lots of humor. Looking forward to more adventures along with Rivka being able to proclaim "Justice is served"! In ending this I can only add: Craig, I hope you are busy writing! 😄

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    So, How Long Have You Been Native?: Life as an Alaska Native Tour Guide []  2020-1-17 20:12

    This is an OK book although I closed it about halfway through and haven't opened it again. I just couldn't seem to connect and assume that it was my fault. Just couldn't seem to obtain interested in the complexities of native customs, clans, traditions and taboos. Nor could I seem to obtain enthralled with the trials and tribulations of tour guides.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    So, How Long Have You Been Native?: Life as an Alaska Native Tour Guide []  2020-1-17 20:12

    Phenomenal read. I got a copy from the Anchorage Museum during a latest trip through Alaska. I couldn't stop reading even though I was busy traveling through one of the most attractive corners of the globe. This book history, gives insight into the different clans in the region and how they work together, and is even funny at points. Definitely give this a read before your own Alaska travels or if you just have an interest in history and cultural tourism. I certainly can't wait to read more of Ms. Bunten's work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need to Know But Have Never Been Told By David Icke []  2020-5-6 18:13

    When I was young I was totally caught up in the illusion. Every now and then I poked my head out of the sand and asked myself, "Why do things seem so OFF? Why do I see certain people and situations from a totally various perspective than everyone else? Why do I feel there's so much more than meets the eye...?" At some point, I came across David Icke. I was intrigued, but most of the time (I'm ashamed to say) keeping my noggin in the sand was just, well, easier. More comfortable. At the same time that I was having this internal conflict, I was studying A Course in Miracles, a psycho-spiritual system of thought that has non-duality at its core. This too, I went back and forth on. By which I mean, I believed it to be true, but it was upsetting. So I would "give it up" (so to speak) for long periods. And then something always drove me is has gone on for forty years. I'm now 64, and I have to say, there is just no pretending for me anymore. I can't see the globe the method most everyone else does. I mean, I CAN'T. It doesn't work. Once you start to see, you can't unsee. It's like those books where you test to search Waldo. Once you've found the small bugger, your eyes go to the same spot and you just always know where he is. That said, in my opinion David Icke is a master at helping us see so we can actually search what we're looking for. I have total respect for the man, and I do believe he is bringing the truth to our doorstep. Even if you don't believe everything he says, there's a amazing bit of what he presents that is accurate and true. I know this. I can't support anyone else know this; it's come after 4 decades of soul searching. But if you, too, have had those feelings of "something is off here", consider this man's work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need to Know But Have Never Been Told By David Icke []  2020-5-6 18:13

    I bought this book recently and have yet to complete it. This is my second book from this author. I watch his youtube videos as well. It is so necessary for people to begin to dig a lot deeper into matters pertaining to the reasons this globe is the method it is. Most of us go through life very aware something is seriously wrong but we just can't figure out why or create excuses that it's just the method it's always been. There is so much more to it and once you begin to uncover the truth, as shocking as it may be, your awareness changes and as unpleasant as it may be it starts to set you in so a lot of ways! It's invigorating. But this globe is under the very evil control system of people who are doing very poor things and hurting a lot of people in the process. The info is to say the least a small shocking and goes versus beautiful much everything you thought you knew but hang in there and begin your mind and give it a chance. Thanks David Icke for all the work you do!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Everything You Need to Know But Have Never Been Told By David Icke []  2020-5-6 18:13

    This book is fantastic. It really covers the entireity of Icke's work in one condensed (700+ pages) volume. It's a amazing introduction for people fresh to these ideas, and a amazing refresher for those who have been following his work for years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's Always Been You []  2020-6-29 18:40

    This book got on my nerves. One min they are good, the next min they are not. That up and down took away from the book. When you told us about Marcus, I was just thinking where was he. There was not a lot of chemistry between Rhett and Karis but it was a lot between her and Marcus. Meghan was exercising her white privilege. I didn't think you had to press charges in for them to arrest you for shooting someone and assault. I guess they did have to testify. They probably wouldn't have done anything if she had just shot Marcus. They probably would have place him in jail and said he provoked her to shoot him or he shot himself trying to commit suicide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's Always Been You []  2020-6-29 18:40

    This my 1st book from Hadley and it will not be my last. Omg 😮 the one best books i have read. I thought I knew where the story was going and how it was gonna unfold but I m glad i was proven wrong.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's Always Been You []  2020-6-29 18:40

    Rhett and Karis experienced something magical when they were both teenagers-15 years later they met again and fell in love. Their love wasn’t easy, but it was worth it. I truly enjoyed this book, especially the ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's Always Been You []  2020-6-29 18:40

    But I didn't particularly care for either of the main characters. I thought that premise was amazing and the editing could have been tighter. I was reading a sentence that had "found memories"; but I can only assume that the word should have been "fond" based on the rest of the sentence. I was already getting frustrated by the story; because I thought that these two were mature adults and not teenagers. Frankly I just wanted to slap both of them upside the head and call it a day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's Always Been You []  2020-6-29 18:40

    I couldn’t believe how well place together this story was. Usually books that begin with the teen years of the main characters either stay too long in the past or not enough. However, the author of this read got it right. Karis & Rhett were so stubborn & yet so right for each other. Their passion was undeniable & hot. I love HEA stories & this is truly a amazing one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's Always Been You []  2020-6-29 18:40

    I totally enjoyed this read. The author does a amazing job with relating fiction to true life in certain aspects. Rhett and Karis are amazing together. It takes some doing to finally reach that point, but they create it work. From a father scheming out of love to an ex who is determined to destroy, this book has it all. There is a amazing plot, flow and hero interaction. The book also has the hotness of a couple that fit well together, literally!! I highly recommend this read, you will love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's Always Been You []  2020-6-29 18:40

    Love these two together! This is a amazing book with awesome characters and a amazing storyline. If you like second possibility books then you don’t need to miss this one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's Always Been You []  2020-6-29 18:40

    These books create me laugh and cry I think I even yelled at one point. Hold them coming! Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's Always Been You []  2020-6-29 18:40

    Karis and Rhett shared a brief kiss as teens during a tumultuous time in both of their lives. A latest invite brings Rhett home to attend his estranged father's surprise birthday party. The homecoming is long overdue and it gives Rhett and his father, Andrew a possibility to mend fences. Rhett still has fond memories of the brief kiss he shared with Karis and wants to see if the flame is still there between them. There are obstacles in the way, and feelings of betrayal between the two of them. Then, they are forced to co-exist or risk losing everything they've ever worked for in life.I received a copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's Always Been You []  2020-6-29 18:40

    I really enjoyed this story and Karis and Rhett were a amazing pairing! I loved Andrew through out this whole story. I just wished we could have gotten a couple of children from them. I'd like to see a book 2 with some kids. I'm sure the crazy ex could definitely stir up some mess, so Kristin can check her again! And just hire an editor because there were a few grammatical and spelling errors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Critical Thinking: What You Should Have Been Taught About Decision-Making, Problem Solving, Cognitive Biases, Logical Fallacies and Winning Arguments []  2020-7-25 18:26

    I fair required a few assistance with primary considering and so distant this book has been illuminating. I suggest it to everybody. In these days of fake news, partiality, and consider untrustworthiness, the exhortation in this book is welcome.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Critical Thinking: What You Should Have Been Taught About Decision-Making, Problem Solving, Cognitive Biases, Logical Fallacies and Winning Arguments []  2020-7-25 18:26

    I am a web Teacher and this book came in convenient when including fabric to the modules for the understudies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Critical Thinking: What You Should Have Been Taught About Decision-Making, Problem Solving, Cognitive Biases, Logical Fallacies and Winning Arguments []  2020-7-25 18:26

    I enjoyed learning about critical thinking. I am now more aware of my thought process as effect of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love the Home You Have: Simple Ways to…Embrace Your Style *Get Organized *Delight in Where You Are []  2020-2-1 17:25

    A delightful, refreshing book. I LOVE decorating books. They give me lots of ideas and inspiration. But THIS BOOK changed my perspective. The idea (behind the amazing ideas!) is that I'm not decorating my house, I am loving my house, and spreading joy. Taking easy pleasure in the beautiful, and savoring the moments. This book is a small like Alexandra Stoddard meets Lucille Ball. Melissa has a amazing and humorous method of writing, and pointing out the attractive moments. It is refreshing, but a lot like she knocked on your door with lattes' in hand and said, “Hey girl, what do you wish to do with this room?” Well written, inspiring, the excellent tonic for those feeling "stuck" and unsure of what to do next with their home.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love the Home You Have: Simple Ways to…Embrace Your Style *Get Organized *Delight in Where You Are []  2020-2-1 17:25

    Too small, no images (only drawings) and a lot of sappy prose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Next Decade: Where We've Been . . . and Where We're Going []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Two years after reading this, I am back here to give a 5-star review because it stayed with me. After a wordy first chapter, the book goes on to explain the globe better than any other book I have ever read. The author correctly forecasted Russia as a renewed rival to USA and correctly forecasted that we would swallow our pride and create some with Iran - and correctly forecasted that this would cause tensions in Israel. Read this and it will forever change how you understand the international section of the newspaper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Next Decade: Where We've Been . . . and Where We're Going []  2020-1-22 22:27

    If you're looking for some quick moving, mind blowing stark tale of amazing vs evil, this isn't the book to read. George Friedman puts all bias aside and gives a bare-bones description of what it's going to take for a nation to hold its stature and look as amazing as possible while doing it. It's all about the balance of power; a concept that is simple to define but hard to articulate. What it means (in my very inarticulate way!) is to hold your opponents, or those who could become your opponents, focused on someone else. Keep'm busy with their rival, such as India vs. Pakistan or Argentina vs. ing a small diplomatic influence, unique opportunities (e.g. allowing Japan to trade through American patrolled seas), and a lot of economy building cash, other nations can be beautiful easily influenced to do the bidding of the American Empire. And I'm not using that phrase completely in jest. Friedman's main point in the book is that, whether it is admitted to or not, the US is a globe empire. With 25% of the world's business transactions being with or for the US and with nearly every merchant sea lane in the globe controlled by the US, el mundo beautiful much has to cow tow to whatever the whim of the Empire is that year. Maybe it's Boca Burgers the one year and Twinkies the next (you would have thought it would be the opposite...), but economies around the globe shift at this change in pleasantries (or in the case of Boca Burgers self-flagellation).In keeping this need for balance, within and without the country, the book explains why politicians are forced to lie about their agendas and create huge problems out of something they know will never change (and only would change to the detriment of a very balanced equation).If you like political science, then this will be an simple and interesting read, but if you are like 99.9% of the rest of the population (by which I mean, you just read p.o.l.i.t.i.c.a.... zzz...zzz...zzz), then just turn around and walk away slowly. I liked it, though. At some point I plan on picking up Friedman's less specific book about the globe in the next century.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love the Home You Have: Simple Ways to…Embrace Your Style *Get Organized *Delight in Where You Are []  2020-2-1 17:25

    Love this book & love her. Moved from home (35 yrs), was feeling very disoriented. Author helped me realize home is where you are. Lots of hints on loving your home, changing things to what you wish which takes time, amazing organizing hints (which I already knew but required to be reminded), creating a home unfolds over time. I love my fresh home quite a bit now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love the Home You Have: Simple Ways to…Embrace Your Style *Get Organized *Delight in Where You Are []  2020-2-1 17:25

    I'm not sure what I expected this book to be; perhaps I hoped for a book on how to decorate my home to look like I spent thousands when I only spent $50, but whatever I had hoped it would be, it was not--it was much, much better. It encouraged me to create my home my own home and not a copy of a beautiful room in a book or magazine which seems to be what I usually do. No wonder I am never happy as the room is not a reflection of myself or my family. This is a book that encourages you to live "authentically" in your home, not the method others would have you live. This is a book that encourages decorating for your lifestyle and your needs, not your neighbors. This is a book that allows you to believe your home can be attractive even if there is a mess on the desk or the dining room table or the dog has left nose prints on the window. There are no photographs, which disappointed me at first, but now that I have finished the book, I found it refreshing because it freed me of the feeling that I had to "do things right." There is some decorating advice, but not the kind that you will search in other books, but that is one of the points, I believe of the book: This is where I have lived, this is what I had always thought would create me happy, this is what I ended up discovering about my home and how to love it, here are some basics on decorating and with these principles you, too, can create your home the home you love. I understand amazing design in a room, but now I also understand that if the design rules don't work for me, I am to break them. Now instead of looking for books on decorating written by professional designers full of pictures of attractive rooms, I look for other books like this one written by someone like me who just wants to create her house a put where her family is comfortable and satisfied and where her guests are comfortable and happy. Thank you, Mrs. Michaels!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Next Decade: Where We've Been . . . and Where We're Going []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Loved this as much or more than The Next 100 Years, and I loved that a lot. (Well, I loved the first half - sort of skipped the sci-fi part, since I'll be dead before then). Friedman is an perfect writer; he translate extremely complicated histories and happenings into plain language that provides what you need to understand the geopolitical problems in the timeframe he's covering. And of course, a lot of of the predictions he makes have come true, which is a powerful accolade for his books. Geopolitics explain so much of what the average person sees but can't create sense of - why did this country do x, why did the president do y - there is so much we simply are not and cannot be aware of. I plan to read all of Friedman's books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love the Home You Have: Simple Ways to…Embrace Your Style *Get Organized *Delight in Where You Are []  2020-2-1 17:25

    This book is not only inspiring to read, it is beautiful to keep and look at. It appeals to our aesthetic sensibilities immediately. Anyone who has read Melissa's blog knows she is talented and has a lovely home. What makes her so likable is that she is down-to-earth, unpretentious, and encouraging of everyone. She shares hints from her own experiences, including her successes and errors; more importantly, she addresses our own ways of thinking of the "perfect" home. Her approach is to present us how to be satisfied and grateful for what we have NOW, while still giving us permission to dream.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love the Home You Have: Simple Ways to…Embrace Your Style *Get Organized *Delight in Where You Are []  2020-2-1 17:25

    I love that she shares her own mistakes and what she learned from those mistakes. Her 30 day challenge really works. I started out just wanting to and begin over somewhere else, but she helped me to fall in love with my home. I hold referring back to the book whenever I am faced with a challenge for decorating, organizing, or just plain enjoying my home.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Next Decade: Where We've Been . . . and Where We're Going []  2020-1-22 22:27

    This book was published in 2011, and now it is 2017. Even with the majority of this decade completed, this is still a comprehensive, daunting, and somewhat too Americanist book to work through. A clear example of the comprehensive nature of the book is the background material for Israel and Palestine. There is so much material astutely summarized it could facilitate a dozen episodes of Days of our Lives. And that is part of his point in this book, that a decade is much more intimate than a century and thus much more susceptible to the decision-making of the Presidency. And that is the basic institution on which he focuses, becauses it is so oriented to the wider world, with the ability to share foreign policy and deploy military force, while being comparatively hemmed in domestically. The author of this book seeks to fuse the idealistic and the realistic in what he refers to as the 'Machiavellian Presidency' and the reader is well advised to close attention to the section on Abraham Lincoln; among other things, the so-called Amazing Emancipator refused to emancipate slaves in locations where he could directly emancipate slaves so as to maintain a convincing battle effort versus the Confederacy. Roosevelt and Reagan are two other presidents that are central to the book's is book can seem cold and detached to some readers. For example, the so-called Amazing Recession is referred to with reasonable thoroughness, yet the discussion may seem rather aloof for a downturn that witnessed a net loss of jobs in one month of over 700,000 and of unemployment benefits extended into the range of eighteen months. Yet that is a huge part of what the author is aiming at: to apply a dispassionate method of understanding so as to gain the greatest accuracy of this nation's current situation and likely trajectory over the next several years. Mr. Friedman clarifies that such fiscal crises are actually semi-regular occurences, and reminds the reader of the Municipal bond crisis of the 70s, the Third Globe debt crisis of the 80s, and the S and L crisis of the early 90s. And he also clarifies that the GDP contraction of the Amazing Recession, 4%, was far milder than what occurred with the Amazing Depression (50%), and that the economic turbulence of the late 70s/early 80s was characterized by double-digit inflation, unemployment, and mortgage rates. What this leaves out, though, are the longer-term structural changes in the work force (longevity of employment decreasing to 5-8 years from 20+ years, defined benefit retirement plans being replaced with defined contribution plans, increased indebtedness similar to consumer and university financing, and sharply reduced purchasing power) that are not directly reflected in the unemployment numbers or core 'consumer index' inflation.And this book also dwells on the strategic mis-step of drilling down on one strategy - terrorism - at the of more enduring principles (maintenance of regional balance of powers, identifying and using proxies to engage in conflict in the put of the US, and using 'main force' only as a latest resort). Mr. Friedman uses the analogy of Pearl Harbor, which lead to a related number of casualties and did not lead to a Global Battle on Naval Aviation. And there were drastic efforts created to re-assure the native US populace of their safety (given their assumption of security in their North American homeland) with the creation of the Transportation Security Agency and the Department of Homeland Security. While not simply public relations efforts, the results of these fresh security measures was not robust, and a determined commando could still bypass the perimeter. And there was also the awkward after-effect of having up to 200,000 service members for several years. The initial agenda had been to decapitate the Iraqi government and replace it with a more pro-western, democratic government. The Bush administration had not counted on the wholesale collapse of the Iraqi government, military, and infrastructure.And this invited the option of actually negotiating with Iran to become the fresh central power of the Middle East, as neither Turkey nor Saudi Arabia had sufficient force projection capacity to maintain order. There has been amazing tension between the US and Iran going back to the 70s and even earlier. The occupations of Iraq and Afghanistan found the US with hundreds of thousands of units on either side of Iran and with no sound tactic for regime change in Iran. The nation is geographically a fortress, direct invasion would be far too resource-intensive, and the Iranian military has the clear-cut option to effectively shut down the Straits of Hormuz (through which 45% of the world's oil is shipped). Therefore this presents the US with the option of entente with Iran as a method to avoid permanently garrisoning the Friedman brings this book to a close by summarizing that this decade will be one of recovery and transition. Recovery from the relative devastation of the Amazing Recession (with housing values returning to historic norms) and from the eight years of combat operations in Iraq and Afghanistan. And there will be relatively small in the method of innovation: 'The next decade will be a period in which technology lags behind needs. In some cases, existing technologies will reach the limits of how far they can be stretched, yet replacement technologies will not be in the pipeline. Which isn’t to say that there won’t be ample technological change; electric vehicles and fresh generations of cell phones will abound... the next generation of notable technological breakthroughs won’t emerge until the 2020s.'The major difference this time around is that relatively small has come from this extensive military activity, with the huge volume of activity in the two Muslim nations having been primarily light infantry affairs that facilitated better up-armored transportation (like the Mine-Resistant Ambush Protected vehicles) but none of the major breakthroughs that previous engagements facilitated. Technologies that may well come online in future decades, like robotics and space-based solar, are not yet available (although a lot of initial-stage research has been taking place). The genuine exception, in the category of technological innovation, is that of hydraulic fracturing, which will experience much broader implementation in this sue by issue, and region by region, this book provides some very amazing analysis. And the overall framework, that of the Machiavellian Presidency, is quite productive as well. For the most part, I read this book in one day off from work. The exception I primarily take is the notion of the United States as an imperial power. Again, I am not disagreeing with the specific examples he gives (such as changes in American consumer preferences can have rather drastic impacts in other nations' economic activities). I just search it less than convincing that the U.S. is an imperial power simply due to the fact that the Soviet Union collapsed in the early 90s. As percentage of global economic activity, I would imagine the U.S. has declined sharply over the latest fifty years. China and India were not active participants in the globe economy then, and twenty years before that the other major globe powers, like Russia, Britain, Germany, France, and Japan were all in ruins. The reality is that the U.S. faces much more tournament globally than it did one or two generations ago. And this goes along with the structural changes in the economy summarized above. Therefore, I search this to be an perfect 'gazeteer' of ongoing global developments and how the U.S. interfaces with those trends and at the same time dwells somewhat too heavily on the notionally imperial power of the U.S. when it evidently has been more strong and more prosperous in previous decades after Globe Battle Two.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Next Decade: Where We've Been . . . and Where We're Going []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Amazing read. Mr. Friedman has very interesting views of the future. Reading this book 5 years later some of his visions look accurate. Very insightfull to what the globe could look like future state.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Next Decade: Where We've Been . . . and Where We're Going []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Read this when it first came out. Just went through it (love flash cards) for the 3rd time. Could be a political science text book, only interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love the Home You Have: Simple Ways to…Embrace Your Style *Get Organized *Delight in Where You Are []  2020-2-1 17:25

    If you are stressing out about how your home looks and feels and wish to create it the best it can be, then Love the Home You Have is the book for you. It doesn't matter if you live in a little basement apartment or a grand 5,000 foot home. The ideas and hints that Melissa shares can be done by anyone, in any decorating style, and even on the tiniest of budgets. This book is more about ways of finding your decorating style and putting it into your home. With Melissa as your tutorial you will be inspired to create decorative and livable changes in your home that are right for you and your family that in turn will create your home shine, even with its shortcomings. As you read, you will be finding yourself dog earring nearly every page.I loved the chatty tone of the book. I felt like I was Melissa's best bud as I read. Which also created me think of all my mates who would have fun reading it, too. A excellent bonus for all style and home loving moms this Mother's Day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love the Home You Have: Simple Ways to…Embrace Your Style *Get Organized *Delight in Where You Are []  2020-2-1 17:25

    Absolutely my favorite fresh book! The concepts in this book are elementary in that the author reminds the reader that the reason you are in the house you are in is because you chose to live there and, once upon a time, really loved this home. I found myself going from room to room and remembering how excited I was when we were having the house built. By following the author's suggestions, I really have connected with my home again and look forward to making a few changes to create me fall in love with my home all over again. I look forward to reading more of Ms. Michael's books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love the Home You Have: Simple Ways to…Embrace Your Style *Get Organized *Delight in Where You Are []  2020-2-1 17:25

    After having them on my kindle want list for a long while, I finally chose to all three books at once after Easy Decorating was released,on my journey to love the home I have. Between the to-do List and the want list, it seems so daunting and unattainable. I just wish to have fun coming home and make a refuge for me and my daughter where we can make memories at a moments notice. I look forward to starting The Inspired Room! Thank you, Melissa!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Love the Home You Have: Simple Ways to…Embrace Your Style *Get Organized *Delight in Where You Are []  2020-2-1 17:25

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Melissa helps you to realize that the house you live in can become the home of your dreams. By adding private touches for the holidays and every other day of the year we make a home. Some put warm and welcoming for our whole family to enjoy. Melissa gave me the in-site to make my own home with the things I and my family love. As long as our homes say Welcome as we enter in through the front or back door, we have the comfort of a well decorated home. I liked her ideas for decorating, I will be using some of them in mine. I would recommend her book to others looking for ideas on decorating for comfort and warmth in your home.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Next Decade: Where We've Been . . . and Where We're Going []  2020-1-22 22:27

    George Friedman is a very clear writer. He proclaims the U.S. to being an empire. The danger lies with our admitting the unplanned for change. Being an empire puts the American Republic in danger. Friedman then goes on by playing a 21st century Machiavelli to our standing president.He advises him to find for a balance of power in the world, playing off major forces versus each other so none will rise to become a threat: India and Pakistan, Japan and China, to name two examples.He advises less help for Israel because they are powerful enough to stand on their own; He thinks South Korea bears keeping amazing relations to balance between China and Japan. He also sees a missed opportunity to hedge in Russia permanently and to hold them from becoming a threat to us again. Africa should be no concern to us, and neither should Venezuela.I'm not sure I agree with is amoral approach to politics, but he does create a amazing case for Lincoln, FDR, and Reagan being able to use Machiavelli's philosophy to obtain the U.S. through some difficult times. He's looking for a amazing president. I'm not sure President Obama is that man, but Friedman has been encouraged by Obama's change in policy--to waiting and watching and letting our allies handle the issues in Syria, and now Mali.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Next Decade: Where We've Been . . . and Where We're Going []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Our nation is an empire, with interest around the world. We are the only nation like that and with that comes responsibilities the most necessary of which is taking care of our republic. And the pressures of the empire May destroy it unless we manage it appropriately. But even it's all that, it comes down to the republic that is America is threatened most by in fighting, immaturity and our obsession with being politically correct and our continued use of the word racist for everything. It is tearing us apart

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Next Decade: Where We've Been . . . and Where We're Going []  2020-1-22 22:27

    people did not obtain too excited about Friedman's previous book, "The Next Hundred Years" because they would not live to see his prognostications!The Next Decade brings the narcissists satisfaction in more instant gratification and news they can use in their lifetimes. This, as with other Friedman's writings, is provocative and as time proves, RIGHT ON!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Next Decade: Where We've Been . . . and Where We're Going []  2020-1-22 22:27

    Friedman may be right, he may be wrong.....he is probably some of both. Under any circumstances, he has a very interesting and thought provoking perspective on geopolitics and the role of the United States in the scheme of iedman opines that, like it or not, the U.S. is a modern day empire. Other reviewers take problem with that, but Friedman defends his argument well. He further opines that today's U.S. President must operate in a Machiavellian manner if he/she is to be successful. The President needs a moral compass, needs to test to do good, but at the end of the day, he/she must do what must be done to protect our own self interest. This often contains partnering with unsavory nations to achieve satisfactory ends. We can't rule the world....but we must leverage our influence to hold the globe "in balance."Even though I am reasonably well educated, read and informed, I must admit to having an often simplistic view of geopolitics--"good guys v poor guys," etc etc. Friedman's thinking has helped begin my eyes.I was very interested in the author's views on China, Russia and India/Pakistan. His thoughts on South America, Australia and Africa were also interesting. I was most fascinated though by his observations on the U.S. immigration and drug problems with Mexico and by his views on climate change and energy policy. (In both cases, he predicts that the U.S. will say one thing but do another.) He also argues that, as a nation, we need to "grow up" and act like adults in the globe order. In almost all cases, I bought into his conclusions.Unlike Friedman's "The Next Hundred Years" (which I also enjoyed), this book with a much more manageable time frame. The book reads well and gives the reader a lot to think commended!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Have I Been Pwned - Protect your password [App]  2019-12-19 13:39

    Very handy application

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386